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BPPE 
c::IC a 

Business, Consumer Services and Housing Agency– Governor Gavin Newsom 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 
P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 
P (916) 574-8900 F (916) 263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov 

CITATION: ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND ORDER OF ABATEMENT 

To: Haven University, Owner 
Haven University dba California Graduate School of Theology 
12761 Euclid Street 
Garden Grove, CA 92840 

INSTITUTION CODE: 1900831 
CITATION NUMBER: 2021062 
CITATION ISSUANCE/SERVICE DATE: August 28, 2020 
DUE DATE: September 27, 2020 
FINE AMOUNT: $ 5,050.00 
ORDER OF ABATEMENT INCLUDED: Yes 

Christina Villanueva issues this Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement (Citation) in 
her official capacity as Discipline Manager of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
(Bureau) of the California Department of Consumer Affairs. 

CITATION 

A Citation is hereby issued to Haven University, Owner of Haven University dba California Graduate 
School of Theology (Institution) located at 12761 Euclid Street, Garden Grove, CA 92840, pursuant 
to Business and Professions Code section 125.9; California Education Code (CEC) sections 94936 and 
94932; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5, CCR) section 75020 for the violations 
described below. 

BACKGROUND 

On February 12, 2020, Bureau staff attempted to conduct an unannounced Compliance inspection at 
the Institution. Upon arrival, at approximately 11:30am, Bureau staff was unable to locate anyone at 
the Institution. 

Bureau staff contacted the Institution Representative via telephone, and he informed Bureau staff 
that he no longer was employed by the Institution and that the Institution moved to another location 
but did not know the new address. Bureau staff left the school at 12:00pm and could not complete 
the unannounced Compliance inspection. 

Additionally, all institutions are required to submit a Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) 
Assessment Reporting Form to the Bureau no later than the last day of the month following the close 
of the quarter. 

Pursuant to CEC section 94923(a) The Student Tuition Recovery Fund relieves or mitigates economic 
loss suffered by a student while enrolled in an institution not exempt from this article pursuant to 
Article 4 (commencing with section 94874), who, at the time of his or her enrollment, was a California 
resident or was enrolled in a California residency program, prepaid tuition, and suffered economic 
loss. 

https://5,050.00
www.bppe.ca.gov


 

             
  

   
  

 

             
 

 
   

   
 

 
         

           
  

     
            

       
 

        
           

            
            

             
                

                
              
               

  
               

     
 

            
            

       
          

 
           

           
 

          
    

         
        

  
              

        
   

           
      
             

           
 

       
               

The Bureau sends notifications/reminders to all approved institutions 30 days prior to close of each 
quarter. 

As of August 28, 2020, the Institution has not submitted the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for 
the 3rdquarter of 2019. 

VIOLATION(S) 
# Below you will find the California Education Code (CEC) and/or Title 5 of the California Code of 

Regulations (5, CCR code) section(s) of law you are charged with violating. 
1. Violation: 

CEC Section 94932.5 – Announced and Unannounced Compliance Inspections 
“(a) As part of its compliance program, the bureau shall perform announced and unannounced 
inspections of institutions at least every five years.” 

