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3309 Hyland Avenue, Suite J, Costa Mesa, CA 92626, Toll-free (866) 500-5966, (714) 546-8786 

APPROVAL/DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa, 3309 Hyland Avenue, Suite J, Costa Mesa, CA 92626, is a private institution that is 
approved to operate by the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education . Approval to operate means the institution 
is compliant with the minimum standards contained in the California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009 (as 
amended) and Division 7 .5 of Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations . The school is approved  to operate until May 31, 
2023 .  For more information, contact the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) at 1747 N. Market Blvd., Suite 
225, Sacramento, CA 95834, or by phone at (916) 574-8900 or toll-free at (888) 370-7589, or visit www.bppe.ca.gov. 

Cosmetology 1600 hours
Barbering 1500 hours
Esthetics 600 hours

Instruction is in residence with facility occupancy level accommodating 300 students at any one time .

California statute requires that a student who successfully completes a course of study be awarded an appropriate 
diploma or certificate verifying the fact .

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement . You 
are also encouraged to review the school’s Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an 
enrollment agreement . This school is currently approved to participate in approved sponsored programs, government or 
otherwise, to provide grants and/or loans to pay for portions of tuition and fees . 

The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) sets minimum standards for these programs of study: cosmetology, 
barbering, and esthetics programs . The minimum number of class hours and the total clock hours for each course, as 
outlined in the program’s Rules and Regulations booklet, must be met to qualify the student for licensure .

The school catalog is updated at least annually .  However, if the U .S . Department of Education releases new regulations 
the school updates the school catalog as required .  If the schools accrediting agency, NACCAS, publishes new policy, the 
school updates the catalog as required .  A new publication date is noted on the cover page of the catalog .

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be 
directed to the BPPE: 
1747 N . Market Blvd ., Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834
P .O . Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818
Phone (916) 574-8900 Toll-free (888) 370-7589
www .bppe .ca .gov

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private 
Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the 
bureau’s website at www .bppe .ca .gov .

All information in the content of this school catalog is current and correct and is so certified as true by Kenda Woodward 
and/or Thomas Mutter, Directors .

Signature______________________________________________________________________________
 Directors- Kenda Woodward and/or Thomas Mutter 
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MISSION STATEMENT

At Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa, our mission is to provide a quality educational system to prepare 
students to pass the state board examination and gain employment within their chosen field of study . We 
promote and recognize the principles of fairness, equity, inclusion, anti-discrimination, and social justice . 
Our culture is about celebrating diversity, bringing out the best in people and situations, changing lives, 
making a difference, giving back, healing the planet, and healing ourselves . We also provide a solid 
educational foundation to empower our team members in the pursuit of excellence . We strongly believe 
that when people come first, success will follow .

SCHOOL FACILITIES

Our programs offer the challenge of a stimulating and rewarding career . Paul Mitchell The School Costa 
Mesa is fully equipped to meet all the demands of modern hair and skin care, while providing a high-tech 
atmosphere and attitude for progressive personal development . The 14,700 square-foot facility includes 
a student lounge and lockers, guest reception and work areas, management offices, private classrooms, 
workstations, and equipment .

The school has one (1) entrance to the school and two (2) exits all of which are ADA complaint .  We have 
1 men’s, 1 woman’s and 3 other bathrooms that are ADA complaint .  All of our offices and classrooms are 
wheel chair accessible .  We have two (2) water fountains as well as filtered water which are all wheelchair 
accessible .  Our parking lot is handicap accessible .

ADMINISTRATION/OWNERSHIP

Von Curtis, Inc ., dba Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa, is an independently owned and operated 
franchisee of Paul Mitchell Advanced Education, LLC .

PARKING AND AMENITIES

Students must abide by local (city and/or landlord) parking rules, which are announced during orientation . 
Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa will not be responsible for parking violations and/or towing fees .

NONDISCRIMINATION

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa in its admission, instruction, and graduation policies and 
practices, does not allow or tolerate harassment or discrimination based on race, religion, creed, 
color, national origin, ancestry, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions), 
military or veteran status, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital status, age, sexual 
orientation, gender, gender identity or expression, genetic information, or any other basis protected 
by the federal, state, or local law . The school does not condone discrimination of any kind, bullying, 
harassment, or hazing of any sort . If any student or team member experiences or witnesses anyone 
being bullied, harassed, or hazed in any way, he or she is required to report the matter to the school’s 
director, Kenda Woodward and/or Thomas Mutter in person or by calling (714) 546-8786, or by mail at 
3309 Hyland Avenue, Suite J, Costa Mesa, CA 92626, immediately so appropriate action can be taken . 

TEACH-OUT AGREEMENT

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts 
and Sciences (NACCAS) and is not required by NACCAS to have a teach-out agreement in place .  Schools 
are only required to have a teach-out agreement in place under certain circumstances where the school 
may no longer be considered a viable entity, which does not apply to this school .
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ADVERSE ACTIONS
The U .S . Department of Education requires all Title IV eligible schools to publish any enforcement actions 
or prosecutions brought against it by a state or federal law enforcement agency in any matter where a fi-
nal judgment against the institution, if rendered, would result in an adverse action by the school’s accred-
iting agency, revocation by the state authorization or licensing agency, or limit, suspend, or terminate a 
school’s eligibility to participate in Title IV programs of the Higher Education Act . Paul Mitchell The School 
Costa Mesa does not have any legal actions against it by a state or federal law enforcement agency . 

COURSE DESCRIPTIONS (All courses are taught in English)

Cosmetology: Standard Occupational Classification (SOC 39-5012.00): 
Classification of Instructional Program (CIP 12.0401)
The curriculum involves 1,600 hours to satisfy California state requirements . The course includes extensive 
instruction and practical experience in cutting, men’s cutting, color, texture, long hair, makeup, skin, nails, 
customer service, personal appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail (Take 
Home) skills, guest record-keeping, business ethics, sanitation, state laws and regulations, salon-type 
administration, and job interviewing .

Students are prepared to be entry-level cosmetologists.

Barbering: SOC 39.5011.00, CIP Code 12.0402:
The curriculum involves 1,500 hours to satisfy California state requirements . The program includes 
extensive instruction and practical experience in men’s cutting, color, texture, men’s grooming, customer 
service, personal appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail (Take Home) 
skills, guest record-keeping, and business ethics, sanitation, state laws and regulations, salon-type 
administration, and job interviewing .

Students are prepared to be entry-level barbers .

Esthetics: SOC 39-5094.00, CIP Code 12.0409:
The curriculum involves 600 hours to satisfy California state requirements . The course includes extensive 
instruction and practical experience in skin, facials, hair removal, makeup application, customer service, 
personal appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail (Take Home) skills, 
guest record-keeping, business ethics, state laws and regulations, salon-type administration, and job 
interviewing .

Students are prepared to be entry-level estheticians .

At this time the school does not have any plans to improve or change its educational programs

The school does not have any written agreements with any other entity to offer in whole or part any of its 
educational programs .

LANGUAGE DISCLOSURE

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa does not recruit ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE, as “THE 
SCHOOL DOES NOT OFFER INSTRUCTION IN ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE .”

Students must have the ability to read and write English at a level of a graduate of an American high 
school as demonstrated by the possession of a standard high school diploma*, high school transcripts**, 
an academic transcript of a student who has successfully completed at least a two-year program that 
is acceptable for full credit towards a bachelor’s degree or  High School Equivalency diploma or official  
High School Equivalency diploma test scores . 

If a students primary language is not English the student may bring an interpreter, when signing the 
enrollment contract to obtain a clear understanding of the terms and conditions of the enrollment contract 
in the students primary language .  
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ADMISSIONS REQUIREMENTS

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa admits as regular students those who are high school graduates or 
holders of high school graduation equivalency certificates . Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa does not 
accept ability to benefit (ATB) students at this time . 

ADMISSIONS PROCEDURE

q  Complete an Application Form: Complete and submit the application form to the school prior to 
registration . All forms may be obtained by requesting them from Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa . 

w  Submit an Application Fee: Action will not be taken on admission or any student loan application 
until an application fee of $75 .00 is received . Please submit the fee in the form of a check or money 
order, payable to Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa . This fee is not included in the cost of tuition . In 
extraordinary circumstances, the school may waive the application fee for students that transfer from a 
school that has suddenly closed without notice .  

e  Submit Two (2) Photos: The photos should be recent head and shoulder shots of the applicant .

r  Entrance Essay: The essay should include the applicant’s accomplishments and career goals . 

t  Personal Interview: Applicants must complete a personal interview with the admissions team prior to 
registration . 

y  Provide Verification Documents: 

   a.  Identification (provide only one): Copies of a passport, a government-issued identification, a
              driver’s license, or a birth certificate are required .
         b.  Education (provide only one):  Copies of a standard high school diploma*, high school  
              transcripts showing high school completion**, an academic transcript of a student who has     
       successfully completed at least a two-year program that is acceptable for full credit towards a     
       bachelor’s degree or High School Equivalency diploma or official  High School Equivalency diploma  
       test scores .  

              * Please note that a Modified High School Diploma, a Certificate of Completion, or a Certificate of 
              Attainment is not accepted for our Admissions requirements .  They are not considered equivalent      
              to a Standard High School Diploma . We are required to verify that your proof of education is from a 
              valid high school or High School equivalency program . If we determine that your diploma or High 
              School Equivalency diploma is not valid, you will be denied admission to the school .

u   Dual License: Students that have their California cosmetology license or have completed the 1600 
        hours in cosmetology and would like to enroll in the barbering program must submit a copy of their 
        official transcript from cosmetology . 
i  Dual License: Students that have their California barbering license or have completed 1500 hours in 
        barbering and would like to enroll in the cosmetology program must submit a copy of their 
        official transcript from barbering . 
o  Aptitude Exam: Applicants must pass the school's aptitude exam prior to enrollment, demonstrating 

the student is proficient in the English language . 

**Foreign Diplomas or Transcripts: The school will accept a foreign diploma or transcript, however the 
diploma or transcript MUST be equivalent to a U .S . high school diploma and must be translated into 
English by a certified translator and evaluated by a credentialed evaluation service .  It is the students 
responsibility to have the foreign diploma or transcript translated and evaluated as part of the admissions 
process. Because the cost of evaluating a foreign diploma or transcript must be incurred as a charge of 
admissions prior to enrollment in an eligible program, the fee cannot be included in the cost of attendance 
(COA) . Guidance on who to contact to secure an official translation and evaluation can be obtained from 
the school Financial Aid Leader .



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL COSTA MESA CATALOG  5

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa does not recruit students who are already enrolled in a similar 
program at another institution .

If you have a disability and need an academic adjustment, please notify the Admissions Leader as soon 
as possible, so the school can review your request . If you are interested in attending our school and you 
do not have a high school diploma or High School Equivalency certificate, please contact our admissions 
office for a list of High School Equivalency programs located near the school . Paul Mitchell The School 
Costa Mesa does not require a student to have immunizations/vaccinations to enroll in our school . A 
copy of the school’s ADA Policy and Request for Accommodations form may be found on the school’s 
website or from the school’s Admissions Leader .

Transfer hours accepted by the school are applied to the total number of hours necessary to complete the 
program and are considered both attempted and completed hours for the purpose of determining when 
the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted . Satisfactory academic progress (SAP) evaluation 
periods are based on actual contracted hours at the institution . Please refer to the school transfer policy for 
additional information. 

ARBITRATION AND CLASS ACTION WAIVER DISCLOSURE

Arbitration and Class Action Waiver Disclosure: Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa (the 
“School”) requires each student to agree to a pre-dispute arbitration agreement and a class ac-
tion waiver as a condition of enrollment (“Arbitration Agreement”) .  The Arbitration Agreement 
does not, in any way, limit, relinquish, or waive a student’s ability to pursue filing a borrower 
defense claim, pursuant to 34 C .F .R . § 685 .206(e) at any time .  The Arbitration Agreement does 
not require that the student participate in arbitration or any internal dispute resolution process 
offered by the School prior to filing a borrower defense to repayment application with the U .S . 
Department of Education pursuant to 34 C .F .R . § 685 .206(e) .  Any arbitration, required by the 
Arbitration Agreement, tolls (pauses) the limitations period for filing a borrower defense to 
repayment application pursuant to 34 C .F .R . § 685 .206(e)(6)(ii) for the length of time that the ar-
bitration proceeding is under way .  Any questions about the Arbitration Agreement or a dispute 
relating to a student’s Title IV Federal student loans or to the provision of educational services for 
which the loans were provided should be directed to Kenda Woodward and/or Thomas Mutter 
in person or by calling (714) 546-8786, or by mail at 3309 Hyland Avenue, Suite J, Costa Mesa, CA 
92626, immediately so appropriate action can be taken . 

The definition of a class action means a lawsuit or an arbitration proceeding in which one or 
more parties seeks class treatment . Class action waiver means any agreement or part of an 
agreement, regardless of its form or structure, between a school, or a party acting on behalf of a 
school, and a student that relates to the making of a Direct Loan or the provision of educational 
services for which the student received title IV funding and prevents an individual from filing or 
participating in a class action that pertains to those services .

The definition of a pre-dispute arbitration agreement means any agreement or part of an 
agreement, regardless of its form or structure, between a school, or a party acting on behalf of a 
school, and a student requiring arbitration of any future dispute between the parties relating to 
the making of a Direct Loan or provision of educational services for which the student received 
title IV funding .

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa’s Financial Aid Leader will meet with each student during 
the signing of the enrollment contract and will be available during the student’s completion of 
Entrance Counseling for Title IV Student Loans to help answer any questions a student may have .
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APPLICANTS WITH NON-IMMIGRANT VISAS 

Non-immigrant applicants must provide documentation to show that they are permitted to be 
enrolled in a vocational or technical post-secondary school in the United States . Please see the 
Financial Aid Officer to determine if you qualify for enrollment and any type of Title IV financial aid .   
Please note that students who are studying under a student visa (M1 visa), or any other visa, are not 
eligible to receive Title IV financial aid . 

ACCEPTANCE 

After a prospective student has completed the enrollment application process, the enrollment team 
and School Director review each applicant and his or her required admissions materials, including 
the written entrance essay and personal interview, to determine acceptance .  Upon the decision of 
the enrollment team and School Director, the applicant receives written notification of acceptance 
or denial . Note: All applicants must undergo the entire enrollment application process (detailed in the 
enrollment application), which includes reentry students (withdrawals) and transfer students.

ARTICULATION AGREEMENT

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa does not have an articulation agreement with any other schools or 
entities .  The entire educational program is being provided by Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa and 
it’s educational team .
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REENTRY STUDENTS

Students who re-enroll in the program within 180 days of withdrawal date must complete the following:

q  All outstanding tuition, fees, and overtime expenses must be paid in advance or the student must 
make satisfactory arrangements with the Financial Aid Leader .

w  Previous tuition payments will be credited to the student’s balance based upon the original 
contracted cost for the course .  

e  If a re-enrolling student has previously used all of their excused absences provided under their 
original contract, the student will not receive any additional time for excused absences under the 
new contract addendum .  

r  If a student is re-enrolling due to exceeding their contract end date, the student will pay the hourly 
rate of the program to complete the remaining hours .

Students who re-enroll in the program after 180 days of withdrawal date must complete the following:

q  All outstanding tuition, fees, and overtime expenses must be paid in advance or the student must 
make satisfactory arrangements with the Financial Aid Leader .

w  Students will be contracted at the current tuition hourly rate . 

e  If a re-enrolling student has previously used all of their excused absences provided under their 
original contract, the student will not receive any additional time for excused absences under the 
new re-enrollment contract .  

r  Students are required to purchase a kit if their current kit is not complete . Any missing kit items must 
be purchased .

The school does not deny re-admission to any service member of the uniformed services for reasons 
relating to that service .

Re-admission is reserved to the sole discretion of Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa and may require 
special conditions . 

Re-admission for a student requires a personal interview with school administration . The re-entering 
student will be placed on a 30-day evaluation . During the 30-day evaluation period the student must 
demonstrate for that period that they can meet the school’s minimum attendance and academic 
requirements for Satisfactory Academic Progress .  The student will then be evaluated for Satisfactory 
Academic Progress at the next scheduled evaluation period to determine their new status .  Students 
who fail to meet the minimum attendance and academic requirements for that 30-day evaluation period 
may be terminated . Students who re-enter the program are placed in the same Satisfactory Academic 
Progress standing as when they left . 
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NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT 
OUR INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa is at the complete discretion 
of the institution to which you may seek to transfer . Acceptance of the certificate you earn in 
cosmetology, barbering and/or esthetics is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you 
may seek to transfer . If the certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the 
institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at 
that institution . For this reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet 
your educational goals . This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after 
attending Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa to determine if your certificate will transfer . 

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa is a clock hour school, which means that in order to receive credit for 
each hour earned you must be in attendance engaged in an educational activity .  If you decide to transfer 
to another cosmetology school, the likelihood is that some or most of your hours will be transferrable 
based on the transfer school’s published policy .  However, if you transfer to a credit hour school, such as 
a community college, or traditional college or university, for a degree granting program, the likelihood is 
that most, if not all hours earned will not be transferrable because of the subject matter taught and the 
type of degree granting program you are enrolling in .  Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa does not give 
clock hour credit for service in the armed forces, paid or unpaid employment, or other demonstrated 
competency or learning because of the nature of the program offered and state regulatory requirements .

NOTICE OF TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED FROM 
ANOTHER  INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits or certificate you earn at another institution, is at the sole discretion of Paul 
Mitchell The School Costa Mesa . You may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework, if Paul 
Mitchell The School Cost Mesa does not accept some or all of your credits . This determination will be 
based on an evaluation of the student’s comprehension of the course material . The school does not allow 
a student to appeal the number of hours accepted when transferring from another location . After the 
student completes the evaluation, the student will meet with the Education Leader to determine the 
number of hours accepted and where the student will be placed in the program . At this time, it will also 
be determined if previous completed coursework needs to be repeated . For this reason, you should speak 
to Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa’s admissions leader to determine if your credits or certificate will 
transfer . Transfer students are responsible to pay the hourly fee based on the number of hours needed to 
complete the program of study, which is noted under the Transfer Student section of this catalog . Transfer 
students are responsible to pay the $75 .00 application fee as part of the Admissions Procedure . The 
transfers student’s technical kit will be evaluated, and if necessary, the student will be responsible to 
purchase the technical and digital kit, as well as the textbooks and any sales tax involved .
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TRANSFER STUDENTS

*Students that have their California cosmetology license or have completed the 1600 hours in cosmetology 
and would like to enroll in the barbering program a minimum of 1300 hours will be accepted and students will 
need to complete a minimum of 200 hours in barbering and the cost will be $11.40 per hour. The school only 
accepts completers from Paul Mitchell schools.

*Students that have their California barbering license or have completed 1500 hours in barbering and would 
like to enroll in the cosmetology program a minimum of 1300 hours will be accepted and students will need to 
complete a minimum of 300 hours in cosmetology and the cost will be $13.10 per hour. The school only accepts 
completers from Paul Mitchell schools.

A maximum of 200 hours will be accepted for esthetics students who transfer from another school; all 
esthetics transfer students must attend a minimum of 400 hours at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa, 
to complete the Paul Mitchell culture and educational program .

Students who have had training outside the state of California must provide proof of the number of hours 
of training to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa prior to 
enrollment .

The cost for transfer cosmetology students is $13 .10 per hour; for barbering students, the cost is $11 .40 
per hour; and for esthetics students, the cost is $20 .50 per hour attended at Paul Mitchell The School 
Costa Mesa . This does not include the cost of a complete and current Paul Mitchell student kit . 

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the tuition .

Please note that students transferring to another school may not be able to transfer all hours they earned 
at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa; the number of transferable hours depends on the policy of the 
receiving school . 

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any 
other college or university .

The school does not accept transfer hours earned through challenge examinations and/or achievement 
tests .

The school does not allow a student to appeal the number of hours accepted when transferring from 
another location .

If the student has an incomplete student kit when enrolling as a transfer student, the student will be 
required to purchase student kit items to complete their student kit . Please see the admissions office 
for an itemized list of student kit prices .

In extraordinary circumstances, the school may allow a student to transfer in more hours from a non-
Paul Mitchell School, if the student is enrolling from a school that has suddenly closed without notice .  
In these instances, the school will evaluate the prospective student and credit them with the number 
of hours related to their course knowledge . 
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TRANSFER OF CREDIT POLICY
Cosmetology
Cosmetology students transferring from another Paul Mitchell School .
If transferring from another Paul Mitchell School, all transfer hours will be accepted . Students will be 
expected to attend the entire program from start to finish because the length of the program does not 
allow for an individual to obtain a Paul Mitchell education in the time allotted . 

Cosmetology students transferring from a non-Paul Mitchell School .
A maximum of 1200 hours will be accepted . To determine how many transfer hours the school accepts is 
based on passing a practical and written test and what is allowed by state board . All cosmetology transfer 
students must complete a minimum of 400 hours . 
1 . Pass a practical test with a minimum of 70% on the following criteria:

- Demonstrate State Board Sanitation and Disinfection
- Finger Wave with 6 pin-curls
- Color and Lightener Applications (Must perform four)
- Permanent Wave (10 rods)
- Chemical relaxer applications (virgin, re-touch)
- Marcel iron work demonstrating the three base curl placements . 
- Haircut, style and finish of your choice (to complete on a doll head or model)

2 . Pass a written exam with a minimum of 70% passing

Barbering
Barbering students transferring from another Paul Mitchell School
If transferring from another Paul Mitchell School, all transfer hours will be accepted . Students will be 
expected to attend the entire program from start to finish because the length of the program does not 
allow for an individual to obtain a Paul Mitchell education in the time allotted .

Barbering students transferring from a non-Paul Mitchell School
A maximum of 1100 hours will be accepted . To determine how many transfer hours the school accepts 
is based on passing a practical and written test and what is allowed by state board . All barber transfer 
students must complete a minimum of 400 hours . 
1 . Pass a practical test with a minimum of 70% on the following criteria:

- Demonstrate State Board Sanitation and Disinfection
- Finger Wave with 6 pin-curls
- Color and Lightener Applications (Must perform four)
- Permanent Wave (10 rods)
- Chemical relaxer applications (virgin, re-touch)
- Marcel iron work demonstrating the three base curl placements . 
- Haircut, style and finish of your choice (to complete on a doll head or model)

2 . Pass a written exam with a minimum of 70% passing

Esthetics
Esthetics students transferring from another Paul Mitchell School . 
If transferring from another Paul Mitchell School, all transfer hours will be accepted . Students will be 
expected to attend the entire program from start to finish because the length of the program does not 
allow for an individual to obtain a Paul Mitchell education in the time allotted .

Esthetics students transferring from a non- Paul Mitchell School
A maximum of 200 hours will be accepted . To determine how many transfer hours the school accepts is 
based on passing a practical and written test and what is allowed by state board . All cosmetology transfer 
students must complete a minimum of 400 hours . 
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1 . Pass a practical test with a minimum of 70% based on the following criteria
- Demonstrate State Board Sanitation and Disinfection 
- Basic Facial to include: Consultation, Cleanse, Skin Analysis, Exfoliation, Extractions, Mask, 
 Moisturize and Protect
- Wax: Brow Wax (hard wax or soft wax) 
2 . Pass a written exam with a minimum of 70% grade . 

STATE LICENSING DISCLAIMER

The state may refuse to grant a license if a student has been convicted of a crime; committed any act 
involving dishonesty, fraud, or deceit; or committed any act that, if committed by a licentiate of the 
business or profession in question, would be grounds for the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 
to deny licensure . The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology denies licensure on the grounds that the 
applicant knowingly made a false statement of fact required to be revealed in the application for such 
license . Students who are not U .S . citizens or who do not have documented authority to work in the 
United States will not be eligible to apply to take the state licensure examination . Paul Mitchell The School 
Costa Mesa is not responsible for students denied licensure .

DISCLOSURE FOR PROGRAMS LEADING TO LICENSURE

The following programs offered at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa lead to licensure in the state of 
California: Cosmetology, Barbering, and Esthetics .  We have compiled a list of all states that require 
licensure for the program you are interested in enrolling .  We have identified whether the institution’s 
program curriculum meets, does not meet, or a determination has not been made yet, for other state’s 
individual state educational requirements for professional licensure .  This information can be located on 
the school’s paulmitchell .edu website, as well as you will receive a copy in the school’s admissions packet, 
prior to touring the school . 

Please note that the school you are planning on attending has only had their curriculum evaluated by the 
state that you are attending school in, which meets the state’s requirements for licensure and practice . In 
determining whether your program of study is acceptable in another state, each state board reviews the 
number of clock hours you attended in your home state, the subject areas and practical experiences you 
completed, as a part of the process of determining what, if any, additional requirements you may have to 
meet in order to be licensed in their state .   We encourage all graduates who are considering becoming 
licensed in another state to first take the licensure exam in their home state, which will make it easier to 
transfer into another state .  If you are not licensed by your home state, the state you are considering 
getting licensed in may require you to take additional training to meet their state minimum hour 
requirements and/or take their state licensure exam .  State boards do not evaluate the curriculum of 
schools located in other states, but do, in most cases, recognize training from other states in order to 
transfer their license .

If, at any time, the program you are enrolled in, ceases to meet the educational requirements for licensure 
in the state where the student is located, the school will provide written notice directly to the student in 
writing within 14 calendar days of making that determination . 
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CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD PRE-APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

Pre-applications for the State of California licensing examinations require the school’s approval . 
Students may apply when they reach 1200 hours for cosmetology, 1100 hours for barbering, and 425 
hours for esthetics . Students must meet the following requirements to submit a pre-application to 
state board:

q Clinic Floor Worksheets: The worksheets must be current .
w  Theory Hours: The student must have completed a minimum of 120 theory hours for cosmetology, 
      110 theory hours for barbering, and 42 theory hours for esthetics .

e Theory Exam: All theory exams require a 70% grade or higher and must be current .
r  State Board Exam: The student must have passed two state board exams with a 70% grade or   
      higher .

t  Service Tracking Form: The student must complete a minimum of 75% of all practical requirements . 

y  Tuition: The student’s tuition must be current on all payments owed .

A student who wishes to pre-apply is required to notify the Final Phase Specialist approximately 70 
hours prior to achieving 1200 hours for cosmetology, 1100 hours for barbering, and 425 hours for 
esthetics . 

If the above requirements are not met by the time the student reaches 1200 hours for cosmetology; 
1,100 hours for barbering; or 425 hours for esthetics; the student will lose the opportunity to pre-apply 
for the California state board exam and will  have to apply after graduation . 

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa  reserves the right to process the pre-application for students .

BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

To receive a cosmetology license in the state of California, a student must:

q  Complete a cosmetology course in a school approved by the California State Board of Barbering and       
Cosmetology .

w  Submit an application and required fee .

e  Have at least a 10th grade education or its equivalent, and be at least 17 years of age .

r  Receive a passing score on both the practical demonstration and written exam .



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL COSTA MESA CATALOG  13

ENROLLMENT INFORMATION

q  Enrollment periods: Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa usually begins new cosmetology and 
barbering classes about every eight (8) weeks, and an esthetics class about every  twelve (12) weeks, 
depending upon space availability . Please refer to the Tuition and Registration Schedule supplement 
(located in the admissions packet) or contact Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa  for exact starting 
dates .

w  Holidays and school closures: Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa allows the following holidays off: 
New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Eve and 
Christmas Day, and one day per month for staff personal development . These dates are determined 
according to the calendar each year . Additional holidays may be added to the schedule at the 
discretion of school administration . The school is open for business unless there is a declared State 
of Emergency .  Unexpected closures will be reported via the schools website and/or Facebook page . 

e  Enrollment contract: Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa clearly outlines the obligation of both 
the school and the student in the enrollment contract . A copy of the enrollment contract and 
information on costs and payment plans will be furnished to the student before the beginning of 
class attendance .

r  Payment schedule: Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa offers a variety of monthly financial 
payment schedules . See an Admissions Leader or Financial Aid Leader for details .

EDUCATION GOALS

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa strives to provide a quality educational system that prepares 
students to pass the state board examination and gain employment within their chosen field of study . 
Our quality education system includes an outstanding facility, experienced and competent instructors, 
and a curriculum developed through years of experience and expertise . Our education goals are:

q  To educate students to be professional, knowledgeable, and skilled in their field for marketability 
within the industry .

w  To maintain an updated program that provides students with the knowledge to compete in their field 
of study .

e  To promote the continuing educational growth of our faculty and students, using current teaching 
methods and techniques .

r  To teach courtesy and professionalism as the foundation for a successful career in their chosen field of 
study .

t  To prepare students to successfully pass the state licensing exam for entry-level employment .

y  To train and graduate students while empowering them to become confident and excited to enter a 
successful career within the salon and beauty industry .
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STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (STRF)

“The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate 
economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was 
a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in 
the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss . Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, 
you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a 
student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, 
and prepay all or part of your tuition .

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if 
you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program .”

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, 
or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school . Questions regarding the STRF 
may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 N . Market Blvd ., Suite 225 
Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589 .

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or enrolled in a residency program, prepaid 
tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of 
any of the following:

q    The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was 
         closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the 
         Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau .

w   You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the 
       closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program 
       within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued .

e    You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the 
         closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the 
         institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value 
         of the program more than 120 days before closure .

r    The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so .

t    The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as 
        required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of 
        tuition and other costs .

y   You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, 
        based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been
        unable to collect the award from the institution .

u   You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and 
         have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans .

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of 
the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF .

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non collection may, 
at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise 
been eligible for recovery . If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the 
student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) 
year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law .
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However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer 
identification number .” 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code . Reference: Section 94923, 
94924 and 94925, Education Code .

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa will collect the STRF fee from the student ($0 .00 for cosmetology 
students; $0 .00 for barbering students; and $0 .00 for esthetics students and remit it to the BPPE .

Classes will be held at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa located at 3309 Hyland Avenue, Suite J, Costa 
Mesa, CA 92626.

2021 START DATES
 

Cosmetology

FT DAY SCHOOL: January 12, March 9, May 4, July 6, September 7, October 5, November 9

NIGHT SCHOOL: January 11, April 26, July 26, October 25

Barbering
DAY SCHOOL: January 12, March 9, May 4, July 6, September 7, October 5, November 9
NIGHT SCHOOL: January 11, April 26, July 26, October 25

Esthetics
FT DAY SCHOOL: January 12, March 9, May 4, July 6, September 7, October 5, November 9
PT DAY SCHOOL : April 19
NIGHT SCHOOL: February 1, June 14, October 18

Students that have their cosmetology license and would like to enroll in the barbering program or students that 
have their barbering license and would like to enroll in the cosmetology program classes start the first Tuesday of 
each month.

Classes will be held at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa located at 3309 Hyland Avenue, Suite J, Costa 
Mesa, CA 92626.
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COST OF TUITION AND SUPPLIES

Because of inflationary cycles, and because we must occasionally change equipment to remain current, 
the school reserves the right for the following tuition information to be subject to change .

TUITION — Cosmetology

Tuition                                                                                                                                    $20,960 .00
Application fee (nonrefundable)                                                                                                          75 .00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) (nonrefundable)                                                        0 .00
Technical Kit*                                                                                                                           1,033 .55
Textbooks  (nonrefundable)                                                                                                        209 .00
Digital Kit (nonrefundable)                                                                                                                 405 .00
Sales Tax                                                                                                                                                        127 .69
TOTAL COSTS                                                                                                                         $22,810.24

TUITION — Barbering

Tuition                                                                                                                                    $17,100 .00
Application fee (nonrefundable)                                                                                                          75 .00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) (nonrefundable)                                                        0 .00
Technical Kit*                                                                                                                              953 .12
Textbooks (nonrefundable)                                                                                                 229 .00
Digital Kit (nonrefundable)                                                                                                                 405 .00
Sales Tax                                                                                                                                         123 .01 
TOTAL COSTS                                                                                                                         $18,885.13

TUITION — Esthetics

Tuition                                                                                                                                    $10,620 .00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) (nonrefundable)                                                        0 .00
Technical Kit *                                                                                                                                              1,080 .33
Textbooks (nonrefundable)                                                                                                          138 .95
Digital Kit (nonrefundable)                                                                                                                  405 .00
Sales Tax                                                                                                                                         125 .89
TOTAL COSTS                                                                                                                          $12,370.17

*Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment. 
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal in their original state, no 
exceptions. All returned equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee.

Note: The total charges for a period of attendance are equivalent to the cost of the entire program, 
due to the length of the program.

The school complies with the California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009,  94899.5 (b) and 
does not require more than one term or four months of tuition in advance, until 50 percent of the program 
has been offered and the school is due full payment. 

Please contact the school’s Financial Aid Leader for payment options . The school accepts cash, credit card, 
and personal check payments . Financial aid recipients understand that monies received on their behalf 
are applied first to tuition costs . In extraordinary circumstances, the school may adjust tuition and kit fees 
for students that transfer from a school that has suddenly closed without notice .

Financial aid is available to those who qualify.

NOTICE: The cost of “Technical Kit, Textbooks, and Digital ” is not paid by the VA, and the veteran or 
eligible person is responsible for payment. 

YOU MAY ASSERT AGAINST THE HOLDER OF THE PROMISSORY NOTE YOU SIGNED IN ORDER TO 
FINANCE THE COST OF THE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM ALL OF THE CLAIMS AND DEFENSES THAT YOU 
COULD ASSERT AGAINST THIS INSTITUTION, UP TO THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID UNDER THE 
PROMISSORY NOTE .
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STUDENT TEXTBOOKS AND KITS
Students  will only be allowed to use Paul Mitchell technical kits and equipment while enrolled at the 
School . Students may purchase the Paul Mitchell Technical kit in it's entirety from the school, or they may be 
purchased independently .  If purchased independently, they must meet the criteria listed on the Student 
Technical Kit List .  Refer to the catalog kit list .  If the student needs to replace a technical kit or equipment 
item at any time during his or her enrollment in the school, these items may be purchased through the 
school or independently .
Students are advised to refrain from loaning any part of their technical kit or textbooks . The school is not 
responsible for items that are lost or stolen . Published kit lists herein are subject to change .

All education apps will work on an Iphone .  If a student has access to an Iphone, that is compatible with 
the apps, an Ipad purchase may not be necessary .

Right to Independent Purchase of IPad, Textbooks and Technical Kit:  Any student who desires to 
independently purchase their IPad, textbook or technical kit from a vendor other than Paul Mitchell The 
School Costa Mesa has the right to do so . A student who chooses to do this should notify the school 
during contracting .

Students are advised to refrain from loaning any part of their kit or textbooks . The school is not 
responsible for items that are lost or stolen . Published kit lists herein are subject to change .

LATE PAYMENTS 

If a student fails to make a scheduled tuition payment, the student may receive a coaching session on 
the Future Professional Advisory Form .  If a student consistently fails to make scheduled payments, the 
student may be terminated from the program .

CONSTITUTION DAY

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa celebrates Constitution Day on or near September 17 of each 
year . For more information visit www .constitutionday .com

VOTER REGISTRATION

Students are encouraged to register to vote in state and federal elections . Voter registration and election 
date information for the state of California can be found at http://www .sos .ca .gov . 

For information on voter registration and election dates for federal elections, visit                                      
www .eac .gov/voter_resources .

STUDENTS WHO WITHDRAW 

Students who withdraw from the program are required to empty their locker and gather all personal 
items . Any items left behind by the student will be stored for 60 days, at which time the items become the 
property of Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa . 

Students wishing to transfer to another institution must pay all monies owed to Paul Mitchell The School 
Costa Mesa, and all applicable academic requirements must be met in order for the hours to be released . 
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COACHING OPPORTUNITES, SUSPENSION AND TERMINATION POLICY

Students will be coached for noncompliance with any of the items listed below as coaching 
opportunities . If a student receives five (5) coaching sessions, they may receive a five-school-day 
suspension . On the students fifth coaching session, the Future Professional Advisor will create a plan of 
action to be followed . After a student has received a five-school-day suspension, the student may only 
receive two (2) more coaching sessions . On the seventh coaching session, the student may be terminated 
from the school .

Future Professionals may receive coaching sessions for the following items:

Lack of the correct uniform and/or dress code, which includes a missing name tag
Malicious gossip
Neglecting to call in when late or absent .
Excessive tardiness to theory and/or specialty class .
Not attending school on the required mandatory school days . (Refer to the school attendance policy .)
Beginning a guest service without a Learning Leader’s consultation .
Unfinished singles and/or the late submission of the practical Clinic Classroom Worksheet .
Being behind in theory attendance and/or theory exams .
Parking in an undesignated area .
Use of cell phones in non-permitted areas .
Smoking on the school campus . The school is a smoke-free campus
Violation of the school’s Internet and Social Networking Policy .
Violation of the standards in the Student Professional Development Guidelines . (Refer to the school 
catalog .)

Behind on tuition payments
Falling below required  percent in monthly attendance .
Technology used for non-educational purposes .
Failure to complete practical and academic assignments .
Violation of standards and/or Code of Conduct at a school-sponsored event, externship, off-campus 
event, and/or field trip .

Readmittance into the school after a five-school-day suspension will be based upon the following:
A . The Future Professional must be current on all theory exams and academic assignments .
B . The Future Professional must conduct a personal interview with the School Director and/or Financial 
Aid Leader to determine the compliance for reentry .
C . The Future Professional will be placed on probation for thirty (30) calendar days, during which time he 
or she must strictly abide by all policies, rules, and regulations .
D . Complete the 5 Day Suspension Re-Entry Form .

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa may terminate a student’s enrollment for immoral and/or improper 
conduct, receiving seven (7) coaching sessions, and/or failing to comply with educational requirements  
and/or the terms as agreed upon within the enrollment contract .
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Students may be terminated for the following and may be given no warnings or prior coaching sessions:

Use of drugs and/or alcohol, which includes prescription marijuana .
Possession of drugs and/or alcohol, which includes prescription marijuana .
Clocking in/out for another Future Professional .
 Leaving the school facility, without notifying a Learning Leader and/or signing out for a break, and 
remaining clocked in on the time clock and receiving unearned hours . The school parking lot and 
surrounding businesses are not included as part of the school facility .
Cheating or stealing .
 Insubordination .
Threatening statements made toward staff, service guests, or Future Professionals . No bullying .
 Physical violence and/or altercations .
Paul Mitchell Schools, in its admission, instruction, and graduation policies and practices, does not 
discriminate on the basis of sex, race, religion, age, ethnic origin, color, disability, sexual orientation, 
or ancestry . The school does not allow or tolerate discrimination of any kind, bullying, harassment, or 
hazing of any sort toward staff, Future Professionals, and/or service guests .
Violation of the Title IX policy .
Violation of standards and/or Code of Conduct at a school-sponsored event, externship, off-campus 
event, and/or field trip .
Violation of the Harrassment, Intimidation, Bullying, and Discrimination Policy .

If a Future Professional is terminated for gross misconduct, which includes but is not limited to reporting to 
school under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs, cheating, stealing, insubordination, threats, and/or 
bullying, such termination is final and may not be appealed.
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COSMETOLOGY COURSE OVERVIEW

Course Hours: 1600 clock hours

The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service learning experiences .

q  Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 210 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where 
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices .

w  Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 1390 hours are spent in the clinic classroom 
area where practical experience is gained .

COSMETOLOGY COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa in the cosmetology program will be divided into six 
designations:

q  Core Curriculum: A 210-hour orientation, known as the Core program, instills the basic 
fundamentals . Students are graded and evaluated using written, oral, and practical testing methods . 
Students must successfully complete the Core curriculum prior to attending regularly scheduled daily 
classes in cutting, color, permanent waving, and chemical texture services . 

w  Protégé Learning Experience: Your experience as a Protégé produces a smooth transition from Core 
student to Adaptive student . You spend 70 hours as a Protégé preparing for the clinic classroom .

e  Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: Your clinic classroom time from 280 to 1600 hours will 
be guided with individual attention and group learning experiences using mini-classes, monthly 
worksheets, and periodic evaluations developed specifically for this monitoring progress . This is when 
you begin experiencing your clinic classroom education on paying clients in the clinic classroom area .

r  Classroom Learning Experience: Your classroom time from 280 to 1600 hours is divided into six (6) 
areas: cutting, coloring, texture, makeup, skin, and nails . Each area has an instructor who conducts 
the different specialty classes each week; Classroom Learning Experiences may also include retail, 
motivation, self improvement, professional development, and attendance education which may be 
conducted by an instructor, non-licensed staff member or guest artist .

t  Adaptive Curriculum: From 280 to 800 hours, you will enter a new phase of specialty classroom 
workshops coupled with challenging practical services designed to continue building your skills as a 
future beauty industry professional .

y  Creative Curriculum: You will spend your last 800 hours in Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa in 
“high gear” by dressing, acting, and working like a true beauty industry professional . You will use your 
own artistic and creative abilities, coupled with the assistance of the Learning Leaders, to prepare 
yourself for your future beauty industry career .
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BARBERING COURSE OVERVIEW

Course Hours: 1500 clock hours

The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service learning experiences .

q  Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 210 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where 
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices .

w  Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 1290 hours are spent in the clinic floor area 
where practical experience is gained .

BARBERING COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa  for the barbering program will be divided into six 
designations:

q  Core Curriculum: A 210-hour orientation, known as the Core program, instills the basic 
fundamentals . Students are graded and evaluated using written, oral, and practical testing methods . 
Students must successfully complete the Core curriculum prior to attending regularly scheduled daily 
classes in cutting, color, permanent waving, and chemical texture services . 

w  Protégé Learning Experience: Your experience as a Protégé produces a smooth transition from Core 
student to Adaptive student . You spend 70 hours as a Protégé preparing for the clinic classroom .

e  Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: Your clinic classroom time from 280 to 1500 hours will 
be guided with individual attention and group learning experiences using mini-classes, monthly 
worksheets, and periodic evaluations developed specifically for this monitoring progress . This is when 
you begin experiencing your clinic classroom education on paying clients in the clinic classroom area .

r  Classroom Learning Experience: Your classroom time from 280 to 1500 hours is divided into six (6) 
areas: cutting, coloring, texture, makeup, skin, and nails . Each area has an instructor who conducts 
the different specialty classes each week;  Classroom Learning Experiences may also include retail, 
motivation, self improvement, professional development, and attendance education which may be 
conducted by an instructor, non-licensed staff member or guest artist .

t  Adaptive Curriculum: From 280 to 750 hours, you will enter a new phase of specialty classroom 
workshops coupled with challenging practical services designed to continue building your skills as a 
future beauty industry professional .

y  Creative Curriculum: You will spend your last 750 hours in Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa in 
“high gear” by dressing, acting, and working like a true beauty industry professional . You will use your 
own artistic and creative abilities, coupled with the assistance of the Learning Leaders, to prepare 
yourself for your future beauty industry career .
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ESTHETICS COURSE OVERVIEW

Course Hours: 600 clock hours

The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service learning experiences .

q  Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 190 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where 
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices .

w  Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 410 hours are spent in the clinic floor area 
where practical experience is gained .

ESTHETICS COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa  for the esthetics program will be divided into four 
designations:

q  Core Curriculum: This 190-hour time period is dedicated to exploring foundational knowledge and 
basic esthetics, facial, hair removal, and makeup procedures . You will receive individual attention in 
practical workshops, and you will complete monthly worksheets and periodic tests throughout the 
course . This is an intense and exciting portion of your experience . 

w   Clinic Classroom Floor Learning Experience: You will enter a new phase of specialty classroom 
workshops coupled with challenging practical services that will continue to build your skills as a 
future beauty industry professional .

e  Classroom Learning Experience: During this phase of your learning, you will be introduced to guest 
speakers, prescriptive (Take Home) selling, motivation, self-improvement, body treatments, and 
emerging technologies . You will use your own technical and therapeutic abilities, coupled with the 
assistance of Learning Leaders, to provide service to service guests . You will make discoveries and 
learn relationship-building skills that will guide your success in this exciting, diverse field .

r  Creative Curriculum: You will dress, act, and work like a true salon professional . You will use your 
own technical and therapeutic abilities, coupled with the assistance of Paul Mitchell The School Costa 
Mesa  Learning Leaders, to prepare for your future beauty industry career .
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA REQUIREMENTS

Cosmetology

The instructional program of Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa meets or exceeds these requirements:

Subject Technical 
Instruction

Practical 
Applications

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Hair Dressing (1100 hours)

Hairstyling 65 240

Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening 40 105

Hair Coloring and Bleaching 60 50

Hair Cutting to include razor, clipper, trimmers, 
and  thinning shears 20 80

Five Minute Stress Relief Treatment 0 50

Additional Training 915 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Health and Safety (200 hours)

Laws and Regulations 20 0

Health and Safety Considerations 45 0

Disinfection and Sanitation 20 15

Anatomy and Physiology 15 0

Professional Development 30 0

Additional Training 70 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Esthetics (200 hours)

Manual, Electrical, and Chemical Facials 25 40

Eyebrow Beautification and Makeup 25 30

Additional Training 150 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Manicuring and Pedicuring (100 hours)

Manicuring and Pedicuring 10 25

Artificial Nails and Wraps 25 120 Nails = 12

Additional Training 65 0

TOTAL HOURS OF TECHNICAL INSTRUCTION 1600

The institution offers employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts to secure education-related 
employment that includes, but is not limited to training in professionalism, resume’ development, job 
interview preparation and job search skills .

Exceeds means that during the course of your training you may complete more services then what is listed, 
however  no additional hours, over the 1600 required by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) will be 
required.
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Cosmetology

The following subjects are taught in the distance education portion of the cosmetology program .  

Subject Theory Hours

Block 1 Haircoloring

Color Theory, Color Design, Identifying Existing Color, Nonoxidative Color, Oxidative 
Color, Color Tools & Essentials, Color Skills, Guest Experience, Color Service 20

Block 2 Chemical Texture

Perm Theory, Perm Design, Perm Products & Essentials, Perm Skills, Guest 
Experience, Relaxer Theory, Relaxer Products & Essentials, Relaxer Skills, Guest 
Experience, Relaxer Service

20

Block 3 Skin Care Makeup

Skin Theory, Skin Diseases & Disorders, Skin Care, Guest Experience, Hair Removal 
Theory, Guest Experience, Makeup Theory, Makeup Products & Design, Guest 
Experience

20

Block 4 Nails

Nail Theory, Natural Nails, Nail Product & Essentials, Guest Experience, Natural Nail 
Service, Artificial Product & Essentials, Atificial Nail Service 20

Block 5 Life Skills & Business

Healthy Body & Mind, Ergonomics, Basic Communication, Communicate With 
Confidence, Human Relations, Resilience, Goal Setting, Job Search, Finding A Salon 
That Fits, Professional Relationships, Know Your Client Market, Salon Experience, 
Ownership, Operations, Retail Products

8

Block 6 Science Part 1
Microbiology, Infection Control, First Aid, Building Block Of The Human Body, 
Muscular Sysytem, Circulatory System, Nervous System, Hair Theory, Matter 20

Block 7 Science Part 2

pH, Principles Of Electricity, Electricity In Cosmetology, Hair Care Product 
Knowledge, Hair Care, Shampoo & Scalp Massage Theory, Guest Experience 20

Block 8 Client Centered Design & Sculpture

Sculpture Theory , Sculpture Tools & Essentials, Sculpture Skills, Guest Service, 
Solid Form Overview, Graduated Form Overview, Increase Layer Form Overview, 
Uniformly Layered Form Overview, Texturizing Techniques, Combination Form 
Overview, Men's Scuplture Overview

20

Block 9 Hair Design

Hair Design Theory, Hair Design Tools & Essentials, Hair Design Skills, Guest 
Experience, Hair Design Service, Straight Volume & Indentation, Curvature 
Volume & Identations, Fingerwaving & Molding , Thermal Design                                             

20

Block 10 Long Hair Styling Wigs & Extensions

Long Hair Theory, Long Hair Tools & Essentials, Long Hair Skills, Guest Experience, 
Wig Theory, Wig Services, Hairpiece & Hair Addition Essentials 20

TOTAL HOURS 188
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Barbering

The instructional program of Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa meets or exceeds these requirements:

Subject Technical 
Instruction

Practical 
Applications

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Hair Dressing (1100 hours)

Hairstyling 65 240

Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening 40 105

Hair Coloring and Bleaching 60 50

Hair Cutting to include razor, clipper, trimmers, 
and  thinning shears 20 80

Five Minute Stree Relief Treatment 0 50

Scalp Treatment and Manipulation 0 10

Additional Training 915 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Shaving (200 hours)

Shaving Preparation and Performance 
(Shaves and Facials) 100 40

Additional Training 100 0

Technical InstructionTraining in Health and Safety (200 hours)

Laws and Regulations 20 0

Health and Safety Considerations 45 0

Disinfection and Sanitation 20 15

Anatomy and Physiology 15 0

Professional Development 25 0

Additional Training 75 0

TOTAL HOURS OF TECHNICAL INSTRUCTION 1500

The institution offers employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts to secure education-related 
employment that includes, but is not limited to training in professionalism, resume’ development, job 
interview preparation and job search skills .

Exceeds means that during the course of your training, you may complete more services than what is listed; 
however, no additional hours over the 1,500 hours required by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) 
will be required.
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Barbering

The following subjects are taught in the distance education portion of the barbering program .  

Subject Theory Hours

Block 1 Haircoloring

Color Theory, Color Design, Identifying Existing Color, Nonoxidative Color, Oxidative 
Color, Color Tools & Essentials, Color Skills, Guest Experience, Color Service 19

Block 2 Chemical Texture

Perm Theory, Perm Products & Essentials, Perm Skills, Guest Experience, Perm 
Service, Relaxer Theory, Relaxer Products & Essentials, Relaxer Skills, Guest 
Experience, Relaxer Service

19

Block 3 Skin Care & Shaving & Beard Design

Skin Theory, Skin Diseases & Disorders, Skin Care, Guest Experience, Hair Removal 
Theory, Guest Experience, Shaving & Beard Design Theory, Shaving & Beard Design 
Tools & Essentials, Shaving & Beard Design Skills, Guest Experience, Shaving, Beard 
Design Service

19

Block 4 Life Skills & Business

Healthy Body & Mind, Ergonomics, Basic Communication, Communicate With 
Confidence, Human Relations, Resilience, Goal Setting, Job Search, Finding A 
Barbershop That Fits, Professional Relationships, Know Your Client Market, Build 
Your Clientele, Barbershop Experience, Ownership, Operations, Retail Products, 
Barbering History

5

Block 5 Science Part 1
Microbiology, Infection Control, First Aid, Building Block Of The Human Body, 
Muscular System, Circulatory System, Nervous System, Hair Theory, Matter 19

Block 6 Science Part 2

pH, Principles Of Electricity, Electricity In Barbering, Hair Care Product Knowledge, 
Hair Care, Shampoo & Scalp Massage Theory, Guest Experience 19

Block 7 Client Centered Design & Sculpture

Cutting Theory, Cutting Tools & Essentials, Foundational Cutting Skills, Foundational 
Forms Overview, Guest Experience, Cutting Service, Tapered Cut & Fade Theory, 
Tapered Cut & Fade Tools & Essentials, Tapered Cut & Fade Skills, Short Combination 
Form Overview, Texturizing Techniques, Tapered Cut & Fade Service

19

Block 8 Hair Design

Styling Theory, Styling Tools & Essentials, Thermal Styling, Wet Styling, Natural 
Texture Styling, Styling Guest Experience, Styling Service                       19

Block 9 Hair Replacement

Wig Theory, Wig Services, Hair Replacement Systems, Wig & Hair Replacement 
Essentials 19

TOTAL HOURS 176
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Esthetics

The instructional program of Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa meets or exceeds these requirements:

Subject Technical 
Instruction

Practical 
Applications

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Hair Dressing (350 hours)

Manual, Electrical, and Chemical  Facials 70 140

Preparation 15 0

Additional Training 265 0

Technical Instruction in Health and Safety (200 hours)

Laws and Regulations 10 0

Health and Safety Considerations 40 0

Disinfection and Sanitation 10 0

Anatomy and Physiology 15 0

Additional Training 125 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Removal and Make-up (50 hours)

Eyebrow Beautification 25 50

Make-up 20 40

Additional Training 5 0

TOTAL HOURS OF TECHNICAL INSTRUCTION 600

The institution offers employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts to secure education-related 
employment that includes, but is not limited to training in professionalism, resume’ development, job 
interview preparation and job search skills .

Exceeds means that during the course of your training you may complete more services than what is listed; 
however, no additional hours over the 600 hours required by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) 
will be required.
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COSMETOLOGY PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following exams and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 1600-hour course:

q Weekly theory exams: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each weekly theory  
        exam . 

w  210-hour Core written and practical skill evaluation exams: Students must receive a grade of 70% 
or higher . If a student fails to pass this evaluation test on their second attempt they may be asked to 
withdraw and re-enroll in the next Core class start date .

e  Final exam 1 (approximately 800-hour written exam): This exam covers an overview of all related 
cosmetology subjects (e .g ., anatomy, chemistry, etc .) . Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher 
on all final exams . 

r  Final exam 2 (approximately 1400-hour written exam): The written exam covers an overview of 
all theory instruction, California state law, and other items covered on the state cosmetology exam . 
Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on all final exams . 

t  Clinic classroom practical worksheets: Students must complete clinic classroom practical 
worksheets . 

BARBERING PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following exams and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 1500-hour course:

q Weekly theory exams: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each weekly theory 
 exam . 

w  210-hour Core written and practical skill evaluation exams: Students must receive a grade of 70% 
or higher . If a student fails to pass this evaluation test exams on their second attempt they may be 
asked to withdraw and re-enroll in the next Core class start date .

e  Final exam 1 (approximately 800-hour written exam): This exam covers an overview of all related 
cosmetology subjects (e .g ., anatomy, chemistry, etc .) . Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher 
on all final exams . 

r  Final exam 2 (approximately 1400-hour written test): The written exam covers an overview of 
all theory instruction, California state law, and other items covered on the state cosmetology exam . 
Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on all final exams . 

t  Clinic classroom practical worksheets: Students must complete clinic classroom practical 
worksheets . 

ESTHETICS PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following exams and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 600-hour course:

q  Weekly theory exams: Student must receive a grade of 70% or higher on each weekly theory exam . 

w  Midterm written and practical: Students must receive a grade of 70% or higher on all final exams .

e  Final written and practical: The written exam covers an overview of all theory instruction, California 
state law, and other items covered on the state esthetics exam . Students must receive a grade of 70% 
or higher on all final exams .

r  Clinic classroom practical worksheets: Students must complete clinic classroom practical 
worksheets . 
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MEASURABLE PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES

q Complete the required number of clock hours of training .

w  Achieve and receive passing grades on all practical graduation requirements and projects, including 
practical and theoretical examinations .

e Satisfactorily pass final written and practical exams .

r Upon completion, receive a graduation certificate .

t Pass the state board exam .

SAFETY PRECAUTIONS FOR THE BEAUTY INDUSTRY

By following safety precautions, you contribute to the health, welfare, and safety of the community . 
Always have good hygiene and be professionally dressed . Keep a first aid kit on hand, follow safety 
regulations, and keep equipment properly sanitized . The following precautions should always be taken 
with each service guest:

q Protect service guests’ clothing by appropriately draping them .

w Ask service guests to remove any jewelry, hair accessories, glasses, etc .

e  Keep any and all chemicals away from the eyes . In case of eye contact with chemicals, thoroughly 
rinse the eyes with cold water .

r Wear gloves when dealing with chemicals .

t  Remember that anything containing chemically active ingredients must be used carefully to avoid 
injury to you and your service guest .

INDUSTRY REQUIREMENTS 

Students interested in pursuing a career in the beauty industry should:

q Develop finger dexterity and a sense of form and artistry .

w Enjoy dealing with the public .

e Stay current on the latest fashions and beauty techniques .

r Make a strong commitment to your education .

t  Be aware that the work can be arduous and physically demanding because of long hours standing 
and using your hands at shoulder level .
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ENFORCEMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH REGULATIONS

The state of California has the reasonable expectation that all trained and licensed cosmetology 
professionals will be knowledgeable of all public health regulations applicable to the profession and that 
licensed cosmetology professionals will practice and enforce these standards .

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa has the reasonable expectation that all students will dutifully and 
earnestly apply themselves to learning the health regulations of California and on a daily basis will 
practice and demonstrate their knowledge of these rules and accept their professional vanguards and 
enforcers of public health regulations . 

Employees are expected to demonstrate and apply these standards and regulations at all times .

Students and employees are required to adhere to the safety precautions caused by COVID-19 . Students 
and employees must abide by the safety and sanitation procedures as outlined by the Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention (CDC) .  

Clean your hands often
 • Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds especially after you   
                  have been in a public place, or after blowing your nose, coughing, or sneezing .
 • If soap and water are not readily available, use a hand sanitizer that contains at least 60%   
                  alcohol . Cover all surfaces of your hands and rub them together until they feel dry .
 • Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands .
                  Cover your mouth and nose with a cloth face cover when around others
 • You could spread COVID-19 to others even if you do not feel sick .
 • Everyone should wear a cloth face cover when they have to go out in public . 
 • The cloth face cover is meant to protect other people in case you are infected .
 • Do NOT use a facemask meant for a healthcare worker .
 • Continue to keep about 6 feet between yourself and others . The cloth face cover is not a  
                substitute for social distancing .

