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Approval Disclosure Statement 
Thanh Le College, School of Cosmetology, is approved by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
pursuant to California Education Code Section 94915. Approval by the Bureau means that the institution and 
its operation complies with the minimum standards established under the law for occupational instruction by 
private postsecondary educational institutions, and does not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the 
State or by the Bureau. Institutional approval must be re-approved every three years and is subject to continued 
review. Cosmetology, Manicuring, Cosmetician and Cosmetology Instructor Training programs are currently 
approved by BPPE. 
Institution’s approval to operate as a private postsecondary institution in the state of California is based on 
provisions of the CPPEA of 2009 (California Education Code, Title III, Division 10, Part 59, Chapter 8), which 
is effective January 1, 2010.School does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, is not operating as a debtor 
in possession, nor filed a petition within the preceding five years. School has not had a petition in bankruptcy 
filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the US 
Bankruptcy Code (11 USC U.SC section 1101 et seq.) 
“Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the 
institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at Item 23 

Bureau for Postsecondary Education 
PO Box 980181 West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 

(888) 370-7589 
The State of California’s Department of Consumer Affairs – Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) is 
responsible for protecting and educating consumers who seek barbering and cosmetology. The BBC also 
regulates the individuals who provide these services and the salons in which the services are performed. Upon 
passing the Board’s Barbering and Cosmetology Examination for Licensure, graduates of Thanh Le College 
will be issued their licenses and become privileged to work in their field in the State of California. If you have 
further questions or concerns, BBC may be contacted at: Item 23 

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 
PO Box 9442264 Sacramento, CA 94244-2260 

(800) 952-5210 
Thanh Le College takes great pride in offering courses that have been accredited by NACCAS, the National 
Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences. The National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & 
Sciences is recognized by the Unites States Department of Education as a national accrediting agency for 
postsecondary schools and departments of cosmetology arts and sciences, and massage therapy. If you have 
further questions or concerns, contact NACCAS at: 

NACCAS 
3015 Colvin St, Alexandria, VA 22314 

(703) 600-7600 
Thanh Le College is also recognized by the United States Department of Education (USDE) as an eligible 
institution to participate in the Federal PELL Grant program and the Federal Supplemental Education 
Opportunity Grant program. Item 8 

 

Course name CIP Clock Hours Instr. Weeks Award Distance Learning 
*Cosmetology 1000 hrs 12.0401 1000 hrs 34-50 weeks Certificate NO 
*Cosmetician 600 hrs 12.0408 600 hrs 20-30 weeks Certificate NO 
*Cosmetology Instructor Trainee 600hrs 12.0413 600 hrs 20-30 weeks Certificate NO 
Manicuring 400 hrs 12.0410 400 hrs 14-20 weeks Certificate NO 

* This course is eligible to participate in the USDE Title IV programs 
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Mission and Educational Objectives Item 4 
Thanh Le College is determined to always offer a strong curriculum in the field of cosmetology and to maintain 
that curriculum with the most modern techniques and the freshest styles. We at Thanh Le College feel that 
education is of pinnacle importance. Our faculty and staff are selected based on their abilities as well as their 
desires to help the students to achieve their educational goals. The administrators and instructors are 
encouraged to work closely with the students and attempt to tailor the educational experience to the individuals’ 
needs. The College strives to ensure that each and every course that it offers is structured such that its graduates 
will have gained the necessary skills and knowledge to be competent, confident and professional as they embark 
onto their new employment in the new cosmetology industry. 

 
Administrative Business & School Hours 
The school administrative offices are open for business Tuesday through Saturday 9:00 am to 3:00 pm. For 
issues related to admissions, academics, financial aid, and job placement, feel free to visit our office during 
these business hours or to make an appointment, please call (714) 740-2755. 

 

Admission Policy  Item 5 
Note: Thanh Le College does NOT actively recruit students from other institutions. The school will admit an 
applicant who into a course leading to State Licensure when one of the following set of criteria has been 
satisfied: 

 

Cosmetology, Cosmetician & Manicuring Cosmetology Instructor Trainee 

1. must be 17 years of age or older 1. must be 17 years of age or older 

2. provide valid identification 2. provide valid identification 

3.provide a social security card 3. provide a social security card 

4. provide legal residency 4. provide legal residency 

5. *provide a copy of High School Diploma, GED 
or its equivalent 

5. provide a copy of High School Diploma, GED or its 
equivalent 

6. pass the school’s admission test with a score of 
70% or higher 

6. pass the school’s admission test with a score of 70% or 
higher & provide a current, valid California 
cosmetology license 

*The institution's admission policies require that each student meet one of the following: 
 

a. Have successfully completed high school or its equivalent as evidenced by any of the items on the following 
non-exhaustive list: copy of diploma, copy of GED certificate, copy of a transcript showing high school 
completion, or a certificate of attainment (only applicable to non-Title IV recipients), etc.; or 

 
b. Have evidence of completion of home schooling that state law treats as a home or private school. If the state 
issues a credential for home schooling, maintain this credential; or 

 
c. Have evidence that verification of a foreign student’s high school diploma has been performed by an outside 
agency that is qualified to translate documents into English and confirm the academic equivalence to a U.S. 
high school diploma. 
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“As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment 
agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided 
to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.” 

Please note: Thanh Le College does not provide an English-as-a-Second-Language course. Instruction is 
only taught in the English language. Visa services are not provided. 

 
As of July 1, 2012, Thanh Le College will not be accepting ability-to-benefit students. All prospective 
students who wish to apply for federal aid must obtain a U.S high School Diploma or its equivalent. 

It is the institutional policy that prior to enrollment (signing an enrollment agreement) the institution 
provides and encourages prospective students to review the institutional catalog, the Institutional 
Performance Fact Sheet and other disclosures posted at the institution’s website at 
www.thanhlecollege.com. These documents will assist the student to make a more educated selection of the 
programs of study offered by this institution. The institutional catalog and disclosures are updated annually; 
the dates covered by the documents are stated on the cover page. 

 

Re-Entry Policy Item 6 & Item 7 
Students that are re-entering their course of training at this institution will be given any prior credits that 
they have received. The credits will be given regardless of the time frame that has occurred since 
their prior enrollment. Each re-entry is treated on an individual basis. Thanh Le College reserves the right 
(with just cause) to reject a student’s re-entry. 

 
Transfer Policy    Item 6  
Thanh Le College, School of Cosmetology does not accept transfer hours from other institutions. 

 
NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR 
INSTITUTION: The transferability of credits you earn at THANH LE COLLEGE, SCHOOL OF 
COSMETOLOGY is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. 
Acceptance of the hours you earn at Thanh Le College, School of Cosmetology, is also at the complete 
discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the hours that you earn at this institution are 
not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your 
coursework at the institution you are transferring. For this reason, you should make certain that your 
attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to 
which you may seek to transfer after attending THANH LE COLLEGE, SCHOOL OF COSMETOLOGY 
to determine if your hours will transfer. Item 24 

 
Attendance Policy 
Full-time students shall be scheduled to attend classes a minimum of 30 clock-hours per week. Part-time 
enrollees shall be scheduled for a minimum of 20 clock-hours per week. Excessive absences will be 
reviewed with individual students as needed. Student who has been absent for 15 consecutive business days 
shall be dropped from the college. If a student is absent for 10 consecutive class days without notification, 
the school will attempt to contact the student in order to determine the student’s anticipated date of return. 

 

Calendar & Holidays Item 16 
The College will be closed in honor of the following holidays: New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Fourth of 
July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day and Christmas Day. Additional closure dates due to “Special” holidays 
or other reasons may be declared and will be disclosed two weeks in advance. Students that wish to observe 
other religious holidays are respected and will be excused. 
1/1/2022, 1/2/2022, 5/31/2022, 7/4/2022, 9/6/2022, 11/24/2022, 11/25/2022, 12/25/2022, 12/26/2022 

http://www.thanhlecollege.com/
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Career Counseling 
The College counsels the students individually as often as necessary. Counseling takes place in monitoring 
the student progress as scheduled for the period of enrollment. Prospective employers are invited to the 
school regularly to give demonstrations and discuss career goals with the students. This activity 
supplements the daily counseling carried out by the instructors. 

 
Class Schedules 
Classes are held Tuesday through Saturday, from 9:00 a.m. until 3:00 p.m. Theory classes will be taught 
Tuesday through Saturday, from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. As students’ schedules may dictate, additional 
sessions may be arranged. New classes will begin each Tuesday, or the first available business day of the 
week. The College is closed Sundays and Mondays. Class sessions are held at 12875 Chapman Ave, Garden 
Grove, CA 92840. 

 
Constitution Day and Citizenship Day September 17th 

Constitution Day is observed each year on September 17th to commemorate the signing of the Constitution 
on September 17, 1787. It is also known as Citizenship Day, which “recognize all who, by coming of age or 
by naturalization, have become citizens.” 

 
Copyright Infringement 
Is the act of exercising, without permission or legal authority, one or more of the exclusive rights granted to 
the copyright owner under section 106 of the Copyright Act (Title 17 of the United States Code) These 
rights include the right to reproduce or distribute a copyrighted work. In the file-sharing context, 
downloading or uploading substantial parts of a copyrighted work without authority constitutes an 
infringement. 
Penalties for copyright infringement include civil and criminal penalties. In general, anyone found liable 
for civil copyright infringement may be ordered to pay either actual damages or “statutory” damages affixed 
at not less than $750 and not more than $30,000 per work infringed. For “willful” infringement, a court may 
award up to $150,000 per work infringed. A court can, in its discretion, also assess costs and attorneys’ 
fees. For details, see Title 17, United States Code, Sections 504, 505. Willful copyright infringement can 
also result in criminal penalties, including imprisonment of up to five years and fines of up to $250,000 per 
offense. For more information, please see the website of the U.S. Copyright Office at www.copyright.gov. 

 
Peer to Peer file sharing: Students authorized to utilize the institutional electronic equipment for purposes of 
conducting research, practical work, writing essays, doing homework assignments or in any general use of 
the equipment for course related work, are strictly unauthorized to copy or distribute any copyrighted 
material and any violations will subject the individual violator (staff member, non-staff member or student) 
to civil and criminal liabilities. The first violation will be punish by removing any authorized privileged use 
of any institutional equipment, if the violation includes the use of individually owned equipment, the 
individual will not be allowed to bring in his/her personal equipment into the school premises. Second 
violation the staff member may be terminated or the student may be expelled from school. This decision 
will be taken by the school administration. The institution conducts annual evaluations of the procedures in 
place to prevent any violations of copyrighted materials observing the need of the students to have access to 
the institutional network. The institution will keep a log summarizing violations reported and disciplinary 
actions taken. 

 

Credit for Class & Practice Hours  Item 25a  
Students are required to record their attendance by maintaining proper time cards. Students will “Clock IN” 
when they arrive at school, Clock “IN and OUT” when taking their lunch break and “Clock OUT” when 
leaving for the day. California limits students to a maximum of 8 hours total credit per day. Students will 
be allowed up to seven (7) minutes to Clock-IN and receive credit for the full quarter (1/4) hour. Otherwise, 
the students Clock-IN time will be advanced to the next ¼ hour. Students will receive credit after an 

http://www.copyright.gov/
http://www.copyright.gov/
http://www.copyright.gov/
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instructor has graded each operation or project. The operations earned are recorded on the student’s time 
card. The student and an instructor must initial the time card daily. At the end of the week, a new time card 
is prepared from the prior week’s card. Student hours and operations, once properly earned by the student, 
will not be deducted from the student records for any reason. 

 

Disclosure and Retention of Student Records Item 19 & Item 20 
Educational records are defined as: Files, materials and documents maintained by the institution that 

contain information directly related to each student's period of enrollment. Students and parents or 
guardian of dependent minors have the right to inspect, review, and challenge information contained 
in the institution’s student records. However, a staff member must be present in order to provide 
clarification and/or answers to questions raised during the review of the student’s file. Written consent from 
the student and/or the parents of a minor student and/or the parents of a tax-dependent student is 
required before educational records may be disclosed to any other party, with the exception of 
accrediting commissions and governmental agencies so authorized by law. Students are not entitled to 
inspect the financial records of their parents. 

