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Mission 
Our mission at National Cosmetology Beauty School (NCBS) is to offer courses 
that prepare the aspiring student for a career in the Beauty industry.  Our focus is 
on getting candidates prepared for a career in their profession and assist them in 
successful navigation of the state requirement for licensing. Through theory and 
practical sessions delivered in multiple languages we meet our school goals of 
serving immigrant populations and assist them in their quest for employment.   
Our business is our clients so we will work hard to assure you are ready to earn 
your license after graduation. 
 

Approvals to Operate 
We are a private institution that is approved to operate by Bureau for Private 
Postsecondary Education pursuant to the California Private Postsecondary Edu-
cation Act of 2009 and California Code of Regulations, Division 7.5. Private 
Postsecondary Education.  The school is also approved to operate by the Califor-
nia Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.  “Approval to Operate” means compli-
ance to State standards has been met. 

Disclosures 
National Cosmetology Beauty School has no pending petition in bankruptcy, is 
not operating as a debtor in possession, has not filed a petition within the preced-
ing five years, and has not had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the 
preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the Unit-
ed States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. Sec. 1101 et seq.).  
Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been sat-
isfactorily answered by National Cosmetology Beauty School may be directed 
to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at:  

2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400 
Sacramento California, 95833 

 http://www.bppe.ca.gov/ 

Phone: (916) 431-6959 
Toll Free: (888) 370-7589 
Main Fax: (916) 263-1897  

 As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to 
signing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School 
Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an en-
rollment agreement. 

Complaints 

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution 
with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 
or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's Inter-
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Course Offerings 
All Courses offered in our Oakland School located at 
315 Eleventh Street, Oakland, CA 94607,   

Tel: (510) 444-7707   Fax: (510) 444-7708 

All of the following courses have the objective of preparing the student to achieve the necessary skilss and 

knowledge to pass State board exams and become licensed, practitioners of their selected career(s). 

 

BARBERING COURSE 

This course offers the student an essential balance between theory and practical operations. It is 
made up of several sections, each having a defined area of concentrated study. By the time the 
student reaches 1200 hours, he or she will be assigned a station where their skills can be honed 
and confidence  built working with clients. Through a combination of clinic, classroom,  hands-
on, and audio-visual instructions, the student will be introduced to the world of Barbering. This 
course has 4 theory and 4 practical exams taken at 400, 800, 1200 and 1500 hours. In addition 
to the above exams instructors will continuously monitor theory and practical portions through 
assignments and exercises, then use this adjust and modify the curriculum to ensure individual 
success.  

    TOTAL TIME OF COURSE: 
 Full Time: 

1500 hours (Approximately 11 months when attending at 40 hours/week)                 

Part Time: 

1500 hours (Approximately 22 months when attending at 20 hours/week)  

Modified time:                
1500 hours Customized schedule subject to change 

 

THEORY MODULES: 
All Students must attend and complete “Beauty Core 1”, “Beauty Core 2”, “Hair” and 
“Barbering” modules (page 25/26).  Class schedule rotates on a quarterly schedule and is sub-
ject to modification to best suit the current students and meet their needs. 
 

PRACTICAL LABS: 
All Students must attend and complete “Barbering Lab” module (page 28). Practical subjects 
are off offered on a rotating schedule so students can easily manage and makeup any content 
missed.  Students will be closely monitored during the practical labs to assure proper form and 
process. 
 
Instructional Methods include classroom lecture, Computer based training, Audio visual presen-
tations, handouts, question and answer sessions and study group meetings.  Practical Lessons 
include use of Barbering kit and lab facilities, AV equipment and use of internet. For detailed 
curriculum breakdown see course syllabus or timecard provided by school. 

 

Total charges for period of attendance and estimated schedule of total charges for entire educa-

tional program                Cost  $4300 

Additional Costs 

High end clipper/trimmer set   $250 

Misc School Supplies, Additional Lab Supplies        $100-$500 
Textbook: 

Milady, Milady’s Standard Professional Barbering, Milady 5th Edition June 16, 2010 
ISBN-10:143497155   ISBN-13:978-1435497153 
 

All course include kit for use in class and books.  Stated prices DO NOT include the Kit Rental for 
State Board Exams.  These can be rented separately. 
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Course Offerings continued 
 

COSMETOLOGY COURSE 

This course offers the student an essential balance between theory and practical operations. It is 
made up of several cycles, each having a defined area of concentrated study. By the time the 
student reaches the clinic, he or she will be assigned a station where their skills will process 
confidence working with clients. Through a combination of clinic, classroom,  hands-on, and 
audio-visual instructions, the student will be introduced to the fascinating world of Cosmetolo-
gy.  This course has 4 theory and 4 practical exams taken at 400, 800, 1200 and 1600 hours.  In 
addition to the above exams instructors will continuously monitor theory and practical portions 
through assignments and excercises. 
 

TOTAL TIME OF COURSE: 

Full Time: 

1600 hours (Approximately 12 months when attending at 40 hours/week)  

Part Time: 

1600 hours (Approximately 24  months when attending at 20 hours/week)                  

  Modified time:                
1600 hours Customized schedule subject to change 

THEORY CLASSES: 
All Students must attend and complete “Beauty Core 1”, “Beauty Core 2”, “Hair”, “Facial 
Makeup” and “Nail Technology” modules (page 25/26).  Class schedule rotates on a quarterly 
schedule and is subject to modification to best suit the current students and meet their needs.   
 

PRACTICAL LABS: 
All Students must attend and complete “Cosmetology Lab” module (page 27). Practical subjects 
are off offered on a rotating schedule so students can easily manage and makeup any content 
missed.  Students will be closely monitored during the practical labs to assure proper form and 
process. 
 
Instructional Methods include classroom lecture, Computer based training, Audio visual presen-
tations, handouts, question and answer sessions and study group meetings.  Practical Lessons 
include use of Barbering kit and lab facilities, AV equipment and use of internet. For detailed 
curriculum breakdown see course syllabus or timecard provided by school. 

 

Total charges for period of attendance and estimated schedule of total charges for entire educa-

tional program : $4500 

Additional Costs (optional) 

High end clipper/trimmer set                   $250 

Misc School Supplies, Additional Lab Supplies  $100-$500 

   
Textbook: 

Milady, Milady’s Standard Cosmetology 2008, Milady 5th Edition July 9, 2007 
ISBN-10:1418049352   ISBN-13:978-1418049355 
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Course Offerings continued 
 

MANICURING COURSE 

The training that the student will receive, will qualify them to perform complex services, usual-
ly without the need for further advanced training. Through a combination of clinic, classroom, 
hands-on, and audio-visual instruction, the student will be introduced to a career world of Mani-
curing. The manicuring curriculum provides training using modern equipment and advance 
techniques. In addition, to the basis course of study, instruction is concentrated on the applica-
tion of nail tips, sculptured nails, and other nail wrapping and repair procedures. This course 
has 2 theory and 2 practical exams taken at 200, and 400 hours.  In addition to the above exams 
instructors will continuously monitor theory and practical portions through assignments and 
excercises. 
 

