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Approval / Disclosure Statement 

Coastal Trucking Institute, LLC is a private institution and was granted institutional 

approval form the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education in the 

Department of Consumer Affairs. 

  The Bureau’s approval means the institution and its operation comply with the 

minimum standards established under the law for occupational instruction by private 

educational institutions and does not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the 

state or Bureau.  Institutional approval must be re-approved every five years and is 

subject to continuing review.  Approved is the following course’s.  This will lead to an 

occupation’s as a Class “A” Semi-Tractor/Trailer truck driver, or a Class “B” Bus Driver with 

a passenger endorsement or a Straight truck driver.  Requiring the student to pass DMV’s 

written tests and driving test. 

 

❖ Professional Truck and Commercial Driver Training,       Class ‘A’ 160 Hours 

 

-The average student completes the 160-hour program in 6-8 weeks. 

  

❖ Professional Tractor and Commercial Driver Training.            Refresher   10 

Hours 

 

      

Hours are defined as clock hours that equal 50 minutes of instruction per each 60-

minute hour. 

 

Any questions a student may have regarding this fact sheet that have not been 

satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private 

Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd, Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, 

www.bppe.ca.gov, toll-free telephone number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897. 

 

“As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an 

enrollment agreement.  You are also encouraged to review the School Performance 

Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.”  

 

  A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with 

the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by 

completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s internet web site 

www.bppe.ca.gov.”   

 

General Information 

 

Prospective students need to visit the physical facilities of the school and discuss 

training and placement opportunities with school officials prior to enrolling or signing 

enrollment agreements. Prior to enrollment a prospective student shall receive, either in 

writing or electronically, a school catalog. Coastal Trucking invites interested individuals 

to speak with our Driver Instructors, currently enrolled students and local companies that 

have hired graduates students. 

 

Instruction will take place in Coastal Trucking’s training yard.  Coastal Trucking 

Institute will award a Certificate to all students upon successful completion of the 

program and their attainment of a Class ‘A’ license from the State of California 

Department of Motor Vehicles.  Instruction is available in English. 
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All interviews are conducted in either English or Spanish.  All other languages the student must 

provide their own interpreter.  The state of CA, DMV provides license information and testing 

for driving in many other languages, contacts them to see if your language is available.  

Coastal Trucking Institute does not participate in federal and state financial aid programs. The 

only financial aid we offer is ½ of the tuition at the start of class and balance prior to taking the 

DMV driving test. If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student 

will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of 

any refund, and that, if the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the 

student is entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid from federal student financial aid 

program funds. 

Coastal Trucking is not accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the United States 

Department of Education nor does it offer a degree program. 

Coastal Trucking Institute’s Mission Statement and Purpose 

 

 The purpose and objective of Coastal Trucking Institute is to prove the finest 

professional Truck Driving Training available. Students of Coastal Trucking Institute are 

trained by professional instructors who posses the knowledge and experience to assist 

the student in developing his or her skills to become a safe, competent entry-level driver, 

holding a California Commercial Class A License. The professional staff of Coastal 

Trucking Institute will provide the expert assistance necessary to not only train the student, 

but to insure the transition into the trucking industry is a rewarding experience.  

 Coastal Trucking provides lifetime placement assistance to all students 

successfully completing the program. 

 

Transfer of Credits To or From Other Schools 

 

We, at Coastal Trucking, have no agreements with any other school, or college to 

accept or transfer credits.  

 

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR 

INSTITUTION 

 

"The transferability of credits you earn at Coastal Trucking Institute is at the complete 

discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer.  Acceptance of the 

certificate you earn in the educational program is also at the complete discretion of the 

institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the certificate that you earn at this 

institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be 

required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason you 

should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational 

goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after 

attending Coastal Trucking Institute to determine if your certificate will transfer." 

 

School History 

 

Coastal Trucking Institute has been training Semi-Tractor/Trailer drivers since 2004.  

Over 1,000 drivers have been trained.   

Some of the recognition awards and certificates that Coastal Trucking has received 

are: 
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❖ Certificate of Achievement     2011 

 Awarded by the California Highway Patrol for 2 consecutive satisfactory ratings 

 Since January 6, 2009 

Equal Opportunity 

 

Coastal Trucking is dedicated to a policy of equal and fair opportunity in all areas of 

employment and education.  Coastal Trucking does not practice any form of 

discrimination against applicants, students or employees for admission or employment on 

the basis of sex, race, ethnic origin, sexual orientation, or religion.  Coastal Trucking is 

committed to the full observance of and compliance with all federal and state laws 

prohibiting discrimination. 

 

Administration 

 

Corporate headquarters are located at 11 W. Laurel Dr. Suite 251 Salinas, CA 93906. 

