SANTA CLARA BEAUTY COLLEGE 2630 El Camino Real Santa Clara, California 95051 (408) 249-2622 Fax (408) 249-6066

CATALOG FOR 2017-2018 SCHOOL YEAR June 1, 2017 - May 31, 2018

Revised 05/19/17



SUBJECT	PAGE
Disclosure Statements	3
Name Change	3
Ownership	3
Approvals	3
Catalog Questions and Answers	4
Philosophy and Goals-Mission Statement	4
Faculty	4
Administration and Staff	5
Facilities	5
Licensure Requirements	5
Admissions Policy	5
Credit Evaluation Policy	6
Schedule and Calendar	6
Class Schedule	6
Curriculum	7
Cosmetology Course	7-8
Esthetics Course	8-10
Nail Care Course	10-11
Cosmetology Teacher Training Course	11
Brush Up Course	11-13
Non-Discrimination Clause	13
Graduation Requirements	13
Other Policies	13
Records Policy	13-14
Progress Policy	14
Leave of Absence	15
Controlled Substances	15
Grading Policy	15
Counseling Policy	15
Attendance Policy	16
Placement Policy	16
Career Opportunities	16
Conduct Policy	16
Reception Desk Policy	17
Tuition and Fees Policy	17
Tuition and Fee Schedule by Course	17
Description of Charges and Expected Payments	17
Payment Schedule	18
Student Tuition Recovery Fund	18
Refund & Cancellation Information	18-19
Out of Country Student	19
Veterans	19-20
Notice of Cancellation or Withdrawal	21
Student Services	22-23

DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS

- 1. The Santa Clara Beauty College hereinafter referred to as The School, located at 2630 El Camino Real in Santa Clara, California is approved with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) pursuant to California Education Code Section 94311. The Bureau's approval means that the institution and its operation comply with the standards established under the law for occupational instruction by private postsecondary educational institutions. Approval to operate means compliance with minimum standards and does not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the State or BPPE. Institutional Approval must be reapproved every three years and is subject to continuing review. Registered are the courses: Cosmetology 1600 hours; Skin Care Course 600 hours; Cosmetology Teacher Training Course 600 hours; Nail Care Course 400 hours; and the Brush-Up Course 400 hours (maximum). Instruction is in residence with facility occupancy level accommodating 50 students at any one time. California statute requires that a student, who successfully completes a course of study, be awarded an appropriate diploma or certificate verifying the fact. Prospective enrollees are encouraged to visit the physical facilities of the school and to discuss personal educational and occupational plans with school personnel prior to enrolling or signing enrollment agreements.
- 2. The following state boards, bureaus, departments or agencies set minimum standards for your program of studies in accordance with Education Code Section 94316.12: California State Department of Education; Barbering and Cosmetology Program; Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education; National Accrediting Commission for Career Arts and Sciences; Department of Vocational Rehabilitation; Social Security Administration, Immigration and Naturalization Service; Department of Veterans Affairs; National Association of Cosmetology Schools; County Office of Education.
- 3. Persons seeking to resolve problems, complaints or grievances should first contact the Supervising Instructor / Assistant Manager. Requests for further action may be made to the school Director and / or President. Unresolved complaints may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education: 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, telephone (916) 431-6959.
- 4. The institution does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, and is not operating as a debtor in possession, has not filed a petition within the preceding five years, or has had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United State Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. sec. 1101 et seq.)
- 5. High School and Adult CCOC / NCROP students should consult the current policies of the CCOC and NCROP programs.

All information in the content of this school catalog is current and correct and is so certified as true by the current school director.

APPROVALS

- 1. Department of Vocational Rehabilitation
- 2. Social Security Administration
- 3. County Office of Education
- 4. Department of Veterans Affairs
- 5. Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
- 6. Immigration and Naturalization Service
- 7. California Cosmetology Association
- 8. County Vocational Education Panel
- 9. Industrial Education Council

10. Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education

CATALOG QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS

- 1. Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactory answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Postsecondary Education at 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, www.bppe.ca.gov, toll-free telephone number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897.
- 2. As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. A catalog may be found at our internet web site at www.santaclarabeautycollege.com.
- 3. A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau' internet web site www.bppe.ca.gov.

PHILOSOPHY AND GOALS

Our goal is to offer training to prepare successful graduates with the skills needed to secure employment in the field of Cosmetology. With this in mind, we continually survey the profession to keep abreast of current trends, designs and techniques required by employers. Instructors give "Individual" as well as "Class" instruction. This combination helps serious students to realize their goals. The academic and career standards are maintained to assure graduates of quality capabilities in their profession. The curriculum is flexible enough to allow for new procedures and techniques, as they are developed, yet solid enough to maintain good academic standards. The final objective is of course to graduate students who will secure and retain employment and advance in the profession of Cosmetology.

Mission Statement

The School was designed exclusively as a higher education institution of cosmetology dedicated to producing highly skilled cosmetologists, estheticians, nail technicians, and instructors by using the latest technology and professional salon products.

Student Learning Objectives

The School's students will receive hands-on training in a full service clinic atmosphere. A strong emphasis will be placed on:

- Customer Service
- Technical Applications
- Professional Image
- Personal and Professional Advancement
- Retailing

FACULTY

The faculty and staff are under the direction Nancy Nguyen. The faculty and staff are organized to bring experience to the college in the areas such as salon ownership, hair fashion competitors, hairstylists, guest lecturers, manufacturer's representatives, and platform artists. Faculty members have been chosen for their experience as both Instructors of Cosmetology and hairstylists. In addition, the instructors have completed the 600 Clock Hour Teacher Training Program. Those who instruct High School Students have received their Vocational Teaching Credential in Cosmetology. All faculty personnel attend professional education and cosmetology classes to maintain their currency in the field as required by the Board of Cosmetology.

ADMINISTRATION AND STAFF

- Kim Dang President / Cosmetology License / Bachelor of Science Software Engineer
- Nancy Nguyen COO / Director: Responsible for the daily operations of the school
- Thang Nguyen CFO / Bachelor of Science Computer Engineer / Financial Consultant.

- Serina Del Rio -- Supervising instructor /Vocational Teaching Credential-Cosmetology Instructors License: Cosmetology License. 29 years' experience.
- Julie Parker -- Cosmetology License: 15 years' experience
- Deanna Chao -- Cosmetology License: 5 years' experience
- Dung Nguyen -- Receptionist

FACILITIES

The school has a working area, which contains hair dryers, workstations, shampoo bowls, classrooms, laboratory area, etc., a total of approximately 4000 square feet. The School is approved by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology with an average daily attendance of 50 students. The facilities include equipment for academic and practical learning, contemporary student salon with stations, tables, and facial beds. The learning resources include DVD's, video tapes, reference books, technical manuals, professional periodical and supplement to text materials.

LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

The student must complete a course of training in a licensed California School in order to qualify to take the licensure examination given by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. The training requirements are as follows:

- 1. Cosmetology Course 1600 clock hours of training.
- 2. Esthetics Course 600 clock hours of training.
- 3. Nail Care Course 400 clock hours of training.
- 4. Cosmetology Instructors Course 600 clock hours of training.
- 5. Out of State and Out of Country applicants with prior hours will need to contact the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.
- 6. Within the state transfers can be completed at the school.
- 7. Additional information can be found at www.barbercosmeo.ca.gov

ADMISSIONS POLICY

- 1. The school does not discriminate in its employment, admission, instruction, or graduation policies on the basis of sex, age, race, color, religion, or ethnic origin nor does it recruit students already attending or admitted to another school offering similar programs of study. The school requires that each student enrolling in the Cosmetology, Nair Care or Esthetics programs must:
 - a. Complete an application for enrollment
 - b. Provide proof of secondary education such as a diploma, a GED certificate, and an official transcript of secondary school completion or a state certification of home-school completion.
- 2. In the absence of the above documentation, the applicant must take and pass an approved ability-to-benefit test administered according to the test publisher's guidelines by an approved Independent Test Administrator. In lieu of passing an ability-to-benefit test, the applicant may enroll in and successfully complete at least 6 credit hours or 225 clock hours.
- 3. Instructor applicants must meet all of the above requirements and:
 - a. hold a current license as a practitioner in the field they wish to teach
 - b. complete an application for enrollment
 - c. complete an instructor in training application to be forwarded to the State Board of Cosmetology
- 4. Students enrolling under a training agreement with another entity, the applicant must meet the admissions requirements set forth in the training agreement with the other entity. These entities may include but are limited to: SCUSD, EDD, NOVA, W2F, and CCOC/ROP. Students must contact these entities in person to determine their eligibility, if any.
- 5. Credits for prior experiential learning, apprentice programs, and externship programs must be address to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology for evaluation.

CREDIT EVALUATION

1. The transferability of credits you earn at Santa Clara Beauty College is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in Cosmetology Program: Cosmetology, Esthetics, or Nail Care is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the (credits or certificate) that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending Santa Clara Beauty College to determine if your (credits or certificate) will transfer."

- 2. School officials and the Board of Cosmetology will grant appropriate credit for prior training or experience upon review and verification.
- 3. The maximum credit the school will grant for studies completed at any other institution is 1200 hours. Students enrolling in a 400 hours Cosmetology Program will first complete the freshman curriculum and the work on the state board procedures recommended by the freshman instructor. Any of these students failing the first Mock Board Exam will be allowed to take the Mock Board Examination again at no additional charge provided the second exam is scheduled within two weeks of the first. Students may continue to attend class during the interim at no additional charge. Any of these students failing the second exam must reenroll for a minimum of 100 hours to continue their studies and exam preparation.

SCHEDULE AND CALENDAR

A student may commence training on a weekly or monthly basis. This is possible because our freshman class is primarily based on an hourly cycle. The school is normally closed on Sunday and the following Holidays: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day. The school may be closed for emergency reasons. Holy days of all religious beliefs may be respected and allowed.

CLASS SCHEDULE This is an outline for the general manner in which the student spends his time in school. This is just a sample and could be rotated by the school or instructor.

SCHOOL DAYS:	DAILY SCHEDULE	SUBJECT
Monday	8:00 to 9:00	Theory: Rules and Regulations
	9:00 to 12:30	Orientation for new students
	12:00 to 12:30	Lunch
	1:00 to 2:00	Theory-Barbering & Cosmetology Act
	2:00 to 4:00	Demonstration & Practical Work by students-manicuring
	4:00 to 4:30	Sanitation and Time Cards
Tuesday	8:00 to 9:00	Theory - Bacteriology
•	9:00 to 12:30	Demonstration & Practical Work- Facials, Manual
	12:00 to 12:30	Lunch
	1:00 to 2:00	Theory - Sanitation
	2:00 to 4:00	Demonstration & Practical Work-Wet Hairstyling
	4:00 to 4:30	Sanitation and Time Cards
Wednesday	8:00 to 9:00	Theory-Professional Ethics
•	9:00 to 12:30	Demonstration & Practical Work- Make Up
	12:00 to 12:30	Lunch
	1:00 to 2:00	Theory - Safety
	2:00 to 4:00	Demonstration & Practical Work- Eyebrow Arching
	4:00 to 4:30	Sanitation and Time Cards
Thursday	8:00 to 9:00	Theory - Cosmetology Chemistry
	9:00 to 12:30	Demonstration & Practical Work- Haircutting, Scissors
	12:00 to 12:30	Lunch
	1:00 to 4:00	Demonstration & Practical Work- Haircutting Razor
	4:00 to 4:30	Sanitation and Time Cards
Friday	8:00 to 12:30	Lecture, Demonstration & Practical Work-Hair coloring
	12:00 to 12:30	Lunch
	1:00 to 4:00	Lecture, Demonstration & Practical Work-Bleaching
	4:00 to 4:30	Sanitation and Time Cards

NOTE: After 9:00 a.m. all senior students will be assigned to the clinic floor or to special practical classes. Full time students attend class 30 hours or more per week. Part time students attend class 29 hours or less per week.

CURRICULUM

The proper education of our students is our most important obligation. Incorporated into our curriculum is the use of audio visual aids, current cosmetology techniques, as well as tested teaching methodology. Our staff has been trained to teach all phases of Cosmetology.

COSMETOLOGY COURSE - D.O.T.332.271-010

The curriculum for students enrolled in basic cosmetology is based on 1600 clock hours. The vocational course is designed to prepare the student for the Cosmetology Exam given by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and entry skill level employment. This course is designed for those wishing training to obtain their Cosmetology License for the state of California.

The course will cover the "Curriculum for Cosmetologist" outlined in paragraph 950.2 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Rules and Regulations The curriculum for student's enrolled in the Cosmetologist Course shall consist of sixteen hundred (1600) clock hours of technical instruction and practice all operations covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology pursuant to Section 7362.52 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of the complete service on another person or on a mannequin. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include:

(1) 1100 hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Dressing. The required subject of instruction in hair dressing shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operation for each subject-matter as follows:

SUBJECT: Hair Dressing - Required hours 1100	Technical	Practical
	Instruction	Operations
Hairstyling : the subject of hairstyling shall include, but is not limited to, the following	65	240
techniques and procedures: Hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, comb-		
out, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot curling irons and blower styling.		
Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening: the subject of permanent waving and	40	105
chemical straightening shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and		
procedures: hair analysis, acid and alkaline permanent waving, chemical straightening		
including the use of sodium hydroxide and other base solutions.		
Hair Coloring and Bleaching: the subject of hair coloring and bleaching shall include, but	60	50
is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures (also including, the use of semi-		
permanent, demi-permanent and temporary colors): Hair analysis, predisposition and strand		
test, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, high and low lights, and the use		
of dye removers.		
Haircutting : shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures:	20	80
use of scissors, razor (shaper), electrical clippers/trimmers, and thinning (tapering) shears for		
wet and dry cutting.		
Total Hours must equal 1100		

(2) 200 hours of Technical Instruction
Health
and Safety shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction for each subject matter as follows

SUBJECT: Health and Safety - Required hours 200	Technical Instruction	Practical Operations
Laws and Regulations: the subject of Laws and Regulations shall include, but is not limited	20	
to, the following issues: The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and		
Regulations		
Health and Safety Considerations: the subject of Health and Safety shall include, but is	45	
not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Cosmetology chemistry including		
the chemical composition and purpose of cosmetic, nail hair and skin care preparations.		
Elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin peels and chemical and physical changes of		
matter. Hazardous substances including training in chemicals and preventing chemical		
injuries, ergonomics, theory of electricity in cosmetology, bacteriology, communicable		
diseases, including HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B, and staph and Material Safety Data Sheets		
Disinfection and Sanitation: the subject of Disinfection and Sanitation shall include, but is	20	
not limited to the following techniques and procedures: Disinfection and sanitation		
including proper procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the		
technician. Proper disinfection procedures for equipment used in establishments.		

