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2017 FEE SCHEDULE FOR CLASSES **STRF information is on pg. 20-21**
The following are total charges for a period of attendance and estimated schedule of total
charges for the entire educational program

168 HOUR BASIC HOLISTIC MASSAGE THERAPY PROGRAM (BHMT- 1 course)

Application Fee: $ 250.00 (non-refundable) **transferrable to FHMT
Materials Fee: $ 200.00 (Books, Lotion & Pump)

Tuition: $2200.00

Total: $2650.00

510 HOUR FULL HOLISTIC MASSAGE THERAPY PROGRAM (FHMT-7 courses)

Application Fee: $250.00 (non-refundable)
Materials Fee: $215.00 (Books and Lotion/Pump)
Tuition: $6685.00

Total: $7150.00

Each Individual Course:

Basic Swedish Massage:- 168 Hours

Books $160.00
Lotion and Pump $40.00
Tuition $2200.00
Total: $2400.00

Acupressure Massage:- 72 Hours

3 Books $40.00
Tuition $860.00
Total: $900.00
Deep Tissue Massage: - 120 Hours
Tuition: $1650.00
Lymphatic Compression Massage:- 56 Hours
Tuition: $675.00
Reflexology:- 16 Hours

Book $15.00
Tuition $235.00
Total: $250.00

Trigger Point Therapy Massage:- 72 Hours
Tuition: $900.00

On-Site Chair Massage:- 6 Hours
Tuition: $125.00




336 HOUR TEACHER TRAINING COURSE

Application Fee $100.00 (non-refundable)
Tuition: $2900.00
Total: $3000.00

140 HOUR UNIVERSAL CONCEPTS OF HEALTH AND HOLISM

Application Fee: $100.00 (non-refundable)
Materials Fee: $200.00

Tuition: $1000.00

Total: $1300.00

140 HOUR HOLISTIC HEALTH EDUCATOR
Application Fee: $100.00 (non-refundable)
Tuition: $900.00

Total: $1000.00

FULL HOLISTIC MASSAGE THERAPY PROGRAM
PAYMENT PLAN OPTIONS - $7,150 TOTAL

$250 NON-REFUNDABLE REGISTRATION FEE PAID UPFRONT UPON
ENROLLMENT
$200 FOR SWEDISH BOOKS AND MATERIALS PAID BEFORE FIRST CLASS

1. Swedish: **Must be paid in full by 6™ week of class
a. Pay in full $2,200 Tuition
b. 3 bi-weekly payments of $734, $733, $733
c. 6 weekly payments of $367, $367, $367, $367, $367, $365
2. Acupressure:
a. Pay in full $900
b. 2 bi-weekly payments of $450
3. Deep Tissue:
a. Pay in full $1650
b. 2 weekly payments of $825
c. 3 bi-weekly payments of $550
4. Lymph:
a. Pay in full $675
b. 2 weekly payments $350, $325
5. Reflexology:
a. Pay in Full $250
6. Trigger Point:
a. Pay in full $900
b. 2 bi-weekly payments of $450
7. On-Site Chair:
a. Payin full $125




Loving Hands Institute...

Offers classes in Holistic Health, Career Certification Training and Personal Development, for
nurses, health professionals and the general public, which are approved for continuing
education contact hours by the California Board of Registered Nursing, BRN Provider No. CEP
9151.

“Loving Hands Institute of Healing Arts is a private institution and is approved to operate
by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Approval to operate means
compliance with state standards as set forth in the California Private Postsecondary
Education Act of 2009”.

We are an affiliated school in good standing with ABMP, Associated Bodywork and Massage
Professionals, an international Trade Service Organization, devoted to the betterment of the
Massage and Bodywork Profession; a division of the Church of Loving Hands, a Religious,
Educational and Cultural Corporation in the State of California, incorporated April, 1982, within
the meaning of Section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code and the church is the sole
owner of this school.

On the leading edge of mind-body healing, we offer Holistic Massage and other Holistic Health
practices which support self-care, natural therapeutics, personal growth and healing. Our
primary tenet is to facilitate individual growth and development by the practice of spiritual
expression in all daily activities of life.

We are dedicated to the Research, Teaching and Ministering of Natural Healing through the
Ancient Arts of Laying on of Hands, Massage, Herbal Knowledge, Food, Vitamin and Mineral
Awareness, through a variety of ancient and contemporary cross-cultural techniques and
teachings.



