

Course Catalog Jan 1st, 2019 to Dec 31st, 2019

LOCATIONS WHERE INSTRUCTION WILL BE HELD:

1450 North Tustin Ave Suite 202 Santa Ana, CA 92705

933 S. Sunset Avenue #201 West Covina, CA 91790

3610 Central Avenue Ste. 201 Riverside, CA 92506

14418 Chase Street Unit 205 Panorama City, CA 91402

22 W 35th St. Suite #104A National City, CA 91950

9221 Venice Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90034

2804 Gateway Oaks Drive Suite #170 Sacramento, CA 95833

> 3600 Workman Mill Road Whittier, CA 90601

8322 Clairemont Mesa Blvd. Suite 203 San Diego, CA 92111

(Main) 888-531-8378 (Fax) 888-531-5800

info@PhlebotomyUSA.com www.PhlebotomyUSA.com

© 1993-2019 Phlebotomy Training Specialists of California, LLC All Rights Reserved.

(CPT-1) Certified Phlebotomy Technician Program Course Catalog

Mission and Objectives

Phlebotomy Training Specialists mission and objectives are to provide up to date, state of the art, Phlebotomy Training to individuals interested in receiving this training. The objective for PTS is to turn out high quality, well trained, competent Phlebotomists who can use their skills to benefit patients and employers.

Phlebotomy Training Specialists is a private institution that is approved to operate by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Approval means that the institution is in compliance with state standards as set forth in the California Private Postsecondary Act of 2009.

Program Description

The National Phlebotomy Certification Program through Phlebotomy Training Specialists is a 40-hour program in which students will learn the art of venipuncture. Students will learn both didactically and hands on during the class. We will cover anatomy, physiology of blood, equipment, venisection, lab processing, special specimen procurement, OSHA, CLIA regulations, centrifuging, microscope use, capillary punctures etc. Students are required to complete 40 full hours of Phlebotomy instruction during class, after which they must participate in a 40-hour externship opportunity. They are required to complete 80 hours of Phlebotomy Class and Externship course work in order to graduate the program. They will also be required to pass 12-chapter quizzes and score at least 80% on a practice exam.

Admission

In order to qualify for the California State Phlebotomy License as a CPT1 you must complete the following in addition to the 80-hour Phlebotomy Training Program with Phlebotomy Training Specialists

- Provide a High School Diploma or its equivalent (GED).
- Complete 40 hours of Phlebotomy Instruction from Phlebotomy Training Specialists
- Complete 40 hours of Practical Instruction from during which time the student must complete 10 skin punctures and 50 venipunctures in the clinical setting.
- Have an SSN or ITIN.

Phlebotomy Training Specialists and their Phlebotomy Certification and Licensing program has not entered into any articulation agreements with other educational institutions in which they accept credits earned at other educational institutions. Also, we do not offer an Ability to Benefit exam.

Licensure

Upon completion of the aforementioned items a student can then apply to the Department of Laboratory Field Services for licensure as a CPT1. Completion of this course and requirements along with the Licensure will qualify you to work as a Phlebotomist SOC code 31-9097. *To be eligible for employment after you receive your licensure you must have a SSN*

Instructors / Qualifications

Brian Treu – Founder / CEO - Brian is the Founder, CEO and Owner of Phlebotomy Training Specialists. Brian and his staff are aggressively working on National expansion, opening schools next in Southern California with locations in Orange County, Los Angeles County and San Diego County, eventually expanding into 20 hand selected states and markets in the next 24 months. He understands blood; the systems tied thereto, and got this knowledge from perfecting the extraction of blood over the last 19 years performing in excess of 265,000 blood draws. Brian's career in medicine includes completing 255 clinical research trials in all facets of medicine, specializing in Phase I clinical trials, where drugs are first introduced into the human body. He relishes pressure and has an uncanny way of dealing with stressful situations.

His specialties include Blood Banking, ICU, Emergency Room Draws, Law Enforcement, Geriatrics and the state Prison System. His knowledge of the anatomy and ability to find tough veins has made him a highly sought-after Phlebotomist by firms across the state of Utah. He has a dedicated understanding that to learn Phlebotomy, you MUST to have the option to perform A LOT of venipuncture's, and with him on the staff of Phlebotomy Training Specialists, you are guaranteed to get the experience AND sticks you need to be an incredible Phlebotomist.

