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TRUCK DRIVING SCHOOL 
 

Please review the entire catalog and Performance Fact Sheet before enrolling.  
 
STATEMENT OF PHILOSOPHY 
United Truck Driving School  str ives to educate and train students to become professional caliber 
commercial drivers prepared for employment in the transportation industry.  This is accomplished 
through classroom training using written materials, mixed media, visual aids, and a lectu re format.  
Training includes practical experience driving, maneuvering, inspecting and proper use of the 
commercial vehicle equipment.  
 
MISSION STATEMENT71810(b)(2) 

Our mission is to….  
 

Train Individuals  to become Quality Drivers  in the Transportation Industry 
 
HOURS OF OPERATION 
Office hours: 9:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.  
Instructional Hours: Vary depending on course. Hourly breaks are provided, lunch break is 30 minutes.  
Driving instruction may be held days, evenings and weekends as necessary to accommodate the 
requirements of the program and the times are subject to change.  
 
APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT  (94909(a)(2) 
United Truck Driving School is a private institution approved to operate by the Bureau for Private 
Postsecondary Education of the State of California. The approval means the institution and its operation 
comply with the minimum standards established under the law for occupational instruction by private 
educational institutions; approval does not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the state. All 
locations are accredited by Council on Occupational Education.  
 
GENERAL INFORMATION: 
This institution is in good financial standing and does not have a pending petit io n in bankruptcy, is not 
operating as a debtor in possession, has not f i led a petit ion within the preceding five years, or had a 
petit ion in bankruptcy f i led against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization 
under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. Sec. 1101 et seq.).94909(a)(12) 
 
San Diego class sessions will be held at 2425 Camino Del Rio S. #250, San Diego, CA 92108  and field 
training will be held at 6980A Mission Gorge Rd., San Diego, CA 92120. Riverside class sessions will be 
held at 1737 Atlanta Ave. #H7, Riverside, CA, 92507 and field training will be held at 2240 Fleetwood 
Dr., Riverside, CA 92509.  
We issue diplomas to successful graduates.  
 
To be eligible to receive a commercial driver’s l icense you  must be a California resident and pass the 
required testing by the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles. This includes written, pre -tr ip, 
skills and driving tests. Once students have successfully passed the commercial l icense test they will be  
prepared to take a job as a commercial driver or in many entry level commercial driving industry jobs.  
Prospective students are encouraged to visit the physical facilit ies of the school and to discuss personal 
educational and occupational plans with schoo l personnel prior to enroll ing or signing an enrollment 
agreement. 
 
Housing : The school does not have dormitory facil ities under its control.  The median price for a home 
in the San Diego area is $600,000 and the average rent for a one-bedroom apartment in the San Diego 
area is $1700 per month. The median price for a home in the Riverside area is $360,000 and the 
average rent for a one-bedroom apartment in the Riverside area is $1200 per month. The institution has 
no responsibil ity to f ind or assist a student in f inding housing.  
 
AMINISTRATION 
Ownership: United Truck & Car Driving School, Inc.  
President of Corporation   Cheryl Hanley 
Directors of Operation   Cindy Stull ich, Bonnie Trown  
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HISTORY 
United Truck Driving School has been training commercial drivers since 1978.  We have also been 
retraining professional drivers employed for local delivery work and those driving other company 
vehicles. United Truck & Car Driving School, Inc owns the school. We have expanded our tra ining to 
include all classes and combinations of vehicles. In 1997 the San Diego campus was re -located. 
Training locations were also expanded to include Riverside. In 2003, the Accrediting Commission of 
Career Schools and Colleges accredited the San Diego campus. In 2010, the Council on Occupational 
Education accredited both locations.  
 
MEMBERSHIP IN PROFESSIONAL ASSOCIATIONS 

 
Commercial Vehicle Training Association 

 
 

FACULTY 
The teaching faculty members hold a Commercial Driver’s  License and have multiple combined years of 
truck driving and instructional experience. Their experience and training techniques enable our students 
to learn and demonstrate the skil ls for l icensure. 94909(a)(7)  
 

YARD SUPERVISORS AND INSTRUCTORS :  
Edwin Marroquín, Yard Supervisor (10 years experience), Eric Rohr, Yard Supervisor (5 years 
experience), Wayne Ewing, Instructor (29 years experience), Amber Simmons, Instructor (5 Years 
experience), Jason Sanders, Instructor (5 years experience), Harley Mayers, Instructor (3 years 
experience), Anthony Blas, Instructor (3 years experience) , Michael Northup, Instructor (3 years 
experience), Isaac Herrera (4 years experience) 
 

FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT 
San Diego is a main campus and the corporate offices. The facil ity includes two classrooms, admissions 
office, and administrative offices. There is ample parking. The equipment yard is located a few miles 
from the classroom and provides room for training and parking.  
Riverside is a branch location and includes two classrooms and an admissions office. There is ample 
parking available. The equipment yard is located a few miles from the classroom and provides room for training and 
parking.  
Truck and trailers  include Freightliner Conventional Tractors and dry vans with both fixed and sliding 
tandems. The school also operates buses for Class B and passenger endorsement training.  
The school maintains a l ibrary area in each location. The library has resources re lated to the 
transportation industry available for the students to review and is open to students during normal 
operating hours. 71810(b)(10),94909(a)(4)  
 

STUDENT SERVICES  71810(b)(12) 
United Truck Driving School provides placement assistance to students and graduates with access to a 
vast employment sector with serious shortages of qualif ied applicants.  Income and benefit levels are 
excellent and provide stable career opportunit ies for the successful graduate. Job Placement is not 
guaranteed.  
 
