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Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) 

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be re-

ceived within four (4) years from the date of the action or event 

that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. 

 

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collec-

tor after a period of non-collection may, at any time, file a written 

application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have 

otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than 

four (4) years since the action or event that made the student 

eligible, the student must have filed a written application for re-

covery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period 

has been extended by another act of law. 

 

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social 

security number or a taxpayer identification number. 
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Commercial Drivers Learning Center         

is a private institution and is approved to 

operate by the                                       

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center         

is a private institution and is approved to 

enroll veterans and other eligible persons by 

the California State Approving Agency. 
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Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) 

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational pro-

gram offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you 

did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the 

Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by 

the Bureau. 

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution 

within the 120 day period before the closure of the institution or 

location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational pro-

gram within the 120 day period before the program was discontin-

ued. 

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution 

more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or location 

of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institu-

tion as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant de-

cline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days be-

fore closure. 

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but 

has failed to do so. 

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a 

federal student loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay 

or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tui-

tion and other costs. 

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary 

award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter 

by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been 

unable to collect the award from the institution. 

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or 

more of your student loans and have an invoice for services ren-

dered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans. 
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Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) 

The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund 

(STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an 

educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California 

resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the 

student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an eco-

nomic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the 

state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your be-

half, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California 

resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part 

of your tuition. 

 

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not re-

quired to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, 

or are not enrolled in a residency program. 

 

It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, fi-

nancial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that docu-

ments the amount paid to the school.  

 

Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the  

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education,  

2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833,  

(916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589. 

 

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are en-

rolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have 

paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of 

any of the following: 
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Our Mission Statement 

Commitment. 

When we receive your first phone call, the professional office 

staff is committed to assisting you in selecting the course that will 

best suit your needs.  We will listen to your personal needs and 

get you on the right path so that you can start your 

career quickly and confidently.  We will gladly take you on a tour 

of our campus.  
 

Dedication. 

We will provide you with high quality training in state-of-the-art 

equipment.  Our trucks are newer model Freightliners that are 

strong, reliable, safe, and clean.  Our training yard is completely 

paved, not dirt.  We provide individual desks and executive chairs 

for each and every student.  Our training instructors are 

dedicated to train truck drivers that are safe and respectful to the 

public that share the road.  We are not simply here to help you 

"pass" the test.  We are dedicated to keeping each class small 

(average four students per class) so that each student has the 

ability to work with an instructor and the comfort to ask any 

question that may arise.   
 

Allegiance. 

Most of all, we pledge our allegiance to assist you in the proper 

placement of a job that satisfies both your personal and 

professional needs.  Our experienced staff will connect you with 

a variety of opportunities to assure success in your new career, 

and we pledge this for the life of your career, no matter 

what.  Our job placement center is complete with computers and 

a database of several hundred local companies and far more  

Over-the-Road carriers. 
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Family Education Rights and Privacy Act 

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) is a 

Federal Law that protects the privacy student education 

records.  The law applies to all schools that receive funds 

under an applicable program of the U.S. Department of Edu-

cation. 

• Eligible students have the right to inspect and review the 

student’s education records maintained by the school.  

Schools are not required to provide copies unless, for 

reasons such as great distance, it is impossible for the 

eligible student to review the records.  Schools may 

charge a fee for copies. 

• Eligible students have the right to request that a school 

correct records which they believe to be inaccurate or 

misleading.  If the school decides not to amend the rec-

ord, the eligible student then has the right to a formal 

hearing.  After the hearing, if the school still decides not 

to amend the record, the eligible student has the right 

to place a statement with the record setting forth his or 

her view about the contested information. 
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 Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that 

have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be       

directed to the: 

 Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 

Sacramento, CA 95833 

www.bppe.ca.gov 

Phone: (916) 431-6959 

Toll Free; (888) 370-7589 

Fax: (916) 263-1897 

 

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about 

the institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Educa-

tion by calling the toll-free telephone number (888) 370-7589 or 

by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the 

Bureau’s internet web site www.bppe.ca.gov.  

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this cata-

log prior to signing an enrollment agreement.  You are also en-

couraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which 

must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agree-

ment. 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
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Financing Information 

Loan Guarantees 

If the student is eligible for a loan guaranteed by the federal or 

state government and the student defaults on the loan, both of 

the following may occur: 

• The federal or state government or a loan guarantee 

agency may take action against the student including 

applying any income tax refund to which the person is 

entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan. 

• The student may not be eligible for any other federal 

student financial aid at another institution or other   

government assistance until the loan is repaid.  

 

Financial Aid Funds 

If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the 

student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from the feder-

al student financial aid program funds.   

This institution does NOT qualify for any Federal and State Fi-

nancial Aid. 

 

Higher Education Loan 

If the student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, 

the student will have the responsibility to repay the loan plus in-

terest, less the amount of any refund. 
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FERPA allows schools to disclose those records, without consent, 

to the following parties or under the following conditions: 

• School officials with legitimate educational interest; 

• Other schools to which a student is transferring; 

• Specified officials for audit or evaluation purposes; 

• Appropriate parties in connection with financial aid; 

• Organizations conducting certain studies for or on 

behalf of the school; 

• Accrediting organizations; 

• To comply with a judicial order or lawfully issued 

subpoena; 

• Appropriate officials in case of health and safety 

emergencies; and  

• State and local authorities, within a juvenile system, 

pursuant to a specific State Law. 

Schools may disclose, without consent, “directory” information 

such as a student’s name, address, telephone number, date and 

place of birth honors and awards, and dates of attendance.  

However, schools must tell students about directory information 

and allow a reasonable amount of time to notify students annually 

of their right under FERPA.  The actual means of notification is 

left to the discretion of the school. 
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Statements and Disclosures 

Non-Discrimination Statement 

CDLC will not engage in discrimination or harassment against any 

person because of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, ances-

try, age, order of protection status, genetic information, marital 

status, disability, sexual orientation including gender identity, unfa-

vorable discharge from the military or status as a protected vet-

eran and will comply with all federal and state nondiscrimination, 

equal opportunity and affirmative action laws, orders and regula-

tions. This non-discrimination policy applies to admissions, em-

ployment, access to and treatment in the school programs and 

activities. 

School complaint and grievance procedures provide employees 

and students with the means for the resolution of complaints that 

allege a violation of this Statement.  

Bankruptcy Statement 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center is a financially secure insti-

tution.  The school does not have a  pending petition in bankrupt-

cy, is not operating as a debtor in possession, has not filed a peti-

tion within the preceding five (5) years, or has not had as petition 

in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five (5) years 

that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United 

States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. Sec 1101 et seq.). 
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Student Record Retention Policy 

Retention Periods 

Type of Record Retention Record 

Academic and Other Student Records 

Academic action authorization 5 years after graduation 

Applications 5 years after graduation 

Certificate of Completion 5 years after graduation 

Disciplinary Files 5 years after graduation 

Permanent- if result was 

expulsion or withdrawal. 

Entrance exams and placement 

scores 

5 years after graduation 

Evaluations and Test Scores 5 years after graduation 

Personal data information forms 5 years after graduation 

Registration forms 5 years after graduation 

Student health records (medical 

forms, drug tests, etc.) 

5 years after graduation 

Student licensing information 

(permits, license, etc.) 

5 years after graduation 

Transcript (including grades.) Permanent 

Tuition charges, fee charges and  

refunds. 

5 years after graduation 

Withdrawal and leave of absence 

records. 