Brian has been training in Phlebotomy for nearly 20 years, and his school Phlebotomy Training Specialists has turned out over 50,000 Phlebotomists in that time making it one of the most successful Phlebotomy Schools in the World.

Gianina Ludusan RN, BSN, PHN – Program Coordinator - Gianina is a Bachelor prepared Registered Nurse born and raised in Romania. She currently works in the Emergency Room in Huntington Beach, CA. She has previous experience as a home health as an RN, alternative medicine nursing, correctional nursing and teaching. Gianina is passionate about the cardiovascular system and love everything about intravenous therapies. Gianina went to Cypress College in California for her ADN and to West Coast University for my BSN.

Derik Brian – California Director of Operations – Derik has been a resident of Laguna Beach for 20 years and works in both Real Estate and owns multiple Drug and Alcohol Rehabilitation Centers across Southern California. Derik will be responsible for day to day operations of Phlebotomy training Specialists including site acquisition, marketing, internal operations, inventory etc.

Students Right To Cancel

You are entitled to receive a refund of tuition paid through attendance at the first day of class, or the seventh calendar day after enrollment, whichever is later, less the \$250 registration fee. To cancel please submit notification in writing via email to info@phlebotomyusa.com.

Withdraw Policy

After the commencement of class and within 30 days if the student quits attending class OR requests to withdraw will be refunded according to the calculation below. Insurance, and Lab Supplies will be refunded based on usage (see calculation below). If more than 60% of class has been attended then no refund will be issued. National Exam Fees are fully refundable for students who withdraw and have not attempted the National Exam. Textbooks once distributed to the student are not eligible for refund.

**All requests to withdraw must be submitted in writing to info@phlebotomyusa.com

Refund Policy

PRO RATA REFUND CALCULATION (used only when student has attended less than 60% of class):

Amount Paid – ($35 \times #$ of hours attended - for tuition) + 250 Registration Fee + 25 Text Book + ($3.625 \times #$ hours attended - for lab supplies and liability insurance)

If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. If you obtain a loan to pay for the educational program, you will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund. If you default on a federal or state loan, both the following may occur: (1) The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against you, including garnishing an income tax refund; and (2) You may not be eligible for any other government financial assistance at another institution until the loan is repaid. Phlebotomy Training Specialists does not offer any distance education in Phlebotomy.

Fax - 1-888-531-5800 Email – info@phlebotomyusa.com Mail – 247 S. Millpond Drive Suite 600 Lehi, UT 84043

Probation/Dismissal Policy

Phlebotomy Training Specialists reserves the right to place a student on probation or dismiss a student for behavior not conducive to a learning environment including but not limited to foul language, inappropriate content viewed in class on in electronic or text format, sexual harassment etc. A student will be given one warning prior to dismissal from the class. A student who has been dismissed or placed on probation can request in writing or email to be re-admitted to class. They may attend another month in a new class once behavior has been corrected.

Attendance

Students must attend ALL 40 hours. There is no grace period for attendance or arrival at the educational facility. Time will be quantified at the educational facility electronically, and the student must attend all of the time required to qualify for participation in the externship. If a student misses a portion of class, they must re-attend that EXACT portion of class the next month or work out with their instructor to train on that exact content during a make-up time.

Leave of Absence

Phlebotomy Training Specialists does not have a leave of absence; if the students who have extenuating circumstances and require absence will be allowed to make up that time either the next month when the class covers the content they missed.

