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Disclaimer Statement 

Review all documents prior to signing  

All students will receive a Catalog prior to enrollment.   

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 

You are also encouraged to review the school performance fact sheet, which must be provided to you prior to 

signing an enrollment agreement.  

ACCORDING TO THE CALIFONIA BOARD OF BARBER AND COSMETOLOGY THE 

REQUIREMENTS FOR BECOMING A BARBER/COSMETOLOGIST IN CALIFORNIA ARE:  

The board shall admit to examination for a license as a barber/cosmetologist to practice barbering/cosmetologist 

any person who had made application to the board in proper form paid the required by this chapter and is qualified 

as follows:  

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age  

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its 

equivalent. (c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480 (d) Has done 

any of the following:  

(1) Completed a course in barbering/cosmetology from a school approved by the board  

(2) Completed an apprenticeship program in barbering/cosmetology approved by the board as conducted under 

the provisions of the Shelley Maloney Apprentice Labor Standards Act of 1939, Chapter 4 (commencing 

with Section 3070) of Division 3 of the Labor Code.  

(3) Practiced barbering/cosmetologist as defined in the chapter outside of this state for a period of time 

equivalent to the study and training of a qualified person who has completed a course in 

barbering/cosmetologist from a school the curriculum of which complied with requirements adopted by the 

board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training for 

qualifications under paragraph (1).  

(4) Holds a license as a cosmetologist in this state and has completed a barber/cosmetologist crossover course 

in a school approved by the board.  

(5) Completed a cosmetology course in a school approved by the board and has completed a 

barber/cosmetologist crossover course in a school approved by the board.  

(6) Completed comparable military training as documented by submission of Verification of Military 

Experience and Training (V-MET) records.  
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                              STATE OF CALIFORNIA STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND 

Disclosures 

               
“You must pay the state-imposed assessment for the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) if all of the following 

applies to you:  

  

1. You are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency 

program, and prepay all or part of your tuition either by cash, guaranteed student loans, or personal loans, and 2. 

Your total charges are not paid by any third-party payer such as an employer, government program or other payer 

unless you have a separate agreement to repay the third party.   

 You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if 

either of the following applies:  

  

1. You are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program, or  

2. Your total charges are paid by a third party, such as an employer, government program or other payer 

and you have no separate agreement to repay the third party.”   

“The State of California created the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic 

losses suffered by students in educational programs who are California residents, or are enrolled in a residency 

programs attending certain schools regulated by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education.  

You may be eligible for STRF if you are a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid 

tuition, paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:  

1. The school closed before the course of instruction was completed.  

2. The school’s failure to pay refunds or charges on behalf of a student to a third party for license fees or any 

other purpose, or to provide equipment or materials for which a charge was collected within 180 days before 

the closure of the school. 3. The school’s failure to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federally 

guaranteed student loan program as required by law or to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the school 

prior to closure in excess of tuition and other costs.  

4. There was a material failure to comply with the Act of this Division within 30 days before the school 

closed or, if the material failure began earlier than 30 days prior the closure, the period determined by the Bureau.  

5. An inability after diligent efforts to prosecute, prove, and collect on a       judgment against the institution 

for a violation of the Act.”  

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification 

number.  

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 94923, Education 

Code  
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LICENSING AND AFFILIATION  

  

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) are licensed 

by the State of California Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and Cosmetology.  

  

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) is a private 

institution and is licensed by the Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education.   

  

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) are approved 

to operate by Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education.  Our approval is valid until July 1st 2022.  

  

Any questions that a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the 

institution may be directed to the Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education at 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 

400, Sacramento, CA 95833 www.bppe.ca.gov  Tel (916) 431-6959  Fax (916)263-1897  

  

This catalog is updated annually. If changes in educational programs, educational services, procedures, or policies 

required to be included in the catalog by statute or regulation are implemented before the issuance of the annually 

updated catalog, those changes shall be reflected at the time they are made in supplements or inserts 

accompanying the catalog.  

   

DISCLAIMER STATEMENT  

  

This catalog has been prepared in accordance with State and Federal requirements: it is a publication of Moler 

Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber/cosmetologist College). It 

contains Statements of Policy and is intended only for information. It is not a contract and is not intended as such. 

It is subject to revision at the discretion of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges.   

  

Review all documents prior to signing  

  

All students will receive a College Catalog prior to enrollment.   

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 

You are encouraged to review the school performance fact sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing 

an enrollment agreement.  

  

  

  

   

   

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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PHILOSOPHY OF MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES 

(SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) 
  

MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES’ (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF 

MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) OBJECTIVE is to make a contribution to society by training students to 

become qualified, licensed hair professionals. We accomplish this by requiring students to comply with 

regulations regarding dress code, promptness, citizenship, and responsibility.  This is in addition to their actual 

performance in haircare service training. We feel that preparing students for professionalism in their field requires 

dress code, attendance, and a good attitude towards the public (patrons). We hope that our students will in turn 

become contributors to their communities as well as self-supporting citizens. 

  

 

MISSION OF MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND 

DIVISIONS OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) 

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges’ (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) mission is 

to graduate self-sustaining students into their new careers in the hair industry and prepare them for personal 

services industry job opportunities. No two students learn the same way and therefore it is necessary to give 

personal and individualized instruction. Our aim is to aid the student in learning responsibility, promptness, 

service, and discipline to help them gain the self-confidence they will need to begin new, successful personal 

services industry careers. 

 

 

EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES 

The primary objective of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber 

College) is to bring the student to entry level employment with a background in all services offered in a full-

service barber/cosmetologist shop and/or salon.  These include hair cutting and styling, facials, shampooing and 

scalp treatments, hair coloring, hair relaxing and weaving. Related areas also covered are customer psychology, 

product knowledge and shop management. The training is based upon requirements to pass the California State 

Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and Cosmetology’s examination. Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges 

(satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) believes it is also important that the curriculum be 

presented in a professional manner and with diligent study, the student will be prepared for employment in the 

hair industry as a CA state licensed barber/cosmetologist. Our instructors are professionals who are licensed by 

the CA State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and have extensive backgrounds as practitioners and business 

owners. 

  

  

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

7 | P a g e  

 

 

 

 

 

A.      HISTORY OF & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS 

OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE), A DIVISION OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE  

  

Moler Barber Colleges have been in operation for over a century.   

The college was established by A. B. Moler, who opened the first barber/cosmetologist college in the nation in 

Chicago,  

Illinois, in 1893.  With the success of his barber/cosmetologist college in Chicago, Moler turned his attention out 

west.  The  

National Barber School had been established just before the turn of the century at 218 "J" Street, in Sacramento, 

California.  Mr. Moler purchased the National Barber College in 1910, renaming it Moler Barber College.  He 

then established his system of training barber/cosmetologists here in California.  Moler Barber College of 

Oakland has been continuously operating since 1910.  