5 years after graduation 

Financial Aid and Loan Administration 

Job Placement 5 years after graduation 

Promissory Notes 3  years after outstanding 

loan(s) are paid in full 

Repayment history 3 years after outstanding 

loan(s) are paid in full 
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Student Record Retention Policy 

Record Retention Policy 

CDLC is committed to effective retention to comply with applica-

ble law, to preserve history, optimize the use of space, and to 

ensure that school records that are no longer needed are proper-

ly discarded. 

This policy sets forth the standards and procedures that govern 

the retention of school records, and is only applicable to student 

records.  For the purpose of this policy, a student record includes 

any record that is made, produced, executed or received by any 

department, office, or employee of the school in connection with 

the transaction of school business.  This policy applies to all rec-

ords without regard to format, and includes but is not limited to 

documents in paper, electronic, microform and other traditional 

media format. 

Disposal of School Records 

School records may be discarded once the minimum retention 

period is reached, provided that: 

1. The disposal of the records complies with all legal, contractual 

or other obligations; 

2. The records to be disposed of do not relate to or contain in-

formation regarding a current, pending , or know potential 

litigation, investigation or audit involving the school; and 

3. Records containing student information, employee personnel 

information, or sensitive and/or confidential information are 

shredded or otherwise rendered unreadable prior to disposal. 
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Accreditation 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center and all of its degree 

programs are NOT accredited by any accrediting agency 

recognized by the United States Department of Education 

 

Distance Education 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center DOES NOT offer a 

distance educational program where the instruction is not 

offered in real time. 

 

Licensing  
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Meet the Staff 

Robby Wilson –Owner, Chief Executive Officer  and Chief 

Academic Officer 

Robby has over 20 years of experience in the truck driving indus-

try.  He is personally dedicated to providing each student with the 

proper training to obtain the skills needed to be a productive and 

competitive part of the truck driving industry.  Robby sits down 

with each individual to ensure that truck driving will satisfy both 

personal and professional needs.  He has successfully placed his 

graduates in positions with multiple trucking companies including 

over-the-road, regional and local companies.  His leadership skills 

and pride in the school are apparent in the maintenance of the 

facility and equipment.  Robby is a graduate of California State 

University at Sacramento. 

 

Stephanie Doke -Chief Operations Officer  

Stephanie has over 15 years experience in the training, and devel-

opment of individuals of all levels.  She has been instrumental in 

the implementation of Operations, Training and Financials.  She is 

committed to keeping the training material current and relevant 

to the rules and regulations that are required for students to suc-

cessfully complete the program in a timely manner.  She will main-

tain communication with potential employers to make the hiring 

process a smooth one.  Stephanie is a graduate of Florin High 

School and continued on to Sacramento City College. 
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Refund Policy 

Here is an example: A student attends a 160 hour course for one 

full week, 5 days of instruction.  The student paid the full tuition 

($4000) in cash.  Here is the how the refund is calculated: 

 
Step 1 

  Tuition:    $4000 

  

  Total Days of Course:  ÷20 

 

  Total Charge per Day : =$200 

 

Step 2 

  Total Charge per Day:  $200 

  

  Days of Instruction:  x5 

 

  Total Charge of Instruction: =$1000 

 

Step 3 

  Amount Paid by Student:  $4000 

  

  Total Charge of Instruction: -$1000 

 

  Amount of Refund:   =$3000 
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Refund Policy 

Students have the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and 

obtain a full refund of charges paid through attendance at the first 

class session, or the seventh day after enrollments, whichever is 

later.  The student has the right to withdraw from a course at any 

time.   

If the student withdraws from the course after attendance of the 

first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever 

is later, and follows the cancellation procedure as indicated in the 

Cancellation Policy, the school will refund the difference within 

forty (40) days following the date of withdrawal or cancellation.   

The student is obligated to only pay for the services rendered.    

The amount owed by the student for purposes of calculating a 

refund is derived by multiplying the total hours attended by the 

hourly charge for instruction. 

The amount charged for tuition, fees and other charges for a por-

tion of the course does not exceed the approximate pro rate 

portion of the total charges for tuition, fees and other charges 

that the length of the completed portion of the course bears to 

the total length.  CDLC does not charge a registration fee. 
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Manmit Singh-Instructor 

Manmit brings over eight (8) years of both over-the-road and 

owner-operator experience.   He has over 1.5 million miles under 

his belt.   As a previous trainer of at least forty (40) students, we 

look forward to adding new training techniques to better our 

students.  Manmit completed his education in the United 

Kingdom with the UK Military Program. 

 

Ray Leonard– Instructor 

Ray has many years of over-the-road and local delivery 

experience.  His knowledge of the “real world” of truck driving 

makes it possible for him to provide leadership, understanding 

and patience to learn the skills needed to ensure success in our 

training program.  Ray completed his education at the University 

of California at Davis. 

 

 

Meet the Faculty 
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Admission Policies 

Education Requirements 

High School Diploma or GED is required.  No general college 

education is required. 

Ability-to-Benefit (ATB) Tests 

The minimum level of education required to attend CDLC is a 

High School Diploma or GED.  ATB tests will be administered to 

those students that do not satisfy this requirement.  The test that 

is administered is the Wonderlic Basic Skills Test- Verbal Forms 

VS-1 & VS-2, and Quantitative Forms QS-1 & QS-2, which are on 

the list approved by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Edu-

cation.  The passing scores are Verbal (200) and Quantitative 

(210). The test will be completed at the CDLC campus but is 

corrected by Wonderlic.  The student must achieve the GED 

Level 1 to be admitted into our training program. 

Minimum Levels of Preparation 

• Determination of legal status; 

• Consistent employment history; 

• No DUI incidents within the last five years; 

• No more than two moving violations in three years; 

• No more than two accidents in three years; 

• Felony charges are reviewed on a case by case basis; 

• All suspensions must be lifted. 

The student may cancel the enrollment contract for school and 

receive a full refund without penalty or obligation, through at-

tendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after           

enrollment, whichever is later. 

If the student cancels, any payment that may have been made will 

be returned within forty-five (45) days following the receipt of a 

written cancellation notice.  The refund policy is stated on the 

“Enrollment Agreement” and this catalog. 

The cancellation procedures to cancel the enrollment agreement 

and obtain a refund are as follows: 

1. Submit the cancellation in writing; 

2. Mail or deliver a signed copy of the cancellation notice 

to:  

Commercial Drivers Learning Center 

1787 Tribute Rd. Suite L, 

Sacramento, CA 95815. 

  

A withdrawal may be effectuated by the student’s written notice, 

or by the student’s conduct, including, but not necessarily limited 

to, a student’s lack of attendance, non-payment, unprofessional 

conduct, tardiness, insufficient progress, or attitude. 

A student may cancel for any reason, but we would encourage 

following the grievance policy and procedures to try and rectify 

any disagreements. 
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Cancellation Policy 
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Leave of Absence Policy 

A leave of absence from school may be requested for a period 

not to exceed sixty (60) days.  

A one-time leave of absence may be granted at the discretion of 

the Chief Academic Officer.   

If a student does not return following the leave of absence period, 

a refund (if applicable) will be made within forty-five (45) calendar 

days from the end of the leave of absence.   

It may be necessary to repeat the program  from which he/she 

was dismissed.  

 

To request a leave of absence from school, mail or deliver a  

written request with the return date  to: 

 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center 

1787 Tribute Rd. Suite L 

Sacramento, CA 95815 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center Page 13 

Transferability of Credits from Another Institution 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center (CDLC) will inquire about 

each eligible person’s previous education and training.   We will 

request transcripts from all prior institutions, including military 

training, traditional college coursework and vocational training.  