All instructors are qualified with previous commercial driving experience and hold a 

current Class A license.  This allows them to drive all forms of Commercial equipment.   

 

President / Director   Maria G. Chavez-Bello 

Administrative Manager 

 

Secretary / Treasurer   Gildardo Chavez 

Site Operations Manager   

 

Instructional Staff: 

 

Classroom Instructor   Arcelio G. Chavez 

             

Support Staff: 

   

Business Manager:    Maria G. Chavez-Bello 

 

Student Service Coordinator  Diana S. Chavez/ Laura Gonzalez 

 

Yard Instructors 

 

Field Supervisor    Arcelio G. Chavez, Driving experience: 25 

years; Instructor      experience: 18 years 

Yard Instructor    Miguel N. Soto, Driving experience: 3 year; 

Instructor       experience: 2 years 

 

Facilities and Equipment 

 

Current Coastal Trucking facilities include offices, classrooms and yard sites.  For our 

Class ‘A’ Semi-Tractor/Trailer students, we have 3 trucks, and all tractors are three axle.  

Trailers range from 42’ to 48’dry vans. The classroom materials provided are Commercial 

License Handbook, Log book, Pre-Trip Inspection Checklist, Air Brake Inspection Checklist, 

and In Cab Inspection Checklist. These learning resources are readily accessible in the 

Classroom.  

Coastal Trucking owns all of the training equipment and is financially sound, with no 

previous history of bankruptcy. Please note, Coastal Trucking does not have a pending 

petition in bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in possession, has not filed a petition 
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within the preceding five years, nor has it had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it 

within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the 

United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S. C. Sec. 1101 et seq.). *Please see physical 

addresses on next page* 

 

Salinas Business office                         Training Facility 

 11 W. Laurel Dr. Suite 251    242 W. Lake Street 

 Salinas, CA 93906    Salinas, CA 93906 

 (831) 751-9533   FAX: (831) 751-9583    

 

Hours of Operation 

 

Office hours:   7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday 

 

Instructional hours:   7:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m. Monday through Friday 

    7:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Saturday and Sunday 

 

Driving instruction is held day, evening, and weekends as necessary to 

accommodate the requirements of the program and students’ work schedules. 

 

Schedule of Classes 

 

There will be three classes per month.  One day time class, one evening class, and 

one weekend class. Students will be advised of start date at the time they enroll.  

Instruction is competency based.  This allows students to commence training on a space 

and equipment available basis.    Students will be notified in advance concerning 

important scheduling information such as operating hours, holidays, class schedules and 

revisions to schedules.  Over-the-road Driving Instruction is scheduled as necessary to 

accommodate the requirements of the program.  Classes are 12 months per year.  The 

following legal holidays will be observed: 

 

New Years Day  Memorial Day  President’s Day 

Independence Day  Labor Day 

Thanksgiving Day  Christmas Day 

 

 

Courses Offered 

 

Course Description:  Class ‘A’    160 hours 

(With doubles, triples & tanker endorsements.) 

  

 The Truck Driver Training is a minimum 160 hour course taught in residence. The 

course is a combination of study and preparation-, safety-, observation-, and “hands-

on”- training. Study and Preparation training consists of providing the student with time to 

study and prepare for the Class A Commercial Driver License Permit’s written 

examination. Within the first 1-2 weeks, students will be studying and preparing to take 

the permit exams, as well as be in the process of taking their required DOT physical and 

drug exams. Lab training consists of safety training, vehicle inspection, coupling/ 

uncoupling, brake adjustment, and reverse and parking skills. Using “hands-on” and 

observation training methods allows the student to become familiar with the tractor and 

trailer. The student develops safety and control skills before the student enters the field-
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training segment of the course. Field training consists of “on-hands” and observation 

instruction using conventional tractors 

with box trailers. The student learns the skills necessary to become a safe, competent 

entry-level truck driver. Field training is taught based on a progressive schedule of skills 

development using various streets and highways in and around the city. Upon 

completion of the course the student is taken to the Department of Motor Vehicles for 

their Class A license road test. Test dates are provided by the Department of Motor 

Vehicles. Students will test with a tractor/trailer provided by Coastal Trucking Institute. 

