

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY • GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION

1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834

P (916) 574-8900 | Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 | www.bppe.ca.gov



CITATION ORDER

Citation Issued To:	Citation Number:
Truck Driver Institute	24250137
40 Penny Lane, Suite 6 B	
Watsonville, CA 95076	Total Fine Amount: \$3,000.00
	• •
Institution Code:	Order of Abatement
	Included: Yes
4400671	

Elizabeth Elias issues this citation in her official capacity as Deputy Bureau Chief of Enforcement at the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, California Department of Consumer Affairs (hereinafter referred to as the "Bureau").

LICENSING HISTORY

 On or about February 27, 2024, the Bureau renewed an Approval to Operate a Private Postsecondary Institution, Institution Code 4400671, to Truck Driver Institute hereinafter referred to as the "Institution." This Approval to Operate will expire on or about February 26, 2029, unless renewed.

DISCIPLINE HISTORY

2. The Institution has no prior discipline history.

CITATION JURISDICTION

3. This administrative citation is issued to the Institution pursuant to California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5 CCR) section 75020 et seq. for the violation(s) described below.

CAUSE FOR CITATION & ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND/OR ORDER OF ABATEMENT

4. The Institution is in violation of the following Bureau laws and regulations:

Violation #1:

5 CCR section 71720(b)(2) – Faculty

Cause for Citation: On or about June 20, 2024, the Bureau conducted an announced compliance inspection pursuant to CEC section 94932.(a). Bureau staff reviewed faculty records and determined that that the Institution failed to document evidence of continuing education courses for its faculty in their subject area, classroom management or other courses related to teaching.

Administrative Fine: Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75030, the Bureau has determined this to be a "Class C" violation. The Institution is issued a fine of \$1,000.00.

Order of Abatement: Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75020, the Bureau issues the following order of abatement:

The Bureau orders the Institution to ensure all faculty records follow the law pursuant to 5 CCR section 71720(b)(2). The Institution must submit a statement of attestation they have corrected the violation and ensured that all faculty records are in compliance with the law. The statement of attestation must be dated and signed by an authorized representative of the Institution.

Violation #2:

5 CCR section 71920 (b)(1)(A) – Student Records

Cause for Citation: On or about June 20, 2024, the Bureau conducted an announced compliance inspection pursuant to CEC section 94932.5(a). Bureau staff reviewed nine student files and found that all nine student files lacked verification of high school completion or equivalency or other documentation establishing the student's ability to do college level work.

Administrative Fine: Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75030, the Bureau has determined this to be a "Class C" violation. The Institution is issued a fine of \$1,000.00.

Order of Abatement: Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75020, the Bureau issues the following order of abatement:

The Bureau orders the Institution to ensure all student records follow the law pursuant to 5 CCR section 71920 (b)(1)(A). The Institution must submit a statement of attestation they have corrected the violation and will ensure they maintain student records. The statement of attestation must be dated and signed by an authorized representative of the Institution.

Violation #3:

5 CCR section 76140 (b) – Record-Keeping Requirements

Cause for Citation: On or about June 20, 2024, the Bureau conducted an announced compliance inspection pursuant to CEC section 94932.5(a). Bureau staff requested to review the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) supporting documentation and found that the Institution did not maintain records of student information in an electronic format readily available at the time of inspection in accordance with 5 CCR section 76140(a)(1-13).

Administrative Fine: Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75030, the Bureau has determined this to be a "Class C" violation. The Institution is issued a fine of \$1,000.00.

Order of Abatement: Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75020, the Bureau issues the following order of abatement:

The Bureau orders the Institution to correct the violation by submitting an electronic copy of the template used by the Institution to document supporting data for STRF for the Bureau to verify the institution is collecting the required data points pursuant to 5 CCR section 76140.

In addition, the Institution must submit a statement of attestation they have corrected the violation and will ensure that all substantiating data is maintained in an electronic format and readily available to a Bureau representative upon request pursuant to 5 CCR 76140. The statement of attestation must be dated and signed by an authorized representative of the Institution.

Citation Number: 24250137 Institution: Truck Driver Institute

Institution Code: 4400671

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

- 5. In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5 CCR section 75020, the Bureau issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the order of abatement must be submitted to the Bureau within 30 days from the date of issuance of this citation. Evidence of compliance with the order of abatement may be sent by mail or email to:
 - Mail: Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education

6.

Attn: Discipline Unit – Aurzella Izmarai-Karimi 1747 North Market, Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

- Email: <u>bppe.discipline@dca.ca.gov</u>
 - In the subject line, please include the Institution name and citation number.

COMPLIANCE WITH ASSESSMENT OF FINE

7. In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936, and 5 CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of fines in the total amount of \$3,000.00 for the violations described above. Payment of the fines must be made to the Bureau within 30 days from the date of service of this citation unless an informal conference or hearing is requested. To assist the Bureau in processing the payment of fines, please submit the enclosed Payment of Fine – Waiver of Appeal form.

Payment must be sent to the Bureau by mail at:

 Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education Attn: Discipline Unit – Aurzella Izmarai-Karimi 1747 North Market, Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

NOTICE OF APPEAL RIGHTS

8. You have the right to contest this citation through an informal conference with the Bureau pursuant to 5 CCR section 75020 and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this citation, you may submit a written request to the Bureau or submit the enclosed Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing form within 30 days from the date of issuance of this citation.

Failure to submit a written request for an informal conference and/or administrative hearing within 30 days from the date of issuance of this citation will forfeit your ability to appeal the citation.

If a hearing is requested, you are not required to comply with this citation until a final order is entered against you.

COMPLIANCE WITH FINE AND/OR ORDER OR ABATEMENT DISCLOSURE

9. Pursuant to BPC section 125.9 and 5 CCR section 75050, payment of fine and/or compliance with any order of abatement does not constitute an admission of the violation charged and shall be represented as satisfactory resolution of the matter for the purposes of public disclosure.

Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75050, failure to comply with this citation order, its order of abatement, and/or administrative fine by the required due date is grounds for denial or discipline of an approval to operate. Where a citation is not contested and fine is not paid, the full amount of the assessed fine shall be added to the fee for renewal of the approval to operate. An approval to operate shall not be renewed without payment of the renewal fee and fine.

BUREAU CONTACT INFORMATION

10.	If you have any questions regarding this Citation, please contact Aurzella
	Izmarai-Karimi, Citation Analyst by email at Aurzella.Izmarai@dca.ca.gov or
	by phone at (916) 574-7344.

"Original Signature on File"	1/15/2025
Elizabeth Elias	Citation Date of Issuance
Deputy Bureau Chief of Enforcement	

Enclosures:

- Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- > Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- > Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail