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Approval / Disclosure Statement 

Coastal Trucking Institute, LLC is a private institution and was granted institutional approval 

form the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education in the Department of Consumer 

Affairs. 

  The Bureau’s approval means the institution and its operation comply with the minimum 

standards established under the law for occupational instruction by private educational institutions 

and does not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the state or Bureau.  Institutional 

approval must be re-approved every five years and is subject to continuing review.  Approved is 

the following course’s.  This will lead to an occupation’s as a Class “A” Semi-Tractor/Trailer truck 

driver, or a Class “B” Bus Driver with a passenger endorsement or a Straight truck driver.  Requiring 

the student to pass DMV’s written tests and driving test. 

 

 Professional Truck and Commercial Driver Training,       Class ‘A’ 160 Hours 

 

-The average student completes the 160-hour program in 6-8 weeks. 

  

 Professional Tractor and Commercial Driver Training.            Refresher   10 Hours 

 

      

Hours are defined as clock hours that equal 50 minutes of instruction per each 60-minute hour. 

 

“Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been 

satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private 

Postsecondary Education at  

Address: 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento. CA 95833 

   P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento CA 95798-0818 

Web Site Address:  www.bppe.ca.gov 

Telephone and Fax #’s:  (888)370-7589 or by fax (916)263-1897 

     (916) 431-6959 or by fax (916) 263-1897   

 

“As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an 

enrollment agreement.  You are also encouraged to review the School Performance 

Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.”  

 

  A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with 

the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by 

completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s internet web site 

www.bppe.ca.gov.”   

 

General Information 
 

Prospective students need to visit the physical facilities of the school and discuss training and 

placement opportunities with school officials prior to enrolling or signing enrollment agreements. 

Prior to enrollment a prospective student shall receive, either in writing or electronically, a school 

catalog. Coastal Trucking invites interested individuals to speak with our Driver Instructors, currently 

enrolled students and local companies that have hired graduates students. 

 

Instruction will take place in Coastal Trucking’s training yard.  Coastal Trucking Institute will 

award a Certificate to all students upon successful completion of the program and their 

attainment of a Class ‘A’ license from the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles.  

Instruction is available in English. 
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All interviews are conducted in either English or Spanish.  All other languages the student must provide 

their own interpreter.  The state of CA, DMV provides license information and testing for driving in many 

other languages, contacts them to see if your language is available.  

Coastal Trucking Institute does not participate in federal and state financial aid programs. The only 

financial aid we offer is ½ of the tuition at the start of class and balance prior to taking the DMV driving 

test. If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility 

to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student 

has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the moneys not 

paid from federal student financial aid program funds. 

Coastal Trucking is not accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States 

Department of Education nor does it offer a degree program. 

Coastal Trucking Institute’s Mission Statement and 

Purpose 
 

 The purpose and objective of Coastal Trucking Institute is to prove the finest professional 

Truck Driving Training available. Students of Coastal Trucking Institute are trained by professional 

instructors who posses the knowledge and experience to assist the student in developing his or her 

skills to become a safe, competent entry-level driver, holding a California Commercial Class A 

License. The professional staff of Coastal Trucking Institute will provide the expert assistance 

necessary to not only train the student, but to insure the transition into the trucking industry is a 

rewarding experience.  

 Coastal Trucking provides lifetime placement assistance to all students successfully 

completing the  program. 

Transfer of Credits To or From Other Schools 
 

We, at Coastal Trucking, have no agreements with any other school, or college to accept or 

transfer credits.  

 

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS 

EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION 
 

"The transferability of credits you earn at Coastal Trucking Institute is at the complete discretion of 

an institution to which you may seek to transfer.  Acceptance of the certificate you earn in the 

educational program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to 

transfer. If the certificate that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which 

you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that 

institution. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet 

your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to 

transfer after attending Coastal Trucking Institute to determine if your certificate will transfer." 

 

School History 
 

Coastal Trucking Institute has been training Semi-Tractor/Trailer drivers since 2004.  Over 1,000 

drivers have been trained.   

Some of the recognition awards and certificates that Coastal Trucking has received are: 

 

 Certificate of Achievement     2011 

 Awarded by the California Highway Patrol for 2 consecutive satisfactory ratings 

 Since January 6, 2009 

Equal Opportunity 
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Coastal Trucking is dedicated to a policy of equal and fair opportunity in all areas of 

employment and education.  Coastal Trucking does not practice any form of discrimination 

against applicants, students or employees for admission or employment on the basis of sex, race, 

ethnic origin, sexual orientation, or religion.  Coastal Trucking is committed to the full observance of 

and compliance with all federal and state laws prohibiting discrimination. 

 

Administration 
 

Corporate headquarters are located at 11 W. Laurel Dr. Suite 231 Salinas, CA 93906. 

All instructors are qualified with previous commercial driving experience and hold a current 

Class A license.  This allows them to drive all forms of Commercial equipment.   

 

President / Director   Maria G. Chavez-Bello 

Administrative Manager 

 

Secretary / Treasurer   Gildardo Chavez 

Site Operations Manager   

 

Instructional Staff: 
 

Classroom Instructor   Arcelio G. Chavez 

             

Support Staff: 

   
Business Manager:   Maria G. Chavez-Bello 

 

Student Service Coordinator  Diana S. Chavez 

 

Yard Instructors 
 

Field Supervisor   Arcelio G. Chavez, Driving experience: 25 years; Instructor 

     experience: 18 years 

Yard Instructor   Miguel N. Soto, Driving experience: 3 year; Instructor  

     experience: 2 years 

 

Facilities and Equipment 
 

Current Coastal Trucking facilities include offices, classrooms and yard sites.  For our Class ‘A’ 

Semi-Tractor/Trailer students, we have 3 trucks, and all tractors are three axle.  Trailers range from 

42’ to 48’dry vans. The classroom materials provided are Commercial License Handbook, Log 

book, Pre-Trip Inspection Checklist, Air Brake Inspection Checklist, and In Cab Inspection Checklist.  

Coastal Trucking owns all of the training equipment and is financially sound, with no previous 

history of bankruptcy. Please note, Coastal Trucking does not have a pending petition in 

bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in possession, has not filed a petition within the preceding 

five years, nor has it had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that 

resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S. C. Sec. 

1101 et seq.). *Please see physical addresses on next page* 

 

Salinas Business office                         Training Facility 
 11 W. Laurel Dr. Suite 251    242 W. Lake Street 

 Salinas, CA 93906    Salinas, CA 93906 

 (831) 751-9533   FAX: (831) 751-9583    
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Hours of Operation 
 

Office hours:   8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday 

 

Instructional hours:   7:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Monday through Friday 

    7:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Saturday and Sunday 

 

Driving instruction is held day, evening, and weekends as necessary to accommodate the 

requirements of the program and students’ work schedules. 

 

Schedule of Classes 
 

There will be three classes per month.  One day time class, one evening class, and one 

weekend class. Students will be advised of start date at the time they enroll.  Instruction is 

competency based.  This allows students to commence training on a space and equipment 

available basis.    Students will be notified in advance concerning important scheduling 

information such as operating hours, holidays, class schedules and revisions to schedules.  Over-

the-road Driving Instruction is scheduled as necessary to accommodate the requirements of the 

program.  Classes are 12 months per year.  The following legal holidays will be observed: 

 

New Years Day  Memorial Day  President’s Day 

Independence Day  Labor Day 

Thanksgiving Day  Christmas Day 

 

 

Courses Offered 

 

Course Description:  Class ‘A’    160 hours 

(With doubles, triples & tanker endorsements.) 
  

 The Truck Driver Training is a minimum 160 hour course taught in residence. The course is a 

combination of study and preparation-, safety-, observation-, and “hands-on”- training. Study and 

Preparation training consists of providing the student with time to study and prepare for the Class A 

Commercial Driver License Permit’s written examination. Within the first 1-2 weeks, students will be 

studying and preparing to take the permit exams, as well as be in the process of taking their 

required DOT physical and drug exams. Lab training consists of safety training, vehicle inspection, 

coupling/ uncoupling, brake adjustment, and reverse and parking skills. Using “hands-on” and 

observation training methods allows the student to become familiar with the tractor and trailer. The 

student develops safety and control skills before the student enters the field-training segment of the 

course. Field training consists of “on-hands” and observation instruction using conventional tractors 

with box trailers. The student learns the skills necessary to become a safe, competent entry-level 

truck driver. Field training is taught based on a progressive schedule of skills development using 

various streets and highways in and around the city. Upon completion of the course the student is 

taken to the Department of Motor Vehicles for their Class A license road test. Test dates are 

provided by the Department of Motor Vehicles. Students will test with a tractor/trailer provided by 

Coastal Trucking Institute. 
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Class A 160hr Curriculum 
 

Registration/Orientation        

-School/Course Requirements  1.5 

-Student Responsibilities 

-Course Overview 

 -Information regarding opportunities 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Commercial Driver’s License Requirements     1.5 

 -D.O.T. requirements 

 -Drug test 

 -Medical exam 

 -Permits 

 -Endorsements 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

D.O.T. requirements        2.0 

 -Driver Qualifications 

 -Regulations 

 -Drug testing 

 -Logbooks 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Hours of Service         2.0 

 -Definitions 

-Logbooks 

 -Summary page 

 -Exceptions 

-Determining Mileage 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Types of Trucks/Trailers        1.5 

