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APPROVAL TO OPERATE - DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education
Newberry School of Beauty is a private institution located at 16852 Devonshire St., Granada Hills, Ca 91344. The school is licensed
to operate by the California Department of Consumer Affairs (DCA) and the Bureau of Private Post-Secondary Education (BPPE)
division pursuant to California Education Code Section 94915. The BPPE’s license means that the institution and its operation
comply with the standards established under the law for occupational instruction by private post-secondary educational
institutions. Institutions must be re-licensed every three years subject to continuing review by the Bureau for Private
Postsecondary and Vocational Education. The institution is currently licensed to conduct the following courses: Cosmetology 1600
hours, Barbering 1500, Barber Crossover 200 hours, Manicuring 400 hours and Esthetician 600 hours.

California statue requires that a student who successfully completes a course of study will be awarded an appropriate
diploma or certificate verifying their completion of such course.

Prospective enrollees are encouraged to visit the physical facilities of the school and to discuss personal educational and
occupational plans with school personnel. As a prospective student, you are also encouraged to review this catalog prior to
enrolling or signing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet (How Our
Students Are Doing), which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. Please make Admissions personnel
aware of any special needs or accommodations you may need prior to your enrollment. Please also review physical demands of
the field of Cosmetology on page #7 of the school catalog. Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not
been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to -

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) at 2535 Capital Oaks Drive, Suite #400

Sacramento, CA 95833, www.bppe.ca.gov, toll-free (888) 370-7589, or by fax (916) 263-1897

Newberry School of Beauty is of sound financial status and has no pending petitions of bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in
possession and has not filed any petitions related to such in the past five years.

FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS

The school currently has available sponsored programs, government or otherwise, to provide grants or to pay for portions of
tuition and fees: Pell Grants, SEOG, William D. Ford Federal Direct Loans and Vocational Rehabilitation, for those who qualify. The
school offers cosmetology courses through their contract with the William S. Hart School District for High School students.

The following state bureaus, departments or agencies set minimum standards for your program of studies in accordance with
Education Code Section 94915.

BUREAU OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY

The student must complete the requirements of the State of California, Department of Consumer Affairs, and Bureau of Barbering
and Cosmetology to be eligible for the licensing examination. The mailing address of the Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology is
P.O. Box 944226, Sacramento Ca 94244-2260. The street address is 400 “R” Street, Sacramento, Ca 95814. The telephone
number is (916) 323-9020.

NATIONAL ACCREDITING COMMISSION OF CAREER ARTS & SCIENCES

The school is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences.
Telephone number (703) 600-7600. 3015 Colvin Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 - NACCAS.org

All information and content of this school catalog is current and correct and is so certified as true by Deanna Jacobsen, Chief
Executive Officer.

This catalog is updated each year commencing on the institutions fiscal year end of June 30th.

Any changes made prior to the annual update will be made in the school catalog and posted in the school for all students and
staff.
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OWNERSHIP, MANAGEMENT, AND STAFF
NEWBERRY SCHOOL OF BEAUTY
IS OWNED BY
Delilah Enterprises Inc.

EXECUTIVE OFFICE
16852 Devonshire St., Granada Hills, CA 91344
Phone (818) 366-3211; Fax (818) 832-4306

CORPORATE OFFICER
Deanna L. Jacobsen — Chief Executive Officer

FINANCIAL AID SERVICER — R. Gonzalez Management, Inc.

SCHOOL LOCATION
16852 Devonshire St., Granada Hills, CA 91344

MANAGEMENT and STAFF

Deanna L. Jacobsen
C.E.O.

Pam Barker
Admissions/Management

Angela Patience
Esthetics Supervisor/Management

Sheri Rushforth

Attendance, Financial Aid, Student Loans
Student Counseling

Esthetician Instructors
*Adrienne Paterson, Katie Canale, Angela Patience, Amy Spendlove, Michele DeVilbiss

Cosmetology Instructors
Claudia Avila, *Zelica Balgobin, Kendyl Barker, Dessilina Ford,
*Lucy Gevelekian, Cynthia Michaelis, Nina Minster, *Angela Patience

*Substitute Instructors

Barbering
Oscar Mendoza, Nina Minster, Jose Verduzco,

Instructors are licensed by the State of California, Department of Consumer Affairs, Board of Cosmetology in their
field of expertise in either Cosmetology, Barbering or Esthetician.
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NEWBERRY SCHOOL OF BEAUTY STAFF

Administration
Deanna L. Jacobsen, CEO - School Owner since 1992, Financial Aid Officer,
Practiced and has worked in the field of Cosmetology since 1978. Licensed Electrolysis

Pam Barker — Admissions — Student counseling/School Management & Instructor
Student Services - Applications to State Board Exams Employment/Placement/Schools Externship Program/Student
Counseling/Testing/Problem Solver/Grievances

Angela Patience - Administrative employee since 2005/Management — Holds a license in Cosmetology College degree in
CIDESCO, I.H.B.C and Esthetics since 1975

Sheri Rushforth - Financial Aid Officer - Administrative/FA employee since 1998
Attendance/Financial Aid/Student Loans/Student Counseling

Cosmetology Educators

* Claudia Avila —Educator of Cosmetology since 2004 — Holds a license in Cosmetology and Barbering

*Kendyl Barker - Educator of Cosmetology since 2016 — Holds a license in both Cosmetology and Esthetics
Vocational Education Teaching Credential

*Zelica Balgobin — Educator of Cosmetology since 1986 - Holds a License in Cosmetology

Dessilina Ford — Educator of Cosmetology since 2008 — Holds a license in Cosmetology

Lucy Gevelekian - Educator of Cosmetology since 2004 — Holds a license in Cosmetology

Cynthia Michaelis - Educator of Cosmetology since 2004 — Holds a license in Cosmetology
Vocational Education Teaching Credential

Nina Minster - Educator of Cosmetology since 2010 — Holds a License in Cosmetology and Barbering

Esthetician Educators

Katie Canale — Educator of Esthetics since 2007 — Holds a license in Esthetics

*Angela Patience — Educator since 1975 — Holds a license in Cosmetology -
Great Britain Credentials in both fields of Cosmetology and Esthetician from CIDESCO, |.H.B.C and City Guilds from the U.K

*Adrienne Paterson — Educator of Esthetics since 2003 — Holds a license in Esthetics
Amy Spendlove - Educator of Esthetics since 2003 — Holds a license in Esthetics
Michele DeVilibiss - Educator of Esthetics since 2013 — Holds a license in Esthetics
Barbering

Oscar Mendoza - Educator of Barbering since 2004 — Holds a license in Barbering

Jose Verduzco - Educator in Barbering since 2010 — Barbering and Cosmetology

Substitute Educators
* See above Instructors with an

“ux u,

work limited scheduled hours and are available to substitute when needed.
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The combination of the enroliment agreement and the institution’s catalog represent a legal and
binding document.
ALL PAGES OF THIS CATALOG ARE PART OF YOUR CONTRACT WITH THE SCHOOL.

MISSION STATEMENT — EDUCATIONAL GOALS AND OBIJECTIVES

Welcome to Newberry School of Beauty. Thank you for selecting our school to assist you in obtaining your desired
Cosmetology training. You are now entering into a field of experience that will provide you the opportunity for a very
profitable and successful future in the exciting world of beauty.

Newberry School of Beauty has been training students in the field of Cosmetology since December of 1949. The school has
earned a reputation for excellence and quality of education. Completion of each program of instruction qualifies the
student for the California State Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examinations.

At Newberry School of Beauty it is the objective to provide the student with the education necessary to not only pass the
licensing exam, but also to be an asset to the profession of Cosmetology and to become a success in whatever area of
Cosmetology the student desires. We will prepare you to not only to pass your State exam, but also prepare our graduates
for employment. We place emphasis on how to be successful in the salon, and how to create the life style that you desire.
This means hard work, dedication and practice on your part. The degree of your success will depend on the effort you are
willing to expend during the entire course of your training.

In order to achieve these objectives the institution practices the following:

* Maintains a highly skilled and qualified teaching staff.

* Provides the student with a comprehensive curriculum in the basics of Cosmetology,
Barbering, Barber Crossover, Manicuring and Esthetician, with emphasis on curriculum
to obtain your State license as well as salon techniques.

* Teaches the value of professionalism, including high standards of workmanship and
personal conduct, which will enable the student to secure employment and be an asset
to both their chosen field and community.

* Constantly monitors student outcomes and makes any necessary adjustments/changes
to improve or maintain our educational standards

* Conducts its business in an ethical and educational atmosphere that is a credit to the
Cosmetology industry.

FACILITY/CLASSROOMS

Newberry School of Beauty is located at 16852 Devonshire St. at Balboa in Granada Hills. Plenty of front and rear parking is
available. The facility has approximately 12,000 square feet and consists of two large clinic areas. Cosmetology, Barbering,
Barber Crossover and Manicuring share the same clinic area. The schools Esthetician department has it’s own clinic area
designed for a quite “spa” atmosphere. Students will be able to perform their spa services in individual stations with
privacy. The facility has a wide-open feeling, ample classrooms, with most of the amenities you would find in an upscale
salon. Custom built styling stations, lab area, manicuring area and a wonderful reception area. All classroom and clinic
instruction will be held at this address. Special services and facilities are equipped for students with disabilities. The
location is not equipped for on-campus housing. The institution does not assist in providing or assisting to obtain any
housing for its students. Total student occupancy level is 225.
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ENROLLMENT & CLASS SCHEDULE
Enroliment should be completed the week prior to the desired start date. Students who enroll and complete necessary papers early
will receive priority for enrollment in the event their desired class is filled.
Class Schedules

Day Classes are held Tuesday — Saturday Night Classes are held Monday - Friday
8:30am — 2:30pm Fulltime 6:00pm — 10:00pm
8:30am — 12:30pm Part Time Currently not available

1:00pm — 5:00pm Part Time - When Available

8:30am — 5:00pm Extra Fulltime

All classes are held at 16852 Devonshire Street, Granada Hills, Ca 91344

START DATES

An exact calendar of start dates is not given. If the prior class falls behind in their classes, in the best interests of our students, we
may postpone a class from starting. Please call the school for exact start dates.

Cosmetology, Barbering & Barber Crossover classes start approximately every ten weeks depending on class size. Manicuring classes
are not being offered at this time.

Esthetician classes start the second Tuesday of each month depending on class size.

Nondiscrimination Policy

Newberry School of Beauty admits qualified students of any race, color, national or ethnic origin, sex, age, disability, religion, sexual
orientation, gender identity, veteran status, or marital status to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded
or made available to students at the School. Consistent with its obligations under the law, in the administration of the School’s
programs and activities, Newberry prohibits unlawful discrimination on the basis of race, color, national or ethnic origin, sex, age,
disability, religion, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, veteran status, marital status or any other characteristic
protected by applicable law; Newberry also prohibits unlawful harassment including sexual harassment and sexual violence. If a
student with disabilities requires reasonable modifications for courses, such as reasonable modifications or aids and services including
(1) a service animal (not emotional support animal), (2) provided auxiliary aids and services such as notetakers, qualified interpreters,
assistive listening systems, and qualified readers during coursework or exams, and (3) modifying an examination to include changes in
the length of time permitted for the completion of the exam or adapting the manner in which the examination is given, please
contact Ms. Pam Barker or Ms. Sheri Rushforth, to request reasonable accommodations or modifications. All requests must be in
writing. This policy applies to all Newberry programs and activities both on and off-campus. Ms. Barker and Ms. Rushforth are located
on campus at 16852 Devonshire Street, Granada Hills CA; 818-366- 3211. You may also email Newberryinfo@gmail.com Individuals
may also file complaints directly with the Office for Civil Rights, within the United States Department of Education, by following the
information on: https://www?2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/complaintintro.html|

The above policy applies to both students and staff/employees of Newberry School of Beauty.

