

ESTD

1910

MOLER

BARBER COLLEGE 3815 Telegraph Avenue Oakland, CA 94609

Satellite locations:

13128 San Pablo Avenue San Pablo, CA 94805

22425 & 22641 Main Street Hayward, CA 94541

PHONE:(510)652-4177 FAX: (925)933-1414

COLLEGE CATALOG 2-12-19 VOLUME XVII

Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges

Disclaimer Statement

Review all documents prior to signing

All students will receive a Catalog prior to enrollment.

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the school performance fact sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

ACCORDING TO THE CALIFONIA BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY THE REQUIREMENTS FOR BECOMING A BARBER IN CALIFORNIA ARE:

The board shall admit to examination for a license as a barber to practice barbering any person who had made application to the board in proper form paid the required by this chapter and is qualified as follows:

- (a) Is not less than 17 years of age
- (b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. (c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480 (d) Has done any of the following:
 - (1) Completed a course in barbering from a school approved by the board
- (2) Completed an apprenticeship program in barbering approved by the board as conducted under the provisions of the Shelley Maloney Apprentice Labor Standards Act of 1939, Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 3070) of Division 3 of the Labor Code.
- (3) Practiced barbering as defined in the chapter outside of this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and training of a qualified person who has completed a course in barbering from a school the curriculum of which complied with requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training for qualifications under paragraph (1).
- (4) Holds a license as a cosmetologist in this state and has completed a barber crossover course in a school approved by the board.
- (5) Completed a cosmetology course in a school approved by the board and has completed a barber crossover course in a school approved by the board.
- (6) Completed comparable military training as documented by submission of Verification of Military Experience and Training (V-MET) records.



STATE OF CALIFORNIA STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND

Disclosures

"You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all of the following applies to you:

1. You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans, and 2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if either of the following applies:

- 1. You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or
- 2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party."

"The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or are enrolled in a residency programs attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education.

You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

- 1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed.
- 2. The school's failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected within 180 days before the closure of the school. 3. The school's failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to closure in excess of tuition and other costs.
- 4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act of this Division within 30 days before the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30 days prior the closure, the period determined by the Bureau http://www.bppe.ca.gov/.
- 5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the institution for a violation of the Act."

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 94923, Education Code

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TITLE	PAGE#
❖ LICENSING AND AFFILIATION	5
❖ DISCLAIMER STATEMENT	2
❖ PHILOSOPHY & MISSION	6
A. HISTORY OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE	7
	-
B. ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS	8
C. EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES	9
D. CATALOG OF COURSES	9-13
E. PHYSICAL FACILITIES	14
F. RULES AND REGULATIONS	15-16
G. STUDENT SERVICES AND ADVISING	16-17
H. PLACEMENT ASSISTANCE	17
I. COMPENSATION STANDARD	17
J. HOUSING AND PARKING	17
K. CALENDAR	17
L. TUITION AND FEES	18
M. FINANCIAL AID	18
N. REFUND POLICY	18-20
O. ENROLLMENT PROCEDURES	21
P. APPLICATION	21
Q. ENROLLMENT AND TRANSFER POLICY	21-22
R. FACULTY	23
S. ATTENDANCE POLICY	24-25
T. SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP)	25-27
U. CONDUCT POLICY	27-28
V. STUDENT GRIEVANCE AND COMPLAINTS RESOURCES	29-30
W. OWNER CERTIFICATION	30
X. STUDENT ACADEMIC RECORDS	30

LICENSING AND AFFILIATION

Moler Barber College is licensed by the State of California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.

Notice: This institution's application for approval to operate has been reviewed by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education

Moler Barber College is a private institution and is licensed by the Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education.

Moler Barber College is approved to operate by Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Our approval is valid until July 1st 2022.

Any questions that a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education at 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 www.bppe.ca.gov Tel (916) 431-6959 Fax (916)263-1897

This catalog is updated annually. If changes in educational programs, educational services, procedures, or policies required to be included in the catalog by statute or regulation are implemented before the issuance of the annually updated catalog, those changes shall be reflected at the time they are made in supplements or inserts accompanying the catalog.

DISCLAIMER STATEMENT

This catalog has been prepared in accordance with State and Federal requirements: it is a publication of Moler Barber College. It contains Statements of Policy and is intended only for information. It is not a contract and is not intended as such. It is subject to revision at the discretion of Moler Barber College.

Review all documents prior to signing

All students will receive a College Catalog prior to enrollment.

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are encouraged to review the school performance fact sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

PHILOSOPHY OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE

MISSION OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE

Moler Barber College's mission is to graduate self-sustaining students into their new careers in the hair industry and prepare them for hair industry job opportunities. No two students learn the same way and therefore it is necessary to give personal and individualized instruction. Our aim is to aid the student in learning responsibility, promptness, service, and discipline to help them gain the self-confidence they will need to begin new, successful hair industry careers.

MOLER BARBER COLLEGE'S OBJECTIVE is to make a contribution to society by training students to become qualified, licensed hair professionals. We accomplish this by requiring students to comply with regulations regarding dress code, promptness, citizenship, and responsibility. This is *in addition to* their actual performance in haircare service training. We feel that preparing students for professionalism in their field requires dress code, attendance, and a good attitude towards the public (patrons). We hope that our students will in turn become contributors to their communities as well as self-supporting citizens.

EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES

The primary objective of Moler Barber College and its division Moler Cosmetology College is to bring the student to entry level employment with a background in all services offered in a full-service barber shop and/or salon. These include hair cutting and styling, facials, shampooing and scalp treatments, hair coloring, hair relaxing and weaving. Related areas also covered are customer psychology, product knowledge and shop management. The training is based upon requirements to pass the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology's examination. Moler Barber College & its division Moler Cosmetology College believes it is also important that the curriculum be presented in a professional manner and with diligent study, the student will be prepared for employment in the hair industry as a CA state licensed barber and/or cosmetologist. Our instructors are professionals who are licensed by the CA State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and have extensive backgrounds as practitioners and business owners.

A. HISTORY OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE

Moler Barber Colleges have been in operation for over a century.

