TRUCK DRIVER INSTITUTE *DRIVING YOUR FUTURE*

School Catalog

Truck Driver Institute 40 Penny Lane Suite 6B Watsonville, CA 95076. (831) 724-6100

Time Period Covered by this Catalog is January 1, 2023 through December 31, 2023

Table of Contents

Approval / Disclosure Statement

Truck Driver Institute (TDI) is a private institution and was granted institutional approval form the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education in the Department of Consumer Affairs.

The Bureau's approval means the institution and its operation comply with the minimum standards established under the law for occupational instruction by private educational institutions and does not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the state or Bureau. Institutional approval must be re-approved every five years and is subject to continuing review. Approved is the following course's. This will lead to an occupation's as a Class "A" Semi-Tractor/Trailer truck driver, or a Class "B" Bus Driver with a passenger endorsement or a Straight truck driver. Requiring the student to pass DMV's written tests and driving test.

Professional Truck and Commercial Driver Training,
Class 'A' 180 hours

The average student completes the 180-hour program in 5 weeks.

"As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet. This will be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement."

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau internet web site <u>www.BPPE.ca.gov</u>, "

General Information

Prospective students need to visit the physical facilities of the school and discuss training and placement opportunities with school officials prior to enrolling or signing enrollment agreements. Prior to enrollment a prospective student shall receive, either in writing or electronically, a school catalog. TDI invites interested individuals to speak with our Driver Instructors, currently enrolled students and local companies that have hired graduates students.

Instruction will take place in TDI's training yard (140 Railroads Ave, Watsonville, CA 95076). Truck Driver Institute will award a Diploma to all students upon successful completion of the program and their attainment of a Class 'A' license from the State of California Department of Motor Vehicles. Instruction is available in English only. A student must have a score of 500 on the TOEFL exam." Or "The student must have the ability to read and write English at the level of a graduate of an American high school as demonstrated by the possession of a high school diploma, GED or passage of the California high school proficiency.

All interviews are conducted in either English. All testing at DMV is done in English Only.

TDI does not participate in any State or Federal (financial aid) Student Loan Programs.

if a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student receives federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid from federal financial aid funds.

Truck Driver Institute's Mission Statement

TDI provide high quality instruction preparing individuals to become efficient, professional, safety conscious truck/Bus drivers.

TDI prepares students for a career as a professional Semi-Tractor/Trailer truck drivers, or professional Bus or Straight truck drivers. This is done first through a combination of classroom

training using written materials, visual aids, and lecture format. The student receives DMV commercial handbook and study guides to learn how to take the DMV test learners permit. The practical phase requires hands on training in and around the tractor and trailer combination or Bus.

TDI provides lifetime placement assistance to all students successfully completing the program.

Transfer of credits to or from other schools

We at TDI have no agreements with any other school, or college to accept or transfer credits.

"NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION"

"The transferability of credits you earn at TDI is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in Professional Truck and Commercial Driver Training Program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer attending TDI to determine if your certificate will transfer."

School History

TDI has been training Semi-Tractor/Trailer drivers since 1995. Over 1300 drivers have been trained.

TDI has won numerous awards for its high caliber of training. Some of these are listed below.

*	Certificate of Special Congressional Recognition Awarded by Private Industry Council for Training Provider of the Ye	1995 ear
*	Outstanding Trainer of JTPA Program Participants Santa Cruz County Board of Supervisors Proclamation	1995
*	Outstanding Training Provider Awarded by Career Works Alumni	1999
*	Outstanding Private Industry Council Volunteer/Service Provider California State Job Training Coordinating Council	1999
*	Senate Certificate of Recognition for School of the Year Awarded by State of California Senate, 15 th Senate District	2000

 Certificate of Recognition for Faces of Success School of the Year 2000 Awarded by California State Assembly, 27 Assembly District

Equal Opportunity

TDI is dedicated to a policy of equal and fair opportunity in all areas of employment and education. TDI does not practice any form of discrimination against applicants, students or employees for admission or employment on the basis of sex, race, ethnic origin, sexual orientation, or religion. TDI is committed to the full observance of and compliance with all federal and state laws prohibiting discrimination.