Mr. Moler eventually sold the college to the family of Henry H. Haight.  Haight was Governor of California 

from 1867 to 1871.  The Haight family operated the schools until 1932, at which time James A. Murray, Sr. 

purchased them. Murray already owned and operated the Moler Barber College in Oakland, and eventually 

opened Moler Barber Colleges in San Francisco, Fresno and Stockton, as well. The schools were sold to various 

owners.   

In July 2011, Moler Barber College in Oakland was sold to Frank and Christina Quattro, Owners of Quattro 

Barber Colleges Corp.  Then in January 2014, Moler Barber College of San Pablo, CA became a satellite location 

of the main school in Oakland. Moler Barber College of Hayward opened in November 2016 also as a satellite 

of main school in Oakland. In 2018, with much enthusiasm, Moler opened two Cosmetology schools:  a satellite 

in Hayward and a Branch in Santa Clara, California. In 2020, we added Esthetics to our programs to further 

support the expanded community need for personal hair, nail, skincare, makeup and facial services. 

Frank and Christina Quattro and the entire Moler Team are proud to be part of legacy of training the best 

California Barber, Cosmetologists and Estheticians in the State.
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B.    ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS  

  

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) requires the 

completion of high school or its equivalent for enrollment. The State of California requires the completion of the 

tenth (10th) grade in order to qualify to take the Barber/Cosmetologist Licensing Exam. Students may enroll in 

MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF 

MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) if they meet all the following requirements:   

1. High School diploma or Passed GED results  

2. Have completed the required application and paid the application fee.  At the time 

of enrollment an applicant must have:   

High School Diploma or Passed GED results  

Down payment if required for course  

Valid Picture I.D.    

Social Security Card   

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) practice no 

discrimination in any of its policies based on race, religion, creed, national origin, financial status, sex or age.   

  

NOTE: Pursuant to H.R. 2055, Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2012, enacted on December 23, 2011, 

amending Section 484(d) of the Higher Education Act (20 U.S.c. 1091(d), ATB students who first enroll after 

July 1, 2012, will no longer be eligible to receive Financial Aid. To be eligible for Financial Aid students must 

have a High School Diploma, GED, or proof of completion of a State approved home school program. Students 

who have previously taken an ATB test and who have been enrolled on that basis prior to July 1, 2012, remain 

eligible to receive Financial Aid.  

At the request of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber 

College) officials, students may be asked to verify the authenticity of the diploma, GED or official transcript 

prior to enroll. If the diploma cannot be verified, the student may be asked to provide a final high school or 

GED transcript showing the dates of entrance and graduation and the courses completed or in the case of GED, 

the test results. If a transcript is not available, the student will be required to take and pass a GED test prior to 

enrollment.   

  

CITIZENSHIP, GREEN CARD and VISA  

We require that, a student must either be a citizen of the United States, hold a valid green card to work in the U.S. 

or have a valid Student or work visa and be eligible to take the Barber/cosmetologist exam from the California 

Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and Cosmetology. We do not offer any visa services. We do not vouch for 

students attempting to obtain visas.  

  

LANGUAGE REQUIREMENT  

Moler does not offer any English language instruction and all courses are taught in English. All foreign students 

must have a minimum TOEFL score of 450.   
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C. EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES   

The primary objective of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler 

Barber College) is to bring the student to entry level employment with a background in all services given in a 

full service Barber Shop or Salon. These include hair cutting & styling, shaving, facials, shampooing & scalp 

treatments, hair coloring, hair relaxing & weaving. Related areas also covered are customer psychology, 

product knowledge & shop management. The training is based upon requirements to pass the State's 

examination. Moler believes it is also important that the curriculum be presented in a professional manner and 

with diligent study, the student will be prepared for employment in the Barber/Cosmetology Industry as a 

Registered Barber/Cosmetologist. Moler instructors are professionals licensed by the State Board of Barber & 

Cosmetology Examiners. The staff keeps current with seminars, conferences and demonstrations on fashions, 

methods & new services.   

 

D.  CATALOG OF COURSES    

In our courses the definition of Practical application is hands on barbering/cosmetologist and performing 

barbering/cosmetologist services. The student will be supervised as they perform barbering/cosmetologist 

services to customers. In our courses, the definition of theory is classroom instruction that takes place one hour 

per day, four days per week. We teach and review concepts in the textbook and teach procedures needed to pass 

the state board examination.  
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BARBERING              1500 CLOCK HOURS /  43 WEEKS  

The curriculum includes 1500 hours of theory and practical applications. The course content covers both basic 

and advanced phases of Barbering and Hairstyling. The subjects covered in a sequential order include the 

following: Haircutting, Shaving, Sanitation and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, Shop 

Management, Laws and Regulations, Hair Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and Hairstyling. 

This course is a prerequisite for application to state of California for the license examination that is conducted by 

the State Board of Barber Examiners. This course also prepares the student for entry level employment as a 

Barber. The Full-Time training schedule includes 35 clock hours per week. It takes approximately ten (10) months 

(43) weeks to complete this course. Upon completion of this course you are not qualified to perform any barbering 

services until you pass the California Barber examination administered by the California State Board of Barbering 

and Cosmetology.   

TUITION AND FEES  

Tuition                 $20,342.00 

Application Fee    $     100.00 

Registration          $     150.00 

STRF Fee             $         0.00 

Sales Tax       $    163.54  

Books & Tools     $  1,768.00  

TOTAL                $22,523.54  

BARBERING 

The Basics of Barbering Styling, Advanced Barber-Styling, Cutting &   

Styling, Design Techniques, Barber Science, the Chemicals & Treatments, Syphilis, 

Anatomy, Industry Related Business Principles, Barber Boards, Operating in the 

Field & Practical Application.    

Practical Application (Required)                                    1300 HOURS  

Theory of Barbering            150 HOURS              

Additional Preparation for State Board Exam                    50 HOUR 
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RE-ENROLLMENT COURSE        250 CLOCK HOURS FT-6 1/4WEEKS- PT-12WEEKS 

The Curriculum is similar to SC-l for a total of 250 clock hours. The subjects covered include: Haircutting,  

Shaving, Sanitation and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, Shop Management, Laws and 

Regulations, Hair Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and Hairstyling. More emphasis is placed 

on preparation for the barber/cosmetologist license examination including the theory as well as the practical 

portion of the exam. This course is for the student who has previously failed the licensing examination. Full time 

training schedule is 40 clock hours per week. This is a 6 ¼ week course. Part Time training schedule is less than 

full time (40 hours per week) and must be completed within three 3 months/12 Weeks. This course prepares a 

student to provide the services as a Barber in the State of California.  

TUITION AND FEES  

Tuition                   $2,308.00  

Application Fee     $   100.00  

Registration            $  150.00    

STRF Fee               $      0.00 

Books                     $  245.25 *  

TOTAL                  $2,803.25  

 

The Basics of Barbering, Styling, Advanced Barber-Styling, Cutting and Styling, Design Techniques, Barber 

Science, Damaged Hair and Skin Problems, the Chemicals and Treatments, Syphilis, Anatomy, industry Related 

Business Principles, Barber Boards, Operating in the Field and Practical Application  

PRACTICAL APPLICATION                                              150 HOURS  

THEORY OF BARBERING    80 HOURS  

Additional Preparation for State Board Exam                        20 HOURS  

REFRESHER COURSE  400 CLOCK HOURS 10 WEEKS 

The Curriculum covers a combination of theory and practical for those areas listed under SC-l. This course can 

be completed in 2 1/2 months/10weeks. Prerequisite: The Student Applicant must be qualified to take the License 

Examination. This course is for licensed Apprentices or Barber/cosmetologists from another state or country. 