	1	1
Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be		
performed before use of all instruments and equipment.		
Total must equal 200 hours		
(3)	Hours of Techn	ical Instruction
of instruction in Esthetics shall be shall be completed with the minimum ho	urs of technical in	nstruction and p
SUBJECT: Esthetics - Required hours 200	Technical	Practical
	Instruction	Operations
Manual, Electrical, and Chemical Facials: the subject of manual, electrical and chemical	25	40
facials shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques and procedures: Manual	23	10
Facials including cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and masks. Electrical facials		
include the use of electoral modalities, dermal lights and electrical apparatus, for facials and		
skin care purposes; however, machines capable of producing an electrical current shall not be		
used to stimulate to contract, or for the purpose of contracting, the muscles of body or face.		
Chemical facials include chemical skin peels, packs, masks and scrubs. Training shall		
emphasize that only the non-living, uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis.		
May be removed, and only for the purpose of beautification. All practical operations must		
be performed in accordance with Section 992 regarding skin peeling.		
Eyebrow Beautification and Make-up: the subject of eyebrow beautification shall include,	25	30
but is not limited to, the following issues: Eyebrow arching and hair removal, including the	23	30
use of wax, tweezers, electrical or manual, and depilatories for the removal of superfluous		
hair. The subject of Make-up shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: skin		
analysis, complete and corrective makeup, lash and brow tinting, and the application of false		
eyelashes.		
Total must equal 200 hours		
	Hours of Techn	ical Instruction
The required subjects of instruction in Nail Care and Pedicuring shall be com	pleted with the n	ninimum hour
subject matter as follows:	T	
SUBJECT: Manicuring and Pedicuring – Required hours 100	Technical	Practical
SOBJECT. Manicuring and redicuring – Required nours 100	Instruction	
Mr. d. d. and D. P. d. and D. P. d. and D. H. and D. A. C. and D. M. d. and D. D. D. d. and	10	Operations
Manicuring and Pedicuring: the subjects of instruction in Manicuring and Pedicuring shall	10	25
include but not limited to the following issues: Water and oil manicure, including nail		
analysis, and hand/foot and arm/ankle massage.	25	120
Artificial Nails and Wraps: Artificial nails including acrylic: liquid and powder brush-on,	25	120
artificial nail tips and nail wraps and repairs.		
Total must equal 100 hours		

The board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service record cards. No credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing floors, walls, woodwork, toilets, or windows. Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362 and 7362.1©, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316 (b), 7321(d) (1), 7362, 7362.5(b) and 7389, Business and Professions Code. The course may also include not more than (16) sixteen hours credit for field trips. Such field trips must be under the direct supervision of a licensed cosmetology instructor. Date, time, and description of field trip shall be recorded on the student's daily record. Field trips must be cumulative and no credit will be given in lieu of attendance. All students shall have completed the specified minimum required hours and Operation upon completion of the sixteen (1600) hour course. Where warranted, not more than 50 hours may be utilized to correct individual student deficiencies. A record of completion or Proof of Training shall then be issued pursuant to Section 917.7 *Note: Operations do not equal hours. Completing the operations listed fulfills the remaining hours.*

ESTHETICS COURSE - D.O.T. 332.271-010

The curriculum for students enrolled in basic skin care course is based on 600 clock hours. The vocational course is designed to prepare the student for the Skin Care Course Exam given by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and entry skill level employment.

This course is designed for those wishing training to obtain their Skin Care License for the state of California. This course will cover the "Curriculum for Skin Care" outlined in paragraph 950.3 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Rules and Regulations The curriculum for student's enrolled in the Skin Care Course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock hours of technical instruction and practice all operations covering all practices constituting the practices of a cosmetician - skin care technician to Section 7364 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or

examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of the complete service on another person or on a mannequin. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include:

(1) 350 hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Facials. The required subjects of instruction in Facials shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

SUBJECT: Manual, Electrical and Chemical Facials-Required Hours 350	Technical	Practical
	Instruction	Operations
Manual, Electrical and Chemical Facials: the subject of manual, electrical and chemical	70	140
facials shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques and procedures; manual		
facials including cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and masks. Electrical facials		
include the use of electrical modalities, dermal lights and electrical apparatus, for facials and		
skin care purposes: however, machines capable of producing an electrical current shall not be		
used to stimulate to contract, or for the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the body or		
face. Chemical facials include chemical skin peels, packs, masks and scrubs. Training shall		
emphasize that only the non-living, uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis,		
may be removed, and only for the purpose of beautification. All practical operations must be		
performed in accordance with Section 992 regarding skin peeling		
Preparation: the subject of preparation shall include, but not be limited to the following	15	
issues: client consultation, intake procedures, contraindications, professionalism, client		
record keeping, pre and post-operative care, CPR/AED, salon and spa skills		
Total Hours must equal 350		

(2) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety. The required subjects of instruction in Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

SUBJECT: Health and Safety-Required Hours 200	Technical	Practical
	Instruction	Operations
Laws and Regulations: the subject of laws and Regulations shall include, but is not limited	10	
to, the following issues: The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and		
Regulations.		
Health and Safety Considerations: the subject of health and safety shall include, but is not	40	
limited to the following techniques and procedures: Training in chemicals and health in		
establishments, material safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemical and		
preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies, communicable diseases		
including HIV/AIDS and hepatitis B. Chemical composition and the purpose of cosmetic		
and skin care preparation. Elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin peels, and physical		
and chemical changes of matter. Electrical current, principles of operating electrical devices,		
and the various safety precautions used when operating electrical equipment.		
Disinfection and Sanitation: the subject of disinfection and sanitation shall include, but is	10	
not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: procedures to protect the health and		
safety of the consumer as well as the technician. Proper disinfection procedures.		
Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be		
performed before use of all instruments and equipment.		
Anatomy and Physiology: the subjects of Anatomy and Physiology shall include, but is not	15	
limited to the following issues: Human Anatomy, Human Physiology, Bacteriology, Skin		
Analysis and conditions.		
Total Hours must equal 200		

50 Hours of Technical Instruction and practical Training in hair Removal and Make-up. The required subjects of instruction in Hair removal shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

SUBJECT: Hair Removal and Make-up-Required Hours 50	Technical	Practical
	Instruction	Operations
Eyebrow Beautification: the subject of eyebrow beautification shall include, but is not	25	50
limited to, the following issues: eyebrow shaping and hair removal techniques, hair analysis,		
waxing, tweezing, manual or electrical depilatories.		
Make-up: the subject Make-up shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues:	20	40
Skin analysis, basic and corrective application, application of false eyelashes.		
Total Hours must equal 50		
-		

The board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service record cards. No credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing floors, walls, woodwork, toilets, or windows. Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362 and 7362.1©, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316 (b), 7321(d) (1), 7362, 7362.5(b) and 7389, Business and Professions Code. The course may also include not more than (8) eight hours credit for field trips. Such field trips must be under the direct supervision of a licensed cosmetology instructor. Date, time, and description of field trip shall be recorded on the student's daily record. Field trips must be cumulative and no credit will be given in lieu of attendance. All students shall have completed the specified minimum required hours and Operation upon completion of the six hundred hour (600) course. Where warranted, not more than 20 hours may be utilized to correct individual student deficiencies. A record of completion or Proof of Training shall then be issued pursuant to Section 917.7 *Note: Operations do not equal hours. Completing the operations listed fulfills the remaining hours.*

NAIL CARE COURSE - D.O.T. 332.271-010

The curriculum for students enrolled in basic nail care course is based on 400 clock hours. The vocational course is designed to prepare the student for the Nail Care Course Exam given by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and entry skill level employment.