 

 

 

 

 

Class A 160hr Curriculum 

 

Registration/Orientation        

-School/Course Requirements  1.5 

-Student Responsibilities 

-Course Overview 

 -Information regarding opportunities 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Commercial Driver’s License Requirements     1.5 

 -D.O.T. requirements 

 -Drug test 

 -Medical exam 

 -Permits 

 -Endorsements 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

D.O.T. requirements        2.0 

 -Driver Qualifications 

 -Regulations 

 -Drug testing 

 -Logbooks 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Hours of Service         2.0 

 -Definitions 

-Logbooks 

 -Summary page 

 -Exceptions 

-Determining Mileage 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Types of Trucks/Trailers        1.5 

 -Types of transmissions 

  -Auto shifts 

  -Splitters, range controls 

  -Double clutching, progressive shifting  

-Engines 

  -RPM control band 
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______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Air Brakes         3.0 

 -Basic components 

 -Service/Emergency 

 -Spring brake/Service brake 

 -Use of Brakes 

 -Brake adjustment 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Space Management        1.5 

-Defensive driving 

-Visual Search 

-Attitude   

-Road Rage 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Professional Drivers Attitude       1.0 

Use/non-use of alcohol/drugs 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Truck Inspection         3.0 

 -External inspection 

  -Inspection by system 

  -Inspection by material type 

 -In-cab inspection 

  -Primary Brake Air system checks 

  -In-cab controls checklist 

  -Secondary Brake system check 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Driving Technique        2.0 

 -Smooth, safe driving 

 -Mirrors 

 -Steering Wheel grip 

 -Maneuvering 

 -Stopping, Starting, Shutdown 

 -Adverse driving conditions 

 -Grades 

 -Parking 

 -Routing 

 -Rail Road Crossings 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Preventive Maintenance        1.0 

 -Service Checks 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Getting the Job as a Professional Driver      1.0 

 -Work History 

  -Resume 

 -Preparation/attitude 



 9 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Maneuvering – Road/Range Skills      70.0  

-Straight line back-up 

 -Alley dock 

 -Parallel parking 

 -Precision stops and right turn 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Pre-trip Inspection        22.5 

 -External walk around 

 -In-cab 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

Driving refinement        44.5 

 -Shifting 

 -Down shifting 

 -Equipment control 

 -Urban driving 

 -Rural driving 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

DMV test preparation        2.0 

______________________________________________________________________________________

__________ 

         TOTAL: 160 Hr. 

 

Tuition Cost 

 

Costs per Hour of Training: Class A 

 

Cost per hour of Driver training is based on student to instructor ratio of 1:1 (One instructor 

to one student). This is considered an individual rate of $96.00 per hour.  When in a group 

of three or more, the Hands-on training cost is at $32.00 per hour  

 

 

First week:  

 

 Orientation / classroom:      20 hours   Cost per hour   $11.00 ==

 $   220.00 

 

Week two through five:  Driver training 

 

Hands-On Training: 140 hours (group rate)      Cost per hour   $32.00   == $4,480.00 

 

  Total Tuition Class ‘A’         $ 4,800.00 

 

Additional Costs: Class A  

 

Enrollment Fee (paid to Coastal Trucking)     $100.00 (non-refundable) 

DMV Driving Report (paid to DMV)           $    5.00    
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DOT Physical (paid to Doctor)       $  120.00 

 

DOT Drug Test (paid to Doctor)      $   52.00 

 

DOT Mandatory Random pull (paid to CDTA)    $   52.00 

 

CDL Class A  Permit (Paid to DMV)     $   82.00 

 

DMV Retest (Paid to DMV)                   $   33.00 (If required) 

 

Hazard Endorsement (must be at least 21yrs old &    $  86.50   (if requested) 

pass criminal background [fingerprints])   

Testing is in Oakland, CA (paid to DMV) 

 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund $   0.00 (non-refundable) 

  

Estimated Tuition Class ‘A’   $ 5111.00 plus, other fees above “if required/ requested” 

 

 

Course Description:  Refresher    10 hours 

 

The 10 Hour Refresher Class A Training is a 10 hour max course taught in residence. The 

course is a combination of refresher training for safety-, observation-, and “hands-on”- 

training.  

 

Lab training consists of 5 hours of safety training, vehicle inspection, coupling/ 

uncoupling, brake adjustment, and reverse and parking skills. Using “hands-on” and 

observation training methods allows the student to become familiar with the school’s 

tractor and trailer. The student masters the safety and control skills before the student 

enters the field-training segment of the course. 

  

Field training consists of 5 hours of “on-hands” and observation instruction using 

conventional tractors with box trailers. Field training is based on the skill level of the 

trainee and includes drive time using various streets and highways in and around the city. 

Upon completion of the course the student will receive a Certificate of Completion 

stating they have taken and completed a 10 hour Refresher course which may be 

presented to companies requesting proof of “recent driving/practice time”. 