All student records shall be retained for a minimum of six (6) years following the last day of attendance. 
Following this period, records may be destroyed. 

 
Dismissal Policy 
Students who have 15 or more consecutive business class day absences will be dismissed from the college. 
Failure to return from an approved leave of absence is also grounds for dismissal. 

 
Drug Abuse Prevention Program Item 25 d 
The College strictly enforces a zero tolerance drug and alcohol policy on campus and makes the following 
information available to its students, staff, and instructors. Any individual associated with (TLC) who is 
seeking information, counseling, or assistance concerning Drug Abuse Prevention may call or visit the 
following agency: 

 
CRISIS HOT LINE  (714) 834-6900 

THE ROQUE CENTER 9842 w 13TH STREET, GARDEN 
GROVE (714) 839-0607 

MARIPOSA WOMEN’S 
CENTER 812 TOWN & COUNTRY, ORANGE (714) 547-4810 

 
Facilities   Item 10 
Thanh Le College occupies a spacious 5000 square-foot facility located at 12875 Chapman Ave, Garden 
Grove, California. The school is designed to emulate salon conditions while allowing areas for study and 
discussion. We have one facial room, one theory classroom, and a spacious clinic floor consisting of 40 hair 
stations, 12 shampoo bowls, 12 hairdryers and 20 manicuring tables. 
Access and assistance are available to those that employ the use of a mobility aid. 

 

Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) Item 20 
All information in the student files would be available to any governing state agency, accrediting agency 
and federal agency during the process of reviewing the school's normal approvals, accreditations, 
eligibilities, and other matters conducted by those agencies without the specific consent of the student 
and/or parents. 

 
The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) (20 U.S.C. § 1232g; 34 CFR Part 99) is a Federal 
law that protects the privacy of student education records. The law applies to all schools that receive funds 
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under an applicable program of the U.S. Department of Education. 
FERPA gives parents certain rights with respect to their children's education records. These rights transfer 
to the student when he or she reaches the age of 18 or attends a school beyond the high school level. 
Students to whom the rights have transferred are "eligible students." 

 
• Parents or eligible students have the right to inspect and review the student's education records 
maintained by the school. Schools are not required to provide copies of records unless, for reasons 
such as great distance, it is impossible for parents or eligible students to review the records. 
Schools may charge a fee for copies. 

 
• Parents or eligible students have the right to request that a school correct records which they 
believe to be inaccurate or misleading. If the school decides not to amend the record, the parent or 
eligible student then has the right to a formal hearing. After the hearing, if the school still decides 
not to amend the record, the parent or eligible student has the right to place a statement with the 
record setting forth his or her view about the contested information. 

 
• Generally, schools must have written permission from the parent or eligible student in order to 
release any information from a student's education record. However, FERPA allows schools to 
disclose those records, without consent, to the following parties or under the following conditions 
(34 CFR § 99.31): 

 
School officials with legitimate educational interest; 
Other schools to which a student is 
transferring; Specified officials for audit or 
evaluation purposes; 
Appropriate parties in connection with financial aid to a student; 
Organizations conducting certain studies for or on behalf of the 
school; Accrediting organizations; 
To comply with a judicial order or lawfully issued subpoena; 
Appropriate officials in cases of health and safety emergencies; 
and 
State and local authorities, within a juvenile justice system, pursuant to specific State law. 

 
Schools may disclose, without consent, "directory" information such as a student's name, address, telephone 
number, date and place of birth, honors and awards, and dates of attendance. However, schools must tell 
parents and eligible students about directory information and allow parents and eligible students a 
reasonable amount of time to request that the school not disclose directory information about them. Schools 
must notify parents and eligible students annually of their rights under FERPA. The actual means of 
notification (special letter, inclusion in a PTA bulletin, student handbook, or newspaper article) is left to the 
discretion of each school. 
For additional information, you may call 1-800-USA-LEARN (1-800-872-5327) (voice). Individuals who 
use TDD may call 1-800-437-0833. 
Or you may contact us at the following address: Family Policy Compliance Office, U.S. Department of 
Education, at 400 Maryland Avenue, SW Washington, D.C. 20202-8520 

 
Grievance Procedure 
In the event that a student has a grievance that cannot be resolved to his/her satisfaction with the student’s 
immediate instructor, the student is to take their grievance to the Institution’s Director. It is preferred that 
grievances be presented in writing but the college will accept verbal complaints. However, if after 
discussing the matter with the school’s Director, the issue remains unresolved, students may present their 
grievance to Thanh Le, Owner. The school will provide a written response to all grievances within 10 
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business days. For further action (if the matter cannot be resolved at the institution), please contact BPPE. 
 

“A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for 
Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form, 
which can be obtained on the bureau’s web site www.bppe.ca.gov.” 

 

Health and Physical Considerations Item 22 
All students in the cosmetology, manicuring, cosmetician and cosmetology instructor training field must be 
in good physical health since he/she will be working in direct contact with customers. This related field of 
study requires a great deal of standing, walking, pushing, bending and stretching for extended periods of 
time. A person must consider his/her physical limitations in terms of making a career choice that involves 
extensive physical demands. We promote the acceptance of students with physical limitations or disabilities 
if these students (their parents or physician) believe they can fulfill the training demands. 

 

Housing and Dormitory Item 22 
Thanh Le College does not offer any student housing. If you need assistance in finding housing, please 
contact the school administrator. We will be able to provide referrals to possible housing websites or 
resources, but Thanh Le College does not take responsibility for any housing placement. Housing and rentals 
are available in the area near the college, the approximate cost ranges from $1200 to $2000 per month based 
on availability. 

 
Library 
The Library is located in the admissions office and shall be kept locked at all time to prevent theft. Students may 
request access to the materials at any time during the day. The Library is made up of a selection of books, videotape, 
and CDs pertaining to all courses taught at the college. 
The books and videos maintained in the Library are considered to be resources materials an intended to complement 
the Students’ standard texts. Additionally, trade magazines are subscribed to by the school and kept on hand in the 
library for students and faculty to check out and review at their leisure. 

 
Leave Of Absence Policy 
An authorized Leave of Absence (LOA) is a temporary interruption in a student’s program of study. 
Occasionally, students may require extended absence (15 days or more) for personal, medical or other reasons. 
The college may allow a student, under such circumstances, to take a Leave of Absence (LOA) from the 
program. The LOA must be requested in advance in writing, signed by the student and must be approved by 
the school. Student must follow this policy when requesting a Leave of Absence. 

 
The student must request each LOA, in advance, using the school’s Leave of Absence Request Form. The 
student must provide the reason for the LOA, provided the start and the end dates for the LOA and the student 
must sign the form; the college can assist with completing the remaining information. The college’s decision 
to approve or deny the LOA will be documented on the form. 

 
If the unforeseen circumstances prevent the student from submitting the form prior to the beginning of an 
LOA, the student must notify the college as soon as possible to request the Leave of Absence. The college will 
fill out the Leave of Absence Request Form on the student’s behalf (except for the student’s signature). The 
college’s decision to approve or deny the LOA will be documented on the form. If approved, the start date will 
be documented as the first that the student was unable to attend class and the student’s signature will be 
collected at a later date. 
An LOA will NOT be granted if the requested LOA, together with any additional LOAs previously-granted, 
exceeds a total of 180 calendar days in any 12-month period. Each approved Leave of Absence will extend the 
student’s contract period by the same number of calendar days taken for the LOA. This new Expected End 
Date will be noted on the LOA Request Form and on an addendum to the student’s enrollment agreement and 
initialed/signed by all parties. 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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There are no additional charges when a student requests a Leave of Absence. As well, a student granted an 
LOA in accordance with the college’s policy is not considered to have withdrawn and no refund calculation 
will be required. 

 
Student will be withdrawn if the student takes an unapproved LOA or does not return by the expiration of the 
approved LOA. The student’s withdrawal date for the purpose of calculating a refund will be the student’s last 
day of attendance. 

 
Long Distance Learning 
Thanh Le College does not offer long distance learning. 

Make-up Work    Item 25c 
Failed or missed examinations may he made up within the course period by any student. The opportunity to 
take makeup examinations may he requested by the student at any time. Make-up Examinations will also be 
scheduled by the school at least once per month. Grades received on make-up examinations will be 
averaged with other examinations to obtain the above grade. 
Non-Discrimination Policy  Item 17 
Thanh Le College does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, color, ethnic origin, age or religion in the 
Education programs, admission, instruction, graduation policies and other activities which it operates and is 
prohibited in such manner by law. 

 
Orientation 
An orientation will be conducted on or prior to a student’s first day of class. The student will be given a 
basic overview of the course. The instructor will also discuss the school’s policies, rules and regulations; 
any of the necessary forms that have not been completed may be reviewed and completed at this time. 
Students are encouraged to visit the school for at least 4 days, prior to enrolling, to observe and “get a taste” 
of Cosmetology. This is a career move and should be carefully weighed prior. 

 
Scholarships  Item 21 
Our College does not have an institutional scholarship program. However, Thanh Le College does 
participate Federal Aid programs and financial aid is available to those who qualify. For information on 
these programs, please refer to the Financial Aid section of this catalog. 



 

 
The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic losses 
suffered by California residents who were students attending schools approved by, or registered to offer Short-term 
Career Training with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education (Bureau). 
You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident, prepaid tuition, paid the STRF fee, and suffered an 
economic loss as a result of any of the following: 

1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed. 
2. The school’s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees or 

any other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected within 180 
days before the closure of the school. 

3. The school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally guaranteed student loan program 
as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school prior to closure in excess of 
tuition and other costs. 

4. The school’s breach or anticipatory breach of the agreement for the course of instruction. 
5. There was a decline in the quality of the course of instruction within 30 days before the school closed, or 

if the decline began earlier than 30 days prior to closure, a time period of decline determined by the 
Bureau. 

6. The school committed fraud during the recruitment or enrollment or program participation of the student. 
You may also be eligible for STRF if you were a student that was unable to collect a court judgment rendered 
against the school for violation of the Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education Reform Act of 1989. 
The fund protects only California students. Institutional participation is mandatory. If you are not a resident of 
California, you are not eligible for protection to recover a claim from the Student Tuition Recovery Fund. 
S.T.R.F. STATEMENT: You must pay the state-imposed fee for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all 
the following applies to you: 

1. You are a student, who is a California resident and prepays all or part of your tuition either by cash, 
guaranteed student loans or personal loans. 

2. Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or 
other payer, unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party. 

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF fee if either of the 
following applies: 

1. You are not a California resident or 
2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer 

and you have no other separate agreement to repay the third party. 
If you are not a resident of California, you are not eligible for protection under, and not eligible to file for a recovery 
from the California Student Tuition Recovery Fund. It is important that enrollees keep a copy of the enrollment 
agreement, contract, or application to document enrollment, tuition receipts or canceled checks to document the total 
amount of tuition paid, and records which will document the percentage of the course which has been completed. 
Such information may substantiate a claim for reimbursement from the STRF, which must be filed within one year 
of the Bureau’s service on the student of their rights under the STRF, or if no notice of rights are served to the 
student, within four years of the institution’s closure. For further information or instructions contact: 

Bureau for Postsecondary Education 
PO Box 980181 West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 

(888) 370-7589 

P a g e | 12 
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) Item 17 
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Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy (SAP) 
(Must initial Pre-enrollment checklist at front of this Catalog) 

This policy is provides to applicants prior to enrollment. This institution expects all students to maintain Satisfactory Academic 
Progress (SAP) as established by the institution under the guidelines of the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & 
Sciences (NACCAS) and the U.S. Department of Education. This policy applies to all students enrolled in any NACCAS –approved 
program at the institution, regardless of attendance status (part-time or full-time). 

 
Evaluations will determine if the student has met the minimum requirements for satisfactory academic progress. 
Each student must be evaluated for SAP by (1) the midpoint of the academic year or (2) the midpoint of the program, whichever is 
shorter. However, at Thanh Le College, a written evaluation of the progress of each student is prepared at the following intervals 
based on actual clock hours completed. All evaluations are completed within 7 school business days, signed by both school staff and 
student, and kept in student’s file for 6 years. Copies of evaluations are given to students once signed by both parties. 