Clean and disinfect
 • Clean AND disinfect surfaces daily . This includes clinic station, hydraulic chair, tables,   
                 doorknobs, light switches, countertops, handles, desks, phones, keyboards, toilets, 
                 faucets, and sinks .
 • If surfaces are dirty, clean them . Use detergent or soap and water prior to disinfection .
 • Then, use a household disinfectant . Most common EPA-registered household 
                 disinfectantexternal icon will work .

Watch for symptoms
People with COVID-19 have had a wide range of symptoms reported – ranging from mild symptoms to 
severe illness .  If you have any of these symptoms DO NOT come to school .  Contact the school and follow 
the call-in procedure .  A school representative will be taking student’s temperature prior to entering the 
school facility .  If the student has a fever, they will not be allowed to enter the school until the symptoms 
have passed .

These symptoms may appear 2-14 days after exposure to the virus:
 • Fever
 • Cough
 • Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing
 • Chills
 • Repeated shaking with chills
 • Muscle pain
 • Headache
 • Sore throat
 • New loss of taste or smell
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STUDENT SERVICES

q  Housing: Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa  keeps a file of information about housing in the 
surrounding areas; however, the school does not provide dormitory facilities and does not have any 
facilities under its control . The school is not responsible to find or assist students in finding housing . 

        There is available housing located within two miles of the school . The cost of housing is between
        $800 – $2, 500 per month .   

w  Advising: Students are provided with academic advising and additional assistance as necessary . 
If referral to professional assistance is necessary, the school maintains a record of such referral . 
Information and advice on any financial assistance are accessible to students . Paul Mitchell The 
School Costa Mesa also gives advice and information to students on these subjects:

 a . Regulations governing licensure to practice, including reciprocity among jurisdictions .
 b . Employment opportunities .
 c . Opportunities for continuing education following graduation .

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS IN COURSES

q  Receive the required number of clock hours of training .

w  For a student to meet state requirements, all clinic practical worksheets must be  completed in their   
entirety .

e  Pass written and practical exams .

r  Complete the required theory hours .

t  Tuition has been paid in full or the student has made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all 
monies owed to the school prior to the student obtaining 1400 clock hours for cosmetology students and 
1300 clock hours for barbering students, and 400 clock hours for esthetic students .

If the student cannot pay owed tuition in full or come into agreement with a payment plan of monies 
owed to the school, the student will be withdrawn from the program .  The student may re-enter the 
program when payment arrangements can be made .

Once the student has met all these requirements, he/she will receive a CERTIFICATE of COMPLETION . 

The School will not release an official transcript until all educationally related graduation requirements 
are met .

For students who withdraw, the student may request an official transcript of hours earned .

GRADUATES COMPLETING A PROGRAM AND REENROLLING IN A NEW PROGRAM

Students that graduates from one program within the school and wishes to enroll in another program 
within the school, a determination of the state laws will determine the amount of hours that will be 
transferred into the new program, the student will need to meet the quantitative and qualitative 
components of SAP for the new program .



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL COSTA MESA CATALOG  32

GRADUATION, PLACEMENT, AND JOB OPPORTUNITIES

Career opportunities for Cosmetologists include, but are not limited to, Hair Stylist, Color Stylist, 
Makeup Artist, Nail Technician, Educator, Salon Owner or Manager, Product Trainer, Platform Artist, 
Esthetician, and many more .

Although Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa does not guarantee employment upon graduation, 
Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa  does maintain an aggressive job placement program and will 
inform students of job openings and opportunities . Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa coordinates 
placement programs with local and national salons by sending out surveys and inviting salon owners 
and guest artists to teach and speak there .

Employment and Career Opportunities for Barber, Hairdresser, Hairstylist and Cosmetologist:  
• Salon Hairstylist • Hospital Hair-Care Service • Cosmetology School Owner

• Free-lance Hairstylist • Salesperson/Retail Specialist • Manufacturer’s Representative

• Salon Owner/Manager • Makeup Artist • State Board Examiner

• Hair Color Specialist • Stage and Film Makeup Artist • State Board Inspector

• Artificial Hair Services Specialist • Beauty and Fashion Consultant • Trade Publication Writer

• Platform Artist • Photo Stylist • Salon Barbering

• Cruise Ship Stylist/Barber • Cosmetology School Instructor • Free-lance Barbering

Employment and Career Opportunities for Esthetics: 
• Esthetician • Salon or Spa Owner • Educator or Instructor

• Free-lance Esthetician • Salesperson/Retail Specialist • Manufacturer’s Representative

• Makeup Artist • State Board Examiner • Stage and Film Makeup Artist

• State Board Inspector • Cruise Ship • Trade Publication Writer

39-5000  Personal Appearance Workers
39-5010  Barbers, Hairdressers, Hairstylists and Cosmetologists
39-5011  Barbers
Provide barbering services, such as cutting, trimming, shampooing, and styling hair; trimming beards; 
or giving shaves .
39-5012  Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists
Provide beauty services, such as cutting, coloring, and styling hair, and massaging and treating scalp . 
May shampoo hair, apply makeup, dress wigs, remove hair, and provide nail and skincare services . 
Excludes "Makeup Artists, Theatrical and Performance" (39-5091), "Manicurists and Pedicurists" (39-
5092), and "Skincare Specialists" (39-5094) .
39-5094  Skincare Specialists
Provide skincare treatments to face and body to enhance an individual's appearance . Includes 
electrologists and laser hair removal specialists .
Illustrative examples: Electrolysis Operator , Facialist , Medical Esthetician

2019 Median Pay: The median hourly wage for barbers was $14 .50 in May 2019 .
The annual mean wage in California is $30,450 to $33,430 .

The median hourly wage for hairdressers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists was $12 .54 in May 2019 .
The annual mean wage in California is $38,390 .

The median hourly wage for skincare specialists was $16 .39 in May 2019 .
The annual mean wage in California is $36,430 .
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Number of Jobs 2018: 766,100
Job Outlook 2018: Employment of barbers, hairstylists, and cosmetologists is projected to grow 
8% from 2018 to 2028, faster than the average for all occupations . Population growth will lead to 
greater demand for hair care services .
                                           
Students can refer to the Department of Labor website http://www .bls .gov for additional information 
regarding employment opportunities and availability . 

LIST OF LIBRARY REFERENCE MATERIALS

The Men's Cutting System / The Men's Cutting System / The Color System / The Coloring Book / The Cutting 
Book / The Skill Cards / MASTERS / Milady’s Standard Cosmetology 2012 Theory Workbook / Milady’s Standard 
Cosmetology 2012 Exam Review / Milady’s Standard Cosmetology 2012 Textbook

The library is located in the conference room . Student wishing to checkout something from the library 
must see the Education Leader or Future Professional Advisor . 
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TECHNICAL KIT- COSMETOLOGY

Students are responsible to purchase a Paul Mitchell Technical Kit at an additional cost from the tuition . 
Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of stationery supplies . 

The following items are contained in the Paul Mitchell Cosmetology Technical Kit and can be purchased 
from Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa .

COMBS
1 Paul Mitchell Metal Pick Teasing Comb, 109       
1 Paul Mitchell White Cutting Comb, 408 
1 Paul Mitchell Red Cutting Comb, 416 
1 Paul Mitchell Teal Cutting Comb, 424 
1 Paul Mitchell Black Metal Tail, 429
1 Paul Mitchell Black Rat Tail, 814 
1 Paul Mitchell Detangler Comb

BRUSHES
1 Paul Mitchell Paddle Plastic Brush 427
1 Paul Mitchell Scalp Brush
1 Paul Mitchell Styling Plastic Brush 407
1 Paul Mitchell Sculpting Plastic 413
1 Paddle, Paul Mitchell Lightener
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® Brush - Large
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® Brush - Small

PRODUCT
1 6 oz. Hot Off The Press™
1 6.8 oz. Fast Form™
1 .35 (10gr) Invisiblewear  Pump Me Up
1 8.5 oz. (250ml)  Invisiblewear Boomerang Re-Styling Mist
1 9.5 oz (314ml/269g) Invisiblewear™ Orbit Hairspray
1 Bag, PLH Tote Bag 2018

$1.26
$1.94
$1.94
$1.94
$1.26
$1.26
$1.56

$4.27
$2.32
$3.10
$2.32
$3.87
$7.01
$6.23

$5.56
$5.78
$7.13
$4.48
$6.16
$1.35

CAPES
1 Paul Mitchell All Purpose Cape
1 Paul Mitchell Cutting Cape

ACCESSORIES
1 Paul Mitchell Metal Clips  (10 pack)
1 Paul Mitchell Rolling Metal Case
1 Paul Mitchell Water Bottle
1 Future Professional T-Shirt
1 Cosmetology T-Shirt

TOOLS
2 Female Mannequin 
1 Wahl Clipper and Trimmer Set
1 Paul Mitchell Feathering Razor
1 Express Ion Dry+® (Plus) 125V
1 Express Gold Curl™ Marcel, .75”
1 Paul Mitchell Manicure Set  
1 Express Ion Smooth® + (Plus)  120v
1 Scissor Kit, (2 Pair), 6.0", Texturizer, 5.5", Case
1 Paul Mitchell Tripod
3 Additional Female Mannequins
1 CAO Cosmetics Make Up Kit
1 Essentional Pin Kit

$10.37
$10.37

$4.84
$58.31
$3.90
$12.00
$12.00

$64.80
$82.49
$12.96
$53.45
$26.72
$11.34
$49.89
$179.58
$77.76
$155.23
$118.80
$18.00

Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment . 
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal, no exceptions . All returned 
equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee .

Total Cost of Technical Kit – Cosmetology:     $1,033.55
Sales Tax:         $      80.10
Total:                                                    $1,113.65
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TECHNICAL KIT — BARBERING

Students are responsible to purchase a Paul Mitchell Technical Kit at an additional cost from the tuition . 
Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of stationery supplies . 

The following items are contained in the Paul Mitchell Barbering Technical Kit and can be purchased from 
Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa .

COMBS
1 Paul Mitchell Clipper Comb, 318      
1 Paul Mitchell White Cutting Comb, 408 
1 Paul Mitchell Red Cutting Comb, 416 
1 Paul Mitchell Teal Cutting Comb, 424 
1 Paul Mitchell Black Metal Tail, 429
1 Paul Mitchell Black Rat Tail, 814 
1 Paul Mitchell Taper Comb, 818
1 Paul Mitchell Detangler Comb

BRUSHES
1 Paul Mitchell Paddle Plastic Brush 427
1 Paul Mitchell Scalp Brush
1 Paul Mitchell Styling Plastic Brush 407
1 Paul Mitchell Sculpting Plastic Brush 413
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® Brush - Large
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® Brush - Small

PRODUCT
1 7.3oz. MVRCK Grooming Spray™
1 7.3 oz. MVRCK Skin Tonic™
1 5.1oz. MVRCK Shave Cream™
1 3oz. (85g) Clean Cut®
1 8.5 oz. (250ml) Double Hitter®
1 2.5 oz. (75ml) Construction Paste®
1 3 oz. (85g) Reformer®
1 2.5 oz. (75ml) Hardwired®
1 Bag, PLH Tote Bag 2018
1 Card, Note Card, PLH Tote Bag

$3.37
$1.94
$1.94
$1.94
$1.26
$1.26
$1.26
$1.56

$4.27
$2.32
$3.10
$2.32
$7.01
$6.23

$5.62
$5.62
$4.30
$5.94
$5.27
$4.98
$5.94
$4.98
$1.80
$0.24

CAPES
1 Paul Mitchell All Purpose Cape
1 Paul Mitchell Cutting Cape

ACCESSORIES
1 Paul Mitchell Barber Brush
1 Paul Mitchell Metal Clips  (10 pack)
1 Paul Mitchell Neck Duster
1 Paul Mitchell Rolling Metal Case
1 Paul Mitchell Water Bottle
1 Future Professional T-Shirt
1 Barber Logo T-Shirt

TOOLS
1 Male Mannequin with Beard
1 Female Mannequin
1 Foil Shaver
1 Wahl Clipper & Trimmer Set
1 Express Ion Dry+® (Plus) 125V
1 Scissor Kit, (2 Pair), 6.0", Texturizer, 5.5", Case
1 Paul Mitchell Tripod
1 Paul Mitchell Barber Razor (for Face Shaving)
1 Paul Mitchell Feathering Razor (for cutting hair)
1 Express Gold Curl™ Marcel, .75”
2 Male Mannequin
1 Female Mannequin

$10.37
$10.37

$3.37
$4.84
$3.56
$58.31
$3.90
$12.00
$12.00

$45.17
$32.40
$64.80
$82.49
$53.45
$221.26
$77.76
$12.30
$12.96
$26.72
$68.88
$51.74

Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment . 
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal, no exceptions . All returned 
equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee .

Total Cost of Technical Kit – Barbering:     $     953.12
Sales Tax:         $        73.87
Total:          $ 1,026.99
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TECHNICAL KIT- ESTHETICS

Students are responsible to purchase a Paul Mitchell Technical Kit at an additional cost from the tuition . 
Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of stationery supplies . 

The following items are contained in the Paul Mitchell Esthetics Technical Kit and can be purchased from 
Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa .

PRODUCTS
1 Medicine Cups      
1 Treatment Applicators
1 Treatment Manual 
1 Image Vital C Cleanser 
1 Image Oremedic Facial Cleanser
1 Image Ageless Total Pure HA Filler
1 Image Clear Cell Clarifying Tonic 
1 Image Iluma Exfoliating Powder
1 Image MAX Stem Cell Masque
1 Image Oremedic Balancing Gel Masque
1 Image Balancing Lip Enhancement
1 Image Vital C Repair Cream
1 Image Vital C Eye Recovery Gel
1 Image Vital C Enzyme Masque
1 Image Prevention +
1 Image Degreasing Prep Solution
1 Image Signature Face Lift
1 Image Clear Cell Trial Kit
1 Image Max Trial Kit
1 Amber Dual Wax Warmer Kit
1 Repechage Kit
1 Evas Esthetics Blue Hard Wax
1 Makeup Kit (CAO)
1 Repechage Book

$4.80
$9.60
$1.20
$18.00
$20.88
$33.60
$12.00
$16.32
$20.16
$48.96
$10.56
$34.56
$24.00
$17.28
$23.04
$14.40
$43.20
$11.52
$15.36
$143.96
$71.28
$15.60
$119.00
$46.80

ACCESSORIES
1 Black Gown 
1 PM Apron
1 Headband 
1 Opti Firm Eye Trx
1 Repechage Four Layer
2 Reusable Makeup Remover Pads
1 Future Professional T-Shirt
1 Skin Academy T-Shirt
1 Bio-Theraputic Ultrasonic Spatula

$16.99
$11.16
$3.30
$5.70
$12.00
$1.10
$12.00
$12.00
$230.00

Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment . 
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal, no exceptions . All returned 
equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee .

Total Cost of Technical Kit– Esthetics:     $1,080.33
Sales Tax         $       83.73
Total:                                                     $1,164.06
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TEXTBOOKS

COSMETOLOGY
1 Pivot Point Package $209.00 

Sales Tax $16.20

TOTAL $225.20

BARBERING
1 Pivot Point Package $229.00 

Sales Tax $17.75

TOTAL $246.75

ESTHETICS
1 Miladys Standard Esthetics Foundations, Textbook, ISBN: 978-1-337-09525-9
1 Miladys Standard Esthetics Fundamentals, Textbook, ISBN: 978-1-337-09502-0, $138.95

Sales Tax $10.77

TOTAL $149.72

DIGITAL KIT

1 Apple Ipad, $336.00
1 Apple Care $69.00

Sales Tax $31.39

Total: $436.39

EDUCATION KIT 
The Cosmetology Education Kit is included in the cost of tuition .

1 The Short Haircutting System App (includes Barbering Fundamentals)
1 The Cutting System App (includes Cutting book)
1 The Color Systems App (included Coloring book)
1 The Makeup System App
1 The Makeup Portfolio (available in print only)
1 The Skill Cards App

1 Business Fundamentals: Connecting to My Future iBook 
1 Be Nice (Or Else!) iBook 
1 Plugged In (Access to Master 's Library (while enrolled)
1 Mini-Color Swatch Book
1 Dollar Camp

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the 
tuition. The cost of the education kit is $700.00.
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The Barbering Education Kit is included in the cost of tuition .

1 The Short Haircutting System App (includes Barbering Fundamentals)
1 The Cutting System App (includes Cutting book)
1 The Color Systems App (included Coloring book)
1 The Skill Cards App

1 Business Fundamentals: Connecting to My Future iBook 
1 Be Nice (Or Else!) iBook 
1 Plugged In (Access to Master 's Library (while enrolled)
1 Mini-Color Swatch Book
1 Dollar Camp

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the 
tuition. The cost of the education kit is $700.00.

The Skin Education Kit is included in the cost of tuition .

1 The Makeup System App
1 The Makeup Portfolio (available in print only)

1 Business Fundamentals: Connecting to My Future iBook 
1 Be Nice (Or Else!) iBook 
1 Plugged In (Access to Master 's Library (while enrolled)
1 Dollar Camp

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the 
tuition.    The cost of the education kit is $350.00.
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FEDERAL RETURN OF TITLE IV FUNDS POLICY
The school participates in federal financial aid. Please refer to the following refund policy for specific consumer 
information pursuant to the federal financial aid program. 
The Federal Return of Title IV funds formula (R2T4) dictates the amount of Federal Title IV aid that must be 
returned to the federal government by the school and/or the student .  The federal formula is applicable 
to an eligible student receiving federal aid when that student withdraws at any point during the payment 
period . If a student did not start or begin attendance at the school, the R2T4 formula does not apply .
Official Withdrawal Process:  If a student wishes to withdraw from school, they must notify the Financial 
Aid Leader of the school .  The notification may be in writing or orally .  The date the notification is received 
is the date of determination .  The Financial Aid Leader must begin the withdrawal process . 

Unofficial Withdrawal Process: For unofficial withdrawals a student’s withdrawal date at a school that is 
required to take attendance is their last day of physical attendance .  The date of determination is 14 days
after they cease attendance .

In both cases the last day of attendance will be used in the return to Title IV calculation .

The federal formula requires a Return of Title IV calculation if the student received or could have received 
(based on eligibility criteria) federal financial assistance in the form of Pell Grants, and Direct Loans or Direct 
PLUS Loans during the payment period . The percentage of Title IV aid earned is equal to the percentage of 
the payment period that was completed as of the withdrawal date if this occurs on or before the 60% point 
of time . After the 60% point of the payment period (or period of enrollment depending on what the school 
uses) the student is considered to have earned 100% of the aid for the period . The percentage that has not 
been earned is calculated by subtracting the percentage of Title IV aid earned from 100% . 

The percentage of the payment period completed is calculated by the hours scheduled in the payment 
period as of the withdrawal date divided by the scheduled hours in the payment period .

The amount to be returned is calculated by subtracting the amount of Title IV assistance earned from the 
amount of Title IV aid that was or could have been disbursed as of the withdrawal date .

Post Withdrawal Disbursement: If a student receives less Title IV funds than the amount earned, the school 
will offer the student a disbursement of the earned aid that was not received at the time of their withdrawal 
which is called a post-withdrawal disbursement .  Post-withdrawal disbursements will be made from Pell 
Grant funds first, if the student is eligible .  If there are current educational costs still due the school at the 
time of withdrawal, a Pell Grant post-withdrawal disbursement will be credited to the student’s account . 
Any remaining Pell funds must be released to the student without the student having to take any action .  
Any federal loan program funds due in a post-withdrawal disbursement must be offered to the student 
and the school must receive the student’s authorization before crediting their account . The authorization is 
required to be sent to the student within 30 days of the date the school determined the student’s last date 
of attendance .

Credit Balance: If a credit balance still exists on the student’s account after the R2T4 and institutional 
refund calculations are done, that credit balance must be used to pay any grant overpayment that exists 
based on the current withdrawal within 14 days from the date that the R2T4 calculation was performed .  
The overpayment must be eliminated prior to offering a credit balance to a student . 

The following Title IV return distribution is used for all FSA students .  

   q Unsubsidized Direct Loan

   w  Subsidized Direct Loan

   e Direct PLUS Loan (Parent)

   r Federal Pell Grant
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Returns must be made as soon as possible to the federal programs but no later than 45 days after the date 
of determination . (unless the school uses less days based on a state, accrediting agency or institutional 
requirement) 

The law requires that a student is responsible for all unearned Title IV program assistance  that the school 
is not required to return .  This is determined by subtracting the amount returned by the school from the 
total amount of unearned Title IV funds to be returned .

Overpayment of Title IV, HEA Funds — Any amount of unearned grant funds that you must return is 
called overpayment . The amount of grant overpayment that you must repay is half of the grant funds 
you received or were scheduled to receive . A student who owes an overpayment remains eligible for 
Title IV, HEA program funds through and beyond the earlier of 45 days from the date the school sends a 
notification to the student of overpayment, or 45 days from the date the school was required to notify the 
student of the overpayment if, during those 45 days the student:

q Repays the overpayment in full to the school;

w Enters into a repayment agreement with the school in accordance with repayment    
 arrangements satisfactory to the school; or

e Signs a repayment agreement with the Department, which will include terms that permit   
 a student to repay the overpayment while maintain his or her eligibility for Title IV, HEA program   
 funds .

Within 30 days of the date of the school’s determination that the student withdrew, an institution must 
send a notice to any student who owes a Title IV, HEA grant overpayment as a result of the student’s 
withdrawal from the school in order to recover the overpayment .

If the student does not repay the overpayment in full to the school, or enter a repayment agreement with 
the school or the Department within the earlier of 45 days from the date the school sends notification to 
the student of overpayment, or 45 days from the date the school was required to notify the student of the 
overpayment .

At any time the student fails to meet the terms of the repayment agreement with the school:

q The student chooses to enter into a repayment agreement with the Department .

w The student who owes an overpayment is ineligible for Title IV HEA program funds.

You must make arrangement with the school or Department of Education to return the amount of 
unearned grant funds .
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TREATMENT OF TITLE IV FUNDS WHEN A STUDENT WITHDRAWS FROM A CLOCK-HOUR 
PROGRAM
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"STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL" - INSTITUTIONAL REFUND/DROP POLICY 

 This is a state mandated policy following the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education Code of 
Regulation 71750 .  This policy applies to all students and programs .

q  Any monies due the student  shall be refunded within 30 days of official cancellation or withdrawal . 
Official cancellation or withdrawal shall occur on the earlier of the dates that:

 a .  A student is not accepted by the school . This student shall be entitled to a refund of all monies 
paid to the school except a non-refundable application fee .

 b .  A student (or in the case of a student under legal age, his/her parent or guardian) cancels his/her 
contract and demands his/her money back in writing, through attendance of the first day of class 
or the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract, whichever is later . In this case 
all monies collected by the school shall be refunded except a non-refundable application fee . This 
policy applies regardless of whether or not the student has actually started training .                  

 c .  A student who cancels his/her contract through attendance of the first day of class or the seventh 
(7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract is entitled to a refund of all monies paid to the 
school less an application fee of $75 .00 .

 d . A student notifies the institution of his/her official withdrawal in writing .
 e . A student is expelled by the institution .
 f .  For official cancellations as defined in paragraphs b, c, d, or e, the cancellation date will be 

determined by the postmark on written notification at the following address: Paul Mitchell 
The School Costa Mesa, 3309 Hyland Avenue, Suite J, Costa Mesa, CA 92626, or by the date said 
information is delivered to the school administrator/owner in person . Written cancellations need 
not take any particular form .

         g . Monies paid for student kits are refundable . 
         h .     A student’ on a leave of absence date of withdrawal determination shall be the earlier of the 

scheduled date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the school 
that the student will not be returning .

w  You have the right to cancel  your enrollment contract and obtain a refund of charges paid through 
attendance of the first day of class or the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract, 
whichever is later .  YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING .  Students do not have the right to cancel by 
telephoning the school or by not coming to class . 

e  Any monies due a student who unofficially withdraws from the institution shall be refunded within 
45 days of a determination by the institution that the student has withdrawn without notifying 
the institution . Unofficial withdrawals are monitored every 30 days and a determination is made to 
withdraw a student who has been absent from school for 14 or more consecutive calendar days; the 
withdrawal date that will be used in this calculation is the student’s actual last date of attendance .

r  When situations of mitigating circumstances are in evidence, such as serious illness, a disabling 
accident, or death in the immediate family, the school may make a settlement that is reasonable and 
fair to both parties .

t  All extra costs, such as books, equipment, graduation fees, application fee, rentals, and other such 
charges, are not considered in the tuition adjustment computation if the charges are itemized 
separately in the enrollment contract . 

y Monies paid for supplies and equipment are refundable through attendance of the first day of 
        class or the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract,  whichever is later . 

u  If a course and/or program is cancelled subsequent to a student’s enrollment, and before 
instruction in the course and/or program has begun, the school shall either provide a full refund of 
all monies paid or provide completion of the course and/or program .
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i  If a course and/or program is cancelled  and ceases to offer instruction after the student has enrolled 
and instruction has begun, the school shall either provide a full refund of all monies paid or provide 
completion of the course and/or program .

o  A student’s account may be sent to collections for nonpayment . 

a  If an institution closes or discontinues a program prior to the completion of the contracted 
services, the institution shall provide a pro-rata refund only if the Bureau determines the 
school made provisions for students enrolled at the time of default to complete a comparable 
educational program at another institution at no additional charge to the student beyond the 
amount of the total charges in the original enrollment agreement . If the institution does not make 
that provision, the institution shall provide students a full refund of all institutional charges .

s   A student is entitled to a refund of monies not paid from federal student aid program funds .

Students are responsible for the amount owed . If a student obtains a student loan, he/she is responsible 
for repaying the loan amount, plus interest, less the amount of any refund . The institution shall also 
provide a pro rata refund of non-federal student financial aid program monies paid for institutional 
charges to students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance .

If  you are eligible for a loan guaranteed by the federal or state government and you default on the loan, 
both of the following may occur: 

q The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the student, 
       including applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance 
       owed on the loan . 
w You may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other 
       government assistance until the loan is repaid .

An institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs complies with this article by 
complying with applicable regulations of the federal student financial aid programs under Title IV of the 
federal Higher Education Act of 1965 .

Step 1: Identify all amounts paid for instruction less cost of equipment .

Step 2:  Subtract Registration/Application fee not to exceed $250 .00 . The school does not charge a 
registration fee the student is only charged an application fee of $100 .00 .

Step 3: Apply a pro rata refund based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program .

An institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs complies with this article by 
complying with applicable regulations of the federal student financial aid programs under Title IV of the 
Federal Higher Education Act of 1965 .

The institution shall also provide a pro rata refund of non-federal student financial aid program monies 
paid for institutional charges to students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of 
attendance .

Step 1: Identify all amounts paid for instruction less cost of equipment .

Step 2: Subtract the registration/application fee not to exceed $250 .00 .

Step 3: Apply a pro rata refund based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program .



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL COSTA MESA CATALOG  45

Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the cosmetology program: The amount listed is the amount 
a school may retain based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program .  

Tuition  amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%–100%
$20,960 .00 $2,096 .00 $5,240 .00 $10,480 .00 $12,576 .00 $20,960 .00

Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the barbering program: The amount listed is the amount a 
school may retain based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program .  

Tuition  amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%–100%
$17,100 .00 $1,710 .00 $4,275 .00 $8,550 .00 $10,260 .00 $17,100 .00

Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the esthetics program: The amount listed is the amount a 
school may retain based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program .  

Tuition  amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%–100%
$10,620 .00 $1,062 .00 $2,655 .00 $5,310 .00 $6,372 .00 $10,620 .00

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, has never filed for 
bankruptcy petition within the preceding five (5) years, nor operated as a debtor in possession or had a 
petition of bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five (5) years that resulted in reorganization 
under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code . 

You have the right to withdraw from a course of instruction at any time . If you withdraw from the course 
of instruction after the period allowed for cancellation of the agreement, which is until the first day of 
class session, or the seventh (7) calendar day after enrollment, whichever is later, the school will remit a 
refund less a registration fee, if applicable, within 30 days following your withdrawal . You are obligated to 
pay only for educational services rendered and for unreturned equipment .  

IF THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE PAID IS MORE THAN THE AMOUNT YOU OWE FOR THE TIME YOU ATTENDED, 
THEN A REFUND WILL BE MADE WITHIN 30 DAYS OF WITHDRAWAL . IF THE AMOUNT YOU OWE IS MORE 
THAN THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID, THEN YOU WILL HAVE TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO PAY 
IT .

REMEMBER, YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING . You do not have the right to cancel by telephoning the 
school or failing to attend classes . If you have any complaints, questions, or problems that you cannot 
resolve with the school, write to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N . Market Blvd ., 
Suite 225 Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589 .

STUDENT FINANCIAL AID RELEASE 

The undersigned agrees that Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa does not guarantee the student loan 
process in any respect . A federal Parent PLUS Loan requires a credit check and is based on the parent’s 
credit . Pre-approval for a federal Parent PLUS Loan does not guarantee that the parent will receive a 
federal Parent PLUS Loan . It is critical that the parent be able to pass a credit check when the loan is 
certified . The school has no control over the approval or decline of a parent’s credit history . Nor does the 
school assume any responsibility for mistakes on any Department of Education financial aid forms . It is 
the student's responsibility to ensure all forms are accurate and complete .

Federal loan information is available in the National Student Loan Database System (NSLDS) and will be 
accessible by Servicers and Schools, as authorized .
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POLICY FOR VERIFICATION OF TITLE IV FUNDING

The school follows policies and procedures for verification of Title IV funding . Verification is a requirement 
by the U .S . Department of Education . Students are randomly selected to provide additional information . 
The school provides students with a verification form, so they can collect the necessary information . 
The school gives the student a 30-day deadline to return the form to the financial office with verification 
items attached . If verification documents are not submitted by the due date, the student will be placed 
on a monthly cash-pay status until the verification is completed . The corporate office sends the school 
a change in EFC form for students to sign if their EFC changes . FAME handles student overpayments 
and alerts the school, so it can make changes to the award packet, which is reported to the Common 
Origination and Disbursement (COD) office for the Department of Education .

SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR BOOKS AND SUPPLIES 
In order to academically succeed in a program, a Federal Pell Grant student must have the ability to 
purchase books and supplies at the beginning of the academic period . By the seventh day of a payment 
period, the school will provide a way for a student who is eligible for a Federal Pell Grant to obtain or 
purchase the books and supplies required for the payment period .

The school will consider all the FSA funds a student is eligible to receive at the time it makes the 
determination, but the school need not consider aid from non-FSA sources . 

The amount the school must provide is the lesser of the presumed credit balance or the amount 
determined by the school that the student needs to obtain the books and supplies . In determining the 
required amount, the school may use the actual costs of books and supplies or the allowance for those 
materials used in estimating the student’s cost of attendance for the period . A student may decline to 
participate in this process to obtain or purchase books and supplies, if they so choose .

PREFERRED LENDER LIST AND PRIVATE EDUCATION LOAN DISCLOSURES

Our school does not have a list of preferred lenders and we do not offer private education loans .

ELIGIBILITY OF FINANCIAL AID AFTER A DRUG CONVICTION

Students will be given written notice advising them that a conviction of illegal drugs, of any offense, 
during an enrollment period for which the student was receiving Title IV financial aid will result in the 
loss of eligibility for any Title IV per HEA Sec . 484(r)(1) and 20 U .S .C . 1091(r)(1) . Students whose eligibility 
has been suspended due to a drug conviction may resume eligibility if they successfully pass two 
(2) unannounced drug tests conducted by a drug rehabilitation program that complies with criteria 
established under HEA Sec . 484(r)(2) (20 U .S .C . 1091(r)(2)) .

CREDIT BALANCE POLICY

If Title IV disbursements result in a credit balance on the student’s account, the Financial Aid office 
will notify the student . The student has the option to have the school hold the credit balance and can 
complete an authorization for the school to hold the funds by obtaining an authorization form from 
the Financial Aid Department . If the student does not want the school to hold their funds, all credit bal-
ance disbursements and refunds due to funding source will be processed within 14 days of the credit 
balance appearing on the student account . Regardless of the chosen option the school will clear all 
credit balances on a student account by the end of the award year .
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MAKEUP WORK

Students must complete all required assignments and exams . To accommodate students, makeup exam 
days and worksheet periods are scheduled . Students must complete makeup work at the scheduled time . 
Monthly makeup exam dates are posted on the theory and school calendars .

MAKEUP HOURS

Students can makeup hours during course times the student is not normally scheduled for attendance .  
(For example, night school, Monday or Saturday)  Students may not make up hours until the student has 
reached over 900 actual clock hours in the cosmetology program and the barbering program . Students 
may not make up hours until the student has reached over 300 actual clock hours in the esthetics 
program .  Make-up time will only be allowed for students until a cumulative attendance percentage 
100% is achieved .  All make up hours must be pre-approved by the school director . Students must 
complete a Future Professional Make-Up Request Form indicating the date, time, activity completed, and 
the name of the Learning Leader who supervised the make-up time .

INSTITUTIONAL ATTENDANCE POLICY

The student’s attendance will be evaluated at Institutional Attendance checkpoints at the completion 
of each calendar month . A student who is not maintaining at least an 80% attendance will be placed 
on Institutional Attendance Warning status until the next Institutional Attendance checkpoint .  The 
student will be advised in writing on the actions required to attain Institutional Attendance by the next 
evaluation .  If at the end of the Institutional Attendance warning period, the student has still not met 
attendance requirements, he/she may be dropped from the program with the right to appeal .

The state of California requires 1600 clock hours for a cosmetology license .  Students are expected to 
complete their program within the contract end date .  Cosmetology students who are absent for 320 
clock hours will complete the 1600 clock hour program within the scheduled amount of time under their 
enrollment contract .

The state of California requires 1500 clock hours for a barber license .  Students are expected to complete 
their program within the contracted end date .  Barber students who are absent for 300 clock hours will 
complete the 1500 clock hour program within the scheduled amount of time under their enrollment 
contract .

The state of California requires 600 clock hours for a esthetics license .  Students are expected to complete 
their program within the contracted end date .  Esthetic students who are absent for 120 clock hours 
will complete the 600 clock hour program within the scheduled amount of time under their enrollment 
contract .

If a students maximum amount of time under the contracted scheduled end date has expired and the 
student has not completed the required program clock hours, the student may be withdrawn from the 
program .  At that time the student can re-enroll in the program for the remaining clock hours under a 
new contract and additional costs .  Refer to the re-entry policy.

Scheduled hours are not impacted by school closings, such as snow days, etc .  If a student is impacted by 
any of these occurrences, their actual program end date will be adjusted according to the contract .
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VETERANS’ BENEFITS SATISFACTORY PROGRESS POLICY

When the grade average of a veteran or eligible person falls below 70%, the student will be placed on 
academic probation for one month . If at the end of the probation period, the student's grades are still 
below 70%, veterans' benefits will be terminated . Once minimum academic progress standards are met, 
benefits can be reinstated . When a student's attendance falls below 70%, the student will be placed on 
attendance probation for one month . If at the end of the probation period, the student's attendance is 
still below 70%, veterans' benefits will be terminated . Once minimum attendance standards are met, 
benefits can be reinstated .

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY

Students enrolled in programs approved by NACCAS must meet formal standards that measure their 
satisfactory progress toward graduation . The Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy is provided to all 
students prior to enrollment . The policy is consistently applied to all applicable students . Evaluations are 
maintained in the student file. The school will develop an academic and/or attendance plan to address 
the specific needs of those students who fail to meet the academic and/or attendance requirements 
at specific SAP evaluation points .  A leave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and 
maximum time frame by the same number of days taken in the leave of absence .

QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE FACTORS

Factors for measuring the student’s progress toward satisfactory completion of the program include 
maintaining:

q A minimum cumulative theory grade level of 70% or higher .

w A minimum cumulative academic level of 70% or higher on practical worksheet completion .* 

e   To determine whether a student meets the academic requirements for satisfactory progress, theory 
and practical grades are averaged together to give a cumulative academic grade of 70% or higher . 

r A minimum cumulative attendance of 80% of their scheduled hours .**

*To meet the state practical requirements for graduation, students must eventually complete monthly practical 
worksheets in entirety. See LEARNING PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES.

**To determine your rate of attendance, divide the cumulative number of hours completed by the scheduled 
hours to date. 

A student who has not achieved the minimum cumulative GPA of 70% and/or who has not successfully 
completed at least a cumulative rate of attendance of 80% is not eligible for Title IV assistance, if applicable, 
unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal of the determination that has resulted in the 
status of probation .
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COMPLETION OF COURSE WITHIN DESIGNATED PERIOD OF TIME

Cosmetology and Barbering Schedule: 
5-Day 
Full Time

Tuesday - Saturday 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM 7 hrs per day 35 hrs per week

4-Day Night
Part Time

Monday-Thursday 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM 5 hrs per day 20 hours per week

Esthetics Schedule: 
5-Day 
Full Time 

Tuesday - Saturday 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM 7 hrs per day 35 hrs per week

5-Day 
Part Time

Monday - Friday 9:00 AM to 2:00 PM 5 hrs per day 25 hrs per week

4-Day Night
Part Time

Monday - Thursday 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM 5 hrs per day 20 hrs per week

 

The state of California requires 1600 clock hours for the cosmetology course . Students are expected to 
complete the course in no more than 125% of the program length . If a student is never absent, he/she 
should complete the course within 46 weeks for a 5-day for a full-time student, and 80 weeks for part-
time 4-day full-time student .

The state of California requires 1500 clock hours for the barbering course . Students are expected to 
complete the course in no more than 125% of the program length . If a student is never absent, he/she 
should complete the course within 43 weeks for a full-time 5-day student and 75 weeks for a part-time 
4-day student .

The state of California requires 600 hours for the esthetics course . Students are expected to complete the 
course in no more than 125% of the program length . If a student is never absent, he/she should complete 
the course within 17 weeks for full-time 5-day student, 24 weeks for a part-time 5-day student, and 30 
weeks for part-time 4-day student .  

MAXIMUM TIME FRAME

Students must complete the educational program within the maximum time frame, which is based on 
attending at least 80% of the scheduled hours .

COURSE LENGTH MAXIMUM TIME FRAME
Cosmetology (5-Day) - Full Time 46 Weeks 58 Weeks

Cosmetology (4-Day) - Part Time 80 Weeks 100 Weeks

Barbering (5-Day) - Full Time 43 Weeks 54 Weeks

Barbering (4-Day) - Part Time 75 Weeks 94 Weeks

Esthetics (5-day) - Full Time 17 Weeks 21 Weeks

Esthetics (5-day) - Part Time 24 Weeks 30 Weeks

Esthetics (4-Day) - Part Time 30 Weeks 38 Weeks

The maximum time frame allowed for transfer students who need less than full course requirements or 
part-time students will be determined based on 80% of the scheduled contracted hours . If any student 
enrolled fails to complete the program within the maximum time frame they will lose their eligibility for 
Title IV programs and will be terminated from the program .  Students who exceed the maximum time 
frame will be permitted to re-enroll in the program on a cash-pay basis . Whether a student pays out of 
pocket or receives Title IV Financial aid all hours attempted and completes are considered part of the 
Satisfactory Academic Progress calculation .
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LEAVE OF ABSENCE POLICY
A Leave of Absence (LOA) is a temporary interruption in a Student’s program of study . LOA refers to the 
specific time period during an ongoing program when a Student is not in academic attendance . Leaves of 
Absence can be granted in cases of emergency, medical problems with doctor notification, which cause 
attendance to be impossible or impractical . Leaves of Absence will be granted in the case of pregnancy 
or new mothers . A leave of absence will be permitted with a letter from the student’s doctor . If a student 
is called into active duty for the military the school will grant a leave of absence and for personal reasons .  
These are the only times leave of absences are granted .

In order to be placed on Leave of Absence, the student must: 
q  Complete and sign the school’s Leave of Absence Request Form, unless unforeseen circumstances
       prevent the student from doing so . 
w Must state the reason for the Leave of Absence (LOA) request
e Be approved by the School’s Future Professional Advisor and Financial Aid Leader .
r Leaves must be a minimum of 14 days and and must not exceed a total of 180 days in a 12-month   
 period .   

A student on a leave of absence date of withdrawal determination shall be the earlier of the scheduled 
date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the school that the student will 
not be returning . A leave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and maximum time 
frame by the same number of days taken in the leave of absence .

Student’s may not arbitrarily decide to “take” a leave of absence .

There will be no additional charges for a LOA .  If the student fails to return or contact the School Financial 
Aid Leader on the documented return date, the Student will be considered to have withdrawn from school 
as of that date the student began the LOA . The withdrawal date for the purpose of calculating a refund is 
always the student’s last day of attendance .

For federal aid recipients, the Student’s payment period is suspended during the LOA and no federal 
financial aid will be disbursed to Student while on a Leave of Absence . Upon the Student’s return, the 
Student will resume the same payment period and coursework and will not be eligible for additional Title 
IV aid until the payment period has been completed . If the Student is a Title IV loan recipient, the Student 
will be informed of the effects that the student’s failure to return from a leave may have on the Student’s 
loan repayment terms, including the expiration of the Student’s grace period . A contract addendum will be 
completed upon return from the LOA to extend the contract end date by the applicable number of days . 
In special circumstances, the school may grant a leave of absence to a student in the case of an 
emergency, such as a car accident or other medical issue that would prevent the student from 
requesting the leave of absence prior to the incident occurring .  In these cases, the school will collect 
the request from the student at a later date and document the reason for the granting of the leave 
after the incident has occurred .  The beginning date of the leave of absence will be based on the first 
date it has been determined that the student cannot come to class due to the accident or medical 
situation .

In order to grant a Leave of Absence there must be the expectation that the student will be returning 
to school .

A student who is granted a LOA that meets these criteria is not considered to have withdrawn and no 
refund calculation is required at that time .

Changes to the contract period on the enrollment agreement must be initialed by all parties or an 
addendum must be signed and dated by all parties to reflect the new contract end date .
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INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, AND WITHDRAWALS

If the student needs to take off more time than allotted in the contract or more than 14 consecutive 
calendar days, he/she must take a leave of absence or withdraw and reenroll when ready to return . If 
a student needs more than 14 consecutive calendar days of time off due to pregnancy/new mother, 
and/or military duty then the student should take a leave of absence .  Students who withdraw prior 
to completing the course of study and who wish to reenter will reenter at the same progress status as 
applicable at the time of withdrawal . 

NONCREDIT, REMEDIAL COURSE, AND REPETITIONS

Course incompletes, repetitions, and noncredit remedial courses do not apply to this institution .  
Therefore, these items have no effect upon the school’s satisfactory academic progress standards .

MAJORS, DEGREES, SECOND DEGREE, OR SUMMER TERMS

Majors, degrees, second degrees, or summer terms does not apply to Paul Mitchell The School Costa 
Mesa .
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EVALUATION PROCEDURES AND REQUIRED LEVEL OF ACHIEVEMENT

Formal Satisfactory Progress Evaluations in both attendance and academics will occur when students 
reach:

Program Name 1st SAP Evaluation 2nd SAP Evaluation 3rd SAP evalaution
Cosmetology               
(20 hour schedule)

450 actual hours and 
23 weeks

900 actual hours and 
45 weeks

1250 actual hours and 
63 weeks

Cosmetology               
(35 hour schedule)

450 actual hours and 
13 weeks

900 actual hours and 
26 weeks

1250 actual hours and 
36 weeks

Barbering                      
(20 hour schedule)

450 actual hours and 
23 weeks

900 actual hours and 
45 weeks

1200 actual hours and 
60 weeks

Barbering                      
(35 hour schedule)

450 actual hours and 
13 weeks

900 actual hours and 
26 weeks

1200 actual hours and 
35 weeks

Esthetics                        
(20 hour schedule)

300 actual hours and 
15 weeks

Esthetics                           
(25 hour schedule)

300 actual hours and 
12 weeks

Esthetics                          
(35 hour schedule)

300 actual hours and 9 
weeks

The first evaluation will occur no later than the midpoint of the academic year . The SAP evaluations are 
printed within 7 days of the student  reaching the evaluation points .

The student’s attendance will be evaluated at Institutional Attendance checkpoints at the completion of 
each calendar month .  A student who is not maintaining at least a cumulative of 80% attendance will be 
placed on Institutional Attendance Warning status until the next Institutional Attendance checkpoint .  
The student will be advised in writing on the actions required to attain Institutional Attendance by the 
next evaluation . Students are allowed to make up hours to meet attendance .  Refer to the Make Up 
Hour Policy .  If at the end of the Institutional Attendance warning period, the student has still not met 
attendance requirements, he/she may be dropped from the program with the right to appeal .

The following grading system is used to evaluate a student’s academic ability:

q Examinations are given in all subjects . 
w  Satisfactory Academic Progress Evaluations are reviewed and signed by the student and maintained 

in the student’s financial file . The Satisfactory Academic Progress Evaluation will reflect if the student’s 
evaluation will impact the students eligibility for Financial Aid . The student may request to review 
their financial aid file from the Financial Aid Leader or Director .

The following grading scale is used for theory progress:

A = 90 – 100%            B = 80 – 89%             C = 70 – 79%            Failing = Below 70% 

Practical and clinical work is graded by a signature on the student’s practical clinic floor worksheet or 
guest service ticket . A signature from an instructor represents a passing grade, which means all elements 
of the practical grading criteria were met . No signature indicates a failing score, which means one or 
more of the practical grading criteria elements were not met and the student has not met minimum 
satisfactory standards on the practical application . Students are required to continue and/or repeat the 
practical application until they receive a signature from an instructor .

*The school uses a 900-hour academic year for Title IV purposes.
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TRANSFER HOURS

Transfer hours accepted by the school are applied to the total number of hours necessary to complete the 
program and are considered both attempted and completed hours for the purpose of determining when 
the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted . Satisfactory Academic Progress evaluation 
periods are based on scheduled contracted hours at the institution .  For transfer students attending less 
than a full academic year, an evaluation will be done at the midpoint of the actual hours .

DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS

Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation point are 
considered to be making satisfactory progress until the next scheduled evaluation . 

WARNING

Students failing to meet minimum requirements for attendance and/or academic progress will be 
placed on Financial Aid Warning and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress during the 
warning period which is until the next evaluation period . The student will be advised in writing on the 
actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation . During the Financial 
Aid Warning period, students are eligible, if applicable, to receive financial aid funds . If at the end of the 
warning period, the student has still not met both academic and/or attendance requirements, he/she 
may be placed on probation and, if applicable, the student may be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV 
funds . 

PROBATION

Students who fail to meet the minimum requirements for attendance and academic progress after the 
Warning period, the student will be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory 
academic progress while during the probationary period, if the student appeals the decision, and 
prevails upon appeal . 

Additionally, only students who have the ability to meet satisfactory academic progress policy standards 
by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation .  Students placed on an academic plan 
must be able to meet requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the next evaluation 
period or the institution develops an academic plan for the student that, if followed, will ensure that the 
student is able to meet the institution’s satisfactory academic progress requirements by a specific point 
within the maximum time frame established for the individual student . Students who are progressing 
according to their specific academic plan will be considered making satisfactory academic progress .  
The student will be advised in writing of the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress 
by the next evaluation .  If at the end of the probationary period, the student has still not met both the 
attendance and academic requirements required for satisfactory academic progress or set forth by the 
academic plan, the student will be determined as NOT making satisfactory academic progress, and if 
applicable, the student will not be deemed eligible to receive Title IV funds .

RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS for those who qualify

Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV funding, as applicable, by meeting 
the minimum attendance and academic requirements by the end of the warning or probationary period .
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APPEAL PROCEDURE

A student may appeal the Financial Aid ineligible decision if he/she has a reason for not making 
satisfactory progress and if he/she can document that the circumstances that caused the unsatisfactory 
academic progress determination have in some way changed and that satisfactory academic progress 
standard can be met by the end of the next evaluation period .  A student has five (5) calendar days 
from the date of notification that they are not meeting the second consecutive satisfactory progress 
determination to appeal the unsatisfactory academic progress determination . The student must submit 
a written appeal to the school’s financial aid office on the designated schools Appeal Form describing 
why they failed to meet satisfactory academic progress standards, along with supporting documentation 
of the reasons why the determination should be reversed .  This information should include what has 
changed about the student’s situation that will allow them to achieve satisfactory academic progress by 
the next evaluation point .  

The reasons for which a student may appeal a negative progress determination include death of 
a relative, an injury or illness of the student, a student’s disability, or any other allowable special or 
mitigating circumstances .

The Appeal documents will be reviewed and a decision will be made and reported to the student within 
30 calendar days .  The appeal and decision documents will be retained in the student’s file .  If the student 
prevails upon appeal, the satisfactory academic progress determination will be reversed and federal 
financial aid will be reinstated, if applicable .

If the appeal is granted the student will be placed on Financial Aid Probation for one evaluation period .  
If the student has not met academic and/or attendance requirements for two (2) consecutive evaluation 
periods, for example 450 to 900 actual hours evaluations; and does not prevail on appeal, the student 
will be determined as not making satisfactory progress and may be terminated .

This policy applies to all students regardless of whether or not they are eligible for Title IV funding 
programs . In order to comply with USDE requirements the terminology financial aid warning or financial 
aid probation will be used for both Title IV and non-Title IV students .

TERMINATION APPEAL PROCEDURE
If a student is terminated due to receiving the maximum amount of coaching sessions, or due to the reasons 
outlined under termination on the Student Advisory Form, the student may appeal the termination decision .  
A student has five (5) calendar days from the date of termination to appeal the decision .  The student must 
submit a written appeal to the school’s Future Professional Advisor on the schools Termination Appeal 
Form describing why they were terminated, along with supporting documentation of the reasons why the 
determination should be reversed .  This information should include what has changed about the student’s 
situation that will allow them to continue through the program without incident .
If a student is terminated due to the Institutional Attendance Policy, the student may appeal the termination 
decision .  A student has five (5) calendar days from the date of termination to appeal the decision .  The 
student must submit a written appeal to the school’s Future Professional Advisor on the schools Termination 
Appeal Form describing why they were terminated, along with supporting documentation of the reasons 
why the determination should be reversed .  This information should include what has changed about the 
student’s situation that will allow them to continue through the program without incident .
An appeal hearing will take place within 15 business days of receipt of the written appeal . This hearing will 
be attended by the student, parent/guardian (if the student is a dependent minor), the student’s learning 
leader, the future professional advisor, and the school director . A decision on the student’s appeal will be 
made within three (3) business days by the director of education and will be communicated to the student 
in writing . This decision will be final .
If a student is terminated for gross misconduct, which includes but is not limited to reporting to school 
under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs, cheating, stealing, insubordination, threats, and/or bullying, 
such termination is final and may not be appealed .
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STUDENT RIGHT OF ACCESS AND RECORD RETENTION POLICY

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) sets a limit on the disclosure of personally 
identifiable information from school records and defines the rights of students to review and request 
changes to the records . FERPA generally gives postsecondary students the rights to: 

q Review their education records, 
w Seek to amend inaccurate information in their records, and 
e Provide consent for the disclosure of their records .

Students (or parents or guardians, if the student is a dependent minor) are guaranteed access to their 
school records, with a staff member present, within 30 days from the date of the request . Copies of all 
records can be requested at $0 .20 per page . 

General Release of Information

Except under the special conditions described in this policy, a student must provide written consent  
before the school may disclose personally identifiable information from the student’s education records . 
The written consent must:

q State the purpose of the disclosure,
w Specify the records that may be disclosed, 
e Identify the party or class of parties to whom the disclosure may be made, and 
r Be signed and dated .

FERPA Disclosures to Parents 

While the rights under FERPA have transferred from a student’s parents to the student when the student 
attends a postsecondary institution, FERPA does permit a school to disclose a student’s education records 
to his or her parents if the student is a dependent student under IRS rules . 

Note that the IRS definition of a dependent is quite different from that of a dependent student for Federal 
Student Aid (FSA) purposes . For IRS purposes, students are dependent if they are listed as dependents on 
their parent’s income tax returns . (If the student is a dependent as defined by the IRS, disclosure may be 
made to either parent, regardless of which parent claims the student as a dependent .)

A school may disclose information from a student’s education records to parents in the case of a health or 
safety emergency that involves the student without needing the student’s consent .  . 

A school may inform parents of students under age 21 when the student has violated any law or policy 
concerning the use or possession of alcohol or a controlled substance . 

A school official may share with parents information that is based on that official’s personal knowledge or 
observation and that is not based on information contained in an education record .

Release of Information to Regulatory Agencies

Disclosures may be made to authorized representatives of the U .S . Department of Education for 
audit, evaluation, and enforcement purposes . “Authorized representatives” include employees of 
the Department of Education, such as employees of the Office of Federal Student Aid, the Office of 
Postsecondary Education, the Office for Civil Rights, and the National Center for Education Statistics, as 
well as firms under contract to the Department of Education to perform certain administrative functions 
or studies .
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In addition, disclosure may be made if it is in connection with financial aid that the student has received 
or applied for . Such a disclosure may only be made if the student’s information is needed to determine 
the amount of the aid, the conditions for the aid, or the student’s eligibility for the aid, or to enforce the 
terms or conditions of the aid . 

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa provides and permits access to student and other school records as 
required for any accreditation process initiated by the school or by the National Accrediting Commission 
of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS), or in response to a directive of said Commission . 

Disclosures in Response to Subpoenas or Court Orders 

FERPA permits schools to disclose education records, without the student’s consent, to comply with a 
lawfully issued subpoena or court order .

 In most cases, the school must make a reasonable effort to notify the student who is the subject of the 
subpoena or court order before complying, so the student may seek protective action . However, the 
school does not have to notify the student if the court or issuing agency has prohibited such disclosure . 

The school may also disclose information from education records, without the consent or knowledge of 
the student, to representatives of the U .S . Department of Justice in response to an ex parte order issued in 
connection with the investigation of crimes of terrorism .

Disclosures for Other Reasons

There are two FERPA provisions concerning the release of records relating to a crime of violence . One 
concerns the release to the victim of any outcome involving an alleged crime of violence (34 CFR 34 
CFR 99 .31[a][13]) . A separate provision permits a school to disclose to anyone the final results of any 
disciplinary hearing against an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence in which that student was found 
in violation of the school’s rules or policies with respect to such crime or offense (34 CFR 99 .31[a][14]) .

Directory Information

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa does not publish “directory information” on any student . 

Record Maintenance 

All requests for releases of information are maintained in the student’s file as long as the educational 
records are kept . Student records are maintained for a minimum of six (6) years for withdrawal students; 
transcripts of graduates are kept indefinitely . The student may contact the schools Financial Aid Leader or 
School Director for copies of his or her educational and financial records. 

Amendment to Student Records

Students have the right to seek an amendment to their school records . To seek an amendment, students 
must meet with the School Director and bring any supporting documentation to show that the record is 
incorrect . 

A parent or eligible student may file a written complaint with the Family Policy Compliance Office 
regarding an alleged violation under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act . The Office’s 
address is: Family Policy Compliance Office, U .S . Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW ., 
Washington, DC 20202 .
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PERFORMANCE STATISTICS/JOB OUTLOOK 

Paul Mitchell The School is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and 
Sciences (NACCAS) and recognized by the U .S . Department of Education .  Each agency requires schools 
to provide important information regarding outcome rates in the areas of completion, placement, and 
licensure; however, each agency requires that we provide outcome rates differently .  NACCAS requires 
schools to list the outcome rates for the main campus and all additional campuses as a whole .  In this 
case, Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa is the main campus, the outcome rates provided are for all 
schools under this structure . NACCAS requires schools to list the outcome rates also by program .  The U .S . 
Department of Education, requires outcome rates be provided based upon this individual location which 
is listed below . Outcome rates have also been provided for the individual school you are interested in 
attending .  If you have any questions regarding our outcome rates, please see our Admissions Team for 
assistance .

NACCAS—Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa's combined performance statistics for the calendar year 
2019:

Graduation Placement Licensure
65.20% 67.68% 95.62%

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa performance statistics for the calendar year 2019:

Graduation Placement Licensure
74.28% 60.43% 94.02%

Cosmetology Program:

Graduation Placement Licensure
66.21% 58.95% 92.86%

Barbering Program:

Graduation Placement Licensure
64% 65.63% 75%

Esthetics Program:

Graduation Placement Licensure
81.75% 60.19% 100%

NACCAS’ 2019 Annual Report is derived from a single cohort of students – those scheduled to graduate in 
2019 . NACCAS’ graduation, placement and licensure definitions are described below:

Graduation: Based on all students scheduled to graduate from the program in 2019 . The scheduled 
graduation date is a student’s most recent contract end date (i .e ., the contract end date after all leaves 
of absence, schedule changes and re-enrollments have been accounted for) . A student may count as a 
graduate if they have completed all applicable graduation requirements at the institution .

