

# Electrical Trainee Institutional Catalog

January 1, 2020 - December 31, 2020

Independent Training & Apprenticeship Program 9856 Business Park Drive, Sacramento, CA 95827 (916) 332-3332 – www.i-tap.com

# **Table of Contents**

Name of the Institution:	
Physical Address:	3
Mailing Address:	
Telephone Number:	
Fax Number:	3
Website:	3
Accredited Agencies:	3
Approving Agencies:	3
Mission Statement:	
Institution History:	
School Governing Body, Administrators	4
School Faculty	4
Instructional Facilities	4
Library	4
Student Services	4
Entrance Requirements	5
Admission Policies and Procedures	5
Enrollment Procedures	
Acceptance	
Students with Special Needs	
Prior Credit Evaluation Policy	
Nondiscrimination Policy	
Instructional Information	6
Institution Schedule	
Detailed Instructional Schedule per Program	
Course Fees	7
Course Objectives	
Course Requirements	
Classroom Instruction Policies	
Attendance Policy	
Missed Work and Hours	
Grading Policy	
Student Academic Progress Report Policy	
Max Time Frame	
Requirements for Certificate of Completion	
Conduct in Class	
Plagiarism and Copyright Policy	
Language of Instruction	
Student Related Policies	
Notice Concerning Transferability of Credits and Credentials Earned	
Reentry Students	
Leave of Absence	

21

Name of the Institution:	Independent Training & Apprenticeship Program (I-TAP)
Physical Address:	9856 Business Park Drive Sacramento, CA 95827
Mailing Address:	9856 Business Park Drive Sacramento, CA 95827
Telephone Number:	(916) 332-3332
Fax Number:	(916) 332-2191
Website:	www.i-tap.com
Accredited Agencies:	Accrediting Council of Continuing Education and Training (ACCET) 1722 N Street NW, Washington DC, 20036 ph (202) 955-1113
Approving Agencies:	California Division of Industrial Relations Electrician Certification Unit US Department of Labor - Office of Apprenticeship Bureau of Private Post-Secondary Education (BPPE) P.O. Box 980818 West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 ph. (916) 431-6959 (The institution is a Private institution approved to operate by the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Approval to operate means the institution is compliant with the minimum standards contained in the California Private Postsecondary Act of 2009 (as amended) and Division 7.5 of Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations)

# **Mission Statement:**

The primary mission is to provide individuals with the educational tools to obtain and maintain employment as commercial electricians thereby enriching and improving the lives of students and their families.

# **Institution History:**

I-TAP was incorporated in 2003 as a federally approved apprenticeship program for electricians. During the initial years, I-TAP developed and worked directly with contractors to provide training in the traditional apprenticeship formats. As the training and certification requirements for electricians in California changed, I-TAP underwent changes to become a state approved trainee program. In January 2007 I-TAP received its approval. Originally trainees and apprentices continued to receive the education in the standard apprenticeship format that took 5+ years to complete. In 2012 I-TAP, in an attempt to meet the ever changing needs of employers, began offering the two program formats, the standard apprenticeship and our 26 week commercial electrician trainee program. The curriculum taught is the same, however with the 26 week format students are able to complete their education more quickly and begin working in the industry at higher wages than their Avocational Commercial Electrician Trainee counterpart. The 26 week program also provides more hands on learning to offset the lack of field experience. In 2016, I-TAP became a private California Mutual Benefit Not for Profit corporation.

# School Governing Body, Administrators

# <u>Owner</u> Independent Training & Apprenticeship Program (Nonprofit California Corporation)

- <u>Board of Directors</u>
  Mr. Norman Nutter Chairmen of the Board
  Ms. Carolyn Nutter Member
  Mr. Carl Martinez Member
- <u>Administrative Officials</u>
  Ms. Carolyn Nutter Training Director/Financial Aid/Veterans Affairs Certifying Official
  Mr. Steven Hildreth Admissions Recruiter
  Ms. Karley Hulse Business Office Administrator
  Ms. Tatiana Ochoa Office Administrator

# School Faculty

<u>Instructors: Commercial Electrician</u>
 Mr. Carl Martinez – Chief Instructor, Licensed General Electrician and Credentialed Instructor
 Mr. Kyle Kirk – Instructor, Licensed General Electrician and Credentialed Instructor
 Mr. Tom Heheisel – Instructor, Licensed General Electrician
 Mr. Randy Watkins – Instructor, Licensed General Electrician
 Mrs. Dorothy Yanke – Lab Instructor, Licensed General Electrician

# **Instructional Facilities**

The school's address is located at 9856 Business Park Drive, Sacramento CA 95827. The school consists of approximately 14,000 square feet of classrooms, labs and offices on one floor specifically designed for our school. There are 4 separate classrooms (one teacher per classroom) with a maximum capacity of 20 students each, and teaching equipment sufficient to meet educational needs. Teaching equipment includes but is not limited to; conduit, conductors, lighting controllers, motor controls, fire alarm panels, benders, hydraulic benders, panels, transformers, and switch gear.

# Library

The industry standard books are used as part of the curriculum, however, students will find industry periodicals in the school library. The library is conveniently located in the break room near the student resources board.

# **Student Services**

The institution provides students with the following services

- Financial Aid
- Entrance exam tutoring
- Counseling
- Resume writing
- Job Placements preparation

The institution does not provide any assistance with housing.

# **Entrance Requirements**

I-TAP students must meet the following minimum admission requirements

- Be at least 17 years of age
- Have a high school diploma or GED equivalent\* or pass the ability to benefit test (minimum score English 200, Math 210)
- Pass I-TAP math exam with 70% or better
- Take I-TAP colorblind exam
- Able to lift 50 lbs with or without reasonable accommodations.
- Ability to read and write English at the level of a graduate of an American high school.

\*Foreign Diplomas or Transcript: The school will accept a foreign diploma or transcript, however the diploma or transcript must be equivalent to a U.S. high school diploma and must be translated into English by a certified translator and evaluated by a credentialed evaluation service. All costs associated with translation and evaluation are the responsibility of the student.

#### **Admission Policies and Procedures**

#### Enrollment Procedures

Students may enroll at the school with the school secretary. Although it is not a requirement, it is highly encouraged that all students schedule a tour to ensure they have a complete understanding of the program. Registration in the program consists of signing the training agreement, providing proof of the documents listed above, and making a \$100 non-refundable deposit. Once that is done, students can work to complete the financial requirements through private funding, grants, and/or loans. Prior to the start of class all students will be expected to pass the math exam. If students do not pass the math exam on the first attempt, tutoring sessions can be scheduled and a student can reattempt the test. The Admissions Recruiter will also try to assist each student in understanding the general support services available to all community members, such as County Assistance and possible grants via WIOA, California Training Benefits, Veterans Affairs, Department of Rehabilitation, Title 4 funding (Pell Grant, Direct Subsidized Loan, Direct Unsubsidized Loan, and Parent Plus Loan), and in house payment plans. The institution tries to be aware of all services available to students, such as housing and counseling, but in fact operates as a resource with the clear understanding that he/she does not know all of the options available to each student at any given time. No financial aid can be awarded by the Admissions Recruiter.

#### Acceptance

After a prospect has completed the enrollment process, the administrator will review each prospect and his/her required admissions materials. Upon the decision of the administrator the prospective student will receive writing notification of acceptance or the missing admission materials. A prospective student will be required to produce all missing admission materials prior to the start of class.

#### Students with Special Needs

The institution will make every reasonable effort to accommodate students with special needs. If you have a disability and need an academic adjustment, please notify the Training Director as soon as possible so the school can review your request. If you are interested in attending our school and you do not have a high school diploma or high school equivalency diploma, please contact our office for a list of high school equivalency programs located near the school.

# Prior Credit Evaluation Policy

Students can request advance placement. I-TAP will inquire about previous education and training, request all records for evaluation and grant credit accordingly. Depending on documentation students (ie transcripts from other ECCC approved schools) will be required to take advance placement tests and complete lab evaluations. Credit will be given only to those that can prove, through documentation or testing, an understanding of the materials. I-TAP will not grant more hours than can be documented from previous school and will not grant credit from not ECCC approved schools. Students will be responsible for the prorated portion of tuition consistent with the credit granted. Granting credit may mean student it not eligible for financial aid.

# Nondiscrimination Policy

I-TAP admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school. It does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national and ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies, admissions policies, scholarship and loan programs, and other school-administered programs.

# **Instructional Information**

# Institution Schedule

Training is offered Monday through Friday from 7:00am to 3:30 pm. School is closed for the following holidays: Presidents Day, Independence Day, Memorial Day, Thanksgiving and the Friday after Thanksgiving, and the days including and between Christmas and New Year's.

Constitution day is on or around September 17<sup>th</sup> each year.

# Detailed Instructional Schedule per Program

# 26 Week Commercial Electrician Trainee

- 26 weeks 900 hours;
- Monday through Friday 7:00 am 3:30 pm.
- 8 hours per each day, test days will be shorter. approximately 35 hours per week
- New cohort begins regularly, contact the institution for the next available start.

# Avocational Commercial Electrician Trainee

- 10 individual 2 week course. Classes must be taken sequentially, unless otherwise approved by the Training Director. Each course receives 80 hours of education towards the 150 hour state requirement.
- Classes are Tuesday through Monday (2 weeks total) 7:00 am 3:30 pm
- 8 hours of instruction per day for a total of 40 hours per week
- New cohort begins approximately 4 times per year, contact the institution for the next available start.

# Course Fees

Commercial Electrician

 Period of Attendance Tuition: \$16,500.00 (includes \$100 non-refundable deposit and all books and supplies associated with the course and lab work). Total Tuition for the program is \$16,500.00.

Commercial Electrician Trainee (Avocational Program)

- Tuition varies by course registered and payment plan selected. (see the following table).
- Each course is an independent period of attendance.
- Books are not included as part of the tuition for the Avocational program.
- Estimated total charges for the entire program are \$10,025 \$11,232
- There is a \$200.00 nonrefundable registration fee

Course Name	Semester	Monthly
Commercial Electrician Trainee 1.1	\$725.00	\$135.00
Commercial Electrician Trainee 1.2	\$725.00	\$135.00
Commercial Electrician Trainee 2.1	\$862.50	\$161.00
Commercial Electrician Trainee 2.2	\$862.50	\$161.00
Commercial Electrician Trainee 3.1	\$1,000.00	\$187.00
Commercial Electrician Trainee 3.2	\$1,000.00	\$187.00
Commercial Electrician Trainee 4.1	\$1,150.00	\$215.00
Commercial Electrician Trainee 4.2	\$1,150.00	\$215.00
Commercial Electrician Trainee 5.1	\$1,275.00	\$238.00
Commercial Electrician Trainee 5.2	\$1,275.00	\$238.00

# Tools for both Programs

 Students will need have a complete set of tools in order to be successfully employed in the industry as an electrician. Students will be provided a tool list if they have any questions on what is required. Tools are not available for purchase from the institution.

# Payment Methods

- The institution will accept money in the form of Cash, Check, Visa, and Mastercard.
- Money paid to the institution on behalf of the students from outside agencies will be directly applied to the students balance (ex. WIOA, Department of Rehabilitation, Veterans Affairs)
- Any amount not covered by financial aid via the programs listed above, will be eligible for a monthly payment plan. The payment plan will begin while in the program and will completed prior to the completion of the program.
- The institution is eligible for Title 4 funding, including Pell grants, Direct Subsidized Ioan, Direct Unsubsidized Ioan, and Parent Plus Ioan)
- Students who obtain loans to pay for educational program will be required to pay back the full amount of the loan plus interest, less any applicable refund.