 
Subject 1st SAP 2nd SAP 3RD SAP 4th SAP 
Cosmetology 1000hrs 450hrs 900hrs NA NA 

Cosmetician 600hrs 300hrs 600hrs NA NA 

Manicuring 400hrs 200hrs 400hrs NA NA 

Cosmetology Instructor Trainee 
600hrs 300hrs 600hrs NA NA 

The frequency of evaluations ensures that students have had at least one evaluation by midpoint in the course. 
 

Re-Entry Students- Midpoint of the contracted hours or the established evaluation periods, whichever comes first. 
 

An SAP evaluation consists of two assessments: a cumulative quantitative attendance score and a cumulative qualitative academic 
performance score. The evaluation form reflects the overall attendance and academic progress of the student. Students must maintain 
a minimum attendance grade of 67% (D+) and a minimum academic average (calculated from the areas listed below) of 70% (C) to 
maintain satisfactory academic status. 

• Attendance: Students must maintain a cumulative average attendance level of at least two-thirds (2/3) of the scheduled 
hours indicated on their enrollment contract. For example, a student scheduled to complete 30 hours per week would have 
to maintain an average weekly attendance of at least 20 hours per week (2/3 x 30 = 20). 

• Academic Performance will be determined using grades, and/or work projects completed, and/or comparable factors 
measurable against a norm. 

(1) Theory Exams – Tests will be administered to evaluate each student’s knowledge of their chosen fields. The average 
of the test scores must be no lower than 70% (C). 

(2) Practical & Clinical Operations – Every practical and clinical operation will be graded by the instructors based on a 
set of pre-determined criteria. The average of these grades will become the student’s Practical Grade and must be no 
lower than 70% (C). 

ATTENDANCE PROGRESS EVALUATIONS 
Students must complete a course within 150% of the course length as defined in the enrollment agreement. Students 
who exceed the maximum timeframe shall be terminated from the program and may re-enroll in a program on a cash-pay 
basis. Students that are re-entering their course of training at this institution will be given any prior credits that they have 
received. The credits will be given regardless of the time frame that has occurred since their prior enrollment. Each 
re-entry is treated on an individual basis. Thanh Le College reserves the right (with just cause) to reject a student’s re- 
entry. 
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The table below shows the maximum time allowed to complete each course. 
 

 
COURSE Enrollment 

Status 
Total length Clock  

Hours 

 
Academic Year 

maximum time frame 
Course Length  

@150% 
Cosmetology 
1000hrs Full Time 

(30Hrs/Wk) 1000 Hrs 34 weeks 
450 clock hrs  & 15weeks 
900 clock hrs & 30weeks 
1000 clock hrs & 34 weeks 

1500 Hrs 50 weeks 

Cosmetology 
1000hrs Part Time 

(20Hrs/Wk) 

 
1000 Hrs 

 
50 weeks 

450 clock hrs & 20 weeks 
900 clock hrs & 46weeks 
1000 clock hrs & 50weeks 

 
1500 Hrs 

 
75 weeks 

Cosmetician Full Time 
(30Hrs/Wk) 600 Hrs 20 weeks 300 clock hrs & 10weeks 

600 clock hrs & 20weeks 900 Hrs 30 weeks 

Cosmetician Part Time 
(20Hrs/Wk) 600 Hrs 30 weeks 300 clock hrs & 20weeks 

600 clock hrs & 30 weeks 900 Hrs 45 weeks 

Cosmetology 
Instructor 
Trainee 

Full Time 
(30Hrs/Wk) 

 
600 Hrs 

 
20 weeks 300 clock hrs & 10weeks 

600 clock hrs & 20weeks 

 
900 Hrs 

 
30 weeks 

Cosmetology 
Instructor 
Trainee 

Part Time 
(20Hrs/Wk) 

 
600 Hrs 

 
30 weeks 300 clock hrs & 20weeks 

600 clock hrs & 30weeks 

 
900 Hrs 

 
45 weeks 

Manicuring Full Time 
(30Hrs/Wk) 400 Hrs 14 weeks 200 clock hrs & 7weeks 

400 clock hrs & 7weeks 600 Hrs 20 weeks 

Manicuring Part Time 
(20Hrs/Wk) 400 Hrs 20 weeks 200 clock hrs & 10weeks 

400 clock hrs & 20weeks 600 Hrs 30 weeks 

Students on an approved Leave of Absence will have their contract period and maximum time frame extended by the same 
number of days as the leave of absence. 

 
The maximum time allowed for re-entry students who need less than the full course requirements or part-time 
students will be determined based on 67% of the scheduled contracted hours. 

 
ACADEMIC PROGRESS EVALUATIONS 
The qualitative element used to determine academic progress is a reasonable system of grades as determined by assigned 
academic learning. Students are assigned academic learning and a minimum number of practical experiences. Academic learning 
is evaluated after each unit of study. Practical assignments are evaluated as completed and counted toward course completion only 
when rated as satisfactory or better (the computer system will reflect completion of the practical assignment as a 100% rating). If 
the performance does not meet satisfactory requirements, it is not counted and the performance must be repeated. At least two 
comprehensive practical skills evaluations will be conducted during the course of study. Practical skills are evaluated according to 
text procedures and set forth in practical skills evaluation criteria adopted by the school. Students must maintain a written grade 
average of 70% and pass a FINAL written and practical exam prior to graduation. Students must make up failed or missed tests 
and incomplete assignments. Numerical grades are considered according to the following scale: 
Grading System: Students shall receive grades for their theory, practical and clinical work. Points and percentages shall be 
converted to Letter Grade based on the scales below. 

Item 13 
Practical Operation 
Grade 

Percentage Points Theory Grade Percentage Cumulative Academic 
Grade 

A 100-90% 10-9 A 100-90% A 
B 89-80% 8 B 89-80% B 
C 79-70% 7 C 79-70% C 
D 69-60% 6 D 69-60% D 

Students fulfilling all of the criteria for SAP (as stated above) at any evaluation point will be considered to be making Satisfactory 
Academic Progress until the next scheduled evaluation. Students will have access to SAP evaluation results at the time of the 
evaluation and upon request. 
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Determination of Progress Status 
Students fulfilling two criteria for SAP (as stated above) at any evaluation point will be considered to be making Satisfactory 
Academic Progress until the next scheduled evaluation. 

 
Student Notification 
Students receive monthly grade indicating their current progress status. If upon reaching a scheduled checkpoint, a student is 
found to be not making satisfactory progress, they will also receive written notification that they have been placed on warning or 
probation and that their eligibility for financial aid may be impacted. If they are found to be making satisfactory progress, no 
additional student notification will occur. 

 
Failing to Meet Satisfactory Academic Progress 
Warning 
Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress are placed on Warning and considered to be 
making satisfactory academic progress during the warning period. The student will be advised in writing on the actions required to 
attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the warning period, the student has still not met both 
the attendance and academic requirements, he/she may be placed on probation and, if applicable, students may be deemed 
ineligible to receive Title IV funds and will become responsible for the remainder of the costs for their education. Students who 
lose their eligibility for Title IV funds and choose to continue to attend school at their own expense will still be evaluated for SAP 
at the prescribed intervals. 

 
Probation Periods 
Prior to students being placed on Probation Students who fail to meet minimum requirement for attendance or academic progress 
after the warning period will be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress during the 
probationary period, if the student appeals the decision, and prevails upon appeal. Additionally, only students who have the ability 
to meeting the Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy standards by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation. 
Students placed on an academic plan must be able to meet requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the next 
evaluation Academic Progress. The student will be advised in writing of the actions required to attain satisfactory academic 
progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the probationary period, the student has still not met both the attendance and 
academic requirements required for satisfactory academic progress or by the academic plan, he/she will be determined as NOT 
making satisfactory academic a progress and, if applicable, students will not be deemed eligible to receive Title IV, HEA grogram 
funds. Upon being placed on a Probation Status, a student may be deemed as still eligible for Title IV Financial aid if 

 
• The student successfully appeals the negative progress determination prior to being placed on probation. 
• Thanh Le College determines that it is possible for the students to meet the minimum satisfactory progress standards by the 
end of the evaluation period. 
• Thanh Le College develops an academic plan for the student that, if followed, will ensure that the student is able to meet the 
college’s SAP requirements by a specific point within the maximum timeframe established for the individual student. 

 
Any student who wishes to appeal his or her non-satisfactory progress status must submit a written request to the Director of the 
institution. The request is to be presented within 15 days of the determination of the student’s status and must describe any 
circumstances such as death of a relative, an injury or illness of the student or other allowable special circumstances that the 
student believes deserve special consideration. The Director and staff shall evaluate the appeal within 5 business days and notify 
the student in writing of his or her decision. This decision will be final. All documents pertaining to student’s appeal and decision 
shall be maintained in the student’s file for six years. 

 
A student who does not successfully appeal or does not achieve the minimum standards is no longer eligible for Title IV, HEA 
program funds, unless the student is on warning period, will lose financial aid eligibility for the remainder of the evaluation period. 

 
Re-establishment for Satisfactory Academic Progress 
Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV aid, as applicable, by meeting minimum attendance and 
academic requirements by the end of the warning or probation period. 

 
Reinstatement of Eligibility for Financial Aid 
A student that prevails upon the appeal process will regain Satisfactory Progress Status and, if necessary, eligibility for Financial 
Aid shall be reinstated. 
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Re-Entry Policy 
All students who withdraw in good standing may re-enter into the course of study without losing credit of hours and operations 
earned during their prior enrollment. If the student transferred to another institution before returning to Thanh Le College, those 
hours and operations earned at that institution would also be credited to the student at the time of re-enrollment. Each re-entry is 
treated on an individual basis. Thanh Le College reserves the right (with just cause) to reject a student’s re-entry. Students 
accepted for re-entry shall be returned under the Academic Progress Status held when they left the school. 

 
Course Incomplete 
Course incompleteness, repetitions and non-credit remedial courses are not applicable to this institution’s courses of instruction. 

 
Re-establishment of Satisfactory Academic Progress 
Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV aid, as applicable, by meeting minimum attendance and 
academic requirements by the end of the warning or probationary period. 

 
Interruptions, Course incompletes, Withdrawals 
If enrollment is temporarily interrupted for a Leave of Absence, the student will return to school in the same progress status as 
prior to the leave of absence. Hours elapsed during a leave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and maximum time 
frame by the same number of days taken in the leave of absence and will not be included in the student's cumulative attendance 
percentage calculation. Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will return in the same 
satisfactory academic progress status as at the time of withdrawal. 

 
Make-up Work 
Failed or missed examinations may he made up within the course period by any student. The opportunity to take makeup 
examinations may he requested by the student at any time. Make-up Examinations will also be scheduled by the school at least 
once per month. Grades received on make-up examinations will he averaged with other examinations to obtain the above grade. 

 
Transfer Hours 
Thanh Le College, School of Cosmetology does not accept transfer hours from other institutions 

 
Noncredit, Remedial Courses, Repetitions 
Noncredit, remedial courses and repetitions do not apply to this institution. Therefore, these items have no effect upon the school's 
satisfactory academic progress standards. 
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Tuition and Fees Policies Item 27 
Institutional charges for the entire tuition, registration fee, books and supplies may be assessed and posted in the 
students tuition account within the first payment period. Please refer to “Payment Period” definition. 

 
Schedule of Tuition and Fees 

     
Non-refundable,Due at 

Time of Enrollment 

Refundable, 
Paid 

Proportionally 
at SAP Periods 

 

 Tuition/ 
Hour 

 
Total 

Tuition 
Registration 

Fee 
STRF 

2.5/$1000 

 
BOOKS & 
SUPPLIES 

 
TOTAL 

TUITION 

 
Total 

Charges 

Cosmetology 
1000hrs $10 $10000 $100 $25 $500 $10,000 $10625 
Cosmetician 
600hrs $10 $6000 $100 $15 $300 $600 $6415 
Cosmetology 
Instructor Trainee 
600hrs 

 
$10 

 
$6000 

 
$100 

 
$15 

 
$200 

 
$6000 

 
$6415 

Manicuring 
400hrs $3 $1000 $100 $2.5 $200 $1000 $1302.5 

*Books and supplies purchased at the college are optional. If a student decides to drop from a course within 10 
business days of enrollment AND the supplies have not been opened (for sanitary reasons) and the books are 
salable, the cost of Books and supplies will be refunded. 