 -Types of transmissions 

  -Auto shifts 

  -Splitters, range controls 

  -Double clutching, progressive shifting  

-Engines 

  -RPM control band 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Air Brakes         3.0 

 -Basic components 

 -Service/Emergency 

 -Spring brake/Service brake 

 -Use of Brakes 

 -Brake adjustment 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Space Management        1.5 

-Defensive driving 

-Visual Search 

-Attitude   

-Road Rage 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Professional Drivers Attitude       1.0 

Use/non-use of alcohol/drugs 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Truck Inspection         3.0 

 -External inspection 

  -Inspection by system 

  -Inspection by material type 

 -In-cab inspection 

  -Primary Brake Air system checks 
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  -In-cab controls checklist 

  -Secondary Brake system check 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Driving Technique        2.0 

 -Smooth, safe driving 

 -Mirrors 

 -Steering Wheel grip 

 -Maneuvering 

 -Stopping, Starting, Shutdown 

 -Adverse driving conditions 

 -Grades 

 -Parking 

 -Routing 

 -Rail Road Crossings 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Preventive Maintenance        1.0 

 -Service Checks 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Getting the Job as a Professional Driver      1.0 

 -Work History 

  -Resume 

 -Preparation/attitude 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Maneuvering – Road/Range Skills      70.0  

-Straight line back-up 

 -Alley dock 

 -Parallel parking 

 -Precision stops and right turn 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Pre-trip Inspection        22.5 

 -External walk around 

 -In-cab 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Driving refinement        44.5 

 -Shifting 

 -Down shifting 

 -Equipment control 

 -Urban driving 

 -Rural driving 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

DMV test preparation        2.0 

________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

         TOTAL: 160 Hr. 

 

Tuition Cost 
 

Costs per Hour of Training: Class A 

 

Cost per hour of Driver training is based on student to instructor ratio of 1:1 (One instructor to one 

student). This is considered an individual rate of $96.00 per hour.  When in a group of three or more, 

the Hands-on training cost is at $32.00 per hour  

 

 

First week:  

 

 Orientation / classroom:      20 hours   Cost per hour   $11.00 == $   220.00 
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Week two through five:  Driver training 

 
Hands-On Training: 140 hours (group rate)      Cost per hour   $32.00   == $4,480.00 

 

  Total Tuition Class ‘A’         $ 4,700.00 

 

Additional Costs: Class A  
 

Enrollment Fee (paid to Coastal Trucking)     $100.00 (non-refundable) 

DMV Driving Report (paid to DMV)           $    5.00    

 

DOT Physical (paid to Doctor)       $   80.00 

 

DOT Drug Test (paid to Doctor)      $   52.00 

 

DOT Mandatory Random pull (paid to CDTA)    $   52.00 

 

CDL Class A  Permit (Paid to DMV)     $   76.00 

 

DMV Retest (Paid to DMV)                   $   33.00 (If required) 

 

Hazard Endorsement (must be at least 21yrs old &    $  86.50   (if requested) 

pass criminal background [fingerprints])   

Testing is in Oakland, CA (paid to DMV) 

 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund $   0.00 (non-refundable) 

  

Estimated Tuition Class ‘A’   $ 5065.00 plus, other fees above “if required/ 

requested” 

 

 

Course Description:  Refresher    10 hours 

 
The 10 Hour Refresher Class A Training is a 10 hour max course taught in residence. The course is a 

combination of refresher training for safety-, observation-, and “hands-on”- training.  

 

Lab training consists of 5 hours of safety training, vehicle inspection, coupling/ uncoupling, brake 

adjustment, and reverse and parking skills. Using “hands-on” and observation training methods 

allows the student to become familiar with the school’s tractor and trailer. The student masters the 

safety and control skills before the student enters the field-training segment of the course. 

  

Field training consists of 5 hours of “on-hands” and observation instruction using conventional 

tractors with box trailers. Field training is based on the skill level of the trainee and includes drive 

time using various streets and highways in and around the city. Upon completion of the course the 

student will receive a Certificate of Completion stating they have taken and completed a 10 hour 

Program Registration 

(non-

refundable) 

Tuition STRF (non-

refundable) 

Equipment/Materials 

(included in tuition) 

Total 

Charges of 

Period of 

Attendance 

DMV 

Record 

Class A 

Permit 

DOT 

Physical 

DOT 

Drug 

Screen 

Mandatory 

Random 

Pull 

Total 

Charges 

for 

Program 

Class 

A 

160hr 

$100.00 $4,700 

00 

$0.00 $300.00 $4,500.00 $5.00 $76.00 $80.00 $52.00 $52.00 $5,065.00 
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Refresher course which may be presented to companies requesting proof of “recent 

driving/practice time”. 