- The institution will not loan any money (except as entitled to by Title 4 funding) for Cost of Attendance needs.
- Students will be notified of delinquent payments via statements mailed or emailed. If students do not reply timely, the account will be turned over to a collection agency.

# Course Objectives

# **Commercial Electrician**

The objective of the commercial electrician course is to provide students with the education required to be employable as commercial electrician trainees. Upon completion of the curriculum students will have earned an California Electrical Trainee Card, as well as be eligible to take the California General Certification Exam, however they will not be considered "certified" unless they have also completed 8,000 hours of on-the-job experience.

# Commercial Electrician Trainee (Avocational Program)

The objective of the Avocational Commercial Electrician Trainee courses is to provide the individuals already working as electricians with the state mandated schooling. If students take all 10 courses and complete 8,000 hours of on-the-job experience they will have completed the whole general electrician curriculum as approved by the State of California. Upon completion, they will be eligible to take the California General Certification Exam and be journeylevel electricians

# California General Certification Exam

All certification exams must be approved and administered by the State of California. I-TAP will assist students apply for the exam, however have no ability to approve. In order to qualify for the exam an applicant must have either completed 8,000 hours of on-the-job experience, be licensed in another state, or have completed an approved curriculum. Costs associated with the exam are the responsibility of the student and are approximately \$200.00. More information regarding applying for the exam, and fees can be found at http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/ECU/ElectricalTrade.html.

# Course Requirements

# Commercial Electrician

The commercial electrician program is a 26 week, 900 hours and covers all the required topics as outlined by the California Division of Industrial Relations Electrician Certification Unit. Approximately 35% of the time spent in class will be in a lab environment. It is essential to the success of the students that they participate in hands on labs to gain real world experience.

Students will receive Certification preparation during the scheduled course and will complete a simulated exam. If students require additional tutoring, they may schedule additional tutoring with their instructor after they complete the course in preparation for the exam.

Approximation of Hours per subject covered (in no particular order)

Basic Electrical Theory and Ohm's Law	100
Lighting/Lighting Control	80
Power	80
Motor Control	100
Fire Alarm/Logic Based Systems	40

Low Voltage/Communication	20
Residential Wiring	20
Safety	40
National Electric Code	100
Lab Hours	320
Total Hours	900

# Commercial Electrician Trainee (Avocational Program)

The Avocational commercial electrician trainee courses cover all the required topics as outlined by the California Division of Industrial Relations Electrician Certification Unit. Approximately 30% of the time spent in class will be in a lab environment. It is essential to the success of the students that they receive a complete hands on exposure. Students will be required to successfully complete each course in sequential order. Students who do not pass a course will be given the opportunity to repeat the course, but will be required to pay the tuition for the repeated course.

Students will receive Certification preparation during Commercial Electrician Trainee 5.1 and will complete a simulated exam. If students require additional tutoring, they may schedule additional tutoring with their instructor after they complete the course in preparation for the exam.

# Avocational Commercial Electrician Trainee Course Listing (80 hours each course)

- Commercial Electrician Trainee 1.1
- Commercial Electrician Trainee 1.2
- Commercial Electrician Trainee 2.1
- Commercial Electrician Trainee 2.2
- Commercial Electrician Trainee 3.1
- Commercial Electrician Trainee 3.2
- Commercial Electrician Trainee 4.1
- Commercial Electrician Trainee 4.2
- Commercial Electrician Trainee 5.1 (certification preparation)
- Commercial Electrician Trainee 5.2

# Subjects covered throughout all 10 courses (in no particular order)

Basic Electrical Theory and Ohm's Law Lighting/Lighting Control Power Motor Control Fire Alarm/Logic Based Systems Low Voltage/Communication Residential Wiring Safety National Electric Code

# **Classroom Instruction Policies**

# Attendance Policy

Students are expected to be present and ready to receive instruction from the start of class through the end of class each day. Students who are unable to meet this requirement must notify their instructors prior to the missed time. Instructors will provide their preferred method of notification (ie. phone call, text message, or email). Students will receive credit for the hours they are actually in class, if a student is late or leaves early those hours will be deducted from the day when the overall attendance calculation is completed. There is no grace period for tardy, students are only credited for the time they are actually present in the classroom.

Students will sign in and out of class each day. The instructor will verify the time in and out to ensure proper recording.

For the 26 week program attendance will be evaluated monthly. The training director will collect sign in sheets to verify student attendance. If at the end of the first evaluation students have less than 85% attendance they will placed on probation and given an attendance correction plan. This plan, if followed, will ensure they are at 85% by the end of the term. If, at the second evaluation students on an attendance correction plan have not met the expectations they will be removed from the program, unless it is mathematically possible to achieve 85% by the end of the term and the individual is receiving a passing grade in the course, and they are showing signs of improved attendance records, and based upon the recommendation of the instructor that the individual student will be successful in the trade. Only the Training Director has the authority to remove or keep an individual in the program based on attendance. If, at the third and final evaluation students are at less than 85% attendance, they will not receive a certificate of completion and will not graduate the program regardless of their grade in the classroom.

If a student misses more than 5 consecutive school days the student will automatically be considered withdrawn from the program. If a student choses to re-enter the program, they will be scheduled in the next available class. They will be allowed to pick up where they left of and will not be required to retake the entire course assuming they have received a passing grade up to the point of withdrawal.

# Missed Work and Hours

Students will be allowed to make up missed work for all absences. If the absence is excused students will be graded as normal. If the absence is not excused, they will receive only 50% credit. (For example, if a student received 18/20 on a chapter test, they will only be credited with 9/20.) This work must be completed within one week of the absence. An absence is only considered excused for things such as doctors' appointments and court related appointments. Those absences must be documented or they will not be counted as an excused absence. Students and family members who cannot provide such documentation will not be allowed to make up the work or missed classroom hours.