Our Philosophy

To support the Ancient Rituals of bathing and sweating, diet and exercise for cleansing and
purification; acknowledge Humans as Four-fold Beings; Physical, Emotional, Mental, Spiritual,
and the Body as the Temple of the Soul, Spirit or Life Force.

OUR VISION

To facilitate individual growth and development by the practice of spiritual expression in all daily
Activities of life; to teach natural healing techniques that enhance the quality of life for ourselves

and our human family; to promote self-healing and being in service to others and our planet
Mother Earth. To educate for knowledge and mastery in the practice of massage therapy and
holistic health education; to promote Shamanism and Earth healing ways according to Native
American and Cross-cultural wisdom and philosophy.

Overview

Our Massage Therapist programs have been developed for the benefit of those students who
have a desire to learn and become competent in the practice of Therapeutic Massage from a
Holistic perspective and are designed to aid students in their own creative healing process and
potential. Students are encouraged to open intuitively to unique and highly personalized styles
of massage. While classes cover Theory and History of Massage, Basic Anatomy, Physiology,
Kinesiology, Pathology, as well as demonstration and practice of the Basic Principles and
Techniques of Massage, there is major emphasis in Hands on Experience.

The subtleties of energies are also explored and students learn to “read” and cleanse the
energy field surrounding the body. Ancient Native American, Swedish/Esalen and Oriental
Techniques in breath work and energy transfer are also used to open healing channels.
Advanced programs are offered to enhance Massage and counseling skills.

The objectives of students who have taken our programs over the years are many and varied.
Many of the students wish to simply become more knowledgeable in the art of Massage for
personal enjoyment and benefit, while others are interested in furthering their own education.
Many students are interested in pursuing a professional level of expertise, in order to become
self-employed. Graduates of our programs are able to work in the health field in such settings
as private clinic practice, medical and non-medical clinics, spas, healing centers, chiropractor’s
offices, in the ministry and in teaching.



Operating Dates & Hours

Office/School Hours

Loving Hands Office is open

Monday through Friday from 11:00 am to 7:00pm,

Saturday, 10:00am until 5:00pm & Sunday 1:00pm until 5:00pm

We are closed in observance of holidays.

Classes are held in the evenings 5:30 pm to 9:30 pm with occasional make-up days on
Sundays. **Spring 2017 only- the BHMT course will be held during the day

Instructional Hours
Classes are scheduled on the basis of enroliment. Students will be advised of probable starting

dates by the Instructor. Important scheduling information, operating hours, holidays, vacations,
class schedules and revisions of them, will be announced to students in advance.

Course Fees — SEE PAGE 2 of this catalog
Please contact the office for fliers or check out our website for up to date fees.




Loving Hands Instructors

Dr. Rosalind Skyhawk Ojala, D.D., CMT # 2653 (11/12/1945-03/17/2015)

Skyhawk was the Founder, Administrative Director and State Authorized Instructor for the
school. She was an Interdenominational Minister and Sacred Pipe Carrier of Native American
and European Ancestry and Principal Chief of the Pan American Indian Association Thunderbird
Clan of Redwood River Lodge.

Skyhawk, was a Certified and licensed Massage Therapist since 1974 and CA-CMT (2009), had
taught and facilitated classes in the Advanced Healing Arts and Holistic Health Education since
1969. She held a California StateTeaching Credential in Massage Therapy since 1982.

In 1976, she helped open and was Head Supervisor of the massage therapy staff, and a
physical therapy aide at the Physical Therapy Center in Mill Valley, California, where she
worked in association with Donald Stutzman, RPT. Skyhawk also worked as a physical therapy
aide at Rafael Convalescent Hospital in San Rafael, California, from 1976 through 1979.

Skyhawk was a Professional member of ABMP, Associated Bodywork and Massage
Professionals, the International Clergy Association, Lifetime Member of the Pan American
Indian Association, Four Worlds Development Network and the Pipestone Indian Shrine
Association.




Ramona Ojala, CMT #27825- OWNER and Administrative Director

Ramona is Skyhawk’s daughter and a Humboldt County Native. She became certified in
Swedish Massage in 1999, Deep Tissue in 2012, and has been an Instructor of Therapeutic
Massage since 2012. She has her Master’s degree in Kinesiology/Sport Psychology from
CSU Long Beach and enjoys coaching kids sports in her free time.

Jewel McGuiness, CMT#55856, AHG

LY TN

Instructor of Thapeutic Massage & Herbal Medicine since 2003.

Jewel is a native of Humboldt County and has always had a passion for people, plants and
healing. She graduated from Loving Hands in 2002, is a CA - CMT, a professional member of



Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals, holds certificates in clinical Herbalism, a
member of AHG, and is a registered Flower Essence practitioner.