The college was established by A. B. Moler, who opened the first barber college in the nation in Chicago, Illinois, in 1893. With the success of his barber college in Chicago, Moler turned his attention out west. The National Barber School had been established just before the turn of the century at 218 "J" Street, in Sacramento, California. Mr. Moler purchased the National Barber College in 1910, renaming it Moler Barber College. He then established his system of training barbers here in California. Moler Barber College of Oakland has been continuously operating since 1911.

Mr. Moler eventually sold the college to the family of Henry H. Haight. Haight was Governor of California from 1867 to 1871. The Haight family operated the schools until 1932, at which time James A. Murray, Sr. purchased them. Murray already owned and operated the Moler Barber College in Oakland, and eventually opened Moler Barber Colleges in San Francisco, Fresno and Stockton, as well. The schools were sold to various owners.

In July 2011, Moler Barber College in Oakland was sold to Quattro Barber Colleges, Corp. Maintaining deep ties with our Oakland community, we continue to provide low cost hair care and vocational training in barbering for more than a decade.

In January 2014, Moler Barber College in San Pablo, CA became a satellite location of the main school in Oakland.

Then in November 2016, in an unprecedented move for the vocation of barbering since no new schools of barbering have been built from the ground up in decades, Moler Barber College of Hayward opened (also as a satellite of main school in Oakland). The current owners are proud to be part of legacy of expanding the reaches of training the best California barbers continuously for more than a century.

B. ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS

Moler Barber College requires the completion of high school or its equivalent for enrollment. The State of California requires the completion of the tenth (10th) grade in order to qualify to take the Barber Licensing Exam. Students may enroll in MOLER BARBER COLLEGE if they meet all the following requirements:

- 1. High School diploma or Passed GED results
- 2. Have completed the required application and paid the non-refundable registration

fee At the time of enrollment an applicant must have:

High School Diploma or Passed GED results

Down payment if required for course Valid

Picture I.D.

Social Security Card

Two 1 1/2" X 1 1/2" photographs

Moler Barber College practices no discrimination in any of its policies based on race, religion, creed, national origin, financial status, sex or age.

NOTE: Pursuant to H.R. 2055, Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2012, enacted on December 23, 2011, amending Section 484(d) of the Higher Education Act (20 U.S.c. 1091(d), ATB students who first enroll after July 1, 2012, will no longer be eligible to receive Financial Aid. To be eligible for Financial Aid students must have a High School Diploma, GED, or proof of completion of a State approved home school program. Students who have previously taken an ATB test and who have been enrolled on that basis prior to July 1, 2012, remain eligible to receive Financial Aid.

At the request of Moler Barber College officials, students may be asked to verify the authenticity of the diploma, GED or official transcript prior to enroll. If the diploma cannot be verified, the student may be asked to provide a final high school or GED transcript showing the dates of entrance and graduation and the courses completed or in the case of GED, the test results. If a transcript is not available, the student will be required to take and pass a GED test prior to enrollment.

CITIZENSHIP, GREEN CARD and VISA

We require that, a student must either be a citizen of the United States, hold a valid green card to work in the U.S. or have a valid Student or work visa and be eligible to take the Barber exam from the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. We do not offer any visa services. We do not vouch for students attempting to obtain visas.

LANGUAGE REQUIREMENT

Moler does not offer any English language instruction and all courses are taught in English. All foreign students must have a minimum TOEFL score of 450.

C. EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES

The primary objective of Moler Barber College is to bring the student to entry level employment with a background in all services given in a full-service Barber/Styling shop. These include hair cutting and styling, shaving, facials, shampooing and scalp treatments, hair coloring, hair relaxing and weaving. Related areas also covered are customer psychology, product knowledge and shop management. The training is based upon requirements to pass the State's examination. Moler Barber College believes it is also important that the curriculum be presented in a professional manner and with diligent study, the student will be prepared for employment in the Barber Industry as a Registered Barber. Moler Barber College instructors are professionals licensed by the State Board of Barber Examiners. The staff keeps current with seminars, conferences and demonstrations on fashions, methods and new services.

D. CATALOG OF COURSES

In our courses the definition of Practical application is hands on barbering and performing barbering services. The student will be supervised as they perform barbering services to customers. In our courses, the definition of theory is class room instruction that takes place one hour per day, four days per week. We teach and review concepts in the text book and teach procedures needed to pass the state board examination.

SC-1 BARBERING COURSE 1500 CLOCK HOURS 43 WEEKS

The curriculum includes a total of 1500 hours of theory and practical applications. The course content covers both basic and advanced phases of Barbering and Hairstyling. The subjects covered in a sequential order include the following: Haircutting, Shaving, Sanitation and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, Shop Management, Laws and Regulations, Hair Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and Hairstyling. This course is a prerequisite for application to state of California for the license examination that is conducted by the State Board of Barber Examiners. This course also prepares the student for entry level employment as a Barber. The Full-Time training schedule includes 40 clock hours per week. It takes approximately ten (10) months (40) weeks to complete this course. Upon completion of this course you are not qualified to perform any barbering services until you pass the California Barber examination administered by the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.

TUITION AND FEES

Tuition \$18.842.00

Registration \$ 150.00 (Not Refundable) STRF Fee \$ 0.00 (Not Refundable)

Sales Tax \$ 163.54

Books & Tools \$ 1,768.00 TOTAL

\$20,923.54

THEORY OF BARBERING (Required) 150 HOURS

The Basics of Barbering-Styling, Advanced Barber-Styling, Cutting and Styling, Design Techniques, Barber Science, the Chemicals and Treatments, Syphilis, Anatomy, Industry Related Business Principles, Barber Boards, Operating in the Field and Practical Application.

Practical Application (Required) 1300 HOURS Theory of Barbering 150 HOURS

C-2 RE-ENROLLMENT COURSE 250 CLOCK HOURS FT-6 1/4WEEKS- PT-12WEEKS

The Curriculum is similar to SC-1 for a total of 250 clock hours. The subjects covered include: Haircutting, Shaving, Sanitation and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, Shop Management, Laws and Regulations, Hair Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and Hairstyling. More emphasis is placed on preparation for the barber license examination including the theory as well as the practical portion of the exam. This course is for the student who has previously failed the licensing examination. Full time training schedule is 40 clock hours per week. This is a six and one quarter week course. Part Time training schedule is less than full time (40 hours per week) and must be completed within three 3 months/12 Weeks. This course prepares a student to provide entry level services as a Barber in the State of California.

