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DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS 
 

• The Santa Clara Beauty College – hereinafter referred to as The School, located at 2630 El 
Camino Real in Santa Clara, California is approved with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education (BPPE) pursuant to California Education.  The school is a private institution and 
that it is approved to operate by the bureau.   The Bureau’s approval means that the institution 
and its operation comply with the standards established under the law for occupational 
instruction by private postsecondary educational institutions. Approval to operate means 
compliance with minimum standards and does not imply any endorsement or 
recommendation by the State or BPPE. Institutional Approval must be reapproved every five 
years and is subject to continuing review. Registered are the courses: Cosmetology 1000 
hours; Skin Care Course 600 hours; Cosmetology Teacher Training Course 600 hours; Nail 
Care Course 400 hours; and the Brush-Up Course 400 hours (maximum). Instruction is in 
residence with facility occupancy level accommodating 50 students at any one time. California 
statute requires that a student, who successfully completes a course of study, be awarded an 
appropriate diploma or certificate verifying the fact. Prospective enrollees are encouraged to 
visit the physical facilities of the school and to discuss personal educational and occupational 
plans with school personnel prior to enrolling or signing enrollment agreements. 

 
• Persons seeking to resolve problems, complaints or grievances should first contact the 

Supervising Instructor / Assistant Manager. Requests for further action may be made to the 
school Director and / or President. Unresolved complaints may be directed to the Bureau for 
Private Postsecondary Education: 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, 
telephone toll-free (888) 370-7589 or (916) 431-6959. 

 
• The institution does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, and is not operating as a debtor 

in possession, has not filed a petition within the preceding five years, or has had a petition in 
bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under 
Chapter 11 of the United State Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. sec. 1101 et seq.) 

 
• Our institution is not accredited by the Department of Education. A student enrolled in an 

uncredited institution is not eligible for federal financial aid programs. 
 
All information in the content of this school catalog is current and correct and is so certified as true 
by the current school director.  

 
 

CATALOG QUESTIONS AND ANSWERS 
• Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactory 

answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Postsecondary Education at 
1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225, Sacramento, CA  95834; P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, 
Ca 95798-0818, www.bppe.ca.gov HYPERLINK "http://www.bppe.ca.gov/", toll-free telephone 
number (888) 370-7589 or (916) 574-8900 or by fax (916) 263-1897. 

 
• As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an 

enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact 
Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. A catalog 
may be found at our internet web site at www.santaclarabeautycollege.com HYPERLINK 
"http://www.santaclarabeautycollege.com/". 

• A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by 
completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s internet web site 
www.bppe.ca.gov HYPERLINK "http://www.bppe.ca.gov/". 

 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.santaclarabeautycollege.com/
http://www.santaclarabeautycollege.com/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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• The office of student Assistance and Relief is available to support prospective students, current 
students, or past students of Private Postsecondary educational institutions in making informed 
decisions, understanding their rights, and navigating available services and relief options.  The 
office may be reached by calling (888) 370-7589 or by visiting www.osar.bppe.ca.gov 

•  
PHILOSOPHY AND GOALS 
Our goal is to offer training to prepare successful graduates with the skills needed to secure 
employment in the field of Cosmetology. With this in mind, we continually survey the profession to 
keep abreast of current trends, designs and techniques required by employers. Instructors give 
"Individual" as well as "Class" instruction. This combination helps serious students to realize their 
goals. The academic and career standards are maintained to assure graduates of quality capabilities in 
their profession. The curriculum is flexible enough to allow for new procedures and techniques, as 
they are developed, yet solid enough to maintain good academic standards.  The final objective is of 
course to graduate students who will secure and retain employment and advance in the profession of 
Cosmetology. 

 
Mission Statement 
The School was designed exclusively as a higher education institution of cosmetology 
dedicated to producing highly skilled cosmetologists, estheticians, nail technicians, and 
instructors by using the latest technology and professional salon products. 

 
Student Learning Objectives 
The School’s students will receive hands-on training in a full service clinic atmosphere. A strong 
emphasis will be placed on: 

• Customer Service 
• Technical Applications 
• Professional Image 
• Personal and Professional Advancement 
• Retailing 
• All instruction is provided in English 

 
FACULTY 
The faculty and staff are under the direction Kim Dang. The faculty and staff are organized to bring 
experience to the college in the areas such as salon ownership, hair fashion competitors, hairstylists, 
guest lecturers, manufacturer's representatives, and platform artists. Faculty members have been 
chosen for their experience as both Instructors of Cosmetology and hairstylists. All faculty personnel 
attend professional education and cosmetology classes to maintain their currency in the field as required 
by the Board of Cosmetology.  Instructors are required to have three years of experience and training in 
all aspects of the cosmetology, nail and skin care courses. 