Curriculum: This course prepares the applicant for the California license examination. The subjects covered 

include: Haircutting, Shaving, Sanitation and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, Shop 

Management, Laws and Regulations, Hair Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and Hairstyling. 

Must be completed in 6 months & prepares a licensed apprentice or out-of-State Barber/cosmetologist to provide 

services of a Barber/cosmetologist in State of CA.   

TUITION AND FEES  

Tuition                   $3,692.00   

Application Fee    $     100.00 

Registration           $   150.00  

STRF Fee               $      0.00 

Books                      $ 245.25  

TOTAL                 $4,187.25   

The Basics of Barber-Styling, Advanced Barber-Styling, Cutting And Styling, Design Techniques, 

Barber/cosmetologist Science, Damaged Hair And Skin Problems, The Chemicals And Treatments, Syphilis, 

Anatomy, Industry Related Business Principles, Barber Boards, Operating In the Field and Practical Application.   

 PRACTICAL APPLICATION (Required)                        46 HOURS  

THEORY OF BARBERING              46 HOURS  

Additional Preparation for State Board Exam                    308 HOURS 
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BARBER INSTRUCTOR COURSE    600 CLOCK HOURS 15-24 WEEKS     

Minimum requirements:    12th grade education  /18 years of age  /California licensed barber/cosmetologist 

 CURRICULUM: Includes: teaching methods and procedures used in barbering colleges; Teaching Theory; and 

Practical phases of barbering, under the supervision of a qualified instructor. The course prepares the student 

for entry level employment as a Barber Instructor.  

The subjects covered include: Introduction to teaching, The Learning Process, The Teaching process, planning 

for teaching, The State Examination Procedure and Practical Application. The course can be completed in 15 

weeks but must be completed in six (6) months.   

TUITION AND FEES  

Tuition                   $5,538.00 (Tools & Books not included)   

Application Fee    $     100.00 (non-refundable) 

Registration           $   150.00   

STRF Fee               $      0.00 

TOTAL                 $5,788.50  

THEORY OF TEACHING and STUDENT TEACHING     250 & 110 HOURS   

The Needs Of The Beginning Teacher, The needs of Moler and its operations, The learning process, principles 

of learning, Characteristics Of The Learning Process, The Teaching Process, Educational Objectives, Preparation 

For Training, Course Outlines, Lesson Plans, The Four Step Plan, Methods Of Instruction, Planning For 

Teaching, Procedure For Writing A Lesson Plan, Development Of Instructional Materials, Evaluation Of 

Instruction and Practical Application.   

THEORY OF TEACHING (Required) and       250 HOURS   

PRACTICAL APPLICATION (Required)        240 HOURS   

STUDENT TEACHING                                    110 HOURS  

TOTAL       (Required)                                       600 HOURS   

COSMETOLOGIST CROSS~OVER COURSE       305 CLOCK HOURS - 8 WEEKS  

This 305 hour course is designed for the applicant who has completed the California 1600 clock hour 

Cosmetology Course and/or holds a California Cosmetology license. This course includes 36 hours of theory 

instruction and 269 hours of practical training. The subjects covered include: Haircutting, Shaving, Sanitation 

and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, Shop Management, Laws and Regulations, Hair 

Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and Hairstyling. This course can be completed in (8) weeks 

of full time attendance, but must be completed in four (4) months. This course prepares a licensed Cosmetologist 

to provide the services as a Barber/cosmetologist in the State of California. 

PRACTICAL APPLICATION (Required)   __________  269 HOURS  

THE THEORY OF BARBERING (Required)                       36 HOURS  

TOTAL (Required) _____________________________  305 HOURS  

TUITION AND FEES  

Tuition    $4,500.00  

Registration   $   150.00 

Application Fee$     100.00  (non-refundable)_ 

STRF Fee   $      0.00 

Books&SW   $  485.25  

Kit     $1,322.75 (optional) 

TOTAL   $5,235.25  + optional kit  
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COSMETOLOGY             1600 CLOCK HOURS  - 46 WEEKS  

The curriculum includes 1600 hours of theory and practical applications. The course content covers both basic 

and advanced phases of Hair, Skin and Nair Care. The subjects covered in a sequential order include the 

following: Hairstyling, Permanent Waving & Chemical Straightening, Hair Coloring & Bleaching, Hair Cutting 

Health & Safety Laws, Eyebrows and Make-up, Manicuring, Pedicuring, Artificial Nails and Wraps,Shop 

Management, Laws and Regulations,. This course is a prerequisite for application to state of California for the 

license examination that is conducted by the State Board of Barbering & Cosmetology. This course also prepares 

the student for entry level employment as a Cosmetologist. The Full-Time training schedule includes 35 clock 

hours per week. It takes approximately (11) months (46) weeks to complete this course. Upon completion of this 

course you are not qualified to perform any hair services until you pass the California Cosmetology examination 

administered by the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.   

TUITION AND FEES    

Tuition  $19,200.00   
Application Fee (non-refundable) $      100.00  

Registration  $     150.00   
STRF Fee  $             -     
Sales Tax  $      172.05   
Books, Laptop & Tools  $   1,860.00   

   

Total  $ 21,482.05        
 

Practical Application &  State Board Prep: 1230 hours 

Theory /Classroom:             370 hours 

Total      1600 hours 
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ESTHETICS               

 

600 CLOCK HOURS  - 18 WEEKS  

 

The curriculum includes 600 hours of theory and practical applications. The course content covers both basic and 

advanced skin care and esthetics principles and services. The subjects covered include the following: Manual, 

Electrical and Chemical Facials including how to prepare for the services with the client, Health and Safety, 

Disinfections and Sanition, Anatomy and Physiology as it pertains to skincare, Eyebrow Beautification and Make 

up as well as time for State Board Prep. This course is a prerequisite for application to state of California for the 

license examination that is conducted by the State Board of Barbering/cosmetologist & Cosmetology in Esthetics.  

This course also prepares the student for entry level employment as an Esthetician. The Full-Time training 

schedule includes 35 clock hours per week. It takes approximately (4) months to complete this course. Upon 

completion of this course you are not qualified to perform any hair services until you pass the California 

Esthetician examination administered by the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.   

