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ZM S The Academy

2228 East Cesar E Chavez Avenue
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033

323-372-6132 tel www.zmsacademy.com

APPROVAL/DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033, is a private institution
that is approved to operate by the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.Approval to operate means the
institution is compliant with the minimum standards contained in the California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009
(as amended) and Division 7 5of Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations.

For more information, contact the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE)at :
1747 N Market Blvd ,Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, or by phone at 916-574-8900 or toll-free at (888) 370-7589 or fax
916-263-18970r visit www.bppe.ca.gov.

Cosmetology 1600 hours 1Year Mon-Thursday 8am-4pm

Barbering 1500 hours 1 Year Mon-Thursday 8am-4pm

Esthetics 600 hours 6 Months Tuesday-Thursday 8am -4pm
Manicuring 400 hours 4 Months Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Body Art Technician for Permanent Makeup & Tattoo for Beginners 600 hours 6 Months Thursday, Friday, Saturday 2pm-8pm

California statute requires that a student who successfully completes a course of study be awarded an appropriate
diploma or certificate verifying the fact.

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enroliment agreement. You

are also encouraged to review the school's Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an
enrollment agreement. This school is currently approved to participate in approved sponsored programs, government or
otherwise, to provide grants and/or loans to pay for portions of tuition and fees.
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The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) sets minimum standards for these programs of study: cosmetology,
barbering, and esthetics programs . The minimum number of class hours and the total clock hours for each course, as
outlined in the program’s Rules and Regulations booklet, must be met to qualify the student for licensure.

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be
directed to the:

CaliforniaBPPE:
1747 N Market Blvd ,Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, or by phone at 916-574-8900 or toll-free at (888) 370-7589 or fax
916-263-18970r visit www.bppe.ca.gov.

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the:
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 or by completing acomplaint form,
which can be obtained on the bureau’s website at www .bppe.ca.gov.

All information in the content of this school catalog is current and correct and is so certified as true by Judy Caspe,
Director of Programs

Signature: JUdy CaSpe, Program Director
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Academy Mission Statement

ZMS THE ACADEMY is dedicated to providing quality, affordable and relevant vocational education leading to
personal and career success.

SCHOOL FACILITIES

All classes are held on campus at 2228 East Cesar E Chavez Avenue Los Angeles, California 90033.
Our programs offer the challenge of a stimulating and rewarding career.

ZMS THE ACADEMY is fully equipped to meet all the demands of modern hair and skin care, while providing a
high-tech atmosphere and attitude for progressive personal development. The 10,000 square-foot facility
includes a private spa and lockers, guest reception and work areas, management offices, private classrooms,
workstations, and equipment.

The school has one (1) entrance to the school and 1 exit all of which are ADA complaint. We have 1
men’s, 1 woman's and 1 other bathrooms that are ADA complaint. All of our offices and classrooms are
wheelchair accessible. We have two (2) water fountains as well as filtered water which are all wheelchair
accessible.

SCHOOL EQUIPMENT

ZMS THE ACADEMY has 22 barber and salon chairs& stations, 12 facial beds, 12 guest/client chairs, 6 hairdryers
and shampoo bowls, 9 handwashing sinks, 1 biohazard room, 12 facial steamers, 12 facial bed magnifying lights, 2
microdermabrasion machines, 3 LED Lights, 10 touchless soap dispensers & hand sanitizers, 1 makeup station, 6
waxing stations, 12 manicuring tables and stations, 2 manicuring guest couches, 4 classroom projectors, 4
microphone/amplifiers, 1 Public Address System

SCHOOL LIBRARY

ZMS THE ACADEMY offers students an online companion program of resources via our THINKIFIC platform. In
addition to 35 hard cover hair, skin, nails and makeup books, ZMS has 10 computers available for student research.
The video library consists of a yearly online subscription of Behind The Chair videos and tutorials. Students have
access to this 24/7 online.

ADMINISTRATION/OWNERSHIP

ZMS THE ACADEMY LLC 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
90033, is independently owned.

PARKING AND AMENITIES

Students must abide by local (city and/or landlord) parking rules, which are announced during orientation. ZMS
THE ACADEMY 2228 East Cesar Chavez Avenue LA CA 9003 will not be responsible for parking violations
and/or towing fees.

NONDISCRIMINATION

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 East Cesar Chavez Avenue LA CA 9003
in its admission, instruction, and graduation policies and practices, does not discriminate on the basis of
sex, race, religion, age, ethnic origin, color, disability, sexual orientation, or ancestry.
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The school does not allow or tolerate discrimination of any kind, bullying, harassment, or hazing of any
sort.If any student or team member experiences or witnesses anyone being bullied, harassed, or hazed in
any way, he or she is required to report the matter to the school’s director, Judy Caspe in person or by
calling 323-372-6132, or by mail at ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE,

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033, immediately so appropriate action can be taken.

COURSE DESCRIPTIONS (All courses are taught in English)

Cosmetology: Standard Occupational Classification (SOC 39-5012.00):

Classification of Instructional Program (CIP 12.0401)

The curriculum involves 1,600 hours to satisfy California state requirements. The course includes extensive
instruction and practical experience in cutting, men's cutting, color, texture, long hair, makeup, skin, nails,
customer service, personal appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail (Take
Home) skills, guest record-keeping, business ethics, sanitation, state laws and regulations, salon-type
administration, and job interviewing.

Students are prepared to be entry-level cosmetologists.

Barbering: SOC39.5011.00, CIP Code 12.0402:

The curriculum involves 1,500 hours to satisfy California state requirements. The program includes
extensive instruction and practical experience in men's cutting, color, texture, men's grooming, customer
service, personal appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail (Take Home)
skills, guest record-keeping, and business ethics, sanitation, state laws and regulations, salon-type
administration, and job interviewing.

Students are prepared to be entry-level barbers.

Esthetics: SOC 39-5094.00, CIP Code 12.0409:

The curriculum involves 600 hours to satisfy California state requirements. The course includes extensive
instruction and practical experience in skin, facials, hair removal, makeup application, customer service,
personal appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail (Take Home) skills,
guest record-keeping, business ethics, state laws and regulations, salon-type administration, and job
interviewing.

Students are prepared to be entry-level estheticians.

Manicuring : SOC39-5092.00, CIP Code 12.0410:

The curriculum involves 400 hours to satisfy California state requirements. The course includes extensive
instruction and practical experience in nails, nail application, customer service, personal appearance and
hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail (Take Home) skills, guest record-keeping,
business ethics, state laws and regulations, salon-type administration, and job interviewing.

Students are prepared to be entry-level manicurists.

Body Art Technician for Permanent Makeup & Tattoo for Beginners SOC 39-9099.00, CIP Code 12.0411.:

The curriculum involves 600 hours. The course includes extensive instruction and practical experience in
the application of implanting pigment into the skin for a permanent cosmetic enhancement, customer
service, personal appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail (Take Home)
skills, guest record-keeping, business ethics, state laws and regulations, salon-type administration, and
job interviewing.

Students are prepared to be entry-level Body Art Practitioners.
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The school does not have any written agreements with any other entity to offer in whole or part any of its
educational programs

LANGUAGE DISCLOSURE

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033
does not recruit ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE . THE SCHOOL DOES NOT OFFER
INSTRUCTION IN ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE".

Students must have the ability to read and write English at a level of a graduate of an American high
school as demonstrated by the possession of a standard high school diploma*, high school transcripts**,
an academic transcript of a student who has successfully completed at least a two-year program that

is acceptable for full credit towards a bachelor’s degree or High School Equivalency diploma or

official High School Equivalency diploma test scores.

If a student’s primary language is not English the student may bring an interpreter, when signing the
enrollment contract to obtain a clear understanding of the terms and conditions of the enrollment contract
in the student’s primary language

ADMISSIONS REQUIREMENTS

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033
admits as regular students those who are high school graduates or holders of high school graduation
equivalency certificates.ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 does accept ability to benefit (ATB) students at this time.

ADMISSIONS PROCEDURE

Complete an Application Form: Complete and submit the application form to the school prior to
registration . All forms may be obtained by requesting them from ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR
E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033.

Provide Verification Documents:

a. Identification (provide only one): Copies of a passport, a government-issued identification, a
driver’s license, or a birth certificate are required.

b. Education (provide only one): Copies of a standard high school diploma*, high school
transcripts**, an academic transcript of a student who has successfully completed at least a
two-year program that is acceptable for full credit towards a bachelor’s degree or High School
Equivalency diploma or official High School Equivalency diploma test scores.

* Please note that a Modified High School Diploma, a Certificate of Completion, or a Certificate of
Attainment is not accepted for our Admissions requirements. They are not considered equivalent
to a Standard High School Diploma. We are required to verify that your proof of education is from a
valid high school or High School equivalency program.If we determine that your diploma or High
School Equivalency diploma is not valid, you will be denied admission to the school.

Dual License: Students that have their California cosmetology license or have completed the 1600
hours in cosmetology and would like to enroll in the barbering program must submit a copy of their
official transcript from cosmetology.

Dual License: Students that have their California barbering license or have completed 1500 hours in
barbering and would like to enroll in the cosmetology program must submit a copy of their

official transcript from barbering.
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Foreign Diplomas or Transcripts: The school will accept a foreign diploma or transcript; however, the
diploma or transcript MUST be equivalent to a U S.high school diploma and must be translated into
English by a certified translator and evaluated by a credentialed evaluation service.

Itisthe students responsibility to have the foreign diploma or transcript translated and evaluated as part of
the admissions process. Because the cost of evaluating a foreign diploma or transcript must be incurred as
a charge of admissions prior to enrollment in an eligible program, the fee cannot be included in the cost of
attendance (COA).Guidance on who to contact to secure an official translation and evaluation can be
obtained from the Financial Aid Director.

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033
does not recruit students who are already enrolled in a similar program at another institution.

If you have a disability and need an academic adjustment, please notify the Admissions Leader as soon
as possible, so the school can review your request. If you are interested in attending our school and you
do not have a high school diploma or High School Equivalency certificate, please contact our admissions
office for a list of High School Equivalency programs located near the school.ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228
EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 does not require a student to
have immunizations/vaccinations to enroll in our school. A copy of the school's ADA Policy and Request
for Accommodations form may be found on the school’s website or from the school's Admissions
Leader.

Transfer hours accepted by the school are applied to the total number of hours necessary to complete the
program and are considered both attempted and completed hours for the purpose of determining when
the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted . Satisfactory academic progress (SAP) evaluation
periods are based on actual contracted hours at the institution . Please refer to the school transfer policy for
additional information.

APPLICANTS WITH NON-IMMIGRANT VISAS

Non-immigrant applicants must provide documentation to show that they are permitted to be
enrolled in a vocational or technical post-secondary school in the United States. Please see the
Financial Aid Officer to determine if you qualify for enrollment and any type of Title IV financial aid.
Please note that students who are studying under a student visa (M1 visa), or any other visa, are not
eligible to receive Title IV financial aid . Those students studying under an M1 student visa at a school
approved by SEVIS must attend the full-time schedule and can only attend the program for a period
not to exceed 12 months.Please note that this school location is not SEVISapproved .

ACCEPTANCE

After a prospective student has completed the enroliment application process, the enrollment team
and School Director review each applicant and his or her required admissions materials, including
the written entrance essay and personal interview, to determine acceptance.

Upon the decision of the enroliment team and School Director, the applicant receives written
notification of acceptance or denial. Note: All applicants must undergo the entire enroliment
application process (detailed in the enrollment application), which includes reentry students
(withdrawals) and transfer students

ZMS does not recruit or give compensation for students enrolling. It is prohibited by all
employees of ZMS and its past and present students.
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ENTRY STUDENTS
Students who re-enroll in the program within 180 days of withdrawal date must complete the following:

All outstanding tuition, fees, and overtime expenses must be paid in advance or the student must
make satisfactory arrangements with the Financial Aid Leader.

Previous tuition payments will be credited to the student’s balance based upon the original
contracted cost for the course.

If a re-enrolling student has previously used all their excused absences provided under their
original contract, the student will not receive any additional time for excused absences under the
new contract addendum.

Students who re-enroll in the program after 180 days of withdrawal date must complete the following:

All outstanding tuition, fees, and overtime expenses must be paid in advance or the student must
make satisfactory arrangements with the Financial Aid Leader.

Students will be contracted at the current tuition hourly rate.

If a re-enrolling student has previously used all their excused absences provided under their
original contract, the student will not receive any additional time for excused absences under the
new re-enrollment contract.

r  Students are required to purchase a kit if their
current kit is not complete . Any missing kit items
must be purchased.

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT
OUR INSTITUTION

e Please select your program of enroliment:

__Barbering__Cosmetology _Esthetician__Manicuring__ Body Art for Beginners.
Student Initials

NOTICE OF TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED FROM
ANOTHER INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at ZMS THE ACADEMY is at the complete discretion of an institution to
which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the (CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION) you earn

in (Educational Program: ) is also at the complete discretion of the institution to
which you may seek to transfer. If the (CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION) that you earn at this institution are not
accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your
coursework at that institution. For this reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will
meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after
attending (ZMS THE ACADEMY ) to determine if your (CERTIFICATE OF COMPLETION) will transfer.

EXPERIMENTAL LEARNING:

ZMS THE ACADEMY does not grant credit or clock hours for current or prior experiential learning.
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TRANSFER STUDENTS

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 will
accept transfer hours from other schools based on an evaluation of the student's comprehension of the
course material .

Students who have had training outside the state of California must provide proof of the number of hours
of training to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E
CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 prior to enrollment.

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the tuition.

Please note that students transferring to another school may not be able to transfer all hours they earned
at ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033;
the number of transferable hours depends on the policy of the receiving school.

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 has not
entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other college or university.

STATE LICENSING DISCLAIMER

The state may refuse to grant a license if a student has been convicted of a crime; committed any act
involving dishonesty, fraud, or deceit; or committed any act that, if committed by a licentiate of the
business or profession in question, would be grounds for the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

to deny licensure. The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology denies licensure on the grounds that the
applicant knowingly made a false statement of fact required to be revealed in the application for such
license. Students who are not U S.citizens or who do not have documented authority to work in the
United States will not be eligible to apply to take the state licensure examination.ZMS THE ACADEMY
2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 is not responsible for
students denied licensure.

CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD PRE-APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

Pre-applications for the State of California licensing examinations require the school’s approval.

Students may apply when they reach 1200 hours for cosmetology, 1100 hours for barbering, and 450
hours for esthetics and 300 hours for manicuring. There is no State Board application for Body Art
Students.

Satisfactory Academic Performance for Pre-Application:

A student who wishes to pre-apply is required to have completed 75% of their total hours and be in
good Satisfactory Academic performance standing.

Tuition, Attendance, Grades and Lab Assignments

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 reserves
the right to process the pre-application for students.

BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY LICENSING REQUIREMENTS
To receive a Board of Barbering & Cosmetology License in the state of California, a student must:

Complete a cosmetology, barbering, esthetician, manicurist course in a school approved by:
The California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.
Submit an application and required fee.
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Have at least a 10th grade education or its equivalent and be at least 17 years of age.

Receive a passing score on both the practical demonstration and written exam.

ENROLLMENT INFORMATION

Enrollment periods: ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA enrolis Barbering and Cosmetology every Monday, Esthetics every Tuesday and Manicuring
and Body Art technician for Beginners every quarter. Contact ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E
CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 for exact starting dates.

Holidays and School Closures: ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS
ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 allows the following holidays off: New Year's Day, Memorial Day,
Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, and one day per
month for staff personal development. These dates are determined according to the calendar each
year.Additional holidays may be added to the schedule at the discretion of school administration The
school is open for business unless there is a declared State of Emergency. Unexpected closures will
be reported via the school's website and/or Facebook page.

Enrollment contract: ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS
ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 clearly outlines the obligation of both the school and the student
in the enrollment contract.A copy of the enrollment contract and information on costs and
payment plans will be furnished to the student before the beginning of class attendance.

Payment schedule: ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS
ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 offers a variety of monthly financial payment schedules.See
the Financial Aid Director for details.

Our education goals are:

To educate students to be professional, knowledgeable, and skilled in their field for marketability
within the industry.

To maintain an updated program that provides students with the knowledge to compete in their field
of study.

To promote the continuing educational growth of our faculty and students, using current teaching
methods and techniques.

To teach courtesy and professionalism as the foundation for a successful career in their chosen field of
study.

To prepare students to successfully pass the state licensing exam for entry-level employment.

To train and graduate students while empowering them to become confident and excited to enter a
successful career within the salon and beauty industry.

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (STRF)

The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate
economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was
a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in

the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss.Unless relieved of the obligation to do so,
you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a
student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program,
and prepay all or part of your tuition.
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You are not eligible for protection from the STRFand you are not required to pay the STRFassessment, if
you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program”.