Placement Assistance: 
Placement activit ies on behalf of students include maintenance of current employer l ists and contact 
information.  The placement department arranges referrals to prospective employers and on-site 
presentations by OTR companies.  Placement assistance is offered to graduates. The placement 
department at the school processes student applications , when possible, to over-the-road carriers.  
Office staff, upon receiving permission from students, supplies info rmation requested by potential 
employers. 94909(a)(13) 
 
Records Retention: 
Enrollees are advised and cautioned that state law requires this educational institution to maintain school and student 
records for only a five (5) year period. Transcripts are kept permanently. 
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Academic Advising: 
The School Director is available to provide students with academic advising services. Students are permitted to change 
programs during their enrollment at the school with the Director’s approval.  The Director reviews student progress weekly 
and will advise students at risk of academic probation.  Students needing information or assistance with counseling, 
transportation, child care, or other personal issues that impact their academic performance will be referred to the school 
director as a first response and referral as necessary to the network of county Workforce Career Centers and other state, 
county and city agencies. These agencies include the County of San Diego Health & Human Services Department and 
the Riverside County Department of Public Health. 
 
Student Records and Support: 
Office staff will maintain student records for use in placement and verification for five (5) years.  Request for records can 
be processed by fax, providing the student has given the school permission to distribute such information. Hard copy 
records retained include dates of attendance, grades received, and diploma date for a period of five (5) years. A data 
base including transcripts for each student is maintained permanently.71810(b)(15) 
 
Tuition Assistance: 
Payments are accepted by cash, check or credit card. Financing is available as described below. The school is not an 
approved training provider by the United States Department of Education under Title IV and therefore it does not 
participate in any federal aid programs as administered by that agency. However, the school is an approved training 
provider for other federal and state agencies: Veterans Administration's Post 911 and VA Rehabilitation, U.S. Department 
of Defense MyCAA Program, CA Department of Rehabilitation and the California Employment Development Department 
via the Workforce Partnership Career Centers. These agencies offer educational assistance to qualifying individuals 
based on available funding and other factors. 94909(a)(10)  
 
The Admissions Representative is available to advise students on tuition assistance programs available.   
 
Financing: 
If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full 
amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student has received federal student 
financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program. 
94909(a)(11) 
 
The school offers internal financing based on a student's reasonable assurance that he or she has the means and 
resources to repay any charges financed by the school.Students who request tuition financing must complete a credit 
application prior to enrollment. Monthly payments vary according to the down payment, interest rate and length of time 
(number of months) defined in the payment contract. Students who do not make payment arrangements or fail to make 
their scheduled payments may be subject to suspension, termination and/or having the student's account turned over for 
collection.  
 
Student Debt Collection Policy  
The responsibility for ensuring payment of all financed charges remains the responsibility of the student. Students who 
qualify for a monthly installment loan are required to enter into a Retail Installment Contract which obligates the student in 
accordance with the terms and conditions contained in the contract and with all federal and state 'truth-in-lending' 
regulations. Students are required to adhere to the terms and conditions of the Retail Installment Contract, including 
timely payment of monthly installments. If any required monthly installment payment is more than fifteen (15) business 
days past due, a $15 late fee will be assessed. The following actions may be taken against a student with past-due debt:  
If the account is delinquent for over 30 days, the entire outstanding loan balance may become due and payable.  
Academic progress reports may be withheld. Attendance reports may be withheld. Student transcripts may be withheld. 
Students may be unable to graduate and receive a certificate. Student installment loans more than ninety (90) days past 
due may be placed with a collection agency. 
 
All tuition and fees must be paid prior to commencement of classes unless other arrangements have been 
made. 
 
SCHEDULE OF CLASSES 
Instruction is competency based. Students commence training on a space and equipment available 
basis. Students will be advised of start dates at the time they enroll. Students  will be notif ied in advance 
concerning important scheduling information such as operating hours, holidays, class schedules and 
revisions to schedules.  Over-the-Road Driving Instruction is scheduled as necessary to accommodate 
the requirements of the program. Classes are held 12 months per year.  The following legal holidays will 
be observed: New Year’s  Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving,  Christmas.  
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Classes start Monday each week . Class starts vary by location. 
 

Courses Offered: 
 

   CLASS A - TRUCK DRIVING                  160 Clock Hours       $5,450 
   CLASS A/P TRUCK AND BUS DRIVING      186 Clock Hours      $5,950 
   CLASS B/P TRUCK AND BUS DRIVING           120 Clock Hours      $3,950 

 

Definition of Clock Hours:  A clock hour is defined as 50 minutes of instruction per each 60 -minute 
hour. 
Time Frame:  Full t ime students will be scheduled 40 hours a week.  

 

CURRICULUM of COURSES 
 

CLASS A – TRUCK DRIVING       160 HOURS 
 
Commercial Driver Training     CIP #49.0205  
 
COURSE DESCRIPTION  
94909(a)(5)  

 
GOALS AND OBJECTIVES  
The course objective is to prepare students for a successful career as a commercial truck driver in either a 
local or over-the-road setting. Program includes classroom training and behind -the-wheel instruction.   
Training includes the DMV competencies required for a Class A commercial l icense and endorsements.  Job 
placement assistance is included in the course.  Successful graduates receive a diploma and their transcripts 
remain available for potential employers to review. In order to obtain licensure, students will be required to pass written 
and behind the wheel driving exams through the CA Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Internships or externships are not 
required. 
 