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS

The school requires that each student enrolling in any of its offered programs must:

B) Complete an application for enroliment

C) In order to be admitted into the school, a student must be 18 years of age or older and have a High School Diploma, OR a
recognized equivalent of a High School Diploma OR meet the school’s ABILITY to BENEFIT requirements.

D) Ability to Benefit requirements require that a student must be enrolled in a course 600 hours or more, be 18 years of age or older
and satisfactorily complete 225 clock hours after enrollment in their course of study, and meet the schools satisfactory progress
policy during those 225 hours of attendance (page 20 of the school catalog). Ability to Benefit students will be evaluated at 225 hours
making sure the student is meeting the school’s Satisfactory Progress Policy at that time. If at the time of evaluation, the student is
not meeting Satisfactory Progress, student will be terminated from school and the schools refund policy will be implemented.

E) Financial Aid applicants must posses and provide a copy of his/her High School Diploma.

F) If you do not possess a High School Diploma, and are over 18 years of age, you must have at least completed the 10t grade to be
admitted as a regular student and meet the school’s Ability to Benefit requirements.

G) All students must take and pass an Entrance Exam regardless of having a High School diploma or not.

An Entrance Exam will be given by a school employee. If the potential student fails the first exam, they will be allowed to take a
second exam the following week. Please make an appointment with Admissions. If the potential student fails the second Exam, they
will have to wait 30 days to retest. Please make an appointment with Admissions. If the student fails the Entrance Exam a third time,
they will no longer be eligible for enroliment into the school

H) Students enrolling under a training agreement with another entity must meet the requirements set by that entity and take the
school’s entrance exam prior to enrollment.

GED Programs: Community and Junior Colleges offer preparation and testing for GED.
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ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS /POLICY FOR TRANSFER STUDENTS

Any student transferring from another Cosmetology School: Transfer students with prior hours in
the state of California must present ALL withdrawal papers from each enrollment in EVERY prior school
before enrollment in this school if they wish to receive credit for those hours. If coming from another
state, Only The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology may grant credit of hours and operations received
by the student from another State other than California. The school will only accept credit hours from
another state with documentation from the California State Board. Newberry School of Beauty does
not recruit students already attending or admitted to another school offering a similar program of
study. Newberry School of Beauty will not accept students for enrollment in the following courses for
any hours less than:

Cosmetology 400, Barbering 400, Barber Crossover 200, Esthetician 300 and Manicuring 200. This
includes students with State credit and a letter of recommendation from the Barbering and
Cosmetology Program. Out of State students must first request and receive a “Letter of Evaluation”
from the California Barbering and Cosmetology Program. Newberry School of Beauty does not
guarantee that the school will accept any of your prior hours. Copies of all above documents shall be
retained in Student files upon enrollment. Newberry School of Beauty will only accept prior hours from
another California Cosmetology School or a letter from the California Board of Barbering and
Cosmetology. The school does not accept any experiential hours (hours received through experience
working in the field).

Charges for tuition, fees and equipment for Transfer Students
Tuition will be based on the current hourly rate multiplied times the amount of hours required to
complete the course. Student will only be charged for the amount of hours needed to complete the
program.
* The enrollment fee will be $100.00 or 15% of the total tuition, whichever is less. *
Students must have all equipment as listed in the school’s current kit list or
purchase the kit from the school.
* Students requiring more than 300 hours of education, will be required to
purchase the schools educational kit
If the student is applying for any type of Financial Aid, the school must receive Financial Aid transcripts
by the student for each prior school attended, NOT LIMITED TO COSMETOLOGY SCHOOLS, prior to the
disbursement of any Financial Aid.

The School Director, prior to enrollment, must determine that all remaining required technical hours of
instruction and operations will be able to be completed by the Student in the time frame allotted.

A transfer student may be required to complete additional hours at the schools discretion.

Teach-Out Agreements

On occasion, the School may enter in to a TEACH-OUT agreement with another school. This happens
when a school is closing or moving. If the school is moving and students cannot travel the extra
distance, or wish not to attend the new location, they may be accepted at Newberry School of Beauty
to complete their training. If the school accepts a student on a TEACH-OUT agreement, the student’s
documented current balance from the school which is closing or moving will be honored at Newberry
School of Beauty and become the balance owed to the school.

Transferability of Credits/Hours earned at our Institution

The transferability of credits/hours you earn at Newberry School of Beauty is at the complete discretion of
an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of diploma you earn in your course of study,
is also at the discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the credits/hours/diploma
that you earn at this institution are not accepted at an institution that you transfer to, you may be required
to repeat some of your coursework at that institutution. For this reason you should make certain that your
attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution
to which you seek to transfer after attending Newberry School of Beauty to determine if your
credits/hours/diploma will transfer. Copies of Student Records shall be provided upon request. The
charges or refund to the student will be determined following the school’s refund policy contained in the
student’s signed enrollment agreement “Contract”. No paperwork shall be released if the student has an
outstanding balance with the school. All payments made upon leaving the school shall be paid either by
cash or credit card.
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DISCLOSURE and RETENTION of EDUCATIONAL RECORDS-FERPA
Adult students, and parents of dependent minor students have the right to inspect; review and challenge
information contained in their education records. Educational records are defined as files, materials and
documents, which contain information directly related to a student and maintained by the institution. This
includes all Financial Aid files.
Written consent from the student is required before education records may be disclosed to third parties,
with the exception of parents or guardians of dependent minor students, accrediting commissions,
government agencies, designated staff and/or education department so authorized by law. Once a student
becomes the age of 18, a parent must get consent from the student to view all files even if the student is
dependent for tax return purposes. Information will not be released on any student without meeting the
above guidelines.
Any inquiries or complaints regarding the above should be directed to the supervisor of the school or to an
authorized representative. It is required that a forty-eight hour notice be given to management by anyone
wishing to inspect educational records. Students requesting a review or audit of their time cards will be
scheduled for the review within 7 days. All inspections of records must be done under supervision of
school management. Active student files are kept in a locked office when not occupied. Student records are
kept for six (6) years.
STUDENT SERVICES AND PLACEMENT
While the school cannot guarantee employment for graduates, the school does make every effort to help
our graduates obtain employment. Classes are given on, how to write a resume, job searching and
interviewing techniques. The school gives its students the opportunity to assist in salons while
attending school through its externship program (see registrar for externship rules and guidelines).
The school maintains a network of relationships with professionals and employers throughout the
community who are frequently seeking our graduates. Graduates are encouraged to maintain contact with
the school on current employment and future employment needs. Call our registrar for job opportunities
and career counseling. Visit us on Facebook where current job opportunities are posted, or better yet,
come by and see us!!!
HOLIDAY & EMERGENCY CLOSURES
The school is closed every Sunday and on the following Holidays: New Years Day - Partial Day, Memorial
Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, the Friday following Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve -
Partial and Christmas Day. Holidays of religious beliefs are respected and allowed. Holidays are part of the
additional time given students on their enrollment contracts. If the school must close for an emergency or
an unexpected reason, students will either be notified by phone or a notice will be posted on the front door
of the school with an explanation for the closure and a date of re-opening.
GRIEVANCE POLICY AND PROCEDURES - to include request for additional accommodations.
The school will make every attempt to resolve a grievance that is not frivolous or without merit.
Grievances should first be addressed in writing to your Supervising Instructor. If your Supervising
Instructor is unable to resolve the issue within 10 business days, a written letter should be addressed to
the school Director and or Deanna Jacobsen respectively. Upon receipt of a written grievance, the school
will provide the student with a written response, including a summary of the school’s investigation and the
disposition within 30 days of receiving the grievance. If a grievance is found to be unwarranted and or is
rejected, a reason for the rejection will be explained.
REQUESTS FOR ACCOMMODATIONS OR MODIFICATIONS FOR THOSE WITH DISABILITIES
If you are a student with a disability and need additional assistance, please submit in writing to, Deanna
Jacobsen, Newberry School of Beauty, your request for accommodations or modifications you may need to
complete your individual course of study.
The school may request documentation from a student requesting modifications, accommodations, or for
auxiliary aid. All requests will be reasonable and limited to the need of the modification or request.
The school will take into consideration all past requests for modifications, accommodations, or auxiliary
aids or services provided to individuals with disabilities. Past accommodations that were provided in
response to an Individualized Education Program (IEP) will also be reviewed. Upon receipt of a written
request, the school will provide the student with a written response within 10 business days.
The school will comply with all required ADA Title III guidelines.

Although these are the schools’ formal guidelines for submitting a request and or complaint, our doors are
always open for students and staff to communicate verbally. A student or any member of the public may file a
complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education by calling (888)
370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s internet
web site www.bppe.ca.gov, or the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences at www.

NACCAS.org, 3015 Colvin Street, Alexandria, VA 22314, (703) 600-7600 6



PHYSICAL DEMANDS AND SAFETY REQUIREMENTS

Physical demands very by course. Ms. Pam Barker or Ms. Sheri Rushforth, both located on campus, will answer any questions you may
have and review any requests you may have for accommodations or modifications for those with disabilities, Title Il of the Americans
with Disabilities Act.

Fields in Cosmetology include all aspects of hair as well as all forms of Barbering, Esthetics and Manicuring.

Once licensed, the graduate will have many wonderful occupation opportunities, but they will be demanding.

Some of these varied occupations entail, long-standing, bending and repetitive hand motions.

Before entering into this field, we suggest you visit a place of business where you see yourself working after you graduate, ask
questions, and observe for a bit to see if this career is for you.

An employer may request that you work on weekends and some evenings. Employers may also require that you acquire additional
training and or assist another stylist, barber or facialist prior to obtaining your own clientele. This could be up to one year.

Please also be aware of the many chemicals you will be in contact with on a day-to-day basis.

Wearing protective gloves and appropriate clothing is necessary.

Knowledge of and proper handling of hazardous materials is a must. Safety is a big part of your education. Please be aware of any
allergies you may have with chemicals and or latex before entering the field of cosmetology.

Any allergies you may have can be discussed with admissions.

ACCOUNTING OF STUDENT HOURS AND OPERATIONS

All students are responsible for the accuracy of their time sheets. Students must clock in and out at the required times and record all
hours of classroom attendance and operations completed on the time sheet in the appropriated space. The student must present the
completed time sheet to an instructor for verification of accuracy and a signature by the instructor at the end of each day. If the time
sheet is not signed by an instructor, you will not receive credit for the day’s operations. Please read and adhere to the “Student Time
Card Procedures” given to you during orientation. Students are not to remove time sheets from the premises at any time.