TOTAL TIME OF COURSE:  

Full Time: 

400 HOURS (Approximately 11 weeks when attending at 40 hours per week)  

Part Time: 

400 HOURS (Approximately 22 weeks when attending at 20 hours per week)  
Modified time:                

400 hours Customized schedule subject to change 

 

THEORY CLASSES: 
All Students must attend and complete “Beauty Core 1” and “Nail Technology” modules (page 
25/26).   Class schedule rotates on a monthly schedule and is subject to modification to best suit 
the current students and meet their needs.  Manicuring students may also attend Cosmetology, 
Barbering and Esthetician classes when appropriate. 
 

PRACTICAL LABS: 
All Students must attend and complete “Manicure Lab” module (page 28). Practical subjects are 
off offered on a rotating schedule so students can easily manage and makeup any content 
missed.  Students will be closely monitored during the practical labs to assure proper form and 
process. 
 
Instructional Methods include classroom lecture, Computer based training, Audio visual presen-
tations, handouts, question and answer sessions and study group meetings.  Practical Lessons 
include use of Manicuring kit and lab facilities, AV equipment and use of internet. For detailed 
curriculum breakdown see course syllabus or timecard provided by school. 

 
Total charges for period of attendance and estimated schedule of total charges for entire educa-

tional program : $1700 

Additional Costs (optional) 

Misc School Supplies  $100-$300 

Additional Lab Supplies  $50-$100 
 

Textbook: 
Milady, Nail Technology, Revised, Milady; 5 edition (July 30, 2007)  
ISBN-10:1428341242    ISBN-13:978-1428341241  
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Course Offerings continued 
 

 

 
ESTHETICIAN COURSE 

Esthetician training is given in a private well-light room. Through a combination of clinic, 
classroom, guest lecturer, hands-on, and audio-visual instructions, students will be introduced to 
the exciting world of Skin Care and Makeup. Additional training will include the theory of col-
or, as it relates to skin and its clothing, and  Makeup Designs. 
 

TOTAL TIME OF COURSE:  

Full Time: 

600 HOURS (Approximately 16 weeks when attending at 40 hours per week) 

Part Time:   

600 HOURS (Approximately 32 weeks when attending at 20 hours per week)  
Modified time:                

400 hours Customized schedule subject to change 

 
THEORY CLASSES: 

All Students must attend and complete “Beauty Core 1” and “Facial/Makeup” modules (page 
25/26). All courses offered on a rotating schedule so students can easily manage and makeup 
any content missed.  Class schedule rotates on a monthly schedule and is subject to modifica-
tion to best suit the current students and meet their needs.  Esthetician students may also attend 
Cosmetology, Barbering and Manicuring classes when appropriate. 
 

PRACTICAL LABS: 
All Students must attend and complete “Esthetician Lab” module (page 27).  Practical subjects 
are offered on a rotating schedule so students can easily manage and makeup any content 
missed.  Students will be closely monitored during the practical labs to assure proper form and 
process. 
 
Instructional Methods include classroom lecture, Computer based training, Audio visual presen-
tations, handouts, question and answer sessions and study group meetings.  Practical Lessons 
include use of Barbering kit and lab facilities, AV equipment and use of internet. For detailed 
curriculum breakdown see course syllabus or timecard provided by school. 

 
Total charges for period of attendance and estimated schedule of total charges for entire educa-

tional program : $2700 

Additional Costs (optional) 

Misc School Supplies, Lab Supplies  $100-$300 
 
Milady, Milady's Standard Esthetics: Fundamentals, Milady; 10 edition (September 9, 2008)  

ISBN-10:1428318925     ISBN-13:978-1428318922  
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Course Offerings continued 
 

COSMETOLOGY CROSSOVER 

This course offers the student with an Barbering License an essential balance between 
theory and practical operations. It is made up of several cycles, each having a defined 
area of concentrated study.  This course uses a partial Cosmetology Course curriculum 
and focuses on the areas a licensed Barber is not familiar with such as manicuring, addi-
tional facial procedures and much more. 
 

TOTAL TIME OF COURSE: 

Full Time: 

400 HOURS (Approximately 10 weeks when attending at 40 hours per week) 

Part Time: 

400 HOURS (Approximately 20 weeks when attending at 20 hours per week) 

  Modified time:                
400 hours Customized schedule subject to change 

 

THEORY CLASSES: 
All Students must attend and complete 400 supplemental hours in “Beauty Core 1”, 
“Beauty Core 2”, “Hair”, “Facial Makeup” and “Nail Technology” modules (page 
25/26). Class schedule rotates on a quarterly schedule and is subject to modification to 
best suit the current students and meet their needs.  Cosmetology students may also at-
tend Manicuring, Barbering and Esthetician classes when appropriate. 
 

PRACTICAL LABS: 
All Students must attend and complete the required operations in the “Cosmetology 
Lab” module (page 27).Practical subjects are off offered on a rotating schedule so stu-
dents can easily manage and makeup any content missed.  Students will be closely moni-
tored during the practical labs to assure proper form and process. 
 
Instructional Methods include classroom lecture, Computer based training, Audio visual 
presentations, handouts, question and answer sessions and study group meetings.  Practi-
cal Lessons include use of Barbering kit and lab facilities, AV equipment and use of in-
ternet.  For detailed curriculum breakdown see course syllabus or timecard provided by 
school. 

 

Total charges for period of attendance and estimated schedule of total charges for entire 

educational program : $1700 

 
Additional Costs (optional) 

High end clipper/trimmer set                   $250 

Misc. School Supplies, Additional Lab Supplies  $100-$500 

   
Textbook: 

Milady, Milady’s Standard Cosmetology 2008, Milady 5th Edition July 9, 2007 
ISBN-10:1418049352   ISBN-13:978-1418049355 
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Course Offerings continued 
 

 

BARBERING CROSSOVER COURSE 

This course offers the student with an Cosmetology License an essential balance between the-
ory and practical operations. It is made up of several cycles, each having a defined area of 
concentrated study. By the time the student reaches the clinic, he or she will be assigned a sta-
tion where their skills will process confidence working with clients. Through a combination of 
clinic, classroom, guest lecture, hands-on, and audio-visual instructions, the student will be 
introduced to the growing world of Barbering. This course follows same subjects as Barbering 
Course and is meant to supplement a Cosmetologists skills and knowledge in Barber unique 
subjects such as shaving and REST facials and much more. This course has 1 theory and 1 
practical exams taken at 400 hours. In addition to the above exams instructors will continu-
ously monitor theory and practical portions through assignments and exercises, then use this 
adjust and modify the curriculum to ensure individual success.  
 