 
ADMINISTRATION AND STAFF 

• Kim Dang – President / CAO: Cosmetology License / Bachelor of Science Software Engineer  
• Kim Dang – COO / Director: Realtor / Financial Consultant, responsible for the daily 

operations of the school 
• Tri Pham – IT Manager/Media/SEO Bachelor of Science Software Engineer  
• Serina Del Rio -- Supervising instructor /Vocational Teaching Credential-Cosmetology 

Instructors License: Cosmetology License. 35 years’ experience. 
• Julie Parker -- Cosmetology License: 20 years’ experience 
• Deanna Chao -- Cosmetology License: 16 years’ experience 
• Jacqueline G Seacat- Cosmetology License: 24 years’ experience 
• J Angelina A Guillen- Cosmetology License: 7 years’ experience 
• Dung Nguyen – Receptionist 

 
FACILITIES 
The school has a working area, which contains hair dryers, workstations, shampoo bowls, classrooms, 
laboratory area, etc., a total of approximately 4000 square feet. The School is approved by the 

http://www.osar.bppe.ca.gov/
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Board of Barbering and Cosmetology with an average daily attendance of 50 students. The facilities 
include equipment for academic and practical learning, contemporary student salon with stations, 
tables, and facial beds. The learning resources include a small library of DVD’s, video tapes, reference 
books, technical manuals, professional periodical and supplement to text materials which available for 
student to check out for exam preparation. All materials are signed out on a check out list by a student 
and instructor. Materials are checked in by an instructor at the end of the day. All classes will be held at 
2630 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051 
 
LIBRARY   
 

  The facilities include equipment for academic and practical learning, contemporary student salon with                                                                 
  stations, tables, and facial beds.  The learning resources include a small library of DVD’s, video         
  tapes, reference books, technical manuals, professional periodical, and supplement to text                                                  
  materials which are available for students to check out for exam preparation.  All materials are                            
  signed out on a check out on a check out list by a student and instructor.  Materials are checked                              
  in by an instructor at the end of the day.  All classes will be held at 2630 El Camino Real, Santa      
Clara, CA  95051         
 

LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS ELIGIBILITY 
The student must complete a course of training in a licensed California School in order to qualify to take 
the licensure examination given by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. The additional licensure 
requirements are as follows: 

• Submit application 
• Pay required fees 
• Applicant must not be less than 17 years old 
• Applicant must have completed 10th grade in a public school 
• Complete the minimum required theory and practical applications for course hours 
• Complete course clock hours  
• Additional information can be found at www.barbercosmeo.ca.gov 

There are no other requirements required other than what is listed for educational program 
under cosmetology, manicuring, esthetician courses. 

 
ADMISSIONS POLICY 
 

The school does not discriminate in its employment, admission, instruction, or graduation policies 
based on sex, age, race, color, religion, or ethnic origin nor does it recruit students already attending 
or admitted to another school offering similar programs of study. The school requires that each 
student enrolling in the Cosmetology, Nair Care or Esthetics programs must: 

 
• Complete an application for enrollment. 
• Must be at least 17 years of age 
• Must be able to comprehend and read the English language 
• Provide proof of secondary education such as a diploma, a GED certificate, and 

an official transcript of secondary school completion or a state certification of 
home-school completion or have transcripts showing completion  

• High school completion in another state:  the applicant will need to have high 
school completion transcripts, diploma or certificates translated  
 

• Instructor applicants must meet all of the above requirements and: 
o Hold a current license as a practitioner in the field they wish to teach 
o Complete an application for enrollment 

 
 

• The institution has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other 
college or university 

http://www.barbercosmeo.ca.gov/
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• Ability-to-benefit students are not accepted 
• Our institution does not accept credits for prior experiental learning 

 
 
NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR 
INSTITUTION 

• The transferability of credits you earn at Santa Clara Beauty College is at the complete 
discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the 
certificate/hours you earn in t h e  educational program is also at the complete discretion of 
the institution to which you may seek to transfer.  

• If the certificate/hours t h a t  you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to 
which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at 
that institution. For this reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution 
will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may 
seek to transfer after attending Santa Clara Beauty College to determine if your certificate/hours 
will transfer.” 

• School officials and the Board of Cosmetology will grant appropriate credit for prior training or 
experience upon review and verification. 

• The maximum credit the school will grant for studies completed at any other institution is 
1200 hours. Students enrolling in as transfer students with 1200 hours and need to complete 
the remaining 400 hour Cosmetology Program-1600 hours will first complete the freshman 
curriculum and then work on the state board procedures recommended by the freshman 
instructor. Any of these students failing the first Final Exam will be allowed to take the Final 
Examination again at no additional charge provided the second exam is scheduled within 
two weeks of the first. Students may continue to attend class during the interim at no 
additional charge. Any of these students failing the second exam must reenroll for a minimum 
of 100 hours to continue their studies and exam preparation in the course of training to prepare 
for the state board exam. 

• The school does not accept credits for prior experiential learning. etc. 
 

• The maximum credit the school will grant for studies completed at any other institution is 
700 hours. Students enrolling in as transfer students with 300 hours and need to complete 
the remaining 300 hour Cosmetology Program-1000 hours will first complete the freshman 
curriculum and then work on the state board procedures recommended by the freshman 
instructor. Any of these students failing the first Final Exam will be allowed to take the Final 
Examination again at no additional charge provided the second exam is scheduled within 
two weeks of the first. Students may continue to attend class during the interim at no 
additional charge. Any of these students failing the second exam must reenroll for a minimum 
of 100 hours to continue their studies and exam preparation in the course of training to prepare 
for the state board exam. 

