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APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Fredrick and Charles Beauty College is a private institution located at 831 F Street, Eureka, Ca. 95501,
was granted institutional approval from the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education pursuant to
California Education Code Section 94311. “Approval to operate means compliance with minimum
standards and does not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the state or by the bureau.”
Institutional approval must be re-approved every three years and is subject to continuing review.
Approved are the courses:

Cosmetology 1000 hours
Manicuring 400 hours
Esthetician 600 hours
Teacher Training 600 hours
Barbering 1000 hours

Instruction is in residence with facility occupancy level accommodation 80 cosmetology/barbering, 10
manicuring and 20 esthetician 2 teacher-training students at any one time.

California statute requires that a student, who successfully completes a course of study, be awarded an
appropriate diploma or certificate certifying the fact.

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment
agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be
provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

This school currently does have available sponsored programs, government or otherwise, to provide
grants or to pay for portions of tuition and fees.

Pell Grants

SEOG

Department of Rehabilitation

Bureau of Indian Affairs

Veterans Administration
The following state boards, bureaus, departments, or agencies set minimum standards for your program
of studies in accordance with Education Code Section 94316.12.

-~ Board of Barbering and Cosmetology .

Persons seeking to resolve problems or complaints should prepare their complaint in written form and
submit to Jeanie Scott, Administrator. A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about
this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 or by
completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s Internet Web site at
www.bppe.ca.gov

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by
the institution may be directed to the:
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
-~ 1747 N. Market Blvd. Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834
P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818
Telephone (888) 370-7589, (919)574-8900, Fax (916)263-1897 www.bppe.ca.gov

All information in the content of this school-eatalog is current and correct and is so certified as true by
Jeanie Scott. Signature”  ~x<~—- C }

/

.
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HISTORY
Fredrick and Charles Beauty College was established in 1955 by Charles Partone, to provide quality ~
education in the field of cosmetology and related arts and sciences. The current owner, Jeanie Scott,
purchased the institution in May 2002, -

Fredrick and Charles Beauty College is located in downtown Eureka, California, at 831 F Street.
Lumber, fishing, and tourism are the main industries of this picturesque area. The redwoods and
rhododendrons provided a beautiful setting in this community. The building was especially designed as
a beauty college and has won the “Governor’s Award of Design” for its design and architecture.

FACILITIES
Fredrick and Charles Beauty College have over 6,000 square feet devoted to educational purposes.
There are 60 styling stations for patrons and students on the clinic floor area. In addition, the facility
contains two classrooms, facial room, waxing room, library, computer lab with wi-fi access, and student
lounge. Library resources consist of textbooks, monthly periodicals, videos and dvds. Students have
access to library and computer lab during school hours with an instructor’s assistance. There is
equipment and classroom facilities for 80 cosmetology/barbering, 10 manicuring, 20 esthetician and 2
teacher training students.

In addition, students are issued a student kit of textbooks, equipment, and supplies as part of their tuition
cost. Student kits are customized according to educational program in which they are enrolled
(Barbering, Cosmetology, Esthetician and Manicuring). The equipment used for instruction or provided
to student are comparable in model type or features to equipment used in occupations for which
instruction is offered.

Equipment used for instruction or provided includes mannequins, shampoo bowls, dyers, facial chairs,
hairstyling and barber chairs, manicure stations, stools, thermal hair straighteners, electrical facial
equipment, pedicure tubs, steamers, magnification lights, etc.
Student kits include:

Barbering — textbooks, mannequins, shears, clippers and blades, thermal straightening irons,
blow dryer, razor, trimmers, combs, brushes, capes, clips, barber supplies, perm rods, etc.

Cosmetology — textbooks, chrome book, beauty travel case, thermal irons, shear, clippers,
““mannequins, combs, brushes, capes, stylist supplies, manicuring supplies; artificial nail kit, rollers, rods,
clips, makeup, etc.

Esthetician — textbooks, tweezer, extractor, headbands, drapes, eyelashes, makeup kit, skin care
kit, disposable applicators, esthetician supplies, etc.

Manicuring — textbooks, mannequin hand, manicure brushes, manicure implements, bottles,
gloves, finger bowl, artificial nail kit, electric file, manicure supplies, etc.

MISSION & OBJECTIVES

Our mission and objective are to provide instruction in the field of cosmetology, barbering, esthetician,
manicuring and teacher training. Instruct students in consumer protection, to protect the consumer from
~improper handling of implements, chemicals, and sanitation. Provide students with information on-the
newest and latest products and techniques in their related field. Ensure that students successfully
complete necessary hours and requirements to be eligible for the State Board licensing examination.
Impart the knowledge, skills, and confidence necessary to complete and pass the required State Board
examination. Produce a successful salon/barber employee, manager, and owner. Let students know
what salon/barber owners expect, such as dependability, professionalism, and completion of all
operations in the most efficient, concise manner possible while maintaining high quality and patron
happiness.
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FREDRICK AND CHARLES BEAUTY COLLEGE, PARTONE INC. ADMINISTRATION

Jeanie Scott. .....ooooviviiiiii i, Owner, CEO, Administrator, Instructor
STEVE SCOTE ..viiite ittt President
Lierman B lsnimsn s 51 sosmounmos s 1153 kanitisiconn e s e o s oo 5 rmEAS Vice —President, Secretary
Kendra RODISON. ...ciuineitiiiiice e, Financial Aid Officer
Marlene Chanel Ptacek........... cooouiviniiiieiii e Instructor
Susan Martin. ... .....ccoeuivuiiiiiii e e Instructor
Kara McClUuskey.......c.ouiiuiiiiiiiii i Instructor’s Assistant
Rebecca Whithington. ........ovuiiuiiiii e Instructor
INAhAN PAYEOM . ccirt s 50 6mmma0man s oo smmmamme e s s srewmmanuss s s sasns s Substitute Barber Instructor
FACULTY

Jeanie Scott — Owner, Administrator, Instructor

Jeanie has been employed with Fredrick and Charles Beauty College since August 1982. During her
employment she has worked in all facets of the college. She received her esthetician license in
December 2000 and her cosmetology license in June 2005. Jeanie also held a Certificate of
Authorization for Service as Director, Financial Aid Director, and Instructor. In September of 2011
Jeanie received her Clear Teaching Credential.

Kendra Robison —Financial Aid Officer, Instructor

Kendra grew up in this industry with several family members having their cosmetologist and manicurist
licenses and is very familiar with industry. She graduated from Fredrick and Charles Beauty College
and became a licensed manicurist in 2016. Kendra worked in finance for 8 years and is equipped with
skills to assist students in applying for financial aid, and enrollment.

Marlene Chanel Ptacek — Instructor

Chanel has been a licensed cosmetologist since 1985 and licensed instructor since 1985. She is an
excellent theory and freshman instructor. Her precise teaching methods give the students stepping-
stones on which to build their abilities in cosmetology and related arts and sciences. Chanel holds a clear
Teaching Credential and a wealth of knowledge and experience to share. She always enthusiastic about
continuing education and learning and strives to stay relevant with up-to-date techniques.

Susan Martin — Instructor

Susie is a licensed Barber and Cosmetologist who also graduated from Fredrick and Charles Beauty
College. She owns and operates her own local Barber/Beauty shop. Susie loves this industry and first
and foremost enjoys making people feel good about themselves, including students in their learning
processes. Some of her favorite services include haircutting, shaving and pedicures. By continuing to
- work in salon, while teaching students keeps education relative to industry standards.

Kara McCluskey — Instructor’s Assistant

Kara is a Fredrick and Charles Beauty College graduate and licensed Barber and Cosmetologist.
Currently Kara assist Chanel in freshman classroom and Becky on the clinic floor instructing students in
their practical applications, while learning herself how to lecture fortheory classes. Karais ---
knowledgeable and skilled in practical applications and enjoys helping and meeting student needs.

Rebecca Whittington — Instructor

Rebecca “Becky” graduated from Fredrick and Charles Beauty College in 1995. She is a licensed
cosmetologist with eight years of manicuring experience. She has also been specializing in haircutting
and coloring for 20 years. She started working at Fredrick and Charles Beauty College in April 2019 as
receptionist and advanced into Instructor position in June 2019. Becky is extremely motivated to help
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students achieve their goals. She brings many years of real-world application and experience to the
learning environment. Becky’s goals are to ensure each student receives the timeand attention needed
to be successful professionals in the beauty industry.

Nathan Payton — Substitute Barber Instructor

Nathan graduated from Fredrick and Charles Beauty College and became a licensed Barber in early
2022. Currently Nathan is working as a full time Barber in the industry, while working one morning a
week sharing his skills, here at Fredrick and Charles Beauty College with students. Nathan is a talented
barber who is confident and excited to share his skills, bridging the gap between the barber school
atmosphere and real-world barber shops.

Andrea Armas — Receptionist

Andrea comes to us with a background of working in the insurance industry. She graduated from
Fredrick and Charles Beauty College in 2021 and is a licensed Esthetician. While her main focus is
customer’s service and assisting students in providing supplies for clinic floor services, she is also
knowledgeable in Esthetics and can assist students in related practical services.

We are proud to mention that instructional staff are graduates of Fredrick and Charles Beauty
College. We are pleased with our instructional staff and glad they show faith in our training
enough to come back and teach at our college.

The staff of Fredrick and Charles Beauty College continues to attend various workshops, seminars and
hair shows to assist them in their job performance, so that they will be able to meet the growing needs of
students.

APPROVALS

This institution is approved by:
Approval to operate means compliance with minimum state standards and does not imply any
endorsement or recommendation by the bureau or the state.

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
P.O. Box 980818

West Sacramento, Ca. 95798-0818

(888) 370-7589, (919)574-8900

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
P.O. Box 944226

Sacramento, Ca. 94244-2260

(800) 952-5210

This institution is accredited by: Currently “Accreditation on Probation” due to low outcome
(placement)

National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences
3015 Colvin Street

Alexandria, VA 22314

(703) 600-7600



This institution is recognized as an eligible institution to participate in the Federal F1nanc1a1 Aid
programs by: e

The United States Department of Education

400 Maryland Ave., SW

Washington, D.C. 20202

Approval documentation may be reviewed upon request in the administrative office.

SCHEDULE AND CALENDAR

Classes start every ten (10) weeks. Graduation occurs following the required number of hours as
specified for in each training programs. The school is closed on Sunday, Monday, the 2" & 4™ Saturday
of the month and the following holidays: New Year’s Day, July 4", Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day,
Tuesday following President’s Day, Memorial Day, and Labor Day. Holy Days of all religious beliefs
are respected and allowed.

Class Schedules and hours

Tuesday through Friday- 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (32 hours per week)

We are open the 1% and 3™ Saturdays of the month to provide an opportunity for students to make up
hours missed or to accelerate a graduation day.

Barbering Cosmetology Esthetician & Manicuring
January 3, 2023 January 3, 2023 January 31, 2023 February 7, 2023
March 7, 2023 March 14, 2023 April 11, 2023 April 18,2023
May 16, 2023 May 23, 2023 June 20, 2023 June 27, 2023

July 25, 2023 August 1, 2023 August 29, 2023 September 6, 2023
October 3, 2023 October 10, 2023 November 7, 2023 November 14, 2023
December 12, 2023 December 19, 2023 January 17, 2024 January 24, 2024

Classes are subject to change, please call to confirm class dates.
All classes will be held at the school’s facility located at 831 F Street, Eureka, CA

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS

Enrollment at Fredrick and Charles Beauty College is open to career minded individuals who, in the
opinion of the college staff, would be able to benefit from and utilize the skills taught for gainful
employment. The school admits as regular students, high school graduates, holders of high school
graduation equivalency certificates (GED). The school does not accept ability-to-benefit students.

All applicants must be personally interviewed and complete all admission paperwork onsite. All courses
taught at Fredrick and Charles Beauty College is in English. Students must be able to speak, read, and
write English fluently. English abilities will be determined through the interview, application process.
We do not provide ESL instruction, if your native language is not English, you must provide proof of
English proficiency by passing the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL)ibt with a score of
90 or 75%.

Fredrick and Charles Beauty College do not admit students from other countries and does not provide
visa services.



Note: Students seeking enrollment in the teacher-training program must have a valid cosmetology
license. s =

Students are also required to attend orientation and have a tour of the school’s facilities six days before
the commencement of class.

This institution does not recruit students already enrolled or admitted to another school offering a similar
program of study.

This institution has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other college or
university.

Re-Entry Students — Upon re-enrolling at Fredrick and Charles Beauty College, the same procedures
will be followed as with new students, with the exceptions of tuition cost, hours and operations needed
and satisfactory/unsatisfactory progress.

Using Record of Withdrawal and Proof of Training, tuition will be prorated based on how many hours
and operations are needed to complete the course of instruction.

Students re-enrolling will resume the satisfactory/unsatisfactory progress they had upon withdrawal
from prior enrollment.

Students seeking re-entry into Fredrick and Charles Beauty College must make request in writing. If
student left program due to unsatisfactory grades or attendance, health reasons, family problems,
finances, etc. they must state in their letter of request what has changed since withdrawal that will make
a more successful enrollment.

Students, who owe a balance on their prior account with the school, must pay off that balance prior to
re-entry. Note: Hours and operations accumulated in prior enrollment will be added with current
enrollment upon the completion of course.

Transfer Students — students transferring from another California school will be required to provide a
Record of Withdrawal, which states hours of completion, practical and theoretical operations completed
and a Proof of Training document. These documents are provided by the last school attended.
Appropriate credit will be granted for prior training or experience upon review and verification of same
by school officials and the state board.

Students transferring from an Out of State school will be required to provide an Out of State Training
document or a supplemental letter from California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.
Appropriate credit will be granted for prior training or experience upon review and verification of same
by school officials and the state board. For more information about out of state transfers contract:

California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
P.O. Box 944226

Sacramento, California 94244-2260

(800) 952-5210

www.barbercosmo.ca.gov

Hours and operations accumulated from your prior enrollment will be added to current enrollment upon
the completion of your course.