    TOTAL TIME OF COURSE: 
 Full Time: 

400 HOURS (Approximately 10 weeks when attending at 40 hours per week)                

Part Time: 

400 HOURS (Approximately 20 weeks when attending at 20 hours per week) 

Modified time:                
400 hours Customized schedule subject to change 

 

THEORY CLASSES: 
All Students must complete the required supplemental 400 hours in “Beauty Core 2” and 
“Barbering” modules (page 25/26)All courses offered on a rotating schedule so students can 
easily manage and makeup any content missed.  Class schedule rotates on a quarterly schedule 
and is subject to modification to best suit the current students and meet their needs. 
 

PRACTICAL LABS: 
All Students must attend and complete “Barbering Lab” module (page 28).  Practical subjects 
are off offered on a rotating schedule so students can easily manage and makeup any content 
missed.  Students will be closely monitored during the practical labs to assure proper form and 
process. 
 
Instructional Methods include classroom lecture, Computer based training, Audio visual 
presentations, handouts, question and answer sessions and study group meetings.  Practical 
Lessons include use of Barbering kit and lab facilities, AV equipment and use of internet.  For 
detailed curriculum breakdown see course syllabus or timecard provided by school. 

 

Total charges for period of attendance and estimated schedule of total charges for entire edu-

cational program : $1700 

Additional Costs 

High end clipper/trimmer set              $250 

Misc School Supplies, Additional Lab Supplies        $100-$500 
 

Textbook: 
Milady, Milady’s Standard Professional Barbering, Milady 5th Edition June 16, 2010 
ISBN-10:143497155   ISBN-13:978-1435497153 
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Course Offerings continued 
 

Permanent Makeup  
 

This course offers the student with an Cosmetology and Esthetician Licensee an essential bal-
ance between theory and practical operations. It is made up of several cycles, each having a 
defined area of concentrated study.  Through a combination of clinic, classroom and hands-on, 
the student will be introduced to the growing world of Permanent Makeup. This course has 1 
theory and 1 practical exams taken at 20 hours. In addition to the above exams instructors will 
continuously monitor progress.  
 

TOTAL TIME OF COURSE: 
 Full Time: 

20 HOURS (Approximately 1 weeks when attending at 20 hours per week)                

Part Time: 

20 HOURS (Approximately 2 weeks when attending at 10 hours per week) 

Modified time:                
20 hours Customized schedule subject to change 

 
COURSE: 

All Students must attend and complete “Permanent Makeup” module (page 28) This course 
integrates theory and practical operations by delivering them in the lab environment.  It in-
cludes elements of artistry, technology and manipulation of real world tools. Due to the small 
class size required, this course is generally done by appointment only and is flexible in sched-
uling. 
 
Instructional Methods include classroom lecture, Computer based training, Audio visual 
presentations, handouts, question and answer sessions and study group meetings.  Practical 
Lessons include use of Barbering kit and lab facilities, AV equipment and use of internet.  For 
detailed curriculum breakdown see course syllabus or timecard provided by school. 

     
Total charges for period of attendance and estimated schedule of total charges for entire educa-

tional program : $450 
 

This class relies on multiple proprietary hand outs included in the above fee and there are no 
required textbooks 
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Transferability of Credits 
 

We accept transfer students from any school in California licensed by the California Board of 
Barbering and Cosmetology as long as you provide a verifiable Record of Completion form 
and Proof of Training form for your withdrawal from the school.  
We also accept course transfers and will apply the full credit possible based on California 
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology regulations. 
We currently have no formal transfer agreements with any college or university outside of  
those mandated by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology regulations.  
 
"NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS 
EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION" 
The transferability of credits you earn at National Cosmetology Beauty School is at the com-
plete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of diploma or 
hours you earn in the educational program is also at the complete discretion of the institution 
to which you may seek to transfer. If the diploma or hours that you earn at this institution are 
not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat 
some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason you should make certain that 
your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contact-
ing an Institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending National Cosmetology 
Beauty School to determine if your diploma or hours will transfer 

Language Disclaimer 
We have instructors that Speak English, Vietnamese, Cantonese and Mandarin.  National Cos-
metology Beauty School  has no additional language requirement past the HighSchool diplo-
ma/GED equivalent.  Students proficient in the above languages will receive instruction in 
their language of choice and be eligible to take the required exams in their language or with 
the assistance of a translator.  National Cosmetology Beauty School  offers no formal language 
training.  We will however teach all students a significant amount of technical and industry 
specific words. 

Accreditation 
National Cosmetology Beauty School is a non accredited institution.  We currently have no 
accredited programs.  All programs offered are approved by the Bureau for Private Postsec-
ondary Education as well as the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. 
All of our programs are Diploma programs where students will earn the required hours to sit 
for the necessary State exams for licensure.  As a non-accredited institution we offer no feder-
al financial aid. Nor do we offer State Financial Aid at this time.  Students enrolled in a unac-
credited institution are not eligible for federal financial aid programs. 

 

Admissions 
Students considered for enrollment must: 
Possesses a High School Diploma, or equivalent GED diploma (General Education Diploma. 
Please bring your diploma or GED, Driver's License or another government-issued picture ID, 
and your Social Security Card on the day of your appointment to register for school. Pass ad-
missions exam and interview. Students whose language of choice is other than English, Viet-
namese and Chinese complete and pass a TOEFL examination at the 10th grade level. 
There is a non refundable $100 Registration fee due with Application for admissions. 
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Additional requirements for licensing in the State of California 
All courses are designed to give you the necessary practical skills and theory knowledge 
to successfully attain your California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology license.  In 
addition to completing this course you must show evidence that you: 

Are at least17 years of age. 

Have completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. 
Have committed no acts or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Sec-
tion 480 of the Business and Professions Code.  

Must show evidence of diploma or GED, Driver's License or another government-issued 

picture ID, a valid Social Security number or Individual Tax Payer Number. 

You must fill apply for and successfully pass a written and practical examination with the 

California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology to obtain a license. 
 

About our faculty 
Our faculty of 6 instructors with over 80 years experience in the beauty industry are led 
by Dalleen Stewart. Ms Stewart  has 20 years experience in the beauty industry, she has 
mentored, tutored and taught over 500 hundred individuals in their successful quest to 
obtain state licensing. Each instructor has one or more relevant licenses from the State of 
California.  We have instructors that Speak English, Vietnamese, Cantonese and Manda-
rin. Work record of instructors includes international as well as domestic experience.  
Our staff has a passion for working with students to master their profession, earn their 
license and gain employment.  References are available and you are free to meet with 
them during your school tour by appointment.  For detail about each team member see 
page 24 in the back of this catalog. 