TUITION AND FEES

Tuition \$2,308.00

Registration \$ 150.00 (Not Refundable) STRF Fee \$ 1.50 (Not Refundable)

Books \$ 245.25 * TOTAL \$2,704.75

THEORY OF BARBERING (Required) 80 HOURS

The Basics of Barbering-Styling, Advanced Barber-Styling, Cutting and Styling, Design Techniques, Barber Science, Damaged Hair and Skin Problems, the Chemicals and Treatments, Syphilis, Anatomy, industry Related Business Principles, Barber Boards, Operating in the Field and Practical Application

PRACTICAL APPLICATION 150 HOURS
THEORY OF BARBERING 80 HOURS
Additional Preparation for State Board Exam 20 HOURS

TOTAL (Required) 250 HOURS

^{*}If students enrolling for this course need tools, they can purchase them for \$872.00 (includes taxes), through Moler Barber College Admissions office.

RC-3 REFRESHER COURSE 400 CLOCK HOURS 10 WEEKS

The Curriculum covers a combination of theory and practical for those areas listed under SC-l. This course can be completed in 2 1/2 months/10weeks. Prerequisite: The Student Applicant must be qualified to take the License Examination. This course is for licensed Apprentices or Barbers from another state or country. Curriculum: This course prepares the applicant for the California license examination. The subjects covered include: Haircutting, Shaving, Sanitation and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, Shop Management, Laws and Regulations, Hair Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and Hairstyling. This course must be completed in six months and prepares a licensed apprentice or out-of-State Barber to provide the entry level services of a Barber in the State of California.

TUITION AND FEES

Tuition \$3,692.00

Registration \$ 150.00 (Not Refundable) STRF Fee \$ \frac{2.00}{2.00} (Not Refundable)

Books \$ 245.25 TOTAL \$4,089.25

THEORY OF BARBERING (Required) 46 HOURS

The Basics of Barber-Styling, Advanced Barber-Styling, Cutting and Styling, Design Techniques, Barber Science, Damaged Hair And Skin Problems, The Chemicals And Treatments, Syphilis, Anatomy, Industry Related Business Principles, Barber Boards, Operating In the Field and Practical Application.

PRACTICAL APPLICATION (Required)	46 HOURS
THEORY OF BARBERING	46 HOURS
Additional Preparation for State Board Exam	308 HOURS
TOTAL (Required)	400 HOURS

T-4 BARBER INSTRUCTOR COURSE

600 CLOCK HOURS 15-24 WEEKS

Minimum requirements: 12th grade education

18 years of age

California licensed barber

CURRICULUM: Includes: teaching methods and procedures used in barbering colleges; Teaching Theory; and Practical phases of barbering, under the supervision of a qualified instructor. The course prepares the student for entry level employment as a Barber Instructor.

The subjects covered include: Introduction to teaching, The Learning Process, The Teaching process, planning for teaching, The State Examination Procedure and Practical Application. The course can be completed in 15 weeks but must be completed in six (6) months.

TUITION AND FEES

Tuition \$5,538.00 (Tools & Books not included)

Registration \$ 150.00 (Not Refundable)

STRF Fee \$\frac{\$ \text{2.50}}{\$ \text{TOTAL} \$5,690.50}

THEORY OF TEACHING and STUDENT TEACHING 250 & 110 HOURS

The Needs Of The Beginning Teacher, The need of Moler Barber College operation, The learning process, principles of learning, Characteristics Of The Learning Process, The Teaching Process, Educational Objectives, Preparation For Training, Course Outlines, Lesson Plans, The Four Step Plan, Methods Of Instruction, Planning For Teaching, Procedure For Writing A Lesson Plan, Development Of Instructional Materials, Evaluation Of Instruction and Practical Application.

THEORY OF TEACHING (Required) and PRACTICAL APPLICATION (Required) 240 HOURS STUDENT TEACHING 110 HOURS

TOTAL (Required) 600 HOURS

CX-5 COSMETOLOGIST CROSS~OVER COURSE

305 CLOCK HOURS - 10 WEEKS

This 305-hour course is designed for the applicant who has completed the California 1600 clock hour Cosmetology Course and/or holds a California Cosmetology license. This course includes 40 hours of theory instruction and 300 hours of practical training. An additional 40 hours in either practical or theory will be determined by the instructor depending on the student's needs. The subjects covered include: Haircutting, Shaving, Sanitation and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, Shop Management, Laws and Regulations, Hair Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and Hairstyling. This course can be completed in ten (10) weeks of full time attendance, but must be completed in four (4) months. This course prepares a licensed Cosmetologist to provide entry level services as a Barber in the State of California.

THE THEORY OF BARBERING (Required) 55 HOURS

The Basics of Barber-Styling, Advanced Barber-Styling, Cutting and Styling, Design Techniques, Barber Science, The Chemicals and Treatments, Syphilis, Anatomy, Industry Related Business Principles, Barber Boards, Operating In The Field And Practical Application

PRACTICAL APPLICATION (Required)	265 HOURS
THE THEORY OF BARBERING (Required)	55 HOURS
Additional Preparation for the State Board	80 HOURS

TOTAL (Required) _____ 400 HOURS

TUITION AND FEES

Tuition \$4,550.00

Registration \$ 150.00 (Not Refundable) STRF Fee \$ 0.00 (Not Refundable)

TOTAL \$4,700.00

Books& SW \$ 485.25 (optional) <u>Kit</u> \$1,322.75(optional)

TOTAL \$1,808 in optional charges

Absent hours: \$12.00/ hour

E. PHYSICAL FACILITIES

The Oakland campus occupies approximately 4,000 square feet of space. This is divided into a Theory classroom, and Practical Room. The Theory classroom is where the students assemble for the first period class session, each week. It is equipped with 32 student chair desks, a blackboard and sets of informational charts.

