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SCHOOL 
 

 

Approvals 

 
This institution is a private institution approved to operate, since July 2004, by the California Bureau for Private 

Postsecondary Education. Approval to operate means the institution is compliant with the minimum standards 

contained in the California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009 (as amended) and Division 7.5 of Title 

5 of the California Code of Regulations. 

 
Notice to Prospective Degree Program Students 

 
The programs offered are non-degree programs. They are not accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the United States Department of Education. A student enrolled in an unaccredited institution is not eligible 

to receive federal financial aid. On completion of the program you will be provided with a Certificate of 

Completion. As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment 

agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to 

you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 

 
Bankruptcy 

 
The institution has no pending petition in bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor in possession, has not filed a 

petition within the preceding five years or has had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding 

five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. 

Sec. 1101 et seq). 

 
Dates 

 
College of Nursing and Technology is approved by the Board of Vocation Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians 

for 6.0 Cohorts per year – usually 3.0 full-time and 3.0 part time, and approximately one of each, every 3-4 

months. Actual start dates are determined to avoid overlap and assure faculty, classroom space, and access to 

approved facilities. Check with our Enrollment Counselor for specific information (818-343-1022, Ext. 1030. 

 
Administration 

 
▪ Mihail Badica, President/Owner: Graduated from Pitar Mos College of Nursing in Bucharest, 

Romania as an RN. He worked over 8 years in an emergency room setting, and at an ambulance 

company. 

▪ Camille Goldsmith, RN, MN, BA/BSN, PHN, ALNC: Program Director, Director of Nursing:  

Alumnus of Seattle University and UCLA; previously V.P for Nursing in 3 Acute Hospitals, D.O.N., in 

Long-Term Care, and Faculty Instructor, University of Phoenix – BSN, MSN, and HCA programs. 

▪ Julien Badica: Enrollment Counselor and Exit Exam Coordinator 

▪ Edith Lemus, School Manager: Possesses a Certificate of Office Procedures and is qualified in 

customer services and academic coordination with over 10 years; Bilingual: Spanish 
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Faculty Instructors 

 
Faculty members are selected according to the requirements of the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric 

Technicians and the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.  

 

Instructors are interviewed; faculty approval is obtained from the BVNPT; and faculty are assigned to teach Theory 

or Clinical or both, based on syllabus, curriculum, lesson plans, and clinical objectives’ needs for each cohort. 

Efforts are made to have two or more Faculty instruct a Cohort during the Five Terms. 

 

Current Active Faculty 

 
▪  Antay, Lourdes Esteban: RN, BSN; St. Paul University, Philippines; Clinical Instructor, 1922 

▪ Bodnar, Benita: LA Valley College; M.A. Cal State Northridge; Clinical Instructor since 2008 

▪ Bravo, Daniel: RN, BSN; MD, Faculty of Human Medicine, National University, Federico Villarreal, Peru, 

Pediatrics; Theory Faculty and Clinical Instructor since 1982 

▪ Ergina, Karen: LVN, BSN (Equivalent) from Perpetual Help College of Manila; Instructor Teaching Theory 

and Clinical since 2019 

▪ Galura, Glenda: L V N  ( G r a d u a t e  o f  C o l l e g e  o f  N u r s i n g  a n d  T e c h n o l o g y ) ;  

B a c h e l o r  o f  A r t s ( E q u i v a l e n t )  f r o m  Centro Escolar University Philippines, Clinical Instructor 

since January 2017 

▪ Garcia, Wanda: LVN to RN/BSN; Arellano University, Philippines RN since 1997, Theory and Clinical 

Instructor since 2008; Liaison with several approved clinical facilities 

▪ Goldsmith, Camille: RN/PHN, BA/BSN from Seattle University, MN from UCLA; Administration background in 

Acute Care and Long-Term Care; Nursing Educator 20 years 

▪ Guray, Concepcion: RN license with over 22 years of medical experience, educator since 2001 

▪ Ibarra, Francis A: LVN; BS in Business Administration Equivalent from Xavier University, Philippines; Faculty 

Instructor – Theory and Clinical at College of Nursing and Technology 2 years 

▪ Keith, Laura: RN; BSN, University of Phoenix; Clinical Instructor, College of Nursing & Technology, 2 years 

▪ Labrador, Sheryl L.: RN; BSN, West Coast University; Clinical Instructor, College of Nursing & Technology 

▪ Peters, Dr. Paul: RN, MS from Cal State, Dominguez Hills; P.A. from UCLA; MD, University of Bucharest, 

Romania; Multiple Specialty Certifications; Theory Faculty and Clinical Instructor since 2005 at CNT. 

▪ Pottukalam, Johnson, Minu: RN, Doctor of Medicine from American International Medical 

University, Bachelor of Science, Florida Atlantic, nursing since 2011 

▪ Putong, Antinina: LVN Anderson Medical Career College; BSN Far Eastern University; nursing since 2010, 

teaching since 2013 

▪ Thakur, Rajni: RN, MSN-ED, PHN has a BSN & Master of Science in Nursing from University of Phoenix, 

teaching since 2016 

▪ Vaquilar Bautista, Emma: LVN; RN/BSN Equivalent from the University of Pangasinan, nursing since 

1987, Clinical Instructor, Intermittent since 2007. 

▪ West, Katharine S.:RN, Doctor of Nursing Practice, California State University, Fresno; PHN; Clinical Nurse 

Specialist; Multiple Degrees and Certifications; Educator – RN BSN.MSN.HCA,DNP classes University of 

Phoenix 
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Location of Facility and Class Sessions 

 
The College’s facility, where class sessions and skills lab will be held, is located at the following address: 

College of Nursing and Technology, Inc 

18700 Sherman Way, Reseda, CA 91335 

Telephone (818) 343-1022 

Fax: (818) 708-1681 

Email is: www.collegenurse.com 

Office Hours: M-F, 10-6; (Class hours vary week days & Sunday between 9:00 am to 11:00 pm)  

 

Approved Clinical Facilities 

 

• Brookdale Senior Living Solutions, 17650 Devonshire Street, Northridge, CA 91325 

• Canyon Oaks Nursing & Rehabilitation, 22029 Saticoy Street, Canoga Park, CA 91303 

• Casitas Care Center, 10000000000626 Balboa Blvd, Granada Hills, CA 91344 

• Chatsworth Park Health Care Center, 10610 Owensmouth Avenue, Chatsworth, CA 91311 

• DM Sinaloa, LLC, 1432 Sinaloa Road, Simi Valley, 93064 

• El Proyecto del Barrio, Inc.,8902 Woodman Avenue, Arleta, CA 91331 

• El Proyecto del Barrio, Inc. 20800 Sherman Way, Winnetka, CA 91306 

• Mission Community Hospital, 14850 Roscoe Blvd, Panorama City, 91402 

• Mountain View Convalescent Hospital, 13333 Fenton Avenue, Sylmar, CA 91342 

• Parkwest Healthcare Center, 6740 Wilbur Avenue, Reseda, CA 91335 

• Stoney Point Healthcare, 20820 Craggy View Drive, Chatsworth, CA 91311 

• Topanga Terrace Subacute Care, 22125 Roscoe Blvd., Canoga Park, CA 91304 

• Woodland Care Manor, 7120 Corbin Avenue, Reseda, CA 91335 

• West Hills Health and Rehabilitation Center, 7940 Topanga Canyon Blvd., Canoga Park, CA 91304 

• Windsor Terrace Health Care Center, 7447 Sepulveda Blvd., Van Nuys, CA 91405 

 

Approved Clinical Facilities vary from acute, sub-acute, psychiatric, pediatric, OBGYN, outpatient clinics, and 

rehabilitation centers. Facilities have specific policies, procedures, and equipment for their clients and for use 

by students. This is explained in an orientation prior to beginning the clinical rotation. Clinical hours are 

scheduled from 7:00 am to 1:30 pm for the day program and from 5:00-10:30 pm for the PM program. 

  

Philosophy 

 
It is the College’s belief that all individuals are entitled to the opportunity to make a difference in this world. 