• The school does not accept credits for prior experiential learning. etc. 
 

SCHEDULE AND CALENDAR 
A student may commence training on a weekly or monthly basis. This is possible because our 
freshman class is primarily based on an hourly cycle. The school is normally closed on Sunday 
and the following Holidays: New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day 
and Christmas Day. The school may be closed for emergency reasons. Holy days of all religious 
beliefs may be respected and allowed. 

 
CLASS SCHEDULE This is an outline for the general manner in which the student spends his 
time in school. This is just a sample and could be rotated by the school or instructor. All classes 
will be held at 2630 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 95051 
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SCHOOL DAYS: DAILY SCHEDULE SUBJECT 
Monday 8:00 to 9:00 Theory: Rules and Regulations 

 9:00 to 12:30 Orientation for new students 
 12:00 to 12:30 Lunch 
 1:00 to 2:00 Theory-Barbering & Cosmetology Act 
 2:00 to 4:00 Demonstration & Practical Work by students-

manicuring 
 4:00 to 4:30 Sanitation and Time Cards 
Tuesday 8:00 to 9:00 Theory - Bacteriology 

 9:00 to 12:30 Demonstration & Practical Work- Facials, Manual 
 12:00 to 12:30 Lunch 
 1:00 to 2:00 Theory - Sanitation 
 2:00 to 4:00 Demonstration & Practical Work-Wet Hairstyling 
 4:00 to 4:30 Sanitation and Time Cards 
Wednesday 8:00 to 9:00 Theory-Professional Ethics 

 9:00 to 12:30 Demonstration & Practical Work- Make Up 
 12:00 to 12:30 Lunch 
 1:00 to 2:00 Theory - Safety 
 2:00 to 4:00 Demonstration & Practical Work- Eyebrow Arching 
 4:00 to 4:30 Sanitation and Time Cards 
Thursday 8:00 to 9:00 Theory - Cosmetology Chemistry 

 9:00 to 12:30 Demonstration & Practical Work- Haircutting, 
Scissors 

 12:00 to 12:30 Lunch 
 1:00 to 4:00 Demonstration & Practical Work- Haircutting Razor 
 4:00 to 4:30 Sanitation and Time Cards 
Friday 8:00 to 12:30 Lecture, Demonstration & Practical Work-Hair 

coloring 
 12:00 to 12:30 Lunch 
 1:00 to 4:00 Lecture, Demonstration & Practical Work-Bleaching 
 4:00 to 4:30 Sanitation and Time Cards 
Saturday 8:00 to 12:30 Practical Requirements 

 12:00 to 12:30 Lunch 
 1:00 to 4:00 Practical Requirements 
 4:00 to 4:30 Sanitation and Time Cards 
NOTE:  After 9:00 a.m. all senior students will be assigned to the clinic floor or to special 
practical classes. Full time students attend class 30 hours or more per week. Part time students 
attend class 29 hours or less per week. 

 
CURRICULUM 
The proper education of our students is our most important obligation. Incorporated into our 
curriculum is the use of audio visual aids, current cosmetology techniques, as well as tested 
teaching methodology. Our staff has been trained to teach all phases of Cosmetology. 
 
Distance Learning  
The school offers distance learning through two platforms:  Zoom and MindTap/CIMA.  Zoom is live 
and recorded theory instruction classes that are given by our Instructors In theory subjects 



8 
 

pertaining to cosmetology, nail care and esthetics care.  A Power Point slide show is shown on 
screen allowing students to follow along in their textbooks.  MindTap/CIMA can be used in addition 
to theory chapter review in textbooks.  
There are no assignments or exams given or taken through the online distance learning that are 
counted for graded exams or chapter assignments. 
All chapter assignments will be turned in to the instructor in school at the date assigned by the 
instructor,  All chapter exams are  taken at the school with an instructor on a scheduled date.  All 
chapter assignments and exams must be completed upon graduation.  The approximate number of 
days that will elapse between the institutions receipt of student lessons, projects or dissertations and 
the institution’s mailing of its response or evaluations is between one to seven days. 
 
 
ZOOM 
Zoom is offered to students enrolled in Cosmetology, Nail Care and Skin Care 
Zoom theory is offered to students at enrollment. Zoom can be connected to most electrical devices, 
such as mobile phones, computers, notebooks, and iPad. The app can be downloaded to a device 
for free. Students who are interested in attending Zoom Theory classes will receive a zoom ID and 
Password prior to your start date to connect. Students are required to fill in their name on their Zoom 
screen. Mics are muted once class begins. Mics can be unmuted when asking a question(s). Theory 
and clock hours are obtained towards your course. Zoom is only for theory classes. There are no 
Zoom classes for practical classes. 
 
 
MindTap/CIMA 
MindTap/CIMA is an optional online study aid at an additional charge for students in Cosmetology, 
Nail Care and Skin Care. 
MindTap is used for additional hours and review of the chapters in the textbooks. There are several 
activities, videos, quizzes, and exams that can be taken to help prepare for Chapter exams. When 
registered and logged in to MindTap/CIMA, Cengage will record the time and chapters that are 
completed. A weekly report will sent to the school. 