Previous will be evaluated and credit will be granted as appropriate 

to the training that the student will be receiving. 

Transferability of Credits to Another Institution 

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS 

AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTIUTION. 

The transferability of credits you earn at Commercial Drivers 

Learning Center is at the complete discretion of an institution to 

which you may seek to transfer.  Acceptance of the certificate you 

earn in any of the programs is also at the complete discretion of 

the institution to which you may seek to transfer.  If the hours or 

certificate that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the 

institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to 

repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution.  For this 

reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this 

institution will meet your educational goals.  This may include 

contacting an institution to transfer after attending Commercial 

Drivers Learning Center to determine if your hours or certificate 

will transfer. 

CDLC has not entered into articulation with any other institution, 

college or university. 

Admission Policies 



Page 14 

Admission Policies 

Experiential Credit Assessment Policy 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center recognizes that valuable 

learning takes place outside of the classroom.  New students may 

receive experiential credit for previous certificates, training, life 

or work experience obtained prior to beginning our Refresher 

Training Program, provided it is approved by a school official.  

We have developed a way to assess this learning for the realiza-

tion of credit towards the credit hours.  In order to receive ex-

periential credit, the following documentation and requirements 

MUST be met: 

1. Verification of successful completion of learning from 

a third party:  This may be a certificate of completion, em-

ployee training record,  a letter from the organization spon-

soring the course, or your training or personnel office.  Let-

ters of verification must be on company letterhead. 

2. Copy of a state-issued Commercial Driver’s License. 

3. A completed job verification form.  This form is available 

at the main office location. 

4. See the Minimum Levels of Preparation on page 12.  

5. Behind-the-wheel evaluation: Instructors will  evaluate 

the student’s driving ability. (Applies to the Refresher Program 

only) 

A prior learning assessment may result in an award of “no cred-

it”, with an explanation of denial. 
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Student Grievance Investigation Process 

Request for Reconsideration 

The student may request to reconsider the determination by filing 

a written request within ten (10) days of receiving the written 

notice of the determination. 

The CEO of the school will review the request and provide a 

written response within thirty (30) days.  The determination of 

the CEO is final. 

 

Disciplinary Procedures 

The purpose of the Student Grievance Procedure is to remedy 

the harm done to the grievant and to ensure it does not reoccur.  

The purpose is not to impose punitive sanctions on school em-

ployees or other students.  However, the proposed corrective 

action may include a recommendation for disciplinary action to be 

taken against a student employee or student.  The issue of disci-

pline shall be referred to CEO to determine appropriate discipli-

nary actions. 
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Student Grievance Investigation Process 

Investigation 

The COO will commence the investigation by sending a copy of 

the written grievance and any supporting document to the faculty 

or staff member (respondent) in which the violation allegedly oc-

curred and ask for a written response.  The grievant will be pro-

vided with a copy of the response. 

  The respondent shall: 

1. Confirm or deny each fact alleged in the grievance; 

2. Indicate the extent to which the grievance has merit; and 

3. Indicate acceptance or rejection any remedy requested, or 

suggest an alternative remedy. 

The CAO may seek to mediate a resolution or negotiate a settle-

ment of the grievance at any time during the investigation.  If the 

solution is satisfactory to both the grievant and the respondent, 

both parties will be notified, and the grievance will be dismissed. 

A complete investigation and report will be produced within sixty 

(60) days of the initial receipt of the grievance.  The report will 

contain a summary of the issues presented by the grievance, a 

statement of the applicable law or policy, a summary of the factu-

al findings reached and a conclusion regarding the outcome.  

Written notice of the determination, including a description of 

the basis for the decision will be sent within fifteen (15) days to 

the grievant, respondent, and the CEO. 
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Provisions of Appeal 

CDLC has established the following procedure for students who 

disagree with the results of the Experiential Credit Assessment.   

To appeal, follow the steps in the order listed: 

1. Produce any additional documentation that may be 

necessary. 

2. Meet with the School Chief Academic Officer.  The 

student should state the basis upon which the change is 

based. 

The decision of the School Chief Academic Officer is final. 

 

Charges 

There are no charges for assessment of experiential credit. 

 

VISA Students 

CDLC does NOT admit students from other countries.  The 

institution will not vouch for student status, nor are any services 

provided. 

 

Admission Policies 
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Job Description    

Truck Driver Job Description 

As long as there are products that need to be delivered to 

consumers, truck drivers with the proper training from a 

reputable school will always have job opportunities available.   

The primary responsibility of the truck driver is to haul car-

go from one point to another so that it can be distributed 

or sold.  The driver will also inspect trucks for safety and 

follow company guidelines.  The driver is also responsible 

for following applicable laws, keeping up to date driver logs 

of their activities and make sure that all equipment is in 

good condition.  Depending on the load, some deliveries 

may need to be loaded and unloaded.   

There are a number of different positions available.  There 

are local positions that deliver goods within a specific local 

area. There are also regional positions that may cover a spe-

cific area, for example, the eleven (11) western states that 

will result in some time away from home.  The over-the-

road position is the truck driver that may have to travel 

across all 48 states. 
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Student Grievance Procedures 

Initial Review 

Upon receipt of a formal student grievance, the COO shall re-

view the grievance and make an initial determination regarding 

whether the grievance is complete, timely, within the jurisdiction 

of the Student Grievance Policy, and alleges facts which, if true, 

would constitute a violation of law or school policy.  An initial 

review of the grievance shall be completed within twenty (20) 

days of the receipt of the complaint.  If it is determined that the 

complaint is incomplete, the student will have ten (10) days from 

the date of the written notice to make the grievance complete.  If 

the student fails to complete the grievance, the grievance will be 

dismissed.  If it is determined that the grievance is untimely, out-

side jurisdiction or factually insufficient, the grievance will be dis-

missed.  If the grievance raises multiple issues, each issue will be 

reviewed individually.  It may be determined to investigate some 

issues and dismiss others pursuant to the review process. 

If a complaint is dismissed, the COO will provide the student 

with a written explanation of the basis for the dismissal.  The stu-

dent will have ten (10) days from the date of the written notice 

to request an appeal from the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of 

the school.  The request for appeal must be a signed, written doc-

umentation why the decision to dismiss the case was in error.  

The CEO will respond in writing within twenty (20) days of the 

receipt of appeal.  If the decision to dismiss is upheld, the decision 

is final.  If the decision is overturned, it will be sent back for inves-
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Student Grievance Procedures 

Formal Grievance Procedures 

Filing 

If the student is not satisfied with the outcome of the informal 

resolution, the student may file a formal grievance within ten (10) 

days of notice of the outcome of the informal process.  The stu-

dent may file a formal grievance within thirty (30) days from the 

time at which the student knew of the action being grieved.  Stu-

dents can file a grievance form with the CAO.  Forms are availa-

ble at the office. 

Student grievances must be in writing and signed by the student 

or the student’s designated representative, if any.  Grievance’s 

must contain the student’s address and phone number, a detailed 

statement of the specific action being grieved, the date when the 

action took place, the resulting injury or harm, the specific law, 

policy or rule alleged to have been violated, a description of the 

evidence supporting the grievance, whether the informal process 

was completed, and the remedy or relief requested. 

If the student is to be assisted by a personal representative, the 

student must submit the name of the designated representative, 

and indicate whether the representative is an attorney.  The stu-

dent must also submit a signed statement authorizing the repre-

sentative to receive copies of relevant student records regarding 

grievance and to accompany the student to meetings. 
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Bus Driver Job Description 

Bus drivers transport people to their various destinations.  