Licensure: Based on graduates from the graduation cohort who sat for all parts of their required licensure 
exam prior to November 30, 2020 . A student in the licensure cohort may count as a “pass” if they pass all 
required portions of the examination prior to November 30, 2020 . 
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Placement: Based on graduates from the graduation cohort who are eligible for placement . A student may 
count as placed if they are employed in a field for which their training prepared them prior to November 30, 
2020 .  Students may be excluded from the calculation if they fall into one of the categories listed .  In 2019, 
the school excluded the following number of students* based on each of the following categories: 

q The graduate is deceased  0

w The graduate is permanently disabled  0

e The graduate is deployed for military service/duty  0

r  The graduate studied under a student visa and is ineligible for employment in the U .S .   0

t The graduate continued his/her education at an institution under the same ownership (e .g ., a graduate
      of your cosmetology program subsequently enrolled in the instructor program of an institution under 
       the same ownership) 0

       Total Excluded 0

*If fewer than ten students were excluded for any one category, the disclosure will only include the total of 
all excluded students if that total is at least ten . If the calculation excluded fewer than a total of ten students 
the institution will state that it excluded students on the basis of each condition, and note that the number 
of total exclusions were fewer than 10 and therefore cannot be disclosed .

BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION RATES

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa Cosmetology performance statistics for the calendar year 2019:

Completion Placement Licensure
37% 55% 92%

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa barbering performance statistics for the calendar year 2019:

Completion Placement Licensure
24% 72% 75%

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa Esthetics performance statistics for the calendar year 2019:

Completion Placement Licensure
94% 41% 99%

Completion rates are based on the number of students who began the program who are scheduled to 
complete the program within 100% of the published program length within the  reporting calendar year, and 
excludes all the students who cancelled during the cancellation period.

 
STUDENTS RIGHT-TO-KNOW—COMBINED DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION RATES 

 
2016 Graduation

80%

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa must prepare the graduation rate of its certificate- or degree-
seeking, first-time, full-time undergraduate students each year . The annual rates are based on the 
12-month period that ended August 31 of the prior year . The rates will track the outcomes for students 
for whom 150 percent of the normal time for completion or graduation has elapsed . Normal time is the 
amount of time necessary for a student to complete all requirements for a degree or certificate according 
to the institution’s catalog . These rates are generated from the school student record management 
system and are combined rates . 
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STUDENT PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT GUIDELINES

All students must commit to and follow the Student Professional Development Guidelines during their 
enrollment at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa . These guidelines were established to assist in creating 
a safe, focused, and enjoyable learning experience .

Attendance and Documentation of Time

q  The school records attendance in clock hours and gives appropriate attendance credit for all hours 
attended . The school does not add or deduct attendance hours as a penalty . Attendance is calculated 
using a computerized time clock and does not round hours . In order to ensure proper clock hours are 
credited, full-time students are required to clock in/out four times a day: when they arrive to school, 
when they leave for lunch, when they return from lunch, and when they leave at the end of the day . 
Part-time students are required to clock in/out two times a day: when they arrive to school and when 
they leave at the end of the day .  If a student fails to clock in or out for their schedule on the student 
time clock, the student will not receive hours .  If the student wishes to dispute any hours they feel 
earned, the student must provide documentation to verify attendance on the missing time form .  

w  The school is open from 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM for 5-day students and 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM for night 
students . 

e  All courses require continuous attendance .

r  The prescribed attendance schedule must be maintained each week . Alternate schedules are 
available to those students who qualify . 

t Night students may not miss Mondays; day students may not miss Saturdays . 

y  Students must be on time, as tardiness inhibits the learning process . Students who are late for theory, 
a specialty class or a guest artist class may attend the class, but must be accompanied into the 
classroom by a learning leader . Students are never excused from mandatory theory class to work in 
the clinic classroom .

u  During the enrollment contract period, student must maintain a 90% attendance average each month 
in order to complete the program within the scheduled program length . The student is allowed to miss 
10% of his or her scheduled hours .  If a students maximum amount of time under the contracted 
scheduled end date has expired and the student has not completed the required program clock 
hours, the student will be withdrawn from the program .  At that time the student can re-enroll in 
the program for the remaining clock hours under a new contract and additional costs . The student 
may use the allowed 10% of his or her scheduled hours for vacation, doctor appointments, illness, etc . 

          **Refer to the school enrollment contract for the Enrollment Contract Period definition.

              Please note that if a student misses more than 14 consecutive calendar days, the student  may 
              be  terminated from the program.

i  Students attend Core the first 6 weeks (210 clock hours) of enrollment .  During this time the student 
must maintain a monthly attendance of 80% .  If at the conclusion of the month, the student’s 
progress report is not 80% attendance, the student may be dropped from the program and asked to 
re-enroll in the next class start date .

o  Students who are late or cannot attend school must contact the school and talk to the school service 
desk team immediately . Day students must call in by 8:00 AM; night students must call in by 1:30 PM . 

a  Students must request time off from school from the Future Professional Advisor .
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s  Students are required to be in attendance a minimum of seven (7) hours per day, 35 hours per week 
for the full-time schedule; 20 hours per week for part-time students . Holidays such as Thanksgiving, 
Christmas, and New Year’s Day will be set according to the calendar each year . Students cannot bank 
hours and attend over 35 hours per week to make up for missing hours . Refer to the make up hour 
policy.

d  Lunches and breaks are scheduled for all students . Day students will take 30 minutes for 
lunch between 12:00 PM and 1:30 PM, if possible, according to their booking . Students should 
communicate with their instructor if they have not had lunch by 1:30 PM .

Observe the appropriate breaks for your school schedule. Breaks are as follows:

Student Schedule Breaks Lunch

10 hr/day 10 minutes in the morning and 10 minutes in the 
afternoon 30 minutes

8 or 7 1/2 hr/day 10 minutes in the morning and 10 minutes in the 
afternoon

30 minutes

6 hr/day 10 minutes in the morning and 10 minutes in 
afternoon

n/a

5 hr/day 15 minutes at midpoint of schedule n/a
4 hr/day 15 minutes at midpoint of schedule n/a

f  Documentation of time: Students may not leave the school premises during regular hours without an 
instructor’s permission . 

 a .   Students who leave the school premises for more than 10 minutes or those who leave early must 
document their time by clocking out on the time clock, signing the sign-out sheet, and having an 
instructor book them out . 

 b .   Students who leave the school premises for less than 10 minutes must sign the sign-out sheet . 
 c .  Day students must clock out on the time clock for lunch for 30 minutes every day . Students will 

not receive credit for the hour if they fail to clock in/out for lunch .

g Students may not clock in or out for another student . 

h  Students must keep a record of all services each day on the service tracking sheet, which must be 
completed daily and turned in every month .
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Professional Image: All Cosmetology and Esthetics Future Professionals must adhere to the following 
professional dress code while in attendance:

q  Future Professionals may wear black or gray in any combination .

w Phase Two Future Professionals may wear black , gray, or white in any combination .

e  A minimal print in clothing is acceptable if it is a black and white print .

r  Clothing should be professional and clean .

t  Shoes should be black, professional, practical, and comfortable .

y  Hair should be styled prior to arriving at the school .

u  Any cosmetics should be applied prior to arriving at the school .

i  Esthetics students may not have any nail enhancements such as polish, acrylic nails, 
      nail warps, dips, etc . 

o  The following is a list of acceptable dress:

 a .  Jeans or clothing made of jean material if they are black or gray in color .  Any rips or  tears  
                     must fall below the fingertips, when standing up .
 b .  Sleeveless tops .
 c .  Sweatshirts, printed T-shirts, hooded sweatshirts and/or jackets with the Paul Mitchell logo 
                    or the school logo may be worn .
 d .  Stylish hats, scarves, and stylish head wraps .
 e .  Skirts that fall below the fingertips .

a  Tights or leggings should be worn with skirts or dresses that fall above the knees for all Future 
       Professionals .

s  Name tag — as provided by the school . All Future Professionals are required to wear a name tag     
       while in attendance .

All barbering Future Professionals must adhere to the following professional dress code while in 
attendance:

q  Barbering Future Professionals may wear all black or gray, to include a button-down shirt .

w  A straight tie or bow tie may be worn in black, gray, yellow, or red .

e  Accessories may be worn in black, gray, yellow, or red, which include: a belt, arm-garter,
      suspenders,  jewelry, and/or shoes .

r  A barbering Future Professional may wear a smock, in black only .

t  Sweatshirts, printed T-shirts, hooded sweatshirts and/or jackets with the Paul Mitchell logo or the 
      school logo may be worn .

y  Fedoras, flat hats, or ascot caps may be worn .

i  The following is a list of acceptable dress:

 a .  Jeans or clothing made of jean material if they are black or gray in color .  Any rips or  tears  
                     must fall below the fingertips, when standing up .
 b .  Sweatshirts, printed T-shirts, hooded sweatshirts and/or jackets with the Paul Mitchell logo 
                    or the school logo may be worn .
 c .  Stylish hats, scarves, and stylish head wraps .
 d .  Skirts that fall below the fingertips .
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The following is a list of unacceptable dress for all Future Professionals in attendance:

 a .  Gym workout shoes, foot thongs,beach sandals, or any shoes without a back strap .
 b .  Tank tops, spaghetti string tops, or belly shirts .
 c .  Sweatpants .
 d .  Sweatshirts, hooded sweatshirts, jackets and printed T-shirts other than those with the Paul   
           Mitchell logo or the school logo .
 e .  Shorts and/or skirts that fall above fingertips, when standing up .
                f .  Medical Scrubs .
  g .   Baseball hats, visors, bandanas, caps, or beanies .
 h .  Spandex, biking shorts, or workout clothes .
 i .  Headphones, headgear, and/or earphones are not permitted in the classroom or the clinic 
         classroom .  
 j .  Sunglasses .
               
Future Professionals who fail to comply with the Future Professional dress code may be coached 
and may receive an advisory.



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL COSTA MESA CATALOG  63

Sanitation and Personal Services 

q  Future Professionals must keep workstations and classroom areas clean, sanitary, and clutter-free at 
all times .

w Future Professionals must clean their stations in the clinic classroom, including the floor, after each 
        service . 

e Hair must be swept up immediately after a service is completed, before blow-drying . 

r Clinic stations must be cleaned at the end of the day, prior to clocking out for the day .

t  Future Professionals may receive services on Tuesday through Thursday . To receive a service, students 
must do the following prior to starting the service:

 a . Notify an Learning Leader .
 b . Be scheduled off the service books by a Learning Leader .
 c .  Pay for service supplies including perms, color, lightener, rinses, conditioning, treatments, 

manicures, nails, etc . 
 d .  Personal services are considered rewards and scheduled for Future Professionals who are up to 

date with all practicals, exams, and clinic practical worksheets . School assignments and successful 
learning are the priority .

Communication Guidelines and Professional Conduct 

q  Visitors are allowed in the service reception area only . Visitors are not allowed in the classrooms, 
student lounge, or clinic classroom area .

w  Only emergency calls are permitted on the business phone . Future Professionals may use the Future 
Professionals phones for a limited time . Please keep your calls to three (3) minutes or less .

e Cell phones are permitted in assigned areas of the school .

r Future Professionals may not visit with another Future Professionals who is servicing a service guest .

t  Future Professionals may not gather around the service desk, service reception area, or offices . 

y  Food, drinks, and water bottles are allowed only in the lunchroom .

u  Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa is a smoke-free campus .

i  Stealing or taking school property or another’s personal property is unacceptable and grounds for 
termination .

o  School administration has the right to access and inspect Future Professionals locker at any time, refer 
to the locker policy .
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Learning Participation Guidelines

q   Peer teaching and tutoring are encouraged . Taking credit for another’s work or cheating during 
exams is unacceptable and grounds for termination .

w  Future Professionals will be expected to maintain an average of 70% on all theory tests and 
        assignments .
e  Future Professionals may not be released from required theory class to take a client .
r  Only service desk personnel may schedule or change client service appointments .
t  All services must be checked and the service ticket initialed by a Learning Leader .
y   Future Professionals are expected to be continuously working on school-related projects, 

assignments, clinic practical worksheets, reading theory, or test preparation during school hours . 
u  Future Professionals will receive clock hours during the times they fully participate in their learning 
        experience .
i   When Future Professionals are not scheduled with service appointments or are not scheduled to 

attend theory or a specialty class, they may focus on the following:
 a . Completion of clinic practical worksheets
 b . Completion of theory review worksheets
 c . Performing a service on another Future Professionals 
 d .  Listening to or reading school resource center materials, including educational videos, 

audiotapes, and books
o   Future Professionals must comply with school personnel and Learning Leader’s assignments and 

requests as required by the curriculum and Future Professionals guidelines and rules .
a   Future Professionals may not perform hair, skin, barber, or nail services outside of school unless 

authorized to do so by school administration . Conducting unauthorized hair, skin, barber, or nail 
services outside of school will be reported to the state board and may result in your inability to 
receive a professional license . 

s  Future Professionals are responsible for their own kit and equipment and may use a clinic station
        drawer only while working at that station . All kit, equipment, tools, and personal items must be
        secured in the students locker . The school is not responsible for any lost or stolen articles .
d  Parking is allowed in assigned parking areas only or cars may be towed at the owner’s expense .
f   All clinic practical worksheets are due on the assigned day of each month by the end of the school 

day .
g   If a Future Professional fails to complete a worksheet 100%, the Future Professional will be placed on 

the Back on Track list and will remain on the list until the following month .
h    If a Future Professional fails to pass the Core written and/or practical exam on their second attempt, 

they may be asked to withdraw from the program and re-start in the next Core class start date .

j    Theory Class: The school requires a Future Professional to complete all theory hours as part of their 
graduation requirements . Refer to the graduation requirements .
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LOCKER POLICY

Purpose — Paul Mitchell The School makes lockers available to students to facilitate the daily storage of 
their learning materials and items related to their studies . Paul Mitchell The School manages lockers to 
ensure responsible use of property and for the health and safety of individuals .

Agreement — Paul Mitchell The School establishes rules, guidelines and procedures to ensure 
responsible use and to control the contents of its lockers . By utilizing Paul Mitchell The School’s lockers, 
students acknowledge and agree that locker use is a privilege and subject to immediate termination 
without notice and to such rules, guidelines and procedures established by Paul Mitchell The School from 
time to time, at its discretion .

Guidelines
q  Lockers will be available to students during their scheduled school hours . 
w  At the end of each day /night a student must empty the locker .
e  Lockers are for individual use only and are not to be shared . Locker content is the sole responsibility 

of the registered occupant of the locker . To reduce the risk of theft, students are encouraged to keep 
their lockers locked . Students should not store money, wallets, jewelry, credit or debit cards, or any 
other personal item of high value .

r  Paul Mitchell The School is not in any way responsible for a locker’s contents or liable for the loss of 
or damage to items stored in lockers . Students are required to maintain their locker’s interior and 
exterior in a clean, neat and undamaged condition . Marking, defacing or graffiti on lockers is not 
acceptable .

t  No person shall store in a locker: weapons of any kind, explosives, prohibited drugs, illegal or illicit 
items or substances or other items deemed by Paul Mitchell The School to be harmful, offensive or 
inappropriate .

y  Paul Mitchell The School may in its sole discretion carry out or authorize searches/inspections for any 
reason . The following is a partial listing of examples of when Paul Mitchell The School will exercise its 
discretion without notice:

 a . Locker abandonment .
 b .  Suspected contents that may be illegal, illicit or deemed by the school to be harmful, offensive or 

inappropriate .
 c . At the request of or generally in cooperation with law enforcement authorities .
 d . Investigative purposes related to suspected or alleged criminal, illegal, or inappropriate activities .
 e . Risk to the general good of the school .
 f . Risk to the general good of the student or student population .
 g . Unregistered locker .
 h . Physical damage to or defacing of the locker .
 i . Odors (spoiled/rancid food, garbage or smelly contents) .
 j . Locker maintenance .
u  Paul Mitchell The School works with the local law enforcement authorities and maintains the right 

in the school’s sole discretion to allow law enforcement to carry out specific and random searches/
inspections of locker contents . Such searches/inspections may be carried out with or without notice 
to or in the presence of the locker’s occupant . Such police activity may include but is not limited to: 
random drug or weapon searches of lockers, backpacks, book bags, brief cases, containers, jackets 
and winter coats .
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COACHING AND CORRECTIVE ACTION

Part of Future Professionals learning experience includes fine-tuning and mastering the skills and 
behaviors of a salon professional . The school team will coach all Future Professionals to correct 
noncompliant or inappropriate behavior . 

The following actions may be inspected for noncompliance:

q  Attendance and Documentation of Time Guidelines: Attendance, promptness, and 
documentation of work are cornerstones of successful work practices . Future Professionals may be 
clocked out, released for the day, or suspended when they do not comply with guidelines . 

w  Professional Image Standards: Professional image standards were created to provide guidance 
and direction to Future Professionals as they develop their professional image and persona . Future 
Professionals may be coached and receive an advisory when they do not meet professional image 
standards . 

e  Sanitation and Personal Service Procedures: Sanitation and personal service procedures have 
been established to comply with state laws and to provide a safe and clean service environment . 
Future Professionals may be coached and receive an advisory when they do not follow sanitation and 
personal service procedures .

r  Communication Guidelines and Professional Conduct: It is the school’s responsibility to provide a 
learning environment that is professional, positive, and conducive to learning . Staff and students all 
contribute to a mutually respectful learning environment that fosters effective communication and 
professional conduct . Future Professionals who fail to follow communication guidelines and who 
do not conduct themselves in a respectful and professional manner may experience suspension or 
termination . 

t  Learning Participation Guidelines: The learning participation guidelines have been established to 
provide a creative, fun, interactive, and collaborative learning environment that empowers Future 
Professionals to act as future salon professionals and committed learners . Positive behavior is required 
to create a mutually beneficial learning environment for all students . Future Professionals who fail to 
meet the guidelines and create challenges for other students or staff may be released from school, 
suspended, or terminated .

Corrective Action Steps
Once a Future Professionals has received five (5) coaching sessions, the Future Professionals may be 
suspended from school for five (5) days . Suspended Future Professional may only be readmitted to school 
upon paying the administrative re-enty fee . If a Future Professional receives two (2) more coaching sessions 
after readmission from a five (5) day suspension, the Future Professionals' attendance may be permanently 
terminated . A Future Professional may be terminated without prior coaching sessions for improper and/or 
immoral conduct . Refer to the school Future Professional Advisory Form .
When monitoring Future Professionals for unofficial withdrawals, the school is required  to count any days that 
a Future Professional was out of school on suspension as a part of the 14 consecutive days of non-attendance 
used to determine whether the student will be returning to school.

We believe in providing a quality environment with an exceptional educational program . This framework 
gives everyone the opportunity to enjoy the experience! The entire staff appreciates the Future 
Professionals’ respect of these guidelines .
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POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES

q Accommodation Procedures for Students with Disabilities
w Grievance Procedures for Students who have Complaints on the Basis of Disability

          ************

q Accommodation Procedures for Students with Disabilities

Non-Discrimination Policy — It is the policy of Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa to comply with 
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, and the Americans with Disabilities Act, which are federal laws 
that prohibit discrimination on the basis of disability . Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa  does not 
discriminate on the basis of disability against a qualified person with a disability in regard to application, 
acceptance, grading, advancement, training, discipline, graduation, or any other aspect related to a 
student’s participation in a program of Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa . This applies to all students 
and applicants for admission to the school . Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa will provide reasonable 
accommodations to students with disabilities . 

Definition of an Individual with a Disability — An individual with a disability is a person who has 
a physical or mental impairment, which substantially limits one or more major life activities of the 
individual . These persons are protected by Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA) . Individuals with a record of such an impairment and individuals who are regarded 
as having such an impairment are also protected by these federal laws . The definition of “disability” in 
Section 504 and the ADA should be interpreted to allow for broad coverage .

The phrase physical impairment means a physiological disorder or condition, a cosmetic disfigurement, or 
an anatomical loss, that affects one or more of the following body systems: neurological; musculoskeletal; 
special sense organs (which would include speech organs that are not respiratory such as vocal cords, 
soft palate, tongue, etc .); respiratory, including speech organs; cardiovascular; reproductive; digestive; 
genitourinary; hemic and lymphatic; skin; and endocrine . Examples include, but are not limited to, 
orthopedic, visual, speech, and hearing impairments, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, muscular dystrophy, 
multiple sclerosis, cancer, heart disease, diabetes, HIV disease (symptomatic or asymptomatic), 
tuberculosis, drug addiction, and alcoholism . 

The phrase mental impairment means any mental or psychological disorder, including but not limited 
to, mental retardation, organic brain syndrome, emotional or mental illness, specific learning disabilities, 
post-traumatic stress disorder, depression and bipolar disorder . The phrase substantially limits must 
be interpreted without regard to the ameliorative effects of mitigating measures, other than ordinary 
eyeglasses or contact lenses . Mitigating measures are things like medications, prosthetic devices, 
assistive devices, or learned behavioral or adaptive neurological modifications that an individual may 
use to eliminate or reduce the effects of an impairment . These measures cannot be considered when 
determining whether a person has a substantially limiting impairment . An impairment that is episodic or 
in remission is a disability if, when in an active phase, it would substantially limit a major life activity . For 
example, a student with bipolar disorder would be covered if, during manic or depressive episodes, the 
student is substantially limited in a major life activity (e .g ., thinking, concentrating, neurological function, 
or brain function) . 

The phrase major life activities means functions such as caring for one´s self, performing manual tasks, 
seeing, hearing, eating, sleeping, walking, standing, lifting, bending, speaking, breathing, learning, 
reading, concentrating, thinking, communicating and working . Major life activities also includes major 
bodily functions such as functions of the immune system, normal cell growth, and digestive, bowel, 
bladder, neurological, brain, respiratory, circulatory, endocrine, and reproductive functions .
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The School’s Responsibilities to Students with Disabilities

The school must provide academic adjustments, auxiliary aids, and reasonable accommodations to 
students with disabilities, that are necessary to ensure students are not denied the benefits of, or 
excluded from participation in, the school’s program . The school must make modifications to its academic 
requirements that are necessary to ensure that the requirements do not discriminate against students 
with disabilities . The school must ensure that it provides physical access to students with disabilities . It is 
also the responsibility of Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa  to permit students with disabilities to use 
service dogs on each campus .

The person responsible for implementing these responsibilities at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa  
campus is: Corinne May; ADA Compliance Coordinator; 3309 Hyland Avenue, Suite J, Costa Mesa, CA 
92626; (714) 546-8786; corinnem@costamesa.paulmitchell.edu .  

When a student informs a school staff member that the student is disabled, or needs accommodations 
or assistance due to disability, the staff member will refer the student to the school’s ADA Compliance 
Coordinator . 

Procedures for Students and the School

Documentation of disability by students — Students with disabilities who wish to request reasonable 
accommodations (including academic adjustments, auxiliary aids, or modifications) must contact the 
ADA Compliance Coordinator named above for their campus . Students must provide documentation of 
disability from an appropriate professional, which depends on the nature of the disability . For example, a 
student with a psychological disability should provide documentation from a psychologist, psychiatrist or 
social worker .  The documentation submitted must be within the last 12 months, if older than 12 months 
the student must provide current documentation from the appropriate professional .

This documentation may be the student’s existing medical records, or reports created by the student’s 
medical provider or an appropriate professional who conducts an assessment of the student . It may 
be documentation from the student’s past educational records such as reports from teachers or school 
psychologists, or records that show the student’s educational history, disability assessment, and the 
accommodations the student previously received . It may be records from the state department of 
rehabilitation or the U .S . Department of Veterans Affairs . Documentation should be current and relevant, 
but that does not mean that a recent report or record is needed in all cases . Some disabilities are stable 
lifelong conditions and historic documentation will be sufficient . Some disabilities are readily apparent 
and observable and thus little or no documentation will be needed . 

The documentation of disability is kept at all times in a locked, private file at the school . To protect 
privacy, direct access to this documentation is by written consent only . The ADA Compliance Coordinator 
will determine what information needs to be shared with Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa staff 
and Learning Leaders, on an “as-needed basis,” in order to facilitate academic accommodations or other 
services . 

Student requests for accommodations and interactive discussion with ADA Compliance 
Coordinator — Students who plan to request accommodations should contact the ADA Compliance 
Coordinator promptly, so there is time for the Coordinator to review the student’s documentation and 
discuss accommodations with the student before the student begins the class or program for which 
the accommodation is being requested . When a student contacts the Coordinator, the Coordinator will 
keep a record of the dates and contacts with the student, including a record of the accommodations 
requested by the student . Students who have questions about the type of documentation they need 
to provide should contact the Coordinator to discuss this . 
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The student and the ADA Compliance Coordinator will discuss how the student’s impairment impacts 
the student, how the student expects the impairment to impact the student in the school’s program, 
the types of accommodations the student has previously received (if any), and the accommodations 
being requested by the student from the school . The Coordinator and the student should discuss 
accommodations needed during all phases of the program (Core, Adaptive and Creative), and for 
classroom instruction, skills-based instruction, and skills practice .

The documentation (or observation) must show the nature of the student’s disability and how it limits a 
major life activity . The accommodations requested by the student should be related to these limitations . 
There are no pre-set accommodations for specific disabilities . Instead, the Coordinator and the student 
must discuss and determine what the student’s limitations are, and how they can be accommodated .

Here are some examples:  
•  A student with an orthopedic disability may need cushioned floor mats and scheduled times to sit 

down . These students may also need particular kinds of chairs . 
•  A student with a learning disability or attention deficit disorder may need extra time to take tests, 

such as ninety minutes to take a test instead of the sixty minutes allowed to other students . These 
students may need to take their tests in a location that is quiet and has no distractions, such as an 
office rather than the classroom .   

•  A student with a learning disability or psychological disability may need a note taker, a copy of the 
instructor’s notes or presentation, or to use a tape recorder during instruction .

•  A student with post-traumatic stress disorder or an anxiety disorder may need to take periodic leaves 
of absence, or may need to structure their program so that it is scheduled over a longer period of 
time than usual . These students may need to take breaks in a quiet room during skills practice .

•  A student with a hearing impairment may need instructors to use voice amplification systems, or may 
need the school to provide a sign language interpreter . 

•  A student with diabetes may need periodic breaks to check his or her blood sugar level .

Decision about accommodations, and ensuring implementation of accommodations — The ADA 
Compliance Coordinator will decide the accommodations to be provided to the student . The Coordinator 
will consider any past accommodations that have been effective for the student, and will give primary 
consideration to the type of accommodation requested by the student . Alternate accommodations may 
be provided if there is an alternative accommodation that would be equally effective for the student . 

The Coordinator will make a decision no later than two weeks after the student states the request for an 
accommodation . If the student does not submit documentation of a disability at the time the student 
requests an accommodation, the Coordinator will make a decision no later than two weeks after the 
student provides the documentation . 

The Coordinator will list the approved accommodations in writing and provide this to the student . The 
Coordinator will inform the appropriate Learning Leaders and school staff of the accommodations they 
are responsible for providing to the student, how to provide the accommodations, and when to provide 
the accommodations . The Coordinator will keep a written record of these contacts about the student’s 
accommodations . The Coordinator will verify that the accommodations are being implemented for 
the student through direct observation, report by the student, and/or documentation from the school 
staff . If the student informs the Coordinator that an accommodation is not being fully implemented, the 
Coordinator will immediately intervene with relevant staff members to ensure the accommodation is 
provided to the student . 

After accommodations have been approved for a student, the Coordinator will make an appointment 
with the student for a time when the student’s program is expected to change . The purpose of the 
appointment is to determine whether the student’s accommodations should be changed when the 
student’s program phase changes, or the type of instruction changes . 
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Additional factors — The school is not obligated to provide accommodations that would result in a 
fundamental alteration of the school’s program . In this case, the Coordinator will promptly search for 
an equally effective alternate accommodation for the student that would not fundamentally alter the 
program . The Coordinator will offer the alternate accommodation to the student .

The school is not obligated to provide accommodations that would result in an undue financial or 
administrative burden on the school . If the Coordinator decides that a requested accommodation might 
impose such a burden, the Coordinator will discuss the issue with the School Owner, who will take into 
account the overall financial resources of the school . The School Owner will make the final decision, in 
accord with the requirements of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities 
Act . If the School Owner determines that the requested accommodation would be an undue burden, the 
Coordinator will promptly search for an equally effective alternate accommodation for the student and 
offer the alternate accommodation to the student .

Appeals by Students

A student may appeal any accommodation decision made by the ADA Compliance Coordinator if the 
student disagrees with the decision . Here are some examples: A student may appeal the Coordinator’s 
decision to deny a requested accommodation . A student may appeal a decision by the Coordinator to 
provide an alternate accommodation rather than the specific accommodation requested by a student . 
A student may appeal a decision by the Coordinator that the student has not presented sufficient 
documentation to support the requested accommodation . A student may also file an appeal when 
a school staff member fails to provide an approved accommodation, and the Coordinator has not 
effectively addressed the situation .

When a student wishes to file an appeal, the student must notify Kenda Woodward; School Director; 3309 
Hyland Avenue, Suite J, Costa Mesa, CA 92626; (714) 546-8786; kendaw@costamesa.paulmitchell.edu.  
The student must explain his/her reasons for disagreeing with the Coordinator’s decision, or explain how 
the student’s accommodation is not being implemented, and submit any relevant documentation . 

Within five calendar days of receiving a student’s appeal, the School Director will meet with the student 
and the Coordinator to discuss the issues presented by the student’s appeal . If appropriate, the School 
Director will also discuss the issues with other school staff members . 

When a student appeals a decision made by the Coordinator, the School Director will determine whether 
the Coordinator’s decision should be revised or remain the same . If the decision is revised, the School 
Director will ensure that the revised decision is implemented .   

When a student files an appeal on the basis that an approved accommodation is not being implemented, 
the School Director will determine whether the accommodation is being fully implemented, and if it is 
not, ensure that the accommodation is implemented . The School Director will inform the student of the 
decision in writing no later than fourteen days after receiving the student’s appeal .

Training and Mediation Responsibilities of the ADA Compliance Coordinator

The ADA Compliance Coordinator at each campus will deliver disability training sessions for all campus 
staff members at least once each calendar year . In these training sessions, the Coordinator will explain 
the basic requirements of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities 
Act as they apply to the school . The Coordinator will address: the school’s responsibility to provide 
accommodations to students with disabilities; how to appropriately interact with students with particular 
kinds of disabilities; how to go about implementing accommodations that the Coordinator has approved 
for students; how to support students with disabilities in the school’s programs; that students with 
disabilities cannot be penalized for using approved accommodations . The Coordinator will keep a record 
of each training session .

The Coordinator may also provide trainings for students who wish to learn about the school’s process for 
providing accommodations, or about the school’s grievance procedures .



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL COSTA MESA CATALOG  71

To help ensure that future campus staff members and students are aware of the school’s policies, the 
Coordinator will make sure that the Accommodations Procedures and the Grievance Procedures are 
continually posted at the campus .

The Coordinator will assist students with disabilities who have concerns about implementation of their 
accommodations or their treatment by the school staff members or other students . At the request of 
a student, the Coordinator will informally mediate or attempt to resolve issues related to the student’s 
disability . If this informal process does not resolve the student’s concerns, the student may file a grievance 
as described in Section II below .

w Grievance Procedures for Students who have Complaints on the Basis of Disability

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa is responsible for providing a grievance procedure to students who 
feel they have been discriminated against on the basis of disability . The grievance procedure provides 
students the opportunity to file a complaint . The school then has the responsibility to objectively 
investigate the allegations in the complaint and determine whether the student has been discriminated 
against . If the school determines that discrimination occurred, the school must take appropriate steps to 
correct the discrimination and prevent it from reoccurring .

Grievance complaints — A student may file a grievance if the student feels he or she has been 
discriminated against because the student is disabled, or because the student is regarded as being 
disabled, or because the student has a record of being disabled . A student may also file a grievance if the 
student feels that he or she has been retaliated against for advocacy based on disability . Here are some 
examples of discrimination: 

•  An instructor or other students refer to the student in a derogatory way related to the student’s 
disability . 

•  An instructor generally refers to students with particular types of disability in a derogatory way .
•  Other students refuse to work with the student because the student is disabled . 
•  A school staff member refuses to provide a service to the student that the staff member provides to 

other students . 
•  A school staff member takes a negative action toward the student after the student asked for 

accommodations for a disability . 
•  A guest presenter at the school makes derogatory statements about students with disabilities, or 

states that students with disabilities can never be employed in the presenter’s field .
•  A student’s request for accommodation was denied by the school, or an instructor did not implement 

an accommodation for the student that was approved by the school .

A student must file a grievance complaint within 90 days of the date the discriminatory act occurred, 
or within 90 days of the end of an informal attempt to resolve the complaint, whichever is later . The 
complaint must be written . In the complaint, the student must describe what happened and the dates 
the acts took place, and state who was involved . The student should explain why the student believes 
the acts were taken based on disability . The student should describe or provide copies of any relevant 
documents or e-mails, if available .

A student may ask the Campus ADA Compliance Coordinator to try and informally resolve the student’s 
complaint before the student files a written complaint . However, the student is not required to try 
informal resolution before filing a written complaint .

The complaint must be sent to Kenda Woodward; School Director; 3309 Hyland Avenue, Suite J, Costa 
Mesa, CA 92626; (714) 546-8786; kendaw@costamesa.paulmitchell.edu.    
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Investigation of the Complaint — When the School Director receives a written complaint, the School 
Director will immediately begin an objective investigation . The school has the right to contract with an 
independent investigator to conduct any investigation . Within seven days, the School Director will discuss 
the allegations in the complaint with the student, and obtain any needed additional information from the 
student . The School Director will obtain from the student the names of any persons the student believes 
will have relevant information . 

The School Director will gather all information necessary to determine what took place . To do so, the 
School Director will interview any school staff members or students who engaged in the actions or may 
have witnessed the actions that the student is complaining about . 

The School Director will interview persons that the student stated may have relevant information . The 
School Director will gather any relevant documents such as e-mails, student work, or instructor’s records . 
During the investigation, the School Director will disclose the complaint, and confidential information 
about the student, only to the extent necessary to investigate the allegations of the complaint .

After reviewing all the evidence gathered, the School Director will determine whether the student was 
treated differently from other students based on disability; or whether the student was harassed based 
on disability; or whether the student was retaliated against because the student advocated on the 
basis of disability; or whether the student was denied an accommodation that the school should have 
provided to the student .

Written Decision — The School Director will provide the student with a written decision no later than 
sixty days after the date the student filed the complaint . The decision will state the determination 
reached by the School Director at the conclusion of the investigation, and the reasons the School Director 
reached that determination . If the School Director concludes that the student was discriminated against 
on the basis of disability, the decision will state the types of remedial action that the school has taken 
or will take to correct the discrimination . The decision will also state how the school will prevent the 
discriminatory acts from occurring again .

Appeals by Students — If the student who filed the complaint disagrees with the decision made by the 
School Director, or disagrees with the remedial action specified, the student may appeal the decision 
to the School Owner . The appeal must be written and sent to Kenda Woodward; School Director; 3309 
Hyland Avenue, Suite J, Costa Mesa, CA 92626; (714) 546-8786; kendaw@costamesa.paulmitchell.edu.  
The appeal must state the specific reasons that the student disagrees with the decision . Appeals must be 
filed no later than thirty days after the student receives the written decision from the School Director .

The School Owner will review all the information provided by the student in the appeal, the decision by 
the School Director, the interview records made by the School Director, and the documents gathered 
by the School Director . The School Owner will issue a written decision to the student within fourteen 
days after receiving the student’s appeal . The School Owner will determine whether the decision should 
be revised or remain the same . If the School Owner determines that the decision should be revised, the 
School Owner will ensure that any necessary changes in the remedies are implemented . 
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U.S. Department of Education

Students or the school staff who have questions or concerns about disability issues may contact the 
Office for Civil Rights (OCR), U .S . Department of Education . OCR enforces Section 504 of the Rehabilitation 
Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act as they apply to postsecondary educational institutions . 

The OCR National Headquarters is located at:
U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights
Lyndon Baines Johnson Department of Education Bldg
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20202-1100 
Telephone:  (800) 421-3481
FAX:  (202) 453-6012; TDD:  (877) 521-2172
E-mail: OCR@ed.gov 

OCR has regional offices located throughout the country . To find the office for our state, check the OCR 
website at: http://wdcrobcolp01.ed.gov/CFAPPS/OCR/contactus.cfm, or call the telephone number 
above .

STUDENT CONSUMER INFORMATION

Provisions of the Higher Education Amendment of 1976 require that effective July 1, 1977, each 
postsecondary institution that receives federal financial aid funds must make certain student consumer 
information available to any enrolled or prospective student who request such information .

This section compiled by the financial aid office staff attempts to meet the requirements .

The school is approved for and participates in federal PELL Grants, Subsidized Direct Loans, Unsubsidized 
Direct Loans, and Parent PLUS loans . Such programs help to defray the costs of attending school for those 
students eligible for financial aid consideration .

Financial aid is any mechanism that reduces out-of-pocket costs that the students and/or parents must 
pay to obtain a specific postsecondary education . Put differently, financial aid is monies made available to 
help students meet the cost of the program . Financial aid includes grants and need and non-need loans .

Need-based financial aid is available to families that demonstrate a financial need for additional 
resources . The formula below is used to determine how much financial need a student has:

Cost of Attendance – Expected Family Contribution (EFC) = Financial Need

Non-need is the difference between the cost of education and financial need .

Based on these calculations, federal aid may not cover all the cost of attendance .

All financial aid is awarded to students that qualify meeting the following criteria: 

q Citizen or permanent noncitizen alien recipient codes that are eligible are 1- 151, 1-55 1, and 1-94 .

w  Ineligible codes include F-1, F-2, J-1, and J-2, students that are in federal loan default, grant 
overpayment, or male students that meet the Selective Service registration criteria, but are not 
registered .
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STUDENT AND EMPLOYEE ANTI-HARASSMENT AND DISCRIMINATION POLICY
Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa is committed to providing a work and school environment free of 
unlawful harassment or discrimination . In furtherance of this commitment, all students and employees 
are required to take the mandatory sexual harassment and prevention training upon starting in school 
and again in January of each year . The school’s policy prohibits harassment or discrimination based on 
race, religion, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related 
medical conditions), military or veteran status, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital 
status, age, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity or expression, genetic information, or any other 
basis protected by the federal, state, or local law . Additionally, in accordance with Title IX of the Education 
Amendments of 1972, the school prohibits discrimination based on sex, which includes sexual 
harassment and sexual violence, and the school has jurisdiction over the investigation of Title IX 
complaints .

Title IX applies to all of the school’s educational programs or activities, whether such programs or 
activities occur on-campus or at an off-campus events . The school’s anti-harassment and discrimination 
policy applies to all persons involved in the operation of the school and prohibits unlawful harassment 
and discrimination by any employee of the school, as well as students, customers or service guests, third 
parties, vendors, or anyone who does business with the school . It further extends to prohibit unlawful 
harassment by or against students .

Any employee, student, or contract worker who violates this policy will be subject to disciplinary action . 
To the extent a customer or service guest, vendor, or other person with whom the school does business 
engages in unlawful harassment or discrimination, the school will take appropriate corrective action . The 
grievance procedure will provide that grievances may be filed about discrimination in any academic, 
educational, extracurricular, athletic, or other programs operated or sponsored by, or related to, the 
school, whether the programs take place on the campus of the school, during a school-sponsored field 
trip, or during other off-campus events .

As part of the school’s commitment to providing a harassment-free working and learning environment, 
this policy shall be disseminated to the school community through publications such as the school’s 
catalog, the school’s website, new employee orientations, student orientations, and other appropriate 
channels of communication . The school will provide training to key staff members to enable them to 
handle any allegations of discrimination and harassment, including sexual harassment or sexual violence, 
promptly and effectively . The school will respond quickly to all reports, and will take appropriate action to 
prevent, to correct, and, if necessary, to discipline behavior that violates this policy .

Definitions Regarding Sex Discrimination 
Dating violence is defined as violence committed by a person who is or has been in a social relationship 
of a romantic or intimate nature with the victim; and where the existence of such a relationship shall be 
determined based on a consideration of the following factors: the length of the relationship; the type of 
relationship; and the frequency of interaction between the persons involved in the relationship .

Domestic violence the definition of “domestic violence” includes felony or misdemeanor crimes of 
violence committed by a current or former spouse or intimate partner of the victim, by a person with 
whom the victim shares a child in common, by a person who is cohabitating with or has cohabitated with 
the victim as a spouse or intimate partner, by a person similarly situated to a spouse of the victim under 
the domestic or family violence laws of the jurisdiction receiving grant monies, or by any other person 
against an adult or youth victim who is protected from that person’s acts under the domestic or family 
violence laws of the jurisdiction .



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL COSTA MESA CATALOG  75

Sex discrimination is defined as treating individuals differently on the basis of sex with regard to any aspect of services, 
benefits, or opportunities the school provides, such as:
	 	Treating a person differently in determining whether he or she satisfies any requirement or condition for   
 the provision of an aid, benefit, or service .
	 	Providing different aid, benefits, or services, or providing aid, benefits, or services in a different manner .
	 	Denying any person an aid, benefit, or service .
	 	Subjecting any person to separate or different rules of behavior, sanctions, or other treatment in 
 providing an aid, benefit, or service .
	 	Aiding or perpetuating discrimination against any person by providing significant assistance to any 
 agency, organization, or person, which discriminates on the basis of sex in providing any aid, benefit, or    
 service to students or employees .
	 	Otherwise limiting any person in the enjoyment of any right, privilege, advantage, or opportunity .

Sexual harassment is defined as conduct on the basis of sex that satisfies one or more of the following: 
 q An employee of the school conditioning the provision of an aid, benefit, or service of the school on an 
 individual’s participation in unwelcome sexual conduct; 
 w Unwelcome conduct determined by a reasonable person to be so severe, pervasive, and objectively offensive   
 that it effectively denies a person equal access to the recipient’s education program or activity; or 
 e‘‘Sexual assault’’ as defined in 20 U .S .C . 1092(f)(6)(A)(v), ‘‘dating violence’’ as defined in 34 U .S .C . 12291(a)(10),  
                 ‘‘domestic violence’’ as defined in 34 U .S .C . 12291(a)(8), or ‘‘stalking’’ as defined in 34 U .S .C . 12291(a)(30) .  The 
 federal definitions identified in this paragraph are included as a part of the school’s policy .

Sexual violence is defined as physical sexual acts engaged in without the consent of the other person or when the other 
person is unable to consent to the activity . Sexual violence includes sexual assault, rape, battery, and sexual coercion; 
domestic violence; dating violence; and stalking .

Stalking is defined as engaging in a course of conduct directed at a specific person that would cause a reasonable person 
to fear for his or her safety or the safety of others; or suffer substantial emotional distress .

General Definitions
Actual knowledge means notice of sexual harassment or allegations of sexual harassment to a recipient’s Title IX 
Coordinator or any official of the recipient who has authority to institute corrective measures on behalf of the recipient .

Campus is defined as any building or property owned or controlled by an institution of higher education within the same 
reasonably contiguous geographic area of the institution and used by the institution in direct support of, or in a 
manner related to, the institution’s educational purposes, including residence halls; and property within the same 
reasonably contiguous geographic area of the institution that is owned by the institution but controlled by another 
person, is used by students, and supports institutional purposes (such as a food or other retail vendor) . Education 
programs or activities that receive Federal financial assistance . Under the Final Rule, schools must respond when sexual 
harassment occurs in the school’s education program or activity, against a person .

Complainant is defined as an individual who is alleged to be the victim of conduct that could constitute sexual 
harassment . Any third-party, as well as the complainant, may report sexual harassment . While parents and guardians do 
not become complainants (or respondents); however, the school recognizes the legal rights of parents and guardians to 
act on behalf of parties (including by filing formal complaints) in Title IX matters . 

Consent is informed, voluntary, and revocable . Consent is an affirmative, unambiguous, and conscious decision by each 
participant to engage in mutually agreed-upon sexual activity . It must be given without coercion, force, threats, or 
intimidation . Consent must be ongoing throughout a sexual encounter and can be revoked at any time . Once consent is 
withdrawn, the sexual activity must stop immediately .

Corrective measures are defined as actions taken to address a security breach or privacy violation, with the intent to 
counteract the breach or violation and reduce future risks .  The school’s owner and School Director are the school’s 
designated officials who have the authority to institute corrective measures .

Formal complaint is defined as a document filed by a complainant or signed by the Title IX Coordinator alleging sexual 
harassment against a respondent and requesting that the school investigate the allegation of sexual harassment .  
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Non-campus building or property is defined as any building or property owned or controlled by a student organization 
recognized by the institution; and any building or property (other than a branch campus) owned or controlled by an 
institution of higher education that is used in direct support of, or in relation to, the institution’s educational purposes, 
is used by students, and is not within the same reasonably contiguous geographic area of the institution . Educational 
programs or activities, whether such programs or activities occur on-campus or off-campus . A school may address sexual 
harassment affecting its students or employees that falls outside Title IX’s jurisdiction in any manner the school chooses, 
including providing supportive measures or pursuing discipline

Public property is defined as all public property that is within the same reasonably contiguous geographic area of the 
institution, such as a sidewalk, a street, other thoroughfare, or parking facility, and is adjacent to a facility owned or 
controlled by the institution if the facility is used by the institution in direct support of, or in a manner related to the 
institution’s educational purposes . 

Respondent is defined as an individual who has been reported to be the perpetrator of conduct that could constitute 
sexual harassment . 

Sexual assault is defined as an offense classified as a forcible or nonforcible sex offense under the uniform crime reporting 
system of the Federal Bureau of Investigation . Sexual assault occurs when a physical sexual activity is engaged in without 
the consent of the other person or when the other person is unable to consent to the activity . The activity or conduct may 
include physical force, violence, threat, or intimidation, ignoring the objections of the other person, causing the other 
person’s intoxication or incapacitation through the use of drugs or alcohol, and taking advantage of the other person’s 
incapacitation (including voluntary intoxication) .

Supportive measures are defined as individualized services reasonably available that are non-punitive, non-disciplinary, 
and not unreasonably burdensome to the other party while designed to ensure equal educational access, protect safety, 
or deter sexual harassment . 

Rape Shield Protections limit or prohibit the use of evidence of a victim’s past sexual history to undermine that victim’s 
credibility . The purpose of rape shield laws is to protect victims from the emotional distress of being cross-examined 
about their sexual history on the witness stand . Evidence regarding the victim’s reputation and evidence of past sexual 
behavior not related to the rape accusation at hand is prohibited . 

Prohibited Conduct
Title IX protects students’ rights to educational opportunities free from sex discrimination .  This policy strictly prohibits 
sexual or other unlawful harassment or discrimination, as well as sexual violence, dating violence, domestic violence and 
stalking, as defined above . Sexual or other unlawful harassment or discrimination that includes any verbal, physical, or 
visual conduct, racial epithets, slurs and derogatory remarks, stereotypes, jokes, posters or cartoons based on race, 
religion, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions), military 
or veteran status, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital status, age, sexual orientation, gender, gender 
identity or expression, genetic information, or any other basis protected by the federal, state, or local law basis if:

	  Submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition of an individual’s 
 education or employment;An employee of the recipient conditioning the provision of an aid, benefit, or service of  
 the recipient on an individual’s participation in unwelcome sexual conduct (quid pro quo);
	  Submission to, or rejection of, such conduct by an individual is used as a basis for decisions concerning that   
 individual’s education or employment; or
	  Unwelcome conduct determined by a reasonable person to be so severe, pervasive, and objectively offensive   
 that it effectively denies a person equal access to the recipient’s education program or activity .  It creates a hostile   
 or offensive environment, which means the alleged conduct is sufficiently serious to limit or deny    
 a student or student’s ability to participate or benefit from the student’s education program .

Sexual harassment is conduct based on sex, whether directed toward a person of the opposite or same sex, and may 
include explicit sexual propositions, sexual innuendo, suggestive comments, sexually oriented “kidding” or “teasing,” 
practical jokes, jokes about or displays of obscene printed or visual material, questions about sexual fantasies, 
preferences, or history, and physical contact, such as patting, pinching, or intentionally brushing against another person’s 
body . Gender-based harassment, including acts of verbal, nonverbal, or physical aggression, intimidation, or hostility 
based on sex or sex-stereotyping are strictly prohibited, even if those acts do not involve conduct of a sexual nature .
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Complaint/Grievance Procedure
The following grievance procedures shall be used to address sex discrimination complaints filed by students/ employees 
or complaints filed on their behalf against employees, other students, or third parties .

Any person may report sex discrimination, including sexual harassment (whether or not the person reporting is the 
person alleged to be the victim of conduct that could constitute sex discrimination or sexual harassment), in person, by 
mail, by telephone, or by e-mail, using the contact information listed for the Title IX Coordinator, or by any other means 
that results in the Title IX Coordinator receiving the person’s verbal or written report . Such a report may be made at any 
time, including during non-business hours, by using the telephone number or e-mail address, or by mail to the office 
address, listed below for the Title IX Coordinator . Only a complainant may file a formal complaint that initiates a Title IX 
grievance procedure .

If you believe that you have experienced or witnessed harassment or sexual violence, you need to notify the Title IX 
coordinator as soon as possible after the incident . Do not allow an inappropriate situation to continue by not reporting it, 
regardless of who is creating the situation . No employee, contract worker, student, vendor, customer or service guest, or 
other person who does business with the school is exempt from the prohibitions in this policy . The school Director or 
Education Leader, if they are informed of a Title IX complaint will refer all harassment complaints to the Title IX 
coordinator . In order to facilitate the investigation, your complaint should include details of the incident or incidents, 
dates and times, names of the individuals involved, and names of any witnesses . A sex discrimination complaint should be 
filed within seven (7) days from the date of the alleged discriminatory incident in order for the school to take timely and 
appropriate action . All documentation pertaining to the complaint/grievance process will be confidential . The complaint/
grievance once received will be maintained in the Title IX Coordinator’s office, which has limited staff access . 

All complaints involving a student, employee, contract worker, vendor, customer or service guest, or other person who 
does business with the school will be referred to the campus’s Title IX Coordinator to begin the complaint process outline 
in this policy . The Title IX Coordinator is listed below and has the responsibility of Intake reports and complaints, initiating 
the formal complaint process, and providing supportive measures to both the complainant and respondent . 

If the school has actual knowledge of sexual harassment in an educational program or activity at the school, against a 
person in the United States, they will respond promptly in a manner that is not deliberately indifferent .  A school is 
considered deliberately indifferent only if its response to sexual harassment is clearly unreasonable in light of the known 
circumstances .

The grievant/complainant may use the Title IX Grievance Form, but it is not required, to file a Title IX discrimination 
complaint .

Title IX Coordinator:
Blair Hyman
714-546-8786
3309 Hylan Ave . Suite J
Costa Mesa, CA 92626
blairh@costamesa .paulmitchell .edu

The school ensures that its Title IX Coordinator(s), Investigator(s), Decision-Maker(s), and Informal Resolution Facilitator(s) 
have adequate training on what constitutes sexual harassment, including sexual violence, dating violence, domestic 
violence, sex discrimination, and stalking, and that they understand how the school’s grievance procedures operate .  
Please refer to the end of this policy for a listing of the various roles of individuals involved in the Title IX process, their 
responsibilities, and training requirements .

Reporters
We encourage all individuals who have a Title IX compliant to meet with the Title IX Coordinator to begin the formal 
grievance process . If the school Director or Education Leader, who are not Title IX Coordinators, are informed of a Title IX 
complaint they must notify the Title IX Coordinator of the complaint immediately, as long as they have the 
Complainant’s consent that they can report the incident to the Title IX Coordinator .  These are the only school employees 
that a complainant may discuss Title IX allegations with that are required under the school’s policy to be obligated to 
inform the Title IX Coordinator of information that they received, as long as the Complainant grants that authority .  Once 
any of these reports are notified of complaint allegations the notice triggers the start of the complaint process by the Title 
IX Coordinator . 
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Formal Complaint
A “formal complaint” is defined as a document filed by a complainant or signed by the Title IX Coordinator alleging sexual 
harassment against a respondent and requesting that the school investigate the allegation of sexual harassment .  At the 
time of filing a formal complaint, a complainant must be participating in or attempting to participate in the education 
program or activity of the school . A formal complaint may be filed with the school’s Title IX Coordinator in person, by mail, 
or by electronic mail, by using the contact information located in the school’s policy . The phrase “document filed by a 
complainant” means a document or electronic submission that contains the complainant’s physical or digital signature, or 
otherwise indicates that the complainant is the person filing the formal complaint . 

The Title IX Coordinator will meet with the complainant to explain the process of filing a formal complaint .  The 
complainant must be the alleged victim unless the parent or legal guardian has a legal right to act on their behalf .  
Anyone may report a Title IX violation; however, only a complainant may file a formal complaint that initiates a Title IX 
grievance procedure . The Title IX Coordinator will defer to the complainant’s wishes as to whether or not they want to file 
a formal complaint . 

If the Title IX Coordinator is the one who signs and initiates a formal complaint, the Title IX Coordinator is not a 
complainant or a party during a grievance process and must comply with requirements for Title IX personnel to be free 
from conflicts of interest and bias . 

The school’s Title IX Policy provides for a consistent, transparent grievance process for resolving formal complaints of 
sexual harassment . The school’s policy is required to treat complainants equitably by providing remedies any time a 
respondent is found responsible and treat respondents equitably by not imposing disciplinary sanctions without 
following the grievance process prescribed in the school’s policy . Any remedies, which are required to be provided to a 
complainant when a respondent is found responsible, will be designed to maintain the complainant’s equal access to 
education and may include the same individualized services described as supportive measures; however, any remedies 
imposed do not need to be non-disciplinary or non-punitive and need not avoid burdening the respondent . 

Once a formal complaint has been filed, the school will provide a written notice to each of the parties involved, which will 
include a copy of the school’s written Grievance Process, a list of the allegations, including specific information regarding 
the allegations, and a notice that the parties have a right to an advisor .  The advisor should not be a lawyer .   If during the 
investigation additional allegations are investigated, then a new notice must be provided to the parties, which identifies 
the new issues .

Grievance Procedure
The school’s grievance procedures are designed to ensure that the Title IX complaint process is free from conflicts of 
interest and to treat everyone equally during the process, which requires Title IX personnel (Title IX Coordinators, 
Investigators, Decision-Makers, and people who facilitate any informal resolution process) to be free from conflicts of 
interest or bias for or against complainants or respondents . In order to accomplish this, we have put into place the
 following requirements .

 q All Title IX personnel must include training on the definition of sexual harassment, the scope of the   
 school’s education program or activity, how to conduct an investigation and grievance process including    
 hearings, appeals, and informal resolution processes, as applicable, and how to serve impartially,     
 including by avoiding prejudgment of the facts at issue, conflicts of interest, and bias .

 w The school provides all decision-makers with training on any technology to be used at a live hearing . In   
 addition, the school’s decision-makers and investigators receive training on issues of relevance, including how to   
 apply the rape shield protections provided (only for complainants), prior to participating in any     
 Title IX investigation .

 e The federal regulations governing Title IX allegations requires that there is a presumption that the 
 respondent is not responsible for the alleged conduct until a determination regarding responsibility is made at   
 the conclusion of the grievance process .  The school may remove a respondent from the recipient’s educational   
 program or activity on an emergency basis, provided that the school undertakes an individualized safety and risk   
 analysis, and determines that an immediate threat to the physical health or safety of any student     
 or other individual arising from the allegations of sexual harassment justifies removal and provides the 
 respondent with notice and an opportunity to challenge the decision immediately following the removal .  In the   
 case of a school employee, the school may place the individual on mandatory administrative leave .
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 r All of the materials the school uses to train Title IX personnel are located on the school’s website under   
 the Required Disclosures section on the home page .  

 t Once the hearing takes place, the Decision-Maker may take the following actions against the respondent:  
 dismiss the complaint; place the individual on probation; suspend the individual; terminate the individual; require  
 the individual to go to counseling; change the respondent’s schedule; or require the individual to retake the Title   
 IX training .

 y The school may provide the following remedies to a complainant: an escort; removal from shared classes; 
 academic support services, such as tutoring; and medical or counseling services . 

 u The school has chosen to use the preponderance of the evidence standard, for all formal complaints of   
 sexual harassment (including where employees and faculty are respondents) . 

 i Upon completion of the Title IX process, either party may file an appeal of the decision .  The school’s 
 appeal process is outlined below .

 o Throughout the grievance process the school will not use, rely on, or seek disclosure of information 
 protected under a legally recognized privilege, unless the person holding such privilege has waived the privilege .

 a All provisions, rules, or practices that are a part of the school’s grievance process for handling formal 
 complaints of sexual harassment apply equally to both parties . 