 

Admission Requirements: Class A license or Class A permit with high level of 

experience 
 

Tuition Cost 
 

Costs per Hour of Training: 10 Hours Max 

 

Cost per hour of Driver training is based on student to instructor ratio of 1:1 (One instructor to one 

student). This is considered an individual rate of $96.00 per hour.  When in a group of three or more, 

the Hands-on training cost is at $32.00 per hour  

 

Additional Costs: Class A  
 

Additional Costs: Class A  
 

Enrollment Fee (paid to Coastal Trucking)     $100.00 (non-refundable) 

DMV Driving Report (paid to DMV)           $    5.00    

 

DOT Physical (paid to Doctor)       $   80.00 

 

DOT Drug Test (paid to Doctor)      $   52.00 

 

DOT Mandatory Random pull (paid to CDTA)    $   52.00 

 

CDL Class A  Permit (Paid to DMV)     $   76.00 

 

DMV Retest (Paid to DMV)                   $   33.00 (If required) 

 

Hazard Endorsement (must be at least 21yrs old &    $  86.50   (if requested) 

pass criminal background [fingerprints])   

Testing is in Oakland, CA (paid to DMV) 

 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund $   0.00 (non-refundable) 

  

Estimated Tuition for 10 hour Refresher Course $ 529.00 plus, other fees above “if 

required/ requested” 

 

 

Satisfactory Progress 
 

Students are given weekly grades. Satisfactory progress is considered a GPA of 2.0 or higher. Major 

part of GPA has to do with Participation which can be extremely affected if Attendance is 

unsatisfactory. Any student falling below a 2.0 for two (2) consecutive weeks will be dropped from 

the course. The final GPA must be 2.0 or higher in order to be eligible to receive a diploma.  

Make-up participation may be allowed on a case-by-case basis. Students who experience 

difficulty in understanding a subject should request assistance from the instructor. Coastal Trucking 

Institute will provide the necessary assistance, within reason, to ensure each student’s success. 

 
GRADE POINT AVERAGE SYSTEM 

  

  GPA   LEVEL      PERCENTILE 

  4.0       A          90-100% 
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  3.5       B+          86-89% 

  3.0       B          80-85% 

  2.5       C+          76-79% 

  2.0       C          70-75% 

  1.5       D+          66-69% 

  1.0       D          60-65% 

  .9-       F          0-59% 

  0       I         Incomplete 

 

 

 

 

Admissions Procedures 
  
 To apply for admission to Coastal Trucking, applicants should contact Coastal Trucking’s office 

to schedule an appointment for a personal interview and a tour of the School facilities. 

 For those students who have had prior driving experience, they will be scheduled to meet with 

the field supervisor and will be evaluated. Evaluations and tuition adjustments (based on number 

of estimated training hours) will be based on years of driving experience, how recent the 

experience is, and knowledge of current Pre Trip-, Air Brake-, and In Cab- inspections and 

regulations. Students will be asked to perform various type of skills to evaluate maneuvering skills 

that are necessary to pass the DMV final road exam such as alley docking, parallel parking, and 

straight line backing. In addition, experience will be evaluated on basic controls of the tractor-

trailer such as up and down shifting, braking (air brakes), and trailer controls. 

   Applicants will complete the Enrollment Agreement.  A class schedule and other information 

will be provided.  A non-refundable $100.00 fee must be submitted with the application.   

 A Coastal Trucking officer will review the Enrollment Agreement and notify the Applicant of the 

status of his/her admission to Coastal Trucking.  

   

School Policies 

 
Prior to being considered for admission to Coastal Trucking: 

 

-Coastal Trucking has established specific written standards for student admissions.  Coastal 

Trucking will not admit any student who is obviously unqualified or who does not appear to have a 

reasonable prospect of completing the program.  English language proficiency will be evaluated 

based on the holding of a High School Diploma or General Education Diploma (GED). Each 

student admitted to Coastal Trucking shall possess a High School Diploma, GED or otherwise 

successfully take and pass the Ability to Benefit Exam administered in our office. The Ability to 

Benefit Exam administered shall be the Combined English Language Skills Assessment (CELSA). 

CELSA measures language skills, primarily reading and grammar in a context. A minimum scaled 

score of 97 is required for passing the CELSA. CELSA was developed for the main purpose of 

placing adult students of English as a Second Language (ESL) into different language ability levels. 

Applicants with English as their primary language, will be given an alternative Ability to Benefit Test. 

 

-Meet with a school officer to discuss educational plans. 

 

-Submit a completed Enrollment application to the school. 

 

-Must pass the DMV written examination, and obtain a commercial driver’s license.         
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Learners permit within the second week of the course.  The permit is required in order to participate 

in behind the wheel training, which begins in the third week of training.  

 

-Must pass a drug test, the first week of school. 

 

-Must pass the DO.T. Physical examination , the first week of school. 