The College strives to make this possible by providing access to the tools that will enable the student to be 

successful in his/her chosen field. The medical field is a potentially rewarding career that focuses on services 

for others and attracts those persons who care and like helping others. Through instruction in both theory and 

skills training, we believe we are a valuable resource in promoting the development of people who can have a 

positive impact in the nursing/medical environment. 

http://www.collegenurse.com/
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Mission Statement 

 
The College is dedicated to providing a dynamic learner experience that enriches, enhances, and empowers its 

students for their future employment. The College provides instruction that may lead to entry-level employment 

in the health care field and building a foundation for future growth and upward career mobility. 

 
Our mission is to make the students initial interface with the entry-level career in health care a positively and 

richly fulfilling experience. We encourage growth and development of one’s career in the health field. The 

mission of the College is to provide individuals with the theory and skills that they need, to pursue a career in 

the medical field. 

 
To assist students in achieving this mission, the College has established a professional environment consisting 

of the following: 

• A faculty of highly educated and experienced professionals possessing extensive knowledge, skills, 

experience, and concern for student achievement and success 

• Hands-on training with practice equipment used in a professional workplace-stimulated environment 

• A curriculum devoted to career related subjects that combines theoretical education with hands-on 

training, thereby enabling students to acquire knowledge and skill preparation 

• Job placement assistance will be provided to graduates 

• Attendance, behavioral and dress code policies designed to emulate a majority of professional settings, 

which will prepare students for success in the job market 

 
The College’s educational objectives are to equip each student with a basic working knowledge of skills 

required by companies and agencies within and related to the Business, and Medical Industries for entry-level 

position. 

 
As a graduate of the College, the student will be prepared to perform specific duties immediately upon 

employment. The student will be prepared to more fully use the specialized training offered by many 

companies to new employees. Opportunities for student career advancement will be greater due to the wide 

scope of knowledge each graduate has gained from the College’s training programs and their business 

adaptation. 

 
Each student will find that the College’s training is a job-oriented practical program of laboratory practice, 

which includes “hands-on” experience with the materials and actual scenarios of typical industry job 

assignments. This active program of work training will give the student valuable pre-employment experience. 

 
Facilities & Equipment 

 
Instructional equipment is tailored to meet the needs of all programs involved and complies with all local, state 

and federal safety rules and regulations. The nursing laboratory is equipped with hospital beds, intravenous 

supplies, mannequins, 911 emergency intervention equipment, vital signs equipment, as well as additional 

equipment needed to teach patient care. There are three classrooms available ranging in size from 600 sq feet to 

800 sq feet. All classrooms have central heating and air condition. All classrooms have mounted dry erase 

boards and overhead screens for the use of visual aids such as videos, slides and instructor notes. There is a 

lunch area which seats 32 students. 
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STUDENT SERVICES 
 

The College of Nursing and Technology staff is available to assist all students and former students with a 

number of services. In addition, all prospective students will meet with an Enrollment Counselor and will 

receive professional counseling assistance, detailed information about services, and career paths advice to 

ensure each student is on the correct path to meet their individual goals. 

 
Tutoring 

The school may offer, free of charge additional tutoring, approved by the DON for an entire class for students 

reinstating and repeating a Term, for study groups or individual students by request, and if scheduling permits 

and faculty are available. Please contact the D.O.N. or School Manager to make arrangements. Former students 

may request additional reviews with current classes, if space and scheduling permits. 

 
Administrative Services 

The school is available to provide you with letters of verification of enrollment, letters to postpone jury duty, or 

financial statements or balance upon request. Photocopies, transcripts, address change or name change are 

available upon request. See Schedule of Fees and Charges. 

 
Parking 

Free parking is available behind the building in addition to ample street parking. The school is not responsible 

for theft or collision of any vehicle while on premises. However, you are encouraged to report any incident to 

the administration and the police department as soon as possible. 

 
Placement Services 

Upon completion of the course and passing the NCLEX Exam, the school will assist you with your resume, 

provide you with potential employment opportunities and possibly prepare a recommendation letter based on 

your grades, performance, attendance and overall behavior. The school does not guarantee employment. 

 
Library 

Appropriate reference books and magazines are available to all students. Books and magazines are not to be 

taken from the premises. The library is equipped with computers which are connected to the internet, for the 

students’ education-related use and is monitored by camera for security and safety. Library is available during 

office hours. In addition, students are always welcomed and encouraged to utilize classrooms for individual or 

group study. 

 
Housing 

The institution does not have dormitory facilities under its control. Rental facilities are reasonably near the school 

at an average $1500-2500 per month for a one bedroom and $2500-4000 for a two-bed. College of Nursing & 

Technology has no responsibility to find or assist a student in finding housing. 

 
Distance Educational Programs 

The College of Nursing and Technology does not have Distance Educational Programs, or Zoom classes except with 

advance approval by the BVNPT and BPPE or occasionally to attend class remotely due to COVID. 

 
Experiential Learning Credit 

The College of Nursing and Technology does not offer Experiential Learning credits. 
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OFFERED PROGRAMS 
 

 

Offered Programs 

 
Vocational Nursing 

Medical Assistant 

Please see insert page 34 for upcoming start dates and schedules. 

 
Description of Vocational Nursing Program 

The Vocational Nursing Program is designed to educate and train graduates to be able to enter a vocational 

nursing position, including the expertise of a variety of medical knowledge and skills that will enable them to 

work in nursing care, hospitals, home health care facility, doctor office, private nursing care, etc. 

 
Vocational Nurses will be able to: Work under a doctor’s or RN’s orders, administering medication; calculating 

the right amount of medication by identifying the right patient, the ability to read and write on the chart of the 

patient, and following the right documentation. Able to assist in many medical procedures including taking vital 

signs, small medical procedures, recognizing emergencies, and how to act appropriately in case of an 

emergency. They will learn leadership and supervision, behavior, implementation, evaluation, and assessment 

of a patient, as well as being able to take care of a patient in need at all levels of care. 

 
• Learning how to supervise and monitor patients, able to recognize different diseases and act promptly 

• Communicating with doctors or registered nurses implementing orders received from them. Collect 

specimens, administer injections, and assisting physicians 

• Learning how to respect and treat the patient, maintaining confidentiality of patient private information, 

and helping other colleagues with their procedures and teaching others if needed. 

 
The Vocational Nursing Program consists in five terms, for a total of 1,570 hours. The student will receive 

grades based on the results of quizzes, tests, homework, clinical & lab performance for each subject. Three 

remediation’s are allowed per term. At the end of each term, the students will be tested with an intense 

comprehensive exam which may include material from the prior terms. In order for the student to progress into 

the next term all prior missed or failed exams in the current term must be completed or made up. If a student 

fails a comprehensive exam, there is a one time remediation given for each Term Comprehensive. If the student 

fails the remediation, he/she is considered as failing that term. The Final Comprehensive or Term 5 

Comprehensive will consist of material from all prior terms. If the student fails any comprehensive, the student 

may request their transcripts all prior terms which were completed with a passing comprehensive or may 

request to be reinstated at CNT at the DON’s discretion and based on available seating in the future batch. The 

student is responsible for paying the tuition for re-enrollment and a reinstatement fee. Completion of any given 

term including successfully passing the Comprehensive is required in order to receive transcripts for any part of 

that term. Upon passing the Term 5 Comprehensive, the student has three attempts to pass an Exit Exam. The 

Exit Exam must be passed in order to be considered a graduate of the school. Once the student is a graduate of 

the school, the student must pass the state board NCLEX exam in order to receive their license as a Vocational 

Nurse. 
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Clock and Credit Hours for the Vocational Nursing Program: 1,570 clock hours (BPPE), 56 credit hours 