Whether a metropolitan bus driver, a school bus driver, a 

resort bus driver, airport bus driver, commuter/job bus 

driver, public transit bus driver, private and public govern-

ment agency bus drivers, amusement park bus drivers and 

other settings.  The responsibilities of transporting and deal-

ing with the public are primary. 

Depending on the employer, other tasks may be required, 

such as maintaining and inspecting the bus, paperwork and 

reports, answer customer questions, provide directions, 

collect fares, stock the bus as needed and other important 

tasks that the company deem necessary. 

Bus drivers must adhere to a schedule to pick up passengers 

and they must follow a time frame in order to make their 

stops. 
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US Dept. of Labor Statistics 

Standard Occupational Class Codes    

Truck Driver Training Program, Behind the Wheel 

Program and Refresher Training Detailed             

Occupational List 

• 45-4029-Logging Worker 

• 49-3030 Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine 

Specialist 

• 49-3040 Heavy Vehicle and Mobile Equipment Techni-

cians and Mobile Mechanics 

• 49-9092– Commercial Driver 

• 53-1031– First line supervisor of transport and material 

moving machine and vehicle operator 

• 53-3030– Driver/sales workers and truck drivers 

• 53-7051– Industrial truck and tractor operator 

• 53-3032– Heavy and tractor-trailer truck driver 

• 53-3033– Light truck or delivery services 
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Resolution Procedures 

Informal Process 

Before filing a formal grievance under this policy, a student should 

attempt to resolve the matter informally with person alleged to 

have committed the violation, with the Chief Academic Officer 

(CAO) of the school, or both.  If the person to whom harass-

ment would normally be reported is the individual accused of har-

assment, reports may be made to staff, faculty, or the Chief Aca-

demic Officer (CAO). 

Attempts to resolve the matter informally must be completed 

within thirty (30) days from the time at which the student knew 

of the action being grieved.   

If a student wishes to file a formal grievance, the student must do 

so within the thirty (30) day limit, regardless of the progress of 

the informal process. 

Formal Process 

The student should first attempt to resolve the matter through 

the informal process within the thirty (30) day time limit.   

Formal grievances must be in writing and signed by the student or 

the student’s assigned representative.   

The formal procedures are described on the following pages. 

Student Grievance Procedures 
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Student Grievance Policy  

Introduction 

CDLC is committed to a policy against legally impermissible, arbi-

trary, or unreasonable discriminatory practices.  All personnel 

operating under CDLC, including administration, faculty, and staff 

are governed by this policy of nondiscrimination. 

CDLC, in accordance with applicable federal and state law and 

school policy, prohibits discrimination, including harassment, on 

the basis of race, color, creed, national origin, sex, sexual orienta-

tion, disability, and age.  CDLC will act vigorously to prevent any 

retaliation being taken against individuals filing a complain, and/or 

participating in a complaint investigation. 

Purpose 

The purpose of this procedure is to provide CDLC students an 

opportunity to resolve complains alleging discrimination based 

upon any of the above listed grounds.  This procedure is also 

available for the resolution of the following complaints: 

• Alleging inappropriate application to a student of any other 

rules or policies of the CDLC campus resulting in injury to 

the student; 

• Alleging failure to provide academic adjustments for students 

with disabilities; 

• Alleging complaints of sexual harassment. 
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Bus Driver Training Program and Bus Driver with 

Air Brakes Program Detailed Occupational List 

• 33-3052– Transit and railroad police 

• 49-3030 Bus and Truck Mechanics and Diesel Engine 

Specialist 

• 53-3011– Ambulance drivers 

• 53-3020– Bus drivers 

• 53-3040– Taxi drivers and chauffeurs 

• 53-4011– Locomotive engineers 

• 53-4041– Subway and streetcar operators 
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Academic Calendar  

All courses offered at CDLC begin every three or four weeks 

depending on the number students enrolled in the program.     

Commercial Drivers Learning Center observes the following  hol-

idays: 

• New Year’s Day– January 1st  

• Easter Sunday– April 21st 

• Memorial Day– May  27th 

• Fourth of July– July 4th  

• Labor Day– September 2nd 

• Thanksgiving Break– November 28th and 29th 

• Holiday Break– December 24th thru 26th.  
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Review for Re-entrance 

The review for re-entrance will be dependent upon the instance 

and parties involved.  The re-entrance review will be conducted 

by the Chief Executive Officer and the decision is final. 

If a student is dismissed for behavioral issues, the parties (if any) 

will be consulted, along with a documented discussion with the 

instructor and agency liaison (if applicable).   The student will be 

expected document the changes expected and acknowledgement 

that re-entrance will not be allowed if the problem continues.  

The student will be either placed in the same class session unless 

a repeat of the program is deemed necessary. 

If a student is dismissed for unsatisfactory progress, the student 

will be re-entrance will be reviewed after three (3) days proba-

tionary period, due to the short length of the program.  The stu-

dent will be allowed to utilize instructional material provided in-

cluding the CDLC pre-trip inspection DVD.  If the student can 

demonstrate a thorough pre-trip inspection, air brakes test and 

skills requested, the student will be allowed re-entrance.  The 

student must also document, in writing, a commitment to follow 

the instructor’s direction precisely and without fail.  The Chief 

Executive Officer will discuss the re-entrance with the instructor 

and agency liaison (if applicable) and make an appropriate deci-

sion. 
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Dismissal Policy   

Commercial Drivers Learning Center is committed to providing 

excellence in training for a position in driving a commercial vehi-

cle.  We expect our instructor’s to provide the best training pos-

sible and promise to hold them accountable to that standard.  

Our students are also expected to give their best.   

If, after a thorough review of behavior, progress or participation, 

we find that there is a concern of completion  There may be oth-

er reasons that a student may be dismissed from the program.  

The timeline in which we will evaluate students is stated on the 

previous page.     

The dismissal procedures are: 

1. First Notice– Verbal warning and discussion about concern.  

This conversation will be documented in the student’s file. 

2. Second Notice– Written warning and discussion; notification 

sent to any agencies associated with the student payment.   

3. Final Notice– Dismissal from the training program.  The re-

fund policy is stated on pages 52-53 and “Enrollment Agree-

ment”. 

The student may challenge a dismissal decision by following the 

“Student Grievance Procedures” located in this catalog.  
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Objective of the Training  

The Truck Driver Training Program, Behind-the-Wheel Program 

and the Refresher Program are designed to lead to a profession in 

the truck driving industry.  This position requires a Class A Com-

mercial Driver’s License which is issued from the California De-

partment of Motor Vehicles (DMV).  The Bus Driver Training 

Program is designed to lead to a profession as a passenger bus 

driver. The requires a Class B Commercial Driver’s License with 

a Passenger Endorsement.    

The list of requirements needed to obtain this license are: 

1. A valid Class C Driver’s License with at least six (6) months 

experience, with all suspensions lifted. 

2. Pass a physical exam with a completed Medical Exam Report: 

Completed by a physician to standards set by DMV. 

3. Pass the written exams and obtain a Class A Commercial In-

struction Permit:  This includes all endorsements to provide 

the most job opportunities available. (Must arrive with In-

struction Permit to enroll in the Behind-the-Wheel Program. 

4. Pass a required drug test:  The standards for the drug test are 

set by Department of Transportation. 

5. The student must pass a pre-trip examination, skills demon-

stration and behind-the-wheel driving test at a CA DMV 

Commercial Office. 