“It is important that you keep copies of your enroliment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts,
or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school.Questions regarding the STRF
may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive,
Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF you must be a California resident or enrolled in a residency program, prepaid
tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRFassessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of
any of the following:

e The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution
was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved
by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

e You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period
before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an
educational program within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued.

e Youwere enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the
closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the
institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or
value of the program more than 120 days before closure.

¢ The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.

e Theinstitution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan
program as required by law or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution
in excess of tuition and other costs.

e You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court,
based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have
been unable to collect the award from the institution.

e You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans
and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan
or loans.

To qualify for STRFreimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of
the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non- collection may,
at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRFfor the debt that would have otherwise
been eligible for recovery.If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the
student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4)
year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer
identification number”.

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code . Reference: Section 94923,
94924 and 94925, Education Code.

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 will
collect the STRFfee from the student ($0.00 for cosmetology students; $0.00 for barbering students; and
$0.00 for esthetics students and remit it to the BPPE.
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COST OF TUITION AND SUPPLIES

Because of inflationary cycles, and because we must occasionally change equipment to remain current,
the school reserves the right for the following tuition information to be subject to change.

TUITION — Cosmetology $12,500

TUITION — Barbering $11,500

TUITION — Esthetics $9500
TUITION — Manicuring $3250

TUITION — Body Art Technician for Permanent Makeup and Tattoo for Beginners $9500

Note: The total charges for a period of attendance are equivalent to the cost of the entire program,
due to the length of the program.

The school complies with the California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009, 94899 5(b) and
does not require more than one term or four months of tuition in advance, until 50 percent of the program
has been offered and the schoolis due full payment.

Please contact the school's Financial Aid Director for payment options. The school accepts cash, credit card,
and personal check payments . Financial aid recipients understand that monies received on their behalf
are applied first to tuition costs. In extraordinary circumstances, the school may adjust tuition and kit fees
for students that transfer from a school that has suddenly closed without notice.

Financial aid isavailable to those who qualify.

YOU MAY ASSERT AGAINST THE HOLDER OF THE PROMISSORY NOTE YOU SIGNED IN ORDER TO
FINANCE THE COST OF THE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM ALL OF THE CLAIMS AND DEFENSESTHAT YOU
COULD ASSERT AGAINST THIS INSTITUTION, UP TO THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID UNDER THE
PROMISSORY NOTE

PAYMENTS

If a student fails to make a scheduled tuition payment, the student may receive a coaching session on
the Future Professional Advisory Form. If a student consistently fails to make scheduled payments, the
student may be terminated from the program.

CONSTITUTION DAY

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
90033 celebrates Constitution Day on or near September 17 of each year.For more information
visit www .constitutionday.com

VOTER REGISTRATION

Students are encouraged to register to vote in state and federal elections. Voter registration and election
date information for the state of California can be found at http://www .sos.ca.gov.
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For information on voter registration and election dates for federal elections, visit
WWW .eac.gov/voter_resources.

STUDENTS WHO WITHDRAW

Students who withdraw from the program are required to empty their locker and gather all personal
items.Any items left behind by the student will be stored for 60 days, at which time the items become the
property of ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033.

Students wishing to transfer to another institution must pay all monies owed to ZMS THE ACADEMY
2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033, and all applicable
academic requirements must be met in order for the hours to be released.

TERMINATION POLICY

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 may
terminate a student’s enrollment for immoral and/or improper conduct, receiving seven (7) coaching
sessions, and/or failing to comply with educational requirements and/or the termsasagreed upon within
the enrollment contract.

COSMETOLOGY COURSE OVERVIEW Course Hours: 1600 clock hours
The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service-leaming experiences.

Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 210 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices.

Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 1390 hours are spent in the clinic classroom
area where practical experience is gained.

COSMETOLOGY COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 in the cosmetology program will be divided into six designations:

Core Curriculum: A 210-hour orientation, known as the Core program, instills the basic
fundamentals. Students are graded and evaluated using written, oral, and practical testing methods.
Students must successfully complete the Core curriculum prior to attending regularly scheduled daily
classes in cutting, color, permanent waving, and chemical texture services.

Protégé Learning Experience: Your experience as a Protégé produces a smooth transition from Core
student to Adaptive student. You spend 70 hours as a Protégé preparing for the clinic classroom.

Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: Your clinic classroom time from 280 to 1600 hours will

be guided with individual attention and group learning experiences using mini-classes, monthly

worksheets, and periodic evaluations developed specifically for this monitoring progress. This is when

you begin experiencing your clinic classroom education on paying clients in the clinic classroom area.
Classroom Learning Experience: Your classroom time from 280 to 1600 hours is divided into six (6)
areas: cutting, coloring, texture, makeup, skin, and nails.Each area will be conducted in the different
specialty classes each week; Classroom Learning Experiences may also include retail, motivation, self-
improvement, professional development, and attendance education which may be conducted by an
instructor, non-licensed staff member or guest artist.

Adaptive Curriculum: From 280 to 800 hours, you will enter a new phase of specialty classroom
workshops coupled with challenging practical services designed to continue building your skills as a
future beauty industry professional.
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Creative Curriculum: You will spend your last 800 hours in ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR
E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 in “high gear” by dressing, acting, and
working like a true beauty industry professional. You will use your own artistic and creative abilities,
coupled with the assistance of the Learning Leaders, to prepare yourself for your future beauty
industry career

BARBERING COURSE OVERVIEW
Course Hours: 1500 clock hours

The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service-leaming experiences.

Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 210 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices.

Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 1290 hours are spent in the clinic floor area
where practical experience is gained.

BARBERING COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 for the barbering program will be divided into six designations:

Core Curriculum: A 210-hour orientation, known as the Core program, instills the basic fundamentals
Students are graded and evaluated using written, oral, and practical testing methods . Students must
successfully complete the Core curriculum prior to attending regularly scheduled daily classes in
cutting, color, permanent waving, and chemical texture services.

Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: Your clinic classroom time from 280 to 1500 hours will
be guided with individual attention and group learning experiences using mini-classes, monthly
worksheets, and periodic evaluations developed specifically for this monitoring progress. This is when
you begin experiencing your clinic classroom education on paying clients in the clinic classroom area.

Classroom Learning Experience: Your classroom time from 280 to 1500 hours is divided into six (6)
areas: cutting, coloring, texture, makeup, skin, and nails. Each area has an instructor who conducts
the different specialty classes each week; €lassroom Learning Experiences may also include retail,
motivation, selfimprovement, professional development, and attendance education which may be
conducted by an instructor, non-licensed staff member or guest artist.

Adaptive Curriculum: From 280 to 750 hours,
you will enter a new phase of specialty classroom
workshops coupled with challenging practical
services designed to continue building your skills
as a future beauty industry professional.

ESTHETICS COURSE OVERVIEW
Course Hours: 600 clock hours
The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service-leaming experiences.

Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 190 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices.

Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 410 hours are spent in the clinic floor area
where practical experience is gained.
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ESTHETICS COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 for the esthetics program will be divided into four designations:

Core Curriculum: This 190-hour time period is dedicated to exploring foundational knowledge and
basic esthetics, facial, hair removal, and makeup procedures. You will receive individual attention in
practical workshops, and you will complete monthly worksheets and periodic tests throughout the
course. Thisis an intense and exciting portion of your experience.

Clinic Classroom Floor Learning Experience: You will enter a new phase of specialty classroom
workshops coupled with challenging practical services that will continue to build your skills as a
future beauty industry professional.

Classroom Learning Experience: During this phase of your learning, you will be introduced to guest
speakers, prescriptive (Take Home) selling, motivation, self-improvement, body treatments, and
emerging technologies. You will use your own technical and therapeutic abilities, coupled with the
assistance of Learning Leaders, to provide service to service guests. You will make discoveries and
learn relationship-building skills that will guide your success in this exciting, diverse field.

MANICURING COURSE OVERVIEW
Course Hours: 600 clock hours

The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service-leaming experiences.

Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 190 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices.

Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 410 hours are spent in the clinic floor area
where practical experience is gained.

MANICURING COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 for the esthetics program will be divided into four designations:

Core Curriculum: This 190-hour time period is dedicated to exploring foundational knowledge and
basic esthetics, facial, hair removal, and makeup procedures. You will receive individual attention in
practical workshops, and you will complete monthly worksheets and periodic tests throughout the
course. Thisis an intense and exciting portion of your experience.

Clinic Classroom Floor Learning Experience: You will enter a new phase of specialty classroom
workshops coupled with challenging practical services that will continue to build your skills asa
future beauty industry professional.

Classroom Learning Experience: During this phase of your learning, you will be introduced to guest
speakers, prescriptive (Take Home) selling, motivation, self-improvement, body treatments, and
emerging technologies. You will use your own technical and therapeutic abilities, coupled with the
assistance of Learning Leaders, to provide service to service guests. You will make discoveries and
learn relationship-building skills that will guide your success in this exciting, diverse field.
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BODY ART TECHNICIAN FOR PERMANENT MAKEUP AND TATTOO FOR BEGINNERS COURSE OVERVIEW
Course Hours: 600 clock hours

The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service-leaming experiences.

Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 190 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices.

Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 410 hours are spent in the clinic floor area
where practical experience is gained.

BODY ART TECHNICIAN FOR PERMANENT MAKEUP AND TATTOO FOR BEGINNERS COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 for the esthetics program will be divided into four designations:

Core Curriculum: This 190-hour time period is dedicated to exploring foundational knowledge and
basic esthetics, facial, hair removal, and makeup procedures. You will receive individual attention in
practical workshops, and you will complete monthly worksheets and periodic tests throughout the
course. Thisis an intense and exciting portion of your experience.

Clinic Classroom Floor Learning Experience: You will enter a new phase of specialty classroom
workshops coupled with challenging practical services that will continue to build your skills as a
future beauty industry professional.

Classroom Learning Experience: During this phase of your learning, you will be introduced to guest
speakers, prescriptive (Take Home) selling, motivation, self-improvement, body treatments, and
emerging technologies. You will use your own technical and therapeutic abilities, coupled with the
assistance of Learning Leaders, to provide service to service guests. You will make discoveries and
learn relationship-building skills that will guide your success in this exciting, diverse field.

COSMETOLOGY PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE
The following exams and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 1600-hour course:

Weekly theory exams: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each weekly theory
exam.

210-hour Core written and practical skill evaluation exams: Students must receive a grade of 70%
or higher.If a student fails to pass this evaluation test on their second attempt they may be asked to
withdraw and re-enroll in the next Core class start date.

Final exam 1 (approximately 800-hour written exam): This exam covers an overview of all related
cosmetology subjects (e.g.,anatomy, chemistry, etc.). Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher
on all final exams.

Final exam 2 (approximately 1400-hour written exam): The written exam covers an overview of
all theory instruction, California state law, and other items covered on the state cosmetology exam.
Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on all final exams.

Clinic classroom practical worksheets: Students must complete clinic classroom practical
worksheets.

BARBERING PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following exams and grading procedures are incorporated during the student's 1500-hour course:
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Weekly theory exams: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each weekly theory
exam

210-hour Core written and practical skill evaluation exams: Students must receive a grade of 70%
or higher.If a student fails to pass this evaluation test exams on their second attempt they may be
asked to withdraw and re-enroll in the next Core class start date.

Final exam 1 (approximately 800-hour written exam): This exam covers an overview of all related
cosmetology subjects (e.g., anatomy, chemistry, etc.). Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher
on all final exams.

Final exam 2 (approximately 1400-hour written test): The written exam covers an overview of
all theory instruction, California state law, and other items covered on the state cosmetology exam.
Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on all final exams.

Clinic classroom practical worksheets: Students must complete clinic classroom practical
worksheets.

ESTHETICS PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following exams and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 600-hour course:
Weekly theory exams: Student must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each weekly theory exam.w
Midterm written and practical: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on all final exams.
Final written and practical: The written exam covers an overview of all theory instruction, California
state law, and other items covered on the state esthetics exam . Students must receive a grade of 70%
or higher on all final exams.

Clinic classroom practical worksheets: Students must complete clinic classroom practical
worksheets.

MANICURING PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following exams and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 400-hour course:
Weekly theory exams: Student must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each weekly theory exam.w
Midterm written and practical: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on all final exams.
Final written and practical: The written exam covers an overview of all theory instruction, California
state law, and other items covered on the state esthetics exam . Students must receive a grade of 70%
or higher on all final exams.

Clinic classroom practical worksheets: Students must complete clinic classroom practical
worksheets.

BODY ART TECHNICIAN FOR PERMANENT MAKEUP AND TATTOO FOR BEGINNERS
PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following exams and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 600-hour course:
Weekly theory exams: Student must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each weekly theory exam.
Midterm written and practical: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on all final exams.
Final written and practical: The written exam covers an overview of all theory instruction, California
state law, and other items covered on the state esthetics exam . Students must receive a grade of 70%
or higher on all final exams.

Clinic classroom practical worksheets: Students must complete clinic classroom practical
worksheets.
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MEASURABLE PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES
Complete the required number of clock hours of training.

Achieve and receive passing grades on all practical graduation requirements and projects, including
practical and theoretical examinations.

Satisfactorily pass final written and practical exams.
Upon completion, receive a graduation certificate.
Pass the state board exam.

SAFETY PRECAUTIONS FOR THE BEAUTY INDUSTRY

By following safety precautions, you contribute to the health, welfare, and safety of the community.
Always have good hygiene and be professionally dressed.Keep a first aid kit on hand, follow safety
regulations, and keep equipment properly sanitized . The following precautions should always be taken
with each service guest:

Protect service guests’clothing by appropriately draping them.
Ask service guests to remove any jewelry, hair accessories, glasses, etc.

Keep any and all chemicals away from the eyes.In case of eye contact with chemicals, thoroughly
rinse the eyes with cold water.

Wear gloves when dealing with chemicals.

Remember that anything containing chemically active ingredients must be used carefully to avoid
injury to you and your service guest.

INDUSTRY REQUIREMENTS

Students interested in pursuing a career in the beauty industry should:
Develop finger dexterity and a sense of form and artistry.
Enjoy dealing with the public.

Stay current on the latest fashions and beauty techniques.

Make a strong commitment to your education.

Be aware that the work can be arduous and physically demanding because of long hours standing and
using your hands at shoulder level.

STUDENT SERVICES

Housing: ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
90033 keeps a file of information about housing in the surrounding areas; however, the school does
not provide dormitory facilities and does not have any facilities under its control The school is not
responsible to find or assist students in finding housing..

There is available housing located within two miles of the school. The cost of housing is between
$800 - $2, 500 per month.

Advising: Students are provided with academic advising and additional assistance, as necessary. If
referral to professional assistance is necessary, the school maintains a record of such referral.
Information and advice on any financial assistance are accessible to students.ZMS THE
ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 also
gives advice and information to students on these subjects:

a. Regulations governing licensure to practice, including reciprocity among jurisdictions.
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b. Employment opportunities.
c. Opportunities for continuing education following graduation.

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS IN COURSES
Receive the required number of clock hours of training.

For a student to meet state requirements, all clinic practical worksheets must be completed in
their entirety.

Pass written and practical exams.

Complete the required theory hours

Pay all tuition costs or make satisfactory arrangements for payment of all monies owed to the school.
Oncethe student has met all these requirements, he/she will receive a CERTIFICATE of COMPLETION.
The School will not release an official transcript until all graduation requirements are met.

A certified transcript will be provided to a student who withdraws which will include hours that the
school has been compensated for.For the purposed of transfer or graduation, hours will not be released
by the school until all monies owed to the ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ
AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 have been paid and all academic requirements
pertaining to those hours have been completed.

GRADUATES COMPLETING A PROGRAM AND REENROLLING IN A NEW PROGRAM

Students that graduates from one program within the school and wishes to enroll in another program
within the school, a determination of the state laws will determine the amount of hours that will be
transferred into the new program, the student will need to meet the quantitative and qualitative
components of SAP for the new program.

GRADUATION, PLACEMENT, AND JOB OPPORTUNITIES

Although ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 does not guarantee employment upon graduation, ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228
EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 does maintain an aggressive
job placement program and will inform students of job openings and opportunities.ZMS THE
ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 coordinates
placement programs with local and national salons by sending out surveys and inviting salon owners
and guest artists to teach and speak there.

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
90033 has placed students in the beauty industry as Hair Stylists, Makeup Artists, Beauty
Industry Educators, Salon Owners or Managers, Estheticians, Barber, and Beauty Industry
Instructor.

