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Loving Hands Institute of Healing Arts
2022 FEE SCHEDULE FOR CLASSES **STRF information is on pg. 22**

152 HOUR BASIC HOLISTIC MASSAGE THERAPY PROGRAM (BHMT- 2 courses)
Application Fee: $ 250.00 (non-refundable) **transferrable to HMT
STRF $0
Books: $ 150.00 (Soft Cover Book and Workbook)
Materials Fee: $ 100.00
Tuition: $2450.00
Total: $2950.00

646 HOUR FULL HOLISTIC MASSAGE THERAPY PROGRAM (HMT-14 courses)
Application Fee: $250.00 (non-refundable)
STRF $0
Books: $170
Materials Fee: $100
Tuition $9690.00
Total: $10210.00

336 HOUR TEACHER TRAINING COURSE
Application Fee (non-refundable) $100.00

Tuition: waived for internship
Total due for period of attendance: $100.00

140 HOUR UNIVERSAL CONCEPTS OF HEALTH AND HOLISM
Application Fee(non-refundable): $100.00

Materials Fee: $200.00
Tuition: $1000.00

Total due for period of attendance: $1300.00

140 HOUR HOLISTIC HEALTH EDUCATOR
Application Fee(non-refundable): $100.00

Tuition: $900.00
Total due for period of attendance: $1000.00

“Loving Hands Institute of Healing Arts is a private institution and is approved to operate
by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Approval to operate means
compliance with state standards as set forth in the California Private Postsecondary
Education Act of 2009”.

We are an affiliated school in good standing with ABMP, Associated Bodywork and Massage
Professionals, an international Trade Service Organization, devoted to the betterment of the
Massage and Bodywork Profession; a division of the Church of Loving Hands, a Religious,
Educational and Cultural Corporation in the State of California, incorporated April, 1982, within
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the meaning of Section 501(c) (3) of the Internal Revenue Code and the church is the sole
owner of this school.

On the leading edge of mind-body healing, we offer Holistic Massage and other Holistic Health
practices which support self-care, natural therapeutics, personal growth and healing. Our
primary tenet is to facilitate individual growth and development by the practice of spiritual
expression in all daily activities of life.

We are dedicated to the Research, Teaching and Ministering of Natural Healing through the
Ancient Arts of Laying on of Hands, Massage, Herbal Knowledge, Food, Vitamin and Mineral
Awareness, through a variety of ancient and contemporary cross-cultural techniques and
teachings.

Our Philosophy

To support the Ancient Rituals of bathing and sweating, diet and exercise for cleansing and
purification; acknowledge Humans as Four-fold Beings; Physical, Emotional, Mental, Spiritual,
and the Body as the Temple of the Soul, Spirit or Life Force.
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OUR MISSION AND OBJECTIVES

Loving Hands Institute is a subsidiary of the Church of Loving Hands, a Church of Natural
Healing and Medicine Ways, whose primary tenet is to facilitate individual growth and
development by the practice of spiritual expression in all daily activities of life; to teach natural
healing techniques that enhance the quality of life for ourselves and our human family; to
promote self-healing and being in service to others and our planet Mother Earth. To educate for
knowledge and mastery in the practice of massage therapy and holistic health education; to
promote Shamanism and Earth healing ways according to Native American and Cross-cultural
wisdom and philosophy.

On the leading edge of mind, body healing, we offer Holistic Massage and other Holistic Health
Practices which support self-care, natural therapeutics, personal growth, enrichment and
healing.

We are dedicated to the research, teaching and ministering of natural healing through the
Ancient Art of Laying on of Hands, Massage, herbal knowledge, energy balancing, aura and
chakra work, food, vitamin and mineral awareness and other natural healing methods derived
through a variety of ancient and contemporary cross-cultural techniques and teachings.

We offer programs in therapeutic massage and preventative health care maintenance which
emphasize holistic healing and are designed to aid students in their own creative healing
potential.

Loving Hands philosophy supports the ancient Rituals of bathing and sweating, diet and
exercise, for cleansing and purification of the body; acknowledges Humans as four-fold Beings:
Physical, Emotional, Mental, Spiritual and the Body as the Temple of the Soul, Spirit, or Life
Force.

Students are encouraged to open intuitively to a unique and highly personalized style of
massage. While classes cover Theory and History of Massage, Basic Anatomy and Physiology,
as well as demonstration and practice of the basic Principles and Techniques of Therapeutic
Massage, there is a major emphasis in hands on experience. The subtleties of energies are
also explored and students learn to “read” and cleanse the energy field surrounding the body.
Techniques in breath work, counseling and energy transfer techniques are also used to open
healing channels.
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Overview

Our Massage Therapist programs have been developed for the benefit of those students who
have a desire to learn and become competent in the practice of Therapeutic Massage from a
Holistic perspective and are designed to aid students in their own creative healing process and
potential. Students are encouraged to open intuitively to unique and highly personalized styles
of massage. While classes cover Theory and History of Massage, Basic Anatomy, Physiology,
Kinesiology, Pathology, as well as demonstration and practice of the Basic Principles and
Techniques of Massage, there is major emphasis in Hands on Experience.