HIGH SCHOOL DIPLOMA DOCUMENTATION

Prospective students must verify high school graduation by providing copy of their high school diploma
issued from a valid high school recognized by the state in which the high school resides. In the
circumstances where the validity of said diploma is questioned by the admissions office, the prospective
student will be required to provide official high school transcripts proving graduation date. If a high
school diploma cannot be verified by the above documentation the prospective student will not be
granted enrollment.

NON-DISCRIMINATION CLAUSE

No person will be denied admission, graduation or any other rights and privileges of the college due to
race, creed, color, religion, age, ethnic origin, or sex.

HEALTH AND PHYSICAL CONSIDERATIONS

Generally, the professional in the beauty field must be in good physical health since he-she will be
working in direct contact with patrons. In most aspects of the beauty field there is a great deal of
standing, walking, bending, and stretching for extended periods of time. A person must consider his-her
physical limitations in terms of making a career choice that involves extensive physical demands. We
promote the acceptance of students with physical limitations or disabilities if these students (their
parents or physician) believe they can fulfill the training demands. Access by persons in wheelchairs is
only available to the first floor. There is no elevator service to the second floor.

CREDIT EVALUATION

School officials and the State Board will grant appropriate credit for prior training or experience upon
review and verification of it. Note: Veteran students, all transcripts of prior training will be
obtained for evaluation.

BARBERING COURSE DESCRIPTION

The Barbering Course is a 1000 clock hour course, which takes approximately 32 weeks to complete.

This course is designed to educate the student in the fundamentals of barbering, which include the California
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology requirements in technical and practical operations, pursuant to Business and
Professions Code (B&P) section 7362.5@ and shall consist of not less than 1000 hours.

This course prepares individuals to shave and trim facial/neck hair and beards, cut and dress hair, perform
chemical services, give facials, and scalp massages, apply cosmetic treatments, and to prepare for licensure as a
professional barber. Includes instruction in facial shaving; beard and mustache shaping and trimming;
shampooing; hair cutting; hair styling; facial treatments and massage; chemical applications to include permanent
waving, chemical straightening, hair coloring and bleaching; health and safety; disinfection and sanitation;
anatomy and physiology; equipment operation; costumer service; shopr business practices.

The course consists of 7 weeks of intensive training in the freshmen department, which covers all units of
practical instruction. At completion of freshmen training students will participate in a formal evaluation
(freshmen boards), which consist of a practical examination to include all skill sets learned. Students passing said
examination will be promoted to the clinic floor, where they can anticipate assignment of patron services and
mannequin work, being supervised, and evaluated by instructors.
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Theory classes are present throughout training and students are tested on a weekly basis.

Throughout the completion of course study, students are formally evaluated by practical and written
examinations. This evaluation is designed to be much like the examination they will experience at the state
licensing facility.

The following requirements must be achieved before the successful completion of the barbering course at
Fredrick and Charles Beauty College.

e Pass freshmen and senior board examination with a minimum of 75%

e Completion of all state board requirements in theory and practical operations

e Completion of 1000 clock hours

e Completion of course with an academic standing of 75% or greater and attendance of 67% or greater.

Upon course completion, student will be provided a diploma, proof of training document and all necessary
paperwork to apply for the Barbering licensing examination, administered by the California Board of Barbering
and Cosmetology.

BARBERING COURSE — CIP CODE 12.0402

The barbering course is 1000 clock hours, 32 scheduled hours per week, and takes 32 weeks to complete.

The course includes the basic fundamentals of barbering, which include the State requirements in technical
instruction and practical operations. In addition, the student will learn professional ethics, personal hygiene,
salesmanship, and reception duties.

EDUCATIONAL GOALS

The barbering course of study is designed to prepare the student for the State Board Licensing Examination and
for profitable employment. The knowledge and skills will prepare the licensed barber for work as a barber, barber
shop manager, hair colorist, barber shop owner, product demonstrator, or styling publicist, etc.

BARBERING CURRICULUM

The curriculum for students enrolled in a barbering course shall consist of one thousand (1000) clock hours of
technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of barbering pursuant to Business and
Professions Code Section 7362.5 (a) (b).

For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom
participation, or examination: practical operation shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete
service on another person or on a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical
operation. Technical instruction and practical operations shall include the Following Hours:

~ (1)-100-Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety. The required subjects of instruction
for each subject matter as follows:
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Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions  Hours

Health and Safety (including instruction on hazardous

substances, chemical safety, safety data sheets, protection

from hazardous chemicals, preventing chemical injuries,

health and safety laws and regulations, and preventing

communicable diseases.) 75

Board Approved Health & Safety Course (B&P 7389(a)
(Including instruction on hazardous substances, basic labor
laws, and physical and sexual assault awareness.) 25

(2) 100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Disinfection and Sanitation. The
required subjects of instruction for each subject matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions ~ Operations

Disinfection and Sanitation (Including instruction on

disinfection procedures to protect the health and safety of 25 100
consumers as well as the technician and proper disinfection

procedures for equipment used in establishments.
Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire training

Period and must be performed before use of all instruments and

equipment.

(3) 400 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Styling. The required
subjects of instruction in Hair Styling shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical
instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions  Operations

Hairstying Services (Including instruction on arranging,
blow drying, cleansing, curling, dressing, hair analysis,
shampooing, waving, and nonchemical straightening, and
hair cutting, including the use of shears, razors,
electrical clippers, and trimmers, and thinning shears,

for wet or dry cutting.)

Hairstyling 35 100
Hair Cutting 40 225

(4) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Chemical Hair Services. The
required subjects of instruction in Chemical Hair Services shall be completed with the
minimum hour of technical instruction and practical operation for each subject-matter as
follows:

11



Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions ~ Operations

Chemical Hair Services (Including instruction on coloring,
straightening, waving, bleaching, hair analysis, predisposition,
and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, and the
use of dye removers.)

Coloring and Bleaching 40 50
Waving 20 50
Straightening 15 25

(5) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Shaving. The required subject of
instruction in Shaving shall be complete with the minimum hours of technical instruction and
practical operations for each subject matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions ~ Operations

Shaving and Trimming of the Beard (Including 100 100
instruction on preparing the client’s hair for shaving,

assessing the condition of the client’s skin, performing

shaving techniques, applying aftershave antiseptic

following facial services, and massaging the face and

rolling cream massages.

The board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communications skills that include
professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, client record keeping, basic tax information relating to booth renters,
independent contractors, employees and employers.

No credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing floors, walls,
woodwork, toilets, or windows.

Note: Pursuant to B&P 7362.5(b) the curriculum for a barbering course shall at a minimum, include technical and
practical instruction in the above areas.

BARBERING OBJECTIVES

Our objectives are threefold:

1. Consumer Protection — to protect the consumer from improper handling of implements, chemicals,
and sanitation.
2. Pass the State Licensing Examination — to impart the knowledge, skills and confidence necessary to
, complete the required exam. e .
3. Produce a Successful Barber Shop Employee, Manger, Owner — to let students know what shop

owners expect, such as dependability, professionalism, and completion of all operations in the most
efficient, concise manner possible while maintaining high quality and patron happiness.
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TEACHING AND LEARNING METHODS

The clock hour education is provided through a sequential set of learning steps which address specific tasks
necessary for state board preparation, graduation, and job entry level skills. Students work on clinic floor using
equipment, implements, and products that are comparable to those used in the industry. The course is presented
through comprehensive lesson plans which reflect effective educational methods. Subjects are presented by
means of interactive lecture, demonstration, cooperative learning, clinic, and student participation. Audio-visual
aids, internet access, guest speakers, field trips, projects, activities, and other related methods are used in the
course.

BARBERING EVALUATION PROCEDURES

In maintaining the highest standards possible at Fredrick and Charles Beauty College, written tests are
administered on a weekly basis and practical work monitored daily. Progress reports are given to students to
inform them of their practical and theoretical standing, attendance, citizenship, and progress in training.
Regardless of hours attended, progress reports are given at scheduled hours, not elapsed hours. Their reports are
given at 450, 900, and 1000 scheduled hours and according to contract.

Freshmen board is given during the last week of freshmen training, with a minimum of 150 hours, utilizing a
practical examination, followed by an instructor/student conference. If examination is completed successfully, the
student is promoted to the main clinic floor. If examination is not completed successfully, student is retained in
freshmen area until deficiencies are corrected.

Senior board is given between 800 and 1000 hours to evaluate student’s progress. A 300 multiple choice
examination and practical examination is administered to evaluate their readiness for the State Licensing
examination, followed by instructor/student conference, where their strengths and weaknesses are discussed.
Student must pass this examination to successfully graduate.

GRADING SYSTEM

Students are examined weekly on theory subjects. The following grading system is utilized to determine
satisfactory progress.

Students must maintain a “C” average on written tests (75% or above). Test scores are evaluated during
scheduled progress reports, at which time students must have maintained a 75% average, or they may be placed
on warning, probation or withdrawn. Students are responsible for all tests given, unless they have a medical
excuse or leave of absence for total class time of subject taught. If student is absent on day test is given, they
must ask instructor to make up test on first day back or the test score will be zero.

Students are also evaluated on practical and clinic work integrated with theory subjects on a weekly basis.
Grading is as follows:

95-100% = A
85-94% =B
75-84% =C
0-74% =F

Students must maintain a “C” average for successful progression and graduation.

BARBERING GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS

Upon the successful completion of all the State’s requirements in clock hours, technical instruction, practical
operations, and a GPA of 75% or higher, the student will be awarded a diploma certifying graduation. In addition,
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courses which require licensure for employment, students will be given a Proof of Training and all necessary
paperwork to apply for the State Licensing Examination.

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

A barber license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and
graduated from the barbering course and passes the State Licensing Examination for barbering with an overall
average of 75%

Qualifications to take the Board of Barbering and cosmetology (Board) exams for Barber.

Be at least 17 years of age.

Has completed the 10" grade in a public school or its equivalence.

Has committed no acts or crimes constitution grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480 of the
Business and Professions Code.

Has completed 1000 clock hours in a Board approved school.

Requirements on day of examination.
Valid government issued photo ID

COSMETOLOGY COURSE DESCRIPTION

The Cosmetology Course is a 1000 clock hour course, which takes approximately 32 weeks to complete.

This Course is designed to educate the student in the basic fundamentals of cosmetology - hair care, nail care and
skin care, which include the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology requirements in technical and
practical operations, pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.

This course prepares individuals to cut and style hair, perform chemical services, give facials (manual, electrical,
and chemical), perform nail and skin care services, apply cosmetic treatments and to prepare for licensure as a
professional cosmetologist. Includes instruction in shampooing; haircutting; hairstyling; facial treatments and
massage; makeup and eyelash application; hair removal waxing and tweezing; chemical applications to include
permanent waving, chemical straightening, hair coloring and bleaching; manicuring, pedicuring and artificial
nails; health-and safety; disinfection and sanitation; anatomy and physiology; equipment operation; customer
consultation and service; salon business practices.

The course consists of 8 weeks of intensive training in the freshmen department, which covers all units of
practical instruction. At the completion of freshmen training students will participate in a formal evaluation
(freshmen boards), which consist of a practical examination to include all skill sets learned. Students passing said
examination will be promoted to the clinic floor, where they can anticipate assignment of patron services and
mannequin work, being supervised, and evaluated by instructors.

Theory classes are present throughout training and students are tested on a weekly basis.

Throughout the completion of course study, student is formally evaluated by practical and written examinations.
This evaluation is designed to be much like the examination they will experience at the state licensing facility.

The following requirements must be achieved before the successful completion of the cosmetology course at
Fredrick and Charles Beauty College.

e Pass board examinations with a minimum of 75%
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e Completion of all state board requirements in theory and plactlcal operations
e Completion of 1000 clock hours '
e Completion of course with an academic standing of 75% or greater and attendance of 67% or greater.

Upon course completion, student will be provided a diploma, proof of training document and all necessary
paperwork to apply for the Cosmetologist licensing examination, administered by the California Board of
Barbering and Cosmetology.

COSMETOLOGY COURSE - CIP. CODE 12.0401

The cosmetology course is 1000 clock hours, 32 scheduled hours per week, and takes 32 weeks to complete.

The course includes the basic fundamentals of cosmetology, which include the State requirements in technical
instruction and practical operations. In addition, the student will learn professional ethics, personal hygiene,
salesmanship, and reception duties.

EDUCATIONAL GOALS

The cosmetology course of study is designed to prepare the student for the State Board Licensing Examination
and for profitable employment. The knowledge and skills will prepare the licensed cosmetologist for work as a
hairdresser, salon manager, hair colorist, salon owner, product demonstrator, or styling publicist, etc.

COSMETOLOGY CURRICULUM

The curriculum for students enrolled in a cosmetologist course shall consist of one thousand (1000) clock hours of
technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology pursuant to
Business and Professions Code (B&P) section 7362.5(a).

For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom
participation, or examination: practical operation shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete
service on another person or on a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical
operation. Technical and practical training shall include the following hours and/or operations:

(1) 100 Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety The requned subjects of instruction for each
subject matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions ~ Operations

Health and Safety (including instruction on hazardous

substances, chemical safety, safety data sheets, protection

from hazardous chemicals, preventing chemical injuries,

health and safety laws and regulations, and preventing
communicable diseases.) 75

Board Approved Health & Safety Course (B&P 7389(a)
(Including instruction on hazardous substances, basic labor
laws, and physical and sexual assault awareness.) 25

(2) 100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Disinfection and Sanitation. The required
subjects of instruction for each subject matter as follows:
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Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions ~ Operations

Disinfection and Sanitation (Including instruction on

disinfection procedures to protect the health and safety of 25 100
consumers as well as the technician and proper disinfection

procedures for equipment used in establishments.

Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire training
Period and must be performed before use of all instruments and
equipment.

(3) 300 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Styling. The required subjects of
instruction in Hair Styling shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and
practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours  Practical
Instructions Operations
Hairstyling Services (Including instruction on arranging,
blow drying, cleansing, curling, dressing, hair analysis,
shampooing, waving, and nonchemical straightening, and
hair cutting, including the use of shears, razors,
electrical clippers, and trimmers, and thinning shears,
for wet or dry cutting.)
Hairstyling 35 100
Hair Cutting 40 125

(4) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Chemical Hair Services. The required
subjects of instruction in Chemical Hair Services shall be completed with the minimum hour of
technical instruction and practical operation for each subject-matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions Operations

Chemical Hair Services (Including instruction on coloring,
straightening, waving, bleaching, hair analysis, predisposition,
and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, and the
use of dye removers.)

Coloring and Bleaching 40 50
‘Waving 20 50
Straightening 15 25

(5) 150 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Skin Care. The required subject of
instruction in Skin Care shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and
practical operations for each subject matter as follows:
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Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours  Practical
Instructions Operations

Skin Care (Including instruction on chemical and manual 50 100
facials and massaging, stimulating, exfoliating, cleansing,

or beautifying the face, scalp, neck, or body by the use of

hands, esthetic devices, cosmetic products, antiseptics,

lotions, tonics, or creams that do not result in the ablation

or destruction of the live tissue.)

(6) 50 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Removal and Lash and Brow
Beautification. The required subject of instruction in Hair Removal and Lash and Brow Beautification
shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each
subject matter as follows:

" Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours  Practical
Instructions Operations
Hair Removal' and Lash and Brow Beautification 25 50

(Including instruction on tinting and perming eyelashes and
brows and applying eyelashes to any person and includes
removing superfluous hair from the body of any person by
use of depilatories, tweezers, sugaring, nonprescription
chemicals, or waxing, or by the use of devices and appliances
of any kind or description, except by the use of lasers or light
waves, which are commonly known as rays.)

(7) 100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Manicuring and Pedicuring. The required
subjects of instruction in Manicuring and Pedicuring shall be completed with the minimum hours of
technical instruction and practical operation for each subject matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours  Practical
Instructions Operations
Manicure and Pedicure (Including instruction on water
and oil manicures, hand and arm massage, foot, and ankle
massage, nail analysis, and artificial nail services, including,
but not limited to, acrylic, liquid, and powder brush-ons, dip,
tips, wraps, and repairs)
Manicuring and Pedicuring 10 30
Nail Enhancements 15 70

The board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communications skills that include
professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service record cards.

No credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing floors, walls,
woodwork, toilets, or windows.

Note: Pursuant to Business and Professions Code (B&P) section 7362.5© the curriculum for a cosmetology
course shall, at a minimum, include technical and practical instruction in the above areas
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COSMETOLOGY OBJECTIVES

Our objectives are threefold:
1. Consumer Protection — to protect the consumer from improper handling of implements, chemicals and

sanitation.

2. Pass the State Licensing Examination — to impart the knowledge, skills and confidence necessary to
complete the required exam.

3. Produce a Successful Salon Employee, Manger, Owner — to let students know what shop owners expect,
such as dependability, professionalism and completion of all operations in the most efficient, concise
manner possible while maintaining high quality and patron happiness.

TEACHING AND LEARNING METHODS

The clock hour education is provided through a sequential set of learning steps which address specific tasks
necessary for state board preparation, graduation, and job entry level skills. Students work on clinic floor using
equipment, implements, and products that are comparable to those used in the industry. The course is presented
through comprehensive lesson plans which reflect effective educational methods. Subjects are presented by
means of interactive lecture, demonstration, cooperative learning, clinic, and student participation. Audio-visual
aids, internet access, guest speakers, field trips, projects, activities, and other related methods are used in the

course.
COSMETOLOGY EVALUATION PROCEDURES

In maintaining the highest standards possible at Fredrick and Charles Beauty College, written tests are
administered on a weekly basis and practical work monitored daily. Progress reports are given to students to
inform them of their practical and theoretical standing, attendance, citizenship and progress in training.
Regardless of hours attended, progress reports are given at scheduled hours, not elapsed hours. These reports are
given at 450, 900, and 1000 scheduled hours and according to contract.

Freshmen students are evaluated on their understanding of theory classes through weekly written testing, and
practical operations are evaluated utilizing state board requirements and industry standards at completion of
lecture, demonstration, and practice of each subject. These evaluations are critical to establish students
understanding and efficiency prior to advancement to clinic floor. Students not meeting minimum standards on
any given subject will not receive patron assignment in that subject until they can successfully pass evaluation.
The freshman training is 8 consecutive weeks and students must have a minimum of 160 hours before being
promoted to clinic floor.

Senior board is given between 800 and 1000 hours to evaluate student’s progress. A 300 multiple choice
examination and practical examination is administered to evaluate their readiness for the State Licensing
examination, followed by instructor/student conference, where their strengths and weaknesses are discussed.
Student must pass this examination to successfully graduate.

GRADING SYSTEM

Students are examined weekly on theory subjects. The following grading system is utilized to determine
satisfactory progress.

Students must maintain a “C” average on written tests (75% or above). Test scores are evaluated during
scheduled progress reports, at which time students must have maintained a 75% average, or they may be placed
on warning, probation or withdrawn. Students are responsible for all tests given unless they have a medical
excuse or leave of absence for total class time of subject taught. If student is absent on day test is given, they
must ask instructor to make up test on first day back or the test score will be zero.
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Students are also evaluated on practical and clinic work integrated with theory subjects on a weekly basis.
Grading is as follows:

95-100% = A
85-94% =B
75-84% =C
0-74% =F

Students must maintain a “C” average for successful progression and graduation.

COSMETOLOGY GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS

Upon the successful completion of all the State’s requirements in clock hours, technical instruction, practical
operations, and a GPA of 75% or higher, the student will be awarded a diploma certifying graduation. In addition,
courses which require licensure for employment, students will be given a Proof of Training and all necessary
paperwork to apply for the State Licensing Examination.

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

A cosrﬁétblbgy license will be granted by the State of California orily after the student has successfully completed
and graduated from the cosmetology course and passes the State Licensing Examination for cosmetology with an
overall average of 75%

Qualifications to take the Board of Barbering and cosmetology (Board) exams for Cosmetologist.
Be at least 17 years of age.

Has completed the 10" grade in a public school or its equivalence.

Has committed no acts or crimes constitution grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480 of the
Business and Professions Code.

Has completed 1000 clock hours in a Board approved school.

Requirements on day of examination.
Valid government issued photo ID

ESTHETICIAN COURSE - CIP CODE 12.0409

The Esthetician course is 600-clock hours, 32 scheduled hours per week and, takes 19 weeks to

complete.
This course includes the basic skills of skin care, which includes the state’s requirements in technical

instruction and practical operations. In addition, the student will learn professional ethics, personal
hygiene, salesmanship, and reception duties.

EDUCATIONAL GOALS

The esthetician course of study is designed to prepare the student for the State Licensing Examination
and for profitable employment. The knowledge and skills will prepare the licensed Esthetician for work
as a skin care specialist or product demonstrator.
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ESTHETICIAN COURSE CURRICULUM

The curriculum for students enrolled in the esthetician course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock
hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of an esthetician, pursuant
to Section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. For the purpose of this section, technical
instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination:
practical operation shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another
person or on a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical
operation. Technical instruction and practical training shall include the following hours:

(1) 350 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Facials. The required subject of
instruction in Facials shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and
practical operations for each subject matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions  Operations

Manual, Electrical, Chemical Facials (Shall include
Manual Facials including cleansing, scientific manipulations,
packs and Masks. Facial Electrical include the use of
electrical modalities, dermal lights and electrical

apparatus, for facials and skin care purposes; however,
machines capable of producing an electrical current shall

not be used to stimulate so as to contract, or for the

purpose of contracting the muscles of the body or face.
Facial Chemical include chemical skin peels,

packs, masks, and scrubs. Training shall emphasize that

only the non-living, uppermost layers of facial skin,

known as the epidermis, may be removed, and only for

the purpose of beautification. All practical operations

must be performed in accordance with Section 992
regarding skin peeling) + oo e =L 140

Preparation (Shall include Client consultation, intake

procedures, contraindications, professionalism, client

record keeping, pre- and post-operative care, CPR/AED,

salon and spa skills.) 15

(2) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety. The required subjects of instruction in
Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum number of hours of technical instruction
for each subject-matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum

Theory Hours Practical
Instructions ~ Operations

The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and The Board’s
Rules and Regulations 10
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Minimum
Theory Hours
Instructions

Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances (Shall

include training in chemicals and health in establishments,
material safety data sheets, protection from hazardous
chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, health and
safety laws and agencies, ergonomics, and communicable
diseases, including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B. Chemical
composition and the purpose of cosmetic and skin care
preparations. Elementary chemical make-up, chemical skin
peels, physical and chemical changes of matter. Electrical
current, principles of operating electrical devices, and

the various safety precaution used when operating
electrical equipment.) ' 40

Disinfection and Sanitation (Shall include procedures to
protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as

the technician. Proper disinfection procedures. Disinfection

should be emphasized throughout the entire training period

and must be performed before use of all instruments and

equipment) 10

Anatomy and Physiology (Shall include Human Anatomy,
Human Physiology, Bacteriology, skin analysis and conditions.) 15

Minimum
Practical
Operations

140

(3) 50 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Removal and Make-up. The
required subject of instruction in Hair Removal shall be completed with the minimum hours of
technical instruction and practical operations for each subject matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum
+Theory Hours Practical
Instructions ~ Operations

Eyebrow Beautification (Shall include Eyebrow
shaping and hair removal techniques, hair analysis,
waxing, tweezing, manual and electrical depilatories.) 25

Make-up (Shall include skin analysis, basic and
corrective application, application of false eyelashes) 20

50

40

The board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communications skills that include
professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service records, basic tax
information relating to booth renters, independent contractors, employees and employers.

No credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing

floors, walls, woodwork, toilets, or windows.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312 7362 and 7364, Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 7316 © (1), 7324 (d) (1), 7362, 7364 and 7389, Business and Profession Code.
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ESTHETICIAN OBJECTIVES

Our objectives and threefold:

1. Consumer Protection — to protect the consumer from improper handling of implements,
chemicals, and sanitation.

2. Pass the State Licensing Examination — to impart the knowledge, skills, and confidence
necessary to complete the required examination.

3. Produce a Successful Salon Employee, Manager, Owner — to let students know what shop
owners expect, such as dependability, professionalism, and completion of all operations in
the most efficient, concise manner possible while maintaining high quality and patron
happiness. '

ESTHETICIAN EVALUATION PROCEDURES

In maintaining the highest standards possible at Fredrick and Charles Beauty College, written tests are
administered on a weekly basis and practical work monitored daily. Progress reports are given to
students to inform them of their practical and theoretical standing, attendance, citizenship, and progress
in training. Regardless of hours attended, progress reports are given at scheduled hours not elapsed
hours. These reports are given at 300, 450 and 600 scheduled hours and according to contract.

Freshmen students are evaluated on their understanding of theory classes through weekly written testing,
and practical operations are evaluated utilizing state board requirements and industry standards at
completion of lecture, demonstration, and practice of each subject. These evaluations are critical to
establish students understanding and efficiency prior to advancement to clinic floor. Students not
meeting minimum standards on any given subject will not receive patron assignment in that subject until
they can successfully pass evaluation. The freshman training is 2 consecutive weeks and students must
have a minimum of 60 hours before being promoted to clinic floor.

Senior board is given between 350-450 hours to evaluate student’s progress. A 250 multiple choice
examination and practical examination is administered to evaluate their readiness for the State Licensing
Examination, followed by instructor/student conference, where their strengths and weaknesses are
discussed. Students must be successful with this examination to graduate from course.

ESTHETICIAN GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS

Upon the successful completion of all the State’s requirements in clock hours, technical instruction,
practical operations, and a GPA of 75% or higher, the student will be awarded a diploma certifying
graduation. In addition, courses which require licensure for employment, students will be given a Proof
of Training and all necessary paperwork to apply for the State Licensing Examination.

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

An esthetician license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully
completed and graduated from the esthetician course and passes both the written and practical State
Licensing Examination for esthetician with 75%.
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Qualifications to take the Board of Barbering and cosmetology (Board) exams for Esthetician.
Be at least 17 years of age.

Has completed the 10" grade in a public school or its equivalence.

Has committed no acts or crimes constitution grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480 of the
Business and Professions Code.

Has completed 600 clock hours in a Board approved school.

Requirements on day of examination.
Valid government issued photo ID

MANICURING COURSE — CIP CODE 12.0410

The manicuring course is 400 clock hours, 32 scheduled hours per week, and takes approximately 13
weeks to complete.

The short intensive course includes technical instruction and practical operations required by the Board
of Barbering and Cosmetology. This course includes the art and science of manicuring and pedicuring
as well as the latest techniques in artificial nails. In addition, the student will be taught professional
ethics, salesmanship and record keeping.

EDUCATIONAL GOALS

The manicuring course is designed to prepare the student for the State Licensing Examination and for
profitable employment as a manicure specialist, product demonstrator or nail artist.

MANICURING CURRICULUM

The curriculum for students enrolled in a nail care course shall consist of four hundred (400) clock hours
of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a manicurist, pursuant to
Section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.