 
COSMETOLOGY COURSE – SOC 39-5012 
The curriculum for students enrolled in a cosmetology consists of 1000 hours of technical instruction and 
practical operations covering all practices constitution the art and science of cosmetology pursuant to 
Section 7316(b) of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. Technical instruction means instruction by 
demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination; practical operations means the actual 
performance by the student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin.  Students are 
required to pass a final written and practical exam with 80% or higher upon graduation.  There are no 
internships or externship credits. Technical and practical instruction includes the following minimum 
hours/or operations:  

 
Pursuant to B&P 7362.5  the curriculum for a Cosmetology course shall, at a minimum, 
include 
technical and practical instruction in the following areas:     

   
200 hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety.  The required subjects of  
Instruction in Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical instruction 
for each subject matter as follows: 
   
  Technical  Practical 
SUBJECT:  Health and Safety - Required hours 200 Instruction Operations 
Health and Safety:  the subject of health and safety including      
instruction on hazardous chemicals, preventing chemical injuries, 100   
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health and safety laws and regulations, and preventing communicable     
diseases     
Board Approved Health & Safety Course (B&P 7389 (a)): shall      
include instruction on hazardous substances, basic labor laws, and      
physical and sexual assault awareness     
Disinfection and Sanitation:  the subject shall include instruction on     
disinfection procedures to protect the health and safety of consumers 50 150 
as well as the technician and proper disinfection procedures for      
equipment used in establishments     

 
400 hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Hair Dressing.  The required  
subject of Instruction in hair dressing shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical 
instruction and practical operation for each subject matter as follow:   

   
  Technical Practical 
SUBJECT:  Hair Dressing - Required hours 400 Instruction Operations 
Chemical Hair Services:  the subject of chemical hair services shall     
include instruction on coloring, straightening, waving, bleaching, hair 70 300 
analysis, predisposition and strand tests, safety precautions, formula     
mixing,, and the use of dye removers     
Hairstyling Services:  the subject shall include instruction on arranging     
blowdrying, cleansing, curling, dressing, hair analysis, shampooing, 
waving, 70 300 
and nonchemical straightening, and haircutting, including the use of 
shears,     
razors, electric clippers and trimmers, and thinning shears for wet and      
dry cutting     

 
200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training is Esthetics.  The required  
subjects of instruction in Esthetics shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical   
instruction and practical operation for each subject matter as follows:   

 

  Technical Practical 
SUBJECT:  Esthetics - Required hours 200 Instruction Operations 
Skin Care:  the subject of skin care shall include instruction on chemical 
and    
manual facials and massaging, stimulating, exfoliating, cleansing or  100 50 
beautifying the face, scalp, neck, or body by the use of hands, esthetics     
devices, cosmetics products, antiseptics, lotions, tonics, or creams that 
do      
not result in the ablation or destruction of the live tissue     
Hair Removal and Lash and Brow Beautification:  the subject shall 
include    
instruction on tinting and perming eyelashes and brows and applying  20 60   
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eyelashes to any person, and includes removing superfluous hair from 
the     
body of any person by use of depilatories, tweezers, sugaring,      
prescription chemicals, or waxing, or by the use of devices and 
applicances      
are commonly known as rays     

 

 
100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Manicuring and Pedicuring.  
The required subjects of instruction in Manicuring and Pedicuring shall be completed with the  
minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operation for each subject matter as  
follows:     
   
  Technical Practical 
SUBJECT:  Manicuring and Pedicuring - Required hours 100 Instruction Operations 
Manicure and Pedicure: the subject shall include instruction on water 
and    
oil manicures, hand and arm massage, foot and ankle massage, nail 
analysis 40 175 
and artificial nail services including but not limited to acrylic, liquid and      
powder brush-ons, dip, tips, wraps and repairs     

 
  The Board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that include    
professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service records.  

  Authority cited Sections 7312, 7362, and 7362.1, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections     
7316(b), 7321(d) (1), 7362, 7362.5(b) and 7389, Business and Professions Code.  

 
ESTHETICS COURSE – SOC 39-5094 
The curriculum for students enrolled in basic skin care course is based on 600 clock hours. The 
vocational course is designed to prepare the student for the Skin Care Course Exam given by the 
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and entry skill level employment. 

This course is designed for those wishing training to obtain their Skin Care License for the state of 
California. This course will cover the “Curriculum for Skin Care” outlined in paragraph 950.3 of the 
Barbering and Cosmetology Rules and Regulations The curriculum for student’s enrolled in the Skin 
Care Course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock hours of technical instruction and practice all 
operations covering all practices constituting the practices of a cosmetician - skin care technician to 
Section 7364 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. For the purpose of this section, technical 
instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination; 
practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of the complete service on 
another person or on a mannequin.   Students are required to pass a final written and practical 
exam with 80% or higher upon graduation.  There are no internships or externship credits. Such 
technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 

 
(1)   350 hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Facials. The required 

subjects of instruction in Facials shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical 
instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows: 