 

Department of Motor Vehicles Requirements for a Commercial Driver’s Permit and License: Must be 

beyond compulsory school attendance age.  An individual cannot be D.O.T. certified until 

reaching the age of 21years old.  However, between ages 18 and 21 a student can obtain a 

commercial drivers license to drive within the state of California. 

-DMV Requirements: 

 -Valid Class C License  

 -Valid Photo Identification Card 

 -Social Security Card (not laminated) 

 -Present a current DMV printout.  An applicant will not be eligible for enrollment if the MVR  

includes any of the following:   

 DUI conviction within the last three years 

 A reckless or careless driving conviction within the last three years 

 More than three moving violations within the last three years 

 More than one “at fault” accident with last three years. 

 More than two moving violations and one “at fault” accident with the last three years 

 A conviction of a felony involving the use of a motor vehicle 

 A conviction for any drug or alcohol related charge in the last three years 

 

 -Pass Knowledge written exam 

 -Pass Airbrakes written exam 

 -Pass Combinations written exam 

 

Hazardous Materials Endorsements (HAZMAT) Requirements: May not obtain Hazardous Materials 

endorsement until age of 21 years, in addition to passing a criminal background. To see if you 

qualify for the HAZMAT endorsement, please visit the following website link for more information: 

https://www.dmv.ca.gov. The pre-enrollment may be done online at 

https://universalenroll.dhs.gov/ or by calling the TSA UES call center at 1-855-347-8371. After 

completing the pre-enrollment, you must visit a UES center to provide fingerprints, identity 

documents, citizenship/immigration documents, and payment in order to complete the HAZMAT 

endorsement application.  

 

Enrollment 
 

A student, who has had a CDL Class A or B license previously, may not be required to register for 

the full course; but must first have the approval of field supervisor.  The field supervisor will evaluate 

student’s driving experience and advice the student to the amount of time they will need. 
 

We extend a limited school loan to students, with half down at the time of enrollment and the 

balance prior to taking and passing DMV driving test. 

 

Attendance 
 

Consistent attendance and being on time are two assets that a student should develop.  Every 

potential employer will consider good attendance as important hiring criteria.  

 

Students are to call the school office whenever they are unable to be in class for any reason.  

The calls must reach the office no later than 8:30 a.m. so that those students waiting for make up 

time may use student’s space.  Student’s cooperation will be appreciated.  Those students referred 

https://www.dmv.ca.gov/
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by an agency must be aware that we will contact student’s counselor and inform them that 

students are not in attendance. 

 

Our teaching unit is a Truck and a Trailer not a desk and chair.  We assign one instructor to three 

students.  When a student is not in attendance, they are not having the opportunity to learn.  Our 

program has enough hours built in to allow a student who misses 1 or 2 days over their training period, to 

still be able to complete the program on time. 

Coastal Trucking will continue to provide training hours to students who have not exceeded 

the attendance standard.  While in school, arriving late twice will be considered an absence.  If a 

student has not exceeded the attendance standard and does not pass the DMV testing, Coastal 

Trucking will continue to provide them training hours within Coastal Trucking’s schedule at no 

additional charge until they do pass. 

 

If a student, who has missed less than 3 days, needs make up time, they will be placed in the next 

available space.  There are no guarantees as to the time or to the day since our regular classes are 

assigned one teacher to three students and the classes go from 7a.m. to 3 p.m. Mon – Fri, with Sat & Sun. 

as an option. 

Interruptions or being placed on hold is not realistic for a short term training program, and is 

only granted when the interruption occurs at the end of the first week of training.  The student will 

then join the next class as it starts. 

 

If a student accumulates three or more absences during the training period they will be 

required to pay for additional instruction time needed.  They will continue in the program but IF 

they do not finish on the original scheduled date, we will continue to provide them training based 

on space available basis until they have passed the DMV testing.  The extra time required beyond 

the original 5-8 weeks will be billed at our group rate or individual rate at the decision of the 

student. 

 

 

Leave of Absence 
 

A leave of absence may be granted to a student under special circumstances (e.g., serious 

illness or death in the family).  Such leaves will be granted only if they last less then 5-days.  Our 

classes are very short; a student may withdraw at the end of the first week and go on a thirty-day 

leave of absence.  Any other leave of absence longer then 5-days, the student will receive counsel 

from the School Director.  A student may be re-scheduled for the next class.  Depending on the 

cause for the leave of absence the student may be billed for extra time required to complete the 

course.  Leaves of absences will be referred to as being placed on “Hold” status. 

 

Student Conduct 
 

Coastal Trucking wants each Student to realize the importance of maintaining high standards 

of conduct, not only on the school campus, but also in the trucking industry.  Students are 

expected to be polite, follow instructor’s directions, and obey school rules.  Any disagreement with 

the school, instructors, or other students should be taken up with the School Director for mediation.  

