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Approval Disclosure Statement 

Thanh Le College, School of Cosmetology, is approved by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education pursuant to California 

Education Code Section 94915.  Approval by the Bureau means that the institution and its operation complies with the minimum 

standards established under the law for occupational instruction by private postsecondary educational institutions, and does not imply 

any endorsement or recommendation by the State or by the Bureau. Institutional approval must be re-approved every three years and 

is subject to continued review.  Cosmetology, Manicuring, Cosmetician and Cosmetology Instructor Training programs are currently 

approved by BPPE.   

Institution’s approval to operate as a private postsecondary institution in the state of California is based on provisions of the CPPEA of 

2009 (California Education Code, Title III, Division 10, Part 59, Chapter 8), which is effective January 1, 2010.   

School does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in possession, nor filed a petition within the 

preceding five years.  School has not had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in 

reorganization under Chapter 11 of the US Bankruptcy Code  (11 USC U.SC section 1101 et seq.) 

 “Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed 

to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, www.bppe.ca.gov, 

toll-free (888) 370-7589.” 

The State of California’s Department of Consumer Affairs – Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) is responsible for 

protecting and educating consumers who seek barbering and cosmetology.  The BBC also regulates the individuals who provide these 

services and the salons in which the services are performed.  Upon passing the Board’s Barbering and Cosmetology Examination for 

Licensure, graduates of Thanh Le College will be issued their licenses and become privileged to work in their field in the State of 

California.  If you have further questions or concerns, BBC may be contacted at: 

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 

PO Box 9442264,  

Sacramento, CA 94244-2260 

(800) 952-5210 

Thanh Le College takes great pride in offering courses that have been accredited by NACCAS, the National Accrediting 

Commission of Career Arts & Sciences.  NACCAS is recognized by the United States Department of Education as a national 

accrediting agency for postsecondary schools and programs of cosmetology arts and sciences. These courses currently include 

Cosmetology, Cosmetician and Cosmetology Instructor Training and Manicuring.  If you have further questions or concerns, 

NACCAS may be contacted at: 

NACCAS 

3015 Colvin St,  

Alexandria, VA 22314 

(703) 600-7600 

Thanh Le College is also recognized by the United States Department of Education (USDE) as an eligible institution to participate 

in the Federal PELL Grant Program and the Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant program.  

Course name CIP Credits Instr. Weeks Award 

Cosmetology* 12.0401 1600 hrs 54-80 weeks Certificate 

Cosmetician* 12.0408 600 hrs  20-30 weeks Certificate 

Cosmetology Instructor Trainee* 12.0413 600 hrs  20-30 weeks Certificate 

Manicuring 12.0410 400 hrs 14-20 weeks Certificate 

 

* This course is eligible to participate in the USDE Title IV programs 

 

 

The catalog is updated annually or when needed. 
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Mission and Educational Objectives 

Thanh Le College is determined to always offer a strong curriculum in the field of cosmetology and to maintain that curriculum with 

the most modern techniques and the freshest styles.  We at Thanh Le College feel that education is of pinnacle importance.  Our 

faculty and staff are selected based on their abilities as well as their desires to help the students to achieve their educational goals.  The 

administrators and instructors are encouraged to work closely with the students and attempt to tailor the educational experience to the 

individuals’ needs.  The College strives to ensure that each and every course that it offers is structured such that its graduates will have 

gained the necessary skills and knowledge to be competent, confident and professional as they embark onto their new employment in 

the new cosmetology industry. 

Administrative Business & School Hours 

The school administrative offices are open for business Tuesday through Friday 9:00 am to 4:00 pm and Saturday 9:00 am to 2:00 pm.  

For issues related to admissions, academics, financial aid, and job placement, feel free to visit our office during these business hours 

or to make an appointment, please call (714) 740-2755. 

Admissions Policies 

 

Note: Thanh Le College does NOT actively recruit students from other institutions.  The school will admit an applicant who into a 

course leading to State Licensure when one of the following set of criteria has been satisfied: 

Financial Aid Students 

cosmetology & cosmetician  

 

Non-Financial Aid Students 

cosmetology, cosmetician,  & manicuring 

Financial Aid Students & Non FinancialAid 

cosmetology instructor students 

1. must be 17 years of age or older 1. must be 17 years of age or older 1. must possess a current Cosmetology 

License 

2. provide valid identification 2. provide valid identification 2. provide valid identification 

3. provide a social security card 3. provide a social security card 3. provide a social security card 

4. provide legal residency 4.Does not applied 4. provide legal residency 

5. provide a copy of High School Diploma, 

GED or its equivalent  

5. provide a copy of High School 

Diploma, GED or its equivalent 

5.provide a copy of High School Diploma, 

GED, or its equivalent 

6. pass the school’s admission test with a 

score of 70% or higher and/or    

6. pass the school’s admission test with a 

score of 70% or higher and 

6. pass the admission test with a score of 

70% or higher and/or  

 

Currently Thanh Le College uses the Milady Cosmetology Aptitude Test to determine an applicant’s ability to be trained in the 

courses being offered.  The test is administered by our college and the admissions personnel will aid applicants in arranging to take the 

test.  This test is only given in English and to applicants who posses a U.S high School Diploma or its equivalent.  

Applicants without a valid United States Social Security Number, but meet all other requirements, will be permitted to enroll.  All 

applicants will be required to certify that they understand the following: 

 The state of California, and most other states, require that applicants have a valid U.S. Social Security Number prior to 

enrolling in a course of study in any of the cosmetology fields; 

 By law, you will not be eligible to apply to take any of the state’s examinations for licensure in any of the cosmetology 

fields;  

 Therefore, the education that you will receive will be for your personal benefit only and may not be represented as 

meeting the eligibility requirements for state licensure; 

 You will NOT be eligible for Federal Student Aid; 
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 If, at any time following enrollment in a course of study, you do obtain a U.S. Social Security Number and desire to 

pursue state licensure in a cosmetology field, you will need to re-enroll using your newly-obtained Social Security 

Number 

“As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement.  You are also 

encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.” 

Please note:  Thanh Le College does not provide an English-as-a-Second-Language course. Instruction is only taught in the English 

language. Visa services are not provided.  

As of July 1, 2012, Thanh Le College will not be accepting ability-to-benefit students.  All prospective students who wish to apply for 

federal aid must obtain a U.S high School Diploma or its equivalent.   

It is the institutional policy that prior to enrollment (signing an enrollment agreement) the institution provides and encourages 

prospective students to review the institutional catalog, the Institutional Performance Fact Sheet and other disclosures posted at the 

institution’s website at www.thanhlecollege.com.  These documents will assist the student to make a more educated selection of the 

programs of study offered by this institution.  The institutional catalog and disclosures are updated annually, the dates covered by the 

documents are stated on the cover page. 

Notice of Student Rights 

1. You may cancel your contract for school, without any penalty or obligation, on or before, the tenth business day following 

your first class session as described in the Notice of Cancellation form that will be given to you on the first day of class. 

a. Please Read the Notice of Cancellation Form for an explanation of your cancellation rights and responsibilities. 

b. If you have lost your Notice of Cancellation Form, ask one of the school’s faculty members for a sample copy. 

2. Once the cancellation period has passed, you still have a right to discontinue your education at the school at any time and you 

have the right to receive a refund for the portion of the course that has been paid for but not yet taken. Your refund rights are 

described in the contract.  If you have lost your copy of the contract, ask one of the school’s faculty members for a 

description of the refund policy. 

3. If the school closes (goes out of business) prior to your graduation, you may be entitled to a refund.  

4. Persons seeking to resolve problems or present complaints should first contact the supervising instructor. 

5. Requests for further action may be made to the Institution’s Director.  If you have any complaints, questions, or problems, 

which you cannot resolve with the school, write or call: 

 

 “A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 

Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s web site 

www.bppe.ca.gov.” 

 

Attendance Policy 

Full-time students shall be scheduled to attend classes a minimum of 30 clock-hours per week.  Part-time enrollees shall be scheduled 

for a minimum of 20 clock-hours per week.  Excessive absences will be reviewed with individual students as needed. 

 Student who has been absent for 10 consecutive class days shall be dropped from the college.   If a student is absent for 7 consecutive 

class days without notification, the school will attempt to contact the student in order to determine the student’s anticipated date of 

return.   

Calendar & Holidays 

The College will be closed in honor of the following holidays:  New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, 

Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day.  Additional closure dates due to “Special” holidays or other reasons may be declared and will 

be disclosed two weeks in advance.  Students that wish to observe other religious holidays are respected and will be excused.   

 

 

 

http://www.thanhlecollege.com/
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Career Counseling 

 

The College counsels the students individually as often as necessary.  Counseling takes place in monitoring the student progress as 

scheduled for the period of enrollment.  Prospective employers are invited to the school regularly to give demonstrations and discuss 

career goals with the students. This activity supplements the daily counseling carried out by the instructors. 

 

Class Schedules  

Classes are held Tuesday through Friday, from 9:00 a.m. until 4:00 p.m. and Saturdays, from 9:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m.  Theory classes 

will be taught Tuesday through Friday, from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.  As students’ schedules may dictate, additional sessions may be 

arranged.  New classes will begin each Tuesday, or the first available business day of the week.  The College is closed Sundays and 

Mondays. Class sessions are held at 12875 Chapman Ave, Garden grove, CA 92840. 

 

Constitution Day September 17
th   

 

Constitution Day is observed each year on September 17th to commemorate the signing of the Constitution on September 17, 1787.  It 

is also known as Citizenship Day, which “recognize all who, by coming of age or by naturalization, have become citizens.”
 

 

Copyright Infringement 

 

Is the act of exercising, without permission or legal authority, one or more of the exclusive rights granted to the copyright owner under 

section 106 of the Copyright Act (Title 17 of the United States Code) These rights include the right to reproduce or distribute a 

copyrighted work. In the file-sharing context, downloading or uploading substantial parts of a copyrighted work without authority 

constitutes an infringement.   

Penalties for copyright infringement include civil and criminal penalties. In general, anyone found liable for civil copyright 

infringement may be ordered to pay either actual damages or “statutory” damages affixed at not less than $750 and not more than 

$30,000 per work infringed. For “willful” infringement, a court may award up to $150,000 per work infringed. A court can, in its 

discretion, also assess costs and attorneys’ fees. For details, see Title 17, United States Code, Sections 504, 505.  Willful copyright 

infringement can also result in criminal penalties, including imprisonment of up to five years and fines of up to $250,000 per offense. 