For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture,
classroom participation, or examination: Practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the
student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the
time it takes to perform a practical operation. Technical instruction and practical training shall include
the following hours:

(1) 300 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Nail Care. The required subjects of
instruction in Nail Care shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction and
practical operations for each subject matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum
- Theory Hours - -Practical
Instructions ~ Operations
Manicuring and Pedicuring (Shall include water and oil
manicure, including hand and arm massage, complete
pedicure including foot and ankle massage and nail analysis.) 25 60
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Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions ~ Operations

Artificial Nails and Wraps (Artificial nails including liquid,
gel and powder brush-on, nail tips and nail wraps and
repairs and nail analysis.) 35 180

(2) 100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Health and Safety. The required
subjects of instruction in Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum number of
hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and The Board’s
Rules and Regulations 10

Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances (Shall

include Chemistry pertaining to the procedures of a

manicurist including the chemical composition and

purpose of nail care preparations. Health and Safety

Hazardous Substances including training in chemicals

and health in establishments material safety data sheets,

protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing

chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies,

ergonomics, and communicable diseases, including

HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B) 25

Disinfection and Sanitation (Shall include procedures to

protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as

the technician. The ten required minimum operations

shall entail performing all necessary functions for

disinfecting instruments and equipment as specified in

Section 979 and 980. Disinfection should be emphasized

throughout the entire training period and must be performed -

before use of all instruments and equipment, with special

attention given to pedicure foot spa and basin disinfection

procedures detailed in Sections 980.1, 980.02 and 980.3) 20 35

Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology (Shall include
Bacteriology, anatomy and physiology, and nail analysis
and conditions.) 10

The board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communications skills that include
professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, client service record cards, basic tax
responsibilities related to independent contractors, booth renters, employees, and employers.

No credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing
floors, walls, woodwork, toilets, or windows.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312 7362 and 7365, Business and Professions Code. Reference:
Sections 7316 © (2), 7326 (d) (1), 7362, 7365 and 7389, Business and Profession Code.
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MANICURING OBJECTIVES

Our objectives and threefold:

1. Consumer Protection — to protect the consumer from improper handling of implements,
chemicals, and sanitation.

2. Pass the State Licensing Examination — to impart the knowledge, skills, and confidence
necessary to complete the required examination.

3. Produce a Successful Salon Employee, Manager, Owner — to let students know what shop
owners expect, such as dependability, professionalism, and completion of all operations in
the most efficient, concise manner possible while maintaining high quality and patron
happiness.

MANICURING EVALUATION PROCEDURES

In maintaining the highest standards possible at Fredrick and Charles Beauty College, written tests are
administered on a weekly basis and practical work monitored daily. Progress reports are given to
students to inform them of their practical and theoretical standing, attendance, and citizenship. Progress
reports are given at 200, 300 and 400 scheduled hours and according to contract.

Freshmen students are evaluated on their understanding of theory classes through weekly written testing,
and practical operations are evaluated utilizing state board requirements and industry standards at
completion of lecture, demonstration, and practice of each subject. These evaluations are critical to
establish students understanding and efficiency prior to advancement to clinic floor. Students not
meeting minimum standards on any given subject will not receive patron assignment in that subject until
they can successfully pass evaluation. The freshman training is 2 consecutive weeks and students must
have a minimum of 40 hours before being promoted to clinic floor

Senior board is given between 300 and 400 hours to evaluate student’s progress. A 200 multiple choice
examination and practical examination is administered to evaluate their readiness for the State Licensing
Examination, followed by instructor/student conference, where their strengths and weaknesses are
discussed. Students must pass this examination to successfully graduate from course.

MANICURING GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS

Upon the successful completion of all the State’s requirements in clock hours, technical instruction,
practical operations, and a GPA of 75% or higher, the student will be awarded a diploma certifying
graduation. In addition, courses which require licensure for employment, students will be given a Proof
of Training and all necessary paperwork to apply for the State Licensing Examination.

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

A manicuring license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully
completed and graduated from the manicuring course and passes both the written and practical State
Licensing Examination for manicuring with 75%.
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Qualifications to take the Board of Barbering and cosmetology (Board) exams for Manicurist.
Be at least 17 years of age.

Has completed the 10" grade in a public school or its equivalence.

Has committed no acts or crimes constitution grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480 of the
Business and Professions Code.

Has completed 400 clock hours in a Board approved school.

Requirements on day of examination.
Valid government issued photo ID

TEACHER TRAINING COURSE — CIP CODE 12.0413

The teacher-training course is 600 clock hours, 32 scheduled hours per week, and takes 19 weeks to
complete.

This program is for the licensed cosmetologist who wishes to become a cosmetology instructor. The
teacher-training curriculum shall consist of technical instruction and practical operations in teaching the
art of cosmetology. In addition, the teacher-training program will include record keeping and interaction
with students, staff and patrons.

EDUCATIONAL GOALS

The teacher-training course is designed to prepare the student for profitable employment. Well-trained
teachers of cosmetology are always in demand. Career opportunities exist in public and private
colleges, state institutions, etc.

TEACHER TRAINING CURRICULUM

The curriculum for students enrolled in a teacher training course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock
hours of technical instruction and practical operations in teaching the art of cosmetology.

Technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or
examination: Practical operation shall mean the actual performance by the teacher training student of
teaching techniques and principles. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical
operation.

Technical instruction and practical training shall include the following hours:

(1) 10 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training Laws and Regulations. The required
subjects of instruction in laws and regulations shall be completed with the minimum hours of
technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:

Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions - - Operations

The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and The Board’s
Rules and Regulations 10

(2) 350 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Teaching Techniques, The required
subjects of instruction in teaching techniques shall be completed with the minimum hours of
technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows:
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Minimum Minimum
Theory Hours Practical
Instructions ~ Operations

Instructional Techniques: method of instruction; lecture;

demonstration; performance; communication skills;

instructional aids; and use of questions to promote

learning. 40

Organization Techniques: 4 step teaching method;
performance objectives; and learning domains, etc. 30 50

Lesson Planning: Subject; title; outlines; development;
and visual aids, etc. 60 50

Techniques of Evaluation: purpose of tests; types of
test; test administration; scoring; and grading. 10

(3) 240 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Teaching and Supervising Students.
The required subjects of instruction in Teaching and Supervising Students shall be completed
with the minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter
as follows:

Conducting Classroom and technical instruction and

demonstrations for three (3) or more students on all practices

of cosmetology, including the Barbering and Cosmetology

act and Rules and Regulations (Shall be conducted under

supervision of licensed instructor) 140

Supervising and Training of students while they are
practicing the art of cosmetology on a live person or
mannequin in a classroom or laboratory 100

A student enrolled in the six hundred (600) hour instructor training course may not engage in the school
in a complete service connected with any practice or combination of practices of cosmetology upon a
patron who is paying for services or materials and shall not be permitted to enroll in a second course
except following examination failure after the preceding course.

No credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing
floors wall, woodwork, toilets, or windows.

TEACHER TRAINING OBJECTIVES

Our objectives are twofold:

L. Consumer Protection — To protect the consumer from improper handling of implements,
chemicals, and sanitation.

2. Produce a Successful Beauty Salon Manager, Owner, or Instructor — to let teacher trainee
know what school owners expect, such as dependability, professionalism, and completion of
all operations in the most efficient, concise manner possible while maintaining high quality
plus patron and student happiness.
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TEACHER TRAINING EVALUATION PROCEDURE

Teacher training students are monitored daily, both in practical and theory lessons by licensed
instructors. A written examination will be given to the student at the end of each week covering the
materials studied in that week. Students are required to maintain a 75% average on written tests.

Progress reports are given to the teacher training student to inform them of their practical and theoretical
standing, attendance citizenship, and progress in training. Regardless of attendance progress reports are
given at scheduled hours, not elapsed hours. There reports are given at 300, 450 and 600 scheduled
hours and according to contract.

During the teacher training program, the student will be critiqued by instructors and students to evaluate
their progress. These evaluation forms are those found in the syllabus for the training of teachers.

Before the successful completion of the teacher training program the student will be required to pass a
practical and written mock board, write a short essay on (1) Why I Want to be a Cosmetology Instructor:
(2) My Plans and Goals After Completing the Teacher Training Course.

TEACHER TRAINING GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS

Upon the successful completion of all the requirements in clock hours, technical instruction, practical
operations, and a GPA of 75% or higher, the student will be awarded a diploma certifying graduation. In
addition, courses which require licensure for employment, students will be given a Proof of Training and
all necessary paperwork to apply for the State Licensing Examination.

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

The California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology does not license Instructors. Therefore, no
licensing required.
e JOB PLACEMENT

Although Fredrick and Charles Beauty College do not guarantee job placement of our graduates, we
always offer placement assistance to our students at no additional cost. Salons on a regular basis contact
Fredrick and Charles Beauty College, seeking graduates for employment. Information is taken from
salon and posted on the school’s bulletin board. School personnel also contact graduates from student
roster who have not found employment with this information.

GRADING SYSTEM

Students are examined weekly on theory subjects. The following grading system is utilized to determine
satisfactory progress. »

Students must maintain a “C” average on written tests (75% or above). Test scores are evaluated during
scheduled progress reports, at which time students must have maintained a 75% average, or they may be
placed on warning, probation or withdrawn. Students are responsible for all tests given unless they have
a medical excuse or leave of absence for total class time of subject taught. If student is absent on day
test is given, they must ask instructor to make up test on first day back or the test score will be
zero.
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Students are also evaluated on practical and clinic work integrated with theory subjects on a weekly
basis. Grading is as follows:

95-100% = A
85-94% =B
75-84% =C
0-74% =F

Students must maintain a “C” average for successful progression and graduation.
ADVISING

All students are advised individually as outline in each course’s evaluation procedures, (Barbering 450,
900 and 1000 scheduled hours), (Cosmetology 450, 900 and 1000 schedule hours), (Manicuring 200,
300 and 400 scheduled hours), (Esthetician and Teacher Training 300, 450 and 600 scheduled hours).
During these advising sessions, the student’s progress in course (academic and attendance), career
opportunities and placement program are dlscussed Students may request additional advising sessions
at any time.

CONDUCT AND ATTENDANCE POLICIES

Students are expected to conduct themselves as adult professionals at all times. Students must abide by
all college rules and regulations. Unexcused absences, habitual tardiness, habitual illness, use of audible
abusive language, failure to participate in classroom projects, disrupting classes, failure to make tuition
payments, failure to abide with dress code, failure to secure necessary books and supplies for homework
or classroom studies or stealing from school or other students are all causes for suspension or
termination.

EXCUSED ABSENCE- Absences will be considered as excused under the following circumstances:
Documented illness, death, or births in immediate family. Pre-arranged absences substantiated in
writing at least one week prior to absence and at the discretion of the school director will be considered.

UNEXCUSED ABSENCE —All other absences will be considered unexcused. Students must call in
and state reason for which they are not in attendance by 9:00 a.m. or the absence will be unexcused.

VETERANS — All students receiving education benefits from Veterans Administration must report all
excused, unexcused or leave of absence on their monthly or quarterly certification card of attendance.

CLASS CUTS - Class cuts are whenever a student does not come to school and does not call in by 9:00
a.m., or student leaves unexcused during the day. Class cuts are considered as an unexcused absence.

STUDENT TIME TICKETS — The student daily record of applied effort is used to keep track of
student attendance, technical instruction, and practical operations daily. Time tickets must be signed
daily to ensure that proper credit has been given for that day. Students may not take their time tickets
out to the building; they should be kept in folder at front desk while student is out of building or at the
student’s station during the day. : i

TIME PUNCHES - Students must clock in and out utilizing the fingerprint time clock located in
reception area. Students must properly clock in or out anytime they enter or leave the building and
during lunch periods. Student failing to do so are subject to suspension. Students are not allowed to
clock out during contracted time unless they can provide a valid excuse (ie. doctor apt, court date or
emergency).
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TARDINESS -Tardy is anytime a student does not punch in by 8:30 a.m. Those students arriving after
8:30 a.m. will not be-allowed into theory class and will not be allowed to clock in until 9:30 am

LEAVE OF ABSENCE POLICY

For personal or medical reasons, the student may request, in writing, a leave of absence from school.

The student must provide a written request for a Leave of Absence in advance unless circumstances
prevent the student from doing so. A Leave of absence may be granted to a student who did not provide
request prior to the LOA due to unforeseen circumstance, if the institution collects the request from the
student at a later date with proper documentation, and if the institution documents the reason for its
decision. In this circumstance the LOA would begin the first date the student was unable to attend
classes.

Written request must include reason for the student’s request and include the student’s signature. The
school administrator in writing must approve and be reasonably certain that the student will return from
the approved leave of absence.

A leave of absence may be given for a maximum of 60 calendar days. Extension, or additional LOA
maybe requested due to extenuating circumstance such as (death, illness in family, pregnancy,
pandemic), up to the discretion of the administrator, and not to exceed a total of 180 days. A
student will not be granted a LOA if the LOA, together with any additional LOA previously granted
exceeds a total of 180 calendar days in any 12-month period.

Upon returning from a leave of absence, the student will resume the satisfactory/unsatisfactory progress
status they had before they left. The leave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and
maximum time frame by the same number of days taken in the leave of absence and will be documented
by all parties signing an addendum to the enrollment agreement which indicates new contract period.

There will be no additional charges as result of the student’s leave of absence and no refund calculation
will be performed as student is not considered as being withdrawn.

A student will be withdrawn for taking an unapproved LOA or for not returning by the expiration of an
approved LOA, in this case the students withdrawal date for the purposes of calculating a refund will be
the student’s last day of attendance.

A student Must follow this policy in requesting a Leave of Absence.

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY

In order to maintain satisfactory academic progress, the following academic and attendance minimum
apply to all students enrolled at this institution and is provided to applicants prior to signing enrollment
agreement.

Students must maintain an academic average of 75% or C on written test scores, formal practical
evaluations, and mannequin work.

Students must maintain attendance of at least 67% of hours scheduled and based on cumulative
hours completed. (Barbering 450, 900 and 1000 scheduled hours), (Cosmetology 450, 900 and
1000 schedule hours), (Manicuring 200, 300 and 400 scheduled hours), (Esthetician and Teacher
Training 300, 450 and 600 scheduled hours).
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Students who meet the minimum requirements for attendance and academic performance at scheduled
evaluations are considered to be making satisfactory academic progress until the next scheduled
evaluation.