Jewel has a private massage practice and small organic farm based out of ElIk River, Eureka.

She is also a member of the Pan American Indian Association Thunderbird Clan of Redwood
River Lodge.

Jack Collins, CMT # 52668

Instructor of Therapeutic Massage since 2009, specializing in Anatomy Trains, Myofascial
Release, Trigger Point Therapy, and Neuromuscular Therapy.

Jack has been interested in healthcare since high school and started working in medical
settings in 1992. He moved to Humboldt County in 2000 and gained valuable on the job training
at local Physical Therapy offices through 2006.

Jack started a private practice as a specialist in trigger point and tissue release therapy in 2007.
He will be teaching beginning Myofascial Release | & II, Advanced Trigger Point Therapy and
Med Rehab. Jack believes healthy people create healthy communities and a healthy world.

COURSES:

BASIC HOLISTIC MASSAGE THERAPY (BHMT)

Skyhawk’s Classic Style Swedish Massage

Application Fee: $250. (Non-refundable) Current Fee Schedule enclosed
Pre-requisite: personal interview and High School diploma or equivalent.

168 hour program - Classes held at 739 12" Street, Fortuna, CA 95540
10.5 week program offered twice a year




168 contact hours

This basic Massage Practitioner Program will cover basic principles of Massage Practice
techniques, Anatomy, Physiology, Kinesiology, Pathology for the Massage Therapist, Wellness
Education, Business Practices and Procedures and Professional and Legal Ethics for the
Massage Professional.

Required text for this course is “The Theory and Practice of Therapeutic Massage” by Mark

Beck and the accompanying “Student Workbook.” One (1) gallon of aloe-comfrey lotion and
dispenser pump are included in the materials fee. Sheets, hand towels, blankets, and other
materials will need to be supplied by the student.

Course Content by Subject Clock Hours

Massage Practice 58
Anatomy, Physiology,

& Kinesiology 60
Health, Safety, Hygiene,
Contraindications & Pathology 30
Business Practices & Ethics 20

FULL HOLISTIC MASSAGE THERAPY PORGRAM (FHMT)

Application Fee: $250. (Non-refundable) Current Fee Schedule Enclosed
*BHMT may be transferred into this program
For Massage Therapist status, the student must complete a minimum of 500 hours.

510 hour program - Classes held at 739 12" Street, Fortuna, CA 95540
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510 contact hours

Classes will consist of Advanced Massage practices, Alternative Health Care practices,
advanced Anatomy, Physiology, Kinesiology, Pathology, Muscle Energy Techniques, Passive
Positioning Techniques, Stress Therapy and Relaxation Massage. These courses provide the
student with basic and advanced tools to utilize in a professional practice or simply to share with
friends and family members.

Required text for this course is “The Theory and Practice of Therapeutic Massage” by Mark
Beck, and the accompanying “Student Workbook,” along with individual handbooks and
handouts. Students must supply their own materials and purchase required textbooks for each
class.

Our full 510 hour program consists of a series of seven classes/electives:

Basic Swedish 168 hours = 1 eleven week class
Deep Tissue Massage 120 hours = 1 eight week class
Acupressure Massage 72 hours = 1 five week class
Lymphatic Compression Massage 56 hours = 1 four week class
Reflexology 16 hours = 1 one week class
Trigger Point Therapy 72 hours = 1 three week class
On-Site Chair Massage 6 hours = 1 oneday class

Classes are held Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday nights, 5:30pm to 9:30pm with
the exception of Chair Massage on Saturdays from 10:00am to 4:30pm. Each course is offered
annually. Check with instructor for details

Basic Swedish
168 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours

Massage Practice 58
Anatomy, Physiology,

& Kinesiology 60
Health, Safety, Hygiene,
Contraindications & Pathology 30
Business Practices & Ethics 20

Deep Tissue Massage
120 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours

Massage Practice 90
Anatomy & Physiology 20
Health, Contraindications,

& Pathology 10

Learn advanced techniques that are directed toward the deeper tissue structures of the muscle
and fascia.

Acupressure Massage
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72 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours

Massage Practice 44
Anatomy & Physiology 20
Health, Contraindications

& Pathology 4
Business & Ethics 4

Learn Oriental methods of stimulating Acu-points on the body to regulate Chi or life force.