Employment and Career Opportunities for Cosmetology:

@ Salon Hairstylist @ Hospital Hair-Care Service ® Cosmetology School Owner

@ Free-lance Hairstylist @ Salesperson/Retail Specialist ® Manufacturer’s Representative
@ Salon Owner/Manager ® Makeup Artist @ State Board Examiner

@ Hair Color Specialist @ Stage and Film Makeup Artist @ State Board Inspector

@ Artificial Hair Services Specialist | ® Beauty and Fashion Consultant @ Trade Publication Writer
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@ Platform Artist

@ Photo Stylist

@ Cruise Ship Stylist

@ Cosmetology School Instructor

Employment and Career O

pportunities for Barbering:

@ Salon Barber

@ Hospital Hair-Care Service

@ Barbering School Owner

@ Free-lance Barber

@ Salesperson/Retail Specialist

® Manufacturer’s Representative

@ Salon Owner/Manager @ Photo Stylist @ State Board Examiner
@ Hair Color Specialist @ Stage and Film Makeup Artist @ State Board Inspector
@ Barbering School Instructor | @ Cruise Ship Barber @ Trade Publication Writer

@ Platform Artist

Employment and Career O

pportunities for Esthetics:

@ Esthetician

@ Salon or SpaOwner

@ Educator or Instructor

@ Free-lance Esthetician

@ Salesperson/Retail Specialist

® Manufacturer’s Representative

® Makeup Artist

@ State Board Examiner

@ Stage and Film Makeup Artist

@ State Board Inspector

@ Cruise Ship

@ Trade Publication Writer

Employment and Career O

pportunities for Manicurists:

@ Nail Technician

@ Salon or SpaOwner

@ Educator or Instructor

@ Free-lance Manicurist

@ Salesperson/Retail Specialist

® Manufacturer’s Representative

@ Nail Artist

@ State Board Examiner

@ Stage and Film Nail Artist

@ State Board Inspector

@ Cruise Ship

@ Trade Publication Writer

Employment and Career O

pportunities for Body Art Technicians:

@ Body Art Practitioner

@ Shop Owner

@ Educator or Instructor

@ Free-lance Artist

@ Salesperson/Retail Specialist

® Manufacturer’s Representative

@ Camouflage Artist

@ Artist Text Book Author

@ Stage and Film Tattoo Artist

@ State Board Inspector

@ Cruise Ship Tattoo Artist

@ Trade Publication Writer

Students can refer to the Department of Labor website http://www .bls.gov for additional information

regarding employment opportunities and availability .
Program Textbooks and Workbooks (handouts and other materials are supplemental)

Cosmetology Textbook

1,129 pp., 8%” x 11", © 2016
ISBN-13: 9781285769417 List Price: $133.95 USD

Cosmetology Workbook

ISBN-13: 9781285769479 List Price: $55.95 USD

Barbering Textbook

944 pp., 8%"” x 11", Hardcover, ©2017
ISBN-13: 9781305100558 List Price: $149.95 USD

Barbering Workbook

ISBN-13: 9781305100664 List Price: $70.95 USD

Esthetician Textbook

768 pp., 8%” x 11", Hardcover, ©2013
ISBN-13: 9781111306892 List Price: $163.95 USD

Esthetician Workbook:

ISBN-13: 9781111306915 List Price: $88.95 USD
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Manicuring Textbook

560 pp., 84" x 11”, Softcover, ©2015

ISBN-13: 9781285080475 List Price: $136.95 USD
Manicuring Workbook

ISBN-13: 9781285080512 List Price: $70.95 USD

Body Art Technician for Permanent Makeup and Tattoo for Beginners Textbooks:
Microblading Bible

135 pp., 6" x9”, Softcover

ISBN 9781541012875 List Price: $29.95

Permanent Cosmetics; The Foundation of Fundamental Applications
400 pp., 81/2 x 11 Softcover

ISBN 978-1-5323-6852-3 List Price: $179.00

STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL, WITHDRAW & REFUND POLICY:

Cancellation:

You have the right to cancel your agreement for a program of instruction, without any penalty or obligations,
through attendance at the first-class session or the seventh calendar day after enroliment, whichever is later.
After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time; and you have the
right to receive a pro rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less of the scheduled days in the current
payment period in your program through the last day of attendance.

Cancellation of this agreement can occur up to: (7 calendar days from start date)

How Can | Cancel if | Change My Mind Within 7 Days of Enrolling?
Cancellation may occur when the student provides a 1-written notice, 2-an email or by 3-telephone or 4-school
text. If cancellation is mailed it must be addressed to the following address:

ZMS The Academy 2228 E Cesar E Chavez LA CA 90033.

The written notice of cancellation, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly addressed
with proper postage. initials

The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and, however expressed, it is effective if it
shows that the student no longer wishes to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement. initials

If the Enrollment Agreement is cancelled within the 7 days of calendar, the school will refund the student and

money he/she paid, less a registration or administration fee not to exceed $100.00, and less any deduction for
equipment/books/kit. initials

If You Enroll and Never Start Your Program:

e If you enroll and do not start your program and never attend class, you cannot be charged more than a
$100 fee.

e 7ZMS THE ACADEMY does not charge or require any money from the student until they physically attend
their first class.
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e |f you need to delay or cancel your official start date, please let us know.

ZMS THE ACADEMY has 45 days from your cancellation date to refund any money owed.

WITHDRAWAL FROM THE PROGRAM (after the 7-day cancellation period)

You may withdraw from the school at any time after the cancellation period (described above) and receive a pro
rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less of the scheduled days in the current payment period in your
program through the last day of attendance. The refund will be less a registration or administration fee not to
exceed $250.00, and less any deduction (books and or kit for NON-REFUNDABLE PROGRAM FEES AND ITEMS.

How Can | Withdraw if | No Longer Want to Continue My Enrollment ?

Withdrawal may occur when the student provides a 1-written notice, 2-an email or by 3-telephone or 4-school
text. If cancellation is mailed it must be addressed to the following address:

ZMS The Academy 2228 E Cesar E Chavez Avenue LA CA 90033.

The written notice of withdrawal, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly addressed with
proper postage. initials

The written notice of withdrawal need not take any particular form and, however expressed, it is effective if it
shows that the student no longer wishes to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement. initials

Student Refund Calculation:
If the student has completed more than 60% of the period of attendance for which the student was charged, the
tuition is considered earned and the student will receive no refund. initials

For the purpose of determining a refund under this section, a student shall be deemed to have withdrawn from a
program of instruction when any of the following occurs:

1. The student notifies the institution of the student’s withdrawal or as of the date of the student’s
withdrawal, whichever is later.

2. The institution terminates the student’s enrollment for failure to maintain satisfactory progress;
failure to abide by the rules and regulations of the institution; absences in excess of maximum set
forth by the institution; and/or failure to meet financial obligations to the School. If this occurs, ZMS
THE ACADEMY will withdraw you from your program.

Calculations of Student Refund:

e For the purpose of determining the amount of the refund, the date of the student’s withdrawal shall be
deemed the last date of recorded attendance.

e The amount owed equals the daily charge for the program (total institutional charge, minus non-
refundable fees, divided by the number of days in the program), multiplied by the number of days
scheduled to attend, prior to withdrawal.

o If the student has completed more than 60% of the period of attendance for which the student was
charged, the tuition is considered earned and the student will receive no refund.

e If any portion of the tuition was paid from the proceeds of a loan or third party, the refund shall be sent to
the lender, third party or, if appropriate, to the state or federal agency that guaranteed or reinsured the
loan.
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Any amount of the refund in excess of the unpaid balance of the loan shall be first used to repay any student
financial aid programs from which the student received benefits, in proportion to the amount of the
benefits received, and any remaining amount shall be paid to the student. Student Initials.

e Ifthe student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys
not paid from federal student financial aid program funds. . Student Initials.

e Ifthe student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to
repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that if the student
receives federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid
from federal financial aid funds Student Initials.

Defaulting on a Federal or State Student L oan:
A student that has been awarded Financial Aid from a Federal or a State Agency is obligated to repay those
loans and understand the consequences for non-repayment:

1)The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the student, including
applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan.

(2) The student may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other
government financial assistance until the loan is repaid.

(3) The student’s credit report may be adversely affected. Student Initials.

FEDERAL RETURN OF TITLE IV FUNDS POLICY/REFUND POLICY

The school participates in federal financial aid. Please refer to the following refund policy for specific consumer
information pursuant to the federal financial aid program.

The Federal Return of Title IV funds formula (R2T4) dictates the amount of Federal Title IV aid that must be
returned to the federal government by the school and/or the student. The federal formula is applicable
to an eligible student receiving federal aid when that student withdraws at any point during the payment
period.|f a student did not start or begin attendance at the school, the R2T4 formula does not apply.

Official Withdrawal Process: If a student wishes to withdraw from school, they must notify the Financial
Aid Leader of the school. The naotification may be in writing or orally. The date the notification is received
is the date of determination. The Financial Aid Leader must begin the withdrawal process.

Unofficial Withdrawal Process: For unofficial withdrawals, a student’s withdrawal date at a school that
is required to take attendance is their last day of physical attendance. The date of determination is 14 days
after they cease attendance.

In both cases the last day of attendance will be used in the return to Title IV calculation.

The federal formula requires a Return of Title IV calculation if the student received or could have received
(based on eligibility criteria) federal financial assistance in the form of Pell Grants, and Direct Loans or Direct
PLUS Loans during the payment period. The percentage of Title IV aid earned is equal to the percentage of
the payment period that was completed as of the withdrawal date if this occurs on or before the 60% point
of time.After the 60% point of the payment period (or period of enrollment depending on what the school
uses) the student is considered to have earned 100% of the aid for the period. The percentage that has not
been earned is calculated by subtracting the percentage of Title IV aid earned from 100%.

The percentage of the payment period completed is calculated by the hours scheduled in the payment
period as of the withdrawal date divided by the scheduled hours in the payment period.
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The amount to be returned is calculated by subtracting the amount of Title IV assistance earned from the
amount of Title IV aid that was or could have been disbursed as of the withdrawal date.

Post Withdrawal Disbursement: If a student receives lessTitle IV funds than the amount earned, the school
will offer the student a disbursement of the earned aid that was not received at the time of their withdrawal
which is called a post-withdrawal disbursement. Post-withdrawal disbursements will be made from Pell
Grant funds first if the student is eligible . If there are current educational costs still due the school at the
time of withdrawal, a Pell Grant post-withdrawal disbursement will be credited to the student’s account.
Any remaining Pell funds must be released to the student without the student having to take any action.
Any federal loan program funds due in a post-withdrawal disbursement must be offered to the student
and the school must receive the student’s authorization before crediting their account. The authorization is
required to be sent to the student within 30 days of the date the school determined the student’s last date
of attendance.

Credit Balance: If a credit balance still exists on the student’s account after the R2T4 and institutional
refund calculations are done, that credit balance must be used to pay any grant overpayment that exists
based on the current withdrawal within 14 days from the date that the R2T4 calculation was performed .
The overpayment must be eliminated prior to offering a credit balance to a student.

The following Title IV return distribution is used for all FSAstudents.
Unsubsidized Direct Loan
Subsidized Direct Loan
Direct PLUS Loan (Parent)
Federal Pell Grant

Returns must be made as soon as possible to the federal programs but no later than 45 days after the date
of determination . (unless the school uses less days based on a state, accrediting agency or institutional
requirement)

The law requires that a student is responsible for all unearned Title IV program assistance that the school
is not required to return. This is determined by subtracting the amount returned by the school from the
total amount of unearned Title IV funds to be returned.

Overpayment of Title IV, HEA Funds — Any amount of unearned grant funds that you must return is
called overpayment. The amount of grant overpayment that you must repay is half of the grant funds

you received or were scheduled to receive.A student who owes an overpayment remains eligible for

Title IV, HEA program funds through and beyond the earlier of 45 days from the date the school sends a
notification to the student of overpayment, or 45 days from the date the school was required to notify the
student of the overpayment if, during those 45 days the student:

Repays the overpayment in full to the school;

Enters into a repayment agreement with the school in accordance with repayment
arrangements satisfactory to the school; or

Signs a repayment agreement with the Department, which will include terms that permit
a student to repay the overpayment while maintain his or her eligibility for Title IV, HEA program
funds

Within 30 days of the date of the school's determination that the student withdrew, an institution must
send a notice to any student who owes aTitle IV, HEA grant overpayment as a result of the student’s
withdrawal from the school in order to recover the overpayment.

If the student does not repay the overpayment in full to the school, or enter a repayment agreement with
the school or the Department within the earlier of 45 days from the date the school sends notification to
the student of overpayment, or 45 days from the date the school was required to notify the student of the
overpayment.
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TREATMENT OF TITLE IV FUNDS WHEN A STUDENT WITHDRAWS FROM A CLOCK-
HOUR PROGRAM

123-45-6789 ]
Date of school's determination that student withdrew: | 106111 i
Period used for calculation {check one}): Payment Period |:|Period of Enroliment

SHadents TiHe VAW Informafio

- Amount that Total Tite IV Ald
Amount Coutd Have Disbursed for
Title IV Grant Programs: Disbursed Been Disbursed the Period
1. Pell Grant 2,775.00 A 2,775.00
2. Academic Competitiveness Grant + B. 6,727.00
3. National SMART Grant = E. 9,502.00
4. FSEQOG
5. TEACH Grant F.  Total Tite IV
grant aid disbursed and
A 277500 C. | 0.00 | that could have been
{sub-total) {sub-total) disbursed for the period
A. 2,775.00
Net Amount that + C. 0.00
Net Amount Could Have
Title IV Loan Programs: Disbursed __Been Disbursed
6. Unsubsidized FDLP / FFELP 2,985.00
7. Subsidized FDLP / FFELP
8. Perkins Loan have been disbursed
9. PLUS FDLP / FFELP (Grad Stus for the pefi
. PLUS FDLP / FFELP (Pafe

0.00
0.00
9,502.00

© oo

| > Ifthe amount in Box | is greater than the amount in
Box E, go to Post-withdrawal disbursement {ftem J).

H. Determine the percentage of the period completed: > [fthe amount in Box { is less than the amount in

Divide the clock hours scheduled fo have been completed Box E, go to Title IV aid to be refurned (Item K).

as of the last day of attendance in the period by the total > [fthe amounts in Box | and Box E are equal, STOP.

clock hours in the period. No further action is necessary.

12700 | /| 45000 |=1 602% | J. Post-withdrawal disbursement

Hours scheduled Total hour in From the amount of Title IV aid earned by the student (Box I}
1o complete period subtract the Total Title IV aid disbursed for the period (Box E).

> If this percentage is greater than 60%, enter 100% in This is the amount of the post-withdrawal disbursement

Box H and proceed to Step 3.
» Ifthis percentage is less than or equal to 60%, enter [ 950200 |- 950200 = 000 |

that percentage in Box H : Box | Box E Box J

and proceed to Step 3. H.

K. Title IV aid to be returned
From the Total Title IV aid disbursed for the period (Box E)

[STEF 3. Amount of Titia IV Aid Earnad by 1he Stuc

Muttiply the percentage of Title |V aid earned [Bof H) by the subtract the Amount of Title IV aid earned by the student
Total Title IV aid disbursed and that could have been (Box I). This is the amount of Title IV aid that must be returned.
disbursed for the period (Box G).

[ t000% x| 950200 ]=[ 950200 ] [ 950200 |-] 950200 |={ 000 ]

BoxH Box G Box | BoxE Box 1 Box K
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From me Nei loans disbursed to 1he sludenl (Box B} subtract the
Total loans the school must return (Box P) to find the amount of
L. Instutional Tuition 4,500.00 | Title IV loans the student is still responsible for repaying {Box R).
Charges for Room
the Period. Board These outstanding loans consist either of loan funds that student
Other has eamed, or unearned loan funds that the school is not
Other responsible for repaying, or both; and they are repaid to the loan
Other holders according to the terms of the borrower's promissory note.
Total Instutitonal Charges i 672700 |- | 0.00 | =] 672700 |
{Add all the charges together) L. ! 4,500.00 | Box B Box P BoxR
> If Box Qs less than or equal fo Box R, STOP.
M. Percentage of unearned Title IV aid The only action a school must take is {0 notify the holders
[ 1000% |- 1000% |=] 0.0% | of the loans of the student's withdrawal date.
Box H Box M > (fBox Qs greater than Box R, Proceed to Step 9.