For more information, please see the website of the U.S. Copyright Office at www.copyright.gov. 

 

Peer to Peer file sharing:  Students authorized to utilize the institutional electronic equipment for purposes of conducting research, 

practical work, writing essays, doing homework assignments or in any general use of the equipment for course related work, are 

strictly unauthorized to copy or distribute any copyrighted material and any violations will subject the individual violator (staff 

member, non-staff member or student) to civil and criminal liabilities.  The first violation will be punish by removing any authorized 

privileged use of any institutional equipment, if the violation includes the use of individually owned equipment, the individual will not 

be allowed to bring in his/her personal equipment into the school premises.  Second violation the staff member may be terminated or 

the student may be expelled from school.  This decision will be taken by the school administration.  The institution conducts annual 

evaluations of the procedures in place to prevent any violations of copyrighted materials observing the need of the students to have 

access to the institutional network.  The institution will keep a log summarizing violations reported and disciplinary actions taken. 

 

Course Incomplete 

Course incompleteness, repetitions and non-credit remedial courses are not applicable to this institution’s courses of instruction. 

Credit for Class & Practice Hours 

Students are required to record their attendance by maintaining proper time cards.  Students will “Clock IN” when they arrive at 

school, Clock “IN and OUT” when taking their lunch break and “Clock OUT” when leaving for the day.  California limits students to 

a maximum of 8 hours total credit per day.  Students will be allowed up to seven (7) minutes to Clock-IN and receive credit for the 

full quarter (1/4) hour.  Otherwise, the students Clock-IN time will be advanced to the next ¼ hour.  Students will receive credit after 

an instructor has graded each operation or project.  The operations earned are recorded on the student’s time card.  The student and an 

instructor must initial the time card daily.  At the end of the week, a new time card is prepared from the prior week’s card.   Student 

hours and operations, once properly earned by the student, will not be deducted from the student records for any reason.  

http://www.copyright.gov/
http://www.copyright.gov/
http://www.copyright.gov/
http://www.copyright.gov/
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Disclosure and Retention of Student Records (FERPA) 

 

Adult students and parents or guardians of dependent minor students, have the right to inspect, review, and challenge information 

contained in the institution’s student records. However, a staff member must be present during the process to provide clarification 

and/or answers to related questions raised during the review of the student’s file.  Educational records are defined as files , materials, 

and documents that contain information directly related to the student's period of enrollment that are maintained by the institution. 

Thanh Le College will keep these records for three (5) years from the last day of attendance.   After this period, all records are 

destroyed.  The students are not entitled to inspect the financial records of their parents.  Written consent from the student and/or 

parents is required before educational records may be disclosed to any party with the exception of accrediting commission or 

governmental agencies so authorized by law. 

 

Dismissal Policy 

Students who have 10 or more consecutive absences will be dismissed from the college. Failure to return from an approved leave of 

absence is also grounds for dismissal.   Other grounds for dismissal are possession of drugs, weapons, and theft. 

Drug Abuse Prevention Program 

The College strictly enforces a zero tolerance drug and alcohol policy on campus and makes the following information available to its 

students, staff, and instructors.  Any individual associated with (TLC) who is seeking information, counseling, or assistance 

concerning Drug Abuse Prevention may call or visit the following agency:  

 

CRISIS HOT LINE  (714) 834-6900 

THE ROQUE CENTER 9842 w 13
TH

 STREET, GARDEN GROVE (714) 839-0607 

MARIPOSA WOMEN’S CENTER 812 TOWN & COUNTRY, ORANGE (741) 547-4810 

 

Facilities 

Thanh Le College occupies a spacious 5000 square-foot facility located at 12875 Chapman Ave, Garden Grove, California.  The 

school is designed to emulate salon conditions while allowing areas for study and discussion.  We have one facial room, one theory 

classroom, and a spacious clinic floor consisting of 60 hair stations, 12 shampoo bowls, 12 hairdryers and 20 manicuring tables.  

Access and assistance are available to those that employ the use of a mobility aid. 

Financial Aid Students 

For all students receiving Title IV Financial Aid, their cumulative attendance grade must be maintained at 67% or more of the 

Scheduled Attendance (as stated on the Contract). This will ensure that the student will complete the course of study within 150% of 

the period stated in the enrollment agreement (as required by the U.S Department of Education) and continue to receive financial aid.  

If a student is absent for 7 consecutive class days without notification, the school will attempt to contact the student in order to 

determine the student’s anticipated date of return.  After a student has been absent for 10 consecutive days, the student will become 

ineligible for Financial Aid and shall be dropped from Title IV Assistance, the student shall be responsible for all remaining charges. 

Grievance Procedure 

 
In the event that a student has a grievance that cannot be resolved to his/her satisfaction with the student’s immediate instructor, the 

student is to take their grievance to the Institution’s Director.  It is preferred that grievances be presented in writing but the college will 

accept verbal complaints.  However, if after discussing the matter with the school’s Director, the issue remains unresolved, students 

may present their grievance to Thanh Le, Owner.  The school will provide a written response to all grievances within 10 business days.  

For further action (if the matter cannot be resolved at the institution), please contact BPPE.  

“A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 

Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s web site 

www.bppe.ca.gov.” 
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Health and Physical Considerations 

 

All students in the cosmetology, manicuring, cosmetician and cosmetology instructor training field must be in good physical health 

since he/she will be working in direct contact with customers.  This related field of study requires a great deal of standing, walking, 

pushing, bending and stretching for extended periods of time.  A person must consider his/her physical limitations in terms of making 

a career choice that involves extensive physical demands. We promote the acceptance of students with physical limitations or 

disabilities if these students (their parents or physician) believe they can fulfill the training demands. 

 

Housing and Dormitory 

 

Thanh Le College does not offer any student housing.  If you need assistance in finding housing, please contact the school 

administrator.  We will be able to provide referrals to possible housing websites or resources, but Thanh Le College does not take 

responsibility for any housing placement.  Housing and rentals are available in the area near the college, the approximate cost ranges 

from $1200 to $2000 per month based on availability. 

 

Library 

The Library is located in the admissions office and shall be kept locked at all time to prevent theft.  Students may request access to the 

materials at any time during the day.  The Library is made up of a selection of books, videotape, and CDs pertaining to all courses 

taught at the college. 

The books and videos maintained in the Library are considered to be resources materials an intended to complement the Students’ 

standard texts.  Additionally, trade magazines are subscribed to by the school and kept on hand in the library for students and faculty 

to check out and review at their leisure. 

Long Distance Education 

 

Thanh Le College does not offer long distance learning. 

 

Make-up Work 

 

Failed or missed examinations may he made up within the course period by any student. The opportunity to take makeup examinations 

may he requested by the student at any time. Make-up Examinations will also he scheduled by the school at least once per month. 

Grades received on make-up examinations will he averaged with other examinations to obtain the above grade. 

 

Non-Discrimination 

Thanh Le College does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, color, ethnic origin, age or religion in the Education programs, 

admission, instruction, graduation policies and other activities which it operates and is prohibited in such manner by law.  

Orientation 

An orientation will be conducted on or prior to a student’s first day of class.  The student will be given a basic overview of the course.  

The instructor will also discuss the school’s policies, rules and regulations; any of the necessary forms that have not been completed 

may be reviewed and completed at this time.  Students are encouraged to visit the school for at least 2 days, prior to enrolling, to 

observe and “get a taste” of Cosmetology.  This is a career move and should be carefully weighed prior to enrolling. 

Placement 

 

Thanh Le College does not guarantee placement to any student. However, limited job placement assistance is provided to graduates at 

no additional charge.  Upon graduation, the student’s name is recorded in a placement register for the follow-up process.  Results from 

the State Bureau (if applicable) license examination are recorded as passed or failed.  Students that failed the exam are encouraged to 

return to Thanh Le College for assistance and guidance for subsequent attempts to pass the exam.  Placement assistance is providing 

by reviewing the listings of prospective employers seeking employees, their job requirements, salary, and other pertinent information.  

Students are referred to interviews and the results of these interviews are recorded in the placement register. The school may show 

prospective students this register upon request.
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Previous Credits 
Thanh Le College will grant appropriate credit for prior training upon review and verification of its validity under the Cosmetology 

Act and the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Rules and Regulations.  Occasionally, a student’s acceptance into Thanh Le College 

will depend entirely upon the Credit Evaluation conducted by the student’s previous Institution.  It will be the student’s responsibility 

to obtain the credits (Copy of Credit Evaluation) for their previous work.  Below is the break down of maximum credit Thanh Le 

College will transfer from another institution. 

Policy regarding the acceptance of credits earned at other institutions: * 

Program Hours Earned Credit Hours to 

Cosmetology 

Credit hours to 

Cosmetician 

Credit Hours to 

Manicuring 

Cosmetology 1600 hrs NA 560 hrs 320 hrs 

Cosmetician 600 hrs 300 hrs  NA NA 

Manicuring 400 hrs  200 hrs NA NA 

Cosmetology 

Instructor Trainee 

600 hrs 0 0 0 

Cosmetology Based on transcript YES NO NO 

Cosmetician Based on transcript NO YES NO 

Manicuring Based on transcript NO NO NO 

Cosmetology 

Instructor Trainee 

Based on transcript NO NO NO 

 

*Thanh Le College does not accept credits earned at other institutions through challenge exams or achievement tests.   

 

**Thanh Le College does not have an articulation or transfer agreement with any other college or university. 

 

Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) 

This institution expects all students to maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) as established by the institution under the 

guidelines of the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS) and the U.S. Department of Education.  

This policy applies to students enrolled in any course at the institution, regardless of attendance status (part-time or full-time).   Only 

students who maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress are eligible to receive Title IV Financial Aid, HEA programs funds.    SAP 

consists of two assessments: a cumulative quantitative (attendance) and a cumulative qualitative (academic performance).  SAP is 

mentioned during orientation session.   

1. Evaluation Periods 

Each student must be evaluated for SAP by (1) the midpoint of the academic year or (2) the midpoint of the program, 

whichever is shorter.  The evaluation form reflects the overall attendance and academic progress of the student.  Students 

must maintain a minimum attendance grade of 67% and a minimum academic average (calculated from the areas listed below) 

of 70% (C) to maintain satisfactory academic status. 