Lymphatic Compression Massage
56 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours

Massage Practice 32
Anatomy & Physiology 14
Health, Contraindications

& Pathology 10

Learn advanced skills to strengthen the body’s own immune system through the use of systemic
compression movements originated by Emil Vodder.

Anatomy of the superficial lymphatic circulasion of the chest.

Reflexology
16 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours

Massage Practice 12
Anatomy & Physiology 2
Health, Contraindications

& Pathology 2

Learn the art and science of Zone Therapy or foot massage based on the idea that stimulation
of specific points on the feet affects other areas and organs of the body.

Trigger Point Therapy

72 contact hours

Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 57
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Anatomy & Physiology 10
Health, Contraindications
& Pathology 5

Learn advanced techniques in Trigger Point Compression including passive stretching,
corrective exercises and deep tissue sculpting and stripping techniques.

On-Site Chair Massage

6 contact hours

Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 4
History & Theory 2

Learn concepts and techniques for professional on-site work, introduced by David Palmer in
1982. This is ideal for working in offices, fairs, shopping malls and other public places as an
introduction and alternative to table massage.

UNIVERSAL CONCEPTS OF HEALTH AND HOLISM

Application Fee: $100. (Non-refundable) current fee schedule enclosed

Prerequisites: none

140 hours = two week intensive

Classes held at 739 12" Street, Fortuna, CA 95540 and **private address, Carlotta, CA 95528
**private residential address, property is occupied, do not disturb- address given to students
who are enrolled in the program, signed an enrollment agreement, and have paid fees.
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This course focuses on personal growth and development and interpersonal relationship skills.
A two week intensive presentation of universal concepts and teachings, handed down through
the ages in native societies throughout North and South America. Understanding concepts
concerning the nature, purpose and possibilities of human existence, by using the Ancient
Wheel of Life as a Mirror, which reflects not only what a person is but also what they might
become through the development of their potentialities.

This class is a camping experience on four acres of private land in the peace and tranquility of
the Redwoods of Northern California in the Van Dusen (Walaki) River Valley. Students must
bring their own camping equipment and food. A map of directions and detailed list of what to
bring will be provided upon registration.

Included in these teachings will be the Sacred Pipe Ceremony, Sweat Lodge ceremony,
hydrotherapy, along with cross-cultural healing techniques including drumming, singing, dancing
and Ancient Shamanic techniques for personal empowerment. Other activities will include
massage, hiking, swimming, organic gardening and herbology.

This course will provide students with an opportunity for self-examination and personal growth
through experiencing a holistic and culturally relevant model of healing modalities. Also the
student will learn culturally relevant knowledge with an opportunity to integrate specific
knowledge through experiential learning, generating one’s spirit for individual balance.

And to promote understanding of the importance of considering cultural differences when
massaging, counseling and interacting with human beings of diverse cultural backgrounds,
increasing sensitivity and clinical skills in working with clients of differing backgrounds.

Required text and materials for this course are “The Sacred Tree, Reflections of Native
American Spirituality” by 32 distinguished Native American Elders, published by Lotus Light
Publications. And “Mirrors of Reflection, a Ritual Guidebook” by Dr. Rosalind Skyhawk
Ojala and two DVD'’s: “The Teachings of Skyhawk and Songs of Redwood River Lodge.”

Universal Concepts of Health & Holism

140 hours

Course Content by Subject  Clock Hours
Experiential Techniques 60
History & Theory 40
Application of Concepts 40

TEACHER TRAINING CERTIFICATE COURSE

Application Fee: $100. (Non-refundable) current fee schedule enclosed

Prerequisites: FHMT, and Universal Concepts of Health & Holism or equivalent of three years’
experience in the Massage Profession

336 hours ** Classes held at 739 12™ Street, Fortuna, CA, 95540
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This course will provide Massage Therapists with an opportunity to develop on the job teaching
skills in their chosen profession in order to be eligible to teach massage at any Private
Postsecondary school. Students will be required to maintain a full participation internship in the
beginning 168 hour program under the supervision of a qualified instructor and teach one
beginning 168 hour program on their own.

Classes will be offered over a 10.5 week period, four hours per session, 3 to 4 days or evenings
per week, twice a year, in conjunction with the Basic Holistic Massage Therapy Program.

Teacher Training Certificate Course

336 hours

Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice Lab 180
Teaching Skills &

Student Assessment 220

HOLISTIC HEALTH EDUCATOR

Application Fee: $100 (Non-refundable) Current fee schedule enclosed

Prerequisites: HMT, AHMT, Universal Concepts, Teacher Training.