The subtleties of energies are also explored and students learn to “read” and cleanse the
energy field surrounding the body. Ancient Native American, Swedish/Esalen and Eastern
Techniques in breath work and energy transfer are also used to open healing channels.
Advanced programs are offered to enhance Massage and counseling skills.

The objectives of students who have taken our programs over the years are many and varied.
Many of the students wish to simply become more knowledgeable in the art of Massage for
personal enjoyment and benefit, while others are interested in furthering their own education.
Many students are interested in pursuing a professional level of expertise, in order to become
self-employed. Graduates of our programs are able to work in the health field in such settings
as private clinic practice, medical and non-medical clinics, spas, healing centers, chiropractor’s
offices, in the ministry and in teaching.

Operating Dates & Hours

School Hours
Administration Hours are
Monday-Tuesday 10am-2pm
Thursday 11am-3pm
Friday 12-2pm
We are closed in observance of holidays.
Classes are held in the evenings 5:30 pm
to 9:30 pm and during the day from 10:00
am-2:00pm

Instructional Hours
Classes are scheduled on the basis of enrollment. Students will be advised of probable starting
dates by the Instructor. Important scheduling information, operating hours, holidays, vacations,
class schedules and revisions of them, will be announced to students in advance.

Course Fees – SEE PAGE 2 of this catalog
Please contact the office for fliers or check out our website for up to date fees.

5



Our Founder

Dr. Rosalind Skyhawk Ojala, D.D., CMT
(11/12/1945-03/17/2015)

Skyhawk was the founder of the school. She was an
Interdenominational Minister and Sacred Pipe Carrier of Native
American and European Ancestry and Principal Chief of the Pan
American Indian Association Thunderbird Clan of Redwood River
Lodge. She taught and facilitated classes in the Advanced Healing
Arts and Holistic Health Education from 1969 until her passing in
2015.

Skyhawk was a member of ABMP, CAMTC, the International Clergy
Association, Lifetime Member of the Pan American Indian
Association, Four Worlds Development Network and the Pipestone
Indian Shrine Association. Her foundation for hands on healing has
impacted hundreds of students and countless people over her career.

She empowered women regularly through her yearly Goddess retreat and daily teachings.

Hilary Wakefield-Miyagishima,
CMT #7134 Administrative Director

Hilary graduated in 2001 from Loving
Hands Institute of Healing Arts. After apprenticing
under her mentor Skyhawk for 4 years, she
co-founded Myrtletowne Healing Center in Eureka
where she worked from 2005-until the birth of her
daughter in 2014. In 2015 she welcomed twin sons.
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Hilary spent two years working with a physical therapy clinic in Sonora, CA, before moving back
to Humboldt County and once again joined the school in 2018.

Over the course of her career, her studies include: Swedish/Esalen, Deep Tissue, Trigger Point
Therapy, Hawaiian Lomi Lomi, Acupressure, Lymphatic Drainage, Reflexology, Mayan Uterine
Centering and Abdominal Massage, Active Release Technique, Selective Functional Movement
Assessment, Herbalism, and Yoga. She is a California State Certified
Teacher of Massage, Yoga Alliance certified Yoga teacher, Minister, Doula,
and member of the Pan American Indian Association. Hilary takes a
holistic approach to each client and enjoys making her own oils for her
practice, as well as incorporating essential oils into each session.

At home she enjoys cooking, gardening, hiking, training her dogs, and
being with her family.

Loving Hands Instructors

Jewel McGuiness, CMT#55856, AHG, Instructor

Instructor of Therapeutic Massage & Herbal Medicine since
2003.

Jewel is a native of Humboldt County and has always had a
passion for people, plants and healing. She graduated from
Loving Hands in 2002, is a CA - CMT, a professional member of
Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals, holds
certificates in clinical Herbalism, a member of AHG, and is a
registered Flower Essence practitioner.

Jewel has a private massage practice and small organic farm based out of Elk River, Eureka.
She is also a member of the Pan American Indian.

Kara Simpson CMT#67469 – Instructor

Since she began practicing massage in 2007 Kara has built
and maintained a successful healing arts business, while
working through several wellness centers and yoga studios in
Humboldt County and the Washington, D.C. area. She also
has several years of experience working in collaboration with
and under the guidance of Acupuncturists, Chiropractors and
Physical Therapists in clinical settings. Ms. Simpson has
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completed two 200-Hour Yoga Teacher Trainings and has been teaching yoga since 2012.
Passionate about the holistic and integrative aspects of the healing arts, Kara has also trained
in reiki, aromatherapy and herbalism. She has a B.A. from Guilford College in
Sociology/Anthropology and Spanish Language and Society and is currently earning her
Masters through the Environment and Community Program at Humboldt State University.