ACADEMIC/ATTENDANCE PROGRESS EVALUATIONS- Students receive progress reports
throughout their course as outlined in the individual course evaluation procedures. These written
progress reports evaluate the students’ attendance and academic standing, units of instruction in theory
and practical work accomplished, and comments.

Students are given these progress reports according to scheduled hours as outlined in contract, and as
follows:

Barbering 450, 900 and 1000 scheduled hours
Cosmetology 450, 900 and 1000 scheduled hours
Manicuring - 200, 300 and 400 scheduled hours
Esthetician 300, 450 and 600 scheduled hours
Teacher Training 300, 450 and 600 scheduled hours

Students not meeting minimum requirement for satisfactory progress at time of scheduled evaluations
will be placed on warning, probation or terminated from training.

Academic Elements — Students are examined weekly on theory subjects. Practical work is integrated
with theory subjects, assigned, and evaluated on a weekly basis. Students are also given formal
evaluation, utilizing a board like environment, which evaluates all units of practical operation and
technical instruction for proficiency and performance. Grading is as follows:

95-100%=A
85-94% =B
75-84% =C
0 -74% =F

Attendance Elements — The school’s policy requires that as a minimum the student maintain 67%
attendance of cumulative hours offered/scheduled. Leave of absences are excluded and will extend the
student’s contract period and maximum time fame by the same number of days taken in the leave of
absence. However, students are required to complete the course with one and one-half times the course
length. Course length is defined as the period of time required to complete the course based on the
enrollment status and allowing for no absences. Attendance is monitored daily, and evaluations are
given according to individual course evaluation periods.

Course Length — measured in clock hours and corresponding academic year (Academic year = 900
clock hours).

Barbering — 1000 clock hours — Less than 2 academic years
Cosmetology — 1000 clock hours -Less than 2 academic years
Esthetician — 600 clock hours — Less than 1 academic year
Manicuring — 400 clock hours — Less than 1 academic year
Teacher Training — 600 clock hours — Less than 1 academic year

DROP POLICY- Any student absent from school for two (2) consecutive weeks (14) calendar days,
will be dropped.
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MAXIMUM TIME FRAME FOR COURSE COMPLETION- Students are required to complete the
course within one and one-half times the course length. Course length is defined as that period of time
required to complete the course based on the enrollment status and allowing for no absences, excluding
a leave of absence. The leave of absence will extend the student’s maximum time frame by the same
number of days taken in the leave of absence. Note: Veteran students, VA benefits are paid for the
approved program length only.

Maximum time frame for course completion in scheduled clock hours as follows:

Barbering — 1500 scheduled hours
Cosmetology — 1500 scheduled hours
Esthetician — 900 scheduled hours
Manicuring — 600 scheduled hours
Teacher Training — 900 scheduled hours

The maximum time allowed for transfer students who need less than the full course requirements or
part-time students will be determined based on 67% of the scheduled contracted hours

Students who have not completed the course within the maximum timeframe may continue as a student
at the institution on a cash pay basis.

DETERMINATION OF STATUS- Students will be determined to be making satisfactory progress if
the minimum conditions for academic and attendance have been met. Those students making
satisfactory progress and are otherwise eligible, will be eligible to receive Title IV funds.

Students who do not achieve minimum conditions for academic and attendance for satisfactory progress
is no longer eligible for Title IV, unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal of the
determination that has resulted in the status of probation.

Students are notified at their scheduled evaluations if any evaluation impacts the student’s eligibility for
financial aid.

WARNING - Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress are
placed on warning and are considered to be making satisfactory academic progress during the warning
period. The student will be advised in writing on actions required to attain satisfactory academic
progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the warning period, the student has still not met both the
attendance and academic requirements, he/she may be placed on probation or terminated and, if
applicable, students may be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV funds.

PROBATION - Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress
after the warning period will be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory academic
progress during the probation period, if the student appeals the decision, and prevails upon appeal.
Additionally, only students who have the ability to meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy
standards by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation. If student is ineligible for
probation, student will be terminated from the program. Students placed on an academic plan must be
able to meet requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the next evaluation period.
Students who are progressing according to their specific academic plan will be considered making
Satisfactory Academic Progress. The student will be advised in writing of the actions required to attain
satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the probation period, the student
has still not meet both attendance and academic requirements required for satisfactory academic
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progress or by the academic plan, he/she will be determined as NOT making satisfactory academic
progress and if applicable, students will not be deemed eligible to receive Title TV funds and will be
terminated. Note: Veteran students, cosmetology students who have not achieved the minimum
academic or attendance standard by the end of the probation period will have their VA benefits
terminated. Also, VA students enrolled in shorter programs (manicuring, esthetician, and teacher
training) will only be allowed 1 probationary period Therefore, student must achieve SAP at end
of warning period, or their VA benefits will be terminated.

RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS - Students may re-
establishment satisfactory academic progress and Title IV aid, as applicable, by meeting minimum
attendance and academic requirement by the end of the probation period.

INTERRUPTION OF TRAINING - Students who interrupt their training due to a leave of absence or
withdrawal will resume their same status of satisfactory or unsatisfactory progress upon re-entering
school.

COURSE INCOMPLETE, REPETITIONS AND NON-CREDIT REMEDIAL COURSES- this
institution has no policy regarding these situations, as they do not apply to cosmetology schools.

APPEAL PROCEDURES- Students who wish to appeal the determination that they are not
maintaining satisfactory academic progress must submit a written appeal on the designated form to the
school’s administrator within ten (10) calendar days, with supporting documentation of the reasons of
why the determination should be reversed. This information should include what has changed about the
student’s situation that will allow them to achieve Satisfactory Academic Progress by the next
evaluation period. Reason for which students appeal a negative progress determination may include
death of a relative, an injury or illness of student, or any other allowable special or migrating
circumstances. An appeal decision will be made by the school within 30 calendar days, at which time
written documentation will be prepared and notification will be provided to the student. Appeal
determination is written on school’s designated form and maintained in the student’s file. If the student
prevails upon appeal, the satisfactory academic progress determination will be reversed and federal
financial aid will be reinstated, if applicable.

TRANSFER HOURS - With regards to Satisfactory Academic Progress, transfer hours from another
institution that are accepted toward the student’s educational program are counted as both attempted and
completed hours for the purpose of determined when the allowable maximum time frame has been
exhausted. SAP evaluation periods are based on actual contracted hours at this institution.

TUITION POLICIES

Students must pay for textbooks, equipment, first month’s tuition, and enrollment fees prior to
commencement of classes. Due to varied financial aid programs, you must secure financing through one
of them prior to the start of class. Please contact the admissions office for details. Students owing
monthly payment are required to keep their account current or will not be allowed to attend
classes until payment is made.

SCHOLARSHIPS

Our college does not have an institutional scholarship program.
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" “ADMISSIONS-FINANCIAL AID OFFICE HOURS

Admissions and financial information are available from the school Tuesday through Friday during the
following hours: 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. An appointment with the admissions and, or financial aid
officer is necessary. For appointment call Kendra Robinson at (707) 443-2733.

TUITION AND FEE SCHEDULE

Estimated Total Charges for Program:

Course Tuition Registration STRF Equipment Total
Barbering $12000.00  $100.00 $37.50  $2545.00 $14682.50
Cosmetology $12000.00  $100.00 $37.50 $2745.00  $14882.50
Manicuring $4800.00 $100.00 $15.00 $1481.00  $6396.00
Teacher Training $7200.00  -$100.00 $12.50 $300.00 $7612.50
Esthetician $7200.00 $100.00 $22.50 $1773.00  $9095.50

Total Charges for First Payment Period (Start of Program)

Course Tuition Registration STRF Equipment Total

Barbering (450 hours) $5400.00 $45.00 $37.50 $1145.25  $6627.75
Cosmetology (450 hours) $5400.00 $45.00 $37.50  $1235.25 $6717.75
Manicuring (200 hours) $2400.00 $ 50.00 $15.00  $740.50 $3205.50
Teacher Training (300 hours) $3600.00 $ 50.00 $12.50 $150.00 $3812.50
Esthetician (300 hours) $3600.00 $ 50.00 $22.50 $886.50 $3528.50

The college reserves the right to change tuition and fees, make subject changes when necessary and
make substitutions of equipment as required without prior notice. Any changes will not affect currently
enrolled students.

PAYMENT SCHEDULE

Payment schedules depend on many factors, due to varied financial aid programs, course lengths and
individual circumstances. All payment requirements, dates due and amount of payments, contracted
school cost and extended tuition cost will be outlined in the student’s individual contract. Method of
payment may include cash, credit card, money order, check, Title IV, (Pell, SEOG), authorization for
payment (DOR, WIA, Tribal, etc.). Failure to make scheduled payments or satisfy tuition account
will result in student not being able to attend classes until payment is made.

EXTRA INSTRUCTION CHARGES

Students are expected to complete their training within the time allowed as specified in their individual
contract. If'a student exceeds the time frame outlined in the contract, an extra instruction charge will be
made for the balance of the hours required for the completion of course. An addendum to the
enrollment contract will reflect the hours to complete at the rate of $10.00 per hour. Documented
absences such as medical excuses, death, birth and illness of student or family are considered excused
absences; therefore, no extra tuition will be assessed with regards to these absences. Extra tuition will
be assessed upon contract end date, students owing extra tuition will be required to sign contract
addendum and make monthly payments to avoid collection.
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STUDENTS TUITION RECOVERY FUND

The State of California established the Student Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic
loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a
California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the
institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so,
you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, you are a
student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program,
and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and yar are not required to pay the STRF assessment,
if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.

It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or
any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may
be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 N. Market Blvd. Suite 225,
Sacramento, Ca 95834, (916)431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or enrolled in a residency program, prepaid
tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of
any of the following:

1.

(9,

The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution
was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by
the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120-day period
before the closure of the institution or location of the institution or were enrolled in an
educational program within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the
closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the
institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or
value of the program more than 120 days before closure.

The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program
as required by law or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess
of the tuition and other costs.

You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court,
based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have
been unable to collect the award from the institution.

You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans
and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or
loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the
date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose-loan isrevived-by a loan holder or debt collector after a period:of non-collection may,
at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise
been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) year period unless the period has been
extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer
identification number. Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code.
Reference: Section 94923, 94924 and 94925, Education Code.
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STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL AND REFUND POLICY

The student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through
attendance at the first-class session (first day of classes), or the seventh day after enrollment (seven days
from date when enrollment agreement was signed), whichever is later.

The notice of cancellation shall be in writing and submitted directly to the Financial Aid Office, a
withdrawal may be initiated by the student’s written notice or by the institution due to student’s academics
or conduct, including, but not necessarily limited to, a student’s lack of attendance.

Refund Policy: After the cancellation period, the institution provides a pro rata refund of ALL funds paid
for tuition charges to students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance. Once
more then 60 percent of the enrollment period in the entire course has elapsed (including absences), there
will be no refund to the student. If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student
will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any
refund. If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of
monies not paid from federal student financial aid program funds.

A registration fee of § 100.00 is a non- refundable item. Equipment, books, supplies, tools, uniforms,
kits and any other items issued and received by the student would not be returnable. Once received by
the student it will belong to the student and will represent a liability to the student.

If you cancel the agreement, the school will refund any money that you paid, less any deduction for
registration fee and equipment received. If you withdraw from school after the cancellation period,
the refund policy described above will apply. If the amount that you have paid is more than the
amount that you owe for the time you attended, then a refund will be made within 45 days of the
official withdrawal date. See Refunds section below. If the amount that you owe is more than the
amount that you have already paid, then you will have to arrange with the institution to pay that
balance. Official withdrawal date is on the student’s notification or school’s determination.

Determination of withdrawal from school: The withdrawal date shall be the last date of recorded
attendance. The student would be determined to have witdrawn from school on the earliest of:
e The date you notified the Financial Aid Office of your intent to withdraw. Only the financial
office would be authorized to accept a notification of your intent to withdraw.
e The date the school terminates your enrollment due to academic failure or violation of its rules and
policies stated in the catalog.
e The date you fail to attend classes for a period of 14 calendar days and fail to inform the school
that you are not withdrawing. ,
e The date you failed to return as scheduled from an approved leave of absence. The withdrawal date
shall be the last date of recorded attendance. The date of determination of withdrawal will be the
scheduled date of return from LOA.

Return of Title IV: Special niote to students receiving Pell/SEOG grants or other aid, if you withdraw
from school prior to the completion of the equivalent to 60 percent of the workload in any given payment
period, a calculation using the percentage completed will be applied to the funds received or that could
have been received that will determine the amount of aid the student earned. Unearned funds would be
returned to the program in the order stated below by the school and/or the student. Student liability to
loan funds will continue to be paid in accordance with the original promissory note terms. Funds owed by
the student to the Grant programs are limited to 50% of the gross award per program received. Sample
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Calculation, completion of 25% of the payment period or enrollment period earns only 25% of the aid
disbursed or that could have been disbursed. If applicable, this would be the first calculation to determine
the amount of aid that the student would be eligible for from the Title IV Financial Aid programs. A
second calculation would take place to determine the amount earned by the institution during the period of
enrollment. If the student is eligible for a loan guaranteed by the federal or state government and the
student defaults on the loan, both of the following may occur: (1) The federal or state government or a
loan guarantee agency may take action against the student, including garnishing any income tax refund to
which the person is entitled, to reduce the balance owed on the loan. (2) The student may not be eligible
for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other government assistance until the
loan is repaid.

Refunds: If any refunds are due based on the Return of Title IV calculation or based on the institutional
refund policy calculation, any refunds will be made as soon as possible but not later than 45 days from the
determination of withdrawal date in the order stated in section CFR 34 section 668.22. The order of
payment of refunds is:

e Pell Grant

e SEOG

Course Cancellation: If a course is cancelled subsequent to a student’s enrollment and before instruction
in the course has begun, the school shall provide a full refund of all money paid.

