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Student Tuition Recovery Fund 

Article 1. General Provisions 

76000. Definitions. 
For purposes of this chapter, the following definitions apply: 

(a) “California resident” means a person who resides in California at the time the enrollment 

agreement is signed or when the person receives lessons at a California mailing address from an 

approved institution offering distance education. 

(b) “Closed institution” means an institution at which a closure has occurred. 

(c) “Economic loss” means pecuniary loss, which is the sum of the student’s tuition, cost of 

equipment and materials required for the educational program as defined in section 94837 of the 

Code for which a charge was collected within 180 days before the closure of the institution, and 

interest on any student loan used to pay for such charges, collection costs and penalties. 

Economic loss shall also include the amount the institution collected and failed to pay to third 

parties on behalf of the student for license fees or any other purpose. Economic loss may also 

include loss of an educational opportunity provided by funds paid by a third party payer.  

Economic loss may be calculated from a significant decline in the quality or value of the 

educational program within the 30-day period before the closure of the institution or, if the 

decline began before that period, the period of decline determined by the Bureau, to a degree that 

results in the institution’s failure to meet minimum operating or academic standards.  Economic 

loss does not include Student Tuition Recovery Fund assessments, room and board, supplies, 

transportation, application fees, or non-pecuniary damages such as inconvenience, aggravation, 

emotional distress, or punitive damages.  

(d) “Fund” means the Student Tuition Recovery Fund. 

(e) “Prepaid” describes any amount of money that an institution accepts in advance of rendering 

educational services. 

(f) “Qualifying institution” is an approved institution, or an institution that was approved by the 

Bureau prior to the institution’s closure, or an institution subject to the provisions of Article 14, 

commencing with section 94923 of the Code, and section 94874.1 of the Code. 

(g) “Residency Program” means an educational program as defined in section 94837 of the Code 

at an approved institution of which some portion of the instruction occurs as direct instruction as 

defined in section 71715(c). 

(h) “STRF” means Student Tuition Recovery Fund. 

(i) “Student Tuition Recovery Fund assessment” or “STRF assessment” means a state-imposed 

charge to fund this chapter that is required to be paid by a California resident student or a student 

enrolled in a residency program, who pays tuition to an institution. 

(j) “Teach-out institution” means the institution offering a teach-out to a former student of an 

institution that has ceased to operate. 

(k) “Third Party Payer” means a person, business, or agency who pays any portion of an 

institutional charge on behalf of a student. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Sections 

94874.1, 94923, 94926, 94927 and 94927.5, Education Code. 

 

76020. Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF). 
(a) The fund exists to relieve or mitigate economic losses suffered by a student in an educational 

program as defined in section 94837 of the Code at a qualifying institution, who is or was a 
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California resident or was enrolled in a residency program, or third party payer on behalf of that 

student, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, paid the assessment, and 

suffered loss as a result of any of the following: 

(1)(a) The closure of the institution; or 

(2) The institution's failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for 

license fees or any other purposes, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was 

collected within 180 days before the closure of the institution; 

(3) The institution's failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed 

student loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the 

institution prior to closure in excess of tuition and other costs; 

(4) A significant decline in the quality or value of the educational program within the 30-day 

period before the closure of the institution or, if the decline began before that period, the period 

of decline determined by the Bureau, to a degree that results in the institution’s failure to meet 

minimum operating or academic standards; and 

(5)(b) The student’s inability to collect a judgment entered against a qualifying institution for a 

violation of the Act, subject to all of the following: school’s failure to pay restitution as ordered 

pursuant to a Decision and Order of the Director, or her designee. 

(A) The student has reasonably tried, and failed, to collect on the judgment. The Bureau will 

determine the reasonableness of the effort on a case-by-case basis; 

(B) The Bureau receives the student’s application within 4 years from the school’s closure; 

(C) The student has not received reimbursement or forgiveness from any other source. 

(b) A student whose total charges were paid by a third-party payer is not eligible to make a 

claim. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Sections 

94874.1, 94923, 94926, 94927 and 94927.5, Education Code. 

 

Article 2. STRF Assessments 

76110. Period of Non-Collection. 

Between October 1, 2014, and October 31, 2019, no institution is required to collect or remit a 

STRF assessment pursuant to section 76130. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Sections 

94923, 94924 and 94925, Education Code. 