(Prerequisites are not required for apprenticeships only)

140 hours

Classes held at 739 12" Street, Fortuna, CA 95540 and **private address, Carlotta, CA 95528
**private residential address, property is occupied, do not disturb- address given to students
who are enrolled in the program, signed an enrollment agreement, and have paid fees.

An opportunity to learn advanced organizational and counseling skills in Holistic Health
Education, along with ritual and magic for those who are interested in advancing their technical
abilities in the Advanced Healing Arts.

A two week intensive presentation of Advanced Universal Concepts and teachings handed
down through Native Societies throughout North and South America. Included in these
teachings will be a personal Vision Quest Ceremony, Sweat Lodge and Sacred Pipe Ceremony,
hydrotherapy, along with an opportunity to lead others in cross-cultural healing techniques for
personal empowerment. Others activities will include hiking, swimming, organic gardening, and
herbology.

Holistic Health Educator

140 hours

Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Advance Orientation &

Counseling Skills 30
Advance Energy Techniques 80
Teaching Skills &

Student Assessment 30

This course will be a two week camping experience on private land in the Redwoods of
Northern California. Students must bring their own food and camping gear. A map of directions
and detailed list of things to bring will be included at time of registration.
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ADMISSION AND ENROLLMENT POLICIES

Admission Requirements to Loving Hands Institute Massage Therapy programs include:
Minimum of 18 years of age.

High School diploma or equivalent.

Personal evaluation interview with the instructor.

Good Moral Character

Ability to read, write and speak English.

No award of credit will be given for prior experiential learning

oukrwnrE

Enroliment in these programs should be achieved prior to the first class session by a personal
interview and submitting an application to the Administrator or Instructor. Enrollment will be on
a first come-first- served basis but is at the discretion of the administrative director.

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an
enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet,
which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENT

Students must be able to speak, read, and write in English language at a high school graduate
level or equivalent and provide a diploma, college transcripts, or equivalent. Loving Hands
Institute does not accept students from other countries, does not provide visa services, and
does not vouch for student status. Loving Hands Institute does not provide English as a second
language instruction.

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED
AT OUR INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at Loving Hands Institute is at the complete discretion of
an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate(s) you earn in
Basic Holistic Massage Therapy, Full Holistic Massage Therapy, or Teacher Training are also at
the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the certificate(s)
that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer,
you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason
you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals.
This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending
Loving Hands Institute to determine if your certificate will transfer.”

ATTENDANCE POLICIES
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Individual classes must be finished within a period of one year. Massage Therapist program
must be accomplished within a period of three to five years. Students must participate in all
written exams and practicum, however, the student is cautioned that the Refund Policy is
affected whether or not the student attends classes as scheduled. Students are required to
arrive for class on time and complete a minimum of 100% in-class course work. (See below
break down of hours). Students missing class hours, in excess of the below breakdown, must
make-up class hours outside of class for which they will be charged additional tuition of $20 per
hour. There is an administrative fee of $25 for scheduling make-up exams and arrangements
must be made with the instructor. Students enrolled in Massage programs must complete all
class practicum hours to receive a certificate of completion. If the student does not come to
class prepared (example: missing homework or not bringing massage sheets) then the student
will be docked hours or asked to leave class and make up hours later. This is up to the
discretion of the instructor.

HMT: 16 hours built in- student can only miss 4 classes. Anything over that costs $20/hr.
Reflexology: 0 hours built in- student cannot miss class. Anything over that costs $20/hr.
Acupressure: 4 hours built in- student can only miss 1 class. Anything over that costs $20/hr.
Deep Tissue: 8 hours built in- student can only miss 2 classes. Anything over that costs $20/hr.
Lymph: 4 hours built in- student can only miss 1 class. Anything over that costs $20/hr.

Chair: This is a one day course- no absences, ho make-up hours.

Trigger Point: 4 hours built in- student can only miss 1 class. Anything over that costs $20/hr.

LEAVE-OF-ABSENCE POLICY

A Student may request a leave-of-absence due to personal illness or death in the family, upon
written naotice to the school and will have one year to complete the course of instruction without
losing any credit. Students, having been absent, are responsible for the study materials
covered during the session(s) missed. If the student has only a portion of the required hours at
the end of one year, no credit will be granted, nor will any previous exam scores be accepted.

GRADING SYSTEM

This school uses a Progress Grading system. Each student will be expected to follow along
with the progress of the course by completing written materials, attending lectures and
practicing the application of the massage techniques as they are presented. All students in the
program shall be monitored by the instructor and weekly quizzes and assignments shall be a
part of this process.