School Closure: If the school closes subsequent to a student’s enrollment and before instruction in the
course has begun, the school shall provide a full refund of all money paid.

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED
AT OUR INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at Fredrick and Charles Beauty College is at the complete
discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the diploma you earned in
your specific course of study is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek
to transfer. If the diploma that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which you
seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all your coursework at that institution. For this
reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals.
This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending Fredrick
and Charles Beauty College to determine if your diploma will transfer.

RECORD RETENTION
Fredrick and Charles Beauty College maintain current records for a period of not less than six (6) years
and student transcripts (Proof of Training) permanently at its principal place of business, 831 F Street,
Eureka, CA 95501.

DISCLOSURE OF EDUCATION RECORDS
All students and parents or guardians of dependent minors, have the right to inspect, review and
challenge information contained in their education records.- Education records are defined as files;
materials and documents, which contain information directly, related to the student and are maintained
by the institution. Written consent is required before education records may be disclosed to third parties
with the exception of accrediting commissions, or governmental agencies so authorized by law.
Students are not entitled to inspect the financial records of their parents. A school official must be in the
office at all times during the examination of the student files. This institution does not release directory
information.

37



NOTIFICATION OF RIGHTS UNDER FERPA

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) afford eligible students certain rights with
respect to their education records. (An “eligible student” under FERPA is a student who is 18 years of
age or older or who attends a postsecondary institution.) These rights include:

1.

The right to inspect and review the student’s education records within 45 days after the day
Fredrick and Charles Beauty College receives a request for access. A student should submit
to the registrar, dean, head of the academic department, or other appropriate official, a
written request that identifies the record(s) the student wishes to inspect. The school official
will make arrangements for access and notify the student of the time and place where the
records may be inspected. If the records are not maintained by the school official to who the
request was submitted, the official shall advise the student of their correct official to who the
request should be addressed.

The right to request the amendment of the student’s education records that the student
believes is inaccurate, misleading, or otherwise in violation of the student’s privacy rights
under FERPA.

A student who wishes to ask the school to amend a record should write the school official
responsible for the record, clearly identify the part of the record the student wants changed
and specify why it should be changed.

If the school decides not to amend the record as requested, the school will notify the student
in writing of the decision and the student’s right to a hearing regarding the request for
amendment. Additional information regarding the hearing procedures will be provided to the
student when notified of the right to a hearing.

The right to provide written consent before the college discloses personally identifiable
information (PII) from the student’s education records, except to the extent that FERPA
authorizes disclosure without consent.

The school discloses education records without a student’s prior written consent under the
FERPA exception for disclosure to school officials and to its accrediting agency with
legitimate educational interests. A school official is a person employed by Fredrick and
Charles Beauty College in an administrative, supervisory, academic, research, or support
staff position (including law enforcement unit personnel and health staff); a person serving
on the board of trustees; or a student serving on an official committee, such as a disciplinary
or grievance committee. A school official also my include a volunteer or contractor outside
of Fredrick and Charles Beauty College who performs an institutional service of function for
which the school would otherwise use its own employee and who is under the direct control
of the school with respect to the use and maintenance of PII from education records, such as
an attorney, auditor, or collection agent or a student volunteering to assist another school
official in performing his or his tasks. A school official has a legitimate educational interest
if the official needs to review an education record in order to fulfill his or her professional
responsibilities for Fredrick and Charles Beauty College. Also, the school provides access to
student and other school records to its accrediting agency.

The right to file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Education concerning alleged

- - failures by Fredrick and Charles Beauty College to comply with-the requirements of FERPA.

The name and address of the Office that administers FERPA is:

Family Policy Compliance Office
U.S. Department of Education
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20202
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DRESS CODE

Fredrick and Charles Beauty College dress code requires students to wear black scrub pants and black
scrub shirts. If student wears a shirt under scrub top it must be black or white. Students must be in
uniform when they clock in for school; Students must always wear uniform. Students are responsible to
purchase their own uniforms prior to orientation. Uniforms can be purchased at Picky, Picky, Picky,
or Walmart Eureka, CA. Students must bring uniform to orientation so the Fredrick and Charles
Beauty College logo can be applied. Students dress and appearance must be clean and always look
professional. No other colors /prints on scrubs are allowed.
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10.

11.

12.

13.
14.

15.

RECEPTION DESK POLICY

Only authorized students are to be at the reception desk. Loitering will not be allowed.
Changes on the appointment book are to be made only by receptionist or instructors.
Students will not be called to a business phone for personal calls unless of an emergency
nature. ' :

Students must accept all appointments assigned to them graciously.

STUDENT RULES AND REGULATIONS

Clocking in must be done in uniform.

All students must be aware of their personal hygiene. Remember you are entering the beauty
industry.

Uniform pockets must not be used to carry implements or supplies.

Morning and afternoon classes commence at 8:30 a.m. You are expected to be in class on

time.

Student arriving after 8:30 a.m. are tardy and will not be allowed to clock in until 9:30 a.m.
Students are not allowed to talk or be disruptive in class. If you have questions, please raise

your hand.

All timecards are to be completed and signed daily.

You may not leave the building outside the scheduled lunchtime without permission. Lunch
schedules are as follows: 12:15p.m. To 12:45 p.m. If you require a later lunch, you must let

the receptionist know. Students not taking lunch must have ticket signed by instructor.

Freshman students are not allowed to work on any paid service during their freshman

training. Students must have completed a minimum of 150 hours barbering, 160 hours

cosmetology, 40 hours manicuring, 60 hours esthetics, and pass freshman examination to

work on clinic floor.

No students will be credited course completion until all clock hours, class hours and
operations have been completed as required by State Board.

Students should show tact and courtesy to patrons, instructors, management, and other
students at all times.

Students must take all appointments and patrons assigned to them and will not make changes
on appointment books. Treat your customer as a welcome guest. Smile when you greet them
and see that they- come back to you again. Always remember, without-these customers, you
would get limited practical experience and much higher tuition costs.

Students must at all times, conduct themselves in a professional manner.

Only hours spent in applied effort can be given credit; therefore, students must be occupied at
all times with theory or practical work.

Personal visitors are discouraged. All visitors are to stop at the reception desk and the student

will be paged to that area. Please limit your conversation to minimum amount of time. Do

not invite your guest to the locker room, classroom, or floor area.
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16.  Eating is to be confined to the student lounge. Smoking is permitted outside only.

17. All services are to be checked and signed by an instructor when they are complete. Do not
hesitate to call an instructor at any time.

18.  All students’ personal services must be pre-authorized by floor instructor and receptionist
and paid for before started.

19.  Each student is expected to clean up his/her work area after every service is performed. Your

station, chair and immediate floor area is your responsibility. Your work area is to be clean
and sanitary at all times. You must also complete your assigned clean up duty each evening.

20. Do not leave a class that is in session unless you are excused.

21. Only calls of an emergency nature will be made or received by student on business phone.

22, Any student found under the influence of, in possession of either alcohol or drugs will be
expelled immediately.

23.  Cell phones are allowed in theory only for class participation, not for texting or personal use.

While on the clinic floor cell phone must be turned on vibrate and may not be answered
while servicing clients.

24. Computers in laboratory may only be utilized for school related activities. Students must
abide by all copyright laws. Those who do not comply will lose their computer privileges.
25. For your protection be careful where you leave your equipment and personal belongings.

Keep your locker locked. Any student found stealing would be expelled immediately. Please
mark your equipment.

26.  The school is not responsible for loss or damage of any personal belongings or equipment.

27.  Ifthere is some personal problem or training misunderstanding, please do not hesitate to
come to the office.

28.  Any student not complying with the above rules, which are necessary to maintain discipline,
will be subject to receiving a suspension.

29.  Students are required to enter college through front entrance, due to campus security policy

rear exits will remain locked at all times.

STUDENT COMPLAINT POLICY

Students seeking to resolve problems or complaints should prepare their complaint in written form and
submit to Jeanie Scott, Administrator.

All Student complaints are researched, and a determination is made. Upon determination, if necessary
appropriate changes are made, documented and student is notified of outcome.

Students who have any complaints, questions, or problems which they cannot work out with the school,
they may write or call the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at the address or phone number
provided on page 3 of this catalog.

DRUG AND ALCOHOL ABUSE POLICY STATEMENT

In accordance with the Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1988 (P.L. 100-690), the Drug-Free Schools and
Communities Act 0f1989 (P.L. 101-226) and 34 Code of Federal Regulation Part 85, Subpart F, this
institution is committed to maintaining a drug-free workplace and drug-free school. Drug and alcohol
abuse can lead to liver, heart and other chronic diseases, low birth weight, birth defects and infant
mortality in expectant mothers and death. The unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensing,
possession or use of drugs, alcohol or other controlled substances at this institution is strictly prohibited.
Students and employees are required, as a condition of enrollment and/or employment, to abide by this

policy.
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To the extent allowed by local, state, and federal laws, this institution will impose disciplinary action
against students and employees for violating these standards of conduct. These actions may include
suspension, expulsion, or termination of employment, referral for prosecution and/or required
completion of a drug or alcohol rehabilitation or similar program.

This institution, as required by federal regulation (34 CFR 85.636 and Appendix C), will report all
employees convicted of a criminal drug offense occurring in the workplace to the U.S. Department of
Education. Consistent with these same regulations, employees, as a condition of employment, are
required to provide written notice to this institution of their conviction for a criminal drug offense
occurring at the workplace within five (5) days after that conviction. In addition, students receiving Pell
Grants who are convicted of criminal drug offense during the period of enrollment for which the Pell
Grant was awarded, are required by federal regulation to report that conviction in writing to the:

Director of Grants and Services
United States Department of Education
400 Maryland Avenue SW.

Room 3124, GSA Regional Office Bldg. #3
Washington, DC 20202-4571

The report must be made within 10 days after the conviction. In addition to institutional sanctions,
students and employees convicted of the unlawful possession or distribution of illicit drugs or alcohol
could face local, state and federal legal penalties, which include the loss of eligibility for federal
financial aid, fines imprisonment and the seizure of drug, related assets. Drug awareness programs,
counseling treatment, rehabilitation, and other related services and available on an ongoing basis to
students and employees through the following sources:

Al-Anon Family Groups.........c..coveeviiiiiiiiiiiiiniiiiiiiiiieeiceieenn, 443-1419
Alcohol & Drug Care ServiCes......o.uuiuieririeieriiiiiiiiiiiieieiiienennnn, 445-1369
AlcohOliCS” ANONYIMOUS. ... euvutititeneneetetet ettt eeeeeneneeennn. 442-0711
Crosstoalls. . ;s woummannns 15 s somsamonas s 15 5655800858 § X4 Lissiomnocnsmosmas s .2 o » » socmsmamsmsomss 445-0869
Humboldt County of Alcohol & Drug Programs...............cccoevuvnnnne.... 476-4054
Humboldt Recovery Center...........oouueviiriiiieiniiiiiiiiieiieiiiiineeennn, 443-0514
Singing Trees Recovery Center...........o.vvvviiniiniiiiiiiiiiiins e, 247-3495
United Indian Health Services..........ccooviviiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeen, 825-5060
Yuki Trails Substance Abuse Program..............c.coviiiiiiiniinininnn.. 983-6648

Students and employees seeking assistance in overcoming a drug or alcohol related problems are
encouraged to contact one of these organizations.

This institution continues to make a good faith effort to provide a school and workplace free from the
illicit use, possession or distribution of drugs and alcohol.

This institutional policy and procedures are evaluated by the institutional administrators to determine
their efficiency and need for updates. As needed, data is updated biannually and provided to prospective
and current students via the institutional catalog. Employees are given a hard copy when policy is
updated.

COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT

[s the act of exercising, without permission or legal authority, one or more of the exclusive rights
granted to the copyright owner under section 106 of the Copyright Act (Title 17 of the United States
Code) These rights include the right to reproduce or distribute a copyrighted work. In the file-sharing
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context, downloading or uploading substantial parts of a copyrighted work without authority constitutes
an infringement. Penalties for‘copyright infringement include civil and criminal penalties. In general,
anyone found liable for civil copyright infringement may be ordered to pay either actual damages or
“statutory” damages affixed at not less than $750 and not more than $30,000 per work infringed. For
“willful” infringement, a court may award up to $150,000 per work infringed. A court can, in its
discretion, also assess costs and attorneys’ fees. For details, see Title 17, United States Code, Sections
504, 505. Willful copyright infringement can also result in criminal penalties, including imprisonment
of up to five years and fines of up to $250,000 per offense. For more information, please see the website
of the U.S. Copyright Office at www.copyright.gov.

Peer to Peer file sharing: Students authorized to utilize the institutional electronic equipment for
purposes of conducting research, practical work, writing essays, doing homework assignments or in any
general use of the equipment for course related work, are strictly unauthorized to copy or distribute any
copyrighted material and any violations will subject the individual violator (staff member, non-staff,
member or student) to civil and criminal liabilities. The first violation will be punished by removing any
authorized privileged use of any institutional equipment, if the violation includes the use of individually
owned equipment, the individual will not be allowed to bring in his/her personal equipment into the
school premises. Second violation the staff member may be terminated, or the student maybe be
expelled from school. This decision will be taken by the school administration. The institution conducts
annual evaluations of procedures in place to prevent any violation of copyrighted materials observing
the need of the students to have access to the institutional network. The institution will keep a log
summarizing violation reported and disciplinary actions taken.

YOTER REGISTRATION / CONSTITUTION DAY

Students of Fredrick and Charles Beauty College are encouraged to register to vote. In an effort to
assists students with this process registration forms can be accessed and downloaded from the internet at
https://www.ses.ca.gov/nvrc/fedform/

Also as part of Constitution day (September 17), instructional staff of Fredrick and Charles Beauty
College annually devotes a theory class to the U.S. Constitution. This class is provided on September 17,
assuming that day falls on a scheduled school day. Otherwise, it is provided on closest day students are
scheduled to be in attendance.