N. Amount of unearned charges
Multiply institutional charges for the period (Box L) by the : LI Return
Percentage of unearned Title IV aid (Box M). S. §mt|a| amount of Tme v grants for student to return

| 450000 | x| 00% | =| 0.00 | From the initial amount of unearned Title IV aid due from the
Box L BoxM Box N student (Box Q) subtract the amount of loans to i

0. Amount ofor school to return by the student (Box R).
Compare the amount of Title IV aid to be returned (Box K) |
to Amount of unearned charges (Box N), and enter the

lesser amount.

e initial amount of unearned Title IV aid due from the
student (Box S) subtract the amount of loans to be repaid

by the student (Box T).
1. | 0.00 | -1 0.00 | =1 0.00 |
2, Box S Box T Box U
3. > If Box Uis less than or equal to zero, STOP.
4. PLUS FDLP / FFELP (Grad Student) 0.00 If not, go to step 10.
5. PLUS FDLP / FFELP (Parent) 0.00
Total ioans the school must return= P, 0.00 ;  0f G ;

Except as noted bc!ow the student must re!um the uneamad
6. Pell Grant 0.00 | grant funds for which he/she is responsible (Box U). The grant
7. Academic Competitiveness Grant 0.00 | funds returned by the student are applied to the following sources
8. National SMART Grant 0.00 | inthe order indicated, up to the total amount disbursed from that
9. FSEOG 0.00 [ grant program minus any grant funds that school is responsible
10. TEACH Grant 0.00 | for returning to that program in Step 6.

Note that the student is not responsible for returning

funds to any program to which the student owes $50.00

From the amcunl of Title IV aid to be returned (Box K) subtract or less.
the Amount for the school to return {Box Q).

Title IV Grant Programs: Amount 1o Return
[ oo00 | - [ 000 |=[ o000 | 1. PellGrant 0.00
Box K Box O Box Q 2. Academic Competitiveness Grant
3. National SMART Grant
» [fBox Qs < or = zero, STOP. If > zero, go to Step 8. 4. FSEOG
5. TEACH Grant
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"STUDENT'S RIGHT TO CANCEL" - INSTITUTIONAL REFUND/DROP POLICY

Any monies due the student shall be refunded within 30 days of official cancellation or withdrawal. Official
cancellation or withdrawal shall occur on the earlier of the dates that:

a. Astudentis not accepted by the school. This student shall be entitled to a refund of all monies
paid to the school except a non-refundable application fee.

b. Astudent (orin the case of a student under legal age, his/her parent or guardian) cancels his/her
contract and demands his/her money back in writing, through attendance of the first day of class
or the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the enroliment contract, whichever is later.In this case
all monies collected by the school shall be refunded except a non-refundable application fee. This
policy applies regardless of whether or not the student has actually started training.

c. A student who cancels his/her contract through attendance of the first day of class or the seventh
(7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract is entitled to a refund of all monies paid to the
school less an application fee of $250.00.

d. A student notifies the institution of his/her official withdrawal in writing

e. Astudentisexpelled by the institution.

For official cancellations as defined in paragraphs b, ¢, d, or e, the cancellation date will be

determined by the postmark on written notification at the following address: ZMS THE

ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033,

or by the date said

information is delivered to the school administrator/owner in person.

Written cancellations need not take any particular form.

g. Monies paid for student kits are refundable.

h. Astudent’ on aleave of absence date of withdrawal determination shall be the earlier of the
scheduled date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the school
that the student will not be returning.

—h

You have the right to cancel your enrollment contract and obtain a refund of charges paid through
attendance of the first day of class or the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract,
which ever is later. YOU may cancel in writing, text, email, telephone or in person.

Any monies due a student who unofficially withdraws from the institution shall be refunded

within 45 days of a determination by the institution that the student has withdrawn without

notifying the institution.Unofficial withdrawals are monitored every 30 days and a 4
determination is made to withdraw a student who has been absent from school for 14 or more

consecutive calendar days; the withdrawal date that will be used in this calculation is the student’s
actual last date of attendance.

When situations of mitigating circumstances are in evidence, such as serious illness, a disabling
accident, or death in the immediate family, the school may make a settlement that is reasonable and
fair to both parties.

Al extra costs, such as books, equipment, graduation fees, application fee, rentals, and other such
charges, are not considered in the tuition adjustment computation if the charges are itemized
separately in the enrollment contract.

Monies paid for supplies and equipment are refundable through attendance of the first day of
class or the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract, whichever is later.

If a course and/or program is cancelled subsequent to a student’s enrollment, and before instruction
in the course and/or program has begun, the school shall either provide a full refund of all monies
paid or provide completion of the course and/or program.
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If a course and/or program is cancelled and ceases to offer instruction after the student has enrolled
and instruction has begun, the school shall either provide a full refund of all monies paid or provide
completion of the course and/or program..

A student’s account may be sent to collections for nonpayment.

If the school closes permanently and no longer offers instruction after a student has enrolled, the
school will provide a pro rata refund of tuition to the student.

A student is entitled to a refund of monies not paid from federal student aid program funds.

Students are responsible for the amount owed.If a student obtains a student loan, he/she is responsible
for repaying the loan amount, plus interest, less the amount of any refund. The institution shall also
provide a pro rata refund of non-federal student financial aid program monies paid for institutional
charges to students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance.

If you are eligible for a loan guaranteed by the federal or state government and you default on the loan,
both of the following may occur:

The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the student,
including applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance
owed on the loan.

You may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other
government assistance until the loan is repaid.

An institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs complies with this article by
complying with applicable regulations of the federal student financial aid programs under Title IV of the
federal Higher Education Act of 1965.

Step 1. Identify all amounts paid for instruction less cost of equipment.

Step 2: Subtract Registration/Application fee not to exceed $250.00. The school does not charge a
registration fee the student is only charged an application fee of $100.00.

Step 3: Apply a pro rata refund based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program.

An institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs complies with this article by
complying with applicable regulations of the federal student financial aid programs under Title IV of the
Federal Higher Education Act of 1965.

The institution shall also provide a pro rata refund of non-federal student financial aid program
monies paid for institutional charges to students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period
of attendance.

Step 1: Identify all amounts paid for instruction less cost of equipment.
Step 2: Subtract the registration/application fee not to exceed $250.00.
Step 3: Apply a pro rata refund based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program.

Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the cosmetology program: The amount listed is the
amount a school may retain based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program.

Barbering Example of Tuition % Earned per Hours Scheduled

Tuition amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%-100%
11500.00 $1150.00 $2875.00 $5750.00 $6900.00 $11500.00
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Cosmetology Example of Tuition % Earned per Hours Scheduled

Tuition amount ~ 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%-100%
12500.00 $1250.00 $3125.00 $6250.00 $7500.00 $12500.00

Esthetician & Body Art Example of Tuition % Earned per Hours Scheduled

Tuition amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%-100%
$9500.00 $950.00 $2375.00 $4750.00 $5700.00 $9500.00

Manicuring Example of Tuition % Earned per Hours Scheduled

Tuition amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%-100%
$3250.00 $325.00 $812.50 $1625.00 $1950.00 $3250.00

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033
does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, has never filed for bankruptcy petition within the
preceding five (5) years, nor operated as a debtor in possession or had a petition of bankruptcy filed
against it within the preceding five (5) years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the
United States Bankruptcy Code.

You have the right to withdraw from a course of instruction at any time. If you withdraw from the course
of instruction after the period allowed for cancellation of the agreement, which is until the first day of
class session, or the seventh (7) calendar day after enrollment, whichever is later, the school will remit a
refund less a registration fee, if applicable, within 30 days following your withdrawal . You are obligated to
pay only for educational services rendered and for unreturned equipment.

IF THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE PAID IS MORE THAN THE AMOUNT YOU OWE FORTHE TIME YOU ATTENDED,
THEN A REFUND WILL BE MADE WITHIN 30 DAYS OF WITHDRAWAL . IF THE AMOUNT YOU OWE IS MORE
THAN THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID, THEN YOU WILL HAVE TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO PAY
IT.

REMEMBER, YOU MUST CANCEL OFFICIALLY . You may cancel in writing, by email, text, telephone,
or in person.If you have any complaints, questions, or problems that you cannot resolve with the
school, write to the: California Bureau of Private Post Secondary Education 1747 N Market Blvd ,Suite
225, Sacramento, CA 95834, or by phone at 916-574-8900 or toll-free at (888) 370-7589 or fax 916-263-
1897or visit www .bppe .ca.gov

STUDENT FINANCIAL AID RELEASE

The undersigned agrees that ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS
ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 does not guarantee the student loan process in any respect.A federal
Parent PLUS Loan requires a credit check and is based on the parent’s credit.Pre-approval for a federal
Parent PLUS Loan does not guarantee that the parent will receive a federal Parent PLUS Loan .t is critical
that the parent be able to pass a credit check when the loan is certified . The school has no control over
the approval or decline of a parent’s credit history.Nor does the school assume any responsibility for
mistakes on any Department of Education financial aid forms.It is the student's responsibility to ensure
all forms are accurate and complete.
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Federal loan information is available in the National Student Loan Database System (NSLDS) and will be
accessible by Servicers and Schools, as authorized.

POLICY FOR VERIFICATION OF TITLE IV FUNDING

The school follows policies and procedures for verification of Title IV funding . Verification is a requirement
by the U S.Department of Education. Students are randomly selected to provide additional information.
The school provides students with a verification form, so they can collect the necessary information.

The school gives the student a 30-day deadline to return the form to the financial office with

verification items attached.If verification documents are not submitted by the due date, the student will
be placed on a monthly cash-pay status until the verification is completed.

The corporate office sends the school a change in EFC form for students to sign if their EFC changes.
FAME handles student overpayments and alerts the school, so it can make changes to the award packet,
which is reported to the Common Origination and Disbursement (COD) office for the Department of
Education

SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR BOOKS AND SUPPLIES

In order to academically succeed in a program, a Federal Pell Grant student must have the ability to
purchase books and supplies at the beginning of the academic period.By the seventh day of a payment
period, the school will provide a way for a student who is eligible for a Federal Pell Grant to obtain or
purchase the books and supplies required for the payment period if:

Ten days befare the beginning of the payment period, the school could have disbursed FSAfunds
to the student; and

Disbursement of those funds would have created an FSAcredit balance.
The school will consider all the FSAfunds a student is eligible to receive at the time it makes the
determination, but the school need not consider aid from non-FSA sources.

The amount the school must provide is the lesser of the presumed credit balance or the amount
determined by the school that the student needs to obtain the books and supplies.In determining the
required amount, the school may use the actual costs of books and supplies or the allowance for those
materials used in estimating the student’s cost of attendance for the period.A student may decline to
participate in this process to obtain or purchase books and supplies, if they so choose.

PREFERRED LENDER LIST AND PRIVATE EDUCATION LOAN DISCLOSURES

Our school does not have a list of preferred lenders and we do not offer private education loans.

ELIGIBILITY OF FINANCIAL AID AFTER A DRUG CONVICTION

Students will be given written notice advising them that a conviction of illegal drugs, of any offense,
during an enrollment period for which the student was receiving Title IV financial aid will result in the
loss of eligibility for any Title IV per HEA Sec.484(r)(1) and 20 U S.C.1091(r)(1) . Students whose eligibility
has been suspended due to a drug conviction may resume eligibility if they successfully pass two

(2) unannounced drug tests conducted by a drug rehabilitation program that complies with criteria
established under HEA Sec.484(r)(2) (20 U S.C.1091(r)(2)).

CREDIT BALANCE POLICY

If Title IV disbursements result in a credit balance on the student’s account, the Financial Aid office
will notify the student.
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The student has the option to have the school hold the credit balance and can complete an
authorization for the school to hold the funds by obtaining an authorization form from the Financial
Aid Department.If the student does not want the school to hold their funds, all credit balance
disbursements and refunds due to funding source will be processed within 14 days of the

credit balance appearing on the student account. Regardless of the chosen option the school will clear
all credit balances on a student account by the end of the award year.

MAKEUP WORK

Students must complete all required assignments and exams. Toaccommodate students, makeup exam
days and worksheet periods are scheduled. Students must complete makeup work at the scheduled time.
Monthly makeup hours and exams are on Fridays and Saturdays.

MAKEUP HOURS

Students can makeup hours during course times the student is not normally scheduled for attendance.

COMPLETION OF PROGRAM BY THE CONTRACTED END DATE

The state of California requires 1600 clock hours for a cosmetology license. Students are expected to
complete their program within the contract end date.

Cosmetology students who are absent for 160 clock hours will complete the 1600 clock hour program
within the scheduled amount of time under their enroliment contract.

If a student’'s maximum amount of time under the contracted scheduled end date has expired and the
student has not completed the required cosmetology program 1600 clock hours, the student will be
withdrawn from the program. At that time, the student can re-enroll in the program for the remaining
clock hours under a new contract and additional costs.

The state of California requires 1500 clock hours for a barber license. Students are expected to complete
their program within the contracted end date.

Barber students who are absent for 150 clock hours will complete the 1500 clock hour program within
the scheduled amount of time under their enrollment contract.

If a student’s maximum amount of time under the contracted scheduled end date has expired and

the student has not completed the required barbering program 1500 clock hours, the student will be
withdrawn from the program. At that time, the student can re-enroll in the program for the remaining
clock hours under a new contract and additional costs.

The state of California requires 600 clock hours for an esthetics license. Students are expected to
complete their program within the contracted end date.

Esthetic students who are absent for 60 clock hours will complete the 600-clock hour program within the
scheduled amount of time under their enroliment contract.

If a student’s maximum amount of time under the contracted scheduled end date has expired and
the student has not completed the required esthetics program 600 clock hours, the student will be
withdrawn from the program. At that time, the student can re-enroll in the program for the remaining
clock hours under a new contract and additional costs.

Scheduled hours are not impacted by school closings, such as snow days, etc. If a student is impacted by
any of these occurrences, their actual program end date will be adjusted according to the contract.
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SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY

Students enrolled in programs approved by The Council On Occupational Education must meet formal
standards that measure their satisfactory progress toward graduation . The Satisfactory Academic
Progress Policy is provided to all students prior to enroliment. The policy is consistently applied to all
applicable students. Evaluations are maintained in the studentfile. The school will develop an academic
and/or attendance plan to address the specific needs of those students who fail to meet the academic
and/or attendance requirements at specific SAP evaluation points.

A leave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and maximum time frame by the same
number of days taken in the leave of absence.

QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE FACTORS

Factors for measuring the student’s progress toward satisfactory completion of the program include
maintaining:

A minimum cumulative theory grade level of 70% or higher.
A minimum cumulative academic level of 70% or higher on practical worksheet completion *

To determine whether a student meets the academic requirements for satisfactory progress, the

theory and practical grades are averaged together to give a cumulative academic grade of 70% or
higher.

A minimum cumulative attendance of 67% of their scheduled hours .**

*To meet the state practical requirements for graduation, students must eventually complete monthly practical
worksheets in entirety. See LEARNING PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES.

**To determine your rate of attendance, divide the cumulative number of hours completed by the scheduled
hours to date.

A student who has not achieved the minimum cumulative GPA of 70% and/or who has not successfully
completed at least a cumulative rate of attendance of 80% is not eligible for Title IV assistance, if applicable,

unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal of the determination that has resulted in the
status of probation.

Schedules

Full-time day students attend four (4) days (Monday-Thursday), 32 hours per week, from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
Part-time day students attend three (3) days (Tuesday-Thursday), from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM.

The State of California BPPE Requires:

Cosmetology: 1600 hours, On Time: 52 Weeks 150% Completion: 78 Weeks
Barbering: 1500 hours, On Time: 52 Weeks 150% Completion: 78 Weeks
Esthetician: 600 hours, On Time: 26 Weeks 150% Completion: 39 Weeks
Manicuring: 450 hours, On Time: 16 Weeks 150% Completion: 24 Weeks

Body Art Technician for Permanent Makeup & Tattoo for Beginners:
600 hours, On Time: 26 Weeks 150% Completion: 39 Weeks
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LEAVE OF ABSENCE POLICY

A Leave of Absence (LOA) is a temporary interruption in a Student’s program of study . LOA refers to the
specific time period during an ongoing program when a Student is not in academic attendance . Leaves of
Absence can be granted in cases of emergency, medical problems with doctor notification, which cause
attendance to be impossible or impractical . Leaves of Absence will be granted in the case of pregnancy
or new mothers . A leave of absence will be permitted with a letter from the student's doctor. If a student
is called into active duty for the military the school will grant a leave of absence and for personal reasons.
These are the only times leave of absences are granted.

In order to be placed on Leave of Absence, the student must:

Complete and sign the school's Leave of Absence Request Form unless unforeseen circumstances
prevent the student from doing so.

Must state the reason for the Leave of Absence (LOA) request

Be approved by the School's Future Professional Advisor and Financial Aid Leader.

Leaves must be a minimum of 14 days and must not exceed a total of 180 days in a 12-month

period.

A student on a leave of absence date of withdrawal determination shall be the earlier of the scheduled
date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the school that the student will
not be returning. Aleave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and maximum time
frame by the same number of days taken in the leave of absence.