Forged or altered time cards are grounds for immediate expulsion.

All time clock hours, classroom hours and operations are posted weekly using the school’s computerized attendance system. The time
sheets are then filed in the student’s time sheet folder. Students wishing to review their time sheets with the Director must make their
request in writing. An appointment to review time sheets will be

scheduled within seven days.

ATTENDANCE POLICY

ABSENCES are considered excused under the following circumstances: illness, death or birth in the immediate family, and other valid
reasons. Excused however, does not mean you will receive hours for the time you were gone. It only means you will be allowed to re-
enter the school. All excused absences are to be sustained in writing and are at the discretion of the school Director. If you have a
special event to attend, a two-week notice in writing is required from the student. If a student is absent for 21 consecutive calendar
days, they will be dropped from the program on the 21 day.

LEAVE OF ABSENCE (LOA): If a student finds it necessary to be absent from school for three weeks (21 days) or
more she/he must first get permission from the Director PRIOR to leaving. Only one Leave of Absence will be
granted per twelve-month period. A leave of absence will be granted for a minimum of 21 consecutive calendar
days and a maximum of 120 consecutive calendar days.

Tuition payments are still due on time to avoid any late fees during the time of your leave.

To MAKE UP WORK or CLASSES MISSED, check the Class Schedule for the next date class will be given in the subject you missed and
request permission from the Director to attend. Permission from the Director is required anytime a student wishes to attend school
outside his/her scheduled time. Students are required to make up any missed lessons or exams due to absenteeism. It is the student’s
responsibility to schedule for missed work.

TARDY: Any student late for class by fifteen minutes will not be permitted to clock in for that day.
CHANGE OF STATUS: If a student finds they are unable to attend their scheduled hours (full or part time) they must request a change of
status from the Director prior to attending more or less hours. A fee of $ 40.00 will be added to the student’s tuition account for any

change of status. It is your responsibility to check with the Financial Aid Office to make sure any change in your attendance does not
affect your Financial Aid Funding or eligibility.
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A PIVOT POINT INTERNATIONAL EDUCATOR
COSMETOLOGY COURSE CURRICULUM: 1600 HOURS

Program **CIP # Related **CIP# Program Level

12.0401 12.0408 — Facial Treatment/Facialist 12.0407 Undergraduate
Cosmetology 12.0406 — Make-Up Artist/Specialist

12.0407 12.0410 - Nail Technician/Manicurist

Hair Stylist/Design 12.0412 - Salon/Beauty Management

Classes meet Tuesday —Saturday Evening Classes — Monday - Friday

Class Schedules Offered Program Length

8:30am — 5:00pm (extra fulltime) 10 months or 40 weeks
8:30am - 2:30pm (fulltime) 12.26 months or 53.33 weeks
8:30am — 12:30pm (part time) 20 months or 80 weeks
1:00pm — 5:00pm (part time) when available 20 months or 80 weeks
6:00pm — 10:00pm (part time) 20 months or 80 weeks

The objective of the Cosmetology Course is to develop in the student the practical skills, theoretical knowledge,
and professional attitudes necessary for success in the profession and to qualify and equip the student to pass the
California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. After the graduate has successfully
passed her/his state exam, they are qualified to work as a licensed cosmetologist in any licensed facility in the
state of California. They may cut hair, perform hair styling, perform all phases of manicuring, apply make-up and
give skin care (within the scope of the license) for profit.

As a cosmetologist, many exciting job opportunities await you. If you enjoy travel you can embark on an
adventure on a cruise ship as a stylist. Open your own salon. Represent a major manufacture in the beauty
industry, or choose your own expertise and perform only applications, which you prefer, colorist, stylist etc. Work
in a spa performing manicures, hair styling and makeup applications. The possibilities are endless!

The Cosmetology course is 1600 clock hours in length. The 1600 hours will be divided between the various
scopes of the program. There will be plenty of practical hands on time as well as technical instruction (theory
hours), which consist of various learning activities in a classroom situation. The institution uses the most recent
version of text for the student’s studies. Pivot Point International Textbook of Cosmetology is used along with
various periodicals and visual materials. Learning materials are available from the school library for the students
use. Please see Student Services to check out any instructional materials. Your student Drivers License will be
used to check out any educational materials. Practical/Hands On time is devoted to practical operations in which
students develop and practice cosmetology skills under the supervision of licensed instructors in actual working
conditions. The institution prides itself in giving the students the opportunity to work in our salon-like clinic
environment. Students who maintain a “C” grade point average and have developed a professional attitude, show
competency in practical procedures, and have completed ALL required clock hours of both practical and theory
training and have completed ALL other requirements/assignments set by the school in their course of study,
will be eligible for graduation. Additional subjects include, Retail practices, Job Hunting, and Career
Opportunities.

Once you receive your certificate of completion from the school, you may now apply and take the State Licensing
Exam for your Cosmetology License.

"

TUITION AND FEES FOR COSMETOLOGY

Registration fee $100.00 - non-refundable ﬁ \ \

Tuition (1600 hours) $17,600.00 - based on $11.00 each hour v

Supplies and Equipment $2,385.00 - Student may be required to purchase additional supplies

Schoolld ~ $50/00 -non-refundable

Total $2}ﬁ)0 (if eligible, a large portion of your tuition can be paid by
Pell Grants)

** Depending on your ability to obtaiimﬂnancial Aid and or Student Loans,
It is possible to pay NOTHING DOWN arid-NO MONTHLY PAYMENTS!!!!
Please see the schools Financial Aid Officer for payment options.

** Department of Education Occupational Codes
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COURSE DESCRIPTION COSMETOLOGY:
The course is 1600 clock hours in length, which can be completed in approximately 12 months of full
time attendance. Course time is devoted to technical (theory) which consists of various learning
activities in a classroom situation as well as clinic hours. Clinic time is devoted to practical
operations in which students develop and practice cosmetology skills under the supervision of
licensed instructors in actual working conditions. Additional subjects include Business Management,
Reception Desk, Retail practices, Job Hunting, and Career Opportunities.

Following is a list of subjects taught and State required hours and operations for each:

Subject Required Technical Required Clinic
Instruction Hours Operations

Acts & Rules/Licensing Requirements 20 0
History & Career Opportunities 20 0
Health & Safety Considerations 45 0
Disinfecting & Sanitation 20 0
Anatomy & Physiology 15 0
Hairstyling 65 240
Permanent Waving & Straightening 40 105
Hair Cutting 20 80
Hair Coloring & Bleaching 60 50
Scalp and Hair Treatments 5 20
Facials-Manual,Electrical, Chemical 25 40
Eyebrow Beautification & Makeup 25 30
Nail Diseases & Disorders 10 0
Manicure & Pedicure 10 25
Artificial Nails-Wraps 25 120 nails
Business Skills 15 0
Clinic Hours 1,180

Total Hours Needed 1,600

These are only MINIMUM requirements. You will be required to complete various school
assignments, additional theory and or operations.

COURSE FORMAT:

The course format will be a combination of lecture, demonstration and student participation.
Students will demonstrate their knowledge of cosmetology theory and application ability through their
completion of the required practical activities. Instruction will be supplemented will guest artists,
visual aids, and other instructional techniques.

COURSE GOALS:

Upon the successful completion of the cosmetology course the student will have met the requirements
of the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and be prepared to take the State Board
exam for licensing. After the graduate is licensed she/he is qualified to work in any licensed
cosmetology establishment in the state of California.
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BARBERING COURSE CURRICULUM: 1500 HOURS

Program **CIP # Related **CIP# Program Level
12.0402 12.0407 — Hair Stylist/Design Undergraduate 1
Barbering 12.0412 - Salon/Beauty Management

12.0413 — Barber Instructor

Classes meet Tuesday —Saturday

Class Schedules Offered Program Length

8:30am — 2:30pm (fulltime) 11.26 months or 50.00weeks
8:30am - 12:30pm (part time) 18.5 months or 75 weeks
1:00pm — 5:00pm (part time) when available 18.5 months or 75 weeks
8:30am — 5:00pm (extra fulltime) 9.5 months or 37.5 weeks
5:00pm - 9:00pm Evening Classes 18.5 months or 75 weeks

COURSE DESCRIPTION BARBERING:

The objective of the Barbering Course is to develop in the student the practical skills, theoretical
knowledge, professional attitudes necessary for success in the profession, and to qualify and equip
the student to pass the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination.
After the graduate has successfully passed her/his state exam, they are qualified to work as a
licensed barber in any licensed facility in the state of California. The Barbering program prepares
individuals to shave and trim facial/neck hair and beards, cut and dress hair, fit hairpieces, give
facial and scalp massages, apply cosmetic treatments, and to prepare for licensure as professional
barbers at various levels. Instruction in facial shaving; beard and mustache shaping and trimming;
shampooing; hair cutting; hairstyles and styling art; facial treatments and massage; chemical
applications such as color and chemical services; hair and scalp anatomy and physiology; hairpiece
and toupee fitting; equipment operation; health and safety; customer service; and shop business
practices. The Barbering course is 1500 clock hours in length. The 1500 hours will be divided
between the various scopes of the program. There will be plenty of practical hands on time as well
as technical instruction (theory hours), which consist of various learning activities in a classroom
environment. The institution uses the most recent version of text for the student’s studies. The
Milady’s Standard Professional Barbering text is used along with various periodicals and visual
materials. Learning materials are available from the school library for the students use. Please see
your instructor to check out any instructional materials. Your student ID or drivers license will be
used to check out any educational materials. Practical/Hands On time is devoted to practical
operations in which students develop and practice Barbering skills under the supervision of licensed
instructors in actual working conditions. The institution prides itself in giving the students the
opportunity to work in our salon-like clinic environment. Students who maintain a “C” grade point
average and have developed a professional attitude, show competency in practical procedures, and
have completed ALL required clock hours of both practical and theory training and have completed
ALL other requirements/assignments set by the school in their course of study, will be
eligible for graduation. Additional subjects include, Retail practices, Job Hunting, and Career
Opportunities. Once you receive your certificate of completion from the school, you may now apqu,‘
and take the State Licensing Exam for your Barbering License. A

N\ J
TUITION AND FEES FOR BARBERING » \ ! }
Registration fee $100.00 - non-refundable a { \
Tuition (1500 hours) $13,500.00 - based on $9.00 each hour o
Supplies and Equipment $1,653.00 - students. may-be required to purchase additional supplies..
School Id - , 0-non-refundable Student |.D~ .
Total $/4'O3 /00 (if eligible, a large portidh of your tuition could be paid by Pell Grants)

*** Depending on your ability to obt*ain,ELnancial Aid and or Student Loans,
It is possible to pay NOTHING DOWN and NO MONTHLEV-RAYMENTS!!!! am——""

Please see the schools Financial Aid Officer for payment options.
** Department of Education Occupational Codes
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Following is a list of subjects taught and State required hours and operations for each:

SUBJECT

Minimum
Hours of
Technical
Instruction

Minimum
Practical
Operations

(1) The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the
Board’s Rules and Regulations.