The Owner of her own business in Eureka, Ms. Simpson lives in Arcata with her long-term
partner who is also a Loving Hands graduate. In her free time Kara enjoys reading humorous
memoirs and nonfiction, travelling, hiking, weight training, yoga, writing and monthly creative
arts circles with her friends and family.

Andreina Torma CMT#59861: Instructor

Andreina fulfilled a lifelong dream when she trained in
massage at Loving Hands and became a certified
massage therapist, #59861. She has channeled her
compassion for others into a health-focused practice
centered around helping her clients overcome the
challenges of chronic pain and stress.

Her love of learning inspired her to work for several years
with special education and ELLstudents. In her last two

years of working for the public schools, she transitioned to running the science lab. She was
tasked with creating hands-on activities that supported the district’s new grade level
expectations and curriculum. This experience positioned her to become an education specialist
for a wildlife rescue center at the threshold of Yellowstone National Park.

In addition to tailoring the center’s education programs to the school districts in three different
states. She also ran an after school and summer rec program, and presented educational
programs to Yellowstone area visitors. Currently, Andreina runs a successful massage studio in
Eureka, where her enthusiasm for science and education is integrated with her massage
practice.

Andreina lives in Fortuna with her pets, and loves feeding overripe produce to the
neighbor’s goat. While she has numerous interests and hobbies, there's nothing better than a
peaceful walk in the forest, watching her dog run in circles on the beach, or a quiet dinner with
loved ones - at least in her opinion.

Hygiene and Dress code: Students are encouraged to practice good daily hygiene, and
bring deodorant and breath mints to class. Dress code is comfortable and casual. We
don’t recommend jeans or shirts that expose shoulders or mid-section. You want to be
able to freely move in clothing without restriction and keep a clothing and towel barrier
between you and your clients.
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Draping Policy: Students will utilize professional draping techniques, as taught by the
instructors, at all times.

COURSES:
BASIC HOLISTIC MASSAGE THERAPY (BHMT)
Skyhawk’s Classic Style Swedish Massage
Application Fee: $250. (Non-refundable) Current Fee Schedule enclosed
Pre-requisite: personal interview and High School diploma or equivalent.
Two courses: Swedish (144 hours) and The Business of Massage Therapy (8 hours)
Classes held at 32 Sunnybrae Center, Arcata, CA 95521 and offered twice a year
152 contact hours

This basic Massage Practitioner Program will cover basic principles of Massage Practice
techniques, Anatomy, Physiology, Kinesiology, Pathology for the Massage Therapist, Wellness
Education, Business Practices and Procedures, Professional and Legal Ethics, and professional
draping techniques for the Massage Professional.

Required text for this course is “The Theory and Practice of Therapeutic Massage” by Mark
Beck and the accompanying “Student Workbook.” One (1) gallon of lotion and dispenser pump
are included in the materials fee. Two sets of fitted and flat sheets, hand towels, and a blanket,
will need to be supplied by the student. The school provides massage tables for use during
class, as well as dvd player and monitor for all in-class materials.

Swedish 144 hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 80
Anatomy & Physiology 45
Health &Hygiene 4
Contraindications 10
Business & Ethics 5

The Business of Massage Therapy 8 hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Business & Ethics 8

HOLISTIC MASSAGE THERAPY PROGRAM (HMT)
Application Fee: $250. (Non-refundable) Current Fee Schedule Enclosed

**BHMT may be transferred into this
program
For Massage Therapist status, the student
must complete a minimum of 500 hours.
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646 hour program - Classes held at 32 Sunnybrae Center. Arcata, CA 95521
646 contact hours

Classes will consist of Advanced Massage practices, Alternative Health Care practices,
advanced Anatomy, Physiology, Kinesiology, Pathology, Muscle Energy Techniques, Passive
Positioning Techniques, Stress Therapy and Relaxation Massage. These courses provide the
student with basic and advanced tools to utilize in a professional practice or simply to share with
friends and family members.

Required text for this course is “The Theory and Practice of Therapeutic Massage” by Mark
Beck, and the accompanying “Student Workbook,” along with individual handbooks and
handouts. Students must supply their own materials and purchase required textbooks for each
class.

Our full 646 hour program consists of a series of eight classes/electives:
Basic Swedish 144 hours = 9 week class
Business of Massage Therapy 8 hours = 2 day class
Deep Tissue Therapy 120 hours = 6 week class
Acupressure 80 hours = 5 week class
Lymphatic Compression Massage 56 hours = 3.5 week class
Reflexology 16 hours = 3 day class
On-Site Chair Massage 6 hours = 1 day class
Cupping 8 hours = 2 day class
Advanced Neuromuscular 16 hours = 1 week class
Herbs and Oils 24 hours = 2 week class
Prenatal Massage 32 hours = 2 week class
Human Anatomy 32 hours = 4 day or 2 week class
Clinic 20 hours = 5 classes, held monthly
Introduction to Neuromuscular Therapy 80 hours = 5 week class

Most classes are held Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday days (Swedish only) 10am to
2:00pm OR nights (all classes) 5:30pm to 9:30pm, with the occasional Friday or Saturday sessions. Each
course is offered annually. Check with instructor for details and make-up days.