 
Facilities 

National Cosmetology Beauty School is located at 315 11th Street Oakland, CA 94607. 
The school occupies a 2 story 10,000 square foot building.  Instruction in theory is deliv-
ered in one of three classrooms depending on size of class. Practical instruction and per-
formance is delivered in several lab areas dependent upon course being studied.  The fa-
cility has a mock State board exam room for preparing students for the practical exam 
and a computer lab to prepare them for the theory portion of their exams.  There is ample 
break room space and a small kitchenette available. There is ample storage for required 
supplies and each student is provided a locker as needed. The school also has a spa area 
so students can gain experience providing walk in services to the public. Office space and 
record keeping space is done on site.  
 
National Cosmetology Beauty School provides no housing or dormitories or assistance in 
finding housing.  Local room and apartment rentals within walking distance and/or on 
public transportation lines varies widely from $800 to $3200 per month.  

 
Equipment and materials for instruction 

 
BBC Compliant § 940. Equipment for Schools.  

(1) Electrical equipment for giving instruction in skin care and electrical facials.  
NOTE: Equipment shall not be used to stimulate so as to contract, or for the pur-
pose of contracting, the muscles of the body or face.  
(2) Mannequins, with full head of hair........................................................................... 10  
(3) Time clocks or time scanner .....................................................................................1  
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(4) Shampoo bowls ........................................................................................................5  
(5) Dryers.......................................................................................................................6  
(6) Facial chairs or facial couches..................................................................................2  
(7) Manicure stations......................................................................................................6  
(8) Thermal hair straighteners  

(A) Non-electric comb.........................................................................................3  
(B) Stove (for non-electric combs) ..................................................................... 1  
(C) Electric curling iron .......................................................................................1  
(D) Non-electric curling iron (at least two sizes)................................................. 3  
(E) Stove (for non-electric curling irons)............................................................. 1  

(9) Hairstyling or barber chairs ...................................................................................... 15  
(b) The minimum equipment for a school of barbering shall be as follows:  
(1) Mannequins, with full head of hair .............................................................................7  
(2) Time clock or time scanner........................................................................................1  
(3) Shampoo bowls.........................................................................................................3  
(4) Dryers .......................................................................................................................4  
(5) Hairstyling or barber chairs........................................................................................8  
(6) Electric curling iron....................................................................................................1  
(7) Non-electric comb .....................................................................................................1  
(8) Non-electric curling irons (at least two sizes)............................................................ 2  
(9) Stove (for non-electric combs).................................................................................. 1  
 
(10)Towel steamer ..........................................................................................................1  
(c) The minimum equipment for a school of electrolysis shall be as follows:  
 
(1) Time clock or time scanner........................................................................................1  
(2) Sinks for handwashing ..............................................................................................2  
(3) Service tables............................................................................................................3  
(4) Electrolysis Epilators:  

(A) High frequency thermolysis............................................................................2  
(B) Blend epilator.................................................................................................2  
(C) Multiple Needle..............................................................................................1  

(5) Magnifying lamp/loupes/binocular magnifier.............................................................. 3  
(6) Stools with adjustable height .....................................................................................3  
(7) Utility stands..............................................................................................................3  
(8) Sharps container ........................................................................................ 1 per table  
(9) Dry heat sterilizer ......................................................................................................1  
(10) Autoclave sterilizer...................................................................................................1  
 
 
Equipment and materials for instruction 
 
Most equipment and supplies needed are included in the students “kit”.  The school is compli-
ant with the Board of barbering and equipment and facilities requirement list.  This includes 
ample styling chairs, manicuring stations, hair dryers, steam machines, classroom tables and 
seating, practical tables, sinks, bathrooms. 
 
Kits for specific courses are included in the tuition fee.  Also note that most that the  school 
supplies the consumable chemicals and treatments and primarily uses “simulated” chemicals 
for practice of techniques and applications.  Real chemicals and solutions are available for 
walk-in customers and/or real applications on fellow students. 
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The school provides a small library of required books as well as supplemental material.  We 
also provide internet access and links to online materials.  Students are encourage to use 
these and it is available to the student by verbal request. 
 
 

California Student Tuition Recovery Fund 
 

It is a state requirement that a student who pays his or her tuition is required to pay a state-
imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund. This fee will be deducted from 
the registration fee by the school and paid to BPPE. 
The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or miti-
gate economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California resi-
dents, or are enrolled in a residency program attending certain schools regulated by the Bu-
reau for Private Postsecondary Education. 
5 CCR §76215(a) A qualifying institution shall include the following statement on both 
its enrollment agreement for an educational program and its current schedule of student 
charges:  
"You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) 
if all of the following applies to you: 
1. You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled 
in a residency program, and prepay all of part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed stu-
dent loans, or personal loans, and 
2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government 
program or other payer unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. 
You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF 
assessment if either of the following applies: 
1. You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or 
2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or 
other payer, and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party." 

5 CCR §76215(b) In addition to the statement descr ibed under  subdivision (a) of this 
section, a qualifying institution shall include the following statement on its current schedule 
of student charges: 
"The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mit-
igate economic losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California resi-
dents, or are enrolled in a residency program attending certain schools regulated by the Bu-
reau for Private Postsecondary Education. 
 
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency 
program, prepaid tuition, paid STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of 
any of the following: 
1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed. 
2. The school's failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for li-
cense fees or any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was 
collected within 180 days before the closure of the school. 
3. The school's failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student 
loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior 
to closure in excess of tuition and other costs. 
4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act or the Division within 30-days before 
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the school closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30-days prior to closure, the peri-
od determined by the Bureau. 
5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a judgment against the 
institution for a violation of the Act." 
 
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer 
identification number. 
 

Standards for Student Achievement 
All programs offered will be graded and monitored based on the following: 
 

Required hours of attendance must be met  
 

Examinations scores in both practical and written portions of the course will comprise a 100% 
of the grade. 

 
PASSING 

A       90-100% 
B         80-89% 
C         70-79% 
D        60-69% 

FAILING 
E           < 60%  

These standards are reviewed quarterly based on the results of State Board Examination scor-
ing reports provided by the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.   

 
Student Records 

All Student Records will be stored on site for a minimum of 10 years in paper format.  Tran-
scripts , Record of Completion and Proof of Training documents will be retained permanently.  
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INTRODUCTION 
A full and part time student, who comes in everyday, needs to stamp their timecard when they are ready to 
begin school for the day. 
The school does not provide parking facilities; it is the student’s responsibility to take care of their vehicle. 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
The School provides criteria of course in theory and practical training of full cosmetology, manicure and 
esthetician as specified by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology’s Rules and Regulations. 
 
ATTENDANCE POLICY 
It is the School policy that each student is to report an absence by 10:30am of that day by calling the school. 
If the student does not clock in at 9:07 AM, he/she is considered tardy and should adjust their departure time 
at the end of the day to complete the full 8 hours (minus 30 for lunch). 
 