 Attendance – Total hours earned at each increments or midpoint of the program.  The attendance grade must be no 

lower than 67% (D+). 

 Academic Performance 

(1) Theory Exams – Tests will be administered to evaluate each student’s knowledge of their chosen fields.  The 

average of the test scores must be no lower than 70% (C). 

(2) Practical & Clinical Operations – Every practical and clinical operation will be graded by the instructors based on 

a set of pre-determined criteria.  The average of these grades will become the student’s Practical Grade and must be 

no lower than 70% (C). 

2. Maximum time frame of course completion 
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Students are required to complete the course within one and one half  (1 ½) times or 150% the course length.  Course 

length is defined as that period of time required to complete the course based on the enrollment status.  For example, if a 

course is scheduled to take 80 weeks to complete, it must be completed within 120 weeks.  An approved leave of absence 

will extend the time period by the same number of days of approved absence. 

To complete the course in time, students must maintain a monthly attendance rerecord of 67%. (i.e., must attend for at least 

67% of the time contracted for in the enrollment agreement.).  For example: a part time student enrolled for 20 hrs a week 

must attend at least 13.50 hrs per week on average.  This will allow for completion for the course within the time period 

stated in the preceding paragraph.  

3. Grading System 

Students shall receive grades for their theory, practical and clinical work.  Points and Letter Grades shall be converted to 

percentages based on the scales below. 

 

Practical Operation Grade Percentage Points Theory Grade Percentage 

A 100-90% 10-9 A 100-90% 

B 89-80% 8 B 89-80% 

C 79-70% 7 C 79-70% 

D 69-60% 6 D 69-60% 

F 59% or below 5 F 59% or below 

 

4. Progress Evaluations  Students are evaluated  based  on  actual hours earned according to the following intervals: 

 
Subject Freshman Exam 1

st
 SAP 2

nd
 SAP 3

RD
 SAP 4

th
 SAP 

Cosmetology 200hrs 450hrs 900hrs 1250hrs 1600hrs 

Cosmetician 80hrs 300hrs 600hrs NA NA 

Cosmetology Instructor Training Na 300hrs 600hrs NA NA 

Manicuring 50hrs 200hrs 400hrs NA NA 

 

Determination of Status 

Students fulfilling two criteria for SAP (as stated above) at any evaluation point will be considered to be making Satisfactory 

Academic Progress until the next scheduled evaluation.  

Warning Status 

Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress are placed on warning and considered to be 

making satisfactory academic progress while during the warning period.  The student will be advised in writing on the actions required 

to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation.  If at the end of the warning period, the student has still not met both 

the attendance and academic requirements, he/she may be placed on probation and, if applicable, students may be deemed ineligible to 

receive Title IV funds. 

Probation Status 

Students who fail to meet minimum requirement for attendance or academic progress after the warning period will be placed on 

probation and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress while during the probationary period, if the student appeals the 

decision, and prevails upon appeal.  Additionally, only students who have the ability to meeting the Satisfactory Academic Progress 

Policy standards by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation.  Students placed on an academic plan must be able to 

meet requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the next evaluation Academic Progress.  The student will be advised in 

writing of the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation.  If at the end of the probationary period, 

the student has still not met both the attendance and academic requirements required for satisfactory academic progress or by the 

academic plan, he/she will be determined as NOT making satisfactory academic progress and, if applicable, students will not be 

deemed eligible to receive Title IV funds. 

Upon being placed on a Probation Status, a student may be deemed as still eligible for Title IV Financial aid  if  
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The student successfully appeals the negative progress determination during the first warning status; and 

Thanh Le College determines that it is possible for the students to meet the minimum satisfactory progress standards by the 

end of the evaluation period. 

Thanh Le College develops an academic plan for the student that, if followed, will ensure that the student is able to meet the 

college’s SAP requirements by a specific point within the maximum timeframe established for the individual student. 

Student Notification 

Students receive monthly grade indicating their current progress status.  If upon reaching a scheduled checkpoint, a student is found to 

be not making satisfactory progress, they will also receive written notification that they have been placed on warning or probation.  If 

they are found to be making satisfactory progress, no additional student notification will occur. 

Appeal Procedure 

Any student who wishes to appeal his or her non-satisfactory progress status must submit a written request to the Director of 

the institution. The request is to be presented within 15 days of the determination of the student’s status and must describe 

any circumstances that the student believes deserve special consideration. The Director and staff shall evaluate the appeal 

within 5 business days and notify the student in writing of his or her decision. This decision will be final. All documents 

pertaining to student’s appeal and decision shall be maintained in the student’s file for five years. 

A student who does not successfully appeal, will lose financial aid eligibility for the remainder of the evaluation period.  

Student who falls below minimum grade and attendance standards for 3 consecutive evaluations will no longer be eligible for 

Title IV financial aid, and may have their enrollment terminated at the school’s discretion.  

Reinstatement 

A student that prevails upon the appeal process will regain Satisfactory Progress Status and, if necessary, eligibility for 

Financial Aid shall be reinstated. 

Leave Of Absence 

Occasionally, students may require extended absences for personal, medical or other reasons.  The institution may allow a student, 

under such circumstances, to take a Leave of Absence (LOA) from the program.  The LOA must be requested in writing by the 

student and must be approved by the school.  Students who receive Federal Aid may be granted for up to 180 days in any 12-month 

period as allowed by Federal regulations.   

Students returning from an Authorized LOA will retain all credits for clock hours and work projects completed prior to the Leave, and 

will be returned to the academic progress status they held prior to taking Leave.  Additionally, an approved leave of absence will 

extend the time period by the same number of days of approved absence. 

NOTE: Any student who fails to return from an LOA on time will become ineligible for Financial Aid and shall be dropped from 

Title IV Assistance.  The student shall be responsible for all remaining charges. 

Re-Entering 

Students accepted for re-entry shall be returned under the Academic Progress Status held when they left the school. 

Course Incomplete 

Course incompleteness, repetitions and non-credit remedial courses are not applicable to this institution’s courses of instruction. 

Transfer Hours 

With regard to Satisfactory Academic Progress, transfer hours are counted as both attempted and completed hours for the purpose of 

determining when the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted.  Sap evaluation periods are based on actual contracted 

hours at Thanh Le College. 
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Re-Entry Policy 

All students who withdraw in good standing may re-enter into the course of study without losing credit of hours and operations earned 

during their prior enrollment.  If the student transferred to another institution before returning to Thanh Le College, those hours and 

operations earned at that institution would also be credited to the student at the time of re-enrollment.  Each re-entry is treated on an 

individual basis. Thanh Le College reserves the right (with just cause) to reject a student’s re-entry. 

Scholarships 

Our College does not have an institutional scholarship program.  However, Thanh Le College does participate in Federal Aid 

programs and Financial Aid is available to those who qualify.  For information on these programs, please refer to the Financial Aid 

section of this catalog.  

Tuition and Fees Policies 

Institutional charges for the entire tuition, registration fee, books and supplies may be assessed and posted in the students tuition 

account within the first payment period. Please refer to “Payment Period” definition. 

Schedule of Tuition and Fees 

   
Non-refundable, 

Due at Time of Enrollment 

Refundable, 

Paid Proportionally at SAP 

Periods  

 

 

Durati

on/ 

Weeks 

Tuition

/ Hour Registration* 

Books & 

Supplies** 

 

TOTAL TUITION 

Grand Total 

Cosmetology 54-80 $7 $75 $525 $11,200 $11900 

Cosmetician 20-30 $7 $75 $425 $4,200 $4,700 

Cosmetology 

Instructor Trainee 
20-30 $7 $75 $525 

$4,200 
$4,800 

Manicuring 14-20 $2 $75 $325 $800 $1200 

** If a student decides to drop from a course within 10 business days of enrollment AND the supplies have not been opened 

(for sanitary reasons) and the books are salable, the cost of Books and supplies will be refunded.   

 

Approved Text and Reference Books 

Milady’s Standard Textbook of Cosmetology, 2012   

Milady’s Standard Fundamentals for Estheticians, 11t
h
 Edition, 2012  

Milady’s Standard Nail Technology, 6
th

 Edition, 2011  
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Cosmetology: (1,600 Clock Hours) 

The course of study for Cosmetology consists of 1600 clock hours and explores all facets of cosmetology, skin care, manicure and 

pedicure as mandated by the California Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology and pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and 

Cosmetology Act.  The course is designed to teach students the information and skills needed for a career in the Beauty field and 

to prepare students to pass the Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination.  Passing the exam is the final pre-

requisite to obtaining the Cosmetology License required to work as a cosmetologist in the state of California. 

Educational Goals 

Performance Objectives 

1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishment practices. 

2. Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all functions of hair, skin, and nails. 

3. Acquire the knowledge of subjects relative to cosmetology including anatomy, physiology, chemistry and the theory 

relative to the practical procedures to be performed. 

 

Skills to Be Developed 

1. The proper use of implements relative to all cosmetology services. 

2. The ability to properly analyze the scalp, face and hands to identify any disorders prior to performing services. 

3. The procedures and terminology used in performing all cosmetology services. 

4. The application of daytime and evening make-up, including the application of false strip eyelashes. 

5. The proper procedure of manicuring to include water and oil manicure and pedicure. 

6. The application of brushed-on nails wraps, and nail tips. 

 

Attitudes and Appreciations to Be Developed 

1. Learn to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology. 

2. Develop a positive attitude toward the public and your fellow workers. 

3. Learn and Appreciate honesty and integrity. 

4. Learn to act professionally, especially when dealing with patrons and colleagues. 

 

Course Content:  The curriculum for cosmetology consists of 1600 clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations 

covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.   

Technical Instruction shall be defined as instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination.  A 

Practical Operation shall be defined as the performance of a complete service, by the student, on another person or a mannequin. 

Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 

950.2. Curriculum for Cosmetology Course. 

(a) The curriculum for students enrolled in a cosmetology course shall consist of sixteen hundred (1600) hours of technical 

instruction and practical training covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology pursuant to Section 7316 of the 

Barbering and Cosmetology Act. 

(b) For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom 

participation, or examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on 

another person or on a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical operation. Technical 

instruction and practical training shall include the following hours: 

(1) 1100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Dressing 

The required subjects of instruction in Hair Dressing shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical 

instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows: 

Hairstyling (65 hours of Technical Instruction and 240 Practical Operations): 

The subject of Hairstyling shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Hair 

analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, comb outs, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot 

curling irons and blower styling. 