Program Cost and Fees

Total Charges for CPT-1 Certified Phlebotomy Technician Training Payable to Phlebotomy Training Specialists - \$1940.00

> \$1400.00 Tuition \$250.00 Registration Fee (Non-Refundable)

Total \$1940.00

Fee Breakdown/Description

Tuition \$1400.00 - 40 hours of Didactic and 40 hours of Practical Training (Externship) Registration Fee \$250.00 (Non-Refundable) Professional Medical Liability Insurance \$25.00 - Students will have coverage during 40 hours of didactic training and during 40-hour externship Lab Supplies \$120.00 Textbooks \$25.00 National Certification Exam Fee \$120.00 Student Tuition Recovery Fund - .50 x each \$1000 (Non-Refundable) LFS Licensing Fee \$100.00 - Separate Fee (Payable to the State of California-LFS) Scrubs/Uniforms/Protective Clothing - Separate purchase \$20 and up

TOTAL CHARGES FOR CURRENT PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE \$1940 TOTAL CHARGES FOR ENTIRE CPT-1 PROGRAM AND LICENSURE \$2040+ (DEPENDING ON COST OF SCRUBS)

TOTAL CHARGES STUDENT IS OBLIGATED TO PAY UPON REGISTRATION/ENROLLMENT \$250

Student Services

Placement Policy

Phlebotomy Training Specialists does not do any formal job placement, but does provide the following for students regarding employment.

- 1. There will be a portion of class that will explain the best way to handle the interview process, and the best tricks of the trade when it comes to getting a job.
- 2. Employment presentation. We will talk about all of the places where Phlebotomists are able to work.
- 3. Externship Opportunities We have set up at several locations State Wide.
- 4. Information available on how to write a resume and we will review your resume if requested.
- 5. Return Policy- We allow our students to come back to the class as many times as they want or need to free of charge forever to keep their skills sharp.

2019 Class Schedules -- California

Mon	day - Thu	irsday	6-10pm	Ú.	
Jan -	7, 8, 9, 10	0, 14, 15	5, 16, 17	, 22, 23	
Feb -	4, 5, 6, 7	, 11, 12,	13, 19,	20, 21	
Mar -	- 4, 5, 6, 7	, 11, 12	, 13, 14,	18, 19	
Apr -	1, 2, 3, 4	, 8, 9, 1	0, 11, 15	16	
May	- 6, 7, 8, 9	9, 13, 14	, 15, 16,	20, 21	
Jun -	3, 4, 5, 6,	10, 11,	12, 13,	17, 18	
Jul -	8, 9, 10, 1	1, 15, 1	6, 17, 18	3, 22, 23	
Aug -	- 5, 6, 7, 8	, 12, 13	, 14, 15,	19.20	
Sep -	9, 10, 11	, 12, 16	, 17, 18,	19, 23, 2	4
Oct -	7, 8, 9, 1	0, 15, 1	6, 17, 21	1, 22, 23	
Nov -	- 4, 5, 6, 7	, 12, 13	, 14, 18,	19,20	
Dec -	2, 3, 4, 5	, 9, 10, ;	11, 12, 1	6.17	

Weekend Class - 5 classes

5 Saturday's 8am- 4:30pm w/lunch 12-12:30 Jan - 5, 12, 19, <u>26</u>, Feb <u>2</u> Feb - 9, 16, 23, Mar <u>2</u>, <u>9</u> Mar - 16, 23, 30, April<u>6, 13</u> May - Apr 27, May 4, 11, <u>18</u>, Jun <u>1</u> June - 8, 15, 22, <u>29</u>, Jul <u>13</u> July - 20, 27, Aug 3, <u>10, 17</u> Sept - Aug 24, Sept, 7, 14, <u>21, 28</u>, Oct - 5, 12, 19, <u>26</u>, Nov <u>2</u> Nov/Dec - 9, 16, 23, Dec <u>7, 14</u>

 $\label{eq:action} \begin{array}{l} \underline{Accelerated Class- 5 classes} \\ ONLY Westminster, Panorama City, \\ West Covina & Riverside \\ \hline Monday - Friday 8am - 4:30pm \\ Jan - 28, 29, 30, 31, Feb 1 \\ Feb - 25, 26, 27, 28, Mar 1 \\ Mar - 25, 26, 27, 28, 29 \\ Apr - 22, 23, 24, 25, 26 \\ May - *Thurs 22, 23, *Wed 29, 30, 31 \\ Jun - 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 \\ Jul - 29, 30, 31, Aug 1, 2 \\ Aug - 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 \\ Sept - 30, oct 1, 2, 3, 4 \\ Sept - 30, oct 1, 2, 3, 4 \\ Not ct - *Fri 25, 28, 29, 30, Nov 1 \\ \end{array}$

Rio Hondo Classes - 5 Friday class' Fridays only 8:00am-4:30pm March 8, 15, 22, April 5, 12 June 14, 21, July 12, 19, 26 September 13, 20, 27 October 11, 18 The first date listed is the start date for that month; the last day of class is the last day listed for the corresponding month.