This course is designed for those wishing training to obtain their Nail Care License for the state of California. This course will cover the "Curriculum for Nail Care" outlined in paragraph 950.3 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Rules and Regulations The curriculum for student's enrolled in the Nail Care Course shall consist of four hundred (400) clock hours of technical instruction and practice all operations covering all practices constituting the practices of a manicurist - nail care technician to Section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of the complete service on another person or on an artificial hand. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include:

another person or on an artificial hand. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include:			
(1) 300 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Nail Care.			
SUBJECT: Manicures and Pedicures 60 hours of Technical Instruction, 60	Technical	Practical	
hours of Practical Operations and 180 nails.	Instruction	Operations	
Water and oil manicures including hand and arm massage	20	40	
Complete pedicure including foot and ankle massage,	20	20	
Artificial nails including liquid, gel, and powder brush-ons, nail tips, nail wraps and repairs,	20	180 nails	
and nail analysis.			
(2) 100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Health an	d Safety		
SUBJECT: Health and Safety	Technical	Practical	
·	Instruction	Operations	
Laws and Regulations shall include, but is not limited to: Barbering and	10	-	
Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and Regulations.			
Health and Safety shall include, but not limited to: Chemistry pertaining to the	25		
practices of a manicurist including the chemical composition and purpose of nail			
care preparations. Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances, including training in			
chemicals and health in establishments, material safety data sheets, protection from			
hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and			
agencies, ergonomics, and communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS and			
Hepatitis B.			
(3) Disinfection and Sanitation 20 hours of Technical Instruction and 10 Pra	L ectical Oneration	1	
SUBJECT: Disinfection and Sanitation	Technical	Practical	
SUBJECT. Distinction and Santation	Instruction	Operations	
The subject of Disinfection and Sanitation shall include, but is not limited to, the	20	10	
	20	10	
following techniques and procedures: Procedures to protect the health and safety of			
the consumer as well as the technician. The ten minimum operations shall entail			
performing all necessary functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment as			
specified in Sections 979 and 980. Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the			
entire training period and must be performed before use of all disinfection			
procedures detailed in Sections 980.2 and 980.3.			

(4) Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology 10 hours of Technical Instruction		
SUBJECT: Anatomy and Physiology shall include, but is not limited to the following issues: Bacteriology, anatomy, physiology, and nail analysis and conditions	Technical Instruction	Practical Operations
Bacteriology, Anatomy, and Physiology	10	

The board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service record cards. No credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing floors, walls, woodwork, toilets, or windows. Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362 and 7362.1©, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316 (b), 7321(d) (1), 7362, 7362.5(b) and 7389, Business and Professions Code. The course may also include not more than (8) eight hours credit for field trips. Such field trips must be under the direct supervision of a licensed cosmetology instructor. Date, time, and description of field trip shall be recorded on the student's daily record. Field trips must be cumulative and no credit will be given in lieu of attendance. All students shall have completed the specified minimum required hours and Operation upon completion of the four hundred hour course. Where warranted, not more than 15 hours may be utilized to correct individual student deficiencies. A record of completion or Proof of Training shall then be issued pursuant to Section 917.7 *Note: Operations do not equal hours. Completing the operations listed fulfills the remaining hours.*

COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR COURSE: D.O.T. 332.271-010

Prerequisites: Cosmetology License, completed High School or its equivalent, and has reached their 18th birthday.

The curriculum for students enrolled in a cosmetology instructor course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations in teaching the art of cosmetology, as defined in section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. Technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the instructor trainee of teaching techniques and principles.

SUBJECT	Minimum	Minimum Hours
	Hours of	of Practical
	Technical	Operations
	Instruction	
(1) Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Boards Rules and Regulations	10	
(2) Preparatory Instruction		
(A) Instructional techniques : method of instruction; lecture; demonstration; performance; communication skills; instructional aid; and use of questions to promote learning	40	
(B) Organization techniques : 4 step teaching method; performance objectives; and learning domains, etc.	30	50
(C) Lesson planning : subject; title; outlines; development; and visual aids, etc.	60	50
(D) Techniques of evaluation : purpose of tests; types of test; test administration; scoring; and grading, etc.	10	
(3) Conducting classroom and technical instruction and demonstrations for three (3) or more students on all practices of cosmetology, including the Barbering and Cosmetology Act and Rules and Regulations. (Shall be conducted under supervision of a licensed instructor.)	140	
(4) Supervising and Training of students while they are practicing the art of cosmetology on a live person or mannequin in a classroom or laboratory.	100	`

A student enrolled in the six hundred (600) hour instructor training course may not engage in the school in a complete service connected with any practice or combination of practices of cosmetology upon a patron who is paying for services or materials and shall not be permitted to enroll in a second course except following examination failure after the preceding course. No credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing floors, walls, woodwork, toilets, or windows. Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362, and 7390, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7362, 7390, and 7391 (d) (1), Business and Professions Code

COSMETOLOGY BRUSH UP - D.O.T. 332.271-010

The curriculum for students enrolled in cosmetology brush up is based on 400 clock hours. The vocational course is designed to prepare the student who has previously taken the Cosmetology Exam and failed or who has let their license lapse for the Cosmetology Exam given by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.

Wet Hairstyling: (shall include hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, braiding and comb outs) Thermal Hairstyling (shall include, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot surling increase and blower straightening)	HOURS 10 5	35
braiding and comb outs) Thermal Hairstyling (shall include, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot	5	15
Thermal Hairstyling (shall include, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot	5	1.5
curling irons, and blower styling)		15
Permanent Waving (shall include hair analysis, chemical and heat permanent waving.)	10	35
Chemical Straightening (shall include hair analysis and the use of sodium hydroxide and other base solutions)	5	10
Haircutting (shall include hair analysis and the use of the razor, scissors, electric clippers, and thinning shears for wet and dry cutting.)	2	10
Hair coloring and Bleaching (shall include hair analysis, predisposition tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, and the use of dye removers. Shall not include credit for color rinses)	20	
(A) Hair coloring		15
(B) Bleaching		5
Scalp and Hair Treatments (shall include hair and scalp analysis, scientific brushing, electric and manual manipulations, and other hair treatments) Facials	2	5
(A) Manual (shall include cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and masks)	2	5
(B) Electrical (shall include the use of electrical modalities, including dermal lights and electrical apparatus, for facials and skin care purposes; however machines capable of producing an electrical current shall not be used to stimulate so as to contract, or for the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the body or face)	7	5
(C) Chemicals (shall include chemical skin peels, packs, masks and scrubs. Training shall emphasize that only the non-living, uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis, may be removed, and only for the purpose of beautification. All practical operations must be performed in accordance with Section 992 regarding skin peeling)	10	15
Eyebrow arching and hair removal (shall include the use of wax, tweezers, electric or manual, and depilatories for the removal of superfluous hair)	5	5
Make Up (shall include skin analysis, complete and corrective makeup, lash and brow tinting, and the application of false eyelashes)	5	10
Manicuring and Pedicuring		
(A) Water and Oil Manicure, including nail analysis, and hand and arm massage.	5	15
(B) Complete pedicure, including nail analysis, and foot and ankle massage.	1	3
(C) Artificial nails		
(1) Acrylic Liquid and powder brush-ons	5	10 nails
(2) Artificial nail tips	3	10 nails
(3) Nail Wraps and repairs	2	5 nails
Barbering and Cosmetology Act, Board Rules and Regulations	10	
Cosmetology Chemistry (shall include the chemical composition and purpose of cosmetic nail, hair and skin care preparations. Shall also include the elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin peels, physical and chemical changes in matter)	5	
Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances (shall include training in chemicals and health in establishments, material safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies, ergonomics and communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B.)	20	
Theory of Electricity (shall include the nature of electrical devices of operating electrical devices, and the various safety precautions used when operating electrical equipment)	5	
Disinfection and Sanitation (shall include procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. The ten required minimum operations shall entail performing all necessary functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment as specified in Sections 979 980. Disinfection should be emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be performed before use of all instruments and equipment) Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology	10	10