 

JANUARY 2017 Page 14 
 

14 
Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening (40 hours of Technical Instruction and 105 Practical Operations): 

The subject of Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening shall Include, but is not limited to, the following 

techniques and procedures: Hair analysis, acid and alkaline permanent waving, chemical straightening including the 

use of sodium hydroxide and other base solutions. 

Hair Coloring and Bleaching (60 hours Technical Instruction and 50 Practical Operations): 

The subject of Hair Coloring and Bleaching shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and 

procedures (also including, the use of semi-permanent, demi-permanent and temporary colors): Hair analysis, 

predisposition and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, high and low lights, and the 

use of dye removers 

Hair Cutting (20 hour Technical Instruction and 80 Practical Operations): 

The subject of Hair Cutting shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Use of 

scissors, razor (shaper), electrical clippers/trimmers, and thinning (tapering) shears for wet and dry cutting. 

(2) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety 

The required subjects of instruction in Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical 

instruction for each subject-matter as follows: 

Laws and Regulations (20 Hours of Technical Instruction): 

The subjects of Laws and Regulations shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: The Barbering and 

Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and Regulations. 

Health and Safety Considerations (45 Hours of Technical Instruction): 

The subject of Health and Safety shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: 

Cosmetology chemistry including the chemical composition and purpose of cosmetic, nail, hair and skin care 

preparations. Elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin peels and chemical and physical changes of matter. 

Hazardous substances including training in chemicals and health in establishments, protection from hazardous 

chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, ergonomics, theory of electricity in cosmetology, bacteriology, 

communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B, and staph and Material Safety Data Sheets. 

Disinfection and Sanitation (20 Hours of Technical Instruction): 

The subject of Disinfection and Sanitation shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques and 

procedures: Disinfection and sanitation including proper procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer 

as well as the technician. Proper disinfection procedures for equipment used in establishments. 

Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be performed before use of all 

instruments and equipment. 

Anatomy and Physiology (15 Hours of Technical Instruction): 

The subjects of Anatomy and Physiology shall include, but is not limited to the following issues: Human Anatomy, 

Human Physiology. 

(3) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Esthetics 

The required subjects of instruction in Esthetics shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and 

practical operations for each subject-matter as follows: 

Manual, Electrical and Chemical Facials 25 Hours of Technical Instruction and 40 Practical Operations): 

The subject of manual, electrical and chemical facials shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques 

and procedures: Manual Facials including cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and masks. Electrical Facials 

include the use of electrical modalities, dermal lights and electrical apparatus, for facials and skin care purposes; 
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however, machines capable of producing an electrical current shall not be used to stimulate so as to contract, or 

for the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the body or face. Chemical Facials include chemical skin peels, packs, 

masks and scrubs. Training shall emphasize that only the non-living, uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the 

epidermis, may be removed, and only for the purpose of beautification. All practical operations must be performed 

in accordance with Section 992 regarding skin peeling. 

Eyebrow Beautification and Make-up (25 hours Technical Instruction and 30 Practical Operations): 

The subject of Eyebrow Beautification shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: Eyebrow Arching 

and Hair Removal, including the use of wax, tweezers, electric or manual, and depilatories for the removal of 

superfluous hair. 

The subject of Makeup shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: skin analysis, complete and 

corrective makeup, lash and brow tinting, and the application of false eyelashes. 

(4) 100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Manicuring and Pedicuring 

The required subjects of instruction in Manicuring and Pedicuring shall be completed with the minimum hours of 

technical instruction and practical operation for each subject-matter as follows: 

Manicuring and Pedicuring (10 hours Technical Instruction and 25 Practical Operations): 

The subject of Manicuring and Pedicuring shall include, but are not limited to, the following issues: Water and oil 

manicure, including nail analysis, and hand/foot and arm/ankle massage. 

Artificial Nails and Wraps (25 hours Technical Instruction and 120 (nails) Practical Operations): 

Artificial nails including acrylic: liquid and powder brush-ons, artificial nail tips and nail wraps and repairs 

(c) The Board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional 

ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service records. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362 and 7362.1(c), Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316(b), 

7321(d)(1),7362, 7362.5(b) and 7389, Business and Professions Code. 

Graduation Requirements:  When a student has completed the 1600 hours, the required theory hours and practical operations in 

Cosmetology with a Cumulative Grade Point Average of 70% (C) or better, and the student has paid in full all tuition and fees (or 

made arrangements with the college to do so), they will be awarded a certificate of graduation from Thanh Le College’s 

Cosmetology Program.  The school will assist the student in completing the necessary documentation to file for the Board of 

Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Examination. 

Licensing Requirements:  Applicants must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Cosmetology 

license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and graduated from the 

Cosmetology course, as described above, and passed the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Examination with an 

overall grade of 75%. 

Cosmetician: (600 Clock Hours) 

The course of study for Cosmetician consists of 600 clock hours covering all aspects of skin care as mandated by the California 

Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology and pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.  The course is 

designed to teach students the information and skills needed for a career in the Beauty field and to prepare students to pass the 

Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination.  Passing the exam is the final pre-requisite to obtaining the 

Cosmetology License required to work as a Cosmetician in the state of California. 

Educational Goals: 

Performance Objectives 

1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishment practices. 

2. Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all functions of Cosmetician. 

3. Acquire the knowledge of subjects relative to Cosmetician including anatomy, physiology, chemistry and the theory 
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relative to the practical procedures to be performed. 

 

Skills to Be Developed 

1. The proper use of implements relative to all Cosmetician services. 

2. The ability to properly analyze the skin to identify any conditions or disorders prior to performing services. 

3. Develop the knowledge to confidently select and administer products based on individual customer needs. 

4. Develop the knowledge and confidence to safely perform all operations authorized for and Cosmetician. 

 

Attitudes and Appreciations to be Developed 

1. Learn to appreciate good workmanship common to practicing Cosmeticians. 

2. Develop a positive attitude toward the public and your fellow workers. 

3. Learn and Appreciate honesty and integrity. 

4. Learn to act professionally, especially when dealing with patrons and colleagues. 

 

Course Content:  The curriculum for the Cosmetician course consists of 600 clock hours of technical instruction and practical 

operations covering all practices of a Cosmetician pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. 

Technical Instruction shall be defined as instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination.  A Practical 

Operation shall be defined as the performance of a complete service, by the student, on another person or a mannequin.  

Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 

950.3. Curriculum for Skin Care Course 

(a) The curriculum for students enrolled in a skin care course shall consist of six hundred (600) hours of technical 

instruction and practical training covering all practices of an esthetician pursuant to Section 7316 of the Barbering and 

Cosmetology Act. 

(b) For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom 

participation, or examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on 

another person or on a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical operation. Technical 

instruction and practical training shall include the following hours: 

(1) 350 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Facials 

The required subjects of instruction in Facials shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and 

practical operations for each subject-matter as follows: 

Manual, Electrical and Chemical Facials (70 hours of Technical Instruction and 140 Practical Operations): 

The subject of manual, electrical and chemical facials shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques 

and procedures: Manual Facials including cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and masks. Electrical Facials 

include the use of electrical modalities, dermal lights and electrical apparatus, for facials and skin care purposes; 

however, machines capable of producing an electrical current shall not be used to stimulate so as to contract, or for 

the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the body or face. Chemical Facials include chemical skin peels, packs, 

masks and scrubs. Training shall emphasize that only the non-living, uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the 

epidermis, may be removed, and only for the purpose of beautification. All practical operations must be performed 

in accordance with Section 992 regarding skin peeling. 

Preparation (15 hours of Technical Instruction): 

The subject of Preparation shall include, but not be limited to the following issues: 

Client consultation, intake procedures, contraindications, professionalism, client record keeping, pre and post 

operative care, CPR/AED, salon and spa skills. 

(2) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety 



 

JANUARY 2017 Page 17 
 

17 
The required subjects of instruction in Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum number of hours of 

technical instruction for each subject-matter as follows: 

Laws and Regulations (10 hours of Technical Instruction): 

The subject of Laws and Regulations shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: The Barbering and 

Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and Regulations. 

Health and Safety Considerations (40 hours of Technical Instruction): 

The subject of Health and Safety shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: 

Training in chemicals and health in establishments, material safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals 

and preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies, communicable diseases including HIV/AIDS 

and Hepatitis B. Chemical composition and purpose of cosmetic and skin care preparation. Elementary chemical 

makeup, chemical skin peels, physical and chemical changes of matter. Electrical current, principles of operating 

electrical devices, and the various safety precautions used when operating electrical equipment. 

Disinfection and Sanitation (10 hours of Technical Instruction): 

The subject of Disinfection and Sanitation shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and 

procedures: Procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. Proper disinfection 

procedures. 

Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire training period and must be performed before use of all 

instruments and equipment. 

Anatomy and Physiology (15 Hours of Technical Instruction): 

The subjects of Anatomy and Physiology shall include, but is not limited to the following issues: Human Anatomy, 

Human Physiology, Bacteriology, skin analysis and conditions. 

(3) 50 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Removal and Make-up 

The required subjects of instruction in Hair Removal shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical 

instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows: 

Eyebrow Beautification (25 hours of Technical Instruction and 50 Practical Operations): 

The subject of Eyebrow Beautification shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: Eyebrow shaping and 

hair removal techniques, hair analysis, waxing, tweezing, manual or electrical depilatories. 

Make-up (20 hours of Technical Instruction and 40 Practical Operations): 

The subject of Make-up shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: Skin analysis, basic and corrective 

application, application of false eyelashes. 

(c) The Board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional 

ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, client service records, basic tax information relating to booth renters, 

independent contractors, employees, and employers. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362 and 7364, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316(c)(1), 7324(d)(1), 

7362, 7364 and 7389, Business and Professions Code. 

Graduation Requirements:  When a student has completed the 600 hours, the required theory hours and practical operations in the 

Cosmetician Course with a Cumulative Grade Point Average of 70% (C) or better, and the student has paid, in full, all tuition and fees 

(or made arrangements with the college to do so), they will be awarded certificate of graduation from Thanh Le College’s Cosmetician 

Program.  The school will assist the students in completing the necessary documentation to file for the Board of Barbering and 

Cosmetology Licensing Examination. 
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Licensing Requirements:  Applicants must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Cosmetician license 

will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and graduated from the Cosmetician course, 

as described above, and passed the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Examination with an overall grade of 75%. 