Training Objective 



Page 22 

Training Equipment 

Trucks and Trailers  

We have five trucks for you to train in.  Our trucks are all 

Freightliner FLD120 trucks so that the student is able to train in 

similar trucks and wheelbase.  The trucks both have manual 10 

speed transmissions, which prepare the student for employment 

with most trucking companies.   

The picture on the front cover of this catalog are the actual 

trucks that the students will train and test in.  The trailers are 27 

ft. trailers with roll-up doors.  We also have a 48 ft. trailer to fur-

ther the development and training for over-the-road.  The trucks 

and trailers are well maintained by a contracted, licensed mechan-

ic to ensure the safety of not only our students but the citizens 

that share the road. 

Passenger Bus 

We have two different buses that serve two different purposes.   

• The equipment used for the Bus Driver Training Program is a 

1992 Ford Econoline 20-Passenger Bus.  The 20-Passenger 

bus allows the student to obtain the unlimited passenger en-

dorsement, thus allowing for the most job opportunity.   

• The equipment used for the Bus Driver Program with Air 

Brakes is a 1999 Gillia 45-Passenger Bus.  This bus is 

equipped with air brakes. 

 

Student Probationary Policy 

For students who are achieving below the minimum standard, we 

believe that every student should be given every chance to reme-

dy the deficiency.  All of the programs that offered at CDLC are 

very condensed and intense, therefore the probationary period is 

according to the length of the individual program. 

If a student falls below the minimum GPA for one week, the stu-

dent will be place on probation.  The probationary policy is as 

follows according to the program: 

• Truck Driver Training Program– One week 

• Behind-the-Wheel Training Program– One week 

• Refresher Training Program– Two days 

• Bus Driver Training Program– Two days 

• Bus Driver Training Program w/ Air Brakes-Two days 

If the student’s grade average is still unsatisfactory, after the time 

stated, above, the student will be counseled by a school official 

and the instructor with an action plan that may include being dis-

missed from the training program.  If the student is receiving ben-

efits for training, such as VA, SETA or other agencies, the appro-

priate agency will be notified immediately and benefits will be ter-

minated as of the last day of attendance. 
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Student Performance Standards 

Student Graduation Requirements 

The students of Commercial Drivers Learning Center are        

expected to demonstrate an overall understanding and achieve-

ment for all topics being completed.  This demonstration and 

understanding is represented through a Grade Point Average 

(GPA).   

The student is expected to maintain a minimum GPA of at least 

2.8 or 70% throughout the entire course.  The grading scale is as 

follows: 

 90% (3.6)-100% (4.0) = A 
 80% (3.2) -89% (3.56)= B 
 70% (2.8) -79% (3.16)= C 
 < 69% (2.76) = F 
 

We are committed to ensuring that all students are aware of 

their progress in class.  Students are evaluated weekly.  Each 

evaluation form is completed by the instructor and signed by the 

instructor AND the student. A weekly progress evaluation is 

completed by the instructor, and it covers: 

• Pre-Trip 

• COLA-T Test 

• Skills 

• Drive Time 

• Participation  
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The Truck Driver Training Program, Behind-the-Wheel Program, 

the Bus Driver Training Program and the Refresher Program will 

only be available in English, and does not provide English as 

Second Language (ESL) instruction.  The California Department of 

Motor Vehicles only allows the test to obtain the Commercial 

Driver’s License which consists of the Pre-Trip, COLA-T and 

Drive, must be taken in English. 

Every student is subject to the Education Requirements listed on 

page 12.  It may be necessary to complete the ATB tests listed. In 

the Admission Policies section of this catalog.  The student must 

achieve the GED Level 1 to be admitted into our training 

program.  

Training in Other Languages 
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Training Program Description 

Truck Driver Training Program 

1. The course will be available during the days, nights and 

weekends.  This provides flexibility to fit the scheduling 

needs of the student.  We have committed to keeping 

the class size small so that the student receives the prop-

er amount of drive time and the personal attention need-

ed from our instructor.  The weekend course must also 

be completed in five weekends, to fulfill drive time re-

quired by potential employers.  

2. The method of instruction will consist of both a class-

room (lecture) setting and a behind-the-wheel based 

training.  The first week of instruction will be completed 

inside the classroom, and prepares the student for the 

tests needed in order to obtain the California Class “A” 

Commercial Instruction Permit.  The instructor reviews 

in detail actual questions from the test, along with visual 

aids to demonstrate the understanding needed.  The re-

maining  three weeks (four for weekends)  of instruction 

are all hands on,  behind-the-wheel training inside our 

trucks.   

3. This program is designed to prepare students for employ-

ments as a Class “A” Commercial Driver (Truck Driver). 
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4. Engaging in other distracting activities including, but not limited 

to, eating, putting on makeup, reading or changing radio stations 

or music is also prohibited while operating a moving vehicle. 

5. No driver shall operate a vehicle when his/her ability to do so 

safely has been impaired by illness, fatigue, injury, or prescription 

medication. 

6. All drivers and passengers must wear a seat belt. 

7. No unauthorized persons are allowed to drive or ride in compa-

ny vehicles. 

8. Drivers are responsible for the security of company vehicles. 

The vehicle engine must be shut off, ignition keys removed, and 

vehicle doors locked whenever the vehicle is left unattended. 

9. Head lights shall be used 2 hours before sunset and until 2 hours 

after sunrise, or during inclement weather or at any time when a 

distance of 500 feet ahead of the vehicle cannot be clearly seen. 

10. Drivers must conform to all traffic laws with allowances made 

for adverse weather and traffic conditions. 

11. Drivers are strictly prohibited from using radar detectors. 

12. Drivers are not permitted to pick up hitchhikers. 

13. Drivers will be sure that all “cargo and load” are properly se-

cured and all doors are shut and secured prior to driving. 

Safety is our highest priority and concern.   
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Student Behavior Requirements 

Student Safe Driving Policy 

On occasion, it may be necessary to travel for training completion.  

The reasons can include but are not limited to travel between our 

office, training yard, or possibly to complete  alcohol and drug tests.  

It is crucial that our students, and employees, adhere to strict guide-

lines while driving our company vehicles or personal vehicles.  The 

guidelines are, but not limited to: 

1. The use of a company vehicle while under the influence of intox-

icants and other illegal or prescription drugs (which could impair 

driving ability) is forbidden and is cause for discipline. 

2. The Wireless Communications Device Law makes it an infrac-

tion to write, send, or read text-based communication on an 

electronic wireless communications device, such as a cell phone 

or smart phone, while driving a motor vehicle.  According to 

California Vehicle Code [VC] 23123, all motorists over the age 

of 18 and over may use a “hands-free device” when using a wire-

less telephone while driving.  This applies to personal vehicles 

only. 

3. Students may not use cell phone (including hand-free) or any 

mobile electronic devices while operating a company vehicle. 

This includes, but is not limited to: answering or making phone 

calls, engaging in phone conversations, reading or responding to 

e-mails and text messages, adjusting a Global Positioning System 

(GPS) and accessing the Internet. These restrictions do not apply 

to calls made to report an emergency. 
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The class schedule for the Truck Driver Training Program is 

offered in three formats, as follows: 

Day Class (Monday thru Friday): 

Lab/Lecture:  7:00– 10:00am  

Break:  10:00-10:10 am  

Lab/Lecture: 10:10am-11:30am 

Lunch: 11:30-12:30pm 

Lab/Lecture: 12:30-4:00pm 

• Average class occupancy-4 students.  Maximum 

class occupancy– 8 students.  Student-teacher ra-

tio is 4:1. 