This is the schedule for the didactic portion of class.

After this portion of your schedule has been met and you have passed your national exam we will work closely with you to participate in the externship opportunity for your required 40 clinical hours.

This catalog agreement covers you a student until you complete the mandatory 40 hours required for the CPT1 qualifications, passed your national exam and have completed your 40 hour externship.

Financial Aid

Phlebotomy Training Specialists does not participate in any Federal or State Financial Aid programs. If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program funds.

Students Achievement

Phlebotomy Training Specialists will be tracked throughout the class by quizzes and a final exam will be administered prior to be allowed to challenge the National Exam. Students must pass all quizzes with at least a 70% in order to continue and stay on track for graduation. Students may take quizzes on their own time with the instructor before or after class, but this time will not be applied to the 40-hour minimum.

Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF)

The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or

was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student

enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.

It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120-day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law. However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number.

Financial

Phlebotomy Training Specialists does not have ANY pending petition in bankruptcy. PTS is NOT operating as a debtor in possession, PTS has NOT filed a petition within the preceding five years, nor has PTS had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code.

Award of Credit

Phlebotomy Training Specialists does not grant credit to students for other courses taken in the field of Phlebotomy or Nursing Assistant Training or any other field. This course is a stand-alone course and no reduced tuition, nor will reduced hours of participation will be given.

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at Phlebotomy Training Specialists is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in Phlebotomy is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending Phlebotomy Training Specialists to determine if your certificate will transfer.

VISA

Phlebotomy Training Specialists does accept students from other countries but does not provide Visa services. We do not vouch for students other than to say they are actively engaged and enrolled in the Phlebotomy Training Specialists program. There is no fee for this.

Language Proficiency

Students should be able to read at a 9th grade reading level in order to succeed in the Phlebotomy Training Class. There is no assistance given during class for language barriers, but PTS does allow translators to attend classes and assist students with translation and word / verbiage clarification. Having a translator will not bypass the requirement of TOEFL exam score.

There will not be any instruction in any other language than English. Students that are not proficient in reading and writing the English language are required to submit scores from the TOEFL exam. We require a minimum score of 50. Please submit your score to <u>info@phlebotomyusa.com</u>. You can find more information and register for the TOEFL exam at this linkhttps://www.ets.org/toefl/ibt/about?WT.ac=toeflhome_aboutibt_180910

Facilities/Equipment

The facility is classroom style with tables and chairs and white boards with audiovisual equipment. The tables and chairs will be moved around and set up into draw stations that are conducive to training in the art of venipuncture. Mannequins, posters, audiovisual equipment will be used in training.

Library

Phlebotomy Training Specialists does not have a library all necessary materials for students to use will be online and can be found by students there. Students who do not have online access will be given paper copies upon request.

Distant Education

Phlebotomy Training Specialists does not offer any distance education

Housing

Phlebotomy Training Specialists does not maintain dormitory facilities. **PTS does not have** <u>responsibility to find or assist students in locating housing</u>. Estimated rental according to local housing agencies, rent for one to four bedroom units range from \$600 to \$900 per month.

Accreditation

Phlebotomy Training Specialists is not accredited by an accredited agency that is recognized by the United States Department of Education.

Records

Student records are maintained in CA at each of our locations for 5 years. Transcripts are kept permanently.

Grievance Policy/Student Rights

Student grievances can be made by calling Brian Treu, the CEO of Phlebotomy Training Specialists at 888-531-8378 or by email at brian@phlebotomyusa.com. A formal form will be required to be filled out at which time the CEO will address the concerns / grievances with the student and figure out an amicable solution to the issue.