Registration/Orientation  

*Rules and regulations of school * Course explanation * Information regarding employment 
opportunities *License/Permits  

Vehicle and License Required   
*Commercial Driver’s  License (C.D.L.) *Department of Transportation (D.O.T.) requirements  
*Medical exam * C.D.L. class for various vehicles and combinations of vehicles  

Types of Truck Transmissions  
*Concept of transmitting force *Shifting gears  
*Automatics *Various geared transmissions, splitters, range controls, etc. *Double clutching/Floating  

Air Brakes  
*Basic components *Service/Emergency *Governors/Reservoir/Valves  
*Spring brake *Service brake *Use of brakes  

Engine Retarders  
*Brake saver *Use of retarders  

Smith System (Plus) Attitude  
*Defensive driving *Beyond defensive driving *Space management *Visual search, etc. *Attitude  

Professional Drivers Attitude Development  
*Use/nonuse of alcohol, drugs *Safe driving attitude  

Department of Transportation Rules (D.O.T.)  
*Drivers obligation to know *Qualif ications *Regulations   
*Hours of Service for Drivers (FMCSR 395.1) *D.O.T. examinations  

Truck Electrical System  
*Basic knowledge *Trouble shooting *Lighting requirements, *Dashboard gauges  

Truck Engine  
*Components *Principle of operation *Auxil iary systems  

Drive Train  
*Clutch *Driveline *Differential *Axles *Frame *Suspension  

Steering  
*Components *Types of steering *Control  

Tires and Wheels  
*Types *Regulations *D.O.T. requirements *State requirements  

Trailers  
*Towed unit *Constructions and components *Types and sizes *Special units *Combination trailers  
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Tractors  
*Power unit *Components *Types *Special units *Drivers responsibil i ty  

Alignment - Coupling and Uncoupling  

 *Fifth wheel *Landing gear *Doubles  

Putting the Truck in Motion  

*Knowledge of equipment *Start/warm-up *Pre-trip *Brake check 

*Shifting *Double clutching *Gear selection/Up-down 
Attitude Review 

*Safe, smooth driving *Driving techniques *Seat/Mirror -adjustment *Seatbelts *Steering wheel  

*Maneuvering *Stopping *Starting *Shutdown 

Accident/Fire Prevention/Reporting  

*Rules *Condition/Attitude *Adverse driving conditions *Brake inspection *Grades *Adverse weather 

*Use of retarders *Load management  

Economy Driving  

*Speed management *Natural forces *Gravity *Inertia *P roper gear selection *Trip planning  

*Road management *Fuel saving *Aerodynamic design  
Cargo Documentation/Management  

*Hours of service *Bil l  of  lading *Freight bil l  *Way bil l  *Manifest *Loading and unloading *Heights 
*Widths *Lengths *Types of trailers *Weight distribution *Sealing *Packing *Protection *Securing 
*Platform equipment operation   

Endorsements and Procedures  
*Hazardous Materials *Special handling *Regulations (knowledge, handling, requirements)  
*Categories *Placards *Classif ications *Doubles & triples endorsement  
*Tank vehicle endorsement *On-road: Tire inspection *Parking *Routing *Railroad crossing  
*Accident *Protect the scene *Notif ication *Air Brake Certif ication 

Trip Planning  
*Map reading *Map symbol *Mileage *Time zone *Weather  

Preventative Maintenance  

*Drivers daily inspection reports *Service checks *Cleaning the truck  
Getting the Job of a Professional Driver  

*Application *Qualif ications *Documentation *Att itude/Preparation *Communication *Resume  
*Interview *Attitude *Preparation  

Life of a Professional Truck Driver  
*Planning *Time management *Road expenses/Management *Physical f i tness *State of mind – 
attitude *Drugs and alcohol *Sexual Harassment in the Workplace  

Continuing Education  
*Professional associations *Periodicals & Trade magazines 

Maneuvering - Road/Range (Tractor-Trailer)  
*Backing (safety) *Preposition/Blind - clear side *Straight back *Various degrees *Parallel  
*Equipment control *Range portion is conducted in controlled area.  

Refinement of Driving Ability  
*Various driving terrain/conditions *Shifting *Equipment control *Attitude  

Preparation for Driving Exam/Range & Road  
*D.M.V. Pre-trip, brake check, road test *D.O.T. road test  

Life on the Road 
 *Dealing with road stress *Proper on -the-road diet *On-the-road exercise *Dealing with fatigue 
Exams/Tests 

*Mid-Term *Logbook *Final *Skil ls & Maneuvering *Pre-Trip/Airbrakes *Coupling/Uncoupling  
 *Final Road 
 
 

CLASS A/P TRUCK AND BUS DRIVING                   186 Hours  
 
Commercial Driver Training     CIP #49.0205  
 

COURSE DESCRIPTION  94909(a)(5 )  

 
GOALS AND OBJECTIVES  
The course objective is to prepare students for a successful career as a Class A commercial Truck Driver 
and/or Bus Driver in either a local or over -the-road setting. Program includes classroom training and behind-
the-wheel instruction. Training includes the DMV competencies required for a Class A commercial l icense 
and endorsements.  Job placement assistance and applications are included in the course.  Successful 
graduates receive a diploma and their transcripts remain available for potential employers to review. In order 
to obtain licensure, students will be required to pass written and behind the wheel driving exams through the CA Department of 
Motor Vehicles (DMV). Internships or externships are not required. 
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Registration/Orientation  

*Rules and regulations of school * Course explanation * Information regarding employment 
opportunities *License/Permits  

Vehicle and License Required   
*Commercial Driver’s  License (C.D.L.) *Department Of Transportation (D.O.T.) requirements  
*Medical exam * C.D.L. class for various vehicles and combinations of vehicles  

Types of Truck Transmissions  
*Concept of transmitting force *Shifting gears *Automatics *Various geared tr ansmissions, split ters, 
range controls, etc. *Double clutching/Floating  

Air Brakes  
*Basic components *Service/Emergency *Governors/Reservoir/Valves *Spring brake *Service brake 
*Use of brakes 

Engine Retarders  
*Brake saver *Use of retarders  

Smith System (Plus) Attitude  
*Defensive driving *Beyond defensive driving *Space management *Visual search, etc. *Attitude  

Professional Drivers Attitude Development  
*Use/nonuse of alcohol, drugs *Safe driving attitude  