Grading shall consist of pass/fail in all advanced programs and the following scale on the written
and practical final exams for the Practitioner Program.

1. Excellent 93-100%
2. Above Average 85-92%
3. Average 78-84%
4. Below Average 70-77%
5. Unsatisfactory 69- or below
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Students shall be expected to maintain a minimum academic grade average of 70-77% on all
written materials. Failed exams may be retaken at the discretion of the instructor.

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS

All students are required to take a Final Exam, both written and practical for the 168 hour
program, with a passing grade of at least 70% for completion requirements of the course. All
course fees must be paid before a certificate will be issued. Upon completion of the program, a
certificate for the completed program will be awarded to students fulfilling all the necessary
requirements.

ACCEPTANCE OF CREDIT EARNED AT OTHER INSTITUTIONS

Acceptance of credit from other institutions is at the discretion of the Administrative
Director and will only include credits from other in-State or out-of-State Licensed schools
Or Approved Continuing Education Providers.

California Education Code Regulation does not recognize or permit courses of massage
involving correspondence (through-the-mail) instruction.

We have not entered into any articulation or transfer agreements with any other
institutions.

DISMISSAL AND SUSPENSION POLICIES

Dismissal or suspension from the programs may be enforced for any of the following reasons
and only after a thorough review by the instructor and/or administrator:

1. Unsatisfactory Attendance (absence without prior approval from the instructor)

2. Failure to uphold high ethical and moral standards as presented in the curriculum.

3. Safety hazard to others.

4. Possession, under the influence or use of alcohol or drugs during class time.

5

6

. Non-payment of fees without prior approval.
. Any other inappropriate conduct or action, at the discretion of the instructor and/or

administrator, including not completing homework assignments.

RECORDS RETENTION
Enrollees are advised that State Law requires our Institution to maintain school and student

records indefinitely, beginning February 2010. Records shall be maintained at the Fortuna
Branch Office, 739 12th Street, Fortuna, CA. 95540

RETURNING STUDENTS

Students wishing to return to an additional program to complete their hours, will be considered
on an individual basis, and will be charged on a pro-rata basis determined by the number of
hours they are required to complete. Graduates of our program are usually welcome to drop in
anytime, provided they check with one of the instructors first.

REFUND PROVISIONS (buyer’s right to cancel)
The following refund policies and provisions are stated in this catalog, as well as in this school’s
Student Enrollment Agreement and Notice of Cancellation Form.
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STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL

The student has a right to cancel the Enrollment Agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid
through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enroliment, whichever is
later. The school shall, for all students, without penalty or obligation, refund 100 percent of the
amount paid for school charges, less a reasonable application / deposit fee not to exceed $250
if notice is made on the first day of instruction or the seventh day after enroliment, whichever is
later.

Cancellation shall occur by giving written notice by mail, hand delivery or telegram to
Ramona Ojala, Administrative Director 739 12th Street, Fortuna CA 95540. Cancellation
forms will be issued to prospective students at the time of application for enrollment. Any
refunds due will be made by the school within 45 days.

MATERIALS/EQUIPMENT: Once purchased, books are refundable IE returned un-opened or
in like-new condition, at the discretion of the administrative director. This school DOES NOT
ACCEPT MATERIAL RETURNS and makes no refund for materials.

REFUNDS/WITHDRAWAL

A student may withdraw from the course of instruction at any time. If you withdraw after the
period allowed for cancellation of this agreement, the school will remit a pro rata refund less the
application/deposit fee not to exceed $250, within 45 days following student withdrawal.

No refund shall be given to students who have completed 60% or more of the course of
instruction. For example, if the student completes only 30 hours on a 90 hour course and paid

$300.00 tuition, the student would receive a refund of $200.00.

$300.00 X 60 clock hours of instruction = $200.00
amount paid paid for but not received refund
for instruction 90 clock hours of instruction amount

for which the student has paid

If the student has received federal student financial aid funds. The student is entitled to a refund
of moneys not paid from federal student financial aid programs.

If the school cancels or discontinues a course or educational program, the school will make a
full refund of all the charges. Refunds will be paid within 45 days of cancellation or
withdrawal.