The Practical room is where the students perform services on clients. The Oakland school has 32 barber chairs. There are 4 hand washing sinks, 32 mirrors/barber stations and waiting benches to accommodate clients.

The San Pablo campus occupies approximately 2,000 square feet of space. This is divided into a Practical room and an administrative office. It has 18 barber chairs, 8 hand sinks, a shampoo sink and a whiteboard for lessons.

The Hayward campus occupies approximately 3,600 square feet of space. This is divided into a Theory area with multimedia instructional equipment, and a Practical Area. The Practical area is equipped with 41 barber stations, 4 hand sinks, and 3 shampoo stations.

All class sessions will be held at both locations: Oakland and the San Pablo & Hayward satellite campuses.

DISTANCE LEARNING

All training is hands on, supervised and done on site at the Moler campuses. There is no distance learning available.

LIBRARY

Moler Barber College has a library of trade related books at Oakland, San Pablo and Hayward campuses. These materials are available to students from 9:30 am to 5:30 pm. The required text and learning resources prescribed by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology are also available. Books and DVDs are available on a check in/check out basis for one day only. Laptop computers & wireless internet service are available to students at both campuses.

CLASS SIZE: The maximum number of students in the Theory Classroom is 32 for Oakland and Hayward & 20 for San Pablo: Classes with less than 25 students will have one (1) instructor and classes with 25 or more students will have two (2) instructors.

F. RULES AND REGULATIONS

Professional Conduct is the only level of conduct we expect from our students. A professional does not arrive late. A professional treats patrons, instructors and fellow students with courtesy and awareness. A professional is constantly taking the time to follow rules of good grooming and proper sanitation.

The following rules are important. If you disobey them, you may be dismissed from the college. None of the rules are arbitrary. They reflect the level of conduct you will be expected to maintain throughout your professional career. The best way to begin that career is to act like the professional Barber/Hair Stylist you want to be.

- 1. **DRESS CODE:** Male students must wear a shirt, and slacks. Female students must wear a blouse and slacks. All students are to wear a clean smock and wear shoes that are comfortable for standing and in good repair. In compliance with State regulations, students must wear foot covering, no sandals (Art. 2, Sec. 216 CBL). Chair cloths must be used by students and must be kept clean.
- **2. CLOCKING IN AND OUT:** Student time clock printout an important document and is used for the computation of your hours of training. The student is responsible for the clock-ins and clock-outs.
- 3. TIME CLOCK PROCEDURES: At all times, the student must punch in on a time clock upon entering school, leaving for the lunch period, returning from lunch and at the close of the day. The punching of the time clock procedure is necessary to meet State Board requirements for the number of hours the student is in college and it is a legal document. Punching in or out incorrectly is looked upon as forgery and will be dealt with accordingly.
- **4. TARDINESS:** Students arriving 15 minutes late, in the morning, will not be allowed to punch in until after Theory Class is completed. If you arrive at the College two hours late, you will not be allowed to punch in for the balance of the day.
- **5. POLICY RELATING TO ABSENCES:** The student is required to attend 66.67% of the agreed schedule. Failure for any reason to maintain the 66.67% attendance may be cause for dismissal. Absences will be excused only with a doctor's written verification, death in the family or approval of a school staff member. An unexcused absence must be made up. In all cases, all school work must be completed.
- **6. FULL TIME SCHEDULE:** Full time attendance is based on eight (8) hours per day, five (5) days per week, for a total of forty (40) hours per week. 66.67% attendance is required. Any scheduling for less than full time must be approved by the administrative office prior to enrolling.

- **7. DRUG ABUSE:** No student shall be allowed to attend or to remain in school while intoxicated or under the influence of any drug. Students while under prescription medication must notify the college for approval to attend school. Violation of this rule is cause for disciplinary action by the California State Board of Barber Examiners. (Art. 7, Sec. 6581 BL).
- **8. STEALING:** Any student found to be involved in stealing from another student or from the college will be dismissed immediately.
- 9. ANY STUDENT GUILTY OF WILFUL DESTRUCTION OF COLLEGE PROPERTY WILL BE DISMISSED IMMEDIATELY!
- **10. INSTRUCTOR'S DIRECTION:** Any student in direct violation of an instructor's direction may be suspended from college immediately.
- **11. REFUSING SERVICE:** Any student guilty of refusing a client service may be suspended from college immediately.
- 12. POLICY RELATING TO MAKE-UP WORK: All required tests must be taken. A test is given after each chapter or lesson of theory. If you miss a test, make-up tests will be allowed following the next chapter or lesson.
- 13. GRADING FACTORS: Students will be assigned grades as follows:

THEORY CLASSES AND CLINIC

- 4.0 A (90-100) Outstanding
- 3.0 B (80-89) Good
- 2.0 C (70-79) Satisfactory
- 1.0 D (60-69) Below standard but Passing
- 0.0 F (59 or less) Failure/Incomplete Work
- 0.0 W Withdrawal
- **14. GRADUATION:** Upon successful completion of the course, the graduate receives a Diploma (Certificate of Award).

The student who completes the course and the minimum practical services as established by the California Board of Barber Examiners is qualified to take the licensing examination given by the board. Upon successfully passing the examination the graduate can obtain a Registered California Barber License. With this license the new barber may be employed in a Barber / Styling establishment, a Beauty / Styling salon or own and operate his/her own barber business. To qualify for graduation the course must be satisfactorily completed in no more than one and one half times its' scheduled number of weeks or months and the student must attain at least a 2.0 grade point average to graduate.

15. CHANGES IN RULES AND REGULATIONS

The college reserves the right to make any changes in the rules and regulations at any time. All students will be notified of changes immediately.

G. STUDENT SERVICES and ADVISING

Academic advice is provided monthly through the use of the Attendance and Progress Reports by the instructor. Advice is also available regarding financial or other type problems. If you find yourself feeling a bit overwhelmed b it all, give us a chance to help. The administrative staff knows the problems you might face. You are a very important person to us---let us prove it to you.