Course # Course Title 
Lecture Lab Clinical Total Hours 

Credit Credit Credit Credit 

VN 100 Nursing Fundamentals 20 1 0 0 0 0 20 1 

VN 101 
Nursing Process & 

Critical Thinking 
18 1 0 0 0 0 18 1 

VN 102 Nursing Skills 60 4 60 2 0 0 120 6 

VN 104 Anatomy & Physiology 76 5 0 0 0 0 76 5 

VN 105 Growth & Development 20 1 0 0 0 0 20 1 

VN 200 
Gerontology, End of Life & 

Community Health 
20 1 0 0 0 0 20 1 

VN 201 
Communication & Patient 

Education 
12 0.5 0 0 0 0 12 0.5 

VN 202 Nutrition 25 1.5 0 0 0 0 25 1.5 

VN 203 Pharmacology 81 5 20 0.5 0 0 101 5.5 

VN 205,301-305, 
401, 403-406 

Medical Surgical Nursing 187 12 61 2 0 0 248 14 

VN 103, 204, 300, 
400, 500 

Medical Surgical 

Clinical I-V 
0 0 0 0 730 16 730 16 

VN 402 Communicable Disease 8 0.5 0 0 0 0 8 0.5 

VN 407 Psychiatric Nursing 18 1 0 0 0 0 18 1 

VN 501, 502 Maternity 24 1.5 8 0.5 24 0.5 56 2.5 

VN 503, 504 Pediatrics 20 1 0 0 24 0.5 44 1.5 

VN 505, 506 Leadership & Supervision 12 0.5 0 0 24 0.5 36 1 

VN 507 Career Preparation 15 1 3 0 0 0 18 1 

 Total Hours 616 37.5 152 5 802 17.5 1570 60 

 

 
Semester Credit Hour Measure 

 
One semester credit hour is earned for each 15 hours of lecture, 30 clock hours of laboratory, or 45 hours of 

work-based activities. One Semester Credit Hour (Unit) equals one or any combination of 30 hours in 

Theory/Lecture/Demonstration/Supervised Practice. A clock hour is defined as: A period of sixty (60) minutes 

with minimum of fifty (50) minutes of instruction and 10 minutes for the students’ break period. 
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Description of Medical Assistant Program 

 
The Medical Assistant is a non-licensed allied health occupation which performs administrative and/or clinical 

tasks to support the work of physicians and other health professionals. They perform routine tasks and 

procedures such as measuring patients' vital signs, administering medications and injections, recording 

information in medical records-keeping systems, preparing and handling medical instruments and supplies, and 

collecting and preparing specimens of bodily fluids and tissues for laboratory testing. 

 
Clock and Credit Hours for the Medical Assistant Program: 725 clock hours (BPPE), 38 credit hours 

Module 
 

Course Title 
Lecture Lab Clinical Total Hours 

Credit Credit Credit Total Credit 

Module 1 Medical Terminology 80 5 0 0 0 0 80 5 

Module 2 Body Systems 80 5 0 0 0 0 80 5 

Module 3 Body Systems 80 5 0 0 0 0 80 5 

Module 4 A&P / Medical Ethics 40 3 40 1 0 0 80 4 

Module 5 Body Systems 40 3 40 1 0 0 80 4 

Module 6 Medical Records 40 3 40 1 0 0 80 4 

Module 7 Body Systems 40 3 40 1 0 0 80 4 

Module 8 Medical Records 35 2 45 2 0 0 80 4 

 Externship 0 0 0 0 85 3 85 3 

 Total Hours 435 29 205 6 85 3 725 38 
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ACADEMIC POLICIES FOR ALL PROGRAMS 
 

 

Grading, Progression & Graduation Requirements 

 
The minimum passing grade for each subject is 75%. Several tests are given during the course of the programs 

with a Comprehensive Exam given at the completion of each term. The minimum passing score for each 

Comprehensive Exam is 75%. All quizzes must be passed before the comprehensive exam may be taken. 

 
All missed or failed exams due to absenteeism or a score lower than 75% must be completed within 5 days or 

prior to taking the Term Comprehensive Exam, whichever is first. If student is not up to date with all exams or 

has not passed a subject within each term, the student will not be permitted to take the Comprehensive Exam for 

that term. It is the responsibility of the student to contact the office to make up or take a remediation exam. 

A maximum of three remedial exams per term is permitted. Each comprehensive exam must be passed in order 

to advance to the next term. If the student fails the comprehensive, one remediation comprehensive is provided. 

If a student fails a subject, a remediation for that subject must be taken within 5 days; otherwise the student may 

be dropped from the program. If a student fails a comprehensive and the remedial, the student may request to 

be reinstated and should follow the Reinstatement Policy in this catalog. 

 
At the end of the Vocational Nursing curriculum, the student must pass the Term V or Final Comprehensive. If 

the student fails both the comprehensive and the comprehensive remediation, the student will receive the 

transcripts for the prior passed and completed terms or may request to be reinstated and should follow the 

Reinstatement Policy in this catalog. Reinstatement is always at the discretion of the DON and this request may 

be denied. Tuition must be up to date in payments in order to take the comprehensive exam. 

 
Once the student passes the Term V Comprehensive, they will be required to pass an exit exam in order to be 

considered a graduate. The students' tuition must be paid in full prior to taking the exit exam. See Enrollment 

Agreement or Schedule of Fees for cost of exit exam. Each student shall be allowed three attempts to pass the 

exit exam. If a student cannot pass by the 3rd attempt, they will be considered a non-graduate. This distinction 

is established by the Board of Vocational Nursing and Psychiatric Technicians. The academic graduation of the 

program and awarding the diploma or certificate is at the discretion of the Director of Nursing and is based the 

student meeting program requirements including attendance and passing scores. 

 

When the student successfully completes five the 5 Term, he or she is eligible to take an Exit Exam (HESI or 

ATI) and/o apply to the BVNPT to take the NCLEX Exam and achieve licensure as an LVN. Completing the 

College of Nursing and Technology vocational nursing program does not guarantee the student taking a license 

exam in California or any other state or guarantee employment. The school is not a position placement agency. 

However, completing the program makes the student eligible to apply to take the licensing exam in California. 
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Definitions 

The following definitions apply to grades 

A- Performance of the student has been at the highest level, showing sustained excellence in meeting all course 

requirements and exhibiting an unusual degree of intellectual initiative 

B- Performance of the student has been at a high level, showing consistent and effective achievement in 

meeting course requirements 

C- Performance of the student has been at an adequate level, meeting the basic requirements of the course 

F - Performance of the student has been such that minimal course requirements have not been met. 

I - The symbol “I” indicates that a portion of required course has not been completed and evaluated in the 

prescribed time period. There is still a possibility for the student to earn grade. It is the responsibility of the 

student to bring pertinent information to the attention of the instructor and/or school director to determine 

from the instructor the remaining course requirements which must be satisfied to remove or replace the 

incomplete. The final grade is assigned when that work has been completed and evaluated. An incomplete 

result must be made up with in 1.5 times the normal duration of the program. 

W – The symbol “W” indicates that the student was permitted to drop a course after the second week of 

instruction with the approval of the instructor and appropriate campus official. It carries no connotation of 

quality of student performance and is not used in calculating grade-point average. 

 

 
 

Letter Grade Quality Points Percentage Indicator 

A 4.0 91% -100% Excellent 

B 3.0 90% - 81% Good 

C 2.0 80% - 75% Average 

F 0.0 < 75% Failing 

I 0.0 - Incomplete 

W 0.0 - Withdrawn 

 

 

Graduation Requirements 

Students must achieve passing grades for both theory and clinical skills and have a passing grade on the final 

exam to qualify for graduation from any of the programs. All Vocational Nursing students must pass an exit 

exam before being considered graduates. A diploma would be awarded upon passing the exit exam. The exit 

exam will be offered monthly and must be scheduled by the student a minimum on ten days prior to the exam. 

The student must pay for the cost of the Exit Exam upon scheduling. A student will not be reimbursed the cost 

of the exam if they fail to appear. Students may have up to three attempts to pass the exit exam. If necessary, 

upon scheduling for future exams, an additional fee will be collected. If a student cannot pass the exit exam, the 

transcripts will reflect the completion of the program as a non-graduate or equivalency tester. (Please see insert 

on page 34 for any updates.) 