# Grading Policy

- I-TAP Instructors will award points for homework, class participation and quizzes on a daily basis. The following maximum point range is possible:
  - 10 total points possible for each reading quiz
  - 20 total points possible for each chapter test.
  - 10-20 total points per lab depending on difficulty.
  - 120 total points possible for the mid unit test
  - 180 total points possible for the unit final exam

Students must maintain an average cumulative grade of 70% or better to receive a certificate of completion. Students are evaluated at the end of every unit (approximately 2-3 weeks). All units are calculated individually and averaged together for the students' grade (A: 90%-100%, B: 80%-89%, C: 70%-79%, D: 60%-69%, F: 59% and below).

If the student's grade does not meet the 70% or better grade students will be given a warning. If student does not show a trend of improvement they will be placed on probation during which they will be counseled individually to assist them through the course. If after one month probation the student does not show progress they may be terminated from the program. The student can avoid termination if they can show competency in the subject matter by completion of the hands on lab.

If student feels they are being unfairly graded, they can appeal the decision in writing to the Training Director. The Training Director, with the assistance of a subject matter instructor (not the students current instructor), will evaluate the students concerns. The decision of the Training Director will be final.

Scoring is calculated as follows:

Scoring System as follows for quizzes, chapter test, and midterm/final:

- For students to receive full credit for the question they must provide both the correct answer and the correct code reference (when applicable).
- Students will receive 50% credit if the answer to the question is correct however, the code reference is not correct.
- If student answers the question incorrectly and they provide the correct complete code reference they will receive 50% credit
- If the question and the code reference are wrong, students will receive 0 credit for the question.

Testing Procedure:

- Students will test be given 2.4 minutes per question to be consistent with the California Certification exam time limits
- Students will not be allowed to have anything on their desks aside from a code book, a blank piece of paper, and a calculator (students may not use a cell phone as a calculator).
- Students may ask the instructor questions regarding the terminology during the exam.
- Once student turns in his or her test, there will be no changes made to the students' answers.
- If a question on the exam needs review, a curriculum correction form should be submitted.

Scoring System for Lab work

- To receive full credit students must correctly complete all of the following with little to no assistance as appropriate to their experience in the industry.
  - o Correctly complete a wire diagram prior to the start of work.
  - o Correctly complete a plan diagram prior to the start of work.
  - o Correctly complete a material list prior to the start of work.
  - o Correctly pull ALL lab parts to prevent multiple trips back and forth to the material carts.
  - o Correctly wire the lab board.

Grades will only be released to the individual student and/or as required for financial aid purposes, unless otherwise authorized in writing by the student prior to release.

I-TAP does not guarantee employment in the industry.

# Student Academic Progress Report Policy

Student academic progress will be monitored the first week of each month for the previous month. In order to show satisfactory academic progress students must demonstrate the following

- Students must have a cumulative grade average of 70% or greater.
- Students must have an 85% or greater attendance as defined by the clock hours achieved divided by the clocks hours attempted

When student falls below expectation on either the qualitative or quantitative evaluation the student will meet with the Chief Instructor or Training Director for review. During this review, the Chief Instructor or Training Director will determine the issue and work to correct with the student. A progress plan will be put in place to assist the student back on track to making satisfactory academic progress. At this time the student will be placed on warning. The student will remain on warning until they are at or above the standards above. (Students are eligible to receive financial aid while on warning.)

If at the following monthly review student is trending worse, the student will at that time be placed on probation. The student on probation will have one review cycle to improve their grades and/or attendance, or they may be terminated from the program. If at any time it is determined that the student is unable to achieve an accumulative GPA of 70% or better or an attendance of 85% or better the student will be moved to the next cohort or terminated from the program. If pushing the student to the next cohort will make the program time more than 150% of the original program, the student will be terminated. (Students may not eligible for financial aid on probations.)

A student is able to file an appeal with the Training Director. Appeals must be made in writing within 5 business days of the review meeting. Students will be required to provide applicable documentation to prove the attendance or accumulative GPA is incorrect. This can include, but is not limited to, sign in attendance sheets, doctors notes, tests, quizzes, etc. The Training Director will review the documentation provided and will respond in writing within 5 business days of the receipt of the appeal.

# Max Time Frame

Students will not receive a certificate of completion if the exceed the maximum time frame. This is 118% of the scheduled program. (Scheduled Program Clock Hours \* 1.18 = Maximum Time Frame). The 26 Week Commercial Electrician Trainee program is 900 hours, therefore the maximum time frame is 1,062 clock hours.

# Requirements for Certificate of Completion

- Students must maintain a GPA of 70% or greater.
- Student must prove competency in final practical Tenant Improvement Lab.
- Students must have an attendance percentage of 85% or greater.
- Students must have made all tuition payments or have other financial agreements in place.

# Conduct in Class

Students' will at all times conduct themselves in such a manner that is not disruptive or disturbing to others at the school site, the surrounding businesses, or individuals working near the school site. No verbal or physical harassment will be tolerated.

Any student harassing another student, business, or individual at the school site will be dismissed from class and assessed an unexcused absence. Students may return to class the next day and will meet with the Training Director to discuss the reasons surrounding the dismissal from class.

The use of cell phones and other electronic devices shall not be used during instructional time. Students are expected to turn all electronics off and may only take calls if it is an emergency.

The use and possession of illegal substances, marijuana, or alcohol is prohibited, any student suspected of being under the influence of an illegal substance, marijuana, or alcohol will have to immediately submit to a drug/alcohol test. If the test is positive, the student will be expelled from the program unless they agree to a drug/alcohol program at their own expense.