Administration

Truck Driver Institute is a wholly owned division Chavez Family Enterprises, Inc. Corporate headquarters are located at 40 Penny Lane Suite 6B Watsonville, California 95076.

All instructors are qualified with previous commercial driving experience and hold a current Class A license. This allows them to drive all forms of Commercial equipment. They are then trained by the Range Director prior to supervising the students.

President / Director	Federico G. Chavez	29 years of Experience Of Instructor		
Administrative Manager				
Secretary / Treasurer Site Operations Manager	Rafael G. Chavez	29years of Experience of Instructor		
Watsonville Instructional Staff:				
Classroom Instructor Student Services Coordinator	Federico G. Chavez			
Range Director	Rafael G. Chavez			
Support Staff:				
Business Manager:	Federico Chavez			
Range Instructors				
Classroom Instructor	Federico G Chavez			
Range Instructors	Rafael G Chávez Federico G Chávez			

Facilities and Equipment

Current TDI facilities include offices, classrooms and range sites. For our Class 'A' Semi-Tractor/Trailer students. We have 8 trucks, and all tractors are three axle. Trailers range from 42' to 48'dry vans. A set of pups for doubles training is available.

TDI owns all of the training equipment and is financially sound, with no previous history of bankruptcy. Or pending petition in bankruptcy or has had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under chapter 11 of the United State Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S. C. Sec 1101 et seq.).

Watsonville Business office	Watsonville Training Facilities
40 Penny Lane Suite 6 B	140 Railroads, Ave
Watsonville, CA 95076	Watsonville, CA 95076
(831) 724-6100 FAX: (831) 72	4-0742
Admissions Proces	dures

Santa Maria Satellite 1665 West Betteravia Rd Santa Maria, CA 93454 (805) 614-9883

To apply for admission to TDI, Applicants should contact TDI's office to schedule an appointment for a personal interview and a tour of the School facilities. Applicants will complete the Enrollment Agreement. A class schedule and other information will be provided. A non-refundable \$100.00 fee must be submitted with the application. A TDI officer will review the Enrollment Agreement and notify the Applicant of the status of his/her admission to TDI.

A student who has had prior training or experience driving a commercial vehicle or has held a Commercial license will be evaluated by our range director and will have their tuition adjusted. For those students who have had prior driving experience, they will be scheduled to meet with the range director to see how much time will be needed to pass the DMV written and driving tests. There is no charge for this.

Hours of Operation

Office hours:	8:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Friday
Instructional hours:	7:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Monday through Friday 3:00 p.m. to 12:45 p.m. Monday through Friday 7:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. Saturday and Sunday

Driving instruction is held days, nights and weekends as necessary to accommodate the requirements of the program and students work schedules.

Schedule of Classes

There will be three classes per month. One day time class, one night class, and one weekend class. Students will be advised of start date at the time they enroll. Instruction is competency based. This allows students to commence training on a space and equipment available basis. Students will be notified in advance concerning important scheduling information such as operating hours, holidays, class schedules and revisions to schedules. Over-the-road Driving Instruction is scheduled as necessary to accommodate the requirements of the program. Classes are 12 months per year. The following legal holidays will be observed:

New Years Day Independence Day Thanksgiving Day	Memorial Day Labor Day Christmas Day	
Course Description: Class 'A With doubles, triples & t		180 hours
Curriculum		
Registration/Orientation School/Course Requirer Student Responsibilities Course Overview	nents	1.5
Information regarding c Commercial Driver's License Red D.O.T. requirements Drug test		1.5
Medical exam Permits Endorsements D.O.T. requirements		2.0
Driver Qualifications Regulations Drug testing		2.0
Logbooks Hours of Service Definitions Logbooks		3.5
Summary page Exceptions Determining Mileage		
Types of Trucks/Trailers Types of transmissions Autoshifts Splitters, range Double clutchir	controls ng, progressive shifting	1.5
Engines RPM control ba		
Air Brakes Basic components		4.0