Cosmetology Instructor Trainee: (600 Clock Hours) 

The Cosmetology instructor course consists of 600 clock hours covering all aspects of teaching the art of Cosmetology, as mandated 

by the California Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology and pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.  The 

course is designed to teach students the information and skills needed for a career as an instructor in the Cosmetology Industry and to 

prepare students to pass the Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination.  Passing the exam is the final pre-requisite 

to obtaining the Cosmetology License required to teach Cosmetology in the state of California. 

Educational Goals: 

Some of the Performance Objectives 

1. Develop the ability to teach related information, manipulative operations and techniques. 

2. Develop the ability to use various teaching aids, such as instruction sheets, visual aids and tests to provide 

information about the subjects being taught.   

3. Develop the ability to determine the best applications of specific teaching techniques used by the vocational teacher 

in the working area and in the classroom. 

 
Some of the Skills to Be Developed 

1. Develop, through occupational experiences, personal characteristics that will upgrade the cosmetology profession by 

producing quality students. 

2. Develop lesson plans, outlines, procedures and tests that will insure student comprehension and instill the desire to 

learn in even the most difficult student. 

3. Development of course content reflecting a comprehensive, correlated unit of study. 

4. Development of instructional materials that will facilitate quick and easy set-up and preparation of a class. 

5. Development of supplemental teaching aids that will give the student a variety of ideas from which to draw and 

maintain motivation. 

 

Attitudes and Appreciations to be Developed 

1. Learn to appreciate the necessity for constant effort toward the achievement of professional competency as a 

teacher. 

2. Realize the importance of developing personal characteristics that contribute to success in teaching. 

 

Course Content:  The curriculum for the Cosmetology instructor course consists of 600 clock hours of technical instruction and 

practical operations covering all practices of a Manicurist pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. 

Technical Instruction shall be defined as instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination.  A Practical 

Operation shall be defined as the actual performance, by the instructor trainee, of teaching techniques and principles. 

Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 

Subject: 

Minimum 

Hours of 

Technical 

Instruction 

Minimum 

Practical 

Operations 

1. The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Department’s Rules 

and Regulations 

10  
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Subject: 

Minimum 

Hours of 

Technical 

Instruction 

Minimum 

Practical 

Operations 

2. Preparatory instruction: 

A. Instructional techniques, method of instruction, lecture, 

demonstration, performance, communication skills, 

instructional aids, and use of questions to promote learning. 

B. Organization Technique, four (4) step teaching method, 

performance objectives and learning domains, etc. 

C. Lesson planning, subject, title, outlines, development and 

visual aids etc. 

D. Techniques of evaluation, purpose of test, types of test, test 

administration, scoring and grading, etc. 

 

40 

 

 

 

30 

 

 

60 

 

10 

 

 

 

 

 

50 

 

 

50 

3. Conducting classroom and technical instructions and demonstrations 

for three (3) or more students on all practices of cosmetology, 

including the Barbering and Cosmetology Act and Rules and 

Regulations: (shall be conducted under the supervision of a licensed 

instructor 

140  

4. Supervising and Training of students while they are practicing the 

art of cosmetology on a live person or mannequin in a classroom or 

laboratory.  A student enrolled in the 600 hour instructor training 

course may not engaged in the school in a complete service 

connected with any practice or combination of practices of 

cosmetology upon a patron who is paying for services or materials 

and shall not be permitted to enroll in a second course except 

following examination failure after the preceding course. 

100  

Graduation Requirements: When a student has completed the 600 hours, the required theory hours and practical operations in the 

Cosmetology instructor Course with a Cumulative Grade Point Average of 70% (C) or better, and the student has paid, in full, all 

tuition and fees, they will be awarded a diploma certifying their graduation from Thanh Le Beauty College’s Cosmetology instructor 

Program.  The school will assist the students in completing the necessary documentation to file for the Bureau of Barbering and 

Cosmetology Licensing Examination. 

Licensing Requirements:  Applicants must have a U.S. High School Diploma, or its equivalent, and hold a current, valid California 

Cosmetology license.  Also, the student must provide a signed affidavit from their employer attesting to the student’s level of 

experience.  A Cosmetology instructor’s license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully 

completed and graduated from the Cosmetology instructor Course, as described above, and passed the Bureau of Barbering and 

Cosmetology Licensing Examination with an overall grade of 75%.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                 

Manicuring: (400 Clock Hours) 

The Nail Care course consists of 400 clock hours covering all aspects of nail care, manicure and pedicure, as mandated by the 

California Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology and pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.  The course is 

designed to teach students the information and skills needed for a career in the Nail Care field and to prepare students to pass the 

Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination.  Passing the exam is the final pre-requisite to obtaining the 

Cosmetology License required to work as a Manicurist in the state of California. 

Educational Goals: 

Performance Objectives 

1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishment practices. 

2. Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all functions of Nail Care. 

3. Acquire the knowledge of subjects relative to Nail Care including anatomy, physiology, chemistry and the theory 

relative to the practical procedures to be performed. 
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Skills to Be Developed 

1. The proper use of implements relative to all Manicures, Pedicures and Artificial Nails. 

2. A practical ability to perform Manicures, Pedicures and Artificial Nails. 

3. Develop the knowledge and confidence to safely perform all operations authorized for a Manicurist. 

 

Attitudes and Appreciations to be Developed 

1. Learn to appreciate good workmanship common to practicing Cosmeticians. 

2. Develop a positive attitude toward the public and your fellow workers. 

3. Learn and Appreciate honesty and integrity. 

4. Learn to act professionally, especially when dealing with patrons and colleagues. 

 

Course Content:  The curriculum for the Nail Care course consists of 400 clock hours of technical instruction and practical 

operations covering all practices of a Manicurist pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. 

Technical Instruction shall be defined as instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination.  A Practical 

Operation shall be defined as the performance of a complete service, by the student, on another person or a mannequin. 

Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 

950.4. Curriculum for Nail Care Course 

(a) The curriculum for students enrolled in a nail care course shall consist of not less than four hundred (400) hours of 

technical instruction and practical training covering all practices of a manicurist, pursuant to Section 7316 of the Barbering 

and Cosmetology Act. 

(b) For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom 

participation, or examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on 

another person or on a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical operation. Technical 

instruction and practical training shall include the following hours: 

(1) 300 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Nail Care 

The required subjects of instruction in Nail Care shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction 

and practical operations for each subject matter as follows: 

Manicures and Pedicures (60 hours of Technical Instruction, 60 Practical Operations and 180 nails) 

The subject of Manicures and Pedicures shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: 

Water and oil manicures including hand and arm massage, complete pedicure including foot and ankle massage, 

application of artificial nails including liquid, gel, and powder brush-ons, nail tips, nail wraps and repairs, and nail 

analysis. 

(2) 100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Health and Safety 

The required subjects of instruction in Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum number of hours of 

technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows: 

Laws and Regulations (10 hours of Technical Instruction) 

The subject of Laws and Regulations shall include, but is not limited to, the following issues: The Barbering and 

Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and Regulations. 

Health and Safety Considerations (25 hours of Technical Instruction) 

The subject of Health and Safety shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: 

Chemistry pertaining to the practices of a manicurist including the chemical composition and purpose of nail care 

preparations. Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances, including training in chemicals and health in establishments, 

material safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, health and safety 

laws and agencies, ergonomics, and communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B. 
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Disinfection and Sanitation (20 hours of Technical Instruction and 10 Practical Operations) 

The subject of Disinfection and Sanitation shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and 

procedures: Procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. 

The ten required minimum operations shall entail performing all necessary functions for disinfecting instruments 

and equipment as specified in Sections 979 and 980. Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire training 

period and must be performed before use of all instruments and equipment, with special attention given to pedicure 

foot spa and basin disinfection procedures detailed in Sections 980.1, 980.2 and 980.3. 

Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology (10 hours of Technical Instruction) 

The subjects of Anatomy and Physiology shall include, but is not limited to the following issues: Bacteriology, 

anatomy, physiology, and nail analysis and conditions. 

(c) The Board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes professional 

ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record-keeping, client service record cards, basic tax responsibilities related to independent 

contractors, booth renters, employees, and employers. 

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362 and 7365, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316(c)(2)), 7326(d)(1), 

7362, 7365 and 7389, Business and Professions Code. 

Graduation Requirements: When a student has completed the 400 hours, the required theory hours and practical operations in the 

Nail Care Course with a Cumulative Grade Point Average of 70% (C) or better, and the student has paid, in full, all tuition and fees (or 

made arrangements with the college to do so), they will be awarded a certificate of graduation from Thanh Le College’s Nail Care 

Program.  The school will assist the students in completing the necessary documentation to file for the Board of Barbering and 

Cosmetology Licensing Examination. 

Licensing Requirements 

Applicants must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Manicurist license will be granted by the State of 

California only after the student has successfully completed and graduated from the Nail Care course, as described above, and passed 

the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Examination with an overall grade of 75%. 

Extra Instruction Charges 

Thanh Le College does not charge overtime tuition.  

Method of Payment 

Students are expected to contribute from their own family resources toward the cost of their education at Thanh Le College.  Tuition 

and expenses may be paid in full at the time of enrollment but payment plans are also available from Thanh Le College.  It is the 

school’s policy to request that the student, whenever possible, make contributions toward their school charges by making weekly or 

monthly installments, in accordance with their individual financial situation.  Thanh Le College accepts payment in cash, money order, 

personal checks and/or Title IV. 

Federal Student Financial Aid is available, to those that qualify, to cover educational expenses.  Financial aid will be disbursed in the 

form of Pell Grants (no repayment required).  All estimates of available funds from financial aid will be first used to cover 

institutional charges.  If funds remain available, they will be disbursed directly to the student.  For information on the aid programs, 

please contact the financial aid office.  The expenses of the entire educational experience need to be included in planning the student's 

ability to meet those expenses. 