Basic Swedish
144 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 80
Anatomy & Physiology 45
Health &Hygiene 4
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Contraindications 10
Business & Ethics 5

The Business of Massage Therapy
8 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Business and Ethics 8

Deep Tissue Therapy
120 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 78
Anatomy & Physiology 34
Health &Hygiene 1
Contraindications 4
Business & Ethics 3

Learn advanced techniques that are directed toward the deeper tissue structures of the muscle and
fascia.

Acupressure
80 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 56
Anatomy & Physiology 16
Health &Hygiene 2
Contraindications 2
Business & Ethics 4

Learn eastern methods of shiatsu and stimulating Acupoints on the body to regulate Chi or Life
Force.
Lymphatic Compression Massage
56 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 37
Anatomy & Physiology 16
Health &Hygiene 1
Contraindications 1
Business & Ethics 1

Learn advanced skills to strengthen the body’s own immune
system through the use of systemic compression movements
originated by Emil Vodder.

Reflexology
16 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 10
Anatomy & Physiology 3
Health &Hygiene 1
Contraindications 1
Business & Ethics 1
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An introduction to the art and science of Zone Therapy or foot massage based on the idea that
stimulation of specific points on the feet affects other areas and organs of the body.

Introduction to Neuromuscular Therapy
80 contact hours

Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 50
Anatomy & Physiology 24
Health & Hygiene 1
Contraindications 3
Business & Ethics 2
Advanced techniques in Trigger Point
Compression including passive stretching,
corrective exercises and deep tissue sculpting
and stripping techniques.

On-Site Chair Massage
6 contact hours

Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 4
Business & Ethics             2

Concepts and techniques for professional on-site work, introduced
by David Palmer in 1982. This is ideal for working in offices, fairs,
shopping malls and other public places as an introduction and
alternative to table massage.

Human Anatomy
32 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours

Anatomy & Physiology 32

Clinic
20 contact hours

Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 10
Anatomy & Physiology 2
Health & Hygiene 3
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Contraindications 2
Business & Ethics 3

Work on members of the public under the supervision of your instructors.  Learn client intake,
scheduling, and the day-day runnings of a clinic in real time
Herbs and Oils
24 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 6
Anatomy & Physiology 6
Health &Hygiene 2
Contraindications 2
Business & Ethics 2
Other 6

Advanced Neuromuscular Therapy
16 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 12
Anatomy & Physiology 2
Contraindications 1
Business & Ethics 1

Prenatal
32 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 20
Anatomy & Physiology 6
Health & Hygiene 2
Contraindications 2
Business & Ethics 2
Learn how to safely and therapeutically massage women in all trimesters of pregnancy.

Cupping
8 contact hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice 5.5
Anatomy & Physiology 1
Health & Hygiene .5
Contraindications .5
Business & Ethics .5
How to use silicone cups to relieve your clients discomfort, and compliment your massage
practice.

UNIVERSAL CONCEPTS OF HEALTH AND HOLISM
Application Fee: $100. (Non-refundable) current fee schedule enclosed
Prerequisites: none
140 hours = two week intensive
This class is on hold until we are able to secure retreat land again
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This course focuses on personal growth and development and interpersonal relationship skills.
A two week intensive presentation of universal concepts and teachings, handed down through
the ages in native societies throughout North and South America. Understanding concepts
concerning the nature, purpose and possibilities of human existence, by using the Ancient
Wheel of Life as a Mirror, which reflects not only what a person is but also what they might
become through the development of their potentialities.

Included in these teachings will be the Sacred Pipe Ceremony, Sweat Lodge ceremony,
hydrotherapy, along with cross-cultural healing techniques including drumming, singing, dancing
and Ancient Shamanic techniques for personal empowerment. Other activities will include
massage, hiking, swimming, organic gardening and herbology.

This course will provide students with an opportunity for self-examination and personal growth
through experiencing a holistic and culturally relevant model of healing modalities. Also the
student will learn culturally relevant knowledge with an opportunity to integrate specific
knowledge through experiential learning, generating one’s spirit for individual balance.
And to promote understanding of the importance of considering cultural differences when
massaging, counseling and interacting with human beings of diverse cultural backgrounds,
increasing sensitivity and clinical skills in working with clients of differing backgrounds.

Required text and materials for this course are “The Sacred Tree, Reflections of Native
American Spirituality” by 32 distinguished Native American Elders, published by Lotus Light
Publications. And “Mirrors of Reflection, a Ritual Guidebook” by Dr. Rosalind Skyhawk
Ojala and two CD’s: “The Teachings of Skyhawk and Songs of Redwood River Lodge.”