Service/Emergency	
Spring brake/Service brake	
Use of Brakes	
Brake adjustment	
Space Management	1.5
Defensive driving	
Visual Search	
Attitude	
Road Rage	
Professional Drivers Attitude	1.0
Use/non-use of alcohol/drugs	
Truck Inspection	2.0
External inspection	
Inspection by system	
Inspection by material type	
In-cab inspection	
Primary Brake Air system checks	
In-cab controls checklist	
Secondary Brake system check	
Driving Technique	3.0
Smooth, safe driving	
Mirrors	
Steering Wheel grip	
Maneuvering	
Stopping, Starting, Shutdown	
Adverse driving conditions	
Grades	
Parking	
Routing	
Rail Road Crossings	
Preventive Maintenance	1.0
Service Checks	
Getting the Job as a Professional Driver	1.0
Work History	
Resume	
Preparation/attitude	
Maneuvering – Road/Range Skills	75.0
Straight line back-up	
Alley dock	
Parallel parking	
Precision stops and right turn	
Pre-trip Inspection	28.0
External walk around	
In-cab	
Driving refinement	50.0
Shifting	
Down shifting	
Equipment control	
Urban driving	
Rural driving	
DMV test preparation	2.0

Tuition Costs

Costs Per Hour of Training: Class A

<u>Cost per hour of Driver training is based on student to instructor ratio of 1:1 (One instructor to one student). This is considered a individual rate of \$90.00 per hour. When in a group of three The Driver training cost is at \$30.00 per hour</u>

First week:

Orientation / c	lassroom	30 hours	Cost per hour		==	\$2225.00
Week two through five: Driver training						
At the range	150 hours	group rate	Cost per hour		==	\$5000.00
	Total Tuiti	on Class 'A'	\$ <u>722</u>	25.00		
Additional Costs: Class A semi tractor Trailer						
DMV Driving Report (paid to DMV) \$ 500						
-			\$ 0 for every nearest \$1000		ounded to the	
DOT Physical (o	or student's	own Dr.)		\$ 100.00		
Drug Test/ Random pull			\$ 60.00			
CDL Class A or B permit DMV (paid to DMV)			vv)	\$ 85.00		
DMV Retest				\$ 30.00 (If re	quired)	
Hazard Endorsement (must be at least 21yrs old) Testing is in Oakland, CA (paid to DMV)			yrs old)	\$89.35 (if re	equested)	

Estimated Tuition Class 'A semi Tractor Trailer' <u>\$7475.00</u>

*Total Charges for a period of attendance and the estimated schedule of total charges for the entire program are the same.

Registration/Orientation School/Course Requirements 1.5 Student Responsibilities Course Overview	5
Information regarding opportunities Commercial Driver's License Requirements D.O.T. requirements Drug test Medical exam	5
Permits Endorsements D.O.T. requirements Driver Qualifications Regulations Drive tosting)
Drug testing Logbooks Hours of Service 3.0 Definitions Logbooks)
Summary page Exceptions Trip Planning 2.0 Map Reading Interstate Road System U.S. Highway System Determining Mileage)

Types of Trucks/Buses	1.5
Types of transmissions	
Auto shifts	
Splitters, range controls	
Double clutching, progressive shifting	
Engines	
RPM control band	
Air Brakes	4.0
Basic components	
Service/Emergency Spring brake/Service brake	
Use of Brakes	
Brake adjustment	
Engine Retarders	1.0
Effective use of retarders	1.0
Down slope technique	
Space Management	1.5
Defensive driving	
Visual Search	
Attitude	
Road Rage	
Professional Drivers Attitude	1.0
Use/non-use of alcohol/drugs	
Bus Inspection	2.0
External inspection	
Inspection by system	
Inspection by material type	
In-cab inspection	
Primary Brake Air system checks	
In-cab controls checklist	
Secondary Brake system check	2.0
Driving Technique	3.0
Smooth, safe driving	
Mirrors Steering Wheel grip	
Maneuvering	
Stopping, Starting, Shutdown	
Adverse driving conditions	
Grades	
Parking	
Routing	
Rail Road Crossings	
Preventive Maintenance	1.0
Service Checks	
Getting the Job as a Professional Driver	1.0
Work History	
Resume	
Preparation/attitude	
Communication	
Continuing Education	1.0
Trade Magazines	
Maneuvering – Road/Range Skills	26.0
Straight line back-up	
Parallel parking Procision stops and right turn	
Precision stops and right turn	10.0
Pretrip Inspection External walk around	10.0
In-cab	
Driving refinement	25.0
Shifting	20.0

School Policies

Prior to being considered for admission to TDI, each applicant must:

TDI has established specific written standards for student admissions. TDI will not admit any student who is obviously unqualified or who does not appear to have a reasonable prospect of completing the program. Each student admitted to TDI shall possess a high school diploma, GED or otherwise successfully take and pass the independently administered Ability to Benefit Exam. This school accepts Wonderlic Basic Skills Test (WBST) Verbal forms VS-1 & VS-2, Quantitative Forms QS-1 & QS-2 with a passing score of Verbal – 200 and Quantitative – 210.