Department of Transportation Rules (D.O.T.)  
*Drivers obligation to know *Qualif ications *Regulations *Hours of Service for Drivers (FMCSR 395.1) 
*D.O.T. examinations 

Truck / Bus Electrical System  
*Basic knowledge *Trouble shooting *Lighting requirements, *Dashboard gauges  

Truck / Bus Engine  
*Components *Principle of operation *Auxil iary systems  

Drive Train  
*Clutch *Driveline *Differential *Axles *Frame *Suspension  

Steering  
*Components *Types of steering *Control  

Tires and Wheels  
*Types *Regulations *D.O.T. requirements *State requirements  

Trailers  
*Towed unit *Constructions and components *Types and sizes *Special units *Combination trailers  

Tractors  
*Power unit *Components *Types *Special units *Drivers responsibil i ty  

Alignment - Coupling and Uncoupling  

 *Fifth wheel *Landing gear *Doubles  

Putting the Truck / Bus in Motion  

*Knowledge of equipment *Start/warm-up *Pre-trip *Brake check *Shifting *Double clutching *Gear 

selection/Up-down 

Alignment - Coupling and Uncoupling  

 *Fifth wheel *Landing gear *Doubles  

Putting the Truck / Bus in Motion  

*Knowledge of equipment *Start/warm-up *Pre-trip *Brake check *Shifting *Double clutching *Gear 

selection/Up-down 
Attitude Review 

*Safe, smooth driving *Driving techniques *Seat/Mirror -adjustment *Seatbelts *Steering wheel  

*Maneuvering *Stopping *Starting *Shutdown  

Accident/Fire Prevention/Reporting  

*Rules *Condition/Attitude *Adverse driving conditions *Brake inspection *Grades *Adverse weather 

*Use of retarders *Load management  

Economy Driving  

*Speed management *Natural forces *Gravity *Inertia *Proper gear selection * Trip planning 

*Road management *Fuel saving *Aerodynamic design  
Cargo Documentation/Management  
 *Hours of service *Bil l  of  lading *Freight bil l  *Way bil l  *Manifest *Loading and unloading *Heights 
 *Widths *Lengths *Various types of trailers *Weight distrib ution *Sealing *Packing *Protection 
 *Securing *Platform equipment operation   
Endorsements and Procedures  

*Hazardous Materials *Special handling *Regulations (knowledge, handling, requirements)  
*Categories *Placards *Classif ications *Doubles & triples endorsement 
*Tank vehicle endorsement *On-road: Tire inspection *Parking *Routing *Railroad crossing  
*Accident *Protect the scene *Notif ication *Air Brake Certif ication 

Trip Planning  
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*Map reading *Map symbol *Mileage *Time zone *Weather  
Preventative Maintenance  

*Drivers daily inspection reports *Service checks *Cleaning the truck  
Getting the Job of a Professional Driver  

*Application *Qualif ications *Documentation *Att itude/Preparation *Communication *Resume  
*Interview *Attitude *Preparation  

Life of a Professional Truck Driver  
*Planning *Time management *Road expenses/Management *Physical f i tness *State of mind – 
attitude *Drugs and alcohol *Sexual Harassment in the Workplace  

Continuing Education  
*Professional associations *Periodicals & Trade magazines 

Maneuvering - Road/Range (Tractor-Trailer)  
*Backing (safety) *Preposition/Blind - clear side *Straight back *Various degrees *Parallel  
*Equipment control *Range portion is conducted in controlled area.  

Refinement of Driving Ability  

*Various driving terrain/conditions *Shifting *Equipment control *Attitude  
Preparation for Driving Exam/Range & Road  

*D.M.V. Pre-trip, brake check, road test *D.O.T. road test  
Life on the Road 
 *Dealing with road stress *Proper on -the-road diet *On-the-road exercise *Dealing with fatigue 
Exams/Tests 

*Mid-Term *Logbook *Final *Skil ls & Maneuvering *Pre-Trip/Airbrakes *Coupling/Uncoupling  
 *Final Road 

 
 

CLASS B/P TRUCK AND BUS DRIVING                           120 HOURS 
 
Commercial Driver Training     CIP #49.0205  
 

COURSE DESCRIPTION  94909(a)(5 )  

 
GOALS AND OBJECTIVES  
The course objective is to prepare students for a successful career as a Class B Truck Driver and/or 
professional bus driver in a local setting.  Program includes classroom training and behind-the-wheel 
instruction. Training includes the DMV competencies required for a Class B commercial  l icense and 
endorsements. Job placement assistance and applications are included in the course.  Successful grad uates 
receive a diploma and their transcripts remain available for potential employers to review.   
In order to obtain licensure, students will be required to pass written and behind the wheel driving exams through the CA 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Internships or externships are not required. 
 

Registration/Orientation  
*Rules and regulations of school * Course explanation * Information regarding employment 
opportunities *License/Permits  

Vehicle and License Required  
*Commercial Driver’s  License (C.D.L.) *Department Of Transportation (D.O.T.) requirements  
*Medical exam * C.D.L. class for various vehicles  

Types of Truck/Bus Transmissions  
*Concept of transmitting force *Automatics  

Air Brakes  
*Basic components *Service/Emergency *Governors /Reservoir/Valves *Spring brake *Service brake 
*Use of brakes 

Smith System (Plus) Attitude  
*Defensive driving *Beyond defensive driving *Space management *Visual search, etc. *Attitude  

Professional Drivers Attitude Development  
*Use/nonuse of alcohol, drugs  *Safe driving attitude 

Department of Transportation Rules (D.O.T.)  
*Drivers obligation to know *Qualif ications *Regulations *Hours of Service for Drivers (FMCSR 395.1) 
*D.O.T. examinations 

Truck/Bus Electrical System  
*Basic knowledge *Trouble shooting *Lighting requirements, *Dashboard gauges  