 

 

   

TUITION AND FEES    

Tuition  $ 9,600.00   
Application Fee (non-refundable) $     100.00  

Registration  $    150.00   
STRF Fee  $             -     
Sales Tax  $      78.38   
Books, Laptop & Tools  $    950.00   

   

Total  $10,778.38  

   

   
 

Practical Application &  State Board Prep: 355hours 

Theory /Classroom:          245 hours 

Total      600 hours 
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E. PHYSICAL FACILITIES   

  

The Oakland campus occupies approximately 4,000 square feet of space. This is divided into a Theory classroom, 

and Practical Room. The Theory classroom is where the students assemble for the first period class session, each 

week. The Practical room is where the students perform services on clients. The Oakland school has 32 barber 

chairs. There are 4 hand washing sinks, 32 mirrors, barber stations and waiting benches to accommodate clients.  

  

The San Pablo campus occupies approximately 6,400 square feet of space.  This is divided into a Practical room, 

Theory Classroom and some administrative offices.  It has 36 stations, 8 hand sinks, (5) shampoo sinks and a 

whiteboard and multimedia instructional equipment for lessons.  

  

The Hayward Barber campus occupies approximately 3,600 square feet of space. This is divided into a Theory 

area with multimedia instructional equipment, and a Practical Area. The Practical area is equipped with 41 

barber/cosmetologist stations, 4 hand sinks, and 3 shampoo stations. 

 

The Hayward Cosmetology campus occupies approximately 9,500 square feet of space. This is divided into 

multiple areas with multimedia instructional equipment, and a Practical Areas. The Practical area is equipped 

with 35 stations, 8 hand sinks, and 8 shampoo stations. 

  

Barber class sessions will be held at these locations:  Oakland, San Pablo, Hayward Barber (satellites) and Santa 

Clara (branch) campuses.  

 

Cosmetology and related programs (e.g. Esthetics) class sessions will be held at these locations:  Santa Clara 

(branch), Hayward Cosmetology and San Pablo satellite campuses.  

  

DISTANCE LEARNING  

  

MOST training is hands on, supervised and done on site at the Moler campuses. There is some distance learning 

while we work through certain external factors like global pandemics.  

  

LIBRARY  

 Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branches and divisions of Moler Barber College) have a 

libraries of trade related books at all locations. These materials are available to students from 9:30 am to 8:30 

pm. The required text and learning resources prescribed by the Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and 

Cosmetology are also available. Books and DVDs are available on a check in/check out basis for one day only.  

Laptop computers & wireless internet service are available to students at all campuses.  

  

 

CLASS SIZE: The maximum number of students in the Theory Classrooms is 50 for all campuses.  Classes with 

less than 25 students will have one (1) instructor and classes with 25 or more students will have two (2) 

instructors.   
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F. RULES AND REGULATIONS   

Professional Conduct is the only level of conduct we expect from our students. A professional does not arrive 

late. A professional treats patrons, instructors and fellow students with courtesy and awareness. A professional is 

constantly taking the time to follow rules of good grooming and proper sanitation.   

  

 The following rules are important. If you disobey them, you may be dismissed from the college. None of the 

rules are arbitrary. They reflect the level of conduct you will be expected to maintain throughout your 

professional career. The best way to begin that career is to act like the professional Barber/cosmetologist/Hair 

Stylist you want to be.   

  

1. DRESS CODE: Male students must wear a shirt, and slacks. Female students must wear a blouse and slacks. 

All students are to wear a clean smock and wear shoes that are comfortable for standing and in good repair. 

In compliance with State regulations, students must wear foot covering, no sandals (Art. 2, Sec. 216 CBL). 

Chair cloths must be used by students and must be kept clean.   

  

2. CLOCKING IN AND OUT: Student time clock printout an important document and is used for the 

computation of your hours of training. The student is responsible for the clock-ins and clock-outs.  

  

3. TIME CLOCK PROCEDURES: At all times, the student must punch in on a time clock upon entering 

school, leaving for the lunch period, returning from lunch and at the close of the day. The punching of the 

time clock procedure is necessary to meet State Board requirements for the number of hours the student is in 

college and it is a legal document. Punching in or out incorrectly is looked upon as forgery and will be dealt 

with accordingly.   

  

4. TARDINESS: Students arriving 15 minutes late, in the morning, will not be allowed to punch in until after 

Theory Class is completed. If you arrive at the College two hours late, you will not be allowed to punch in 

for the balance of the day.   

 

5. POLICY RELATING TO ABSENCES: The student is required to attend 85% of the agreed schedule. 

Failure for any reason to maintain the 85% attendance may be cause for dismissal. Absences will be excused 

only with a doctor's written verification, death in the family or approval of a school staff member. An 

unexcused absence must be made up. In all cases, all school work must be completed.   

  

  

6. FULL TIME SCHEDULE: Full time attendance is based on eight (8) hours per day, five (5) days per week, 

for a total of forty (40) hours per week. Eighty five percent attendance is required. Any scheduling for less 

than full time must be approved by the administrative office prior to enrolling.  

   

7. DRUG ABUSE: No student shall be allowed to attend or to remain in school while intoxicated or under the 

influence of any drug. Students while under prescription medication must notify the college for approval to 

attend school. Violation of this rule is cause for disciplinary action by the California State Board of 

Barber/cosmetologist Examiners. (Art. 7, Sec. 6581 BL).   
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8. STEALING: Any student found to be involved in stealing from another student or from the college will be 

dismissed immediately.   

  

9. ANY STUDENT GUILTY OF WILFUL DESTRUCTION OF COLLEGE PROPERTY WILL BE 

DISMISSED IMMEDIATELY!   

  

10. INSTRUCTOR'S DIRECTION: Any student in direct violation of an instructor's direction may be 

suspended from college immediately.   

  

11. REFUSING SERVICE: Any student guilty of refusing a client service may be suspended from college 

immediately.   

  

12. POLICY RELATING TO MAKE-UP WORK:  All required tests must be taken. A test is given after each 

chapter or lesson of theory. If you miss a test, make-up tests will be allowed following the next chapter or 

lesson.   

  

13. GRADING FACTORS: Students will be assigned grades as follows:    

  

                THEORY CLASSES AND CLINIC   

  4.0   A   (90-100) Outstanding   

  3.0   B   (80-89) Good   

  2.0   C   (70-79) Satisfactory   

  1.0   D   (60-69) Below standard but Passing   

  0.0   F   (59 or less) Failure/Incomplete Work   

  0.0      W   Withdrawal   

  

  

  

 14. GRADUATION: Upon successful completion of the course, the graduate receives a Certificate of Award.  

The student who completes the course and the minimum practical services as established by the California 

Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and Cosmetology is qualified to take the licensing examination given by the 

board. Upon successfully passing the examination the graduate can obtain a California Barber/cosmetologist, 

Cosmetology or Esthetician License. With this license the new barber/cosmetologist may be employed in a 

Barber/cosmetologist / Cosmetology or Esthetics Salon or Shop, a Beauty / Skincare Salon or own and operate 

his/her own business. To qualify for graduation the course must be satisfactorily completed in no more than 1½  

times its' scheduled number of weeks or months and the student must attain at least a 2.0 grade point average to 

graduate.   

  

15. CHANGES IN RULES AND REGULATIONS   

The college reserves the right to make any changes in the rules and regulations at any time. All students will be 

notified of changes immediately.  