 

Admission Requirements: Class A license or Class A permit with high level of experience 

 

Tuition Cost 

 

Costs per Hour of Training: 10 Hours Max 

 

Program Registration 

(non-

refundable) 

Tuition STRF (non-

refundable) 

Equipment/Materials 

(included in tuition) 

Total 

Charges of 

Period of 

Attendance 

DMV 

Record 

Class 

A 

Permit 

DOT 

Physical 

DOT 

Drug 

Screen 

Mandatory 

Random 

Pull 

Total 

Charges 

for 

Program 

Class A 

160hr 

$100.00 $4,700 

00 

$0.00 $300.00 $4,800.00 $5.00 $82.00 $120.00 $52.00 $52.00 $5,111.00 
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Cost per hour of Driver training is based on student to instructor ratio of 1:1 (One instructor 

to one student). This is considered an individual rate of $96.00 per hour.  When in a group 

of three or more, the Hands-on training cost is at $32.00 per hour  

 

Additional Costs: Class A  

 

 

Enrollment Fee (paid to Coastal Trucking)     $100.00 (non-refundable) 

DMV Driving Report (paid to DMV)           $    5.00    

 

DOT Physical (paid to Doctor)       $  120.00 

 

DOT Drug Test (paid to Doctor)      $   52.00 

 

DOT Mandatory Random pull (paid to CDTA)    $   52.00 

 

CDL Class A  Permit (Paid to DMV)     $   82.00 

 

DMV Retest (Paid to DMV)                   $   33.00 (If required) 

 

Hazard Endorsement (must be at least 21yrs old &    $  86.50   (if requested) 

pass criminal background [fingerprints])   

Testing is in Oakland, CA (paid to DMV) 

 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund $   0.00 (non-refundable) 

  

Estimated Tuition for 10 hour Refresher Course $ 727.00 plus, other fees above “if required/ 

requested” 

 

 

Satisfactory Progress 

 

Students are given weekly grades. Satisfactory progress is considered a GPA of 2.0 or 

higher. Major part of GPA has to do with Participation which can be extremely affected 

if Attendance is unsatisfactory. Any student falling below a 2.0 for two (2) consecutive 

weeks will be dropped from the course. The final GPA must be 2.0 or higher in order to be 

eligible to receive a diploma.  

Make-up participation may be allowed on a case-by-case basis. Students who 

experience difficulty in understanding a subject should request assistance from the 

instructor. Coastal Trucking Institute will provide the necessary assistance, within reason, 

to ensure each student’s success. 

 

GRADE POINT AVERAGE SYSTEM 

  

  GPA   LEVEL      PERCENTILE 

  4.0       A          90-100% 

  3.5       B+          86-89% 

  3.0       B          80-85% 

  2.5       C+          76-79% 

  2.0       C          70-75% 

  1.5       D+          66-69% 

  1.0       D          60-65% 
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  .9-       F          0-59% 

  0       I         Incomplete 

 

 

 

 

Admissions Procedures 

  

 To apply for admission to Coastal Trucking, applicants should contact Coastal 

Trucking’s office to schedule an appointment for a personal interview and a tour of the 

School facilities. 

 For those students who have had prior driving experience, they will be scheduled to 

meet with the field supervisor and will be evaluated. Evaluations and tuition adjustments 

(based on number of estimated training hours) will be based on years of driving 

experience, how recent the experience is, and knowledge of current Pre Trip-, Air Brake-, 

and In Cab- inspections and regulations. Students will be asked to perform various type 

of skills to evaluate maneuvering skills that are necessary to pass the DMV final road 

exam such as alley docking, parallel parking, and straight line backing. In addition, 

experience will be evaluated on basic controls of the tractor-trailer such as up and down 

shifting, braking (air brakes), and trailer controls. 

   Applicants will complete the Enrollment Agreement.  A class schedule and other 

information will be provided.  A non-refundable $100.00 fee must be submitted with the 

application.   

 A Coastal Trucking officer will review the Enrollment Agreement and notify the 

Applicant of the status of his/her admission to Coastal Trucking.  

  

   

School Policies 

 

Prior to being considered for admission to Coastal Trucking: 

 

-Coastal Trucking has established specific written standards for student admissions.  

Coastal Trucking will not admit any student who is unqualified or who does not appear to 

have a reasonable prospect of completing the program.  English language proficiency 

will be evaluated based on the holding of a High School Diploma or General Education 

Diploma (GED). Each student admitted to Coastal Trucking shall possess a High School 

Diploma, GED or otherwise successfully take and pass the Ability to Benefit Exam 

administered in our office. The Ability to Benefit Exam administered shall be the 

Combined English Language Skills Assessment (CELSA). CELSA measures language skills, 

primarily reading and grammar in a context. A minimum scaled score of 97 is required for 

passing the CELSA. CELSA was developed for the main purpose of placing adult students 

of English as a Second Language (ESL) into different language ability levels. Applicants 

with English as their primary language, will be given an alternative Ability to Benefit Test. 