5, CCR Section 71500 (a)(b)(1-8)(c) - Application to Change Location. 
(a) An institution seeking a change of location as defined in 94823.5 of the Code shall complete the 
“Change of Location” form (LOC rev. 2/10) to obtain prior authorization. The form shall be submitted 
at least 60 days prior to the proposed date of the change in location unless an unforeseen and 
unavoidable circumstance outside the control of the institution requires an earlier change; in which 
case it shall be submitted no later than 30 days following the change in location. The form shall be 
submitted to the Bureau along with the appropriate fee as provided in Section 94930.5(c) of the Code. 
It shall be signed by the signatory(ies) required by section 71380 and dated, and each fact stated 
therein and each attachment thereto shall be declared to be true under penalty of perjury, in the 
following form: 
“I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing and all 
attachments are true and correct. 
______________ ______________ 
(Date) (Signature) 
(b) The application shall establish that the institution can meet the minimum operating standards 
contained in Chapter 3, and shall include: 
(1) The name, school code, current and proposed addresses, and telephone and fax numbers of the 
institution; 
(2) A description of the proposed physical facilities, including building diagrams or campus maps. The 
diagram or maps shall identify at a minimum, the locations of classrooms, laboratories, workshops and 
libraries; 
(3) A description of any equipment to be used at the proposed facilities that is different from the 
equipment used at the present facility; 
(4) The date on which the institution intends to offer instruction at the new location; 
(5) The distance between the approved location and the proposed new location; 
(6) The reason for the move; 
(7) A description of the actions taken to notify students, if any, pursuant to section 94898(d)(1) of the 
Code, and whether the institution has offered a full refund to students pursuant to section 94898(d)(3) 
of the Code; and 
(8) The name, address, email address, telephone and fax numbers for the institution's contact person 
for the purpose of this application. 
(c) The Bureau may deem the actions that the institution takes to notify students of the proposed 
change of location to be sufficient notice for purposes of section 94898(d)(2). 

CEC Section 94893 – Authorization Required for Substantive Change 
“If an institution intends to make a substantive change to its approval to operate, the institution shall 
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receive prior authorization from the bureau. Except as provided in subdivision (a) of Section 94896, if 
the institution makes the substantive change without prior bureau authorization, the institution’s 
approval to operate may be suspended or revoked.” 

CEC Section 94894(e) – Substantive Change Defined 
“The following changes to an approval to operate are considered substantive changes and require 
prior authorization: 
(e) A change of location.” 

The Institution was not located at the physical address of 12761 Euclid Street 
Garden Grove, CA 92840 that the Bureau had on record. Therefore, Bureau staff was not able to 
perform an unannounced Compliance inspection. 

The Institution failed to submit an Application for Change of Location to the Bureau regarding the 
substantive change of the Institution’s location. 

Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders the Institution to submit an Application for Change of Location with the 
appropriate application fee to the Bureau’s Licensing Unit. 

Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $5,000.00. 
Violation: 
5, CCR Section 76130 (a-e)– Collection and Submission of Assessments 
“(a) A qualifying institution shall collect the assessment from each student in an educational program 
at the time it collects the first payment from or on behalf of the student at or after enrollment. The 
assessment shall be collected for the entire period of enrollment, regardless of whether the student 
pays the institutional charges in increments. 
(b) A qualifying institution shall complete the STRF Assessment Reporting Form (Rev. 2/10) and remit 
it with the STRF assessments collected from students to be received by the Bureau no later than the 
last day of the month following the close of the quarter as follows: 
(1) April 30 for the first quarter, 
(2) July 31 for the second quarter, 
(3) October 31 for the third quarter, and 
(4) January 31 for the fourth quarter. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or State or federal 
holiday, the due date shall be extended to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 
If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or State or federal holiday, the due date shall be extended 
to the next regular business day for the Bureau. 
(c) The STRF Assessment Reporting Form shall contain the following information: 
(1) Total number of students who signed enrollment agreements for educational programs during the 
reporting period; and 
(2) Total number of students eligible for STRF who signed enrollment agreements for educational 
programs during the reporting period; and 
(3) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement during the reporting period, 
were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the reporting period; and 
(4) The total number of students who signed their enrollment agreement in a previous reporting 
period, were eligible for STRF, and who made their first payment during the current reporting period; 
and 
(5) Total amount of institutional charges after rounding each student's institutional charges to the 
nearest $1,000, for all eligible STRF students whose STRF assessment was collected in the reporting 
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period; and 
(6) Current contact telephone number of the person preparing the form; and 
(7) A declaration dated and signed under penalty of perjury by the person preparing the form that the 
form and any attachments are true and correct. 
(d) In the event of a school closure, any collected assessments shall be remitted to the Bureau within 
seven days following the cessation of instruction. 
(e) Submission of all prior reports and assessments required by this section is a condition of renewal.” 