# Plagiarism and Copyright Policy

All rights are reserved. All materials created by I-TAP are copyrighted and may not be recorded, copied, or transcribed in whole or in part without the express written consent of the Training Director. Any materials created by outside publishers are also to be considered copyrighted and shall not be copied or transcribed in who or in part without the express written consent of the publisher. Your attendance at I-TAP, in class or seminar, or employment at I-TAP constitutes your acknowledgement and agreement with these provisions.

Violators will be punished to the full extent of the law.

# Language of Instruction

All instruction and instructional materials will be provided only in English.

# **Student Related Policies**

# Notice Concerning Transferability of Credits and Credentials Earned

I-TAP will provide transcript documentation to students requesting advance placement at other schools once all monies owed to I-TAP have been paid. Transferability of credits you earn at I-TAP is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in the 26 week commercial electrician program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework

at that institution. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending I-TAP to determine if your certificate will transfer.

The institution has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other college or university.

# Reentry Students

Prior to being reconsidered for reentry, all outstanding tuition and fees must be paid or satisfactory arrangements must be made with the Financial Aid Director. Students reentering within 180 days will be considered to be in the same payment period he/she was in at the time of withdrawal. Original eligibility for that payment period will remain the same and is treated as though he/she did not cease attendance. Costs for re-entry will reflect the original educations costs. Students re-entering after 180 days will be contracted according to the current tuition costs and will be required to pay any additional fees, if applicable. A new \$100 nonrefundable registration fee will be required.

Readmission is at the sole discretion of I-TAP and may require special conditions. A personal interview with the Training Director or Chief Instructor will be required prior to reentry to determine the likelihood of success. The reentry student will be placed on a 30 day evaluation period. During the 30 day evaluation period the student must demonstrate for that period that they can meet the school's minimum attendance and academic requirements for Satisfactory Academic Progress. Students who fail to meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress in the first 30 day evaluation period may be terminated.

# Leave of Absence

The institution does not grant leave of absences.

# Probation and Dismissal

Student violating the policies within the institutional catalog may be dismissed from the program. Students may appeal the dismissal to the Board of Directors, during which time they will be placed on probation. The decisions of the Board of Directors will be final

# Placement of Graduates

The institution will make every effort to assist in placement of graduates, however we do not guarantee employment in the industry. To help facilitate this process we provide resume assistance, and mock interviews to prepare students for their introduction into the industry. The institution often receives calls from contractors looking for trainees, that information of who is hiring is then disseminated to students nearing the end of their program who have met the graduation requirements. Some industry related jobs may include, electrician trainee, service technician, estimating, and project management/administration.

The institution prepares students for employment as an electrician in the following SOC codes: 41-2110, 47-3013, or 47-2230.

# Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) (20 U.S.C. § 1232g; 34 CFR Part 99) is a Federal law that protects the privacy of student education records. The law applies to all schools that receive funds under an applicable program of the U.S. Department of Education.

FERPA gives parents certain rights with respect to their children's education records. These rights transfer to the student when he or she reaches the age of 18 or attends a school beyond the high school level. Students to whom the rights have transferred are "eligible students."

- Parents or eligible students have the right to inspect and review the student's education records maintained by the school. Schools are not required to provide copies of records unless, for reasons such as great distance, it is impossible for parents or eligible students to review the records. Schools may charge a fee for copies.
- Parents or eligible students have the right to request that a school correct records which they believe to be inaccurate or misleading. If the school decides not to amend the record, the parent or eligible student then has the right to a formal hearing. After the hearing, if the school still decides not to amend the record, the parent or eligible student has the right to place a statement within the record setting forth his or her view about the contested information.
- Generally, schools must have written permission from the parent or eligible student in order to release any information from a student's education record. However, FERPA allows schools to disclose those records, without consent, to the following parties or under the following conditions (34 CFR § 99.31):
  - o School officials with legitimate educational interest;
  - o Other schools to which a student is transferring;
  - o Specified officials for audit or evaluation purposes;
  - o Appropriate parties in connection with financial aid to a student;
  - o Organizations conducting certain studies for or on behalf of the school;
  - o Accrediting organizations;
  - o To comply with a judicial order or lawfully issued subpoena;
  - o Appropriate officials in cases of health and safety emergencies; and
  - o State and local authorities, within a juvenile justice system, pursuant to specific State law.

Schools may disclose, without consent, "directory" information such as a student's name, address, telephone number, date and place of birth, honors and awards, and dates of attendance. However, schools must tell parents and eligible students about directory information and allow parents and eligible students a reasonable amount of time to request that the school not disclose directory information about them. Schools must notify parents and eligible students annually of their rights under FERPA. The actual means of notification (special letter, inclusion in a PTA bulletin, student handbook, or newspaper article) is left to the discretion of each school.

# Student File Access:

Students must request access to their file in writing to the Training Director. The Training Director will either approve or deny access to the file. Students will be allowed to review their file with appropriate supervision. Some information may be redacted in accordance with State and Federal regulations relating to student files.

# Student File Retention:

Student files will be retained for a minimum of 5 years following the completion of the student or the date of determination. Portions of the students files that are electronic such as transcripts, attendance record, and payment records will also be kept permanently. This is compliant with the California Code of regulations title 5 education.

# General Release of Information

Except under the special conditions described in this policy, a student must provide written consent before a school may disclose personally identifiable information from the student's education records. The written consent must:

- State the purpose of the disclosure,
- Specify the records that may be disclosed,
- Identify the party or class of parties to whom the disclosure may be made, and
- Be signed and dated.

Student does not need to provide written consent to the school to release information to government agencies for purpose of financial aid, or the release of information to accrediting and approving bodies.

#### Intoxicants

The possession of illegal drugs, marijuana, or alcohol on the school property is strictly prohibited. Legal authorities will be called to respond to anyone in possession of illegal substances.

