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APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT      

 
The California College of Physical Arts, Inc., d.b.a. CalCopa Massage School, is a private 
institution, located at 18582 Beach Blvd., Suite #11, Huntington Beach, CA 92648, and was 
granted institutional approval from the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education pursuant 
to California education code. 
 
The Bureau’s approval means that the institution and its operations comply with the minimum 
standards established under the law for occupational instruction by private postsecondary 
educational institutions.  Institutional approval must be re-approved every five years and is 
subject to continuing review. 
 
The following course titles are approved by the state of California: 
 

MASSAGE TECHNICIAN 100 HOURS 
SPA SPECIALTY THERAPIST 200 HOURS 
MASSAGE THERAPIST 300 HOURS 
ASIAN SOMATIC THERAPIST 300 HOURS 
MASSAGE PRACTITIONER 600 HOURS 
MYOTHERAPIST 800 HOURS 
HOLISTIC HEALTH PRACTITIONER 1000 HOURS 
MASSAGE INSTRUCTOR (Must complete HHP) 600 Hours 

 
Approved for the training of Veterans and Eligible persons under the provisions of Title 38, United 
States Code. 

 
CalCopa is also approved from the California Department of Rehabilitation and WIA Cal Jobs. 
 
A student enrolled in a program of 600 hours or more at CalCopa is eligible to be certified by 
the California Massage Therapy Council. 
 
Catalogs may be requested via phone, email, or accessed via our website www.calcopa.com.  
A catalog may also be obtained at the school’s administration office. 

CalCopa Massage School 
18582 Beach Blvd, Suite 11 
Huntington Beach CA  92648 

714-964-7744 
 
Instruction is in residence with facility occupancy, accommodating 60 students at any one 
time. 

California statute requires that a student who successfully completes a course of study be 
awarded an appropriate diploma or certificate verifying that fact. 

Prospective enrollees are encouraged to visit the facilities at the school and to discuss personal 
educational and occupational plans with the school personnel prior to enrolling or signing 
enrollment agreements 

 

http://www.calcopa.com/
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND STATEMENT (STRF)    

The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate 
economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or enrolled 
in a residency program attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education. 
 
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident, or enrolled in a California residency 
program, prepaid tuition, paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any 
of the following: 
 

1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed. 

2. The school failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license 
fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was 
collected with 180 days before the closure of the school. 

3. The school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student 
loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school 
prior to closure in excess of tuition or other costs. 

4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act or this Division within 30 days before 
the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30 days prior to closure, the 
period determined by the Bureau. 

5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against 
the institution for the violation of the Act. 

 
If the student does not have a social security number or taxpayer identification number, a claim 
will not be paid. 
 
Authority cited: Title 5. California Code of Regulations. Division 7.5, section 76120. 

 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION OR NEED FOR APPLICATION  

Contact: 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) 
PO Box 980818 

West Sacramento, CA  95798-0818 
 

Or visit: 
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/applications/strf.pdf 

 
 

  

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/applications/strf.pdf
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HISTORY OF THE COLLEGE         
 
California College of Physical Arts, Inc., d.b.a. CalCopa Massage School, was 
established in 1980 to provide comprehensive instruction in the art and sciences of 
therapeutic and relaxation massage. The school originally opened in Huntington Beach 
with 100-hour, 200 hour and Massage Instructor training courses. As we celebrate our 
40-year anniversary, we are proud of how CalCopa has grown to include the Massage 
Practitioner Program, Myotherapist, Holistic Health Practitioner and Massage Instructor 

Programs, as well as a variety of advanced courses as well as specialized modalities. 
 
The faculty is composed of professional and highly competent staff members, many of whom are actively 
involved with the professional massage organizations. They have a variety of experiences in the massage 
field and are constantly updating their training in the massage industry to further benefit our students. 
The faculty is also involved in working toward the improvement of laws and legislation for massage 
therapists in Orange County and surrounding areas, as well as on state and national levels. 
 
 

LOCATION             

All classes are held at our Huntington Beach campus location: 
 

18582 BEACH BLVD, SUITES 11 – 14 
HUNTINGTON BEACH CA  92648 
(In the Town & Country Center) 

 

The facilities consist of 5,000 square feet of classrooms, labs, clinic rooms, shower accommodations 

and Administration/faculty offices.  There is ample parking and bus stops located nearby. 
 
The facility is in compliance with all federal, state and local ordinances to insure a safe and healthy 
environment. CalCopa provides massage tables to be used by the students during lab hours and 
educational aids such as; skeletons, anatomical charts, PowerPoint Presentations, dry-erase boards and 
video equipment are utilized to enhance learning. Multiple bulletin boards located throughout the 
campus keep students informed of current events in the massage therapy field and developments 
concerning massage. Each student will need to provide his/her own supplies including comfortable 
clothing, linens and oils, etc. (list located on page). 
 
Each prospective student is encouraged to visit the school prior to enrollment and to discuss educational 
and career goals with our advisors. 
 
Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by 
the institution may be directed to: 
 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

PO Box 980818 

West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/ 

916-431-6959 

 
As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment 
agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be 
provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. A student or any member of the public may 
file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling 
(888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form which can be obtained on the bureau's Internet 
website: http:/www.bppe.ca.gov/ 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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MISSION AND OBJECTIVES         

OUR MISSION: 
 
California College of Physical Arts, Inc. exists to provide our students with the 
finest progressive education possible: (i) through the effective delivery of adult 
learning theories, (ii) through quality demonstrations by experienced therapists 
and (iii) with supervised hands-on practice, so they may become 
knowledgeable, professional and ethical in a successful massage therapy 
career. 

 
OBJECTIVES: 
• Contribute to the health and wellbeing of our society by providing opportunities for our students to 

participate in public not-for-profit events that encourage community service. 

• Continually update our knowledge of current legislation and to work toward the improvement of 

laws to promote the highest competency and ethical practices in the field of massage therapy. 

• Offer continuing education to our instructors from reputable sources so their teaching skills and 

expertise will grow and mature to prepare them for the challenges of a diverse student body. 

• Continually participate with massage organizations such as ABMP and AMTA to stay informed in 

our knowledge of the field of massage therapy. 

• Provide massage therapy to athletes in local sporting events as a service to the community and as 

an opportunity for practical experience. 

• Provide massage therapy to special organizations throughout the community as a way of 

promoting holistic health care, while at the same time exposing our students to various clients. 

 

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS        

Applicants must be at least 18 years of age with a high school diploma or federally approved G.E.D. to 
be eligible for enrollment.  Applicants must demonstrate verbal and written comprehension in the 
English language and must possess proficient skills in composition and speaking.  Classes are taught in 
English only; classes are not taught in any other languages.  This institution does not provide English-
As-A-Second language (ESL) education.  CalCopa will provide a written language comprehension test to 
assess language proficiency if requested.  While CalCopa is pleased to accept students from other 
countries; we do not provide assistance with Visa services. 

 
CalCopa provides individual evaluations for applicants with significant handicaps or limitations. 
Occasionally, we have rehabilitation students and in this scenario the admissions personnel work with 
the counselor and applicant to establish the individuals’ abilities and goals.  In special cases, a medical 
release from the applicant's physician may be necessary. 
 
Class size is kept to a maximum of twelve (12) students to enable greater individual attention.  CalCopa 
admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and 
activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school.  It does not discriminate on 
the basis of age, color, disability, gender, national and ethnic origin, race, religion, or sexual orientation 
in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and 
athletic and other school-administered programs. 
 
Each student will have a photograph taken during the first week of class. This will be used for 
transcripts.  No transcripts and/or certificates will be issued without photos.  These photos are put on 
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the official transcripts that are issued to the student at the completion of each package. In addition, 
the following items are required at time of enrollment:  California driver's license or other comparable 
form of picture I.D. and two names with phone numbers and addresses for personal references. 
 
 

ELECTIVES AND WORKSHOPS        

 

Electives and workshops are offered in specialized areas of instruction and for continuing education. 
Monthly emails are sent to those interested in upcoming electives and workshop schedules. (If you 
would like to be included in the monthly distribution, please send your email address to 
info@calcopamassageschool.com.)  All electives and workshops must to be paid in full two weeks 
prior to the course beginning.  Unless otherwise indicated, all electives can be used toward continuing 
education licensing requirements as well as to enhance your current techniques and routine.  
Descriptions of these courses start on page 23. 

 

CURRICULUM            
 

All written course material will be distributed via DropBox for student access.  You must provide a valid 
email address to receive the necessary files.  If you are unfamiliar with DropBox, please seek assistance 
from the Director, or Executive Director.  Each DropBox will include a file indicating what files must be 
printed and which are optional.  You may request to have the files printed by the school for a $25 fee. 
 
 

PROGRAM COURSE TITLES ARE AS FOLLOWS: 

PROGRAM TITLE 
CLOCK 

HOURS* 
MASSAGE TECHNICIAN (Full-time, 4 weeks; Part-time, 8 weeks) 100 

MASSAGE THERAPIST (Full-time, 12 weeks; Part-time, 6 months) 300 

MASSAGE PRACTITIONER (Full-time, 6 months; Part-time, 12 months) 600 

ASIAN SOMATIC (Must complete Massage Practitioner prior to enrollment) 
(Full-time, additional 12 weeks; Part-time, additional 16 – 20 months) 

300 

MYOTHERAPIST (Full-time, 8 – 10 months; Part-time, 16 – 20 months) 800 

HOLISTIC HEALTH PRACTITIONER (Full-time, 8 – 10 months; Part-time, 16 – 20 months) 1000 

MASSAGE INSTRUCTOR (Must complete HHP prior to enrollment) 
(Full-time, 6 months; Part-time, 12 months) 

600 

*Clock Hours are defined as 50 minutes of class time and a 10 minutes break. 
 
California Law AB1147 changed the educational requirements for massage permits in California.  
Applicants for certification as a Certified Massage Therapist (“CMT”) must have 500 hours of education 
from an approved school and have passed the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examination (MBLEx). 
 
All cities are required to accept state certificates, but a student may choose courses as necessary to 
meet city and county licensing requirements. Therapists can elect to either get a state permit or opt for 
a city license.  Contact the city police department or city hall to determine the exact licensing 
requirements for your city of employment.  Please note, most cities in Southern California have 
eliminated city permits. 
 
 

mailto:info@calcopamassageschool.com
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CalCopa strongly recommends that students enroll in courses 600 hours of longer to: 
• Keep your certification current with escalating local and national standards. 
• Have a competitive edge. 
• Offer a larger variety of techniques and styles to your potential clients. 
• Be trained in Professional Business Practices. 
• Receive additional training in chosen electives. 

 
Upon completion of courses, students will be prepared to enter the massage job market in the 
following fields:  chiropractic, convalescent hospitals, geriatric facilities, corporate chair 
massage, health spas, sports medicine, relaxation, stress management, hospitals, physical 
therapy, private practice, beauty salons, hotels and more. 
 
According to CAMTC regulations: 
 
4611. (a) It is an unfair business practice for a person to do any of the following: 

(1) To hold himself or herself out or to use the title of “certified massage therapist” or “certified 
massage practitioner,” or any other term, such as “licensed,” “certified,” “CMT,” or “CMP,” in 
any manner whatsoever that implies or suggests that the person is certified as a massage 
therapist or massage practitioner, unless that person currently holds an active and valid 
certificate issued by the council pursuant to this chapter. 
 

(2) To falsely state or advertise or put out any sign or card or other device, or to falsely represent 
to the public through any print or electronic media, that he or she or any other individual is 
licensed, certified, or registered by a governmental agency as a massage therapist or massage 
practitioner. 

 
(b) In addition to any other available remedies, engaging in any of the prohibited behaviors 

described in subdivision (a) constitutes unfair competition under Section 17200. 
 

*For more information, visit www.camtc.org. 

Attendance and/or graduation from a California Massage Therapy Council approved school 

does not guarantee certification by CAMTC.  Applicants for certification shall meet all 

requirements as listed in California Business and Professions Code section 4600 et. Seq. 

A student or any member of the public with questions that have not be satisfactorily answered 

by the school, or who would like to file a complaint about this school may contact the 

California Massage Therapy Council at: 

California Massage Therapy Council 
One Capitol Mass 

Suite 320 
Sacramento, CA  95815 

www.camtc.org 
Phone:  916-669-5336 
Fax:  916-669-5337 

 
 
 

 

http://www.camtc.org/
http://www.camtc.org/
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RECOMMENDED PROGRAM CLASSES 

 
Classes may be substituted for Myotherapist and Holistic Health Practitioner with permission of 
Executive Director, or Director. 
 
 

  

Technician – 100 Hours Practitioner – 600 Hours Myotherapist – 800 Hours HHP – 1000 Hours 
Does not qualify for state Qualifies for CAMTC Permit Meets Several State Requirements Meets all licensing requirements 

Course HRS Course HRS Course HRS Course HRS 
Technician 100 Technician 100 Technician 100 Technician 100 

  Therapist I 100 Therapist I 100 Therapist I 100 

  Therapist II 100 Therapist II 100 Therapist II 100 

  Sports & Medical 100 Sports & Medical 100 Sports & Medical 100 

  Advanced Curriculum 30 Advanced Curriculum 30 Advanced Curriculum 30 

  Business Practices 
Practicum 

25 Business Practices 
Practicum 

25 Business Practices 
Practicum 

25 

  Self-Care for MT 45 Self-Care for MT 45 Self-Care for MT 45 

  Includes 1 of the following: Acupressure 100 Acupressure 100 

  Acupressure 100 Shiatsu 100 Shiatsu 100 

  Shiatsu 100 Intro to MFR 10 Intro to MFR 10 

    Reiki I 15 Reiki I 15 

    Advanced Therapy 
Techniques 

25 Advanced Therapy 
Techniques 

25 

    Includes 1 of the following: Massage Research 
Project 

100 

    Craniosacral Release 50 Includes 3 of the following: 

    Deep Tissue 50 Craniosacral Release 50 

    Advanced Sports 50 Deep Tissue 50 

    Thai Floor Massage 50 Advanced Sports 50 

    Or 2 of the following: Thai Floor Massage 50 

    Barefoot Compression 25 Includes 4 of the following: 

    Compassionate Touch 25 Barefoot Compression 25 

    Hot Stone Massage 25 Compassionate Touch 25 

    Pregnancy Massage 25 Hot Stone Massage 25 

    Foot or Hand Reflexology 25 Pregnancy Massage 25 

    Tuina Massage 25 Foot Reflexology 25 

      Thai Table Massage 25 

      Hand Reflexology 25 
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PROGRAM DESCRIPTIONS         
 

Massage Technician – 100 Hours 
(Qualifies for city licensing with 100 hours or less requirements) 

Prerequisite:  None 
 

Course Objectives:  To produce a qualified technician who possesses a basic understanding of anatomy 
and physiology, knows the benefits and contraindications of massage and can give a basic Swedish full 
body massage. Part one of Massage Therapist, Massage Practitioner, Myotherapist and Holistic Health 
Practitioner programs. 
 