You are obligated to pay only for educational services rendered. The refund shall be the
amount you paid for instruction multiplied by fraction, the numerator of which is the number of
hours of instruction which you have not received but for which you have paid and the
denominator of which is the total number of hours of instruction for which you have paid. If the
amount you have paid is more than the amount that you owe for the time you attended, then a
refund will be made within 45 days of withdrawal. If the amount you owe is more than the
amount that you have already paid, then you will have to make arrangements to pay it.
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Cancellation Rights and Responsibilities: In the event that the student does not register for the period
of attendance or withdraws therefrom at any time prior to completion of the course, or otherwise fails to
complete the period of enroliment, the following refund policies shall apply:

The school refund policy for students who have completed 60% or less of the course of
instruction shall be a pro rata refund. Except as provided in paragraph (1), the refund
shall be the amount the student has paid for instruction multiplied by a fraction, the
numerator of which is the number of hours of instruction which the student has not
received but for which the student has paid and the denominator of which is the total
number of hours of instruction for which the student has paid.

1.The student has a right to cancel enrollment, less a reasonable registration fee
of two hundred fifty Dollars ($250), through attendance at the first class
session or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later, by giving
written notice by mail, hand delivery, telegram, or email to: Ramona Ojala,
Administrative Director, 739 12" Street, Fortuna, CA 95540
lovinghandsinstitute@gmail.com

NOTICE OF STUDENTS RIGHTS

1. You may cancel your contract with the school without any penalty or obligations at the first
class session or seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later, as described in the Notice of
Cancellation Form that will be given to you upon application for this course of instruction. Read
the Notice of Cancellation form for an explanation of your cancellation rights and
responsibilities. If you have lost this form, ask the school for a sample copy.

2. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time and
you have a right to receive a refund for the part of the course not taken. Your refund rights are
described in the contract. If you have lost your contract, ask the school for a description of the
refund policy.

3. If the school closes before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund by the institution.
Should the school fail to follow through with its obligations, the student may contact the Bureau
for Private Post-Secondary Education and file a claim with the Student Tuition Recovery Fund
(see page 21 for full information on the Student Tuition Recovery Fund).

Approved are the following courses:

Basic Holistic Massage Therapy: 168 hours

Full Holistic Massage Therapy: 510 hours

Universal Concepts of Health and Holism: 140 hours
Teacher Training Certificate Course: 336 hours
Holistic Health Educator: 140 hours

Instruction is in residence with facility occupancy levels accommodating 8-10 students at any
one time.
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California statute requires that a student, who successfully completes a course of study be
awarded an appropriate diploma or certificate verifying that fact.

Prospective enrollees are encouraged to visit the physical facilities of the school and discuss
personal educational and occupational plans with school personnel prior to enrolling or signing
enroliment agreements. This school does not currently have available sponsored programs,
government or otherwise, to provide grants or to pay for portions of tuition and fees.

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing
a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s internet website www.bppe.ca.gov .”

STUDENT COMPLAINT PROCEDURES
Any student who has complaints, questions or problems which they cannot work out with the

instructor, should write or call the Administrative Director: Ramona Ojala, 739 12th Street,
Fortuna, CA 95540, (707)725-9627. If there is an issue with the Administrative Director please
contact Lead Instructor: Jack Collins , 739 12th Street, Fortuna, CA 95540, (707)725-9627

A student may lodge a complaint by communicating orally or in writing to any instructor or
administrator. The recipient of the complaint shall transmit it as soon as possible to the
Administrative Director, Ramona Ojala and shall attempt to resolve complaints related to that
person’s duties. If a student orally delivers the complaint and the complaint is not resolved either
within a reasonable period or before the student again complains about the same matter, the
school shall advise the student that a complaint must be submitted in writing and shall provide
the student with a written summary of the school’s complaint procedure.

If a student complains in writing, the school shall, within 10 days of receiving the complaint,
provide the student with a written response including a summary of the school’s investigation
and disposition of it. If the complaint or relief requested by the student is rejected, the reasons
for the rejection shall be given to the student in writing.

“Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been
satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private
Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833,
www.bppe.ca.gov, toll- free telephone number (888)370-7589 or by fax (916)263-1897”

If the student obtains aloan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the
responsibility to repay the full amount plus interest less the amount of any refund. If the
student has received any federal financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of
the money’s not paid from federal student financial aid programs.

Loving Hands (1) does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy (2) is not operating as a
debtor in possession; (3) has not filed a petition within the five preceding years, or (4)
has not had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that
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resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code. (11
U.S.C. Sec. 1101 et seq.),

STUDENT SERVICES OFFERED:

This school offers personal counseling, assessments, and tutoring (as well as make-up tests) at
the Administrative rate of $25 per hour. THIS SCHOOL OFFERS NO HOUSING, PLACEMENT
ASSISTANCE OR FINANCIAL AID. We do not offer any placement assistance; however, we
do hire many of our own Graduates as well as post job notices from Employers, both in and out
of State who are seeking people to work in the field of Massage Therapy. This school does not
have any dormitory facilities under its control; Motels in the area range from $49.95 to
$89.95 per night; a KOA camp ground rate is $30 per night Our School provides no
assistance to find housing for students. This institution does not participate in any
federal or state financial aid programs.