 
In pursuing the highest standard of preparation for the safety of the population, the school has the authority to 

decide when a student is prepared for the exit examination and graduation. This implies that within the 

possibilities students may have reviews as it is considered necessary by the DON prior to receiving transcript 

and taking the board examination. All reviews are mandatory. 
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Profession and License Requirements for Vocational Nursing 

 
Students completing the program will be required to pay additional fees to the Board of Vocational Nurse and 

Psychiatric Technician. These fees are regulated by the Board, and subject to change. The following fees are 

assessed: fee for licensure application; Exam application fee; Department of Justice Fingerprints; FBI 

Fingerprints fee. A schedule of current fees such as for license application, fee for fingerprinting, etc., will be 

provided on the www.bvnpt.ca.gov website. 

 

The College’s Vocational Nursing Program is designed to lead to a position in a profession, occupation, trade, 

or career field requiring licensure in this state. 

 
Requirements for vocational nurse licensure are specified in the Vocational Nursing Practice Act. There are 

four methods by which one may qualify for the licensure examination. Each method is designed to provide an 

individual access into the job market as an entry-level practitioner. 

Method #1: Graduation from a California accredited Vocational Nursing Program. 

Method #2: Graduation from an Out-of-State accredited Practical/Vocational Nursing Program. 

Method #3: Completion of equivalent education and experience. 

Pharmacology - 54 Hours 

Paid Bedside Nursing Experience - 51 Months 

Verification of Skill Proficiency 

Method #4: Completion of education and experience as a corpsman in the United States military. 

Twelve months active duty rendering direct bedside patient care 

Completion of the basic course in nursing in a branch of the armed forces 

General honorable discharge from the military 

 
Students completing the program will be required to pay additional fees to the Board of Vocational Nurse and 

Psychiatric Technician. These fees are regulated by the Board, and subject to change. The following fees are 

assessed: fee for licensure application; Exam application fee; Department of Justice Fingerprints; FBI 

Fingerprints fee. A schedule of current fees such as for license application, fee for fingerprinting, etc., will be 

given to each student at the end of the program. 

 
You may obtain further information concerning licensure requirements from the Board of Vocational Nursing 

and Psychiatric Technicians (http://www.bvnpt.ca.gov). 

 

Gainfully Employed 

 
Gainfully Employed means the graduate is employed in a job classification under the United States Department 

of Labor’s Standard Occupational Classification codes, using the Detailed Occupation level that the program 

prepares its graduates. 

Vocational Nursing SOC: 29-2061 

Medical Assistant SOC: 31-9092 

http://www.bvnpt.ca.gov/
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Dropping a Class 

 
Students may drop a class at any time. If a class is dropped during the first 7 days, all tuition (excluding non- 

refundable fees, according with the agreement) will be refunded. Classes dropped after that will have their fees 

assessed on the basis of the number of hours they have attended. See “Tuition Policies” 

 
Dress Code 

 
Uniforms and ID badges will be issued by the College and must be worn for all clinical and theory classes as 

soon as they are issued. Shoes must be white, non-slip, closed toes shoes; no slides or sandals are permitted. 

Students may wear a white T-shirt or thermal under their scrubs but no sweaters or jackets are allowed over the 

school issued uniform at any facility. 

 
No one will be allowed in any facility without the appropriate uniform. If the student is asked to leave, it will 

count as an absence and the student will be responsible for making up the hours. 

 
Students may wear modest earrings only, no facial jewelry, tattoos must be covered, no colognes, perfumes, or 

aftershave; hair must be clean, neat, of natural appearing colors and long hair must be tied back and restricted 

from falling forward. Policy may vary from facility to facility. Students must abide by dress policy at each 

facility. 

 
Eating or Drinking in Class 

 
There is absolutely no eating, drinking or chewing gun allowed in any of the classrooms. Smoking is not 

allowed inside the building. 

 
Schedules (Please see insert page 34 for upcoming start dates and schedules.) 

 
Part-time Vocational Nursing: Three weeknights from 5pm to 11pm & one weekend from 9am to 3pm 

Fulltime Vocational Nursing: Monday through Friday from 8:30am to 2:30pm (subject to change) 

 
Medical Assistant: Monday through Friday from 8am to 12pm 

 
Holidays 

 
Classes will not be held on the following holidays Memorial Day, Easter Sunday, Independence Day, Labor 

Day, Thanksgiving Day and Winter break: December 24th - January 1st. 

 
Change in Programs 

 
The College reserves the right to modify the curriculum, change the instruction, updated the school catalog, 

change instructors or methods in order to keep current with instructional programs. The college also has the 

right to add new programs, change the schedule, times and days depending on the availability of the clinical 

facilities or instructors, and extend the length of the program at Director of Nursing discretion. 
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Attendance Policy 

 
It is important that the College have a record of attendance for each student. It is the students’ responsibility to 

sign the attendance sheet daily. Specific hours of attendance are part of graduation requirements. 

 
Students are expected to attend classes on time according to their syllabus. Attendance is kept on a daily sign in 

sheet and maintained by office staff. A student is considered tardy if they arrive more than 15 minutes after the 

starting time. Being tardy three times is equivalent to one absence. Arriving more than 30 minutes late or 

leaving more than 30 minutes before the end of class is treated as an absence. All absence must be made up. 

 
If a student misses clinical/lab and/or theory more than three times in each term, the student will be placed on 

probation. A student on probation can have no further absences for the remainder of the term. If the student 

misses any additional days, the student may be terminated at the discretion of the school. All absences must be 

made-up. Making-up days is required but does not remove them from your attendance record. 

 
For the Medical Assistant Program, if a student misses clinical/lab and/or theory more than twice in a term, the 

student will be placed on probation. A student on probation can have no further absences for the remainder of 

the term. If the student misses any additional days, the student may be terminated at the discretion of the school. 

 
Failure to notify the clinical instructor thirty minutes in advance of an absence from a scheduled clinical 

rotation, so that patient assignments may be adjusted, will result in the issuance of a “Warning Probation.” A 

second occurrence of failure to notify the clinical instructor in a timely manner can result in the student being 

dropped from the course. 

 
If a student does not attend class for five consecutive class days without contacting the administration, they will 

be considered dropped upon the 5th absence. 

 
If course objectives are not completed, at the discretion of the Instructor or Director of Nursing, acceptable 

methods for make-up may include: 

 
• Theory: case studies, written examination, attendance at seminars of workshops and research reports. 

• Clinical: performance evaluation in skills laboratory or additional time in the clinical area with 

clients/patients or theory, in the event that space is not available at the clinical facilities. 

• In the event that no space is available in clinical rotation, theory studies may be used as make up days. 

 
Because of the unique requirements of some nursing courses, instructors may assign additional attendance 

requirements (i.e. field trips to other clinical sites). Students will be advised of such requirements and are 

required to complete these attendance requirements. 

 
Attendance requirements at an assigned clinical facility may be changed due to the sudden and unexpected 

inability of a clinical facility to fulfill its commitment to the program. 

 
If a student misses an exam due to absenteeism, it is the students’ responsibility to contact the office to 

reschedule within 5 days or before any Comprehensive, whichever is first. Failure to due so may result in 

termination from the program. 
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Probation, Suspension or Termination 

 
The College reserves the right to suspend or dismiss any student whose attendance, professional conduct, or 

academic performance does not meet the school’s standards and/or who fails to abide by the School Policies. 

Any student who has been suspended or dismissed may appeal the action by following the Grievance Policy 

outlined in this catalog. 

 
Leave of Absence 

 
One leave of absence will be allowed for emergencies, illness or pregnancy. Students will be required to 

continue their instruction in the next available class at the point where their studies were interrupted at the 

discretion of the School Director and seat availability. 

 
A student enrolled in one of the Programs who develops a new health problem or condition, becomes pregnant, 

develops a communicable disease or is absent for more than 3 days due to illness must present medical release 

from his/her physician indicating that there are no physical restrictions relating to task performance to permit 

continuance in the program. 
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STUDENT STANDARD OF ACHEIVEMENT 
 

 

Remediation Policy/Academic Probation 

 
Student must maintain a grade of 75% or higher on any subject to advance. Students who are unable to meet 

course objectives will be placed on academic probation. Each student is permitted 3 remediation exams per 

term. Upon the need for a 4th remediation, the student may be terminated from the Program. If a 3-page 

handwritten summary of the failing subject is turned in, they may be given the opportunity for a 4th remediation. 