   

G. STUDENT SERVICES and ADVISING   

Academic advice is provided monthly through the use of the Attendance and Progress Reports by the instructor. 

Advice is also available regarding financial or other type problems. If you find yourself feeling a bit overwhelmed 
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by it all, give us a chance to help. The administrative staff knows the problems you might face. You are a very 

important person to us---let us prove it to you.   

  

H. PLACEMENT ASSISTANCE   

MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF 

MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) does not guarantee employment upon graduation. However, the college does 

attempt to locate employment for graduates who request assistance. The college is very interested in the kind of 

position students secure after their training is completed. Reasonable efforts will be made to assist a graduate in 

gaining employment. The more flexible a graduate can be regarding placement, the easier it is for the college to 

assist. Because of our service to the Barber/cosmetologist industry over the many years, we do receive numerous 

calls from the field for graduates. The college maintains a Job Listing Book listing current employment 

opportunities as well as a listing of Barber/cosmetologist shops for sale. A Job Listing Book, listing current 

employment opportunities as well as a listing of Barber/cosmetologist/Styling shops for sale will be available in 

the office upon request.   

Moler also offers other miscellaneous student services such as library and computer services (see page 10) and 

close interaction between student and instructor. Our campus has free and convenient parking.  

   

I. COMPENSATION STANDARDS   

The Barber/cosmetologist/Hairstyling industry generally pays compensation based on the performance of each 

employee. Commissions vary but the average is between 55% and 75% of the income from services the employee 

performs at his/her station. California Law requires payment of at least the hourly minimum wage. There are 

opportunities for other income and salary arrangements through various entrepreneurial ventures.   

  

J. HOUSING and PARKING   

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) does not have 

any dormitory facilities under our control. We assume no responsibility to find or assist a student in finding 

housing. It is the sole responsibility of the student. Apartments are available in the area and a two bedroom can 

be rented in the $1,000.00 range. Rooms can be rented for under $500.00.   City bus service is available nearby 

and public transportation is available for the cities near Oakland.  Public parking is available in the area.  

   

K. CALENDAR   

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) is operated on 

a year round schedule. Start dates are on Monday or Tuesday for all courses offered, unless otherwise specified 

and allowed by an acting school director. The ending dates will vary according to school holidays and to meet 

the course length requirements appearing on pages 5 - 9 of this catalog. Weekly operation is Friday, Saturday 

8:30 AM to 5:15PM, Monday 4PM to 10PM, Tuesday through Thursday from 8:30 AM to 10 PM. The holidays 

set by the California Board of Barber and Cosmetology Examiners are: New Year's Day -  

January 1, Memorial Day, Independence Day - July 4, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day* and Christmas Day.*  
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Holidays Observed 

We observe the following holidays:  

  

New Year’s Day  

Easter  

Memorial Day  

Independence Day  

Labor Day  

Thanksgiving  

Christmas Day 

New Year’s Eve 

  

L. TUITION AND FEES   

  

SEE PAGES 5-9 FOR TUITION AND FEES FOR ALL MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY 

COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) 

COURSES OFFERED.   

  

   

M. FINANCIAL AID  

This college is approved to accept qualified applicants under various financial aid programs. Financial aid is 

available to those who qualify.  Inquire at the college business office for details.  

If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay 

the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student has received 

federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the monies not paid from federal student 

financial aid program funds.   

 

N. REFUND POLICY BUYERS RIGHT TO CANCEL AND REFUND RIGHTS   

  

1) You have the right to cancel this agreement for educational services as well as any equipment or other 

goods and services within 3 days of signing the enrollment agreement.  Cancellation occurs when you give written 

notice of cancellation at the school address shown on the enrollment agreement. You can do this by mail, in person 

or by fax. The notice of cancellation, if mailed is effective when deposited in the mail, properly addressed with 

postage prepaid. This notice need not take any particular form, and however expressed, is effective if it states that 

the student no longer wishes to be bound by the Agreement. If you cancel this agreement within 3 days of signing 

the enrollment agreement, School will refund any monies that you paid within 2 weeks days after your notice is 

received.  

  

2) If the school has given you any equipment, you shall return it to the school within 30 days following the 

date of your notice of cancellation. If you fail to return the equipment unused and in good condition within a 30-

day period, the school may retain that portion of payment paid by you and deduct the cost from any refund due to 

you. Barber/cosmetologist equipment, once used, is not returnable.   
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3) You have the right to withdraw from Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and 

divisions of Moler Barber College) at any time. If you withdraw from the course of instruction after the 

cancellation period described in Part 1, the school will remit a refund minus the registration fee of $150.00 and 

the STRF fee (if applicable). The student may withdraw by the student’s written notice to Moler or by the student’s 

conduct, including, but not limited to student’s poor attendance.  If the student withdraws prior to completion of 

the Program of study in which she/he is enrolled, the school determines whether the student is eligible for a refund 

of monies paid based on a pro-rata calculation formula (see example below) up until the student has been enrolled 

for sixty percent (60%) of the scheduled hours of the Program.  Should the number of scheduled hours during the 

student’s enrollment in the Program exceed sixty percent (60%) of the total hours in the Program, the institution 

shall have earned and will retain 100 percent of the institutional charges assessed to the student, as explained on 

the Enrollment  

Agreement.  If the student withdraws from his/her Program of study after the deadline for the student’s right to 

cancel the Agreement has passed and the student is entitled to a refund per the pro rata calculation mentioned 

above, the school will issue such refund to the student, less a registration fee not to exceed $150.00, within 30 

days following the student’s withdrawal.  If the amount that you owe is more than the amount that you paid then 

you will have to make arrangements to pay for the educational services that you have received.  

   

  

    CLOCK HOUR PROGRAM   

  

4. HYPOTHETICAL REFUND EXAMPLE:  FOR 1500 HR COURSE  

Assume, upon enrollment in a 1500 hour course, you pay $12,842 for tuition, $150.00 for Registration, and 

$1,117.25 (fair market value) for books and tools, $7.00 for STRF and withdraw after completing a scheduled 

375 hours (25%) without returning the books and supplies you obtained.  You refund will be calculated as 

follows:  

$12,842.00 the amount paid for tuition  

$     150.00 for registration fee  

$   1,117.25 amount paid for books (not returned)  

$         7.00 amount paid for STRF 

$ 14,024.00 Total Paid  

  

   $ 12,842 x 25% = $3,210.50 Cost of instruction received  

   $   3,210.50 Cost of instruction  

   $   9,631.50 Refund due to student  

  

If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not 

paid from federal financial aid program funds.  

  

5. For the purpose of determining the amount you owe, you shall be deemed to have withdrawn from 

the course when any of the following occurs: (a) You notify School of your withdrawal or the actual date of 

withdrawal; (b) School terminates your enrollment; (c) You fail to attend classes for a two week period; (d) 

You fail to return from a leave of absence. In this case, the date of withdrawal shall be deemed to be the last 

date of recorded attendance.   