Must be beyond compulsory school attendance age. An individual cannot be D.O.T. certified until reaching the age of 21 years. However between ages 18 and 21 a student can obtain a commercial drivers license to drive within the state of California, but my not obtain a Hazards Material license until age of 21.

Must have a valid class C driver's license, having passed DMV written test. To determine the student's ability to benefit from the course.

Present a current DMV printout. An applicant will not be eligible for enrollment if the MVR includes any of the following: (Without the approval of the Director.)

- DUI conviction within the last three years
- A reckless or careless driving conviction within the last three years
- More than three moving violations within the last three years
- More than one "at fault" accident with last three years.
- More than two moving violations and one "at fault" accident with the last three years
- A conviction of a felony involving the use of a motor vehicle
- A conviction for any drug or alcohol related charge in the last three years

Meet with a school officer to discuss educational plans.

Submit a completed Enrollment application to the school.

Must pass the DMV written examination, and obtain a commercial driver's license. Learners permit with the first week of the course. The permit is required in order to participate in behind the wheel training, which begins in the second week of training.

Must pass a drug test, the first week of school.

Must pass the DO.T. physical examination , the first week of school.

Enrollment

A student, who has had a CDL Class A or B license previously, will not be required to register for the full course. But must first have the approval of the Range Director. Who will evaluate their driving experience and advise the student to the amount of time they will need.

We extend a limited school loan to students, with half down at the time of enrollment and the balance prior to taking and passing DMV driving test.

Attendance

Consistent attendance and being on time are two assets that a student should develop. Every potential employer will consider good attendance important hiring criteria.

Students are to call the school office whenever they are unable to be in class for any reason. The calls must reach the office no later than 8:30 a.m. so that those students waiting for make up time may use student's space. Student's cooperation will be appreciated. Those students referred by an agency must be aware that we will contact student's counselor and inform them that students are not in attendance.

Our teaching unit is a Truck and a Trailer not a desk and chair. We assign one instructor to three students. When a student is not in attendance, they are not having the opportunity to learn. Our program has enough hours built in to allow a student who misses 1 or 2 days over their training period, to still be able to complete the program on time.

TDI will continue to provide training hours to students who have not exceeded the attendance standard. While in school, arriving late twice will be considered an absence. If a Student has not exceeded the attendance standard and does not pass the DMV testing, TDI will continue to provide them training hours within TDI's schedule at no additional charge until they do pass.

If a student, who has missed three or less day, needs make up time, they will be placed in the next available space. There are no guarantees as to the time or to the day since our regular classes are assigned one teacher to three students and the classes go from 7a.m. to 12 p.m. Mon – Fri, with Sat & Sun. as an option.

Interruptions or being placed on hold is not realistic for a short-term training program, and is only granted when the interruption occurs at the end of the first week of training. The student will then join the next class as it starts.

If a student accumulates three or more absences during the training period, they will be required to pay for additional instruction time needed. They will continue in the program but IF they do not finish on the original scheduled date, we will continue to provide them training based on space available basis until they have passed the DMV testing. The extra time required beyond the original 3 or 5-weeks will be billed at our group rate or individual rate at the decision of the student.

Leave of Absence

A leave of absence may be granted to a student under special circumstances (e.g.: serious illness or death in the family). Such leaves will be granted only if they last less then 5-days. Our classes are so shorts; a student may withdraw at the end of the first week and go on a thirty-day leave of absence. Any other leave of absence longer then 5-days, the student will receive counsel from the School Director. A student may be re-scheduled for the next class. Depending on the cause for the leave of absence the student may be billed for extra time required to complete the course. Leaves of absences will be referred to as being placed on "Hold" status.