The maximum grade a student will receive on any remedial exam is 75%. 

 
The procedure includes a conference with faculty members to identify unmet objectives and a formulation, 

documentation, and implementation of a plan to improve unmet objectives which may include arrangement for 

a referral to additional learning experiences to assist student in meeting objectives, both in Theory and Clinical 

objectives. 

 
Experiences to assist student in meeting objectives include, but are not limited to: 

• Case study 

• Independent study 

• Auto-tutorial time 

• Skills lab performance 

• Other appropriate assignments 

 
Theory re-testing and /or Clinical supervised re-evaluation to identify if student has met objectives. If objectives 

have not been met, this is considered the second minimal pass, and the student will not be allowed to continue. 

 
Standard for Student Achievement 

 
An important part of the training at the College includes the development of professional attitudes and 

behaviors. The College has created a professional “work-like” environment in which students can grow and 

develop according to their professional expectations. Students are expected to conduct themselves in a 

business-like manner. Normal standards of professional business attire apply to all students and unconventional 

clothing cannot be permitted at school. Students who are dressed inappropriately may be subject to disciplinary 

action. The effectiveness of any training program is dependent upon the full cooperation between students and 

school staff. Consequently, all students will be expected to extend their best efforts to work harmoniously and 

conscientiously with instructors, administrators, and pears. Students must adhere to high standards of 

academics, attendance, and conduct to remain eligible to continue as a regularly enrolled student at the school. 

 
Learning how to communicate and deal with a variety of people, coping with frustration, solving problems, 

disciplining oneself and dressing professionally, are just a few of the ingredients that go into the makeup of 

professional. 

 
Those whose conduct reflects discredit upon themselves or the school may be subject to dismissal. The 

administration of the school reserves the right, in the exercise of their judgment, to dismiss a student on any of 

the following grounds, but not limited to: 
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Grounds for Disciplinary Action or Termination 

 
▪ Unprofessional Behavior or conduct that reflects unfavorably upon the school or student 

▪ Use of Unlawful Drugs, Marijuana or Narcotics, possessing alcohol or being under the influence of 

alcohol 

▪ Gambling at the College 

▪ Profanity 

▪ Not abiding by the dress code 

▪ Breach of the Enrollment Agreement 

▪ Cheating or falsifying school records 

▪ Carrying a concealed or potentially dangerous weapon 

▪ Disorderly conduct, which interferes with the learning process of any other student or lecture 

▪ Instigation and/or participation in rebellious activities against the College and/or its student(s) 

▪ Solicitation, which reflects unfavorably upon the school and /or its students 

▪ Vandalism of school property 

▪ Any form of gang related activity including but not limited to flashing of gang signs 

▪ Fighting 

▪ Verbal confrontation with any employee, student, or staff of the clinical facilities 

▪ Use of cell phones or other electronic devices on campus 

 
Disciplinary action may include verbal, written warning, probation, suspension or dismissal at the sole 

discretion of the College. 

 
Grounds for Termination 

 
A student may be dropped at any point during the program courses for any of the following reasons: 

• Failure to meet academic standards 

• Failure to meet acceptable standards of skill performance 

• Excessive absences (3 or more clinical absences within one term) 

• Failure to perform in the clinical setting at the level of competency of the preceding nursing course 

• A student may be immediately terminated for placing a patient or patients in physical or emotional 

jeopardy. The course instructor will document the incident and inform student of the necessity for a 

meeting with the DON to determine the student continuation in the program. 

• Failure to meet clinical objectives stated in writing at the beginning of the course thereby placing a 

patient or patients in physical or emotional jeopardy. 

• Failure to effectively report about a patient’s status during a clinical assignment, thereby placing 

patient, or patients, in physical or emotional jeopardy 

• Failure to notify the clinical instructor thirty minutes in advance of an absence from a scheduled 

hospital assignment, so that patient assignments may be adjusted, will result in the issuance of a 

Warning. A second occurrence may result in the student being dropped from the course. 
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Professional Conduct of Students 

 
An important element of the training at the College includes the development of professionalism. The high 

standards maintained in the College’s programs prepare each student to meet the highest expectations of 

employers. The College expects students to always conduct themselves in a socially acceptable manner. 

Students indulging in, but not limited to, the following misconduct are subject to immediate dismissal: 

• Any type of dishonesty, including cheating, plagiarism, knowingly furnishing false information to 

institution, forgery, alteration, or use of institution identification documents with the intent to defraud 

• Intentional disruption or obstruction of teaching, administration, disciplinary proceedings, public meetings 

and programs, or other school activities 

• Physical or verbal abuse of any person on school premises or at school-sponsored or supervised functions 

• Theft of school property or damage to school premises or to the property of a member of the school 

community on the school premises 

• Failure to comply with directions of school officials acting in the performance of their duties 

• The use, possession, or distribution of alcoholic beverages, controlled substances, firearms, weapons, 

explosives and /or dangerous chemicals on school premises 

• Any violation of Federal, State or local law on the College’s premises or at the College’s sponsored 

functions 

 
The College views excessive tardiness as violation of the professional conduct philosophy that could lead to 

dismissal. Any violation or transgression will be strictly penalized. The College reserves the right to make the 

administrative and educational decisions as to whether the code of conduct had been violated. All cases are 

viewed individually. 

 
Confidentiality 

 
• Student must show respect for patient confidentiality by not accessing a patient medical record unless the 

medical record is necessary for the provision of nursing care and with permission of the instructor. 

• Student may not express medical opinions about patients that can be overheard by others. 

• Speak only in English in all patient areas. When required for patient care, however, communicate directly or 

through an interpreter in the language best understood by the patient whenever possible. 

• Respect the confidential nature of instructor/student conferences and do not discuss their content with 

classmates. 

• Never remove patient information or any copies of chart documentation from the clinical facility. 

• Student will watch the Confidentiality, Privacy & HIPAA and Department of Justice, Video of Abuse 

regarding Hospital's patient information, privacy practices and abuse in their entirety and had an opportunity 

to ask question s regarding the videos. Failure to comply within these responsibilities may result in 

termination from the program. 

• Do not post anything on social media regarding a patient’s information including facility name, room number 

or other detailed or vague description. 
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ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURES 
 

 

Requirements 

 
The requirements for admission are: 

• Must be at least 17 ½ years of age 

• High School Diploma, GED or Foreign Credentials Evaluation 

• Pass a Wonderlic Scholastic Level Exam – based on English and Math at a 12th Grade Level 

• Must be able to meet financial obligations 

• Pass an oral interview with Enrollment Counselor 

• Copy of Social Security Card or Alien ID number 

• Copy of Driver’s License or Valid Identification 

• Physical Exam and proof vaccinations including: Mumps, Measles, Rubella, Varicella, Hepatitis B, 

Annual TB Skin test or Chest X-ray, annual Flu Shot, COVID Vaccine +booster(s) and weekly COVID 

testing when necessary to meet facility conditions. 

• 10 Panel Drug Test 

• Nationwide Background Criminal Check 

• Hospital approved Fire Card (blue card good for four years) 

• American Heart Association approved CPR Card 

 
Procedure for Enrollment 

 
The prospective student will attend a detailed orientation, review the Catalog, take a tour of the facility, and 

meet with the Enrollment Counselor. The prospective student may also meet the staff, review the class 

material, and sit in on a class to ensure this is their desired program. If the prospective student is interested in 

enrolling, an entrance test must be passed, and an oral interview will be conducted, and the applicant may be 

notified of acceptance of application within 30 days of the oral interview. 

 
Language Proficiency 

 
The prospective student must be proficient in English at a 12th grade level. An entrance test must be passed 

prior to enrollment (see Requirements above). If the entrance test cannot be passed after the 3rd attempt in a 

calendar year, the prospective student may not enroll in the program, but may take tests again in a future 

calendar year. No English instruction will be offered. The Vocational Program is only conducted in English 

and the prospective student may need to seek English courses elsewhere before they are prepared to enroll and 

be successful in the Vocational Nursing Program. 