6. If any portion of your tuition was paid from loan proceeds, the refund will be sent to the lender or 

agency that guaranteed the loan. Any remaining refund amount will first be used to repay any student 
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financial aid programs from which you received benefits, to the extent of benefits received. Any remaining 

amount will be paid to you.   

7. If the course is cancelled subsequent to a student's enrollment, the School shall at its option provide 

a refund of all monies paid or provide for completion of the course. If there is a closure at the School the 

student may be entitled to a refund according to the refund policy.   

8. If a student who has not had the opportunity to visit the school prior to enrollment opts to withdraw 

within three business days that student will be entitled to a full refund of tuition and fees paid.   

  

   APPLICATION OF REFUND PROCEEDS: Any amount of the refund in excess of the unpaid balance of the 

loan shall be first used to repay any student financial aid programs from which the student received any benefits, 

in proportion to the amount of the benefits received, and any remaining amount shall be paid to the student. Any 

overpayment of monies disbursed for indirect educational expenses will be based on the percentage of time 

elapsed over the total time in the award period. The Buyer/Student will be responsible for the repayment of any 

such overpayment. Repayments made by the Buyer/Student will be made to the appropriate Financial Aid fund 

account in proportion to the amount of the benefits received by the Buyer/Student.   

NOTICE OF REFUND TO BUYER/STUDENT: The Seller/ School shall notify the Buyer/Student in writing 

of the date on which the refund was made, the amount of the refund, the method of calculating the refund, and 

the name and address of the entity to which the refund was sent within ten days of such refund. Posting this notice 

in the US Postal Service shall be deemed constructive notice for this purpose.   

  

The Seller/School reserves the right of POSTPONEMENT OR CHANGE OF DATE AND/OR TIME IN 

WHICH ANY CLASS IS OFFERED if the minimum percentage of enrolled students also agrees. Students who 

do not desire the change may be offered a full refund.   

Buyer/Student understands if Buyer/Student can demonstrate the ability to do so, and completes the program in 

less time than course duration described on the reverse side of this document, the tuition that Buyer/ Student has 

agreed to pay shall be fully earned by the Seller/School upon date of completion and Buyer/Student is not entitled 

to any refund by reason of earlier completion. The Buyer/Student's rights under agreement may not be assigned 

to any other person and the Buyer/ Student must complete the program within the time described on the reverse 

side of this agreement or within the maximum time frame described in the catalog, with prior approval of the 

School/Seller.   

It is clearly understood that the Seller/School may assign or sell its rights to payment under this agreement. Such 

assignment however will not relieve the Seller/School from fulfillment of its duties and refund policy hereunder. 

The Buyer/Student and/or the Guarantor authorize to release additional information needed to process this 

transaction. It is anticipated that this will be assigned to said purchase. In lieu thereof, it may be assigned to 

another party. The Seller will notify the Buyer and/or Guarantor of the name of the assignee or third party and 

the location of the same.  

   

AREAS OF CONFLICT WITH OTHER DOCUMENTS: In specific terms or areas where this document  

Conflicts with policies, procedures and/or terms as specified in other documents provided by the school, this 

document takes precedence. Time is of the essence in this agreement and if in the attempt of the Student/Buyer 

to work out any areas of dispute with the Seller/ School, the Buyer/Student determines that outside assistance is 

needed in the resolution of this dispute, the Seller/School offers, as a measure of good faith, to be bound by the 

settlement rendered by the Arbitrator( s) of the arbitration in accordance with the Commercial Rules of the 

American Arbitration Association, if the Buyer/Student also elects to be so bound.  
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O. ENROLLMENT PROCEDURE  

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler 

Barber College) has a continuous enrollment policy starting on a weekly or bi-

weekly schedule. Students may enroll at any time during the year, as instruction is 

done in teaching modules. Enrollments are restricted to maintain a low student-to -

instructor ratio.   

 

P.  APPLICATION  

An applicant must fill out an application form provided by the college. This is returned to the college with the 

registration fee which is not refundable.  

 

Q.  ENROLLMENT   

At the time of enrollment an applicant must have:   

• High School Diploma or Passing GED equivalency 

test results   

• Down payment if required for course 

• Valid Picture I.D.    

• Social Security Card   
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 TRANSFER POLICY  

  

Applicants with previous hours from another CA barber/cosmetologist school who wish to enroll at Moler 

Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) must submit a 

written request during the admission process along with a Proof of Training from the previous CA school.  The 

transfer and accepted clock hours from another CA institution will be counted toward the required hours of the 

same program at Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber 

College).   If transfer hours are accepted, they will be applied to the end of the program and the student will be 

contracted for the total program hours at Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and 

divisions of Moler Barber College) minus the transfer hours.  Students who are financial aid recipients will be 

disbursed using their normal payment periods as long as there are enough hours. Please note:  At a minimum, 

25 % of the clock hours for the program must be completed at School. 

Example:  1500 hour program, 900 hour academic year, 194 transfer hours  

Payment periods: 1 - 450, 451-900, 901-1103, 1104-1306  

If an applicant is transferring from another state or from another country, they must first contact California’s 

Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and Cosmetology (BBC) and make application for approval of their hours 

from their previous school.  The documents required for this process can be found at the State of California 

BBC website:  www.barber/cosmetologistcosmo.ca.gov).  The BBC may then issue a letter indicating the 

credit it has approved for the hours taken at the previous school along with any other requirements.  

Failure to provide the required documentation of previous training in either circumstance prior to enrollment will 

mean that those hours will not apply/will not be transferred to your program at Moler Barber & Cosmetology 

Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College). 

 Regarding the transferability of clock hours earned at Moler Barber & Cosmetology 

Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) 
  

The transferability of clock hours you earn at Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and 

divisions of Moler Barber College) is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to 

transfer.   

Acceptance of the certificate you earn in Barbering/cosmetologist is also at the complete discretion of the 

institution to which you may seek to transfer.   

If the certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, 

you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution.   

For this reason you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals.   

This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending Moler Barber & 

Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) to determine if your certificate 

or clock hours will transfer.   

http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/
http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/
http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/
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R.    FACULTY 

Brandon Pineda full time instructor.  He is a licensed Barber, a certified Wahl clipper promoter, Shop Owner 

and creative Hair Poster publisher. 

Elisa Aguilera is a full time instructor.  She is 30+ years licensed in Cosmetology and is a Wella Educator.  

Elisa is preparing to take her Barbering exam as well.  She is an Moler Area Expert in Online Curriculum. 

Alina Ayerdiz Ortega is a full time instructor.  She is licensed both Cosmetology and Esthetician.  She also 

holds a Bachelors Degree in Psychology. 

Raymond Torres is a full time Instructor, licensed in Cosmetology.  He comes from a whole family with 

backgrounds in teaching. He is also our Online Curriculum lead. 

Luis Chia is a full time instructor.  He is a licensed Barber & Cosmetologist.  He continues to further his 

career with experience instructing others in his profession.  

Will Nganga is a full time instructor. He is a licensed Barber with a keen interest in mentoring barber students 

in the “art of barbering.” 