20

(2) History, Career Opportunities and Life Skills -
shall include, but not limited to the brief history of
Barbering, career paths, career opportunities and managing
your career. Skills on management of your time and study
skills. Goal setting and the ethics of being a Barber.

5

(3) Professional Image/Communicating for Success -
shall include, but not limited to your physical
presentation and appearance. Communication skills in and
out of the salon.

(4) Health and safety/Hazardous Substances -
including training in chemicals and health in
establishments, material safety data sheets, protection
from hazardous chemicals preventing chemical injuries,
health and safety Taws and agencies, bacteriology and
preventing communicable diseases including HIV/AIDS and
Hepatitis

45

(5) pisinfection and Sanitation - Shall include, but
not Timited to the following procedures: Proper procedures
to protect the health and safety of the consumer as well
as the technician. Proper disinfection procedures for
equipment used in establishments. Disinfection procedures
will be emphasized throughout the entire training period
and will be performed before the use of all instruments
and equipment.

20

(6) Anatomy and Physiology - shall include, but not
Timited to the study of Human Anatomy & Human Physiology

15

(7) Hairstyling - shall include but not Timited to, hair
analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, comb
outs, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs, hot
curling irons and blow styling.

65

240

(8) Permanent wWaving & Chemical Straightening - Shall
include but not limited to, hair analysis, acid and
alkaline permanent waving, chemical straightening,
including the use of sodium hydroxide and other base
solutions.

40

105

(9) Hair Coloring and BTeaching - sShall include but not
Timited to,

hair analysis, predisposition strand testing, safety
precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, high and
low Tlights, and the use of dye removers. Types of Color
will include the use of permanent, semi-permanent, demi-
permanent and temporary colors.

60

50

(10) Hair Cutting - Shall include but Timited to, the
following techniques and procedures: The use of scissors,
razor (shaper), electrical clippers/trimmers, and thinning
shears (tapering) for wet and dry cutting.

20

80

(11) shaving - Preparation and Performance - Shall
include, but Timited to the following techniques and
procedures: Preparing the client’s hair for shaving,
assessing the condition of the client’s skin, performing
shaving techniques, applying after-shave antiseptic
following facial services, massaging the client’s face and
rolling cream massages.

100

40

(12) seeking Employment - shall include, but not
limited to preparing for licensure and employment.
resume preparation.

Job

(13) on the Job/salon Business - Shall include, but
not Timited to the salon business and what to expect.
Going into business yourself. Managing your clients and
building a client base.

Hours spent on Clinic Floor

1,095

¢ TOTAL REQUIRED HOURS

1,500

8c
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BARBER CROSSOVER COURSE CURRICULUM: 200 HOURS

Program **CIP # Related **CIP# Program Level
12.0402 12.0407 — Hair Stylist/Design Undergraduate 1
Barbering 12.0412 — Salon/Beauty Management

12.0413 — Barber Instructor

Classes meet Tuesday —Saturday

Class Schedules Offered Program Length
8:30am — 2:30pm (fulltime) 7 weeks

8:30am — 12:30pm (part time) 10 weeks

5:00pm — 9:00pm (Evening Classes) 10 weeks

**YOU MUST HAVE A VALID COSMETOLOGY LICENSE TO BE
ELIGIBLE FOR THIS COURSE* *

COURSE DESCRIPTION BARBER CROSSOVER:

The objective of the Barber Crossover Course is to develop in the student the practical skills,
theoretical knowledge, professional attitudes necessary for success in the profession, and to
qualify and equip the student to pass the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
Barbering licensing examination. After the graduate has successfully passed her/his state
exam, they are qualified to work as a licensed barber in any licensed facility in the state of
California. The Barber Crossover program prepares individuals to shave, trim facial/neck hair
and beards. Instruction in facial shaving; beard and mustache shaping and trimming. Other
learning activities will include equipment operation; health and safety; customer service; and
shop business practices. The Barber Crossover course is 200 clock hours in length. The 200
hours will be divided between the various scopes of the program. There will be plenty of
practical hands on time as well as technical instruction (theory hours), which consist of various
learning activities in a classroom environment. The institution uses the most recent version of
text for the student’s studies. The Milady’s Standard Professional Barbering text is used along
with various periodicals and visual materials. Learning materials are available from the school
library for the students use. Please see your instructor to check out any instructional
materials. Your student ID or drivers license will be used to check out any educational
materials. Practical/Hands On time is devoted to practical operations in which students
develop and practice Barbering skills under the supervision of licensed instructors in actual
working conditions. The institution prides itself in giving the students the opportunity to
work in our salon-like clinic environment. Students who maintain a “C” grade point average
and have developed a professional attitude, show competency in practical procedures, and
have completed ALL required clock hours of both practical and theory training and have
completed ALL other requirements/assignments set by the school in their course of
study, will be eligible for graduation. Additional subjects include, Retail practices, Job
Hunting, and Career Opportunities. Once you receive your certificate of completion from the
school, you may now apply and take the State Licensing Exam for your Barbering License.

TUITION AND FEES FOR BARBER CROSSOVER

Registration fee $100.00 - non-refundable
Tuition (200 hours) $1,600.00 - based on $9.00 each hour
Total $1,700.00

* School monthly payment plans are available.

* Monthly payments will depend on your initial down payment made.
* Financial Aid is not available for this course.

** Department of Education Occupational Codes
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SUBJECT

Minimum
Hours of
Technical
Instruction

Minimqm
Pract1ga1
Operations

1) The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the
oard’s Rules and Regulations.

5

2) History, Career Opportunities and Life Skills
Shall include, but not limited to the brief history of
arbering, career paths, career opportunities and
anaging your career. Skills on management of your time
ndbstudy skills. Goal setting and the ethics of being a
arber.

5

3) Health and safety/Hazardous Substances -
ncluding training in chemicals and health in
stablishments, material safety data sheets, protection
rom hazardous chemicals preventing chemical injuries,
ealth and safety laws and agencies, bacteriology and
reventing communicable diseases including HIV/AIDS and
epatitis

10

4) Disinfection and Sanitation - Shall include, but
ot lTimited to the following procedures: Proper
rocedures to protect the health and safety of the
onsumer as well as the technician. Proper disinfection
rocedures for equipment used in establishments.
isinfection procedures will be emphasized throughout
he entire training period and will be performed before
he use of all instruments and equipment.

10

11) shaving - Preparation and Performance - Shall
nclude, but limited to the following techniques and
rocedures: Preparing the client’s hair for shaving,
ssessing the condition of the client’s skin, performing
having techniques, applying after-shave ant1sept1c
ollowing facial services, massaging the client’s face
nd rolling cream massages.

100

50

13) ADDITIONAL TRAINING - On the Job/Salon
usiness - sShall include, but not Timited to the salon
usiness and what to expect. Going into business
ourself. Managing your clients and building a client
ase. (3) pProfessional Image/Communicating for
uccess - Shall include, but not Timited to your
hysical presentation and appearance. Communication
kills in and out of the salon. Seeking Employment -
hall include, but not Timited to preparing for
1censure and employment. Job resume preparation.

State Board Practical Procedures **

20

* Written Chapter Tests **

20

o o
W

* Clinic Hours

25

TOTAL HOURS NEEDED

200

BECAUSE OF THE SHORT DURATION OF THIS CLASS, YOU WILL BE REQUIRED TO
IN ORDER TO GRADUATE, YOU WILL
BE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE AND PASS EACH CHAPTER TEST ALONG WITH A FINAL

STUDY EACH CHAPTER ON YOUR OWN TIME.

EXAM.

THE STATE REQUIRES THAT YOU TAKE BOTH THE WRITTEN &

PRACTICAL PORTIONS OF THE STATE BOARD BARBERING EXAM

ORDER TO OBTAIN YOUR LICENSE. This will include subjects from your
Cosmetology course such as Hair Coloring, Electricity, Anatomy, Etc. It is

our job to prepare you the best we can in your limited 200 hours ©

8e
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PIVOT POINT INTERNATIONAL EDUCATOR
ESTHETICIAN COURSE CURRICULUM: 600 HOURS

Program **CIP Related **CIP# Program Level
12.0409 12.0408 — Facial Treatment Specialist Undergraduate 1
Esthetician 12.0406 — Make-Up Artist/Specialist

12.0412 - Beauty Salon/ Salon Management

* Classes meet Tuesday-Saturday

Class Schedules Offered Program Length

8:30am — 2:30pm (fulltime) 5.75 months or 20 weeks
8:30am - 12:30pm (day part time) 7.50 months or 30 weeks
8:30am - 5:00pm (extra fulltime) when available 3.75 months or 15 weeks

The objective of the Esthetician Course is to develop in the student the practical skills, theoretical knowledge,
professional attitudes necessary for success in the profession and to qualify and equip the student to pass the
California State Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. With the growing and ever
popular public concerns on skin care, you are entering an exciting time for this career. The possibilities are
endless! Travel aboard a cruise ship as an esthetician. Work for a plastic surgeon or a dermatologist. Open your
own spa performing facials, waxing, skin care consultations and makeup applications. Work for a major
manufacture in the beauty industry. Take it on the road doing makeup applications for weddings or even the
movie studios!

The Esthetician course is 600 clock hours in length. Course time is devoted to practical and technical
instruction in the areas of Manual and Electrical Facials, Hair removal (waxing), Eyebrow arching, Make-up,
Eyelash Application and California Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology Acts & Rules and regulations. The
institution uses the most recent version of text for the student’s studies. Pivot Point International Esthetic
textbooks are used along with various periodicals and visual materials. Learning materials are available from the
school library for the students use. Please see your instructor to check out any instructional materials. Your
student ID will be used to check out any educational materials. The balance of the course time is spent on the
clinic floor. The institution takes pride in our students being able to perform their practical instruction in our
spa-like clinic environment. Students who maintain a “C” grade point average and have developed a
professional attitude, show competency in practical procedures, and have completed ALL required clock hours
of both practical and theory training and have completed ALL other requirements/assignments set by the
school in their course of study, will be eligible for graduation.

Additional subjects include, Inventory control, Reception desk, Retail practices, Job Hunting, and Career
Opportunities. ik

TUITION AND FEES FOR ESTHETICIAN \ D
Registration Fee $100.00 - non-refundable (.
Tuition $8,850.00 - based on $14.75 per each hour \D)
Supplies and Equipment $989.00 -  additional supplies:may'berequired..,
School ID $50.00 - non-refundable._ B
Total $9,?4700 (if eligible; a large portion of your tuition can be
paid by Pell Grants) A

A - 9
R . — ,:"“'n'
T Sy e

* ** Depending on your ability to obtain Financial Aid and or Student Loans,
It is possible to pay NOTHING DOWN and NO MONTHLY PAYMENTS!!!!
Please see the schools Financial Aid Officer for payment options.

** Department of Education Occupational Codes
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COURSE DESCRIPTIONS ESTHETICIAN:

The course is 600 clock hours in length. Course time is devoted to practical and technical instruction in
the areas of Manual and Electrical Facials, Hair removal, Eyebrow arching, Make-up, Eyelash
Application and California Cosmetology Acts & Rules & Regulations. The balance of the course time is
spent on the clinic floor. Following is a list of California State Board of Cosmetology’ minimum required
subjects, hours and operations.