Coastal Trucking is a school for adults and as adults, they should be aware of what is acceptable 

and unacceptable behavior in the work place. 

 

Examples of behavior on or around the school campus that will result in being dropped are 

listed below.  The following list will cause immediate termination from our program with appropriate 

refund.  

 

 Use of school equipment without authorization 

 Use of illegal substances 
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 Under the influence of alcohol 

 

      The following items will place a student on probation, with no more than one warning prior to 

dismissal.  

 Harassment of students or personnel 

 Aggressive and disruptive behavior 

 

If a student is dismissed and files an appeal, and does not win the appeal, they will be 

dropped and will no longer be eligible for re-admission. 

 

Appeals Policy and Complaint Procedure 
 

Believing that extraordinary or extenuating circumstances warrant consideration, Coastal 

Trucking provides students with the opportunity to appeal actions based on school regulation 

concerning attendance, dismissal, leave of absence, and extension of contract.  Any actions 

taken by the Coastal Trucking regarding attendance, dismissal, leave of absence or extension of 

contract will result in a written notice of action to the student. 

 

The appeal must be in writing and must be given to the School Director within five working 

days from the date of the written notice of action.  The appeal must explain what action is being 

appealed and basis for the appeal.  Complaints regarding an instructor, school official or school 

policy initiated by a student must be provided in writing to the School Director. 

 

Within forty-eight hours from the receipt of the student’s written appeal or the students filing of 

a grievance, a conference will be scheduled with the school administration.  The student will be 

notified that he or she has the right to attend the conference and to bring with them anyone they 

choose (council, witness, etc.) 

  

During the conference, the school administration will review the Appeal/Complaint and 

determine what steps should be taken to address the issue.  The student will be notified of the 

decision in writing within twenty-four hours following the conference 

STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL 

 

Cancelations, Withdrawals, and Refunds 
 

Cancellation, withdrawal, and refund policies, the student has a right to cancel the enrollment 

agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through attendance at the first class session, or 

the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. Monies paid shall be refunded within thirty 

days after receipt of the notice. 

 

If a student withdraws or is suspended or dropped after the above-mentioned seven-day period 

for cancellation, all educational costs, shall be refunded on a pro-rata basis.  The student will 

receive a refund of all monies paid within thirty days if the student is rejected for training or if a 

course is cancelled.  There may be a processing fee if the student payment was made by credit 

card.  The student may withdraw from school at any time and may receive a refund of unused 

costs, if the student has completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance. 

 

STUDENTS RIGHT TO CANCEL 

 
You may cancel your contract for school, without penalty or obligation, and obtain a refund of 

charges paid through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, 

whichever is later as described in the Notice of Cancellation form that will be given to you at the 

first day of class. Read the Notice of Cancellation form for an explanation of your cancellation 

rights and responsibilities. If you have lost your Notice of Cancellation form, ask the school for a 
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sample copy.  If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled 

to a refund of moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. 

 

After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time and 

you may have the right to receive a refund for the part of the course not taken if the student has 

completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance. Your refund rights are described below. 

If you have lost your contract, ask the school for description of the refund policy.  

 

Refunds: 

 

The refund to be paid to a student for a program of instruction subject to this article shall be 

calculated as follows: 

 The amount owed by the student for purposes of calculating a refund is derived by total 

hourly charge for instruction multiplied by the total  hours attended by the student. 

 Total hourly charge is derived by taking total institutional charge divided by the number of 

program hours (Example: for 160hr course = $30.00 per hour refundable if the student has 

completed 60 percent or less). 

 The refund would be any amount in excess of the figure derived above and any non-

refundable fees. 

 The refund amount shall be adjusted as provided for equipment, if applicable. 

 

You may cancel this contract for school, without any penalty or obligation, by the date stated 

below. 

If you cancel, any payment you have made and any negotiable instrument signed by you shall be 

returned to you within 30 days following the schools receipt of your cancellation notice. 

 

Date to Cancel without Penalty: _______________________ 

 

To cancel the contract for the school, mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of the cancellation 

notice, or any other written notice: 

 

Coastal Trucking Institute, LLC 11 W. Laurel Dr. Suite 251 Salinas, CA 93906. 

 
REMEMBER THAT YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING.  You do not have the right to cancel by just 

telephoning the school or by not coming to class. 

 

You may withdraw from the school at any time after the cancellation period (described 

above) and receive a pro-rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less of the scheduled 

days in your “Enrollment Period”.  Enrollment period is defined as the time period encompassed by 

“Program Start Date” through the “Program End Date” as they appear on the first page of the 

Student’s Enrollment Agreement.  Any refund will be less a registration fee not to exceed $100.00, 

less any deduction for equipment not returned in good condition, and less present Non-Program 

tuition for all classes started or completed.  