• Net instructional hours are 8 hours per day, 5 

days per week, 40 hours per week, for 4 weeks, 

for a total training period of 160 total hours. 

• Classroom instruction is a total of 40 hours with 

subject areas including General Knowledge, Air 

Brakes, Combination Vehicles, Hazardous Materi-

als Endorsement, Doubles/Triples Endorsement, 

job search techniques, and Log Book procedures. 

• Behind-the-Wheel Instruction is a total of 120 

hours with subject areas including Pre-trip Inspec-

tion, Air Brakes test, Skill Demonstration and 

City/Highway Driving.   

Training Program Description 



Page 26 

Training Program Description 

Night Class (Monday thru Friday): 

Lab/Lecture:  4:00pm-9:00pm  

• Average class occupancy-4 students.  Maximum 

class occupancy– 4 students.  Student-teacher 

ratio is 4:1. 

• Net instructional hours are 5 hours per day, 5 

days per week, 25 hours per week, for 4 weeks, 

for a total training period of 100 total hours. 

• Classroom instruction is a total of 25 hours with 

subject areas including General Knowledge, Air 

Brakes, Combination Vehicles, Hazardous Mate-

rials Endorsement, Doubles/Triples Endorse-

ment, Hazardous Materials. job search tech-

niques and Log Book procedures. 

• Behind-the-Wheel Instruction is a total of 75 

hours with subject areas including Pre-trip In-

spection, Air Brakes test, Skill Demonstration 

and City/Highway Driving.   
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Sexual Harassment Policy 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center is committed to treating 

students with an environment conducive to learning, and free 

from sexual harassment.  Students are expected to reciprocate.  

Sexual harassment is a form of discrimination, in the United 

States, that violated the Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964.  

Sexual harassment can occur in a variety of situations.  These are 

examples of sexual harassment, not intended to be all inclusive: 

• Unwanted jokes, gestures, offensive words on clothing, and 

unwelcomed comments. 

• Touching and any other bodily contact. 

• Repeated requests for dates that are turned down or        

unwanted flirting. 

• Posting pictures or emails with sexual content. 

• Playing sexually suggestive music. 

 

Violation of the policies stated above can result in disciplinary 

action, up to and including expulsion from the school.  If a student 

is expelled from school, the refund policy stated on the 

“Enrollment Agreement” and this catalog applies. 
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Student Behavior Requirements 

The following section gives description and specific reason that a 

student may be dismissed, or expelled from the institution.  While 

it is the policy of the institution to discuss specific matters with 

each student, the specific requirements that are listed including, 

but not necessarily limited to, a student’s lack of attendance, tardi-

ness,  non-payment, insufficient progress, unprofessional conduct,  

or attitude. 

Attendance/Tardiness Requirements 

Every program that is provided by Commercial Drivers Learning 

Center is a short-term program and therefore consistent attend-

ance and punctuality is a vital part to the success of the program.   

The institution will allow make-up time for up to three (3) ex-

cused absences, for reasons such as medical, death or birth that 

are scheduled in advance or with the permission of the Chief Aca-

demic Officer.  The make-up time will be  determined by the insti-

tution.    

Any student that has more than three (3) unexcused absences will 

be dropped from the course.  “Cutting”, or not showing up for 

class is considered unexcused.  Make-up time is not allowed for 

unexcused absences.  

The institution will allow excused tardiness or early dismissal 

needs.  Each student will be  given an occasional grace period of 

ten (10 ) minutes to arrive to class.  Any student that has more 

than three (3) unexcused tardies will be dropped from the course. 
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Weekend Class (Saturday and Sunday): 

Lab/Lecture:  8:00-10:00am  

Break:  10:00-10:10 am  

Lab/Lecture: 10:10am-12:00pm 

Lunch: 12:00pm-1:00pm 

Lab/Lecture: 1:00pm-6:00pm 

• Average class occupancy-4 students.  Maximum 

class occupancy– 4 students.  Student-teacher 

ratio is 4:1. 

• Net instructional hours are 9 hours per day, 2 

days per week, 18 hours per week, for 5 weeks, 

for a total training period of 90 total hours. 

• Classroom instruction is a total of 18 hours with 

subject areas including General Knowledge, Air 

Brakes, Combination Vehicles, Hazardous Mate-

rials Endorsement, Doubles/Triples Endorse-

ment, Hazardous Materials. job search tech-

niques and Log Book procedures. 

• Behind-the-Wheel Instruction is a total of 72 

hours with subject areas including Pre-trip In-

spection, Air Brakes test, Skill Demonstration 

and City/Highway Driving.   

Training Program Description 
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Training Program Description 

Behind-the-Wheel Training Program 

The Behind-the-Wheel Course is specially designed truck 

driver training for those students that are looking to save 

some money and already possess a Class "A" commercial 

driver's instruction permit with all endorsements.  

1. The course will be available only during the day.  This 

provides flexibility to fit the scheduling needs of the stu-

dent.  We have committed to keeping the class size 

small so that the student receives the proper amount of 

drive time and the personal attention needed from our 

instructor.   

2. The method of instruction will consist of solely a behind

-the-wheel based training.  The three (four for week-

ends) weeks of instruction are all hands on,  behind-the-

wheel training inside our trucks.   

3. This program is designed to prepare students for em-

ployment as a Class “A” Commercial Driver (Truck 

Driver). 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center Page 49 

Alcohol and Drug Policy  

Commercial Drivers Learning Center is and always will be an  

alcohol and drug free learning center.   

We provide a safe, alcohol and drug free training environment for 

all students.  It is the policy of CDLC to prohibit alcohol and ille-

gal drug usage, possession, sale and distribution on the premises, 

or while performing training.   Also, being under the influence of 

alcohol, prescribed medication, or illegal drugs during training is 

strictly prohibited.  All prescription medication, including dosage, 

must be disclosed to Commercial Drivers Learning Center. 

All students are subject to an initial drug test and will be 

added to a random selection pool while in school.  If a stu-

dent is involved in any accident, no matter the severity, a drug 

and alcohol test is required within two (2) hours of the accident. 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center will provide assistance to 

our students who may suffer from alcohol or drug dependency.  

However, it is the responsibility of the student to seek help     

before the dependency leads to a violation of the school policy.  If 

a student seeks assistance and/or enters a rehabilitation program 

after the policy has been violated, disciplinary action will be     

enforced.  For drug and alcohol assistance, contact the referral   

service provided by the State of California at (800) 879-2772. 

Violation of this policy will result in disciplinary action, up to and 

including expulsion from Commercial Drivers Learning Center, 

with or without warning. 
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Student Behavior Requirements 

The students of Commercial Drivers Learning Center are       

expected to maintain and encourage professionalism and       

composure while in session, especially when training occurs with-

in the CDLC trucks.  Students that demonstrate a behavior that 

is uncharacteristic, unbecoming, and volatile will result in discipli-

nary action, up to and including immediate expulsion from school, 

that will be determined by the school CEO.  The instructor is 

allowed to determine if a student’s behavior would be defined as 

“unsafe”.  This would be demonstrated if the student is operating 

in a manner that would endanger oneself, fellow students, instruc-

tors, or the public, both in and out of the trucks.   If the instruc-

tor determines a student “unsafe”, the student can be suspended 

from school, for a period determined by the school official  The 

decisions made by the instructor and school official are final.   