The board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service record cards. No credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing floors, walls, woodwork, toilets, or windows. Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362 and 7362.1©, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316 (b), 7321(d) (1), 7362, 7362.5(b) and 7389, Business and Professions Code. The course may also include not more than (8) eight hours credit for field trips. Such field trips must be under the direct supervision of a licensed cosmetology instructor. Date, time, and description of field trip shall be recorded on the student's daily record. Field trips must be cumulative and no credit will be given in lieu of attendance. All students shall have completed the specified minimum required hours and Operation upon completion of the four (400) hour course. Where warranted, not more than 20 hours may be utilized to correct individual student deficiencies. A record of completion or Proof of Training shall then be issued pursuant to Section 917.7 *Note: Operations do not equal hours. Completing the operations listed fulfills the remaining hours.*

NON-DISCRIMINATION CLAUSE No person will be denied admission, graduation, nor any other rights and privileges of the college due to race, creed, sex, color, religion or ethnic origin.

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS

- 1. The student must finish with the minimum theory hours and operations listed in the course outline.
- 2. The student must have paid ALL tuition and fees owed.
- 3. The student must have at least 70% attendance and achieved at least a "C" average for academic work.
- 4. The student must successfully complete all "Mock Board Examinations" given by the school.
- 5. The student must have provided all required documentation as required (social security card, valid photo ID, high school diploma or equivalent) and completed their Application for Examination for the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.
- 6. Upon successful completion of the course the student will be issued a Diploma and Proof of Training form.
- 7. The school will assist graduates in finding suitable employment by posting area employment opportunities and teaching Job Readiness classes, but placement is not guaranteed.

OTHER POLICIES

- 1. Graduating students are welcome to return to school within 180 days to practice for their state board exam at no additional charge. Students may begin their on-campus practice no earlier than 30 days prior to their examination date. Students may participate in any already scheduled mock board exams at no additional charge.
- 2. Students returning to practice after 180 days may enroll in the Brush-Up course at additional cost to the student
- 3. Students requesting a mock board exam to be scheduled to them can do so at a cost of \$200. The school does not guarantee mock board exam availability.

RECORDS POLICY

Student Records—Student records are confidential items. Student records are available to the student or legal guardian by appointment and no original documents are to be taken from the student's folder. Appointment hours to review records are Tuesday - Friday from 9:30 am until 12:30 p.m. No records are to be released to a third party without written permission from the student.

Records Access—National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences; Office of Education; Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education; Board of Barbering and Cosmetology; Regional Occupation Program shall have to right to access student records as it pertains to their area of interest.

Institution Student Record Requirements—the institution shall maintain records of the name, address, email address, and telephone number of each student who is enrolled in an educational program in that institution. The institution shall maintain, for each student granted a certificate by that institution, permanent records of all of the following:

- The certificate granted and the date on which that degree or certificate was granted.
- The courses on which the certificate was based.
- The grades earned by the student in each of those courses.

Other Required Institutional Records—The institution shall maintain, for a period of not less than five years, at its principal place of business in this state, complete and accurate records of all of the following information:

- The educational programs offered by the institution and the curriculum for each.
- The names and addresses of the members of the institution's faculty and records of the educational qualifications of each member of the faculty.
- Any other records required to be maintained by this chapter, including, but not limited to, records maintained pursuant to Article 16 (commencing with Section 94928).

Records Retention—the institution shall maintain, for a period of not less than five years, at its principal place of business all the records listed above. Transcripts will maintained permanently.

PROGRESS POLICY

- 1. Due to the varied capabilities of individual students, some may progress from one phase of training to another at a more rapid rate. Therefore, all students must not only have at least (160 hrs.-Cosmetology; 50 hrs.-Nail Care; 80 hours Skin Care) but also satisfactorily meet subject requirements before passing from the freshman class to the clinic floor.
- 2. ACADEMIC PROGRESS EVALUATION: Academic progress is measured each month. A student must maintain a grade of "C" or 70% to be considered making satisfactory academic progress. Academic Progress is a measurement of the student's written test scores, worksheet scores, projects scores, and make up work. At least one of these items will be completed each week.
- 3. PRACTICAL PROGRESS EVALUATION: Practical progress is recorded on a daily basis on the back of the student's time card. The student is measured on their practical performance each day. A point system is used. The points are recorded on the student's daily time slip and cumulated for the week. An instructor for credit will sign each operation. The operation sheet must be turned in each week for credit. Students turning in the time sheet late must have a documented absence to receive credit. The grading criteria for this performance evaluation will be the "NIC Criteria", published by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.
- 4. ATTENDANCE PROGRESS EVALUATION: Attendance progress is measured each month. A student must maintain a 70% attendance average to be considered making satisfactory progress. Approved excused absences will not count against the student in maintaining the 70% figure.
- 5. ABSENCES: If a student is on an approved absence and making satisfactory progress, they will be considered to be making satisfactory progress on their return. If a student is making unsatisfactory progress at the time of their absence, they will be considered to be making unsatisfactory progress upon their return. After returning from their absence and making unsatisfactory progress, they will be placed on probation. The Probation Requirements are outlined in this policy.
- 6. DETERMINATION OF STATUS: In order to maintain Satisfactory Progress a student must be making a "C" grade or 70% for attendance, practical operations, and test scores.
- 7. PROBATION: If a student falls below the attendance, academic, or practical progress average they will be given one a minimum of one week to cure those deficiencies before being put on probation. If after one month on probation the student's attendance, academic, or practical progress averages are still below 70%, they may be dismissed from the program. In case of an approved absence, a student making satisfactory progress will be considered still making satisfactory progress on their return. If they were not making satisfactory progress they will have a minimum of one (1) week to cure their deficiency upon returning to school.
- 8. DISMISSAL: If a student does not meet the probation requirements they may be withdrawn from the course for unsatisfactory progress. They will not be re-admitted until a period of 6 months has elapsed. At the time of re-admission the applicant must be able to demonstrate their ability to complete the course. A

second re-instatement will not be granted. The school's conduct policy is outlined in the school's Rules and Regulation. Violation of the School's Rules and Regulations are just cause for dismissal.