H. PLACEMENT ASSISTANCE

MOLER BARBER COLLEGE does not guarantee employment upon graduation. However, the college does attempt to locate employment for graduates who request assistance. The college is very interested in the kind of position students secure after their training is completed. Reasonable efforts will be made to assist a graduate in gaining employment. The more flexible a graduate can be regarding placement, the easier it is for the college to assist. Because of our service to the Barber industry over the many years, we do receive numerous calls from the field for graduates. The college maintains a Job Listing Book listing current employment opportunities as well as a listing of Barber shops for sale. A Job Listing Book, listing current employment opportunities as well as a listing of Barber/Styling shops for sale will be available in the office upon request.

Moler also offers other miscellaneous student services such as library and computer services (see page 10) and close interaction between student and instructor. Our campus has free and convenient parking.

I. COMPENSATION STANDARDS

The Barber/Hairstyling industry generally pays compensation based on the performance of each employee. Commissions vary but the average is between 55% and 75% of the income from services the employee performs at his/her station. California Law requires payment of at least the hourly minimum wage. There are opportunities for other income and salary arrangements through various entrepreneurial ventures.

J. HOUSING and PARKING

Moler Barber College does not have any dormitory facilities under our control. We assume no responsibility to find or assist a student in finding housing. It is the sole responsibility of the student. Apartments are available in the area and a two bedroom can be rented in the \$1,000.00 range. Rooms can be rented for under \$500.00. City bus service is available nearby and public transportation is available for the cities near Oakland. Public parking is available in the area.

K. CALENDAR

Moler Barber College is operated on a year round schedule. Start dates are on Monday or Tuesday for all courses offered, unless otherwise specified and allowed by an acting school director. The ending dates will vary according to school holidays and to meet the course length requirements appearing on pages 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 of this catalog. Weekly operation is Friday, Saturday 8:30 AM to 5:15PM, Monday 4PM to 10PM, Tuesday through Thursday from 8:30 AM to 10 PM. The holidays set by the California Board of Barbers Examiners are: New Year's Day - January 1, Memorial Day, Independence Day - July 4, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day* and Christmas Day.*

Holiday Calendar

We observe the following holidays:

January 1st New Year's Day

March or April Easter

May Memorial Day July 4th Independence Day

September Labor Day
November Thanksgiving
December 25th Holiday Break

L. TUITION AND FEES

SEE PAGES 5-9 FOR TUITION AND FEES FOR ALL MOLER BARBER COLLEGE COURSES OFFERED.

M. FINANCIAL AID

This college is approved to accept qualified applicants under various financial aid programs. Financial aid is available to those who qualify. Inquire at the college business office for details.

If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the monies not paid from federal student financial aid program funds.

N. REFUND POLICY BUYERS RIGHT TO CANCEL AND REFUND RIGHTS

- You have the right to cancel this agreement for educational services as well as any equipment or other goods and services, until midnight of the seventh business day after the first class you attend. Business day means a day on which you were scheduled to attend a class. Cancellation occurs when you give written notice of cancellation at the school address shown on the front page of this Catalog. You can do this by mail, in person or by fax. The notice of cancellation, if mailed is effective when deposited in the mail, properly addressed with postage prepaid. This notice need not take any particular form, and however expressed, is effective if it states that the student no longer wishes to be bound by the Agreement. If you cancel this agreement, School will refund any money that you paid within 30 days after your notice is received.
- 2) If the school has given you any equipment, you shall return it to the school within 30 days following the date of your notice of cancellation. If you fail to return the equipment unused and in good condition within a 30-

day period, the school may retain that portion of payment paid by you, and deduct the cost from any refund due to you. Barber equipment, once used, is not returnable.

3) You have the right to withdraw from Moler Barber College at any time. If you withdraw from the course of instruction after the cancellation period described in Part 1, the school will remit a refund minus the nonrefundable registration fee of \$150.00 and the non-refundable STRF fee (if applicable). The student may withdraw by the student's written notice to Moler or by the student's conduct, including, but not limited to student's poor attendance. If the student withdraws prior to completion of the Program of study in which she/he is enrolled, the school determines whether the student is eligible for a refund of monies paid based on a pro-rata calculation formula (see example below) up until the student has been enrolled for sixty percent (60%) of the scheduled hours of the Program. Should the number of scheduled hours during the student's enrollment in the Program exceed sixty percent (60%) of the total hours in the Program, the institution shall have earned and will retain 100 percent of the institutional charges assessed to the student, as explained on the Enrollment Agreement. If the student withdraws from his/her Program of study after the deadline for the student's right to cancel the Agreement has passed and the student is entitled to a refund per the pro rata calculation mentioned above, the school will issue such refund to the student, less a registration fee not to exceed \$150.00, within 30 days following the student's withdrawal. If the amount that you owe is more than the amount that you paid then you will have to make arrangements to pay for the educational services that you have received.

CLOCK HOUR PROGRAM

4. HYPOTHETICAL REFUND EXAMPLE: FOR 1500 HR COURSE

Assume, upon enrollment in a 1500 hour course, you pay \$12,842 for tuition, \$150.00 for Registration, and \$1,117.25 (fair market value) for books and tools, \$7.00 for STRF and withdraw after completing a scheduled 375 hours (25%) without returning the books and supplies you obtained. The registration fee and STRF fee are non-refundable therefore your refund will be calculated as follows:

\$12,842.00 the amount paid for tuition

- \$ 150.00 for registration fee (non-refundable)
- \$ 1,117.25 amount paid for books (not returned)
- \$ 7.00 amount paid for STRF (not refundable)
- \$ 14.024.00 Total Paid
 - \$ 12,842 x 25% = \$3,210.50 Cost of instruction received
- \$ 3,210.50 Cost of instruction
 - \$ 9.631.50 Refund due to student

If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from federal financial aid program funds.

5. For the purpose of determining the amount you owe, you shall be deemed to have withdrawn from the course when any of the following occurs: (a) You notify School of your withdrawal or the actual date of withdrawal; (b) School terminates your enrollment; (c) You fail to attend classes for a two week period; (d) You fail to return from a leave of absence. In this case, the date of withdrawal shall be deemed to be the last date of recorded attendance.