 
If accepted the registration fee is submitted to the school and the enrollment forms are completed, provided all 

requirements are met. Students are admitted on first come first serve basis upon receipt of payment or loan 

approval. 
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Ability-to-Benefit Student 

 
Ability-to-Benefit is a student who does not have a certificate of graduation from a school providing secondary 

education or recognized equivalency. Career Programs Assessment Test (CPAt) offered by ACT, Inc. 

(Minimum score of 42 on language usage, 43 on reading and 41 on numerical skills) 

 
Visa 

 
The College of Nursing and Technology does not admit students from other countries. Visa services are not 

available. 

 
Reinstatement Policy 

 
A student who wishes to be reinstated in a program must complete a written Reinstatement Request Form and 

pay a non-refundable Application Fee. The Application Fee must be paid by cashier’s check, money order or 

credit or debit at the time of submitting the Reinstatement Request Form. If the reinstatement is approved, the 

Application Fee will be applied towards the Reinstatement Fee, upon the students return. If the reinstatement is 

not approved, the application fee will be refunded to the student or applied towards any outstanding balance. If 

the student is approved, but the student changes their mind or never shows up to the new class, the Application 

Fee is forfeited. All reinstatement approvals are determined on individual basis. Student must be current on 

existing tuition payments in order to qualify for reinstatement in a future class. 

 
A student who is dropped from a program for any reason may be reinstated in the program at the next scheduled 

entry point, upon application by the student and upon satisfactory completion of the written terms for 

reinstatement, if any. Reinstatement is contingent on availability of space in the class. All reinstatements are at 

the discretion and approval of the College of Nursing & Technology. 

 
Students who interrupt their own progress in the program, and who have satisfactory academic and attendance 

records, may be reinstated in the program at the next available entry point providing space is available. 

 
Acceptance of Credit for Prior Education or Training 

 
Acceptance of credits earned at a previous, approved and or accredited program may be accepted at the 

discretion of the Director of Nursing. The students within the institution who transfers from one program to a 

different program or students who have previously attended another school or college (within the past 12 

months) may receive credit for such attendance when proof of said attendance and transcripts are presented at 

time of enrollment and pass the institutions examination and skill testing for those subjects. The credits the 

student will receive are for academic only. Transfer students are approved by the Director or Nursing. 

Appropriate credit for previous experience is also determined by passing an examination and skill testing. This 

option to apply for credit is the sole responsibility of the prospective student. The College does not guarantee 

the acceptance of credit for prior education or experience. 
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Notice Concerning Transferability of Credits Earned at Our Institution 

 
The transferability of credits you earn at the College of Nursing and Technology is at the complete discretion of 

an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in the educational 

program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the certificate 

that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be 

required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason, you should make certain 

that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an 

institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending College of Nursing and Technology to determine if 

your certificate will transfer. 

 
Articulation or Transfer Agreement 

 
The College has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other college or university. 

 

 
Controlled Substance, Alcohol, and Drug Abuse Policy 

 
All students are informed that the unlawful manufacture, dispersion, possession, or use of a controlled substance 

or alcohol within the premises of the school is strictly prohibited. Students violating this policy will be subject 

to immediate termination of the school program. Persons distributing drugs to employees or students will be 

referred to the authorities and charges of drug distribution will be pressed by the school. The abuse of alcohol 

and the use of illegal drugs or Marijuana by a student, whether school or not, is contrary to the School’s mission 

and such student is not suitable for the Vocational Program. 

 
Testing for illegal drugs or alcohol may be done for any student under the following circumstances: 

1. Upon enrollment 

2. When there is reasonable suspicion that a student uses illegal drugs or is under the influence of illegal 

drugs, alcohol or marijuana (unless prescribed by a doctor) 

3. In an investigation regarding an incident, accident or unsafe practice 

4. In the course of random testing at any time at the school discretion 

 
The confidentiality of test results and related records is to be protected consistent with applicable law. 

Following is a list of drug free awareness programs that also provide detailed information regarding, dangers of 

drug and alcohol abuse, assistance with drug and alcohol abuse counseling, penalties for the abuse of alcohol or 

drugs and rehabilitation programs. 

 
There are local agencies that provide assistance to our employees, students, and their families. 

Drug Information Hot Lines: 

National Institute on Drug Abuse (800) 662-HELP or (800) 843-4971 

National Clearinghouse for Drug Information (800) 729-6686 

U.S. Dept. of Education, Southwest Regional (213) 598-7661 

U.S. Dept. of Education Task Force (202) 708-9069 
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School Procedures: 

1. Any student to be tested who claims legitimate use of a specific drug or controlled substance shall submit 

medical documentation to support this claim. 

2. Notify the administration in writing of any conviction for a drug related offense no later than 5 days after 

such conviction. The U.S. Drug Agency will be notified within 10 days after receiving notice from an 

employee or student or otherwise a copy of such conviction will be submitted to the agency. 

3. Terminate the schooling of the student. 

4. Require student to participate satisfactorily in a drug abuse assistance or rehabilitation program approved for 

such purposes by Federal, State, or local health or enforcement 

 
A school may approach one or more organizations that assist the general public (hospitals for example) with 

drug problems. That organization may give them the name of an official that can be contacted; the school would 

then be considered to be in compliance with the drug prevention requirement. In some cases many agencies are 

supported by the state and the cost to the user may be little or nonexistent. 
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FINANCIAL INFORMATION 
 

 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund Disclosures 

 
The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic 

loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California 

resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid 

tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state- 

imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational 

program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your 

tuition. 

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you 

are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program. 

 
It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any 

other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed 

to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste. 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, 

(916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589. 

 
To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid 

tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of 

the following: 

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed 

or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not 

complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau. 

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure 

of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day 

period before the program was discontinued. 

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of 

the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the 

Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days 

before closure. 

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so. 

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required 

by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs. 

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a 

violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the 

award from the institution. 

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an 

invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans. 

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the 

action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. 

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non-collection may, at any 

time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for 
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recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the 

student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the 

period has been extended by another act of law. 

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification 

number. 

 
Tuition Payment Policy 

 
Payment must be made monthly, in accordance with the Enrollment Agreement on the first day of each month 

until the balance is paid. Payments should be made by personal check, money order or cashiers check in the 

payment box provided. Checks should always contain the students full name and original batch number. 

Payments made after the 5th of the month are late and subject to a $25 late fee. Unpaid tuition in accordance 

with the Enrollment Agreement are subject to 4% late fee. A $25 fee will be applied for any returned checks 

and the school may require that future payments be submitted in the form of guaranteed funds such as Cashiers 

Check or Money Order. Credit or debit card transaction may be done during office hours at the school or over 

the phone. Credit Card transactions are subject to a transaction fee. 

 
The student understands and agrees that the College may notify the responsible paying third party (if applicable) 

of payment status, any late payments, late fees, or any other surcharges. The student gives authority for 

responsible paying third party to contact the school regarding attendance, enrollment status, and payment status. 

 
The student acknowledges that a delinquency in payment of any fee or tuition may result in termination from 

the school. Transcripts will not be release until the tuition is paid in full. Students may not take any 

Comprehensive Exam if they are not completely current with their tuition. The College reserves the right to 

report the delinquent balance to the credit reporting agencies. This may affect the students' credit score. Any 

unpaid or late payments may be submitted to a collection agency or attorney to attempt recovery of funds. The 

agency or attorney involved may apply their fees to the outstanding balance in addition to the schools’ late fees 

& interest. Due to these additional charges, the student may have a higher balance than the original contract. 

 
If you obtain a loan to pay for an educational program, you will have the responsibility to repay the full amount 

of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and if you have received federal student financial aid 

funds, you are entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. 

Payments are made in provided drop box by personal check, money order or cashiers check. Your name and 

batch number should be printed on each payment. 
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Notice of Student’s Rights 

 
You may cancel your contract with the College without penalty or obligation as described in the Notice of 

Cancellation form provided. Read the form for an explanation of your rights and responsibilities. 

You have the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through attendance at 

the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. 