 

76120. Amount of STRF Assessment. 
(a) Each qualifying institution shall collect calculate an assessment of fifty cents ($.50) per one 

thousand dollars ($1,000) of institutional charges, rounded to the nearest thousand dollars, from 

each student in an educational program who is a California resident or is enrolled in a residency 

program. For institutional charges of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or less, the assessment is 

fifty cents ($.50). 

(b) Unless a student has a separate agreement to repay the third party, a student whose costs are 

paid to the institution by third-party payer shall not pay the STRF assessment to the qualifying 

institution. 

(c)(b) Except when an institution provides a 100% refund pursuant to section 94919(d) or section 

94920(b) of the Code, the assessment is non-refundable. 
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Sections 

94923, 94843 and 94911(b), Education Code. 

 

76130. Collection and Submission of Assessments. 
(a)(1) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from or for each student in an 

educational program at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or 

after enrollment. The assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless 

of whether the student pays the institutional charges in increments. 

(2) For a student for whom the qualifying institution had previously assessed STRF, who 

subsequently withdraws from the institution, and then re-enrolls, the institution shall only collect 

assessment for any STRF amount due that is greater than the original assessment amount.  The 

enrollment agreement shall clearly identify any prior STRF assessment paid by the student. 

(b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) 

and remit it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no 

later than the last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows: 

(1) April 30 for the first quarter, 

(2) July 31 for the second quarter, 

(3) October 31 for the third quarter, and 

(4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or 

federal holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be 

extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 

(c) The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information: 

(1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during 

the reporting period; and 

(2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment agreements for 

educational programs during the reporting period; and 

(3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement during the reporting 

period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the reporting period; 

and 

(4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting 

period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the current reporting 

period; and 

(5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's institutional charges to the 

nearest $1,000, for all eligible STRF students whose STRF assessment was collected in the 

reporting period; and 

(6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and 

(7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person preparing the form that 

the form and any attachments are true and correct. 

(d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be remitted to the Bureau 

within seven days following the cessation of instruction. 

(e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section is a condition of 

renewal. 

(f) The institution may pay the STRF assessment on behalf of a student.  The enrollment 

agreement shall document the amount of STRF assessment and that it was paid on behalf of the 
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student. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 

94923, Education Code. 

 

76140. Record-Keeping Requirements. 
(a) A qualifying institution shall collect and maintain records of student information to 

substantiate the data reported on the STRF Assessment Reporting Form and records of the 

students' eligibility under the Fund. Such records shall include the following for each student: 

(1) Student identification number, 

(2) First and last names, 

(3) Email address,  

(4) Local or mailing address, 

(5) Address at the time of enrollment, 

(6) Home address, 

(7) Date enrollment agreement signed, 

(8) Courses and course costs, 

(9) Amount of STRF assessment collected or paid on the student’s behalf, 

(10) Quarter in which the STRF assessment was remitted to the Bureau, 

(11) Third-party payer identifying information, 

(12) Total institutional charges charged, and 

(13) Total institutional charges paid. 

(b) The qualifying institution shall maintain the data required under this section in an electronic 

format that is readily available and open to inspection by the Bureau upon request. The 

institution shall make the records immediately available to a Bureau representative conducting a 

site inspection or, upon written request, shall provide a copy within 14 calendar days of the 

request. All records shall be provided to the Bureau in an intelligible and orderly manner and in 

an electronic format. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 

94923, Education Code. 

 

Article 3. Payments from the Fund 

76200. Application for Payment. 
(a) A student seeking reimbursement under the Fund shall file a written application on the 

Bureau’s Student Tuition Recovery Fund Application Form (STRF App Rev. 2/10 12/13), signed 

under penalty of perjury that the form and all attachments are true and correct, which includes 

the following information: 

(1) The student’s name, address, telephone number, email address, and social security number or 

taxpayer identification number; 

(2) If any portion of the total charges were paid from the proceeds of a loan, the name of the 

lender, and any state or federal agency that guaranteed or reinsured the loan; 

(3) Proof of the amount and description of the student’s economic loss for the educational 

program, and the amount of the student’s claim; 

(4) Proof of the date the student started and ceased attending the institution; 

(5) A description of the reasons the student ceased attending the institution, or if the student 
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graduated, date of graduation; 