Approved Text and Reference Books 
Milady’s Standard Textbook of Cosmetology, 13th Edition, Blk. cover 
Milady’s Standard Fundamentals for Estheticians, 12th Edition, Blk. 
Cover Milady’s Standard Nail Technology, 7th Edition, Blk. cover 

Extra Instruction Charges 
Thanh Le College does not charge overtime tuition. 

 

Methods of Payment Item 27e 
Students are expected to contribute from their own family resources toward the cost of their education at Thanh Le 
College. Tuition and expenses may be paid in full at the time of enrollment but payment plans are also available from 
Thanh Le College. It is the school’s policy to request that the student, whenever possible, make contributions toward 
their school charges by making weekly or monthly installments, in accordance with their individual financial situation. 
Thanh Le College accepts payment in cash, money order, personal checks and/or Title IV. 

 
Federal Student Financial Aid is available, to those that qualify, to cover educational expenses. Financial aid will be 
disbursed in the form of Pell Grants (no repayment required). All estimates of available funds from financial aid will 
be first used to cover institutional charges. If funds remain available, they will be disbursed directly to the student. 
For information on the aid programs, please contact the financial aid office. The expenses of the entire educational 
experience need to be included in planning the student's ability to meet those expenses. 

 
It is important that enrollees keep a copy of the enrollment agreement, contract, or application to document 
enrollment, tuition receipts or canceled checks to document the total amount of tuition paid, and records which will 
document the percentage of the course which has been completed. 
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Graduation Requirement 
When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical operations with a Cumulative Grade Point 
Average of 70% (C) or better, they will be awarded a certificate of graduation from Thanh Le College, School of 
Cosmetology. 

 
Placement: This school does not guarantee placement. However, limited job placement assistance by 
providing referrals to graduates is available. 
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COURSE DESCRIPTION: Cosmetology is the science of hair, skin and nail care. In this course students 
will learn and practice hair care skills (including washing, cutting, coloring, perming and conditioning), 
skin care (including facials, wraps, massages, hair removal and makeup), and nail care (clean, shape, polish 
fingernails and toenails). 

 
COURSE GOALS: The cosmetology course will provide the student in training in all phases of 
cosmetology. Upon completion of the course the student will have the knowledge and skill required to pass 
the exam offered by the State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology for a California cosmetology license. 

 
Please note: Thanh Le College does not provide an English-as-a-Second-Language course. The course 
will be taught in English. 

 
Cosmetology: (1,000 Clock Hours) 
The course of study for Cosmetology consists of 1000 clock hours and explores all facets of cosmetology, 
skin care, manicure and pedicure as mandated by the California Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology and 
pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. The course is designed to teach students 
the information and skills needed for a career in the Beauty field and to prepare students to pass the Bureau 
of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is the final pre-requisite to 
obtaining the Cosmetology License required to work as a cosmetologist in the state of California. 
Educational Goals 
Performance Objectives 

1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishment 
practices. 
2. Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all functions of hair, skin, and 
nails. 
3. Acquire the knowledge of subjects relative to cosmetology including anatomy, physiology, 
chemistry and the theory relative to the practical procedures to be performed. 

 
Skills to Be Developed 
1. The proper use of implements relative to all cosmetology services. 
2. The ability to properly analyze the scalp, face and hands to identify any disorders prior to 
performing services. 
3. The procedures and terminology used in performing all cosmetology services. 
4. The application of daytime and evening make-up, including the application of false strip 
eyelashes. 
5. The proper procedure of manicuring to include water and oil manicure and pedicure. 
6. The application of brushed-on nails, wraps, and nail tips. 

 
Attitudes and Appreciations to Be Developed 
1. Learn to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology. 
2. Develop a positive attitude toward the public and your fellow workers. 
3. Learn and Appreciate honesty and integrity. 
4. Learn to act professionally, especially when dealing with patrons and colleagues. 

 
Course Content: The curriculum for cosmetology consists of 1000 clock hours of technical instruction 
and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology pursuant to section 
7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. 

 COURSE TITLE: Cosmetology 1000 hours: 20 to 30 hours per week 
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Technical Instruction shall be defined as instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, 
or examination. A Practical Operation shall be defined as the performance of a complete service, by the 
student, on another person or a mannequin. 
Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 
(a) A course in barbering or cosmetology established by a school shall consist of not less than 1,000 
hours of practical and technical instruction in the practice of barbering or cosmetology, as defined in 
Section 7316. 
(c) The curriculum for a cosmetology course shall, at a minimum, include technical and practical 
instruction in the following areas: 
(1) One hundred hours in health and safety, which includes hazardous substances, chemical safety, 
safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals, preventing chemical injuries, health and safety 
laws and regulations, and preventing communicable diseases. 
(2) One hundred hours in disinfection and sanitation, which includes disinfection procedures to protect 
the health and safety of consumers as well as the technician and proper disinfection procedures for 
equipment used in establishments. 
(3) Two hundred hours in chemical hair services, which includes coloring, straightening, waving, 
bleaching, hair analysis, predisposition and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, and the use 
of dye removers. 
(4) Two hundred hours in hairstyling services, which includes arranging, blow drying, cleansing, curling, 
dressing, hair analysis, shampooing, waving, and nonchemical straightening, and hair cutting, including 
the use of shears, razors, electrical clippers and trimmers, and thinning shears, for wet and dry cutting. 
(5) One hundred fifty hours in skin care services, which includes chemical and manual facials and 
massaging, stimulating, exfoliating, cleansing, or beautifying the face, scalp, neck, or body by the use of 
hands, esthetic devices, cosmetic products, antiseptics, lotions, tonics, or creams that do not result in the 
ablation or destruction of the live tissue. 
(6) Fifty hours in hair removal and lash and brow beautification, which includes tinting and perming 
eyelashes and brows and applying eyelashes to any person, and includes removing superfluous hair from 
the body of any person by use of depilatories, tweezers, sugaring, nonprescription chemicals, or waxing, 
or by the use of devices and appliances of any kind or description, except by the use of lasers or light 
waves, which are commonly known as rays. 
(7) One hundred hours in manicure and pedicure, which includes water and oil manicures, hand and arm 
massage, foot and ankle massage, nail analysis, and artificial nail services, including, but not limited to, 
acrylic, liquid and powder brush-ons, dip, tips, wraps, and repairs. 
*One hundred hours, which includes first aids, anatomy, business managements, and resume preparation. 

(Amended by Stats. 2021, Ch. 648, Sec. 20. (SB 803) Effective January 1, 2022.) 

Graduation Requirements: When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical 
operations a Cumulative Grade Point Average of 70% (C) or better, they will be awarded a certificate of 
graduation from Thanh Le College, School of Cosmetology. Item 12 & Item 13 

 
Licensing Requirements: Applicants must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. 
A Cosmetology license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully 
completed and graduated from the Cosmetology course, as described above, and passed the Board of 
Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Examination with an overall grade of 75%. 

 
GRADING PROCEDURES 
Theory Exams – Tests will be administered to evaluate each student’s knowledge of their chosen fields. The 
average of the test scores must be no lower than 70% (C). 
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Practical & Clinical Operations – Every practical and clinical operation will be graded by the instructors 
based on a set of pre-determined criteria. The average of these grades will become the student’s 
Practical Grade and must be no lower than 70% (C). Hands-on practical tests will be given on all 
procedures set forth in Cosmetology Performance Criteria book published by the California Department 
of Consumer Affairs, Barbering and Cosmetology Program applicable to the student’s particular 
program. All students must pass each such test with a score of 70% or better. 
Grading System: Students shall receive grades for their theory, practical and clinical work. Points and 
Letter Grades shall be converted to percentages based on the scales below. 

 
Practical 
Operation Grade 

Percentage Points Theory Grade Percentage 

A 100-90% 10-9 A 100-90% 
B 89-80% 8 B 89-80% 
C 79-70% 7 C 79-70% 
D 69-60% 6 D 69-60% 
F 59% or below 5 F 59% or below 

 
COURSE FORMAT: 
Students will learn theory and then put it into practice. Tuesdays through Saturdays are spent in theory 
class, where the student will receive class room instruction. Wednesdays through Saturdays, students 
will practice what they have learned on doll heads and live models. 

 
Theory hours 5 hrs Tuesday to Saturday 9:00am to 10:00am 

Practical hours 25 hrs Tuesday to Saturday 10:00am to 3:00pm 
 

REQUIRED ASSIGNMENTS: 
A. Reading Assignments: The student is required to read assigned chapters in the textbook. 
B. Writing Assignments: Some exams are essays. Students are required to outline chapters 
in the book as part of their classroom assignments. 
C. Assignments that demonstrate critical thinking: The student must demonstrate problem solving by 
analyzing a patron's needs, recognize any problems, visualize final product, set up a logical procedure 
and have instructor approve finished product. 

 
TEXTS, WRITTEN MATERIALS, EQUIPMENT 
1. REQUIRED TEXT: Standard Textbook of Cosmetology. Published by Milady Publishing 
(International Thomson Publishing) approved by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology) 
and Exam Review book. All are supplied in the student kit. 
2. REFERENCES: 
• Health and Safety Course on Hazardous Substances, Basic, Labor Laws, and Physical and Sexual 
Assault Awareness pursuant to Chapter 10, B&P section 7389. Copies provided by the school. 
• California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology’s Act and Regulations pursuant to Title 16, CCR 
section 961(b)(2). Copies provided by the school. 
3. SUPPLEMENTAL AIDS: 
•Handout instruction sheets; charts; diagrams: provided free by instructors as needed. 
• Theory and reference books available at the school office 
• Instructional videotapes available at the school office. 
4. STUDENT KIT: At the beginning of the course the student will purchase a kit with textbook and all 
necessary equipment they will need. The student may purchase their kit from another source, but the 
contents must be salon quality. A list of the kit contents is attached to the enrollment agreement. 
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950.12. Work upon Paying Patrons 
(a) A student enrolled in a school shall not be permitted to work upon a patron paying for services until 
he or she has completed the freshman period of training and instruction. The freshman period shall be 10 
percent of the total training hours specified for each course. 
(b) A student enrolled in a school shall not be permitted to work upon a patron paying for a service until 
the student has completed technical instruction and practical training in the service for which a patron is 
paying. 
(c) For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, 
classroom participation, or examination; practical training shall mean the actual performance by the 
student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin. 
NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312 and 7362, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 
7362(b), 7362.5, 7364, 7365, and 7366, Business and Professions Code. 

 
961. Text and Reference Books for Students 
(a) In teaching, schools shall use text and reference books approved by the board. They may use other 
teaching material to supplement the approved text and reference books. 
(b) Each student shall possess the following: 
(1) At least one (1) of the textbooks approved by the board. 
(2) The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Rules and Regulations of the Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology. 
(c) There shall be one available for the use of students in the school: 
(1) A list of the text and reference books approved by the board. 
(2) Any two approved texts other than the one text possessed by the student. 
NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312 and 7362, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 
7362, Business and Professions Code. 
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COURSE DESCRIPTION: Esthetics is the science of skin care. In this course students will learn and 
practice an array of services from applying facial masks, peels, and herbal wraps, to massages, skin 
analysis, exfoliation, deep cleansing, product recommendations, hair removal and makeup application. 

 
COURSE GOALS: The esthetician course will provide the student training in all phases of skin care. 
Upon completion of the course the student will have the knowledge and skill required to pass the State 
Board examination for a California esthetician license. 

 
Please note: Thanh Le College does not provide an English-as-a-Second-Language course. The course 
will be taught in English. 

 
Cosmetician: (600 Clock Hours) 
The course of study for Cosmetician consists of 600 clock hours covering all aspects of skin care as 
mandated by the California Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology and pursuant to section 7316 of the 
Barbering and Cosmetology Act. The course is designed to teach students the information and skills 
needed for a career in the Beauty field and to prepare students to pass the Bureau of Barbering and 
Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is the final pre-requisite to obtaining the 
Cosmetology License required to work as a Cosmetician in the state of California. 
Educational Goals: 
Performance Objectives 
1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishment practices. 
2. Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all functions of Cosmetician. 
3. Acquire the knowledge of subjects relative to Cosmetician including anatomy, physiology, chemistry 
and the theory relative to the practical procedures to be performed. 
Skills to Be Developed 
1. The proper use of implements relative to all Cosmetician services. 
2. The ability to properly analyze the skin to identify any conditions or disorders prior to performing 
services. 
3. Develop the knowledge to confidently select and administer products based on individual customer 
needs. 
4. Develop the knowledge and confidence to safely perform all operations authorized for and 
Cosmetician. 