Student's may not arbitrarily decide to “take” a leave of absence.

There will be no additional charges for a LOA. If the student fails to return or contact the School Financial
Aid Leader on the documented return date, the Student will be considered to have withdrawn from school
as of that date the student began the LOA. The withdrawal date for the purpose of calculating a refund is
always the student’s last day of attendance.

For federal aid recipients, the Student's payment period is suspended during the LOA and no federal
financial aid will be disbursed to Student while on a Leave of Absence . Upon the Student’s return, the
Student will resume the same payment period and coursework and will not be eligible for additional Title
IV aid until the payment period has been completed.If the Student is a Title IV loan recipient, the Student
will be informed of the effects that the student’s failure to return from a leave may have on the Student’s
loan repayment terms, including the expiration of the Student’s grace period.A contract addendum will be
completed upon return from the LOA to extend the contract end date by the applicable number of days.
In special circumstances, the school may grant a leave of absence to a student in the case of an
emergency, such as a car accident or other medical issue that would prevent the student from
requesting the leave of absence prior to the incident occurring. In these cases, the school will
document the reason for the granting of the leave after the incident has occurred. The beginning date
of the leave of absence will be based on the first date it has been determined that the student cannot
come to class due to the accident or medical situation.

In order to grant a Leave of Absence there must be the expectation that the student will be returning
to school.

A student who is granted a LOA that meets these criteria is not considered to have withdrawn and no
refund calculation is required at that time.

Changes to the contract period on the enroliment agreement must be initialed by all parties or an
addendum must be signed and dated by all parties to reflect the new contract end date.
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INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, AND WITHDRAWALS

If the student needs to take off more time than allotted in the contract or more than 14 consecutive
calendar days, he/she must take a leave of absence or withdraw and reenroll when ready to return.If
a student needs more than 14 consecutive calendar days of time off due to pregnancy/new mother,
and/or military duty then the student should take a leave of absence. Students who withdraw prior
to completing the course of study and who wish to reenter will reenter at the same progress status as
applicable at the time of withdrawal.

NONCREDIT, REMEDIAL COURSE, AND REPETITIONS

Course incompletes, repetitions, and noncredit remedial courses do not apply to this institution.
Therefore, these items have no effect upon the school’s satisfactory academic progress standards.

EVALUATION PROCEDURES AND REQUIRED LEVEL OF ACHIEVEMENT

Program Name 1st SAP Evaluation 2nd SAP Evaluation 3rd SAP Evaluation
Cosmetology 450 actual hours 900 actual hours 1200 actual hours
Barbering 450 actual hours 900 actual hours 1200 actual hours
Esthetics 300 actual hours

Manicuring 200 actual hours

Body Art Technician 300 actual hours

SAP =Satisfactory Progress Evaluations in both attendance and academics:
The first evaluation will occur no later than the midpoint of the academic year. The SAP evaluations are printed
within 7 days of the student reaching the evaluation points.

The student’s attendance will be evaluated at Institutional Attendance checkpoints at the completion of
each calendar month. A student who is not maintaining at least a cumulative of 80% attendance will be
placed on Institutional Attendance Warning status until the next Institutional Attendance checkpoint. The
student will be advised in writing on the actions required to attain Institutional Attendance by the next
evaluation . Students are allowed to make up hours to meet attendance . Refer to the Make Up Hour Policy.
If at the end of the Institutional Attendance warning period, the student has still not met attendance
requirements, he/she may be dropped from the program with the right to appeal.

The following grading system is used to evaluate a student's academic ability:

Examinations are given in all subjects.

Grades and attendance (satisfactory academic progress) records are reviewed and signed by the student
and maintained in the student’s financial file . The Satisfactory Academic Progress will reflect if the student
evaluation will impact the students eligibility for Financial Aid. The student may request to review his or her
financial aid file from the Financial Aid Leader or School Director.

The following grading scale is used for theory progress:
A =90-100% B=80-89% C=70-79% Failing = Below 70%

Practical and clinical work is graded by a signature on the student’s practical clinic floor worksheet or
guest service ticket.A signature from an instructor represents a passing grade, which means all elements
of the practical grading criteria were met.
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No signature indicates a failing score, which means one or more of the practical grading criteria elements
were not met and the student has not met minimum satisfactory standards on the practical application.
Students are required to continue and/or repeat the practical application until they receive a signature
from an instructor.

*The school uses a 900-hour academic year for Title IV purposes.

TRANSFER HOURS

Transfer hours accepted by the school are applied to the total number of hours necessary to complete

the program and are considered both attempted and completed hours for the purpose of determining
when the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted. Satisfactory Academic Progress evaluation
periods are based on scheduled contracted hours at the institution. For transfer students attending less
than a full academic year, an evaluation will be done at the midpoint of the actual hours.

DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS

Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation point are
considered to be making satisfactory progress until the next scheduled evaluation.

WARNING

Students failing to meet minimum requirements for attendance and/or academic progress will be
placed on Financial Aid Warning and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress during the
warning period which is until the next evaluation period . The student will be advised in writing on the
actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation . During the Financial
Aid Warning period, students are eligible, if applicable, to receive financial aid funds. If at the end of the
warning period, the student has still not met both academic and/or attendance requirements, he/she
may be placed on probation and, if applicable, the student may be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV
funds.

PROBATION

Students who fail to meet the minimum requirements for attendance and academic progress after the
Warning period, the student will be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory
academic progress while during the probationary period, if the student appeals the decision, and
prevails upon appeal.

Additionally, only students who have the ability to meet satisfactory academic progress policy standards
by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation. Students placed on an academic plan
must be able to meet requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the next evaluation
period or the institution develops an academic plan for the student that, if followed, will ensure that the
student is able to meet the institution’s satisfactory academic progress requirements by a specific point
within the maximum time frame established for the individual student. Students who are progressing
according to their specific academic plan will be considered making satisfactory academic progress .
The student will be advised in writing of the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress
by the next evaluation. If at the end of the probationary period, the student has still not met both the
attendance and academic requirements required for satisfactory academic progress or set forth by the
academic plan, the student will be determined as NOT making satisfactory academic progress, and if
applicable, the student will not be deemed eligible to receive Title IV funds.

RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS for those who qualify

Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV funding, as applicable, by meeting
the minimum attendance and academic requirements by the end of the warning or probationary period.
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APPEAL PROCEDURE

A student may appeal the Financial Aid ineligible decision if he/she has a reason for not making
satisfactory progress and if he/she can document that the circumstances that caused the unsatisfactory
academic progress determination have in some way changed and that satisfactory academic progress
standard can be met by the end of the next evaluation period. A student has five (5) calendar days
from the date of notification that they are not meeting the second consecutive satisfactory progress
determination to appeal the unsatisfactory academic progress determination . The student must submit
a written appeal to the school’s financial aid office on the designated schools Appeal Form describing
why they failed to meet satisfactory academic progress standards, along with supporting documentation
of the reasons why the determination should be reversed . This information should include what has
changed about the student’s situation that will allow them to achieve satisfactory academic progress by
the next evaluation point.

The reasons for which a student may appeal a negative progress determination include death of
a relative, an injury or illness of the student, a student's disability, or any other allowable special or
mitigating circumstances.

The Appeal documents will be reviewed and a decision will be made and reported to the student within
30 calendar days. The appeal and decision documents will be retained in the student’s file . If the student
prevails upon appeal, the satisfactory academic progress determination will be reversed and federal
financial aid will be reinstated, if applicable.

If the appeal is granted the student will be placed on Financial Aid Probation for one evaluation period.
If the student has not met academic and/or attendance requirements for two (2) consecutive evaluation
periods, for example 450 to 900 actual hours evaluations; and does not prevail on appeal, the student
will be determined as not making satisfactory progress and may be terminated.

This policy applies to all students regardless of whether or not they are eligible for Title IV funding
programs.In order to comply with USDE requirements the terminology financial aid warning or financial
aid probation will be used for both Title IV and non-Title IV students.

TERMINATION APPEAL PROCEDURE

If a student isterminated due to receiving the maximum amount of coaching sessions, or due to the reasons
outlined under termination on the Student Advisory Form, the student may appeal the termination decision.
A student has five (5) calendar days from the date of termination to appeal the decision. The student must
submit a written appeal to the school's Future Professional Advisor on the schools Termination Appeal
Form describing why they were terminated, along with supporting documentation of the reasons why the
determination should be reversed. This information should include what has changed about the student’s
situation that will allow them to continue through the program without incident.

If a studentisterminated due to the Institutional Attendance Policy, the student may appeal the termination
decision . A student has five (5) calendar days from the date of termination to appeal the decision. The
student must submit a written appeal to the school's Program Director on the schools Termination Appeal
Form describing why they were terminated, along with supporting documentation of the reasons why the
determination should be reversed. This information should include what has changed about the student’s
situation that will allow them to continue through the program without incident.

An appeal hearing will take place within 15 business days of receipt of the written appeal. This hearing will
be attended by the student, parent/guardian (if the student is a dependent minor), the student’s learning
leader, the future professional advisor, and the school director. A decision on the student's appeal will be
made within three (3) business days by the director of education and will be communicated to the student
in writing. This decision will be final .
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If a student is terminated for gross misconduct, which includes but is not limited to reporting to school
under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs, cheating, stealing, insubordination, threats, and/or bullying,
such termination is final and may not be appealed.

STUDENT RIGHT OF ACCESS AND RECORD RETENTION POLICY

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) sets a limit on the disclosure of personally
identifiable information from school records and defines the rights of students to review and request
changes to the records . FERPAgenerally gives postsecondary students the rights to:

Review their education records,
Seek to amend inaccurate information in their records and
Provide consent for the disclosure of their records.

Students (or parents or guardians, if the student is a dependent minor) are guaranteed access to their
school records, with a staff member present, within 30 days from the date of the request.Copies of all
records can be requested at $0.20 per page.

General Release of Information

Except under the special conditions described in this policy, a student must provide written consent
before the school may disclose personally identifiable information from the student’s education records.
The written consent must:

State the purpose of the disclosure,

Specify the records that may be disclosed,

Identify the party or class of parties to whom the disclosure may be made
Be signed and dated.

FERPA Disclosures to Parents

While the rights under FERPA have transferred from a student’s parents to the student when the student
attends a postsecondary institution, FERPAdoes permit a school to disclose a student's education records
to his or her parents if the student is a dependent student under IRSrules.

Note that the IRS definition of a dependent is quite different from that of a dependent student for Federal
Student Aid (FSA) purposes. For IRS purposes, students are dependent if they are listed as dependents on
their parent’s income tax returns.(If the student is a dependent as defined by the IRS, disclosure may be
made to either parent, regardless of which parent claims the student as a dependent.)

A school may disclose information from a student’s education records to parents in the case of a health or
safety emergency that involves the student without needing the student’s consent..

A school may inform parents of students under age 21 when the student has violated any law or policy
concerning the use or possession of alcohol or a controlled substance.

A school official may share with parents’ information that is based on that official's personal knowledge
or observation and that is not based on information contained in an education record.

Release of Information to Regulatory Agencies

Disclosures may be made to authorized representatives of the U S.Department of Education for
audit, evaluation, and enforcement purposes. “Authaorized representatives” include employees of
the Department of Education, such as employees of the Office of Federal Student Aid, the Office
of Postsecondary Education, the Office for Civil Rights, and the National Center for Education
Statistics, as well as firms under contract to the Department of Education to perform certain
administrative functions or studies.
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In addition, disclosure may be made if it is in connection with financial aid that the student has received
or applied for.

Such a disclosure may only be made if the student’s information is needed to determine the amount of
the aid, the conditions for the aid, or the student’s eligibility for the aid, or to enforce the terms or
conditions of the aid.

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033
provides and permits access to student and other school records as required for any accreditation process
initiated by the school or by the Council On Occupational Education or in response to a directive of said
Commission.

Disclosures in Response to Subpoenas or Court Orders

FERPA permits schools to disclose education records, without the student’s consent, to comply with a
lawfully issued subpoena or court order.

In most cases, the school must make a reasonable effort to notify the student who is the subject of the
subpoena or court order before complying, so the student may seek protective action.However, the
school does not have to notify the student if the court or issuing agency has prohibited such disclosure.

The school may also disclose information from education records, without the consent or knowledge of
the student, to representatives of the U S.Department of Justice in response to an ex parte order issued in
connection with the investigation of crimes of terrorism.

Disclosures for Other Reasons

There are two FERPA provisions concerning the release of records relating to a crime of violence.One
concerns the release to the victim of any outcome involving an alleged crime of violence (34 CFR 34
CFR99.31[a][13]).A separate provision permits a school to disclose to anyone the final results of any
disciplinary hearing against an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence in which that student was found
in violation of the school’s rules or palicies with respect to such crime or offense (34 CFR99.31[a][14]).

Directory Information

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 does not
publish “directory information” on any student.

Record Maintenance

All requests for releases of information are maintained in the student’s file as long as the educational
records are kept.

Student records are maintained for a minimum of five (5) years for withdrawal students; transcripts of
graduates are kept indefinitely.

The student may contact the schools Financial Aid Leader or School Director for copies of his or her
educational and financial records.
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Amendment to Student Records

Students have the right to seek an amendment to their school records. To seek an amendment, students
must meet with the School Director and bring any supporting documentation to show that the record is
incorrect.

A parent or eligible student may file a written complaint with the Family Policy Compliance Office
regarding an alleged violation under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act. The Office’s
address is: Family Policy Compliance Office, US.Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW.,
Washington, DC 20202.

PERFORMANCE STATISTICS/JOB OUTLOOK

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 is
accredited by The Council On Occupational Education and recognized by the US.
Department of Education.

Eachagency requires schools to provide important information regarding outcome rates in the areas of
completion, placement, and licensure; however, each agency requires that we provide outcome rates
differently. The Council On Occupational Education requires schools to list the outcome rates for the main
campus and all additional campuses as a whole.

In this case, ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
90033 is the main campus, the outcome rates provided are for all schools under this structure.

The U S.Department of Education, requires outcome rates be provided based upon this individual
location which is listed below.Outcome rates have also been provided for the individual school you are
interested in attending. If you have any questions regarding our outcome rates, please see our
Admissions Team for assistance.

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033
combined performance statistics for the calendar year 2017:

Graduation Placement Licensure
2017-76.4% 100% 96.75%
2018-79% 100% 84.5%

Graduation: Based on all students scheduled to graduate from the program.
Licensure: Based on graduates from the graduation cohort who sat for all parts of their required licensure

Placement: Based on graduates from the graduation cohort who are eligible for placement.

The graduate is deceased 0
The graduate is permanently disabled 0
The graduate is deployed for military service/duty 0

The graduate studied under a student visa and is ineligible for employmentinthe US. 0

The graduate continued his/her education at an institution under the same ownership (e.g., a graduate of
your cosmetology program subsequently enrolled in the instructor program of an institution under

the same ownership) 0
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Total Excluded O

*If fewer than ten students were excluded for any one category, the disclosure will only include the total of
all excluded students if that total is at least ten.|f the calculation excluded fewer than a total of ten students
the institution will state that it excluded students on the basis of each condition and note that the number
of total exclusions were fewer than 10 and therefore cannot be disclosed.

STUDENTS RIGHT-TO-KNOW—COMBINED DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION RATES

2017 Graduation:
76.4%

2018 Graduation:
79%

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
90033 must prepare the graduation rate of its certificate- or degree-seeking, first-time, full-time
undergraduate students each year. The annual rates are based on the 12-month period that ended
December 31% of the prior year.

Normal time is the amount of time necessary for a student to complete all requirements for a
degree or certificate according to the institution's catalog.

These rates are generated from the school student record management system and are combined rates.

STUDENT PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT GUIDELINES

All students must commit to and follow the Student Professional Development Guidelines during their
enrollment at ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
90033. These guidelines were established to assist in creating a safe, focused, and enjoyable learning
experience.

Attendance and Documentation of Time

The school records attendance in clock hours and gives appropriate attendance credit for all hours
attended. The school does not add or deduct attendance hours as a penalty . Attendance is calculated
using a computerized time clock and does not round hours.

In order to ensure proper clock hours are credited, full-time students are required to clock in/ when
they arrive to school, and when they leave at the end of the day. There are 2 15-minute breaks
during the day.

If a student fails to clock in or out for their schedule on the student time clock, the student will not
receive hours. If the student wishes to dispute any hours, they feel earned, the student must provide
documentation to verify attendance on the missing time form.

The school is open from 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM Monday-Thursday and 9am-3pm Friday & Saturday
All courses require continuous attendance.