Truck/Bus Engine  
*Components *Principle of operation *Auxil iary systems  

Drive Train  
*Driveline *Differential *Axles *Frame *Suspension  

Steering  
*Components *Types of steering *Control  
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Tires and Wheels  
*Types *Regulations *D.O.T. requirements *State requirements  

Vehicles  
*Components *Types *Special units *Drivers responsibil i ty  

Putting the Truck/Bus in Motion  

*Knowledge of equipment *Start/warm-up *Pre-trip *Brake check 
Attitude Review 

*Safe, smooth driving *Driving techniques *Seat/Mirror -adjustment *Seatbelts *Steering wheel  

*Maneuvering *Stopping *Starting *Shutdown  

Accident/Fire Prevention/Reporting  

*Rules *Condition/Attitude *Adverse driving conditions *Brake inspection *Grades *Adverse weather 

*Load management 

Economy Driving  

*Speed management *Natural forces *Gravity *Inertia *Proper gear selection *Trip planning  

*Road management *Fuel saving *Aerodynamic design  
Cargo Documentation/Management  

*Hours of service *Bil l  of  lading *Freight bil l  *Way bil l  *Manifest *Loading and unloading *Heights 
*Widths *Lengths *Weight distribution *Sealing *Packing *Protection  
*Securing *Platform equipment operation  

Endorsements and Procedures  
*Hazardous Materials *Special handling *Regulations (knowledge, handling, requirements)  
*Categories *Placards *Classif ications *Tank vehicle endorsement *Passenger endorsement  
*On road: *Tire inspection *Parking *Routing *Rai lroad crossing *Accident *Protect the scene  
*Notif ication *Air Brake Certif ication 

Trip Planning  

*Map reading *Map symbol *Mileage *Time zone *Weather  
Preventative Maintenance  

*Drivers daily inspection reports *Service checks *Cleaning the truck / bus  
Getting the Job of a Professional Driver  

*Application *Qualif ications *Documentation *Att itude/Preparation *Communication *Resume  
*Interview *Attitude *Preparation *Communication  

Life of a Professional Truck / Bus Driver  
*Planning *Time management *Road expenses/Management *Physical f i tness *State of mi nd – 
attitude *Drugs and alcohol *Sexual Harassment in the Workplace  

Continuing Education  
*Professional associations *Periodicals & Trade magazines  

Maneuvering - Road/Range (Truck / Bus)  
*Backing (safety) *Preposition/Blind - clear side *Straight back *Various degrees *Parallel  
*Equipment control *Range portion is conducted in controlled area.  

Refinement of Driving Ability  
*Various driving terrain/conditions *Equipment control *Attitude  

Preparation for Driving Exam/Range & Road  
*D.M.V. Pre-trip, brake check, road test *D.O.T. road test  

Life on the Road 
 *Dealing with road stress *Proper on -the-road diet *On-the-road exercise *Dealing with fatigue  
Exams/Tests 

*Mid-Term *Logbook *Final *Skil ls & Maneuvering *Pre-Trip/Airbrakes *Final Road 

 
SCHOOL POLICIES 
Instruction is conducted in English only.  No English language services are provided. The applicant must 
be proficient in English, their oral comprehension and expression must be sufficient for effective class participation. The 
applicant’s reading comprehension and writing skills must be sufficient for responding clearly and accurately to course 
assignments. The applicant’s verbal and quantitative (math) skills should be at a fifth-grade level or above. 
Visa services are not provided, and the institution cannot vouch for student status. 
 
ADMISSION PROCESS & REQUIREMENTS 
Each applicant to the school must:  

 Submit a completed Application for Enrollment to Admissions  

 Provide valid driver’s license from student’s resident state  

 Provide valid social security card 

 Provide the school with a high school diploma, GED, DD-214, or college transcripts or pass an 
Ability to Benefit test.  Pursuant to California Code of Regulation, Section 71770 (a)(1) each 
student admitted to an undergraduate degree program, or a diploma program, shall possess a 
high school diploma or its equivalent or otherwise successfully take and pass the relevant 
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examination as required by section 94904 of the Code. Students without a high school diploma or 
GED must complete an US Department of Education approved Ability of Benefit Test.  That test 
wil l be scheduled by admissions if necessary.  

 Meet with an Admissions Representative to discuss educationa l program and tour the facil ity 

 Receive a school catalog and school performance fact sheet 

 Be 18 years of age in order to receive a commercial l icense  (Students between the ages of 18 
and 21 can obtain a commercial driver’s  l icense to drive within the state of issuance.)  

 Be able to meet the medical requirements for a comm ercial driver (Pass a physical and drug 
screen.) 

 As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an 
enrollment agreement.  You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, 
which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 
94909(a)(3)(B),(C)(6),(C)(8)(A),  94909(a)(5) 

 Complete the Enrollment Agreement that includes a $250.00 application fee and state required 
STRF Fee. 

 

SPECIAL NOTICE TO APPLICANTS  
Please discuss any applicable items with your admissions representative prior to enrollment.  
 1.  More than one D.U.I.  on your driver ’s license record in a lifetime  
 2.  A D.U.I. conviction in the past f ive years ( involving alcohol)  
 3.  A D.U.I. conviction within a l ifetime involving a controlled substance 
 4.  A felony conviction of any type in the pas t ten years 
 5.  Recent hospitalization or under a physician’s care for emotional or mental instabil ity 
 6.  Currently taking prescription drugs under a phys ician’s care (Schedule 1 Drugs)  
 7. More than two tickets in one year  
 8. More than three tickets in three years 
 9.  More than one at fault accident in past 12 months, o r two accidents in past 5 years  
10. License suspension in the past three years (Except for parking or registration)  
11. Reckless driving or other misdemeanors in the past 5 years  
12. Driver must be 21 years of age for interstate driving 
13. Driver must be 18 years of age for intrastate driving 
14. Driver has held a Class C license for at least 1 year  
15. Driver must have no delinquencies on child support  
16. Driver cannot be current ly addicted to drugs or alcohol  
17. Driver must be capable of reading and speaking the English language sufficiently to converse with 
the general public, to understand highway traff ic signs and signals in the English language, to respond 
to off icial inquir ies and to make entries on reports and records. The applicant’s verbal and quantitative (math) 
skills should be at a fifth-grade level or above. English language services are not available. (94909(a)(6), 
94909(a)(5) 

 

GRANTING CREDIT  94909(a)(8)(A)  
United Truck Driving School has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other 
college or university.  United Truck Driving School does not accept any prior experiential learning.   
 