BANKRUPTCY DISCLOSURE

This institution does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in
possession, has not filed a petition within the preceding five years or has not had a petition in
bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter
11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. Sec. 1101 et seq.).

HOUSING DISCLOSURE

This institution does not have dormitory facilities under its control and has no responsibility to find or
assist students in finding housing as our programs are non-residential. Students are responsible to find
their own housing while attending classes at Fredrick and Charles Beauty College. -Located in the
Eureka area and neighboring cities there seem to be adequate availability of apartments and townhouse
for rent ranging from approximately $800.00 to $1200.00 per month.
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GENERAL FINANCIAL AID INFORMATION FORWARD

This information has been prepared to supplement the "The Student Guide" handbook published by the
United States Department of Education to help students and parents understand the financial aid process
at this institution. We hope it will answer your questions and will make the financial aid process easier
for you. Information on financial aid programs, how to secure them, how to apply, and student's rights
and responsibilities as a recipient are also included in the following information. This information has
been prepared in compliance with Title IV, Section 484(A) of the Higher Education Amendments of
L980 to provide student consumers with information about financial aid. Other necessary information
can be found prior to this information in this catalog.

COMPLIANCE STATEMENT

The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that students be notified that the disclosure of his/her social
security number is mandatory. The social security number is used to verify student's identity, to process
the awarding of funds, the collection of funds and the tracing of individuals who have borrowed funds
from federal, state, or private programs.

FINANCIAL AID PHILOSOPHY

This institution believes that the talents, hopes, and ambitions of all people are among our nation's most
valued possessions. With this thought in mind, this institution continues to promote grant opportunities

of qualified, deserving students who must find funds to attend college. The fundamental purpose of this
institution financial aid programs is, therefore, to make it possible for students, who would normally be

deprived of a college education because of inadequate funds to attend college. The following principles
have been adopted for our financial aid programs.

PRINCIPLES
(1) This institution will work with schools, community groups and other educational institutions in
support of the national goal of equality of educational opportunities.
(2) Expected family contribution toward the student's cost of education. This institution expects parents
to contribute financially, according to their means. We consider their incomes, assets, number of
dependents, and other relevant information. Students are also expected to contribute from their own
earnings and assets, including borrowing against future earnings.
(3) Financial aid will be offered after determining whether the family's resources are insufficient enough
to meet the student's educational expenses. The amount of aid offered will not exceed the amount
needed to meet the difference between the student's total educational expenses and the family's
resources.
(4) In awarding funds to eligible students, the amount and the type of self-help will be related to the
circumstances of the individual and the largest amount of grant assistance will be offered to students
with the least ability to pay.

FINANCIAL AID MECHANISM

Financial aid is a mechanism that reduces out of pocket costs that students and/or parents must pay to
obtain a specific postsecondary education. Presented differently, financial aid is money made available
to help students meet the cost of college attendance. Financial aid includes grants. Grants do not have to
be repaid. Financial aid is awarded to students who have "need". Need is the difference between the
amount of money that the family will be expected to contribute to meet student cost and the cost of
education at this institution.
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STUDENT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS

To be eligible for financial aid, a student must:
*be admitted as a regular student.
*be enrolled or accepted for enrollment in an eligible program on at least a half-time basis.
*be a citizen or an eligible non-citizen.
*not owe a refund on a Pell Grant or SEOG at any school.
*not be in default on a NDSL or GSL at any school.
*have financial need.
*be making satisfactory progress as defined by the school's policy and course of study
*be registered for selective service
*have signed a statement of educational purpose
*have signed an anti-drug certification
*have signed a statement of updated information.

AWARD CONCEPT, SELECTION OF RECIPIENTS
AND PACKAGING CRITERIA

This institution emphasizes the SELF-HELP CONCEPT of student financial assistance.
The SELF-HELP CONCEPT is on a first-come, first-served basis when awarding eligible applicants.
The SELF-HELP CONCEPT list types of financial assistance in the following order:

1. Family contribution

2. Other resources

3. Pell Grant

4. Self help

DETERMINING NEED
The Uniform Methodology (UM) formulas, is approved by the U.S. Department of Education. This
school uses it to compute the ability of the student, and/or family, to contribute to the cost of the
student's training.

Each year certain aspects of UM are adjusted. This accounts for both actual inflation in the previous
year and projects inflation for the next analysis year. The yearly Customer Price Index (CPI) analysis
determines inflation rates.

Revisions in FICA, federal, state, and local taxes reflect changes in the law and recently available IRS
data.

The Pell Grant uses the (EFC) number on the Student Aid Report (SAR) to determine eligibility for the
Family Contribution (FC) number obtained. This determines the student's (or family's) ability to
contribute to the Cost of Attendance (COA).

The FC bases need on information furnished in the Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). The
FC number produced is for nine months for Dependent students, and twelve months for independent
students. In application, the FC number is pro-rated to the length of the defined Academic Year.

NEED ANALYSIS SYSTEM

The approved need analysis systems used by this Institution in determining the student's family
contributions are:
R. Gonzalez Management Inc.
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INTEGRATED VERIFICATION PROCESS

INTRODUCTION

Federal regulations 34 C.F.R. Part 668, Subpart E, Dated March 14, 1986, executing legislation 20
U.S.C. 1094 governing the Title IV programs require schools to be sure of certain applicant-reported
data. These regulations require schools to develop written policies and procedures for verification and
make them available to all applicants for financial aid. It is also available to prospective students upon
request. Procedures are a part of the Admission and Counseling process.

To follow regulations and achieve consistency governing this process, the following verification policy
applies to all applicants for Title IV programs. Under the regulations, the school will not disburse Pell
until completion of verification.

INSTITUTIONAL VERIFICATION POLICY AND PROCEDURES

What is verification?

The verification process is a process where the institution will require the student/spouse/parent to
provide documentation to support the data reported on the FAFSA and printed on the SAR/ISIR. It is
anticipated that about 30% of the students will be selected for verification by the United States
Department of Education (USDE) via its contractor (CPS) or by the institution’s Financial aid Office.

How do I know that my application has been selected?

The verification flag will have a value of “Y,” and next to the EFC will be an asterisk referring to a
comment in the student section of the SAR that tells applicants they will be asked by their school to
provide documentation.

For 2022-2023, verification tracking flags will place the student in one of five verification tracking
groups, which will be explained later.

The institution must verify any information in which there is a reason to believe it is incorrect on any
application. Students with these applications are considered to be selected for verification by your school
even though you may not be verifying the same data as for CPS-selected applications.

The institution, at its discretion, may require a student to verify any FAFSA information and to provide
any reasonable documentation in accordance with consistently applied school policies.

Regardless of whether the application was selected by CPS or by the institution, all other verification
requirements, such as deadlines and allowable tolerances and interim disbursement rules, apply equally
to all students who are being verified.

What Items need to be verified?
Once the student is placed in a group, each group contains different items that need to be verified.

Verification tracking groups

Students who are selected for verification will be placed in one of the five following groups, V1, V4,
V35, V6 the group determines which FAFSA information must be verified for the student. The data to be
verified would correspond to the data reported by the student, the student spouse and, or, if applicable,
the parent whose data was also included in the FAFSA.

Verification tracking groups
The data to be reviewed will correspond to the data required in each of the following groups:

Vi Standard Verification Group. Tracking flag V1
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V4 Custom Verification Group. Tracking flag V4.
V5  Aggregate Verification Group. Tracking flag V5.
V6  Untaxed Income. Tracking flag V6

Items to verify per group assigned
Items to verify 2021/2022 Tracking Groups

Tax Filers: V1 | V4

Adjusted gross income

U.S. income tax paid

Untaxed portions of IRA distributions

Untaxed portions of pensions

IRA deductions and payments

Tax-exempt interest income

Education credits

Number of household members

Number in college -

Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP)

benefits

Child support paid
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Non-Tax filers V4
Income earned from work

High school completion status
Identity/Statement of Educational Purpose
Payments to tax-deferred pension and saving
Child support received

Housing, food and other living allowances
Veterans’ non-education benefits

Money received or paid on applicants’ behalf
Other untaxed income

Certification and Signature X [ X[X
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Who can be excluded from the verification process?
e Death of the student.
e Not an aid recipient.
e The applicant is eligible to receive only unsubsidized student financial assistance
e Applicant verified by another school. The student provides documentation that he/she
completed the verification process for the current award year at another school before
transferring.

The FAFSA data must be the same as it was at the previous school, and you must get a letter from that
school stating that it verified the application and has provided the transaction number of the pertinent
valid ISIR.

Post enrollment
The student was selected for verification after ceasing to be enrolled at your school and all (including
late) disbursements were made.
Unless the FAO has a reason to believe it is inaccurate, you do not have to document the reported
FAFSA information of the parents of a dependent student if any of the following apply:
e Both parents are mentally incapacitated.
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e They are residing in a country other than the United States and cannot be contacted by normal
means. o

e They cannot be located because the student does not have and cannot get their contact
information.
Unless the FAO has a reason to believe it is inaccurate, you do not have to document the
reported FAFSA information of the spouse of an independent student if any of the following
apply:

e The spouse has died.

e He/she is mentally incapacitated.

e He/she is residing in a country other than the United States and cannot be contacted by normal
means.

e The spouse cannot be located because the student does not have and cannot get the spouses’
contact information.

What documentation is needed?

Documenting Family income and tax paid

The Department encourages students and parents to use of the FAFSA/IRS Data retrieval Tool (IRS
DRT). For the retrieved data to be acceptable documentation of tax data, it is necessary that neither
students nor parents change the data after it is transferred from the IRS—if the data was changed or if
your FAO has a reason to believe the data transferred is incorrect, the student will need to provide
other documentation as explained below. The IRS request field(s) on the ISIR will have a value of
“02” when the data is unchanged.

If students cannot or will not use IRS Data Retrieval, either at initial FAFSA filing or though the
FOTW correction process, they must document AGI, taxes paid, and untaxed income by providing an
IRS tax return transcript for the student and spouse or parents, as applicable.

Under the following conditions the IRS Data Retrieval is not available in FOTW (all apply to both
students and parents unless otherwise noted):
e The person did not indicate on the FAFSA that the tax return has been completed.
The marriage date is January 2021 or later.
The first three digits of the SSN are 666.
The tax return was amended.
The person filed a Puerto Rican or foreign tax return.
The person is married and filed the tax return either as head of household or married but filing
a separate return.
Neither married parent entered a valid SSN.
A non-married parent or both married parents entered all zeroes for the SSN.

Tax filing extension
For students and parents who have been granted a tax filing extension, need to present a copy of IRS
Form 4868, Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return.
Must also provide a copy of all their W-2 forms or, if they are self-employed, a signed statement with
the amount of their AGI and their U.S. income taxes paid.

You may be requested to use the DRT or submit to your school a tax transcript after the return has been
filed. If you do that, you must re-verify the income information.
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Non-Tax filers

For non-tax filers you must receive a W-2 form for each source of employment income. You must also
get a signed statement providing the sources and amounts of the person’s income earned from work
not on W-2s and certifying that the person has not filed and is not required to file a tax return. Provide
a letter of non-tax filing from the IRS.

Residents of Pacific Islands

For residents of the Freely Associated States (the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Republic of
Palau, or the Federated States of Micronesia), a copy of the wage and tax statement from each
employer and a signed statement identifying all of the person’s income and taxes for the year is
acceptable.

Persons from a foreign country not required to file a tax form
Persons from a foreign country who are not required to file a tax return can provide the signed
statement certifying their income and taxes paid.

Missing W-2 forms

If a person who is required to provide a W-2 form can’t do it timely, you may be permitted to submit a
signed statement with the amount of the income earned from work, the source of that income, and the
reason the W-2 form is not available in time.

Persons filing foreign taxes

When a person filed a non-U.S. tax return, obtaining an IRS tax return transcript is not possible. In
those cases, you may accept instead of the transcript a copy of the tax return, which must be signed by
the filer or one of the filers of a joint return, and you must document the circumstances.

Use the income and tax information that most closely corresponds to the information on the IRS tax
return and convert monetary amounts into U.S. dollars as appropriate.

Electronic signatures

On the few occasions that a tax return was used to complete verification, your school can accept an
electronic copy of the return that has been electronically signed provided your school’s process for
accepting such signatures complies with the Electronic Signatures in Global and National Commerce
(ESIGN) Act. But a signature on Form 8879, the IRS e-file Signature Authorization, is not an
acceptable substitute for a signature on the tax return.

Tax Preparers

For persons who have a tax professional prepare their return, instead of a copy of the return with the
filer’s signature, your FAO may accept one that has the name and Preparer Tax Identification Number
(PTIN) of the preparer or has his SSN or EIN and has been signed, stamped, typed, or printed with his
name and address. Note that the IRS requires paid preparers to have a PTIN.

When a tax return transcript is unavailable

When the tax filer requests an IRS tax return transcript and is unsuccessful, they can use a signed copy
of the 2020 tax return (Form 1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ) for verification. They must also provide your
school with one of the following:

« if they tried to get the transcript using the paper Form 4506-T or 4506 T-EZ, a copy of the
response (which they must sign) mailed to them informing them that the IRS could not
provide the transcript; or

« if they tried to get the transcript using the Internet, a signed copy of a screen print from the
official IRS webpage showing a message that the transcript request was unsuccessful.
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Because the IRS does not send written confirmation of the failure of a transcript request using the
telephone, there is no documentation alternative for that method. Affected tax filers must request a tax
return transcript using either the online or paper method and, if unsuccessful, provide your school with
the above noted documentation.

In addition to the documentation already specified, the tax filer must also provide your school with a
completed and signed IRS Form 4506-T or 4506T-EZ that includes on line 5 the name, address, and
telephone number of your school as the third party to whom the IRS is to mail the tax return transcript.