Student Conduct

TDI wants each Student to realize the importance of maintaining high standards of conduct, not only on the school campus, but also in the trucking industry. Students are expected to be polite, follow instructor's directions, and obey school rules. Any disagreement with the school, instructors, or other students should be taken up with the School Director for mediation. TDI is a

school for adults and as adults, they should be aware of what is acceptable and unacceptable behavior in the work place.

Examples of behavior on or around the school campus that will result in being dropped are listed below. The following list will cause immediate termination from our program with appropriate refund.

- Use of school equipment without authorization
- Use of illegal substances
- Under the influence of alcohol

The following items will place a student on probation, with no more than one warning. Prior to dismissal.

- Harassment of students or personnel
- ✤ Aggressive and disruptive behavior

If a student is dismissed and files an appeal, if they do not win the appeal they will be dropped and they are no longer eligible for re-admission.

Appeals Policy and Complaint Procedure

It is highly recommended but not mandatory to bring all complaints first to the attention of the institution. In most cases this will resolve the complaint faster and will result in satisfactory results. We suggest that students use this internal process first, but that it is not required and they may contact the Bureau at any time.

Believing that extraordinary or extenuating circumstances warrant consideration, TDI provides students with the opportunity to appeal actions based on school regulation concerning attendance, dismissal, leave of absence, and extension of contract. Any actions taken by the TDI regarding attendance, dismissal, leave of absence or extension of contract will result in a written notice of action to the student.

The appeal must be in writing and must be given to the School Director within five working days from the date of the written notice of action. The appeal must explain what action is being appealed and basis for the appeal. Complaints regarding an instructor, school official or school policy initiated by a student must be provided in writing to the School Director.

Within forty-eight hours from the receipt of the student's written appeal or the students filing of a grievance a conference will be scheduled with the school administration. The student will be notified that he or she has the right to attend the conference and to bring with them anyone they choose (council, witness, etc.)

During the conference, the school administration will review the Appeal/Complaint and determine what steps should be taken to address the issue. The student will be notified of the decision in writing within twenty-four hours following the conference.

STUDENTS RIGHT TO CANCEL

Refunds

Cancellation, withdrawal, and refund policies, the student has a right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. Monies paid shall be refunded within thirty days after receipt of the notice.

If a student withdraws or is suspended is dropped after the above-mentioned seven-day period for cancellation, all educational cost, shall be refunded on a pro-rata basis. The student will receive a refund of all monies paid within thirty days if the student is rejected for training or if a course is cancelled. There may be a processing fee if the student payment was made by credit card. The student may withdraw from school at any time and receive a refund of unused costs.

In calculating any tuition refund due, the period of enrollment is from the first day of class to the last date of recorded attendance. The time and percentage of attendance will be determined by total hours of class attended divided by the total hours of training. In all cases of students who withdraw, fail to attend a class or are dropped, the following minimum refund policy shall apply: The refund of tuition less the registration fee shall be equal to the total amount of the tuition multiplied by the fraction of time remaining in class.

You may withdraw from the school at any time after the cancellation period (described above) and receive a pro-rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less of the scheduled days in your "Enrollment Period". Enrollment period is defined as the time period encompassed by "Program Start Date" through the "Program End Date" as the appear on the first page of the Student's Enrollment Agreement. Any refund will be less a registration fee not to exceed \$100.00, less any deduction for equipment not returned in good condition, and less present non-program tuition for all classes started or completed.

All refunds will be made within thirty days from the date of cancellation or withdrawal. If a student does not return from an approved leave of absence, refunds will be made within thirty days from the leave of absence period. Within ten days of any refund, the student will receive written notice of a refund stating the amount of the refund and to whom the refund was made.

For students receiving financing from a lending institution, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest. Any tuition refunds will be made first to any lender up to the amount of such disbursement any additional refunds will next be made to other funding sources up to the amount of disbursement. Any additional refund due will be made to the student.

Refunds will be made only to those students who cancel their enrollment and do not receive their CDL.

Enrolled students who pass the DMV CDL Road test and receive their CDL Class' A' license from DMV will receive their Diploma from Truck Driver Institute and are not eligible for any monetary refund.