• LECTURE AND DEMO – 45 Hours 

This class is an introductory course which gives the student a basic understanding of anatomy, physiology, 

history, theory, as well as the practice and ethics of massage. Swedish massage is the primary technique 

presented. 

• LAB – 55 Hours, PRACTICAL APPLICATIONS, (CLASS LAB) 
Lab setting will be established per class at the discretion of the administration. 

• CLINIC – OPTIONAL 

Includes supervised hands-on practice of Swedish Massage techniques. (After completing 75% of lab hours, with 

permission of instructor, students can be scheduled for our student clinic.) 

REQUIRED TEXTBOOKS AND SUPPLIES: 

• Theory and Practice of Therapeutic Massage (4th, 5th or 6th Edition) – By Mark F. Beck 

• The Ethics of Touch:  The Hands-on Practitioner’s Guide to Creating a Professional, Safe and Enduring Practice, 2nd 
Edition – by Cherie Sohnen-Moe and Ben E. Benjamin (ISBN-13: 978-1882908424) 

• Holster and 8-ounce bottle of Massage Oil 
 

Course Completion: To successful complete the Massage Technician Certification, students must pass 3 
Weekly Tests and a Written Final with a minimum score of 80% accuracy and submit the completed 
homework packet. The student will also demonstrate the Massage routine within the allotted time 
frame using the proper draping, body mechanics and hand positions with a minimum score of 90%. 
They must have an attendance of 90% of credit hours. 
 

100 hours Massage Technician Training Program:  $1,235.00 
 
 

Massage Therapist – 300 Hours 
 
Course Objectives:  To train therapist with a strong knowledge in the areas of anatomy and 
physiology, and prepare the therapist for the first levels of professional massage using varieties of 
massage techniques. There is an increased emphasis on pathology, kinesiology, formula massage; 
deep transverse friction, myofascial release, stretching, client assessment and treatment protocol, to 
assist the student with higher level massage courses. 
 
Courses Required for Graduation from this Program: 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Massage Technician  100 Hours 
Massage Therapist I  100 Hours 
Massage Therapist II  100 Hours 

Total Hours:  300 Hours 
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Massage Therapist I – 100 Hours (Part two) 
Prerequisite – Massage Technician (100 Hours) See description on page 

 
Course Objectives: To increase student knowledge in the areas of anatomy and 
physiology, and prepare for the first levels of professional massage using varieties of massage 
techniques. There is an increased emphasis on physiology and pathology to assist the student with 
higher level courses. 
 

• Lecture and Demo – 55 Hours 

This course includes a broader and more specialized training in anatomy, physiology, massage ethics, nutrition, and 

trigger point treatments. More advanced massage techniques will be presented, as well as introductions to other 

systems of massage and bodywork. 

• Lab - 40 Hours Practical Applications 

Lab includes supervised hands-on practice of advanced Swedish Massage Techniques (In class and in our on-campus 

Student Clinic.) 

• Clinic (5 or More Hours) 

The student will be scheduled one-hour shifts. 
ADDITIONAL REQUIRED TEXTBOOKS: 

• Mosby’s Pathology for Massage Therapists – by Susan G. Salvo (ISBN: 978-0-323-05522-8) 
• Trigger Point Therapy Workbook – by Clair Davies, N.C.B.T.M.B. (ISBN: 1572243759 ) 

 

Massage Therapist II – 100 Hours (Part Three) 
Prerequisite – Massage Technician and Massage Therapist I Classes (200 Hours Total) 
 

Course Objectives: To provide advanced knowledge in anatomy, an introduction to kinesiology, and 
several advanced massage techniques such as “Formula Massage, Deep Transverse Friction, Myofascial 
Release, Stretching, Client Assessment and Treatment Protocol. 
 

• Lecture and Demo - 55 Hours 

Advanced training in anatomy, physiology, theory, professionalism, joint movement and PNF Stretching, Formula 

Massage, S.O.A.P. Documentation, injury care, an introduction to holistic theory, Résumé Writing and Interviewing 

Skills. 

• Lab- 40 Hours 

Practical applications supervised hands-on practice of advanced Swedish massage techniques (job interviews, in class 

and in our on-campus student clinic). 

• CLINIC (5 HOURS) 
The student will be schedule for two-hour shifts. 

ADDITIONAL REQUIRED TEXTBOOKS: 

• Clay and Pounds’ Basic Clinical Massage Therapy: Integrating Anatomy and Treatment 3rd Edition - by James H. 
Clay and David M. Pounds (ISBN: 978-1451185461) 

 

300 hours Massage Therapist Training Program:  $4,135.00 
 
 

Massage Practitioner – 600 Hours 
(Qualifies for CAMTC Massage Therapist Certification) 
Course Objectives:  This program is designed to train therapist with a strong knowledge in the areas of 

anatomy and physiology and prepare the therapist to take the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Exam, 
(MBLEx) to meet CAMTC voluntary certification requirements.  There is an increased emphasis on; 
pathology, kinesiology, formula massage, deep transverse friction, Myofascial Release, stretching, client 
assessment and treatment protocol. Additional classes include Sports & Medical Massage which 
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provides deeper understanding to body maintenance techniques as well as an introduction to Oncology 
Massage. 

 

Students are introduced to Asian modalities with either Acupressure or Shiatsu classes.  Since there is 
no prerequisite for either class, they may be taken at any time during the program. The last 100 hours 
prepare students for success in the industry by focusing on test taking skills, business skills and self- 
care. 

 
Courses Required for Graduation from this Program: 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Course Completion:   
 
To successful complete the Massage Practitioner Certification; students must pass all quizzes and tests 
with a minimum score of 80% accuracy and submit completed homework packets for each class.  The 
student will also demonstrate the Massage routines associated with each class within the allotted time 
frame using the proper draping, body mechanics and hand positions with a minimum score of 90%.  
They must have an attendance of 90% of credit hours. Students must also complete a total of 30 hours 
in the Student Clinic and participate in (1) one community event.  Note: VA students are exempt for 
the community event requirement. 

 
Courses Required for Graduation from this Program: 

 

 
 
 
Additional Classes include: 
 

Sports & Medical Massage Training – 100 Hours 
Prerequisite – Massage Technician 

 

Course Objectives: To provide the student with basic training in 
the area of Sports Massage and provide the students with 
academic and practical training to enhance his/her work with 
various health care professionals. 
 

• SPORT LECTURE AND DEMO - 55 HOURS 

This course includes the study of Pre and Post-Event Massage, Training Massage, and Injury Care. This course also 

focuses on the special needs of clients with various pathologies, including cancer. The student will incorporate 

techniques taught in all the classes the student attended prior to this level. 

Massage Technician  100 Hours 
Massage Therapist I  100 Hours 
Massage Therapist II  100 Hours 
Sports & Medical Massage  100 Hours 
Acupressure or Shiatsu  100 Hours 
Business Practices Practicum  25 Hours 
Advanced Curriculum  30 Hours 
Self-Care for Massage Therapists  45 Hours 
Clinics (Progressively Longer Shifts)   
Clinic hours are inclusive in other course hours 

Total Hours:  600 Hours 

Massage Technician  100 Hours 
Massage Therapist I  100 Hours 
Massage Therapist II  100 Hours 
(See above for descriptions) 
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• LAB - 40 HOURS PRACTICAL APPLICATIONS 
Instruction is given for Athletic Training Massage, Curative Massage and Medical Massage. It also includes Pre and 

Post-Event techniques, anatomy and injury cases. 

 

• PARTICIPATION IN SCHEDULED SPORTING EVENTS, AS AVAILABLE 
The student must participate in at least one outside, community event. 

o Attendance of an outside documented and supervised community service event is required, as these events 
are available and as directed by the Administration.  

o CalCopa provides sports massages throughout the year at several different events:  Some of the 
annual events include: 
▪ Swim with Mike – at University of Southern California (USC) Aquatics Complex 

▪ Seal Beach 5/10K Run – Seal Beach 

▪ Angel City Games – at University of California Los Angeles (UCLA) Drake Field 
▪ Best Buddies Bike Ride – at Hearst Castle Ranch in San Simeon 
▪ SPMS Regional Short Course Championships – Brenda Villa Aquatics, City of Commerce 

Note: All training, including community service events, for students receiving veterans’ benefits will be 
conducted on campus.   Any student receiving VA Assistance is waived of this requirement. 

 
Acupressure or Shiatsu - 100 HOURS 
Prerequisite – None 
 

Course Objectives: This is an introductory course designed to enable the Massage Therapist to 
incorporate basic Acupressure techniques during the massage. This class introduces the student to the 
12 Major Meridians and Extraordinary Meridians, The Five Elements and the Yin/Yang theories. It also 
includes basic acupressure attunements and how to address specific ailments the Therapist might 
encounter with their clients. 
 

• LECTURE AND DEMO - 55 HOURS 

This course includes the study of the history of Acupressure, the theory of Yin and Yang, the Meridians, the 5 

Elements and the Types of Chi. 

• LAB - 40 HOURS PRACTICAL APPLICATIONS 

Instruction is given in “Opening the Four-Gates,” tonifying and/or sedating chi, Amma Chair treatments, Ear 

Acupoints, Cupping, and Gua Sha. 

ADDITIONAL REQUIRED TEXTBOOKS: 

• The Web That Has No Weaver – by Ted Kaptchuk, OMD (ISBN: 0809228408) 

• The Tao Of Pooh – by Benjamin Hoff (ISBN: 0525244581) 

 

Business Practices Practicum - 25 HOURS 
Prerequisite – None 
 

This course helps prepare the student for a successful career as 
Massage Therapist.  It focuses on techniques used by many 
successful business people and adapts the techniques to work in 
the massage environment. 
 

• BUSINESS PRACTICES & MARKETING LECTURE AND DEMO - 20 Hours 

This course focuses on skills not only important for a successful 

business, but also for a successful life. It includes the techniques used for starting a business, planning techniques, 

budgeting, understanding of ownership options, and taxes. 

• LAB - 5 Hours PRACTICAL APPLICATIONS 

The class will work together to create a business plan, establish a pre-operational time-line and a business budget.  

Solo work will include running the CalCopa student clinic for one week. 

ADDITIONAL REQUIRED TEXTBOOKS: 
• Business Mastery 4th Edition – by Cherie Sohnen-Moe (ISBN:  978-0962126574) 
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Advanced Curriculum - 30 HOURS 
Prerequisite – Massage Therapist (300 Hours)  

This course is designed to refresh and reassure students of 
their education in human anatomy, physiology, kinesiology, 
clinical pathology, massage therapy and bodywork theory, 
assessments and application, as well as professional 
standards, ethics and business practices to prepare a student to take the MBLEx for licensing purposes. 
 
ADDITIONAL REQUIRED TEXTBOOKS: 

• Review for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork Exams, by Joseph Ashton and Duke Cassels (ISBN: 978- 1605477121) 

 
 

Self-Care for Massage Therapists - 45 HOURS 
Prerequisite – Massage Therapist (300 Hours)  
 

This class focuses on the specific needs of Massage Therapists to ensure longevity within the field. It covers the 

special dietary needs of busy therapists, proper body mechanics, unusual ethical circumstances, proper customer 
service practices and exploring each student’s long-term life goals and how to reach them. 

 
ADDITIONAL REQUIRED TEXTBOOKS: 

• None 
 

600 Hour Massage Practitioner Training Program: $8,100.00 
 
 
 

Asian Somatic Therapist – 300 Hours 
Prerequisite:  Massage Practitioner (Total Hours:  900 Hours) 
 

Course Objectives: to provide the student with a background in Asian studies and 
philosophy, focusing on the history of Asian Medicines and their incorporation into 
the massage field. 
 
Classes required for certification are: (See descriptions on page 23). 
 
Class Hours  Class Hours 
Shiatsu, or Acupressure 100 Hours  Thai Table Massage 25 Hours 
Tuina 25 Hours  Auriculotherapy (Ear Reflexology) 25 Hours 
Thai Foot Massage 25 Hours  Foot Reflexology 25 Hours 
Thai Massage 50 Hours  Hand Reflexology 25 Hours 
   Total Hours: 300 Hours 

 

300 Hours of Asian Modalities Training: $3,775.00 
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Myotherapist – 800 Hours 
 

Course Objectives:  The flexibility of these 800 hours of training gives the therapist the ability to 
explore different modalities associated with their massage training, while still being able to take the 
National Certification test and any city testing that requires the minimum of 800 hours.  To obtain 
certification as a Myotherapist, the student needs to have satisfactorily completed the following 
courses: 

 
Courses Required for Graduation from this Program: 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Choice of one from the following:  See descriptions of the following beginning on page 23 

 

 

 

 

Or a choice of two from the following:  See descriptions of the following beginning on page 23 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Course Completion: To successful complete the Myotherapist Certification; students must pass all 
quizzes and tests with a minimum score of 80% accuracy and submit completed homework packets for 
each class. The student will also demonstrate the Massage routines associated with each class within 
the allotted time frame using the proper draping, body mechanics and hand positions with a minimum 
score of 90%. They must have an attendance of 90% of credit hours. Students must also complete a 
total of 25 hours in the Student Clinic and participate in (1) one community event. Note: VA students 
are exempt for the community event requirement. 
 