Subject Required Hours Required Operations

Cosmetology Act & Rules & Regulations 10
Disinfection and Sanitation 10
Health & Safety - Client Consultation,

Record Keeping, Pre and Post Service Skills,

Chemistry & Electricity & Safety 40

Anatomy and Physiology 15

Facials (Manual) 25 50
Facials (Electrical) 25 50
Facials (Chemical) 20 40
Eyebrow Arching &

Hair Removal 25 50
Make-up &

Eyelash application 20 40

Additional Training
(Job Hunting, Customer Relations

Business and Salon Management) 25
Clinic Hours 385
Total Hours Needed 600

These are only MINIMUM requirements. You will be required to complete additional
school assignments, additional operations and theory hours during your course of
studies.

9a
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MANICURING COURSE CURRICULUM: 400 HOURS

Program **CIP#
12.0410 — NAIL TECHCNICIAN/MANICURIST

*DAY CLASSES MEET TUESDAY- SATURDAY

CLASS SCHEDULES OFFERED PROGRAM LENGTH
8:30am — 2:30pm (fulltime) 3.33 months or 13.33 weeks
8:30am — 5:00 (extra fulltime) 2.50 months or 10 weeks

This course is only available when there is going to be a starting class of four students or
greater.

The objective of the Manicuring course is to develop in the student the practical skills, theoretical
knowledge, and professional knowledge necessary for success as a manicuring specialist and to qualify and
equip the student to successfully pass the State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination.
Once they have successfully passed the state exam, they may work as a licensed manicurist in any licensed
facility in the state of California, performing all phases of manicuring/pedicure.

As a Manicurist you don’t only have to work in a nail salon. You can work in a hair salon pulling from the
stylist clientele performing manicures and pedicures. Work in an upscale spa combining aromatherapy with
your services. Acrylic nails, hand and foot massages are also part of a manicurist menu of services. Bring out
the artist in your skills, nail painting and nail art is really popular.

Get creative! Your clients love to be pampered!

The Manicuring course is 400 clock hours in length. Course time is devoted to technical instruction (theory),
which consists of various learning activities in a classroom environment. The institution uses the most recent
version of text for the student’s studies. Milady’s Art and Science of Nail Technology textbook is used along
with various periodicals and visual materials. Learning materials are available from the school library for the
students use. Please see your instructor to check out any instructional materials. Your student ID will be
used to check out any educational materials. You will also spend time within your studies performing
practical operations in actual working conditions under supervision of licensed instructors.

Students who maintain a “C” grade point average and have developed a professional attitude, show
competency in practical procedures, and have completed ALL required clock hours of both practical and
theory training and have completed ALL other requirements/assignments set by the school in their
course of study, will be eligible for graduation.

Additional subjects include, Reception, Retail practices, Job-hunting, and Career Opportunities.

TUITION AND FEES FOR MANICURING

REGISTRATION FEE $100.00 - non-refundable

TUITION $2,000.00 - Tuition is based on $5.00 each hour

Supplies and Equipment $381.00 - additional supplies may be required
School ID $50.00 - non-refundable

Total $2,506.00

$508.00 down payment — remainder of tuition to be paid monthly or weekly prior to the students
contract expires.

This course is not eligible for Title IV funding

**Department of Education Occupational Codes
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MANICURING COURSE DESCRIPTION:

The objective of the Manicuring course is to develop in the student the practical skills,
theoretical knowledge and the professional knowledge necessary for success as a manicuring
specialist and to qualify and equip the student to successfully complete the State Board
licensing exam. Once they have successfully passed the state exam, they may work as a
licensed manicurist in any licensed facility in the state of California performing all phases of
manicuring.

The manicuring course is 400 clock hours in length, which can be completed in three months
of full time attendance.

Course time is devoted to technical instruction (theory) and practical operations (clinic).
Theory is time spent consisting of various learning activities in a classroom environment.
The balance of the course time is spent in performing practical operations in actual working
conditions under supervision of licensed instructors.

SUBJECT REQUIRED TECHNICAL REQUIRED CLINIC
INSTUCTION HOURS OPERATTIONS

Disinfecting and Sanitation 20 10

Laws and Regulations 10

Manicures- Water and Oil 30 40

Pedicure 30 20

Artificial Nails-Acrylics 15 80

Nail Tips 15 60

Nail wraps and repairs 10 40

Chemistry 10

Health and Safety 25

Bacteriology and Anatomy 10

Clinic Hours 225

Total Hours Needed 400

These are only MINIMUM requirements. You will be required to do additional school
assignments, theory and or operations before completing your course of study.

Additional subjects include Business Management, Inventory Control, Reception Desk, Retail
practices, Job-hunting, and Career Opportunities.

11
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STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND POLICY

“The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic
losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or are enrolled in a
residency program attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid
tuition, paid STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following: 1. The
school closed before the course of instruction was completed. 2. The school’s failure to pay refunds or
charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees or any other purpose, or to provide
equipment or materials for which a charge was collected within 180 days before the closure of the school.
3. The school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student loan
program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to closure in
excess of tuition and other costs. 4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act or the Division
within 30-days before the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30-days prior to
closure, the period determined by the Bureau.
5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the institution
for a violation of the Act."

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a

taxpayer identification number.

The Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) applies to you if:

1. You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency
program, and prepay all of part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans,
and

2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or
other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF if:

1. You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or

2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer,
and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement you must file a STRF application within one year o
receiving a notice from the DCA that the school has closed. If you do not receive notice
from the DCA, you have four years from the closure to file a STRF application. If a judgment
is obtained you must file a STRF application within two years of the final judgment. It i:
important that you keep copies of the enroliment agreement, financial aid papers, receipt:

or any other information that documents monies paid to the school.

Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to: Bureau for Private Post-Secondar)
Education, 2535 Capital Oaks Drive, Suite #400, Sacramento, CA 95833; (916) 431-6959 ol

toll-free (888) 370-7589, www.bppe.ca.gov
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OVER CONTRACT CHARGES

Any student who does not complete a course within the contracted enroliment period will be charged at the
same hourly rate for any additional time required for completion. If a student has remaining hours to complete
after the stated over contract date on their contract, the student must pay for each additional hour past this date.
The amount charged for each hour would be the same hourly rate stated on their contract for the course of study
they are enrolled in. Over contract charges are due and payable in full once the student enters their over contract
period. Itis in the sole discretion of the school to decide if a student will be able to remain in school to complete
their education if they have not met their contracted hours and will be in overtime status.

Example;

Over contract date= 4/11/13

Hours as of over contract date=1500

Student is contracted for 1600 hours

Student has 100 additional hours to complete after over contract date

Hourly rate on contract is $9.00 an hour

$9.00 an hour for 100 hours=$900 student owes for over time charges.

Student will not be able to clock into school if overtime charges are not paid.

Paperwork will not be released to any student until all charges are paid in full.

Over-contract dates could change or be extended for approved Leaves of Absence or Changes of Status. Normal
enroliment periods provide adequate allowances for short-term absences. Please see Leave of Absence policy.

California State Formula (AB 1402/4052): Cancellation of

Agreement

All funds paid will be returned if the student is rejected for enrollment. You have the right
to cancel the agreement for a course of instruction, including any equipment such as
books, materials and supplies or any other goods related to the instruction included in this
agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through attendance at the first class
session, or the seventh day after enroliment, whichever is later. Cancellation shall occur
when you give written notice of cancellation at the institution's address. You can do this by
mail, hand delivery, or telegram. The written notice of cancellation, if sent by mail, will be
accepted when it is deposited in the mail and properly addressed with prepaid postage.
The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form, however expressed, it
will be accepted only when stating that you no longer wish to be bound by the enroliment
agreement. On the first day of class, you will be given two notices of cancellation forms for
your use if you decide to cancel, however, you can use any written notice that you may
wish. You cannot cancel your contract by just not attending classes.

Equipment: if the school has given you any returnable equipment, including books or
other materials, you shall return it to the school within 30 days following the date of your
notice of cancellation. If you fail to return this equipment, including books or other
materials, in good condition (any opened or used item in the kit will deem the complete kit
not sanitary and cannot be returned) within the 30-day period, the school may deduct its
documented cost for the equipment from any refund that may be due to you. Once you
pay for the equipment, it is yours to keep without further obligation. As stated on the front
page of your enrollment agreement, beauty supplies and equipment are not returnable
items due to sanitary reasons. Therefore, once you have received any beauty equipment, its
cost is charged to your account.
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Determination of Withdraw from School
1. The date a student notifies the Financial Aid Office of their intent to withdraw. A
withdraw from a student can only be accepted from the schools Financial Aid Office.

2. The date the school terminates the student’s enrollment due to academic failure or for
violations of any school rules and policies.

3. If a student is absent for 21 consecutive days and not on an approved leave of absence.
Determination of student withdraw will be the students last day of physical attendance.

4. If a student fails to return from an approved LOA on the scheduled date of return, the
student will be considered withdrawn. The withdrawal date shall be the last date of
recorded attendance.

WITHDRAW CALCULATIONS

Once the student has been determined by the school to have withdrawn from the
course of study, the school will determine if the student received or was entitled to
receive any Federal Funds from the Title IV Financial Aid Programs available at the
institution during the payment period (or enrollment period).

If the answer is YES, the school will conduct two distinctive and different refund
calculations.

Please see schools Refund Policy, page 14.
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Refund Policy

STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL:

The student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of refundable charges paid through
attendance at the first class session (first day of classes), or the seventh day after enrollment (seven days from the date
when enrollment agreement was signed), whichever is later.

All funds paid will be returned if the student is rejected for enrollment. Cancellation shall occur when you give written
notice of cancellation at the institution's address. You can do this by mail or hand delivery. The written notice of
cancellation, if sent by mail, will be accepted when it is deposited in the mail and properly addressed with prepaid postage.
The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form, however expressed, it will be accepted only when
submitted directly to the Financial Aid Office stating that you no longer wish to be bound by the enrollment agreement. A
withdrawal may also be effectuated by the school due to the student’s conduct, including, but not necessarily limited to, a
student’s lack of attendance.

WITHDRAWAL FROM COURSE:

You have the right to withdraw from a course of instruction at any time. If you withdraw from

a course of instruction after the period allowed for cancellation of the agreement, the schools

REFUND POLICY will apply. A registration fee of $100 is a non- refundable item.

Equipment, books, supplies, tools, uniforms, kits and any other items issued and received by the

student would not be returnable. Once supplies are received by the student, they will belong to the
student and will represent a liability to the student. The institution applies the applicable refund policy
to all terminations or any reason, by either party, including student decision, course and/or program
cancellation, or institution closure.

REFUND POLICY

After the cancellation period the States Mandated refund policy will apply in addition to any applicable returns to
Title IV programs,(government financial aid). The institution provides a pro rata refund of ALL funds paid for tuition
charges to students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance. Once more

than 60 percent of the enrollment period in the entire course has elapsed (including absences), there

will be no refund to the student. If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the

student is entitled to a refund of monies not paid from federal student financial aid program funds.