Students must maintain their attendance schedule they submit at the time of enrollment, except in an emer-
gency situation. To maintain a reasonable studying progress, each student should maintain a minimum at-
tendance of 40 hours per week to be qualified as full-time student or minimum attendance of 20 hours per 
week to be enrolled as part- time student. If a student is on modified time they may have additional flexibil-
ity.  Deviations from set schedule must be approved by school director 
 

A student must finish the cosmetology program within 18 months, esthetic program within 9 months, mani-
curing program with 6 months, other programs within 6 months period, including holidays and vacations. 
Student who is incapable to finish the training program within the period specified above or on their enroll-
ment agreement may be required to pay additional fees if they exceed an additional 30 day grace period. 
 

If an extended leave of absence is needed it must be discussed with the school Director, who will work with 
you to plan your return and future schedule. Other leave of absences will be dealt with on an individual ba-
sis. Students that miss 5 consecutive days without notifying the School may be withdrawn from the pro-
gram.  No student shall lose any hours or credits earned and the school will provide a “Record of Comple-
tion” for withdrawals or completions for Students records upon demand. 
 
TIME CARDS 
Daily time cards are to be kept in the time card rack. In compliance with the Board of Barbering and Cos-
metology regulations, time cards cannot leave the School premises. Time cards taken home will not receive 
credit or hours. Time card must be punched in and out when a student enters and leaves the School. The 
time cards are required to be signed/initialized by the student and the instructor daily and at the end of the 
week. Students may only stamp their own cards.  Stamping another students card is grounds for immediate 
dismissal. 
 
PERSONAL GROOMING AND DRESS STANDARDS 
Men and women must represent themselves appropriately, being clean and well-groomed. Male students are 
to be clean-shaven. If a beard of mustache is worn, it must be neatly trimmed. The student should be wear-
ing an appropriate uniform, black or white, slacks or shirts. No sweat pants, or leotard type pants can be 
worn. A white smock is required when a student is clock in for the day. Shoes should be closed-toes. NO 
SANDALS! Student’s uniform must be CLEAN before entering first class of the day. 
 
ETHICS 
Students carrying on personal conversations may be asked to leave the classroom. Shouting across the room 
will not be tolerated. Students may no use coarse of obscene language. SMOKING, GUM CHEWING, 
AND EATING IS NOT PERMITTED IN THE SCHOOL EXCEPT IN THE BREAK ROOM OR OTHER 
DESIGNATED AREA. 
Students should cleanup after each client. Hair must be swept up after each service. Student’s working area 
should be clean before leaving for lunch and at the end of the day. Any items found lying around will be 
kept for one week and the disposed of! Cleanup is a cooperative effort. It is part of any School Routine. 
Proper hours cannot be maintained nor client cleanup the work area after a client. 
 
INAPPROPRIATE  BEHAVIOR 
Speaking ill-will and having a negative attitude against clients, staff, and other students is unprofessional 
Being disrespectful of clients, staff, and other students. 
Refusing to work on clients 

Rules and Regulations 
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Refusing to leave the School premises when asked by a proper School Authority 
Use of alcoholic beverages or drugs on school premises 
Refusing instruction from an instructor 
Non-observant of School’s Rules and Regulation, Health, and Safety on a continual basis 
Use of abusive and coarse language 
 
TELEPHONE AND ELECTRONIC DEVICES 
The School phone is limited to emergency calls only. Students will NOT be called to the phone while working on 
clients of when they are in a classroom, messages will be taken. Students will not be allowed to use cell phones or 
electronic devices during class hours or in the classrooms. 
 
BREAKS 
Lunch should be taken normally at 12:00 PM for daytime students. If a student has a client, exception can be made. 
Students should inform instructor before leaving for lunch and dinner. Time Cards are to be left in the time card 
rack during lunch and dinner. LUNCH AND DINNER IS LIMITED TO 30 MINUTES, DAILY. Any students 
returning tardy from their lunch/dinner break should adjust their departure time to maintain adequate hours. In case 
of an extenuating circumstance, the student should notify the instructor. 
Anytime a student leaves the School, the time card must be clocked out: upon returning, the timecard must be 
clocked in. The only time a student may leave the School is for breaks or for lunch/dinner and at the end of the 
day. 
 
CLIENT SERVICES 
Students will be eligible for client services based on specific NCBS criteria: 
Good daily attendance- no unexcused absences [ working, is an excused absence] 
Daily attendance in theory 
Cooperation with dress code and sanitation 
Compliance of Health and Safety rules 
The School will collect all fees from clients 
Student may keep tips unless client specifies the tip for an instructor 

 

PROCEDURES FOR STUDENT WORK WITH A CLIENT 

It is important that appropriate procedures are followed, when serving a client. Correct techniques and habits in 

practical operations are crucial to the development and success of the student. 

Each client should be seen by the instructor on the floor before the student begins the services. All students’ work 

should be checked before, during, and after each client service. 

Wet sets must be checked before and after each completion if a student is new or a haircut is unfamiliar. A student 

must check frequently with the floor instructor. 

Permanent waves require of the permanent wave to be check procedures by the instructor. Hair coloring requires 

pre-consultation, record card, application, development check, and final results check 

Manicures must he checked before and after completing in a service. Artificial nail application must he checked by 

the instructor in order to receive credit on their time card. 

Paving clients are provided for paid services only. If additional services are requested, charges must he collected in 

advance and reported to the receptionist. Students must present their service ticket when obtaining supplies. 

Students are not allowed to refuse to perform a duty or refuse a client; students should discuss with an instructor if 

they do not wish to service a client. 

 

 

PERSONAL PROPERTY 

The School is not responsible for any personal losses. The student is responsible for the care, replacement, and 

repair of their equipment. The student should report any undue problems with items missing from their kit. Stu-

dents must keep money and valuables in their lockers. 

It is required or each student to mark all of the items in their kit so that upon loss, the item can be identified. Each 

student will be assigned a locker to keep their personal items, but the School does not responsible or any loses as-
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sociate to the use of locker. Students are required to cleanup the locker upon graduation. Personal property left on 

the School premises 30 days after graduation and will be used for the School inventory or donated to the general 

student body. 

Student Conduct 
 Student Conduct 

The following summary is based on the provisions of the California Education Code and the California Penal Code 

Disciplinary action may be imposed on a student for violation of School rules and regulations, the California 

Education Code, California Penal Code, or the California Administrative Code. Student misconduct may 

result in disciplinary action by the School and /or prosecution by civil authorities. Students sire subject to 

disciplinary action for any of the following violations; 

Violation of District policies or regulations_ including cam-pus parking and traffic regulations, poli-

cies regulating student organizations, or governing the time, place, and manner of public expres-

sion;  

Obstruction or disruption of teaching, research, adminis-trative procedures or other School activities; 

Physical or verbal abuse, or that of such abuse, of any person on School-owned or controlled property 

or at School sponsored or supervised functions; or conduct which threatens or endangers the 

health or safety of such person; 

Theft or, damage to, or threat of such damage to property of the School; 

Unauthorized entry to or use of school facilities; Dishonesty; i e. cheating, plagiarism or furnishing 

false information to the school, forgery, alteration or misuse of school documents, records, or 

identification documents, etc; 

Use, possession, distribution of alcoholic beverages or narcotic or hallucinogenic drugs on School 

property 

Disorderly conduct or lewd, indecent, or obscene behav-ior on District property 

Insulting or abusing school employees in the perfor-mance of their duty on or near the school premis-

es or public sidewalks adjacent to school premises; 

Refusal to comply with directions of District or school employees acting in the performance of their 

duties; 

Sexual harassment. 