 
Attitudes and Appreciations to be Developed 
1. Learn to appreciate good workmanship common to practicing Cosmeticians. 
2. Develop a positive attitude toward the public and your fellow workers. 
3. Learn and Appreciate honesty and integrity. 
4. Learn to act professionally, especially when dealing with patrons and colleagues. 

 
Course Content: The curriculum for the Cosmetician course consists of 600 clock hours of technical 
instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a Cosmetician pursuant to section 7316 of 
the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. 
Technical Instruction shall be defined as instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, 
or examination. A Practical Operation shall be defined as the performance of a complete service, by the 
student, on another person or a mannequin. 
Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 
(a) A course in skin care course established by a school shall consist of not less than 600 hours of 
practical and technical instruction. 

COURSE TITLE: Cosmetician 600 hours total: 20-30 hours per week 
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(b) The curriculum for a skin care course shall, at a minimum, include technical and practical instruction 
in the following areas: 
(1) One hundred hours in health and safety, which includes hazardous substances, chemical safety, 
safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals, preventing chemical injuries, health and safety 
laws and regulations, and preventing communicable diseases. 
(2) One hundred hours in disinfection and sanitation, which includes disinfection procedures to protect 
the health and safety of consumers as well as the technician and proper disinfection procedures for 
equipment used in establishments. 
(3) Three hundred fifty hours in skin care, which includes chemical and manual facials and massaging, 
stimulating, exfoliating, cleansing, or beautifying the face, scalp, neck, or body by the use of hands, 
esthetic devices, cosmetic products, antiseptics, lotions, tonics, or creams that do not result in the 
ablation or destruction of the live tissue. 
(4) Fifty hours in hair removal and lash and brow beautification, which includes tinting and perming 
eyelashes and brows and applying eyelashes to any person and includes removing superfluous hair from 
the body of any person by use of depilatories, tweezers, sugaring, nonprescription chemicals, or waxing, 
or by the use of devices and appliances of any kind or description, except by the use of lasers or light 
waves, which are commonly known as rays. 
(Amended by Stats. 2021, Ch. 648, Sec. 22. (SB 803) Effective January 1, 2022.) 

 

Graduation Requirements: When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical 
operations with a Cumulative Grade Point Average of 70% (C) or better, they will be awarded a certificate 
of graduation from Thanh Le College, School of Cosmetology. Item 12 & Item 13 

 
Licensing Requirements: Applicants must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. 
A Cosmetician license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully 
completed and graduated from the Cosmetician course, as described above, and passed the Board of 
Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Examination with an overall grade of 75%. 

 
GRADING PROCEDURES: 
Theory Exams – Tests will be administered to evaluate each student’s knowledge of their chosen fields. The 
average of the test scores must be no lower than 70% (C). 
Practical & Clinical Operations – Every practical and clinical operation will be graded by the instructors 
based on a set of pre-determined criteria. The average of these grades will become the student’s Practical 
Grade and must be no lower than 70% (C). Practical Testing: Hands-on practical tests will be given on all 
procedures set forth in Cosmetology Performance Criteria book published by the California Department of 
Consumer Affairs, Barbering and Cosmetology Program applicable to the student’s particular program. All 
students must pass each such test with a score of 70% or better. 

 
Grading System: Students shall receive grades for their theory, practical and clinical work. Points and Letter 
Grades shall be converted to percentages based on the scales below. 

Item 11 
Practical 

Operation Grade 
Percentage Points Theory Grade Percentage 

A 100-90% 10-9 A 100-90% 
B 89-80% 8 B 89-80% 
C 79-70% 7 C 79-70% 
D 69-60% 6 D 69-60% 
F 59% or below 5 F 59% or below 
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COURSE FORMAT: 
Students will learn theory and then put it into practice. Tuesdays to Saturdays are spent in theory class, 
where the student will receive class room instruction. Tuesdays to Saturdays, students will practice 
what they have learned on doll heads and live models. 

 
Theory hours 5 hrs Tuesday to Saturday 9:00am to 10:00am 

Practical hours 25 hrs Tuesday to Saturday 10:00am to 3:00pm 
 

REQUIRED ASSIGNMENTS: 
Reading Assignments: The student is required to read assigned chapters in the textbook. 
Writing Assignments: Students are required to outline chapters in the book as part of their classroom 
assignments. 

 
Assignments that demonstrate critical thinking: The student must demonstrate problem solving by 
analyzing a patron’s needs, recognize any problems, visualize final product, set up a logical procedure, 
and have instructor approve finished product. 

 
TEXTS, WRITTEN MATERIALS, EQUIPMENT: 
The textbook for the course is the Milady’s Standard Textbook for Professional Estheticians and must be 
purchased by the student. The school will provide free of charge any other instructional materials, such 
as charts, diagrams, lists, etc., as appropriate. 

 
Each student is required to have an esthetician “Kit” consisting of all essential equipment needed for 
clinic (practical) training. The kit may be purchased from the school, or the student may obtain their 
own. 

 
950.12. Work upon Paying Patrons 
(a) A student enrolled in a school shall not be permitted to work upon a patron paying for services until 
he or she has completed the freshman period of training and instruction. The freshman period shall be 10 
percent of the total training hours specified for each course. 
(b) A student enrolled in a school shall not be permitted to work upon a patron paying for a service until 
the student has completed technical instruction and practical training in the service for which a patron is 
paying. 
(c) For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, 
classroom participation, or examination; practical training shall mean the actual performance by the 
student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin. 
961. Text and Reference Books for Students 
(a) In teaching, schools shall use text and reference books approved by the board. They may use other 
teaching material to supplement the approved text and reference books. 
(b) Each student shall possess the following: 
(1) At least one (1) of the textbooks approved by the board. 
2) California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology’s Act and Regulations pursuant to Title 16, 
CCR section 961(b)(2). Copies provided by the school. 
(3) Health and Safety Course on Hazardous Substances, Basic, Labor Laws, and Physical and Sexual 
Assault Awareness pursuant to Chapter 10, B&P section 7389. Copies provided by the school. 
(c) There shall be one available for the use of students in the school: 
(1) A list of the text and reference books approved by the board. 
(2) Any two approved texts other than the one text possessed by the student. 
NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312 and 7362, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 
7362, Business and Professions Code. 
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Cosmetology Instructor Trainee: (600 Clock Hours)   Item 8 & Item 9 
The Cosmetology instructor course consists of 600 clock hours covering all aspects of teaching the art of 
Cosmetology, as mandated by the California Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology and pursuant to section 
7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. The course is designed to teach students the information and 
skills needed for a career as an instructor in the Cosmetology Industry and to prepare students to pass the 
Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is the final pre-requisite to 
obtaining the Cosmetology License required to teach Cosmetology in the state of California. 

Educational Goals: 
Some of the Performance Objectives 

1. Develop the ability to teach related information, manipulative operations and techniques. 
2. Develop the ability to use various teaching aids, such as instruction sheets, visual aids and tests 

to provide information about the subjects being taught. 
3. Develop the ability to determine the best applications of specific teaching techniques used by the 

vocational teacher in the working area and in the classroom. 
Some of the Skills to Be Developed 

1. Develop, through occupational experiences, personal characteristics that will upgrade the 
cosmetology profession by producing quality students. 

2. Develop lesson plans, outlines, procedures and tests that will insure student comprehension and 
instill the desire to learn in even the most difficult student. 

3. Development of course content reflecting a comprehensive, correlated unit of study. 
4. Development of instructional materials that will facilitate quick and easy set-up and preparation 

of a class. 
5. Development of supplemental teaching aids that will give the student a variety of ideas from 

which to draw and maintain motivation. 
Attitudes and Appreciations to be Developed 

1. Learn to appreciate the necessity for constant effort toward the achievement of professional 
competency as a teacher. 

2. Realize the importance of developing personal characteristics that contribute to success in 
teaching. 

 
Course Content: The curriculum for the Cosmetology instructor course consists of 600 clock hours of 
technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a Manicurist pursuant to section 7316 of 
the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. 

Technical Instruction shall be defined as instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or 
examination. A Practical Operation shall be defined as the actual performance, by the instructor trainee, of 
teaching techniques and principles. 

 
Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 

 
 

Subject: 
Minimum 
Hours of 
Technical 
Instruction 

 
Minimum 
Practical 
Operations 

1. The Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the 
Department’s Rules and Regulations 

20  

 
 
 
 

Publication date March 21, 2022 
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Subject: 

Minimum 
Hours of 
Technical 
Instruction 

 
Minimum 
Practical 
Operations 

2.  preparatory instruction:   
A. Instructional techniques, method of instruction, 40  

lecture, demonstration, performance,   
communication skills, instructional aids, and use   
of questions to promote learning.   

B. Organization Technique, four (4) step teaching 40 40 
method,  performance  objectives  and  learning   
domains, etc.   

C. Lesson planning, subject, title, outlines, 60 40 
development and visual aids etc.   

D. Techniques of evaluation, purpose of test, types 40  
of test, test administration, scoring and grading,   
etc. 

3. Conducting classroom and technical instructions and 
demonstrations for three (3) or more students on all 
practices of cosmetology, including the Barbering and 
Cosmetology Act and Rules and Regulations: (shall be 
conducted under the supervision of a licensed instructor 

 
140 

 

4. Supervising and Training of students while they are 
practicing the art of cosmetology on a live person or 
mannequin in a classroom or laboratory. A student 
enrolled in the 600 hour instructor training course may 
not engaged in the school in a complete service 
connected with any practice or combination of practices 
of cosmetology upon a patron who is paying for services 
or materials and shall not be permitted to enroll in a 
second course except following examination failure after 
the preceding course. 

200  

 

Graduation Requirements: When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical 
operations with a Cumulative Grade Point Average of 70% (C) or better, they will be awarded a certificate 
of graduation from Thanh Le College, School of Cosmetology. Item 12 & Item 13 

 
Licensing Requirements: Applicants must have a U.S. High School Diploma, or its equivalent, and hold a 
current, valid California Cosmetology license. Also, the student must provide a signed affidavit from their 
employer attesting to the student’s level of experience. 
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Manicuring: (400 Clock Hours) 20 to 30 hours per week 
 

COURSE DESCRIPTION: Manicuring is the science of nail care. In this course students will learn to 
clean, shape and polish fingernails and toenails; groom cuticles and apply cream to hands and arms (feet 
and calves in the case of pedicures); and apply a variety of artificial nails and nail color. 

 
COURSE GOALS: The manicuring course will provide the student training in all phases of nail care. 
Upon completion of the course the student will have the knowledge and skill required to pass the State 
Board examination for a California manicuring license. 

 
Please note: Thanh Le College does not provide an English-as-a-Second-Language course. The course 
will be taught in English. 

 
Manicuring Course: (400 Clock Hours) 
The Manicuring course consists of 400 clock hours covering all aspects of nail care, manicure and 
pedicure, as mandated by the California Bureau of Barbering and Cosmetology and pursuant to section 
7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. The course is designed to teach students the information 
and skills needed for a career in the manicuring field and to prepare students to pass the Bureau of 
Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is the final pre-requisite to 
obtaining the Cosmetology License required to work as a Manicurist in the state of California. 
Educational Goals: 
Performance Objectives 
1. Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishment practices. 
2. Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all functions of Nail Care. 
3. Acquire the knowledge of subjects relative to Manicuring including anatomy, physiology, chemistry 
and the theory relative to the practical procedures to be performed. 

 
Skills to Be Developed 
1. The proper use of implements relative to all Manicures, Pedicures and Artificial Nails. 
2. A practical ability to perform Manicures, Pedicures and Artificial Nails. 
3. Develop the knowledge and confidence to safely perform all operations authorized for a Manicurist. 