Truck Driver Institute retains the right to make changes to the catalog, curriculum, schedules, materials or tuition in order to keep the program current with trends in the trucking industry. These changes may be made without advance notice.

Student's Rights

Students have the right to cancel the course of instruction including any equipment such as books, binders, materials and supplies or any other goods related to the instruction offered through attendance at the first-class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later. Business day means a day on which students were scheduled to attend a class session.

Students have the right to stop training at any time after the cancellation period and students have the right to receive a refund for the part of the training not received.

If TDI were to close before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund. Contact the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589.

Cancellation shall occur when students give written notice of cancellation at the address of the TDI as shown in this catalog. Students can do this by mail or hand delivery. The written notice of cancellation, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly addressed with the postage prepaid.

The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and, however expressed, it is effective if it shows the student no longer wish to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement. Students will

be given two notices of cancellation forms to use at the first day of class, but students can use any written notice that students wish.

If the TDI has given the student any equipment, including books or other materials, students shall return them to the school within 30 days following the date of student's notice of cancellation. If the student fails to return this equipment, including books or other materials, in good condition within the 30-day period, TDI may deduct its documented cost for the equipment from any refund that may be due to the student. Once, the student pays for the equipment, it is theirs without further obligation.

If the student cancels the Enrollment Agreement, TDI will refund any money that has been paid, less any deduction for equipment not timely returned in good condition, within 30-days after the notice of cancellation is received.

Student Tuition Recovery Fund

"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program."

"It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non-collection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law. However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number."

Dress Code

Each student will be neatly attired in suitable clothing such as jeans and shirts. Footwear should be a sturdy: no sandals or high heels. Clothing such as cutoffs, tank, or halter-tops or no shirt would be considered inappropriate. Each student should practice good hygiene to present a clean and neat appearance. This is important not only for the school campus, but also for future job consideration. Occasionally, TDI has Company Recruiters visiting, looking for new drivers and first impressions count. Because students will be working around equipment, it is important that long hair is tied back and that loose jewelry is not worn.

Graduation

Students enrolled at TDI will under go intensive training during the period they attend. All but the class room portion of TDI, will be in one of the commercial vehicles. As the students learn how to shift, back up and park the appropriate vehicle, they will then move to driving in town and on the freeway. The Range Instructors will be constantly evaluating their progress during this time. The student will not go to the DMV performance testing until two conditions are met. The student's Instructor indicates to the school director that the student is ready and the student feels confident they are prepared. Once the student completes the DMV testing and have obtained their Class 'A' or B' license, they then will receive their Diploma are considered to have graduated.

Student Services

TDI offers graduating students job placement assistance. This service is a lifetime offer to any TDI graduate. The student is advised to begin thinking about the type of driving they would like to do during their training. Remember a ten-year work history is required. The Student Services Coordinator will advise of job opportunities in the locally and/or nationally depending on the student's decision. Weekly we contact trucking companies, delivery firms, and those who hire Bus drivers. We refer students, as jobs become available.

Our current library consists of State of California's Commercial Drivers Handbook in English, with practice tests. Upon enrollment, you will receive a California commercial driver handbook and test study sheets so that you can prepare for the DMV learner's permit. The first week of school we have a class room with just a few students and review the log book and other DMV requirements. It is understood that we cannot allow you to begin driving until you have passed the driving learners permit. Once the student has passed the learners permit, we work with the student until they pass the commercial A or B license.

TDI works with a variety of state, county and private agencies to provide training The list is extensive below are just a few.

- California Vocational Rehabilitation
- Candelaria American Indians
- Work Force Investment Act (WIA)
- Vocational Counseling Services
- Private Industry Council
- The Work Force Santa Cruz

All of these agencies have come to trust TDI's ability to provide quality training and maintain the highest levels of service to our students and their sponsoring agencies.

We provide no housing for the students, or meals. The institution has no dormitory facilities under its control. Apartments for rent in the area range from \$800 to \$2000 per month. Nearby are a number of motels: Motel 6, \$49.99---Economy Inn \$65.00---Best Western \$80.

Transcripts and degree or certificate are maintained indefinitely and all other records are maintained for 5 years

For students who are here for training, from other countries please note we offer no, visa service or any other help. Our training is based on D.O.T. and CA DMV rules and regulations.