 

-Meet with a school officer to discuss educational plans. 

 

-Submit a completed Enrollment application to the school. 

 

-Must pass the DMV written examination, and obtain a commercial driver’s license.         

Learners permit within the second week of the course.  The permit is required in order to 

participate in behind the wheel training, which begins in the third week of training.  
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-Must pass a drug test, the first week of school. 

 

-Must pass the DO.T. Physical examination , the first week of school. 

 

Department of Motor Vehicles Requirements for a Commercial Driver’s Permit and 

License: Must be beyond compulsory school attendance age.  An individual cannot be 

D.O.T. certified until reaching the age of 21years old.  However, between ages 18 and 21 

a student can obtain a commercial drivers license to drive within the state of California. 

-DMV Requirements: 

 -Valid Class C License  

 -Valid Photo Identification Card 

 -Social Security Card (not laminated) 

 -Present a current DMV printout.  An applicant will not be eligible for enrollment if 

the MVR  includes any of the following:   

• DUI conviction within the last three years 

• A reckless or careless driving conviction within the last three years 

• More than three moving violations within the last three years 

• More than one “at fault” accident with last three years. 

• More than two moving violations and one “at fault” accident with the last 

three years 

• A conviction of a felony involving the use of a motor vehicle 

• A conviction for any drug or alcohol related charge in the last three years 

 

 -Pass Knowledge written exam 

 -Pass Airbrakes written exam 

 -Pass Combinations written exam 

 

Hazardous Materials Endorsements (HAZMAT) Requirements: May not obtain Hazardous 

Materials endorsement until age of 21 years, in addition to passing a criminal 

background. To see if you qualify for the HAZMAT endorsement, please visit the following 

website link for more information: https://www.dmv.ca.gov. The pre-enrollment may be 

done online at https://universalenroll.dhs.gov/ or by calling the TSA UES call center at 1-

855-347-8371. After completing the pre-enrollment, you must visit a UES center to provide 

fingerprints, identity documents, citizenship/immigration documents, and payment in 

order to complete the HAZMAT endorsement application.  

 

Enrollment 

 

A student, who has had a CDL Class A or B license previously, may not be required to 

register for the full course; but must first have the approval of field supervisor.  The field 

supervisor will evaluate student’s driving experience and advice the student to the 

amount of time they will need. 

 

We extend a limited school loan to students, with half down at the time of enrollment 

and the balance prior to taking and passing DMV driving test. 

 

Attendance 

 

Consistent attendance and being on time are two assets that a student should 

develop.  Every potential employer will consider good attendance as important hiring 

criteria.  

 

https://www.dmv.ca.gov/
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Students are to call the school office whenever they are unable to be in class for any 

reason.  The calls must reach the office no later than 8:30 a.m. so that those students 

waiting for make up time may use student’s space.  Student’s cooperation will be 

appreciated.  Those students referred by an agency must be aware that we will contact 

student’s counselor and inform them that students are not in attendance. 

 

Our teaching unit is a Truck and a Trailer not a desk and chair.  We assign one instructor 

up to five students.  When a student is not in attendance, they are not having the opportunity 

to learn.  Our program has enough hours built in to allow a student who misses 1 or 2 days 

over their training period, to still be able to complete the program on time. 

Coastal Trucking will continue to provide training hours to students who have not 

exceeded the attendance standard.  While in school, arriving late twice will be 

considered an absence.  If a student has not exceeded the attendance standard and 

does not pass the DMV testing, Coastal Trucking will continue to provide them training 

hours within Coastal Trucking’s schedule at no additional charge until they do pass. 

 

If a student, who has missed less than 3 days, needs make up time, they will be placed in 

the next available space.  There are no guarantees as to the time or to the day since our 

regular classes are assigned one teacher to three students and the classes go from 7a.m. to 3 

p.m. Mon – Fri, with Sat & Sun. as an option. 

Interruptions or being placed on hold is not realistic for a short term training program, 

and is only granted when the interruption occurs at the end of the first week of training.  

The student will then join the next class as it starts. 

 

If a student accumulates three or more absences during the training period they will 

be required to pay for additional instruction time needed.  They will continue in the 

program but IF they do not finish on the original scheduled date, we will continue to 

provide them training based on space available basis until they have passed the DMV 

testing.  The extra time required beyond the original 5-8 weeks will be billed at our group 

rate or individual rate at the decision of the student. 