Universal Concepts of Health & Holism
140 hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Experiential Techniques 60
History & Theory 40
Application of Concepts 40

TEACHER TRAINING CERTIFICATE COURSE
Application Fee: $100. (Non-refundable) current fee schedule enclosed
Prerequisites: FHMT, and Universal Concepts of Health & Holism or equivalent of three years’
experience in the Massage Profession
336 hours
Classes held at 32 Sunnybrae Center, Arcata, CA 95521
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This course will provide Massage Therapists with an opportunity to develop on the job teaching
skills in their chosen profession in order to be eligible to teach massage at any Private
Postsecondary school. Students will be required to maintain a full participation internship in the
beginning 144 hour program under the supervision of a qualified instructor and teach one day a
week on their own. The remaining 192 hours will be a supervised internship in our advanced
massage program.

Classes will be offered over our calendar year, four hours per session, 4 days or evenings per
week, in conjunction with the Holistic Massage Therapy Program.
Teacher Training Certificate Course
336 hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Massage Practice Lab 136
Teaching Skills &
Student Assessment 200

HOLISTIC HEALTH EDUCATOR
Application Fee: $100 (Non-refundable) Current fee schedule enclosed
Prerequisites: HMT, AHMT, Universal Concepts, Teacher Training.
(Prerequisites are not required for apprenticeships only)
140 hours
Classes are on hold until we secure a new retreat space

An opportunity to learn advanced organizational and counseling skills in Holistic Health
Education, along with ritual and magic for those who are interested in advancing their technical
abilities in the Advanced Healing Arts.

A two week intensive presentation of Advanced Universal Concepts and teachings handed
down through Native Societies throughout North and South America. Included in these
teachings will be a personal Vision Quest Ceremony, Sweat Lodge and Sacred Pipe Ceremony,
hydrotherapy, along with an opportunity to lead others in cross-cultural healing techniques for
personal empowerment.

Holistic Health Educator
140 hours
Course Content by Subject Clock Hours
Advance Orientation &
Counseling Skills 30
Advance Energy Techniques 80
Teaching Skills &
Student Assessment 30

ADMISSION AND ENROLLMENT POLICIES
Admission Requirements to Loving Hands Institute Massage Therapy programs include:

1. Minimum of 18 years of age.
2. High School diploma or equivalent.
3. Personal evaluation interview with the instructor.
4. Good Moral Character
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5. Ability to read, write and speak English
6. No award of credit will be given for prior experiential learning
7. Essay or other writing samples may be required.

Enrollment in these programs should be achieved prior to the first class session by a personal interview
and submitting an application to the Administrator or Instructor. Enrollment will be on a first come-first-
served basis but is at the discretion of the administrative director.

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment
agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be
provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

ENGLISH LANGUAGE REQUIREMENT

Students must be able to speak, read, and write in English language at a high school graduate level or
equivalent and provide a diploma, college transcripts, or equivalent. Loving Hands Institute does not
accept students from other countries, does not provide visa services, and does not vouch for student
status. Loving Hands Institute does not provide English as a second language instruction. All classroom
instruction is taught in English only.

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR
INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at Loving Hands Institute is at the complete discretion of an
institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate(s) you earn in Basic Holistic
Massage Therapy, Full Holistic Massage Therapy, or Teacher Training are also at the complete discretion
of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the certificate(s) that you earn at this institution are
not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of
your coursework at that institution. For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this
institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may
seek to transfer after attending Loving Hands Institute to determine if your certificate will transfer.”

ATTENDANCE POLICIES
Individual classes must be finished within a period of one year. Massage Therapist program must be
accomplished within a period of three years. Students must participate in all written exams and
practicum, however, the student is cautioned that the Refund Policy is affected whether or not the student
attends classes as scheduled. Students are required to arrive for class on time and complete a minimum
of 90% in-class course work. (See below break down of hours). Students missing class hours, in excess
of the below breakdown, must make-up class hours outside of class for which they will be charged
additional tuition of $30 per hour. There is an administrative fee of $30 for scheduling make-up exams and
arrangements must be made with the instructor. Students enrolled in Massage programs must complete
all class practicum hours to receive a certificate of completion. If the student does not come to class
prepared (example: missing homework or not bringing massage sheets) then the student will be docked
hours or asked to leave class and make up hours later. This is up to the discretion of the instructor.
There is an allotment of 10% of class hours of missed instruction per course. Missed classes above this
10% per class will need to be made up, at the discretion of the instructor, at a fee of $30/hour.

LEAVE-OF-ABSENCE POLICY
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A Student may request a leave-of-absence due to personal illness or death in the family, upon written
notice to the school and will have one year to complete the course of instruction without losing any credit.
Students, having been absent, are responsible for the study materials covered during the session(s)
missed. If the student has only a portion of the required hours at the end of one year, no credit will be
granted, nor will any previous exam scores be accepted.

