

BUSINESS, CONSUMER SERVICES AND HOUSING AGENCY • GAVIN NEWSOM, GOVERNOR

DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS • BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION
1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834

P (916) 574-8900 | Toll-Free (888) 370-7589 | www.bppe.ca.gov



CITATION ORDER

Citation Issued To:

CalRegional Training Institute (formerly known as California Mind Institute and CalRegional Training) 4820 Business Center Drive, Suite 100 Fairfield, CA 94534 **Citation Number:** 24250096

Total Fine Amount:

\$10,000.00

Order of Abatement Included: Yes

Institution Code:

67292071

Elizabeth Elias issues this citation in her official capacity as Deputy Bureau Chief of Enforcement at the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, California Department of Consumer Affairs (hereinafter referred to as the "Bureau").

LICENSING HISTORY

 On or about March 10, 2022, the Bureau renewed an Approval to Operate a Private Postsecondary Institution, Institution Code 67292071, to CalRegional Training Institute (formerly known as California Mind Institute and CalRegional Training) hereinafter referred to as the "Institution". This Approval to Operate will expire on or about March 10, 2027, unless renewed.

DISCIPLINE HISTORY

2. The Institution has no prior discipline history.

CITATION JURISDICTION

3. This administrative citation is issued to the Institution pursuant to California Education Code (CEC) section 94936; and Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations (5 CCR) section 75020 et seq. for the violation(s) described below.

CAUSE FOR CITATION & ASSESSMENT OF FINE AND/OR ORDER OF ABATEMENT

4. The Institution is in violation of the following Bureau laws and regulations:

Institution: CalRegional Training Institute

Institution Code: 67292071

Violation #1:

CEC section 94893 – Authorization Required for Substantive Change

Cause for Citation: On or about October 24, 2023, the Bureau initiated an investigation based on several complaints filed against the Institution. During the investigation, it was determined that the Institution is offering two unapproved programs to the public—Medical Billing & Coding Specialist and EKG Technician—without Bureau approval.

Administrative Fine: Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75030, the Bureau has determined this to be a "Class A" violation. The Institution is issued a fine of \$5,000.00.

Order of Abatement: Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75020, the Bureau issues the following order of abatement:

The Bureau orders the Institution to cease offering the Medical Billing & Coding Specialist and EKG Technician programs.

Because the Institution is in default of all Enrollment Agreements with students enrolled into these unapproved programs, the Bureau orders the Institution to provide a full refund of total institutional charges to any student who enrolled in the unapproved Medical Billing & Coding Specialist and EKG Technician program.

Further, pursuant to CEC 94917 – Enforceability of Loans:

A note, instrument, or other evidence of indebtedness relating to payment for an educational program is void and not enforceable unless, at the time of execution of the note, instrument, or other evidence of indebtedness, the institution held an approval to operate or valid out-of-state registration with the bureau.

Therefore, the Institution shall not enforce any loans pursuant to CEC section 94917 for the unapproved Medical Billing & Coding Specialist and EKG Technician programs and refund any amounts already paid.

The Institution shall submit a statement of attestation it has ceased offering the Medical Billing & Coding Specialist and EKG Technician programs, the date it ceased and affirm it will provide a refund of total charges to any student enrolled in the Medical Billing & Coding Specialist and EKG Technician

Institution: CalRegional Training Institute

Institution Code: 67292071

programs. The statement of attestation must be dated and signed by an authorized representative of the Institution.

Violation #2:

CEC section 94893 – Authorization Required for Substantive Change in conjunction with CEC section 94894(h) – Substantive Change Defined and 5 CCR section 71550(a) – Application for Addition of Separate Branch

Cause for Citation: On or about October 24, 2023, the Bureau initiated an investigation based on several complaints filed against the Institution. During the course of the investigation, it was determined that the Institution is operating out of multiple unapproved locations more than five miles from the main campus. An addition of a separate branch more than five miles from a main or branch campus is considered a substantive change and requires prior approval.

The Institution failed to obtain prior authorization from the Bureau before adding additional locations.

Administrative Fine: Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75030, the Bureau has determined this to be a "Class A" violation. The Institution is issued a fine of \$5,000.00.

Order of Abatement: Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75020, the Bureau issues the following order of abatement:

The Bureau orders the Institution to cease operating out of all unapproved locations.

The Institution shall submit a statement of attestation they have ceased operating from all unapproved locations and the date it has ceased. The statement of attestation must be dated and signed by an authorized representative of the Institution.

COMPLIANCE WITH ORDER OF ABATEMENT

5. In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936 and 5 CCR section 75020, the Bureau issues the order(s) of abatement described above. Evidence of compliance with the order of abatement must be submitted

Institution: CalRegional Training Institute

Institution Code: 67292071

to the Bureau within 30 days from the date of issuance of this citation. Evidence of compliance with the order of abatement may sent by mail or email to:

 Mail: Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education Attn: Discipline Unit – Nicole Pedersen 1747 North Market, Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

- Email: <u>bppe.discipline@dca.ca.gov</u>
 - In the subject line, please include the Institution name and citation number.

COMPLIANCE WITH ASSESSMENT OF FINE

6. In accordance with the provisions of CEC section 94936, and 5 CCR sections 75020 and 75030, the Bureau hereby orders this assessment of fines in the total amount of \$10,000.00 for the violations described above. Payment of the fines must be made to the Bureau within 30 days from the date of service of this citation unless an informal conference or hearing is requested. To assist the Bureau in processing the payment of fines, please submit the enclosed Payment of Fine – Waiver of Appeal form.

Payment must be sent to the Bureau by mail at:

 Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education Attn: Discipline Unit – Nicole Pedersen 1747 North Market, Blvd., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834

NOTICE OF APPEAL RIGHTS

7. You have the right to contest this citation through an informal conference with the Bureau pursuant to 5 CCR section 75020 and/or through an administrative hearing in accordance with Chapter 5 (Commencing with section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code.

If you wish to contest this citation, you may submit a written request to the Bureau or submit the enclosed Notice of Appeal of Citation – Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing form within 30 days from the date of issuance of this citation.

Institution: CalRegional Training Institute

Institution Code: 67292071

Failure to submit a written request for an informal conference and/or administrative hearing within 30 days from the date of issuance of this citation will forfeit your ability to appeal the citation.

If a hearing is requested, you are not required to comply with this citation until a final order is entered against you.

COMPLIANCE WITH FINE AND/OR ORDER OR ABATEMENT DISCLOSURE

8. Pursuant to BPC section 125.9 and 5 CCR section 75050, payment of fine and/or compliance with any order of abatement does not constitute an admission of the violation charged and shall be represented as satisfactory resolution of the matter for the purposes of public disclosure.

Pursuant to 5 CCR section 75050, failure to comply with this citation order, its order of abatement, and/or administrative fine by the required due date is grounds for denial or discipline of an approval to operate. Where a citation is not contested and fine is not paid, the full amount of the assessed fine shall be added to the fee for renewal of the approval to operate. An approval to operate shall not be renewed without payment of the renewal fee and fine.

BUREAU CONTACT INFORMATION

9. If you have any questions regarding this Citation, please contact Nicole Pedersen, Citation Analyst by email at Nicole.Pedersen@dca.ca.gov or by phone at (916) 232-0510.

1/21/2025
Citation Date of Issuance

Enclosures:

- Notice of Appeal of Citation: Request for Informal Conference and/or Administrative Hearing
- ➤ Payment of Fine Waiver of Appeal
- ➤ Declaration of Service by Certified and First-Class Mail