- 6. If any portion of your tuition was paid from loan proceeds, the refund will be sent to the lender or agency that guaranteed the loan. Any remaining refund amount will first be used to repay any student financial aid programs from which you received benefits, to the extent of benefits received. Any remaining amount will be paid to you.
- 7. If the course is cancelled subsequent to a student's enrollment, the School shall at its option provide a refund of all monies paid or provide for completion of the course. If there is a closure at the School the student may be entitled to a refund according to the refund policy.
- 8. If a student who has not had the opportunity to visit the school prior to enrollment opts to withdraw within three business days that student will be entitled to a full refund of tuition and fees paid.

APPLICATION OF REFUND PROCEEDS: Any amount of the refund in excess of the unpaid balance of the loan shall be first used to repay any student financial aid programs from which the student received any benefits, in proportion to the amount of the benefits received, and any remaining amount shall be paid to the student. Any overpayment of monies disbursed for indirect educational expenses will be based on the percentage of time elapsed over the total time in the award period. The Buyer/Student will be responsible for the repayment of any such overpayment. Repayments made by the Buyer/Student will be made to the appropriate Financial Aid fund account in proportion to the amount of the benefits received by the Buyer/Student.

NOTICE OF REFUND TO BUYER/STUDENT: The Seller/ School shall notify the Buyer/Student in writing of the date on which the refund was made, the amount of the refund, the method of calculating the refund, and the name and address of the entity to which the refund was sent within ten days of such refund. Posting this notice in the US Postal Service shall be deemed constructive notice for this purpose.

The Seller/School reserves the right of **POSTPONEMENT OR CHANGE OF DATE AND/OR TIME IN WHICH ANY CLASS IS OFFERED** if the minimum percentage of enrolled students also agrees. Students who do not desire the change may be offered a full refund.

Buyer/Student understands if Buyer/Student can demonstrate the ability to do so, and completes the program in less time than course duration described on the reverse side of this document, the tuition that Buyer/Student has agreed to pay shall be fully earned by the Seller/School upon date of completion and Buyer/Student is not entitled to any refund by reason of earlier completion. The Buyer/Student's rights under agreement may not be assigned to any other person and the Buyer/ Student must complete the program within the time described on the reverse side of this agreement or within the maximum time frame described in the catalog, with prior approval of the School/Seller.

It is clearly understood that the Seller/School may assign or sell its rights to payment under this agreement. Such assignment however will not relieve the Seller/School from fulfillment of its duties and refund policy hereunder. The Buyer/Student and/or the Guarantor authorize to release additional information needed to process this transaction. It is anticipated that this will be assigned to said purchase. In lieu thereof, it may be assigned to another party. The Seller will notify the Buyer and/or Guarantor of the name of the assignee or third party and the location of the same.

AREAS OF CONFLICT WITH OTHER DOCUMENTS: In specific terms or areas where this document Conflicts with policies, procedures and/or terms as specified in other documents provided by the school, this document takes precedence. Time is of the essence in this agreement and if in the attempt of the Student/Buyer to work out any areas of dispute with the Seller/ School, the Buyer/Student determines that outside assistance is needed in the resolution of this dispute, the Seller/School offers, as a measure of good faith, to be bound by the settlement rendered by the Arbitrator(s) of the arbitration in accordance with the Commercial Rules of the American Arbitration Association, if the Buyer/Student also elects to be so bound.

O. ENROLLMENT PROCEDURE

Moler Barber College has a continuous enrollment policy starting on a weekly schedule. Students may enroll at any time during the year, as instruction is done in teaching modules. Enrollments are restricted to maintain a low student-to-instructor ratio.

P. APPLICATION

An applicant must fill out an application form provided by the college. This is returned to the college with the registration fee which is not refundable.

Q. ENROLLMENT

At the time of enrollment an applicant must have:

- High School Diploma or Passing GED equivalency test results
- Down payment if required for course
- Valid Picture I.D.
- Social Security Card
- Two 1 1/2" X 1 1/2" photographs

TRANSFER POLICY

Applicants with previous hours from another CA barber school who wish to enroll at Moler Barber College must submit a written request during the admission process along with a Proof of Training from the previous CA school. The transfer and accepted clock hours from another CA institution will be counted toward the required hours of the same program at Moler Barber College. If transfer hours are accepted they will be applied to the end of the program and the student will be contracted for the total program hours at Moler Barber College minus the transfer hours. Students who are financial aid recipients will be disbursed using their normal payment periods as long as there are enough hours.

Example: 1500 hour program, 900 hour academic year, 194 transfer hours

Payment periods: 1 - 450, 451-900, 901-1103, 1104-1306

If an applicant is transferring <u>from another state or from another country</u>, they must first contact California's Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) and make application for approval of their hours from their previous school. The documents required for this process can be found at the State of California BBC website: <u>www.barbercosmo.ca.gov</u>). The BBC may then issue a letter indicating the credit it has approved for the hours taken at the previous school along with any other requirements.

Failure to provide the required documentation of previous training in either circumstance prior to enrollment will mean that those hours will not apply/will not be transferred to your program at Moler Barber College.

Regarding the transferability of clock hours earned at Moler Barber College

The transferability of clock hours you earn at Moler Barber College is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer.

Acceptance of the certificate you earn in Barbering is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer.

If the certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution.

For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals.

This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending Moler Barber College to determine if your certificate or clock hours will transfer.

R. FACULTY

<u>Tracie</u> Williams is a full time instructor. She is a licensed Barber and Cosmetologist. She continues to further her career with experience instructing others in her profession.

<u>Dawn Gwinn</u> is a full time Director. She is a Licensed Cosmetologist with more than 25 years' experience & a salon owner.

<u>Vickie Scott</u> is a full time instructor. . She is a Licensed Cosmetologist with more than 25 years' experience & a salon owner. She also continues her education in courses to be a certified teacher.

<u>Tracie Williams</u> is a full time instructor. Tracie is a Licensed Cosmetologist & Licensed Barber. She is also a former owner of a salon.

<u>Carlo Jackson</u> is a full-time instructor, barber shop owner and is a licensed California Barber.