 

Students facing disciplinary action for violations of school rules and regulations consistent with the Education 

Code are subject to any of the following actions: 

Warning: An oral or written reprimand; 

Temporary exclusion: Removal for the duration of the class period or activity; 

Suspension: Exclusion from classes, privileges or activi-ties for a specified period of time asset forth 

in the notice of suspension as provided in the Education Code? Suspensions by instructors must 

be immediately reported to the Director of the school; 

Expulsion: Termination of student status as set forth in the notice of expulsion 

Disciplinary action may be imposed on a student by. 

A school certificated employee who may place a Student on probation or temporarily exclude the 

student from class and/or a school activity for the remainder of that class/activity period; 

The Owner or Director who may summarily suspend a student when deemed necessary for the wel-

fare and safety of the School community. 

 

Dismissal 

School policy provides that a student may be placed on probation, suspended or expelled for violation of the Stu-
dent Conduct Policy 
 

Additional Consequences 

§ 415.5. Disturbance of peace of school, community or state school or state university; punishment — 
Any person who (I) unlawfully fights within any building or upon the grounds of any school, community col-
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lege, state college, or state university or challenges another person within any such budding or upon such 
grounds to fight, or (2) maliciously and willfully disturbs another person within any such building or upon 
such grounds by loud and unreasonable noise, or (3) uses offensive words within any such building or up-

on such grounds which are inherently likely to provoke an immediate violent reaction is guilty of a misde-
meanor and shall be punished as follows 

Upon a first conviction by a fine not exceeding four hundred dollars ($400) or by imprisonment in the 
county ail for a period of not more than 90 days, or by both such fine and imprisonment. 

If the defendant has been previously convicted once of a violation of this section or of any offense 
defined in a Chapter I (commencing with Section 626) of Title 15 of Part I, by imprisonment 

in the county jail bra period of not less that’, ID days or more than six months or by both 
such Imprisonment and a fine of not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), and he shall 
not be released on probation, parole, or any other basis he has served not less than 10 days. 

§71. Threatening public officers and employees and school officials 

 
Every person who attempts to cause, or causes any officer employee of any public or private educational 

institution or any public officer or employee to do, or refrain from doing, any act in the performance of his 
duties, by means of a threat, directly communicated to such person, to inflict an unlawful Injury upon any 
person or property, and it-reasonably appears to the recipient of the threat that such threat could be carried 
out, is guilty of a public offense punishable as follows 
Upon a first conviction, such person is punishable by a fine not exceeding ten thousand dollars($l0.000), or 

by imprisonment in the state prison, or in a county jail not exceeding one year, or by both 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

INFORMATION FOR BEGINNING STUDENTS 
TIMECARDS 

• Each student is to fill out a timecard daily and use it to punch in at beginning of the day and punch out out at 

the end of the day, lunch is a maximum 30 minutes. 

• Each student is to prepare a timecard for the following day using the cumulative information from the day‘s 

time used to clock in and out, this timecard will be used the next day on to clock-in and out. 

• Classes begin on their scheduled times, students have 7 minutes grace time, if a student is 8 minutes late, they 

loose fifteen minutes of the hour (Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Rules) 



20 

National Cosmetology Beauty School Course Catalog January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017 

• Timecards are legal documents and are to be kept at the school at all times. 

• Timecards are provided by the school, and vary in class status: Esthetician freshman, Cosmetology freshman, 

and manicuring freshman students. 

• A folder is made up per student in which that individual ‘s time cards are kept, this record keeping process 

helps students and instructors keep track of student operations and time accumulated toward clock hours necessary 

to complete their program. 

 
TIMECARDS PROCEDURES 

1. Students will clock-in their own timecard on a daily basis. Clocking-in another students timecard is a violation 

of the States Board Rules and Regulations. 

2. Instructors will not sign a student in or out unless they can attest to and validate the students arrival and depar-

ture time. If a student forgets to clock-in/out, the student must at that time, clock in/out and may receive credit ON-

LY for the clocked hours. 

3. Instructors will not sign a timecard for another day’s attendance. The timecard should be signed by the in-

structor on the day of attendance.  

4 Students will receive a new weekly timecard on Monday. Timecards from the previous week must be handed 

in on Friday or Saturday after they have transferred previous theory hours and operations to their new timecard. 

5. Instructors will not sign a student‘s timecard if operations and hours are not filled in. 
 
DOCUMENTS 

Students need to complete daily: 1. Appropriate timecard 

 2. Theory hours, practical operations filled out. 

 3. Date and student‘s signature 

 4. Instructor‘s signature 
NECESSARY EQUIPMENT  
In order to begin the program; students must have the equipment and supplies listed below by the first day of the 
classes; in order to stay in the program and be able to learn and accumulate operations and applied effort hours. 

 1. 3-Rng binder, 2 inches or bigger, Line paper, Binder Divider 

 2. Pen, Pencil, Hi-lighter, Eraser, Set of color pencil, etc. 

 3. Small lock with 2 keys or Combination lock. Lockers are issued to student, to keep their equipment at the 

academy and students are responsible for a combination lock or key lock to secure the locker contents; 

also, a duplicate copy is kept in student ‘s file. (Turn it in to your instructor at the first week of the class) 

 4. Cups or Glass for Drinking Water   
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Cancellation and Refund Information 
 
 The student has the right to a full refund of all charges except for the amount of 
$100 for registration fee, if he or she cancels this agreement prior to or on the first 
day of instruction. Students enrolled in a non "tutoring" or "refresher" course shall 
have the right to cancel until midnight on the fifth business day after the first les-
son was received or before the 7th day after enrollment. The amount retained for 
registration fee shall be $100. In calculating any tuition refund due, the percentage 
of attendance will be determined by the hours attended divided by the total hours 
in the program. In all cases of Students who withdraw, or who are suspended or 
expelled, the following refund policy shall apply:You may cancel this enrollment 
agreement and receive a refund by providing a written notice to National Cos-
metology Beauty School Attention: Dalleen Stewart at 315 11th Street, Oakland, 
CA 94607  
Refund Information. In all cases of Students who withdraw, or  who are sus-
pended or expelled, the following refund policy shall apply: 
 
The refund of tuition and others fees (excluding material fee) for students who 
have completed 60% or less of the period of attendance shall receive a pro rata 
refund. EXAMPLE: a student who completes 25% of attendance of the course 
will received a refund of 75% of the total tuition charges, less the registration fee 
of $100.00. Material fee will be refund if returned in unused condition within 10 
days following the date of students withdrawal. Returned kits may be subject to a 
reconditioning fee of up to 50% based on their returned condition. If the Student 
obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the respon-
sibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any 
refund. Credits or Refunds shall be paid within 45 days of cancellation or with-
drawal. 
 
