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ROB BONTA 
Attorney General of California
DIANN SOKOLOFF 
Supervising Deputy Attorney General 
TIMOTHY J. MCDONOUGH 
Deputy Attorney General
State Bar No. 235850 
1515 Clay Street, 20th Floor
P.O. Box 70550 
Oakland, CA 94612-0550 

Telephone: (510) 879-0294 
Facsimile: (510) 622-2270 
E-mail: Tim.McDonough@doj.ca.gov

Attorneys for Complainant 

BEFORE THE 
DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS 

FOR THE BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

In the Matter of the Accusation Against: Case No. 1006317 

DIANOVA INSTITUTE 
1998 Pacific Avenue, Suite 305 ACCUSATION 
San Francisco, CA 94109 

Institution Code No. 51315935 

Respondent. 

PARTIES 

1. Deborah Cochrane (Complainant) brings this Accusation solely in her official 

capacity as the Chief of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (Bureau), Department of 

Consumer Affairs. 

2. On or about March 11, 2020, the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education issued 

Institution Code No. 51315935 (Approval to Operate) to DiaNova Institute (Respondent). 

Pursuant to the Approval to Operate, the Bureau approved Respondent to offer the following non-

degree program: Community Health and Sexual Trauma Recovery Program. The Approval to 
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Operate was in full force and in effect at all times relevant to the charges brought in this 

Accusation and will expire on March 11, 2025. 

JURISDICTION 

3. This Accusation is brought before the Director of the Department of Consumer 

Affairs (Director) for the Bureau, under the authority of the following laws. All section 

references are to the Education Code (Code) unless otherwise indicated. 

4. Code section 94937 provides, in relevant part: 

(a) As a consequence of an investigation, which may incorporate any
materials obtained or produced in connection with a compliance inspection, and 
upon a finding that an institution has committed a violation, the bureau may place 
an institution on probation or may suspend or revoke an institution’s approval to 
operate for: 

. . . 

(2) A material violation or repeated violation of this chapter or regulations
adopted pursuant to this chapter that have resulted in harm to students. For 
purposes of this paragraph, “material violation” includes, but is not limited to, 
misrepresentation, fraud in the inducement of a contract, and false or misleading 
claims or advertising, upon which a student reasonably relied in executing an 
enrollment agreement and that resulted in harm to the student. 
. . . 

STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
5. Code section 94930.5 provides, in relevant part: 

(d)(1) In addition to any fees paid to the bureau pursuant to subdivisions (a) to 
(c), inclusive, each institution that is approved to operate pursuant to this chapter shall
remit both of the following: 

(A) An annual fee for each campus designated by the institution as a main 
campus location in California, in an amount equal to 0.45 percent of the campus' total 
gross revenue derived from students in California, but not to be less than two 
thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars
($60,000). 

(B) An annual campus fee for each branch of the institution in an amount equal
to 0.45 percent of the branch's total gross revenue derived from students in California,
but not to be less than two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500) and not to exceed
sixty thousand dollars ($60,000). 

(2) The amount of the annual fees pursuant to paragraph (1) shall be 
proportional to the bureau's cost of regulating institutions under this chapter, but shall 
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not exceed seven hundred fifty thousand dollars ($750,000) for any institution. 

. . . 

(f) It is the intent of the Legislature that the fees established pursuant to this 
section be evaluated during the 2017-18 state budget process and, if necessary, 
adjusted by subsequent legislation based upon information provided to the Legislature
by the department and the bureau. 

(g) Notwithstanding subdivision (d), effective July 1, 2018, the annual fee for
each campus described in subparagraphs (A) and (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision
(d) shall be in an amount equal to 0.55 percent of that campus' total gross revenue
derived from students in California, but not to be less than two thousand five hundred 
dollars ($2,500) and not to exceed sixty thousand dollars ($60,000) for each campus. 

6. Code section 94931 states: 

(a) A fee that is not paid on or before the 30th calendar day after the due date 

for the payment of the fee shall be subject to a 25 percent late payment penalty fee. 

(b) A fee that is not paid on or before the 90th calendar day after the due datefor 
payment of the fee shall be subject to a 35 percent late payment penalty fee. 

7. Code section 94936 states: 

(a) As a consequence of an investigation, which may incorporate any materials
obtained or produced in connection with a compliance inspection, and upon a finding 
that the institution has committed a violation of this chapter or that the institution has
failed to comply with a notice to comply pursuant to Section 94935 , the bureau shall 
issue a citation to an institution for violation of this chapter, or regulations adopted 
pursuant to this chapter. 

(b) The citation may contain any of the following: 
(1) An order of abatement that may require an institution to demonstrate how 

future compliance with this chapter or regulations adopted pursuant to this chapter 
will be accomplished. 