SUBJECT: Manual, Electrical and Chemical Facials-Required 
Hours 350 

Technical 
Instruction 

Practical 
Operations 

Manual, Electrical and Chemical Facials: the subject of manual, 
electrical and chemical facials shall include, but is not limited to the 
following techniques and procedures; manual facials including 

70 140 
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cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and masks. Electrical 
facials include the use of electrical modalities, dermal lights and 
electrical apparatus, for facials and skin care purposes: however, 
machines capable of producing an electrical current shall not be used 
to stimulate to contract, or for the purpose of contracting, the muscles 
of the body or face. Chemical facials include chemical skin peels, 
packs, masks and scrubs. Training shall emphasize that only the 
non-living, uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis, 
may be removed, and only for the purpose of beautification.  All 
practical operations must be performed in accordance with Section 
992 regarding skin peeling 
Preparation:  the subject of preparation shall include, but not be 
limited to the following issues:  client consultation, intake 
procedures, contraindications, professionalism, client record 
keeping, pre and post-operative care, CPR/AED, salon and spa 
skills 

15  

Total Hours must equal 350   
(2) 200 Hours of Technical Instruction in Health and Safety. The required subjects of 

instruction in Health and Safety shall be completed with the minimum hours of technical 
instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as follows: 

SUBJECT: Health and Safety-Required Hours 200 Technical 
Instruction 

Practical 
Operations 

Laws and Regulations: the subject of laws and Regulations shall 
include, but is not limited to, the following issues:  The Barbering and 
Cosmetology Act and the Board's Rules and Regulations. 

10  

Health and Safety Considerations:  the subject of health and safety 
shall include, but is not limited to the following techniques and 
procedures:  Training in chemicals and health in establishments, 
material safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemical and 
preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies, 
communicable diseases including HIV/AIDS and hepatitis B.  
Chemical composition and the purpose of cosmetic and skin care 
preparation.  Elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin peels, and 
physical and chemical changes of matter.  Electrical current, 
principles of operating electrical devices, and the various safety 
precautions used when operating electrical equipment. 

40  

Disinfection and Sanitation:  the subject of disinfection and 
sanitation shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques 
and procedures:  procedures to protect the health and safety of the 
consumer as well as the technician. Proper disinfection procedures. 
Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire 
training period and must be performed before use of all 
instruments and equipment. 

10  

Anatomy and Physiology: the subjects of Anatomy and Physiology 
shall include, but is not limited to the following issues: Human 
Anatomy, Human Physiology, Bacteriology, Skin Analysis and 
conditions. 

15  

Total Hours must equal 200   
(3)   50 Hours of Technical Instruction and practical Training in hair Removal and Make-

up. The required subjects of instruction in Hair removal shall be completed with the 
minimum hours of technical instruction and practical operations for each subject-matter as 
follows: 
SUBJECT: Hair Removal and Make-up-Required Hours 50 Technical 

Instruction 
Practical 
Operations 
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Eyebrow Beautification: the subject of eyebrow beautification shall 
include, but is not limited to, the following issues: eyebrow shaping 
and hair removal techniques, hair analysis, waxing, tweezing, manual 
or electrical depilatories. 

25 50 

Make-up:  the subject Make-up shall include, but is not limited to, 
the following issues: Skin analysis, basic and corrective 
application, and application of false eyelashes. 

20 40 

Total Hours must equal 50   
 

The board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes 
professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service record cards. No credit 
of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing floors, walls, 
woodwork, toilets, or windows. Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362 and 7362.1©, Business 
and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316 (b), 7321(d) (1), 7362, 7362.5(b) and 7389, 
Business and Professions Code.  The course may also include not more than 
(8) eight hours credit for field trips. Such field trips must be under the direct supervision of a licensed 
cosmetology instructor. Date, time, and description of field trip shall be recorded on the student’s 
daily record. Field trips must be cumulative and no credit will be given in lieu of attendance. All 
students shall have completed the specified minimum required hours and Operation upon completion 
of the six hundred hour (600) course. Where warranted, not more than 20 hours may be utilized to 
correct individual student deficiencies. A record of completion or Proof of Training shall then be 
issued pursuant to Section 917.7 Note: Operations do not equal hours. Completing the operations 
listed fulfills the remaining hours. 
 
 

NAIL CARE COURSE – SOC 39-5092 
The curriculum for students enrolled in basic nail care course is based on 400 clock hours. The 
vocational course is designed to prepare the student for the Nail Care Course Exam given by the 
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and entry skill level employment. 

 
This course is designed for those wishing training to obtain their Nail Care License for the state of 
California. This course will cover the “Curriculum for Nail Care” outlined in paragraph 950.3 of the 
Barbering and Cosmetology Rules and Regulations The curriculum for student’s enrolled in the Nail 
Care Course shall consist of four hundred 
(400) clock hours of technical instruction and practice all operations covering all practices 
constituting the practices of a manicurist - nail care technician to Section 7316 of the Barbering and 
Cosmetology Act. For the purpose of this section, technical instruction shall mean instruction by 
demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination; practical operations shall mean the 
actual performance by the student of the complete service on another person or on an artificial 
hand. Students are required to pass a final written and practical exam with 80% or higher upon 
graduation.  There are no internships or externship credits.  Such technical instruction and practical 
operations shall include: 

(1)   300 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Nail Care. 
SUBJECT: Manicures and Pedicures 60 hours of Technical 

Instruction, 60 hours of Practical Operations 
and 180 nails. 