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION  
The transferability of credits you earn at United Truck Driving School is at the complete discretion of an institution to which 
you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the diploma you earn in the educational program is also at the complete 
discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the diploma that you earn at this institution are not 
accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at 
that institution. For this reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational 
goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending United Truck Driving 

School to determine if your diploma will transfer.  94909 (a)(15) 
 
TRANSFER POLICY: 
If a student chooses to transfer between programs, he/she should speak to the Admissions staff or the Director. The 
school will determine if a refund is due or if the student will owe additional tuition. A transfer form should be completed 
and the student is informed of any schedule changes. 

 
 

ATTENDANCE, PROBATION & DISMISSAL POLICIES 
Absence will be considered excused under the following circumstances:  illness, death, or birth in the immediate family, 
and other valid reasons substantiated in writing and at the discretion of the director.  Other absences will be unexcused. 
(94909)(8)(D). Students must attend at least 90% of the scheduled hours of the program. 
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Tardiness is a disruption of a good learning environment and is discouraged.  Tardiness will be considered unexcused 
absence. 
Make-up work may be required for any absence.  However, hours of make-up work cannot be accepted as hours of 
classroom attendance.  The student must arrange make-up work with the individual instructor or the school director. 
Leave of Absence will be considered and may be granted to students at the discretion of the school director. Leave not 
to exceed 180 days and student signature will be required. If student fails to return, school’s refund policy applies. 
(94909)(8)(E)   
Absences and tardiness will be recorded.  Students are expected to attend classes as scheduled as they would be 
expected to be present for work.  
Probation - Students failing to maintain satisfactory attendance may be placed in probationary status in an attempt to 
warn the student of possible dismissal if attendance and/or school performance is not brought up to the appropriate 
standard. (94909)(8)(C)   
Dismissal - Students failing to maintain satisfactory attendance will be advised by the administration.  If attendance fails 
to improve, the school may dismiss a student for unsatisfactory attendance.  Re-admittance may be permitted if the cause 
for unsatisfactory attendance has been corrected. (94909)(8)(C)  
Satisfactory Progress Policy - Each student must maintain a minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 1.0 at 
the end of the first week (25% of the program) of instruction; a 1.5 GPA at the end of the second week (midpoint of the 
program) of instruction; 2.0 GPA by the end of the third week of instruction (75% of the program); and a cumulative 2.0 
GPA upon graduation. (Assuming the traditional 4.0 scale.)  
 

Student progress will be reported at the end of the first 10-day [two week] interval.  If the student falls below the above 
stated grade point average, the student may be placed on formal probation.  The student will be given lesson plans to 
bring their grade up to a minimum cumulative grade point average, this must be accomplished within 5 days.  Any student 
that fails to bring their GPA up within the above-mentioned time frame would be dismissed from school.  The student may 
be reinstated into the school providing that they bring their GPA up to minimum standards.  This should be accomplished 
within the maximum time frame allowed to complete the training which is one and a half times the length of the course.   
 

GRADING SYSTEM 
The percentage grading system listed below is used for all courses.   

A  90 -100%  4.0 
B 80 - 89%            3.0 

C 70 - 79%  2.0 
D 60 - 69%           1.0 

F 59 - Below  Failure 
Course withdrawal will not affect a student’s GPA.  71810(b)(8)  
 

REQUIRED LEVELS OF PERFORMANCE 
A student must meet the following requirements in order to qualify for a Diploma: 
* Achieve a cumulative grade point average of 2.0 or higher.  
* Attend at least 90% of the scheduled hours of the program. 
* Complete all designated requirements (tests, assignments, etc.) of the program.  
* Satisfy all f inancial obligations to the School.  
* Complete all State of California requirements (written and skills tests) of the licensee.  
* Provide employment verif ication to the school.  

 

TERMINATION POLICY 
A student is subject to termination for violating any of the following:  
* The school must terminate any student who is unable to satisfactorily achieve the knowledge and skil ls 
required by the occupation for which the training is intended. 
* Failure to meet the minimum grade point average or failure to complete the training within the 
maximum time frame, if applicable the student must be dismissed.  
* Failure to comply with the school’s attendance policy.  
* Failure to comply with the school’s conduct policy.  
* Failure to meet all f inancial obligations to the school.  
* Violation of any of the conditions set forth and agreed to in the Enrollment Agreement.  

 
CONDITIONS FOR REINSTATEMENT 

Reinstatement will be approved only after evidence is shown to the Director’s satisfaction that conditions, 
which caused the interruption for unsatisfactory progress, have been rectified.  
 
STUDENT CONDUCT 

At the discretion of the school administration; a student may be dismissed from school for any serious 
incident or repeated incident of intoxicated or drugged state of behavior, possession of drugs or alcohol 

upon school premises, possession of weapons upon school premises, disobedient or disrespectful behavior 
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to another student, an administrator or faculty member, or any other stated or determined infraction of 
conduct.  This is a drug free environment.  Discrimination of any kind is not allowed.  
 