Any student suspected of being under the influence of a controlled substance will be required to submit to a drug/alcohol test within two hours and shall not be allowed to return to class that day. The absence will be considered unexcused due to the disruptive influence on the classroom

Any student that tests positive will be given the opportunity to participate, at his/her own expense, in a drug/alcohol rehabilitation program. Any student testing positive will be expelled from the program unless he/she participates in a drug/alcohol rehabilitation program. After enrolling in the program the student will be suspended until the rehabilitation program is completed. This action is in lieu of expulsion from the training program. The student will be required to show proof of satisfactory completion of the rehabilitation program and must submit to random testing for duration of the program. Expulsion from the program will not relieve the trainee of the tuition responsibility. All tuition will still be due and no refund will be issued.

If the student feels the test is a false positive, a student can request a retesting of the same sample at his/her own expense.

A student testing negative will be credited with an excused absence for the day. If a discipline problem caused the need to test for controlled substances, the student may be referred to the Disciplinary Committee.

Drug use can have a wide range of short and long term effects. Short effects can include change in appetite, wakefulness, heart rate, blood pressure, and/or mood, heart attack, stroke, psychosis, overdose, and death. Long term effects can include heart disease, lung disease, cancer, mental illness, HIV/AIDS, and hepatitis. Addiction is a brain disorder, and can require professional assistance, whether through inpatient rehabilitation or outpatient treatments such as AA or NA.

# Unlawful Discrimination and/or Harassment

The Apprenticeship and Training Committee (ATC) is committed to prohibiting unlawful sexual harassment and other unlawful harassment related to race, religion, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sexual orientation, disability, medical condition, marital status, age, or other basis protected by federal, state, or local law. This policy applies to all persons involved in this training program, including I-TAP Staff, Supervisors, Instructors, and Students. Unlawful harassment in any form, including verbal, physical, and visual conduct, threats, demands, or retaliation will not be tolerated by the ATC while the trainee is participating in this program.

# Definition of Harassment

Harassment because of sex, race, religion, ancestry, disability, age or any other protected basis includes, but is not limited to:

- Verbal conduct such as epithets, derogatory comments, slurs, or unwanted sexual advances, invitations, or comments
- Visual conduct such as derogatory posters, photography, cartoons, drawings, or gestures
- Physical conduct such as assault (unwanted touching), blocking normal movement, or interfering with schoolwork.
- Threats and demands to submit to sexual requests in order to stay in the program or avoid some other loss, and offers of benefits in return for sexual favors
- Retaliation for having reported or threatened to report harassment
- Harassment that impairs your ability to perform schoolwork or emotional well being while in school violates this policy

# Complaint Procedure for Harassment

If a student believes that they, or someone they know, has been or are being harassed while involved in this program, the student should use the following procedure to register a complaint.

- A student is required to report any incidents of harassment immediately, so the appropriate corrective and remedial action can be taken.
- Please address your complaint to the Training Coordinator in writing and within 24 hours of the occurrence whenever possible. Your complaint should include the details of the incident(s), the name(s) of the individual(s) involved, and the names of all witnesses. The Training Coordinator will investigate and attempt to settle the complaint.
- If you are not satisfied with the result or if you wish to submit a written complaint directly to the ATC Committee, you may do so. The ATC may employ an outside investigator to conduct the investigation and report the findings to the ATC.

If the ATC determines that prohibited harassment or discrimination has occurred, the ATC will take corrective and remedial action commensurate with the severity of the offense. Appropriate action will also be taken to deter any future harassment. The ATC will not retaliate against a student for filing a complaint and will not knowingly permit retaliation by others. If you are subjected to retaliation, report the incident in writing immediately to the ATC.

Depending on jurisdiction, the Federal Equal Employment Opportunity Commission and/or the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing may investigate and prosecute complaints of harassment or discrimination. If you believe you have been harassed, discriminated against, or

retaliated against, you may file a complaint directly with any of these agencies. The nearest agency office is listed in the telephone directory. The ATC will not retaliate against trainees for filing a complaint with, or otherwise participating in, an investigation or hearing conducted by any of these agencies.

# **Financial Related Policies**

# Cancellation and Refund Policy

# 26 Week Commercial Electrician

- If I-TAP cancels the class prior to the start of the scheduled class date, 100% of tuition and fees collected will be refunded to the student. The refund will be made within 45 days of the planned start date.
- If an enrolled student withdraws before or on the first day of class, or before the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later, the student will received a refund of 100% of the tuition and fees, less a \$100 processing fee.
- If a student enrolls prior to visiting the facility, students will have three days to withdraw without penalty following a tour of the facilities. The tour will be available at the request of the student. Requests for a tour must be requested at the time of enrollment or student waives the right to a full refund.
- If a student is absent for 5 consecutive school days, they will be withdrawn from the program. The 5<sup>th</sup> consecutive absent day will be the Date of Determination (DOD) for refund purposes. This means, the refund will be issued within 45 days of the DOD. The Last Day of Attendance (LDA) will be the date used to determine the amount of refund as defined below.
- For students who withdraw after the first day of the scheduled class the student will be refunded as follows:
  - From the second day of the program until the first 60% of the program, students will be refunded a pro rata portion of the tuition, calculated by day.
  - After the first 60% of the program, students will receive no refund.