If you cancel the agreement, the school will refund any money that you paid, less any deduction for
registration fee and equipment received. If you withdraw from school after the cancellation period, the
refund policy described above will apply. If the amount that you have paid is more than the amount

that you owe for the time you attended, then a refund will be made within 45 days of the official
withdrawal date. See Refunds section below. If the amount that you owe is more than the amount

that you have already paid, and then you will have to arrange with the institution to pay that balance.
Official withdrawal date is on the student’s notification or school’s determination.

Determination of withdrawal from school:
The withdrawal date shall be the last date of recorded attendance. The student would be determined to have witdrawn from
school on the earliest of:

The date you notify the Financial Aid Office of your intent to withdraw. Only the Financial Aid
Ooffice would be authorized to accept a notification of your intent to withdraw.

The date the school terminates your enrollment due to academic failure or for violation of its rules
and policies stated in the catalog.

The date you fail to attend classes for a two-week period and fail to inform the school that you are
not withdrawing.

If a student fails to return from an approved LOA on the scheduled date of return, the student will be
considered withdrawn. The withdrawal date shall be the last date of recorded attendance.
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Return of Title IV:

Special note to students receiving Unsubsidized/Subsidized/PLUS/Perkins loans, ACG/National SMART/Pell/SEOG
grants or other aid, if you withdraw from school prior to the completion of the equivalent to 60 percent of the workload
in any given payment period, a calculation using the percentage completed will be applied to the funds received or that
could have been receive that will determine the amount of aid the student earned. If the student has received federal
student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from federal student financial aid
program funds. Unearned funds would be returned to the program in the order stated below by the school and/or the
student. Student liability to loan funds received will continue to be paid in accordance to the original promissory note
terms. The student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any
refund. Funds owed by the student to the Grant programs are limited to 50% of the gross award per program received.
Sample Calculation, completion of 25% of the payment period or enrollment period earns only 25% of the aid disbursed
or that could have been disbursed. If applicable, this would be the first calculation to determine the amount of aid that
the student would be eligible for from the Title IV Financial Aid programs. A second calculation would take place to
determine the amount earned by the institution during the period of enrollment. If the student is obtains a loan
guaranteed by the federal or state government and the student defaults on the loan, both of the following may occur: (1)
The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the student, including applying any
income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan. (2) The student may not be
eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other government assistance until the loan is
repaid.

Refunds:

If any refunds are due based on the Return of Title IV calculation or based on the institutional refund policy
calculation, any refunds will be made as soon as possible but not later than 45 days from the determination of
withdrawal date in the order stated in section CFR 34 section 668.22. The order of payment of refunds is, 1
Unsubsidized Loans from FFELP or Direct Loan, 2 Subsidized Loans from FFELP or Direct Loan, 3 Perkins Loans, 4
PLUS (Graduate Students) FFELP or Direct Loan, 5 PLUS (Parent) FFELP or Direct Loan, 6 Pell Grant, 7 Academic
Competitiveness Grant (ACG), 8 National SMART Grant, 9 Federal SEOG, 10. Other. This order would apply in
accordance to the aid programs available at the institution. Course Cancellation: If a course is canceled subsequent to
a student’s enrollment and before instruction in the course has begun, the school shall at its option: 1. Provide a full
refund of all money paid; or 2. Provide for completion of the course at schools in the neighborhood. School Closure:
If the school closes subsequent to a student’s enrollment and before instruction in the course has begun, the school shall
at its option: 1. Provide a full refund of all money paid; or 2. Provide for completion of the course at schools in the
neighborhood.

Note: Academic transcripts will not be released until tuition charges are paid in full.
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FINANCIAL AID INFORMATION

Financial Aid is a mechanism that reduces out-of-pocket costs that the student and/or parents
must pay to obtain a postsecondary education. Financial Aid is money made available to

help meet the cost of their college education. Financial Aid includes Grants and Loans.

Grants do not have to be repaid. Loans usually have a low interest rates that a student must pay
back depending on the conditions of their loan.

Financial Aid is awarded to students who have “need” based upon the financial information
submitted from the student.

Description of Approved USDE Title IV Programs

Federal Pell Grants:

The Federal Pell Grant program is a large student program and provides a “foundation” of
financial aid to which other aid may be added. Pell Grants do not need to be paid back.

Applicants who meet all requirements will receive a Federal Pell Grant. Applicants must qualify
financially and be enrolled in an eligible program at an eligible school or college, and must not
have already obtained a bachelor’s degree or be in Default on any Government Loans.

Pell Grant eligibility is determined by a federal methodology. A need analysis service
determines an applicant’s eligibility according to that formula. The smaller the index numbers
the larger the grant.

Those who qualify for a Pell Grant are usually eligible for other financial aid and should apply.
Those not eligible for a Pell Grant still may be eligible for a student or parent loan. Interest does
apply to all student and parent loans. You do not have to pay back a Pell Grant. The Deadline
for Federal Student Aid for the award year is May 30" of the current year.

Students receive payment by submitting Student Aid Report (SAR) or an Electronic Student Aid
Report (ESAR, which the school receives.) Personal and Financial information is reported and
verified. Monies received from your grant are credited to your school account.

Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants (SEOG):

Students who qualify for additional assistance may get SEOG to go with other sources of
financial aid. SEOG is for students with exceptional financial need. Priority is given to Pell Grant
recipients on a first come first basis. These federal grants are $250.00 per award year due to the
amount of funds available to the school.

Schools and colleges award these grants to those who qualify according to the schools’
eligibility criteria. Colleges may award SEOG to students who are enrolled less than half the
time. Like the Pell Grant, SEOG is a grant and you do not have to pay back.

Vocational Rehabilitation:

Students who attend a Rehabilitation program do so by applying to the Department of
Rehabilitation. They are assigned a caseworker and the caseworker determines their eligibility
and then refers the student to the school.
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FINANCIAL AID.... CONTINUED

STUDENT/ PARENT LOANS
All student loans must be repaid. Bankruptcies do not discharge these loans.
1) Direct Federal Stafford Loans —
Subsidized Loans — Interest earned while in school and during grace period is covered by USDE.
Unsubsidized Loan — Interest earned while in school and during grace period may be delayed for
payment, but will be added to the Loan balance.
2) Parent Loans — called a Plus Loan, interest is paid at last disbursement of Loan.
Students are encouraged to keep their Loan dept as low as possible. These Loans are aggressively
collected by the USDE and it’s contractors. Late penalties can be costly. Lack of payment can be very
damaging to future credit. All loans are subject to repayment even if the student does not complete
their education. If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have
the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund,
and that, if the student has received federal student financial funds, the student is entitled to a
refund of the moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program funds.
Before a Loan is submitted to the USDE, students must be fully aware of the financial responsibilities.
FOR FURTHER INFORMATION ON TITLE IV GRANTS AND LOANS, please visit the following sites.
http://studentaid.ed.gov/students/publications/student guide/index.html
http://www2.ed.gov/offices/OSFAP/Direct Loan

Disbursement of Financial Aid

The schools Academic Year is 900 hours. Payment periods occur at the beginning of the Academic

Year and Mid-Point. The length of the payment period depends on the length of the course. Each

course could have more than one payment period.

Pell Grants and SEOG - Made per payment period via check payable to the student or via direct credit

to the students tuition account. Not subject to repayment of funds.

Loans — Checks are issued to the school and credited to the students tuition account. Subject to

repayment even if the student does not finish their education.

Loan Limits

Subsidized Loans - are on an as need basis — Students may borrow up to the amount of the students’

tuition less any other financial assistance (not to exceed annual loan limits).

Unsubsidized Loans — not need based — Students may borrow up to the amount of the students’

tuition less any other expected financial assistance (not to exceed annual limits)

A student may receive both a Subsidized Loan and an Unsubsidized Loan providing the combined

amount borrowed does not exceed applicable loan limits and that the students’ eligibility for a

Subsidized loan be determined prior to the Unsubsidized Loan. Both loans can be applied for using a

single application and that such borrowers be given a single repayment schedule.

Deadlines for submitting applications are 30 days before the end of the loan period for which the

loan has been requested.

Maximum Annual Award

Subsidized Loan - 1% level - $3,500 2" level - $4,500 3™ level - $5,500

(Max aggregate $23,000)

Unsubsidized Loan —

Dependant Student — with parent — 1% level $2,000 2" level - $2,000 3™ level - $2,000

(Max aggregate $8,000)

Dependant Student/or Independent — without parent — 1% level $6,000 2" level - $6,000

3" level -$7,000 (Max aggregate is $14,000)

Selection Criteria

Need based assistance is determined by the information stated on the students FAFSA.

An ESAR is generated using this information and the USDE determines the amount of funds the

student will receive based on need. The school does not make this determination.

THE STUDENT MUST BE IN SATISFACTORY PROGRESS TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR

ANY FINANCIAL AID DISBURSMENTS - see Satisfactory Progress in this Catalog
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DETERMINING NEED FOR FINANCIAL AID ELIGIBILITY

The school utilizes the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for students applying for Aid.

The results will be provided to the school in the form of an Electronic Student Aid Report with the Expected
Family Contribution.

The California Student Aid Commission budgets are used. This is California’s estimated amount it will cost the
student to attend school during an academic year of approximately 9 months.

Elements included in the budget: Living Allowance — w/parents Living Allowance off

campus
Tuition Actual Cost Room & Board $4,347 $10,063
Registration Fee Actual Cost Transportation $1,071 $1,206
Books and Supplies Actual Cost Personal/misc. $3,114 $2,853

Verification of Federal Application for Student Aid

Your application for Federal Financial Aid could be selected for verification. If so, you will need to provide our
office with the documents, which are needed to complete this process. The law requires the school to
complete verification before making any disbursements of Financial Aid.

Time period: Applicants are required to submit verification documentation to the financial aid office within 30
days of notification by the school. Exceptions may be made at the discretion of the Financial Aid Officer. If the
information does not match that which was reported on the FASFA, a correction is required. The corrections
must be sent to the processor by July 30" of the award year and the institution must receive corrected ESARS
within 30days, the last day of enroliment or September 2", whichever comes first.

Consequences: Your failure to provide the required documentation within the specified time could result in:

* Loss of financial aid for part or all of the year.
* Future applications for financial aid may not be processed.
* Your financial aid application material may be forwarded to the USDE for review

Correction Information: If you are required to correct information on your application you will be given a
Correction Application to fill out and return to the school immediately.