Technical 
Instruction 

Practical 
Operations 

Water and oil manicures including hand and arm massage 20 40 
Complete pedicure including foot and ankle massage, 20 20 
Artificial nails including liquid, gel, and powder brush-ons, nail tips, 
nail wraps and repairs, and nail analysis. 

20 180 nails 

(2)   100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Health and Safety 
SUBJECT: Health and Safety Technical 

Instruction 
Practical 
Operations 
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Laws and Regulations shall include, but is not limited to: 
Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Board’s Rules 
and Regulations. 

10  

Health and Safety shall include, but not limited to: Chemistry 
pertaining to the practices of a manicurist including the chemical 
composition and purpose of nail care preparations. Health and 
Safety/Hazardous Substances, including training in chemicals and 
health in establishments, material safety data sheets, protection from 
hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, health and 
safety laws and agencies, ergonomics, and communicable diseases, 
including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B. 

25  

(3)   Disinfection and Sanitation 20 hours of Technical Instruction and 10 Practical Operation 
SUBJECT: Disinfection and Sanitation Technical 

Instruction 
Practical 
Operations 

The subject of Disinfection and Sanitation shall include, but is not 
limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Procedures to 
protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the 
technician. The ten minimum operations shall entail performing all 
necessary functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment as 
specified in Sections 979 and 980. Disinfection shall be emphasized 
throughout the entire training period and must be performed before 
use of all disinfection procedures detailed in Sections 980.2 and 
980.3. 

20 10 

(4)   Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology 10 hours of Technical Instruction 
SUBJECT: Anatomy and Physiology shall include, but is not 

limited to the following issues:  Bacteriology, anatomy, 
physiology, and nail analysis and conditions 

Technical 
Instruction 

Practical 
Operations 

Bacteriology, Anatomy, and Physiology 10  
 

The board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that 
includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service record 
cards. No credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or 
scrubbing floors, walls, woodwork, toilets, or windows. Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 
7362 and 7362.1©, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316 (b), 7321(d) 
(1), 7362, 7362.5(b) and 7389, Business and Professions Code.  The course may also include 
not more than 
(8) eight hours credit for field trips. Such field trips must be under the direct supervision of a 
licensed cosmetology instructor. Date, time, and description of field trip shall be recorded on 
the student’s daily record. Field trips must be cumulative and no credit will be given in lieu of 
attendance. All students shall have completed the specified minimum required hours and 
Operation upon completion of the four hundred hour course. Where warranted, not more than 
15 hours may be utilized to correct individual student deficiencies. A record of completion or 
Proof of Training shall then be issued pursuant to Section 917.7 Note: Operations do not 
equal hours. Completing the operations listed fulfills the remaining hours. 

COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR COURSE: SOC 39-5012 
Prerequisites: Cosmetology License, completed High School or its equivalent, and has reached their 
18th birthday. 

 
The curriculum for students enrolled in a cosmetology instructor course shall consist of six 
hundred (600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations in teaching the art of 
cosmetology, as defined in section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. Technical 
instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or 
examination; practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the instructor trainee  
of teaching techniques and principles.  The Instructor trainee is required to pass a final written and 
practical exam with 80% or higher upon graduation.  There are no internships or externship credits. 
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SUBJECT Minimum 

Hours of 
Technical 
Instruction 

Minimum 
Hours of 
Practical 
Operations 

(1) Barbering and Cosmetology Act and the Boards Rules and 
Regulations 

10  

(2) Preparatory Instruction   
(A) Instructional techniques: method of instruction; lecture; 
demonstration; performance; communication skills; instructional 
aid; and use of questions to promote learning 

40  

(B) Organization techniques: 4 step teaching method; 
performance objectives; and learning domains, etc. 

30 50 

(C) Lesson planning: subject; title; outlines; development; and 
visual aids, etc. 

60 50 

(D)  Techniques of evaluation:  purpose of tests;  types  of  test;  
test  administration; scoring; and grading, etc. 

10  

(3) Conducting classroom and technical instruction and 
demonstrations for three (3) or more students on all practices of 
cosmetology, including the Barbering and Cosmetology Act and 
Rules and Regulations. (Shall be conducted under supervision of 
a licensed instructor.) 

140  

(4)  Supervising and  Training of  students while they are 
practicing the art of cosmetology on a live person or mannequin 
in a classroom or laboratory. 

100 ` 

 
A student enrolled in the six hundred (600) hour instructor training course may not engage in 
the school in a complete service connected with any practice or combination of practices of 
cosmetology upon a patron who is paying for services or materials and shall not be permitted 
to enroll in a second course except following examination failure after the preceding course. No 
credit of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing 
floors, walls, woodwork, toilets, or windows. Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362, and 
7390, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7362, 7390, and 7391 (d) (1), 
Business and Professions Code 

 
COSMETOLOGY BRUSH UP – SOC 39-5012 
The curriculum for students enrolled in cosmetology brush up is based on 400 clock hours. The 
vocational course is designed to prepare the student who has previously taken the Cosmetology 
Exam and failed or who has let their license lapse for the Cosmetology Exam given by the 
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. .  The Instructor trainee is required to pass a final written 
and practical exam with 80% or higher upon graduation.  There are no internships or externship 
credits. 