# Example:

Number of days attended	<u>40 Days</u> =	30.8%
Number of days in program	130 Days	
Pro Rata portion completed based on 8 weeks		30.8%
30.8% of tuition (\$16,500)		\$5,082.00
Total Owed to Institution		\$5,082.00
Total to be refunded (if applicable)		\$11,418.00

# Commercial Electrician Trainee Program (5 year)

• Students will be considered enrolled until I-TAP receives a request for withdrawal in writing. The student will be considered withdrawn on the date I-TAP receives the written request. If a refund is due, refunds will be made within 45 days of the withdrawal

- If I-TAP cancels the class prior to the start of the scheduled class date, 100% of tuition and fees collected will be refunded to the student. The refund will be made within 45 days of the planned start date.
- If an enrolled student withdraws before the first day of class, the student will receive a refund of 100% of the tuition and fees, less a \$200 processing fee.
- If a student does not show up to the first day of class without communication, the institution will automatically schedule the student for the next available class. If the student misses the second scheduled class without communication, the institution will cancel the student's enrollment in the program and send notification to the state, terminating their trainee status.
- Student who withdraw after the first day of the scheduled call will not receive a refund.

# Federal Return of Title IV Funding

The school participates in federal financial aid. Please refer to the following refund policy for specific consumer information pursuant to the Federal Financial Aid program.

- Title IV federal financial aid funds are awarded under the assumption that a student will remain in classroom attendance for the entire period for which funds were awarded. If a financial aid recipient withdraws from school after beginning attendance, the amount of Title IV grant or loan assistance earned by the student must be determined. The school is required to calculate the amount of Federal Title IV funds to be returned for a student who has withdrawn from all classes. If a student receives SFA (Student Financial Aid) in the form of loans and/or grants, withdraws from school after beginning attendance, the amount of SFA grant or loan assistance earned by the student must be determined.
- For students who have received Title IV financial assistance, the Federal Return of Title IV Funds calculation will be completed first and applicable funds returned. Returned funds will be reduced from the payments received on behalf of the student before applying the institutional refund policy to determine whether the student is owed a refund or if a balance is owed to the institution.
- If a student has received less aid than that student earned, he/she may be eligible for a postwithdrawal disbursement. If a student is eligible for this disbursement, the school will notify the student in writing of the amount of the disbursement.
- The Federal Return of Title IV Funds formula dictates the amount of federal Title IV aid that must be returned to the federal government or the lending institution by the school and/or the student. The federal formula is applicable to an eligible student receiving federal aid when that student withdraws on or before the 60% point in time in the payment period.
- The federal formula requires a return of Title IV aid if the student received federal financial assistance in the form of Stafford Loans, Pell Grants, or Plus loans and withdraws on or before completing 60% of the payment period. The percentage of Title IV aid earned is equal to the percentage of the payment period that was completed as of the withdrawal date if this occurs on or before the 60% point of time. The percentage that has not been earned is calculated by determining the complement of the percentage earned (e.g., if 40% was earned, 60% was unearned).
- The amount to be returned is calculated by subtracting the amount of Title IV assistance earned from the amount of Title IV aid that was or could have been disbursed as of the withdrawal date. The percentage of the payment period scheduled to complete is calculated by dividing the total number of clock hours scheduled to complete by the payment period as of the last date of attendance.
- If a student unofficially or officially withdraws and has received federal loans, the loans will go into repayment once the grace period expires.

a. Unofficial withdrawal applies when a student is absent for 5 or more calendar days;

b. Official withdrawal applies when a student notifies the school in writing or in person.

In both cases the last day of attendance will be used in the return to Title IV calculation.

• Title IV funds will be returned to the United States Department of Education within 45 days.

The following Title IV refund distribution is used for all financial aid applicants/students due a refund:

- Federal Direct Unsubsidized Loan
- Federal Direct Subsidized Loan
- Federal Plus Loan
- Federal Pell Grant

# Eligibility of Financial Aid After a Drug Conviction

Student with a conviction of illegal drugs, of any offense, during an enrollment period for which the student as receiving Title IV financial aid will result in the loss of eligibility for any Title IV per HEA Sec. 484(r)(1) and 20 U.S.C. 1091(r)(1). Students whose eligibility has been suspended due to a drug conviction may resume eligibility if they successfully pass two unannounced drug tests conducted by a drug rehabilitation program that complies with the criteria established under HEA Sec. 484(r)(2) (20U.S.C. 1091(r)(2).

# Awarding of Financial Aid

Financial Aid can only be awarded by the Financial Aid Director. All students interested in using federal funding for tuition, must apply for funding at fafsa.gov. Once the institution received the ISIR, the financial aid director will contact the student for meeting. Students may be selected for Verification or have C Code on their ISIR, if so, students will be required to provide documentation to satisfy the Department of Education. Once the ISIR is finalized, students will be given an estimated award letter. The estimated financial aid award letter does not negate the student's responsibility for the entire cost of the program. Students who obtain a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund. If student received federal financial aid to pay for their educational program, they are entitled to a refund of all moneys not paid from federal financial aid funds. Prior to class starting students will need to have completed all steps of financial aid.

# Federal Parent Plus Loan Application

Student agrees that I-TAP does not guarantee the student loan process in any respect. A Federal Parent Plus loan requires a credit check and is based on the parent's credit. Preapproval for a Parent Plus loan does not guarantee that the parent will receive a Federal Parent Plus loan. It is critical that the parent be able to pass a credit check when the loan is certified. The school has no control over the approval or decline of a parent's credit history. Nor does the school assume any responsibility for mistakes on any Department of Education financial aid forms. It is up to the students to make sure all forms are accurate and complete.

Federal loan information is available in the National Student Loan Database System (NSLDS) and will be accessible by Servicers and Schools, as authorized.

# Policy for Verification of Title IV Funding

I-TAP has policies and procedures that it follows for verification of Title IV funding. Verification is a requirement by the U.S. Department of Education. Students are randomly selected to provide additional information. The school provides students with a verification form so they can collect the necessary information. The school gives the student a 14 day deadline to return the form to the financial offices with verification items attached. If verification documents are not submitted by the due date, the student will be placed on a monthly cash pay status until the verification is completed. If changes are required the student will log into the FASFA and make necessary adjustments. If changed result in a change of EFC and Title IV aid amounts, students will be given written notice of the change. Student will sign an EFC form to approve the changes. FAS handles our student overpayments and alerts the schools it can make changes to the award packet, which is reported to the Common Origination and Disbursement (COD for the Department of Education). If necessary students will be referred to the Office of Inspector General (OIG).