To initiate a criminal investigation, reports of sexual violence should be made to “911” or local law enforcement . The 
criminal process is separate from the school’s disciplinary process . To the extent that an employee or contract worker is 
not satisfied with the school’s handling of a harassment or discrimination complaint, he or she may also contact the
appropriate state or federal enforcement agency for legal relief .

The school will make appropriate referrals to law enforcement . The school will also notify complainants of the right to 
proceed with a criminal investigation and a Title IX complaint simultaneously . The school will not wait for the criminal 
investigation or criminal proceeding to be concluded before beginning its own investigation .

Investigation of Allegations
In response to all complaints, the school will ensure prompt and equitable resolution through a reliable and impartial 
investigation of the allegations, including the opportunity for both parties to present witnesses or other evidence . The 
school will follow its written grievance process before the imposition of any disciplinary sanctions or other actions that 
are not supportive measures, against a respondent . During this process the school will not restrict an individual’s rights 
protected under the U .S . Constitution, including the First Amendment, Fifth Amendment, and Fourteenth Amendment, 
when complying with Title IX .  

The federal regulations require a school to investigate sexual harassment allegations in any formal complaint, which can 
be filed by a complainant, or signed by a Title IX Coordinator . The regulations affirm that a complainant’s wishes with 
respect to whether the school investigates should be respected unless the Title IX Coordinator determines that signing a 
formal complaint to initiate an investigation over the wishes of the complainant is not clearly unreasonable in light of the 
known circumstances . 

If the allegations in a formal complaint do not meet the definition of sexual harassment, or did not occur in the school’s 
education program or activity against a person in the United States, the school must dismiss such allegations for 
purposes of Title IX but may still address the allegations in any manner the school deems appropriate under the school’s 
own code of conduct, which is published in the school’s catalog .  The school may also dismiss a complaint if: the 
complainant withdraws the complaint; if the respondent is no longer enrolled or employed at the school; or if 
circumstances prevent institution from being able to investigate the complaint allegations .  In this case, each party needs 
to be notified that the complaint has been dismissed and the reasons why it has been dismissed .
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The time necessary to conduct an investigation will vary based on complexity of the allegation but will generally be 
completed within sixty (60) days of receipt of the complaint, which includes appeals and informal resolutions, with an 
allowance for short-term and good cause delays or extensions of the time frame . If a complainant requests 
confidentiality, the school will take all reasonable steps to investigate and respond to the complaint consistent with the 
request . If a complainant insists that his or her name or other identifiable information not be disclosed to the alleged 
perpetrator, the school will inform the complainant that its ability to respond may be limited .

The preponderance of the evidence standard will apply to investigations, meaning the school will evaluate whether it is 
more likely than not that the alleged conduct occurred . 

During the investigation, the school will provide interim measures, as necessary, to protect the safety and well-being of 
students and/or employees involved and are designed to restore or preserve equal access to the education program or 
activity without unreasonably burdening the other party and to protect the safety of all parties, the school’s educational 
environment, or deter sexual harassment . 

The Title IX Coordinator will promptly contact the complainant confidentially to discuss the availability of supportive 
measures; consider the complainant’s wishes with respect to supportive measures; inform the complainant of the 
availability of supportive measures with or without the filing of a formal complaint; and explain to the complainant the 
process for filing a formal complaint . The school will offer supportive measures, at no cost, to the person alleged to be the 
victim (referred to as the “complainant”), which may include counseling, extensions of deadlines or other course-related 
adjustments, modifications of work or class schedules, campus escort services, mutual restrictions on contact between 
the parties, leaves of absence, increased security and monitoring of certain areas of the campus, and other similar 
measures to help protect the alleged victim and deter sexual harassment .   The respondent is also eligible for the same 
supportive measures that the complainant has available .  The school will maintain as confidential any supportive 
measures provided to the complainant or respondent, to the extent that maintaining such confidentiality would not 
impair the ability of the school to provide the supportive measures . The school’s Title IX Coordinator is responsible for 
coordinating the effective implementation of all supportive measures that will be provided before sanctions in any 
grievance procedure are imposed .

The school will investigate the allegations in any formal complaint and send written notice to both parties (complainants 
and respondents) of the allegations upon receipt of a formal complaint . The Title IX Coordinator has the responsibility of 
investigating the complaint allegations; however, if it is in the best interest of the parties involved the school may choose 
another employee or hire a third-party to conduct the investigation .

During the grievance process, and when investigating the complaint allegations, the school will abide by the following 
procedures:
 q The school will apply a presumption that the respondent is not responsible during the grievance process   
 (presumption of innocence) .  The burden of gathering evidence and burden of proof is the responsibility of the   
 school, not on the individual parties .  

 w The school will provide equal opportunity for the parties involved to present fact and expert witnesses   
 and other inculpatory and exculpatory evidence .  Witnesses cannot be anonymous . 

 e The school will not restrict the ability of the parties to discuss the allegations or gather evidence (e .g ., no   
 “gag orders”) to support their case .

 r Both parties to the complaint will have the same opportunity to select an advisor of the party’s choice   
 who may be, but need not be, an attorney .  

 t The school as a part of the investigative process will send written notice of any investigative interviews,   
 meetings, or hearings to both parties .  Any interviews that occur can have both parties’ advisors present .

 y The schools will send the parties, and their advisors, evidence directly related to the allegations, in 
 electronic format or hard copy, with at least 10 days for the parties to inspect, review, and respond to the 
 evidence provided .

 u The school will send the parties, and their advisors, an investigative report that fairly summarizes relevant   
 evidence, in electronic format or hard copy, with at least 10 days for the parties to respond to the report .
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 i The school will dismiss allegations of conduct that do not meet the definition of sexual harassment or   
 did not occur in a school’s educational program or activity against a person in the U .S . Such dismissal is only for 
 Title IX purposes and does not preclude the school from addressing the conduct in any manner the school deems 
 appropriate .

 o The school may, in their discretion, dismiss a formal complaint or allegations therein if the complainant   
 informs the Title IX Coordinator in writing that the complainant desires to withdraw the formal complaint or 
 allegations therein, if the respondent is no longer enrolled or employed by the school, or if specific circumstances   
 prevent the school from gathering sufficient evidence to reach a determination .

 a The school will give the parties written notice of a dismissal (mandatory or discretionary) and the reasons   
 for the dismissal .

 s The school may, in their discretion, consolidate formal complaints where the allegations arise out of the   
 same facts or circumstances, whether it is complaints against multiple respondents or by multiple complainants .

 d The school will protect the privacy of a party’s medical, psychological, and similar treatment records by   
 stating that the school cannot access or use such records unless the school obtains the party’s voluntary, written 
 consent to do so .

Live Hearings
The school’s Title IX grievance process provides for a live hearing .  If the complaint goes to a live hearing, then each party 
must have an advisor .  The appointed Decision-Maker is the individual who will be conducting the hearing .  The following 
conditions will apply for a live hearing:

 q The Decision-Maker(s) must permit each party’s advisor to ask the other party and any witnesses all 
 relevant questions and follow-up questions, including those that challenge credibility .

 w Cross-examination at the live hearing must be conducted directly, orally, and in real time by the party’s   
 advisor of choice and never by either the complainant or respondent personally .

 e At the request of either party, the school will provide for the entire live hearing (including 
 cross-examination) to occur with the parties located in separate rooms with technology enabling the parties to   
 see and hear each other .

 r Only relevant cross-examination and other questions may be asked of a party or witness . Before a 
 complainant, respondent, or witness answers a cross-examination or other question, the Decision-Maker must   
 first determine whether the question is relevant and explain to the party’s advisor asking cross-examination 
 questions any decision to exclude a question as not relevant .  

 t The live hearing provides for the opportunity for all parties’ advisors to examine and cross-examine   
 witnesses, including challenging the credibility of witnesses .  Hearsay statements and irrelevant information is are  
 not permitted .

 y The school’s process provides for rape shield protections for complainants deeming irrelevant questions   
 and evidence about a complainant’s prior sexual behavior unless offered to prove that someone other than the   
 respondent committed the alleged misconduct or offered to prove consent . 

 u If either party does not have an advisor present at the live hearing, the school will provide, at no cost to   
 that party, an advisor of the school’s choice who may be, but is not required to be, an attorney to conduct 
 cross- examination on behalf of that party .  Only the advisor may cross-examine the witnesses .

 i If a party or witness does not submit to cross-examination at the live hearing, the Decision-Maker(s) must   
 not rely on any statement of that party or witness in reaching a determination regarding responsibility; 
 provided, however, that the decision-maker(s) cannot draw an inference about the determination regarding 
 responsibility based solely on a party’s or witness’s absence from the live hearing or refusal to answer 
 cross-examination or other questions .
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 o Live hearings may be conducted with all parties physically present in the same geographic location or, at   
 the school’s discretion, any or all parties, witnesses, and other participants may appear at the live hearing virtually .

 a As a part of the process, the school will create an audio or audiovisual recording, or transcript, of any live   
 hearing, as a part of the record .  

Final Determination of the Investigation
The school’s grievance process uses the preponderance of the evidence standard to determine responsibility .  The 
school’s grievance process uses the same standard of evidence for all formal complaints of sexual harassment whether the 
respondent is a student or an employee (including faculty member) .  The Decision-Maker(s) in the process are required to 
objectively evaluate all relevant evidence, inculpatory and exculpatory, and avoid credibility determinations based on a 
person’s status as a complainant, respondent, or witness .

The Decision-Maker in all instances cannot be the Title IX Coordinator or the investigator in order to ensure that the 
investigative process is fair and free of bias .   The Decision-Maker will issue a written determination regarding 
responsibility with findings of fact to include the following:

 q Must identify the standard of evidence used based on the school’s written policy .

 w Identify the allegations that constitute sexual harassment .

 e Describe the procedures the school used from the filing of the formal complaint through the hearing   
 process .

 r Make findings of fact and conclusions about whether the alleged conduct occurred, rationale for the   
 result as to each allegation .

 t Include the imposition of any sanctions or disciplinary actions imposed on the respondent, and whether   
 any remedies will be provided to the complainant . 

 y State the procedures to file an appeal and the allowable bases for an individual to appeal the decision .  

 u Upon conclusion the written determination will be sent simultaneously to the parties .

 i The Title IX Coordinator is responsible for implementation of any remedies imposed by the 
 Decision-Maker .

Appeal Process
The school will allow either or both parties the opportunity to appeal the Decision-Maker’s determination regarding 
responsibility from a school’s dismissal of a formal complaint or any allegations therein .  Either party can appeal based on 
the following: 

 q Procedural irregularity that affected the outcome of the matter;

 w Newly discovered evidence that could affect the outcome of the matter; and/or

 e The Title IX personnel had a conflict of interest or bias, that affected the outcome of the decision .  

Informal Resolution
The school provides the opportunity for the parties involved in the formal complaint allegations to facilitate an informal 
resolution, such as mediation, so long as both parties give voluntary, informed, written consent to attempt an informal 
resolution . At any time prior to agreeing to a resolution, any party has the right to withdraw from the informal resolution 
process and resume the grievance process with respect to the formal complaint . The school will provide written notice to 
the parties of the allegations, requirements of the resolution process, and any limitations .



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL COSTA MESA CATALOG  83

If the complaint allegations are in regard to an employee of the school sexually harassing a student, the opportunity for 
an informal resolution is not available .  

A school may not require as a condition of enrollment or continuing enrollment, or employment or continuing 
employment, or enjoyment of any other right, waiver of the right to a formal investigation and adjudication of formal 
complaints of sexual harassment . Similarly, a school may not require the parties to participate in an informal resolution 
process and may not offer an informal resolution process unless a formal complaint is filed . 

Retaliation Prohibited
The school prohibits any form of retaliation, intimidation, threats, coercion, discrimination, or harassment against any 
individual who filed or otherwise participated in the filing or investigation of a complaint of discrimination . Actions do not 
have to be on the basis of sex or involve sexual harassment to constitution retaliation .  Retaliation complaints may use the 
same grievance process as sexual harassment complaints .  Any individual who believes he or she has been subjected to 
retaliation may file a separate complaint under this procedure . The school will keep confidential the identity of
complainants, respondents, and witnesses, except as may be permitted by FERPA, as required by law, or as necessary to 
carry out a Title IX proceeding, which does not constitute retaliation .  
The following circumstances do not constitute retaliation, including:
 q Exercising one’s rights protected under the First Amendment .  
 w Charging an individual with a code of conduct violation for making a materially false statement in bad   
 faith in the course of a Title IX grievance proceeding does not constitute retaliation; however, a determination   
 regarding responsibility, alone, is not sufficient to conclude that any party made a bad faith materially    
 false statement .
 e Charging an individual with code of conduct violations that do not involve sexual harassment but arise   
 out of the same facts or circumstances as a report or formal complaint of sexual harassment; however, for    
 the purpose of interfering with any right or privilege secured by Title IX does constitute retaliation . 

Reporting Requirements
Victims of sexual misconduct should be aware that school administrators must issue timely warnings for incidents 
reported to them that pose a substantial threat of bodily harm or danger to other members of the campus community . 
The school will make every effort to ensure that a victim’s name and other identifying information is not disclosed, while 
still providing enough information for community members to make safety decisions in light of the danger . The school 
reserves the right to notify parents/guardians of dependent students regarding any health or safety risk or a change in 
student status .  The school will also notify the local police department of any crimes that have been brought to their 
attention . 
Any allegations or violations of Title IX will be reported to the school’s Clery Act coordinator to be included in the school’s 
annual reporting requirements .

Record Keeping
All records of the Title IX formal complaint including, the investigation, evidence, decision making process, hearings, and 
decision letters will be maintained by the school for at least 7 years . 

Required Training
The school’s Title IX Coordinator, Investigator, Decision-Maker, or any person designated by the school to facilitate an 
informal resolution process, must not have a conflict of interest or bias for or against complainants or respondents 
generally, or an individual complainant or respondent . Each individual that is part of the Title IX process is required to take 
training that includes how to serve impartially, including by avoiding prejudgment of the facts at issue, conflicts of 
interest, and bias .  Part of the required training is to ensure that Title IX Coordinators, investigators, decision-makers, and 
any person who facilitates an informal resolution process, receive training on the definition of sexual harassment, the 
scope of the school’s education program or activity, how to serve impartially, how to make relevancy determinations, how 
to conduct an investigation and grievance process including hearings, appeals and informal resolution .

The school will provide the Decision-Maker(s) with training on any technology to be used at a live hearing and on issues 
of relevance of questions and evidence, including when questions and evidence about the complainant’s sexual 
predisposition or prior sexual behavior are not relevant . The school will also ensure that investigators receive training on 
issues of relevance to create an investigative report that fairly summarizes relevant evidence . Any materials used to train 
Title IX Coordinators, Investigators, Decision-Makers, and any person who facilitates an informal resolution process, must 
not rely on sex stereotypes and must promote impartial investigations and adjudications of formal complaints of sexual 
harassment .
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Additional Information
Employees and students may contact the Title IX coordinator with any questions related to this policy . 
In addition, the U .S . Department of Education Office for Civil Rights (“OCR”) investigates complaints of 
unlawful harassment of students in educational programs or activities . This agency may serve as a neutral 
fact finder and will attempt to facilitate the 
voluntary resolution of disputes with the parties . For more information, visit the OCR website at: 
http://www2 .ed .gov/about/offices/list/ocr/index .html .
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SEXUAL HARASSMENT POLICY

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa  is committed to maintaining a working and learning environment 
that provides for fair and equitable treatment, including freedom from sexual harassment . This policy 
covers anyone who engages in sexual harassment on school property or at school activities .

Sexual harassment is defined as unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal 
and/or physical conduct of a sexual nature, when:

q  Submission to the conduct or communication is either explicitly or implicitly made a term or 
condition of an individual’s employment, work opportunity, education, or other benefit;

w  Submission to or rejection of the conduct or communication is used as a factor for employment 
decisions or other school-related decisions affecting an individual; and/or

e  Such conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an 
individual’s work or school performance or creates an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work or 
school environment .

Sexual harassment can occur between staff to student, student to staff, student to student, staff to staff, 
female to male, male to female, female to female, and male to male . Administration will take prompt, 
equitable, and remedial action on reports and complaints that come to the attention of school personnel, 
either formally or informally . Allegations of criminal misconduct will be reported to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency .

Sexual harassment may include but is not limited to: 

q  Verbal harassment or abuse of a sexual nature 

w  Subtle pressure for sexual activity       

e  Inappropriate or unwelcome touching, patting, or pinching of a sexual nature 

r  Intentional brushing against a student’s or an employee’s body 

t  Demanding sexual favors accompanied by implied or overt threats concerning an individual’s 
employment or educational status 

y  Demanding sexual favors accompanied by implied or overt promises of preferential treatment with 
regard to an individual’s employment or educational status 

u  Use of sexually or gender-degrading words or comments, verbal or written (e .g ., graffiti) 

i  Display in the school, on school grounds, or at school-sponsored events of sexually suggestive 
pictures 

o  Leering of a sexual nature 

a  Spreading of sexual rumors 

Engaging in sexual harassment will result in appropriate discipline or other appropriate sanctions against 
offending students, staff, or contractors . Anyone else engaging in sexual harassment on school property 
or at school activities will have their access to school property and activities restricted or revoked, as 
appropriate . The school shall respect the confidentiality of the complainant and the individual(s) against 
whom the complaint is filed as much as possible, consistent with the school’s legal obligations and the 
necessity to investigate the allegations and take disciplinary action when the conduct has occurred .

Retaliation is prohibited against any person who makes a complaint or is a witness under this policy and 
will result in appropriate disciplinary action against the person responsible for the retaliation . Individuals 
who knowingly report or corroborate false allegations will be subject to appropriate disciplinary action .

Each staff member is responsible to immediately report alleged discrimination and/or harassment to his/
her supervisor or other appropriate school personnel . Staff members who fail to take prompt action to 
report allegations or violation(s) of this policy may be subject to disciplinary action up to and including 
termination .
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HARASSMENT, INTIMIDATION, BULLYING, AND DISCRIMINATION POLICY

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa is committed to maintaining a working and learning environment 
that provides for fair and equitable treatment, including freedom from bullying, harassment, 
intimidation,  and discrimination of any kind . This policy includes anyone who engages in such 
behavior on school property, at school activities, or an electronic act through the use of cell phones, 
computers, personal communication devices, or other electronic gaming devices . 

Harassment, intimidation, bullying, and discrimination may take many forms, including verbal 
aggression and name calling; inappropriate comments; inappropriate images; physical aggression; 
relational aggression; graphic and written statements, which may include use of cell phones, 
computers, or gaming systems; any insensitive materials and other conduct that may be physically 
threatening, harmful, or humiliating  . Harassment, intimidation, bullying, and discrimination include 
intent to harm, they are directed at a specific target, and typically involve repeated incidents . 
Harassment, intimidation, bullying and discrimination create a hostile environment and will not be 
tolerated in Paul Mitchell Schools . 

Such conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an 
individual’s work or school performance and creates an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work or 
school environment . Harassment, intimidation, bullying and discrimination can interfere and limit a 
person’s ability to participate in or benefit from the education, services, activities, or opportunities 
offered by the Paul Mitchell School . Administration will take prompt, equitable, and remedial 
action (including but not limited to requiring sensitivity training, probation, suspension, expulsion, 
or termination) on all reports and complaints that come to the attention of school personnel, 
either formally or informally . Allegations of any policy violation will be investigated and handled 
appropriately based upon the findings, including reporting any criminal activity to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency .

Engaging in harassment, intimidation, bullying or discrimination will result in appropriate discipline 
or other appropriate sanctions against offending students, staff, service guests, third-party vendors, or 
contractors . Anyone engaging in these behaviors on school property or at school activities will have 
their access to school property and activities restricted or revoked, as appropriate .

The school shall respect the confidentiality of the complainant and the individual(s) against whom the 
complaint is filed as much as possible, consistent with the school’s legal obligations, state laws and 
policies, and the necessity to investigate the allegations and take disciplinary and/or restorative action 
to resolve the problem .  

Retaliation is prohibited against any person who makes a complaint or who is a witness under 
this policy and will result in appropriate disciplinary action against the person responsible for the 
retaliation . Individuals who knowingly report or corroborate false allegations will be subject to 
appropriate disciplinary and /or restorative action .  Each staff member is responsible for immediately 
reporting alleged harassment, intimidation, bullying  or discrimination to his/her supervisor or other 
appropriate school personnel . Staff members who fail to take prompt action to report allegations or 
violation(s) of this policy may be subject to disciplinary and/or restorative action up to and including 
termination .

For a list of state anti-bullying laws and policies please go to: www.stopbullying.gov .

For a list of federal anti-discrimination laws and policies, please go to: 
https://www.ftc.gov/site-information/no-fear-act/protections-against-discrimination
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COPYRIGHT MATERIAL POLICY FOR PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL COSTA MESA 

All material in this program is, unless otherwise stated, the property of Paul Mitchell The School Costa 
Mesa . Reproduction or retransmission of the materials, in whole or in part, in any manner, without the 
prior written consent of the copyright holder, is a violation of copyright law . 

At Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa  we abide by the provisions of the federal Digital Millennium 
Copyright Act (DMCA), which requires prompt response to claims of copyright infringement by copyright 
holders or their agents . If the school receives an allegation of copyright infringement based on your use 
of the school’s computers, the matter will be referred to the School Director for further investigation . If 
you are found responsible after meeting with the School Director, you are subject to disciplinary action 
including loss of network access, suspension or termination from school, and/or restitution or community 
service .

The Internet is an essential tool for our academic and everyday pursuits . Along with these benefits come 
responsibilities . One of the most critical is conforming to the copyright laws governing music, movies, 
games, and software over the Internet . You must have the consent of the copyright holder to make 
copies . 

The consequences of copyright infringement also extend outside of the school . Copyright holders 
may assess civil liability and even criminal prosecution . Recently, the Recording Industry Association 
of America (RIAA) has adopted the practice of sending schools pre-litigation settlement letters to be 
forwarded to individuals offering them “the opportunity to resolve copyright infringement claims against 
them at a discounted rate .” Published reports indicate that the minimum settlement is $3,000 .00 per case .

Another reason to be careful with file-sharing programs is that the installation procedures for most of 
them enable default open access worldwide to information on your system; thus, the integrity of your 
computer and personal information can be compromised through illegal file sharing, including making 
you vulnerable to identity theft . 

SOCIAL NETWORKING POLICY

Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa respects the rights of students to use social media during their 
personal time .  Social media includes all forms of publicly accessible communications which include, but 
are not limited to, written and verbal communications (including podcast and video uploads) and all 
forms of electronic communication including discussion groups, forums, newsgroups, e-mail distribution, 
blog postings, and or social networking sites (such as Facebook, Instagram, SnapChat, Twitter, You Tube, 
Friendster, Tik Tok, etc .)  .  Students are personally responsible for the content they publish on social 
networking sites . Students are expected to treat each other with fairness and respect, consistent with the 
Paul Mitchell Schools culture .

Paul Mitchell Schools does not permit ethnic slurs, personal insults, obscenity, intimidation, cyber 
bullying, harrassment or engaging in conduct that would be unbecoming of a Paul Mitchell Future 
Professional and misrepresent Paul Mitchell culture .  Paul Mitchell The School reserves the right to request 
the removal of any posts at its discretion and take necessary disciplinary action as appropriate .
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ALCOHOL AND DRUG-FREE EDUCATIONAL FACILITY POLICY

The School is concerned about the use of alcohol and drugs in the educational facility . This concern is 
based upon the effect that those substances have on a person’s judgment, performance, safety, and 
health . 

The School prohibits the possession, use, or being under the influence of alcohol or an illegal substance 
on School premises or at a School activity .

This prohibition includes drugs which (a) are not legally obtainable or (b) are legally obtainable but 
have not been legally obtained . The prohibition also includes prescribed drugs not legally obtained and 
prescribed drugs not being used for the prescribed purposes .  

In order to enforce this policy, the School reserves the right to search all School premises, including 
classrooms, administrative offices, corridors, storage rooms, and parking lots .  The School also reserves 
the right to search all employee and student property on School premises or at School activities, 
including but not limited to backpacks, purses, handbags, lockers, and vehicles parked on School 
property . The School also reserves the right to implement other measures necessary to deter abuse of this 
policy . Failure or refusal to cooperate may be grounds for disciplinary action, including expulsion from 
the School or termination for employees .

The School also will not object to law enforcement seeking to search School premises or employees and 
students, and employee and student property on School property or at School activities .

REGULATORY AND ACCREDITATION AGENCIES

The following institutions license and regulate our institution: 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE)
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833
(916) 431-6959
Toll-free: (888) 370-7589

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC)
P .O . Box 944226
Sacramento, CA 94244-2260
(916) 575-7281
Toll-free: (800) 952-5210

National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS)
3015 Colvin Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
(703) 600-7600

Nationally accredited by National Accrediting Commissions of Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS) . 
The National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS) is recognized by the 
United States Department of Education as a national accrediting agency for postsecondary school and 
departments of cosmetology arts and sciences, and massage therapy . 

If you are interested in reviewing or receiving a copy of the school’s state license/approval or a copy of the 
school’s letter of accreditation, please contact the School Director .

The campus crime report is provided to each student prior to enrollment . The campus crime statistics are 
updated annually (October) . If you are interested in reviewing or receiving a copy of the school’s campus 
crime report, please see the School Director and/or the financial aid office or a copy may be reviewed on 
the school website . . 
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GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

This Grievance Procedure will be used to process a written grievance or complaint concerning 
discrimination, bullying, harassment, or any other grievance that a complainant feels have been left 
unresolved against a student, employee, or third-party . The grievance or complaint will be referred to 
the School Director and/or School Owner . The following grievance procedures shall be used to address a 
grievance filed by students or employees, or for complaints filed on their behalf against employees, other 
students, or third parties . A copy of the Grievance form may be obtained from the school’s Director; 
however, you may also provide a written complaint by other means as long as it is signed and dated .

In order to facilitate the investigation, the complaint should include details of the incident or incidents, 
dates and times, names of the individuals involved, and names of any witnesses . A complaint should be 
filed within seven (7) days from the date of the alleged incident in order for the school to take timely and 
appropriate action . The complaint once received will be maintained in the Director’s office, which has 
limited staff access . The school Director has the responsibility of investigating the complaint allegations; 
however, if it is in the best interest of the parties involved the school may choose another employee .

The time necessary to conduct an investigation will vary based on complexity of the allegation(s) but will 
generally be completed within fourteen (14) days of receipt of the complaint .  If a complainant requests 
confidentiality, the school will take all reasonable steps to investigate and respond to the complaint 
consistent with the request . If a complainant insists that his or her name or other identifiable 
information not be disclosed to the alleged perpetrator, the school will inform the complainant that its 
ability to respond may be limited .

All complaints involving a student, employee, contract worker, vendor, customer service guest, or other 
person who does business with the school will be referred to the school’s Director .  The Director will begin 
the complaint process outline in this policy . 

Investigation of Allegations

The school will investigate all complaints received . The school’s grievance procedures are designed to 
ensure that the complaint process is free from conflicts of interest .   

1 . During the grievance process each individual is consider innocent of the alleged conduct until 
a determination regarding responsibility is made at the conclusion of the grievance process .  The school 
may remove an individual from the school on an emergency basis, provided that the school undertakes 
an individualized safety and risk analysis, and determines that an immediate threat to the physical health 
or safety of any student or other individual arising from the allegations justifies removal and provides the 
individual with notice and an opportunity to challenge the decision immediately following the removal .  
In the case of a school employee, the school may place the individual on mandatory administrative leave .

2 . All provisions, rules, or practices that are a part of the school’s grievance process for handling 
formal complaints apply equally to both parties . 

3 . The school will make appropriate referrals to law enforcement, if necessary . The school will also 
notify complainants of the right to proceed with a criminal investigation, while the school conducts its 
own investigation simultaneously . The school will not wait for the criminal investigation or criminal 
proceeding to be concluded before beginning its own investigation and acting on the evidence 
obtained .

4 .  The school will dismiss allegations of conduct that do not meet the school’s written policies .  
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5 . The school will provide equal opportunity for the parties involved to present facts, 
documentation, and witnesses .  Any witnesses listed will be interviewed by the school Director .

6 . The school may, in their discretion, dismiss a complaint or allegations therein if the complainant 
informs the Director in writing that the complainant desires to withdraw the formal complaint or 
allegations therein, if the individual is no longer enrolled or employed by the school, or if specific 
circumstances prevent the school from gathering sufficient evidence to reach a determination .  If the 
complaint is dismissed, the school will give the parties written notice of a dismissal of the complaint and 
the reasons why .

7 . The school may, in their discretion, consolidate complaints where the allegations arise out of the 
same facts or circumstances, whether it is complaints against multiple individuals .

8 . Upon conclusion of the investigation into the allegations, the Director will provide a written 
determination to all parties, as to the final decision and any actions taken .

Students should follow the above process; however, the student may, at any time, file a complaint with 
the school’s accrediting agency, or the U .S . Department of Education . 

Complaints can be filed with BPPE at https://www .bppe .ca .gov/enforcement/complaint .shtml:
How to File a Complaint
Most consumers receive a quality education and have a generally positive experience from attending 
an approved private postsecondary educational institution . However, in the event a consumer believes 
an institution’s administrative processes or educational programs are compromised and are not up to 
the required minimum standards, the consumer should notify the Bureau . Consumers should also notify 
the Bureau if a consumer suspects that an institution is operating without Bureau approval . Consumers 
may file a complaint by using the Bureau’s online complaint submission link, here (preferred) or by 
downloading the complaint form and mailing it to the address below .

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
P .O . Box 980818

West Sacramento, CA 
95798-0818

WHO MAY FILE A COMPLAINT
Anyone may file a complaint if they believe an institution has violated the laws and/or regulations 
governing the institution’s operation, including unlicensed activity . Complaints are most often received 
from students, their families, other members of the private postsecondary education industry, law 
enforcement agencies, and other regulatory agencies .

If you have questions or need assistance with filing a complaint please email, bppe .enforcement@dca .
ca .gov or call (888) 370-7589, press 3 when prompted .

Complaints can be filed with Board of Barbering & Cosmetology at https://www .barbercosmo .ca .gov/
enforcement/complaint .shtml:

All complaints must be submitted to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology in writing .
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Complaints may be submitted:

Electronically through www .breeze .ca .gov .
or
By U .S . Mail using a Consumer Complaint Form (Korean) (Spanish) (Vietnamese) or other written 
document addressed to:

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
P .O . Box 944226
Sacramento CA, 

94244-2260

To register comments/complaints about the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, use the Citizens 
Complaint Form (Korean) (Spanish) (Vietnamese) .

To file a complaint with the school’s accrediting agency, the National Accrediting Commission of Career 
Arts and Sciences, please follow the directions below:

1 . Go to 
https://naccasngo .sharepoint .com/sites/NACCASWeb/Shared%20Documents/Website%20Public%20
Documents/Applications%20&%20Forms/All%20Applications%20&%20Forms/Complaint%20Form .pdf 
for a copy of NACCAS’ complaint form .

2 .  An individual must complete the form and submit it to:

NACCAS
3015 Colvin Street

Alexandria, VA 22314

3 . “Student complainants: In accordance with NACCAS’ Standards and Criteria, schools must have 
a policy and procedure for handling student complaints and inform the students in writing of same . The 
notice must be included in the school’s catalog, handbook, other published materials, and/or otherwise 
prominently displayed in the school . NACCAS shall not consider a student complaint until all procedures 
and remedies within the institution have been exhausted . A student complainant must show that 
the institution’s complaint procedure has been followed and state why the matter is considered still 
unresolved when he/she submits a complaint to NACCAS .”

“The NACCAS complaint process is intended as a tool for NACCAS to monitor whether accredited schools 
are complying with NACCAS’ accreditation standards . It is not designed or intended as a means for 
providing individual relief to the person filing the complaint . As detailed in NACCAS’ Handbook, NACCAS’ 
Board of Commissioners will not intervene on behalf of individuals in cases of disciplinary action or 
dismissal, or act as a court of appeals in such matters as admission, graduation, fees, or similar points of 
issue . If you are seeking relief for personal grievances against the institution identified in your complaint, 
you are advised to exercise your rights under the institution’s internal grievance policy . If you are not 
satisfied with the results of that process, you may wish to consult with the state regulatory board or 
agency that licenses the institution concerning your rights under state law and regulations .”

4 . Upon conclusion of the investigation into any allegations, NACCAS will send the individual a 
letter notifying them of their decision .

Students will not be subject to retribution upon filing a complaint .
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SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION AS OF MARCH 2020

Ownership: Von Curtis, Inc .
Co-director: Kenda Woodward 
Co-director: Thomas Mutter
Operations Leader: Tonya Gonzalez 
Financial Aid Leaders: Aneida Smith-Stuart, Michele (Shell) Knegt
Admission Team: Kenny Bronfeld, Baylie Suarez, Tiffany Alvano
Enrollment Leader:  Angelina Chavez
Education Leader: Taylor Ingram and Kyle Krammer
Future Professional Advisor: Corrine May

Taylor Ingram- Education Leader Full-time
Cosmetology License #KK519936 
Education Leader, coaches, leads and teaches the Learning Leaders in all areas of cutting, color, and 
texture  Cutting Specialist, teaches cutting in the classroom, and on clinic classroom .  
Taylor graduated school at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa with honors in 2010 . He went through 
the mentorship process with the school for 2 years while certifying through cutting and color and also 
got the experience training with our Advanced Education team . Taylor is now certified across the board in 
level 4 with our school systems .

Kyle Kammer Education Leader Full-time 
Cosmetology License #512329 
Kyle attended Paul Mitchell the school Costa Mesa from 2009-2010 . Completing school with cutting and 
color honors . After finishing school kyle stared assisting at salon Gregory along with becoming a mentor 
at Paul Mitchell the school costa mesa .  In the fall of 2011 kyle helped open salon splash in long beach 
were he worked for 2 years . In 2011 kyle stared his free lancing career with john Paul Mitchell systems . In 
2012 kyle went throw the national educator program with John Paul Mitchell Systems and started doing 
salon education in the greater LA area along with becoming the education leader of the Paul Mitchell 
the school Sherman oaks . In the fall for 2012 kyle started traveling to Mtwapa Kenya working Hope 
international . Hope is a nonprofit organization that works with young men and women throw out the 
East African . After several trips kyle helped lunch Remba, a nonprofit focused on the rescue, rehabilitation 
and reintegration of men and women coming out of the sex trafficking in Mtwapa Kenya . After spending 
3 years off and on in Kenya, Kyle returned to Paul Mitchell the School Costa Mesa to pursue a career in 
education with a passion for cutting .

Cosmetology Learning Leaders 

Giselle Lopez- Learning Leader Full-time 
Cosmetology License #KK535151 
Giselle Lopez is a Learning Leader at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa . She is a homegrown of the 
school and has never left since she started in 2009 . She has previously had positions as state board 
specialist and theory leader, making her a well-rounded young stylist . Giselle now leads Core in the night 
school program and hopes to stay in that position for a long, long time as being in the classroom is her 
passion . When not creating magic at the school, she enjoys listening to music, going to music festivals, 
concerts, and shows, and knitting or crocheting cozy scarves .
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Ashley Dubrock- Learning Leader Full-time 
Cosmetology License # KK528667 
Ashley is a Learning Leader and Design Team Leader at Paul Mitchell the School Costa Mesa . Born and 
raised in Orange County, she started her journey in the hair business by attending Paul Mitchell the 
School in 2010 . Going above and beyond, she entered NAHA, Beacon, and graduated on the Dean’s List . 
After becoming a California licensed cosmetologist, she moved to Burbank to further her education and 
study at Makeup Designery where she learned Beauty and Special Effects Makeup techniques . Ashley’s 
passion for education sparked as a Future Professional, and led her to come back and be part of the team .

Jose Avila-Learning Leader Full-time
Cosmetology License #KK572532  
Jose began his journey in 2011 when he attended the cosmetology program at Paul Mitchell The School 
Costa Mesa . He began his experience assisting a John Paul Mitchell Systems National Educator, named 
Mona Maleki, in Beverly Hills . His love and passion for color grew and so he started to create this as his 
main focus . Jose has now been an Educator at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa for 5 years and enjoys 
being part of his Future Professionals’ journey . Paul Mitchell has given Jose the
opportunity to work with so many of his mentors and creative minds at trade shows, fashion shows, 
as well as photoshoots . Currently, he is a freelance makeup artist/hairstylist as well for the company 
Dollhouse Hair and Makeup Design . Jose loves to stay inspired and enjoys learning new ways to help him 
grow and share his knowledge with the beauty industry .

Chris Secor- Learning Leader Full-time
Cosmetology License #KK415640 
Theory Specialist, teaches theory to all the students . Nail Specialist teaches nails in class .

Chris was part of the second graduating class from Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa . For the past 8 
years Chris has worn many hats as a Learning Leader at our Costa Mesa location, currently serving as the 
schools Theory Specialist for day and night school . Most of Chris's life has been spent in a salon .  Being the 
son of a salon owner, Chris continues in his Mother's footsteps .  Chris has been a salon stylist for the past 
15 years in Newport Beach and continues to work behind the chair when he's not teaching . Chris is an 
avid reader, enjoys yoga, and likes to spend time at the beach with his friends .

Brandy Ruiz- Learning Leader Full -time
Cosmetology License #KK539543 
Brandy started her journey as a cosmetologist in 2010 . She graduated from Paul
Mitchell The School in Costa Mesa . She worked as a makeup artist at Sephora
for 3 years . She now works as an educator for Paul Mitchell sharing her
knowledge about hair and make up and also freelances for Dollhouse hair and
makeup design . She does has done anything from bridal, glam to editorial make
up looks . Brandy has done some of the largest shows for Mitchell doing creative
looks for all model cast .

Corinne May-Mentor Full-time
Cosmetology License #KK555813 
Corinne began her official hair journey by attending Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa in 2012 . After 
graduating in 2013 she began working at a local Paul Mitchell focus salon, where she is still located part 
time . After being in the salon for 4 years she decided to come back to the school and began working 
her way into education . She started at the front desk and eventually moved up from there to become a 
mentor in the core classroom . After mentoring she started teaching her own core classes and has been 
doing so for 2 years .



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL COSTA MESA CATALOG  94

Kelly Jo Kern: Leaning Leader Full-time
Cosmetology License #KK460093
Kelly Jo graduated in 2005 with her cosmetology license . Her biggest accomplish includes being 
nominated and awarded for Best Makeup Up for the film The Cure . Working behind the chair for the past 
11 years she has become professional in multiple color lines, has ventured into the wedding business 
providing hair and makeup services . We are lucky to have Kelly Jo on board with us at Paul Mitchell with 
her well rounded talents . 

Caitlin Rynearson:  Leaning Leader Full-time
Cosmetology License #KK537344
Caitlin decided to pursue hair styling at the age of 19, graduating after dedicating herself to 9 months full 
time in school . After graduating, going and passing state board made all the hours and hard work that 
much more rewarding . Started off in a salon right away as a stylist assistant and worked her way up to 
apprentice stylist and front desk manager over a Span of 3 years . Next she decided it was time to make a 
Salon change for further personal growth and moved to her now Salon home in Costa Mesa . There she 
continued to apprentice with the owner of the Salon and grew her own clientele and is now the salons, 
platinum blonde and extensions specialist . She then decided she still desired more self growth and 
pursued hair education at Paul Mitchell the School Costa Mesa . She now is part time in the Salon and part 
time educating as a learning leader at the school and loves them both passionately .  

Michelle Barr: Leaning Leader Full-time
Cosmetology License #KK414409
Michelle Barr’s hair story began by joining the Carlton Hair team as an assistant in 2001 . In 2002 she got 
her very own chair where she continued her education with Carlton Hair’s sister company Vidal Sassoon 
along with other academies such as Goldwell Academy and salon visits with Schwarzkopf . In 2013 she 
decided to join the management team where she discovered the passion to inspire and educate her team 
to help them grow . She completed the Master education program in 2013 which led her a position as 
Carlton Hair’s Director of Education to manage the assistant program .  

Caesar Barba: Learning Leader Full-time
Cosmetology License #KK593645
Caesar is a Paul Mitchell homegrown and Deans List recipient graduating from Paul Mitchell the school 
San Antonio . After graduation Caesar worked in and managed a salon in San Antonio from 2015-2016 . 
Moving back to California he started working at Paul Mitchell the school San Jose, where he was color 
specialist, clinic floor leader, phase II leader and guest service leader until 2018 when he relocated to Paul 
Mitchell the school Costa Mesa . He works here as a clinic floor learning leader for both day school and 
night school educating our future professionals while they build their skills working on guests in real life 
situations . Outside of the school he also works freelance at industry events and trade shows for multiple 
companies, including Crown Brushes, Embryolisse, JPMS Systems, etc . and has participated in fashion 
shows and events bringing his own personal talents and skills .

Summer McIntosh - Learning Leader
Cosmetology License KK561243
Summer is a Paul Mitchell homegrown from Paul Mitchell the School Costa Mesa .  Summer has been a 
licensed cosmetologist since March of 2014 . From 2014-2016, she assisted & took clients at 2 salons in 
South Orange County .  From 2016-2018, Summer managed a busy brow bar that offered a multitude of 
different services . She now has come back “home” to Paul Mitchell the School Costa Mesa as a full time 
Learning Leader teaching the Core program at Night School .  Summer loves being in the Core classroom 
and teaching our Future Professionals all their basic skills before going out to the Clinic Classroom to take 
guests .
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Rob Ray-Learning Leader
Cosmetology License #KK474211
Graduated Paul Mitchell in 2003 . Assistant for a stylist named Lee at his salon called Lee Anthony and Co . 
Worked taking clients a salon called the Vault where he had extensive training on cut color and round 
brushing techniques . Deciding to make a change and work at a brand new salon called studio 50/50 
where he began working full time specializing in hair cutting and color . 2010-2014 .After leaving The vault 
in 2014 Rob decided to make Salon Ambiance his home and became certified in cutting and styling wavy, 
curly and extra curly hair and began traveling cross country with a company called Ouidad teaching and 
certifying other stylist on how to work with naturally curly hair .  Currently working as, a stylist and master 
educator at Salon ambiance and product specialist for Ouidad in March of 2019 Rob joined Paul Mitchell 
the School Costa Mesa team as a Clinic floor learning leader .

Jessica Sanchez - Learning Leader
Cosmetology License #KK555730
Jessica Sanchez started her career when she graduated from Paul Mitchell the school Costa Mesa in 2013 . 
After graduation, she worked at a Paul Mitchell focus salon in Cypress, CA until 2019 . There she became 
one of the Artistic stylists . In February 2018 she become a service desk coordinator and worked her way 
up, now she is one of our core learning leaders and makeup specialist for Paul Mitchell the school Costa 
Mesa . Outside of Paul Mitchell she continues to practice her craft and works for herself taking her own 
clients in a suite .

Jason Dean - Learning Leader
Cosmetology License #553659
Jason has been a licensed Cosmetologist for over twenty years and been in the Paul Mitchell family 
as a stylist and educator his entire career . The past five years have been spent in Paul Mitchell Schools 
in several roles . He is currently the Core Specialist in the school with his passion in teaching the 
fundamentals in the technical aspects as well as the business side of the field .

Barbering Learning Leaders: 

Fernie Andong- Learning Leader Full -time
Barbering License #B87061 
Cosmetology License #KK477306
Fernie has been in the industry for 12 Years . He has his Barber and Cosmetology license and has been 
an educator with PMTS, JPMS, DeadEndz, and Hattori Hanzo . His accomplishments are finalist for BTC 
#OneShot awards 2017, 2016, 2015 . He has also been featured in the state board Milady's 2017 edition 
of the Barbering Textbook . Fernie helped create The Men's Cutting System DVD for Paul Mitchell Schools, 
and is recognized often in Modern Salon Magazine, Behind The Chair, American Salon Magazine, 
Launchpad, Hair Brained, Huffington Post, Refinery 29 for the ( Clipper Bob ), Artist for The Butterfly Circus 
LA, Photo Shoots etc .

Alfredo (Freddy) Razo-Learning Leader Full-time
Barber License #B85216 
A Los Angeles native, Freddy Razo licensed for 10 years, Barber Education Leader for Paul Mitchell the 
School Costa Mesa and former Senior Educator of Johnny B . Hair Care . Razo loves the traditional aspects 
of hair cutting, however, always thinks outside the box . His passion for teaching was highly regarded 
and led him to oversee the Barbering Program at Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa . Here he has the 
opportunity to teach and guide young minds at the beginning of their Barbering Career .
Razo’s work has been featured in various industry publications such as Modern Salon, Paul Mitchell 
School Marketing Materials, Johnny B Marketing Material . 
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Mark Giron: Learning Leader Full-time
Barber License #B891421 
Mark Giron is a barbershop owner operator . He became licensed in February of 2010  . He has apprenticed 
many successful barbers who now own their own barbershops . He sees barbering as a form of art and he 
loves to see other passionate individuals who are eager and inspired to learn the craft of barbering . Mark 
is eager to stay up to date with the most recent hairstyles and trends, he believe personal growth in the 
industry never ends .

Zachary Hernandez: Learning Leader Full Time
Barber License #B95237 
Zach Hernandez is one of our Barber Learning Leaders who has been in the industry for 3 years . He is a 
Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa graduate of 2015 . Since then, Zach has worked at Uptown Barbers, 
a barbershop in the city of Whittier where he specializes in traditional style haircuts . Zach’s goal are to 
continue to give back and inspire to upcoming Future Professionals about what the Barber industry can 
offer .

Shade Croft - Learning Leader
Barber License #99743
Shade Croft went to Paul Mitchell the School Costa Mesa, and received his barber license in 2018 . Shortly 
after graduation shade started working at the school as a mentor in the barbering and cosmetology 
classes . During this time he also worked at The Statesmen Barber shop but has now moved to a private 
space to accommodate his growing clientele . Shade has become a Learning Leader and overseas our 
Barbering Theory and State Board Classes .

Esthetics Learning Leaders: 

Blair Hyman: Learning Leader Full-time 
Esthetician License #Z82970 
Born and raised in Orange County, Blair was always interested in skin care and working with the public . 
In 2008 Blair received her Esthetician license and jumped right into the treatment room . She worked 
in Aveda salons for 3 years where she fell in love with waxing and educating . She transitioned to the 
spa life and started working in the treatment room for Burke Williams Day Spa . Blair grew her clientele 
and eventually an opportunity to train her fellow Estheticians in waxing  while still working with guests 
presented itself . She was able to teach her peers as well as newly hired Estheticians how to become more 
confident with waxing, wax timing and skills, as well as Brazilian waxing . From there she transitioned 
fully to training for Burke Williams as the regional skin care trainer . There she was responsible for 
teaching newly hired Estheticians an 8 week program of standards, timing, product knowledge, massage 
memorization, body mechanics, and facial procedures to help them succeed with the company . Blair is so 
excited for the new opportunity with Paul Mitchell to educate future professionals so they may become 
successful and passionate Estheticians .
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Carissa Romero: Learning Leader Full Time
Esthetician License #Z92637
Carissa’s journey with Paul Mitchell the School Costa Mesa started back in 2010 when she attended the 
Skin Academy . She graduated in January 2011 and within a month, passed her state boards and became 
a licensed esthetician . She started her esthetics career at a top local day spa in Redlands, and for a year 
expanded her knowledge on new skin care lines and advanced modalities . Carissa then moved on to 
a more focused oriented service as a Brow Specialist at Benefit Cosmetics where she fell in love with all 
things brows . For over two years Carissa single handedly grew the business and her clientele from the 
bottom up . Being the only esthetician at her Brow Bar location she learned the ins and outs of running 
her own place . When she felt she had perfected the art of brows Carissa moved on to work as a top 
waxer at European Wax Center for the next four years . Her passion for skin care and helping her guests 
to achieve beautiful hairless skin helped her grow her books to full capacity . Soon, Carissa was training 
others in advanced body and brow waxing techniques and retailing . In June of 2018 Carissa came full 
circle and is now teaching others all her knowledge of the skin care industry and is excited to help other 
find their passion and place in this amazing field .

Lisa Waters: Learning Leader Full-time 
Esthetician License #Z84828
Lisa Waters is fully present in the art and craft of esthetics and skin treatments . She has progressively 
helped many women and men, of all ages, by understanding the stages of the skin and how it 
correlates to their lifestyle .

Lisa became a licensed Esthetician after graduating from Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa, The Skin 
Academy in 2009 and quickly began her career as an Esthetician working for a busy medical spa in 
Orange County, CA where she started learning advanced techniques in chemical peels and treatment 
room protocols . Lisa began to attend industry related conferences and courses gaining extensive 
knowledge in product lines, ingredients, and top industry trends . After multiple certifications, 
including becoming a Face Reality Certified Acne Specialist and a member of the Associated Skin Care 
Professionals and the California Aesthetic Alliance, Lisa decided to step up in her career and became 
the manager of the medical spa she was working for, learning the ins and outs of the industry . Lisa’s 
next move was to venture out on her own by building a strong clientele to put her knowledge to good 
use . Experiencing all the industry had to offer, Lisa decided she wanted to share her knowledge in 
esthetics .

In February 2018, Lisa joined the Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa team as a Skin Learning Leader . 
She is currently expanding, and sharing, her knowledge and continuing education with certifications 
in all things esthetic . Lisa loves to educate by setting a high standard for the Future Professionals of the 
industry . 

Anne Fernando: Learning Leader
License No .: #ZZ76506
Anne graduated from Paul Mitchell the School Costa Mesa in 2007 . After graduation Anne worked at 
Skin Deep and then Zen Spa OC in Huntington Beach for seven years . In 2012 Anne started working at 
EB Medical Spa in Foothill Ranch . She has 12 years of experience as a licensed esthetician and has been 
certified for with skin care ones such as PCA, Obagi, Intraceuticals, Dermal Infusion, ColoreScience, Vi 
Peel, and Osmosis . Anne joined the Paul Mitchell the school Costa Mesa team in July of 2019 as a clinic 
classroom Learning Leader .
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Erin Ortiz: Learning Leader
Esthetics License #ZZ44888
Erin is a learning leader at Paul Mitchell the School Costa Mesa . Erin has 17 years of experience in the 
Esthetics specializing in skin care and waxing . She worked at two high end service spas in Orange 
County, working hands on with clients and also training Estheticians, her passion is education great 
skin and beauty . Erin gradated with Esthetic honors from Golden West College . Being a big believer in 
education she has been certified with a number of skin lines including Dermalogica, MD Skin Care and 
Young pharmaceuticals .  

Kayla Rahmatulla - Learning Leader
Esthetics License #Z114260
Kayla is a Paul Mitchell, home grown, licensed esthetician . After graduating from PMTSCM, she fell 
in love with being fully immersed in its culture of kindness . Kayla is certified in Reiki and loves to 
incorporate the power of touch in her lessons . Continuing education is important to her, as she 
considers herself a "forever student" . There are learning opportunities everywhere! She is passionate 
about educating our Future Professionals and being a part of their journey . Kayla also has experience 
working in marketing, event coordination and worked in salons prior to teaching .
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VETERANS BENEFITS ADDENDUM TO THE CATALOG
Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa will permit any covered individual to attend or participate in the 
course of education during the period beginning on the date on which the individual provides to the 
educational institution a certificate of eligibility for entitlement to educational assistance under chapter 
U .S . Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Post 9/11, G .I . Bill® (Ch . 33) or Vocational Rehabilitation & 
Employment (Ch . 31) benefits ending on the earlier of the following dates:

q  The date on which the Department of Veterans Affairs provides payment for such course of education 
       to such institution .

In accordance with Title 38 US Code 3679 subsection (e) Paul Mitchell The School Costa Mesa will not 
impose any penalty, including the assessment of late fees, the denial of access to classes, libraries, or 
other institutional facilities, or the requirement that a covered individual borrow additional funds, on 
any covered individual because of the individual’s inability to meet his or her financial obligations to the 
institution due to the delayed disbursement of funding from the Department of Veterans Affairs .
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410 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101, Phone: (619) 398-1590, Fax: (619) 398-1591

APPROVAL/DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego, 410 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101, is a private institution that is 
approved to operate by the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education . Approval to operate 
means the institution is compliant with the minimum standards contained in the California Private 
Postsecondary Education Act of 2009 (as amended) and Division 7 .5 of Title 5 of the California Code of 
Regulations . The school is approved to operate until May 31, 2023 .  For more information,  contact the 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 
95834,or by phone at (916) 574-8900, or call toll-free at (888) 370-7589, or visit its Web site at www.bppe.
ca.gov. 

Cosmetology 1600 hours
Cosmetology Make-up 1845 hours
Cosmetology/Barbering 1800 hours
Barbering 1500 hours
Make-up 245 hours

Instruction is in residence with facility occupancy level accommodating 300 students at any one time .

California statute requires that a student who successfully completes a course of study be awarded an 
appropriate diploma or certificate verifying the fact .

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment 
agreement . You are also encouraged to review the School’s Performance Fact Sheet, which must 
be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement . This school is currently approved to 
participate in approved sponsored programs, government or otherwise, to provide grants and/or loans to 
pay for portions of tuition and fees . 

The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) set minimum standards for these programs of study: 
Cosmetology Programs . The minimum number of class hours and the total clock hours for each course, as 
outlined in the program’s Rules and Regulations booklet, must be met to qualify the student for licensure .

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered 
by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) at 1747 N . 
Market Blvd ., Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, www .bppe .ca .gov, toll-free telephone (888) 370-7589 or 
by fax (916) 574-8900 .

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for 
Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can 
be obtained on the bureau’s website www .bppe .ca .gov .

All information in the content of this school catalog is current and correct and is so certified as true by 
Joyce Cooper and/or Katie Graves, Directors .

Signature______________________________________________________________________________
Joyce Cooper and/or Katie Graves, Directors
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MISSION STATEMENT

At Paul Mitchell The School San Diego, our mission is to provide a quality educational system to prepare 
students to pass the state board examination and gain employment within their chosen field of study . We 
promote and recognize the principles of fairness, equity, inclusion, anti-discrimination, and social justice . 
Our culture is about celebrating diversity, bringing out the best in people and situations, changing lives, 
making a difference, giving back, healing the planet, and healing ourselves . We also provide a solid edu-
cational foundation to empower our team members in the pursuit of excellence . We strongly believe that 
when people come first, success will follow .

SCHOOL FACILITIES

Our programs offer the challenge of a stimulating and rewarding career . Paul Mitchell The School San 
Diego is fully equipped to meet all the demands of modern hair care, while at the same time providing a 
high-tech atmosphere and attitude for progressive personal development . The 13,095 square-foot facility 
includes a student lounge and lockers, client reception and work areas, management offices, private 
classrooms, workstations, and equipment .

The school also has an additional location for classes located at 450 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101 .  The 
facility has 1 shampoo bowl and is used for an additional classroom for theory and practical instruction 
for students preparing for the state exam, which we call Final Phase . The facility is 4,053 square feet .

The school has wheelchair ramps to the entrance of both buildings .  The main building at 410 A Street has 
elevator access to all floors and the school has handicapped bathrooms in both buildings .  All classrooms 
are accessible by using the passenger elevator in main building and utility elevator .

ADMINISTRATION/OWNERSHIP

Von Curtis, Inc ., dba Paul Mitchell The School San Diego, is an independently owned and operated 
franchisee of Paul Mitchell Advanced Education, LLC .

COURSE DESCRIPTIONS (All courses are taught in English)

Cosmetology: Standard Occupational Classification (SOC 39-5012.00): 
Classification of Instructional Program (CIP 12.0401)
The curriculum involves 1600 hours to satisfy California state requirements . The course includes extensive 
instruction and practical experience in cutting, hair coloring, perming, customer service, personal 
appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail skills, client record keeping, 
business ethics, sanitation, state laws and regulations, salon-type administration, and job interviewing .

*Students are prepared for an entry level cosmetologist .

Cosmetology Make-Up (1845 hr.): Standard Occupational Classification (SOC 39-5012.00): 
Classification of Instructional Program (CIP 12.0401)
The state of California requires 1600 hours of education to become licensed as a cosmetologist, however, 
the school offers a 1845-hour cosmetology-makeup program . The 1845-hour course includes extensive 
instruction and practical experience in cutting, hair coloring, perming, customer service, personal 
appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail skills, client record keeping, 
business ethics, sanitation, state laws and regulations, salon-type administration, and job interviewing .

Within the additional 245 hours the course will include extensive instruction and practical experience in 
Fundamentals, Editorial, Special Effects make up, skin care and sanitation . The program also focuses on 
professional development to include on set etiquette, starting a career as a union make up artist and self 
marketing . 

*Students are prepared for an entry level cosmetology and/or makeup artist.