After the cancellation period, you can drop the program at any time and pay for the portion of the program 

completed excluding any non-refundable fees. See your Enrollment Agreement for details. If you have 

complaints that cannot be resolved by the instructor, Director of Education, or School Director, you may write 

to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at: 

 
P.O. Box 980818 W. Sacramento, CA, 95798-0818 

1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste. 225, Sacramento, CA 95834 

www.bppe.ca.gov 

 
Toll Free Number: (888) 370-7589 or (916) 431-6959 

Fax Number: (916) 263-1897 

 
Cancellation, Withdrawal & Refund Policies 

 
You may withdraw from the College at any time by submitting a written request to the College. The amount of 

fees and charges refunded to you depends on when you withdraw. 

 
You have the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of the institutional charges, less the 

non-refundable application fee, paid through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after 

enrollment, whichever is later. 

 
If you cancel after the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later, your refund 

will be prorated based on the number of completed hours. 

 
In order to cancel your enrollment, you must send a written request to the School by registered mail, email or in 

person. Your request will be considered effective the date it is received by the College. 

 
After the enrollment period stated above if a student is absent for 5 consecutive class days, the student will be 

considered dropped from the program. The refund policy for students who have completed 60% or less of the 

period of attendance shall be a pro rata refund. 

 
Any money owed will be refunded to you or a third party agency within 30 days of the effective date of your 

cancellation or withdrawal. If there is a balance due to the school, a bill will be sent to you. 

 
If you are dropped or are terminated from the program, you have thirty days to pay any monies owed to the 

school. Any delay beyond thirty days may result in submission of the file to a collection agency and late fees, 

interest or legal costs added to the outstanding balance and will be the responsibility of the student. 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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Calculation of Refund 

 
A pro rata refund shall be no less than the total amount owed by you for the portion of the educational program 

provided subtracted from the amount paid by you, calculated as follows: 

 
1. The amount owed equals the daily charge for the program (total tuition, divided by the number of days 

or hours in the program), multiplied by the number of hours the student attended, or was scheduled to 

attend, prior to withdrawal. 

2. All amounts paid by the student in excess of what is owed, as calculated above, shall be refunded, with 

the exception of the application fee and any non-refundable fees. 

 
Title IV & Financial Aid 

College of Nursing and Technology does not currently participate in federal and state financial aid programs. 

 
Loans 

 
If you obtain a loan to pay for an educational program, you will have the responsibility to repay the full amount 

of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund. If you are eligible for a loan guaranteed by the federal 

or state government and you default on the loan, both of the following may occur: 

1. The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against you, including 

applying any income tax refund to which you are entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan. 

2. You may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other 

government assistance until the loan is repaid. 

 
Programs: 

 
Vocational Nursing 

Tuition: $20,102.50 

Books/Uniforms: $ 545.00 

Malpractice Insurance: $ 50.00 

SFRF: $ 52.5 

Registration Fee: $ 250.00 

Total Charges for Period of Attendance:  $21,000.00 

Estimated Total Charges for the Entire Educational Program:  $21,100.00 

 
Medical Assistant 

Tuition: $ 6,440.00 

Books/Uniforms: $ 260.00 

Malpractice Insurance: $ 50.00 

SFRF: $ 17.50 

Registration Fee: $ 250.00 

Total Charges for Period of Attendance: $ 7,000.00 

Estimated Total Charges for the Entire Educational Program: $ 7,100.00 
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Schedule of Fees & Charges 

 
The following are all of the school fees. 

 
Enrollment Application Fee $250, non-refundable 

Reinstatement Application Fee $250, non-refundable 

Reinstatement Charge $1750 

Official Transcripts $15 

Unofficial Transcripts $15 

Verification of Enrollment $5 

Late payment, NSF or UCF Fee    $25 

Unpaid tuition 4% late charge 

Student Tuition Recovery Fund $2.50 for each $1000 of tuition, non-refundable 

Credit Card Transaction Fee 3% of transaction amount 

Photocopies $.25 / per page 

Exit Exam(s) $100 / each 

Any special requests $40 / per hour 

 
The student may need to pay third party fees to obtain a physical exam, immunization, fire card, CPR and other 

related expenses to meet the enrollment qualifications of the program. In addition, BVNPT application fees, 

Live Scan and other related expenses for Board testing must be paid in order to schedule NCLEX Exam. 
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ADMINISTRATIVE POLICIES 
 

 

Sexual Harassment Policy 

 
Our college is focused in providing a clean environment for all its students who treat each other with respect, 

free of threats or intimidation. Sexual harassment "Sexual harassment" means unwelcome sexual advances, 

requests for sexual favors and other verbal, visual, or physical conduct of a sexual nature, made by someone 

from or in the work or educational setting, under any of the following conditions: 

1. Submission to the conduct is explicitly or implicitly made a term or a condition of an individual's 

employment, academic status, or progress. 

2. Submission to, or rejection of, the conduct by the individual is used as the basis of employment or 

academic decisions affecting the individual. 

3. The conduct has the purpose or effect of having negative impact upon the individual's work or academic 

performance, or of creating an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work or educational environment. 

4. Submission to, or rejection of, the conduct by the individual is used as the basis for any decision 

affecting the individual regarding benefits and services, honors, programs, or activities available at or 

through the educational institution. 

Harassment on the basis of sex is a violation of State and Federal Law and is punishable according to the law. 

It is a violation to sexually harass any person, instructor, member of administration, students male or female and 

it will not be tolerated under any circumstances and is a reason to be expelled from the school plus any legal 

action which can be taken against you. The school categorically prohibits any kind of display of sexual 

materials in school or during the clinical training. 

 
If a student is a victim of sexual harassment she/he will inform the school immediately. 

The incident shall first be reported directly to the Director of Nursing after which the Director will discuss the 

incident with the School Director. All details will be kept in strict confidence by the school. 

 
Nondiscrimination Policy 

 
The college does not unlawfully discriminate on the basis of sex, age, race, national origin, religion or disability 

that would not preclude employment within the chosen field. 

 
Office Hours 

 
Office hours are Monday through Friday from 10am to 6pm. Issues outside these hours may be discussed with 

the instructor. Office is closed on Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and 

Winter break: December 24th - January 1st 

 
Jury Duty 

 
Students who receive a summons for jury duty during the course of the nursing program may request a letter 

identifying rationale for a postponement of their jury assignment. 
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Accidents or Illnesses 

 
On campus or at clinical facility, all accidents which occur during or after classes involving personal injury 

and/or damage to equipment must be reported immediately to the instructor or Program Director. 

 
Communicable disease - Students known to become infected or suspected of being infected with a 

communicable disease will be limited or restricted from patient contact until they are free of such disease or 

incapable of transmitting infection. The procedure, should this occur, is: 

 
Students will report infections immediately to their Clinical Instructor, and the Vocational Nursing Program 

Director. 

 
The Clinical Instructor and the Vocational Nursing Program Director mutually agree upon a reassignment 

which will limit or restrict student from patient contact. Consultation with the facility infection control nurse 

should be obtained if indicated. 

 
If reassignment can not be made, students will be sent home. If a student has been sent home, medical clearance 

from the student’s physician must be obtained before returning to the Clinical facility or classroom setting. The 

student will be responsible to make up the incomplete hours. 

 
Grievances 

 
Students are encouraged communicate their concerns to members of the faculty and administration for amicable 

solutions. A written grievance, addressed to the Compliance Director or School Director, must be received from 

the student within 10 days after the incident occurs. 

 
Any students who have been temporarily disqualified or permanently disqualified have the right to grieve 

within 10 days following the disqualification. 

 
The disqualified student may submit to the Vocational Nursing Program Director a written request for 

grievance. The request must be delivered to the Administrative Office during the hours of 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. 

Failure by the student to submit the request in the prescribed manner and within the prescribed timelines waives 

his/her right to grieve under the procedure. 

 
When a grievance is requested, the Vocational Nursing Program Director will hear the case and render a 

decision. In instances where the Vocational Nursing Program Director feels that he/she is not able to hear the 

case with sufficient objectivity, the Vocational Nursing Program Director will appoint an appropriate alternate. 

 
If the student feels the decision has not been handled fairly, the student may apply to the Administrator of the 

College for a final decision. 