 

 

Leave of Absence 

 

A leave of absence may be granted to a student under special circumstances (e.g., 

serious illness or death in the family).  Such leaves will be granted only if they last less then 

5-days.  Our classes are very short; a student may withdraw at the end of the first week 

and go on a thirty-day leave of absence.  Any other leave of absence longer then 5-

days, the student will receive counsel from the School Director.  A student may be re-

scheduled for the next class.  Depending on the cause for the leave of absence the 

student may be billed for extra time required to complete the course.  Leaves of 

absences will be referred to as being placed on “Hold” status. 

 

Student Conduct 

 

Coastal Trucking wants each Student to realize the importance of maintaining high 

standards of conduct, not only on the school campus, but also in the trucking industry.  

Students are expected to be polite, follow instructor’s directions, and obey school rules.  

Any disagreement with the school, instructors, or other students should be taken up with 

the School Director for mediation.  Coastal Trucking is a school for adults and as adults, 
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they should be aware of what is acceptable and unacceptable behavior in the work 

place. 

 

Examples of behavior on or around the school campus that will result in being 

dropped are listed below.  The following list will cause immediate termination from our 

program with appropriate refund.  

 

❖ Use of school equipment without authorization 

❖ Use of illegal substances 

❖ Under the influence of alcohol 

 

      The following items will place a student on probation, with no more than one warning 

prior to dismissal.  

❖ Harassment of students or personnel 

❖ Aggressive and disruptive behavior 

 

If a student is dismissed and files an appeal, and does not win the appeal, they will 

be dropped and will no longer be eligible for re-admission. 

 

Appeals Policy and Complaint Procedure 

 

Believing that extraordinary or extenuating circumstances warrant consideration, 

Coastal Trucking provides students with the opportunity to appeal actions based on 

school regulation concerning attendance, dismissal, leave of absence, and extension of 

contract.  Any actions taken by the Coastal Trucking regarding attendance, dismissal, 

leave of absence or extension of contract will result in a written notice of action to the 

student. 

 

The appeal must be in writing and must be given to the School Director within five 

working days from the date of the written notice of action.  The appeal must explain 

what action is being appealed and basis for the appeal.  Complaints regarding an 

instructor, school official or school policy initiated by a student must be provided in 

writing to the School Director. 

 

Within forty-eight hours from the receipt of the student’s written appeal or the 

students filing of a grievance, a conference will be scheduled with the school 

administration.  The student will be notified that he or she has the right to attend the 

conference and to bring with them anyone they choose (council, witness, etc.) 

  

During the conference, the school administration will review the Appeal/Complaint 

and determine what steps should be taken to address the issue.  The student will be 

notified of the decision in writing within twenty-four hours following the conference 

STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL 

 

Cancelations, Withdrawals, and Refunds 

 

Cancellation, withdrawal, and refund policies, the student has a right to cancel the 

enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through attendance at the 

first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. Monies paid shall 

be refunded within thirty days after receipt of the notice. 
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If a student withdraws or is suspended or dropped after the above-mentioned seven-day 

period for cancellation, all educational costs, shall be refunded on a pro-rata basis.  The 

student will receive a refund of all monies paid within thirty days if the student is rejected 

for training or if a course is cancelled.  There may be a processing fee if the student 

payment was made by credit card.  The student may withdraw from school at any time 

and may receive a refund of unused costs, if the student has completed 60 percent or 

less of the period of attendance. 

 

STUDENTS RIGHT TO CANCEL 

 

You may cancel your contract for school, without penalty or obligation, and obtain a 

refund of charges paid through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day 

after enrollment, whichever is later as described in the Notice of Cancellation form that 

will be given to you at the first day of class. Read the Notice of Cancellation form for an 

explanation of your cancellation rights and responsibilities. If you have lost your Notice of 

Cancellation form, ask the school for a sample copy.  If the student has received federal 

student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from 

federal student financial aid program funds. 

 

After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any 

time and you may have the right to receive a refund for the part of the course not taken 

if the student has completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance. Your refund 

rights are described below. If you have lost your contract, ask the school for description 

of the refund policy.  

 

Refunds: 

 

The refund to be paid to a student for a program of instruction subject to this article shall 

be calculated as follows: 

• The amount owed by the student for purposes of calculating a refund is derived 

by total hourly charge for instruction multiplied by the total  hours attended by 

the student. 

• Total hourly charge is derived by taking total institutional charge divided by the 

number of program hours (Example: for 160hr course = $30.00 per hour 

refundable if the student has completed 60 percent or less). 

• The refund would be any amount in excess of the figure derived above and any 

non-refundable fees. 

• The refund amount shall be adjusted as provided for equipment, if applicable. 

 

You may cancel this contract for school, without any penalty or obligation, by the date 

stated below. 