(6) The student’s or borrower’s authorization to allow the Bureau to negotiate with any lender, 

holder, guarantee agency, or the U.S. Department of Education on the student's behalf to reduce 

the loan obligation; 

(7) The student’s authorization to allow the Bureau to issue a payment directly to any lender, 

holder, guarantee agency, or the U.S. Department of Education on the student’s behalf; and 

(8) An assignment to the Fund and the Bureau of the student’s rights to collect those funds 

against the institution if any payment issues as a result of the application; 

(9) The institution name, address and phone number where the student attended; 

(10) Proof that the student was a California resident at time of enrollment, or was enrolled in a 

residency program; 

(11) Proof that the student paid into the STRF; Whether the student has received reimbursement 

or forgiveness from any source; 

(12) If the student took an approved leave of absence, documentation of the approval; 

(13) Whether the student has previously applied for STRF reimbursement; 

(14) Whether the course of study or portion completed prepared the student to take a state or 

national licensure exam; and 

(15) If the student transferred to another school, a list of all classes or units transferred. 

(b) The application must be fully completed and received by the Bureau, with supporting 

documents that include, but need not be limited to, the enrollment agreement, promissory notes, 

if any, and any receipts, within two (2) years from date of the closure notice explaining the 

student’s rights under STRF, whether provided by the institution or the Bureau, or a maximum of 

four (4) years from the date of closure if the student received no closure notice. 

(c) Students whose total charges are paid by a third party payer are not eligible to apply for 

payment by the Fund, the Bureau may negotiate with the third-party payer pursuant to section 

76210. 

(d)(c) The Bureau may conduct an investigation to verify whether to grant or deny a claim, and 

may request any additional information or supporting documentation to supplement or substitute 

the aforementioned requirements. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Sections 

94870 and 94923, Education Code. 

 

76210. Claims Amount, Payment and Denial. 
(a) The Bureau may negotiate with a lender, holder, guarantee agency, or the U.S. Department of 

Education for the full compromise or write-off of student loan obligations to relieve students of 

economic loss and, if possible, to reduce the liability of the Fund for the payment of claims. 

(b) The Bureau may pay a student’s claim directly to the lender, holder, guarantee agency, or 

U.S. Department of Education. 

(c) If the Bureau grants the claim, the amount of the payment is measured by the total amount of 

the student’s economic loss, as defined in Section 76000, less the amount of any refund, 

reimbursement, indemnification, restitution, compensatory damages, settlement, debt 

forgiveness, discharge, cancellation, compromise or any other benefit received by, or on behalf 

of, the student that was related to the economic loss. The amount of the payment is not 

dependent on, or necessarily limited to, the amount of refund the student would have received 

from the institution if the student had voluntarily withdrawn. The Bureau cannot pay any claim 
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to or for a student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number. 

(d) In addition to the reductions in (c) above, the Bureau may reduce the amount of the payment 

by the value of the benefit, if any, of the education obtained by the student before the closure of 

the institution. 

(e) For a student whose total or partial charges are paid by a third party payer who suffers a loss 

of an educational opportunity, the portion paid by the third party payer up to the amount of the 

economic losses may be paid to a subsequent institution upon evidence of a new enrollment 

agreement. 

(e)(f) If a student participated in a teach-out, the following conditions also apply: 

(1) If the student withdraws from the teach-out institution within the first two weeks of 

enrollment, the student’s economic losses are calculated as though the student never received the 

teach-out. 

(2) If the student withdraws from the teach-out institution after the first two weeks of enrollment, 

the student’s economic loss includes only a pro rata portion of charges for the hours of the 

education service paid for, but not received from, either institution. 

(3) If the teach-out institution provides all of the remaining instruction that the closed institution 

had represented it would provide, the student’s economic loss shall not include any amount the 

student paid to the closed institution specifically for instruction. 

(4) Regardless of participation in a teach-out, a student may recover economic losses other than 

those specifically related to the instruction. 

(f)(g) Upon payment of the claim, all of the student’s rights against the institution for that 

amount of payment shall be deemed assigned to the Bureau. 

(g)(h) If the Bureau denies the claim, or reduces the amount of the claim, the Bureau may 

informally consider a written appeal and modify its decision. 