 

All refunds will be made within thirty days from the date of cancellation or withdrawal.  If a 

student does not return from an approved leave of absence, refunds will be made within thirty 

days from the leave of absence period.  Within ten days of any refund, the student will receive 

written notice of a refund stating the amount of the refund and to whom the refund was made. 

 

For students receiving financing from a lending institution, the student will have the 

responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest.   Any tuition refunds will be made first 

to any lender up to the amount of such disbursement any additional refunds will next be made to 

other funding sources up to the amount of disbursement.  Any additional refund due will be made 

to the student. 

 

Refunds will be made only to those students who cancel their enrollment prior to receiving their 

CDL. Enrolled students who pass the DMV CDL road test and receive their CDL Class’ A’ license 
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from DMV will receive their Certificate from Coastal Trucking Institute and are not eligible for any 

monetary refund. 

Coastal Trucking institute retains the right to make changes to the catalog, curriculum, 

schedules, materials or tuition in order to keep the program current with trends in the trucking 

industry.  These changes may be made without advance notice. 

Student’s Rights 

 
Students have the right to cancel the course of instruction including any equipment such as books, 

binders, materials and supplies or any other goods related to the instruction offered through 

attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. Business 

day means a day on which students were scheduled to attend a class session.    

 

Students have the right to stop training at any time after the cancellation period and students have 

the right to receive a refund for the part of the training not received. 

If Coastal Trucking were to close before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund.  Contact 

the Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 

95833, telephone (916) 431-8959. 

Cancellation shall occur when students give written notice of cancellation at the address of Coastal 

Trucking, as shown in this catalog.  Students can do this by mail or hand delivery.  The written notice of 

cancellation, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly addressed with the postage 

prepaid. 

The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and, however expressed, it is 

effective if it shows the student no longer wish to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement.  Students will 

be given two notices of cancellation forms to use at the first day of class, but students can use any 

written notice that students wish. 

If the Coastal Trucking has given the student any equipment, including books or other materials, 

students shall return them to the School within 30 days following the date of student’s notice of 

cancellation.  If the student fails to return this equipment, including books or other materials, in good 

condition within the 30-day period, Coastal Trucking may deduct its documented cost for the 

equipment from any refund that may be due to the student.  Once the student pays for the equipment, 

it is theirs without further obligation. 

If the student cancels the Enrollment Agreement, Coastal Trucking will refund any money that has 

been paid, less any deduction for equipment not timely returned in good condition, within 30-days after 

the notice of cancellation is received. 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund 

The Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) was established by the State Legislature to protect 

any California Resident who attends a Department of Consumer Affair institution from losing money 

if the student prepays tuition and suffered a financial loss as a result of the school closing, failing to 

live up to its enrollment agreement; or refusing to pay a court judgment. 

 

To be eligible, the student must be a “California resident” and reside in California at the time 

the enrollment agreement is signed or when the student receive lessons at a California mailing 

address from an approved institution offering correspondence instruction.  Students who are 

temporarily residing in California for the sole purpose of pursuing an education, specifically those 

who hold student visas, are not considered a California resident. 

 

To qualify for STRF reimbursement the student must file a STRF application within two years of 

receiving notice from the Bureau that the school is closed.  If you do not receive notice from the 
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Bureau, the student has 4 years from the date of closure to file a STRF application.  If a judgment is 

obtained, the student must file a STRF application within 2 years of the final judgments. 

 

“The student’s inability to collect a judgement entered against a qualifying institution for a violation 

of the Act, subject to all of the following: 

 a) The student has reasonably tried, and failed, to collect on the judgement. The Bureau 

will determine the reasonableness of the effort on a case-by-case basis; 

 b) The Bureau receives the student’s application within 4 years from the school’s closure; 

 c) The student has not received reimbursement or forgiveness from any other source. 

  

 

It is important that the student keep copies of the enrollment agreement, financial aid papers, 

receipts or any other information that documents the monies paid to the school.  Questions 

regarding the STRF should be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535  

Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 (916) 431-6959 www.bppe.ca.gov. 

 

“You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all 

of the following applies to you: 

 

1. You are a student in an educational program ,who is a California resident, or are enrolled 

in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed 

student loans, or personal loans, and 

2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, 

government program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the 

third party. 

    

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF 

assessment if either of the following applies:   

        1. You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or  

        2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or 

other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party.” 

 

“The state of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate 

economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or are 

enrolled in a residency program attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private 

Postsecondary Education. 

 
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, 

prepaid tuition, paid STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the 

following: 

 

1.  The school closed before the course of instruction was completed. 

 

2.  The school‘s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party               

     for license fees or any other purpose, or  to provide equipment or materials for    

     which a charge was collected with 180 days before the closure of the school. 