If during verification it is determined that a student has received funds which they were not eligible to receive,
the student must repay this amount. If a repayment is not made, the overpayment will be referred to the U.S.
Department of Education. The U.S. Department of Education or our office will process no further applications
for financial aid. If the student is unable to supply the school with the requested documents, the school may
give the student the following options:

= The student may continue on a cash paying basis

= The student may withdraw and re-enroll when the student is able to supply documents
needed for verification

= The student will be required to repay any Financial Aid award the student was not eligible for

Summary: The selection of an application for verification review does not mean that we believe your
information is incorrect. Some applications are selected for review on a random sample basis. Some are
selected based upon set common edits, which check data against the Social Security Administration and
Veterans Administration to ensure that these benefits are being reported correctly. Finally, data is also
checked against prior applications, which have been submitted by the applicant. No funds will be disbursed
during the verification process. This verification process is required by federal regulation. We are required to
adhere to their procedures. The school is also required to submit any applications to the USDE that may
be fraud.
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FINANCIAL AID ELIGABILITY REQUIREMENTS

To be eligible to receive financial aid, a student must:

* Be admitted as a regular student

* Be enrolled or accepted in an eligible program

* Be a citizen or eligible non-citizen

* Not owe a refund on a FPELL Grant or FSEOG at any school

* Not be in default on any government loans of any kind at any other school

* Have a financial need

* Be making satisfactory academic progress (as defined by the schools policy) in the course of study

* Be registered with selective service (if a male between the ages of 18 — 25)

* Have signed a statement of educational purpose

* Have signed a statement of updated information

* Have proof of having a High School Diploma or it’s equivalent

e Agree to use any federal student aid received solely for educational purposes

* Have timely submitted all financial aid documentation needed

* Be atleast 18 years of age

*  Submit a valid government form of identification

* Submit a valid social security number
Compliance Statement/Social Security information

The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that students be notified that the disclosure of his/her
Social Security Number is mandatory. The Social Security Number is used to verify students’
identities, to process the awarding of funds, and to trace individuals who have borrowed funds
from the federal, state or private programs.

Application for Financial Aid Procedures

You may obtain the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) from the Financial Aid Office of
this school. You should complete the FAFSA carefully according to the instructions provided. Pay
particular attention to the difference between dependent and independent students. You must
apply no later than May 30" prior to the award year.

Most Students will complete the FASFA only once during an award year; however, in certain cases,
you can file a Correction Application. Generally, if your family financial situation has recently
changed for the worse because of a death, separation, or divorce, loss of a full-time job, loss of non-
taxable income or benefits such as Social Security, child support, Aid to Families with Dependent
Children (AFDC), welfare, unemployment benefits, etc., an adjustment to your FAFSA application
can be processed.

The Correction Application gives specific details about the circumstances that allow you to file this

form. These circumstances differ slightly depending on whether you are a dependent or an

independent student. You may obtain this form from the Financial Aid Office of this school.

When you fill out an application, you should have certain records on hand.
* Your tax returns.
* Your parent’s return (if you apply as a dependent student) and your spouse’s return
(If you are married and your spouse filed a separate return)
* W-2 forms and other records of income verification
* Records of benefits received from the Social Security Administration,
Veteran’s Administration, Unemployment and other agencies.
You must return all applications along with documentation to the Financial Aid Office for further
processing. Copies of all documentation will be kept in your financial aid student file.
The school will then receive an Ecar from the USDOE, which must be signed prior to the release of any
Financial Aid Funds.
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SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS
POLICY

The Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy is consistently applied to all students enrolled at the school. It is printed in the catalog to
ensure that all students receive a copy prior to enrollment. The policy complies with the guidelines established by the National
Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS) and the federal regulations established by the United States
Department of Education.

EVALUATION PERIODS
Students are evaluated for Satisfactory Academic Progress as follows:

*Cosmetology - 450, 900, 1250 & 1,600 clocked (actual) hours *Barber Crossover - 100 & 200 clocked (actual) hours
*Barbering - 450, 900, 1250 & 1,500 clocked (actual) hours
*Esthetician — 300 & 600 clocked (actual) hours

Transfer Students- Only contracted hours with the school will be used to determine Satisfactory Academic Progress. Satisfactory
Progress will be evaluated midpoint of the contracted hours or the established evaluation periods, whichever comes first.
Evaluations will determine if the student has met the minimum requirements for satisfactory academic progress. The frequency of
evaluations ensures that students have had at least one evaluation by midpoint in the course.

ATTENDANCE PROGRESS EVALUATIONS

Students are required to attend a minimum of 67% of the hours possible based on the applicable attendance schedule in order to be
considered maintaining satisfactory attendance progress. Evaluations are conducted at the end of each evaluation period to determine if
the student has met the minimum requirements. The attendance percentage is determined by dividing the total hours accrued by the
total number of hours scheduled. At the end of each evaluation period, the school will determine if the student has maintained at least
67% cumulative attendance since the beginning of the course which indicates that, given the same attendance rate, the student will
graduate within the maximum time frame allowed.

MAXIMUM TIME FRAME
The maximum time (which does not exceed 150% of the course length) allowed for students to complete each course at satisfactory
academic progress is stated below:

MAXIMUM TIME ALLOWED

COURSE WEEKS SCHEDULED HOURS
Cosmetology (Extra Full time, 40 hrs/wk) - 1600 Hours 60 Weeks 2,400
Cosmetology (Full time, 30 hrs/wk) - 1600 Hours 80 Weeks 2,400
Cosmetology (Part time, 20 hrs/wk) — 1600 Hours 120 Weeks 2,400
Esthetician (Extra Full time, 40 hrs/wk) — 600 Hours 23 Weeks 900
Esthetician (Full time, 30 hrs/wk) — 600 Hours 30 Weeks 900
Esthetician (Part time, 20 hrs/wk) — 600 Hours 45 Weeks 900
Barbering (Extra Full time 40 hrs/wk) — 1,500 Hours 57 Weeks 2,250
Barbering (Full time 30 hrs/wk) — 1,500 Hours 75 Weeks 2,250
Barbering (Part time 20 hrs/wk) — 1,500 Hours 113 Weeks 2,250
Barber Crossover (Extra Full time 40 hrs/wk) — 200 Hours 7.5 Weeks 300
Barber Crossover (Full time 30 hrs/wk) — 200 Hours 10.5 Weeks 300
Barber Crossover (Part time 20 hrs/wk) — 200 Hours 15 Weeks 300

MAXIMUM TIME ALLOWED

The maximum time allowed for transfer students who need less than the full course requirements or part-time students will be
determined based on 67% of the scheduled contracted hours.

ACADEMIC PROGRESS EVALUATIONS

The qualitative element used to determine academic progress is a reasonable system of grades as determined by assigned academic
learning. Students are assigned academic learning and a minimum number of practical experiences. Academic learning is evaluated
after each unit of study. Practical assignments are evaluated as completed and counted toward course completion only when rated as
satisfactory or better (the computer system will reflect completion of the practical assignment as a 100% rating). If the performance
does not meet satisfactory requirements, it is not counted and the performance must be repeated. At least two comprehensive practical
skills evaluations will be conducted during the course of study. Practical skills are evaluated according to text procedures and set forth
in practical skills evaluation criteria adopted by the school. Students must maintain a cumulative grade average of 70% and pass a
FINAL written and practical exam prior to graduation. Students must make up failed or missed tests and incomplete assignments.
Numerical grades are considered according to the following scale:

93 — 100 - EXCELLENT

85-92 - VERY GOOD

70 — 84 - SATISFACTORY

69 and BELOW — UNSATISFACTOR 20 517



SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY continued....

DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS

Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation point are considered to be making
satisfactory academic progress until the next scheduled evaluation. Students deemed not maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress
may have their Title IV Funding interrupted, unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal resulting in a status of
probation. Students may request a copy of their Satisfactory Academic Progress results through the schools Financial Aid Office.
WARNING

Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress are placed on warning and considered to be
making satisfactory academic progress while during the warning period. The student will be advised in writing on the actions required
to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the warning period, the student has still not met both the
attendance and academic requirements, he/she may be placed on probation and, if applicable, students may be deemed ineligible to
receive Title IV funds.

PROBATION

Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress after the warning period will be placed on
probation and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress while during the probationary period, if the student appeals the
decision, and prevails upon appeal. Additionally, only students who have the ability to meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy
standards by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation. Students placed on an academic plan must be able to meet
requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the next evaluation period. Students who are progressing according to their
specific academic plan will be considered making Satisfactory Academic Progress. The student will be advised in writing of the
actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the probationary period, the student has
still not met both the attendance and academic requirements required for satisfactory academic progress or by the academic plan,
he/she will be determined as NOT making satisfactory academic progress and, if applicable, students will not be deemed eligible to
receive Title IV funds.

RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS

Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV aid, as applicable, by meeting minimum attendance and
academic requirements by the end of the warning or probationary period.

INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, WITHDRAWALS

If enrollment is temporarily interrupted for a Leave of Absence, the student will return to school in the same progress status as prior to
the leave of absence. Hours elapsed during a leave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and maximum time frame by
the same number of days taken in the leave of absence and will not be included in the student's cumulative attendance percentage
calculation. Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will return in the same satisfactory
academic progress status as at the time of withdrawal.

APPEAL PROCEDURE

If a student is determined to not be making satisfactory academic progress, the student may appeal the determination within ten
calendar days of being told of their unsatisfactory progress. If the student is unable to be contacted to discuss their unsatisfactory
progress, the student will then just be dropped from the program due to not meeting Satisfactory Progress. Reasons for which students
may appeal a negative progress determination include death of a relative, an injury or illness of the student. The student must submit a
written appeal to the school describing why they failed to meet satisfactory academic progress standards, along with supporting and
verifiable documentation of the reasons why the determination should be reversed. Not all appeals will be approved. Appeals will
only be considered for circumstances that were beyond the control of the student. This information should also include what has
changed about the student’s situation that will allow them to achieve Satisfactory Academic Progress by the next evaluation point.
Appeal documents will be reviewed and a decision will be made and reported to the student within 30 calendar days. The appeal and
decision documents will be retained in the student file. If the student prevails upon appeal, the satisfactory academic progress
determination will be reversed and federal financial aid will be reinstated, if applicable. Once an appeal is denied, the student will be
unable to take further action. A student that has lost his or her Title IV funding will be required to make cash payments to the school
in the time and amount specified by the school at that time. Student will be withdrawn from the school for any lack of payment.

NONCREDIT, REMEDIAL COURSES, REPETITIONS
Noncredit, remedial courses, and repetitions do not apply to this institution. Therefore, these items have no effect upon the school's
satisfactory academic progress standards.

TRANSFER HOURS

With regard to Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student’s transfer hours will be counted as both attempted and earned hours
for the purpose of determining when the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted.
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The student may request, in writing, a LOA from the school prior to the leave being taken.

The student should request a LOA in writing, including the reason for the request. All requests must be signed and dated
by student. Financial Aid Office, must approve, in writing, the LOA PRIOR to the student taking the leave. If a LOA is
unforeseen, you may contact the school via email or phone to request your leave. An example of an unforeseen leave
would be if a student was in a car accident or was hospitalized and unable to come to the school to request the leave. In
these cases, the student would not have been able to request the leave LOA prior to taking the LOA. The school may
grant the leave prior to a written request under these unforeseen circumstances, but must document why the decision was
made. The date the student’s leave begins will be the first date the student was unable to attend class due to the
unforeseen circumstance. The school will collect documentation and a signature from the student upon the students
return from their leave. It is important to have contact with the school during your absence. A LOA may be given for a
minimum of 21 consecutive calendar days and a maximum of 120 consecutive calendar days within any 12-month
period. The LOA will extend the students contract period and the maximum time frame by the same amount of days
taken in the LOA. When the student returns from a LOA, they will resume the satisfactory academic progress status they
had prior to the LOA. The student will only be considered withdrawn if they do not return from their LOA on the date
specified. The withdrawal date for purposes of calculating the student’s refund, will be the student’s last day of
attendance.