GRADING SYSTEM
This school uses a Progress Grading system. Each student will be expected to follow along with the
progress of the course by completing written materials, attending lectures and practicing the application of
the massage techniques as they are presented. All students in the program shall be monitored by the
instructor and weekly quizzes and assignments shall be a part of this process.

Grading shall consist of pass/fail in all advanced programs and the following scale on the written and
practical final exams for the Practitioner Program.

1. Excellent 93-100%
2. Above Average 85-92%
3. Average 78-84%
4. Below Average 70-77%
5. Unsatisfactory 69- or below

Students shall be expected to maintain a minimum academic grade average of 70-77% on all written
materials. Failed exams may be retaken at the discretion of the instructor.

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS
All students are required to take a Final Exam, both written and practical for the 144 hour program, with a
passing grade of at least 70% for completion requirements of the course. All course fees must be paid
before a certificate will be issued. Upon completion of the program, a certificate for the completed
program will be awarded to students fulfilling all the necessary requirements.

ACCEPTANCE OF CREDIT EARNED AT OTHER INSTITUTIONS
Acceptance of credit from other institutions is at the discretion of the Administrative Director and
will only include credits from other in-State or out-of-State Licensed schools
Or Approved Continuing Education Providers.
California Education Code Regulation does not recognize or permit courses of massage involving
correspondence (through-the-mail) instruction.
We have not entered into any articulation or transfer agreements with any other institutions.

ABILITY TO BENEFIT EXAM
At this time the school does not offer nor accept an Ability to Benefit Exam.

DISMISSAL AND SUSPENSION POLICIES
Dismissal or suspension from the programs may be enforced for any of the following reasons and only
after a thorough review by the instructor and/or administrator:
1. Unsatisfactory Attendance (including excessive tardies and absence without prior approval from the
instructor)
2. Failure to uphold high ethical and moral standards as presented in the curriculum.
3. Safety hazard to others.
4. Possession, under the influence or use of alcohol or drugs during class time.
5. Non-payment of fees without prior approval.
6. Any other inappropriate conduct or action, at the discretion of the instructor and/or administrator,
including not completing homework assignments.
7.Regularly coming to class unprepared
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RECORDS RETENTION
Enrollees are advised that State Law requires our Institution to maintain school and student records for a
period of five years from the student’s date of completion or withdrawal, and permanently retain a
transcript of each student. Records include, but are not limited to: verification of high school diploma or
equivalent, written records and transcripts of any formal education or training, testing, or experience;
voluntary personal information regarding student’s age, gender, and ethnicity; copies of all documents
signed by the student; records of the dates of enrollment, and, if applicable, withdrawal from the
institution, leaves of absence, and graduation, a copy of student’s transcript containing: the courses that
were completed, or attempted but not completed, and the dates of completion or withdrawal, credit
awarded for prior experiential learning, credit for courses earned at other institutions, and the name,
address, website address, and telephone number of the institution; copy of total amount of money and
date received; document containing any refund received including date, calculations, and name and
address of person or entity receiving refund; copies of official advisory notices or warnings regarding
student’s progress, and complaints received from student. Records are maintained in a fire-resistant
cabinet at the Main Office, 32 Sunnybrae Center, Arcata, CA 95521, as well as an online data base.
School Administrative hours are Monday-Wednesday 10-2pm.

US DEPARTMENT OF LABOR’S STANDARD OCCUPATIONAL CLASSIFICATION
All programs prepare graduates for using code 31-9011 Massage Therapist.
.
RETURNING STUDENTS
Students wishing to return to an additional program to complete their hours, will be considered on an
individual basis, and will be charged on a pro-rata basis determined by the number of hours they are
required to complete. Graduates of our program are usually welcome to drop in anytime, provided they
check with one of the instructors first.

REFUND PROVISIONS (buyer’s right to cancel)
The following refund policies and provisions are stated in this catalog, as well as in this school’s Student
Enrollment Agreement and Notice of Cancellation Form.

STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL
The student has a right to cancel the Enrollment Agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through
attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. The school
shall, for all students, without penalty or obligation, refund 100 percent of the amount paid for school
charges, less a reasonable application / deposit fee not to exceed $250 if notice is made on the first day
of instruction or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later.
Cancellation shall occur by giving written notice by mail, hand delivery or telegram to
Hilary Miyagishima, Administrative Director 32 Sunnybrae Center, Arcata, CA 95521. Cancellation
forms will be issued to prospective students at the time of application for enrollment. Any refunds due will
be made by the school within 45 days.

MATERIALS/EQUIPMENT: Once purchased, books are refundable IF returned un-opened or in like-new
condition, at the discretion of the administrative director. This school DOES NOT ACCEPT MATERIAL
RETURNS and makes no refund for materials.