LEAVE OF ABSENCE:

- 1. An authorized leave of absence (LOA) is a temporary interruption in a student's program of study. LOA refers to the specific time period during a program when a student is not in attendance. An LOA is not required if a student is not in attendance only for an institutionally scheduled break. However, a scheduled break may occur during an LOA.
- 2. An LOA must meet certain conditions to be counted as a temporary interruption in a student's education instead of being counted as a withdrawal requiring an institution to perform a refund calculation. In order for an LOA to qualify as an approved LOA:
- 3. All requests for leaves of absence must be submitted in advance in writing, include the reason for the student's request, and include the student's signature.
- 4. Considerations for granting an LOA:
 - a. The student must follow the institutions policy.
 - b. There must be a reasonable expectation that the student will return from the LOA.
 - c. The approval must be made by the institutions supervisor.
 - d. A normal LOA does not exceed 60 days.
 - e. The LOA together with any additional leaves of absence must not exceed a total of 180 day in any 12-month period of time.
- 5. The institution may not assess the student any additional institutional charges as a result of the LOA.
- 6. A student granted an LOA that meets these criteria is not considered to have withdrawn, and no refund calculation is required at that time;
- 7. The institution will extend the students' maximum time frame and the contract period by the same number of days taken in the LOA. Changes to the contract period on the enrollment agreement must be initialed by all parties or an addendum must be signed and dated by all parties.
- 8. If a student does not return to the institution at the expiration of an approved LOA (or a student takes an unapproved LOA), the student's withdrawal date is the date the student began the LOA. At an institution required to take attendance, the withdrawal date for the purpose of calculating a refund is always student's last day of attendance.
- 9. The request must be in writing unless unforeseen circumstances prevent the student from doing so. For example, if a student were injured in a car accident and needed a few weeks to recover before returning to institution, the student would not have been able to request the LOA in advance.
- 10. The institution may grant an LOA to a student who did not provide the request prior to the LOA due to unforeseen circumstances if the institution documents the reason for its decision and collects the request from the student at a later date. In this example, the beginning date of the approved LOA would be determined by the institution to be the first date the student was unable to attend the institution because of the accident.

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE

All students are informed that the unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensing, possession or used of a controlled substance within the premises of this organization is strictly prohibited. Students violating this rule will be subject to immediate dismissal.

GRADING POLICY

Students are examined regularly in theory and practical work. Grading is as follows: A 90-100; B 80-89; C 70-79; D 60-69; F 59-0. Students must maintain "C" average for successful progression and graduation.

COUNSELING

Counseling is provided monthly for grades and attendance. Counseling is also provided at completion of mockboard exam (approximately 3/4 of the course) for grades and attendance. Progress reports are given on a regular basis (approx. 4-5 weeks).

ATTENDANCE POLICY

- 1. Students are expected to be in regular attendance. All adult students (any student not attending regular high school classes) shall be required to complete their hours of training in preparation for taking the State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Examination within the following time limits.
- 2. The student must complete his/her program based on the enrollment agreement, for the required number of hours (Cosmetology: 1600 hours; Nail Care 600 hours; Cosmetology Teacher Training: 600 hours; Nail Care 400 hours; Brush Up 400).
- 3. High school students see current CCOC/ROP contract. Once the high school student has graduated from high school or is no longer attending the regular high school program, then that student shall enter a contract prorated on the afore mentioned formula of the number of hours remaining for the student. (See Enrollment Agreement).
- 4. Excessive absences (3 consecutive days) or excessive tardiness will be reviewed by the school and can result in dismissal or suspension until such time that the student can continue in school without such absences or tardiness. The school can excuse an absence. Approved documentation must be provided. The student, however, will be required to complete the prescribed work that has been missed.

PLACEMENT

Job placement assistance is provided to students and graduates at no additional charge. Graduates are also entitled to continued advice, and assistance that is offered by the school staff as they enter the professional world of cosmetology. The students are advised that the law prohibits us from guaranteeing placement as an inducement to enter the college.

CAREER OPPORTUNITIES

Once a student has successfully completed the course(s) and taken the exam given by the Board of Barbering Cosmetology there are other career opportunities. These may include working for product manufactures as educators, platform artists, make-up artists, and manicuring representatives. Additional information about these opportunities can be obtained by contacting the school.

CONDUCT POLICY

- 1. All patron work assigned to students must be accepted, refusal will result in disciplinary action. Students may be sent home resulting in overtime charges.
- 2. "CLEAN UP" assignments are part of your training program as outlined by the Board of Cosmetology in the Rules and Regulations, Circulars, and Sanitation Procedures.
- 3. Students are expected to conduct themselves in a professional manner. (See professional ethics-Milady Text)
- 4. When enrolled in school, each student is expected to purchase equipment necessary for their basic training.
- 5. This amount of equipment must be maintained. Replace any loss immediately. Mark all equipment.
- 6. Break areas are provided for students. They must be kept clean. The practice of leaving lunch bags, etc., after eating will not be tolerated.
- 7. At the end of each day all equipment, stations, supplies must be made ready for the next day. Appropriate clean up, disinfection, and sanitation procedures are to be completed by all students.
- 8. The use of profanity and unprofessional conduct will be cause for disciplinary action.
- 9. The unlawful possession, use, or distribution of illicit drugs and alcohol by students and employees on this property is prohibited.
- 10. The institution will impose sanctions on students and employees consistent with local, state and federal law, up to and including expulsion or termination of employment and referral for prosecution for violations.
- 11. The county provides alcohol counseling, treatment, and rehabilitation or re-entry programs that are available to employees and students

RECEPTION DESK POLICY

- 1. Only authorized students are to be at the reception desk wholly at the discretion of the Director, Supervising Instructor, or school front desk staff.
- 2. Loitering will not be tolerated.
- 3. Changes on the appointment book are to be made only by instructors or the receptionist.
- 4. Student will not be called to a business phone for personal calls unless of an emergency nature.
- 5. Messages will be taken. Personal calls may not be made on the business phone.

TUITION POLICY AND FEES POLICY:

All tuition's and fees are payable in advance. Payment may be made monthly. The schedule is determined by dividing the tuition by length of the course. Cosmetology is 40 weeks and payments are made in advance each month. Skin Care and Cosmetology Teacher Training is 15 weeks and payments are made in advance each month. Nail Care is 10 weeks and payments are made in advance each month.

TUITION AND FEE SCHEDULE BY COURSE

COURSE	TUITION	FEES	TEXT	EQUIPMENT	TOTAL	LENGTH	HOURLY OVERTIME
Cosmetology	\$5520.00	\$150.00	\$220.00	\$400.00	\$6,290.00	40 weeks	\$3.95
Nail Care	\$1,380.00	\$150.00	\$240.00	\$335.00	\$2,105.00	10 weeks	\$3.95
Skin Care	\$4255.00	\$150.00	\$285.00	\$440.00	\$5,130.00	15 weeks	\$8.50
Teacher Training	\$3,000.00	\$150.00	\$200.00	\$400.00	\$3,675.00	15 weeks	\$8.50
Brush Up	\$2,250.00	\$150.00	\$220.00	\$400.00	\$3,020.00	10 weeks	\$8.50

Change of status fee of \$25.00 to re-write contract if a student changes status. Example: to transfer in from another school or program or to track out-of-country hours. Previous students requesting file research may be assessed a \$50 research fee. The fee for document reproduction is \$25. Any student withdrawing from school will receive their withdrawal paperwork, upon request, at no charge for up to 12 months from the date of last attendance. After that a \$25 fee may be assessed. After 3 years from the date of last attendance students may also be charged the \$50 research fee.