The prescribed attendance schedule must be maintained each week. Alternate schedules are available
to those students who qualify.
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Students must be on time, as tardiness inhibits the learning process. Students who are late for theory
class may not enter the classroom and will not receive theory credit. They may “clock in” and will be
assigned special projects or assignments pertaining to their course of study. Students who are late for a
specialty class or a guest artist class may attend the class but must be accompanied into the classroom
by an instructor. Students are never excused from mandatory theory class to work on the clinic floor.

During the enrollment contract period, student must maintain a 90% attendance average each month
in order to complete the program within the scheduled program length. The student is allowed to miss
10% of his or her scheduled hours. If a student’s maximum amount of time under the contracted
scheduled end date has expired and the student has not completed the required program clock
hours, the student will be withdrawn from the program. At that time the student can re-enroll in the
program for the remaining clock hours under a new contract and additional costs. The student may
use the allowed 10% of his or her scheduled hours for vacation, doctor appointments, illness, etc.
**Refer to the school enrollment contract for the Enrollment Contract Period definition .

Please note that if a student misses more than 14 consecutive calendar days, the student may

be terminated from the program.

Students attend Core the first 6 weeks (210 clock hours) of enrollment. During this time, the student
must maintain a monthly attendance of 90%. If at the conclusion of the month, the student’s progress
report is not 90% attendance, the student may be dropped from the program and asked to re-enroll in
the next class start date.

Students who are late or cannot attend school must contact the school and talk to the school service
desk team immediately.Day students must call in by 8:00 AM; night students must call in by 1:30 PM.

Students must request time off from school from the Program director.

Students are required to be in attendance a minimum of seven (7) hours per day, 35 hours per week for the
full-time schedule; 20 hours per week for part-time students.

Holidays such as Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year's Day will be set according to the calendar each year.
Students cannot bank hours and attend over 35 hours per week to make up for missing hours.If a student will
miss hours during the week, arrangements must be made with the Program Director to make up those hours
within the same week, or the hours missed will count against the hours allowed to miss.

Breaks are scheduled for all students.Students will take 2-15 minutes breaks between 10am-
2pm, if possible, according to their booking.

Professional Image:

All students must adhere to the following professional dress code while in attendance:
ZMS THE ACADEMY has a casual dress policy.

The following is a list of acceptable dress:
a. Jeans or clothing made of jean material if they are black or gray in color. Any rips or tears
must fall below the fingertips, when standing up.
b. Sleeveless tops.
c. Sweatshirts, printed T-shirts, hooded sweatshirts and/or jackets
d. Stylish hats, scarves, and stylish head wraps.
e. Skirts that fall below the fingertips.

Tights or leggings should be worn with skirts or dresses that fall above the knees.
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Sanitation and Personal Services

Future Professionals must keep workstations and classroom areas clean, sanitary, and clutter-free at all
times.

Future Professionals must clean their stations in the clinic classroom, including the floor, after each
service.

Hair must be swept up immediately after a service is completed before blow-drying.
Clinic stations must be cleaned at the end of the day, prior to clocking out for the day.

Future Professionals may receive services on Tuesday through Thursday. To receive a service, students
must do the following prior to starting the service:
a. Notify aLearning Leader.
b. Be scheduled off the service books by a Learning Leader.

c. Payfor service supplies including perms, color, lightener, rinses, conditioning, treatments,
manicures, nails, etc.

d. Personal services are considered rewards and scheduled for Future Professionals who are up to
date with all practicals, exams, and clinic practical worksheets.School assignments and successful
learning are the priority.

Communication Guidelines and Professional Conduct

Visitors are allowed in the service reception area only. Visitors are not allowed in the classrooms,
clinic classroom area.uness they ae deris

Only emergency calls are permitted on the business phone.may use the office phones for a limited
time.Please keep your calls to three (3) minutes or less.

Cell phones are permitted in assigned areas of the school.

Food, drinks, and water bottles are allowed only in the lunchroom.

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033is a
smoke-free campus.

Stealing or taking school property or another’s personal property is unacceptable and grounds for
termination.

School administration has the right to access and inspect locker at any time.

LOCKER POLICY

Purpose — ZMS THE ACADEMY makes lockers available to students to facilitate the daily storage of
their learning materials and items related to their studies VIS THE ACADEMY manages lockers to ensure
responsible use of property and for the health and safety of individuals.

Agreement — ZMS THE ACADEMY establishes rules, guidelines, and procedures to ensure responsible
use and to control the contents of its lockers.

Guidelines

Lockers will be available to students during their scheduled school hours.

Lockers are for individual use only and are not to be shared.Locker content is the sole responsibility of
the registered occupant of the locker. To reduce the risk of theft, students are encouraged to keep their
lockers locked . Students should not store money, wallets, jewelry, credit or debit cards, or any other
personal item of high value.
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ZMS THE ACADEMY is not in any way responsible for a locker’s contents or liable for the loss of or
damage to items stored in lockers . Students are required to maintain their locker’s interior and exterior
in a clean, neat, and undamaged condition.Marking, defacing or graffiti on lockers is not acceptable.

No person shall store in a locker: weapons of any kind, explosives, prohibited drugs, illegal or illicit
items or substances or other items deemed by ZMS THE ACADEMY to be harmful, offensive or
inappropriate.

ZMS THE ACADEMY may in its sole discretion carry out or authorize searches/inspections for any reason
. The following is a partial listing of examples of when ZMS THE ACADEMY will exercise its discretion
without notice:

a. Lockerabandonment.
b. Suspected contents that may be illegal, illicit, or deemed by the school to be harmful, offensive,
or inappropriate.

At the request of or generally in cooperation with law enforcement authorities.

Investigative purposes related to suspected or alleged criminal, illegal, or inappropriate activities.

Risk to the general good of the school.

Risk to the general good of the student or student population.

Unregistered locker.

Physical damage to or defacing of the locker.

Odors (spoiled/rancid food, garbage, or smelly contents).

Locker maintenance.

oS00

ZMS THE ACADEMY works with the local law enforcement authorities and maintains the right in the
school's sole discretion to allow law enforcement to carry out specific and random searches/ inspections
of locker contents. Such searches/inspections may be carried out with or without notice to or in the
presence of the locker’s occupant. Such police activity may include but is not limited to: random drug or
weapon searches of lockers, backpacks, book bags, briefcases, containers, jackets, and winter coats.

COACHING AND CORRECTIVE ACTION
All students shall be respectful and non-discriminatory towards others.

The following actions may be inspected for noncompliance:

Attendance and Documentation of Time Guidelines: Attendance, promptness, and
documentation of work are cornerstones of successful work practices . Future Professionals may be
clocked out, released for the day, or suspended when they do not comply with guidelines.

Professional Image Standards: Professional image standards were created to provide guidance
and direction to Future Professionals as they develop their professional image

Sanitation and Personal Service Procedures: Sanitation and personal service procedures have
been established to comply with state laws and to provide a safe and clean service environment.

Communication Guidelines and Professional Conduct: It is the school's responsibility to provide a
learning environment that is professional, positive, and conducive to learning. Staff and students all
contribute to a mutually respectful learning environment that fosters effective communication and
professional conduct

Learning Participation Guidelines: The learning participation guidelines have been established to
provide a creative, fun, interactive, and collaborative learning environment that empowers students.
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POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES

Accommodation Procedures for Students with Disabilities
Grievance Procedures for Students who have Complaints on the Basis of Disability

*kkkkkkkkkkk

Accommodation Procedures for Students with Disabilities

Non-Discrimination Policy — It is the policy of ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ
AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 to comply with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, and
the Americans with Disabilities Act, which are federal laws that prohibit discrimination on the basis of
disability.ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
90033 does not discriminate on the basis of disability against a qualified person with a disability in
regard to application, acceptance, grading, advancement, training, discipline, graduation, or any other
aspect related to a student’s participation in a program of ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E
CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033. This applies to all students and applicants for
admission to the school.ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 will provide reasonable accommaodations to students with disabilities.

Definition of an Individual with a Disability — An individual with a disability is a person who

has a physical or mental impairment, which substantially limits one or more major life activities of

the

individual. These persons are protected by Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with
Disabilities Act (ADA)..Individuals with a record of such an impairment and individuals who are regarded
as having such an impairment are also protected by these federal laws. The definition of “disability” in
Section 504 and the ADA should be interpreted to allow for broad coverage.

The phrase physical impairment means a physiological disorder or condition, a cosmetic disfigurement, or
an anatomical loss, that affects one or mare of the following body systems: neurological; musculoskeletal;
special sense organs (which would include speech organs that are not respiratory such as vocal cords,
soft palate, tongue, etc ), respiratory, including speech organs; cardiovascular; reproductive; digestive;
genitourinary; hemic and lymphatic; skin; and endocrine .Examples include, but are not limited to,
orthopedic, visual, speech, and hearing impairments, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, muscular dystrophy,
multiple sclerosis, cancer, heart disease, diabetes, HIV disease (Symptomatic or asymptomatic),
tuberculosis, drug addiction, and alcoholism.

The phrase mental impairment means any mental or psychological disorder, including but not limited

to, mental retardation, organic brain syndrome, emotional or mental illness, specific learning disabilities,
post-traumatic stress disorder, depression, and bipolar disorder. The phrase substantially limits must

be interpreted without regard to the ameliorative effects of mitigating measures, other than ordinary
eyeglasses or contact lenses.Mitigating measures are things like medications, prosthetic devices,
assistive devices, or learned behavioral or adaptive neurological modifications that an individual may
use to eliminate or reduce the effects of an impairment. These measures cannot be considered when
determining whether a person has a substantially limiting impairment.An impairment that is episodic or
in remission is a disability if, when in an active phase, it would substantially limit a major life activity . For
example, a student with bipolar disorder would be covered if, during manic or depressive episodes, the
student is substantially limited in a major life activity (e .g., thinking, concentrating, neurological function,
or brain function).

The phrase major life activities means functions such as caring for one’s self, performing manual tasks,
seeing, hearing, eating, sleeping, walking, standing, lifting, bending, speaking, breathing, learning,
reading, concentrating, thinking, communicating and working.Major life activities also include major
bodily functions such as functions of the immune system, normal cell growth, and digestive, bowel,
bladder, neurological, brain, respiratory, circulatory, endocrine, and reproductive functions.
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The School’s Responsibilities to Students with Disabilities

The school must provide academic adjustments, auxiliary aids, and reasonable accommodations to
students with disabilities, that are necessary to ensure students are not denied the benefits of, or
excluded from participation in, the school's program.

The school must make modifications to its academic requirements that are necessary to ensure that the
requirements do not discriminate against students with disabilities. The school must ensure that it
provides physical access to students with disabilities.It is also the responsibility of ZMS THE ACADEMY
2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 to permit students with
disabilities to use service dogs on each campus.

The person responsible for implementing these responsibilities at ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST
CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 campus is: Judy Caspe reachable at
zmsacademy@gmail.com.

When a student informs a school staff member that the student is disabled, or needs accommodations
or assistance due to disability, the staff member will refer the student to the school's ADA Compliance
Coordinator.

Procedures for Students and the School

Documentation of disability by students — Students with disabilities who wish to request reasonable
accommodations (including academic adjustments, auxiliary aids, or modifications) must contact the

ADA Compliance Coordinator named above for their campus. Students must provide documentation of
disability from an appropriate professional, which depends on the nature of the disability.For example, a
student with a psychological disability should provide documentation from a psychologist, psychiatrist, or
social worker. The documentation submitted must be within the last 12 months, if older than 12 months
the student must provide current documentation from the appropriate professional.

This documentation may be the student’s existing medical records, or reports created by the student’s
medical provider or an appropriate professional who conducts an assessment of the student.It may

be documentation from the student’s past educational records such as reports from teachers or school
psychologists, or records that show the student’s educational history, disability assessment, and the
accommodations the student previously received.It may be records from the state department of
rehabilitation or the U.S.Department of Veterans Affairs.Documentation should be current and relevant,
but that does not mean that a recent report or record is needed in all cases.Some disabilities are stable
lifelong conditions and historic documentation will be sufficient. Some disabilities are readily apparent
and observable and thus little or no documentation will be needed.

The documentation of disability is kept at all times in a locked, private file at the school. To protect
privacy, direct access to this documentation is by written consent only. The ADA Compliance Coordinator
will determine what information needs to be shared with ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E
CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 staff

and Learning Leaders, on an “as-needed basis,’in order to facilitate academic accommodations or other
services.

Student requests for accommodations and interactive discussion with ADA Compliance
Coordinator — Students who plan to request accommodations should contact the ADA Compliance
Coordinator promptly, so there is time for the Coordinator to review the student’s documentation and
discuss accommodations with the student before the student begins the class or program for which
the accommodation is being requested. When a student contacts the Coordinator, the Coordinator will
keep arecord of the dates and contacts with the student, including a record of the accommodations
requested by the student. Students who have questions about the type of documentation they need
to provide should contact the Coordinator to discuss this.
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The student and the ADA Compliance Coordinator will discuss how the student’s impairment impacts
the student, how the student expects the impairment to impact the student in the school's program,
the types of accommodations the student has previously received (if any), and the accommodations
being requested by the student from the school. The Coordinator and the student should discuss
accommodations needed during all phases of the program (Core, Adaptive and Creative), and for
classroom instruction, skills-based instruction, and skills practice.

The documentation (or observation) must show the nature of the student’s disability and how it limits a
major life activity. The accommodations requested by the student should be related to these limitations.
There are no pre-set accommodations for specific disabilities . Instead, the Coordinator and the student
must discuss and determine what the student’s limitations are, and how they can be accommodated.

Here are some examples:

@ Astudent with an orthopedic disability may need cushioned floor mats and scheduled times to sit
down. These students may also need particular kinds of chairs.

@ Astudent with a learning disability or attention deficit disorder may need extra time to take tests,
such as ninety minutes to take a test instead of the sixty minutes allowed to other students. These
students may need to take their tests in a location that is quiet and has no distractions, such as an
office rather than the classroom.

@ Astudent with a learning disability or psychological disability may need a note taker, a copy of the
instructor’s notes or presentation, or to use a tape recorder during instruction.

@ Astudent with post-traumatic stress disorder or an anxiety disorder may need to take periodic leaves
of absence, or may need to structure their program so that it is scheduled over a longer period of
time than usual. These students may need to take breaks in a quiet room during skills practice.

@ Astudent with a hearing impairment may need instructors to use voice amplification systems or may
need the school to provide a sign language interpreter.

@ A student with diabetes may need periodic breaks to check his or her blood sugar level.

Decision about accommodations, and ensuring implementation of accommodations —

The ADA Compliance Coordinator (Program Director) will decide the accommodations to be provided
to the student. The Coordinator will consider any past accommodations that have been effective for the
student, and will give primary consideration to the type of accommodation requested by the student.
Alternate accommodations may be provided if there is an alternative accommodation that would be
equally effective for the student.

The Coordinator will make a decision no later than two weeks after the student states the request for an
accommodation .If the student does not submit documentation of a disability at the time the student
requests an accommodation, the Coordinator will make a decision no later than two weeks after the
student provides the documentation.

The Coordinator will list the approved accommodations in writing and provide this to the student. The
Coordinator will inform the appropriate Learning Leaders and school staff of the accommodations they
are responsible for providing to the student, how to provide the accommodations, and when to provide
the accommodations. The Coordinator will keep a written record of these contacts about the student’s
accommodations. The Coordinator will verify that the accommodations are being implemented for

the student through direct observation, report by the student, and/or documentation from the school
staff.If the student informs the Coordinator that an accommodation is not being fully implemented, the
Coordinator will immediately intervene with relevant staff members to ensure the accommodation is
provided to the student.

After accommodations have been approved for a student, the Coordinator will make an appointment
with the student for a time when the student’s program is expected to change. The purpose of the
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appointment is to determine whether the student's accommodations should be changed when the
student’s program phase changes, or the type of instruction changes.

Additional factors — The school is not obligated to provide accommodations that would result in a
fundamental alteration of the school's program.In this case, the Coordinator will promptly search for
an equally effective alternate accommodation for the student that would not fundamentally alter the
program. The Coordinator will offer the alternate accommodation to the student.

The school is not obligated to provide accommodations that would result in an undue financial or
administrative burden on the school.If the Coordinator decides that a requested accommodation might
impose such a burden, the Coordinator will discuss the issue with the School Owner, who will take into
account the overall financial resources of the school. The School Owner will make the final decision, in
accord with the requirements of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities
Act.If the School Owner determines that the requested accommodation would be an undue burden, the
Coordinator will promptly search for an equally effective alternate accommodation for the student and
offer the alternate accommodation to the student.