(h)(i) If a written appeal is not received by the Bureau within 30 calendar days from the date of 

the decision, the Bureau’s decision shall be final. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 

94923, Education Code. 

 

76212. Claims by Government Agency on Behalf of Students. 
If the Bureau, the Attorney General, or any other law enforcement agency obtains a judgment 

against an institution on behalf of one or more students pursuant to Section 17200 of the 

Business and Professions Code or similar authority, that law enforcement agency shall be 

entitled to payment from the Fund under the following conditions: (a) The institution was 

qualified and is now closed; 

(b) A remedy cannot be obtained despite diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect a 

judgment; 

(c) A claim is filed within two years after the judgment became final; 

(d) A claim indicating the total amount of the judgment allocable to each student is filed; and 

(e) The total amount paid to each student does not exceed the amount that the student would 

have been entitled to receive if the student had obtained a judgment for the amount allocable to 

the student filed an application pursuant to section 76200. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 

94923, Education Code. 
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76215. Student Tuition Recovery Fund Disclosures. 
(a) A qualifying institution shall include the following statement on both on its enrollment 

agreement for an educational program and in its current schedule of student charges school 

catalog: 

“The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or 

mitigate economic losses suffered by a student in an educational program (as defined in section 

94837 of the Education Code) at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident or 

was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and 

suffered an economic loss.  Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you You must pay the 

state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF), or it must be paid on 

your behalf, if all of the following applies to you: 

1. You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a 

residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, 

or personal loans, and 

2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government 

program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. 

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF 

assessment, if either of the following applies: 

 1. You you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or.” 

2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or 

other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party.” 

(b) In addition to the statement described under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying 

institution shall include the following statement on in its current schedule of student charges 

school catalog: 

“The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or 

mitigate economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California 

residents, or are enrolled in a residency programs attending certain schools regulated by the 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education. 

You may “To be eligible for STRF, you must be if you are a California resident or are enrolled in 

a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss 

as a result of any of the following either: 

1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed.; or 

2. The school’s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license 

fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected 

within 180 days before the closure of the school. 

3. The school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student 

loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to 

closure in excess of tuition and other costs. 

4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act or this Division within 30 days before the 

school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30 days prior to closure, the period 

determined by the Bureau. 

5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the 

institution for a violation of the Act. 

2. The school failed to pay restitution as ordered pursuant to a Decision and Order of the 

Director, or her designee. 
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However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer 

identification number. 

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, you must file a STRF application within two years of 

receiving notice of the closure of the institution.  If you do not receive notice, you have four 

years from the date of the closure to file a STRF application. 

It is important that you keep copies of the enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, 

receipts or any other information that documents the monies paid to the school.  Questions 

regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535 

Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916) 431-6959.” 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 

94923, Education Code. 

Article 4. Orderly Closure and Teach-outs 

76240. Required Notices and Teach-Out Plan. 
All institutions, including those exempt from Bureau regulation pursuant to the Code, shall do 

the following prior to closing: 

(a) At least 30 days prior to closing, the institution shall notify the Bureau in writing of its 

intention to close and provide a closure plan. The closure plan shall include: 

(1) The exact date and reason for the closure. 

(2) The last date of instruction for each educational service or program. 

(3) A list of students who were enrolled at any time during the 60 days prior to closure. 

(4) If any student will not be provided complete educational services or the educational program, 

the institution shall provide: 

(A) A plan for providing teach-outs or transfers, including the details of any agreements with 

other institutions. 

(B) If no teach-out is contemplated, or for students who do not wish to participate in a teach-out, 

arrangements for making refunds within 45 days from the date of closure, or for institutions that 

participate in federal student financial aid programs arrangements for making refunds and 

returning federal student financial aid program funds. 

(5) A plan for the disposition of student records. 

(6) A plan to notify students of their rights and options under the Act and this chapter. 

(b) The institution shall notify the students of the following: 

(1) If the institution is a participant in federal student financial aid programs, it shall provide 

students information concerning those programs and institutional closures. 

(2) If any student will not be provided complete educational services or the educational program, 

information regarding the Student Tuition Recovery Fund and the Bureau's physical and Internet 

addresses. 

 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803 and 94877, Education Code. Reference: Sections 94874.5, 

94909, 94911, 94926, 94927 and 94927.5, Education Code. 
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