(2) Notwithstanding Section 125.9 of the Business and Professions Code , an 
administrative fine not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each violation. 
The bureau shall base its assessment of the administrative fine on: 

(A) The nature and seriousness of the violation. 
(B) The persistence of the violation. 
(C) The good faith of the institution. 
(D) The history of previous violations. 
(E) The purposes of this chapter. 
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(F) The potential harm to students. 

(3) An order to compensate students for harm, including a refund of moneys 
paid to the institution by or on behalf of the student, as determined by the bureau. 

(c)(1) The citation shall be in writing and describe the nature of the violation
and the specific provision of law or regulation that is alleged to have been violated. 

(2) The citation shall inform the institution of its right to request a hearing in 
writing within 30 days from service of the citation. 

(3) If a hearing is requested, the bureau shall select an informal hearing 
pursuant to Article 10 (commencing with Section 11445.10) of Chapter 4.5 of Part 1
of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code or a formal hearing pursuant to 
Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the
Government Code . 

(4) If a hearing is not requested, payment of the administrative fine is due 30 
days from the date of service, and shall not constitute an admission of the violation
charged. 

(5) If a hearing is conducted and payment of an administrative fine is ordered, 
the administrative fine is due 30 days from when the final order is entered. 

(6) The bureau may enforce the administrative fine as if it were a money 
judgment pursuant to Title 9 (commencing with Section 680.010) of Part 2 of the
Code of Civil Procedure. 

(d) All administrative fines shall be deposited in the Private Postsecondary 
Education Administration Fund. 

8. Business and Professions Code, section 125.9, states: 

(a) Except with respect to persons regulated under Chapter 11 (commencing 
with Section 7500), any board, bureau, or commission within the department, the
State Board of Chiropractic Examiners, and the Osteopathic Medical Board of
California, may establish, by regulation, a system for the issuance to a licensee of a 
citation which may contain an order of abatement or an order to pay an administrative
fine assessed by the board, bureau, or commission where the licensee is in violation
of the applicable licensing act or any regulation adopted pursuant thereto. 

(b) The system shall contain the following provisions: 

(1) Citations shall be in writing and shall describe with particularity the nature
of the violation, including specific reference to the provision of law determined to
have been violated. 

(2) Whenever appropriate, the citation shall contain an order of abatement
fixing a reasonable time for abatement of the violation. 

(3) In no event shall the administrative fine assessed by the board, bureau, or 
commission exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each inspection or each
investigation made with respect to the violation, or five thousand dollars ($5,000) for
each violation or count if the violation involves fraudulent billing submitted to an 
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insurance company, the Medi-Cal program, or Medicare. In assessing a fine, the 
board, bureau, or commission shall give due consideration to the appropriateness of
the amount of the fine with respect to factors such as the gravity of the violation, the
good faith of the licensee, and the history of previous violations. 

(4) A citation or fine assessment issued pursuant to a citation shall inform the
licensee that if the licensee desires a hearing to contest the finding of a violation, that
hearing shall be requested by written notice to the board, bureau, or commission 

within 30 days of the date of issuance of the citation or assessment. If a hearing is not
requested pursuant to this section, payment of any fine shall not constitute an
admission of the violation charged. Hearings shall be held pursuant to Chapter 5 
(commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the
Government Code. 

(5) Failure of a licensee to pay a fine within 30 days of the date of assessment, 
unless the citation is being appealed, may result in disciplinary action being taken by
the board, bureau, or commission. Where a citation is not contested and a fine is not 
paid, the full amount of the assessed fine shall be added to the fee for renewal of the
license. A license shall not be renewed without payment of the renewal fee and fine. 

(c) The system may contain the following provisions: 

(1) A citation may be issued without the assessment of an administrative fine. 

(2) Assessment of administrative fines may be limited to only particular
violations of the applicable licensing act. 

(d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if a fine is paid to satisfy an 
assessment based on the finding of a violation, payment of the fine shall be
represented as satisfactory resolution of the matter for purposes of public disclosure. 

(e) Administrative fines collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited in 
the special fund of the particular board, bureau, or commission. 

REGULATORY PROVISIONS 

9. California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 74006, subdivision (a-b), provides, in 

relevant part: 

(a) An institution's annual fee is due within 30 days of the date on which the 
institution originally receives its approval to operate and each year thereafter on the
anniversary of the date of the original approval. 

(b) An institution shall pay its annual fee in addition to any other applicable 
fees. 