 

3.  The school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student 

loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to       

 closure in excess of tuition and other costs. 

 

4.  There was a material failure to comply with the Act or this Division within 30-days           

     before the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30-day priors     

     to closure, the period determined by the Bureau. 

 

5.  An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment   

     against the Institution for a violation of the Act.” 
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However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer 

identification number. 

 

 

Dress Code 
 

Each student will be neatly attired in suitable clothing such as jeans and shirts.  Footwear 

should be a sturdy: no sandals or high heels.  Clothing such as cutoffs, tank, or halter-tops or no shirt 

would be considered inappropriate.  Each student should practice good hygiene to present a 

clean and neat appearance.  This is important not only for the school campus, but also for future 

job consideration.  Occasionally, Coastal Trucking has Company Recruiters visiting, looking for new 

drivers and first impressions count. Because students will be working around equipment, it is 

important that long hair is tied back and that loose jewelry is not worn. 

 

Graduation 
 

Students enrolled at Coastal Trucking will under go intensive training during the period they attend.  

All but the class room portion of Coastal Trucking will be in one of the commercial vehicles.  As the 

students learn how to shift, back up and park the appropriate vehicle, they will then move to 

driving in town and on the freeway.  The Instructors will be constantly evaluating their progress 

during this time.  The student will not go to the DMV performance testing until two conditions are 

met: 1) The student’s Instructor indicates to the School Director that the student is ready and 2) the 

student feels confident they are prepared.  Once the student completes the DMV testing and has 

obtained their Class ‘A’ license, they then will receive their Certificate and are considered to have 

graduated. 

 

Student Services 
Coastal Trucking offers graduating students job placement assistance.  This service is a lifetime offer to 

any Coastal Trucking graduate.  The student is advised to begin thinking about the type of driving they 

would like to do during their training.   Remember a ten-year work history is required.  The Student Services 

Coordinator will advise of job opportunities in the local and/or national opportunities; depending on the 

student’s decision.  Weekly, Coastal Trucking has contact with trucking companies, delivery firms, and 

those who hire Bus drivers.  We refer students, as jobs become available.  

Our current library consists of State of California’s Commercial Drivers Handbook in both English as well as 

Spanish, with practice tests. Upon enrollment you will receive a California commercial driver handbook 

and test study sheets so that you can prepare for the DMV learners permit.  The first week of school we 

have a class room with just a few students and review the log book and other DMV requirements. It is 

understood that we cannot allow you to begin driving until you have passed the driving learners permit.  

Once the student has passed the learners permit, we work with the student until they pass the 

commercial A license.   

Coastal Trucking works with a variety of state, county and private agencies who provide financial 

aid for training. All of these agencies have come to trust Coastal Trucking’s ability to provide 

quality training and maintain the highest levels of service to our students and their sponsoring 

agencies. 

-The list is extensive, below are just a few. 

 

 California Vocational Rehabilitation (www.dor.ca.gov/) 

 

 Candelaria American Indians (www.candelariaamericanindiancouncil.com) 
 

 Work Force Investment Act (WIA) (http://www.montereycountywib.org/about/wia/) 
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 Vocational Counseling Services 

(http://www.benefits.va.gov/vocrehab/edu_voc_counseling.asp) 

 

 The Work Force Santa Cruz (http://santacruzhumanservices.org/WorkforceSCC.aspx) 

 

You may visit these agencies directly and mention your interest in pursuing a Truck Driver 

Commercial Class A license and they will inform you of the training school nearest you. 

If you are interested in receiving more information for these financial aid agencies, please contact 

them directly for further information of qualification requirements.  

 

We provide no housing for the students, or meals. The institution has no dormitory facilities under its 

control. Apartments for rent in the yard area range from $800 to $2,000 per month. Nearby are a number 

of motels:   Motel 6, $49.99---Economy Inn $65.00---Best Western $80. Please note, Coastal Trucking has no 

responsibility to find or assist a student in finding housing. 

All student records are maintained for a period of 5 years from the student’s date of completion or 

withdrawal and the retention of transcripts are for life. The files are confidential and are kept in a locked, 

limited access area. Students may request to review their file at any time.   

For students who are here for training from other countries, please note we offer no visa service or any 

other help.  Our training is based on D.O.T. and CA DMV rules and regulations. 

Pursuant to section 94909 of the Code, this catalog shall be updated annually. Annual updates may be 

made by the use of supplements or inserts accompanying the catalog. If changes in educational 

programs, educational services, procedures, or policies required to be included in the catalog by statute 

or regulation are implemented before the issuance of the annually updated catalog, those changes 

shall be reflected at the time they are made in supplements or inserts accompanying the catalog. 

 

 

 

 

 