 
 
 

SUBJECT THEORY 
HOURS 

OPERATIONS 

Wet  Hairstyling:  (shall  include  hair  analysis,  shampooing,  finger  
waving,  pin  curling, braiding and comb outs) 

10 35 

Thermal Hairstyling (shall include, straightening, waving, curling 
with hot combs and hot curling irons, and blower styling) 

5 15 
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Permanent Waving (shall include hair analysis, chemical and heat 
permanent waving.) 

10 35 

Chemical Straightening (shall include hair analysis and the use of 
sodium hydroxide and other base solutions) 

5 10 

Haircutting (shall include hair analysis and the use of the razor, 
scissors, electric clippers, and thinning shears for wet and dry 
cutting.) 

2 10 

Hair coloring and Bleaching (shall include hair analysis, 
predisposition tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, 
bleaching, and the use of dye removers. Shall not include credit 
for color rinses) 

20  

(A) Hair coloring  15 
(B) Bleaching  5 

Scalp and Hair Treatments (shall include hair and scalp 
analysis, scientific brushing, electric and manual manipulations, and 
other hair treatments) 

2 5 

Facials   
(A) Manual (shall include cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, 
and masks) 

2 5 

(B) Electrical (shall include the use of electrical modalities, 
including dermal lights and electrical apparatus, for facials and 
skin care purposes; however machines capable of producing 
an electrical current shall not be used to stimulate so as to 
contract, or for the purpose of contracting, the muscles of the 
body or face) 

7 5 

(C) Chemicals (shall include chemical skin peels, packs, masks and 
scrubs. Training shall emphasize that only the non-living, uppermost 
layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis, may be removed, and 
only for the purpose of beautification. All practical operations must be 
performed in accordance with Section 992 regarding skin peeling) 

10 15 

Eyebrow arching and hair removal (shall include the use of 
wax, tweezers, electric or manual, and depilatories for the removal 
of superfluous hair) 

5 5 

Make Up (shall include skin analysis, complete and corrective 
makeup, lash and brow tinting, and the application of false 
eyelashes) 

5 10 

Manicuring and Pedicuring   
(A) Water and Oil Manicure, including nail analysis, and hand and 
arm massage. 

5 15 

(B) Complete pedicure, including nail analysis, and foot and ankle 
massage. 

1 3 

(C) Artificial nails   
(1) Acrylic Liquid and powder brush-ons 5 10 nails 
(2) Artificial nail tips 3 10 nails 
(3) Nail Wraps and repairs 2 5 nails 

Barbering and Cosmetology Act, Board Rules and Regulations 10  
Cosmetology Chemistry (shall include the chemical composition 
and purpose of cosmetic nail, hair and skin care preparations. Shall 
also include the elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin peels, 
physical and chemical changes in matter) 

5  

Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances (shall include training in 
chemicals and health in establishments, material safety data 
sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing 

20  
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chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies, ergonomics 
and communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis B.) 
Theory of Electricity (shall include the nature of electrical devices 
of operating electrical devices, and the various safety precautions 
used when operating electrical equipment) 

5  

Disinfection and Sanitation (shall include procedures to protect the 
health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. The 
ten required minimum operations shall entail performing all 
necessary functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment as 
specified in Sections 979 980. Disinfection should be emphasized 
throughout the entire training period and must be performed before 
use of all instruments and equipment) 

10 10 

Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology 5  
 
The board recommends that schools provide training in the area of communication skills that includes 
professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, and client service record cards. No credit 
of any type shall be given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing floors, walls, 
woodwork, toilets, or windows. Note: Authority cited: Sections 7312, 7362 and 7362.1©, Business and 
Professions Code. Reference: Sections 7316 (b), 7321(d) (1), 7362, 7362.5(b) and 7389, Business 
and Professions Code. The course may also include not more than 
• eight hours credit for field trips. Such field trips must be under the direct supervision of a licensed 
cosmetology instructor. Date, time, and description of field trip shall be recorded on the student’s daily 
record. Field trips must be cumulative and no credit will be given in lieu of attendance. All students 
shall have completed the specified minimum required hours and Operation upon completion of the four 
(400) hour course. Where warranted, not more than 20 hours may be utilized to correct individual 
student deficiencies. A record of completion or Proof of Training shall then be issued pursuant to 
Section 917.7 Note: Operations do not equal hours. Completing the operations listed fulfills the 
remaining hours. 

NON-DISCRIMINATION CLAUSE No person will be denied admission, graduation, nor any other rights 
and privileges of the college due to race, creed, sex, color, religion or ethnic origin. 

 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS 

• The student must finish with the minimum theory hours and operations listed in the course 
outline. 