WITHDRAWAL & RE-ENTRY POLICY

Students in good standing, who must withdrawal due to extenuating circumstances, and who may wish to return, must
notify the Director prior to being absent 21 days. The student will be counseled to determine if a Leave of Absence
would be more appropriate. If the student and Director agree upon a withdrawal, then it will be granted and the student
my return to school providing all fees and charges per the school’s refund policy have been paid for the current
enrollment. If the student re-enters the school, the student will re-enter the school in the same progress status as when
they left. When the student returns, an enrollment fee of $100.00 will be charged for re-entry. It is the student’s
responsibility to retain copies of all previous hours and operations, as the school is only required to keep copies for seven
years. The school reserves the right to deny re-entry to students who have been withdrawn from the school or withdrew
more than once.

Graduation and Licensing Requirements

Students who maintain a “C” grade point average and have developed a professional attitude, show competency in practical
procedures, and have completed ALL required clock hours of both practical and theory training and have completed ALL other
requirements/assignments set by the school in their course of study, will be eligible for graduation. Upon graduation, a
certificate of completion will be awarded to the student. The certificate or diploma certifies that the student has successfully
completed the requirements for the course for which they were enrolled.

Upon receiving the diploma, the student is now eligible to apply and take the State Licensing Exam. The State will set an exam
date for the student. Please take note that if a graduate student posses a Federal Offense, the state could deny a State
License. If a student has been convicted of a Federal offense, the State will request additional information from the student.
The additional information will be used by the Board when deciding to issue a license. A License will be issued through the
State for successful applicants that pass the exam. The school will apply each student for their State test. All graduates must
hold a valid State License prior to entering the job market of their field of study.

Applying for the State Exam

Admissions will apply students for their State exam. Students must meet certain requirements prior to the registrar submitting
the completed documents to the State Board. Students must demonstrate the following:

1) Completed ALL hours and operations

2) Completed ALL school requirements

3) Completed ALL requirements for each required “Check List”

4) Have a zero-balance owed to the school

5) Completed All Financial Aid paperwork

6) Has submitted all required documents to the Financial Aid Office

7)

Students may pre-apply for their State License once they have reached the required 75% of the course hours.
Cosmetology 1,200 hours, Barbering 1,125, Barber Crossover 150 hours, and Esthetician 450 hours.

Please see registrar for additional rules and requirement.
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STUDENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES
Education after high school is a big investment in time, money, and effort. Naturally you want to learn as much
about a school before deciding to attend. You have the right to ask questions and you have the
responsibility to understand and follow the information provided.

STUDENT RIGHTS
You have the right, and should ask the school the following questions:

* The names of its accrediting and licensing organizations.

* About its instructional programs, laboratory, and other physical facilities.

*  What is the cost of attendance and what is the school’s policy on refunds to students who drop out.

*  What the school’s dropout and job placement rates are.

* Gainful Employment statistics

* Can school credits transfer to another school?

* What financial assistance is available, including information on all Federal, State, Local, private and
institutional financial aid programs?

*  What are the procedures and deadlines for submitting applications for each available financial aid
program?

*  What criteria it uses to select financial aid recipients?

* How the school determines your financial need. The costs for tuition and fees, room and board, travel,
books, supplies, personal and miscellaneous expenses are considered in your cost of education. It also
includes what resources (such as parental contribution, other financial aid, assets etc.) are considered in
calculating your need.

* What s your financial need, as determined by the institution?

* How and when is your Financial Aid disbursed?

* To explain each type of assistance and the amount of assistance you will receive.

* What s the interest rate on any student loans that you may receive?

*  What is the total amount you must repay? What is the length of time you have to repay? When does
repayment start and what cancellation or deferment provisions apply?

* Does the school offer a Work-Study Job? What kind of job is it? What hours must you work, your duties,
what is the rate of pay and how and when are you paid?

*  You may resubmit your Financial Aid package if you believe a mistake was made, or if your enrollment or
financial circumstances change.

* How does the school determine whether you are making satisfactory academic progress and what happens
if you are not?

* What special facilities and services are available to the handicapped?

* The availability of the GED program, if the school admits students who do not have a high school diploma
or equivalent.

*  Who to contact for information on student financial assistance on general institutional issues.

STUDENT RESPONSIBILITIES
It is your responsibility to:

* To read and understand the school Catalog in its entirety.

* Review and consider all information about the school’s program before you enroll.

* Pay special attention to your application for student financial aid, complete it accurately, and submit it on
time. Errors can delay or prevent you from receiving aid.

* Know and follow all deadlines for applying or reapplying for aid.

* Provide all additional documentation, proof, corrections, and/or new information requested by either the
Financial Aid Officer or the agency where you submitted your application.

* Read, understand and follow all school policies and procedures, including those on attendance
and maintaining satisfactory academic progress.

* Attend an exit interview at your school if you have a loan.

* Notify the school of changes in name, address, or attendance status (full-time or part-time). If you have
a GSL, you must notify your Lender of these changes also.

* Understand your school’s refund policy. If you withdraw from school within a short time after you start, you
may be eligible to receive part of your educational expense returned to you. After a certain time period,
you will not receive a refund. Check with your school to find out what expenses you may have to pay if
you withdraw from the school.
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SCHOOL GUIDELINES AND DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS

Immediate Withdrawal (Termination)

1. Clocking in or out another student or having another student clock in or out for you
2. Altering or forging time cards
3. Use of or being under the influence of drugs or alcohol in school. If a student is suspected of using drugs, the student will be

required to submit to a drug test and pass prior to returning to school

4. Causing extreme or willful disruption of school

5. Use of ethnic, racial or sexual slurs, or abusive language toward any client, staff member or fellow student

6. Committing an obscene act or engaging in vulgarity or profanity

7. Failure to follow one’s own contract with the school

8. Willfully not following school rules or guidelines

9. Caused, attempted to cause, or threatened to cause physical injury to another person

10. Possessed, sold or furnished any firearm, knife, explosive or other dangerous object

11. Possessed, used, sold, furnished or been under the influence of any controlled substance, alcoholic beverage or intoxicant

12. Offered, arranged or negotiated to sell any controlled substance, alcoholic beverage or intoxicant of any kind, and then sold,
delivered, or otherwise furnished to any person another liquid, substance, or material in lieu of the controlled substance,
alcoholic beverage or intoxicant

13. Committed or attempted to commit robbery or extortion

14. Caused or attempted to cause damage to school or private property

15. Stolen or has attempted to steal school or private property

16. Had unlawful possession of, or unlawfully offered, arranged or negotiated to sell any drug paraphernalia

17. Disrupted school activities or otherwise defied the valid authority of school personnel

18. Knowingly received stolen school or private property

19. Possess an imitation firearm

20. Committed or attempted to commit a sexual assault or committed a sexual battery

21. Harassed, threatened or intimidated a person who is a complaining witness or is otherwise involved in a school disciplinary
proceeding

22. Aided or abetted the infliction or attempted infliction of physical injury to another person

23. Committed sexual harassment

24. Participated in, caused, attempted to cause or threatened to cause an act of hate violence

25. Engaged in harassment, threats or intimidation of school or persons

26. Made terrorist threats against school officials or property

27. Any other misconduct the school recognizes as deserving of immediate termination

One Week Suspension and/or Probation
Leaving school, class or clinic without permission of instructor and notifying the front desk
Failure to have proper equipment when needed
Gossiping or causing discord in school

Smoking outside designated areas
Receiving personal services without instructor’s permission.
Refusing to perform an assignment, patron or otherwise
Modifying customer services without consulting instructor
Failure to make Satisfactory Progress
Use of foul language on the clinic floor or in classrooms
ent Home immediately (A second violation will result in a minimum one week’s suspension)
Improper or dirty uniform or unsatisfactory personal cleanliness (See Dress Code for proper uniform)

Shouting, disrupting or talking out of turn in theory class
Not attending theory or State Board class
Not signing out for, or returning late from, break or lunch
Unexcused absence on Monday or Friday (night students) or Saturday (day students). Criteria for excused: a 2-week prior
written notice on file with Administration or provide a doctor’s note the following Tuesday.
Written consultation (A third violation will result in a minimum one week’s suspension)

1 Failure to observe sanitary rules and regulations

2 Use of foul language on the clinic floor or in classrooms

3 Eating or drinking in building (except the lunchroom)

4 Entering offices without permission

5. Failure to clean up work area or perform assigned clean up duties
6. Failing to clock in or out properly
7
8
G
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Failure to take a lunch break at an appropriate time
Showing discourtesy to anyone in school

1. A third suspension constitutes termination from the school.
2. These guidelines are not all-inclusive, as there are other student violations that may require action of the school.
3. These guidelines may be revised at any time and will be posted on the student bulletin board
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DRUG AND ALCOHOL ABUSE PREVENTION

In accordance with the Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1988 (P.L. 100-690), The
Drug-Free Schools and Communities Act of 1989 (P.L. 101-226) and 34 Code of
Federal Regulation Part 85, Subpart F, this institution is committed to
maintaining a drug-free workplace and a drug-free school. Drug and alcohol
abuse can lead to 1liver, heart, and other chronic diseases, such as low
birth weight, birth defects, infant mortality in expectant mothers and
death. The unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensing, possession or
use of drugs, alcohol or other controlled substances at this institution is
strictly prohibited. Students and employees are required, as a condition of
enrollment and/or employment, to abide by this policy.

To the extent allowed by local, state and federal laws, this institution
will impose disciplinary action against any employee for violating these
standards of conduct. These actions may include suspension, expulsion and
termination of employment, referral for prosecution and/or required
completion of a drug and alcohol rehabilitation (or similar) program.

This institution, as required by federal regulation (34 CFR 85.635 and
Appendix C), will report all employees convicted of a criminal drug offense
occurring in the workplace to the U.S. Department of Education. Consistent
with these same regulations employees, as a condition of employment, are
required to provide a written notice to this institution of their conviction
for a criminal drug offense occurring in the workplace within 5 days after
that conviction. In addition, students receiving Pell Grants who are
convicted of a criminal drug offense during the period of enrollment for
which the Pell Grant was awarded are required by federal regulation to
report that conviction in writing to the:

Director of Grants and Services

United States Department of Education
400 Maryland Ave. SW.

Room 3124, GSA Regional Office Bldg. # 3
Washington, DC 20202-4571

The report must be made within 10 days after the conviction.

In addition to institutional sanctions, students and employees convicted of
the unlawful possession or distribution of illicit drugs or alcohol could
face 1local, state and federal legal penalties which include the 1loss of
eligibility for federal financial aid, fines, imprisonment, and the seizure
of drug related assets.

Drug awareness programs, counseling, treatment, rehabilitation and other
related services are available on an ongoing basis to students and employees
of the institution through:

Alcohol & Drug Abuse Hotline
800-237-6237

Students and employees seeking assistance in overcoming a drug or alcohol related
problem are encouraged to contact this organization.

This institution continues to make a good faith effort to provide a school and workplace free
from the illicit use, possession or distribution of drugs and alcohol.
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