800 hours Myotherapist Training Program: $11,200.00 
 
 

Massage Technician  100 Hours 
Massage Therapist I  100 Hours 
Massage Therapist II  100 Hours 
Sports & Medical Massage  100 Hours 
Acupressure or Shiatsu  100 Hours 
Business Practices Practicum  25 Hours 
Advanced Curriculum  30 Hours 
Self-Care for Massage Therapists  45 Hours 
Advanced Therapeutic Techniques  25 Hours 
Intro to MFR  10 Hours 
Reiki I  15 Hours 

Advanced Sports Massage  50 Hours 
Deep Tissue  50 Hours 
Craniosacral Release  50 Hours 
Thai Floor Massage  50 Hours 

Barefoot Compression Massage  25 Hours 
Compassionate Touch Massage  25 Hours 
Hot Stone Massage  25 Hours 
Pregnancy Massage  25 Hours 
Foot or Hand Reflexology  25 Hours 
Tuina Massage  25 Hours 

Total Hours:  800 Hours 
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Holistic Health Practitioner – 1000 Hours 
 

Course Objectives:  To obtain certification with this package the prospective 
massage therapist has many options to add up their hours required for certification. 
After completing 500 hours of education and deciding what type of environment you 

would like to focus, you will be able to select a massage table from Earthlite™ (a $650 value). 

 
We suggest that you begin with our massage practitioner package covering anatomy, kinesiology, 
physiology, pathology and a full curriculum of massage protocol including Acupressure and Shiatsu 
training. Then, you the student, may decide to continue your training focusing on the areas that 
best suits your interests; such as a spa environment, clinical, or energetic/ Asian focus. Or you may 
decide to be an eclectic therapist. Just talk with any one of our registrar/counseling staff with any 
questions you might have regarding any of these programs. 

 
Courses Required for Graduation from this Program: 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

Choice of three from the following:  See descriptions of the following beginning on page Error! 
Bookmark not defined. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And a choice of four from the following:  See descriptions of the following beginning on page Error! 
Bookmark not defined. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Massage Technician  100 Hours 
Massage Therapist I  100 Hours 
Massage Therapist II  100 Hours 
Sports & Medical Massage  100 Hours 
Acupressure  100 Hours 
Shiatsu  100 Hours 
Business Practices Practicum  25 Hours 
Advanced Curriculum  30 Hours 
Self-Care for Massage Therapists  45 Hours 
Advanced Therapeutic Techniques  25 Hours 
Intro to MFR  10 Hours 
Reiki I  15 Hours 

Advanced Sports Massage  50 Hours 
Deep Tissue  50 Hours 
Craniosacral Release  50 Hours 
Thai Floor Massage  50 Hours 
Lymphatic Drainage  50 Hours 
Lymphatic Drainage II  50 Hours 

Barefoot Compression Massage  25 Hours 
Compassionate Touch Massage  25 Hours 
Hot Stone Massage  25 Hours 
Pregnancy Massage  25 Hours 
Foot or Hand Reflexology  25 Hours 
Thai on the Table  25 Hours 
Tuina Massage  25 Hours 

Total Hours:  1000 Hours 
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Class substitutions may be made only with permission of the Dean of Teachers or the Director. 
 
Course Completion: To successfully complete the Holistic Health Practitioner Certification; students 
must pass all quizzes and tests with a minimum score of 80% accuracy and submit completed 
homework packets for each class. The student will also demonstrate the Massage routines associated 
with each class within the allotted time frame using the proper draping, body mechanics and hand 
positions with a minimum score of 90%. 
 
They must have an attendance of 90% of credit hours. 
Students must also complete a total of 25 hours in the Student Clinic and participate in (1) one 
community event.  Note:  VA students are exempt for the community event requirement. 
 

1000 hours Holistic Health Practitioner Training Program: $15,000.00 
 
 

Massage Instructor – 600 Hours 
Prerequisite: Holistic Health Practitioner and permission from Dean of Teachers, or School Director 

Course description:  This is a 6 – 12 months program.  The program is a combination of review of core 
material for a more detailed understanding of anatomy, physiology, kinesiology and pathology of the 
body; as well as adult learning principles, lesson plan development and classroom procedures.  The 
student will work directly with the Dean to determine the direction best suited for a career in teaching 
massage therapy. 
 

600 hours Massage Instructor Training: $8,750.00 + Licensing and Exam Fees 
 
 

FEES AND PAYMENT OPTIONS      
Here at California College of Physical Arts, Inc. we offer two ways that a student may complete the 
hours of Massage training they wish to receive. First, they are welcome to sign a contract for each 
individual course level. The fees for this would be $1600.00 per one hundred hours (100hrs) of training 
and this allows them the option to take a break between course levels. The other option that we 
recommend to all students looking at their massage training as a new career is to sign up for one of 
the packages we offer.  By doing their classes in this manner they are saving money and they will know 
their training will be complete within a scheduled time frame. 
 

For example, if we compare two students that sign up for 600 hours total, the student that pays 
$1600 for each of the courses would be paying $9,600.00, whereas the student that signs up 
for a 600-hour package of training would be paying $8,100.00 for the same education. 

 
It is the policy of CalCopa that all fees, expenses and tuition be paid in a timely manner and in full prior 
to the course completion and before issuance of a certificate, transcript or any other written evidence 

Program packages must be completed in the order offered by the school and may be 

changed only with the approval of the school administration. Failure to continue in 

the sequence of classes will result in termination of contract. If either party cancels 

a contract, the student will forfeit any discount and must pay the hourly rate for hours 

attended to date and for any future classes. 
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of attendance. Payments can be made by with cash, personal checks, Visa, MasterCard and Discover 
card, as well as money order or cashier's check. 

 
Payment – Courses (1) One-Month or Less 
A student enrolling in a course of one month or less must pay the registration and at least one-half the 
first month tuition at the time of enrollment. 

 
Payment – Courses Longer than (1) One Month 
A student enrolling in a course longer than one month may choose to pay in installments. A down 
payment of the registration and ABMP membership must be paid at the time of enrollment. Additional 
fees and the balance remaining will be made in scheduled installments over the duration of enrollment. 
At the time of enrollment, a payment plan will be reviewed and written into the contract. 
 
 
If the student does not have the down payment of at least ½ of the first month’s tuition at the time of 
enrollment, the payment must be made on the first day of class. There will be no exceptions to this 
policy. If the student does not have the first ½ of tuition on that day they will be sent to get the 
necessary funds for payment. Only when this payment has been made, and the student has a written 
receipt, can they enter their classes. 
 
Delinquency of a scheduled payment will result in a reminder notice. If the student does not honor the 
contract agreement for payment, a second notice will be given within five days of the contract 
agreement date of payments. If the student still has a delinquent payment they will not be allowed to 
return to class. After the second notice, a ten-dollar late fee will be charged.  If the scheduled payment 
is missed by more than 30 days, a finance charge will be assessed. 
 
Failure to keep current with the scheduled payments may also result in termination of 
contract and removal of the student from any current classes they may be attending. 
 
Students need to be advised that any discount in the pricing of a complete package is only applicable 
with the initial signing of program contract. Any further discounts on re-enrollment are subject to the 
approval of the administration office. 
 
If a student terminates a contract for a program of 300 hours or more there will be a $35.00 
cancellation fee and all funds will need to be paid in full before any transcripts will be released to the 
student or employer. 
 

CalCopa is not approved to offer federal or state financial aid. If a student obtains a loan to pay for an 
educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus 
interest, less the amount of any refund. If the student receives federal student financial aid funds, the 
student is entitled to a refund of the monies not paid from federal financial aid funds. 

 
 

PAYMENT OPTIONS           
If a student cannot pay all of the tuition at the time of registration, payment plans are available.  A 
down payment of at least half of the first month tuition must be paid at the time of enrollment plus any 
registration fees and the balance remaining will be made in scheduled installments over the duration of 
enrollment. At the time of enrollment, a payment plan will be reviewed and written into the contract. 
But if the student is unable to pay at least half of the first month’s tuition at the time of enrollment 
then the payment must be made on the first day of classes without exceptions. If the student is able to 
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come up with the necessary funds and with the approval of the admission’s office then, and only then, 
will s/he be allowed back into classes. 
 
Our school is also approved for the training of veterans and eligible persons entitled to educational 
benefits according to Title 38, United States Code. If a student obtains VA funding to pay for a program 
and withdrawals after 60% of the program has occurred, the student may be required by the VA to 
repay any forfeited tuition. 
 
 

FEE STRUCTURE            
Registration Fee: (Non-Refundable) $150.00 

Materials Fee: See each program for Materials Fees Optional 

Veterans Registration Fee: (Non-Refundable) $150.00 

Associated Bodywork & Massage Professionals (ABMP) Student Liability Coverage $65.00 

Total Registration $215.00 

Veteran’s Total Registration $215.00 

 
INDIVIDUAL COURSE TRAINING COSTS 
 

16hr 
 

$256.00 
20hr $320.00 
25hr $400.00 
40hr $640.00 
50hr $800.00 
75hr $1,200.00 

100hr Courses $1,600.00 

 
ADDITIONAL COSTS FOR SUPPLIES 
Students will receive copies of the Student Guides and Additional Written Material for each 
class (100-Hour block) through DropBox™.  Students are required to have a written copy of 
the material, (the preferred method) or a downloaded copy on a tablet, or laptop.  
Smartphones are not acceptable.  If the student prefers, a copy will be provided for you for 
$25 for each class individually, or a total of $125 for the Massage Practitioner Program. 
 
Additional Supplies include a minimum of (3) twin-size sets of sheets; which includes a fitted 
sheet, flat-sheet and pillow case and a twin-sized blanket.  Costs should not exceed $60.  We 
recommend using linens from home whenever possible. 
 
A CalCopa T-shirt, holster, bottle and oil will be provided to students the first day of Massage 
Technician class as part of your registration package.  Refills and/or replacements will be the 
responsibility of the student.  Also, the registration fee includes one 60-minute massage 
session from an instructor.   
 
 

 
  



21 
 
 

MASSAGE TRAINING PACKAGE FEES       
Each package of hours has a one-time only discount applied. 

MASSAGE TECHNICIAN – 100 Hours 
Optional Materials Fee:  $25 

$1,235.00 

MASSAGE THERAPIST – 300 Hours  
Optional Materials Fee:  $75 

$4,135.00 

MASSAGE PRACTITIONER – 600 Hours 
Optional Materials Fee:  $150 

$8,100.00 

(Qualification for CAMTC Massage Therapist Certification)  

ASIAN SOMATIC THERAPIST – 600 Hours 
Optional Materials Fee:  $150    

$3,775.00 

(Totaling 900 Hours) Prerequisite:  Massage Practitioner  

MYOTHERAPIST – 800 Hours  
Optional Materials Fee:  ($200 - $300) 

$11,200.00 

(Qualification for National Board Certification)  

HOLISTIC HEALTH PRACTITIONER – 1000 Hours  
Optional Materials Fee:  Varies 

$15,000.00 

MASSAGE INSTRUCTOR* – 600 Hours  $8,700.00 

(Must complete Holistic Health Practitioner Prior)  

 

EXAMPLE:  The cost for the Massage Practitioner Package 
  Veterans 

Tuition $8,100.00 $8,100.00 
Registration Fee (Non-Refundable) $150.00 $150.00 
ABMP Registration (Non-Refundable) $65.00 $65.00 
Optional Materials Fee $150.00 $150.00 
Student Tuition Recover Fund (STRF) $.00/$1000 $0.00 NA 
Total $8,465.00 $8,465.00 

o With any contract, the student must keep current with payments, or termination 
of contract will result. 

 

 
TRANSCRIPTS            
 

Student records are kept secure and at any time, transcripts can be requested during regular office 
hours. Each student is eligible to request their official transcripts after completing all the requirements 
necessary for each level of training or class that they have paid for in full. The first request and set 
issued of original official transcripts or official copies for the national testing are free of charge. Any 
additional copies, for city licensing or duplicate sets for your personal use, require a set fee listed 
below. 

Duplicate Transcripts (Each) $25 

Duplicate Certificate (Each) $25 

Duplicate Set of Transcripts and Certificates $25 
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To be certified as a Massage Therapist (CMT) by the California Massage Therapy Council (CAMTC), the 

following must be submitted directly to CAMTC: 

• Completed application • (2) Two passport size photos 

• Successfully pass the MBLEX exam • Live scan fingerprints 

• Application fee (Current fee is $200 for a 
2-year certification) 

• Transcripts for a minimum of 500 Hours 
(Sent directly by your school) 

From CAMTC: 

NOTICE TO CAMTC APPLICANTS 

On September 19, 2018, the Governor signed SB 1480 into law.  Among other things, this bill 
changes the Massage Therapy Act so that starting on January 1, 2019 through December 31, 
2020, passage of a CAMTC approved exam will not be required for CAMTC Certification. 

 

CAMTC’s Law related to unfair business practices    

   

(1) Pursuant to California Business and Professions Code section 4611, it is an unfair business 
practice for a person to do any of the following: 

 

(a) To hold himself or herself out or to use the title of “certified massage therapist” or 
“certified massage practitioner,” or any other term, such as “licensed,” “certified,” 
“CMT,” or “CMP,” in any manner whatsoever that implies or suggests that the person is 
certified as a massage therapist or massage practitioner, unless that person currently 
holds an active and valid certificate by the California Massage Therapy Council. 

 

(b) To falsely state or advertise or put out any sign or card or other device, or to falsely 
represent to the public through any print or electronic media, that he or she or any 
other individual is licensed, certified, or registered by a governmental agency as a 
massage therapist or massage practitioner. 

 

 

PROGRAM ELECTIVES DESCRIPTIONS   
Electives are offered in 6 to 100-hour increments. Because of the specialization of electives, 
courses will be taught by a variety of state approved instructors. 
 