 
Attitudes and Appreciations to be Developed 
1. Learn to appreciate good workmanship common to practicing Cosmeticians. 
2. Develop a positive attitude toward the public and your fellow workers. 
3. Learn and Appreciate honesty and integrity. 
4. Learn to act professionally, especially when dealing with patrons and colleagues. 

 
Course Content: The curriculum for the Manicuring course consists of 400 clock hours of technical 
instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a Manicurist pursuant to section 7316 of the 
Barbering and Cosmetology Act. 
Technical Instruction shall be defined as instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, 
or examination. A Practical Operation shall be defined as the performance of a complete service, by the 
student, on another person or a mannequin. 
Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 
(a) The curriculum for students enrolled in a Manicuring shall consist of not less than four hundred 
(400) hours of technical instruction and practical training covering all practices of a manicurist, pursuant 
to Section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. 
(b) For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, 
classroom participation, or examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the 
student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the 
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time it takes to perform a practical operation. Technical instruction and practical training shall include 
the following hours: 
(a) A Manicuring course established by a school shall consist of not less than 400 hours of practical and 
technical instruction. 
(b) The curriculum for a Manicuring shall, at a minimum, include the technical and practical instruction 
in the following areas: 
(1) One hundred hours in health and safety, which includes hazardous substances, chemical safety, 
safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals, preventing chemical injuries, health and safety 
laws and regulations, and preventing communicable diseases. 
(2) One hundred hours in disinfection and sanitation, which includes disinfection procedures to protect 
the health and safety of consumers as well as the technician and proper disinfection procedures for 
equipment used in establishments. 
(3) One hundred fifty hours in manicure and pedicure, which includes water and oil manicures, hand and 
arm massage, complete pedicures, foot and ankle massage, nail analysis, nail repairs, and application of 
artificial nails, liquid, gel, powder brush-ons, dip, nail tips, and wraps. 
*Fifty hours in first aids, anatomy, business managements, and resume preparation. 

(Amended by Stats. 2021, Ch. 648, Sec. 23. (SB 803) Effective January 1, 2022.) 

Graduation Requirements: When a student has completed the required theory hours and practical 
operations with a Cumulative Grade Point Average of 70% (C) or better, they will be awarded a certificate 
of graduation from Thanh Le College, School of Cosmetology. Item 12 & Item 13 

 
Licensing Requirements: Applicants must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. 
A Manicurist license will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully 
completed and graduated from the Manicuring course, as described above, and passed the Board of 
Barbering and Cosmetology Licensing Examination with an overall grade of 75%. 

 
GRADING PROCEDURES: 
Theory Exams – Tests will be administered to evaluate each student’s knowledge of their chosen fields. The 
average of the test scores must be no lower than 70% (C). 

 
Practical & Clinical Operations – Every practical and clinical operation will be graded by the instructors 
based on a set of pre-determined criteria. The average of these grades will become the student’s Practical 
Grade and must be no lower than 70% (C). Hands-on practical tests will be given on all procedures set forth 
in Cosmetology Performance Criteria book published by the California Department of Consumer Affairs, 
Barbering and Cosmetology Program applicable to the student’s particular program. All students must pass 
each such test with a score of 70% or better. 

 
Grading System: Students shall receive grades for their theory, practical and clinical work. Points and Letter 
Grades shall be converted to percentages based on the scales below. 

 
Practical 
Operation Grade 

Percentage Points Theory Grade Percentage 

A 100-90% 10-9 A 100-90% 
B 89-80% 8 B 89-80% 
C 79-70% 7 C 79-70% 
D 69-60% 6 D 69-60% 
F 59% or below 5 F 59% or below 

COURSE FORMAT: 
Publication date March 21, 2022 
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Students will learn theory and then put it into practice. Tuesdays to Saturdays are spent in theory class, 
where the student will receive class room instruction. Tuesday to Saturdays, students will practice what 
they have learned on mannequin hands and live models. 

 
Theory hours 5 hrs Tuesday to Saturday 9:00am to 10:00am 

Practical hours 25 hrs Tuesday to Saturday 10:00am to 3:00pm 
 

REQUIRED ASSIGNMENTS: 
Reading Assignments: The student is required to read assigned chapters in the textbook. 
Writing Assignments: Students are required to outline chapters in the book as part of their classroom 
assignments. 
Assignments that demonstrate critical thinking: The student must demonstrate problem solving by 
analyzing a patron’s needs, recognize any problems, visualize final product, set up a logical procedure, 
and have instructor approve finished product. 

 
TEXTS, WRITTEN MATERIALS, EQUIPMENT: 
The textbook for the course is the Milady’s Standard Textbook for Manicuring course must be 
purchased by the student. The school will provide free of charge any other instructional materials, such 
as charts, diagrams, lists, etc., as appropriate. 
Each student is required to have an esthetician “Kit” consisting of all essential equipment needed for 
clinic (practical) training. The kit may be purchased from the school, or the student may obtain their 
own. 
950.12. Work upon Paying Patrons 
(a) A student enrolled in a school shall not be permitted to work upon a patron paying for services until 
he or she has completed the freshman period of training and instruction. The freshman period shall be 10 
percent of the total training hours specified for each course. 
(b) A student enrolled in a school shall not be permitted to work upon a patron paying for a service until 
the student has completed technical instruction and practical training in the service for which a patron is 
paying. 
(c) For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, 
classroom participation, or examination; practical training shall mean the actual performance by the 
student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin. 

 
961. Text and Reference Books for Students 
(b) In teaching, schools shall use text and reference books approved by the board. They may use other 
teaching material to supplement the approved text and reference books. 
(c) Each student shall possess the following: 
(1) At least one (1) of the textbooks approved by the board. 
(2) California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology’s Act and Regulations pursuant to Title 16, 
CCR section 961(b)(2). Copies provided by the school. 
(3) Health and Safety Course on Hazardous Substances, Basic, Labor Laws, and Physical and Sexual 
Assault Awareness pursuant to Chapter 10, B&P section 7389. Copies provided by the school. 
(d) There shall be available for the use of students in the school: 
(1) A list of the text and reference books approved by the board. 
(2) Any two approved texts other than the one text possessed by the student. 
NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 7312 and 7362, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 
7362, Business and Professions Code. 

 
 
 
 

Publication date March 21, 2022 
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CANCELLATIONS AND REFUND POLICY Item 14 

STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL: The student has 10 business days after the first class attended (the cancellation 
period), to cancel the enrollment agreement for a course of instruction, including the return of any books and supplies. A 
business day shall be defined as a day on which the student was scheduled to attend a class session. 

 
The refund policy applies to all terminations for any reason, by either party, including student decision, courseor program 
cancellation or school closure. 

 
The notice of cancellation shall be in writing and submitted directly to the Financial Aid Office, a withdrawal may be 
initiated by the student’s written notice or by the institution due to student’s academics or conduct, including, but not 
necessarily limited to, a student’s lack of attendance. 

 
After the cancellation period, the institution provides a pro rata refund of the scheduled hours ALL funds paid for tuition 
charges to students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance. Once more then 60 percent of the 
enrollment period in the entire course has incurred (including absences), there will be no refund to the student. 

 
A registration fee of $100.00 is a non-refundable item. Books and supplies issued and received by the student would not be 
returnable (if purchased through the school). Once received by the student it will belong to the student and will represent a 
liability to the student. 

 
If you withdraw from school after the cancellation period, the refund policy described above will apply. If the amount that 
you have paid is more than the amount that you owe for the time you attended, then a refund willbe made within 45 days 
of the official withdrawal date. See Refunds section below. If the amount that you owe is more than the amount that you 
have already paid, then you will have to arrange with the institution to pay that balance. Official withdrawal date is on the 
student’s notification or school’s determination. Academic credits earned but not paid for would not be released by the 
institution. 

 
All funds paid will be refunded if the student: 

 
A. Is rejected for enrollment, 

B. Cancels this contract within 10 business days of the date that the agreement was signed, 

C. Cancels this agreement later than 10 business days after signing, after the first day you attendedschool. 
 

Hypothetical refund example according to the state pro rata policy: Assume that a student, upon enrollment in a 1,600- 
hour course, pays $6,800.00 for tuition, $100 for registration, and $525.00, (documented cost to the school) for 
equipment as specified in the enrollment agreement and withdraws after 600 hours into the course (this includes class 
days not attended by the student) without returning (due to sanitary reasons) the equipment he/she obtained. The pro 
rata refund to the student would be $4,250.00 based on the calculation stated below. If the student returns the- 
equipment (if it was returnable) in good condition within 30 days following his/her withdrawal, the school would 
refund the charge for the equipment returned. 

 
Total Paid $7400.00 Tuition cost $6800.0 

0 
Paid 
instruction 

$6800.00 

Less Registration Fee 
(non 
refundable) 

$100.00 Hours in the 
course 

$1600.0 
0 

Scheduled 
Hours 
attended 

$600.00 

Less cost of non 
returnable 
equipment 

$525.00 Hourly 
charge 

$4.25 Tuition owed 
600($4.25) 

$2550.00 

Equals amount paid 
for 
instruction 

$6800.00   Refund due $4250.00 
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In determining the amount that the student owes for the period of time attended, the time elapsed includes thehours 
of training offered to the student but not attended by the student, from the first date of classes to the last date of 
recorded attendance. The student shall be deemed to have withdrawn from the course when any of the following 
occurs: 

1. The student notifies the financial aid office of their intentions to withdraw, 
2. The school terminates your enrollment, 
3. The student fails to attend classes for 15 consecutive business days, 
4. The student fails to return from an approved leave of absence on the date that they had scheduled. 

 
The remaining amount of the refund will first be made to the financial aid programs from which benefits werereceived, 
in accordance to the order of priority provided in federal regulations. If a course is canceled or the school closes, 
subsequent to a student’s enrollment and before instruction in the course has begun, the school shall provide a full 
refund of all money paid. If the student receives federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of 
the money not paidfrom the federal financial aid funds. 

 
Students who terminate prior to course completion will be charged a $100 registration fee and refund given based on 
number of scheduled hours of the course not completed less non-refundable kit if purchased through the school. Students 
who have completed more than 60% of the course hours are not eligible for a refund. If the school is permanently closed 
and no longer offering instruction after a student has enrolled, the student may: 

 
1. Transfer credits to another school offering similar courses. Transferrable credits are based solely upon the 

school’s policy and should first be verified with the school. The student will be eligible for a pro-rata refundbased 
on the school’s refund policy OR 

 
2. Teach-out: Students that are within 90 days of completing their course of study may be able to finish theircourse 

before the school closes. These students would not be eligible for a refund. 
 

Course Cancellation: If a course is cancelled subsequent to a student’s enrollment and before instruction in thecourse 
has begun, the school shall at its option: 1) Provide a full refund of all money paid; or 2) Provide for completion of the 
course at schools in the neighborhood. 

 
School Closure: If the school closes subsequent to a student’s enrollment and before instruction in the course hasbegun, 
the school shall at its option: 1) Provide a full refund of all money paid; or 2) Provide for completion of the course at 
schools in the neighborhood. 

 
WITHDRAWAL POLICY 
Regardless of the average level of attendance, students who have more than 15 consecutive business days will be 
dismissed. This standard shall apply to all students except those on an approved Leave-of-Absence (see LOA policy). 
Students who expect to be absent 15 consecutive business or more days up to 180 days are encouraged to request a Leave- 
of-Absence. 

 
Determination of withdrawal from school: The withdrawal date shall be the last date of recorded attendance. The 
student would be determined to have withdrawn from school on the earliest of: 

 
1. The date you notify the Financial Aid Office of your intent to withdraw. Only the Financial Aid Office would be 

authorized to accept a notification of your intent to withdraw. 
2. The date the school terminates your enrollment due to academic failure or for violation of its rules and policiesstated 

in the catalog. 
3. The date you fail to attend classes for a 15 consecutive business day period and fail to inform the school thatyou 

are not withdrawing. 
4. The date you failed to return as scheduled from an approved leave of absence. The withdrawal date shall be thelast 

date of recorded attendance. The date of determination of withdrawal will be the scheduled date of return from LOA 
or date the student notifies the institution that she/he will not be returning. 