If the student has received federal student financial aid funds the student is enti-
tled to a refund of moneys not paid from federal student financial aid funds.   
If a student defaults on a federal loan, both the following may occur: 
The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action 
against the student, including applying any income tax refund to which the person 
is entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan. 
The student may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at an-
other institution or other government financial assistance until the loan is repaid. 
 
State Board Kit Rentals require a cash deposit.  Kit must be returned by 12 noon 
the day following the practical exam.  Kits returned after 12 noon will incur a 
$50/day late fee deducted from the deposit.  Any missing or damaged implements 
or equipment will be paid for out of the deposit according to the price list provid-
ed with the kit. 
Upon withdrawal and settlement of financial charges the school will provide the 
student with a Proof of Training withdrawal form with the hours of practical and 
theory earned at the school. 
School will waive registration fee if a withdrawal student returns to the school 
within three months to continue course where they left off. 
If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have 
to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, 
and that, if the student receives federal student financial aid funds, the student is 
entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid from federal financial aid funds. 
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Student Services 
 

Paperwork Services 
 
National Cosmetology Beauty School offers its students services related to State licensing 
and applications for the course being studied.  This service is free of charge when directly re-
lated to the course of enrollment although there is a small materials fee to cover costs and stu-
dents are responsible for all related fees to State and/or other agencies Paperwork and report-
ing to county and local public service organizations is built into the cost structure. 
 
Non course related paperwork service is available to students and members of the general 
public.  This includes but is not limited to processing applications for establishment licenses, 
reciprocity applications for transferring licenses to and from California, internship ID badges 
and forms, re-exam applications and a wide variety of  other forms to assist customers in nav-
igating the industry and providing proper documentation to required agencies.  These service 
not related to specific enrolled course or performed for non student will incur a fair market 
fee. 
 

Placement Service 
 

National Cosmetology Beauty School offers its students no formal or documented placement 
services at this time.   The School director does have a wide network of hiring companies na-
tionwide and will provide referrals when ever and where ever possible. 
 

Additional Students Rights 
 

Access To and Information in Student Files / School Records 
 
NCBS complies with the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act of 1974. This act protects 
the privacy of education and establishes a student’s and/or parent/guardian of a minor’s right 
to inspect and review their educational record, under the supervision of an instructor and/or a 
member of the administration. Students, or their parent/guardian if the student is a dependent 
minor, may have access to their own files by contacting the School administration for an ap-
pointment with the Registrar. The School may require advance notice of up to 48 hours and 
an appointment for review of these files. Students, or their parent/guardian if the student is a 
dependent minor, may not remove these records from the campus. No information regarding a 
student will be released without the prior written consent of the student or, if the student is a 
dependent minor, their parent/guardian, unless NCBS is required to do so by law, a govern-
ment agency . 
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STUDENT GRIEVANCE POLICY 
It is the policy of National Cosmetology Beauty School to allow students to initiate grievance proce-
dures when the student believes he or she has been subject to unjust action or the denial of rights as 
stipulated in published school regulations, state laws, or federal laws. Such action may be instituted by 
a student against another student, a client, a staff member, a faculty member, or an administrator. When 
a student believes an injustice has been done, the student may seek redress as follows: 
Procedure 
1. It is hoped that all student grievances may be resolved quickly and on an informal basis utilizing the 
school’s chain of command. The complainant should first discuss the complaint with his or her 
immediate instructor and/or other staff member deemed appropriate. The selected staff member will 
then work to resolve the complaint, or refer it to the Supervisor for resolution as deemed appropriate. 
2. If the complaint remains unresolved, the complainant may then discuss the complaint with the super-
visor for resolution. 
3. If the circumstances of the complaint prevent using steps 1 or 2, or if not the complaint is not re-
solved within five (5) working days, the complainant may then proceed to file a formal complaint with 
the School Owner/Director. 
Further Escalation 
In the event the complaint is not resolved by the Owner/Director, the complainant can direct the 
complaint to the following agencies: 
 
The Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
Physical Address: 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 
Phone Number: (916) 431-6959; Toll Free: (888) 370-7589; Fax Number: (916) 263-1897 
www.bppe.ca.gov 
Email: bppe@dca.ca.gov 
 
Board of Barbering & Cosmetology 
All complaints must be submitted to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology in writing. 
Complaints may be submitted: 
Electronically through www.breeze.ca.gov. 

or 
By U.S. Mail using a Consumer Complaint Form or other written document addressed to: 
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 
P.O. Box 944226 
Sacramento CA, 94244-2260 
http://www.dca.ca.gov/online_services/complaints/citizen_complaint.shtml 
 

 

https://www.breeze.ca.gov/
http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/enforcement/consumer_complaint.pdf
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FACULTY 
Dalleen Stewart 
Dalleen is the owner and director of National Cosmetology Beauty School.  She has 23 years 
of experience in the beauty service industry, this experience includes skills as a practitioner, 
business savvy as an owner operator and over 10 years teaching and tutoring students to be 
successful in their quest to become licensed practitioners.  Dalleen holds the cosmetologist, 
manicurist, esthetician and barbering licenses. She is extremely dedicated and works hard to 
assure that every student has the best chance of mastering the skills necessary to achieve their 
state license.  She was engaged heavily in the day to day managing school. She has oversight 
and works with all of the cosmetologist, manicurist, esthetician and barbering students. 
 

Lian Chung Zhang (Coco) 
Coco has over 15 years of experience as esthetician.  She has delivered services domestically 
and internationally.  She received over a decade of training in Hong Kong and is responsible 
for delivering lectures and demonstrations for the advanced aesthetician students at National 
Cosmetology Beauty School.  She also is the lead instructor for permanent makeup.  Coco also 
manages a successful practice delivering esthetician services. 
 

Xuong Thoi  
Xuong has over 20 years of haircutting experience internationally and domestically.  He is a 
licensed cosmetologist in the state of California and specializes in teaching the cutting and styl-
ing of man’s and women’s hair.  He utilizes his extensive experience to mentor cosmetology 
and barbering students through the process of mastering the haircutting skills. Xuong is also an 
excellent role model with his mastery of his profession and his impeccable work ethic. He is 
also responsible for preparing students for the practical state board exams. 
 

Helen Huynh  
Hien has  20 years in the Beauty service industries. She is a licensed cosmetologist and special-
izes in teaching coloring, chemical relaxing, hairstyling and nail care.  Her work experience 
includes salon management so she is uniquely suited and leverages this skill set to prepare stu-
dents for the important task of dealing with the public and managing the front end of a salon. 
Hien is also responsible for helping prepare students in the practical and theory portions of the 
state board exams. 
 