A student desiring these courses must coordinate enrollment when courses are offered. (A minimum of 
six students and/or instructor availability is required before any elective course will begin). 

We are now making it mandatory that when signing up for an elective course you must pay for the 
class in full. Students that have enrolled in a Package Program of hours will need to be current with 
payments before their name will be placed on the list for students in the classes. This way we are 
hoping that more of the classes that you want will run. 
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Policies and Procedures of Regular Core Classes Apply to the Elective Courses. 

• New specialty electives will continue to be added 
• Schedules are subject to change; current schedules can be found on the CalCopa Google 

Calendar at the following link: http://www.calcopamassageschool.com website. Please contact 
the administration office to verify dates and times. 

• Some classes have material/lab fees. Some fees are paid directly to the teacher; other fees are 
paid to the school.  This will be confirmed at time of enrollment. 

 
FEE STRUCTURE FOR CONTINUING EDUCATION       

8hr $128.00 
10hr $160.00 
15hr $240.00 
16hr $256.00 
20hr $320.00 
25hr $400.00 
40hr $640.00 
50hr $800.00 
100hr $1600.00 

Make sure to check our website www.calcopamassageschool.com for the current 
elective schedule. Or if you are interested in receiving monthly updates of Electives 
and Program courses running the following month, please contact the school to be 
added to our distribution list.  

Send your email address to info@calcopamassageschool.com. We do not share your 
email address with anyone. 

 

Note:  

All Electives have a prerequisite of 300 hours of core curriculum, unless otherwise indicated. 100-
Hour classes do not qualify for NCTMB Continuing Education Hours. 

 

ACUPRESSURE (100 Hours) * 
TEXTBOOK: The Web That Has No Weaver - by Kaptchuk, T. 

This is an introductory course designed to enable the massage therapist to incorporate some basic 

acupressure techniques during their massage. Basics to be covered: The 12 major meridians - 

introduction to the 5 elements and the yin/yang theory, along with a basic acupressure attunement and 
how to address specific ailments the therapists' clients might be dealing with. 

 

ADVANCED CURRICULUM (30 Hours) * 
REQUIRED TEXT: Review for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork Certification 

This class is designed to refresh and reassure students of their education in human anatomy, physiology, 
kinesiology, clinical pathology, massage therapy and bodywork theory, assessments and application, as 

well as professional standards, ethics and business practices to prepare a student to take the National 
Certification Exam and any city testing that might be necessary for licensing purposes. 

 

ADVANCED THERAPEUTIC TECHNIQUES (25 Hours) 
PREREQUISITE:  500 HOURS OF CORE CURRICULUM 

http://www.calcopamassageschool.com/calcopamassageschool_010.htm
http://www.calcopamassageschool.com/
mailto:info@calcopamassageschool.com
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This class gives students an opportunity to enhance their therapeutic skills with more hands-on practice. 
Students will learn, review and practice varying methods to help correct soft-tissue issues including 

application of TENS/EMS units, Cupping techniques, Hydrotherapy and more. 
 

AROMATHERAPY I (25 Hours) 
MATERIALS FEE $30.00 FOR THIS CLASS 

Different essences have special powerful properties, which can enhance the massage therapist's 

work. Discover the fundamental principles of aromatherapy by using essential oils with curative 
properties to heal, rejuvenate and balance the mind, body and spirit. Learn how to choose and 

benefit from the unlimited combinations of essential oils.  Additional lab fees will be announced at 

time of class. 

AROMATHERAPY II (25 Hours) 
MATERIAL FEE $30.00 FOR THIS CLASS 

PREREQUISITE: AROMATHERAPY I 
This class is designed to take the information already given to the therapist in the Aromatherapy I class and 

expand further on their knowledge. In addition to experiencing new essential oils that were not covered in the 
first class, we will be showing the therapist how to use different blends and combinations to generate a healing 

atmosphere for their clients. 
 

BAREFOOT COMPRESSION MASSAGE (25 Hours) 
This unique bodywork protocol is taken primarily from John Harris's barefoot compression massage affectionately 
referred to as "The Walkaround". Footwork is modified based upon trigger point therapy and sports massage. No 

oil or lotions are used in this fully dressed massage. No table either; with barefoot massage we use the floor and 

futon as with some TCM modalities. The advantages of using the lower and more powerful half of the body for 
the "sweat work" of the massage is obvious to any seasoned body worker. There is a strange mix of sedating and 

relaxing results while still remaining incredibly effective in regards to pain relief, muscle conditioning and 
alleviating/treating soft tissue trauma. 
 

BUSINESS PRACTICES PRACTICUM (25 Hours) * 
TEXTBOOK: Business Mastery 3rd Ed. - by Sohnen-Moe, Cherie 

This course focuses on skills not only important for a successful business, but also for a successful life. It 
includes the techniques used for starting a business, planning, budgeting, understanding of ownership options 

and taxes. 
 

The class will work together to create a business plan, establish a pre-operational time- line and a 
business budget. Solo work will include running the CalCopa Student Clinic for one week. 
 

CANINE MASSAGE ACUPRESSURE (25 Hours) 
This class takes an eastern approach to canine care. Students will be able to identify 
canine meridians and acu points. They will learn general well-being acupressure/shiatsu 

sessions for dogs. Additionally, students will be able to incorporate this knowledge to 

address specific ailments associated with canines. 

 

CANINE MASSAGE:  ANATOMY AND PHYSIOLOGY (25 Hours) 
This class gives students the ability to learn canine anatomy, physiology and pathology. Using western 
techniques of therapeutic massage, students will learn how to give overall well-being massages, as well as 

techniques to address specific ailments associated with canines. 

 

CHAIR MASSAGE (25 Hours) 
This class will provide you with techniques and body mechanics for a massage chair and/or a 

regular chair. Part of the class will be dedicated to on-site health fair or events. This continuing 
education will provide you with proper skills in dealing with a diverse clientele, as well as 

marketing skills necessary to open an on-site business. 
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CHAKRA BALANCING (15 Hours) 
The Chakra Balancing class teaches students the location and purpose of the seven chakras. Students will be able 

to identify the movement of each chakra and use various techniques to help balance the chakras. The techniques 

include the use of color, music, crystals, essential oils and directed energy. 
 

COMPASSIONATE TOUCH MASSAGE (25 CEH) 
This elective provides special techniques useful in dealing with a special population of clients whose bodies and 
overall health are declining.  Whether it is from age, or disease, these adaptive massage techniques can greatly 

help the client in the five basic measurements of well-being:  pain reduction, increase in movement, coping 
abilities, quality of life (QOL) and overall empowerment. This elective includes both lecture and lab. 

 

CRANIOSACRAL BALANCING I (50 Hours) 
This course may have additional costs associated with the class. 

This course consists of lecture, demonstration and hands-on practice. Topics covered are the history of 

Craniosacral Therapy, the anatomy of the connective tissue system, listening to the body and its rhythms 
through the primary respiratory mechanism and the cerebral spinal fluid. Establishing a "practitioner's mind" 

and negotiating boundaries with a client are emphasized throughout the class. Students will apply this 
knowledge by practicing and experiencing a full body protocol of techniques for therapy. 
 

CUPPING & GUASHA (10 Hours) 
No Prerequisite 

This is an introductory course to a Traditional Asian Medicine approach to health using suction cups and tools for 

scraping the surface of the skin. These two techniques are part of family health care and is valuable to remove 
stagnation and disharmonies from the body. These two techniques were featured by Dr. Oz as a way to help 

eliminate pain and movement limitations in the body. 

 
INTRO TO CRYSTALS (15 Hours) 
MATERIALS FEE $30.00 

This class introduces students to the proper use of crystals as a way to help correct the 
energy of the body. Students will be able to identify the qualities associated with major 

crystals and the proper placement to help the body heal itself. This class also includes a 
field trip and may include additional costs. 

 
DEEP TISSUE MASSAGE (50 Hours)  
PREREQUISITE: 500-HOURS OF CORE CURRICULUM 
Deep Tissue Massage is a massage technique that focuses on the deeper layers of muscle tissue. It aims to 

release the chronic patterns of tension in the body through slow strokes and deep finger pressure on the 
contracted areas, either following or going across the fibers of the muscles, tendons and fascia.  Students will 

learn techniques for a 60-minute and 90-minute massage, as well as focusing major parts of the body. 
 

EAR REFLEXOLOGY (Auriculotherapy) (25 Hours) 
This class is designed to train the therapist in applying pressure to points located on the ear, brought to us from the 
ancient method of healing from Chinese medicine. We will be training the therapist in guiding the body to better 

health and to apply these techniques to facilitate healing of specific ailments for the client. 

 

HOT STONE MASSAGE (25 Hours) 

MATERIALS FEE: $30.00 PAID TO THE STUDENT STORE 

Hot stone massage involves the application of heated stones within the context of a 
therapeutic massage. The heat from the stones will penetrate the muscles and offers 

multiple benefits such as complete relaxation, increased detoxification and needed relief to 
muscles suffering from deep muscular tension, fatigue and stress. Learn the layouts and 

techniques the honor the use of natural materials and their properties. 
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INFANT AND TODDLER MASSAGE (10 Hours) 
Infant and Toddler massage will not only help the little ones’ body, but mood as well. During this class you will 

learn how to massage and teach others to massage small humans. We will be using basic strokes while SINGING! 

We will learn the fun side and professional side of bodywork on wee humans. It will be a fun class with lots of 
discussion. Learning how to calm with touch and give children an opportunity to gain a sense of security from an 

early age. 

 

LYMPHATIC DRAINAGE (50 Hours) 
Lymph Drainage Therapy (LDT) is a gentle technique that works through the body's lymphatic system to activate 

the body fluid circulation and stimulate the functioning of the immune and parasympathetic nervous systems. The 
result of these actions can include reductions in edemas, detoxification of the body, regeneration of tissue as well 

as many other benefits. 

 

LYMPHATIC DRAINAGE II (50 Hours) 
PREREQUISITE: Lymphatic Draining I 
This advanced class of Lymphatic Drainage focuses on tonifying the body and helping it run more efficiently.  

Focus is placed on areas where lymphatic accumulation occurs. 
 

MYOFASCIAL RELEASE INTRODUCTION (10 Hours) 
This class focuses on a basic understanding of fascia and how it can inhibit movement. Students will learn basic 

techniques to soften fascia on the superficial, middle and deepest levels. 

 

PREGNANCY MASSAGE (25 Hours) 
PREREQUISITE:  Technician 
This class teaches the anatomy, physiology and pathology of all three trimesters of pregnancy.  Massage strokes 

will focus on positioning the Mom-to-be with an emphasis on side-lying techniques and draping. 
 

REFLEXOLOGY INTRODUCTION (8 Hours) 
NO PREREQUISITE 
This is an introductory course to foot reflexology. Students will be able to identify the reflexive mapping of the 

foot to the rest of the body and use specific techniques to help treat the body 

 
REFLEXOLOGY – FOOT (25 Hours) 
This class involves working with the feet using special pressure points and techniques, 

correlate to various organs and zones of the body. Relieve stress and tension in the body 
and learn how to market your reflexology skills in the massage field. 

 

REFLEXOLOGY – HAND (25 Hours) 
Within this class we will study the ancient art of zone therapy and its correlation with the 

organs and systems of the body on the hands. This study is to educate the student in the 

healing that can occur on the hands to help the client and to complete the relaxation of 
the client. We will also train the therapist to aid the healing in specific ailments as well as 

a complete wellness of body, mind and soul. 
 

REIKI I (15 Hours) 
Reiki is a Japanese technique for stress reduction and relaxation that also promotes natural healing. It is 
administered by laying on hands and can be easily learned by anyone. 

 
REIKI II (10 Hours) 
PREREQUISITE: REIKI I 
Many traditions of natural medicine extend back over several centuries, with an impressive accumulation of 

practical knowledge. Within this class we focus on different methods for maintaining the therapist’s optimum 
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health and body awareness. We cover yoga, tai chi, meditation, massage, chakra balancing and working naturally 
to heal different ailments that may occur in a therapist’s life. 
 

REIKI III (25 Hours) 
PREREQUISITE: REIKI II AND APPROVAL FROM INSTRUCTOR 

Many traditions of natural medicine extend back over several centuries, with an impressive accumulation of 
practical knowledge. Within this class we focus on different methods for maintaining the therapist’s optimum 

health and body awareness. We cover yoga, tai chi, meditation, massage, NLP/hypnotherapy, chakra balancing 
and working naturally to heal different ailments that may occur in a therapist’s life. 
 

SELF CARE FOR THE MASSAGE THERAPIST (45 Hours) * 
Many traditions of natural medicine extend back over several centuries, with an impressive accumulation of 

practical knowledge. Within this class we focus on different methods for maintaining the therapist’s optimal health 

and body awareness. We cover several methods of meditation and relaxation, nutrition and working naturally to 
heal different ailments that may occur with therapists' lives. Body mechanics are stressed and reviewed for 

several types of modalities. 
 

SHIATSU I & II (50 Hours each) * 
TEXTBOOK: The Web That Has No Weaver - by KAPTCHUK, T. 
Students will learn to apply pressure with thumbs and palms to specific acupuncture 

points on the twelve meridians and two vessels of the body. Basic theory of shiatsu, 

oriental diagnosis, yin-yang and the five elements theories will be discussed. At the 
completion of these hands-on elective, students will be able to complete a full body 

shiatsu treatment using proper body mechanics, as well as know the benefits and 
contraindications of shiatsu and have a good foundation for advanced shiatsu course 

work. 
 

SPA SERVICES I (25 Hours) 
Learn about body wraps, exfoliation (salt glows and scrubs), mudpacks, cellulite massage and more. These 
services work very well in conjunction with massage therapy in a spa environment. An additional lab fee will be 

announced at time of class. 

 

SPA SERVICES II (25 Hours) 
PREREQUISITE: SPA SERVICES I 

Within this class we will take the treatments that the therapist learned in the previous class and expand upon 
this knowledge, with new approaches to facial lifting without plastic surgery, how to bring about the client’s 

radiance without the use of heavy chemical peels and heavy-duty products. This class will bring the therapist 
the understanding of incorporating natural elements into their massage practice. 