*The Board of Barbering and California (BBC) does not regulate the additional 245-hour in makeup. 
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Cosmetology/Barbering: Standard Occupational Classification (SOC 39-5012.00): 
Classification of Instructional Program (CIP 12.0401)
The state of California requires 1600 hours of education to become licensed as a cosmetologist, however, 
the school offers a 1800 hour cosmetology/barbering program . The 1800 hour course includes extensive 
instruction and practical experience in cutting, hair coloring, perming, customer service, personal 
appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail skills, client record keeping, 
business ethics, sanitation, state laws and regulations, salon-type administration, and job interviewing .
Within the additional 200 hours the course will include extensive instruction and practical experience in 
shaving .

*Students are prepared for an entry level cosmetologist and/or barber .

Barbering: SOC 39.5011.00, CIP Code 12.0402:
The curriculum involves 1,500 hours to satisfy California state requirements . The program includes 
extensive instruction and practical experience in men’s cutting, color, texture, men’s grooming, customer 
service, personal appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail (Take Home) 
skills, guest record-keeping, and business ethics, sanitation, state laws and regulations, salon-type 
administration, and job interviewing .

*Students are prepared to be entry-level barbers.

Make-Up: Standard Occupational Classification (SOC 39-5091.00), CIP Code 12.0406: 
The state of California does not regulate the 245 hours of education to become a makeup artist . With in the 245 
hours the course will include extensive instruction and practical experience in Fundamentals, Editorial, Special 
Effects make up, skin care and sanitation . The program also focuses on professional development to include on 
set etiquette, starting a career as a union make up artist and self marketing . The course will also include customer 
service, personal appearance and hygiene, personal motivation and development, retail skills, client record keeping, 
business ethics, sanitation, salon-type administration, and job interviewing .

*Students are prepared for an entry level makeup artist .

*The Board of Barbering and California (BBC) does not regulate the additional 245-hour in makeup and is not 
eligible for Financial Aid. 

PARKING AND AMENITIES

Students must abide by local (city and/or landlord) parking rules, which are announced during orientation . 
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego will not be responsible for parking violations and/or towing fees .

NONDISCRIMINATION

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego in its admission, instruction, and graduation policies and practices, 
does not allow or tolerate harassment or discrimination based on race, religion, creed, color, national 
origin, ancestry, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions), military or 
veteran status, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital status, age, sexual orientation, 
gender, gender identity or expression, genetic information, or any other basis protected by the federal, 
state, or local law . The school does not condone discrimination of any kind, bullying, harassment, or 
hazing of any sort . If any student or team member experiences or witnesses anyone being bullied, 
harassed, or hazed in any way, he or she is required to report the matter to the school’s directors, Joyce 
Cooper or Katie Graves, in person or by calling (619) 398-1590, or by mail at 410 A Street, San Diego, CA 
92101, immediately so appropriate action can be taken . 

TEACH-OUT AGREEMENT

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts 
and Sciences (NACCAS) and is not required by NACCAS to have a teach-out agreement in place .  Schools 
are only required to have a teach-out agreement in place under certain circumstances where the school 
may no longer be considered a viable entity, which does not apply to this school .
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ADVERSE ACTIONS
The U .S . Department of Education requires all Title IV eligible schools to publish any enforcement actions or 
prosecutions brought against it by a state or federal law enforcement agency in any matter where a 
final judgment against the institution, if rendered, would result in an adverse action by the school’s 
accrediting agency, revocation by the state authorization or licensing agency, or limit, suspend, or 
terminate a school’s eligibility to participate in Title IV programs of the Higher Education Act . Paul Mitch-
ell The School San Diego does not have any legal actions against it by a state or federal law enforcement 
agency . 

LANGUAGE DISCLOSURE

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does not recruit ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE, as “THE SCHOOL 
DOES NOT OFFER INSTRUCTION IN ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE .”
Students must have the ability to read and write English at a level of a graduate of an American high school 
as demonstrated by the possession of a standard high school diploma*, high school transcripts**, an 
academic transcript of a student who has successfully completed at least a two-year program that is 
acceptable for full credit towards a bachelor’s degree or  High School Equivalency diploma or official  High 
School Equivalency diploma test scores . 

If a students primary language is not English the student may bring an interpreter, when signing the 
enrollment contract to obtain a clear understanding of the terms and conditions of the enrollment contract 
in the students primary language .  

ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego admits as regular students those who are high school graduates or 
holders of high school graduation equivalency certificates . Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does not 
accept ability to benefit (ATB) students at this time . 

ADMISSION PROCEDURE
q  Complete an Application Form: Complete and submit the application form to the school prior to 

registration . All forms may be obtained by requesting them from Paul Mitchell The School San Diego .

w  Submit an Application Fee: Action will not be taken on admission or any student loan application 
until an application fee of $100 .00 is received . Please submit the fee in the form of a check or money 
order, payable to Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . This fee is not included in the cost of tuition . In 
extraordinary circumstances, the school may waive the application fee for students that transfer from a 
school that has suddenly closed without notice .

e  Submit Two (2) Photos: The photos should be a recent head and shoulder shot of the applicant .

r  Entrance Essay: The essay should include the applicant’s accomplishments and career goals . 

t  Personal Interview: Applicant must complete a personal interview with the admission’s Team prior to 
registration . 

y  Provide Verification Documents: 
   a.   Identification (provide only one): Copies of a passport, a government-issued identification, a
               driver’s license, or a birth certificate are required .

         b.   Education (provide only one):  Copies of a standard high school diploma*, high school 
        transcripts showing high school completion**, an academic transcript of a student who has             
 successfully completed at least a 2 year program that is acceptable for full credit towards a bachelor’s   
 degree or High School Equivalency diploma or official  High School Equivalency diploma test      
 scores . The students education documents meet the criteria demonstrating the student is proficient in   
  the English language . 

u   Dual License: Students that have their California cosmetology license or have completed the 1600 
        hours in cosmetology and would like to enroll in the barbering program must submit a copy of their 
        official transcript .  
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* Please note that a Modified High School Diploma, a Certificate of Completion, or a Certificate of 
Attainment is not accepted for our Admissions requirements .  They are not considered equivalent to 
a Standard High School Diploma . We are required to verify that your proof of education is from a valid 
high school or High School equivalency program . If we determine that your diploma or High School 
Equivalency diploma is not valid, you will be denied admission to the school .

**Foreign Diplomas or Transcripts: The school will accept a foreign diploma or transcript, however the 
diploma or transcript MUST be equivalent to a U .S . high school diploma and must be translated into 
English by a certified translator and evaluated by a credentialed evaluation service .  It is the students 
responsibility to have the foreign diploma or transcript translated and evaluated as part of the admissions 
process. Because the cost of evaluating a foreign diploma or transcript must be incurred as a charge 
of admissions prior to enrollment in an eligible program, the fee cannot be included in the cost of 
attendance (COA) . Guidance on who to contact to secure an official translation and evaluation can be 
obtained from the school Financial Aid Leader . Applicants with foreign diplomas or transcripts must pass 
the school’s aptitude exam prior to enrollment, demonstrating the student is proficient in the English 
language . 

Home-schooled students are not considered to have a high school diploma or equivalent, howeverthey 
are eligible for admission into Paul Mitchell The School San Diego, if their secondary school education 
was in a home school that state law treats as a home or private school .

Some states issue a secondary school completion credential to home schoolers; if this is the case in the 
state where the student was home-schooled; he/she must obtain this credential in order to be eligible for 
enrollment; otherwise the school will verify that the prospective student was home schooled in a state 
that the law treats the home school as a home or private school . 

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does not recruit students who are already enrolled in a similar 
program at another institution .

If you have a disability and need an academic adjustment, please notify the admissions officer as soon 
as possible so the school can review your request . If you are interested in attending our school and you 
do not have a high school diploma or High School Equivalency certificate, please contact our admissions 
office for a list of High School Equivalency programs located near the school . Paul Mitchell The School San 
Diego does not require a student to have immunizations / vaccinations to enroll in our school . A copy of 
the school’s ADA Policy and Request for Accommodations form may be found on the school’s website 
or from the school’s Admissions Leader .

Transfer hours accepted by the school are applied to the total number of hours necessary to complete the 
program and are considered both attempted and completed hours for the purpose of determining when 
the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted . Satisfactory academic progress (SAP) evaluation 
periods are based on actual contracted hours at the institution . Please refer to the school Transfer policy for 
additional information.

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does accept reentry students . Please see the schools re-entry policy for 
specific requirements. 

IMPORTANT: If your social security card  was issued under the DREAM ACT  you may not be eligible for Title IV 
funding. Please see the Financial Aid or Admissions Leader.
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ARBITRATION AND CLASS ACTION WAIVER DISCLOSURE

Arbitration and Class Action Waiver Disclosure: Paul Mitchell The School San Diego (the “School”) 
requires each student to agree to a pre-dispute arbitration agreement and a class action waiver 
as a condition of enrollment (“Arbitration Agreement”) .  The Arbitration Agreement does not, in 
any way, limit, relinquish, or waive a student’s ability to pursue filing a borrower defense claim, 
pursuant to 34 C .F .R . § 685 .206(e) at any time .  The Arbitration Agreement does not require that 
the student participate in arbitration or any internal dispute resolution process offered by the 
School prior to filing a borrower defense to repayment application with the U .S . Department of 
Education pursuant to 34 C .F .R . § 685 .206(e) .  Any arbitration, required by the Arbitration Agree-
ment, tolls (pauses) the limitations period for filing a borrower defense to repayment application 
pursuant to 34 C .F .R . § 685 .206(e)(6)(ii) for the length of time that the arbitration proceeding is 
under way .  Any questions about the Arbitration Agreement or a dispute relating to a student’s 
Title IV Federal student loans or to the provision of educational services for which the loans were 
provided should be directed to  Joyce Cooper or Katie Graves, in person or by calling (619) 398-
1590, or by mail at 410 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101, immediately so appropriate action can be 
taken . 

The definition of a class action means a lawsuit or an arbitration proceeding in which one or 
more parties seeks class treatment . Class action waiver means any agreement or part of an 
agreement, regardless of its form or structure, between a school, or a party acting on behalf of a 
school, and a student that relates to the making of a Direct Loan or the provision of educational 
services for which the student received title IV funding and prevents an individual from filing or 
participating in a class action that pertains to those services .

The definition of a pre-dispute arbitration agreement means any agreement or part of an 
agreement, regardless of its form or structure, between a school, or a party acting on behalf of a 
school, and a student requiring arbitration of any future dispute between the parties relating to 
the making of a Direct Loan or provision of educational services for which the student received 
title IV funding .

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego’s Financial Aid Leader will meet with each student during 
the signing of the enrollment contract and will be available during the student’s completion of 
Entrance Counseling for Title IV Student Loans to help answer any questions a student may have . 
APPLICANTS WITH NON-IMMIGRANT VISAS 

Non-immigrant applicants must provide documentation to show that they are permitted to be 
enrolled in a vocational or technical post-secondary school in the United States . Please see the 
Financial Aid Officer to determine if you qualify for enrollment and any type of Title IV financial aid .   
Please note that students who are studying under a student visa (M1 visa), or any other visa, are not 
eligible to receive Title IV financial aid . Those students studying under an M1 student visa at a school 
approved by SEVIS must attend the full-time schedule and can only attend the program for a period 
not to exceed 12 months . Please note that this school location is SEVIS approved .

ACCEPTANCE

After a prospect has completed the enrollment  application process, the enrollment team and director 
reviews each applicant and his or her required admissions materials including the written entrance essay 
and personal interview to determine acceptance .  Upon the decision of the enrollment team and director, 
the applicant receives written notification of acceptance or denial .  Note: All applicants must go through 
the entire enrollment application process (detailed in the enrollment application) which includes re-entry 
students (withdrawals) and transfer students .
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DISTANCE EDUCATION
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego offers distance education to its Future Professionals for only a 
portion of the educational program .  Students who enroll in a program with distance education as a 
component of the program understand and acknowledge that the portion of distance learning offered 
is in compliance with the school’s state regulatory body and accrediting agency .  Since Paul Mitchell The 
School San Diego only utilizes distance learning for a small portion of the overall program, the school 
does not enroll students who are only interesting in attending the distance learning portion of the 
program .   Please note that academic achievement earned via distance education may not be accepted 
for reciprocity or eligibility for licensure in other states .

ARTICULATION AGREEMENT
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does not have an articulation agreement with any other schools or 
entities .  The entire educational program is being provided by Paul Mitchell The School San Diego and it’s 
educational team .

RE-ENTRY STUDENTS

Students who re-enroll in the program within 180 days of withdrawal date must complete the following:

q  All outstanding tuition, fees, and overtime expenses must be paid in advance or the student must 
make satisfactory arrangements with the Financial Aid Leader .

w  Previous tuition payments will be credited to the student’s balance based upon the original 
contracted cost for the course .  

e  If a re-enrolling student has previously used all of their excused absences provided under their 
original contract, the student will not receive any additional time for excused absences under the 
new contract addendum .  

r  Submit a new application . 

Students who re-enroll in the program after 180 days of withdrawal date must complete the following:

q  All outstanding tuition, fees, and overtime expenses must be paid in advance or the student must 
make satisfactory arrangements with the Financial Aid Leader .

w  Students will be contracted at the current tuition hourly rate . 

e  If a re-enrolling student has previously used all of their excused absences provided under their 
original contract, the student will not receive any additional time for excused absences under the 
new re-enrollment contract .  

r  Students are required to purchase a kit if their current kit is not complete . Any missing kit items must 
be purchased .

t	 Submit a new application . 

The school does not deny re-admission to any service member of the uniformed services for reasons 
relating to that service .

Re-admission is reserved to the sole discretion of Paul Mitchell The School San Diego and may require 
special conditions . 

Re-admission for a student requires a personal interview with school administration . The re-entering 
student will be placed on a 30-day evaluation . During the 30-day evaluation period the student must 
demonstrate for that period that they can meet the school’s minimum attendance and academic 
requirements for Satisfactory Academic Progress .  The student will then be evaluated for Satisfactory 
Academic Progress at the next scheduled evaluation period to determine their new status .  Students 
who fail to meet the minimum attendance and academic requirements for that 30-day evaluation period 
may be terminated . A student who re-enrolls after 180 days is treated as a new student for Satisfactory 
Academic Progress standing as when they left . 

Note: Students that reenter after six (6) months will need to restart CORE .
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TRANSFER STUDENTS

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego will accept transfer hours from other schools based on an evaluation 
of the student’s comprehension of the course material . Students who have had training outside the 
state of California must provide proof of the number of hours of training to the Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology and Paul Mitchell The School San Diego prior to enrollment . 

The cost for cosmetology (1600 hr.) transfer students is $15 .00 per hour attended at Paul Mitchell The 
School San Diego; this does not include the cost of a complete and current Paul Mitchell student kit .

*Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does not accept licensed or graduate cosmetologist into the barbering 
program.  

The cost for barbering transfer students is $15 .00 per hour attended at Paul Mitchell The School San 
Diego; this does not include the cost of a complete and current Paul Mitchell student kit .

*Students that have their California cosmetology license or have completed the 1600 hours in cosmetology 
and would like to enroll in the barbering program a minimum of 1300 hours will be accepted and students will 
need to complete a minimum of 200 hours in barbering and the cost will be $14.00 per hour. 

The cost for cosmetology make-up (1845 hr.) transfer students is $15 .00 per hour attended at Paul 
Mitchell The School San Diego; this does not include the cost of a complete and current Paul Mitchell 
student kit .

The cost for cosmetology/barbering (1800 hr.) transfer students is $15 .00 per hour attended at Paul 
Mitchell The School San Diego; this does not include the cost of a complete and current Paul Mitchell 
student kit .

Transfer students are not eligible for the Education Kit .

Please note that students transferring to another school may not be able to transfer all the hours they 
earned at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego; the number of transferable hours depends on the policy of 
the receiving school . 

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any 
other college or university . 

In extraordinary circumstances, the school may allow a student to transfer in more hours from a 
non-Paul Mitchell School, if the student is enrolling from a school that has suddenly closed without 
notice .  In these instances, the school will evaluate the prospective student and credit them with the 
number of hours related to their course knowledge . 
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TRANSFER OF CREDIT POLICY
Cosmetology
Cosmetology students transferring from another Paul Mitchell School .
If transferring from another Paul Mitchell School, a maximum of 1400 transfer hours will be accepted . 
Students transferring from another Paul Mitchell school must complete a minimum of 200 hours to 
attend Final Phase . Students will be expected to attend the entire program from start to finish because 
the length of the program does not allow for an individual to obtain a Paul Mitchell education in the time 
allotted . 

Cosmetology students transferring from a non-Paul Mitchell School .
A maximum of 1200 hours will be accepted . To determine how many transfer hours the school accepts is 
based on passing a practical and written test and what is allowed by state board . All cosmetology transfer 
students must complete a minimum of 400 hours . 
1 . Pass a practical test with a minimum of 75% on the following criteria:

- Demonstrate State Board Sanitation and Disinfection
- Finger Wave with 6 pin-curls
- Color and Lightener Applications (Must perform four)
- Permanent Wave (10 rods)
- Chemical relaxer applications (virgin, re-touch)
- Marcel iron work demonstrating the three base curl placements . 
- Haircut, style and finish of your choice (to complete on a doll head or model)

2 . Pass a written exam with a minimum of 75% passing

Cosmetology/Barbering 
Cosmetology/Barbering students transferring from another Paul Mitchell School .
If transferring from another Paul Mitchell School, a maximum of 1400 transfer hours will be accepted . 
Students transferring from another Paul Mitchell school must complete a minimum of 400 hours to 
attend Final Phase . Students will be expected to attend the entire program from start to finish because 
the length of the program does not allow for an individual to obtain a Paul Mitchell education in the time 
allotted . 

Cosmetology students transferring from a non-Paul Mitchell School .
A maximum of 1200 hours will be accepted . To determine how many transfer hours the school accepts is 
based on passing a practical and written test and what is allowed by state board . All cosmetology transfer 
students must complete a minimum of 600 hours . 
1 . Pass a practical test with a minimum of 75% on the following criteria:

- Demonstrate State Board Sanitation and Disinfection
- Finger Wave with 6 pin-curls
- Color and Lightener Applications (Must perform four)
- Permanent Wave (10 rods)
- Chemical relaxer applications (virgin, re-touch)
- Marcel iron work demonstrating the three base curl placements . 
- Haircut, style and finish of your choice (to complete on a doll head or model)

2 . Pass a written exam with a minimum of 75% passing
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Barbering
Barbering students transferring from another Paul Mitchell School
If transferring from another Paul Mitchell School, a maximum of 1300 transfer hours will be accepted . 
Students transferring from another Paul Mitchell school must complete a minimum of 200 hours to 
attend Final Phase . Students will be expected to attend the entire program from start to finish because 
the length of the program does not allow for an individual to obtain a Paul Mitchell education in the time 
allotted .

Barbering students transferring from a non-Paul Mitchell School
A maximum of 1100 hours will be accepted . To determine how many transfer hours the school accepts 
is based on passing a practical and written test and what is allowed by state board . All barber transfer 
students must complete a minimum of 400 hours . 
1 . Pass a practical test with a minimum of 75% on the following criteria:

- Demonstrate State Board Sanitation and Disinfection
- Finger Wave with 6 pin-curls
- Color and Lightener Applications (Must perform four)
- Permanent Wave (10 rods)
- Chemical relaxer applications (virgin, re-touch)
- Marcel iron work demonstrating the three base curl placements . 
- Haircut, style and finish of your choice (to complete on a doll head or model)

2 . Pass a written exam with a minimum of 75% passing

Cosmetology Make-Up
Cosmetology Make-Up students transferring from another Paul Mitchell School . 
If transferring from another Paul Mitchell School, a maximum of 1400 transfer hours will be accepted . 
Students transferring from another Paul Mitchell school must complete a minimum of 200 hours to 
attend Final Phase . Students will be expected to attend the entire program from start to finish because 
the length of the program does not allow for an individual to obtain a Paul Mitchell education in the time 
allotted .

Cosmetology Make-Up students transferring from a non- Paul Mitchell School
A maximum of 1445 hours will be accepted . To determine how many transfer hours the school accepts is 
based on passing a practical and written test and what is allowed by state board . All cosmetology transfer 
students must complete a minimum of 400 hours . 
1 . Pass a practical test with a minimum of 75% on the following criteria:

- Demonstrate State Board Sanitation and Disinfection
- Finger Wave with 6 pin-curls
- Color and Lightener Applications (Must perform four)
- Permanent Wave (10 rods)
- Chemical relaxer applications (virgin, re-touch)
- Marcel iron work demonstrating the three base curl placements . 
- Haircut, style and finish of your choice (to complete on a doll head or model)

2 . Pass a written exam with a minimum of 75% passing

Make-Up
Make-Up students transferring from a Paul Mitchell or non-Paul Mitchell school, 0 (zero) hours will be 
accepted .  Students will be expected to attend the entire program from start to finish because the length 
of the program does not allow for an individual to obtain a Paul Mitchell education in the time allotted . 
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NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT 
OUR INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego is at the complete discretion 
of the institution to which you may seek to transfer . Acceptance of the certificate you earn in 
cosmetology, barbering, cosmetology/barbering, and/or cosmetology make-up is also at the complete 
discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer . If the certificate that you earn at this 
institution is not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat 
some or all of your coursework at that institution . For this reason, you should make certain that your 
attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals . This may include contacting an institution 
to which you may seek to transfer after attending Paul Mitchell The School San Diego to determine if your 
certificate will transfer . 

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego is a clock hour school, which means that in order to receive credit for 
each hour earned you must be in attendance engaged in an educational activity .  If you decide to transfer 
to another cosmetology school, the likelihood is that some or most of your hours will be transferrable 
based on the transfer school’s published policy .  However, if you transfer to a credit hour school, such as 
a community college, or traditional college or university, for a degree granting program, the likelihood is 
that most, if not all hours earned will not be transferrable because of the subject matter taught and the 
type of degree granting program you are enrolling in .  Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does not give 
clock hour credit for service in the armed forces, paid or unpaid employment, or other demonstrated 
competency or learning because of the nature of the program offered and state regulatory requirements .

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED 
FROM ANOTHER INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits or certificate you earn at another institution, is at the sole discretion of Paul 
Mitchell The School San Diego . You may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework, if Paul 
Mitchell The School San Diego does not accept some or all of your credits . This determination will be 
based on an evaluation of the student’s comprehension of the course material . The school does not allow 
a student to appeal the number of hours accepted when transferring from another location . After the 
student completes the evaluation, the student will meet with the Education Leader to determine the 
number of hours accepted and where the student will be placed in the program . At this time, it will also 
be determined if previous completed coursework needs to be repeated . For this reason, you should speak 
to Paul Mitchell The School San Diego’s admissions leader to determine if your credits or certificate will 
transfer . Transfer students are responsible to pay the hourly fee based on the number of hours needed 
to complete the program of study, which is noted under the Transfer Student section of this catalog . 
Transfer students are responsible to pay the $100 .00 application fee as part of the Admissions Procedure . 
The transfers student’s technical kit will be evaluated, and if necessary, the student will be responsible to 
purchase the technical and digital kit, as well as the textbooks and any sales tax involved .

STATE LICENSING DISCLAIMER

The state may refuse to grant a license if a student has been convicted of a crime; committed any act 
involving dishonesty, fraud, or deceit; or committed any act that, if committed by a licentiate of the 
business or profession in question, would be grounds for the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 
to deny licensure . The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology denies licensure on the grounds that the 
applicant knowingly made a false statement of fact required to be revealed in the application for such 
license . Students who are not U .S . citizens or who do not have documented authority to work in the 
United States will not be eligible to apply to take the state licensure examination . Paul Mitchell The School 
San Diego is not responsible for students denied licensure .
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DISCLOSURE FOR PROGRAMS LEADING TO LICENSURE

The following programs offered at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego lead to licensure in the state of 
California: Cosmetology, Barbering, Cosmetology/Barbering, Cosmetology Make-Up, and Make-Up .  We 
have compiled a list of all states that require licensure for the program you are interested in enrolling .  We 
have identified whether the institution’s program curriculum meets, does not meet, or a determination 
has not been made yet, for other state’s individual state educational requirements for professional 
licensure .  This information can be located on the school’s paulmitchell .edu website, as well as you will 
receive a copy in the school’s admissions packet, prior to touring the school . 

Please note that the school you are planning on attending has only had their curriculum evaluated by the 
state that you are attending school in, which meets the state’s requirements for licensure and practice . In 
determining whether your program of study is acceptable in another state, each state board reviews the 
number of clock hours you attended in your home state, the subject areas and practical experiences you 
completed, as a part of the process of determining what, if any, additional requirements you may have to 
meet in order to be licensed in their state .   We encourage all graduates who are considering becoming 
licensed in another state to first take the licensure exam in their home state, which will make it easier to 
transfer into another state .  If you are not licensed by your home state, the state you are considering 
getting licensed in may require you to take additional training to meet their state minimum hour 
requirements and/or take their state licensure exam .  State boards do not evaluate the curriculum of 
schools located in other states, but do, in most cases, recognize training from other states in order to 
transfer their license .

If, at any time, the program you are enrolled in, ceases to meet the educational requirements for licensure 
in the state where the student is located, the school will provide written notice directly to the student in 
writing within 14 calendar days of making that determination .   

CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD PRE-APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS

Pre-applications for the State of California licensing examinations require the school’s approval . 
Students may apply when they reach 1,200 hours for cosmetology (1600 hr .)  and cosmetology         
make-up (1845 hr .), and cosmetology/barbering and 1100 hours for barbering . Students must meet 
the following requirements to submit a pre-application to state board:

q	Clinic Floor Worksheets: The worksheets must be current .
w	 Theory Hours: The student must have completed a minimum of 120 theory hours for 
       cosmetology and cosmetology make-up, and 110 theory hours for barbering .

e	Theory Exam: All theory exams require a 75% grade or higher and must be current .

r  State Board Exam: The student must have passed two state board exams with a 75% grade

t  Service Tracking From: The student must complete a minimum of 75% of all practical requirements 

y  Tuition: The student’s tuition must be current on all payments owed .

A student who wishes to pre-apply is required to notify the Final Phase Specialist approximately 70 
hours prior to achieving 1,200 hours for cosmetology (1600 hr .)  and cosmetology make-up (1845 hr .), 
and cosmetology/barbering and 1,100 hours for barbering . 

If the above requirements are not met by the time the student reaches 1,200 hours for cosmetology, 
cosmetology make-up, and cosmetology/barbering; or 1,100 hours for barbering; the student will 
lose the opportunity to pre-apply for the California state board exam and will  have to apply after 
graduation . 

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego  reserves the right to process the pre-application for students .
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BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

To receive a cosmetology license in the state of California a student must:
q   Complete a cosmetology course in a school approved by the California State Board of Barbering 

      & Cosmetology
w  Submit an application and required fee

e  Have a least a 10th grade education or its equivalent and is at least 17 years of age

r  Must receive a passing score on both the practical demonstration and written test

ENROLLMENT INFORMATION

q  Enrollment periods: Paul Mitchell The School San Diego usually begins a new cosmetology                 
(1600 hr .) and cosmetology make-up (1845 hr .) , and barbering class about every eight (8) weeks, 
depending upon space availability . Please refer to the Tuition and Registration Schedule supplement 
or contact Paul Mitchell The School San Diego for exact starting dates .

w  Holidays and school closures: Paul Mitchell The School San Diego allows the following holidays 
off: New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, July 4, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, December 24 and 25, and 
one day per month for staff personal development . These dates are determined according to the 
calendar each year . Additional holidays may be added to the schedule at the discretion of school 
administration . The school is open for business unless there is a declared State of Emergency .  
Unexpected closures and  snow days will be reported via the schools website and/or Facebook page . 

e  Enrollment contract: Paul Mitchell The School San Diego clearly outlines the obligation of both the 
school and the student in the enrollment contract . A copy of the enrollment contract and information 
covering costs and payment plans will be furnished to the student before the beginning of class 
attendance .

r  Payment schedule: Paul Mitchell The School San Diego offers a variety of monthly financial payment 
schedules . See Paul Mitchell The School San Diego’s Admissions Leader or Financial Aid Leader for 
details .

EDUCATION GOALS

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego strives to provide a quality educational system that prepares students 
to pass the state board examination and gain employment within their chosen field of study . Our 
quality education system includes an outstanding facility, experienced and competent instructors, and a 
curriculum developed through years of experience and expertise . Our education goals are:

q  To educate students to be professional, knowledgeable, and skilled in their field for marketability 
within the industry .

w  To maintain an updated program that provides students with the knowledge to compete in their field 
of study .

e  To promote the continuing educational growth of our faculty and students, using current teaching 
methods and techniques .

r  To teach courtesy and professionalism as the foundation for a successful career in their chosen field of 
study .

t  To prepare students to successfully pass the state licensing exam for entry-level employment .

y  To train and graduate students while empowering them to become confident and excited to enter a 
successful career within the salon and beauty industry .
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STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (STRF)

“The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate 
economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was 
a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in 
the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss . Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, 
you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a 
student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, 
and prepay all or part of your tuition .

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if 
you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program .”

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, 
or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school . Questions regarding the STRF 
may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 N . Market Blvd ., Suite 225, 
Sacramento, CA 95834, www .bppe .ca .gov, toll-free telephone (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 574-8900 .

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or enrolled in a residency program, prepaid 
tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of 
any of the following:

q    The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was 
         closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the 
         Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau .

w   You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the 
       closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program 
       within the 120 day period before the program was discontinued .

e    You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the 
         closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the 
         institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value 
         of the program more than 120 days before closure .

r    The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so .

t    The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as 
        required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of 
        tuition and other costs .

y   You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, 
        based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been
        unable to collect the award from the institution .

u	  You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and 
         have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans .

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of 
the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF .

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non collection may, 
at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise 
been eligible for recovery . If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the 
student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) 
year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law .

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer 
identification number .” 
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Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code . Reference: Section 94923, 
94924 and 94925, Education Code .

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego collects the STRF fee of $0 .00 from cosmetology (1600 hr .) students, 
$0 .00 for cosmetology make-up (1845 hr .) students, $0 .00 for barbering student’s, and $0 .00 for make-up 
students and remits it to the BPPE .

COST OF TUITION AND SUPPLIES

Because of inflationary cycles, and because we must occasionally change equipment to remain current, 
the school reserves the right for the following tuition information to be subject to change .

TUITION – COSMETOLOGY 

Tuition $19,938 .81
Application Fee (nonrefundable)                                                                                   100 .00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) (nonrefundable)                                            0 .00
Technical Kit * 1,726 .96
Textbook (nonrefundable) 209 .00
Digital Kit (nonrefundable) 439 .56
Sales tax (nonrefundable)     133 .84
TOTAL COSTS $22,548.17

TUITION – BARBERING

Tuition $18,388 .45
Application Fee (nonrefundable)                                                                                   100 .00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) (nonrefundable)                                            0 .00
Technical Kit * 1,524 .06
Textbook (nonrefundable) 238 .80
Digital Kit (nonrefundable) 439 .56
Sales tax (nonrefundable)     118 .11
TOTAL COSTS $20,808.98

TUITION – COSMETOLOGY MAKE-UP 

Tuition $23,793 .13
Application Fee (non-refundable)                                                                                  100 .00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) (nonrefundable) 0 .00
Technical Kit * 4,816 .96
Textbook (nonrefundable) 209 .00
Digital Kit (nonrefundable) 439 .56
Sales tax (nonrefundable)     373 .31
TOTAL COSTS $29,731.78

TUITION – COSMETOLOGY/BARBERING
Tuition  $22,938 .81
Application Fee (non-refundable)                                                                                  100 .00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) (non-refundable)                                           0 .00
Technical Kit * 2,152 .96
Textbook (non-refundable) 447 .80
Digital Kit (non-refundable) 439 .56
Sales tax (non-refundable)     166 .85
TOTAL COSTS $26,245.98
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TUITION – MAKE-UP 

Tuition $4,400 .00
Application Fee (nonrefundable)                                                                                   100 .00
Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) (nonrefundable) 0 .00
Technical Kit *     2,795 .00
Sales tax (nonrefundable)            216 .61
TOTAL COSTS $7,511.61

The 245 hour makeup program is not eligible for Title IV funding and does not lead to licensure. 

*Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment. 
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal in their original state, no 
exceptions. All returned equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee.

Note: The total charges for a period of attendance are equivalent to the cost of the entire program, 
due to the length of the program.

Please contact the school’s Financial Aid Leader for payment options . The school accepts cash, credit card, 
and personal check payments . Financial aid recipients understand that monies received on their behalf 
are applied first to tuition costs . 

Financial aid available to those who qualify.

The school complies with California Private Postsecondary Education Act of 2009,  94899.5 (b) and does 
not require more than one term or four months of tuition in advance, until 50% of the program has been 
offered and the school is due full payment. 

Veterans or eligible person the cost of “Kit and Equipment, Textbook and Supplies” may not  be paid  by 
the VA and the veteran or eligible person will be responsible for payment. 

In extraordinary circumstances, the school may adjust tuition and kit fees for students that transfer from a 
school that has suddenly closed without notice .

NOTICE

YOU MAY ASSERT AGAINST THE HOLDER OF THE PROMISSORY NOTE YOU SIGNED IN ORDER TO 
FINANCE THE COST OF THE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM ALL OF THE CLAIMS AND DEFENSES THAT YOU 
COULD ASSERT AGAINST THIS INSTITUTION, UP TO THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE ALREADY PAID UNDER THE 
PROMISSORY NOTE .

SCHOLARSHIPS

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego may offer scholarships . Check with the Admissions Leader for any 
scholarships that may be currently available .

LATE PAYMENTS 

If a student fails to make a scheduled tuition payment, the student may receive a coaching session on 
the Future Professional Advisory Form .  If a student consistently fails to make scheduled payments, the 
student may be terminated from the program . A $25.00 late fee will be charged for payments made five (5) 
days after the due date.
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STUDENT TEXTBOOKS AND KITS
Students  will only be allowed to use Paul Mitchell technical kits and equipment while enrolled at the School . Students 
may purchase the Paul Mitchell Technical kit in it's entirety from the school, or they may be purchased independently .  
If purchased independently, they must meet the criteria listed on the Student Technical Kit List .  Refer to the catalog 
kit list .  If the student needs to replace a technical kit or equipment item at any time during his or her enrollment in 
the school, these items may be purchased through the school or independently .

Students are advised to refrain from loaning any part of their technical kit or textbooks . The school is not responsible 
for items that are lost or stolen . Published kit lists herein are subject to change .

All education apps will work on an Iphone .  If a student has access to an Iphone, that is compatible with the apps, an 
Ipad purchase may not be necessary .

Right to Independent Purchase of IPad, Textbooks and Technical Kit:  Any student who desires to independently 
purchase their IPad, textbook or technical kit from a vendor other than Paul Mitchell The School San Diego has the 
right to do so . A student who chooses to do this should notify the school during contracting .

2021 CLASS START DATES
 

Cosmetology 
FULL-TIME DAY 
SCHOOL: January 18, March 1, April 12, June 1, July 20, August 17, October 19, December 7

NIGHT SCHOOL: January 11, April 6, July 12, August 31, October 4

Barbering 
FULL-TIME DAY 
SCHOOL: January 18, March 1, April 12, June 1, July 20, August 17, October 19, December 7

NIGHT SCHOOL: January 11, April 6, July 12, August 31, October 4

Cosmetology Make-up (1845 hr.) and Make-up 
FULL-TIME DAY 
SCHOOL: January 18, March 1, April 12, June 1, July 20, August 17, October 19, December 7

Cosmetology/Barbering 
FULL-TIME DAY 
SCHOOL: January 18, March 1, April 12, June 1, July 20, August 17, October 19, December 7

NIGHT SCHOOL: January 11, April 6, July 12, August 31, October 4

Dual License
PART-TIME DAY 
SCHOOL: Please see Admission's Leader for more information

Class will be held at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego located at 410 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101 .

CONSTITUTION DAY

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego celebrates Constitution Day on or near September 17 of each year .           
For more information visit www .constitutionday .com .
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VOTER REGISTRATION

Students are encouraged to register to vote in State and Federal Elections . Voter Registration and Election 
Date information for the state of California can be found at http://www .sos .ca .gov . 

For information on Voter Registration and Election Dates for Federal Elections visit                                           
www .eac .gov/voter_resources .

STUDENTS WHO WITHDRAW 

Students who withdraw from the program are required to empty their locker and gather all personal 
items . Any items left behind by the student will be stored for 60 days, at which time the items become the 
property of Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . 

Students wishing to transfer to another institution must pay all monies owed to Paul Mitchell The School 
San Diego, and all applicable academic requirements must be met in order for the hours to be released . 

COACHING OPPORTUNITES, SUSPENSION AND TERMINATION POLICY

Students will be coached for noncompliance with any of the items listed below as coaching 
opportunities . If a student receives five (5) coaching sessions, they may receive a five-school-day 
suspension . On the students fifth coaching session, the Future Professional Advisor will create a plan of 
action to be followed . After a student has received a five-school-day suspension, the student may only 
receive two (2) more coaching sessions . On the seventh coaching session, the student may be terminated 
from the school .

Future Professionals may receive coaching sessions for the following items:

Lack of the correct uniform and/or dress code, which includes a missing name tag
Malicious gossip
Neglecting to call in when late or absent .
Excessive tardiness to theory and/or specialty class .
Not attending school on the required mandatory school days . (Refer to the school attendance policy .)
Beginning a guest service without a Learning Leader’s consultation .
Unfinished singles and/or the late submission of the practical Clinic Classroom Worksheet .
Being behind in theory attendance and/or theory exams .
Parking in an undesignated area .
Use of cell phones in non-permitted areas .
Smoking on the school campus . The school is a smoke-free campus
Violation of the school’s Internet and Social Networking Policy .
Violation of the standards in the Student Professional Development Guidelines . (Refer to the school 
catalog .)

Behind on tuition payments
Falling below required  percent in monthly attendance .
Technology used for non-educational purposes .
Failure to complete practical and academic assignments .
Violation of standards and/or Code of Conduct at a school-sponsored event, externship, off-campus 
event, and/or field trip .
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Readmittance into the school after a five-school-day suspension will be based upon the following:
A . The Future Professional must be current on all theory exams and academic assignments .
B . The Future Professional must conduct a personal interview with the School Director and/or Financial 
Aid Leader to determine the compliance for reentry .
C . The Future Professional will be placed on probation for thirty (30) calendar days, during which time he 
or she must strictly abide by all policies, rules, and regulations .
D . Complete the 5 Day Suspension Re-Entry Form .

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego may terminate a student’s enrollment for immoral and/or improper 
conduct, receiving seven (7) coaching sessions, and/or failing to comply with educational requirements  
and/or the terms as agreed upon within the enrollment contract .

Students may be terminated for the following and may be given no warnings or prior coaching sessions:

Use of drugs and/or alcohol, which includes prescription marijuana .
Possession of drugs and/or alcohol, which includes prescription marijuana .
Clocking in/out for another Future Professional .
 Leaving the school facility, without notifying a Learning Leader and/or signing out for a break, and 
remaining clocked in on the time clock and receiving unearned hours . The school parking lot and 
surrounding businesses are not included as part of the school facility .
Cheating or stealing .
 Insubordination .
Threatening statements made toward staff, service guests, or Future Professionals . No bullying .
 Physical violence and/or altercations .
Paul Mitchell Schools, in its admission, instruction, and graduation policies and practices, does not 
discriminate on the basis of sex, race, religion, age, ethnic origin, color, disability, sexual orientation, 
or ancestry . The school does not allow or tolerate discrimination of any kind, bullying, harassment, or 
hazing of any sort toward staff, Future Professionals, and/or service guests .
Violation of the Title IX policy .
Violation of standards and/or Code of Conduct at a school-sponsored event, externship, off-campus 
event, and/or field trip .
Violation of the Harrassment, Intimidation, Bullying, and Discrimination Policy .

If a Future Professional is terminated for gross misconduct, which includes but is not limited to reporting to 
school under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs, cheating, stealing, insubordination, threats, and/or 
bullying, such termination is final and may not be appealed.
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COSMETOLOGY (1600 HR. & 1845 HR.) COURSE OVERVIEW

Course Hours: 1600 clock hours

The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service learning experiences .

q  Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 210 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where 
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices .

w  Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 1390 hours are spent in the clinic area where 
practical experience is gained .

COSMETOLOGY (1600 HR. & 1845 HR.) COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego for the cosmetology program will be divided into six 
designations:

q  Core Curriculum: A 210-hour orientation, known as the Core program, instills the basic 
fundamentals . Students are graded and evaluated using written, oral, and practical testing methods . 
Students must successfully complete the Core curriculum prior to attending regularly scheduled daily 
classes in cutting, coloring, permanent waving, and chemical texture services . 

w  Protégé Learning Experience: Your experience as a Protégé produces a smooth transition from Core 
student to Adaptive student . You spend 70 hours as a Protégé preparing you for the clinic classroom 
experience .

e  Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: Your clinic time from 280 to 1600 hours will be guided 
with individual attention and group learning experiences using mini-classes, monthly worksheets, 
and periodic evaluations developed specifically for this monitoring progress . This is when you begin 
experiencing your clinic classroom education on paying clients in the clinic classroom .

r  Classroom Learning Experience: Your classroom time from 280 to 1600 hours is divided into five 
(5) areas: cutting, coloring, texture, makeup, and nails . Each area has an instructor in the field who 
conducts the different elective classes each week; Classroom Learning Experiences may also include 
retail, motivation, self improvement, professional development, and attendance education which 
may be conducted by an instructor, non-licensed staff member or guest artist .

t  Adaptive Curriculum: From 280 to 800 hours you will enter a new phase of elective classroom 
workshops coupled with challenging practical services designed to continue building you into a 
confident designer .

y  Creative Curriculum: You will spend your last 800 hours at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego in 
“high gear” by dressing, acting, and working like a true professional . You will use your own artistic and 
creative abilities, coupled with the assistance of the Learning Leaders, to prepare yourself for your 
future beauty industry career .
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MAKE-UP OVERVIEW (1845 HR. & 245 HR.)

Our makeup program provides a comprehensive curriculum for 245 hours in the study of Makeup 
Artistry . The MUSE BEAUTY Advanced Makeup Program is designed to prepare and educate each student 
in the fundamentals of beauty makeup . The student focus will be on application of makeup during lab 
work hours . Classes will include:  bridal makeup, color matching, advanced color correction, contouring 
and highlighting, color theory and texture in makeup, blush, lip and history of lips to present trends, 
airbrush makeup, balancing brows, history of brows to present trends, eye shapes, contrast, eyeliner, 
mascara and false lash application cheek and lip work, age appropriate makeup application, basic runway 
makeup, full and volume lash extensions, portfolio development, and career path options . All training 
is based on student/artist creativity and individual style . This program has been designed for beginner, 
entry level makeup artist to the working professional . All students will receive a professional makeup kit 
including an airbrush system. 

*The Board of Barbering and California (BBC) does not regulate the additional 245-hour in makeup. 
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BARBERING COURSE OVERVIEW

Course Hours: 1,500 clock hours

The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service learning experiences .

q  Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 210 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where 
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices .

w  Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 1290 hours are spent in the clinic floor area 
where practical experience is gained .

BARBERING COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego  for the barbering program will be divided into six 
designations:

q  Core Curriculum: A 210-hour orientation, known as the Core program, instills the basic 
fundamentals . Students are graded and evaluated using written, oral, and practical testing methods . 
Students must successfully complete the Core curriculum prior to attending regularly scheduled daily 
classes in cutting, color, permanent waving, and chemical texture services . 

w  Protégé Learning Experience: Your experience as a Protégé produces a smooth transition from Core 
student to Adaptive student . You spend 70 hours as a Protégé preparing for the clinic classroom .

e  Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: Your clinic classroom time from 280 to 1500 hours will 
be guided with individual attention and group learning experiences using mini-classes, monthly 
worksheets, and periodic evaluations developed specifically for this monitoring progress . This is when 
you begin experiencing your clinic classroom education on paying clients in the clinic classroom area .

r  Classroom Learning Experience: Your classroom time from 280 to 1500 hours is divided into six (6) 
areas: cutting, coloring, texture, makeup, skin, and nails . Each area has specialist an instructor who 
conducts the different specialty classes each week;  Classroom Learning Experiences may also include 
retail, motivation, self improvement, professional development, and attendance education which 
may be conducted by an instructor, non-licensed staff member or guest artist .

t  Adaptive Curriculum: From 280 to 750 hours, 
you will enter a new phase of specialty classroom 
workshops coupled with challenging practical 
services designed to continue building your skills as 
a future beauty industry professional .

y  Creative Curriculum: You will spend your last 750 
hours in Paul Mitchell The School San Diego in 
“high gear” by dressing, acting, and working like a 
true beauty industry professional . You will use your 
own artistic and creative abilities, coupled with 
the assistance of the Learning Leaders, to prepare 
yourself for your future beauty industry career .
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COSMETOLOGY/BARBERING COURSE OVERVIEW

Course Hours: 1800 clock hours
The course is divided into pre-clinical classroom instruction and clinical service learning experiences .

q  Pre-clinical Classroom Instruction: The first 210 hours are devoted to classroom workshops where 
students learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices .

w  Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: The remaining 1590 hours are spent in the clinic area where 
practical experience is gained .

COSMETOLOGY/BARBERING COURSE OUTLINE

Your time at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego for the cosmetology/barbering program will be divided 
into six designations:

q  Core Curriculum: A 210 hour orientation, known as the Core program, instills the basic 
fundamentals . Students are graded and evaluated using written, oral, and practical testing methods . 
Students must successfully complete the Core curriculum prior to attending regularly scheduled daily 
classes in cutting, coloring, permanent waving, and chemical texture services . 

w  Protégé Learning Experience: Your experience as a Protégé produces a smooth transition from Core 
student to Adaptive student . You spend 70 hours as a Protégé preparing you for the clinic classroom 
experience .

e  Clinic Classroom Learning Experience: Your clinic time from 280 to 1800 hours will be guided 
with individual attention and group learning experiences using mini-classes, monthly worksheets, 
and periodic evaluations developed specifically for this monitoring progress . This is when you begin 
experiencing your clinic classroom education on paying clients in the clinic classroom .

r  Classroom Learning Experience: Your classroom time from 280 to 1800 hours is divided into five (6) 
areas: cutting, coloring, texture, makeup, shaving, and nails . Each area has an instructor in the field 
who conducts the different elective classes each week; Classroom Learning Experiences may also 
include retail, motivation, self improvement, professional development, and attendance education 
which may be conducted by an instructor, non-licensed staff member or guest artist .

t  Adaptive Curriculum: From 280 to 900 hours you will enter a new phase of elective classroom 
workshops coupled with challenging practical services designed to continue building you into a 
confident designer .

y  Creative Curriculum: You will spend your last 900 hours at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego in 
“high gear” by dressing, acting, and working like a true professional . You will use your own artistic and 
creative abilities, coupled with the assistance of the Learning Leaders, to prepare yourself for your 
future beauty industry career .
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA REQUIREMENTS

Cosmetology (1600 hr.) 

The instructional program of Paul Mitchell The School San Diego meets or exceeds these requirements:

Subject Technical 
Instruction

Practical 
Applications

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Hair Dressing (1100 hours)

Hairstyling 65 240

Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening 40 105

Hair Coloring and Bleaching 60 50

Hair Cutting to include razor, clipper, trimmers, 
and  thinning shears 20 80

Five Minute Stress Relief Treatment 0 50

Additional Training 915 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Health and Safety (200 hours)

Laws and Regulations 20 0

Health and Safety Considerations 45 0

Disinfection and Sanitation 20 15

Anatomy and Physiology 15 0

Professional Development 30 0

Additional Training 70 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Esthetics (200 hours)

Manual, Electrical, and Chemical Facials 25 40

Eyebrow Beautification and Makeup 25 30

Additional Training 150 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Manicuring and Pedicuring (100 hours)

Manicuring and Pedicuring 10 25

Artificial Nails and Wraps 25 120 Nails = 12

Additional Training 65 0

TOTAL HOURS OF TECHNICAL INSTRUCTION 1600

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego offers employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts to secure 
education-related employment that includes, but no limited to training in professionalism, resume’, 
development, job interview preparation and job search skills . These additional course are not a 
requirement for state licensure . No additional hours will be required to complete the additional training, 
and these additional courses are not a requirement for state licensure . 

Exceeds means that during the course of your training you may complete more services then what is listed, 
however  no additional hours, over the 1600 required by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) will be 
required.
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Make-up

The additional instruction will be for the 1845-hour cosmetology make-up and 245-hour make-up 
programs:

Subject Practical 
Application

Beauty Makeup 
You are guided to understand the foundations of makeup 
including Skin Preparation, Eyebrow Shaping, Eyebrow Design, 
Color Theory, Face Shapes, Highlighting & Contouring, and 
Mature Skin Types . Further, you will learn to apply proper makeup 
techniques as you differentiate Eye Shapes and Lip Shapes . Bridal 
Makeup, Airbrush Fundamentals, and Makeup Marketing and 
Business .

You will proceed with more in depth makeup techniques . Work 
with Advanced Corrective Makeup, Advanced Airbrushing, 
Editorial Eyeliner, Smoky Eye and Bright & Bold Techniques . You 
will understand and create Texture in Makeup and Makeup for 
Black & White Photography . We prepare for mastery by studying 
Trends in Editorial makeup, Photo shoot Fundamentals, and 
Runway fundamentals . You will build your professional portfolio 
while learning to market yourself and become well-versed in on-
set makeup artist etiquette .

182

Lash Extensions
You will learn lash weight and ratio, lash selection, fan-making 
techniques, placement and application, styling fundaments, infill 
procedures, perfecting transitions, lash mapping, work patterns, 
ideal fan-making, and corrective lashing

14

Special Effects Makeup 

You will become proficient in techniques  that are used regularly 
in film and television: techniques for High Definition Cameras, 
Avant Garde, Latex, Aging, Cuts & Bruises, Facial Hair, Special 
Effects (FX) applications .

35

Additional Hours 14

TOTAL HOURS 245

*The Board of Barbering and California (BBC) does not regulate the additional 245-hour in makeup. 
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Cosmetology

The following subjects are taught in the distance education portion of the cosmetology program .  

Subject Theory Hours

Block 1 Haircoloring

Color Theory, Color Design, Identifying Existing Color, Nonoxidative Color, Oxidative Color, 
Color Tools & Essentials, Color Skills, Guest Experience, Color Service

20

Block 2 Chemical Texture

Perm Theory, Perm Design, Perm Products & Essentials, Perm Skills, Guest Experience, 
Relaxer Theory, Relaxer Products & Essentials, Relaxer Skills, Guest Experience, Relaxer 
Service

20

Block 3 Skin Care Makeup

Skin Theory, Skin Diseases & Disorders, Skin Care, Guest Experience, Hair Removal Theory, 
Guest Experience, Makeup Theory, Makeup Products & Design, Guest Experience

20

Block 4 Nails

Nail Theory, Natural Nails, Nail Product & Essentials, Guest Experience, Natural Nail Service, 
Artificial Product & Essentials, Atificial Nail Service

20

Block 5 Life Skills & Business

Healthy Body & Mind, Ergonomics, Basic Communication, Communicate With Confidence, 
Human Relations, Resilience, Goal Setting, Job Search, Finding A Salon That Fits, Professional 
Relationships, Know Your Client Market, Salon Experience, Ownership, Operations, Retail 
Products

8

Block 6 Science Part 1

Microbiology, Infection Control, First Aid, Building Block Of The Human Body, Muscular 
Sysytem, Circulatory System, Nervous System, Hair Theory, Matter

20

Block 7 Science Part 2

pH, Principles Of Electricity, Electricity In Cosmetology, Hair Care Product Knowledge, Hair 
Care, Shampoo & Scalp Massage Theory, Guest Experience

20

Block 8 Client Centered Design & Sculpture

Sculpture Theory , Sculpture Tools & Essentials, Sculpture Skills, Guest Service, Solid Form 
Overview, Graduated Form Overview, Increase Layer Form Overview, Uniformly Layered 
Form Overview, Texturizing Techniques, Combination Form Overview, Men's Scuplture 
Overview

20

Block 9 Hair Design

Hair Design Theory, Hair Design Tools & Essentials, Hair Design Skills, Guest Experience, 
Hair Design Service, Straight Volume & Indentation, Curvature Volume & Identations, 
Fingerwaving & Molding , Thermal Design                                             

20

Block 10 Long Hair Styling Wigs & Extensions

Long Hair Theory, Long Hair Tools & Essentials, Long Hair Skills, Guest Experience, Wig 
Theory, Wig Services, Hairpiece & Hair Addition Essentials 

20

TOTAL HOURS 188
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Barbering

The instructional program of Paul Mitchell The School San Diego meets or exceeds these requirements:

Subject Technical 
Instruction

Practical 
Applications

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Hair Dressing (1100 hours)

Hairstyling 65 240

Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening 40 105

Hair Coloring and Bleaching 60 50

Hair Cutting to include razor, clipper, trimmers, 
and  thinning shears 20 80

Five Minute Stree Relief Treatment 0 50

Scalp Treatment and Manipulation 0 10

Additional Training 915 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Shaving (200 hours)

Shaving Preparation and Performance 
(Shaves and Facials) 100 40

Additional Training 100 0

Technical InstructionTraining in Health and Safety (200 hours)

Laws and Regulations 20 0

Health and Safety Considerations 45 0

Disinfection and Sanitation 20 15

Anatomy and Physiology 15 0

Professional Development 25 0

Additional Training 75 0

TOTAL HOURS OF TECHNICAL INSTRUCTION 1500

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego offers employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts to secure 
education-related employment that includes, but no limited to training in professionalism, resume’, 
development, job interview preparation and job search skills . No additional hours will be required to 
complete the additional training, and these additional courses are not a requirement for state licensure . 

Exceeds means that during the course of your training, you may complete more services than what is listed; 
however, no additional hours over the 1,500 hours required by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) 
will be required.
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The following subjects are taught in the distance education portion of the barbering program .  

Subject Theory Hours

Block 1 Haircoloring

Color Theory, Color Design, Identifying Existing Color, Nonoxidative Color, 
Oxidative Color, Color Tools & Essentials, Color Skills, Guest Experience, 
Color Service

19

Block 2 Chemical Texture

Perm Theory, Perm Products & Essentials, Perm Skills, Guest Experience, 
Perm Service, Relaxer Theory, Relaxer Products & Essentials, Relaxer Skills, 
Guest Experience, Relaxer Service

19

Block 3 Skin Care & Shaving & Beard Design

Skin Theory, Skin Diseases & Disorders, Skin Care, Guest Experience, Hair 
Removal Theory, Guest Experience, Shaving & Beard Design Theory, 
Shaving & Beard Design Tools & Essentials, Shaving & Beard Design Skills, 
Guest Experience, Shaving, Beard Design Service

19

Block 4 Life Skills & Business

Healthy Body & Mind, Ergonomics, Basic Communication, Communicate 
With Confidence, Human Relations, Resilience, Goal Setting, Job Search, 
Finding A Barbershop That Fits, Professional Relationships, Know Your 
Client Market, Build Your Clientele, Barbershop Experience, Ownership, 
Operations, Retail Products, Barbering History

5

Block 5 Science Part 1

Microbiology, Infection Control, First Aid, Building Block Of The Human 
Body, Muscular System, Circulatory System, Nervous System, Hair Theory, 
Matter

19

Block 6 Science Part 2

pH, Principles Of Electricity, Electricity In Barbering, Hair Care Product 
Knowledge, Hair Care, Shampoo & Scalp Massage Theory, Guest 
Experience

19

Block 7 Client Centered Design & Sculpture

Cutting Theory, Cutting Tools & Essentials, Foundational Cutting Skills, 
Foundational Forms Overview, Guest Experience, Cutting Service, 
Tapered Cut & Fade Theory, Tapered Cut & Fade Tools & Essentials, 
Tapered Cut & Fade Skills, Short Combination Form Overview, Texturizing 
Techniques, Tapered Cut & Fade Service

19

Block 8 Hair Design

Styling Theory, Styling Tools & Essentials, Thermal Styling, Wet Styling, 
Natural Texture Styling, Styling Guest Experience, Styling Service                       19

Block 9 Hair Replacement

Wig Theory, Wig Services, Hair Replacement Systems, Wig & Hair 
Replacement Essentials

19

TOTAL HOURS 176
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Cosmetology/Barbering

The instructional program of Paul Mitchell The School San Diego meets or exceeds these requirements:

Subject Technical 
Instruction

Practical 
Applications

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Hair Dressing (1100 hours)

Hairstyling 65 240

Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening 40 105

Hair Coloring and Bleaching 60 50

Hair Cutting to include razor, clipper, trimmers, 
and  thinning shears 20 80

Five Minute Stress Relief Treatment 0 50

Additional Training 915 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Health and Safety (200 hours)

Laws and Regulations 20 0

Health and Safety Considerations 45 0

Disinfection and Sanitation 20 15

Anatomy and Physiology 15 0

Professional Development 30 0

Additional Training 70 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Esthetics (200 hours)

Manual, Electrical, and Chemical Facials 25 40

Eyebrow Beautification and Makeup 25 30

Additional Training 150 0

Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Manicuring and Pedicuring (100 hours)

Manicuring and Pedicuring 10 25

Artificial Nails and Wraps 25 120 Nails = 12

Additional Training 65 0

TOTAL HOURS OF TECHNICAL INSTRUCTION 1600

ADDITIONAL 200 HOURS FOR COSMETOLOGY/BARBERING

Technical Instruction and Practical Training Shaving (200 hours)

Shaving Preparation and Performance 
(Shaves and Facials) 100 40

Additional Training 100 0

TOTAL HOURS OF TECHNICAL INSTRUCTION 1800

The institution offers employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts  to secure education-related 
employment that includes, but is not limited to training in professionalism, resume’ development, job 
interview preparation and job search skills . 