 
Withdrawals of more than 10 business days after the start of class may be entitled to a partial refund based on 
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institutional refund policy. Students have a right to withdraw from school at any time and receive a refund for the 
part of the course not taken. 

 
Return of Title IV: 
Special note to students receiving Pell grants or other aid, if you withdraw from school prior to the completion of the 
equivalent to 60 percent of the workload in any given payment period, a calculation using the percentage completed will be 
applied to the funds received or that could have been receive that will determine the amount of aid the student earned. 
Unearned funds would be returned to the program in the order stated below by the school and/or the student. Funds owed 
by the student to the Grant programs are limited to 50% of the gross award per program received. Sample Calculation, 
completion of 25% of the total period or enrollment period earns only 25% of the aid disbursed or that could have been 
disbursed. If applicable, this would be the firstcalculation to determine the amount of aid that the student would be eligible 
for from the Title IV Financial Aid programs. A second calculation would take place to determine the amount earned by the 
institution during the period of enrollment. If the student is eligible for a loan guaranteed by the federal or state government 
and the student defaults on the loan, both of the following may occur: (1) The federal or state government or a loan 
guarantee agency may take action against the student, including applying any income tax refund to which the person is 
entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan. (2) The student may not be eligible for any other federalstudent financial 
aid at another institution or other government assistance until the loan is repaid. Refunds are to be made no later than 45 
days from the date of determination of withdrawal. 

 
Accrediting Commission Formula When calculating refunds, this institution is required to follow the California State 
refund formula. By design, the calculations under the state refund policy will always produce results that are more favorable 
to the student than those produced by the calculations under the Accrediting Commission’s refund policy. This institution 
will not follow the Accrediting Commission’s refund policy formula. 

 
NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR 
INSTITUTION: The transferability of credits you earn at THANH LE COLLEGE, SCHOOL OF COSMETOLOGY is 
at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the hours you earn at Thanh Le 
College, School of Cosmetology, is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If 
the hours that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be 
required to repeat some or all of your coursework at the institution you are transferring. For this reason, you should make 
certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution 
to which you may seek to transfer after attending THANH LE COLLEGE, SCHOOL OF COSMETOLOGY to 
determine if your hours will transfer. 
*If institution offers more than one educational program, only the program in which the student is enrolling must be 
listed. 

 
GENERAL TERMS OF AGREEMENT Item 25f 
School: 

1) Shall provide programs of study that meets minimum curriculum requirements as prescribed by the state 
regulatory agency. 

2) May change kit contents, textbooks, dress code, curriculum format, teaching materials or educational methods at 
its discretion. 

3) Will issue an Official Transcript of Hours to students who withdraw prior to program completion when the student 
has successfully completed the required exit paperwork, attended an exit interview and made satisfactory 
arrangements for debts owed the school as approved by the School. 

4) Will assist graduates in finding suitable employment by posting area employment opportunities and teaching Job 
Readiness classes, but placement is not guaranteed. 

5) May terminate a student's enrollment for noncompliance with General Policies, this contract, or State Laws and 
Regulations; Improper conduct or any action which causes or could cause bodily harm to a client, a student, or 
employee of the school; willful destruction of school property; and theft or any illegal act. Item 25 e 

6) Agrees to pay applicable school and state fees and provide all required registration paperwork in a timely manner. 
7) Agrees to comply with all Standards of Conduct, General Policies, State Laws and Regulations, and educational 

requirements including clinic assignments. 
8) Agrees not to refuse to perform client services or other program requirements. 
9) Agrees to provide all financial aid documents, if applicable, in the designated time frame. 
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10) Agrees to comply with the school’s dress code at all times and project a professional image representative of the 
cosmetology and image industry. 

11) Agrees to comply with the assigned schedule for the applicable program of study which may change from time to 
time at the discretion of the school. 

12) Agrees to attend theory class as scheduled for the duration of the course of study regardless of whether all required 
tests have been taken and passed. 

13) Understands that if he/she is a Title IV financial aid recipient,* minimum attendance and grade requirements must 
be maintained for satisfactory academic progress; failure to comply will result in loss of eligibility for financial aid 
according to the policy found in the catalog. 

14) Understands that he/she is responsible for the state licensing exam fee and other examination or licensing related 
expenses. 
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Financial Aid Information 
Financial aid is a mechanism that reduces out-of-pocket costs that the student and/or the student’s parents must 
pay to obtain a specific postsecondary education. Presented differently, financial aid is money made available 
to help students meet the cost of attending college. Financial Aid is made up of grants and loans. Grants are 
not to be repaid. Loans usually have low interest rates and a student must re-pay a loan according to the 
individual loan program terms. Most of the loans can be arranged to require payment after a grace period of 
several months following graduation, the student’s termination from the program or the point at which the 
student’s attendance falls below half time. Financial Aid is awarded to students who have “need”. Need is 
defined as the difference between the amount of money that the family will be expected to contribute to meet 
student costs and the cost of education at this school. 
If you wish to apply for financial aid, have questions or you need sections of the handbook clarified, please 
contact the financial aid office at the school. Additional information regarding the student aid programs 
available at Thanh Le College may be found in “The Student Guide” and the “Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid” published by the U.S. Department of Education. Additional information may also be obtained by 
calling the Federal Student Aid Information Center between 9:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Time), Monday 
through Friday, at 1- (800) 433-3243. 

 
Consumer Information 
Based on a combination of approvals, authorization and accreditation, our students are eligible to apply for and 
receive tuition aid and financial assistance while attending the college. A list of these programs includes: 
Federal PELL Grant (FPELL) and Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant (FSEOG), neither of 
which requires repayment. Thanh Le College does not offer student loans to prospective or current 
students. 

 
Determining Need 
The information that you report on the FAFSA when you apply for aid is used in a formula established by U.S. 
Congress that calculates your Expected Family Contribution. 
Cost of Attendance 
This institution uses the annual budgets published by the CALIFORNIA STUDENT AID COMMISSION to 
estimate the total amount that it will cost for a student to go to school. 

 

Elements included in the budget: Tuition Actual cost 

 Registration Fee Actual cost 
 Books and supplies Actual cost 

 
Living cost allowance (monthly 
figures) 

Student living Parents Student Living off campus  

Room and Board $4347.00 $908.00 
Transportation $1071.00 $104.00 
ersonal & Misc. $172.00 $254.00  
(The cost of uniforms is included in the personal allowance) 

 
U.S. Department Of Education Title IV Student Financial Aid Programs 
Thanh Le College is approved for, and does participate in, the following USDE Title IV programs intended to 
defray the costs of attending for those students eligible for financial aid considerations: 

Federal PELL Grant Program (FPELL) 
Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant Program (FSEOG) 
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Compliance Statement 

The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that students be notified that the disclosure of his/her social security 
number is mandatory. The social security number is used to verify students’ identities, to process the awarding 
of funds, the collection of funds and the tracing of individuals who have borrowed funds from federal, state or 
private programs. 

 
Application for Aid, Procedures and Forms 
Financial Aid applications for this institution consist of: 

Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) - Thanh Le College utilizes the Free Application for Federal 
Student Aid (FAFSA) for students applying for aid. This form will be processed by a contractor of the U.S. 
Department of Education at no cost to the student. The results will be provided in the form of an Electronic 
Student Aid Report with the calculation of the Expected Family Contribution. This application needs to be 
completed as instructed on the form. 
Documentation to substantiate the data entered on the FAFSA may be required by the financial aid office. 
Forms, and assistance in completing them, are available at this school during regular school hours. In addition 
to the FAFSA, the institution requires a series of forms as they apply to the individual student aid program and 
to the student’s individual family circumstances. 

 
Federal Pell Grant Program – Funds received under this program are not subject to repayment from the 
student. 
Deadline 

FAFSA applications must be received by June 30 in the year for which the application is intended. SAR or 
ISIR must be submitted to the financial aid office by August 29 of the award year from which aid is requested 
or your last day of enrollment for the prior school year, whichever comes first. A valid ISIR, after having been 
corrected as necessary, requires the signatures of student, spouse and/or parents. 

 
Renewal Process 

A FPELL Grant award is disbursed to the student for one award year (July 1 to June 30 of the following year) 
and is not automatically renewed for the next award year. Students must re-apply for the FPELL Grant and 
submit a copy of the new SAR or ISIR to the financial aid office. 

 
Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG): Funds received under this program are not 
subject to repayment from the student. 
Deadline: You may apply during the enrollment process, using the FAFSA form. The school will provide you a 
letter listing the amount and types of financial aid you will be awarded. 

 

Disbursement 
Made based on per payment period via a check payable to the student or via a direct credit to the student’s 
tuition account. Priority for FSEOG funds will be given to students eligible for Pell Grant. This institution has 
a year-round enrollment. Therefore, funds will be awarded in a manner that funds would be available to 
students enrolling through out the entire year. If SEOG funds are still available, a second priority will be given 
to Non Pell recipient students with the lowest Expected Family Contributions enrolled during the last three 
months. 
For additional information on Federal Financial Aid programs, request “The Student Guide” published 
by USDE 
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Award Concept, Selection of Recipients and Packaging Criteria: This institution does not receive enough 
Campus-Based funds to satisfy all of the students’ financial needs. Therefore, the school emphasizes the SELF- 
HELP CONCEPT of student financial assistance. 

 
The SELF-HELP CONCEPT lists types of financial assistance in the following order: 

1. Family contribution 
2. Other resources 
3. Federal PELL Grant 

 
The school awards from the Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants in accordance with the 
following policy: The institutional participation in the Federal Educational Opportunity Grant is limited to the 
amount of funds given to the institution for an entire award year. (July 1 to June 30). Due to the limited amount 
of funds available to the institution, it is impossible to award FSEOG to all students applying for aid. Therefore, 
the institutional policy to select FSEOG recipients is as follows: 
This institution has a continuing enrollment process in which students may start each Tuesday of each week, or 
Wednesday when Tuesday is an observed Holiday. To ensure a fair distribution of funds through the entire 
award year, the institution will make SEOG awards using data from the preceding year. By using student 
enrollment, EFC and Pell Grant data, the college can estimate the expected number of new enrollments and 
calculate how to most evenly distribute the SEOG funds available. 
The first recipients of SEOG funds will be selected from students classified as having “exceptional need”. This 
institution defines students with “exceptional need” as those with the lowest expected family contribution (EFC); 
priority will be given to those students are eligible to receive Federal Pell Grants. If enrollment figures change, 
and/or additional funds become available to the institution, a second selection will be made from those students 
that enrolled during the last quarter of the award year (March to June) with the lowest EFC but were deemed 
ineligible for the FPELL Grant Program. 
All selections will be made from students whose files have been completed without pending issues regarding 
eligibility for Federal Aid. Incomplete files will not be considered due to a possible lack of documentation. 
Awards will be made throughout the award year, as long as funds are available. 

 
Return of Title IV Funds/R2T4 Policy 
If students withdraw from school prior to the completion of the equivalent to 60 percent of the workload in any 
given payment period, a calculation using the percentage completed will be applied to the funds received or that 
could have been received that will determine the amount of aid the student earned. Unearned fund would be 
returned to the appropriate program by the school and/or the student. Funds owed by the student to the Grant 
programs are limited to 50% of the gross award per program received. If the student receives federal student 
financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the money not paid from the federal financial aid funds. 

 
Refunds: If any refunds are due based on the Return of Title IV calculation or based on the institutional refund 
policy calculation, any refunds will be made as soon as possible but not later than 45 days from the 
determination 
of withdrawal date in the order stated in section CFR 34 section 668.22. The order of payment of refunds is 
1. Pell Grant 
2. Federal SEOG 

 
This order would apply in accordance to the aid programs available at the institution. 

Refunds are to be made no later than 45 days from the date of determination of withdrawal. 
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Post Withdrawal Disbursement 
If the calculation shows that the student received less aid than what she/he earned within the payment period, 
then the student would be notified by the institution of the amount of Grant funds used to cover institution 
charges incurred by the student, or the available amount from Grant funds for direct disbursement to the student 
for other educational related expenses or the school will disburse any amount of a Post-withdrawal 
disbursement of grant funds that is not credited to the student’s account no later than 45 days after the date of 
the school’s determination that the student withdrew. 

 
Withdrawal Date 
Last physical date of attendance recorded in the institution records. Return of Title IV Fund and Institutional 
Refund policy will use this date in their calculations. 