… 

10. California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 75020, states: 

(a) The Bureau Chief, or his or her designee, or the Director's designee, is 
authorized to issue citations containing orders of abatement and/or administrative 
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fines pursuant to section 94936 of the Code against approved private, postsecondary 
institutions that have committed any acts or omissions that are in violation of the Act
or any regulation adopted pursuant thereto. 

(b) The Bureau Chief, or his or her designee, or the Director's designee, is 
authorized to issue citations containing orders of abatement and administrative fines
not to exceed $100,000 pursuant to section 94944 of the Code against persons who
are without proper approval to operate a private, postsecondary institution. In
addition, the citation may contain an order of abatement pursuant to section 149 of
the Business and Professions Code that requires the unapproved person to cease any 
unlawful advertising and to notify the telephone company furnishing services to the
cited person: (1) to disconnect the telephone services furnished to any telephone
number contained in the unlawful advertising, and (2) that subsequent calls to that
number shall not be referred by the telephone company to any new number obtained 
by that person. The provisions of section 75040 shall apply to this subsection. 

(c) In addition to the requirements of section 94936 of the Code, each citation 
shall inform the cited institution or person that: 

(1) if a hearing pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act (APA) is not
requested, payment of the administrative fine is due 30 days from the date of service,
and shall not constitute an admission of the violation charged. 

(2) if a hearing pursuant to the APA is conducted and payment of an 
administrative fine is ordered, the administrative fine is due 30 days from when the 
order is effective; 

(3) if the cited institution or person desires an informal conference to contest
the finding of a violation prior to an APA hearing, the informal conference shall be
requested by written notice to the Bureau within 30 days from service of the citation; 

(4) failure to comply with any order of abatement within the time set forth in 
the citation, unless the citation is being appealed, may result in disciplinary action 
being taken by the Bureau; and 

(5) the Bureau may enforce the administrative fine as if it were a money
judgment pursuant to the California Code of Civil Procedure (beginning with section
680.010). 

(d) Each citation shall be served on the cited institution or person, in person, or
by certified and regular mail at the address of record on file with the Bureau. 
Citations served by certified and regular mail shall be deemed “served” on the date of 
mailing. 

(e) The sanction authorized under this section shall be separate from, and in 
addition to, any civil, criminal, or other administrative remedies. 

11. California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 75050, states: 

(a) If a cited institution or person that or who has been issued an order of
abatement is unable to complete the correction within the time set forth in the citation
because of conditions beyond the institution's or person's control after the exercise of
reasonable diligence, the institution or person may request an extension of time
within which to complete the correction. Such a request shall be in writing and shall
be made within the time set forth for abatement. 

6 
(DIANOVA INSTITUTE) ACCUSATION 



 
   

 

 
         

 
   

        
    

         
    

      

         
   

           
    

  
   

       
       
 

   
         

          
 

     
  

      
     

          
       
         

        
    

         
     

       
        
   

        
         

 
     

          
        
         

   
            

5

10

15

20

25

1 

2 

3 

4 

6 
7 

8 

9 

11 

12 

13 

14 

16 

17 
18 
19 

21 

22 
23 

24 

26 
27 

28 

(b) Failure of an applicant or institution issued an approval to operate to abate 
the violation or to pay the fine within the time allowed is a ground for denial or
discipline of an approval to operate. 

(c) If an informal conference or hearing is not requested, payment of the fine 
and/or compliance with any order of abatement shall not constitute an admission of
the violation charged and shall be represented as satisfactory resolution of the matter
for purposes of public disclosure. 

12. California Code of Regulations, title 5, section 76130, states: 

(a)(1) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student 
in an educational program at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf
of the student at or after enrollment. The assessment shall be collected for the 
entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student pays the institutional
charges in increments. 

(2) The assessment to be collected from a re-enrolling student shall be 
limited to any amount that is due after crediting any prior assessment amount paid 
by the student. The enrollment agreement shall clearly identify any prior STRF 
assessment paid by the student. 

(b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment report and
remit it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the 
Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close of the quarter as 
follows: 

(1) April 30 for the first quarter, 
(2) July 31 for the second quarter,
(3) October 31 for the third quarter, and 
(4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. 

If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the 
due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 

(c) The STRF Assessment report shall contain the following information:
(1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for 

educational programs during the reporting period; and 
(2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment 

agreements for educational programs during the reporting period; and
(3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement 

during the reporting period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first 
payment during the reporting period; and

(4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a 
previous reporting period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first 
payment during the current reporting period; and 

(5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's 
institutional charges to the nearest $1,000, for all eligible STRF students whose 
STRF assessment was collected in the reporting period; and 

(6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and 
(7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person 

preparing the form that the form and any attachments are true and correct. 
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(d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be 
remitted to the Bureau within seven days following the cessation of instruction. 