If you cancel, any payment you have made and any negotiable instrument signed by 

you shall be returned to you within 30 days following the schools receipt of your 

cancellation notice. 

 

Date to Cancel without Penalty: _______________________ 

 

To cancel the contract for the school, mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of the 

cancellation notice, or any other written notice: 

 

Coastal Trucking Institute, LLC 11 W. Laurel Dr. Suite 251 Salinas, CA 93906. 
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REMEMBER THAT YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING.  You do not have the right to cancel by 

just telephoning the school or by not coming to class. 

 

You may withdraw from the school at any time after the cancellation period 

(described above) and receive a pro-rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or 

less of the scheduled days in your “Enrollment Period”.  Enrollment period is defined as 

the time period encompassed by “Program Start Date” through the “Program End Date” 

as they appear on the first page of the Student’s Enrollment Agreement.  Any refund will 

be less a registration fee not to exceed $100.00, less any deduction for equipment not 

returned in good condition, and less present Non-Program tuition for all classes started or 

completed.  

 

All refunds will be made within thirty days from the date of cancellation or 

withdrawal.  If a student does not return from an approved leave of absence, refunds will 

be made within thirty days from the leave of absence period.  Within ten days of any 

refund, the student will receive written notice of a refund stating the amount of the 

refund and to whom the refund was made. 

 

For students receiving financing from a lending institution, the student will have the 

responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest.   Any tuition refunds will be 

made first to any lender up to the amount of such disbursement any additional refunds 

will next be made to other funding sources up to the amount of disbursement.  Any 

additional refund due will be made to the student. 

 

Refunds will be made only to those students who cancel their enrollment prior to 

receiving their CDL. Enrolled students who pass the DMV CDL road test and receive their 

CDL Class’ A’ license from DMV will receive their Certificate from Coastal Trucking 

Institute and are not eligible for any monetary refund. 

Coastal Trucking institute retains the right to make changes to the catalog, 

curriculum, schedules, materials or tuition in order to keep the program current with 

trends in the trucking industry.  These changes may be made without advance notice. 

Student’s Rights 

 

Students have the right to cancel the course of instruction including any equipment such 

as books, binders, materials and supplies or any other goods related to the instruction 

offered through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, 

whichever is later. Business day means a day on which students were scheduled to 

attend a class session.    

 

Students have the right to stop training at any time after the cancellation period and 

students have the right to receive a refund for the part of the training not received. 

If Coastal Trucking were to close before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund.  

Contact the Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education, 1747 N. Market Blvd, Suite 225, 

Sacramento, CA 95834 or P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 telephone (916) 

431-8959. 

Cancellation shall occur when students give written notice of cancellation at the address 

of Coastal Trucking, as shown in this catalog.  Students can do this by mail or hand delivery.  

The written notice of cancellation, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail 

properly addressed with the postage prepaid. 
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The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and, however 

expressed, it is effective if it shows the student no longer wish to be bound by the Enrollment 

Agreement.  Students will be given two notices of cancellation forms to use at the first day of 

class, but students can use any written notice that students wish. 

If the Coastal Trucking has given the student any equipment, including books or other 

materials, students shall return them to the School within 30 days following the date of 

student’s notice of cancellation.  If the student fails to return this equipment, including books 

or other materials, in good condition within the 30-day period, Coastal Trucking may deduct 

its documented cost for the equipment from any refund that may be due to the student.  

Once the student pays for the equipment, it is theirs without further obligation. 

If the student cancels the Enrollment Agreement, Coastal Trucking will refund any money 

that has been paid, less any deduction for equipment not timely returned in good condition, 

within 30-days after the notice of cancellation is received. 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund 

“The State of California established the Student Tuition Recover Fund (STRF) to relieve or 

mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying 

institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a 

residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered 

an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-

imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in 

an education program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency 

program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.” 

 

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid 

documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the 

school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private 

Postsecondary Education, 1747 N. Market Blvd, Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834 or 

P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.  

 

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency 

program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and 

suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the follow: 

1. The Institution, a location of the institution, or an education program offered by 

the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate 

in a teach-out plan approval by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-

out plan approved by the Bureau. 

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 

day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or 

were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the 

program was discontinued.  

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 

days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution in an 

educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau 

determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program 

more than 120 days before closure. 

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to 

do so. 
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5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal 

student loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse 

proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.  

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an 

arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or 

representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the awarded 

from the institution. 

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of you 

student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the 

cancellation of the student loan or loans. 

 

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years 

from the date of the action of event that made the student eligible for the recovery from 

STRF.  

 

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non-

collection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt 

that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) 

years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have 

filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the 

period has been extended by another act of law. 