Brandon Pineda is a full time instructor, barber shop owner and is a licensed California Barber.

Joe Turner is a full time instructor and licensed Barber.

All instructors at Moler Barber College are required to maintain a license in good standing with the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. Instructors are required to maintain knowledge of current styles and teaching techniques

The required books for all courses and students are: 6th Edition

Milady's Standard Professional Barbering,

ISBN - 13: 978-1-4354-9715-3; ISBN - 10: 1-4354-9715-5

Milady's Standard Professional Barbering Workbook

ISBN - 13: 978-1-4354-9713-9; ISBN - 10: 1-4354-9713-9

Milady's Standard Professional Barbering Exam Review

ISBN -13: 978-1-4354-9712-2; ISBN - 10: 1-4354-9712-0

S. ATTENDANCE POLICY

MOLER BARBER COLLEGE'S prime objective is to train students for future employment. Students are expected to attend school as they will be expected to report to work. All absences and tardiness are recorded.

Students must attend a minimum of 66.67% of their scheduled hours in order to maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP).

Illness or other medical reason substantiated by a doctor's statement is accepted and recorded, as an "excused absence".

Military reserve duty substantiated by a superior officer's statement is accepted and recorded as an "excused absence".

• Leave of Absences

Leaves of absence are granted on a case by case basis. Students must request a leave of absence in advance & in writing to the School Admissions person, Instructors or Directors. The school Directors reserve the right to accept or deny the requested leave of absence. Leaves of absence may be granted for no less than 2 week and no more than 30 days at a time. However, we reserve the right to grant longer leaves of absence at the school Directors discretion on a month by month basis, with the rule that no individual student's leave of absence exceeds a cumulative maximum of 180 days within a 12-month period. Reserve military duty or medical reasons are examples of valid reasons to obtain a leave of absence.

Students leaving the premises for any reason during school hours, other than for lunch period, shall get permission from an instructor. Doctor appointments, dentist appointments and other personal errands should be scheduled for non-school days.

Students will clock in and out using the fingerprint Guest Vision time system. It is the student's responsibility to remember to clock in and clock out.

Theory class attendance is recorded and must be complied with for successful completion. The California State Barber Law requires a minimum of eighty (80) hours attendance.

No student shall be allowed to attend, or to remain in school, while intoxicated or under the influence of any drug. Students while under prescription medication must notify the school for approval to attend school. Violation of this rule is cause for disciplinary action by the California State Board of Barber Examiners.

No student shall be allowed to attend school while they have an infectious, contagious or communicable disease.

COURSE INTERRUPTIONS*

A student may be suspended from classes for up to 30 days resulting in a course interruption. Students can be suspended for unsatisfactory attendance, unsatisfactory progress or for violation of school regulations, including failure to meet financial obligations. This can result in cancellation of the enrollment agreement. Any course interruption may be appealed to the California State Board of Barbers Examiners.

*VETERAN STUDENTS

An "interruption" in training for any reason will terminate your Educational Benefits checks. You may return to benefit standing only after the College has permitted re-enrollment. Upon successful re-enrollment, your checks may experience delay of up to two months while certification of benefits is processed.

T. SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP) POLICY

- 1. Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) applies to all students regardless of whether they are receiving Title IV financial aid.
- 2. Federal regulations require that all schools participating in any Federal Financial Aid program must adhere to a Financial Aid/Academic Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) policy. As a Financial Aid recipient, you must maintain SAP to remain eligible to receive Federal Financial Aid. The records of all Financial Aid recipients will be reviewed at the end of each payment period to determine compliance with the SAP policy. SAP is measured at 450, 900, 1200 and 1500 hours for the 1500 hour Barbering program, for all students regardless of the source of their funding. SAP is measured at 250 hours for the Re-Enrollment program, 400 hours for Refresher and Cosmo Crossover Programs and 450 and 600 hours for the Barber Instructor program, all of which are non-Title IV programs. SAP determination is based on the student's complete academic history, including periods in which the student did not receive Financial Aid.
- **3.** To meet standards for Satisfactory Academic Progress the student must:
- Maintain a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of <u>70% or above</u>;
- Maintain a cumulative attendance rate of 66.67%;
- Complete the program within the maximum time frame of not more than 150% of the normal length of time required to complete the program.

Official Leaves of Absence, withdrawals, and other official interruptions of training are not computed in the maximum time frame.

Course incompletes and noncredit remedial courses do not apply to SAP policy at the school and will have no effect on satisfactory academic progress.

Financial Aid/Academic Warning and Probation Status

If a student fails to meet SAP standards for either attendance or CGPA at any formal assessment point, the student will automatically be placed on Financial Aid/Academic Warning and will remain in that status until the next assessment point or until the deficiency is corrected, whichever occurs first. A student placed on Financial Aid/Academic Warning status may continue to receive financial assistance. The student will be counseled on the potential loss of eligibility of financial aid, if applicable, and will be advised on steps necessary to correct the academic deficiency and be reinstated to good academic standing.

If a student fails to meet minimum standards for SAP by the end of the warning period, the student will become ineligible for Federal Aid and will be placed on Probation Status. A student placed on Probation Status has the right to submit an appeal.

Appeal, Reinstatement and Reestablishing Eligibility

A student may appeal the determination of unsatisfactory progress and termination of aid eligibility by completing the SAP appeal form. The student's appeal must be in writing, must be based upon mitigating circumstances, must include documentation of those mitigating circumstances, and must include an explanation of the reason why he/she failed to make SAP, including a statement and documentation of what has changed in the student's situation that will allow the student to meet the standards for SAP by the beginning of the next payment period. If the student's appeal is approved, eligibility for financial aid will be reinstated for one payment period and the student will continue in Financial Aid/Academic Probation status until the beginning of the next payment period.

Students who do not appeal a determination of unsatisfactory progress and termination of aid, or whose appeal has been denied, may continue in school, on Probation status for one assessment period at their own expense. By the end of the Probation period, all students on Probation status will be required to have satisfied all standards for SAP including the following:

- Have achieved a cumulative GPA of 70% or better;
- Have achieved a cumulative attendance rate of 66.67% or better

Students who fail to meet the standards for SAP by the end of the Probation period will be terminated from school. Students who successfully meet the standards for SAP by the end of the Probation period will be reinstated to good academic standing and will regain their previous eligibility for financial aid.