It is important that enrollees keep a copy of the enrollment agreement, contract, or application to document enrollment, tuition receipts 

or canceled checks to document the total amount of tuition paid, and records which will document the percentage of the course which 

has been completed.  
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Cancellation Policy 

STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL: The student 

 has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a 100% refund of charges, less a reasonable deposit or application fee not 

to exceed $250, if cancellation is made through attendance at the first class session (first day of class), or the tenth day after 

enrollment (ten days from date when enrollment agreement was signed), whichever is later.   

 

The notice of cancellation shall be in writing and submitted directly to the Financial Aid Office, a withdrawal may be initiated by the 

student’s written notice or by the institution due to student’s academics or conduct, including, but not necessarily limited to, a 

student’s lack of attendance. 

 

In the event that the student is terminated by the school, the school will only charge the hours earned by the student, registration fee, 

and cost of the kit (if purchased through the school). 

 

Refund Policy 

 

After the cancellation period, the institution provides a pro rata refund of the scheduled hours ALL funds paid for tuition charges to 

students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance.  Once more then 60 percent of the enrollment period in 

the entire course has incurred (including absences), there will be no refund to the student.   

 

A registration fee of $75.00 is a non-refundable item.  Equipment, books, supplies, tools, uniforms, kits and any other items issued 

and received by the student would not be returnable.  Once received by the student it will belong to the student and will represent a 

liability to the student. 

 

If you cancel the agreement, the school will refund any money that you paid, less any deduction for registration fee and equipment 

received.  If you withdraw from school after the cancellation period, the refund policy described above will apply. If the amount that 

you have paid is more than the amount that you owe for the time you attended, then a refund will be made within 30 days of the 

official withdrawal date.  See Refunds section below.  If the amount that you owe is more than the amount that you have already paid, 

then you will have to arrange with the institution to pay that balance.  Official withdrawal date is on the student’s notification or 

school’s determination.  Academic credits earned but not paid for would not be released by the institution. 

 

All funds paid will be refunded if the student: 

A. Is rejected for enrollment, 

B. Cancels this contract within 10 business days of the date that the agreement was signed, 

C. Cancels this agreement later than 10 days after signing, but before the start of school.   

Prior to midnight of the tenth business day after the first class you attended, you have the right to cancel the enrollment agreement for 

a course of instruction, including the return of any books, materials and supplies* or any other goods related to the instruction.  A 

business day shall be defined as a day on which the student was scheduled to attend a class session. 

Cancellation shall occur when you have given written notice of cancellation to Joanna Chiapparine, at the institution's address. This 

can be done by mail, hand delivery, or telegram.  The written notice of cancellation, if sent by mail, shall become effective on the 

postmark date stamped on the envelope. 

The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form, however expressed; it is effective if it shows that you no longer 

wish to be bound by the enrollment agreement.  On the first day of class, you will be given two copies of the Notice of Cancellation 

form for your use should you decide to cancel.  However, you may use any form of written notice that you wish. 

If the school has given you any returnable items, including books or other materials, you shall return them to the school within 30 days 

following the date of your Notice of Cancellation.  If you fail to return any of the items given to you by the school within the 30-day 

period, and in good salable condition, the school may deduct its documented cost for the items from any refund that may be due to you.  

Once you have paid for the items, they will become yours to keep without further obligation.   

*For sanitary reasons, beauty supplies and some equipment are not returnable items.  Once you have received and 

accepted any items of this nature, the cost will be charged to your account. 

If you cancel the enrollment agreement, the school will refund all of the money that you paid, less any deductions for items received. 
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Withdrawal from course:  (Withdrawal notification must be presented to the financial aid office) 

*NOTE: The financial aid office has been assigned as the only office authorized to receive notices of cancellations, withdrawals 

and transfers.  All notifications must be presented in writing in order to be processed by the financial aid office.   Other 

administrative offices or faculty must refer the student to the financial aid office for termination procedures. 

You have the right to withdraw from a course of instruction at any time.  If you choose to withdraw from the course of instruction 

after the period allowed for cancellation of the agreement (midnight of the tenth business day following the first class attended), the 

school will remit a refund, less applicable registration fees (not to exceed $75.00) within 30 days of your withdrawal.  You are 

obligated to pay only for educational services rendered and for un-returned equipment.  The refund shall be the amount you paid for 

instruction multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the number of hours of instruction which you have not received but for 

which you have paid, and the denominator of which is the total number of hours of instruction for which you have paid. If you obtain 

equipment as specified in the agreement as a separate charge and return it in good condition within 30 days following the date of your 

withdrawal, the school shall refund the charge for the equipment.  If you fail to return the equipment within the 30-day period, and in 

good salable condition (allowing for reasonable wear and tear), the school may offset against the refund the documented cost to the 

school of that equipment.  You shall be liable for the amount, if any, by which the documented cost for equipment exceeds the 

prorated refund amount.  The documented cost of the equipment may be less then the amount charged, and the amount the school has 

charged in the contract. In any event, you will never be charged for more than the equipment charges stated in the contract. 

If the amount that you have paid is more than the amount that you owe for the time that you attended, a refund will be made within 30 

days from the determination date.  If the amount that you owe is more than the amount that you have paid, then you must arrange to 

pay the balance. 

Hypothetical Refund Example 

Assume that a student, upon enrollment in a 1,600-hour course, pays in full $7,200.00 for tuition, $75.00 for registration and $300.00 

for equipment as specified in the enrollment agreement.  If the student withdraws after completing 600 hours without returning (due to 

sanitary reasons) the equipment he/she obtained, then the pro-rata refund to the student would be $4,500.00 based on the calculation 

stated below.  If the student returns the equipment (if it was returnable) in good condition and within 30 days following his/her 

withdrawal date, the school would also refund the charge for the returned equipment. 

  REFUND TABLE (Based on Actual Cost of Educational Service): 

Total Paid $7,575.00  Tuition 

Cost 

$7,200.00  Paid for instruction $7,200.00 

Less Registration 

Fee (Not 

Refundable) 

  -75.00  Hours 

in the 

course 

   1,600  Hours attended      600 

Less cost of Un-

returnable equipment 

 -300.00  Hourly 

charge 

     4.50  Tuition owed  600                                                                                              

        x $4.50 

$2,700.00 

Equals amount paid 

for instruction 

$7,200.00     Refund due = $4,500.00 

In determining the amount that the student owes for the period of time attended, the time elapsed includes the hours of training offered 

to the student but not attended by the student, from the first date of classes to the last date of recorded attendance.  The student shall be 

deemed to have withdrawn from the course when any of the following occurs: 

a) The student notifies the financial aid office of their intentions to withdraw, 

b) The school terminates your enrollment, 

c) The student fails to attend classes for 10 consecutive days, 

d) The student fails to return from an approved leave of absence on the date that they had scheduled. 

The remaining amount of the refund will first be made to the financial aid programs from which benefits were received, in accordance 

to the order of priority provided in federal regulations.  If a course is canceled or the school closes, subsequent to a student’s 

enrollment and before instruction in the course has begun, the school shall, at its option, (1) Provide a full refund of all money paid or 

(2) Provide for completion of the course at a nearby school. 
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If the student receives federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the money not paid from the federal 

financial aid funds. 

Accrediting Commission Formula 

When calculating refunds, this institution is required to follow the California State refund formula.  By design, the calculations under 

the state refund policy will always produce results that are more favorable to the student than those produced by the calculations under 

the Accrediting Commission’s refund policy.  This institution will not follow the Accrediting Commission’s refund policy formula. 

Course Cancellation or Closing: should any course offered by Thanh Le College be cancelled, or the school closed, the school will 

refund any and all monies paid for training which has not been received for any students who have already begun the program.  

Refunds will be calculated the same as if the student had withdrawn from the course, as set forth above.  If the course is cancelled 

subsequent to a student’s enrollment, and before instruction in the course has begun, the school shall provide a full refund of all 

monies paid. 

School Closure Plan:  options for students if the school closes (goes out of business) 

1. Transfer: the College shall notify the students within 30 days its last day of operation so that students may complete their 

remaining hours and obtain their records so that they will be able to transfer to another school offering similar courses. 

2. Teach-out: will be performed by the original College to students who have completed their hours within 90 days of 

completion and are waiting to take their Board exam.  There will be no charge for students who have completed their 

training.   

3. School Refund: students can request a refund in writing.  Students may be eligible for a refund of all or part of tuition 

and other costs, such as those of books 

4. School Refund: students can request a refund in writing.  Students may be eligible for a refund of all or part of tuition 

and other costs, such as those of books 

Financial Aid Information 

Financial aid is a mechanism that reduces out-of-pocket costs that the student and/or the student’s parents must pay to obtain a specific 

postsecondary education.  Presented differently, financial aid is money made available to help students meet the cost of attending 

college.  Financial Aid is made up of grants and loans.  Grants are not to be repaid.  Loans usually have low interest rates and a student 

must re-pay a loan according to the individual loan program terms.  Most of the loans can be arranged to require payment after a grace 

period of several months following graduation, the student’s termination from the program or the point at which the student’s 

attendance falls below half time.  Financial Aid is awarded to students who have “need”. Need is defined as the difference between the 

amount of money that the family will be expected to contribute to meet student costs and the cost of education at this school. 

If you wish to apply for financial aid, have questions or you need sections of the handbook clarified, please contact the financial aid 

office at the school.  Additional information regarding the student aid programs available at Thanh Le College may be found in “The 

Student Guide” and the “Free Application for Federal Student Aid” published by the U.S. Department of Education.  Additional 

information may also be obtained by calling the Federal Student Aid Information Center between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. (Eastern 

Time), Monday through Friday, at 1- (800) 433-3243. 

Consumer Information 

Based on a combination of approvals, authorization and accreditation, our students are eligible to apply for and receive tuition aid and 

financial assistance while attending the college.  A list of these programs includes: Federal PELL Grant (FPELL) and Federal 

Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant (FSEOG), neither of which requires repayment.  Thanh Le College does not offer 

student loans to prospective or current students. 

Determining Need 

The information that you report on the FAFSA when you apply for aid is used in a formula established by U.S. Congress that 

calculates your Expected Family Contribution. 