# Institutional Information

# Procedures for Processing a Complaint

A complaint must be filed in writing with the Training Director. Complaints must include the following information: name, phone number, and email of the person filing the complaint. It must also include the names and location of the incident and names of all people involved (including witnesses) and a detailed description of the complaint. The Training Director has, at their sole discretion, the right to rule on the decision and will do everything possible to resolve the issue within 10 business days.

If the student is not satisfied with the decision of the Training Director, they can appeal the complaint in writing to the Board of Directors within 5 days of the Training Directors ruling. The Board of Directors at their discretion may employ an outside investigator if necessary. The Board of Directors will rule on the complaint in writing within 30 days. The decision of the Board will be final.

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by call (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's internet website www.bppe.ca.gov.

This institution is recognized by the Accrediting Council for Continuing Education & Training (ACCET) as meeting and maintaining certain standards of quality. It is the mutual goal of ACCET and the institution to ensure that educational training programs of quality are provided. When issues or problems arise, students should make every attempt to find a fair and reasonable solution through the institution's internal complaint procedure, which is required of ACCET accredited institutions and frequently requires the submission of a written complaint. Refer to the institution's written complaint procedure which is published in the institution's catalog or otherwise available from the institution, upon request. Note that ACCET will process complaints which involve ACCET standards and policies and, therefore, are within the scope of the accrediting agency.

In the event that a student has exercised the institution's formal student complaint procedure, and the problems or issues have not been resolved, the student has the right and is encouraged to take the following steps:

1. Complaints should be submitted in writing (by email or mail) to the ACCET office. Complaints received by phone will be documented, but the complainant will be requested to submit the complaint in writing.

2. The letter of complaint must contain the following information:

a) Name and location of the ACCET institution;

b) A detailed description of the alleged problem(s);

c) The approximate date(s) that the problem(s) occurred;

d) The names and titles/positions of all individual(s) involved in the problem(s), including faculty, staff, and/or other students;

e) What was previously done to resolve the complaint, along with evidence demonstrating that the institution's complaint procedure was followed prior to contacting ACCET;

f) The name, email address, telephone number, and mailing address of the complainant. If the complainant specifically requests that anonymity be maintained, ACCET will not reveal his or her name to the institution involved; and

g) The status of the complainant with the institution (e.g. current student, former student, etc.).

3. In addition to the letter of complaint, copies of any relevant supporting documentation should be forwarded to ACCET (e.g. student's enrollment agreement, syllabus or course outline, correspondence between the student and the institution).

4. SEND TO: ACCET CHAIR, COMPLAINT REVIEW COMMITTEE

1722 N Street, NW Washington, DC 20036 Telephone: (202) 955-1113 Email: <u>complaints@accet.org</u> Website: www.accet.org

Note: Complainants will receive an acknowledgement of receipt within 15 days.

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by call (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's internet website www.bppe.ca.gov

# Student Body Diversity

Students will be asked to self-identify gender and racial or ethnic group. This information will not be used in any portion of the selection process. Student Body Diversity will be tracked by year and will be made available at the request of a prospective or registered student.

# Student Right-To-Know Act

The Student Right-to-Know Act, passed by Congress in 1990, requires institutions eligible for Title IV funding, under the Higher Education Act of 1965, to calculate completion or graduation rates of certificate- or degree-seeking, full-time students entering that institution, and to disclose these rates to current and prospective students. Every institution that participates in any Title IV program and is attended by students receiving athletically-related student aid is required to disclose graduation/completion rates of all students as well as students receiving athletically-related student aid by race/ethnicity, gender and by sport, and the average completion or graduation rate for the four most recent years, to parents, coaches, and potential student athletes. To read more about the Student Right-to-Know Act, please visit the National Center for Education Statistics website at http://nces.ed.gov.

#### Voter Registration

It is important for students to be registered voters. Students will be assisted by all staff and faculty in registering to vote. No persons will attempt to influence the political affiliation of the student. I-TAP will post registration deadlines before all major voting days (ie. presidential and mid cycle voting). Information Security Protection

I-TAP will not knowingly release any personal information, except as required as part of registration and financial aid processing. Student files are kept in a safe location for 5 years. Files are then shredded to ensure student's personal information is secure. I-TAP maintains a relationship with an Information Technology expert to ensure the electronic files are equally secure.

# Vaccination Policy

I-TAP does not require students to be vaccinated.

# **Disclosures**

Consumer Information Disclosures will be made available to all students prior to registration. Students will be required to acknowledge receipt and understanding of the disclosures in writing.

# Bankruptcy Statement

The institution does not have any pending petition in bankruptcy, and is not operating as a debtor in possession, and has not filed petition within the preceding five years, nor has it had a petition in bankruptcy filed against the institution in the preceding five years that has resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code.

# <u>Housing</u>

The institution does not have dormitory facilities under its control, and has no responsibility to find or assist a student in finding housing. Students are able to find located within the greater Sacramento area for wide range of pricing. According to rentcafe.com, the average cost of a 1 bedroom apartment in Sacramento, Ca is \$1,363. The nearest apartments are Windsor Ridge, Quail Pointe Apartments, and Riverside Villas.

# State Tuition Recover Fund

The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.

It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

- The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.
- 2) You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120-day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120-day period before the program was discontinued.

- 3) You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before the closure.
- 4) The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.
- 5) The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.
- 6) You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution.
- 7) You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or taxpayer identification.

# School Performance Fact Sheet

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

# Questions

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 2535 Capital Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, www.bppe.ca.gov, or by phone 916-431-6959 and fax 916-263-1897.