The institution does not participate in federal and state financial aid programs; the only financial aid we offer is $\frac{1}{2}$ of the tuition at the start of class and balance prior to taking the DMV driving test. if a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the money's not paid from federal student financial aid program funds.

Pursuant to section 94909 of the Code, this catalog shall be updated annually. Annual updates may be made by the use of supplements or inserts accompanying the catalog. If changes in educational programs, educational services, procedures, or policies required to be included in the catalog by statute or regulation are implemented before the issuance of the annually updated catalog, those changes shall be reflected at the time they are made in supplements or inserts accompanying the catalog.

"Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225 Sacramento, CA 95834 or P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, www.bppe.ca.gov, (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897"

The Office of Student Assistance and Relief:

"The Office of Student Assistance and Relief is available to support prospective students, current students, or past students of private postsecondary educational institutions in making informed decisions. understanding their rights, and navigating available services and relief options. The office may be reached by calling (888) 370-7589 or by visiting <u>www.osar.bppe.ca.gov."</u>

GRADING SYSTEM

The grading scale for Truck Driver Institute's Programs is as follows:

A 90% - 100% Outstanding effort and a mastery of a subject area, excellent standard of work.

B 80% - 89% Extra effort reflecting mastery of a subject area, with high standard of work.

C 70% - 79% Mastery of subject area with acceptable standard of work.

D 60% - 69% Mastery of subject area below average, but still meets minimum standard of work performance.

F Below - 59% Mastery of a subject area not acceptable. Failure to meet minimum standard of work performance.

I Incomplete Mastery of a subject area incomplete. Failure to meet minimum standard of work performance.

W Withdrawal Withdrawal of a subject area. Failure to meet minimum standard of work performance.

The student must maintain a 70% GPA.

Truck Driver Syllabus

WEEK ONE

Classroom Monday Through Friday

Registration / Orientation

1.5 hours

The first thing is to register and fill out all your paper work.

The second thing you need to do is to obtain your Dot physical and Drug test. How to obtain your permit is by studying the California Commercial Driver handbook from the DMV.

They need to take a written test by study the General Knowledge, Air brakes, Combination and the Class C tests.

They will study 6 hours a day for the permit.

- Section 2 General Knowledge
- Section 5 Air brakes
- Section 6 Combination
- Class C

The goal is to obtain your Permit on the first week.

Second Week

The Second week you will learn how to maneuver the truck and the basic control skills. **3 hours per day**

They will learn these skills.

- In -Cab inspection
- The walk around
- Brake adjustments
- Starting
- Shut down
- Alley docking
- Parallel Parking.
- Coupling / Uncoupling

The goal is how to be able to maneuver the truck and the basic controls.

Third Week

The Third week you will learn how to drive in the City and Country Driving. **3 hours per day** They will learn these, Skills.

- Starting
- Stopping
- Speed
- Space Management
- Hazard Perception
- Up Shifting
- Down shifting

The goal is how to be able to control the truck and trailer on the City and Country.

Forth Week

The Four week you will be learning how to drive in the Highway and using the Gears. **3 hours per day.**

- Speed in the Highway
- Space Management
- City Turns

- Highway Turns
- Shifting Practices
- 9/13 gear shifting

The goal is to be able to drive in the Highway and being able to us the gears.

Fifth Week

The Fifth week we will go over all the skills for Preparation for the Final DMV Test.

- Straight Line backing
- Offset backing
- Parallel Parking
- Alley docking
- City Driving
- Highway Driving
- Doubles taught last day of school

The final Goal is to be able to pass the DMV Test and Receive your CDL Then you will be able to Graduate and receive you CDL and Certificate From Truck Driver Institute

Your training at Truck Driver Institute, In normally completed in group sessions the classroom ratio Is 1 instructor up to 18 students. Your Range & Field training at the yard in normally 1 instructor to 3 Students. Using these ratios a student will in a eight hour day normally drive about 2 hours. We on occasion place one student with one instructor, when this occurs the student will receive 3 hours of instruction which will be equal to an equal to an equal 6 hours with the instructor which will equal

Labor Code

Bureau of Labor Statistics Standard Occupational Classification code 53-3032.