Cost of Attendance 

This institution uses the annual budgets published by the CALIFORNIA STUDENT AID COMMISSION to estimate the total 

amount that it will cost for a student to go to school. 
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Elements included in the budget:  Tuition            Actual cost 

                                 Registration Fee            Actual cost 

      Books and supplies       Actual cost 

 

Living cost allowance (monthly figures): Student living           Student Living 

      with parents           off campus 

   

                                     Room and board                  $4347.00  $908.00 

    Transportation      1071.00    104.00 

    Personal & Misc.     172.00    254.00 

 

(The cost of uniforms is included in the personal allowance) 

U.S. Department Of Education Title IV Student Financial Aid Programs 

Thanh Le College is approved for, and does participate in, the following USDE Title IV programs intended to defray the costs of 

attending for those students eligible for financial aid considerations: 

Federal PELL Grant Program (FPELL) 

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant Program (FSEOG)  

Compliance Statement 

The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that students be notified that the disclosure of his/her social security number is mandatory.  

The social security number is used to verify students’ identities, to process the awarding of funds, the collection of funds and the 

tracing of individuals who have borrowed funds from federal, state or private programs. 

Application for Aid, Procedures and Forms 

Financial Aid applications for this institution consist of: 

Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) - Thanh Le College utilizes the Free Application for Federal Student Aid 

(FAFSA) for students applying for aid.  This form will be processed by a contractor of the U.S. Department of Education at no 

cost to the student.   The results will be provided in the form of an Electronic Student Aid Report with the calculation of the 

Expected Family Contribution.  This application needs to be completed as instructed on the form. 

Documentation to substantiate the data entered on the FAFSA may be required by the financial aid office.  Forms, and assistance 

in completing them, are available at this school during regular school hours.  In addition to the FAFSA, the institution requires a 

series of forms as they apply to the individual student aid program and to the student’s individual family circumstances. 

Federal Pell Grant Program – Funds received under this program are not subject to repayment from the student. 

Deadline 

FAFSA applications must be received by June 30 in the year for which the application is intended.  SAR or ISIR must be submitted to 

the financial aid office by August 29 of the award year from which aid is requested or your last day of enrollment for the prior school 

year, whichever comes first.  A valid ISIR, after having been corrected as necessary, requires the signatures of student, spouse and/or 

parents. 

Renewal Process 

 A FPELL Grant award is disbursed to the student for one award year (July 1 to June 30 of the following year) and is not 

automatically renewed for the next award year.  Students must re-apply for the FPELL Grant and submit a copy of the new SAR or 

ISIR to the financial aid office. 

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG): Funds received under this program are not subject to repayment 

from the student. 

Deadline: You may apply during the enrollment process, using the FAFSA form. The school will provide you a letter listing the 

amount and types of financial aid you will be awarded.  

Disbursement 
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Made based on per payment period via a check payable to the student or via a direct credit to the student’s tuition account.  Priority 

for FSEOG funds will be given to students eligible for Pell Grant.  This institution has a year-round enrollment. Therefore, funds will 

be awarded in a manner that funds would be available to students enrolling through out the entire year. If SEOG funds are still 

available, a second priority will be given to Non Pell recipient students with the lowest Expected Family Contributions enrolled during 

the last three months. 

For additional information on Federal Financial Aid programs, request “The Student Guide” published by USDE 

Award Concept, Selection of Recipients and Packaging Criteria:  This institution does not receive enough Campus-Based funds to 

satisfy all of the students’ financial needs.  Therefore, the school emphasizes the SELF-HELP CONCEPT of student financial 

assistance. 

 

The SELF-HELP CONCEPT lists types of financial assistance in the following order: 

1. Family contributions 

2. Other resources 

3. Federal PELL Grant 

 

The school awards from the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants in accordance with the following policy: The 

institutional participation in the Federal Educational Opportunity Grant is limited to the amount of funds given to the institution for an 

entire award year. (July 1 to June 30).  Due to the limited amount of funds available to the institution, it is impossible to award 

FSEOG to all students applying for aid. Therefore, the institutional policy to select FSEOG recipients is as follows: 

This institution has a continuing enrollment process in which students may start each Tuesday of each week, or Wednesday when 

Tuesday is an observed Holiday.  To ensure a fair distribution of funds through the entire award year, the institution will make SEOG 

awards using data from the preceding year.  By using student enrollment, EFC and Pell Grant data, the college can estimate the 

expected number of new enrollments and calculate how to most evenly distribute the SEOG funds available.   

The first recipients of SEOG funds will be selected from students classified as having “exceptional need”.  This institution defines 

students with “exceptional need” as those with the lowest expected family contribution (EFC); priority will be given to those students 

are eligible to receive Federal Pell Grants.  If enrollment figures change, and/or additional funds become available to the institution, a 

second selection will be made from those students that enrolled during the last quarter of the award year (March to June) with the 

lowest EFC but were deemed ineligible for the FPELL Grant Program. 

All selections will be made from students whose files have been completed without pending issues regarding eligibility for Federal 

Aid.  Incomplete files will not be considered due to a possible lack of documentation.  Awards will be made throughout the award 

year, as long as funds are available. 

Return of Title IV Funds/R2T4 Policy 

If students withdraw from school prior to the completion of the equivalent to 60 percent of the workload in any given payment period, 

a calculation using the percentage completed will be applied to the funds received or that could have been received that will determine 

the amount of aid the student earned.  Unearned fund would be returned to the appropriate program by the school and/or the student.  

Funds owed by the student to the Grant programs are limited to 50% of the gross award per program received.  If the student receives 

federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the money not paid from the federal financial aid funds. 

 

Post Withdrawal Disbursement 

If the calculation shows that the student received less aid than what she/he earned within the payment period, then the student would 

be notified by the institution of the amount of Grant funds used to cover institution charges incurred by the student, or the available 

amount from Grant funds for direct disbursement to the student for other educational related expenses or the school will disburse any 

amount of a Post-withdrawal disbursement of grant funds that is not credited to the student’s account no later than 45 days after the 

date of the school’s determination that the student withdrew. 

Withdrawal Date 

Last physical date of attendance recorded in the institution records.  Return of Title IV Fund and Institutional Refund policy will use 

this date in their calculations. 
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Determination of Withdrawal Date 

The school must have a procedure in place to make a determination within 10 days of absences, if the student would be returning to 

school or not.  This will be the date of the institution determination of withdraw from school.  The Institution will use the 

determination of the withdrawal date as the start of the 45 day period in which the institution must return unearned funds as calculated 

by the Return of Title IV. 

Determination of Withdrawal from School 

The institution will determine that a student is no longer enrolled on the earliest of: 

The date the student notifies the Financial Aid Office at the school of his/her intent to withdrawal from school.  Other staff members 

are not authorized to accept the student’s notice of intent to withdraw and would be referred to the Financial Aid Office.  

The date the school terminates the student’s enrollment due to academic failure or for violation of its rules and policies stated in the 

catalog. 

The date the student failed to attend classes for a two-week period and failed to inform the school that he/she is not withdrawing.  In 

this case, the date of withdrawal shall be deemed to be the last date where physical attendance was recorded. 

For California Schools:  If a student is absent for two consecutive weeks and is not on an approved leave of absence, the student will 

be deemed a withdrawal even though he/she indicated that he/she was not withdrawing.   

The student failed to return on scheduled from an approved leave of absence.  In this case, the withdrawal date will be the last day 

attended prior to the start of the approved leave of absence and the institutional determination of withdrawal date will be the institution 

becomes aware that the student has ceased attendance or the scheduled date of return from the approved leave of absence. 

If the institution was required by this calculation to return to the programs some of the funds it has collected as tuition payment, the 

student’s tuition account would be adjusted accordingly.  Therefore, if the tuition was paid in full, but if the institution returned funds 

to the programs, the tuition account will show that the student owes that amount returned by the institution to the programs.  Those 

refunds will be paid to the program funds within 45 calendar days from the determination of withdrawal from school date. 

Transfer Student 

Any student who has attended a Post-secondary institution prior to enrolling at Thanh Le College is required to inform our financial 

aid office about the previous school(s) and the period(s) of attendance.  This is especially important if the student's attendance at the 

prior institution occurred between July 1 and June 30th of the subsequent year.  If financial aid was advanced from the prior institution, 

the aid available at this institution will be adjusted. 

Verification Process for the 2016-2017 award year 

Federal regulations 34 C.F.R. Part 668, Subpart E, dated March 14, 1986 April 29, 1994, November 29, 1994 - executing legislation 

20 U.S.C. 1094 governing the title IV programs require schools to be sure of certain applicant-reported data. 

These regulations require schools to develop written policies and procedures for verification.  The school is required to make these 

policies available, upon request, to all applicants for financial aid including prospective students.  This procedure is part of the 

Admissions and Counseling process. 

To follow the regulations and achieve consistency governing this process, the verification policies below apply to all applicants for 

Title IV programs. 

Under the regulations, the school will not disburse FPELL until completion of verification process. 

Who Must Be Verified 

The policy of this school shall be to verify those students selected by the need analysis (ISIR) system for verification. 

Verification Exclusions 

Applicants excluded from verification include: 

 Applicants that die during the award year or before the deadline for completing the verification, 

 Applicants that are incarcerated at the time that the verification is to be performed, 

 Applicants who arrived in the U.S. during the previous two calendar years, 

 For Dependent Students, the spouse or parent information is not required to be verified if the spouse or the parent is 

deceased, physically incapacitated or residing in a country other than the United States and cannot be contacted by 
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normal means, or can not be located because the address is unknown and can not be obtained by the applicant. 

 If the student completed the verification at another institution prior to transferring to this school; all of the following 

documents must be provided from that school: 

 A letter stating that the verification process was completed,  

 A copy of the application data that was verified, 

 A copy of the signed SAR/ISIR (If the student was awarded FPELL Grant), 

 A completed Financial Aid transcript. 

 Legal residents of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Guam, Samoa and the Commonwealth of the Northern 

Mariana Islands.  To qualify for this exclusion the parents of a dependent student must also be legal residents of one of 

these territories.   

 Citizens of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia or the Republic of Palau. To qualify 

for this exclusion, the parents of a dependent student must also be citizens of one of these territories.  To document the 

basis for this exclusion, the applicable permanent mailing address will be required,  

 Applicants will not receive federal aid funds. 

Required Verification Items 

Examine the data items listed in 34 C.F.R. 668.56.  Different data items apply to different applicants depending upon student 

dependency status and the Title IV programs used. 

Required data items include: 

 Total number of persons in the household. 

 The number of members of household enrolled as, at least, half-time students in postsecondary educational institutions. 

 Adjusted gross income (AGI) or adjusted gross family income (AGFI) for the base year. 

 U.S. income tax paid for the base year. 