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a 

taxpayer identification number.” 

 

 

Dress Code 

 

Each student will be neatly attired in suitable clothing such as jeans and shirts.  

Footwear should be a sturdy: no sandals or high heels.  Clothing such as cutoffs, tank, or 

halter-tops or no shirt would be considered inappropriate.  Each student should practice 

good hygiene to present a clean and neat appearance.  This is important not only for 

the school campus, but also for future job consideration.  Occasionally, Coastal Trucking 

has Company Recruiters visiting, looking for new drivers and first impressions count. 

Because students will be working around equipment, it is important that long hair is tied 

back and that loose jewelry is not worn. 

 

Graduation 

 

Students enrolled at Coastal Trucking will under go intensive training during the period 

they attend.  All but the class room portion of Coastal Trucking will be in one of the 

commercial vehicles.  As the students learn how to shift, back up and park the 

appropriate vehicle, they will then move to driving in town and on the freeway.  The 

Instructors will be constantly evaluating their progress during this time.  The student will not 

go to the DMV performance testing until two conditions are met: 1) The student’s 

Instructor indicates to the School Director that the student is ready and 2) the student 

feels confident they are prepared.  Once the student completes the DMV testing and 

has obtained their Class ‘A’ license, they then will receive their Certificate and are 

considered to have graduated. Graduate students will be eligible for employment as 

Heavy and Tractor-Trailer Truck Drivers (53-3032) and Light Truck Drivers (53-3033). 

 

 

Student Services 
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Coastal Trucking offers graduating students job placement assistance.  This service is a lifetime 

offer to any Coastal Trucking graduate.  The student is advised to begin thinking about the 

type of driving they would like to do during their training.   Remember a ten-year work history is 

required.  The Student Services Coordinator will advise of job opportunities in the local and/or 

national opportunities; depending on the student’s decision.  Weekly, Coastal Trucking has 

contact with trucking companies, delivery firms, and those who hire Bus drivers.  We refer 

students, as jobs become available.  

Our current library consists of State of California’s Commercial Drivers Handbook in both 

English as well as Spanish, with practice tests, in our Classroom. Upon enrollment you will 

receive a California commercial driver handbook and test study sheets so that you can 

prepare for the DMV learners permit.  The first week of school we have a class room with just a 

few students and review the log book and other DMV requirements. It is understood that we 

cannot allow you to begin driving until you have passed the driving learners permit.  Once the 

student has passed the learners permit, we work with the student until they pass the 

commercial A license.   

Coastal Trucking works with a variety of state, county and private agencies who provide 

financial aid for training. All of these agencies have come to trust Coastal Trucking’s 

ability to provide quality training and maintain the highest levels of service to our students 

and their sponsoring agencies. 

-The list is extensive, below are just a few. 

 

❖ California Vocational Rehabilitation (www.dor.ca.gov/) 

 

❖ Candelaria American Indians (www.candelariaamericanindiancouncil.com) 

 

❖ Work Force Investment Act (WIA) 

(http://www.montereycountywib.org/about/wia/) 

 

❖ Vocational Counseling Services 

(http://www.benefits.va.gov/vocrehab/edu_voc_counseling.asp) 

 

❖ The Work Force Santa Cruz 

(http://santacruzhumanservices.org/WorkforceSCC.aspx) 

 

You may visit these agencies directly and mention your interest in pursuing a Truck Driver 

Commercial Class A license and they will inform you of the training school nearest you. 

If you are interested in receiving more information for these financial aid agencies, 

please contact them directly for further information of qualification requirements.  

 

We provide no housing for the students, or meals. The institution has no dormitory facilities 

under its control. Apartments for rent in the yard area range from $800 to $2,000 per month. 

Nearby are a number of motels:   Motel 6, $49.99---Economy Inn $65.00---Best Western $80. 

Please note, Coastal Trucking has no responsibility to find or assist a student in finding housing. 

All student records are maintained for a period of 5 years from the student’s date of 

completion or withdrawal and the retention of transcripts are for life. The files are confidential 

and are kept in a locked, limited access area. Students may request to review their file at any 

time.   
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For students who are here for training from other countries, please note we offer no visa 

service or any other help.  Our training is based on D.O.T. and CA DMV rules and regulations. 

Pursuant to section 94909 of the Code, this catalog shall be updated annually. Annual 

updates may be made by the use of supplements or inserts accompanying the catalog. If 

changes in educational programs, educational services, procedures, or policies required to 

be included in the catalog by statute or regulation are implemented before the issuance of 

the annually updated catalog, those changes shall be reflected at the time they are made in 

supplements or inserts accompanying the catalog. 

 

 

 

 

 