No additional hours will be required to complete the additional training, and these additional courses are 
not a requirement for state licensure

Exceeds means that during the course of your training you may complete more services then what is listed, 
however  no additional hours, over the 1600 required by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) will be 
required.
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COSMETOLOGY (1600 HR.) PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following tests and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 1600-hour course:

q Weekly theory exams: Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher on each weekly theory exam . 

w  210-hour orientation practical skills evaluation test: Students must receive a grade of 75% or 
higher . If a student fails to pass this evaluation test on their second attempt, they may be asked to 
withdraw and re-enroll in the next Core class start date .

e  Final exam 1 (approximately 800-hour written exam): This test covers an overview of all related 
cosmetology subjects (e .g ., anatomy, chemistry, etc .) . Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher 
on all final exams . 

r  Final exam 2 (approximately 1400-hour written test): The written exam covers an overview of 
all theory instruction, California state law, and other items covered on the state cosmetology exam . 
Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher on all final exams . 

t  Clinic practical worksheets: Students must complete all clinic practical worksheets .

COSMETOLOGY MAKE-UP (1845 HR.) PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following tests and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 1845-hour course:

q Weekly theory exams: Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher on each weekly theory exam . 

w  210-hour orientation practical skills evaluation test: Students must receive a grade of 75% or 
higher . If a student fails to pass this evaluation test on their second attempt, they may be asked to 
withdraw and re-enroll in the next Core class start date .

e  Final exam 1 (approximately 900-hour written exam): This test covers an overview of all related 
cosmetology subjects (e .g ., anatomy, chemistry, etc .) . Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher 
on all final exams . 

r  Final exam 2 (approximately 1800-hour written test): The written exam covers an overview of 
all theory instruction, California state law, and other items covered on the state cosmetology exam . 
Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher on all final exams . 

t  Clinic practical worksheets: Students must complete all clinic practical worksheets .

BARBERING PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following exams and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 1500-hour course:

q Weekly theory exams: Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher on each weekly theory   
 exam . 

w  210-hour Core written and practical skill evaluation exams: Students must receive a grade of 75% 
or higher . If a student fails to pass this evaluation test exams on their second attempt they may be 
asked to withdraw and re-enroll in the next Core class start date .

e  Final exam 1 (approximately 800-hour written exam): This exam covers an overview of all related 
cosmetology subjects (e .g ., anatomy, chemistry, etc .) . Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher 
on all final exams . 

r  Final exam 2 (approximately 1400-hour written test): The written exam covers an overview of 
all theory instruction, California state law, and other items covered on the state cosmetology exam . 
Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher on all final exams . 

t  Clinic floor practical worksheets: Students must complete all clinic floor practical worksheets .
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COSMETOLOGY/BARBERING PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following tests and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 1800-hour course:

q Weekly theory exams: Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher on each weekly theory exam . 

w  210-hour orientation practical skills evaluation test: Students must receive a grade of 75% or 
higher . If a student fails to pass this evaluation test on their second attempt, they may be asked to 
withdraw and re-enroll in the next Core class start date .

e  Final exam 1 (approximately 900-hour written exam): This test covers an overview of all related 
cosmetology subjects (e .g ., anatomy, chemistry, etc .) . Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher 
on all final exams . 

r  Final exam 2 (approximately 1600-hour written test): The written exam covers an overview of 
all theory instruction, California state law, and other items covered on the state cosmetology exam . 
Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher on all final exams . 

t  Clinic practical worksheets: Students must complete all clinic practical worksheets .

 MAKE-UP PROGRAM TESTING AND GRADING PROCEDURE

The following tests and grading procedures are incorporated during the student’s 245-hour course:

q	  Practical Evaluations: Students must receive a grade of 75% or higher on each weekly theory 
        exam . 

w  Final exam: This test covers an overview of all related makeup . Students must receive a grade of 
75% or higher on all final exams . 

e    Clinic practical worksheets: Students must complete all clinic practical worksheets . 

MEASURABLE PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES

q Complete the required number of clock hours of training .

w  Achieve and receive passing grades on all practical graduation requirements and projects, including 
practical and theoretical examinations .

e Satisfactorily pass final written and practical exams .

r Upon completion, receive a graduation certificate .

t Pass state board exam .
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SAFETY PRECAUTIONS FOR THE BEAUTY INDUSTRY

By following safety precautions you contribute to the health, welfare, and safety of the community . 
Always have good hygiene and be professionally dressed . Keep a first aid kit on hand, follow safety 
regulations, and keep equipment properly sanitized . The following precautions should always be taken 
with each client:

q Protect clients’ clothing by appropriately draping them .

w Ask clients to remove any jewelry, hair accessories, glasses, etc .

e  Keep any and all chemicals away from the eyes . In case of eye contact with chemicals, thoroughly 
rinse eyes with cold water .

r Wear gloves when dealing with chemicals .

t  Remember that anything containing chemically active ingredients must be used carefully to avoid 
injury to you and your client . 

INDUSTRY REQUIREMENTS 

Students interested in pursuing a career in the beauty industry should:

q Develop finger dexterity and a sense of form and artistry .

w Enjoy dealing with the public .

e Keep aware of the latest fashions and beauty techniques .

r Make a strong commitment to your education .

t  Be aware that the work can be arduous and physically demanding because of long hours standing 
and using your hands at shoulder level .
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ENFORCEMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH REGULATIONS

The state of California has the reasonable expectation that all trained and licensed cosmetology 
professionals will be knowledgeable of all public health regulations applicable to the profession and that 
licensed cosmetology professionals will practice and enforce these standards .

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego has the reasonable expectation that all students will dutifully and ear-
nestly apply themselves to learning the health regulations of California and on a daily basis will practice 
and demonstrate their knowledge of these rules and accept their professional vanguards and enforcers of 
public health regulations . 

Employees are expected to demonstrate and apply these standards and regulations at all times .

Students and employees are required to adhere to the safety precautions caused by COVID-19 . Students 
and employees must abide by the safety and sanitation procedures as outlined by the Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention (CDC) .  

Clean your hands often
 • Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds especially after you   
                  have been in a public place, or after blowing your nose, coughing, or sneezing .
 • If soap and water are not readily available, use a hand sanitizer that contains at least 60%   
                  alcohol . Cover all surfaces of your hands and rub them together until they feel dry .
 • Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands .
                  Cover your mouth and nose with a cloth face cover when around others
 • You could spread COVID-19 to others even if you do not feel sick .
 • Everyone should wear a cloth face cover when they have to go out in public . 
 • The cloth face cover is meant to protect other people in case you are infected .
 • Do NOT use a facemask meant for a healthcare worker .
 • Continue to keep about 6 feet between yourself and others . The cloth face cover is not a  
                substitute for social distancing .

Clean and disinfect
 • Clean AND disinfect surfaces daily . This includes clinic station, hydraulic chair, tables,   
                 doorknobs, light switches, countertops, handles, desks, phones, keyboards, toilets, 
                 faucets, and sinks .
 • If surfaces are dirty, clean them . Use detergent or soap and water prior to disinfection .
 • Then, use a household disinfectant . Most common EPA-registered household 
                 disinfectantexternal icon will work .

Watch for symptoms
People with COVID-19 have had a wide range of symptoms reported – ranging from mild symptoms to 
severe illness .  If you have any of these symptoms DO NOT come to school .  Contact the school and follow 
the call-in procedure .  A school representative will be taking student’s temperature prior to entering the 
school facility .  If the student has a fever, they will not be allowed to enter the school until the symptoms 
have passed .

These symptoms may appear 2-14 days after exposure to the virus:
 • Fever
 • Cough
 • Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing
 • Chills
 • Repeated shaking with chills
 • Muscle pain
 • Headache
 • Sore throat
 • New loss of taste or smell



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL SAN DIEGO CATALOG  34

STUDENT SERVICES

q  Housing: Paul Mitchell The School San Diego keeps a file of information about housing in the 
surrounding areas; however the school does not provide dormitory facilities and does not have any 
facilities under its control . The school is not responsible to find or assist student in finding housing . 

         There is available housing located within 1-2 miles of the school in Bankers Hill . The cost of housing is
         between $900 .00 to $1400 .00 per month .  

         There is available housing located within 1-2 miles of the school in Gaslamp District . The cost of 
         housing is between  $1400 .00 to $2000 .00 per month .  

         There is available housing located within 2 miles of the school in North Park/ Hillcrest . The cost of 
         housing is between  $1200 .00 to $2000 .00 per month . 

         There is available housing located within 4-5 miles of the school in Golden Hill/ South Park . The cost 
         of housing is between  $1200 .00 to $2000 .00 per month . 

         There is available housing located within 15 miles of the school in College Area . The cost of housing
         is between  $500 .00 to $900 .00 per month . 

w  Advising: Students are provided with academic advising and additional assistance as necessary . 
If referral to professional assistance is necessary, the school maintains a record of such referral . 
Information and advice on any financial assistance are accessible to students . Paul Mitchell The 
School San Diego also gives advice and information to students on these subjects:

 a . Regulations governing licensure to practice, including reciprocity among jurisdictions .
 b . Employment opportunities, within their field of study .
 c . Opportunities for continuing education following graduation .

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS IN COURSES

q  Receive the required number of clock hours of training .

w For a student to meet state requirements, all clinic practical worksheets must be completed in their   
     entirety .

e  Pass written and practical exams .

r  Complete the required theory hours .

t  Tuition has been paid in full or the student has made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all 
monies owed to the school prior to the student obtaining 1400 clock hours for cosmetology students and 
1300 clock hours for barbering students, and 400 clock hours for esthetic students .

If the student cannot pay owed tuition in full or come into agreement with a payment plan of monies 
owed to the school, the student will be withdrawn from the program .  The student may re-enter the 
program when payment arrangements can be made .

Once the student has met all these requirements, he/she will receive a CERTIFICATE of COMPLETION . 

The School will not release an official transcript until all educationally related graduation requirements 
are met .

For students who withdraw, the student may request an official transcript of hours earned . 	
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GRADUATION, PLACEMENT, AND JOB OPPORTUNITIES

Career opportunities for Cosmetologists include, but are not limited to, Hair Stylist, Color Stylist, Makeup 
Artist, Nail Technician, Educator, Salon Owner or Manager, Product Trainer, Platform Artist, Esthetician, 
and many more .

Although Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does not guarantee employment upon graduation, Paul 
Mitchell The School San Diego does maintain an aggressive job placement program and will inform 
students of job openings and opportunities . Paul Mitchell The School San Diego coordinates placement 
programs with local and national salons by sending out surveys and inviting salon owners and guest 
artists to teach and speak there .

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego has placed students in the beauty industry as Hair Stylists, 
Makeup Artists, Nail Technician, Beauty Industry Educator, Salon Owners, Salon Managers, Platform Artist, 
and Beauty Industry Instructor . 

Employment and Career Opportunities for Cosmetology:  
• Salon Hairstylist • Hospital Hair-Care Service • Cosmetology School Owner

• Free-lance Hairstylist • Salesperson/Retail Specialist • Manufacturer’s Representative

• Salon Owner/Manager • Makeup Artist • State Board Examiner

• Hair Color Specialist • Stage and Film Makeup Artist • State Board Inspector

• Artificial Hair Services Specialist • Beauty and Fashion Consultant • Trade Publication Writer

• Platform Artist • Photo Stylist

• Cruise Ship Stylist • Cosmetology School Instructor

Employment and Career Opportunities for Barbering: 
• Salon Barber • Hospital Hair-Care Service • Barbering School Owner

• Free-lance Barber • Salesperson/Retail Specialist • Manufacturer’s Representative

• Salon Owner/Manager • Photo Stylist • State Board Examiner

• Hair Color Specialist • Stage and Film Makeup Artist • State Board Inspector

• Barbering School Instructor • Cruise Ship Barber • Trade Publication Writer

• Platform Artist

Employment and Career Opportunities for Make-up: 
• Salon Makeup Artist • Salon or Spa Owner • Educator or Instructor

• Free-lance Makeup Artist • Salesperson/Retail Specialist • Manufacturer’s Representative

• Trade Publication Writer • Cruise Ship • Stage and Film Makeup Artist

Students can refer to the Department of Labor website http://www .bls .gov for additional information 
regarding employment opportunities and availability . 

GRADUATES COMPLETING A PROGRAM AND RE-ENROLLING IN A NEW PROGRAM

A student that graduates from one program within the school and wishes to enroll in another program 
within the school, a determination of the state laws will determine the amount of hours that will be 
transferred into the new program, the student will need to meet the quantitative and qualitative 
components of SAP for the new program .
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TECHNICAL KIT – Cosmetology Make-up (245 hours)

Students are responsible to purchase a Paul Mitchell Technical Kit at an additional cost from the tuition . 
Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of stationery supplies . 

The following items are contained in the Paul Mitchell Cosmetology Technical Kit and can be purchased 
from Paul Mitchell The School San Diego or Cosmoprof, Salon Centric, Sallys, Burmax, Target, and/or CVS .

TOOLS
1 MUSE Beauty Makeup Kit $2,795.00

Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment.
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal in their original state, no 
exceptions. All returned equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee.

Total Cost of Technical Kit – Cosmetology Make-up (245 hours): $2,795.00
Sales Tax (7.75%) (nonrefundable):                                                   $   216.61
Total:                       $3,011.61
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TECHNICAL KIT – Cosmetology 

Students are responsible to purchase a Paul Mitchell Technical Kit at an additional cost from the tuition . 
Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of stationery supplies . 

The following items are contained in the Paul Mitchell Cosmetology Technical Kit and can be purchased 
from Paul Mitchell The School San Diego or Cosmoprof, Salon Centric, Sallys, Burmax, Target, and/or CVS .

COMBS
1 Paul Mitchell Metal Pick Teasing Comb, 109       
1 Paul Mitchell White Cutting Comb, 408 
1 Paul Mitchell Red Cutting Comb, 416 
1 Paul Mitchell Teal Cutting Comb, 424 
1 Paul Mitchell Black Metal Tail, 429
1 Paul Mitchell Black Rat Tail, 814 
1 Paul Mitchell Detangler Comb
1 Carbon Comb- Burmax

BRUSHES
1 Paul Mitchell Paddle Plastic 427
1 Paul Mitchell Scalp Brush
1 Paul Mitchell Styling Plastic 407
1 Paul Mitchell Sculpting Plastic 413
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® - Large
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® - Small
1 Paddle, Paul Mitchell Lightener

PRODUCT
1 6 oz. Hot Off The Press™
1 6.8 oz. Fast Form™
1 .35 (10gr) Invisiblewear  Pump Me Up
1 8.5 oz. (250ml)  Invisiblewear Boomerang 
Re-Styling Mist
1 9.5 oz (314ml/269g) Invisiblewear™ Orbit 
Hairspray
1 Bag, PLH Tote Bag 2018

$2.00
$3.00
$3.00
$3.00
$2.00
$2.00
$3.00
$3.00

$6.59
$3.59
$4.79
$3.59
$10.80
$9.60
$6.50

$9.00
$9.75
$11.50
$7.50

$10.00

$1.75

CAPES
1 Paul Mitchell All Purpose Cape
1 Paul Mitchell Cutting Cape

ACCESSORIES
1 Paul Mitchell Metal Clips  (10 pack)
1 Paul Mitchell Rolling Metal Case
1 Paul Mitchell Water Bottle

TOOLS
5 Female Mannequin 
1 Wahl Clipper & Trimmer Set
1 Paul Mitchell Feathering Razor
1 Express Ion Dry+® (Plus) 125V
1 Paul Mitchell Express Gold Curl™ 
    Marcel, .75”
1 Paul Mitchell Manicure Set  
1 Express Ion Smooth® + (Plus)  120v
1 Scissor Kit, RIGHT HAND 6.0", 
Texturizer, 5.5", Case
1 Paul Mitchell Tripod
1 CAO Basic Makeup Kit
1 Hand Mirror-Burmax

OTHER
1 California State Board Kit
1 Name Tag
1 Paul Mitchell T-Shirt
1 Messenger Bag

$20.00
$20.00

$8.00
$90.00
$6.00

$250.00
$110.00
$20.00
$90.00
$45.00

$17.00
$84.00
$275.00

$120.00
$205.00
$5.00

$195.00
$15.00
$25.00
$11.00

Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment. 
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal in their original state, no 
exceptions. All returned equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee.

Total Cost of Technical Kit – Cosmetology:   $1,726.96
Sales Tax (7.75%) (nonrefundable)          $   133.84
Total:        $1,860.80
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TECHNICAL KIT – Cosmetology Make-up

Students are responsible to purchase a Paul Mitchell Technical Kit at an additional cost from the tuition . 
Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of stationery supplies . 

The following items are contained in the Paul Mitchell Cosmetology Make-up Technical Kit and can be 
purchased from Paul Mitchell The School San Diego or Cosmoprof, Salon Centric, Sallys, Burmax, Target, 
and/or CVS .

COMBS
1 Paul Mitchell Metal Pick Teasing Comb, 109       
1 Paul Mitchell White Cutting Comb, 408 
1 Paul Mitchell Red Cutting Comb, 416 
1 Paul Mitchell Teal Cutting Comb, 424 
1 Paul Mitchell Black Metal Tail, 429
1 Paul Mitchell Black Rat Tail, 814 
1 Paul Mitchell Detangler Comb
1 Carbon Comb-Burmax

BRUSHES
1 Paul Mitchell Paddle Plastic 427
1 Paul Mitchell Scalp Brush
1 Paul Mitchell Styling Plastic 407
1 Paul Mitchell Sculpting Plastic 413
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® - Large
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® - Small
1 Paddle, Paul Mitchell Lightener

PRODUCT
1 6 oz. Hot Off The Press™
1 6.8 oz. Fast Form™
1 .35 (10gr) Invisiblewear  Pump Me Up
1 8.5 oz. (250ml)  Invisiblewear Boomerang 
Re-Styling Mist
1 9.5 oz (314ml/269g) Invisiblewear™ Orbit 
Hairspray
1 Bag, PLH Tote Bag 2018

$2.00
$3.00
$3.00
$3.00
$2.00
$2.00
$3.00
$3.00

$6.59
$3.59
$4.79
$3.59
$10.80
$9.60
$6.50

$9.00
$9.75
$11.50
$7.50

$10.00

$1.75

CAPES
1 Paul Mitchell All Purpose Cape
1 Paul Mitchell Cutting Cape

ACCESSORIES
1 Paul Mitchell Metal Clips  (10 pack)
1 Paul Mitchell Rolling Metal Case
1 Paul Mitchell Water Bottle

TOOLS
5 Female Mannequin 
1 Wahl Clipper & Trimmer Set
1 Paul Mitchell Feathering Razor
1 Express Ion Dry+® (Plus) 125V
1 Paul Mitchell Express Gold Curl™ 
Marcel, .75”
1 Paul Mitchell Manicure Set  
1 Express Ion Smooth® + (Plus)  120v
1 Scissor Kit, RIGHT HAND 6.0", 
Texturizer, 5.5", Case
1 Paul Mitchell Tripod
1 MUSE Beauty Makeup Kit
1 Lash Kit
1 Hand Mirror

OTHER
1 California State Board Kit
1 Name Tag
1 Paul Mitchell T-Shirt
1 Messenger Bag

$20.00
$20.00

$8.00
$90.00
$6.00

$250.00
$110.00
$20.00
$90.00
$45.00

$17.00
$84.00
$275.00

$120.00
$2,795.00
$500.00
$5.00

$195.00
$15.00
$25.00
$11.00

Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment. 
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal in their original state, no 
exceptions. All returned equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee.

Total Cost of Technical Kit – Cosmetology Make-up: $4,816.96
Sales Tax (7.75%) (nonrefundable):                                                  $   373.31
Total:        $5,190.27
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TECHNICAL KIT — Barbering 

Students are responsible to purchase a Paul Mitchell Technical Kit at an additional cost from the tuition . 
Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of stationery supplies . 

The following items are contained in the Paul Mitchell Barbering Technical Kit and can be purchased from 
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego or Cosmoprof, Salon Centric, Sallys, Burmax, Target, and/or CVS .

COMBS
1 Paul Mitchell Clipper Comb, 318      
1 Paul Mitchell White Cutting Comb, 408 
1 Paul Mitchell Red Cutting Comb, 416 
1 Paul Mitchell Teal Cutting Comb, 424 
1 Paul Mitchell Black Metal Tail, 429
1 Paul Mitchell Black Rat Tail, 814 
1 Paul Mitchell Taper Comb, 818
1 Paul Mitchell Detangler Comb
1 Carbon Comb-Burmax

BRUSHES
1 Paul Mitchell Paddle Plastic 427
1 Paul Mitchell Scalp Brush
1 Paul Mitchell Styling Plastic 407
1 Paul Mitchell Sculpting Plastic 413
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® - Large
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® - Small

PRODUCT
1 2.5 oz. Construction Paste™
1 2.5oz. Hardwired™
1 3 oz. Clean Cut™
1 3 oz. Reformer™
1 8.5 oz. Double Hitter™
1 Bag, PLH Tote Bag 2018

$5.00
$3.00
$3.00
$3.00
$2.00
$2.00
$3.00
$2.00
$3.00

$6.59
$3.59
$4.79
$3.59
$10.80
$9.60

$3.74
$3.74
$4.46
$4.46
$3.95
$1.75

CAPES
1 Paul Mitchell All Purpose Cape
1 Paul Mitchell Cutting Cape

ACCESSORIES
1 Paul Mitchell Metal Clips  (10 pack)
1 Paul Mitchell Rolling Metal Case
1 Paul Mitchell Water Bottle
1 Paul Mitchell Barber Brush
1 Paul Mitchell Neck Duster

TOOLS
3 Male Mannequin with Beard
1 Female Mannequin
1 Wahl Clipper & Trimmer Set
1 Foil Shaver
1 Express Ion Dry+® (Plus) 125V
1 Paul Mitchell Barber Razor
1 Paul Mitchell Feathering Razor
1 Express Express Gold Curl Marcel .75 
Iron
1 Scissor Kit, RIGHT HAND 6.0", 
Texturizer, 5.5", Case
1 Paul Mitchell Tripod
1 Hand Mirror

OTHER
1 California State Board Kit
1 Name Tag
1 Paul Mitchell T-Shirt
1 Messenger Bag

$20.00
$20.00

$8.00
$90.00
$6.00
$5.00
$5.00

$195.00
$50.00
$110.00
$80.00
$90.00
$17.00
$20.00

$45.00

$275.00
$120.00
$5.00

$225.00
$15.00
$25.00
$11.00

Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment. 
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal in their original state, no 
exceptions. All returned equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee.

Total Cost of Technical Kit – Barbering:   $1,524.06
Sales Tax (7.75%) (nonrefundable):                                                   $  118.11
Total:        $1,642.17
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TECHNICAL KIT – Cosmetology/Barbering

Students are responsible to purchase a Paul Mitchell Technical Kit at an additional cost from the tuition . 
Please note that students are responsible for the purchase of stationery supplies . 

The following items are contained in the Paul Mitchell Cosmetology/Barbering Technical Kit and can be 
purchased from Paul Mitchell The School San Diego or Cosmoprof, Salon Centric, Sallys, Burmax, Target, 
and/or CVS .

COMBS
1 Paul Mitchell Metal Pick Teasing Comb, 109       
1 Paul Mitchell White Cutting Comb, 408 
1 Paul Mitchell Red Cutting Comb, 416 
1 Paul Mitchell Teal Cutting Comb, 424 
1 Paul Mitchell Black Metal Tail, 429
1 Paul Mitchell Black Rat Tail, 814 
1 Paul Mitchell Detangler Comb
1 Carbon Comb- Burmax
1 Paul Mitchell Clipper Comb, 318      

BRUSHES
1 Paul Mitchell Paddle Plastic 427
1 Paul Mitchell Scalp Brush
1 Paul Mitchell Styling Plastic 407
1 Paul Mitchell Sculpting Plastic 413
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® - Large
1 Paul Mitchell Express Ion Round® - Small
1 Paddle, Paul Mitchell Lightener

PRODUCT
1 6 oz. Hot Off The Press™
1 6.8 oz. Fast Form™
1 .35 (10gr) Invisiblewear  Pump Me Up
1 8.5 oz. (250ml)  Invisiblewear Boomerang Re-Styling Mist
1 9.5 oz (314ml/269g) Invisiblewear™ Orbit Hairspray
1 Bag, PLH Tote Bag 2018

$2.00
$3.00
$3.00
$3.00
$2.00
$2.00
$3.00
$3.00
$5.00

$6.59
$3.59
$4.79
$3.59
$10.80
$9.60
$6.50

$9.00
$9.75
$11.50
$7.50
$10.00
$1.75

CAPES
1 Paul Mitchell All Purpose Cape
1 Paul Mitchell Cutting Cape

ACCESSORIES
1 Paul Mitchell Metal Clips  (10 pack)
1 Paul Mitchell Rolling Metal Case
1 Paul Mitchell Water Bottle
1 Paul Mitchell Barber Brush
1 Paul Mitchell Neck Duster

TOOLS
6 Female Mannequin 
2 Male Mannequin with Beard
1 Wahl Clipper & Trimmer Set
1 Paul Mitchell Feathering Razor
1 Express Ion Dry+® (Plus) 125V
1 Paul Mitchell Express Gold Curl™  Marcel, .75”
1 Paul Mitchell Manicure Set  
1 Express Ion Smooth® + (Plus)  120v
1 Scissor Kit, RIGHT HAND 6.0", Texturizer, 5.5", Case
1 Paul Mitchell Tripod
1 CAO Basic Makeup Kit
1 Hand Mirror-Burmax
1 Paul Mitchell Barber Razor

OTHER
1 California State Board Kit - Cosmetology
1 California State Board Kit - Barbering
1 Name Tag
1 Paul Mitchell T-Shirt
1 Messenger Bag

$20.00
$20.00

$8.00
$90.00
$6.00
$5.00
$6.00

$310.00
$108.00
$110.00
$20.00
$90.00
$45.00
$17.00
$84.00
$275.00
$120.00
$205.00
$5.00
$23.00

$195.00
$225.00
$15.00
$25.00
$11.00

Any used and/or opened items in the Paul Mitchell Technical Kit are considered unreturnable equipment. 
Returnable equipment must be returned within 20 days of withdrawal in their original state, no 
exceptions. All returned equipment will be assessed a 25% restocking fee.

Total Cost of Technical Kit – Cosmetology/Barbering:  $2,152.96
Sales Tax (7.75%) (non-refundable)           $   166.85
Total:         $2,319.81
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TEXTBOOKS 

Students are responsible to purchase textbooks at an additional cost from the tuition .

COSMETOLOGY AND COSMETOLOGY MAKE-UP TEXTBOOKS
1 Cosmetology Pivot Point ISBN 978-1-940593-59-3   $209.00
1 California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Act and Regulations book
1 Health and Safety Course Textbook 
1 Health and Safety Course Exam Booklet
TOTAL: $209.00

COSMETOLOGY/BABERING TEXTBOOKS
1 Cosmetology Pivot Point ISBN 978-1-940593-59-3   $209.00
1 California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Act and Regulations book
1 Health and Safety Course Textbook 
1 Health and Safety Course Exam Booklet

1 Barber Pivot Point  ISBN 978-1-940593-97-5  $238.80
1 California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Act and Regulations book
1 Health and Safety Course Textbook 
1 Health and Safety Course Exam Booklet
TOTAL: $447.80

BARBERING TEXTBOOKS
1 Barber Pivot Point  ISBN 978-1-940593-97-5  $238.80
1 California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Act and Regulations book
1 Health and Safety Course Textbook 
1 Health and Safety Course Exam Booklet
TOTAL: $238.80

For veterans or eligible person, the cost of the “Textbook and Supplies” may not  be paid  by the VA;  the 
Veteran or eligible person will be responsible for payment .

Textbooks may be purchased separately. 

DIGITAL KIT - All Programs

Students are responsible to purchase digital kit items at an additional cost from the tuition . 

1 Apple Ipad with Apple Care; $429.56 includes sales tax
1 iTunes Gift Card $10.00
TOTAL: $439.56

Students enrolled in the Make-Up 245 clock hour program are not eligible for the Digital Kit.

EDUCATION KIT - All Programs

The Cosmetology and Cosmetology/Barbering Education Kit is included in the cost of tuition .

1 The Men's Cutting System App (includes Barbering Fundamentals)
1 The Cutting System App (includes Cutting book)
1 The Color Systems App (included Coloring book)
1 The Makeup System App
1 The Makeup Portfolio (avalible in print only)
1 The Skill Cards App

1 Business Fundamentals: Connecting to My Future iBook 
1 Be Nice (Or Else!) iBook 
1 Plugged In (Access to Master 's Library (while enrolled)
1 Mini-Color Swatch Book
1 Dollar Camp Enrollment

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the 
tuition.  The cost of the education kit is $700.00.
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The Barbering Education Kit is included in the cost of tuition .

1 The Men's Cutting System App (includes Barbering Fundamentals)
1 The Cutting System App (includes Cutting book)
1 The Color Systems App (included Coloring book)
1 The Skill Cards App

1 Business Fundamentals: Connecting to My Future iBook 
1 Be Nice (Or Else!) iBook 
1 Plugged In (Access to Master 's Library (while enrolled)
1 Mini-Color Swatch Book
1 Dollar Camp Enrollment

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the 
tuition. The cost of the education kit is $700.00.

The Skin Education Kit is included in the cost of tuition .

1 The Makeup System App
1 The Makeup Portfolio (avalible in print only)

1 Business Fundamentals: Connecting to My Future iBook 
1 Be Nice (Or Else!) iBook 
1 Plugged In (Access to Master 's Library (while enrolled)
1 Dollar Camp Enrollment

Transfer students are responsible to purchase the education kit at an additional cost from the 
tuition. The cost of the education kit is $350.00.

OPTIONAL KIT ITEMS 

Students are able to purchase optional kit items at an additional cost from the tuition . 

1MUSE Beauty Advanced Make-Up Kit  $600.00

Optional kit items are not eligible for Title IV funds, optional kit items are cash only .
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FEDERAL RETURN OF TITLE IV FUNDS POLICY
The school participates in federal financial aid.  The 245 hour make-up program is not eligible for Title IV funds.
Please refer to the following refund policy for specific consumer information pursuant to the federal financial aid 
program. 

The Federal Return of Title IV funds formula (R2T4) dictates the amount of Federal Title IV aid that must be 
returned to the federal government by the school and/or the student .  The federal formula is applicable 
to an eligible student receiving federal aid when that student withdraws at any point during the payment 
period . If a student did not start or begin attendance at the school, the R2T4 formula does not apply .
Official Withdrawal Process:  If a student wishes to withdraw from school, they must notify the Financial 
Aid Leader of the school .  The notification may be in writing or orally .  The date the notification is received 
is the date of determination .  The Financial Aid Leader must begin the withdrawal process . 

Unofficial Withdrawal Process: For unofficial withdrawals a student’s withdrawal date at a school that is 
required to take attendance is their last day of physical attendance .  The date of determination is 14 days
after they cease attendance .

In both cases the last day of attendance will be used in the return to Title IV calculation .

The federal formula requires a Return of Title IV calculation if the student received or could have received 
(based on eligibility criteria) federal financial assistance in the form of Pell Grants, and Direct Loans or Direct 
PLUS Loans during the payment period . The percentage of Title IV aid earned is equal to the percentage of 
the payment period that was completed as of the withdrawal date if this occurs on or before the 60% point 
of time . After the 60% point of the payment period (or period of enrollment depending on what the school 
uses) the student is considered to have earned 100% of the aid for the period . The percentage that has not 
been earned is calculated by subtracting the percentage of Title IV aid earned from 100% . 

The percentage of the payment period completed is calculated by the hours scheduled in the payment 
period as of the withdrawal date divided by the scheduled hours in the payment period .

The amount to be returned is calculated by subtracting the amount of Title IV assistance earned from the 
amount of Title IV aid that was or could have been disbursed as of the withdrawal date .

Post Withdrawal Disbursement: If a student receives less Title IV funds than the amount earned, the school 
will offer the student a disbursement of the earned aid that was not received at the time of their withdrawal 
which is called a post-withdrawal disbursement .  Post-withdrawal disbursements will be made from Pell 
Grant funds first, if the student is eligible .  If there are current educational costs still due the school at the 
time of withdrawal, a Pell Grant post-withdrawal disbursement will be credited to the student’s account . 
Any remaining Pell funds must be released to the student without the student having to take any action .  
Any federal loan program funds due in a post-withdrawal disbursement must be offered to the student 
and the school must receive the student’s authorization before crediting their account . The authorization is 
required to be sent to the student within 30 days of the date the school determined the student’s last date 
of attendance .

Credit Balance: If a credit balance still exists on the student’s account after the R2T4 and institutional 
refund calculations are done, that credit balance must be used to pay any grant overpayment that exists 
based on the current withdrawal within 14 days from the date that the R2T4 calculation was performed .  
The overpayment must be eliminated prior to offering a credit balance to a student . 

The following Title IV return distribution is used for all FSA students .  

   q	Unsubsidized Direct Loan
   w  Subsidized Direct Loan
   e	Direct PLUS Loan (Parent)
   r	Federal Pell Grant



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL SAN DIEGO CATALOG  44

Returns must be made as soon as possible to the federal programs but no later than 45 days after the date 
of determination . (unless the school uses less days based on a state, accrediting agency or institutional 
requirement) 

The law requires that a student is responsible for all unearned Title IV program assistance  that the school 
is not required to return .  This is determined by subtracting the amount returned by the school from the 
total amount of unearned Title IV funds to be returned .

Overpayment of Title IV, HEA Funds — Any amount of unearned grant funds that you must return is 
called overpayment . The amount of grant overpayment that you must repay is half of the grant funds 
you received or were scheduled to receive . A student who owes an overpayment remains eligible for 
Title IV, HEA program funds through and beyond the earlier of 45 days from the date the school sends a 
notification to the student of overpayment, or 45 days from the date the school was required to notify the 
student of the overpayment if, during those 45 days the student:

q	 Repays the overpayment in full to the school;

w	 Enters into a repayment agreement with the school in accordance with repayment    
 arrangements satisfactory to the school; or

e	 Signs a repayment agreement with the Department, which will include terms that permit   
 a student to repay the overpayment while maintain his or her eligibility for Title IV, HEA program   
 funds .

Within 30 days of the date of the school’s determination that the student withdrew, an institution must 
send a notice to any student who owes a Title IV, HEA grant overpayment as a result of the student’s 
withdrawal from the school in order to recover the overpayment .

If the student does not repay the overpayment in full to the school, or enter a repayment agreement with 
the school or the Department within the earlier of 45 days from the date the school sends notification to 
the student of overpayment, or 45 days from the date the school was required to notify the student of the 
overpayment .

At any time the student fails to meet the terms of the repayment agreement with the school:

q	 The student chooses to enter into a repayment agreement with the Department .

w	 The student who owes an overpayment is ineligible for Title IV HEA program funds .

You must make arrangement with the school or Department of Education to return the amount of 
unearned grant funds .
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TREATMENT OF TITLE IV FUNDS WHEN A STUDENT WITHDRAWS FROM A CLOCK-HOUR 
PROGRAM
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“STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL” -INSTITUTIONAL REFUND/DROP POLICY 

This is a state mandated policy following the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education Code of 
Regulation 71750 .  This policy applies to all students and programs .

q	    Any monies due the student  shall be refunded within 30 days of official cancellation or withdrawal .   
        Official cancellation or withdrawal shall occur on the earlier of the dates that:

 a .  A student is not accepted by the school . This student shall be entitled to a refund of all monies 
paid to the school except a non-refundable application fee .

 b .  A student (or in the case of a student under legal age, his/her parent or guardian) cancels his/her 
contract and demands his/her money back in writing, through attendance of the first day of class 
or the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract, whichever is later . In this case 
all monies collected by the school shall be refunded except a non-refundable application fee . This 
policy applies regardless of whether or not the student has actually started training .                  

 c .  A student who cancels his/her contract through attendance of the first day of class or the seventh 
(7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract is entitled to a refund of all monies paid to the 
school less an application fee of $100 .00 .

 d . A student notifies the institution of his/her official withdrawal in writing .

 e . A student is expelled by the institution .

 f .  For official cancellations as defined in paragraphs b, c, d, or e, the cancellation date will be 
determined by the postmark on written notification at the following address: Paul Mitchell The 
School San Diego 410 A St., San Diego, CA 92101, or by the date said information is delivered to the 
school administrator/owner in person . Written cancellations need not take any particular form .

         g . Monies paid for student kits are non-refundable . 

         h .    A student’ on a leave of absence date of withdrawal determination shall be the earlier of the 
scheduled date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the school 
that the student will not be returning .

w  You have the right to cancel  your enrollment contract and obtain a refund of charges paid through 
attendance of the first day of class or the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract, 
whichever is later .  YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING .  Students do not have the right to cancel by 
telephoning the school or by not coming to class . 

e  Any monies due a student who unofficially withdraws from the institution shall be refunded within 
45 days of a determination by the institution that the student has withdrawn without notifying 
the institution . Unofficial withdrawals are monitored every 30 days and a determination is made to 
withdraw a student who has been absent from school for 14 or more consecutive calendar days; the 
withdrawal date that will be used in this calculation is the student’s actual last date of attendance .

r  When situations of mitigating circumstances are in evidence, such as serious illness, a disabling 
accident, or death in the immediate family, the school may make a settlement that is reasonable and 
fair to both parties .

t  All extra costs, such as books, equipment, graduation fees, application fee, rentals, and other such 
charges, are not considered in the tuition adjustment computation if the charges are itemized 
separately in the enrollment contract . 

y Monies paid for supplies and equipment are non-refundable through attendance of the first day of 
        class or the seventh (7) calendar day of signing the enrollment contract,  whichever is later . 

u  If a course and/or program is cancelled subsequent to a student’s enrollment, and before 
instruction in the course and/or program has begun, the school shall either provide a full refund of 
all monies paid or provide completion of the course and/or program .
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i  If a course and/or program is cancelled  and ceases to offer instruction after the student has enrolled 
and instruction has begun, the school shall either provide a full refund of all monies paid or provide 
completion of the course and/or program .

o  A student’s account may be sent to collections for nonpayment . 

a  If an institution closes or discontinues a program prior to the completion of the contracted 
services, the institution shall provide a pro-rata refund only if the Bureau determines the 
school made provisions for students enrolled at the time of default to complete a comparable 
educational program at another institution at no additional charge to the student beyond the 
amount of the total charges in the original enrollment agreement . If the institution does not make 
that provision, the institution shall provide students a full refund of all institutional charges .

s   A student is entitled to a refund of monies not paid from federal student aid program funds .

Students are responsible for the amount owed . If a student obtains a student loan, he/she is responsible 
for repaying the loan amount, plus interest, less the amount of any refund . The institution shall also 
provide a pro rata refund of non-federal student financial aid program monies paid for institutional 
charges to students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of attendance .

If  you are eligible for a loan guaranteed by the federal or state government and you default on the loan, 
both of the following may occur: 

q	The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the student, 
       including applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance owed 
       on the loan . 
q	You may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other 
       government assistance until the loan is repaid .

An institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs complies with this article by 
complying with applicable regulations of the federal student financial aid programs under Title IV of the 
federal Higher Education Act of 1965 .

Step 1: Identify all amounts paid for instruction less cost of equipment .

Step 2:  Subtract Registration/Application fee not to exceed $250 .00 . The school does not charge a 
registration fee the student is only charged an application fee of $100 .00 .

Step 3: Apply a pro rata refund based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program .

An institution that participates in the federal student financial aid programs complies with this article by 
complying with applicable regulations of the federal student financial aid programs under Title IV of the 
Federal Higher Education Act of 1965 .

The institution shall also provide a pro rata refund of non-federal student financial aid program monies 
paid for institutional charges to students who have completed 60 percent or less of the period of 
attendance .

Step 1: Identify all amounts paid for instruction less cost of equipment .

Step 2: Subtract the registration/application fee not to exceed $250 .00 .

Step 3: Apply a pro rata refund based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program .

Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the Cosmetology (1600 hr.) Program: The amount listed is 
the amount a school may retain based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program . 

Tuition amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%-100%
$19,938 .81 $1,993 .88 $4,984 .70 $9,969 .41 $11,963 .29 $19,938 .81
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Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the Cosmetology Make-up (1845 hr.) Program: The 
amount listed is the amount a school may retain based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed 
in the program .  

Tuition amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%-100%
$23,793 .13 $2,379 .31 $5,948 .29 $11,896 .57 $14,275 .88 $23,793 .13

Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the Barbering Program: The amount listed is the amount a 
school may retain based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program .  

Tuition amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%-100%
$18,388 .45 $1,838 .85 $4,597 .11 $9,194 .23 $11,033 .07 $18,388 .45

Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the Cosmetology/Barbering Program: The amount listed is 
the amount a school may retain based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program . 

Tuition amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%-100%
$22,938 .80 $2,293 .88 $4,587 .76 $11,469 .40 $13,763 .28 $22,938 .80

Below is an example of a pro rata refund for the Make-up Program: The amount listed is the amount a 
school may retain based on the percentage of scheduled hours completed in the program .  

Tuition amount 10% 25% 50% 60% 61%-100%
$4,400 .00 $440 .00 $1,100 .00 $2,200 .00 $2,640 .00 $4,400 .00

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, has never filed for 
bankruptcy petition within the preceding five (5) years, nor operated as a debtor in possession or had a 
petition of bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five (5) years that resulted in reorganization 
under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code . 

You have the right to withdraw from a course of instruction at any time . If you withdraw from the course 
of instruction after the period allowed for cancellation of the agreement, which is until the first day of 
class session, or the seventh (7) calendar day after enrollment, whichever is later, the school will remit a 
refund less a registration fee, if applicable, within 30 days following your withdrawal . You are obligated 
to pay only for educational services rendered and for unreturned equipment . IF THE AMOUNT YOU HAVE 
PAID IS MORE THAN THE AMOUNT YOU OWE FOR THE TIME YOU ATTENDED, THEN A REFUND WILL BE 
MADE WITHIN 30 DAYS OF WITHDRAWAL . IF THE AMOUNT YOU OWE IS MORE THAN THE AMOUNT YOU 
HAVE ALREADY PAID, THEN YOU WILL HAVE TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS TO PAY IT .

REMEMBER, YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING . You do not have the right to cancel by telephoning the 
school or failing to attend classes . If you have any complaints, questions, or problems that you cannot 
resolve with the school, write or call the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 747 N . Market Blvd ., 
Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, www .bppe .ca .gov, toll-free telephone (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 
574-8900 .

STUDENT FINANCIAL AID RELEASE 

The undersigned agrees that Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does not guarantee the student loan 
process in any respect . A Federal Parent Plus loan requires a credit check and is based on the parent’s 
credit . Pre-approval for a Parent Plus loan does not guarantee that the parent will receive a Federal Parent 
Plus loan . It is critical that the parent be able to pass a credit check when the loan is certified . The school 
has no control over the approval or decline of a parent’s credit history . Nor does the school assume any 
responsibility for mistakes on any Department of Education financial aid forms . It is up to the student to 
make sure all forms are accurate and complete .

Federal Loan information is available in the National Student Loan Database System (NSLDS) and will be 
accessible by Servicers and Schools, as authorized .
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ELIGIBILITY OF FINANCIAL AID AFTER A DRUG CONVICTION

Students will be given written notice advising them that a conviction of illegal drugs, of any offense, 
during an enrollment period for which the student was receiving Title IV financial aid will result in the 
loss of eligibility for any Title IV per HEA Sec . 484(r)(1) and 20 U .S .C . 1091(r)(1) .Students whose eligibility 
has been suspended due to a drug conviction may resume eligibility if they successfully pass two 
(2) unannounced drug tests conducted by a drug rehabilitation program that complies with criteria 
established under HEA Sec . 484(r)(2) (20 U .S .C . 1091(r)(2)) .

CREDIT BALANCE POLICY

If Title IV disbursements result in a credit balance on the student’s account, the Financial Aid office 
will notify the student . The student has the option to have the school hold the credit balance and can 
complete an authorization for the school to hold the funds by obtaining an authorization form from 
the Financial Aid Department . If the student does not want the school to hold their funds, all credit 
balance disbursements and refunds due to funding source will be processed within 14 days of the 
credit balance appearing on the student account . Regardless of the chosen option the school will clear 
all credit balances on a student account by the end of the award year .

POLICY FOR VERIFICATION OF TITLE IV FUNDING

The school has policies and procedures that it follows for verification of Title IV funding . Verification is a 
requirement by the U .S . Department of Education . Students are randomly selected to provide additional 
information . The school provides students with a verification form so they can collect the necessary 
information . The school gives the student a 30-day deadline to return the form to the financial office with 
verification items attached . If verification documents are not submitted by the due date, the student 
will be placed on a monthly cash pay status until verification is completed . The corporate office sends 
to the school a change in EFC form for students to sign if their EFC changes . FAME handles our student 
overpayments and alerts the school so it can make changes to the award packet, which is reported to 
Common Origination and Disbursement (COD) for the Department of Education .

SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR BOOKS AND SUPPLIES
In order to academically succeed in a program, a Federal Pell Grant student must have the ability to 
purchase books and supplies at the beginning of the academic period . By the seventh day of a payment 
period, the school will provide a way for a student who is eligible for a Federal Pell Grant to obtain or 
purchase the books and supplies required for the payment period .

The school will consider all the FSA funds a student is eligible to receive at the time it makes the 
determination, but the school need not consider aid from non-FSA sources . 

The amount the school must provide is the lesser of the presumed credit balance or the amount 
determined by the school that the student needs to obtain the books and supplies . In determining the 
required amount, the school may use the actual costs of books and supplies or the allowance for those 
materials used in estimating the student’s cost of attendance for the period . A student may decline to 
participate in this process to obtain or purchase books and supplies, if they so choose .

PREFERRED LENDER LIST AND PRIVATE EDUCATION LOAN DISCLOSURES

Our school does not have a list of preferred lenders and we do not offer private education loans .

MAJORS, DEGREES, SECOND DEGREE, OR SUMMER TERMS

Majors, degrees, second degrees, or summer terms does not apply to Paul Mitchell The School San Diego .
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MAKEUP WORK

Students must complete all required assignments and tests . To accommodate students, makeup test days 
and worksheet periods are scheduled . The student must complete and submit a Makeup Time Request 
Form . 

MAKEUP HOURS

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego allow makeup hours . The hours will need to be pre-approved by 
the Director and/or Future Professional Advisor and those hours must be approved by Students must 
complete all required assignments and tests . To accommodate students, makeup test days and worksheet 
periods are scheduled . Students must complete makeup work at the scheduled time . Monthly makeup 
test dates are posted on the theory and school calendars . Students must complete a Future Professional 
Make-Up Request Form indicating the date, time, activity completed, and the name of the Learning 
Leader who supervised the make-up time .

VETERAN’S BENEFITS SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY

When the grade average, during a SAP (Satisfactory Academic Progress) check, of a veteran or eligible 
person falls below 75% in academics and 80% in attendance  the student will be placed on  warning for 
two months . If at the end of the two month warning period the student’s grades are still below 75% in 
academic and 80% in attendance the , veteran or eligible student will be terminated . 

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY

Students enrolled in programs approved by NACCAS must meet formal standards that measure their 
satisfactory progress toward graduation . The Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy is provided to all 
students prior to enrollment . The policy is consistently applied to all applicable students . Evaluations are 
maintained in the student file. The school will develop an academic and/or attendance plan to address 
the specific needs of those students who fail to meet the academic and/or attendance requirements 
at specific SAP evaluation points .  A leave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and 
maximum time frame by the same number of days taken in the leave of absence .

QUANTITATIVE AND QUALITATIVE FACTORS

Factors for measuring the student’s progress toward satisfactory completion of the program include 
maintaining:

q A minimum cumulative Theory grade level of 75% or higher .

w A minimum cumulative academic level of 75% or higher on practical worksheet completion .* 

e   To determine whether a student meets the academic requirements for Satisfactory progress, theory 
and practical grades are averaged together to give a cumulative academic grade of 75% or higher . 

r A minimum cumulative attendance of 80% of their scheduled hours**

*To meet the state practical requirements for graduation, students must eventually complete monthly practical 
worksheets 100%. See LEARNING PARTICIPATION GUIDELINES.

**To determine your rate of attendance, divide the cumulative number of hours completed by the scheduled 
hours to date. 

A student who has not achieved the minimum cumulative GPA of 75% and/or who has not successfully 
completed at least a cumulative rate of attendance of 80% is not eligible for Title IV assistance, if applicable, 
unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal of the determination that has resulted in 
status of probation .
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COMPLETION OF COURSE WITHIN DESIGNATED PERIOD OF TIME

Cosmetology (1600 hr.), Cosmetology Make-up (1845 hr.), Barbering, and Cosmetology/Barbering 
(1800 hr.) Schedule: 
5-Day 
Full Time

Tuesday - Saturday 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM 7 hrs per day 35 hrs per week

5-Day 
Full Time

Monday - Friday 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM 7 hrs per day 35 hrs per week

4-Nights 
Part Time

Monday - Thursday 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM 5 hrs per day 20 hrs per week

Information regarding other course schedules is available upon inquiry . 

The state of California requires 1600 clock hours for the cosmetology course . Students are expected to 
complete the course in no more than 125% of the program length . If a student is never absent, he/she 
should complete the course within 46 weeks for a full-time student and 80 weeks for a part-time night 
student .  

The state of California requires 1845 clock hours, however the school is approved for 1845 clock hours for 
the cosmetology make-up course . Students are expected to complete the course in no more than 125% 
of the program length . If a student is never absent, he/she should complete the course within 53 weeks 
for a full-time student and 92 weeks for a part-time night student .  

The state of California requires 1600 clock hours, however the school is approved for 1800 clock hours for 
the cosmetology/barbering course . Students are expected to complete the course in no more than 125% 
of the program length . If a student is never absent, he/she should complete the course within 51 weeks 
for a full-time student and 90 weeks for a part-time night student . 

The state of California requires 1500 clock hours for the barbering course . Students are expected to 
complete the course in no more than 125% of the program length . If a student is never absent, he/she 
should complete the course within 43 weeks for full-time students and 75 weeks for a part-time night 
student .  

The state of does not regulate the 245 hour make-up program . Students are expected to complete the 
course in no more than 125% of the program length . If a student is never absent, he/she should complete 
the course within 7 weeks for a full-time student and 15 weeks for a part-time student .  
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MAXIMUM TIME FRAME

Students must complete the educational program within the maximum time frame, which is based on 
attending at least 80% of the scheduled hours .

COURSE LENGTH MAXIMUM TIME FRAME
Cosmetology (1600 hr .) – Full Time 46 Weeks 57 Weeks

Cosmetology (1600 hr .)  – Part Time 80 Weeks 100 Weeks

Cosmetology Make-up (1845 hr .) – 
Full Time 53 Weeks 66 Weeks

Cosmetology Make-up (1845 hr .) –          
Part Time 92 Weeks 115 Weeks

Barbering – Full Time 43 Weeks 54 Weeks
Barbering – Part Time 75 Weeks 94 Weeks
Cosmetology/Barbering - Full Time 51 Weeks 64 Weeks
Cosmetology/Barbering - Part Time 90 Weeks 113 Weeks
Make-up – Full Time 7 Weeks 9 Weeks
Make-up– Part Time 12 Weeks 15 Weeks

The maximum time frame allowed for transfer students who need less than full course requirements or 
part-time students will be determined based on 80% of the scheduled contracted hours .  If any student 
enrolled fails to complete the program within the maximum time frame they will lose their eligibility 
for Title IV programs and will be terminated from the program .  Students who exceed the maximum 
time frame will be permitted to re-enroll in the program on a cash-pay basis . Whether a student pays 
out of pocket or receives Title IV Financial aid all hours attempted and completes are considered part of 
the Satisfactory Academic Progress calculation . For students with a disability that appeal, the student’s 
disability will be considered as a factor towards maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress .

INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, AND WITHDRAWALS

If the student needs to take off more time than allotted in the contract or more than 14 consecutive 
calendar days, he/she must take a leave of absence or withdraw and reenroll when ready to return . If 
a student needs more than 14 consecutive calendar days of time off due to pregnancy/new mother, 
and/or military duty then the student should take a leave of absence .  Students who withdraw prior 
to completing the course of study and who wish to reenter will reenter at the same progress status as 
applicable at the time of withdrawal .

NONCREDIT, REMEDIAL COURSE, AND REPETITIONS

Course incompletes, repetitions, and noncredit remedial courses do not apply to this institution .  
Therefore, these items have no effect upon the school’s satisfactory academic progress standards .



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL SAN DIEGO CATALOG  54

LEAVE OF ABSENCE POLICY
A Leave of Absence (LOA) is a temporary interruption in a Student’s program of study . LOA refers to the 
specific time period during an ongoing program when a Student is not in academic attendance . Leaves of 
Absence can be granted in cases of emergency or medical problems with doctor notification, which cause 
attendance to be impossible or impractical . Leaves of Absence will be granted in the case of pregnancy or 
new mothers .  If a student is called into active duty for the military the school will grant a leave of absence . 
During the Coronavirus COVID-19 pandemic, management may grant a leave of absence for extenuating 
circumstances . These are the only times leave of absences are granted .

In order to be placed on Leave of Absence, the student must: 
q  Complete and sign the school’s Leave of Absence Request Form, unless unforeseen circumstances
       prevent the student from doing so . 
w Must state the reason for the Leave of Absence (LOA) request
e Be approved by the School’s Future Professional Advisor and Financial Aid Leader .
r Leaves must be a minimum of 14 days and and must not exceed a total of 180 days in a 12-month   
 period .   

A student on a leave of absence date of withdrawal determination shall be the earlier of the scheduled 
date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the school that the student will 
not be returning . A leave of absence will extend the student’s contract period and maximum time 
frame by the same number of days taken in the leave of absence .

Student’s may not arbitrarily decide to “take” a leave of absence .

There will be no additional charges for a LOA .  If the student fails to return or contact the School Financial 
Aid Leader on the documented return date, the Student will be considered to have withdrawn from school 
as of that date the student began the LOA . The withdrawal date for the purpose of calculating a refund is 
always the student’s last day of attendance .

For federal aid recipients, the Student’s payment period is suspended during the LOA and no federal 
financial aid will be disbursed to Student while on a Leave of Absence . Upon the Student’s return, the 
Student will resume the same payment period and coursework and will not be eligible for additional Title 
IV aid until the payment period has been completed . If the Student is a Title IV loan recipient, the Student 
will be informed of the effects that the student’s failure to return from a leave may have on the Student’s 
loan repayment terms, including the expiration of the Student’s grace period . A contract addendum will be 
completed upon return from the LOA to extend the contract end date by the applicable number of days . 
In special circumstances, the school may grant a leave of absence to a student in the case of an 
emergency, such as a car accident or other medical issue that would prevent the student from 
requesting the leave of absence prior to the incident occurring .  In these cases, the school will 
document the reason for the granting of the leave after the incident has occurred .  The beginning date 
of the leave of absence will be based on the first date it has been determined that the student cannot 
come to class due to the accident or medical situation .
In order to grant a Leave of Absence there must be the expectation that the student will be returning 
to school .

A student who is granted a LOA that meets these criteria is not considered to have withdrawn and no 
refund calculation is required at that time .