Transfer Hours and their effect on SAP

With regard to the calculation of attendance rates or cumulative grade point average as they relate to assessment for compliance with standards for Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student's transfer hours will not be counted as scheduled or completed hours. SAP evaluation periods are based on actual contracted hours at the school. However, coursework taken at another institution that is accepted and officially transferred will count towards the 150% maximum timeframe calculations on both hours scheduled and hours completed.

U. CONDUCT POLICY

The habits you develop in school will be the habits you will have when you are in practice. The Regulations of the MOLER BARBER COLLEGE are designed to help you learn good professional habits at the start of your professional career.

MOLER BARBER COLLEGE or its duly authorized agents, may, at their discretion, interrupt a student's course of instruction for violation or infraction of the MOLER BARBER COLLEGE Conduct Policy.

- 1. Students shall not be unruly in school nor interfere with any other student. They shall conduct themselves in a quiet, professional manner during school hours.
- 2. Students shall comply with all sanitary requirements. Violation of these sections is cause for suspension or expulsion with forfeiture of hours.
- 3. No student shall instruct another. Students will request the assistance of an instructor whenever they are in doubt as to the correct procedure.
- 4. Students shall dress in a professional manner, including clean smocks, during school hours. No short pants or extreme dress styles are allowed. Current fashion should be followed.
- 5. Students shall give their full attention to their customers. Students are to render barber services equally to all customers, irrespective of any factors. Refusal of barber services by a student is cause for disciplinary action.
- 6. Students are not to chew gum, smoke, hum or whistle while working on a customer.
- 7. Students are responsible for keeping their work area and tools clean at all times.

This means that:

- a. All stand bottles, including the sterilizer jar, are cleaned and properly filled daily.
- b. The back bar counter top is cleaned' after each customer.
- c. The chair is wiped clean of hair after each customer.
- d. Soiled linen is disposed of in the proper container.
- e. All soiled paper is disposed of in the proper container daily.
- f. All tools are wiped clean and properly stored after each customer.
- g. The haircloth is neatly folded and properly hung on the chair after each customer.

- h. The sink and mirror are cleaned daily.
- 8. Students are to wear shoes that are comfortable for standing and in good repair. In compliance with State regulations, students may not wear open toe shoes or sandals.
- 9. Students are to wash their hands immediately before serving a customer and comply with all provisions of the sanitary sections of the Barber Law.
- 10. Students shall attend theory class as assigned by an instructor.
- 11. Students shall go to lunch on their assignment schedule.
- 12. Students shall maintain their hair in current, fashionable style.
- 13. Students shall comply with the Attendance Policy as set forth.
- 14. Students are to receive or give student services only as assigned by an instructor.
- 15. Students are to display their student educational card in the holder provided during school hours.
- 16. Students shall keep a record of all services performed and record them daily.
- 17. Students shall follow the daily assignment schedule as directed by an instructor.
- 18. Students are to come to school prepared to participate in class assignments or assignments as directed by an instructor.

V. STUDENT GRIEVANCE AND COMPLAINTS RESOURCES

Internal grievances can be directed to the Instructor or to the School Director, verbally or in writing. Students have the right to appeal grades, disciplinary action or make other complaints internally. If the student feels that their grievance was not handled properly or fairly, they can contact Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education. A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education by calling toll free 1(800) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form which can be obtained on the bureau's Internet Web site at www.bppe.ca.gov.

The following state boards, bureaus, departments or agencies that set minimum standards for this program of studies in accordance with Education Code Section 94322 include:

- 1. Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
- 2. Department of Health and Human Services
- 3. Department of Consumer Affairs
- 4. Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

Persons seeking to resolve problems or complaints should first contact the instructor in charge. Requests for further action may be made to the Administrative Director.

Unresolved complaints may be directed to:

Mailing address

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, P.O. Box 980818 West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818.

Physical Address:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 Sacramento, CA 95833 Telephone: (916) 431-6959

Web Address

www.bppe.ca.gov

Toll Free

1(888)370-7589

V. STUDENT GRIEVANCE AND COMPLAINTS RESOURCES (continued)

Schools accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges must have a procedure and operational plan for handling student complaints. If a student does not feel that the school has adequately addressed a complaint or concern, the student may consider contacting the Accrediting Commission. All complaints considered by the Commission must be in written form, with permission from the complainant(s) for the Commission to forward a copy of the complaint to the school for a response. The complainant(s) will be kept informed as to the status of the complaint as well as the final resolution by the Commission. A copy of the ACCSC complaint form can be obtained from the Moler Barber College, Director Frank Quattro. Please direct all inquiries to:

ACCREDITING COMMISSION OF CAREER SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES 2101 Wilson Boulevard / Suite 302 Arlington, VA 22201 (703) 247-4212) Website: www.accsc.org

A copy of the Commission's Complaint Form is available at the school and may be obtained by contacting the office of the Administrative Director of Moler Barber College, Oakland, California.

All training is in English. All records are retained indefinitely. There is no English-as-a-second language training.

W. OWNER CERTIFICATION

All information in this catalog is current, correct and is so certified.

Moler Barber College is required by the BPPE to state that we are financially solvent, and we do not have a pending petition of bankruptcy, we are not operating as a debtor in possession and have not filed a petition in the previous five years, and has not had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it in the previous five years that resulted in reorganization under chapter 11 of the bankruptcy code.

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:

It is hereby certified that Frank Quattro, Director of Moler Barber College, located at 3815 Telegraph Avenue, Oakland, CA 94609, guarantees that all students enrolled in the above school will be properly trained and all contractual agreements fulfilled.

X. STUDENT ACADEMIC RECORDS

Moler Barber College maintains all student records for a minimum of 5 years. This includes but is not limited to: Student applications, acceptance, attendance, test scores, course grades, disciplinary actions and records of completion of course certification and any refunds due students. Students must request all transcripts in writing.