 
SPORTS AND MEDICAL MASSAGE (100 Hours) ** 
This course is part IV of our Massage Practitioner program (600 Hours) and covers a wide range of massage 
techniques and may be taken for Continuing Education. The class includes detailed assessment information, 

precautionary tests, Pre/Post-Event Sports Massage, Training and Curative Massage and Oncology Massage.  
Students learn everything from the subtly of touch to deep tissue techniques. This is required for anyone 

planning to pass the Nationals.  Note: Students registering for this class will also be scheduled in the Student 
Clinic. 
 

THAI MASSAGE (50 Hours) 
Nuad Bo 'Rarn - Ancient or sacred techniques handed down from generation to generation. 

 

This ancient Asian bodywork utilizes pressure points, yogic stretches and rhythmic manipulation to balance the 
body's energy. A rhythmic rocking motion and compression along the body's sen lines are used to restore 

energy, calm the mind and relieve tension. As has been the custom for over 2500 years, this bodywork is 
performed on a mat on the floor over loose clothing. 
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Recommended for those who prefer a firm massage and don't mind being stretched, pulled and twisted. You 
will feel relaxed yet energized afterwards. 

 

THAI ON THE TABLE (25 Hours) 
Thai Massage has been practiced in Thailand for centuries. Thai Table Massage is among the fastest growing 

massage modalities in the U.S. Thai Table Massage is a combination of energy work and yoga stretching with no 
oil and is practiced on a massage table. 
 

TUI NA (25 Hours) 
Tui na is a bodywork therapy that was developed in China over 2,000 years ago. It works with the energy system 

in the body known as the meridian system. Like Acupressure, Tui na works with the chi energy of the patient to 
bring a balanced state of health. The work is done entirely with the practitioner's hands to help increase the 

beneficial flow of chi through the client's meridian system. 
 

VISCERAL MASSAGE (20 Hours) 
Most of your internal organs are muscular tubes or muscular sacs that can hold tension and harden. Additionally, 

adhesion can form prohibiting optimal function of these organs. Visceral Massage (Massage of the internal organs 
of the abdomen and thoracic cavity) can help eliminate scar tissue and realignment of these organs, allowing for 

proper functioning. 
  



29 
 
 

COLLEGE POLICIES          
 
1. Each student must be able to speak, read, write, and understand the English language. 

 

2. The student acknowledges receipt of the current catalog, and having read it, and understanding it, agrees 
to abide by and be bound by its terms. Also, CalCopa will not be responsible for any statement of policy, 

placement activity, curriculum, or facility that does not appear in the school catalog. 
 

3. Each student must provide, during his/her course, (2) passport size photographs (2" x 2"). These can be 

taken for the student in the administration office for a fee of $12.00 and the student will receive a 
student ID with this picture. No transcripts and/or certificates will be issued without them. These photos 

are affixed to the official transcript that is issued at the completion of a course. 
 

4. Each student is required to bring his/her own supplies, such as oil, linens, and comfortable clothing. 
No mineral oils, witch hazel, or petroleum products allowed. Alcohol is not to be used to clean the 

massage tables. These items will be reviewed in detail during orientation on the first day of class. 
 

5. General housekeeping, physical hygiene, and personal hygiene are emphasized and strictly enforced. Each 

student will be required to clean massage tables, furniture, equipment, clean up after themselves etc. 
(such as emptying the trashcans), just as he/she would at his/her job location. 

 

6. There will be practical instruction during each session attended. Giving and receiving massages is 

mandatory and instructional staff must make physical contact with the students as part of the 

instructional process. Those receiving massages as models will generally be required to disrobe, and will 
be at all times covered by conventional, professional massage draping procedures. When working on 

certain parts of the body, (for example: axillary, gluteus, inguinal, pectoralis, serratus, or adductor areas) 
occasional unintentional contact with breasts and genitals could occur. It is the intention of CalCopa to 

make students feel as comfortable as possible.  Any student, who may feel uncomfortable for any reason, 

is encouraged to inform the instructor or director at that time. 
 

7. CalCopa has a zero-tolerance policy of sexual harassment. All students and staff are responsible for 
creating a learning environment that is free of discrimination and harassment, including sexual 

harassment  Comments of a sexual nature, use of profanity with sexual inferences, unwelcome sexual 
advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature can 

constitute sexual harassment when it infers “quid pro quo” for academic or disciplinary decisions or if it 

creates an environment that a reasonable person would perceive as intimidating, hostile, or offensive.  If, 
at any time, a student or faculty member compromises another student or faculty member, this will be 

grounds for dismissal. 
 

8. The student hereby agrees to hold harmless and indemnify CalCopa, its agents, principles, employees, 

successors, and assigns from and against any and all claims, debts, cause of action and/or liabilities arising 
out of or in connection with: 1) the student's enrollment in any CalCopa course; 2) vocational classes, 

seminars, or workshops held by independent promoters or instructors who may or may not share the same 
views, theories, philosophies, techniques, etc. as those of the owner and staff at CalCopa; or 3) any and all 

activities of the student while employed as or acting as a practitioner or massage therapist. 
 

9. In consideration of the student being permitted to participate in student activities and field trips under 

the assistance of CalCopa, the student and parties executing with the student authorized participation 
by the student and release CalCopa and parent corporations/affiliates and their respective officers, 

agents, and employees from any and all responsibility for injury or damage to person or property. 
 

10. The student agrees to abide by the rules and schedules set by CalCopa as outlined in the school 

catalog; complete all study, classroom lessons, tests, clinics, outside interviews, externships or other 
assignments required for graduation by the administration or teacher; and attend all classes as set 

forth by the school catalog and course syllabus. 
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11. The student agrees to pay tuition and fees when due. The student also agrees that tuition must be paid in 
full before CalCopa will release any transcript, certificate, or other evidence or course attendance or 

completion. Any student with a delinquent account will be notified. If a student is not current with their 
payments at any time during their contract, the student will be unable to continue with their course of 

study until payments are brought current. If an account is not paid in full within 30 days from the end of 

the contract period, the account will be considered delinquent and a late fee charge will be incurred. The 
delinquent account will be charged a late fee per month, until balance is paid in full.  The student’s 

delinquent account may also be turned over to a collection agency for retribution as well as to reflect on 
the student’s credit report. 

 

12. CalCopa reserves the right to discontinue the student's training for unsatisfactory progress, non-payment 

of tuition or failure to abide by CalCopa rules, policies or procedures, at the discretion of the director 

and/or the dean of education. 
 

13. Grounds for dismissal include the use or possession of alcohol or drugs on the premises, fighting or 
bodily threats to other students or staff members, theft, cheating or any behavior that is deemed 

disruptive by instructor or may create a safety hazard. 
 

14. Satisfactory academic progress of each student will be reviewed twice during each 100-hour period. 

Those students not meeting the standards of satisfactory academic progress as prescribed in the school 
catalog will be notified in writing. 

 

15. Information concerning (a) post-secondary training completed in another school, (b) previous occupational 

experience, or (c) other schools which may accept our credits towards their programs, can be obtained by 

contacting the office of the administrator. It should not be assumed that any previous training or 
occupational experience can be used toward credit in CalCopa courses or programs, or those courses or 

programs described in the catalog can be transferred to another institution.  Any decision on the 
comparability, appropriateness, and applicability of credits and whether they should be accepted is the 

decision of the receiving institution. 
 

16. The student will be given appropriate credit if, in the sole discretion of CalCopa, such training or 

experience meets the criteria to measure requirement satisfaction. CalCopa does not guarantee the 
transferability of credits to any college, university, or institution. 

 

17. The student acknowledges that he/she is aware that some states (other than California) or other entities 

may require successful completion of further testing or education as a prerequisite for licensing or for the 

purpose of employment in the field of massage or related field. 
 

18. FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT – 
In compliance of public law 93-380, section 438 (Buckley amendment), I hereby give my permission to 

California College of Physical Arts to disclose or send the contents of my personal file, which includes 
resume, reference checks, and instructor evaluation to employers for their reference. This may be 

executed without contacting me.  I understand the file will be sent only to assist in finding a job. 

 
19. Should any legal action be necessary to enforce or interpret the terms of this agreement or to collect any 

sums due under this agreement and/or any addendum hereto the prevailing party shall be entitled to 
recover reasonable attorney fees in addition to any and all other remedies available at law or equity. 

 

20. Students are to inform the administrator and/or instructors if needed, of any existing medical conditions, 
ailments, or medication prescribed, or over the counter medications/drugs the student is taking or 

recently taken. This information must be given on the "emergency medical care" form during the time of 
enrollment. 

 

21. Students acknowledge that there may be breaks in the scheduled core classes due to low enrollment or 

availability of teachers. The administration will try to schedule core electives in order to allow students 

to continue with their education until another core class can be scheduled and filled. The school has 
discretion on scheduling core classes or core electives. 
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22. Students need to be advised that any discount in the pricing of a complete package is only applicable with 
the initial signing of program contract. 

 
23. Dress code at CalCopa - students will maintain a professional look and behavior during their hours at 

CalCopa. Students may wear comfortable clothes but should not wear any article of clothing that is 

suggestive in any way (i.e., bare midriffs, low cut tops or halter tops, short shorts or skirts). The teacher 
may require you to return home to change if they deem your dress to be inappropriate. This is especially 

true during the final practical where inappropriate dress may detract from your grade.  (See following 
pages for more information) 

 
 

SCHOOL DRESS POLICIES          
CalCopa has instilled the following acceptable professional Dress Code Policy as follows: 
 
Attire – Professional and Clean 
 

Shirts: Medical scrub tops or collared polo neck with short sleeves only. No midriffs 
should be exposed, nor should shirts be low cut. 

Pants: Medical scrub bottoms, slacks. No jeans, or denim pants. Nothing skin 
tight. Shorts – Knee length.  No “Hot pants,” nothing skin tight. 

Skirts: Long skirts below the knee. No Revealing splits, or slits; no miniskirts and 
nothing skin tight. 

Shoes: Tennis shoes, Doc Martens, or Birkenstocks; flip-flops and high heels are not 
acceptable. 

Colors: No preferences required. This is an opportunity for the student to express 
his/her own personality. Please keep within professional standards.  If 
you’re not sure, you probably shouldn’t wear it. 

Undergarments: Therapists must wear undergarments at all times as part of the 
professional image.  It is up to the client whether to leave undergarments 
on during a massage or not. 

 
Hair – Clean and Tidy 

• Long hair must be pulled away from the face and kept tied up 
• Beards and mustaches must be trimmed and neat 
• No hats, caps, or head coverings are permitted 

 

Jewelry – 

• No watches, bangles or bracelets should be worn when giving or receiving a massage 
• No rings on fingers 
• No long chains around the neck or outside of the collar 
• Earrings should be small hoops or studs 
• DO NOT BRING/WEAR VALUABLES!  CalCopa is not responsible for lost or stolen items. 

 
If the student does not comply with these requirements, they will be sent home to change and could 
be subjected to a loss of class hours. If the student fails to adhere to these policies, they will be asked 
to discontinue their training with CalCopa Massage School. 
 
 

EQUIPMENT AND SUPPLIES         
Textbooks and material costs vary with each course. We carry several textbooks in the 
bookstore. However, many of our students find used books on-line by using the ISBN number 
to search. Additional costs may occur in the various Continuing Education classes; most of 
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these fees are listed with the descriptions of the courses. 
The Student Guide for each Core Curriculum class will be available to all enrolled students before the 

class starts. The student guides can be attained via CalCopa Dropbox for those who prefer to upload to 

laptops or tablets (after supplying an email address). Or if you prefer, the files can be provided by 

either a CD-ROM, provided by the school, or a flash drive provided by the student. You are responsible 

for printing out your own copy and bringing it with you to class. 

CalCopa provides massage tables for lab and clinics. We also have contracts with several of the leading 

table manufacturers offering student packages on tables, bolsters, bags and sheets.  Although we 

encourage our students to practice outside of class, we suggest speaking with an instructor, or 

administration before purchasing your first table, or massage chair. 

Each student is required to supply his/her own massaging equipment, such as: 

• Comfortable clothing (described in the dress code policy page 31.) 
• A holster 
• Writing material 
• Massage oils or lotions: no mineral oils, petroleum products, witch hazel, or alcohol 
• A complete set of twin sheets (fitted, top and pillow case). Note: we suggest you 

have more than one set of sheets available. 
 
The instructor will review this information in detail during orientation on the first day of classes. 
 
 

LIBRARY AND OTHER LEARNING RESOURCES     
In our continued effort to keep faculty, students and alumni informed and knowledgeable, we 
provide a designated library/reading area in the Student Break Room. In addition to assorted 
books and reference manuals, we keep the leading Massage and Bodywork periodicals on 
hand. Students are encouraged to read these each month and are permitted to take additional 
copies as needed. Internet access is available to all students via secure wireless networking 
and computer accessibility in the Administration Office. 

 

 

CREDIT FOR PREVIOUS TRAINING EVALUATION POLICY   
This institution will conduct an evaluation of prior education and training for all veterans and eligible 
persons, grant appropriate credit to shorten the training period proportionally and notify the VA and 
the student accordingly.  Non-VA students will be charged an Evaluation Fee of $100.  If courses are 
accepted, there will be a charge of $1 per credit transferred.  This fee is not mandated for students 
using a GI-Bill. 

 

For VA purposes, prior credit reflects the amount of credit for previous education, training, or 
experience, including military experience that applies to the program of education being pursued or 
certified and which shortens the program accordingly. You are responsible for providing a copy of your 
military transcripts at the time of registration. See www.calcopamassageschool.com/VAStudentreferences 

for links to archived military transcripts. 
 