The Institution has failed to submit STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the following quarter: 

• Third Quarter of 2019 

On September 18, 2019, the Institution was notified via mail at 12761 Euclid Street, Garden Grove, 
CA 92840, that the STRF Assessment Reporting Form for the 3rd quarter of 2019 was due. As of 
August 28, 2020, the Bureau has not received the STRF Assessment Reporting Form from the 
Institution. 

Order of Abatement: 
The Bureau orders that the Institution submit the delinquent STRF Assessment Reporting Form 
with the STRF Assessments collected from students for the quarter listed above. The information 
provided shall comply with “Record Keeping Requirements” Pursuant to 5, CCR section 76140. 

Assessment of Fine 
The fine for this violation is $50.00 
TOTAL ADMINISTRATIVE FINE DUE: $5,050.00 

ASSESSMENT OF A FINE 

In accordance with CEC section 94936; and 5, CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby 
orders this assessment of fine in the amount of $5,050.00 for the violations described above. 
Payment must be made, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of service of the 
Citation. 

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT 

In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5, CCR section 75020 the Bureau 
hereby issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the 
order(s) of abatement must be submitted, to the Bureau, within 30 days from the date of 
service of the Citation. 

APPEAL OF CITATION 

You have the right to contest this Citation through an informal conference with the Bureau; and/or 
through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with Section 11500) 
of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. 

If you wish to contest this Citation, you must submit the ‘Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for 
Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing’ form (enclosed) within 30 days from the date 

Page 4 of 5 
Citation: Assessment of Fine and Order of Abatement 

Haven University, Owner of Haven University dba California Graduate School of Theology 
Institution Code: 1900831 

https://5,050.00


 

             
  

   
  

 

  
                 

 
       
     

         
 

  
 

      
       

         
          

 
       

        
 

  
 

     
    

    
  

 
          

               
         

          
    

 
  

 
     

      
 
 
 

           
       

                     
 

 
 

 
 

   
       
   
       
        

_____________________________________________ ________ 

of service of the Citation. If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing 
within 30 days from the service of the Citation, you will not be able to request one at a later time. 

Unless a written request for an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing is signed by 
you and delivered to the Bureau by September 27, 2020, you will be deemed to have waived or 
forfeited your right to appeal this matter. 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF CITATION 

If you do not request an informal conference and/or an administrative hearing, this Citation shall 
become effective on August 28, 2020. Payment of the administrative fine and evidence of 
compliance with the order(s) of abatement shall be due by September 27, 2020 . Your payment of 
the administrative fine shall not constitute an admission of the violation(s) charged. 

If a hearing is requested, you will not be required to comply with this Citation until 30 days after a 
final order is entered against you. 

Payment of the administrative fine and/or written request for appeal must be mailed to: 

Cheryl Lardizabal, Discipline Citation Program 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225 
Sacramento, CA 95834 

Failure for an applicant or institution to abate the violation(s) listed above or to pay the 
administrative fine within the time allowed may result in denial of an application for an approval or 
renewal to operate; disciplinary action, and/or collection action. The Bureau will promptly take all 

appropriate action to enforce this Citation and recover the civil penalties prescribed therein or 
found to be due after a hearing. 

CONTACT INFORMATION 

If you have any questions regarding this Citation, or desire further information, please contact Cheryl 
Lardizabal, Citation Analyst, at (916) 574-8968 or Cheryl.Lardizabal@dca.ca.gov. 

“Original signature on file” “8/28/2020” 

Christina Villanueva Date 
Discipline Manager 

Enclosures 

 Applicable Laws Violated 
 Statement of Rights: Appeal Process Information Sheet 
 Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing 
 Payment of Fine – Waiver of Appeal 
 Declaration of Service by Certified and First- Class Mail 
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