Tuan Van Dinh is a full time instructor.  He is a licensed Barber & Cosmetologist.  He has decades of 

experience in Teaching/ Training both Barbers & Cosmetologists. 

Harry Mauz is Chief Operating Officer and Site Director.  He has a lengthy career in post secondary education 

with more than 25 years’ experience.  

  

All instructors at Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber 

College) are required to maintain a license in good standing with the California Board of Barbering and 

Cosmetology.   Instructors are required to maintain knowledge of current styles and teaching techniques. 

Required Books for courses and students are: 

Milady Standard Barbering, 6th Edition 

829 pp., 8½" x 11", Hardcover, ©2017 

ISBN-13: 9781305100558 

Spanish Edition ISBN-13: 9781305100763 Publication date: 2016 

Online License for MindTap Barbering/cosmetologist 6th edition  

Milady Cosmetology, 13th Edition 

13th Edition Milady Standard Cosmetology ISBN  

13th Edition Soft Cover Textbook 9781285769431 & 13th Edition Theory Workbook 9781285769455 

13th Edition Practical Workbook 9781285769479 & Online License for MindTap Cosmetology 13th edition  

Milady Esthetics, 1st edition 

ISBN:  9780357495216  Student Bundle:  Milady Standard Foundations with Standard Esthetics:  

Fundamentals + Foundations + Student Workbook for Milady Standard Esthetics: Fundamentals +  

Online Licensing Preparation for Milady's Standard Foundations with Standard Esthetics: Fundamentals, 2 

terms Printed Access Card  
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S.   ATTENDANCE POLICY  

  

MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES’ (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF 

MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) prime objective is to train students for future employment. Students are expected 

to attend school as they will be expected to report to work. All absences and tardiness are recorded.   

  

Students must attend a minimum of 66.67% of their scheduled hours in order to maintain Satisfactory 

Academic Progress (SAP).  

Illness or other medical reason substantiated by a doctor's statement is accepted and recorded, as an "excused 

absence.” 

  

Military reserve duty substantiated by a superior officer's statement is accepted and recorded as an "excused 

absence".    

• Leave of Absences 

Leaves of absence are granted on a case by case basis. Students must request a leave of absence in advance & in 

writing to the School Admissions person, Instructors or Directors. The school Directors reserve the right to accept 

or deny the requested leave of absence.  Leaves of absence may be granted for no less than 2 week and no more 

than 30 days at a time.  However, we reserve the right to grant longer leaves of absence at the school Directors 

discretion on a month by month basis, with the rule that no individual student’s leave of absence exceeds a 

cumulative maximum of 180 days within a 12-month period.  Reserve military duty or medical reasons are 

examples of valid reasons to obtain a leave of absence.  

  

Students leaving the premises for any reason during school hours, other than for lunch period, shall get permission 

from an instructor. Doctor appointments, dentist appointments and other personal errands should be scheduled 

for non-school days.   

  

Students will clock in and out using the fingerprint Guest Vision time system. It is the student’s responsibility to 

remember to clock in and clock out.  

  

Theory class attendance is recorded and must be complied with for successful completion. The California State 

Barber/cosmetologist Law requires a minimum of eighty (80) hours attendance.   

  

No student shall be allowed to attend, or to remain in school, while intoxicated or under the influence of any drug. 

Students while under prescription medication must notify the school for approval to attend school. Violation of 

this rule is cause for disciplinary action by the California State Board of Barber/cosmetologist Examiners.   

  

No student shall be allowed to attend school while they have an infectious, contagious or communicable disease.   
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COURSE INTERRUPTIONS*  

A student may be suspended from classes for up to 30 days resulting in a course interruption. Students can be 

suspended for unsatisfactory attendance, unsatisfactory progress or for violation of school regulations, including 

failure to meet financial obligations. This can result in cancellation of the enrollment agreement. Any course 

interruption may be appealed to the California State Board of Barber/cosmetologists Examiners.   

  

                       *VETERAN STUDENTS   

 An "interruption" in training for any reason will terminate your Educational Benefits checks. 

You may return to benefit standing only after the College has permitted re-enrollment. Upon 

successful re-enrollment, your checks may experience delay of up to two months while 

certification of benefits is processed.   

 

T. SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP) POLICY  

1. Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) applies to all students regardless of whether they are receiving Title 

IV financial aid.  

2. Federal regulations require that all schools participating in any Federal Financial Aid program must adhere 

to a Financial Aid/Academic Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) policy. As a Financial Aid recipient, 

you must maintain SAP to remain eligible to receive Federal Financial Aid. The records of all Financial Aid 

recipients will be reviewed at the end of each payment period to determine compliance with the SAP policy. 

SAP is measured at 450, 900, 1200 and 1500 hours for the 1500 hour Barbering/cosmetologist program, for 

all students regardless of the source of their funding.  SAP is measured at 250 hours for the Re-Enrollment 

program, 400 hours for Refresher and Cosmo Crossover Programs and 450 and 600 hours for the 

Barber/cosmetologist Instructor program, all of which are non-Title IV programs.  SAP determination is 

based on the student’s complete academic history, including periods in which the student did not receive 

Financial Aid.  

3. To meet standards for Satisfactory Academic Progress the student must:  

● Maintain a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 70% or above;  

● Maintain a cumulative attendance rate of 66.67%;  

● Complete the program within the maximum time frame of not more than 150% of the normal length of 

time required to complete the program.   

Official Leaves of Absence, withdrawals, and other official interruptions of training are not computed in the 

maximum time frame.  

Course incompletes and noncredit remedial courses do not apply to SAP policy at the school and will have no 

effect on satisfactory academic progress.   
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Financial Aid/Academic Warning, Probation Status  

If a student fails to meet SAP standards for either attendance or CGPA at any formal assessment point, the 

student will automatically be placed on Financial Aid/Academic Warning and will remain in that status until the 

next assessment point or until the deficiency is corrected, whichever occurs first.  A student placed on Financial 

Aid/Academic Warning status may continue to receive financial assistance. The student will be counseled on 

the potential loss of eligibility of financial aid, if applicable, and will be advised on steps necessary to correct 

the academic deficiency and be reinstated to good academic standing.     

If a student fails to meet minimum standards for SAP by the end of the warning period, the student will become 

ineligible for Federal Aid and will be placed on Probation Status.  A student placed on Probation Status has the 

right to submit an appeal. 

 

Appeal, Reinstatement and Reestablishing Eligibility  

A student may appeal the determination of unsatisfactory progress and termination of aid eligibility by 

completing the SAP appeal form. The student’s appeal must be in writing, must be based upon mitigating 

circumstances, must include documentation of those mitigating circumstances, and must include an explanation 

of the reason why he/she failed to make SAP, including a statement and documentation of what has changed in 

the student’s situation that will allow the student to meet the standards for SAP by the beginning of the next 

payment period.  If the student’s appeal is approved, eligibility for financial aid will be reinstated for one 

payment period and the student will continue in Financial Aid/Academic Probation status until the beginning of 

the next payment period.     