Appeals by Students

A student may appeal any accommodation decision made by the ADA Compliance Coordinator if the
student disagrees with the decision.Here are some examples: A student may appeal the Coordinator’s
decision to deny a requested accommodation . A student may appeal a decision by the Coordinator to
provide an alternate accommaodation rather than the specific accommodation requested by a student.
A student may appeal a decision by the Coordinator that the student has not presented sufficient
documentation to support the requested accommodation . A student may also file an appeal when

a school staff member fails to provide an approved accommodation, and the Coordinator has not
effectively addressed the situation.

When a student wishes to file an appeal, the student must notify ZMS THE ACADEMY and reach Judy
Caspe, Program Director zmsacademy@gmail.com. The student must explain his/her reasons for disagreeing
with the Coordinator’s decision or explain how the student’s accommodation is not being implemented
and submit any relevant documentation.

Within five calendar days of receiving a student’s appeal, the School Director will meet with the student
and the Coordinator to discuss the issues presented by the student’s appeal.If appropriate, the School
Director will also discuss the issues with other school staff members.

When a student appeals a decision made by the Coordinator, the School Director will determine whether
the Coordinator’s decision should be revised or remain the same.|f the decision is revised, the School
Director will ensure that the revised decision is implemented.

When a student files an appeal on the basis that an approved accommodation is not being implemented,
the School Director will determine whether the accommodation is being fully implemented, and if it is
not, ensure that the accommodation isimplemented . The School Director will inform the student of the
decision in writing no later than fourteen days after receiving the student’s appeal.

Training and Mediation Responsibilities of the ADA Compliance Coordinator

The ADA Compliance Coordinator at each campus will deliver disability training sessions for all campus
staff members at least once each calendar year.In these training sessions, the Coordinator will explain
the basic requirements of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities

Act as they apply to the school. The Coordinator will address: the school's responsibility to provide
accommodations to students with disabilities; how to appropriately interact with students with particular
kinds of disabilities; how to go about implementing accommodations that the Coordinator has approved
for students; how to support students with disabilities in the school's programs;
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that students with disabilities cannot be penalized for using approved accommodations . The Coordinator
will keep a record of each training session.

The Coordinator may also provide trainings for students who wish to learn about the school’s process for
providing accommodations, or about the school's grievance procedures.

To help ensure that future campus staff members and students are aware of the school’s policies, the
Coordinator will make sure that the Accommodations Procedures and the Grievance Procedures are
continually posted at the campus.

The Coordinator will assist students with disabilities who have concerns about implementation of their
accommodations or their treatment by the school staff members or other students.At the request of

a student, the Coordinator will informally mediate or attempt to resolve issues related to the student’s
disability.If this informal process does not resolve the student’s concerns, the student may file a grievance
as described in Section Il below.

Procedures for Students who have Complaints on the Basis of Disability

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 is
responsible for providing a grievance procedure to students who feel they have been discriminated is of
disability. The grievance procedure provides students the opportunity to file a complaint.

The school then has the responsibility to objectively investigate the allegations in the complaint and
determine whether the student has been discriminated against.

If the school determines that discrimination occurred, the school must take appropriate steps to correct
the discrimination and prevent it from advancing.

If the student feels he or she has been discriminated against because the student is disabled, or because
the student is regarded as being inferior, or because the student has a record of being disabled.

A student may also file a grievance if the student feels that he or she has been retaliated against for
advocacy accountability.

When other students refer to the student in a derogatory way related to the student’s disability.
A student's request for accommodation was denied by the school, or an instructor did not implement a
decision approved by the school.

A student must file a grievance complaint within 90 days of the date the discriminatory act occurred,
or within 90 days of the end of an informal attempt to resolve the complaint, whichever is later. The
complaint must be written.In the complaint, the student must describe what happened and the dates
the acts took place, and state who was involved. The student should explain why the student believes
the acts were taken based on disability. The student should describe or provide copies of any relevant
documents or e-mails, if available.

A student may ask the Program Director to try and informally resolve the student’s complaint before the
student files a written complaint.However, the student is not required to try informal resolution before
filing a written complaint.

The complaint must be sent to Judy Caspe at ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 E Cesar E Chavez Avenue LA CA
90033.

The school has the right to contract with an independent investigator to conduct any investigation. Within
seven days, the School Director will discuss the allegations in the complaint with the student, and obtain
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any needed additional information from the student. The School Director will obtain from the student the
names of any persons the student believes will have relevant information.

The School Director will gather all information necessary to determine what took place. To do so, the
School Director will interview any school staff members or students who engaged in the actions or may
have witnessed the actions that the student is complaining about.

The School Director will interview persons that the student stated may have relevant information . The
School Director will gather any relevant documents such as e-mails, student work, or instructor’s records.
During the investigation, the School Director will disclose the complaint, and confidential information
about the student, only to the extent necessary to investigate the allegations of the complaint.

After reviewing all the evidence gathered, the School Director will determine whether the student was
treated differently from other students based on disability; or whether the student was harassed based
on disability; or whether the student was retaliated against because the student advocated on the
basis of disability; or whether the student was denied an accommodation that the school should have
provided to the student.

Written Decision — The School Director will provide the student with a written decision no later than
sixty days after the date the student filed the complaint. The decision will state the determination

reached by the School Director at the conclusion of the investigation, and the reasons the School Director
reached that determination.If the School Director concludes that the student was discriminated against
on the basis of disability, the decision will state the types of remedial action that the school has taken

or will take to correct the discrimination. The decision will also state how the school will prevent the
discriminatory acts from occurring again.

Appeals by Students — If the student who filed the complaint disagrees with the decision made by the
School Director, or disagrees with the remedial action specified, the student may appeal the decision
to the School Owner.

The appeal must be written and sent to:
Judy Caspe, Program Director 2228 E Cesar E Chavez Avenue LA CA 90033

The appeal must state the specific reasons that the student disagrees with the decision.Appeals must be
filed no later than thirty days after the student receives the written decision from the School Director.

The School Owner will review all the information provided by the student in the appeal, the decision by
the School Director, the interview records made by the School Director, and the documents gathered
by the School Director. The School Owner will issue a written decision to the student within fourteen
days after receiving the student’s appeal. The School Owner will determine whether the decision should
be revised or remain the same.If the School Owner determines that the decision should be revised, the
School Owner will ensure that any necessary changes in the remedies are implemented

Department of Education

Students or the school staff who have questions or concerns about disability issues may contact the
Office for Civil Rights (OCR), U S.Department of Education.OCR enforces Section 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act as they apply to postsecondary educational
institutions.

The OCR National Headquarters is located at:
U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights

Lyndon Baines Johnson Department of Education Bldg.
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
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Washington, DC 20202-1100

Telephone: (800) 421-3481

FAX: (202) 453-6012; TDD: (877)521-2172
E-mail: OCR@ed.gov

OCR has regional offices located throughout the country. Tofind the office for our state, check the OCR
website at: http://wdcrobcolp01.ed.gov/CFAPPS/OCR/contactus.cfm, or call the telephone number
above.

STUDENT CONSUMER INFORMATION

Provisions of the Higher Education Amendment of 1976 require that effective July 1, 1977, each
postsecondary institution that receives federal financial aid funds must make certain student consumer
information available to any enrolled or prospective student who request such information.

This section compiled by the financial aid office staff attempts to meet the requirements.

The school is approved for and participates in federal PELL Grants, Subsidized Direct Loans, Unsubsidized
Direct Loans, and Parent PLUS loans . Such programs help to defray the costs of attending school for those
students eligible for financial aid consideration.

Financial aid is any mechanism that reduces out-of-pocket costs that the students and/or parents must
pay to obtain a specific postsecondary education . Put differently, financial aid is monies made available to
help students meet the cost of the program .Financial aid includes grants and need and non-need loans.

Need-based financial aid is available to families that demonstrate a financial need for additional
resources. The formula below is used to determine how much financial need a student has:

Cost of Attendance —Expected Family Contribution (EFC) = Financial Need

Non-need is the difference between the cost of education and financial need.

Based on these calculations, federal aid may not cover all the cost of attendance.

All financial aid is awarded to students that qualify meeting the following criteria:

Citizen or permanent noncitizen alien recipient codes that are eligible are 1- 151, 1-55 1, and 1-94.

Ineligible codes include F-1, F-2, J-1, and J-2, students that are in federal loan default, grant
overpayment, or male students that meet the Selective Service registration criteria, but are not
registered

STUDENT AND EMPLOYEE ANTI-HARASSMENT AND DISCRIMINATION POLICY

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 is
committed to providing a work and school environment free of unlawful harassment or discrimination.
In furtherance of this commitment, all students and are required to take our mandatory Sexual
Harassment and Prevention Training upon starting in school.

Employees are required to take the training on an annual basis. School policy prohibits harassment or
discrimination based on race, religion, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sex (including pregnancy,
childbirth or related medical conditions), military or veteran status, physical or mental disability, medical
condition, marital status, age, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity or expression, genetic
information or any other basis protected by the federal, state or local law.

Additionally, in accordance with Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, ZMS THE ACADEMY
2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 prohibits discrimination

50| Page



based on sex, which includes sexual harassment and sexual violence, and ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST
CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 has jurisdiction over Title IX complaints.

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033's anti-
harassment policy applies to all persons involved in the operation of ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST
CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033, and prohibits unlawful harassment by
any employee of ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033, as well as students, customers, third parties, vendors or anyone who does business
with ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033.
It further extends to prohibit unlawful harassment by or against students.

Any employee, student or contract worker who violates this policy will be subject to disciplinary action.
To the extent a customer, vendor or other person with whom ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E
CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 does business engages in unlawful harassment or
discrimination, ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 will take appropriate corrective action.

The grievance procedure will provide that complaints may be filed about discrimination in any academic,
educational, extracurricular, athletic or other programs operated or sponsored by, or related to, ZMS THE
ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033, whether the
programs take place on the campus of a school, during a school-sponsored field trip, or other off-campus
events.

As part of ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA
90033's commitment to providing a harassment-free working and learning environment, this policy shall
be disseminated to ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 community through publications, ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E
CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 website, new employee orientations, student
orientations, and other appropriate channels of communication.

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 will
provide training to key staff members to enable ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ
AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 to handle any allegations of discrimination and
harassment, including sexual harassment or sexual violence, promptly and effectively. ZMS THE
ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 will respond
quickly to all reports, and will take appropriate action to prevent, to correct, and if necessary, to discipline
behavior that violates this policy.

Definitions
Sex Discrimination is defined as treating individuals differently on the basis of sex with regard to any

aspect of services, benefits, or opportunities ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ
AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 provides such as:

Treat a person differently in determining whether he or she satisfies any requirement or condition for
the provision of an aid, benefit, or service.

Provide different aid, benefits, or services or provide aid, benefits, or services in a different manner;
Deny any person an aid, benefit, or service

Subject any person to separate or different rules of behavior, sanctions, or other treatment
providing an aid, benefit, or service
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Aid or perpetuate discrimination against any person by providing significant assistance to any agency,
organization, or person which discriminates on the basis of sex in providing any aid, benefit or service to
students or employees;

Otherwise limit any person in the enjoyment of any right, privilege, advantage, or opportunity

Sexual Harassment is defined as unwelcome conduct of a sexual nature. It includes unwelcome sexual
advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal, nonverbal, or physical conduct of a sexual nature.
Sexual harassment is conduct that explicitly or implicitly affects a person's employment or education or
interferes with a person's work or educational performance or creates an environment such that a
reasonable person would find the conduct intimidating, hostile or offensive.

Sexual Violence is defined as physical sexual acts engaged in without the consent of the other person or
when the other person is unable to consent to the activity. Sexual violence includes sexual assault, rape,
battery, and sexual coercion; domestic violence; dating violence; and stalking.

Domestic Violence is defined as abuse committed against and adult or a minor who is a spouse or former
spouse, cohabitant or former cohabitant, or someone with whom the abuser has a child, has an existing
dating or engagement relationship, or has had a former dating or engagement relationship.

Dating Violence is defined as abuse committed by a person who is or has been in a social relationship of a
romantic or intimate nature with the victim.

Sexual Assault occurs when a physical sexual activity is engaged in without the consent of the other
person or when the other person is unable to consent to the activity. The activity or conduct may include
physical force, violence, threat, or intimidation, ignoring the objections of the other person, causing the
other person’s intoxication or incapacitation through the use of drugs or alcohol, and taking advantage of
the other person’s incapacitation (including voluntary intoxication).

Stalking is behavior in which a person repeatedly engages in conduct directed at a specific person that
places that person in reasonable fear of his or her safety or the safety of others.

Consent is informed, voluntary and revocable. Consent is an affirmative, unambiguous, and conscious
decision by each participant to engage in mutually agreed-upon sexual activity. It must be given without
coercion, force, threats, or intimidation. Consent must be ongoing throughout a sexual encounter and
can be revoked at any time. Once consent it withdrawn, the sexual activity must stop immediately.

Prohibited Conduct

This policy strictly prohibits sexual or other unlawful harassment or discrimination as well as sexual
violence, as defined above. Sexual or other unlawful harassment or discrimination includes any verbal,
physical or visual conduct based on sex, race, age, national origin, disability, color or any other legally
protected basis if: submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition
of an individual's education or employee submission to or rejection of such conduct by an

individual is used as a basis for decisions concerning that individual’s education or employment; or it
creates a hostile or offensive environment, which means the alleged conduct is sufficiently serious

to limit or deny a student’s or ability to participate or benefit from the student’s education program.
Unlawful harassment or discrimination may include racial epithets, slurs and derogatory remarks,
stereotypes, jokes, posters, or cartoons based on race, national origin, age, disability, marital status, sex,
or other legally protected categories.

Sexual harassment is conduct based on sex, whether directed towards a person of the opposite or same

sex, and may include explicit sexual propositions, sexual innuendo, suggestive comments, sexually
oriented “kidding” or “teasing”, practical jokes, jokes about or displays of obscene printed or visual
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material, questions about sexual fantasies, preferences or history, and physical contact such as patting,
pinching, or intentionally brushing against another person's body.

Gender-based harassment, including acts of verbal, nonverbal or physical aggression, intimidation, or
hostility based on sex or sex-stereotyping are strictly prohibited, even if those acts do not involve conduct
of a sexual nature.

Complaint/Grievance Procedure

The following grievance procedures shall be used to address sex discrimination complaints filed by
students/employees or complaints filed on their behalf against employees, other students, or third
parties.

If you believe that you have experienced or witnessed harassment or sexual violence, notify your
Learning Leader, supervisor, ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS
ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 Owner, or the Title IX Coordinator as soon as possible after the incident.
Do not allow an inappropriate situation to continue by not reporting it, regardless of who is creating the
situation.No employee, contract worker, student, vendor, or other person who does business with ZMS
THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 is exempt
from the prohibitions in this policy. Supervisors will refer all harassment complaints to the Title IX
Coordinator for student-related complaints and to ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ
AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 Owner if the complaint involves an employee.

In order to facilitate the investigation, your complaint should include details of the incident or incidents,
names of the individuals involved and names of any witnesses. A sex discrimination complaint should be
filed within 180 days from the date of the alleged discriminatory incident. Upon receiving any report of
discrimination, including harassment, regardless of the filing date or when the school receives notice, the
school will take steps to prevent recurrence of discrimination and correct its discriminatory effects on the
student, and on others, if appropriate .. All documentation pertaining to the complaint/grievance will be
confidential. The complaint/grievance once received will be maintained in the student’s and/or
employee’s permanent file, which has limited staff access, this includes verbal complaints.

All complaints involving a student will be referred to the campus’s Title IV Coordinator. The Title IV
Coordinator is listed below and has the responsibility of overseeing all Title IX complaints and identifying
and addressing any patterns or systemic problems that arise during the review of such complaints.

The Grievant/Complainant may use the Title IX Grievance Form, but it is not required, to file a Title IV
discrimination complaint.

Title IV Coordinator: Program Director:

Noemi Perez Judy Caspe

ZMS THE ACADEMY ZMS THE ACADEMY
zmsacademy@gmail.com zmsacademy@gmail.com

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033
ensures that its employee(s) designated to serve asTitle IX Coordinator(s) and Program Director have
adequate training on what constitutes sexual harassment, including sexual violence, confidentiality
requirements and that they understand how ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ
AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 900335 grievance procedures operate.
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Investigation of Complaints

In response to all complaints, ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS
ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 promises prompt and equitable resolution through a reliable and
impartial investigation of complaints, including the opportunity for both parties to present witnesses or
other evidence.

The time necessary to conduct an investigation will vary based on complexity but will generally be
completed within sixty (60) days of receipt of the complaint. If a complainant requests confidentiality,
ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 will
take all reasonable steps to investigate and respond to the complaint consistent with the request. If a
complainant insists that his or her name or other identifiable information not be disclosed to the alleged
perpetrator, ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 will inform the complainant that its ability to respond may be limited.