 Certain sources of untaxed income and benefits for the base year if certain conditions would apply include: 

 Social Security benefits, 

 Child support, 

 Untaxed payments to IRA or Keogh, 

 Foreign income, 

 Earned income credit, 

 Interest on tax free bonds. 

The school shall resolve inconsistent application information, for all applicants, in agreement with the requirements of 34 C.F.R. Part 

688.16(f).  

Documentation Required 

 Required Documentation includes the student’s, spouse’s and/or parents’ (as applicable) signed income tax forms (IRS 1040, 1040A, 

or 1040EZ and W-2 forms).  Applicants shall follow the instructions in the Verification Worksheet and complete the appropriate 

sections.  There are two different worksheets: One is intended for dependent students and the other for independent students.  Use the 

worksheets to update and for verification of data.  The school’s financial aid officer may require/provide other appropriate forms. 

Time Period for Providing Documentation 

Applicants must provide the required documentation within 60 days from the last day of attendance or August 31, whichever is earlier. 

Applicant Responsibilities 

To be eligible to receive Title IV funds, Thanh Le College requires applicants to provide requested information within the time 

period(s) specified in these policies.  Applicants must certify that the following data items are correct as listed on the original 

application as of the date of verification, or update any incorrect data items: 

 Total number of persons in the household, 

 The number of members of household enrolled as, at least, half-time students in postsecondary educational institutions, 

 Change in dependency status, 

 Except for changes due to marriage, Federal PELL Grant applicants whose dependency status changes during the 

Award Year must file a correction application. 



 

JANUARY 2017 Page 29 
 

29 
 Except for changes due to marriage, Campus-based applicants whose dependency status changes during the 

Award Year must have their FC re-calculated. 

 The applicant must repay any over award, or any award, discovered during verification, for which he/she was not eligible. 

Consequences of Failing to Provide Documentation Within the Specified Time Period(s) 

If a student does not provide the requested items for verification within 60 days of the request.  If the student fails to provide the data 

within this time frame, the school must then advise the applicant that they are not eligible for financial aid funds. The school then will 

give the applicant the following options: 

 The student may continue training on a cash payment basis, 

 The student may withdraw and re-enroll at no additional charge (there will be no loss of credit earned), when the student 

provides all proof then verification is complete, 

 The applicant must repay any over award or any award for which he/she was not eligible, discovered during verification. 

Interim Disbursements 

The school may not make any interim disbursements. The student must complete verification before disbursement of any Title IV 

funds. 

Tolerances 

If there are non-dollar errors, and if the errors in dollar items total less the $400, there is no requirement to recalculate the students 

EFC. 

Notification of Results of Verification 

The school shall notify the applicant of the results of the verification process within 30 days of the student’s submission. 

Referral Procedure 

The school shall forward to the Secretary of Education any instances of fraud. 

Disclosure and Retention of Student Records 

Educational records are defined as: Files, materials and documents maintained by the institution that contain information directly 

related to each student's period of enrollment. 

Adult students, parents or guardians of minor students, have the right to inspect, review, and challenge information contained in the 

institution’s student records.  However, a staff member must be present in order to provide clarification and/or answers to questions 

raised during the review of the student’s file.  Written consent from the student and/or the parents of a minor student and/or the parents 

of a tax-dependent student is required before educational records may be disclosed to any other party, with the exception of 

accrediting commissions and governmental agencies so authorized by law.  Students are not entitled to inspect the financial records of 

their parents. 

All student records shall be retained for a minimum of five (5) years following the last day of attendance.  Following this period, 

records may be destroyed. 

The following definitions correspond to some common terms used within this catalog and the financial aid documentation: 

Academic Year 

A period of instructional time, not less than 30 weeks, with a minimum of 900 clock hours of instruction for a full time student.  The 

midpoint of the academic year shall be a minimum of 15 weeks and at least 450 clock hours.  In effect, all students enrolled in courses 

with an academic year schedule to be completed in less than 30 weeks, regardless of the number of clock hours offered, would have 

their aid eligibility reduced proportionally to the number of weeks and hours in the course of study in relation to the academic year. 

Clock Hours 

50 to 60 minutes of supervised instruction during a consecutive 60 minute period. 
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Credit Balance 

A credit balance occurs when tuition payments have been received by the institution in excess of the amount of charges assessed to the 

student.  Credit balances are paid within 14 business days from the day the credit balance was generated.  Students must be 

responsible for budgeting their own funds and for ensuring that the funds are used for education-related expenses only. 

Dependent Student 

An individual that does not meet the independent student criteria. This student is required to submit their parents’ income and asset 

data, along with their own, with the application. 

Dependent 

An individual, other than the spouse, that has been supported and will continue to be supported (50% or more of that individual’s 

personal expenses) by the student and/or spouse.  If that individual is and will continue to be supported by the student’s parent(s), that 

individual would be a dependent of the parent(s) and NOT a dependent of the student. 

Family Contribution (EFC) 

The calculated amount that a family contributes to offset a student’s educational costs. 

Financial Aid Eligibility Citizen/Eligible Non-Citizen 

You must be one of the following to receive federal student aid: 

 U.S. citizen or national; 

 U.S. permanent resident; 

 Citizen of the Freely Associated States: the Federated States of Micronesia and the Republic of Palau and the Marshall 

Islands; 

 

Independent Student 

An Independent Student is defined as an individual who meets any of the following criteria: 

5. 24 years of age or older, 

6. A graduate or professional student, 

7. Married or Separated (but not divorced), 

8. Has legal dependents other than a spouse (As defined above), 

9. An orphan or ward of the court up to the age of 18, 

10. A veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces. 

Parent(s) 

For the purposes of the financial aid programs, a “parent” is a student’s mother, father, adoptive parent, stepparent or legal guardian - 

not foster parents. 

Payment Period 

450 hours and 15 weeks for courses of 900 hours or more. It is the mid-point of the program for courses of less than 900 hours and 30 

weeks. 

Need 

Financial Need is the amount left over after subtracting the expected family contribution from your cost of attendance. 

 Student Rights and Responsibilities 

 



 

JANUARY 2017 Page 31 
 

31 
The student has the right to ask the school 

 The name of its accrediting and licensing organizations, 

 About its programs; laboratory, other physical facilities and its faculty, 

 The cost of attending and the policy on refunds to students who drop out, 

 Available financial assistance including information on all federal, state, local, private and institutional financial aid 

programs, 

 About the procedures and deadlines for submitting applications for each available financial aid program, 

 The basis for selecting financial aid recipients, 

 How financial need is determined, 

 How much of your financial need, as determined by the school, has been met, 

 To explain each type and amount of assistance in your financial aid package, 

 To review your aid package if you believe a mistake has been made or if your enrollment or financial circumstances have 

changed, 

 How the school determines whether you are making satisfactory progress and what happens if you are not, 

 About any special facilities and services available to the handicapped. 

It is the student’s responsibility to 

 Review and consider all of the information about the school program before enrolling, 

 Pay special attention to the application for student financial aid, complete it accurately, and submit it on time to the right 

place.  Errors can delay or prevent your receiving aid, 

 Know and comply with all deadlines for applying and re-applying for aid, 

 Provide all documentation, corrections and/or new information requested by either the financial aid officer or the agency 

to which you submitted the application, 

 Notify the school of any information that has changed since you applied, 

 Read, understand, and keep copies of all forms you are asked to sign, 

 Understand the school’s refund policy, 

 Understand and comply with the enrollment status, financial charges, financial terms, time allowed to complete, refund 

policy and termination procedures as specified in the enrollment contract you will be asked to sign, 

 Understand that it is your responsibility and your liability when errors are made and funds for which you are not eligible 

are advanced to you or credited to your school account. 

Register to Vote 

 

Who May Register to Vote  in California 

 You may register to vote if you meet the following criteria: You are a United States citizen 

 You are a resident of California 

 You are at least 18 years of age (or will be by the date of the next election) 

 You are not in prison or on parole for conviction of a felony 

 You have not been judged by a court to be mentally incompetent to register and vote 

You may also stop by City Hall at 11222 Acacia Parkway and visit the City Clerk's Office located on the second floor. There you will 

find all the voter registration forms you need. 

Visit OC Vote  to get the latest results in all elections concerning Orange County, CA. 

http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/elections_vr.htm
http://www.ocvote.com/
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     Organizational Chart & Qualifications 

 

Owner/Sub–Instructor Thanh Le 

Ms. Le is the school owner.  She was a history and geography high school teacher in Vietnam.  When she immigrated to the United 

States, she became a cosmetology instructor and taught for more than ten years.  Ms. Le completed her Bachelor of Science in 

Vocational Education, and in 2008 also received a Master of Arts in Occupational Studies from the California State University of 

Long Beach. 

Director/ Instructor  Joanna Chiapparine 

Ms. Joanna has been involved in cosmetology since 1992 and began teaching 1997.  In 1998, Joanna received her Bachelor of History 

degree from the California State Polytechnic University, Pomona.  She is currently the Director and Head Instructor for the NACCAS-

accredited Cosmetology School. 

Financial Aid Officer – Marbel Ramirez  

Miss Marbel is the Financial Aid Officer and works for Thanh Le College part-time.  She is also a part time student at Coastline 

College majoring in Health Administration. 

Instructor – Michaela Elias 

Ms. Michaela has been in the hair industry for 5years and also very active at her church.  Ms. Michaela is very new to teaching 

cosmetology. The college’s licensure pass rates have elevated under her guidance.   

Instructor – Leticia Delgado- 

Ms. Lety has been teaching cosmetology since 2015.   

Sub Instructor –Marisol Gutierrez 

Ms. Marisol has been teaching cosmetology for more than 23 years.  There isn’t anything in the beauty business that she doesn’t know 

how to accomplish.  In addition to teaching cosmetology, Ms. Marisol was an accountant/bookkeeper for a private company in Mexico. 

Instructor – Maria Snyder 

Ms. Maria has been in the hair industry for 49 years.  She began her career as a local stylist and managed a salon.  Ms. Maria has been 

teaching Cosmetology for the past 27 years and her skills and knowledge have produced some of the best stylists in the industry. 

Educational Director 

Joanna Chiapparine 

Financial Aid Officer 

Marbel Ramirez 

Admin. Assistant 

vacant 

Instructor 
Michaela Elias 

 SnyderSnyder  

Instructor 
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&  
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