 
The Program Director will notify, in writing, the following people regarding the decision of a hearing, including 

the Advisement Center, the Instructor and the Student. A copy of the decision of the hearing will also be placed 

in the student file. 
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The procedure is as follows: The written grievance must be submitted to the Compliance Director or School 

Director within 10 days of the incident. The Compliance Director will verify that the student has made a verbal 

or written attempt to resolve the concern with the instructor or other staff member. If the student has followed 

the above steps, the Compliance Director will call a meeting. 

 
If the decision is unacceptable to the student, the student must within 24 hours of the hearing send copies of all 

documents letter explaining why the decision is unacceptable. All complaints decision appeals will be resolved 

within 30 days from the receipt date of the incident report. 

 
Reviewing the Catalog 

 
As a prospective student you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 

You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to 

signing an enrollment agreement. These documents contain important policies and performance data for this 

institution. This institution is required to have you sign and date the information included in the School 

Performance Fact Sheet relating to completion rates, placement rates, license examination passage rates, and 

salaries or wages. 

 
The school catalog is available to anyone in the enrollment office and can be accessed on the school website. 

The school catalog is updated annually each September. These documents must be provided to you prior to 

signing an enrollment agreement. The school catalog is updated annually on the last day of September. 

 
Questions Regarding the Catalog 

 
Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the 

institution may be directed to the: 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

P.O. Box 980818 W. Sacramento, CA, 95798-0818 

1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225, Sacramento, CA 95834 

Web site address: www.bppe.ca.gov 

                 Telephone and fax: (888) 370-7589, Fax Number:(916) 263-1897 

                                                   (916) 574-8900 or by fax (916) 263-1897 

 

 

 
Complaints about the College 

 
A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private 

Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained 

on the bureau's Internet Website (www.bppe.ca.gov). 

A student may also complain to the: 

Board of Vocational Nursing & Psychiatric Technicians 

1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225, Sacramento, CA 95834 

Web site Address:     www.bvnpt.ca.gov  

Toll-free Telephone: (888) 370-7589  
                                                        

 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bvnpt.ca.gov/
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DISCLOSURE AND RETENTION OF EDUCATION RECORDS 
 

 

Students have the right to inspect, review, and challenge information contained in their education records. 

Parents of minor students may inspect, review and challenge information contained in the students’ records. 

 
Education records are defined as files, materials, and documents, which contain information directly, related to 

the student and are maintained by the Institution. Written consent is required before education records may be 

disclosed to third parties with the exception of regulatory education agencies. Students wishing to review their 

records must submit a request in writing and make an appointment with the School Director. All appointments 

must be made during regular business hours. At no time may the student or parent remove, destroy or damage 

any document contents in the file. Certain documents may be photocopied, and a charge may be applied. 

 
A College representative must be in the office at all times during the examination of the student files. 

 
Record Retention Policy 

 
All student records must remain onsite for 5 years and transcripts retained permanently. Student files consist 

of: 

 
• Enrollment Agreement 

• SPFS (School Performance Fact Sheet) 

• Admission Package 

• Entrance Test 

• High School Diploma, GED or Foreign Evaluation 

• Admission Requirement Documentation (for example: CPR Card, physical, immunization records, drug 

test, background check etc.) 

• Scantrons 

• Clinical Objectives 

• Academic or Deficiency Warning (if applicable) 
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INSERT WITH UPDATES 
 

 

 

Schedule of Upcoming Classes: 

 
No new classes are scheduled at this time. This insert will be updated as soon as the College of Nursing & 

Technology begins enrollment. 

 

 
Other Updates: 

Exit Exams may be taken three (3.0) times. Students who have successfully completed all five (5.0) Term and 

Comprehensive Exams are encouraged to register for the Exit Exam to obtain Record of Graduate status. 

 
COVID: 

Due to COVID, students are required to always wear a mask unless outside of the building or when eating. 

Students with symptoms or in contact with someone who contracted COVID must follow school quarantine 

guidelines which are determined and may change by the Los Angeles County Department of Public Health and 

the CDC. Social distancing should be adhered in accordance with the current CDC recommendations. 
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STUDENT FORMS 
 

 

See following pages. 
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COLLEGE OF NURSING AND TECHNOLOGY 

Cancellation Request 

 

 
Student ID #:   Batch Number:   

 

Last Name:   First:  MI:   

 

Address:   
 

City:   State:   Zip:   

 

Phone #:   
 

E-mail:   

 

Program:   
 

 

I would like to request to cancel my registration and enrollment. I am aware that all nonrefundable fees 

including the application fee, cost of books, uniforms, and other nonrefundable fees, as identified in the 

enrollment contract, will not be returned to me. 

 
I am aware that I have right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through 

attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. I am aware that 

after at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later, my refund will be prorated 

based on the number of completed hours until the College receives my written cancellation request. I am aware 

that refunds may take up to 30 business days and I may request my transcripts (if applicable) in writing. 

 
My request will be considered effective the date it is received by the College. 

 

 
Student Signature:   

 

 

 
 

Date:   
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COLLEGE OF NURSING AND TECHNOLOGY 

Reinstatement Request 

 
Student ID #:  Batch #:  Term #:  

 

Last Name:   First:  MI:   

 

Address:   
 

City:   State:   Zip:   

 

Phone #:   

 

E-mail:   
 

Program:   
 

I would like to request to be reinstated in the future class. I am aware of the additional fees that will be applied 

to my balance. I am aware that I do not need to purchase new books or other material unless there has been a 

new revision created. I am aware that being reinstated does not guarantee my grade will improve or that I will 

successfully complete the program. 

 
The purpose of my termination or the personal reason for dropping at this time is: 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My plan(s) to ensure success in the future class should I be reinstated is/are: 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Student Signature:   Date:  



38  

LVN 

COLLEGE OF NURSING AND TECHNOLOGY 

Request for Transcripts or Other Documents 

 

 
Student ID #:   Batch Number:   

 

Last Name:   First:  MI:   

 

Address:   
 

City:   State:   Zip:   

 

Phone #:   
 

E-mail:   
 

 

Transcripts: Ultrasound Medical Assistant 
 

Other: Verification of Enrollment 

Diploma 

Financial Statement 

 
List any details (if necessary):   

 

 

 

 

 

College of Nursing & Technology Inc. will produce transcripts after verification of all the records, which may 

take 30 days from the date of submission of the request. There is no charge for the issuance of first set of 

transcripts. See schedule of fees for cost of additional transcripts. 

 

 
If any fees apply, please attach along with this form or your request will not be processed. 

 

 

 

 

 
Student Signature:  Date:  
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COLLEGE OF NURSING AND TECHNOLOGY 

Request for Change of Information 

 

 
Student ID #:   Batch Number:   

 

Last Name:   First:  MI:   

 

Address:   
 

City:   State:   Zip:   

 

Phone #:   
 

E-mail:   

 

Program:   
 

 

List any details (if necessary):   
 

 

 

 

 

 

For name change, please provide documentation. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Student Signature:  Date:  



40  

COLLEGE OF NURSING AND TECHNOLOGY 

Certification Checklist 

 
I have received a copy and reviewed 40 pages of the College of Nursing and Technology 2016-2017 Catalog 

and have been given an opportunity to ask questions regarding the school’s policies and procedures prior to 

signing an enrollment agreement. The Catalog includes name, address, phone number and website of the 

institution. 

 
I have received a copy of the Performance Fact Sheet. I am aware that I am encouraged to review the School 

Performance Fact Sheet which was provided to me prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 

 
I have received a copy of the Schedule of Fees & Charges and understand any additional fees that may be 

assessed. 

 
I have read and understand the remediation procedure. 

 
I have read and understand the attendance requirements. 

 
I have received a Notice of Cancellation and understand my rights. 

 
I understand the qualifications required to graduate from my desired program. 

 
I understand that I must keep the school informed of current contact information and emergency notification 

information and a form has been provided to me. 

 
I understand that before I will be allowed to attend a clinical assignment, I must have my health record complete 

and up to date. 

 
I understand that failure to comply with the policies and procedures of the College of Nursing and Technology 

can result in my immediate termination from the program. 

 

 

 

 

 
Student Name (print):   

 

 

 
 

Student Signature:  Date:   