REFUNDS/WITHDRAWAL
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A student may withdraw from the course of instruction at any time. If you withdraw after the period
allowed for cancellation of this agreement, the school will remit a pro rata refund less the
application/deposit fee not to exceed $250, within 45 days following student withdrawal.
No refund shall be given to students who have completed 60% or more of the course of
instruction. For example, if the student completes only 30 hours on a 90 hour course and paid $300.00
tuition, the student would receive a refund of $200.00.

$300.00 x 60 clock hours of instruction = $200.00
amount paid paid for but not received refund
for instruction 90 clock hours of instruction amount

for which the student has paid

If the student has received federal student financial aid funds. The student is entitled to a refund of
moneys not paid from federal student financial aid programs.

If the school cancels or discontinues a course or educational program, the school will make a full refund
of all the charges. Refunds will be paid within 45 days of cancellation or withdrawal.

You are obligated to pay only for educational services rendered. The refund shall be the amount you paid
for instruction multiplied by fraction, the numerator of which is the number of hours of instruction which
you have not received but for which you have paid and the denominator of which is the total number of
hours of instruction for which you have paid. If the amount you have paid is more than the amount that
you owe for the time you attended, then a refund will be made within 45 days of withdrawal. If the amount
you owe is more than the amount that you have already paid, then you will have to make arrangements to
pay it.

Cancellation Rights and Responsibilities: In the event that the student does not register for the period
of attendance or withdraws therefrom at any time prior to completion of the course, or otherwise fails to
complete the period of enrollment, the following refund policies shall apply:

The school refund policy for students who have completed 60% or less of the course of
instruction shall be a pro rata refund. Except as provided in paragraph (1), the refund shall be the
amount the student has paid for instruction multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the
number of hours of instruction which the student has not received but for which the student has
paid and the denominator of which is the total number of hours of instruction for which the
student has paid.

1. The student has a right to cancel enrollment, less a reasonable registration fee of two
hundred fifty Dollars ($250), through attendance at the first class session or the
seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later, by giving written notice by mail, hand
delivery, telegram, or email to: Hilary Miyagishima, Administrative Director, 32
Sunnybrae Center, Arcata, CA 95521
lovinghandsinstitute@gmail.com

NOTICE OF STUDENTS RIGHTS
1. You may cancel your contract with the school without any penalty or obligations at the first class
session or seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later, as described in the Notice of Cancellation
Form that will be given to you upon application for this course of instruction. Read the Notice of
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Cancellation form for an explanation of your cancellation rights and responsibilities. If you have
lost this form, ask the school for a sample copy.
2. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time and you have
a right to receive a refund for the part of the course not taken. Your refund rights are described in the
contract. If you have lost your contract, ask the school for a description of the refund policy.
3. If the school closes before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund by the institution. Should the
school fail to follow through with its obligations, the student may contact the Bureau for Private
Post-Secondary Education and file a claim with the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (see page 22 for full
information on the Student Tuition Recovery Fund).

Approved are the following courses:
Basic Holistic Massage Therapy: 152 hours
Full Holistic Massage Therapy: 646 hours
Universal Concepts of Health and Holism: 140 hours
Teacher Training Certificate Course: 336 hours
Holistic Health Educator: 140 hours

Instruction is in residence with facility occupancy levels accommodating 6-14 students at any one time.

California statute requires that a student, who successfully completes a course of study be awarded an
appropriate diploma or certificate verifying that fact.

Prospective enrollees are encouraged to visit the physical facilities of the school and discuss personal
educational and occupational plans with school personnel prior to enrolling or signing enrollment
agreements. This school does not currently have available sponsored programs, government or
otherwise, to provide grants or to pay for portions of tuition and fees.

”A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for
Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form,
which can be obtained on the bureau’s internet website www.bppe.ca.gov .”

STUDENT COMPLAINT PROCEDURES
Any student who has complaints, questions or problems which they cannot work out with the instructor,
should write or call the Administrative Director: Hilary Miyagishima, 32 Sunnybrae Center, Arcata, CA
95521, (707)630-3407. If there is an issue with the Administrative Director please contact Lead Instructor:
Kara Simpson, 32 Sunnybrae Center, Arcata, CA 95521, (707)630-3407.

A student may lodge a complaint by communicating orally or in writing to any instructor or administrator.
The recipient of the complaint shall transmit it as soon as possible to the Administrative Director, Hilary
Miyagishima and shall attempt to resolve complaints related to that person’s duties. If a student orally
delivers the complaint and the complaint is not resolved either within a reasonable period or before the
student again complains about the same matter, the school shall advise the student that a complaint must
be submitted in writing and shall provide the student with a written summary of the school’s complaint
procedure.
If a student complains in writing, the school shall, within 10 days of receiving the complaint, provide the
student with a written response including a summary of the school’s investigation and disposition of it. If
the complaint or relief requested by the student is rejected, the reasons for the rejection shall be given to
the student in writing.
Any questions a student or member of the public may have regarding this school that have not
been satisfactorily answered by the institution or to file a complaint may be directed to:

The Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
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2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 40
Sacramento, CA 95833
www.bppe.ca.gov calling (888)370-7589 or by fax (916)263-1897
or
California Massage Therapy Council
One Capitol Mall, Suite 800
Sacramento, CA 95814
www.camtc.org, phone (916) 669-5336, or fax (916) 669-5337

If the student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the
responsibility to repay the full amount plus interest less the amount of any refund. If the student
has received any federal financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the money’s not
paid from federal student financial aid programs.