Sally Wong  
Sally has been an instructor at National Cosmetology Beauty School staff for three years.  She 
has several years of service experience.  She will be using her extensive language skills to as-
sist students in the theory and practical portions of the curriculum.   
 

Binh Thi Thai Tran 
Binh has been an instructor at National Cosmetology Beauty School staff for two years.  She 
has 15 years of industry experience.  She will leverage her sales and cosmetic consultation ex-
perience to assist students to successfully learn their trade.   
 

Danh Thi Phu Nguyen 
Danh has been an instructor at National Cosmetology Beauty School staff for one year.  She 
holds a bachelors degree in Education teaching Chemistry and Biology.  Danh brings 12 years 
of experience teaching middle school science courses to help our students better understand the 
science portion of  the curriculum. 
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Trang Thi Thu Le 
Trang has been an instructor at National Cosmetology Beauty School staff for one year.  She 
has 5 years of industry experience.  She is very efficient and organized and will use her ser-
vice and consulting experience to prepare students for success. 
 

Yen Mai  
Yen is a recent graduate of National Cosmetology Beauty School.  She is responsible for pre-
paring assembling equipment kits for students of the school and for the practical portion State 
Bar exam.  She’s currently working part-time for the school and part-time for a salon to gain 
more real life experience.  She also assists in the practical labs helping students prepare for 
their state board exams. 
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Theory Modules for Beauty Courses 

Beauty Core 1  
90 hour core module covering Rules, regulations, health, safety and the sciences of 
cosmetology.  This is a required course for all first time students of Barbering, Cos-
metology, Esthetician, and Manicuring. 

Beauty Core 1 (90 hours) 

Subject Hours 

Cosmetology Act, Rule, Regulation 10 

Cosmetology Chemistry 10 

Health and Safety 25 

Theory of Electricity in Cosmetology 10 

Disinfection/Sanitation 20 

Bacteriology, Anatomy, Physiology 15 

Beauty Core 2  
40 hour supplemental core module covering additional rules, regulations, health 
safety and chemistry of cosmetology.  This is a required course for students of Bar-
bering, Cosmetology, and cross over students. 

Beauty Core 2 (40 hours) 

Subject Hours 

Cosmetology Act, Rule, Regulation 10 

Cosmetology Chemistry 10 

Health and Safety 20 

Hair 
200 hour module covering the science and techniques of hair styling, cutting and 
coloring. This is a required module for students of Barbering and Cosmetology. 

Hair  (200 hours) 

Subject Hours 

Wet Hair Styling 30 

Thermal Hair Styling. Press & Curl 40 

Permanent Waving 30 

Chemical Straightening 20 

Hair Cutting 25 

Hair Coloring/Bleaching 50 

Scalp and Hair Treatment 5 



27 

National Cosmetology Beauty School Course Catalog January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2017 

Facial/Makeup 
120 hour module covering the theory and techniques of facial massage, hair remov-
al, application of makeup. This is a required module for students of Esthetician and 
Cosmetology. 

Facial/Makeup (120 hours) 

Subject Hours 

Manual - Facials 20 

Electrical - Facials 30 

Chemical - Facials 20 

Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal 10 

Wax and Depilatories 20 

Make-up/Eyelash Application 20 

Nail Technology 
60 hour module covering the theory and techniques of manicure, pedicure and appli-
cation of various nail enhancements. This is a required module for students of Mani-
curing and Cosmetology. 

Nail Technology (60 hours) 

Subject Hours 

Water and Oil Manicure/Arm Massage 16 

Complete pedicure 11 

Acrylic: Liquid and Powder Brush-on 17 

Nail Tips 11 

Nail Wraps and Repair 5 

Barbering 
135 hour module covering the theory and techniques of Shaving and Facials. This is 
a required module for students of Barbering and Barbering Crossover. 

Barbering (135 hours) 

Subject Hours 

Shaving 100 

REST Facials 20 

Chemical/Manual - Facials 15 
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LAB Modules for Beauty Courses 

Cosmetology Lab 

Instructor led and monitored lab sessions to practice and master the 
required operations needed for licensing 

OPERATION & DEMONSTRATIONS Req.Ops 

Disinfection/Sanitation 10 

Wet Hair Styling 240 

Thermal Hair Styling.  30 

Press & Curl 30 

Permanent Waving 80 

Chemical Straightening 25 

Hair Cutting 80 

Hair Coloring 30 

Hair Bleaching 20 

Scalp and Hair Treatment 20 

Manual - Facials 10 

Electrical-Facials 15 

Chemical - Facials 15 

Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal 20 

Make-up/Eyelash Application 20 

Water and Oil Manicure 15 

Complete pedicure 15 

Acrylic: Liquid and Powder Brush-on 50 Nails 

Nail Tips 50 Nails 

Nail Wraps and Repair 20 Nails 

Esthetician Lab 

Instructor led and monitored lab sessions to practice and master the 
required operations needed for licensing 

OPERATION & DEMONSTRATIONS Req.Ops 

Disinfection/Sanitation 10 

Manual - Facials 40 

Electrical-Facials 60 

Chemical - Facials 40 

Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal 10 

Wax and Depilatories 40 

Make-up/Eyelash Application 40 
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Barbering Lab 
Instructor led and monitored lab sessions to practice and master the 

required operations needed for licensing 

OPERATION & DEMONSTRATIONS Req.Ops 

Disinfection/Sanitation 10 

Wet Hair Styling/Fingerwaving 240 

Permanent Waving 80 

Thermal Hair Styling.  40 

Press & Curl 80 

Hair Cutting 80 

Hair Coloring/bleaching 50 

Hair Waving and Curling 80 

Chemical Straightening 40 

Shaving/Prep/Analysis 100 

REST-Facials 20 

Manual/Chemical - Facials 20 

Shampoos 25 

Scalp Manipulations 20 

Hair Waving and Curling 20 

Hairpiece Processing and Relaxing 5 

Hairpiece Fitting and Servicing 5 

Chemicals on Hairpiece 5 

Manicure Lab 

Instructor led and monitored lab sessions to practice and master the 
required operations needed for licensing 

OPERATION & DEMONSTRATIONS Req.Ops 

Disinfection/Sanitation 10 

Water/Oil Manicures/Arm Massage 40 

Complete Pedicure 20 

Acrylic: Liquid and Powder Brush-on 80 Nails 

Nail Tips 60 Nails 

Nail Wraps and Repair 40 Nails 

Permanent Makeup 
Instructor led theory and practive delivered in the lab to practice 

and master the required operations needed for Diploma 

Theory and Practical subjects Hours 

Permanent Eyeliner 7 

Permanent Eyebrow 5 

Permanent Lip Liner  5 

Airbrush Eyebrows 3 