Student Rights

Phlebotomy Training Specialists affords its students the following rights:

- Access to instructors and management for any assistance
- Fair and impartial treatment
- Providing Privacy to Student records

Student Disclosures

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's internet web site www.bppe.ca.gov.

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, www.bppe.ca.gov, toll-free telephone number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897.

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

2019 PHLEBOTOMY TRAINING & CERTIFICATION SYLLABUS

Course Description

The Phlebotomy course is designed to train individuals to properly collect and process blood and other clinical specimens for laboratory testing and to interact with health care personnel, clients, and the general public.

Presentation includes equipment and additives, basic anatomy, and techniques for safe and effective venipuncture. The phlebotomy clinical will be a supervised practicum within the clinical setting that provides laboratory practice in phlebotomy. Emphasis will be placed on collection techniques, specimen processing, work flow practices, referrals, and utilizing laboratory information systems. This course will prepare individuals to take the CPT-1 National Exam. Completion of this course and requirements along with the Licensure will qualify you to work as a Phlebotomist SOC code 31-9097.

Course Summaries

Class 1

- Module #1 Phlebotomy, an Overview. Tourniquet Tying. Student will learn the role of the phlebotomist, proper bedside manner, ethical behavior, safety precautions and how to properly tie a tourniquet.
- Module #2 Venipuncture supplies, equipment/procedure. Students will learn proper venipuncture procedure, as well as supplies and equipment used.

Class 2

• Module #3 - Venipuncture: Problems associated with Venipuncture. Student will learn about problems that are associated with venipuncture and how to handle them properly.

Class 3

- Module #4 Video /Skin Puncture and Newborn screens. Hands on blood draws, intro to butterflies. Capillary puncture.
- Module #5 Hands on blood draws, intro to butterflies. Capillary puncture.

Class 4

- Module #6 Hemostasis. Special Handling and Procurement and additional ordered tests. Tube additives and order of the draw. Video Of Arterial Blood Gas Collection.
- Module #7 Panels and profiles, sections of clinical lab, fecal collection and sputum collection. Urine and semen collection. General handling of non blood specimens. Laboratory processing/centrifuge and microscopic evaluation.

Class 5

• Module #8 - Butterflies, straight stick and dermal puncture

Class 6

- Module #9 Hemodialysis/fistulas/AV grafts. Anatomy and Physiology. Muscular system and Vein Diagram. Endocrine/Nervous System. Blood vessels and human heart.
- Module #10 Glossary Terms and Components of whole blood. Infection control and safety.

Class 7

Hands on Training

Class 8

 Module #11 Fire protection and Universal precautions. Job Interviewing and search/ Employment

Class 9

Hands on Training /Review Q & A Period and Study Guide

Class 10

• Hands on Training /Review Q & A Period and Study Guide

TOPICS/UNITS – Hours Breakdown Phlebotomist SOC code 31-9097

Course Titles	Classroom Hours	Lab/Study Hours	Total Hours		
Class 1 Module #1	2.50	.50	3.00		
Class 1 Module #2	1.00	.00	1.00		
Class 2 Module #3	2.25	2.00	4.25		
Class 3 Module #4/Video	.50		.50		
Class 3 Module #5 Hands on Practice	2.50	.50	3.00		
Class 4 Module #6	1.00	1.00	2.00		
Class 4 Module #7	1.00	1.00	2.00		
Class 5 Module #8 Hands on Practice	3.75		3.75		
Class 6 Module #9	2.00		2.00		
Class 6 Module #10	2.50		2.50		
Class 7 Hands on Training		4.00	4.00		
Class 8 Module #11	4.00		4.000		
Class 9 Hands on Training		4.00	4.0		
Class 10 Hands on Practice Study Guide	1.50	2.50	4.00		
Total Didactic Hours 40 Hours					

This Catalog is updated on the last week of December each year.

If this catalog is requested, it will be mailed, emailed or made available for pickup at any of our locations. It is also available on our website at www.PhlebotomyUSA.com

© 1993-2019 Phlebotomy Training Specialists of California, LLC All Rights Reserved.