All credits granted either from (a) post-secondary training program, (b) previous occupational 
experience documented, or (c) education from a community college or university all within the last 3 
years might be accepted as credits toward your courses. Students may be asked to take and pass a 

http://www.calcopamassageschool.com/VAStudentreferences
http://www.calcopamassageschool.com/VAStudentreferences
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written and practical test as assessed by the Director, Celina Sahagún.  If her assessment is not 

satisfactory, the student may appeal to the school’s Executive Director, Michelle Mangano. 
It should not be assumed that any previous training, or occupational experience can be used 
toward credit in CalCopa courses, or that courses described in the catalog can be transferred to 
other institutions. 
 
The student will be given appropriate credit if, in the sole discretion of CalCopa, such training or 
experience meets both CalCopa and state requirements as stated below: 
 

a) Pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 4604, CAMTC can only consider transfer 
hours from CAMTC approved schools. Transcripts shall clearly identify transfer hours, including 
but not limited to name, CAMTC School Approval Code, address, telephone, and website of 
other school(s); number of hours transferred; class requirements met by transfer hours; 
reason(s) for transfer; and attached copy of transcript(s) from other school(s). Transfer hours 
may not make up more than 50% of the 500 hours required for certification. CAMTC reserves 
the right, in its sole discretion, to not accept transfer hours. 

 
NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT 
OUR INSTITUTION. 
 
The transferability of credits you earn at California College of Physical Arts is at the complete discretion 
of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in the 
educational program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to 
transfer. If the certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which you 
seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For 
this reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational 
goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending 
California College of Physical Arts to determine if your certificate will transfer. 
 
This institution has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other college or 
university. 
 

INSTRUCTIONAL SYSTEMS         
If a student enrolls initially in the 100-hour technician course, he/she can re-enroll for the 600 to 1000- 
hour packages. Students will be given credit for the hours completed and then continue through the 
rest of the new package they have signed up for. Students who re-enroll in another series must be 
aware that they may have to wait for the next available class within the package that meets their 
scheduling needs. In an attempt to continue allowing students to attend courses without interruptions, 
we may change the order of classes. However, no student will be placed in a class for which they are 
not prepared. Not all classes will be available every month in all schedules. Students need to keep in 
contact with the administrative office for updated class schedules. 
 
A student in a contract program (Massage Therapist, Massage Practitioner, Myotherapist, and 
Holistic Health Practitioner) may not take another class or discontinue the sequence without an 
excuse accepted by the administration. If the student insists on changing their program or the 
order of classes their contract may be cancelled. In this instance, the student will forfeit any 
program discounts and must pay the hourly rate for hours attended to date and for any further 
classes. 
 

It is the student’s responsibility to inform the administration of their intentions to re-enroll so 
class schedules and availability may be determined.  Re-enrollment must be completed at 
least two weeks prior to class start dates. 
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SCHEDULING            
Our full-time, 100-hours courses starts on the first Monday of every month except holidays, and 
continues for four consecutive weeks. A student completes 100 hours every four weeks going full-time. 

 
Our part-time, 100-hour course starts the first Monday of every other month excluding holidays, and 
continues for eight consecutive weeks. A student completes 100 hours every eight weeks going part-
time. 
 

Courses less than 100 hours in length fluctuate in calendar length. See elective and workshop 
descriptions for class length and contact administrative office or our website for schedules. 
 
 

GRADING             
A student must receive the following minimum grade ratings to complete the course: 

 

• 80% score or higher on all quizzes 

• 80% score or higher on all weekly exams and written final 

• 90% score or higher on practical final 

• Any score below 80% is considered a failing score 

 
Failed quizzes and tests are Make-up Quizzes and Tests Procedures: 
 
All students may retake quizzes and tests 24-hours after failing the exam.  Students must make 
arrangements with his/her instructor.  Your instructor will inform the office associates which test you 
are to take.  The exam must be taken outside of class hours.  Retake times are: 

• Monday, Wednesday, Friday (2 pm – 6 pm) 
 
Additional test taking times for full-time students includes Wednesday and Friday clinic/study times:  
Wednesdays, 12 noon – 2 p.m. and Fridays, 9 a.m. – 2 p.m. (exception: Technician students). 
 
Students who fail the second version of the exam will be required to pay $20 for the third version of 
the exam.  Students have an option of paying $30 to take an oral version instead.  Arrangements must 
be made directly with the instructor, or Director. 
 

If a student does not complete all tests required for a level, that student may not move on to the next 
level and will be put on probation. This probation period will be for one (1) month in the case of a 
daytime full-time student and two (2) months in the case of part time nights or weekend program 
student.  To be reinstated, a student must contact the Dean of Teachers, or Administration Office to 
schedule makeup testing, or makeup hours. When the testing or the hours are completed to the 
school’s standards the student will then be allowed to move on to the next level of training.  Student 
would not be eligible to receive VA benefits during the probationary period. 
 
 

ATTENDANCE            
"Attendance time" begins with the scheduled start time of the first class until the date, when the 
student formally cancels in writing his/her enrollment. If the student is absent from scheduled classes 
before written cancellation, he will be charged for that time. 
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Actual attendance time is expressed in terms of clock hours. Classroom and on-campus clinic credit will 
be allowed only for instruction given under the supervision of a certified or approved instructor at an 
approved location.  Clock hours will be rounded off to the nearest ¼ hour. It is important to arrive on 
time or before the beginning of the scheduled class or lab period. 90% total attendance is required to 
graduate from each level program, or class. 
 

• Make-up hours are required if a student falls below the 90% attendance. 
• Use of the labs after or before scheduled classes must be approved by the administration 

before the lab work begins. Students will need to sign in and out with the administration 
office to have their time applied towards make up hours. 

• Students will only receive time credit for 30 minutes before or after class without prior 
approval. 
 

Make-up Hours Procedures: 
 
Students can make up 5 hours only by participating in scheduled classes at the student’s current 
program level or by participating in scheduled sporting events and/or clinic appointments scheduled 
throughout their enrollment with CalCopa. Additional make-up hours must be completed with an 
instructor and will be charged at the tuition rate of $16/hour.  Make-up hours for VA Students will 
not be submitted to Veterans Association for payment; the student will be responsible for the 
hourly payment. Arrangements must be approved by the administration before the class time 
begins.   
 
Any students anticipating an extended leave of absence or lapse in attendance of three weeks or 
longer must request in writing a formal Leave of Absence (LOA).  An LOA cannot exceed 60 days, 
and no more than one leave of absence is allowed during any course length.  Any student failing to 
attend classes without such written notice will have his/her enrollment agreement terminated.  After 60 
days, the student must re-enroll and will lose any program discount.  The only exception to this will be 
in the case that no classes were held at that level during said time period. 
 
 

SATISFACTORY PROGRESS         
Each student must complete his/her course/package within its prescribed and scheduled course 
length. Each course/package is divided into 100-hour segments. Each 100-hour segment consists of 
two measurement checkpoints each consisting of 1/2 the scheduled hours of attendance. Students will 
be evaluated at each measurement checkpoint. Any student not completed with half the assigned 
tests, required hours of attendance, or current with payments will be issued a report of unsatisfactory 
progress. This report will outline what the student needs in order to comply with the midway 
checkpoint. 
 

The student will need to have all required items completed by the end of 100-hour segment schedule 
completion date to regain satisfactory progress and graduate or continue to their next level. 
 

If the student does not complete the required items outlined on the report of unsatisfactory progress, 
the student will enter a probationary period. A probationary period of 1/2 the course length is allotted 
to the student to complete their required hours and/or tests satisfactorily. 
 
The student will be responsible to arrange time for make-up hours, tests and other assignments.  If 
the course is not completed by the end of the probationary period, the student's contract will be 
terminated, and the student will be expelled.  Incomplete grades are assigned only when a student 
has not successfully completed a course of study with CalCopa, or without communicating their 
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intentions regarding the courses that they are taking.   The assigning of the incomplete grade is at the 
discretion of the administration. The student will not be able to complete his/her program or re-enroll 
in any other programs once the probationary period has passed unless permitted by administration. 
 
An example of the probationary period is as follows: 
 
A student is enrolled in the 600-hour full time course.  The student is missing a quiz as well as being 5 
hours short of instruction time at the first 50-hour midway checkpoint.  This student receives a report 
of unsatisfactory progress, listing items needing to be completed.  The student will have two weeks 
(the 100-hr grad date) to comply.  If the student is unable to comply by the graduation date, the 
student goes into a probationary period. 
 
At that time, the Dean of Teachers will review the academic progress of the student and may choose to 
keep the student from the next core curriculum class.  If this is the case, the student is to use the 
month probationary period to complete all the requirements noted on the unsatisfactory progress 
notification.  After the student is compliant, he/she then may restart his/her package when the next 
course level is available.  The student may not continue with the on-going class, they will have to wait 
until the next course level class is available. 
 
If a student has an unsatisfactory progress notification and does not complete the required items as 
scheduled; or during the scheduled probationary period, the decision will be made by the Director of 
Education and the Administration to reinstate this student or not. 
 
CalCopa reserves the right to discontinue any students training for any reason warranted by the 
Administration (late or outstanding balances owed to the school, absences from the class resulting in 
the student falling behind in their studies, etc.). 
 
Veterans and eligible persons are evaluated biweekly to determine satisfactory progress. When the 
grade average, or attendance requirements of a VA student are unsatisfactory (below 80% academic or 
below 90% attendance), that student will be placed on academic probation.  If during the next two 
weeks the student’s grades or attendance remains below course completion requirements, the student 
will have all veteran’s benefits discontinued until his/her academic status is restored to good standing. 
 

 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS         
A student will receive a certificate and transcript of completion when all tests, assignments and 
attendance for the courses have been completed satisfactorily, payment has been made in full, and 
community service event or clinic time has been accounted for. When the student has completed a 
program of 600 hours or more, they must request their transcripts and copies for any licensing 
requirements, MBLEX or National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork application 
to be made in the administration office; please allow two weeks for processing. 
 

Any student enrolled in a program of training over the initial 100 hours Massage Technician course, will 
be required to fulfill 5 or more clinic appointments per every one hundred hours of core class 
instruction attended. These appointments are made on every Wednesday, Friday of each week 
(excluding the day of finals) and at least one Saturday a month. 
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STUDENT CLINIC            
CalCopa Massage School offers a student clinic to the public every Wednesday from 12 – 2pm, every 
Friday 9am – 2pm and alternating Saturday’s throughout the month from 9am – 2pm.  These massages 
are offered at a discounted rate of $40 for a 50-minute full body Swedish massage. (CalCopa alumnae 
may receive a Clinic Massage at a rate of $25.) 
 
Every student that enrolls in a program of massage training over the initial 100-hour massage 
technician course is required to complete 5 or more student clinic massages per every 100 hours of 
core instructional training with us for a total of 30 clinic hours.  There are no exceptions to these 
requirements allowed.  If a student does not meet these requirements, they will receive an incomplete 
in their course and not be able to receive their certifications or transcripts. 
 
Clinic Schedule: 
 

Wednesdays 12 pm – 2 pm 
Fridays 9 am – 2 pm 
Alternating Saturdays 9 am – 2 pm 

 
Full-time students are scheduled Wednesdays and Fridays. Part-time and Saturday students are 
scheduled for the Saturday clinics. 
 
Students will be scheduled for clinics in the 200, 300, 400, Acupressure/Shiatsu Classes and the 600 
level courses.  Shifts will increase based on the course level.  For example: 200-hour students will be 
scheduled for several one-hour shifts; 300 Hour students will have two-hour shifts scheduled; 400-hour 
students will have three-hour shifts scheduled; Acupressure students will have four-hour shifts. The 
600-hour level will be scheduled a five-hour shift and one four-hour shift including (2) 90-minute 
massages. The number of shifts scheduled is based on the number of students enrolled. 
 
All full-time students are considered “on call” to cover absenteeism during the clinics.  The 
administration office will make a schedule for all currently enrolled students at the beginning of each 
month.  If at any time the student needs to change their scheduled time, they need to make 
arrangements with a fellow classmate and then both students need to inform the administration office 
together to get approval for the schedule change. 
 
The policies and procedures for CalCopa’s Student Clinic are as follows: 

• No gum chewing, tobacco chewing, or heavy perfumes or colognes allowed in the clinic 
• Cancellations/No Shows 

o If an appointment cancels or is a “no show” the student/therapist will receive credit for 
the hour, regardless for the Saturday clinics.  Student/therapist must get a substitute 
client for the Wednesday and Friday clinic days to receive credit. 

• TARDINESS 
o If the therapist or client is tardy, the massage will be completed at the scheduled time.   

The office does notify the clients to be prompt because the massages are booked back 
to back, and the therapist will need time to change their equipment and to be able to 
give the client their full massage time.  Massages may run longer only if the office is 
notified first and there are no scheduled massages afterwards. 

• THERAPIST NO SHOWS 
o In the event a student is not able to keep an appointment, the student must arrange for 

a substitute therapist to cover their appointment. The student will not make the teacher 
or administration office cover their massage appointment. On the schedule we will have 
an alternate student scheduled just in case an appointment needs to be covered that 
day. But if a student needs to miss their appointment, they need to take on the 
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responsibility of informing the administrative staff, their teacher and their fellow 
classmates 24 hours prior to their scheduled appointment. 

o If the therapist does not show for appointments or does not contact the administration, 
their instructor or their fellow classmate, the massage missed will result in the student 
receiving an absence for their entire class time.  And the lack of professionalism on the 
part of the student will be reported in the student’s file and will be considered in 
recommending the student to future employers or not. The student that does not fulfill 
the requirements for their course completion will not be issued transcripts or 
certifications. 

• ARRIVAL/SET UP 
o The student/therapist needs to arrive 10-15 minutes prior to their first appointment to 

review the client’s file and prepare the room. If there is another massage in progress 
when the therapist arrives, they are asked to wait in the administration office until the 
massage is completed before setting up their rooms. 

• SUPPLIES 
o The therapist will need to provide their own linens (sheets, towels and pillow cases), as 

well as massage lotions and oils in a holster.  Massage music is available in the massage 
rooms or at the front counter, but all therapists are encouraged to bring their own music 
and ambiance to make the room more their own. 