Loving Hands (1) does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy (2) is not operating as a debtor
in possession; (3) has not filed a petition within the five preceding years, or (4) has not had a
petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in
reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code. (11 U.S.C. Sec. 1101 et
seq.),

STUDENT SERVICES OFFERED:

This school offers personal counseling, assessments, and tutoring (as well as make-up tests) at the
Administrative rate of $30 per hour. THIS SCHOOL OFFERS NO HOUSING, PLACEMENT
ASSISTANCE OR FINANCIAL AID. We do not offer any placement assistance; however, we do hire
many of our own Graduates as well as post job notices from Employers, both in and out of State who are
seeking people to work in the field of Massage Therapy. This school does not have any dormitory
facilities under its control. Our School provides no assistance to find housing for students. This
institution does not participate in any federal or state financial aid programs.

DESCRIPTION OF FACILITIES:
Our office is 1600 square feet and located in the Sunnybrae neighborhood of Arcata. It is the only campus
and Administrative Office, ADA APPROVED, with two individual healing rooms, reception area and
waiting room with refrigerator, microwave oven, massage supply area; one large classroom area with
student storage area for school supplies, massage tables for student use, and table and seating area for
textbook review and lectures; free wireless internet access to state of the Art Massage therapy Libraries
and the latest Massage Therapy Magazines. During school hours, students have access (with instructor
approval) to our small library of 100 books on various aspects of Massage, as well as website information
to access professional Massage websites. We also have an ADA bathroom. Free public parking is
located in the parking lot.

This school, the facilities it occupies and the equipment it utilizes, fully comply with any and all Federal,
State and Local Ordinances and regulations including those requirements as to Fire Safety, Building
Safety and Health.
.

STATE LICENSURE- VOLUNTARY MASSAGE THERAPY CERTIFICATION
Loving Hands does not offer licensure and is not an accredited degree granting institution. Loving Hands
offers non-degree courses: certificates in Basic Holistic Massage Therapy and Holistic Massage Therapy.
Upon completion of the 646 hour course, Loving Hands will assist graduates in the procedure to obtain
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voluntary state certification through the California Massage Therapy Council. Some municipalities in
California require CMT status to obtain work, some do not. It is up to the student to research the area they
would like to work if it is outside of Humboldt County.

As of January 2022 Loving Hands Institute of Healing Arts is CAMTC certified school. #SCH0011
Attendance and/or graduation from a California Massage Therapy Council approved school does
not guarantee certification by the CAMTC. Applicants for certification shall meet requirements as
listed in California Business and Professions Code section 4600 et. seq.

California Business and Professions Code section 4611:
(a)It is unfair business practice for a person to do any of the following:

1. To hold himself or herself out or to use the title of “certified massage therapist” or certified
massage practitioner,” or any other term, such as “licensed,” “certified,” “CMT,” or “CMP,”
in any manner whatsoever that implies or suggests that the person is certified as a
massage therapist or massage practitioner, unless that person currently holds an active
and valid certificate issued by the council pursuant to this chapter.

2. To falsely state or advertise or put out any sign or card or other device, or to falsely
represent to the public through any print or electronic media, that he or she or any other
individual is licensed, certified, or registered by a governmental agency as a massage
therapist or massage practitioner.

(b)In addition to any other available remedies, engaging in any of the prohibited
behaviors described in subdivision (a) constitutes unfair competition under
section 17200.

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND
“The state of California established the Student Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered
by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or
was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an
economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the (ST
RF), or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or
are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition. You are not eligible for protection from the
STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled
in a residency program.”

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other
information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capital Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916)
431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.
To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or
deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:
1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or
discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a
chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.
2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure of the
institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before
the program was discontinued, if the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of that
educational program during that time period.
3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the
institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau
determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.
4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.
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5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by
law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.
6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a
violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award
from the institution.
7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice
for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.
To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action
or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.
A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non-collection may, at any time, file
a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has
been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a
written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by
another act of law. However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer
identification number.”

All information in the contents of this school catalog is current and correct, and certified as true by the
school official’s signature below:

School Director/Instructor

Hilary Miyagishima CMT#7134

Loving Hands Institute of Healing Arts
www.lovinghandsinstitute.com

23



32 Sunnybrae Center
Arcata, CA 95521
(707)630-3407

lovinghandsinstitute@gmail.com
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