Commercial Drivers Learning Center is committed to providing 

the students with updated training equipment, therefore it is   

expected that all students will respect the school premises and 

equipment provided.   
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The class schedule for the Behind-the-Wheel Training Pro-

gram is as follows: 

Day Class (Monday thru Friday): 

Lab:  7:00– 10:00am  

Break:  10:00-10:10 am  

Lab: 10:10am-11:30am 

Lunch: 11:30-12:30pm 

Lab: 12:30-4:00pm 

• Average class occupancy-4 students.  Maximum 

class occupancy– 8 students.  Student-teacher 

ratio is 4:1. 

• Net instructional hours are 8 hours per day, 5 

days per week, 40 hours per week, for 3 weeks, 

for a total training period of 120 total hours. 

• Behind-the-Wheel Instruction is a total of 120 

hours with subject areas including Pre-trip In-

spection, Air Brakes test, Skill Demonstration 

and City/Highway Driving.   

 

 

Training Program Description 
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Training Program Description 

Refresher Training Program 

1. This course is titled the Refresher Course.  The student 

must have a current Class “A” license.  This student will 

need drive time to satisfy the need of a potential em-

ployer.   

2. This course is offered to those drivers who have had 

prior commercial driver experience but has retained a 

valid Class “A” license.  Many employers will require a 

minimum of 40 hours of a refresher course but is de-

pendent on the amount of time has passed since driving. 

3. The method of training is dependent on the need of the    

student.  The student will be evaluated by one of our 

instructors and will then be given a directive of training 

required. 

4. The graduation requirements vary from student to stu-

dent.  The minimum amount of hours for the training is 

40 hours and the maximum amount of hours for the re-

fresher training 120 hours. 

5. This program is designed to prepare students for em-

ployment as a Class “A” Commercial Driver (Truck 

Driver). 
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Student Expectations 

All students of Commercial Drivers Learning Center are ex-

pected to follow instructions given, completely and fully.  The fol-

lowing pages will describe our policies in great detail to prevent 

any confusion. 

Commercial Drivers Learning Center has the right to dismiss stu-

dents based on, but not limited to: 

• Insufficient progress in the program; 

• Lack of attendance or tardiness; 

• Non-payment; 

• Unprofessional conduct; or 

• Unethical student behavior or attitude. 
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Student Services 

Job Placement Assistance 

The most important aspect of our institution is the job place-

ment.  While any student can be trained to become a truck driver 

not every student can be placed into a position that is a career.  It 

is a policy of Commercial Drivers Learning Center to NOT ac-

cept a student into our training program, if there is a concern 

about being placed in a position that fits the need of the student 

and his/her family. 

While we cannot guarantee job placement, we understand that 

the ultimate goal of each student is to be placed in a career that 

satisfies both personal and professional needs.  We have a variety 

of job leads and positions available to assist in placing students in 

the right career. 

We provide every student with: 

• Résumé development; 

• Interviewing techniques; 

• Job search techniques and; 

• Lifetime job placement assistance. 
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The class schedule for the Refresher Training Program is as 

follows: 

Day Class (Monday thru Friday): 

Lab/Lecture:  7:00– 10:00am  

Break:  10:00-10:10 am  

Lab/Lecture: 10:10am-11:30am 

Lunch: 11:30-12:30pm 

Lab/Lecture: 12:30-4:00pm 

• Net instructional hours are 8 hours per day, 5 

days per week, 40 hours per week, for 1 week, 

for a total training period of 40 total hours. 

• The time required is determined by the student, 

the Chief Academic Officer and the potential em-

ployer after an evaluation has been completed. 

 

 

Training Program Description 
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Training Program Description 

Bus Driver Training Program 

The Bus Driver Training Program can be taught as an addition to 

the Truck Driver Training Program or it can be taught solely as a 

Class B Commercial License with Unlimited Passenger Endorse-

ment.  This will allow us to be an all inclusive Commercial Drivers 

Training Program.   All of the same admission requirements apply.  

The Bus Driver Training Program can be taught in two different 

ways: 

1.  Be taught as a part of the Truck Driver Training  Program  

• Requires an additional 40 hours of training beyond 

the Truck Driver Training or Behind-the-Wheel 

Training. 

2.  The Bus Driver Training Program can be taught as an addition 

to the Truck Driver Training Program or it can be taught solely 

as a Class B Commercial License with Unlimited Passenger En-

dorsement.  This will allow us to be an all inclusive Commercial 

Drivers Training Program.   All of the same admission require-

ments apply.   

To solely obtain  a Class B Commercial License with Unlimited 

Passenger Endorsement.   

• The course is a total of 40 hours with a combination 

of 16 hours in the classroom and 24 hours  behind-

the-wheel training. 
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 Disabled Students 

Federal law prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability.  Its 

implementing regulations require schools to ensure that qualified 

individuals cannot be excluded from participation in programs and 

activities because of their disability. 

At the postsecondary level, it is the student’s responsibility to make 

his or her disabling condition know to CDLC and to assist in identi-

fying appropriate and effective academic adjustments or accommoda-

tions.  This should be done upon enrollment in the program. 

• Speak to the a school official– To present current documen-

tation of the disability or discuss a suspected disability; 

• Contact former or prospective diagnostician– To update 

or clarify disability documentation if necessary; 

• Provisional Accommodations-  Temporary accommodations 

granted to the students who have a known or suspected disabil-

ity. 

• Eligibility– Based on the school official’s review and acceptance 

of the student’s disability. 

• Instructor Contact– Ensures effective communication around 

the provision of accommodations. 

Accommodations may include but are not limited to: quiet, distract-

ed-reduced environment, altered test format, recording with a tape 

recorder, preferred seating, etc.  
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Student Services 

Guidance Counseling 

Counseling services are available to all students of all levels of 

learning.  The counseling assists the student in understanding and 

adapting to the rigors of truck driver training.  The realities of 

becoming a truck driver can make it challenging to maintain one’s 

sense of well-being.  Counseling serves both as a safety net for 

many and a part of the total developmental process. 

A school official will work with students individually to help iden-

tify more efficient or effective ways of handling the demands of 

the program.  The topics may shift or overlap from and among 

the following areas: 

• Study Skills Training–  To determine learning styles, estab-

lish study patterns, identify available resources and more; 

• Personal Issues– To address specific concerns interfering 

with academic progress such as anxiety and more; 

• Disabled Student Services– To address learning barriers 

such as known or suspected disabilities; 

• Complaint Resolution– To receive and evaluate grievances 

filed based on the Student Grievance Policy. 

• Veteran Students– Please contact Stephanie Doke for any 

assistance needed regarding any academic or financial advising 

regarding your benefits. 
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The class schedule for the Bus Driver Training Program is as 

follows: 

Day Class (Monday thru Friday): 

Lab/Lecture:  7:00– 10:00am  

Break:  10:00-10:10 am  

Lab/Lecture: 10:10am-11:30am 

Lunch: 11:30-12:30pm 

Lab/Lecture: 12:30-4:00pm 

• Average class occupancy-4 students.  Maximum 

class occupancy– 4 students.  Student-teacher ra-

tio is 4:1. 

• Net instructional hours are 8 hours per day, 5 

days per week, 40 hours per week, for 1 week, 

which is a total training period of 40 total hours. 

• Classroom instruction is a total of 16 hours with 

subject areas including General Knowledge, Pas-

senger endorsement and job search techniques. 

• Behind-the-Wheel Instructions is a total of 24 

hours with subject areas including Pre-trip Inspec-

tion, Skill Demonstration and City/Highway Driv-

ing.   

 

 

Training Program Description 
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Training Program Description 

Bus Driver Training Program with Air Brakes 

The Bus Driver Training Program with Air Brakes is taught 

individually from the truck programs.  This primary objec-

tive is to train individuals the skills necessary to obtain the 

Class B commercial driver’s license.  The length of this pro-

gram is 100 total training hours but may be longer if the 

School determines that more time is necessary.   