DESCRIPTION OF FACILITIES:

Fortuna Main Branch: Our Fortuna office, 1500 square feet and centrally located in downtown
Fortuna, is the Main Branch Campus and Administrative Office, ADA APPROVED, with two
individual healing rooms, reception area and waiting room with refrigerator, microwave oven,
craft and massage supply area; large classroom area with student storage area for school
supplies; free wireless internet access to state of the Art Massage therapy Libraries and

The latest Massage Therapy Magazines. Students have access to our small library of 100
books on various aspects of Massage as well as website information to access professional
Massage websites. Our Fortuna City Library is located 1 block from our Main Campus. We also
have an ADA bathroom, shower and Finnish Sauna and changing room. Free public parking is
located on the street.

The Carlotta Satellite Facility: is located just 13 miles from the Main Branch on 4 acres of
private land in the Redwoods of the Van Dusen River Valley, 13 miles east of Fortuna. Students
will have access to the bathroom in the Guest cottage, the outdoor shower, hot tub and
ceremonial sweat lodge at no additional cost. Registration is limited to a maximum of 20
students and all students must provide their own food and camping equipment. Detailed map of
things to bring and directions will be given upon registration. Students must supply their own
equipment and materials

This school, the facilities it occupies and the equipment it utilizes, fully comply with any and all
Federal, State and Local Ordinances and regulations including those requirements as to Fire
Safety, Building Safety and Health.

STATE LICENSURE- VOLUNTARY MASSAGE THERAPY CERTIFICATION

Loving Hands does not offer licensure and is not an accredited degree granting institution.
Loving Hands offers non-degree courses: certificates in Basic Holistic Massage Therapy, Full
Holistic Massage Therapy. After completing 500 hours of education within these programs, we
will prepare the student to take the MBLEX exam with the California Massage Therapy Council,
if the student wishes to obtain “Certified Massage Therapist” CMT status. Some municipalities in
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California require CMT status to obtain work, some do not. It is up to the student to research the
area they would like to work if it is outside of Humboldt County.
Assembly Bill AB 1147 of 2014, Author: BONILLA: www.legislature.ca.gov

As of October 2016 Loving Hands Institute of Healing Arts is listed on the California Massage
Therapy Council (CAMTC) website as “Application Pending” for approval. The pending status
will not guarantee the student’s hours will qualify to take the MBLEX exam for certification. Until
such time Loving Hands Institute has full approval from CAMTC, the school needs to notify the
students of the pending status and disclose to the student that should the school be denied
approval from CAMTC the hours they acquire from the school will not qualify them to take the
test and become certified.

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND

"You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if
all of the following applies to you:

1. You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a
residency program, and prepay all of part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student
loans, or personal loans, and

2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government
program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF
assessment if either of the following applies:

1. You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or

2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or
other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party."

"The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate
economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or
are enrolled in a residency program attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for
Private Postsecondary Education.

You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency
program, prepaid tuition, paid STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of
any of the following:

1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed.

2. The school's failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for
license fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was
collected within 180 days before the closure of the school.

3. The school's failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student
loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to
closure in excess of tuition and other costs.

4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act or the Division within 30-days before the
school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30-days prior to closure, the period
determined by the Bureau.

5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the
institution for a violation of the Act."
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However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer
identification number.

All information in the contents of this school catalog is current and correct, and certified as true
by the school official’s signature below:

School Director/Instructor

Ramona R. Ojala

DIRECTIONS TO MAIN CAMPUS:

From Highway 101 South bound, take the Fortuna Main Street Exit to 12th Street and turn left.
Our school is located on the right next door to Redwood Cafe, just 17 miles South of Eureka,
California.

From Highway 101 North bound, take the 12th Street Exit to Main Street. Go through the stop
light on 12th Street, to 739 12th Street, just ¥2 block past the stop light.

Public Parking is located on the street
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Loving Hands Institute of Healing Arts
739 12th Street

Fortuna, CA 95540

8707)725-9627
www.lovinghandsinstitute.com

E-mail: lovinghandsinstitute@gmail.com
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