Changes to the contract period on the enrollment agreement must be initialed by all parties or an 
addendum must be signed and dated by all parties to reflect the new contract end date .
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EVALUATION PROCEDURES AND REQUIRED LEVEL OF ACHIEVEMENT

Formal Satisfactory Progress Evaluations in both attendance and academics will occur when students 
reach:

Cosmetology Make-up (1845 hr.) 
(20 hour schedule)

450 actual 
hours and 23 

weeks

900 actual 
hours and 45 

weeks

1350 actual 
hours and 
68 weeks

1800 actual 
hours

Cosmetology Make-up (1845 hr.) 
(35 hour schedule)

450 actual 
hours and 13 

weeks

900 actual 
hours and 26 

weeks

1350 actual 
hours and 
39 weeks

1800 actual 
hours

Cosmetology (1600 hr.) (20 hour 
schedule)

450 actual 
hours and 23 

weeks

900 actual 
hours and 45 

weeks

1250 actual 
hours and 
63 weeks

N/A

Cosmetology (1600 hr.) (35 hour 
schedule)

450 actual 
hours and 13 

weeks

900 actual 
hours and 26 

weeks

1250 actual 
hours and 
36 weeks

N/A

Barbering (20 hour schedule) 450 actual 
hours and 23 

weeks

900 actual 
hours and 45 

weeks

1200 actual 
hours and 
60 weeks

N/A

Barbering (35 hour schedule) 450 actual 
hours and 13 

weeks

900 actual 
hours and 26 

weeks

1200 actual 
hours and 
35 weeks

N/A

Make-up (245 hours) (35 hour 
schedule)

122 actual 
hours and 4 

weeks

N/A N/A N/A

Cosmetology/Barbering (20 
hour schedule)

450 actual 
hours and 23 

weeks

900 actual 
hours and 45 

weeks

1350 actual 
hours and 
68 weeks

N/A

Cosmetology/Barbering (35 
hour schedule)

450 actual 
hours and 13 

weeks

900 actual 
hours and 26 

weeks

1350 actual 
hours and 
39 weeks

N/A

The first evaluation will occur no later than the midpoint of the academic year . The SAP evaluations are 
printed within 7 days of the student  reaching the evaluation points .

The following grading system is used to evaluate a student’s academic ability:

q  Examinations are given in all subjects . 
w  Satisfactory Academic Progress Evaluations are reviewed and signed by the student and maintained 

in the student’s financial file . The Satisfactory Academic Progress Evaluation will reflect if the student’s 
evaluation will impact the students eligibility for Financial Aid . The student may request to review 
their financial aid file from the Financial Aid Leader or Director .

The following grading scale is used for theory progress:

A = 90 – 100%            B = 80 – 89%             C = 75 – 79%            Failing = Below 75% 

Practical and clinical work is graded by a signature on the student’s practical clinic worksheet or guest 
ticket . A signature from an instructor represents a passing grade which means all elements of the 
practical grading criteria were met . No signature indicates a failing score which means one or more of 
the practical grading criteria elements were not met and the student has not met minimum satisfactory 
standards on the practical application . Students are required to continue and/or repeat the practical 
application until they receive a signature from an instructor .
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The student’s attendance will be evaluated at Institutional Attendance checkpoints at the completion 
of each calendar month . A student who is not maintaining at least a 80% attendance will be placed 
on Institutional Attendance Warning status until the next Institutional Attendance checkpoint .  The 
student will be advised in writing on the actions required to attain Institutional Attendance by the next 
evaluation .  If at the end of the Institutional Attendance warning period, the student has still not met 
attendance requirements, he/she may be dropped from the program with the right to appeal .

*The school uses a 900-hour academic year for Title IV purposes.

TRANSFER HOURS

Transfer hours accepted by the school are applied to the total number of hours necessary to complete the 
program and are considered both attempted and completed hours for the purpose of determining when 
the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted . Satisfactory Academic Progress evaluation 
periods are based on actual contracted hours at the institution .

DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS

Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation point are 
considered to be making satisfactory progress until the next scheduled evaluation .  

WARNING
Students failing to meet minimum requirements for attendance and/or academic progress will be 
placed on Financial Aid Warning and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress during the 
warning period which is until the next evaluation period . The student will be advised in writing on the 
actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation . During the Financial 
Aid Warning period, students are eligible, if applicable, to receive financial aid funds . If at the end of the 
warning period, the student has still not met both academic and/or attendance requirements, he/she 
may be placed on probation and, if applicable, the student may be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV 
funds .

PROBATION

Students who fail to meet the minimum requirements for attendance and academic progress after the 
Warning period, the student will be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory 
academic progress while during the probationary period, if the student appeals the decision, and 
prevails upon appeal . 

Additionally, only students who have the ability to meet satisfactory academic progress policy standards 
by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation .  Students placed on an academic plan 
must be able to meet requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the next evaluation 
period or the institution develops an academic plan for the student that, if followed, will ensure that the 
student is able to meet the institution’s satisfactory academic progress requirements by a specific point 
within the maximum time frame established for the individual student . Students who are progressing 
according to their specific academic plan will be considered making satisfactory academic progress .  
The student will be advised in writing of the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress 
by the next evaluation .  If at the end of the probationary period, the student has still not met both the 
attendance and academic requirements required for satisfactory academic progress or set forth by the 
academic plan, the student will be determined as NOT making satisfactory academic progress, and if 
applicable, the student will not be deemed eligible to receive Title IV funds .

RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS for those who qualify

Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV funding, as applicable, by meeting 
the minimum attendance and academic requirements by the end of the warning or probationary period .
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APPEAL PROCEDURE

A student may appeal the Financial Aid ineligible decision if he/she has a reason for not making 
satisfactory progress and if he/she can document that the circumstances that caused the unsatisfactory 
academic progress determination have in some way changed and that satisfactory academic progress 
standard can be met by the end of the next evaluation period .  A student has five (5) calendar days 
from the date of notification that they are not meeting the second consecutive satisfactory progress 
determination to appeal the unsatisfactory academic progress determination . The student must submit 
a written appeal to the school’s financial aid office on the designated schools Appeal Form describing 
why they failed to meet satisfactory academic progress standards, along with supporting documentation 
of the reasons why the determination should be reversed .  This information should include what has 
changed about the student’s situation that will allow them to achieve satisfactory academic progress by 
the next evaluation point .  
The reasons for which a student may appeal a negative progress determination include death of 
a relative, an injury or illness of the student, a student’s disability, or any other allowable special or 
mitigating circumstances .

The Appeal documents will be reviewed and a decision will be made and reported to the student within 
30 calendar days .  The appeal and decision documents will be retained in the student’s file .  If the student 
prevails upon appeal, the satisfactory academic progress determination will be reversed and federal 
financial aid will be reinstated, if applicable .

If the appeal is granted the student will be placed on Financial Aid Probation for one evaluation period .  
If the student has not met academic and/or attendance requirements for two (2) consecutive evaluation 
periods, for example 450 to 900 actual hours evaluations; and does not prevail on appeal, the student 
will be determined as not making satisfactory progress and may be terminated .

This policy applies to all students regardless of whether or not they are eligible for Title IV funding 
programs . In order to comply with USDE requirements the terminology financial aid warning or financial 
aid probation will be used for both Title IV and non-Title IV students .
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TERMINATION APPEAL PROCEDURE

If a student is terminated due to receiving the maximum amount of coaching sessions, or due to 
the reasons outlined under termination on the Student Advisory Form, the student may appeal the 
termination decision .  A student has five (5) calendar days from the date of termination to appeal the 
decision .  The student must submit a written appeal to the school’s Future Professional Advisor on the 
schools Termination Appeal Form describing why they were terminated, along with supporting 
documentation of the reasons why the determination should be reversed .  This information should 
include what has changed about the student’s situation that will allow them to continue through the 
program without incident .

An appeal hearing will take place within 15 business days of receipt of the written appeal . This hearing 
will be attended by the student, parent/guardian (if the student is a dependent minor), the student’s 
learning leader, the future professional advisor, and the school director . A decision on the student’s 
appeal will be made within three (3) business days by the director of education and will be 
communicated to the student in writing . This decision will be final .

If a student is terminated for gross misconduct, which includes but is not limited to reporting to school 
under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs, cheating, stealing, insubordination, threats, and/or 
bullying, such termination is final and may not be appealed .

LIST OF LIBRARY REFERENCE MATERIALS

23 Cutting and Coloring DVDs / Paul Mitchell Product Guide Workbook / Color System DVD Box Set / Color 
System Skill Cards / Cutting System DVD Box Set / Cutting System Book / MASTERS CDs 

The student’s can check out library materials through a Learning Leader . The students can also access 
library materials through Paul Mitchell Plugged In .
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STUDENT RIGHT OF ACCESS AND RECORD RETENTION POLICY

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) sets a limit on the disclosure of personally 
identifiable information from school records and defines the rights of students to review and request 
changes to the records . FERPA generally gives postsecondary students the rights to: 

q Review their education records, 
w Seek to amend inaccurate information in their records, and 
e Provide consent for the disclosure of their records .

Students and parents / guardians of dependent minors are guaranteed access to their school records, 
with a staff member present, within 30 days from the date of the request . Copies of all records can be 
requested at $0 .20 per page . 

General Release of Information

Except under the special conditions described in this policy, a student must provide written consent  
before the school may disclose personally identifiable information from the student’s education records . 
The written consent must:

q State the purpose of the disclosure,
w Specify the records that may be disclosed, 
e Identify the party or class of parties to whom the disclosure may be made, and 
r Be signed and dated .

FERPA Disclosures to Parents 

While the rights under FERPA have transferred from a student’s parents to the student when the student 
attends a postsecondary institution, FERPA does permit a school to disclose a student’s education records 
to his or her parents if the student is a dependent student under IRS rules . 

Note that the IRS definition of a dependent is quite different from that of a dependent student for 
Financial Student Aid (FSA) purposes . For IRS purposes, students are dependent if they are listed as 
dependents on their parent’s income tax returns . (If the student is a dependent as defined by the IRS, 
disclosure may be made to either parent, regardless of which parent claims the student as a dependent .)

A school may disclose information from a student’s education records to parents in the case of a health or 
safety emergency that involves the student, without needing the student’s consent . 

A school may let parents of students under age 21 know when the student has violated any law or policy 
concerning the use or possession of alcohol or a controlled substance . 

A school official may share with parents information that is based on that official’s personal knowledge or 
observation and that is not based on information contained in an education record .

Release of Information to Regulatory Agencies

Disclosures may be made to authorized representatives of the U .S . Department of Education for 
audit, evaluation, and enforcement purposes . “Authorized representatives” include employees of the 
Department, such as employees of the Office of Federal Student Aid, the Office of Postsecondary 
Education, the Office for Civil Rights, and the National Center for Education Statistics, as well as firms 
under contract to the Department to perform certain administrative functions or studies .

In addition, disclosure may be made if it is in connection with financial aid that the student has received 
or applied for . Such a disclosure may only be made if the student’s information is needed to determine 
the amount of the aid, the conditions for the aid, or the student’s eligibility for the aid, or to enforce the 
terms or conditions of the aid . 
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Paul Mitchell The School San Diego provides and permits access to student and other school records as 
required for any accreditation process initiated by the school or by the National Accrediting Commission 
of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS), or in response to a directive of said Commission . 

Disclosures in Response to Subpoenas or Court Orders 

FERPA permits schools to disclose education records, without the student’s consent, to comply with a 
lawfully issued subpoena or court order .

 In most cases, the school must make a reasonable effort to notify the student who is the subject of the 
subpoena or court order before complying, so the student may seek protective action . However, the 
school does not have to notify the student if the court or issuing agency has prohibited such disclosure . 

The school may also disclose information from education records, without the consent or knowledge of 
the student, to representatives of the U .S . Department of Justice in response to an ex parte order issued in 
connection with the investigation of crimes of terrorism .

Disclosures for Other Reasons

There are two FERPA provisions concerning the release of records relating to a crime of violence . One 
concerns the release to the victim of any outcome involving an alleged crime of violence (34 CFR 34 
CFR 99 .31[a][13]) . A separate provision permits a school to disclose to anyone the final results of any 
disciplinary hearing against an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence where that student was found in 
violation of the school’s rules or policies with respect to such crime or offense (34 CFR 99 .31[a][14]) .

Directory Information

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does not publish “directory information” on any student . 

Record Maintenance 

All requests for releases of information are maintained in the student’s file as long as the educational 
records themselves are kept . Student records are maintained for a minimum of six (6) years for withdrawal 
students; transcripts of graduates are kept indefinitely . The student may contract the schools Financial Aid 
Leader or Director for copies of their educational and financial records. 

Amendment to Student Records

Students have the right to seek an amendment to their school records . To seek an amendment, students 
must meet with the school director and bring any supporting documentation to show that the record is 
incorrect . 

A parent or eligible student may file a written complaint with the Family Policy Compliance Office 
regarding an alleged violation under the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act . The Office’s 
address is: Family Policy Compliance Office, U .S . Department of Education, 400 Maryland Avenue, SW ., 
Washington, DC 20202 .
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PERFORMANCE STATISTICS/JOB OUTLOOK 

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego is accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career 
Arts and Sciences (NACCAS) and recognized by the U .S . Department of Education .  Each agency 
requires schools to provide important information regarding outcome rates in the areas of completion, 
placement, and licensure; however, each agency requires that we provide outcome rates differently .  
NACCAS requires schools to list the outcome rates for the main campus and all additional campuses 
as a whole .  In this case, Paul Mitchell The School San Diego is a branch campus, the outcome rates 
provided are for all schools under this structure .  NACCAS requires schools to list the outcome rates also 
by program . The U .S . Department of Education, requires outcome rates be provided based upon this 
individual location which is listed below . Outcome rates have also been provided for the individual school 
you are interested in attending .  If you have any questions regarding our outcome rates, please see our 
Admissions Team for assistance .

NACCAS—Paul Mitchell The School San Diego combined performance statistics for the calendar year 
2019:

Graduation Placement Licensure
65.20% 67.68% 95.62%

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego performance statistics for the calendar year 2019:

Graduation Placement Licensure
67.01% 66.41% 99.03%

Cosmetology Program:

Graduation Placement Licensure
68.51% 60.81% 100%

Cosmetology Makeup Program:

Graduation Placement Licensure
54.55% 70% 100%

Barbering Program:

Graduation Placement Licensure
78.57% 95.45% 95%

Makeup Program:

Graduation Placement Licensure
100% 0% N/A

NACCAS’ 2019  Annual Report is derived from a single cohort of students – those scheduled to graduate in 
2019 . NACCAS’ graduation, placement and licensure definitions are described below:

Graduation: Based on all students scheduled to graduate from the program in 2019 . The scheduled 
graduation date is a student’s most recent contract end date (i .e ., the contract end date after all leaves 
of absence, schedule changes and re-enrollments have been accounted for) . A student may count as a 
graduate if they have completed all applicable graduation requirements at the institution .

Licensure: Based on graduates from the graduation cohort who sat for all parts of their required licensure 
exam prior to November 30, 2020 . A student in the licensure cohort may count as a “pass” if they pass all 
required portions of the examination prior to November 30, 2020 . 
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Placement: Based on graduates from the graduation cohort who are eligible for placement . A student may 
count as placed if they are employed in a field for which their training prepared them prior to November 30, 
2020 .  Students may be excluded from the calculation if they fall into one of the categories listed .  In 2019, 
the school excluded the following number of students* based on each of the following categories: 

q	The graduate is deceased  0

w	The graduate is permanently disabled  0

e	The graduate is deployed for military service/duty  0

r	 The graduate studied under a student visa and is ineligible for employment in the U .S .   0

t	The graduate continued his/her education at an institution under the same ownership (e .g ., a graduate 
      of your cosmetology program subsequently enrolled in the instructor program of an institution under 
      the same ownership) 2

       Total Excluded 2

*If fewer than ten students were excluded for any one category, the disclosure will only include the total of 
all excluded students if that total is at least ten . If the calculation excluded fewer than a total of ten students 
the institution will state that it excluded students on the basis of each condition, and note that the number 
of total exclusions were fewer than 10 and therefore cannot be disclosed .

BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION RATES

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego Cosmetology performance statistics for the calendar year 2019:

Completion Placement Licensure
47% 47% 100%

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego Cosmetology Make-up performance statistics for the calendar year 
2019:

Completion Placement Licensure
53% 60% 100%

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego Make-up performance statistics for the calendar year 2019:

Completion Placement Licensure
100% 0% N/A

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego Barbering performance statistics for the calendar year 2019:

Completion Placement Licensure
59% 82% 100%

Completion rates are based on the number of students who began the program who are scheduled to 
complete the program within 100% of the published program length within the  reporting calendar 
year, and excludes all the students who cancelled during the cancellation period .
Because of the change in the Bureau's reporting regulations, which became effective on July 14, 2016, 
this institution was not required to collect the data for its 2015 and prior graduates."
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STUDENTS RIGHT-TO-KNOW - COMBINED DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION RATES (IPEDS) 

2016 Graduation
64%

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego must prepare the completion and graduation rate of its certificate- or 
degree-seeking, first-time, full-time undergraduate students each year . The rates will track the outcomes 
for students for whom 150% of the normal time for completion or graduation has elapsed . Normal time 
is the amount of time necessary for a student to complete all requirements for a degree or certificate 
according to the institution’s catalog .  These rates are generated from  the school student record 
management system . 
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30 DAY ATTENDANCE POLICY GUIDELINES FOR ALL PROGRAMS

q  If a Future Professional misses any time, it is his or her responsibility to arrange with the
        Learning Leader to receive the handouts, notes, assignments, etc . A Future Professional must 
        maintain 90 percent attendance while enrolled in the program . After 30 days of enrollment, if the
        student progress report does not reflect the required attendance average, the Future Professional 
        may be dropped from the program and asked to re-enroll in the next class start .

w If a Future Professional misses any of the cutting days wherein all instruction is given to complete
        the haircuts taught in Core, it is the responsibility of the Future Professional to arrange a make-up 
        date with the Core Specialist .

e If a Future Professional misses any of the practical testing days wherein all instruction is given to 
        complete the model application in the Make Up Program, it is the responsibility of the Future 
        Professional to arrange a make-up date with the Make Up Specialist .

r  The Future Professional must provide one practical exam model and one male haircut model during
         his or her Core training . These models are scheduled at the end of the Core program and used for the
         purpose of testing out of the Core class . The Future Professional will be informed on his or her first 
         day of Core of the date for these models .

t  The Future Professional must provide four practical exam model his or her Make Up Program training .
         These models are scheduled at the end of Fundamentals, Editorial, Masters, and at the end of the 
         Make Up Program and used for the purpose of testing out of the Make Up Program . The Future 
         Professional will be informed on his or her first day of the Make Up Program of the date for these 
         models .

y  If the Future Professional fails to pass the practical exam on the second attempt, he or she may be
        withdrawn from the school and asked to re-enroll in the next class start .

u In order to graduate from the Core program and move to the Protégé program, the Future
        Professional must complete the Core Cosmetology/Barbering Worksheet with a 100-percent grade,
        pass the Core written exam, complete all haircuts, and pass the Core practical exam . Once the
        Future Professional completes the Core program, he or she becomes a Protégé Future Professional .
        The Future Professional must complete the Protégé worksheet before becoming an Adaptive Future
        Professional .

i In order to graduate from the Make Up Program and move to the Core program, the Future
        Professional must complete the Make Up Program Worksheet with a 100-percent grade,
        pass the Fundamental, Editorial, Masters, and Final written exams and pass the  Fundamental, 
        Editorial, Masters, and Final Practical exams . Once the Future Professional completes the Make Up 
        Program, he or she becomes a Core Future Professional . The Future Professional must complete the 
        Core and Protégé programs before becoming an Adaptive Future Professional .

o A Core evaluation and interview with the Core Specialist will conclude the Core program . The Future
        Professional’s locker will be cleaned out (if applicable) and his or her kit will be thoroughly sanitized
        and disinfected .

a A Make Up Program evaluation and interview with the Make Up Specialist will conclude the Make Up
        program . The Future Professional’s locker will be cleaned out (if applicable) and his or her kit will be 
        thoroughly sanitized and disinfected .
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STUDENT PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT GUIDELINES

All students must commit to and follow the Student Professional Development Guidelines during their 
enrollment at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . These guidelines were established to assist in creating 
a safe, focused, and enjoyable learning experience .

Attendance and Documentation of Time

q  The school records attendance in clock hours and gives appropriate attendance credit for all hours 
attended . The school does not add or deduct attendance hours as a penalty . Attendance is calculated 
using a computerized time clock and does not round hours . In order to ensure proper clock hours 
are credited, full-time students are required to clock in/out 4 times a day: when they arrive to school, 
when they leave for lunch, when they return from lunch, and when they leave at the end of the day . 
Part time students are required to clock in/out 2 times a day: when they arrive to school and when 
they leave at the end of the day . If a student fails to clock in or out for their schedule on the student 
time clock, the student will not receive hours .  If the student wishes to dispute any hours they feel 
earned, the student must provide documentation to verify attendance on the missing time form .  The 
documentation would include the student sign in sheet, the specialty class attendance role, and/or 
the guest service summary .

w  The school is open from 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM for day students and 5:00 PM to 10:00 PM for night 
students . 

e  All courses require continuous attendance .

r  The prescribed attendance schedule must be maintained each week . Alternate schedules are 
available to those students who qualify . 

t Night students may not miss Mondays; day students may not miss Saturdays . 

y Students must be on time, as tardiness inhibits the learning process . Students who are late for theory,   
   a specialty class or a guest artist class may attend the class, but must be accompanied into the   
  classroom by a learning leader . Students are never excused from mandatory theory class to work in   
  the clinic classroom .

u  During the enrollment contract period, Applicant must maintain a 90% attendance average each 
month in order to complete the program within the Scheduled program length . The Applicant 
is allowed to miss 10% of his or her scheduled hours before having to pay extra instructional 
charges . The Applicant may use the allowed 10% of his/her scheduled hours for vacation, doctor 
appointments, illness, etc . If the Applicant must attend additional Program hours beyond his/
her maximum Scheduled Program  length due to attendance problems or to complete academic 
graduation requirements, the applicant will be charged an additional $15 .00 for each hour scheduled 
to complete after the Scheduled Program length is reached .  

        **Refer to the school enrollment contract for the Enrollment Contract Period definition.
              Please note that if a student misses more than 14 consecutive calendar days, the student  may 
              be  terminated from the program.

i  Students attend Core the first 6 weeks (210 clock hours) of enrollment .  During this time the student 
must maintain a monthly attendance of 90% .  If at the conclusion of the month, the student’s 
progress report is not 90% attendance, the student may be dropped from the program and asked to 
re-enroll in the next class start date .

o  Students who are late or cannot attend school must contact the school and talk to the school service 
desk immediately . Day students must call in by 9:00 AM; night students must call in by 1:30 PM . 

a  Students must request time off from school from the Education Leader .
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s  Full Students are required to be in attendance a minimum of seven (7) hours per day, 35 hours per 
week for the full-time schedule; 20 or 25 hours per week for part-time students . Holidays such as 
Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Day will be set according to the calendar each year . Students 
cannot bank hours and attend over 35 hours per week to make up for missing hours . If a student will 
miss hours during the week, arrangements must be made with the Learning Leader Advisor to make 
up those hours within the same week, or the hours missed will count against the hours allowed to 
miss and overtime charges can occur . 

d  Lunches and breaks are scheduled for all students . Day students will take 30 minutes for lunch 
between 12:00 noon and 1:30 PM, if possible, according to their booking . Students should 
communicate with their instructor if they have not had lunch by 1:30 PM .

Observe the appropriate breaks for your school schedule. Breaks are as follows:

Student Schedule Breaks Lunch
8 or 7 1/2 hr/day 10 min . in the morning & 10 min in the afternoon 30 mim .

6 hr/day 10 min . in the morning & 10 min in the afternoon n/a
5 hr/day  10 min . in the mid-point of schedule n/a

4 hr/day  10 min . in the mid-point of schedule n/a

f  Documentation of time: Students may not leave the school premises during regular hours without an 
instructor’s permission . 

 a .   Students who leave school premises for more than 10 minutes or those who leave early must 
document their time by clocking out on the time clock, signing the sign-out sheet, and having an 
instructor book them out . 

 b .   Students who leave school premises for less than 10 minutes must sign the sign-out sheet . 
 c .  Day students must clock out on the time clock for lunch for 30 minutes every day . Students will 

not receive credit for the hour if they fail to clock in/out for lunch .

g Students may not clock in or out for another student . 

h  Students must keep a record of all services each day on the “service tracking sheet,” which must be 
completed daily and turned in every month .



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL SAN DIEGO CATALOG  67

Professional Image: All Cosmetology Future Professionals must adhere to the following professional 
dress code while in attendance:

q  Clothing should be professional and clean .

w  Shoes should be black, professional, practical, and comfortable .

e  Hair should be styled prior to arriving at the school .

r  Any cosmetics should be applied prior to arriving at the school .

t	Jeans, any rips or tears must fall below the fingertips, when standing up - BLACK only.

y	Stylish hats, scarves, and stylish head wraps - BLACK only.

u	Shorts and/or skirts that fall below the fingertips .

i	Skirts or Dresses in All BLACK . Black tights or leggings must be worn if the skirt or dress falls above 
      the knee .

o	Sweatshirts, printed T-shirts, hooded sweatshirts and/or jackets with the Paul Mitchell logo . 

a	Paul Mitchell Logo T-Shirt .

s	Name tag .
All Barbering Future Professionals must adhere to the following professional dress code while in 
attendance in All BLACK.

q  Optional, but recommended: Straight Tie or Bow - Black, Grey, Yellow or Red .

w  Optional, but recommended: Button down shirt .

e  Accessories may include: Belt, Arm-Garter, Suspenders, Socks or Shoes - must be in Black, Grey, 
      Yellow or Red . 

r	Jeans, any rips or tears must fall below the fingertips, when standing up - BLACK only.

t	Barber Smocks are optional - BLACK only.

y	 Fedoras, Flat Hats, Ascot Caps, Scarves or Stylish Head Wraps may be worn - BLACK only.

u	Shorts and/or skirts that fall below the fingertips .

i	Skirts or Dresses in All BLACK . Black tights or leggings must be worn if the skirt or dress falls above 
      the knee .

o	Paul Mitchell Logo T-Shirt .

a	 Name tag .
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The following is a list of unacceptable dress for all Cosmetology and Barbering Future Professionals 
in attendance:

            a .  Gym Shoes, Foot Thongs, Crocs, Uggs & Beach Sandals . 
            b .  Low cut tops, backless tops, crops tops, tank tops, spaghetti strap tops . 
            c .  Sweatpants or Legging as pants . 
            d .  Sweatshirts or hoodies, other than those with the Paul Mitchell logo .
            e .  Shorts or skirts that fall above fingertips, when standing up .
            f .   Baseball hats, Visors, Bandanas, caps, or beanies .
            g .  Spandex or biking shorts .
            h .  Sunglasses, headphones, headgear, and/or earphones are not permitted in the classroom or
                  the clinic classroom .  
             i .  Any print on shirts or pants other than Paul Mitchell.

Future Professionals who fail to comply with the Future Professional dress code may be coached 
and may receive an advisory.
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Sanitation and Personal Services 

q  Future Professionals must keep workstations and classroom areas clean, sanitary, and clutter-free at 
all times .

w Future Professionals must clean their stations in the clinic classroom, including the floor, after each
        service . 

e Hair must be swept up immediately after a service is completed, before blow-drying . 

r Clinic stations must be cleaned at the end of the day, prior to clocking out for the day .

t  Future Professionals may receive services on Tuesday through Thursday . To receive a service, students 
must do the following prior to starting the service:

 a . Notify a Learning Leader .
 b . Be scheduled off the service books by a Learning Leader .
 c .  Pay for service supplies including perms, color, lightener, rinses, conditioning, treatments, 

manicures, nails, etc . 
 d .  Personal services are considered rewards and scheduled for Future Professionals who are up to 

date with all practicals, exams, and clinic practical worksheets . School assignments and successful 
learning are the priority .

Communication Guidelines and Professional Conduct 

q  Visitors are allowed in the service reception area only . Visitors are not allowed in the classrooms, 
student lounge, or clinic classroom area .

w  Only emergency calls are permitted on the business phone . Students may use the student phones for 
a limited time . Please keep your calls to three (3) minutes or less .

e Cell phones are permitted in assigned areas of the school .

r Future Professionals  may not visit with another Future Professional who is servicing a service guest .

t  Future Professionals  may not gather around the service desk, service reception area, or offices . 

y  Food, drinks, and water bottles are allowed only in the lunchroom .

u The school is a smoke-free campus .

i  Stealing or taking school property or another’s personal property is unacceptable and grounds for 
termination .

o  School administration has the right to access and inspect a Future Professionals locker at any time, 
refer to the locker policy .
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Learning Participation Guidelines

q	  Peer teaching and tutoring are encouraged . Taking credit for another’s work or cheating during 
exams is unacceptable and is grounds for termination .

w		Future Professionals  will be expected to maintain an average of 75% on all theory tests and 
        assignments .
e	 Future Professionals  may not be released from required theory class to take a client .
r	 Only service desk personnel may schedule or change client service appointments .
t	 All services must be checked and the service ticket initialed by a Learning Leader .
y	  Future Professionals  are expected to be continuously working on school-related projects, 

assignments, clinic practical worksheets, reading theory, or test preparation during school hours . 
u	 Future Professionals will receive clock hours during the times they fully participate in their learning
        experience .
i	  When Future Professionals are not scheduled with service appointments or are not scheduled to 

attend theory or a specialty class, they may focus on the following:
 a . Completion of clinic practical worksheets
 b . Completion of theory review worksheets
 c . Performing a service on another Future Professional
 d .  Listening to or reading school resource center materials, including educational videos, 

audiotapes, and books
o	  Future Professionals must comply with school personnel and Learning Leader’s assignments and 

requests as required by the curriculum and Future Professional guidelines and rules .
a	  Future Professionals may not perform hair, skin, barber or nail services outside of school unless 

authorized to do so by school administration . Conducting unauthorized hair, skin, barber or nail 
services outside of school will be reported to the state board and may result in your inability to 
receive a professional license . 

s	  Future Professionals are responsible for their own kit and equipment and may use a clinic station 
drawer only while working at that clinic station . All kit, equipment, tools, and personal items must be 
secured in the Future Professionals assigned locker . The school is not responsible for any lost or stolen 
articles .

d	 Parking is allowed in assigned parking areas only or cars may be towed at the owner’s expense .
f	  All clinic practical worksheets are due on the assigned day of each month by the end of the school 

day .
g	  If a Future Professional fails to complete a worksheet 100%, the Future Professional will be placed on 

the Back on Track list and will remain on the list until the following month .
h	   If a Future Professionals fails to pass the Core written and/or practical exam on their second attempt, 

they may be asked to withdraw from the program and re-start in the next Core class start date .

j	 Theory Class: The school requires a Future Professional to complete all theory hours as part of their   
        graduation requirements . Refer to the graduation requirements .
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LOCKER POLICY

Purpose — Paul Mitchell The School San Diego makes lockers available to students to facilitate the daily 
storage of their learning materials and items related to their studies . Paul Mitchell The School manages 
lockers to ensure responsible use of property and for the health and safety of individuals .

Agreement — Paul Mitchell The School San Diego establishes rules, guidelines and procedures to ensure 
responsible use and to control the contents of its lockers . By utilizing Paul Mitchell The School San 
Diego’s lockers, students acknowledge and agree that locker use is a privilege and subject to immediate 
termination without notice and to such rules, guidelines and procedures established by Paul Mitchell The 
School San Diego from time to time, at its discretion .

Guidelines
q  Lockers will be issued to all students during Core . A locker number will be provided during Core . 

Assigned lockers may not be traded or changed unless approved by the school’s administration . 
w  Locker assignments are valid from the beginning of enrollment until the day of graduation or 

withdrawal . At that time, all locker contents must be removed . After that time, any lockers that 
have not yet been vacated will be emptied, and the contents stored for 60 days, at which time they 
become the property of the school .

e  Lockers are for individual use only and are not to be shared . Locker content is the sole responsibility 
of the registered occupant of the locker . To reduce the risk of theft, students are encouraged to keep 
their lockers locked . Students should not store money, wallets, jewelry, credit or debit cards, or any 
other personal item of high value .

r  Paul Mitchell The School San Diego is not in any way responsible for a locker’s contents or liable 
for the loss of or damage to items stored in lockers . Students are required to maintain their locker’s 
interior and exterior in a clean, neat and undamaged condition . Marking, defacing or graffiti on 
lockers is not acceptable .

t  No person shall store in a locker: weapons of any kind, explosives, prohibited drugs, illegal or illicit 
items or substances or other items deemed by Paul Mitchell The School San Diego to be harmful, 
offensive or inappropriate .

y  Paul Mitchell The School San Diego may in its sole discretion carry out or authorize searches/
inspections for any reason . The following is a partial listing of examples of when Paul Mitchell The 
School San Diego will exercise its discretion without notice:

 a . Locker abandonment .
 b .  Suspected contents that may be illegal, illicit or deemed by the school to be harmful, offensive or 

inappropriate .
 c . At the request of or generally in cooperation with law enforcement authorities .
 d . Investigative purposes related to suspected or alleged criminal, illegal, or inappropriate activities .
 e . Risk to the general good of the school .
 f . Risk to the general good of the student or student population .
 g . Unregistered locker .
 h . Physical damage to or defacing of the locker .
 i . Odors (spoiled/rancid food, garbage or smelly contents) .
 j . Locker maintenance .
u  Paul Mitchell The School San Diego works with the local law enforcement authorities and maintains 

the right in the school’s sole discretion to allow law enforcement to carry out specific and random 
searches/inspections of locker contents . Such searches/inspections may be carried out with or 
without notice to or in the presence of the locker’s occupant . Such police activity may include but 
is not limited to: random drug or weapon searches of lockers, backpacks, book bags, brief cases, 
containers, jackets and winter coats .
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COACHING AND CORRECTIVE ACTION

Part of your learning experience includes fine-tuning and mastering the skills and behaviors of a salon 
professional . The school team will coach all students to correct non-compliant or destructive behavior . 

The following actions may be inspected for noncompliance:

q  Attendance and Documentation of Time Guidelines: Attendance, promptness, and 
documentation of work are cornerstones of successful work practices . Students may be clocked out, 
released for the day, or suspended when they do not comply with guidelines . 

w  Professional Image Standards: Professional image standards were created to provide guidance and 
direction to students as they develop their professional image and persona . Students may be clocked 
out and released for the day when they do not meet professional image standards . 

e  Sanitation and Personal Service Procedures: Sanitation and personal service procedures have 
been established to comply with state laws and to provide a safe and clean service environment . 
Students may be clocked out and released for the day when they do not follow sanitation and 
personal service procedures .

r  Communication Guidelines and Professional Conduct: It is the school’s responsibility to provide a 
learning environment that is professional, positive, and conducive to learning . Staff and students all 
contribute to a mutually respectful learning environment that fosters effective communication and 
professional conduct . Students who fail to follow communication guidelines and who do not conduct 
themselves in a respectful and professional manner may experience suspension or termination . 

t  Learning Participation Guidelines: The learning participation guidelines have been established to 
provide a creative, fun, interactive, and collaborative learning environment that empowers students 
to act as “future salon professionals” and committed learners . Positive behavior is required to create a 
mutually beneficial learning environment for all students . Students who fail to meet the guidelines and 
create challenges for other students or staff may be released from school, suspended, or terminated .

Corrective Action Steps
Once a student has received five (5) coaching sessions, the student may be suspended from school for five 
(5) days . Suspended students may only be readmitted to school upon paying the administrative termination 
fee . If a student receives two (2) more coaching sessions after readmission from a five (5) day suspension, 
the student’s attendance may be permanently terminated .  A student may be terminated without prior 
coaching sessions for improper and/ or immoral conduct .  Refer to the school Future Professional Advisory .
When monitoring students for unofficial withdrawals, the school is required  to count any days that a student 
was out of school on suspension as a part of the 14 consecutive days of non-attendance used to determine 
whether the student will be returning to school. 

We believe in providing a quality environment with an exceptional educational program . This framework 
gives everyone the opportunity to enjoy the experience! The entire staff appreciates the students’ respect 
of these guidelines .
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POLICIES AND PROCEDURES FOR STUDENTS WITH DISABILITIES

q Accommodation Procedures for Students with Disabilities
w Grievance Procedures for Students who have Complaints on the Basis of Disability

          ************

q Accommodation Procedures for Students with Disabilities

Non-Discrimination Policy — It is the policy of Paul Mitchell The School San Diego to comply with 
Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act which are Federal laws 
that prohibit discrimination on the basis of disability .  Paul Mitchell The School San Diego does not 
discriminate on the basis of disability against a qualified person with a disability in regard to application, 
acceptance, grading, advancement, training, discipline, graduation, or any other aspect related to a 
student’s participation in a program of Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . This applies to all students 
and applicants for admission to The School . Paul Mitchell The School San Diego will provide reasonable 
accommodations to students with disabilities . 

Definition of an Individual with a Disability — An individual with a disability is a person who has 
a physical or mental impairment which substantially limits one or more major life activities of the 
individual . These persons are protected by Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with 
Disabilities Act (ADA) . Individuals with a record of such an impairment and individuals who are regarded 
as having such an impairment are also protected by these Federal laws . The definition of “disability” in 
Section 504 and the ADA should be interpreted to allow for broad coverage .

The phrase physical impairment means a physiological disorder or condition, a cosmetic disfigurement, or 
an anatomical loss, that affects one or more of the following body systems: neurological; musculoskeletal; 
special sense organs (which would include speech organs that are not respiratory such as vocal cords, 
soft palate, tongue, etc .); respiratory, including speech organs; cardiovascular; reproductive; digestive; 
genitourinary; hemic and lymphatic; skin; and endocrine . Examples include, but are not limited to, 
orthopedic, visual, speech, and hearing impairments, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, muscular dystrophy, 
multiple sclerosis, cancer, heart disease, diabetes, HIV disease (symptomatic or asymptomatic), 
tuberculosis, drug addiction, and alcoholism . 

The phrase mental impairment means any mental or psychological disorder, including but not limited 
to, mental retardation, organic brain syndrome, emotional or mental illness, specific learning disabilities, 
post-traumatic stress disorder, depression and bi-polar disorder . The phrase substantially limits must 
be interpreted without regard to the ameliorative effects of mitigating measures, other than ordinary 
eyeglasses or contact lenses . Mitigating measures are things like medications, prosthetic devices, 
assistive devices, or learned behavioral or adaptive neurological modifications that an individual may 
use to eliminate or reduce the effects of an impairment . These measures cannot be considered when 
determining whether a person has a substantially limiting impairment . An impairment that is episodic or 
in remission is a disability if, when in an active phase, it would substantially limit a major life activity . For 
example, a student with bipolar disorder would be covered if, during manic or depressive episodes, the 
student is substantially limited in a major life activity (e .g ., thinking, concentrating, neurological function, 
or brain function) . 

The phrase major life activities means functions such as caring for one´s self, performing manual tasks, 
seeing, hearing, eating, sleeping, walking, standing, lifting, bending, speaking, breathing, learning, 
reading, concentrating, thinking, communicating and working . Major life activities also includes major 
bodily functions such as functions of the immune system, normal cell growth, and digestive, bowel, 
bladder, neurological, brain, respiratory, circulatory, endocrine, and reproductive functions .
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The School’s Responsibilities to Students with Disabilities

The School must provide academic adjustments, auxiliary aids and reasonable accommodations to 
students with disabilities, that are necessary to ensure students are not denied the benefits of, or 
excluded from participation in, The School’s program . The School must make modifications to its 
academic requirements that are necessary to ensure that the requirements do not discriminate against 
students with disabilities . The School must ensure that it provides physical access to students with 
disabilities . It is also the responsibility of Paul Mitchell The School San Diego to permit students with 
disabilities to use service dogs on each campus .

The person responsible for implementing these responsibilities at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego 
Campus is: Joyce Cooper; ADA Compliance Coordinator; 410 A Street, Sn Diego, CA 92101; (619) 398-
1590; joycec@sandiego.paulmitchell.edu .  

When a student informs a School staff member that the student is disabled, or needs accommodations 
or assistance due to disability, the staff member will refer the Student to The School’s ADA Compliance 
Coordinator . 

Procedures for Students and The School

Documentation of disability by students — Students with disabilities who wish to request reasonable 
accommodations (including academic adjustments, auxiliary aids, or modifications) must contact the 
ADA Compliance Coordinator named above for their campus . Students must provide documentation of 
disability from an appropriate professional, which depends on the nature of the disability . For example, a 
student with a psychological disability should provide documentation from a psychologist, psychiatrist or 
social worker . The documentation submitted must be within the last 12 months, if older than 12 months 
the student must provide current documentation from the appropriate professional .

This documentation may be the student’s existing medical records, or reports created by the student’s 
medical provider or an appropriate professional who conducts an assessment of the student . It may 
be documentation from the student’s past educational records such as reports from teachers or school 
psychologists, or records that show the student’s educational history, disability assessment, and the 
accommodations the student previously received . It may be records from the state department of 
rehabilitation or the U .S . Department of Veterans Affairs . Documentation should be current and relevant, 
but that does not mean that a recent report or record is needed in all cases . Some disabilities are stable 
lifelong conditions and historic documentation will be sufficient .  Some disabilities are readily apparent 
and observable and thus little or no documentation will be needed . 

The documentation of disability is kept at all times in a locked, private file at The School . To protect 
privacy, direct access to this documentation is by written consent only . The ADA Compliance Coordinator 
will determine what information needs to be shared with Paul Mitchell The School San Diego staff and 
Learning Leaders, on an “as needed basis,” in order to facilitate academic accommodations or other 
services . 

Student requests for accommodations and interactive discussion with ADA Compliance 
Coordinator — Students who plan to request accommodations should contact the ADA Compliance 
Coordinator promptly, so there is time for the Coordinator to review the student’s documentation and 
discuss accommodations with the student before the student begins the class or program for which 
the accommodation is being requested . When a student contacts the Coordinator, the Coordinator will 
keep a record of the dates and contacts with the student, including a record of the accommodations 
requested by the student . Students who have questions about the type of documentation they need 
to provide should contact the Coordinator to discuss this . 
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The student and the ADA Compliance Coordinator will discuss how the student’s impairment impacts 
the student, how the student expects the impairment to impact the student in The School’s program, 
the types of accommodations the student has previously received (if any), and the accommodations 
being requested by the student from The School . The Coordinator and the student should discuss 
accommodations needed during all phases of the program (Core, Adaptive and Creative), and for 
classroom instruction, skills based instruction and skills practice .

The documentation (or observation) must show the nature of the student’s disability and how it limits a 
major life activity . The accommodations requested by the student should be related to these limitations . 
There are no pre-set accommodations for specific disabilities . Instead, the Coordinator and the student 
must discuss and determine what the student’s limitations are, and how they can be accommodated .

Here are some examples:  
•  A student with an orthopedic disability may need cushioned floor mats and scheduled times to sit 

down . These students may also need particular kinds of chairs . 
•  A student with a learning disability or attention deficit disorder may need extra time to take tests, 

such as ninety minutes to take a test instead of the sixty minutes allowed to other students . These 
students may need to take their tests in a location that is quiet and has no distractions, such as an 
office rather than the classroom .   

•  A student with a learning disability or psychological disability may need a note taker, a copy of the 
instructor’s notes or presentation, or to use a tape recorder during instruction .

•  A student with post-traumatic stress disorder or an anxiety disorder may need to take periodic leaves 
of absence, or may need to structure their program so that it is scheduled over a longer period of 
time than usual . These students may need to take breaks in a quiet room during skills practice .

•  A student with a hearing impairment may need instructors to use voice amplification systems, or may 
need the School to provide a sign language interpreter . 

•  A student with diabetes may need periodic breaks to check his or her blood sugar level .

Decision about accommodations, and ensuring implementation of accommodations — The ADA 
Compliance Coordinator will decide the accommodations to be provided to the student . The Coordinator 
will consider any past accommodations that have been effective for the student, and will give primary 
consideration to the type of accommodation requested by the student . Alternate accommodations may 
be provided if there is an alternative accommodation that would be equally effective for the student . 

The Coordinator will make a decision no later than two weeks after the student states the request for an 
accommodation . If the student does not submit documentation of a disability at the time the student 
requests an accommodation, the Coordinator will make a decision no later than two weeks after the 
student provides the documentation . 

The Coordinator will list the approved accommodations in writing and provide this to the student . The 
Coordinator will inform the appropriate Learning Leaders and school staff of the accommodations they 
are responsible for providing to the student, how to provide the accommodations, and when to provide 
the accommodations . The Coordinator will keep a written record of these contacts about the student’s 
accommodations . The Coordinator will verify that the accommodations are being implemented for 
the student through direct observation, report by the student, and/or documentation from The School 
staff . If the student informs the Coordinator that an accommodation is not being fully implemented, the 
Coordinator will immediately intervene with relevant staff members to ensure the accommodation is 
provided to the student . 

After accommodations have been approved for a student, the Coordinator will make an appointment 
with the student for a time when the student’s program is expected to change . The purpose of the 
appointment is to determine whether the student’s accommodations should be changed when the 
student’s program phase changes, or the type of instruction changes . 
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Additional factors — The School is not obligated to provide accommodations that would result in a 
fundamental alteration of The School’s program . In this case, the Coordinator will promptly search for 
an equally effective alternate accommodation for the student that would not fundamentally alter the 
program . The Coordinator will offer the alternate accommodation to the student .

The School is not obligated to provide accommodations that would result in an undue financial or 
administrative burden on The School . If the Coordinator decides that a requested accommodation might 
impose such a burden, the Coordinator will discuss the issue with The School owner, who will take into 
account the overall financial resources of The School . The School owner will make the final decision, in 
accord with the requirements of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities 
Act . If The School owner determines that the requested accommodation would be an undue burden, the 
Coordinator will promptly search for an equally effective alternate accommodation for the student and 
offer the alternate accommodation to the student .

Appeals by Students

A student may appeal any accommodation decision made by the ADA Compliance Coordinator if the 
student disagrees with the decision . Here are some examples: A student may appeal the Coordinator’s 
decision to deny a requested accommodation . A student may appeal a decision by the Coordinator to 
provide an alternate accommodation rather than the specific accommodation requested by a student . 
A student may appeal a decision by the Coordinator that the student has not presented sufficient 
documentation to support the requested accommodation . A student may also file an appeal when 
a school staff member fails to provide an approved accommodation, and the Coordinator has not 
effectively addressed the situation .

When a student wishes to file an appeal, the student must notify Katie Graves; Director; 410 A Street, San 
Diego, CA 92101; (619) 398-1590; katieg@sandiego.paulmitchell.edu . The student must explain his/her 
reasons for disagreeing with the Coordinator’s decision, or explain how the student’s accommodation is 
not being implemented, and submit any relevant documentation . 

Within five calendar days of receiving a student’s appeal the Director will meet with the student and the 
Coordinator to discuss the issues presented by the student’s appeal . If appropriate, the Director will also 
discuss the issues with other School staff members . 

When a student appeals a decision made by the Coordinator, the Director will determine whether the 
Coordinator’s decision should be revised or remain the same . If the decision is revised, the Director will 
ensure that the revised decision is implemented .   

When a student files an appeal on the basis that an approved accommodation is not being implemented, 
the Director will determine whether the accommodation is being fully implemented, and if it is not, 
ensure that the accommodation is implemented . The Director will inform the student of the decision in 
writing no later than fourteen days after receiving the student’s appeal .
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Training and Mediation Responsibilities of the ADA Compliance Coordinator

The ADA Compliance Coordinator at each campus will deliver disability training sessions for all campus 
staff members at least once each calendar year . In these training sessions the Coordinator will explain 
the basic requirements of Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and the Americans with Disabilities 
Act as they apply to The School . The Coordinator will address: The School’s responsibility to provide 
accommodations to students with disabilities; how to appropriately interact with students with particular 
kinds of disabilities; how to go about implementing accommodations that the Coordinator has approved 
for students; how to support students with disabilities in The School’s programs; that students with 
disabilities cannot be penalized for using approved accommodations . The Coordinator will keep a record 
of each training session .

The Coordinator may also provide trainings for students who wish to learn about The School’s process for 
providing accommodations, or about The School’s grievance procedures .

To help ensure that future campus staff members and students are aware of The School’s policies, the 
Coordinator will make sure that the Accommodations Procedures and the Grievance Procedures are 
continually posted at the campus .

The Coordinator will assist students with disabilities who have concerns about implementation of their 
accommodations or their treatment by The School staff members or other students . At the request of 
a student, the Coordinator will informally mediate or attempt to resolve issues related to the student’s 
disability . If this informal process does not resolve the student’s concerns, the student may file a grievance 
as described in Section II below .

w Grievance Procedures for Students who have Complaints on the Basis of Disability

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego is responsible for providing a grievance procedure to students who 
feel they have been discriminated against on the basis of disability . The grievance procedure provides 
students the opportunity to file a complaint . The School then has the responsibility to objectively 
investigate the allegations in the complaint and determine whether the student has been discriminated 
against . If The School determines that discrimination occurred, The School must take appropriate steps to 
correct the discrimination and prevent it from reoccurring .

Grievance complaints — A student may file a grievance if the student feels he or she has been 
discriminated against because the student is disabled, or because the student is regarded as being 
disabled, or because the student has a record of being disabled . A student may also file a grievance if the 
student feels that he or she has been retaliated against for advocacy based on disability . Here are some 
examples of discrimination: 

•  An instructor or other students refer to the student in a derogatory way related to the student’s 
disability . 

•  An instructor generally refers to students with particular types of disability in a derogatory way .
•  Other students refuse to work with the student because the student is disabled . 
•  A School staff member refuses to provide a service to the student that the staff member provides to 

other students . 
•  A school staff member takes a negative action toward the student after the student asked for 

accommodations for a disability . 
•  A guest presenter at The School makes derogatory statements about students with disabilities, or 

states that students with disabilities can never be employed in the presenter’s field .
•  A student’s request for accommodation was denied by The School, or an instructor did not 

implement an accommodation for the student that was approved by The School .
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A student must file a grievance complaint within 90 days of the date the discriminatory act occurred, 
or within 90 days of the end of an informal attempt to resolve the complaint, whichever is later . The 
complaint must be written . In the complaint, the student must describe what happened and the dates 
the acts took place, and state who was involved . The student should explain why the student believes 
the acts were taken based on disability . The student should describe or provide copies of any relevant 
documents or emails, if available .

A student may ask the Campus ADA Compliance Coordinator to try and informally resolve the student’s 
complaint before the student files a written complaint . However, the student is not required to try 
informal resolution before filing a written complaint .

The complaint must be sent to Katie Graves; Director; 410 A Street, San Diego, CA 92101; (619) 398-1590; 
katieg@sandiego.paulmitchell.edu .    

Investigation of the Complaint — When the Director receives a written complaint, the Director will 
immediately begin an objective investigation . The School has the right to contract with an independent 
investigator to conduct any investigation .  Within seven days, the Director will discuss the allegations in 
the complaint with the student, and obtain any needed additional information from the student . The 
Director will obtain from the student the names of any persons the student believes will have relevant 
information . The Director will gather all information necessary to determine what took place . To do so, 
the Director will interview any School staff members or students who engaged in the actions or may 
have witnessed the actions that the student is complaining about . The Director will interview persons 
that the student stated may have relevant information . The Director will gather any relevant documents 
such as emails, student work or instructor’s records . During the investigation, the Director will disclose the 
complaint, and confidential information about the student, only to the extent necessary to investigate 
the allegations of the complaint .

After reviewing all the evidence gathered, the Director will determine whether the student was treated 
differently from other students based on disability; or whether the student was harassed based on 
disability; or whether the student was retaliated against because the student advocated on the basis of 
disability; or whether the student was denied an accommodation that The School should have provided 
to the student .

Written Decision — The Director will provide the student with a written decision no later than sixty days 
after the date the student filed the complaint . The decision will state the determination reached by the 
Director at the conclusion of the investigation, and the reasons the Director reached that determination . 
If the Director concludes that the student was discriminated against on the basis of disability, the decision 
will state the types of remedial action that The School has taken or will take to correct the discrimination . 
The decision will also state how The School will prevent the discriminatory acts from occurring again .

Appeals by Students — If the student who filed the complaint disagrees with the decision made by the 
Director, or disagrees with the remedial action specified, the student may appeal the decision to The 
School Owner . The appeal must be written and sent to Katie Graves; Director; 410 A Street, San Diego, CA 
92101; (619) 398-1590; katieg@sandiego.paulmitchell.edu .  The appeal must state the specific reasons 
that the student disagrees with the decision . Appeals must be filed no later than thirty days after the 
student receives the written decision from the Director .

The Owner will review all the information provided by the student in the appeal, the decision by the 
Director, the interview records made by the Director and the documents gathered by the Director . The 
Owner will issue a written decision to the student within fourteen days after receiving the student’s 
appeal . The Owner will determine whether the decision should be revised or remain the same . If the 
Owner determines that the decision should be revised, the Owner will ensure that any necessary changes 
in the remedies are implemented . 
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U.S. Department of Education

Students or The School staff who have questions or concerns about disability issues may contact the 
Office for Civil Rights (OCR), U .S . Department of Education . OCR enforces Section 504 of the Rehabilitation 
Act and the Americans with Disabilities Act as they apply to post-secondary educational institutions . 

The OCR National Headquarters is located at:
U.S. Department of Education, Office for Civil Rights
Lyndon Baines Johnson Department of Education Bldg
400 Maryland Avenue, SW
Washington, DC 20202-1100 
Telephone:  (800) 421-3481
FAX:  (202) 453-6012; TDD:  (877) 521-2172
Email: OCR@ed.gov 

OCR has regional offices located throughout the country . To find the office for our state, you can check 
the OCR website at: http://wdcrobcolp01.ed.gov/CFAPPS/OCR/contactus.cfm, or call the telephone 
number above .

STUDENT CONSUMER INFORMATION

Provisions of the Higher Education Amendment of 1976 require that effective July 1, 1977, each post-
secondary institution which receives Federal Financial Aid funds must make certain student consumer 
information available to any enrolled or prospective student who request such information .

This section compiled by the Financial Aid office staff attempts to meet the requirements .

The school is approved for and participates in Federal PELL Grants, Subsidized Direct loans, Unsubsidized 
Direct Loans, and Parent PLUS loans . Such programs help to defray the costs of attending school for those 
students eligible for financial aid consideration .

Financial aid is any mechanism that reduces out of pocket costs that the students and/or parents must 
pay to obtain a specific post-secondary education . Put differently, financial aid is monies made available 
to help students meet the cost of the program . Financial aid includes grants and need and non-need 
loans .

Need-based financial aid is available to families that demonstrate a financial need for additional 
resources . The formula below is used to determine how much financial need a student has:

Cost of Attendance – Expected Family Contribution (EFC) = Financial Need

Non-Need is the difference between the cost of education and Financial Need .

Based on these calculations Federal Aid may not cover all the cost of attendance .

All financial aid is awarded to students that qualify meeting the following criteria: 

q	Citizen or permanent noncitizen alien recipient codes that are eligible are 1- 151, 1-55 1, and 1-94 .  

w	Ineligible codes include F-1, F-2, J-1, and J-2, students that are in Federal Loan default, grant over 
      payment, or male students that meet the Selective Service registration criteria, but are not registered .
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STUDENT AND EMPLOYEE ANTI-HARASSMENT AND DISCRIMINATION POLICY
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego is committed to providing a work and school environment free of 
unlawful harassment or discrimination . In furtherance of this commitment, all students and employees 
are required to take the mandatory sexual harassment and prevention training upon starting in school 
and again in January of each year . The school’s policy prohibits harassment or discrimination based on 
race, religion, creed, color, national origin, ancestry, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related 
medical conditions), military or veteran status, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital 
status, age, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity or expression, genetic information, or any other 
basis protected by the federal, state, or local law . Additionally, in accordance with Title IX of the Education 
Amendments of 1972, the school prohibits discrimination based on sex, which includes sexual 
harassment and sexual violence, and the school has jurisdiction over the investigation of Title IX 
complaints .

Title IX applies to all of the school’s educational programs or activities, whether such programs or 
activities occur on-campus or at an off-campus events . The school’s anti-harassment and discrimination 
policy applies to all persons involved in the operation of the school and prohibits unlawful harassment 
and discrimination by any employee of the school, as well as students, customers or service guests, third 
parties, vendors, or anyone who does business with the school . It further extends to prohibit unlawful 
harassment by or against students .

Any employee, student, or contract worker who violates this policy will be subject to disciplinary action . 
To the extent a customer or service guest, vendor, or other person with whom the school does business 
engages in unlawful harassment or discrimination, the school will take appropriate corrective action . The 
grievance procedure will provide that grievances may be filed about discrimination in any academic, 
educational, extracurricular, athletic, or other programs operated or sponsored by, or related to, the 
school, whether the programs take place on the campus of the school, during a school-sponsored field 
trip, or during other off-campus events .

As part of the school’s commitment to providing a harassment-free working and learning environment, 
this policy shall be disseminated to the school community through publications such as the school’s 
catalog, the school’s website, new employee orientations, student orientations, and other appropriate 
channels of communication . The school will provide training to key staff members to enable them to 
handle any allegations of discrimination and harassment, including sexual harassment or sexual violence, 
promptly and effectively . The school will respond quickly to all reports, and will take appropriate action to 
prevent, to correct, and, if necessary, to discipline behavior that violates this policy .