• FINISHED WITH THE MASSAGE 
o When the student/therapist is finished with the massage make sure to clean the tables 

and bolsters, stools, and counters to make the room presentable for the next massage. 
All therapists must fill out the client’s progress notes after each massage. The client may 
be asked to do an evaluation on the massage they received and a review of the 
therapist performance. These evaluations will be available for the therapist to review 
and will be kept in their student file. 

• PROFESSIONAL ATTIRE REQUIREMENTS 
o The therapist must be presentable and professional in their attire when working in the 

student clinic.  Please review what is acceptable and also the section on school dress 
code. 
 

ACCEPTABLE PROFESSIONAL ATTIRE IS AS FOLLOWS: 
Shirts – Medical scrub tops or collared polo neck with short sleeves only 
Pants – Medical scrub bottoms, slacks, or knee length shorts 
Shoes – Tennis shoes, Doc Martens, or Birkenstocks. Flip-flops, and high heels are not acceptable 
Colors – No preferences required. This is an opportunity for the student to express his/her own 
personality. Please keep within professional standards.  If you’re not sure, you probably shouldn’t 
wear it. 
 
Hair – Clean and Tidy 

• Long hair must be pulled away from the face and kept tied up 
• Beards and mustaches must be trimmed and neat 
• No hats, caps, or head coverings are permitted 

 
Jewelry – 

• No watches, bangles or bracelets should be worn when giving or receiving a massage 
• No rings on fingers 
• No long chains around the neck or outside of the collar 
• Earrings should be small hoops or studs 

• DO NOT BRING/WEAR VALUABLES!  CalCopa is not responsible for lost/stolen items. 
 
Undergarments – Therapists must wear undergarments always as part of the professional image. It is 
up to the client whether to leave undergarments on during a massage or not. 
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If the student does not comply with these requirements, they will be sent home to change and could 
be subjected to a loss of class hours. If the student continues not to adhere to these policies, they will 
be asked to discontinue their training with CalCopa Massage School. 
 
 

FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT        
Records will be maintained on file for at least five (5) years. A student has the right to access his/her 
files upon request. If a student wishes to obtain their transcripts and diploma, they need to inform the 
Administrative offices and allow at least 4 weeks for processing the paperwork.  When a student is 
requesting duplicates or replacement copies then a fee of $25.00 is charged. 

 

Release of Student Information 

FAMILY EDUCATION RIGHTS AND PRIVACY ACT (FERPA) ___  
The Family Education Rights and Privacy (FERPA) (20 U.S.C. § 1234; 34 CFR Part 99) is a federal law 
that protects the privacy of education records.  FERPA generally gives students: 

• The right to review their educational records. 

• The right to seek correction of the contents of these records. 

• The right to a formal hearing if seeking the correction of these records. 

• The right to place a note of explanation in the records if their requested correction was 
unsuccessful. 

• The right to request disclosure of the contents of the records. 

• The right to file a complaint with the Department of Education if the Institute fails to comply 
with FERPA policies. 

 

Family Policy Compliance Office 
US Department of Education 
400 Maryland Ave, SW 
Washington DC 20202 

 

Students who wish to inspect and review their records may do so by setting an appointment with the 
Administrator, Director, or Executive Director of CalCopa Massage School during regular business 
hours.  An appointment will be made within 5 business days of the request. The review will take 
place under the supervision of the Administrator, Director, or Executive Director who may assist in 
explanation of the records. There are no fees associated with reviewing the student’s records, but a 
$25.00 processing fee will be charged for copies of the documents. 

 

CalCopa will not release educational records or information without the written consent of the 
student.  Legal exceptions may apply as defined by the FERPA guidelines.  The Administrator will 
provide a FERPA release form upon request. 

 

DISMISSAL, SUSPENSION & READMISSION PROCEDURES   
CalCopa reserves the right to discontinue the student's training temporarily or terminate the 

student contract for: 
• Unsatisfactory progress 
• Non-payment of tuition 
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• Failure to abide by CalCopa rules, polices or procedures 
 
These are at the discretion of the Director of Administration. 
 
Grounds for Dismissal include: 

• The use or possession of alcohol or drugs 

• Fighting or bodily threats to other students or staff members 

• Theft 
• Cheating 

• Any behavior that is disruptive 

• Any behavior that may create a safety hazard 

 
California College of Physical Arts offers instructional training in therapeutic massage. If, at any time, 
a student or faculty member compromises another student or faculty member, this may be basis for 
termination of education. 
 
Whether termination of enrollment is voluntary or involuntary, each student should realize that he/she 
would remain obligated for tuition and fees due the school based on the refund policy.  If any student 
is terminated and wishes to appeal, he/she may do so in writing within 3 days of the termination to 
the school director. 
 
 

COMPLAINT/GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE/APPEAL PROCESS   

From time to time, differences in interpretation of school policies will arise among students, faculty, 
and/or the administration. CalCopa maintains an “Open Door” approach to grievances and encourage 
students to address their concerns with fellow classmates, the staff, or instructors directly.  If, 
however, this is not possible, or has not resolved the concern, here are the steps to follow for any 
grievances. 
 
CLASSROOM/SCHOOL PERFORMANCE 
 
Summary:  Students are encouraged to talk to his/her instructor about any teaching/classroom 
concerns.  CalCopa instructors and Directors are committed to providing a safe learning environment 
and strive to find assorted teaching methodologies to meet each students’ learning style.  If the 
student has discussed his/her concerns directly with the instructor, or does not feel safe to address the 
issue with the instructor, they should take the following steps: 
 

• Schedule an appointment to speak with the Director 
o The Director has office hours on Mondays and Fridays from 9 am – 5 pm 
o If student is unable to schedule an appointment on these days, they may send an email 

to the Director to schedule a phone call.  Director’s Email address:  
celina@calcopamassageschool.com 

o The Director will get back to the student within three days of the email. 
 

• Present your concerns to the Director 
o Any specifics that can be backed up with documentation is preferable (but not required) 
o Provide the feedback the student received from his/her instructor 
o The Director will take up-to-two days to meet with the instructor(s) involved and any 

other associates who may provide valuable information. 
o After 2-days, the Director will type a formal summary of the complaint and what actions 

may be suggested. 
 

mailto:celina@calcopamassageschool.com
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If the student is dissatisfied with the Director’s response, he/she may submit a written complaint for 
review by the CalCopa Advisory Board. 

o Student can send a documentation of the initial complaint, including the Instructor and 
Director’s response to the Board President at President@calcopamassageschool.com 

o The Board President will review the complaint and distribute the information to the 
Board Members.  A written response will be given within 30-days of the submission 
date. 
 

• Finally, students can contact the California Massage Therapy Council (CAMTC) and/or the 
California Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) if he/she is not satisfied with the 
decision of the CalCopa Board. See contact information below. 
 

 

 

 

 

 

FINANCIAL/TUITION GRIEVANCES 

Summary:  At time of registration, students receive a signed copy of the program contract and a 
payment schedule.  A receipt is provided with the date, payment amount and payment method for all 
payments.  Payment reminders are distributed via text, email or hard-copy reminder each month.  
Payments are due the first class of the month (unless other arrangements have been made with the 
Executive Director or Director).  If the student believes an error has been made regarding tuition 
balance, he/she should take the following steps: 
 

• Schedule a time to meet with the Director to review his/her account. 
o The Director is available Mondays and Fridays from 9 am – 6 pm 

• Bring copies of payment receipts and copy of program contract 
• Director will review the payments with the student 

 
If the student is dissatisfied with the Director’s response, he/she may present the tuition discrepancy to 
the Executive Director. 

• The Executive Director is available Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 2 – 6 pm 
• The Executive Director may also be reached by mobile or text to 714-615-0867 
• Bring copies of payment receipts and payment schedule for review 
• The Executive Director will review the student’s concerns and provide an answer within 48-

hours. 
 
If the student still feels the issue is unresolved, he/she may contact the California Bureau of Private 
Postsecondary Education (BPPE).   
 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
P.O. Box 980818 

West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 
Phone: 916-574-7720 
Fax: 916-574-8650 

 

 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education 

P.O. Box 980818 
West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 

Phone: 916-574-7720 
Fax: 916-574-8650 

California Massage Therapy Council 
One Capitol Mass 

Suite 320 
Sacramento, CA  95815 

www.camtc.org 

Phone:  916-669-5336 
Fax:  916-669-5337 

mailto:President@calcopamassageschool.com
http://www.camtc.org/
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CANCELLATION (WITHDRAWAL) AND REFUND     

BUYER’S RIGHT TO CANCEL – 
 
Students have the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid 
through attendance at the first session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. 
 

REFUND INFORMATION – 
 
You may withdraw from a course after instruction has started and receive a pro-rata refund for the 
unused portion of the tuition paid and other refundable charges. Withdrawals after the refund date 
(first Friday of class) will not be eligible for a refund. 
Service Charge: $10 shall be charged for processing each refund transaction except for those 
resulting from the cancellation of a class by the college. 
 
To determine your refund, you would deduct a registration fee ($150.00) from the tuition charge. You 
would then divide this figure by the number of hours in the program.  The quotient is the hourly charge 
for the program. The amount owed by the student, for the purpose of calculating a refund, is derived 
by multiplying the total hours attended by the hourly charge for instruction less the amount of the 
registration fee and the documented cost of any books or equipment that were not returned. 
 
For example, if the student completes only 10 hours of a 50-hour course and paid $800.00 tuition, and 
a registration fee of $150.00 (or $10.00 if receiving Veteran’s benefits), the student would receive a 
refund of $640.00. 
 

  Veterans 
Total Paid by the Student $950.00 $810.00 
Less Registration Fee: -$150.00 -$10.00 
Less Tuition Charged (10hrs @ $16.00) -$160.00 -$160.00 
Refund Paid to Student $640.00 $640.00 

 

This is also true of any tuition paid by a third party. 
 

It is the responsibility of the student to officially withdraw from each class in which he/she is enrolled.  
Student may withdraw from class in the Administration office, by phone or fax with the cancellation 
form filled out completely. 

 

If the school cancels or discontinues a course or educational program, the school will make a full 
refund of all charges. 

 
Refunds will be paid within 30-days from cancellation notice or withdrawal date. 
 
 

MISCELLANEOUS REFUNDS         

If the student does not return following a leave of absence, refunds must be made within thirty (30) 
calendar days from the end of the leave of absence, based on students’ last date of attendance. 
 
In case of prolonged illness or accident, death in the family, or other circumstances that make it 
impractical to complete the course, CalCopa will attempt to make a settlement, which is reasonable 
and fair to both parties. 
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FINANCIAL STATEMENT          

CalCopa has no pending petitions in bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in possession, has not 
filed a petition within the preceding five years, nor has had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it 
within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States 
Bankruptcy Code. 
 

DISCLAIMERS            

CalCopa will not be responsible for any statement of policy, placement activity, curriculum or facility 
that does not appear in the school catalog. 
 
CalCopa reserves the right to add, subtract or alter any course, dates, sequence, prerequisites, costs, 
instructors and any training-related matter as dictated by student attendance, instructor availability, or 
for any other reason, at any time without notice. 
 
The student acknowledges that CalCopa does not guarantee employment. The student also 
acknowledges that CalCopa, its agents and/or employees, make no representations or warranties that 
successful completion of any course will make the student eligible for any municipal, county, state or 
other government license which may be required for employment of any type. 
 
The student acknowledges that he/she is aware that some municipalities, counties or other entities 
may require successful completion of further testing as a prerequisite in obtaining a license for the 
purpose of employment in the field of massage or related fields.  CalCopa’s programs are non-
residential and the school has no responsibility to find or assist a student in finding housing. 
 
 

LICENSING AND EMPLOYMENT         

According to the Bureau of Labor Statistics, the Standard Occupational Codes (SOC) for Massage 
Therapists is:  31-9011.  With the following description:  
 

Perform therapeutic massage of soft tissue and joints.  May assist in the assessment of 
range of motion and muscle strength or propose client therapy plans.  Illustrative 
examples:  Swedish Masseuse, Licensed Massage Therapist, Deep Tissue Massage 
Therapist 

 
The state of California has established a voluntary, state-wide permit for massage.  Massage therapists 
have the option of either applying for the state permit (by successfully completing 500 hours of 
education and passing the MBLEx exam) or city/county permits.  The cities and counties are not 
uniform in their standards with requirements ranging from 60 to 1000-hours of education for licensing. 
 
Massage Therapists may also choose to become a Nationally Board Certified by the National 
Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork.  As of this time, this new certification 
standard is on a voluntary basis.  However, some massage businesses and/or other states may require 
National Board Certified for employment.  This is considered to be the highest voluntary credential 
attainable to massage therapists and bodyworkers in the profession today. 
 
CalCopa Massage School works with many businesses to provide quality employment to our graduating 
students.  Current and on-going job postings are sent via Constant Contact email distribution to all 
current students and recent graduates.  Students are required to have a proper résumé and cover 
letter prepared to send to prospective employers.  CalCopa instructors and staff will help students 
submit applications, but we do not guarantee employment. 
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NATIONAL MASSAGE THERAPY OR BODYWORK 
ORGANIZATIONS            

CalCopa requires its students to become student members of American Bodywork and Massage 
Professionals (ABMP) and American Massage Therapy Association (AMTA) at time of registration (see 
registration requirements). CalCopa also recommends that its graduates seek membership in one or 
more national organizations, such as AMTA, ABMP or International Massage Association (IMA), etc.  
Benefits include liability insurance, increased professional status in the eyes of the public, ability to 
network with others, continuing education credits, voice in improving licensing laws, etc. 

 

OTHER STUDENT SERVICES         

Other student services provided by CalCopa include guest speakers, optional workshops, and field 
trips. Arrangements can also be made for individual tutoring if necessary, as well as accommodations 
for handicapped students.  Please contact our Dean of Teachers to review your specific needs.   
 
CalCopa students participate in community activities such as providing massage therapy at local 
sporting events and fundraisers. 
 