 
Determination of Withdrawal Date 
The school must have a procedure in place to make a determination within 15 days of absences, if the student 
would be returning to school or not. This will be the date of the institution determination of withdraw from 
school. The Institution will use the determination of the withdrawal date as the start of the 45 day period in 
which the institution must return unearned funds as calculated by the Return of Title IV. 

 
Verification Process 
Federal regulations 34 C.F.R. Part 668, Subpart E, dated March 14, 1986 April 29, 1994, November 29, 1994 - 
executing legislation 20 U.S.C. 1094 governing the title IV programs require schools to be sure of certain 
applicant-reported data. 
These regulations require schools to develop written policies and procedures for verification. The school is 
required to make these policies available, upon request, to all applicants for financial aid including prospective 
students. This procedure is part of the Admissions and Counseling process. 
To follow the regulations and achieve consistency governing this process, the verification policies below apply 
to all applicants for Title IV programs. 
Under the regulations, the school will not disburse FPELL until completion of verification process. 

 
Who Must Be Verified 
The policy of this school shall be to verify those students selected by the need analysis (ISIR) system for 
verification. 

 
Verification Exclusions 
Applicants excluded from verification include: 

• Applicants that die during the award year or before the deadline for completing the verification, 
• Applicants that are incarcerated at the time that the verification is to be performed, 
• Applicants who arrived in the U.S. during the previous two calendar years, 
• For Dependent Students, the spouse or parent information is not required to be verified if the spouse 

or the parent is deceased, physically incapacitated or residing in a country other than the United 
States and cannot be contacted by normal means, or cannot be located because the address is 
unknown and cannot be obtained by the applicant. 

• If the student completed the verification at another institution prior to transferring to this school; all 
of the following documents must be provided from that school: 

ο A letter stating that the verification process was completed, 
ο A copy of the application data that was verified, 
ο A copy of the signed SAR/ISIR (If the student was awarded FPELL Grant), 
ο A completed Financial Aid transcript. 

• Legal residents of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Guam, Samoa and the Commonwealth 
of the Northern Mariana Islands. To qualify for this exclusion the parents of a dependent student 
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must also be legal residents of one of these territories. 
• Citizens of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia or the Republic 

of Palau. To qualify for this exclusion, the parents of a dependent student must also be citizens of 
one of these territories. To document the basis for this exclusion, the applicable permanent mailing 
address will be required, 

• Applicants will not receive federal aid funds. 
 

Required Verification Items 
Examine the data items listed in 34 C.F.R. 668.56. Different data items apply to different applicants depending 
upon student dependency status and the Title IV programs used. 
Required data items include: 

• Total number of persons in the household. 
• The number of members of household enrolled as, at least, half-time students in postsecondary 

educational institutions. 
• Adjusted gross income (AGI) or adjusted gross family income (AGFI) for the base year. 
• U.S. income tax paid for the base year. 
• Certain sources of untaxed income and benefits for the base year if certain conditions would apply 

include: 
ο Social Security benefits, 
ο Child support, 
ο Untaxed payments to IRA or Keogh, 
ο Foreign income, 
ο Earned income credit, 
ο Interest on tax free bonds. 

The school shall resolve inconsistent application information, for all applicants, in agreement with the 
requirements of 34 C.F.R. Part 688.16(f). 

 
Documentation Required 
Required Documentation includes the student’s, spouse’s and/or parents’ (as applicable) signed income tax 

forms (IRS 1040, 1040A, or 1040EZ and W-2 forms). Applicants shall follow the instructions in the 
Verification Worksheet and complete the appropriate sections. There are two different worksheets: One is 
intended for dependent students and the other for independent students. Use the worksheets to update and for 
verification of data. The school’s financial aid officer may require/provide other appropriate forms. 

 
Time Period for Providing Documentation 
Applicants must provide the required documentation within 60 days from the last day of attendance or August 
31, whichever is earlier. 

 
Applicant Responsibilities 
To be eligible to receive Title IV funds, Thanh Le College requires applicants to provide requested information 
within the time period(s) specified in these policies. Applicants must certify that the following data items are 
correct as listed on the original application as of the date of verification, or update any incorrect data items: 

• Total number of persons in the household, 
• The number of members of household enrolled as, at least, half-time students in postsecondary 

educational institutions, 
• Change in dependency status, 

− Except for changes due to marriage, Federal PELL Grant applicants whose dependency status 
changes during the Award Year must file a correction application. 

− Except for changes due to marriage, Campus-based applicants whose dependency status changes 
during the Award Year must have their FC re-calculated. 



P a g e | 40 
 

 

• The applicant must repay any over award, or any award, discovered during verification, for which 
he/she was not eligible. 

 
Consequences of Failing to Provide Documentation Within the Specified Time Period(s) 
If a student does not provide the requested items for verification within 60 days of the request or if the student 
fails to provide the data within this time frame, the school must then advise the applicant that they are not 
eligible for financial aid funds. The school then will give the applicant the following options: 

• The student may continue training on a cash payment basis, 
• The student may withdraw and re-enroll at no additional charge (there will be no loss of credit 

earned), when the student provides all proof then verification is complete, 
• The applicant must repay any over award or any award for which he/she was not eligible, discovered 

during verification. 
 

Interim Disbursements 
The school may not make any interim disbursements. The student must complete verification before 
disbursement of any Title IV funds. 

 
Tolerances 
If there are non-dollar errors, and if the errors in dollar items total less the $400, there is no requirement to 
recalculate the students EFC. 

 
Notification of Results of Verification 
The school shall notify the applicant of the results of the verification process within 30 days of the student’s 
submission. 

 
Referral Procedure 
The school shall forward to the Secretary of Education any instances of fraud. 

 
Academic Year 
A period of instructional time, not less than 30 weeks, with a minimum of 900 clock hours of instruction for a 
full time student. The midpoint of the academic year shall be a minimum of 15 weeks and at least 450 clock 
hours. In effect, all students enrolled in courses with an academic year schedule to be completed in less than 30 
weeks, regardless of the number of clock hours offered, would have their aid eligibility reduced proportionally 
to the number of weeks and hours in the course of study in relation to the academic year. 

 
Clock Hours 
50 to 60 minutes of supervised instruction during a consecutive 60 minute period. 

 
Credit Balance 
A credit balance occurs when tuition payments have been received by the institution in excess of the amount of 
charges assessed to the student. Credit balances are paid within 14 business days from the day the credit 
balance was generated. Students must be responsible for budgeting their own funds and for ensuring that the 
funds are used for education-related expenses only. 

 
Dependent Student 
An individual that does not meet the independent student criteria, this student is required to submit their 
parents’ income and asset data, along with their own, with the application. 

 
Dependent 
An individual, other than the spouse, that has been supported and will continue to be supported (50% or more of 
that individual’s personal expenses) by the student and/or spouse. If that individual is and will continue to be 
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supported by the student’s parent(s), that individual would be a dependent of the parent(s) and NOT a 
dependent of the student. 
Family Contribution (EFC) 
The calculated amount a family contributes to offset a student’s educational costs. 

 
Financial Aid Eligibility Citizen/Eligible Non-Citizen 
You must be one of the following to receive federal student aid: 

• U.S. citizen or national; 
• U.S. permanent resident; 
• Citizen of the Freely Associated States: the Federated States of Micronesia and the Republic of 

Palau and the Marshall Islands; 
 

Independent Student 
An Independent Student is defined as an individual who meets any of the following criteria: 

(3) 24 years of age or older, 
(4) A graduate or professional student, 
(5) Married or Separated (but not divorced), 
(6) Has legal dependents other than a spouse (As defined above), 
(7) An orphan or ward of the court up to the age of 18, 
(8) A veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces. 

Parent(s) 
For the purposes of the financial aid programs, a “parent” is a student’s mother, father, adoptive parent, 
stepparent or legal guardian - not foster parents. 
Payment Period 
450 hours and 15 weeks for courses of 900 hours or more. It is the mid-point of the program for courses of less 
than 900 hours and 30 weeks. 

 
Need 
Financial Need is the amount left over after subtracting the expected family contribution from your cost of 
attendance. 
Student Rights and Responsibilities 

The student has the right to ask the school 
• The name of its accrediting and licensing organizations, 
• About its programs; laboratory, other physical facilities and its faculty, 
• The cost of attending and the policy on refunds to students who drop out, 
• Available financial assistance including information on all federal, state, local, private and 

institutional financial aid programs, 
• About the procedures and deadlines for submitting applications for each available financial aid 

program, 
• The basis for selecting financial aid recipients, 
• How financial need is determined, 
• How much of your financial need, as determined by the school, has been met, 
• To explain each type and amount of assistance in your financial aid package, 
• To review your aid package if you believe a mistake has been made or if your enrollment or 

financial circumstances have changed, 
• How the school determines whether you are making satisfactory progress and what happens if you 

are not, 
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• About any special facilities and services available to the handicapped. 
It is the student’s responsibility to 

• Review and consider all of the information about the school program before enrolling, 
• Pay special attention to the application for student financial aid, complete it accurately, and submit it 

on time to the right place. Errors can delay or prevent your receiving aid, 
• Read, understand, and keep copies of all forms you are asked to sign, 
• Understand the school’s refund policy, 
• Understand and comply with the enrollment status, financial charges, financial terms, time allowed 

to complete, refund policy and termination procedures as specified in the enrollment contract you 
will be asked to sign, 

• Understand that it is your responsibility and your liability when errors are made and funds for which 
you are not eligible are advanced to you or credited to your school account. 

 
Register to Vote 
Who May Register to Vote in California 

 
You may register to vote if you meet the following criteria: You are a United States citizen 

 
• You are a resident of California 
• You are at least 18 years of age (or will be by the date of the next election) 
• You are not in prison or on parole for conviction of a felony 
• You have not been judged by a court to be mentally incompetent to register and vote 

You may also stop by City Hall at 11222 Acacia Parkway and visit the City Clerk's Office located on the 
second floor. There you will find all the voter registration forms you need. 
Visit OC Vote to get the latest results in all elections concerning Orange County, CA. 

http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/elections_vr.htm
http://www.ocvote.com/
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Instructor 
Leticia 

Sub-Instructors 
Marbel 

Instructor 
Marisol 

Educational Director 
Joanna Chiapparine 

 

Organizational Chart & Qualifications Item 26 
 

Owner-Thanh Le 
Ms. Le is the school owner. She was a history and geography high school teacher in Vietnam. When she 
immigrated to the United States, she became a cosmetology instructor and taught for more than ten years. Ms. 
Le completed her Bachelor of Science in Vocational Education in 1989 and received a Master of Arts in 
Occupational Studies from the California State University of Long Beach in 2008. The direction of the beauty 
business is unpredictable, but she has always been optimistic about it. 

 
Director/ Instructor -Joanna Chiapparine 
Joanna has been involved in cosmetology since 1992 and began teaching 1997. In 1998, Joanna received her 
Bachelor of History degree from the California State Polytechnic University, Pomona. She is currently the 
Director and Head Instructor for the NACCAS-accredited Cosmetology School. 

 
Financial Aid Adminstrator/ Sub Instructor– Marbel Ramirez 
Marbel is the Financial Aid Administrator and works for Thanh Le College part-time. She is also a part time 
student at Coastline College majoring in Business Administration with an emphasis in accounting and taxes. 

 
School Administrator - Linda Keane 
Linda graduated from the University of Massachusetts in Amherst with a degree in Business Administration. 
She grew up surrounded by family members in the beauty industry and has been part of the business for over 10 
years. She also owns two adorable dogs, and love long walks along the beach with them. 

 
Instructor- Marisol Gutierrez 
Marisol has been teaching cosmetology for more than 25 years. There isn’t anything in the beauty business that 
she doesn’t know how to accomplish. In addition to teaching cosmetology, Ms. Marisol was an 
accountant/bookkeeper for a private company in Mexico. 

 
Instructor – Leticia Delgado 
Leticia has been teaching cosmetology since 2015. She is very active with her local church. 

 
 
 
 
 

 
Financial Aid Admin. 

Marbel Ramirez 

Ms. Thanh Le 
School Owner Item 18 

School Admin. 
Linda 
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