Students who do not appeal a determination of unsatisfactory progress and termination of aid, or whose appeal 

has been denied, may continue in school, on Probation status for one assessment period at their own expense.  

By the end of the Probation period, all students on Probation status will be required to have satisfied all 

standards for SAP including the following:  

●Have achieved a cumulative GPA of 70% or better;  

●Have achieved a cumulative attendance rate of 66.67% or better  

     Students who fail to meet the standards for SAP by the end of the Probation period will be terminated from 

school.  Students who successfully meet the standards for SAP by the end of the Probation period will be 

reinstated to good academic standing and will regain their previous eligibility for financial aid.  
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Transfer Hours and their effect on SAP   

With regard to the calculation of attendance rates or cumulative grade point average as they relate to assessment 

for compliance with standards for Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student’s transfer hours will not be counted 

as scheduled or completed hours.  SAP evaluation periods are based on actual contracted hours at the school.  

However, coursework taken at another institution that is accepted and officially transferred will count towards 

the 150% maximum timeframe calculations on both hours scheduled and hours completed.    

 

U.   CONDUCT POLICY   

 The habits you develop in school will be the habits you will have when you are in practice. The Regulations of 

the MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF 

MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) are designed to help you learn good professional habits at the start of your 

professional career.  

MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF 

MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) or its duly authorized agents, may, at their discretion, interrupt a student's course 

of instruction for violation or infraction of the MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES 

(SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) Conduct Policy.   

1. Students shall not be unruly in school nor interfere with any other student. They shall conduct themselves 

in a quiet, professional manner during school hours.   

  

2. Students shall comply with all sanitary requirements. Violation of these sections is cause for suspension or 

expulsion with forfeiture of hours.   

  

3. No student shall instruct another. Students will request the assistance of an instructor whenever they are in 

doubt as to the correct procedure.  

  

4. Students shall dress in a professional manner, including clean smocks, during school hours. No short pants 

or extreme dress styles are allowed. Current fashion should be followed.  

  

5. Students shall give their full attention to their customers. Students are to render barber/cosmetologist 

services equally to all customers, irrespective of any factors. Refusal of barber/cosmetologist services by a 

student is cause for disciplinary action.  

  

6. Students are not to chew gum, smoke, hum or whistle while working on a customer.  

  

7. Students are responsible for keeping their work area and tools clean at all times.   

  

This means that:   

a. All stand bottles, including the sterilizer jar, are cleaned and properly filled daily.  

b. The back bar counter top is cleaned' after each customer.   

c. The chair is wiped clean of hair after each customer.  

d. Soiled linen is disposed of in the proper container.  
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e. All soiled paper is disposed of in the proper container daily.  

f. All tools are wiped clean and properly stored after each customer.  

g. The haircloth is neatly folded and properly hung on the chair after   each customer.  

h. The sink and mirror are cleaned daily.  

8. Students are to wear shoes that are comfortable for standing and in good repair.  In compliance with State 

regulations, students may not wear open toe shoes or sandals.  

9. Students are to wash their hands immediately before serving a customer and comply with all provisions of 

the sanitary sections of the Barber/cosmetologist Law.  

10. Students shall attend theory class as assigned by an instructor.  

11. Students shall go to lunch on their assignment schedule.  

12. Students shall maintain their hair in current, fashionable style.  

13. Students shall comply with the Attendance Policy as set forth.  

14. Students are to receive or give student services only as assigned by an instructor.  

15. Students are to display their student educational card in the holder provided during school hours.  

16. Students shall keep a record of all services performed and record them daily.  

17. Students shall follow the daily assignment schedule as directed by an instructor.  

   

18. Students are to come to school prepared to participate in class assignments or assignments as directed by an 

instructor.   
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V.  STUDENT GRIEVANCE AND COMPLAINTS RESOURCES  

Internal grievances can be directed to the Instructor or to the School Director, verbally or in writing. Students 

have the right to appeal grades, disciplinary action or make other complaints internally. If the student feels that 

their grievance was not handled properly or fairly, they can contact Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education. 

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau of Private 

Postsecondary Education by calling toll free 1(800) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form which can be 

obtained on the bureau’s Internet Web site at www.bppe.ca.gov.  

  

The following state boards, bureaus, departments or agencies that set minimum standards for this program of 

studies in accordance with Education Code Section 94322 include:  

1. Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education   

2. Department of Health and Human Services   

3. Department of Consumer Affairs   

4. Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and Cosmetology   

Persons seeking to resolve problems or complaints should first contact the instructor in charge. Requests for 

further action may be made to the Administrative Director.  

   

Unresolved complaints may be directed to:  

  

Mailing address  

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education,   

P.O. Box 980818  

West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818.  

  

Physical Address:  

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education  

2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400  

Sacramento, CA 95833 Telephone: (916) 431-6959   

  

Web Address  

www.bppe.ca.gov  

  

Toll Free  

1(888)370-7589   

 

 

 

 

  

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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V.  STUDENT GRIEVANCE AND COMPLAINTS RESOURCES (continued)  

Schools accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges must have a procedure and 

operational plan for handling student complaints. If a student does not feel that the school has adequately 

addressed a complaint or concern, the student may consider contacting the Accrediting Commission. All 

complaints considered by the Commission must be in written form, with permission from the complainant(s) for 

the Commission to forward a copy of the complaint to the school for a response. The complainant(s) will be kept 

informed as to the status of the complaint as well as the final resolution by the Commission.  A copy of the 

ACCSC complaint form can be obtained from the Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and 

divisions of Moler Barber College), from Director Frank Quattro. Please direct all inquiries to:  

  

 

ACCREDITING COMMISSION OF CAREER SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES  

2101 Wilson Boulevard / Suite 302 Arlington, VA 22201 (703) 247-4212)  Website:  www.accsc.org  

  

A copy of the Commission’s Complaint Form is available at the school and may be obtained by contacting the 

office of the Administrative Director of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions 

of Moler Barber College) at the main campusin Oakland, California.  

All training is in English. All records are retained indefinitely. 
There is no English-as-a-second language training.  

  

W.   OWNER CERTIFICATION  

All information in this catalog is current, correct and is so certified.   

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) is required 

by the BPPE to state that we are financially solvent, and we do not have a pending petition of bankruptcy, we 

are not operating as a debtor in possession and have not filed a petition in the previous five years, and has not 

had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it in the previous five years that resulted in reorganization under 

chapter 11 of the bankruptcy code.  

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:   

It is hereby certified that Frank Quattro, Director of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, 

and divisions of Moler Barber College) located at 3815 Telegraph Avenue, Oakland, CA 94609, guarantees that 

all students enrolled in the above school will be properly trained and all contractual agreements fulfilled.   

  

X.   STUDENT ACADEMIC RECORDS  

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) maintains all 

student records for a minimum of 5 years. This includes but is not limited to: Student applications, acceptance, 

attendance, test scores, course grades, disciplinary actions and records of completion of course certification and 

any refunds due students. Students must request all transcripts in writing.  
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