Definitions Regarding Sex Discrimination 
Dating violence is defined as violence committed by a person who is or has been in a social relationship 
of a romantic or intimate nature with the victim; and where the existence of such a relationship shall be 
determined based on a consideration of the following factors: the length of the relationship; the type of 
relationship; and the frequency of interaction between the persons involved in the relationship .

Domestic violence the definition of “domestic violence” includes felony or misdemeanor crimes of 
violence committed by a current or former spouse or intimate partner of the victim, by a person with 
whom the victim shares a child in common, by a person who is cohabitating with or has cohabitated with 
the victim as a spouse or intimate partner, by a person similarly situated to a spouse of the victim under 
the domestic or family violence laws of the jurisdiction receiving grant monies, or by any other person 
against an adult or youth victim who is protected from that person’s acts under the domestic or family 
violence laws of the jurisdiction .
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Sex discrimination is defined as treating individuals differently on the basis of sex with regard to any 
aspect of services, benefits, or opportunities the school provides, such as:
	 	Treating a person differently in determining whether he or she satisfies any requirement or  
 condition for the provision of an aid, benefit, or service .
	 	Providing different aid, benefits, or services, or providing aid, benefits, or services in a 
 different manner .
	 	Denying any person an aid, benefit, or service .
	 	Subjecting any person to separate or different rules of behavior, sanctions, or other 
 treatment in providing an aid, benefit, or service .
	 	Aiding or perpetuating discrimination against any person by providing significant assistance  
 to any agency, organization, or person, which discriminates on the basis of sex in providing any  
 aid, benefit, or service to students or employees .
	 	Otherwise limiting any person in the enjoyment of any right, privilege, advantage, or 
 opportunity .

Sexual harassment is defined as conduct on the basis of sex that satisfies one or more of the following: 
 q An employee of the school conditioning the provision of an aid, benefit, or service of the  
 school on an individual’s participation in unwelcome sexual conduct; 
 w Unwelcome conduct determined by a reasonable person to be so severe, pervasive, and 
 objectively offensive that it effectively denies a person equal access to the recipient’s education  
 program or activity; or 
 e‘‘Sexual assault’’ as defined in 20 U .S .C . 1092(f)(6)(A)(v), ‘‘dating violence’’ as defined in 34 U .S .C .  
 12291(a)(10), ‘‘domestic violence’’ as defined in 34 U .S .C . 12291(a)(8), or ‘‘stalking’’ as defined in 34  
 U .S .C . 12291(a)(30) .  The federal definitions identified in this paragraph are included as a part of  
 the school’s policy .

Sexual violence is defined as physical sexual acts engaged in without the consent of the other person or 
when the other person is unable to consent to the activity . Sexual violence includes sexual assault, rape, 
battery, and sexual coercion; domestic violence; dating violence; and stalking .

Stalking is defined as engaging in a course of conduct directed at a specific person that would cause 
a reasonable person to fear for his or her safety or the safety of others; or suffer substantial emotional 
distress .

General Definitions
Actual knowledge means notice of sexual harassment or allegations of sexual harassment to a recipient’s 
Title IX Coordinator or any official of the recipient who has authority to institute corrective measures on 
behalf of the recipient .

Campus is defined as any building or property owned or controlled by an institution of higher education 
within the same reasonably contiguous geographic area of the institution and used by the institution in 
direct support of, or in a manner related to, the institution’s educational purposes, including residence 
halls; and property within the same reasonably contiguous geographic area of the institution that is 
owned by the institution but controlled by another person, is used by students, and supports institutional 
purposes (such as a food or other retail vendor) . Education programs or activities that receive Federal 
financial assistance . Under the Final Rule, schools must respond when sexual harassment occurs in the 
school’s education program or activity, against a person .

Complainant is defined as an individual who is alleged to be the victim of conduct that could constitute 
sexual harassment . Any third-party, as well as the complainant, may report sexual harassment . While 
parents and guardians do not become complainants (or respondents); however, the school recognizes 
the legal rights of parents and guardians to act on behalf of parties (including by filing formal complaints) 
in Title IX matters . 
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Consent is informed, voluntary, and revocable . Consent is an affirmative, unambiguous, and conscious 
decision by each participant to engage in mutually agreed-upon sexual activity . It must be given without 
coercion, force, threats, or intimidation . Consent must be ongoing throughout a sexual encounter and 
can be revoked at any time . Once consent is withdrawn, the sexual activity must stop immediately .

Corrective measures are defined as actions taken to address a security breach or privacy violation, with 
the intent to counteract the breach or violation and reduce future risks .  The school’s owner and School 
Director are the school’s designated officials who have the authority to institute corrective measures .

Formal complaint is defined as a document filed by a complainant or signed by the Title IX Coordinator 
alleging sexual harassment against a respondent and requesting that the school investigate the 
allegation of sexual harassment .  

Non-campus building or property is defined as any building or property owned or controlled by a student 
organization recognized by the institution; and any building or property (other than a branch campus) 
owned or controlled by an institution of higher education that is used in direct support of, or in relation 
to, the institution’s educational purposes, is used by students, and is not within the same reasonably 
contiguous geographic area of the institution . Educational programs or activities, whether such 
programs or activities occur on-campus or off-campus . A school may address sexual harassment affecting 
its students or employees that falls outside Title IX’s jurisdiction in any manner the school chooses, 
including providing supportive measures or pursuing discipline

Public property is defined as all public property that is within the same reasonably contiguous geographic 
area of the institution, such as a sidewalk, a street, other thoroughfare, or parking facility, and is adjacent 
to a facility owned or controlled by the institution if the facility is used by the institution in direct support 
of, or in a manner related to the institution’s educational purposes . 

Respondent is defined as an individual who has been reported to be the perpetrator of conduct that could 
constitute sexual harassment . 

Sexual assault is defined as an offense classified as a forcible or nonforcible sex offense under the uniform 
crime reporting system of the Federal Bureau of Investigation . Sexual assault occurs when a physical 
sexual activity is engaged in without the consent of the other person or when the other person is unable 
to consent to the activity . The activity or conduct may include physical force, violence, threat, or 
intimidation, ignoring the objections of the other person, causing the other person’s intoxication or 
incapacitation through the use of drugs or alcohol, and taking advantage of the other person’s 
incapacitation (including voluntary intoxication) .

Supportive measures are defined as individualized services reasonably available that are non-punitive, 
non-disciplinary, and not unreasonably burdensome to the other party while designed to ensure equal 
educational access, protect safety, or deter sexual harassment . 

Rape Shield Protections limit or prohibit the use of evidence of a victim’s past sexual history to undermine 
that victim’s credibility . The purpose of rape shield laws is to protect victims from the emotional distress 
of being cross-examined about their sexual history on the witness stand . Evidence regarding the victim’s 
reputation and evidence of past sexual behavior not related to the rape accusation at hand is prohibited . 

Prohibited Conduct
Title IX protects students’ rights to educational opportunities free from sex discrimination .  This policy 
strictly prohibits sexual or other unlawful harassment or discrimination, as well as sexual violence, dating 
violence, domestic violence and stalking, as defined above . Sexual or other unlawful harassment or 
discrimination that includes any verbal, physical, or visual conduct, racial epithets, slurs and 
derogatory remarks, stereotypes, jokes, posters or cartoons based on race, religion, creed, color, national 
origin, ancestry, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions), military or veteran 
status, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital status, age, sexual orientation, gender, 
gender identity or expression, genetic information, or any other basis protected by the federal, state, or 
local law basis if:
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	  Submission to such conduct is made either explicitly or implicitly a term or condition of an   
 individual’s education or employment;An employee of the recipient conditioning the provision   
 of an aid, benefit, or service of the recipient on an individual’s participation in unwelcome   
 sexual conduct (quid pro quo);
	  Submission to, or rejection of, such conduct by an individual is used as a basis for decisions   
 concerning that individual’s education or employment; or
	  Unwelcome conduct determined by a reasonable person to be so severe, pervasive, and   
 objectively offensive that it effectively denies a person equal access to the recipient’s education   
 program or activity .  It creates a hostile or offensive environment, which means the 
 alleged conduct is sufficiently serious to limit or deny a student or student’s ability to participate   
 or benefit from the student’s education program .

Sexual harassment is conduct based on sex, whether directed toward a person of the opposite or same 
sex, and may include explicit sexual propositions, sexual innuendo, suggestive comments, sexually 
oriented “kidding” or “teasing,” practical jokes, jokes about or displays of obscene printed or visual 
material, questions about sexual fantasies, preferences, or history, and physical contact, such as patting, 
pinching, or intentionally brushing against another person’s body . Gender-based harassment, including 
acts of verbal, nonverbal, or physical aggression, intimidation, or hostility based on sex or 
sex-stereotyping are strictly prohibited, even if those acts do not involve conduct of a sexual nature .

Complaint/Grievance Procedure
The following grievance procedures shall be used to address sex discrimination complaints filed by 
students/ employees or complaints filed on their behalf against employees, other students, or third 
parties .

Any person may report sex discrimination, including sexual harassment (whether or not the person 
reporting is the person alleged to be the victim of conduct that could constitute sex discrimination or 
sexual harassment), in person, by mail, by telephone, or by e-mail, using the contact information listed 
for the Title IX Coordinator, or by any other means that results in the Title IX Coordinator receiving the 
person’s verbal or written report . Such a report may be made at any time, including during non-business 
hours, by using the telephone number or e-mail address, or by mail to the office address, listed below for 
the Title IX Coordinator . Only a complainant may file a formal complaint that initiates a Title IX grievance 
procedure .

If you believe that you have experienced or witnessed harassment or sexual violence, you need to notify 
the Title IX coordinator as soon as possible after the incident . Do not allow an inappropriate situation to 
continue by not reporting it, regardless of who is creating the situation . No employee, contract worker, 
student, vendor, customer or service guest, or other person who does business with the school is exempt 
from the prohibitions in this policy . The school Director or Education Leader, if they are informed of a 
Title IX complaint will refer all harassment complaints to the Title IX coordinator . In order to facilitate the 
investigation, your complaint should include details of the incident or incidents, dates and times, names 
of the individuals involved, and names of any witnesses . A sex discrimination complaint should be filed 
within seven (7) days from the date of the alleged discriminatory incident in order for the school to take 
timely and appropriate action . All documentation pertaining to the complaint/grievance process will be 
confidential . The complaint/grievance once received will be maintained in the Title IX Coordinator’s office, 
which has limited staff access . 

All complaints involving a student, employee, contract worker, vendor, customer or service guest, or other 
person who does business with the school will be referred to the campus’s Title IX Coordinator to begin 
the complaint process outline in this policy . The Title IX Coordinator is listed below and has the 
responsibility of Intake reports and complaints, initiating the formal complaint process, and providing 
supportive measures to both the complainant and respondent . 

If the school has actual knowledge of sexual harassment in an educational program or activity at the 
school, against a person in the United States, they will respond promptly in a manner that is not 
deliberately indifferent .  A school is considered deliberately indifferent only if its response to sexual 
harassment is clearly unreasonable in light of the known circumstances .
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The grievant/complainant may use the Title IX Grievance Form, but it is not required, to file a Title IX 
discrimination complaint .

Title IX Coordinator:
Lesley Dedicatoria 
619-398-1590
410 A St .
San Diego, CA 92101
lesleyd@sandiego .paulmitchell .edu

The school ensures that its Title IX Coordinator(s), Investigator(s), Decision-Maker(s), and Informal 
Resolution Facilitator(s) have adequate training on what constitutes sexual harassment, including sexual 
violence, dating violence, domestic violence, sex discrimination, and stalking, and that they understand 
how the school’s grievance procedures operate .  Please refer to the end of this policy for a listing of the 
various roles of individuals involved in the Title IX process, their responsibilities, and training 
requirements .

Reporters
We encourage all individuals who have a Title IX compliant to meet with the Title IX Coordinator to begin 
the formal grievance process . If the school Director or Education Leader, who are not Title IX 
Coordinators, are informed of a Title IX complaint they must notify the Title IX Coordinator of the 
complaint immediately, as long as they have the Complainant’s consent that they can report the incident 
to the Title IX Coordinator .  These are the only school employees that a complainant may discuss Title IX 
allegations with that are required under the school’s policy to be obligated to inform the Title IX 
Coordinator of information that they received, as long as the Complainant grants that authority .  Once 
any of these reports are notified of complaint allegations the notice triggers the start of the complaint 
process by the Title IX Coordinator . 

Formal Complaint
A “formal complaint” is defined as a document filed by a complainant or signed by the Title IX Coordinator 
alleging sexual harassment against a respondent and requesting that the school investigate the 
allegation of sexual harassment .  At the time of filing a formal complaint, a complainant must be 
participating in or attempting to participate in the education program or activity of the school . A formal 
complaint may be filed with the school’s Title IX Coordinator in person, by mail, or by electronic mail, by 
using the contact information located in the school’s policy . The phrase “document filed by a 
complainant” means a document or electronic submission that contains the complainant’s physical or 
digital signature, or otherwise indicates that the complainant is the person filing the formal complaint . 

The Title IX Coordinator will meet with the complainant to explain the process of filing a formal 
complaint .  The complainant must be the alleged victim unless the parent or legal guardian has a legal 
right to act on their behalf .  Anyone may report a Title IX violation; however, only a complainant may file 
a formal complaint that initiates a Title IX grievance procedure . The Title IX Coordinator will defer to the 
complainant’s wishes as to whether or not they want to file a formal complaint . 

If the Title IX Coordinator is the one who signs and initiates a formal complaint, the Title IX Coordinator is 
not a complainant or a party during a grievance process and must comply with requirements for Title IX 
personnel to be free from conflicts of interest and bias . 

The school’s Title IX Policy provides for a consistent, transparent grievance process for resolving formal 
complaints of sexual harassment . The school’s policy is required to treat complainants equitably by 
providing remedies any time a respondent is found responsible and treat respondents equitably by not 
imposing disciplinary sanctions without following the grievance process prescribed in the school’s policy . 
Any remedies, which are required to be provided to a complainant when a respondent is found 
responsible, will be designed to maintain the complainant’s equal access to education and may include 
the same individualized services described as supportive measures; however, any remedies imposed do 
not need to be non-disciplinary or non-punitive and need not avoid burdening the respondent . 
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Once a formal complaint has been filed, the school will provide a written notice to each of the parties 
involved, which will include a copy of the school’s written Grievance Process, a list of the allegations, 
including specific information regarding the allegations, and a notice that the parties have a right to an 
advisor .  The advisor should not be a lawyer .   If during the investigation additional allegations are 
investigated, then a new notice must be provided to the parties, which identifies the new issues .

Grievance Procedure
The school’s grievance procedures are designed to ensure that the Title IX complaint process is free from 
conflicts of interest and to treat everyone equally during the process, which requires Title IX personnel 
(Title IX Coordinators, Investigators, Decision-Makers, and people who facilitate any informal resolution 
process) to be free from conflicts of interest or bias for or against complainants or respondents . In order to 
accomplish this, we have put into place the
 following requirements .

	 q All Title IX personnel must include training on the definition of sexual harassment, the 
scope of the school’s education program or activity, how to conduct an investigation and grievance 
process including hearings, appeals, and informal resolution processes, as applicable, and how to serve 
impartially, including by avoiding prejudgment of the facts at issue, conflicts of interest, and bias .

	 w The school provides all decision-makers with training on any technology to be used at 
a live hearing . In addition, the school’s decision-makers and investigators receive training on issues of 
relevance, including how to apply the rape shield protections provided (only for complainants), prior to 
participating in any Title IX investigation .

	 e The federal regulations governing Title IX allegations requires that there is a presumption 
that the respondent is not responsible for the alleged conduct until a determination regarding 
responsibility is made at the conclusion of the grievance process .  The school may remove a respondent 
from the recipient’s educational program or activity on an emergency basis, provided that the school 
undertakes an individualized safety and risk analysis, and determines that an immediate threat to the 
physical health or safety of any student or other individual arising from the allegations of sexual 
harassment justifies removal and provides the respondent with notice and an opportunity to challenge 
the decision immediately following the removal .  In the case of a school employee, the school may place 
the individual on mandatory administrative leave .

	 r All of the materials the school uses to train Title IX personnel are located on the school’s 
website under the Required Disclosures section on the home page .  

	 t Once the hearing takes place, the Decision-Maker may take the following actions against 
the respondent: dismiss the complaint; place the individual on probation; suspend the individual; 
terminate the individual; require the individual to go to counseling; change the respondent’s schedule; or 
require the individual to retake the Title IX training .

	 y The school may provide the following remedies to a complainant: an escort; removal 
from shared classes; academic support services, such as tutoring; and medical or counseling services . 

	 u The school has chosen to use the preponderance of the evidence standard, for all formal 
complaints of sexual harassment (including where employees and faculty are respondents) . 

	 i Upon completion of the Title IX process, either party may file an appeal of the decision .  
The school’s appeal process is outlined below .

	 o Throughout the grievance process the school will not use, rely on, or seek disclosure of 
information protected under a legally recognized privilege, unless the person holding such privilege has 
waived the privilege .

	 a All provisions, rules, or practices that are a part of the school’s grievance process for 
handling formal complaints of sexual harassment apply equally to both parties . 



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL SAN DIEGO CATALOG  86

To initiate a criminal investigation, reports of sexual violence should be made to “911” or local law 
enforcement . The criminal process is separate from the school’s disciplinary process . To the extent that an 
employee or contract worker is not satisfied with the school’s handling of a harassment or discrimination 
complaint, he or she may also contact the appropriate state or federal enforcement agency for legal relief .

The school will make appropriate referrals to law enforcement . The school will also notify complainants of 
the right to proceed with a criminal investigation and a Title IX complaint simultaneously . The school will 
not wait for the criminal investigation or criminal proceeding to be concluded before beginning its own 
investigation .

Investigation of Allegations
In response to all complaints, the school will ensure prompt and equitable resolution through a reliable 
and impartial investigation of the allegations, including the opportunity for both parties to present 
witnesses or other evidence . The school will follow its written grievance process before the imposition 
of any disciplinary sanctions or other actions that are not supportive measures, against a respondent . 
During this process the school will not restrict an individual’s rights protected under the U .S . Constitution, 
including the First Amendment, Fifth Amendment, and Fourteenth Amendment, when complying with 
Title IX .  

The federal regulations require a school to investigate sexual harassment allegations in any formal 
complaint, which can be filed by a complainant, or signed by a Title IX Coordinator . The regulations affirm 
that a complainant’s wishes with respect to whether the school investigates should be respected unless 
the Title IX Coordinator determines that signing a formal complaint to initiate an investigation over the 
wishes of the complainant is not clearly unreasonable in light of the known circumstances . 

If the allegations in a formal complaint do not meet the definition of sexual harassment, or did not occur 
in the school’s education program or activity against a person in the United States, the school must 
dismiss such allegations for purposes of Title IX but may still address the allegations in any manner the 
school deems appropriate under the school’s own code of conduct, which is published in the school’s 
catalog .  The school may also dismiss a complaint if: the complainant withdraws the complaint; if the 
respondent is no longer enrolled or employed at the school; or if circumstances prevent institution from 
being able to investigate the complaint allegations .  In this case, each party needs to be notified that the 
complaint has been dismissed and the reasons why it has been dismissed .

The time necessary to conduct an investigation will vary based on complexity of the allegation but will 
generally be completed within sixty (60) days of receipt of the complaint, which includes appeals and 
informal resolutions, with an allowance for short-term and good cause delays or extensions of the time 
frame . If a complainant requests confidentiality, the school will take all reasonable steps to investigate 
and respond to the complaint consistent with the request . If a complainant insists that his or her name 
or other identifiable information not be disclosed to the alleged perpetrator, the school will inform the 
complainant that its ability to respond may be limited .

The preponderance of the evidence standard will apply to investigations, meaning the school will 
evaluate whether it is more likely than not that the alleged conduct occurred . 

During the investigation, the school will provide interim measures, as necessary, to protect the safety and 
well-being of students and/or employees involved and are designed to restore or preserve equal access 
to the education program or activity without unreasonably burdening the other party and to protect the 
safety of all parties, the school’s educational environment, or deter sexual harassment . 



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL SAN DIEGO CATALOG  87

The Title IX Coordinator will promptly contact the complainant confidentially to discuss the availability of 
supportive measures; consider the complainant’s wishes with respect to supportive measures; inform the 
complainant of the availability of supportive measures with or without the filing of a formal complaint; 
and explain to the complainant the process for filing a formal complaint . The school will offer supportive 
measures, at no cost, to the person alleged to be the victim (referred to as the “complainant”), which may 
include counseling, extensions of deadlines or other course-related adjustments, modifications of work 
or class schedules, campus escort services, mutual restrictions on contact between the parties, leaves of 
absence, increased security and monitoring of certain areas of the campus, and other similar measures to 
help protect the alleged victim and deter sexual harassment .   The respondent is also eligible for the same 
supportive measures that the complainant has available .  The school will maintain as confidential any 
supportive measures provided to the complainant or respondent, to the extent that maintaining such 
confidentiality would not impair the ability of the school to provide the supportive measures . The school’s 
Title IX Coordinator is responsible for coordinating the effective implementation of all supportive 
measures that will be provided before sanctions in any grievance procedure are imposed .

The school will investigate the allegations in any formal complaint and send written notice to both 
parties (complainants and respondents) of the allegations upon receipt of a formal complaint . The Title IX 
Coordinator has the responsibility of investigating the complaint allegations; however, if it is in the best 
interest of the parties involved the school may choose another employee or hire a third-party to conduct 
the investigation .

During the grievance process, and when investigating the complaint allegations, the school will abide by 
the following procedures:
	 q The school will apply a presumption that the respondent is not responsible during the 
grievance process (presumption of innocence) .  The burden of gathering evidence and burden of proof is 
the responsibility of the  school, not on the individual parties .  

	 w The school will provide equal opportunity for the parties involved to present fact and 
expert witnesses and other inculpatory and exculpatory evidence .  Witnesses cannot be anonymous . 

	 e The school will not restrict the ability of the parties to discuss the allegations or gather 
evidence (e .g ., no “gag orders”) to support their case .

	 r Both parties to the complaint will have the same opportunity to select an advisor of the 
party’s choice who may be, but need not be, an attorney .  

	 t The school as a part of the investigative process will send written notice of any 
investigative interviews, meetings, or hearings to both parties .  Any interviews that occur can have both 
parties’ advisors present .

	 y The schools will send the parties, and their advisors, evidence directly related to the 
allegations, in electronic format or hard copy, with at least 10 days for the parties to inspect, review, and 
respond to the evidence provided .

	 u The school will send the parties, and their advisors, an investigative report that fairly 
summarizes relevant evidence, in electronic format or hard copy, with at least 10 days for the parties to 
respond to the report .

	 i The school will dismiss allegations of conduct that do not meet the definition of sexual 
harassment or did not occur in a school’s educational program or activity against a person in the U .S . Such 
dismissal is only for Title IX purposes and does not preclude the school from addressing the conduct in 
any manner the school deems appropriate .
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	 o The school may, in their discretion, dismiss a formal complaint or allegations therein if the 
complainant informs the Title IX Coordinator in writing that the complainant desires to withdraw the 
formal complaint or allegations therein, if the respondent is no longer enrolled or employed by the 
school, or if specific circumstances prevent the school from gathering sufficient evidence to reach a 
determination .

	 a The school will give the parties written notice of a dismissal (mandatory or discretionary) 
and the reasons for the dismissal .

	 s The school may, in their discretion, consolidate formal complaints where the allegations 
arise out of the same facts or circumstances, whether it is complaints against multiple respondents or by 
multiple complainants .

	 d The school will protect the privacy of a party’s medical, psychological, and similar 
treatment records by stating that the school cannot access or use such records unless the school obtains 
the party’s voluntary, written consent to do so .

Live Hearings
The school’s Title IX grievance process provides for a live hearing .  If the complaint goes to a live hearing, 
then each party must have an advisor .  The appointed Decision-Maker is the individual who will be 
conducting the hearing .  The following conditions will apply for a live hearing:

	 q The Decision-Maker(s) must permit each party’s advisor to ask the other party and any 
witnesses all relevant questions and follow-up questions, including those that challenge credibility .

	 w Cross-examination at the live hearing must be conducted directly, orally, and in real time 
by the party’s advisor of choice and never by either the complainant or respondent personally .

	 e At the request of either party, the school will provide for the entire live hearing (including 
cross-examination) to occur with the parties located in separate rooms with technology enabling the 
parties to see and hear each other .

	 r Only relevant cross-examination and other questions may be asked of a party or 
witness . Before a complainant, respondent, or witness answers a cross-examination or other question, the 
Decision-Maker must first determine whether the question is relevant and explain to the party’s advisor 
asking cross-examination questions any decision to exclude a question as not relevant .  

	 t The live hearing provides for the opportunity for all parties’ advisors to examine and 
cross-examine witnesses, including challenging the credibility of witnesses .  Hearsay statements and 
irrelevant information is are not permitted .

	 y The school’s process provides for rape shield protections for complainants deeming 
irrelevant questions and evidence about a complainant’s prior sexual behavior unless offered to prove 
that someone other than the respondent committed the alleged misconduct or offered to prove consent . 

	 u If either party does not have an advisor present at the live hearing, the school will 
provide, at no cost to that party, an advisor of the school’s choice who may be, but is not required to be, 
an attorney to conduct cross- examination on behalf of that party .  Only the advisor may cross-examine 
the witnesses .

	 i If a party or witness does not submit to cross-examination at the live hearing, the 
Decision-Maker(s) must not rely on any statement of that party or witness in reaching a determination 
regarding responsibility; provided, however, that the decision-maker(s) cannot draw an inference about 
the determination regarding responsibility based solely on a party’s or witness’s absence from the live 
hearing or refusal to answer cross-examination or other questions .
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	 o Live hearings may be conducted with all parties physically present in the same 
geographic location or, at the school’s discretion, any or all parties, witnesses, and other participants may 
appear at the live hearing virtually .

	 a As a part of the process, the school will create an audio or audiovisual recording, or 
transcript, of any live hearing, as a part of the record .  

Final Determination of the Investigation
The school’s grievance process uses the preponderance of the evidence standard to determine 
responsibility .  The school’s grievance process uses the same standard of evidence for all formal 
complaints of sexual harassment whether the respondent is a student or an employee (including faculty 
member) .  The Decision-Maker(s) in the process are required to objectively evaluate all relevant evidence, 
inculpatory and exculpatory, and avoid credibility determinations based on a person’s status as a 
complainant, respondent, or witness .

The Decision-Maker in all instances cannot be the Title IX Coordinator or the investigator in order to 
ensure that the investigative process is fair and free of bias .   The Decision-Maker will issue a written 
determination regarding responsibility with findings of fact to include the following:

	 q Must identify the standard of evidence used based on the school’s written policy .

	 w Identify the allegations that constitute sexual harassment .

	 e Describe the procedures the school used from the filing of the formal complaint through   
  the hearing process .

	 r Make findings of fact and conclusions about whether the alleged conduct occurred,   
  rationale for the result as to each allegation .

	 t Include the imposition of any sanctions or disciplinary actions imposed on the 
  respondent, and whether any remedies will be provided to the complainant . 

	 y State the procedures to file an appeal and the allowable bases for an individual to appeal   
  the decision .  

	 u Upon conclusion the written determination will be sent simultaneously to the parties .

	 i The Title IX Coordinator is responsible for implementation of any remedies imposed by   
  the Decision-Maker .

Appeal Process
The school will allow either or both parties the opportunity to appeal the Decision-Maker’s determination 
regarding responsibility from a school’s dismissal of a formal complaint or any allegations therein .  Either 
party can appeal based on the following: 

	 q Procedural irregularity that affected the outcome of the matter;

	 w Newly discovered evidence that could affect the outcome of the matter; and/or

	 e The Title IX personnel had a conflict of interest or bias, that affected the outcome of the   
  decision .  
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Informal Resolution
The school provides the opportunity for the parties involved in the formal complaint allegations to 
facilitate an informal resolution, such as mediation, so long as both parties give voluntary, informed, 
written consent to attempt an informal resolution . At any time prior to agreeing to a resolution, any party 
has the right to withdraw from the informal resolution process and resume the grievance process with 
respect to the formal complaint . The school will provide written notice to the parties of the allegations, 
requirements of the resolution process, and any limitations . If the complaint allegations are in regard to 
an employee of the school sexually harassing a student, the opportunity for an informal resolution is not 
available .  A school may not require as a condition of enrollment or continuing enrollment, or 
employment or continuing employment, or enjoyment of any other right, waiver of the right to a formal 
investigation and adjudication of formal complaints of sexual harassment . Similarly, a school may not 
require the parties to participate in an informal resolution process and may not offer an informal 
resolution process unless a formal complaint is filed . 

Retaliation Prohibited
The school prohibits any form of retaliation, intimidation, threats, coercion, discrimination, or harassment 
against any individual who filed or otherwise participated in the filing or investigation of a complaint of 
discrimination . Actions do not have to be on the basis of sex or involve sexual harassment to constitution 
retaliation .  Retaliation complaints may use the same grievance process as sexual harassment complaints .  
Any individual who believes he or she has been subjected to retaliation may file a separate complaint 
under this procedure . The school will keep confidential the identity of
complainants, respondents, and witnesses, except as may be permitted by FERPA, as required by law, or 
as necessary to carry out a Title IX proceeding, which does not constitute retaliation .  
The following circumstances do not constitute retaliation, including:
	 q Exercising one’s rights protected under the First Amendment .  
	 w Charging an individual with a code of conduct violation for making a materially false   
  statement in bad faith in the course of a Title IX grievance proceeding does not constitute  
  retaliation; however, a determination regarding responsibility, alone, is not sufficient to   
  conclude that any party made a bad faith materially false statement .
	 e Charging an individual with code of conduct violations that do not involve sexual 
  harassment but arise out of the same facts or circumstances as a report or formal 
  complaint of sexual harassment; however, for the purpose of interfering with any right or   
  privilege secured by Title IX does constitute retaliation . 

Reporting Requirements
Victims of sexual misconduct should be aware that school administrators must issue timely warnings for 
incidents reported to them that pose a substantial threat of bodily harm or danger to other members of 
the campus community . The school will make every effort to ensure that a victim’s name and other 
identifying information is not disclosed, while still providing enough information for community 
members to make safety decisions in light of the danger . The school reserves the right to notify parents/
guardians of dependent students regarding any health or safety risk or a change in student status .  The 
school will also notify the local police department of any crimes that have been brought to their 
attention . Any allegations or violations of Title IX will be reported to the school’s Clery Act coordinator to 
be included in the school’s annual reporting requirements .

Record Keeping
All records of the Title IX formal complaint including, the investigation, evidence, decision making pro-
cess, hearings, and decision letters will be maintained by the school for at least 7 years . 
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Required Training
The school’s Title IX Coordinator, Investigator, Decision-Maker, or any person designated by the school to 
facilitate an informal resolution process, must not have a conflict of interest or bias for or against 
complainants or respondents generally, or an individual complainant or respondent . Each individual that 
is part of the Title IX process is required to take training that includes how to serve impartially, including 
by avoiding prejudgment of the facts at issue, conflicts of interest, and bias .  Part of the required 
training is to ensure that Title IX Coordinators, investigators, decision-makers, and any person who 
facilitates an informal resolution process, receive training on the definition of sexual harassment, the 
scope of the school’s education program or activity, how to serve impartially, how to make relevancy 
determinations, how to conduct an investigation and grievance process including hearings, appeals and 
informal resolution .

The school will provide the Decision-Maker(s) with training on any technology to be used at a live 
hearing and on issues of relevance of questions and evidence, including when questions and evidence 
about the complainant’s sexual predisposition or prior sexual behavior are not relevant . The school will 
also ensure that investigators receive training on issues of relevance to create an investigative report 
that fairly summarizes relevant evidence . Any materials used to train Title IX Coordinators, Investigators, 
Decision-Makers, and any person who facilitates an informal resolution process, must not rely on sex 
stereotypes and must promote impartial investigations and adjudications of formal complaints of sexual 
harassment .

Additional Information
Employees and students may contact the Title IX coordinator with any questions related to this policy . 
In addition, the U .S . Department of Education Office for Civil Rights (“OCR”) investigates complaints of 
unlawful harassment of students in educational programs or activities . This agency may serve as a neutral 
fact finder and will attempt to facilitate the 
voluntary resolution of disputes with the parties . For more information, visit the OCR website at: 
http://www2 .ed .gov/about/offices/list/ocr/index .html .
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SEXUAL HARASSMENT POLICY

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego is committed to maintaining a working and learning environment 
that provides for fair and equitable treatment, including freedom from sexual harassment . This policy 
covers anyone who engages in sexual harassment on school property or at school activities .

Sexual harassment is defined as unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal 
and/or physical conduct of a sexual nature, when:

q  Submission to the conduct or communication is either explicitly or implicitly made a term or 
condition of an individual’s employment, work opportunity, education, or other benefit;

w  Submission to or rejection of the conduct or communication is used as a factor for employment 
decisions or other school-related decisions affecting an individual; and/or

e  Such conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an 
individual’s work or school performance or creates an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work or 
school environment .

Sexual harassment can occur between staff to student, student to staff, student to student, staff to staff, 
female to male, male to female, female to female, and male to male . Administration will take prompt, 
equitable, and remedial action on reports and complaints that come to the attention of school personnel, 
either formally or informally . Allegations of criminal misconduct will be reported to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency .

Sexual harassment may include but is not limited to: 

q  Verbal harassment or abuse of a sexual nature 
w  Subtle pressure for sexual activity 
e  Inappropriate or unwelcome touching, patting, or pinching of a sexual nature 
r  Intentional brushing against a student’s or an employee’s body 
t  Demanding sexual favors accompanied by implied or overt threats concerning an individual’s 

employment or educational status 
y  Demanding sexual favors accompanied by implied or overt promises of preferential treatment with 

regard to an individual’s employment or educational status 
u  Use of sexually or gender-degrading words or comments, verbal or written (e .g ., graffiti) 
i  Display in the school, on school grounds, or at school-sponsored events of sexually suggestive 

pictures 
o  Leering of a sexual nature 
a  Spreading of sexual rumors 

Engaging in sexual harassment will result in appropriate discipline or other appropriate sanctions against 
offending students, staff, or contractors . Anyone else engaging in sexual harassment on school property 
or at school activities will have their access to school property and activities restricted or revoked, as 
appropriate .

The school shall respect the confidentiality of the complainant and the individual(s) against whom the 
complaint is filed as much as possible, consistent with the school’s legal obligations and the necessity to 
investigate the allegations and take disciplinary action when the conduct has occurred .

Retaliation is prohibited against any person who makes a complaint or is a witness under this policy and 
will result in appropriate disciplinary action against the person responsible for the retaliation . Individuals 
who knowingly report or corroborate false allegations will be subject to appropriate disciplinary action .

Each staff member is responsible to immediately report alleged discrimination and/or harassment to his/
her supervisor or other appropriate school personnel . Staff members who fail to take prompt action to 
report allegations or violation(s) of this policy may be subject to disciplinary action up to and including 
termination .
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HARASSMENT, INTIMIDATION, BULLYING, AND DISCRIMINATION POLICY

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego is committed to maintaining a working and learning environment 
that provides for fair and equitable treatment, including freedom from bullying, harassment, 
intimidation,  and discrimination of any kind . This policy includes anyone who engages in such 
behavior on school property, at school activities, or an electronic act through the use of cell phones, 
computers, personal communication devices, or other electronic gaming devices . 

Harassment, intimidation, bullying, and discrimination may take many forms, including verbal 
aggression and name calling; inappropriate comments; inappropriate images; physical aggression; 
relational aggression; graphic and written statements, which may include use of cell phones, 
computers, or gaming systems; any insensitive materials and other conduct that may be physically 
threatening, harmful, or humiliating  . Harassment, intimidation, bullying, and discrimination include 
intent to harm, they are directed at a specific target, and typically involve repeated incidents . 
Harassment, intimidation, bullying and discrimination create a hostile environment and will not be 
tolerated in Paul Mitchell Schools . 

Such conduct or communication has the purpose or effect of substantially interfering with an 
individual’s work or school performance and creates an intimidating, hostile, or offensive work or 
school environment . Harassment, intimidation, bullying and discrimination can interfere and limit a 
person’s ability to participate in or benefit from the education, services, activities, or opportunities 
offered by the Paul Mitchell School . Administration will take prompt, equitable, and remedial 
action (including but not limited to requiring sensitivity training, probation, suspension, expulsion, 
or termination) on all reports and complaints that come to the attention of school personnel, 
either formally or informally . Allegations of any policy violation will be investigated and handled 
appropriately based upon the findings, including reporting any criminal activity to the appropriate law 
enforcement agency .

Engaging in harassment, intimidation, bullying or discrimination will result in appropriate discipline 
or other appropriate sanctions against offending students, staff, service guests, third-party vendors, or 
contractors . Anyone engaging in these behaviors on school property or at school activities will have 
their access to school property and activities restricted or revoked, as appropriate .

The school shall respect the confidentiality of the complainant and the individual(s) against whom the 
complaint is filed as much as possible, consistent with the school’s legal obligations, state laws and 
policies, and the necessity to investigate the allegations and take disciplinary and/or restorative action 
to resolve the problem .  

Retaliation is prohibited against any person who makes a complaint or who is a witness under 
this policy and will result in appropriate disciplinary action against the person responsible for the 
retaliation . Individuals who knowingly report or corroborate false allegations will be subject to 
appropriate disciplinary and /or restorative action .  Each staff member is responsible for immediately 
reporting alleged harassment, intimidation, bullying  or discrimination to his/her supervisor or other 
appropriate school personnel . Staff members who fail to take prompt action to report allegations or 
violation(s) of this policy may be subject to disciplinary and/or restorative action up to and including 
termination .

For a list of state anti-bullying laws and policies please go to: www.stopbullying.gov .

For a list of federal anti-discrimination laws and policies, please go to: 
https://www.ftc.gov/site-information/no-fear-act/protections-against-discrimination
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COPYRIGHT MATERIAL POLICY FOR PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL SAN DIEGO 

All material in this program is, unless otherwise stated, the property of Paul Mitchell The School San 
Diego . Reproduction or retransmission of the materials, in whole or in part, in any manner, without the 
prior written consent of the copyright holder, is a violation of copyright law . 

At Paul Mitchell The School San Diego we abide by the provisions of the federal Digital Millennium 
Copyright Act (DMCA), which requires prompt response to claims of copyright infringement by copyright 
holders or their agents . If the school receives an allegation of copyright infringement based on your use 
of the school’s computers, the matter will be referred to the school director for further investigation . If 
you are found responsible after meeting with the school director, you are subject to disciplinary action 
including loss of network access, suspension or termination from school, and/or restitution or community 
service .

The Internet is an essential tool in everyone’s lives for both academic and everyday pursuits . Along 
with these benefits come responsibilities . One of the most critical is conforming to the copyright laws 
governing music, movies, games, and software over the Internet . You must have the consent of the 
copyright holder to make copies . 

The consequences of copyright infringement also extend outside of the school . Copyright holders 
may assess civil liability and even criminal prosecution . Recently, the Recording Industry Association 
of America (RIAA) has adopted the practice of sending schools pre-litigation settlement letters to be 
forwarded to individuals offering them “the opportunity to resolve copyright infringement claims against 
them at a discounted rate .” Published reports indicate that the minimum settlement is $3,000 .00 per case .

Another reason to be careful with file-sharing programs is that the installation procedures for most of 
them enable default open access worldwide to information on your system; thus, the integrity of your 
computer and personal information can be compromised through illegal file sharing, including making 
you vulnerable to identity theft . 

SOCIAL NETWORKING POLICY

Paul Mitchell The School San Diego respects the rights of students to use social media during their 
personal time .  Social media includes all forms of publicly accessible communications which include, but 
are not limited to, written and verbal communications (including podcast and video uploads) and all 
forms of electronic communication including discussion groups, forums, newsgroups, e-mail distribution, 
blog postings, and or social networking sites (such as Facebook, Instagram, SnapChat, Twitter, You Tube, 
Friendster, Tik Tok, etc .)  .  Students are personally responsible for the content they publish on social 
networking sites . Students are expected to treat each other with fairness and respect, consistent with the 
Paul Mitchell Schools culture .

Paul Mitchell Schools does not permit ethnic slurs, personal insults, obscenity, intimidation, cyber 
bullying, harrassment or engaging in conduct that would be unbecoming of a Paul Mitchell Future 
Professional and misrepresent Paul Mitchell culture .  Paul Mitchell The School reserves the right to request 
the removal of any posts at its discretion and take necessary disciplinary action as appropriate .



PAUL MITCHELL THE SCHOOL SAN DIEGO CATALOG  95

ALCOHOL AND DRUG-FREE EDUCATIONAL FACILITY POLICY

The School is concerned about the use of alcohol and drugs in the educational facility . This concern is 
based upon the effect that those substances have on a person’s judgment, performance, safety, and 
health . 

The School prohibits the possession, use, or being under the influence of alcohol or an illegal substance 
on School premises or at a School activity .

This prohibition includes drugs which (a) are not legally obtainable or (b) are legally obtainable but 
have not been legally obtained . The prohibition also includes prescribed drugs not legally obtained and 
prescribed drugs not being used for the prescribed purposes .  

In order to enforce this policy, the School reserves the right to search all School premises, including 
classrooms, administrative offices, corridors, storage rooms, and parking lots .  The School also reserves 
the right to search all employee and student property on School premises or at School activities, 
including but not limited to backpacks, purses, handbags, lockers, and vehicles parked on School 
property . The School also reserves the right to implement other measures necessary to deter abuse of this 
policy . Failure or refusal to cooperate may be grounds for disciplinary action, including expulsion from 
the School or termination for employees .

The School also will not object to law enforcement seeking to search School premises or employees and 
students, and employee and student property on School property or at School activities .

POLICY ON WEAPONS IN SCHOOL

The safety of our Future Professionals, guests, and team members is of our utmost importance; and 
therefore, Paul Mitchell The School San Diego prohibits anyone from entering the school with any type of 
weapon, including:

• Guns of any kind, 
• Brass or metal knuckles
• Knives or other items that impale  
• Tasers and stun guns
• Any weapon intended to propel objects

Future Professionals and team members may not, at any time while on any property owned, leased or 
controlled by Paul Mitchell The School San Diego, including anywhere that the school may hold an event, 
possess or use any weapon .

Regardless of whether a Future Professional, guest or team member possesses a concealed weapons 
permit (CCW) or is allowed by law to possess a weapon, weapons are prohibited on any school property . 
They are also banned in any location in which the Future Professional or team member attends a school 
sponsored event .  

Possession of a weapon can be authorized only by the school owner or director in order to allow trained 
security personnel or law enforcement to be armed when it is determined necessary to secure the safety 
and security of the school and its occupants . 

Future Professionals or team members who violate this policy will be subject to disciplinary actions, up to 
and including termination . 
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REGULATORY AND ACCREDITATION AGENCIES

The following institutions license and regulate our institution: 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE)
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400
Sacramento, CA 95833
(916) 431-6959
Toll-free: (888) 370-7589

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC)
P .O . Box 944226
Sacramento, CA 94244-2260
(916) 575-7281
Toll-free: (800) 952-5210

National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS)
3015 Colvin Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
(703) 600-7600

Nationally accredited by National Accrediting Commissions of Career Arts & Sciences (NACCAS) . 
The National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS) is recognized by the 
United States Department of Education as a national accrediting agency for postsecondary school and 
departments of  cosmetology arts and sciences, and massage therapy . 

If you are interested in reviewing or receiving a copy of the school’s state license/approval or a copy of the 
school’s letter of accreditation, please contact the school director .

The Campus Crime Report is provided to the each student prior to enrollment . The Campus Crime 
Statistics are updated annually (October) .If you are interested in reviewing or receiving a copy of the 
school’s Campus Crime Report, please see the school director and/or the Financial Aid Office . 
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GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

This Grievance Procedure will be used to process a written grievance or complaint concerning 
discrimination, bullying, harassment, or any other grievance that a complainant feels have been left 
unresolved against a student, employee, or third-party . The grievance or complaint will be referred to 
the School Director and/or School Owner . The following grievance procedures shall be used to address a 
grievance filed by students or employees, or for complaints filed on their behalf against employees, other 
students, or third parties . A copy of the Grievance form may be obtained from the school’s Director; 
however, you may also provide a written complaint by other means as long as it is signed and dated .

In order to facilitate the investigation, the complaint should include details of the incident or incidents, 
dates and times, names of the individuals involved, and names of any witnesses . A complaint should be 
filed within seven (7) days from the date of the alleged incident in order for the school to take timely and 
appropriate action . The complaint once received will be maintained in the Director’s office, which has 
limited staff access . The school Director has the responsibility of investigating the complaint allegations; 
however, if it is in the best interest of the parties involved the school may choose another employee .

The time necessary to conduct an investigation will vary based on complexity of the allegation(s) but will 
generally be completed within fourteen (14) days of receipt of the complaint .  If a complainant requests 
confidentiality, the school will take all reasonable steps to investigate and respond to the complaint 
consistent with the request . If a complainant insists that his or her name or other identifiable 
information not be disclosed to the alleged perpetrator, the school will inform the complainant that its 
ability to respond may be limited .

All complaints involving a student, employee, contract worker, vendor, customer service guest, or other 
person who does business with the school will be referred to the school’s Director .  The Director will begin 
the complaint process outline in this policy . 

Investigation of Allegations

The school will investigate all complaints received . The school’s grievance procedures are designed to 
ensure that the complaint process is free from conflicts of interest .   

1 . During the grievance process each individual is consider innocent of the alleged conduct until 
a determination regarding responsibility is made at the conclusion of the grievance process .  The school 
may remove an individual from the school on an emergency basis, provided that the school undertakes 
an individualized safety and risk analysis, and determines that an immediate threat to the physical health 
or safety of any student or other individual arising from the allegations justifies removal and provides the 
individual with notice and an opportunity to challenge the decision immediately following the removal .  
In the case of a school employee, the school may place the individual on mandatory administrative leave .

2 . All provisions, rules, or practices that are a part of the school’s grievance process for handling 
formal complaints apply equally to both parties . 

3 . The school will make appropriate referrals to law enforcement, if necessary . The school will also 
notify complainants of the right to proceed with a criminal investigation, while the school conducts its 
own investigation simultaneously . The school will not wait for the criminal investigation or criminal 
proceeding to be concluded before beginning its own investigation and acting on the evidence 
obtained .

4 .  The school will dismiss allegations of conduct that do not meet the school’s written policies .  
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5 . The school will provide equal opportunity for the parties involved to present facts, 
documentation, and witnesses .  Any witnesses listed will be interviewed by the school Director .

6 . The school may, in their discretion, dismiss a complaint or allegations therein if the complainant informs 
the Director in writing that the complainant desires to withdraw the formal complaint or 
allegations therein, if the individual is no longer enrolled or employed by the school, or if specific 
circumstances prevent the school from gathering sufficient evidence to reach a determination .  If the complaint is 
dismissed, the school will give the parties written notice of a dismissal of the complaint and the reasons why .

7 . The school may, in their discretion, consolidate complaints where the allegations arise out of the same 
facts or circumstances, whether it is complaints against multiple individuals .

8 . Upon conclusion of the investigation into the allegations, the Director will provide a written determina-
tion to all parties, as to the final decision and any actions taken .

Students should follow the above process; however, the student may, at any time, file a complaint with the 
school’s accrediting agency, or the U .S . Department of Education . 

Complaints can be filed with BPPE at https://www .bppe .ca .gov/enforcement/complaint .shtml:
How to File a Complaint
Most consumers receive a quality education and have a generally positive experience from attending an 
approved private postsecondary educational institution . However, in the event a consumer believes an 
institution’s administrative processes or educational programs are compromised and are not up to the required 
minimum standards, the consumer should notify the Bureau . Consumers should also notify the Bureau if a 
consumer suspects that an institution is operating without Bureau approval . Consumers may file a complaint by 
using the Bureau’s online complaint submission link, here (preferred) or by downloading the complaint form and 
mailing it to the address below .

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
P .O . Box 980818

West Sacramento, CA 
95798-0818

WHO MAY FILE A COMPLAINT
Anyone may file a complaint if they believe an institution has violated the laws and/or regulations governing the 
institution’s operation, including unlicensed activity . Complaints are most often received from students, their 
families, other members of the private postsecondary education industry, law enforcement agencies, and other 
regulatory agencies .

If you have questions or need assistance with filing a complaint please email, bppe .enforcement@dca .ca .gov or 
call (888) 370-7589, press 3 when prompted .

Complaints can be filed with Board of Barbering & Cosmetology at https://www .barbercosmo .ca .gov/
enforcement/complaint .shtml:

All complaints must be submitted to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology in writing .
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Complaints may be submitted:

Electronically through www .breeze .ca .gov .
or
By U .S . Mail using a Consumer Complaint Form (Korean) (Spanish) (Vietnamese) or other written 
document addressed to:

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
P .O . Box 944226
Sacramento CA, 

94244-2260

To register comments/complaints about the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, use the Citizens 
Complaint Form (Korean) (Spanish) (Vietnamese) .

To file a complaint with the school’s accrediting agency, the National Accrediting Commission of Career 
Arts and Sciences, please follow the directions below:

1 . Go to 
https://naccasngo .sharepoint .com/sites/NACCASWeb/Shared%20Documents/Website%20Public%20
Documents/Applications%20&%20Forms/All%20Applications%20&%20Forms/Complaint%20Form .pdf 
for a copy of NACCAS’ complaint form .

2 .  An individual must complete the form and submit it to:

NACCAS
3015 Colvin Street

Alexandria, VA 22314

3 . “Student complainants: In accordance with NACCAS’ Standards and Criteria, schools must have 
a policy and procedure for handling student complaints and inform the students in writing of same . The 
notice must be included in the school’s catalog, handbook, other published materials, and/or otherwise 
prominently displayed in the school . NACCAS shall not consider a student complaint until all procedures 
and remedies within the institution have been exhausted . A student complainant must show that 
the institution’s complaint procedure has been followed and state why the matter is considered still 
unresolved when he/she submits a complaint to NACCAS .”

“The NACCAS complaint process is intended as a tool for NACCAS to monitor whether accredited schools 
are complying with NACCAS’ accreditation standards . It is not designed or intended as a means for 
providing individual relief to the person filing the complaint . As detailed in NACCAS’ Handbook, NACCAS’ 
Board of Commissioners will not intervene on behalf of individuals in cases of disciplinary action or 
dismissal, or act as a court of appeals in such matters as admission, graduation, fees, or similar points of 
issue . If you are seeking relief for personal grievances against the institution identified in your complaint, 
you are advised to exercise your rights under the institution’s internal grievance policy . If you are not 
satisfied with the results of that process, you may wish to consult with the state regulatory board or 
agency that licenses the institution concerning your rights under state law and regulations .”

4 . Upon conclusion of the investigation into any allegations, NACCAS will send the individual a 
letter notifying them of their decision .

Students will not be subject to retribution upon filing a complaint .
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SCHOOL ADMINISTRATION AS OF DECEMBER 2020
Ownership: Von Curtis, Inc .

Co-Director / Operations Leader: Joyce Cooper

Co-Director: Katie Graves

Operations and Directors Assistant: Kim Hiatt

Service Desk Leader: Tony Sosa

Admissions Leaders: Lesley Dedicatoria

Placement Leader: Lesley Dedicatoria

Financial Aid Leaders: Jermaine Villanueva and Carley Williams

Education Leader: Kristen Psaradelis

Future Professional Advisor: Kristen Psaradelis and Ann Degischer

Cosmetology and Barbering Learning Leaders: 

Kristen Psaradelis: Education Leader/Future Professional Advisor - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Paul Mitchell The School Austin – Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK452665
Kristen is the Cutting, Color, Texture, Make Up, Core, and State Board Specialist at Paul Mitchell The School 
San Diego . She teaches Cutting, Color, Texture, and Make up as part of the Cosmetology program and the 
Make Up program .
____________________

Joni Coleman: Cosmetology Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Palm Springs Beauty Academy-Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KB20301
Joni is the State Board Specialist at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . She teaches Cutting, Color, 
Texture, and Make up as part of the Cosmetology program .
____________________

Krista Galetka: Cosmetology Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Paul Mitchell The School Provo – Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK578898
Krista is the Core Specialist at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . She teaches Cutting, Color, Texture, and 
Make up as part of the Cosmetology program .
____________________

Tristan Sutrisno: Cosmetology Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Paul Mitchell The School Atlanta – Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK600010
Tristan is the Phase 2 and Color Specialist at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . She teaches Cutting, 
Color, Texture, and Make up as part of the Cosmetology program .
____________________
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Christopher Lingle: Cosmetology and Barbering Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Paul Mitchell The School Reno – Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK544372
Registered Barber
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego - Barber Certificate
Barber License #B102331
Christopher is the Texture and Core Specialist at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . He teaches 
Barbering, Cutting, Color, Texture, and Make up as part of the Cosmetology program and the Barber 
program .
____________________

Winna Amphonrojnanan: Cosmetology Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego – Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK575214
Winna is the Core Specialist at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . She teaches Cutting, Color, Texture, 
and Make up as part of the Cosmetology program .
___________________

Cynthia Reyes: Cosmetology and Make-up Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Bellus Academy – Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK543369
Cynthia is the Make Up Specialist at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . She teaches Cutting, Color, 
Texture, and Make up as part of the Cosmetology program and the Make Up program .
____________________

Cody Kiefert: Cosmetology Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego – Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK546212
Cody is a Cosmetology educator at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . He teaches Cutting, Color, and 
Texture as part of the Cosmetology program .
____________________

Ann Degischer: Cosmetology Learning Leader/Future Professional Advisor - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego – Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK525864
Ann is a Cosmetology educator at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . She teaches Cutting, Color, Texture, 
and Make up as part of the Cosmetology program .
____________________

Angie Luna: Cosmetology and Barbering Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Avance Beauty College– Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK483056
Registered Barber
Tramy Beauty School– Barbering Certificate
Barber License # B94550
Angie is the Core and Barber Specialist at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . She teaches Barbering,  
Cutting, Color, and Texture as part of the Cosmetology program and the Barber program .  
____________________
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Aaron Rodriguez: Cosmetology and Barbering Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Bay Vista Beauty College– Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK423796
Registered Barber
Tramy Beauty School– Barbering Certificate
Barber License # B85938
Aaron is the Barber Specialist at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . He teaches Barbering Cutting, Color, 
and Texture as part of the Cosmetology program and the Barber program .  
___________________

Joe Manabat: Barbering Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Barber
Associated Barber College– Barbering Certificate
Barber License # B92211
Joe is the Barber Specialist at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . He teaches Barbering, Cutting, Color, 
and Texture as part of  the Barber program .  
____________________

Iris Perez: Cosmetology Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego – Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK592972
Iris is a Cosmetology educator at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . She teaches Cutting, Color, Texture, 
and Make up as part of the Cosmetology program .
____________________

Andra Gibbons: Cosmetology and Barbering Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego – Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK579170
Registered Barber
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego - Barber Certificate
Barber License #B99713
Andra is a Cosmetology and Barber educator at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . She teaches 
Barbering, Cutting, Color, Texture, and Make up as part of the Cosmetology program and the Barber 
program .
____________________

Daniel Winter: Cosmetology Learning Leader - Full Time
Registered Cosmetologist
Marinello School of Beauty Ontario – Cosmetology Certificate
Cosmetology License # KK509247
Daniel is a Cosmetology educator at Paul Mitchell The School San Diego . He teaches Cutting, Color, and 
Texture as part of the Cosmetology program .
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VETERANS BENEFITS ADDENDUM TO THE CATALOG
Paul Mitchell The School San Diego will permit any covered individual to attend or participate in the course 
of education during the period beginning on the date on which the individual provides to the educational 
institution a certificate of eligibility for entitlement to educational assistance under chapter U .S . Department 
of Veterans Affairs (VA) Post 9/11, G .I . Bill® (Ch . 33) or Vocational Rehabilitation & Employment (Ch . 31) benefits 
ending on the earlier of the following dates:

q	 The date on which the Department of Veterans Affairs provides payment for such course of education 
       to such institution .

w	Credit for Previous Training:  The educational institution maintains a written record of the previous                     
      education and training of the eligible person or veteran that clearly indicates that appropriate credit                 
      has been given by the educational institution for previous education and training, with the training period      
      shortened proportionately . Paul Mitchell The School San Diego will evaluate each case individually . 

In accordance with Title 38 US Code 3679 subsection (e) Paul Mitchell The School San Diego will not impose 
any penalty, including the assessment of late fees, the denial of access to classes, libraries, or other institutional 
facilities, or the requirement that a covered individual borrow additional funds, on any covered individual 
because of the individual’s inability to meet his or her financial obligations to the institution due to the delayed 
disbursement of funding from the Department of Veterans Affairs .

GI Bill® is a registered trademark of the U .S . Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) . More information about 
education benefits offered by VA is available at the official U .S . government Web site at https://www .benefits .
va .gov/gibill .