CalCopa offers a student store on campus in the administrative office.  It has massage oils, lotions, 
stones, crystals, books, study guides and other relevant supplies.  Hours for the student store are 9am 
to 6pm Monday, Wednesday and Friday and 9am to 2pm, Tuesday & Thursday. 
 

The school also offers student massages in the on-campus clinic.  Upper level students offer massages 
to the public on Wednesdays, 12:00pm to 2:00pm and Fridays and selected Saturdays, 9:00am to 
2:00pm at the rate of $40 an hour. If you or anyone else that you know would be interested in 
receiving a massage, please call the office to schedule an appointment. 
 
 

ADMINISTRATION OFFICE HOURS:        

 

Monday, Wednesday, Friday 8:00 AM – 6:00 PM 
Tuesday & Thursday 8:00 AM – 2:00 PM 
Selected Saturdays 8:45 AM – 2:00 PM 
If you need to speak with someone from administration outside of these times, please 
call to make an appointment.  Meet with administration for a tour of the school and 
answers to any questions. 

 
 

INSTRUCTIONAL HOURS:          

Subject to minimum enrollment requirements (6 students) and instructor availability. 
 

100-HOUR FULL-TIME COURSES COMPLETED IN 4 WEEKS: 
Monday – Friday 9:00 AM – 2:00 PM 

 
100-HOUR PART-TIME COURSES COMPLETED IN 8 WEEKS: 

Monday, Wednesday, Friday 6:00 PM – 10:00 PM 
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CALCOPA MASSAGE SCHOOL – CAMTC #SCH0121 
2020 TENTATIVE CORE CLASS SCHEDULE 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
* Indicates the last full or part-time class which allows you to complete program before 12/31/20 deadline. 

 

2020 School Breaks 

 
 
 
 

2020 Holiday Schedule 

 

FULL TIME SCHEDULE FOR 2020 

Monday – Friday (9 a.m. – 2 p.m.) 

Massage Practitioner Program Dates 

C1 01/06/20 - 06/26/20 

C2 02/03/20 – 07/31/20 

C3 03/02/20 – 08/28/20 

C4 04/06/20 – 09/25/20 

C5 05/04/20 – 10/23/20 

C6 06/01/20 – 11/27/20 

C7* 07/06/20 – 12/18/20 

C8 08/03/20 – 01/29/21 

C9 08/31/20 – 02/26/21 

C10 09/28/20 – 03/26/21 

C11 10/26/20 – 04/30/21 

C12 11/23/20 – 05/28/21 

PART TIME SCHEDULE FOR 2020 

Monday, Wednesday, Friday (6 p.m. – 10 p.m.) 

Massage Practitioner Program Dates 

CP1* 01/06/20 – 12/22/20 

CP2 03/02/20 – 02/26/21 

CP3 05/04/20 – 04/30/21 

CP4 07/06/20 – 06/25/21 

CP5 08/31/20 – 08/27/21 

CP6 10/26/20 – 10/22/21 

2020 Breaks 

March 28 – April 6, 2020 

June 27 – July 6, 2020 

December 19, 2019 – January 4, 2021 

2019 Holidays (May be subject to change) 

Martin Luther King Day Monday January 20, 2020 

President’s Day Monday February 17, 2020 

Memorial Day Monday May 25, 2020 

Independence Day Friday Observed July 3, 2020 

Labor Day Monday September 7, 2020 

Veteran’s Day Monday November 11, 2020 

Thanksgiving Holiday Thursday & Friday November 26 & 27, 2020 

Year-End Break December 19, 2020 January 4, 2021 
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PERSONNEL             

Administrative Staff 

 
Michelle M.  Mangano Executive Director, Administrator 
Celina Sahagún Director 
Sally Cardinal Administrative Assistant 

 
Michelle M. Mangano, B.A. – Executive Director   

With over 35 years of teaching experience from the corporate world and academia, 
Michelle relies on her vast background to ensure a quality operation.  She has been 
involved in all business aspects from Human Resources, Training & Development, 
Customer Service and Operations.  She focuses on running the school with a high 
level of customer satisfaction and academic competence while maintaining the 
comfortable feeling of a family-run business. As Dean of Teachers, Michelle stresses 
the importance of skills development along with the ability to become either a 
knowledgeable employee, or a successful Independent Contractor.  Michelle can be 

reached at michelle@calcopamassageschool.com. 
 
 

Celina Sahagún, A.A. – Director          
Celina Sahagún, a Huntington Beach Local, graduated from CalCopa as a Holistic 
Health Practitioner, and has been with CalCopa since 2002. With a degree in Social 
and Behavioral Science, she can adapt her treatments and teaching to better fit the 
needs of students and clients. Celina has worked in many massage environments, 
including chiropractic offices, massage studios, On Demand, spas and privately. 
Celina spends most of her time raising her three kids, Judah, Delilah and Ophelia. 
  
Celina loves to teach and CalCopa is her home away from home. Her goal is to have 

students leave her classes prepared for the next level of education.  Celina hopes our students leave 
CalCopa with the confidence and knowledge to pass the MBLEX exam, or any city tests required for 
licensing.   Recently Celina has moved to the Office as Director and keeps the school moving forward in 
the field of both luxury relaxation and palliative.  Celina can be reached at 
celina@calcopamassageschool.com. 
 
 

Sally Cardinal, CAMTC #57630 – Administrator  and Job Placement Counselor  
Sally joined the staff in April of 2011 as an office assistant. She soon realized what a 
great opportunity she had happened on and started taking night classes at the school 
the following year.  Even with her CAMTC certification, Sally's kept her position at the 
school and performs massage on her days off.  She loves both her jobs.  She's an HB 
native and lives locally with her husband Mike, 4 kids and too many pets.  She is also 
CAMTC certified and works in a chiropractic office and with private clients.  Sally can 
be reached at office@calcopamassageschool.com. 

 
 

 
 

mailto:michelle@calcopamassageschool.com
mailto:celina@calcopamassageschool.com
mailto:office@calcopamassageschool.com
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INSTRUCTIONAL STAFF:          

 
Michelle Mangano, B.A., CAMTC #22754, NCBTMB, ABMP, AMTA, MBLex 
Instructor             

Michelle is a Holistic Health Practitioner with a B.A. in Communication from the University of 
Nebraska and is a graduate of CalCopa. She comes to the school after many years in the 

corporate training world and is pleased to use her vast background to help teach others the 
healing art of massage. In addition to massage techniques, she stresses the value of business 

skills and professionalism and customer service.  Her teaching philosophy has always been, 

"make sure the students have the skills and knowledge required but have fun during the 
learning process.” 
 

Classes: All Core Classes, Acupressure, Auriculotherapy, Bowen Technique, Chair Massage, Advanced Curriculum, 

Geriatric Massage, Shiatsu and more. 

 
 
Celina Sahagún, CAMTC #72346, NCBTMB, ABMP 

Core Classes and Electives           
Celina graduated from CalCopa as a Holistic Health Practitioner.  She is currently working towards 

her bachelor’s degree in Sociology.  She has her own practice to maintain her massage therapy 

skills. 
 

Celina loves teaching using techniques for visual, auditory and kinesthetic learning.  Her goal is to 
have students leave her classes prepared for the next level of education.  Ultimately, she hopes to 

help students fulfill their personal career goals.  In addition to teaching both fulltime and part-time 

classes, Celina helps out in the office whenever necessary. 
Classes:  All Core Classes, Acupressure, Chair Massage, Foot Reflexology, Hand Reflexology, Hot Stone Massage, 

Pregnancy I & II, Shiatsu, Tuina and Massage Research Projects. 
 

 

Shawn Del Valle, CAMTC #46071 
Instructor; Core Classes and Electives         

 

Shawn began studying massage therapy in 2012 and has been practicing as a massage 

therapist ever since.  He has worked for several massage establishments and also with his 
private practice.  As a well-rounded massage therapist in advanced sports and eastern 

modalities, he loves to share his experiences with students to give them a better 
understanding of the trade.  Being patient and understanding is Shawn's goal for students; to 

have good habits from the beginning for a long-lasting and professional career; and helping 

students become the best massage therapists they can become.  Shawn can be reached at 
shawn@calcopamassageschool.com. 

 
 
Amanda Grable, CAMTC #67795 
Instructor; Core Classes and Electives         

 

Amanda is a Los Angeles native who has now settled in Orange County.  After pursuing a 
degree in education, she chose to go to massage school.  She fell in love with massage at 

CalCopa and spent several years in the spa setting before coming back to teach.  She 
believes deeply in the therapeutic aspects of massage and experienced much personal 

healing during her massage journey.  Amanda is excited and grateful to be able to take 

others on the path towards a new career and share her love of massage.  Outside of 
CalCopa she works with Zeel and at Disneyland and loves her cats, cooking and crafting.  

Amanda can be reached at amanda@calcopamassageschool.com. 
 

 
 

mailto:shawn@calcopamassageschool.com
mailto:amanda@calcopamassageschool.com
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Lynn Tran, CAMTC #65416 
Instructor; Core Classes           

 

Lynn is an Orange County native, CALCOPA alumni, and a life-long student.  She has a 

fascination with the human body and dabbled in the studies of anatomy, physiology, 
kinesiology, psychology, nutrition, and exercise science.  She believes in the effects of 

massage as a means towards holistic wellness and has a passion for sharing her knowledge.  
She hopes to foster growth and learning through discussions and discovery within the 

classroom; to further the dreams of fledgling massage therapist so that they may thrive long 

term in their careers; and to further the worlds appreciation for the human body.  
 

On her off days she likes snuggling with her puppies, standup paddle boarding on warmer days, and 
reading.  Lynn can be reached at lynn@calcopamassageschool.com. 

 
 
Dr. Rhonda Donahue, Reiki Master 
Instructor:  Reiki I, II, III, Reiki Instructor 

Rhonda has been attuning Reiki Practitioners for several years.  In addition to her 

successful Costa Mesa business as a healer using nutrition and balancing, she has been 
studying to complete two degrees; a B.H.S. in Health Sciences and Nutrition and a 

Bachelors of Metaphysical Sciences.  She brings her vast knowledge and healing abilities 

to CalCopa as our Reiki Master and Nutrition Specialist. 
Classes: Reiki I, Reiki II, Reiki III (Reiki Master), Reiki Instructor  
 

 
 
April Lewis, CAMTC #21930 
Instructor; Lymphatic Drainage and Cranial Sacral        

 

Born in beautiful San Diego and relocated as a teen, April fell in love with the OC and chose 

to raid a family there.  Ms. Lewis brings twenty years teaching experience of a dozen 

massage and bodywork modalities.  This variety of knowledge is expressed in a fun and 
animated instructional style.  Her diverse background includes a decade in the martial arts, 

translating into excellent body mechanics training for a career as a healthy therapist. 
 

Witness to extraordinary results, she now specializes in light touch therapies.  April is 
passionate about Lymphatic Drainage and Cranial Sacral Therapy for their powerful healing 

properties and gentleness on therapists. 

 
Ms. Lewis is excited about each student’s individual growth and learning process.  She stresses respect for our 

students as they enter this wonderful profession of service.  Her objective is to inspire a love of learning and 
acceptance of personal healing. 

 

In her spare time, April enjoys her family, walks on the beach and curling up with a book.  See you in class! 

 
 
Grant Nichol, BS, NCBTMB, Holistic Health Practitioner 
Instructor:  Thai on the Floor, Thai on the Table, Swe-Deep-Thai  
Grant is a CalCopa alumnus who continues to grow as a Holistic Health Practitioner.  
After taking Thai classes at CalCopa, he went to Thailand to further his knowledge in 

the art of Thai Massage.  He brings this knowledge back to the school to pass on to 
our students for a more complete knowledge of Thai Massage. 

 

 
 

mailto:lynn@calcopamassageschool.com
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SCHOOL GOVERNING BODY, ADMINISTRATORS AND FACULTY 

 

Owner:  California College of Physical Arts, Inc. (A California Corporation) 

 
     

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Michelle Mangano, 
Affiliated 
President  

And Treasurer 

Celina Sahagún, 
Affilated 

Vice-President 
And Secretary 

Valerie Parra, 
Unaffiliated 

Technology Sales 
Manager 

Board Member 

Michael Parra, 
Unaffiliated 

Entrepreneur, Business 
Consultant 

Board Member 

Reema Zoumut, 
Unaffiliated 

Visual Art Department 
Chair, 

Digital Media Instructor 
Board Member 

 

Administrative Officials: 
Michelle M. Mangano – Executive Director (VA Certifying Official) 
Celina Sahagún – Director (VA Certifying Official) 
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CalCopa Massage School 
18582 Beach Blvd, Suite 
11 Huntington Beach, CA 

92648 
 

NOTICE OF WITHDRAWAL 

 

Student Name & Student Number:  ___________________________________________ 

Enter Date of class and class level:     

You may withdraw from a course after instruction has started and receive a pro-rated refund 

for the unused portion of the tuition and other refundable charges if you have completed 60% 

or less of the instruction by using this “Notice of Withdrawal” form. 

If a student withdraws from the course of instruction within the period allowed for 

cancellation, the school will remit a full refund, less the $150.00 Registration and Material fees. 

Refund is made within 45 days following the student’s Written Notice as per State Regulations. 

The student is obligated to pay only for educational services rendered and for unreturned 

equipment (including textbooks).  (If a student withdraws, per California Education Code 

Section 94920 prior to completion of the course he/she is enrolled in, a refund will be made of 

the unused portion of the tuition.) The amount charged to the student shall not exceed the 

pro rata portion of the total charges for tuition. 

 

For courses longer than 1-year (12 months) in length, the cancellation and refund policy 

shall apply to the stated course price of the contract. 

 

Remember, you must cancel in writing by using this form or your own written statement of 

withdrawal. You do not have the right to cancel by just telephoning the school or by not 

coming to school. If you have any complaints, questions or problems which cannot be worked 

out with the school, call or write to: 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education 
P.O. Box 980818 

West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 
Phone: 916-574-7720 
Fax: 916-574-8650 

 
 
 

  
Student Signature Date 