AVOID OVERTIME (OT): The only cause of overtime is absenteeism and tardiness. We encourage students to attend regularly.

Each course/program has been scheduled for completion within an allotted time frame (contractual graduation date) and each student is allotted a certain number of hours for absences. It is not realistic to expect to receive an education for free. The school has reserved space, equipment, and licensed instructors for each student and course/program. If a student does not graduate within the contract period, additional training will be billed at the rate of:

- Cosmetology at \$3.95 per hour, or any part thereof, payable in advance until graduation
- Nail Care (Manicuring) at \$3.95 per hour, or any part thereof, payable in advance until graduation
- Skin Care (Esthetician) at \$8.50 per hour, or any part thereof, payable in advance until graduation
- Teacher Training at \$8.50 per hour, or any part thereof, payable in advance until graduation
- Brush Up at \$8.50 per hour, or any part thereof, payable in advance until graduation

Students will not be allowed to graduate, and may not be allowed to take a leave of absence, pre-apply, or change enrollment status until applicable payments are made.

DESCRIPTION OF CHARGES AND EXPECTED PAYMENTS (Example is the Cosmetology Course):

Standard Charges	Costs	Refundable/Not Refundable	Other Fees (If Applicable)
Tuition	\$5,520.00	Refundable	*Change of Status: \$25.00
Supplies	\$400.00	Not Refundable	**Transfer Fee: \$150.00
Registration Fee	\$150.00	Not Refundable	***Smock: \$27.00
Text Book	\$200.00	Not Refundable	*Applies if your contract must be
Other Fees	-	If Applicable	redone **Applies to transfer students
STRF Fee	\$2.50	Not Refundable	***Applies if you buy a smock from
Total Contract	\$6,290.00	Total Charges For The	the school
Price		Current Period of Instruction	

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

\$ TOTAL CONTRACT PRICE
\$ Amount of down payment made.
\$ Balance to be paid prior to graduation
Number of monthly payments
\$ Amount of monthly payments

All monthly payments are due by the 15th of each month and are considered delinquent if not receive by the 20th. Final payment is due upon graduation.

First monthly payment due:	
	Month/Year

PRICING: The following statement applies to all programs and to all students.

• THE SCHOOL RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE TUITION AND FEES, MAKE THE SUBJECT CHANGES WHEN NECESSARY AND MAKE SUBSTITUTIONS IN EQUIPMENT WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE. ANY CHANGES IN TUITION AND FEES WILL NOT AFFECT CURRENTLY ENROLLED AND ATTENDING STUDENTS. CHANGES IN TUITION AND FEES WILL ONLY AFFECT NEW STUDENTS. THE SCHOOL ALSO RESERVES THE RIGHT TO DISCOUNT PROGRAM FEES TO CASH STUDENTS. CASH STUDENTS ARE THOSE WHO ARE NOT ENROLLED AS PART OF A THIRD PARTY SPONSORING ORGANIZATION AND / OR ARE NOT RECEIVING ANY KIND OF FINANCIAL GRANT, LOAN, OR SUBSIDY FOR THE PURPOSE OF ATTENDING THE SCHOOL. THE SCHOOL FURTHER RESERVES THE RIGHT TO NEGOTIATE CONTRACTS / AGREEMENTS WITH THIRD PARTY SPONSORING ORGANIZATIONS AT VARYING LEVELS OF TUITION AND FEES

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (STRF)

"You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all of the following applies to you: (1). You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all of part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans, and (2). Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment if either of the following applies: (1). You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or (2). Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party."

REFUND AND CANCELLATION INFORMATION

Students Right to Cancel

- 1. **Refund Prior to Starting Class:** The student has a right to cancel this enrollment agreement and obtain a refund paid through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later, by submitting written notice to this school. The appropriate form is available in the school catalog; however your notice may take any form as long as it is in writing. Your notice must be delivered to the school at 2630 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA. 95051. If delivery of the cancellation notice is sent by mail, the cancellation date shall be the postmarked date and must arrive prior to the class starting date. Provided that any issued equipment / text book(s) are returned, unopened, prior to the class start date, all good funds received by the school from this contract shall be refunded except the registration fee.
- 2. **Refund after Starting Class:** The student may withdraw from the course after scheduled instruction has begun and receive a pro-rate refund for the unused portion of the tuition and other refundable charges. For example, if the student were scheduled to complete (regardless of actual attendance) 40 hours of a 400-hour course as of the date of their written notice of withdrawal and they paid \$625 for tuition, \$75 for registration, and \$150 for the equipment and book, the student would receive a refund of \$562.50.
- 3. Example:
 - a. \$850 total paid (-) \$75 Reg. Fee & 150 Supplies = \$625 total refundable amount

- b. 400 hours (\div) 40 of schedule instruction regardless of actual attended = 10%
- c. \$625 refundable (x) 10% = \$62.50
- d. \$625 (-) \$62.50 = \$562 refund
- 4. The school will also refund any prepaid expenses collected from a third party on the student's behalf such as license or application fees. If the school cancels or discontinues a course or education program, the school will make a full refund of all charges. Refund will be paid within 45 days of cancellation or withdrawal. If a student withdraws prior to completing 1600 hours for Cosmetology, 600 hours for Skin care, or 400 hours for Nail, any and all payments will first be applied to the purchase price of any equipment or books discounted at the time of enrollment with the balance of payments being applied to any tuition owed/refund calculation at the regular, non-discounted, tuition rate.
- 5. **Federal and State Financial Aid Programs:** The school does not currently participate in Federal and State Financial Aid Programs.
- 6. **Student Loans:** If the student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund. If the student is eligible for a loan guaranteed by the federal or state government and the student defaults on the loan, both of the following may occur:
 - a. The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the student, including applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan.
 - b. The student may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other government assistance until the loan is repaid.

OUT OF COUNTRY STUDENT: The out of country fee is \$150.00 U.S. This additional charge is to cover the cost of translations and out of country mailings. This fee is NON-REFUNDABLE

VETERANS

Veterans Policy Statement

- 1. Evaluation of previous education/training, CFR §21.4253 (d) (3).
 - This institution will conduct an evaluation of previous education and training, grant appropriate credit, shorten the veteran or eligible person's duration of the course proportionately, and notify the VA and student accordingly.
- 2. Standard of progress, CFR §21, 4253 (d) (1) (i).
 - Veterans or eligible persons, whose attendance falls below the 70% requirement, will be place on attendance probation. If after one month on probation the student's attendance is still below 70%, veteran's benefits will be terminated.
 - The description of the conditions for re-entrance after dismissal for unsatisfactory progress are:
 - 1. If they are withdrawn from the course for unsatisfactory progress they will not be re-admitted until a period of 6 months has elapsed. At the time of re-admission the applicant must be able to demonstrate their ability to complete the course. A second re-instatement will not be granted.
- 3. Student conduct policy, CFR §21.4253 (d) (1) (ii).
- 9. The school's conduct policy is outlined in the school's Rules and Regulation and applies to students receiving Veterans benefits. Veterans shall at all times while on the school premises conduct themselves in an orderly and considerate manner, and shall appear for classes in a sober and receptive condition. Violation of this condition or the School's Rules and Regulations are just cause for dismissal.