 

 
COURSE CHARGES AND FEES 94909(a) (9 ) 

 

Course Title:  Class A/P Truck and Bus Driving (186 Hours)   

Registration fee   $250.00  
Tuition – Institutional Charges   $5,308.00 
Non-Institutional Fees  $231.00 (non-refundable after 1st day of attendance)  

                                            Medical Exam$100, Drug Test $50, DMV permit $81  

Book Fees    $161.00 (non-refundable once received by student)  
                           Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF)  $0.00  
 

TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE CURRENT PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE   $5,950.00 
ESTIMATED TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE ENTIRE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM  $5,950.00 
THE TOTAL CHARGES THE STUDENT IS OBLIGATED TO PAY UPON ENROLLMENT $5,950.00 

 

Course Title:  Class A-Truck Driving (160 Hours)   
Registration fee                $250.00  
Tuition – Institutional Charges             $4,808.00 
Non-Institutional Fees      $231.00 (non-refundable after 1st day of attendance)  

                                               Medical Exam$100, Drug Test $50, DMV permit $81  

Book Fees        $161.00 (non-refundable once received by student)  
                           Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) $0.00  
 

TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE CURRENT PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE   $5,450.00 

ESTIMATED TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE ENTIRE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM  $5,450.00 
THE TOTAL CHARGES THE STUDENT IS OBLIGATED TO PAY UPON ENROLLMENT $5,450.00 

 

Course Title:  Class B/P Truck and Bus Driving (120 Hours)   
Registration fee       $250.00  
Tuition – Institutional Charges             $3,308.00 
Non-Institutional Fees      $231.00 (non-refundable after 1st day of attendance)  

                                             Medical Exam$100, Drug Test $50, DMV permit $81  

Book Fees        $161.00 (non-refundable once received by student)  
                           Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) $0.00  
 

TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE CURRENT PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE   $3,950.00 

ESTIMATED TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE ENTIRE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM  $3,950.00 
THE TOTAL CHARGES THE STUDENT IS OBLIGATED TO PAY UPON ENROLLMENT $3,950.00 
 
Non-Institutional fees include Medical Exam - $100, Drug Test $50, DMV permit fees $81 
Book fees include Bumper to Bumper $100, Student Study Guide $61  
Additional Training Cost per day $400 
 

 

 The DOT Medical exam and one drug test are included in the above Tuition and Fees. 
Any re-test fees a student incurs are the responsibility of the student.  

  The initial DMV Permit fee is included in the above Tuition and Fees. Any re -test fees a 
student incurs are the responsibility of the student.    

 Students failing a commercial drive test at the DMV will be charged a $35 retest fee by 
the DMV and that fee is the responsibility of the student . The school will not impose a 
charge for the retest. 

 
Note: Any person applying for or renewing a California commercial driver license (CDL) with a hazardous 
materials (HAZMAT) endorsement is required to undergo a federal Transportation Security Administration 
(TSA) security threat assessment (background check) before the endorsement can be issued. The program 
was implemented to meet the requirements of the USA Patriot Act of 2001.  
**The TSA background check fee is not included in the school's tuition and fees.** 
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School Performance Report  
This information is provided for you to be informed about the past success rate of the students that have attended the 
school.  United Truck Driving School has campuses in Southern California. We have provided the 2015-16 information for 
your review. We have been training students as commercial truck drivers since 1978. We are committed to our students 
and their success in the essential transportation industry.  

 

 

San Diego Campus 

Program Enrolled 
Students 
Graduated Percentage 

Employed in 
the Field Percentage 

Annual Salary 
Range 

Class A 202 169 84% 151 89% $35,000 - $60,000 

Class A/P 172 119 70% 104 87% $35,000 - $60,000 

Class B/P 43 40 93% 29 73% $24,000 - $37,000 

Overall 417 328 79% 284 87%   
 

 Riverside Campus 

Program Enrolled 
Students 
Graduated Percentage 

Employed in 
the Field Percentage 

Annual Salary 
Range 

Class A 114 100 88% 87 87% $35,000 - $60,000 

Class A/P 70 49 70% 44 90% $35,000 - $60,000 

Class B/P 16 12 75% 9 75% $24,000 - $37,000 

Overall 200 161 81% 140 87%   
 

 
 
 
 

            

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND 94 909(a) (14 ) ,  76215  

 

The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss 
suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while 
enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an 
economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it 
must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in 
a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition. 
You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a 
California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program. 
It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other 
information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau 
for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916) 431-6959 or 
(888) 370-7589. 
To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or 
deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following: 
1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or 
discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a 
chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau. 
2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120-day period before the closure of the 
institution or location of the institution or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the 
program was discontinued. 
3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution 
or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there 
was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure. 
4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so. 
5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law or 
has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs. 
6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of 
this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the 
institution. 
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7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for 
services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans. 
To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or 
event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. 
A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollecting may, at any time, file a 
written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been 
more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written 
application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law. 
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number. 
 
STUDENTS RIGHT TO CANCEL AND REFUND RIGHTS 

1. Refund Policy: You have the right to cancel your enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through 
attendance at the first-class session or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. If the student has received 
federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of monies not paid from federal student financial aid 
program funds. Cancellation period is through the first day of class or seven days after enrollment, whichever is later. 
Cancellation occurs when you give written notice of cancellation at the school address shown on the first page of this 
catalog.  You can do this by mail, in person, or by fax. The notice of cancellation, if mailed, is effective when deposited in 
the mail, properly addressed with postage prepaid.  This notice need not take any particular form, it needs only to state 
you wish to cancel the agreement. If you cancel the agreement, the school will issue refunds within 45 days after your 
notice is received. 