(e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section isa
condition of renewal. 

COST RECOVERY 

13. Code section 94937, subdivision (c), provides that when the Bureau takes disciplinary 

action against an institution such as Respondent, the Bureau may seek reimbursement of its costs 

pursuant to Business and Professions Code, section 125.3. 

14. Business and Professions Code section 125.3 provides, in relevant part, that the Board 

may request the administrative law judge to direct a licentiate found to have committed a 

violation or violations of the licensing act to pay a sum not to exceed the reasonable costs of the 

investigation and enforcement of the case, with failure of the licentiate to comply subjecting the 

license to not being renewed or reinstated. If a case settles, recovery of investigation and 

enforcement costs may be included in a stipulated settlement. 

FACTUAL ALLEGATIONS 

15. On or about March 11, 2020, the Bureau issued Approval to Operate Institution Code 

No. 51315935 to Respondent. 

16. On September 17, 2020, the Bureau issued citation No. 2021090 (Citation) to 

Respondent for two violations, including: 

a) Respondent’s failure to submit completed Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) 

Assessment Reporting Form for the second quarter of 2020; 

b) Respondent’s failure to submit its 2020 annual fee within 30 days of the date on which 

the Institution originally received its approval to operate. 

17. The Citation included an assessed fine of $50.00, and Orders of Abatement.  The 

Orders of Abatement required Respondent to submit the delinquent Student Tuition Recover 

Fund (STRF) Reporting Forms with the STRF Assessments collected from students for the 

Second quarter of 2020 and ordered Respondent to submit its annual fee for the year 2020 in 

accordance with law. Finally, the Citation ordered Respondent to pay the fine of $50.00 and 
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provide proof of compliance with the Orders of Abatement within 30 days from the date of 

service of the Citation. The Bureau served the Citation on Respondent on September 17, 2020. 

18. On or about November 23, 2020, Respondent submitted its STRF form for the second 

quarter of 2020 to the Bureau. The Bureau received this form after it had issued Citation No. 

2021090 on September 17, 2020. 

19. On December 22, 2020, Bureau staff sent a Demand for Payment and Orders of 

Abatement Notice (Notice) to Respondent advising them that full payment and compliance with 

the Orders of Abatement had to be received by January 24, 2021.  The notice warned that failure 

to do so could result in disciplinary action. Significantly, the Notice also included an email 

address of Bureau staff for Respondent to contact should they believe that they do not owe the 

money or if they wish to pay the debt in installments. 

20. The Bureau did not receive any response from Respondent. 

21. On February 18, 2021, Bureau staff sent a second Demand for Payment and 

compliance with the Orders of Abatement Notice to Respondent. Again, the Bureau did not 

receive any response from Respondent. 

22. On or about April 9, 2021, Bureau Staff sent a third (and final) Demand for Payment 

and Orders of Abatement Notice to Respondent. The Bureau did not receive any response from 

Respondent. 

23. On May 19, 2021, Bureau staff sent an email to Respondent regarding Citation No. 

2021090. Attached to the email as .pdfs, were copies of the three Demand Notices and a copy of 

Citation No. 2021090, all of which were previously sent to Respondent by U.S. mail. The email 

warned Respondent that the administrative fine of $50.00 and the 2020 annual fee, with the late 

payment penalty fee, had to be sent to the Bureau by May 27, 2021, in order for them to avoid 

collection and disciplinary action. 

24. To date, Respondent has failed to submit the administrative fine of $50.00, the 2020 

annual fee, and late fee to the Bureau as required by Citation No. 2021090. 

/// 

/// 
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CAUSE FOR DISCIPLINE 

(Failure to Comply with Citation) 

25. Respondent has subjected its Approval to Operate to disciplinary action for failing to 

comply with Citation No. 2021090, in violation of Education Code, section 94936, and California 

Code of Regulations, title 5, section 75020, subdivision (c)(4). The circumstances are more fully 

explained in paragraphs 15 through 24, above. 

PRAYER 

WHEREFORE, Complainant requests that a hearing be held on the matters alleged in this 

Accusation, and that following the hearing, the Director of the Department of Consumer Affairs 

issue a decision: 

1. Revoking Approval to Operate Institution Code No. 51315935, issued to Respondent; 

2. Ordering DiaNova Institute to pay the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

the reasonable costs of the investigation and enforcement of this case, pursuant to Business and 

Professions Code section 125.3; and, 

3. Taking such other and further action as deemed necessary and proper. 

DATED:  “10/1/2021”  “Original signature on file” 
DEBORAH COCHRANE 
Chief 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary
Education 
Department of Consumer Affairs
State of California 
Complainant 

OK2021900264 
91419203.docx 
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