Veterans Attendance Policy

- 1. Veterans are considered full time students if they attend at least 18 hours per week.
- 2. This attendance policy applies to all Courses: Cosmetology, Nail Care, Skin Care, Brush-Up, and Teacher Training.
- 3. Veterans must record their attendance on the school's time card by utilizing the time clock. No additional credit will be given for hours not properly recorded on the daily record of attendance.
- 4. Both the Veteran and the School's Instructor at the completion of the day must sign all time cards.

Veterans Refund Policy

- 1. The school maintains a refund policy for Veterans that in the event the veteran or eligible person fail to enter the course or withdraws, or is discontinued there from at any time prior to the completion, the amount charged to the veterans or eligible person for tuition, fees, and other charges does not exceed the approximate pro rata portion of the total charges for tuition, fees, and other charges, and the length of the completed portion of the course should bear to its total length.
- 2. The maximum non-refundable registration fee allowed by the VA is \$10.00 for non-accredited schools.

Veterans Instructional Schedule

- 1. In addition to the instructional schedule that appears in the catalog the following apply to Veteran Students in all course areas (Cosmetology, Nail Care, Skin Care, Brush-Up Course and Teacher Training).
 - a. The school provides training in the area of communications skills that include professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service record cards.
 - b. The course may include not more than 1% of the course hours for field trips (Cosmetology, Nail Care, Skin Care, Brush-Up, and Teacher Training). Such field trips must be under the direct supervision of a licensed cosmetology instructor. Date, time and description of field trip shall be recorded on the student's daily record. Field trips must be cumulative and no credit will be given in lieu of attendance.
 - Where warranted, not more than 50 hours may be utilized to correct individual student deficiencies.
 - d. A record of completion or Proof of training shall be issued pursuant to Section 917.7.
 - e. Operations do not equal hours. The remaining hours are fulfilled by completed the operation listed in the course outline.

SANTA CLARA BEAUTY COLLEGE

NOTICE OF CANCELLATION or WITHDRAWAL

Your notice of cancellation or withdrawal must be in writing. Hereinafter, referred to as your "written notice". You may use this form but are not required to do so, as long as your notice is in written form and provides all of the information requested below.

- Your written notice may be hand delivered to the school (2630 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051) and your effective date of withdrawal or cancellation will be the date received by the school.
- Your written notice may be mailed to the school (2630 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051) and your effective date of withdrawal or cancellation will be the postmark date.
- Your written notice may be faxed to the school (408.249.6066) and your effective date of withdrawal or cancellation will be the date received by the school.

REMEMBER YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING. You do not have the right to cancel by just telephoning the school or by not coming to class.

• Emails, text messages, phone calls, and verbal notices will not be accepted.

Print Student Inforn	nation:	
First Name	Last Name	Last 4 SSN
Reason for Cancella	ation or Withdrawal:	
Student Signature – "Plea	ase terminate my contract. I hereby withdraw from school."	Date of Signature
For Office Use Only	♥: (rev 11/01/11)	
Received By:Attached post-mark	Date Received by mail.	ed:

STUDENT SERVICES

- 1. **Housing**—the school does not have dormitory facilities.
- 2. **Office of Affordable Housing** provides information and housing assistance in Santa Clara County. Information can be found at: http://www.sccgov.org/portal/site/oah/
- 3. **Student Rights**—additional information concerning student rights can be found at: www.bppe.ca.gov/students. The information includes:
 - a. Student tuition Recovery Fund Application
 - b. Brochures
 - c. School Closure
 - d. Helpful resources
 - e. Complaint Forms
 - f. Searchable Data Bases
 - g. Fake Degree's
 - h. Scholarship Scams
 - i. Student Tips
 - j. Student Loans: Avoiding Deceptive Offers
- 4. **Placement Assistance**—the school provides placement assistance to all graduates and maintains a list of currently hiring salons in the Santa Clara County Area.
- 5. **Communication**—the school sends regular emails to all graduates concerning available jobs, advanced education opportunities, current Rules and Regulations about the Cosmetology industry, and in-school advance educational classes. It is important to provide a current email address to the school.
- 6. **Orientation**—the institution provide an orientation on the first day of class which includes:
 - a. The instructional course.
 - b. Educational objectives of each program.
 - c. Administrative polies affecting the student.
 - d. Other support services available to students.
 - e. Students are advices about laws and regulations (Cosmetology Act and Regulations 2009); Scope of the Examination; Health and Safety; and NIC Testing (Practical and Written).

7. Grievance Procedures for Students

- a. For both legal and policy reasons, it is desirable that Santa Clara Beauty College students have an established and approved mechanism by which serious grievances may be resolved promptly and equitably. The following procedures should be used by students for the resolution of grievances alleging unfair action on the part of the school's administration or faculty, including discrimination based on race, color, religious belief, political beliefs, sex (including sexual harassment), national or ethnic origin, handicap, age or sexual orientation.
- b. A student considering lodging a grievance against another student or other individual who is not a member of the university administration or faculty, and which does not involve behavior covered under the school's disciplinary procedures, should discuss the matter with the supervising instructor or other appropriate faculty member or administrator. If the grievance cannot be resolved informally, the student may ask the management to arrange for mediation of the dispute or to conduct some other process appropriate to the particular circumstance; the process may or may not include elements of the formal grievance procedure described below.

8. Formal Grievance Procedure

- a. An aggrieved student may request resolution of the grievance by initiating the following formal procedure.
 - 1) A formal grievance is a complaint in writing from the student to the management, asking that an ad hoc grievance committee be appointed. The written complaint should be filed within one week of the event to which it refers and should include the following, as appropriate:
 - 1. Statement of the allegation
 - 2. Description of the alleged facts
 - 3. Summary of steps he/she already has taken in attempt to resolve the problem
 - 4. Name/s of the person/s thought to be responsible for the alleged events
 - 5. Other facts considered to be pertinent to the case
 - 6. Signature of the person initiating the complaint
- b. The management appoints a grievance committee consisting of a representative of the Faculty Council, at least one member of the school's administration, and a student, chosen, who has

- completed at least 800 clock hours at the school. This grievance committee is appointed and convened within ten working days of receipt of the written complaint, or sooner if immediate action is required. In all cases, confidentiality is maintained during the selection and appointment process. A quorum requires that all members be present.
- c. The grievance committee investigates the grievance. This investigation includes, but need not be limited to:
- d. Meeting/s with the person aggrieved and the person/s (or representatives of the department) grieved against.
- e. Consultation with such others as the committee deems necessary to provide a thorough investigation of the grievance, including scientific ramifications or concerns, and other mitigating or extenuating circumstances that bear upon the situation.
- f. The ad hoc grievance committee expeditiously considers the facts of the case and presents a report to the school. The report includes findings of facts and recommendations, if any. Every precaution is taken to ensure the confidentiality of information obtained at meetings of the ad hoc grievance committee. The committee also makes every effort to conclude the investigation promptly and to take any needed remedial action.
- g. Upon receipt of the report from the grievance committee, the school may exercise the following options:
- h. Take whatever action he or she feels is warranted, using the report of the grievance committee as advisory information.
 - Return the matter to the grievance committee for further consideration. This action returns the grievance to Step 3 of this procedure.
- i. The final action the school constitutes the formal completion of the grievance procedure. The grievance committee is then discharged. The final action is communicated to both the person aggrieved and the person/s grieved against. Once the procedure is completed, all records of the meetings of the committee and the final report of the committee remain in the possession of the school and are treated with appropriate confidentiality.