If your school has no reasonable doubt about the accuracy of the information on the copy of the tax
return, your school should proceed with verification and simply place the 4506 forms in the student’s
file rather than sending it to the IRS.

However, if your school has a reason to believe that the information on the tax return may not be
accurate, your school must, before verification can be completed, send the Form 4506-T or 4506T-EZ
to the IRS and wait for the return of the transcript or confirmation from the IRS that a transcript is not
available for that tax filer. See the 11/2/12 electronic announcement for more information

Requesting a tax transcript

There are a few ways to request a tax transcript: online at www.irs.gov, by calling 1-800-908-9946, or
by mailing or faxing the paper Form 4506T-EZ, which can be printed out from the IRS website on
www.ifap.ed.gov for specific instructions.

Filing an amended return
Students or parents who file an amended return cannot use the IRS DRT, and if they amend the return
after using the DRT to fill out the FAFSA, the FAO cannot rely on that data. Instead, you will need to
use information from these documents to complete verification:
1. a signed copy of the IRS Form 1040X that was filed and
2. a signed copy of the original tax return that was filed, a tax return transcript (which does not
have to be signed), or any IRS transcript (such as a return transcript for taxpayer or RTFTP)
that includes all the income and tax information required to be verified: AGI, income tax
paid, education credits, etc.

Household size
To document the household size, the student needs to provide a signed statement and, if dependent,
at least one parent that gives the name, age, and relationship to the student of each person in the
household. You do not have to verify household size in the following situations:
¢ For a dependent student, the household size reported is three for married parents or two for
a single, divorced, separated, or widowed parent.
* For an independent student, the household size reported is two if he is married or one if he
is single, divorced, separated, or widowed.

Number in college

You can document this item with a statement signed by the student (and, if e is dependent, at least
one parent) that gives the name and age of each person in the household who is enrolled at least half
time in an eligible college (excluding, of course, the parents of dependent students). The statement
must also give the name of each college, and it can be written to document household size as well.
Completion of the Department’s verification suggested text can satisfy both items.

If your school has a reason to doubt the enrollment information reported, your school must obtain
from each school a statement that the named person will attend there on at least a half-time basis.
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Your school would not have to get such a statement if the person has not yet 1eg1stexed is attendmg
less than half time, or will be attendmg your school.

[f your school has a reason to doubt whether a reported school is Title IV-eligible, your school must
insure it is, such as by checking to see if it has a federal school code.

SNAP benefits (food stamps)

If the ISIR shows that someone in the parents’ or student’s household received SNAP benefits in
2020 or 2021, the student must provide a signed statement indicating receipt of the benefit. If your
school has a reason to doubt the receipt of SNAP benefits, your school may require the student to
show documentation from the agency that supplied the benefit or alternative documentation you find
sufficient.

Child support paid

If the ISIR shows that the student or parent paid child support in 2020, the student must provide a
statement signed by him/her or, if he/she is a dependent, either parent and giving the annual amount
of the support, the names of those who paid it and whom it was paid to, and the name(s) of the
child(ren) for whom it was paid. If your school believes the information in the signed statement is
inaccurate, the student must provide documentation such as a copy of the separation agreement or
divorce decree that shows the amount of child support to be provided, a statement from the person
receiving the child support showing the amount provided, or copies of the child support checks or
money order receipts.

If the student reports on verification and documents that the spouse, or a parent paid child support
but did not report that on his/her FAFSA, you must resolve the conflict. However, if the student was
eligible for an automatic zero EFC, the child support paid question would not have been presented
on FAFSA on the Web; as long as the student is still eligible for an auto zero EFC, there is no need
to correct the child support field on the application.

High school completion
Students must provide one of the following documents that indicate their high school completion
status at the beginning of the 2022-2023 year:

e A copy of a high school diploma.

* A copy of a final, official high school transcript that shows the date when the diploma was
awarded.

¢ A copy of a General Educational Development (GED) certificate or GED transcript.

* Anacademic transcript that indicates the student successfully completed at least a two-year
program that is acceptable for full credit toward a bachelor’s degree.

* A copy of a secondary school completion credential for homeschool (other than a high school
diploma or its recognized equivalent) if state law requires homeschooled students to obtain
that credential.

A transcript or the equivalent, signed by the parent or guardian of a homeschooled student
that lists the secondary school courses the student completed and documents the successful
completion of a secondary school education in a homeschool setting.

Students who are unable to get one of the documents listed above must contact the financial aid
office.

Identity and statement of educational purpose
Students should appear in person at the school and present valid, government-issued photo
identification (ID) such as a passport or a driver’s license or other state-issued ID.
e Your school must maintain an annotated copy of that ID that includes the date it was
received and the name of the person your school authorized to receive it.
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e Students must also sign a statement of educational purpose that certifies who they are and
that the federal student aid they may receive will only be used for educational purposes
and for the cost of attending the school for the 2022-2023year.

e A student who is unable to appear at the school must sign and submit the statement of
educational purpose, and he must submit a copy of his ID with the statement signed by a
notary public confirming that the student appeared before her and presented the ID
confirming his identity

Updating Information

Generally, a student cannot update information that was correct as of the date the application was
signed. After the FAFSA is signed, only certain items can be updated under the conditions given
below.

1. All applicants whose dependency status changes must update that status and the associated
FAFSA information throughout the award year except when the update is caused by a
change in the student’s marital status.

2. All applicants selected by the Department or a school for verification of household size or
number in college must update those numbers to be correct as of the date of verification
unless the update is due to a change in the student’s marital status. At your schools’
discretion your school may update under either 1 or 2 even when the update is due to a
change in the student’s marital status if you deem it necessary to address an inequity or to
reflect more accurately the applicant’s ability to pay.

Verification forms, documentation

Be sure that the institutional verification document is signed, that all required sections are completed,
and that the relevant tax or alternative documents are attached.

Timing of signatures

Any required signatures, such as signatures on worksheets or on copies of tax returns, must be collected
at the time of verification—they cannot be collected after the verification deadline for that award
year,

Interim Disbursements

If the student is selected for verification on the original ISIR, Interim disbursements ARE NOT allowed
prior to the completion of the verification process.

How to submit corrections and updates

e Corrections and updates can be submitted by the student on the SAR or the Web or by the
school using FAA Access to CPS Online or the Electronic Data Exchange (EDE).

e Using FAFSA on the Web (FOTW)

e Any student who has a PIN—regardless of how he originally applied— may correct any
of his own data by using FAFSA on the Web at www.fafsa.gov. If dependent students
need to change parental data, a parent must either sign electronically with her own PIN or
print out and sign a signature page.

Deadlines and failure to submit documentation
Students selected for verification—whether by your school or by the Department—need to submit the
documentation by the 60 day after student’s last day of recorded attendance or by the Department’s

deadline.

EFC changes and changes on Title IV awards

Students making changes to their data as a result of the verification process that resulted in a change to
the EFC or a change to the Title [V awards would be notified by the school via a revised award letter.
The method used by the institution to deliver the first award letter will be used for subsequent
notifications.
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Failure to submit documentation

From the time the student is selected for verification By the Department or by the school, the student
that fails to complete the verification process will lose his/her eligibility for Title IV funds. If the
student received aid prior to being selected, that aid remains as an eligible disbursement. Once
selected on a subsequent ISIR, all future disbursements will depend in the completion of the
verification process.

Referring students to the Office of Inspector General (OIG)

The institution has an obligation to refer certain cases where the institution believed that intentional
fraud seems to have taken place to the Office of the Inspector General (OIG). Those cases would be
followed up by OIG as appropriate.

THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION
STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS OFFERED AT THIS INSTITUTION

Pell Grants
SEOG

This information includes application procedures, deadlines, amounts, disbursement procedures and
rights and obligations for each program.

Additional assistance is provided by the financial aid personnel located in the administrative office of
the school.

The financial aid office maintains regular business hours schedule.

STUDENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

The student has the right to ask the school:
*The name of its accrediting and licensing organizations.
*About its programs: its instructional, laboratory, and other physical facilities; and its faculty.
*What the cost of attending is and what its policy is on refunds to students who drop out.

*What financial assistance is available, including information on all federal, state, local, private
and institutional financial aid programs.

*What the procedures and deadlines are for submitting applications for each available financial
aid program.

*How it selects financial aid recipients.

*How it determines your financial need.

*How much of your financial need as determined by the school has been met.

*How and when you will be paid

*To explain each type and amount of assistance in your financial aid package.

*to reconsider your aid package, if you believe a mistake has been made, or if your enrollment or
financial circumstances have changed.

*How the school determines whether you are making satisfactory progress and what happens if
you are not.

*What special facilities and services are available to the handicapped?

It is the student responsibility to:

*Review and consider all the information about the school program before you enroll.

52



*Pay special attention to your application for student financial aid, and complete it accurately,
and submit it on time to the right place. Errors can delay or prevent your receiving aid.
*Know and comply with all deadlines for applying and reapplying for aid.

*Provide all documentation, corrections, and/or new information requested by either the
financial aid officer or the agency to which you submitted your application.

*Notify your school of any information that has changed since you applied.

*Read, understand, and keep copies of all forms you are asked to sign.

*request an exit interview at the time you are leaving the school to determine the net balance of
your account with the school. 7 S

*Notify your school of a change in your name, address, phone number, or attendance status.
*Understand your schools refund policy.

*Understand and comply with the enrollment status, financial charges, financial terms, time
allowed to complete, refund policy and termination procedures as specified in the enrollment
contract you will be asked to sign.

*Understand that it is your responsibility and your liability when errors are made and funds for
which you are not eligible for are advanced to you or credited to your school account.

DEFINITIONS AND POLICIES

ACADEMIC YEAR:
900 clock hours of instruction = 26 weeks

AWARD YEAR:
2022-2023

ACCESS FOR HANDICAPPED STUDENTS:
This school is not equipped to assist handicapped students.

CITIZEN/ELIGIBLE NON-CITIZEN:
You must be one of the following to receive Federal student aid.
U.S. Citizen
U.S. National
U.S. permanent resident who has an [-151 or I-551 (Align Registration Receipt card)

Departure Record (I-94) from the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) showing

one of the following designations:
"Refugee"
"Asylum Granted"
"Indefinite Parole" and/or
"Humanitarian Parole"
"Cuban-Haitian entrant, Status Pending"

"Conditional Entrant" (valid only if issued before April 1,1980).
You are also eligible for Federal student aid if you have a suspension of deportation case pending before

congress.
"I-688" with valid expiration date

If you are in the U.S. under one of the following conditions, you are not eligible for Federal aid:

"F1" or "F2" student visa
"J1" or "J2" exchange visitor visa only.
"I-688a", "I-688b" or "I-688c" (Amnesty applicant)
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CLOCK HOUR (AS DEFINED IN THE FEDERAL REGISTER):
A 50 to 60-minute class, lecture, or faculty supervised laboratory.

COST OF ATTENDANCE
The total amount it will cost a student to go to school.
This institution uses the annual budgets published by the California Student Aid Commission.
Elements included in the budget:

Tuition $12000.00
Registration fee $100.00

Book and Equipment $2745.00

STRF $2.50 per $1,000

Living cost allowance: (monthly figures)

Student at home Student off campus
Food $1040.00 $637.00
Room and board $1339.00
Transportation $114.00 $104.00
Personal/miscellaneous $372.00 $436.00

DEPENDENT STUDENT
An individual that does not meet the independent student criteria is a dependent student. This
student is required to submit in his or her application student, spouse (if Applicable) and parents
income and assets data.

b

FAMILY CONTRIBUTION (FC)
The amount that has been calculated as family contribution to offset the student cost of

attendance.

INDEPENDENT STUDENT
An individual who meets one of the following criteria:

An individual at least 24 years old
Married

Working on Master’s/Doctorate Program
On Active Duty in U.S. Armed Forces
Veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces
Children You Support

Orphan or Ward of the Court
Are/Were an Emancipated Minor
Are/Were in Legal Guardianship
Homeless Child or Youth

Determined by HUD Homeless

At Risk for Homelessness

NEED
Financial need is the amount left over after subtracting the expected family contribution from

your cost of attendance.
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PARENT(S)
’ " For purposes of the financial aid programs, "parent" is mother and/or father or adoptive parents
or legal guardian. Not foster parents.

PAYMENT PERIOD
A payment period is 450 hours = 13 weeks for a course of 900 hours or more. 450 hours is the

mid-point of the pay period for courses of less than 900 hours.

PROGRAMS ELIGIBLE FOR AID AND LENGTH OF PROGRAMS

Barbering 1000 hours
Cosmetology 1000 hours
Teacher Training 600 hours
Esthetics 600 hours
FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS

The college is approved for, and participates in, the following programs intended to defray the costs of
attending for these students eligible for financial aid consideration:

Pell Grant
SEOG

APPLICATION PROCEDURES AND FORMS

Financial aid applications for this institution consist of the following:

Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). This form needs to be completed as instructed on
the form. Documentation to substantiate the data entered on the form may be required by the financial
aid office.

Student Questionnaire

Enrollment Agreement

FASFA - Regular form will apply to most of the students.

FASFA - Correction form is to be used only under the by direction of the financial aid officer at
the school.

Statement of Educational Purpose

Anti-Drug Abuse Certification

Selective Service Registration

Understanding Aid Funds Disbursement

Verification Worksheet if selected for verification, includes documentation regarding income,
assets, and family status

Forms and assistance in completing them are available at this school during school hours.

Deadline- FAFSA Applications must be received by June 30, 2023 (2022-2023award yr.)

Renewal process - A Pell Grant award received in one award year (July 1 to June 30 of the following
year) is never automatically renewed in the next award year. A student must re-apply for the Pell Grant

and submit a copy of the new SAR to the financial aid office.

Disbursement - Payment via a check payable to the student or via a direct credit to the student’s tuition
account, at set pay period.
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