2.  Books are refundable in the seven-day cancellation period as long as they are returned in good condition. 

3.  You have the right to withdraw from School at any time.  If notice of cancellation is given during the cancellation period 
(cancellation period is through attendance at the first-class session or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is 
later), School will remit a refund of 100% of the amount paid for institutional charges, registration fee, non-institutional fees 
of $231 (medical exam, drug test and DMV permit fees) and any STRF fee, within 45 days following your 
withdrawal.  After the cancellation period, the institution provides a pro rata refund of all funds paid for tuition charges to 
students who have completed 60 percent or less of the program. If you are entitled to a refund, you are obligated to pay 
only for educational services rendered.  The refund shall be the amount you paid for tuition minus the hours of instruction 
you have not received but for which you have paid.  If the amount you have paid is more than the amount that you owe, 
then a refund will be made within 45 days of withdrawal.  If the amount that you owe is more than the amount that you 
paid, then you will have to make arrangements to pay it. Once more than 60 percent of the enrollment period in the entire 
course has elapsed (including absences), there will be no refund to the student. Refunds, when due, are made without 
requiring a request from the student. No tuition or fees will be retained for a student who does not commence class. 

 
HYPOTHETICAL REFUND EXAMPLE:  
Assume you, upon enrollment in a 160-hour course, pay $4,808 for tuition, $250 for registration, $231 for non-institutional 
fees, $161 for non-refundable books and withdraw after completing 80 hours (50%). 
$4,808 + $250 + $231 + $161 = $5,450 amount paid, $642 is non-refundable 
$4,808 tuition / 160 hours = $30.05/hour or $240.40 per 8-hour day 
$30.05 x 80 hours of instruction = $2,404.00 
$2,404.00 tuition refunded to you  
 
REVISION OF PROGRAMS  

The School reserves the right to change or modify, without notification, the program content, equipment, staff, or materials 

and organization as necessary, with approval of the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, if required.  Such 

changes may be required to keep pace with technological advances and to improve teaching methods. In no event will 

any changes diminish the competency of any program or result in tuition changes for current attending students. 

 

NONDISCRIMINATION AND EQUAL OPPORTUNITY POLICY 

United Truck Driving School prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, 

childbirth, and related medical conditions, transgender status and gender identity), national origin, age, disability, political 

affiliation or belief; or, for beneficiaries, applicants and participants only, on the basis of citizenship status or participation 

in a WIOA Title I-financially assisted program or activity.   

 

United Truck Driving School is an equal opportunity employer and our WIOA Title 1 financially assisted programs 

are equal opportunity programs.  
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REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION 
United Truck Driving School will make every effort to provide an appropriate, reasonable accommodation to the known 
physical or mental disability of qualified individuals, unless doing so would fundamentally alter the nature of its programs 
or services or cause undue hardship.  An undue hardship means that a specific accommodation would require significant 
difficulty or expense. 
  
In situations where an individual has a disability that is not obvious or when it is not apparent how the requested 
accommodation relates to an individual’s disability, UTDS may request the individual to provide information related to the 
functional impairment from a healthcare provider in order to fully and fairly evaluate the accommodations request.  
 
GRIEVANCE / COMPLAINT PROCEDURE  
The school has a procedure and operational plan for handling student complaints.  If a student does not feel that the 
school has adequately addressed a verbal complaint or concern, the student may consider contacting the school in 
writing.  All complaints in written form should include permission from the complainant(s) for the school to forward a copy 
of the complaint to the school staff for a response. The complainant(s) will be kept informed as to the status of the 
complaint as well as the final resolution by the school. 
 
Under the school's Grievance / Complaint procedure, you are entitled to the following within the specified days from the 
day you file a grievance or complaint: 71810(b)(14) 

1.  Assistance from your training school director or representative in preparing your complaint in writing, within the first 

day. School's Point of Contact: Cindy Stullich 
2.  An informal conference with the school director or representative and the applicant / participant to identify and clarify 
issues of disagreement in an attempt to reach a mutually satisfactory resolution within five (5) days. 
3.  An informal hearing on your complaint with the school director within fifteen (15) days. 
4.  A final decision on your complaint from the school director within thirty (30) days. 
5. A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private 
Postsecondary Education by calling (888)370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the 
bureau’s Internet Web site (www.bppe.ca.gov). (94909(a)(3)(c)  
 
If a student has a problem that they are unable to resolve with the school directly they may contact the Council on 
Occupational Education, 7840 Roswell Road, Bldg 300, Suite 325, Atlanta, Georgia 30350, 770-396-3898. Their website 
is www.council.org. 
 
SBETA WIA Participants:  Students enrolled through the City of San Bernardino Employment and Training Agency 
(SBETA), who have exhausted the school’s complaint and / or grievance procedures without a satisfactory resolution of 
the issue, shall be referred to their Career Manager and / or the SBETA EEO Officer for disposition of the case.  
 
SDWP WIOA Participants: Students enrolled through the San Diego Workforce Partnership (SDWP), who have exhausted 
the school’s complaint and / or grievance procedures without a satisfactory resolution of the issue, shall be referred to 
SDWP so that a formal complaint may be filed. 
 
Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may 
be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at:  Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833   www.bppe.ca.gov, (888) 370-7589, Fax (916) 263-
1897 (94909(a)(3)(A).  
 

 
Notice of Student Rights 
1. Cancellation, withdrawal and refund policies are outlined in this catalog under  that heading.  The 
student has all rights specif ied there.  
2. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the r ight to stop school at any time, and you 
have the r ight to receive a refund for the part of the course not taken under 60% of the pr ogram. 
3. If the school closes before you graduate, you may be entit led to a refund.  Contact the Bureau for 
Private Post-Secondary Education, PO Box 98018, West Sacramento, CA 92598, and telephone (916) 
431-6959. 
4. If you have any complaints, questions, or problems which you cannot work out with the school, call or  
write the Bureau at the address mentioned in #3 above.  

 
 
 

 

 

 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/