 

The course schedule is detailed on the following page.  The 

goal is to pass all tests necessary to obtain the commercial 

driver’s license learning permit which include the: 

• General knowledge 

• Air brakes test 

• Passenger endorsement 

 

After the behind-the-wheel training, the goal is to pass the 

DMV driving test. 

• Pre-trip inspection 

• Skills demonstration 

• Over-the-road test  
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Housing 

CDLC has no responsibility to find or assist a student in finding 

housing.   The institution does not have any dormitory facilities 

under it’s control.  The institution is also not responsible for any 

costs incurred in travel to and from training.  However, there are 

many temporary housing options to choose from.   

 

Local Housing  

The hotels listed below are an example of what is located nearby 

the training facilities: 

Best Western 

1413 Howe Ave. 

Sacramento, CA 95825  

(916) 922-9833 

Range from $77-90 per day 

 

 Courtyard by Marriott 

1782 Tribute Rd 

Sacramento, CA 95815 

(916) 929-7900 

Range from $119-$149 per day 

 

Student Housing 
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Training Library and Learning Resources 

Library 

CDLC provides a Pre-Trip, COLA-T and In-Cab DVD for the stu-

dents to borrow and study while in training.  The library consists of 

a DVD rental that is given after the student has received the Com-

mercial Instruction Permit.  This is simply an additional learning tool 

to help aid with a more visual learning. 

 

Learning Resources 

All learning materials are provided to student.  The costs of these 

materials are included in the tuition.    All learning resources are 

selected based on the requirements of the Department of Motor 

Vehicles.  These materials provide the student with all rules and 

regulations required within the state of California.  The learning 

materials are used only in the classroom: 

• California Commercial Driver Handbook 

• State of California, Department of Motor Vehicles, 

Sacramento, CA ©2013 

• Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations Book 

• US Department of Transportation Federal High-

way Administration, J.J. Keller & Associates, Inc. - 

Neenah, WI ©1998 

• Official Commercial Driver Log Book 

• Study Guides and Practice Tests 

• Created and provided by CDLC. 
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The class schedule for the Bus Driver Training Program with 

Air Brakes is as follows: 

Day Class (Monday thru Friday): 

Lab/Lecture:  7:00– 10:00am  

Break:  10:00-10:10 am  

Lab/Lecture: 10:10am-11:30am 

Lunch: 11:30-12:30pm 

Lab/Lecture: 12:30-4:00pm 

• Average class occupancy-4 students.  Maximum 

class occupancy– 4 students.  Student-teacher ra-

tio is 4:1. 

• Net instructional hours are 8 hours per day, 5 

days per week, 40 hours per week, for 1 week, 

which is a total training period of 40 total hours. 

• Classroom instruction is a total of 20 hours with 

subject areas including General Knowledge, Air 

Brakes and Passenger endorsement and job 

search techniques. 

• Behind-the-Wheel Instructions is a total of 80 

hours with subject areas including Pre-trip Inspec-

tion, Skill Demonstration and City/Highway Driv-

ing.   

 

 

Training Program Description 
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Schedule of Tuition Charges 

 

Truck Driver Training Program 

The schedule of total charges for a period of attendance AND an 

estimated schedule of total charges for the entire Truck Driver 

Training Program are listed below.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Classroom $500.00 

Behind-the-Wheel  $4,000.00 

Total Tuition -$4,500.00 

DOT Physical Exam $65.00 

DOT Drug Test $55.00 

DMV Licensing $70.00 

Hazardous Materials $95.00 

Total Amount with Fees-$4,785.00 
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Location Information 

Training Locations 

The classroom portion of the training is held in the main 

office of CDLC.  The office is over 1200sq. ft. consists of a 

classroom,  office, lobby and attached restroom.  The 

address to the office is: 

1787 Tribute Rd. Suite L 

Sacramento, CA 95815. 

 

At our skill training facility we provide an enclosed building 

with ample space for pre-trip and skill training.  Our yard 

has been recently striped with lines that are similar to the 

same specifications of CA DMV skill testing.   The behind-

the-wheel training is held at our paved yard at: 

1450 Richards Blvd. 

Sacramento, CA 95811. 
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Training Licensing Requirements 

DMV Testing Requirements 

The Truck Driver Training Program, Behind-the–Wheel Program, 

Bus Driver Program and the Bus with Air Brakes Program require 

a driving test at a DMV commercial field office.  The examination 

consists of passing the Pre-Trip Inspection, Air Brakes Test, Skills 

Test and Driving.  The examination is completed in that order.  

Each student is given a certificate of completion for the training 

that has been provided.  CDLC cannot guarantee the passing of 

the DMV exam. A student may successfully complete the training 

without passing the examination at DMV. 

 

The refresher training program is for individuals that have a cur-

rent Class “A” license. After a student has completed the amount 

of hours determined,  with the Academic Officer and a minimum 

of 40 hours, a certificate of completion will be issued. 
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Behind-the-Wheel Training Program 

The schedule of total charges for a period of attendance AND an 

estimated schedule of total charges for the entire Behind-the-

Wheel Training Program are listed below.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The student must provide a copy of the Class A permit, 

DOT Medical Examination Report and DOT Medical Exam-

iner’s Certificate. 

 

It is strongly recommended that each student obtain all en-

dorsements with the Class A permit.  This creates greater 

job opportunity for the graduate. 

 

 

 

Behind-the-Wheel   

Training  

$4,000.00 

Total Tuition -$4,000.00 

DOT Drug Test $55.00 

Total Amount with Fees-$4,555.00 
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Schedule of Tuition Charges 

Bus Driver Training Program 

The schedule of total charges for a period of attendance AND an 

estimated schedule of total charges for the entire Bus Driver 

Training Program are listed below.       

Bus Driver Training Program with Air Brakes 
 

The schedule of total charges for a period of attendance AND an 

estimated schedule of total charges for the entire Bus Driver 

Training Program with Air Brakes are listed below. 

Classroom $500.00 

Behind-the-Wheel Bus Training $1,000.00 

Physical Exam $65.00 

DOT Drug Test $55.00 

DMV Licensing $70.00 

Total Amount with Fees- $1,690.00 

Classroom $500.00 

Behind-the-Wheel Bus Training $2,500.00 

Physical Exam $65.00 

DOT Drug Test $55.00 

DMV Licensing $70.00 

Total Amount with Fees- $3,190.00 
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The maximum of amount behind-the-wheel training permitted is 

three (3) weeks of training. An estimated schedule of total charg-

es for the entire Refresher Course is listed below: 

 

 

Refresher Course 

The tuition charges for the Refresher Course are assessed on a 

case by case basis.  It will vary on the need of the individual.  The 

schedule of tuition charges for a period of one (1) week of at-

tendance are listed below: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Refresher Course 

Behind-the-Wheel only 

$1,350.00 per week 

Total Tuition- $1,350.00 

DOT Drug Test $55.00 

To Amount with Fees- $1,405.00 

If the student needs to complete a DOT Physical Exam, 

there will be a charge of $65 to be paid directly to the 

vendor. 

Refresher Course 

Behind-the-Wheel only  

$4,000.00 

Total Tuition- $4,000.00 

DOT Drug Test $55.00 

To Amount with Fees- $4,055.00 

If the student needs to complete a DOT Physical Exam, 

there will be a charge of $65 to be paid directly to the 

vendor. 