The preponderance of the evidence standard will apply to investigations, meaning ZMS THE ACADEMY
2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 will evaluate whether it is
more likely than not that the alleged conduct occurred . Both parties will receive written notice of the
outcome of the complaint within 60 days of receipt of complaint. Written notice will include:

Whether ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 found that the alleged conduct occurred, and whether it constituted
discrimination.

Any individual remedies offered or provided to the complainant or any sanctions imposed on the
respondent that directly relate to the complainant. The respondent’s version will not include
individual remedies offered or provided to the complainant unless the remedy directly involves
the respondent.

Any other steps ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 took to eliminate the hostile environment, if ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST
CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 found one to exist, and
prevent recurrence.

During the investigation, ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS
ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 will provide interim measures, as necessary, to protect the safety and
wellbeing of students and/or employees involved. Examples of temporary and permanent
measures to protect the complainant as necessary are:

No contact order

Change academic situations as appropriate with minimum burden on the complainant
Counseling

Health and mental services

Escort services

Academic support

Retake a program or withdraw without penalty

If ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033
determines that unlawful harassment or sexual violence has occurred, immediate appropriate
corrective action will be taken in accordance with the circumstances involved, and ZMS THE ACADEMY
2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 will take steps to prevent
the recurrence of any harassment or discrimination.Any employee determined by ZMS THE ACADEMY
2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 to be responsible for
unlawful harassment or discrimination will be subject to appropriate disciplinary action, up to and
including termination.
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Remedies for student-related claims may include, but are not limited to, an order to stay away, suspension
or expulsion.

To initiate a criminal investigation, reports of sexual violence should be made to“911” or local law
enforcement. The criminal process is separate from ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ
AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033's disciplinary process.

To the extent that an employee or contract worker is not satisfied with ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST
CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033's handling of a harassment or
discrimination complaint, he or she may also contact the appropriate state or federal enforcement
agency for legal relief.

In California, employees may notify the Department of Fair Employment and Housing by consulting the
government agency listings in the telephone book or online at www .dfeh.ca.gov. The Department of Fair
Employment and Housing will, in appropriate cases, prepare and investigate complaints of harassment
or discrimination; after a hearing, the Fair Employment and Housing Commission may award damages to
individuals actually injured as a result of such conduct, as well as other remedies.

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033
should make appropriate referrals to law enforcement.ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESARE
CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 will also notify complainants of the right to
proceed with a criminal investigation and a Title IX complaint simultaneously.

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 will
not wait for the criminal investigation or criminal proceeding to be concluded before beginning its own
investigation

Retaliation Prohibited

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033
prohibits any form of retaliation, intimidation or harassment against any individual who filed or
otherwise participated in the filing or investigation of a complaint of discrimination. Any individual who
believes he/she has been subjected to retaliation may file a separate complaint under this procedure.

Reporting Requirements

Victims of sexual misconduct should be aware that School administrators must issue timely warnings for
incidents reported to them that pose a substantial threat of bodily harm or danger to other members

of the campus community. ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS
ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 will make every effort to ensure that a victim's name and other
identifying information is not disclosed, while still providing enough information for community
members to make safety decisions in light of the danger. ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E
CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 serves the right to notify parents/guardians of
dependent students regarding any health or safety risk, or a change in student status.

Additional Information
ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033
does not allow conflicts of interest (real or perceived) by those handling the procedures. The school

does maintain all documentation of any proceeding. The school will inform the students at regular
intervals of the status of the investigation. The school will disallow evidence of past relationships.
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Employees should contact ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES,
CALIFORNIA 90033 Director for more information or any questions related to this policy. Students may
contact the Title IX Coordinator with any questions related to this policy. In addition, the U S.Department
of Education Office for Civil Rights (“OCR”) investigates complaints of discrimination, including
harassment of students in educational programs or activities. This agency may serve as a neutral fact
finder and will attempt to facilitate the voluntary resolution of disputes with the parties. For more
information, visit the OCR website at:

www? .ed.gov/about/offices/list/ocr/index.html.

SEXUAL HARASSMENT POLICY

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 is
committed to maintaining a working and learning environment that provides for fair and equitable
treatment, including freedom from sexual harassment. This policy covers anyone who engages in
sexual harassment on school property or at school activities.

Sexual harassment is defined as unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal
and/or physical conduct of a sexual nature, when:

Submission to the conduct or communication is either explicitly or implicitly made a term or
condition of an individual's employment, work opportunity, education, or other benefit;

Submission to or rejection of the conduct or communication is used as a factor for employment
decisions or other school-related decisions affecting an individual; and/or

Such conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an
individual's work or school performance or creates an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work or
school environment.

Sexual harassment can occur between staff to student, student to staff, student to student, staff to staff,
female to male, male to female, female to female, and male to male.Administration will take prompt,
equitable, and remedial action on reports and complaints that come to the attention of school personnel,
either formally or informally. Allegations of criminal misconduct will be reported to the appropriate law
enforcement agency.

Sexual harassment may include but is not limited to:

Verbal harassment or abuse of a sexual nature

Subtle pressure for sexual activity

Inappropriate or unwelcome touching, patting, or pinching of a sexual nature

Intentional brushing against a student’s or an employee’s body

Demanding sexual favors accompanied by implied or overt threats concerning an individual’'s
employment or educational status

Demanding sexual favors accompanied by implied or overt promises of preferential treatment with
regard to an individual's employment or educational status

Use of sexually or gender-degrading words or comments, verbal or written (e .g., graffiti)
Display in the school, on school grounds, or at school-sponsored events of sexually suggestive
pictures

Leering of a sexual nature.
Spreading of sexual rumors.

Engaging in sexual harassment will result in appropriate discipline or other appropriate sanctions against
offending students, staff, or contractors . Anyone else engaging in sexual harassment on school property or at
school activities will have their access to school property and activities restricted or revoked, as appropriate. The
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school shall respect the confidentiality of the complainant and the individual(s) against whom the complaint is
filed as much as possible, consistent with the school's legal obligations and the necessity to investigate the
allegations and take disciplinary action when the conduct has occurred.

Retaliation is prohibited against any person who makes a complaint or is a witness under this policy and will
result in appropriate disciplinary action against the person responsible for the retaliation.Individuals who
knowingly report or corroborate false allegations will be subject to appropriate disciplinary action.

Each staff member is responsible to immediately report alleged discrimination and/or harassment to his/ her
supervisor or other appropriate school personnel. Staff members who fail to take prompt action to report
allegations or violation(s) of this policy may be subject to disciplinary action up to and including termination.

HARASSMENT, INTIMIDATION, BULLYING, AND DISCRIMINATION POLICY

ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 is
committed to maintaining a working and learning environment that provides for fair and equitable
treatment, including freedom from bullying, harassment, intimidation, and discrimination of any kind

. This policy includes anyone who engages in such behavior on school property, at school activities, or
an electronic act through the use of cell phones, computers, personal communication devices, or other
electronic gaming devices.

Harassment, intimidation, bullying, and discrimination may take many forms, including verbal
aggression and name calling; physical aggression; relational aggression; graphic and written
statements, which may include use of cell phones, computers, or gaming systems; and other conduct
that may be physically threatening, harmful, or humiliating .Harassment, intimidation, bullying,

and discrimination include intent to harm, they are directed at a specific target, and typically

involve repeated incidents.Harassment, intimidation, bullying, and discrimination create a hostile
environment and will not be tolerated in ZMS THE ACADEMY Schools.

Such conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an
individual's work or school performance and creates an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work or
school environment . Harassment, intimidation, bullying and discrimination can interfere and limit
a person’s ability to participate in or benefit from the services, activities, or opportunities offered
by the ZMS THE ACADEMY School.Administration will take prompt, equitable, and remedial
action on all reports and complaints that come to the attention of school personnel, either
formally or informally. Allegations of criminal misconduct will be reported to the appropriate law
enforcement agency.

Engaging in harassment, intimidation, bullying, or discrimination will result in appropriate discipline
or other appropriate sanctions against offending students, staff, or contractors.Anyone engaging in
these behaviors on school property or at school activities will have their access to school property and
activities restricted or revoked, as appropriate.

The school shall respect the confidentiality of the complainant and the individual(s) against whom the
complaint is filed as much as possible, consistent with the school’s legal obligations, state laws and
policies, and the necessity to investigate the allegations and take disciplinary and/or restorative action
to resolve the problem.

Retaliation is prohibited against any person who makes a complaint or who is a witness under

this policy and will result in appropriate disciplinary action against the person responsible for the
retaliation .Individuals who knowingly report or corroborate false allegations will be subject to
appropriate disciplinary and/or restorative action . Each staff member is responsible for immediately
reporting alleged harassment, intimidation, bullying, or discrimination to his/her supervisor or other
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appropriate school personnel. Staff members who fail to take prompt action to report allegations or
violation(s) of this policy may be subject to disciplinary and/or restorative action up to and including
termination.

For a list of state anti-bullying laws and policies, please go to: www.stopbullying.gov.

COPYRIGHT MATERIAL POLICY FOR ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS
ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033

All material in this program is, unless otherwise stated, the property of ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228
EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033.

Reproduction or retransmission of the materials, in whole or in part, in any manner, without the prior
written consent of the copyright holder, is a violation of copyright law.

At ZMS THE ACADEMY 2228 EAST CESAR E CHAVEZ AVENUE, LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90033 we
abide by the provisions of the federal Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA), which requires prompt
response to claims of copyright infringement by copyright holders or their agents.

If the school receives an allegation of copyright infringement based on your use of the school's
computers, the matter will be referred to the School Director for further investigation.If you are found
responsible after meeting with the School Director, you are subject to disciplinary action including loss of
network access, suspension or termination from school, and/or restitution, or community service.

The Internet is an essential tool for our academic and everyday pursuits.Along with these benefits come
responsibilities.One of the most critical is conforming to the copyright laws governing music, movies,
games, and software over the Internet. You must have the consent of the copyright holder to make
copies.

The consequences of copyright infringement also extend outside of the school.Copyright holders

may assess civil liability and even criminal prosecution.Recently, the Recording Industry Association

of America (RIAA) has adopted the practice of sending schools pre-litigation settlement letters to be
forwarded to individuals offering them “the opportunity to resolve copyright infringement claims
agathism at a discounted rate”. Published reports indicate that the minimum settlement is $3,000.00 per
case.

Another reason to be careful with file-sharing programs is that the installation procedures for most of
them enable default open access worldwide to information on your system,; thus, the integrity of your
computer and personal information can be compromised through illegal file sharing, including making
you vulnerable to identity theft.

To facilitate student access to legal sources of music and video online, we have listed several sites below:

iTunes: This Apple store works with both Windows and Mac operating systems.Currently, over 99
percent of their song catalog is“unlocked,” meaning you can transfer the songs to any device or
computer you own.

eMusic.com: This site features mostly independent and jazz/blues music. They offer low prices for
signing up (up to 45 songs for free), and a good portion of their catalog can be purchased for about
$0.50to $0.89/song.

Netflix.com: Forabout $7.99/month, you can set up an online list of over 20,000 movies that can be
streamed directly to your computer.
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SOCIAL NETWORKING POLICY

ZMS THE ACADEMY respects the rights of students to use social media during their personal time . Social
media includes all forms of publicly accessible communications, which include, but are not limited to,
written and verbal communications (including podcast and video uploads) and all forms of electronic
communication including discussion groups, forums, news groups, e-mail distribution, blog postings,
and/or social networking sites (such as Facebook, My Space, Twitter, YouTube, Friendster, etc.). Students
are personally responsible for the content they publish on social networking sites. Students are expected
to treat each other with fairness and respect, consistent with the ZMS THE ACADEMY culture.

ZMS THE ACADEMY does not permit ethnic slurs, personal insults, obscenity, intimidation,
cyberbullying, or engaging in conduct that would be unbecoming.

ALCOHOL AND DRUG-FREE EDUCATIONAL FACILITY POLICY

The School is concerned about the use of alcohol and drugs in the educational facility. This concern is
based upon the effect that those substances have on a person's judgment, performance, safety, and
health.

The School prohibits the possession, use, or being under the influence of alcohol or an illegal substance
on School premises or at a School activity.

This prohibition includes drugs which (a) are not legally obtainable or (b) are legally obtainable but
have not been legally obtained. The prohibition also includes prescribed drugs not legally obtained and
prescribed drugs not being used for the prescribed purposes.

To enforce this policy, the School reserves the right to search all School premises, including classrooms,
administrative offices, corridors, storage rooms, and parking lots. The School also reserves the right to
search all employee and student property on School premises or at School activities, including but not
limited to backpacks, purses, handbags, lockers, and vehicles parked on School property. The School also
reserves the right to implement other measures necessary to deter abuse of this policy.Failure or refusal
to cooperate may be grounds for disciplinary action, including expulsion from the School or termination
for employees.

The School also will not object to law enforcement seeking to search School premises or employees and
students, and employee and student property on School property or at School activities.

REGULATORY AND ACCREDITATION AGENCIES
The following institutions license and regulate ZMS THE ACADEMY:

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE)

1747 Market Blvd Suite 225

Sacramento, CA 95834

(916) 574-8900

Toll-free: (888) 370-7589

The California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) approves schools
to operate in California. A school must be approved in order to offer programs,
classes and or courses to students in order to issue a bonafide certificate

of completion and or degree.

CA Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
(BBC) P.O.Box 944226
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Sacramento, CA 94244-2260

(916) 575-7281

Toll-free: (800) 952-5210

The California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) licenses Cosmetology,

Barbering, Esthetician, Manicuring and Electrology Schools in California.

A student must attend a BBC approved school in order to take the California State Board Licensing
Exam.

The Council On Occupational Education

7840 Roswell Road Suite 325

Atlanta, GA 30350

(770) 396-3898

The Council On Occupational Education is recognized by the
United States Department of Education as anational accrediting
agency for postsecondary vocational and technical schools.

If you are interested in reviewing or receiving a copy of the school's state license/approval or a copy of the
school’s letter of accreditation, please contact the School Director.

The campus crime report is provided to each student prior to enrollment. The campus crime statistics are
updated annually (October).If you are interested in reviewing or receiving a copy of the school's campus
crime report, please see the School Director and/or the financial aid office or a copy may be reviewed on
the school website..

GRIEVANCE POLICY

In the event a student has a concern or grievance that cannot be resolved with the student’s immediate
Program Director, the student must file the concern in written form. The complaint will then be referred to
the school's Management Team, which consists of the director, the school owners, sales leader, and
persons involved.

The team will receive and attempt to resolve each complaint or concern within 21 days of receiving the
written complaint.If more information is needed, a letter requesting the additional information will be
sent to the student.If no further information is needed, the team will determine a resolution and notify
the student in writing within 15 calendar days of the steps taken to correct the concern or an explanation
as to why no action was required. The school will maintain records of the complaint and response in
accordance with the published record retention policy.

Students will not be subject to adverse actions by any school official as a result of initiating a complaint.

Students should follow the above process; however, the student may, at any time, file a complaint with
the school's accrediting agency, or the U S.Department of Education.Students will not be subject to
retribution upon filing a complaint.

Students may refer unresolved grievances to:

CA Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
1747 N Market Blvd Suite 225

Sacramento, CA 95834

916-574-8900 tel

916-263-1897 fax
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Toll-free: (888) 370-7589
website: www .bppe.ca.gov

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC)
P.O.Box 944226

Sacramento, CA 94244-2260

(916) 575-7281

Toll-free: (800) 952-5210

website: barbercosmo.ca.gov

SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION AS OF January 15t 2020

Owner: ZMS THE ACADEMY, LLC

Program Director: Judy Caspe

Financial Aid Administrator: Noemi Perez

Administration: Claudia Arrezola

Instructors:

Ms Dolores Udave, CA Licensed Barber, CA Licensed Cosmetologist

Ms Noemi Perez, CA Licensed Manicurist, CA Licensed Barber

Mr Christian Alvarez, CA Licensed Barber, CA Licensed Cosmetologist, CA Licensed Manicurist
Mr Danny “D Boy” Rodriguez, CA Licensed Barber

Ms Susannah Mendez, CA Licensed Manicurist

Ms Lindsey Brown, CA Licensed Esthetician

Ms Judy Caspe: Ca Licensed Barber, Ca Licensed Cosmetologist, Ca Licensed Esthetician,
CA Licensed Manicurist, CA Registered Body Art Practitioner, Registered CPR Instructor
CA Department of Environmental Health Approved Blood Borne Pathogens Trainer

Mission Statement:
ZMS THE ACADEMY is dedicated to providing
quality, affordable and relevant vocational education
leading to personal and career success.

We wish you good learning, good skills and a rewarding prosperous career.

There are things that you:
1-have to do, 2-should do and 3-want to do
Make school something you really want to do

and then you will see tremendous success
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