• The student must have paid ALL tuition and fees owed. 
• The student must have at least 70% attendance and achieved at least a "C" average for 

academic work. 
• The student must successfully complete all “Mock Board Examinations” given by the school. 
• The student must have provided all required documentation as required (social security card, 

valid photo ID, high school diploma or equivalent) and completed their Application for 
Examination for the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. 

• Upon successful completion of the course the student will be issued a Diploma and Proof of 
Training form. 

• The school will assist graduates in finding suitable employment by posting area employment 
opportunities and teaching Job Readiness classes, but placement is not guaranteed. 

 
OTHER POLICIES 

• Graduates returning to take final written exam are charged $25.00, if it has been one year since 
their graduation date. 

 
RECORDS POLICY 

Student Records—Student records are confidential items. Student records are available to 
the student or legal guardian by appointment and no original documents are to be taken 
from the student's folder. Appointment hours to review records are Tuesday - Friday from 9:30 
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am until 12:30 p.m. No records are to be released to a third party without written permission 
from the student. 

 
Records Access—Office of Education; Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education; Board 
of Barbering and Cosmetology; shall have to right to access student records as it pertains to 
their area of interest. 

 
Institution Student Record Requirements—the institution shall maintain records of the name, 
address, e- mail address, and telephone number of each student who is enrolled in an 
educational program in that institution. The institution shall maintain, for each student granted 
a certificate by that institution, permanent records of all of the following: 
• The certificate granted and the date on which that degree or certificate was granted. 
• The courses on which the certificate was based. 
• The grades earned by the student in each of those courses. 

 
Other Required Institutional Records--The institution shall maintain, for a period of not less 
than five years, at its principal place of business in this state, complete and accurate records 
of all of the following information: 
• The educational programs offered by the institution and the curriculum for each. 
• The names and addresses of the members of the institution’s faculty and records of the 

educational qualifications of each member of the faculty. 
• Any other records required to be maintained by this chapter, including, but not limited 

to, records maintained pursuant to Article 16 (commencing with Section 94928). 
 

Records Retention—the institution shall maintain, for a period of not less than five years, at its 
principal place of business all the records listed above. Transcripts will maintained permanently. 

 
PROGRESS POLICY 

 
• ACADEMIC PROGRESS EVALUATION: Academic progress is measured each month. A 

student must maintain a grade of “C” or 70% to be considered making satisfactory academic 
progress. Academic Progress is a measurement of the student’s written test scores, 
worksheet scores, projects scores, and make up work. At least one of these items will be 
completed each week. 

 
• PRACTICAL PROGRESS EVALUATION:  Practical progress is recorded on a daily basis on 

the back of the student’s time card.  The student is measured on their practical performance 
each day. A point system is used. The points are recorded on the student’s daily time slip 
and cumulated for the week. An instructor for credit will sign each operation. The operation 
sheet must be turned in each week for credit. Students turning in the time sheet late must 
have a documented absence to receive credit. The grading criteria for this performance 
evaluation will be the “NIC Criteria”, published by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. 

 
• ATTENDANCE PROGRESS EVALUATION: Attendance progress is measured each month. A 

student must maintain a 70% attendance average to be considered making satisfactory 
progress. Approved excused absences will not count against the student in maintaining the 
70% figure. 

 
• ABSENCES: If a student is on an approved absence and making satisfactory progress, they 

will be considered to be making satisfactory progress on their return. If a student is making 
unsatisfactory progress at the time of their absence, they will be considered to be making 
unsatisfactory progress upon their return. After returning from their absence and making 
unsatisfactory progress, they will be placed on probation. The Probation Requirements are 
outlined in this policy. 
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• DETERMINATION OF STATUS: In order to maintain Satisfactory Progress a student must be 
making a “C” grade or 70% for attendance, practical operations, and test scores. 

 
• PROBATION: If a student falls below the attendance, academic, or practical progress average 

they will be given one a minimum of one week to cure those deficiencies before being put on 
probation. If after one month on probation the student’s attendance, academic, or practical 
progress averages are still below 70%, they may be dismissed from the program.  In case of 
an approved absence, a student making satisfactory progress will be considered still making 
satisfactory progress on their return. If they were not making satisfactory progress they will 
have a minimum of one (1) week to cure their deficiency upon returning to school. 

 
• DISMISSAL: If a student does not meet the probation requirements they may be withdrawn 
from the course for unsatisfactory progress. They will not be re-admitted until a period of 6 
months has elapsed. At the time of re-admission the applicant must be able to demonstrate 
their ability to complete the course.  A second re-instatement will not be granted. The school’s 
conduct policy is outlined in the school’s Rules and Regulation. Violation of the School’s Rules 
and Regulations are just cause for dismissal. 

 
LEAVE OF ABSENCE: 

• An authorized leave of absence (LOA) is a temporary interruption in a student’s program of 
study. LOA refers to the specific time period during a program when a student is not in 
attendance. An LOA is not required if a student is not in attendance only for an institutionally 
scheduled break. However, a scheduled break may occur during an LOA. 

 
• An LOA must meet certain conditions to be counted as a temporary interruption in a student’s 

education instead of being counted as a withdrawal requiring an institution to perform a 
refund calculation. In order for an LOA to qualify as an approved LOA: 

• All requests for leaves of absence must be submitted in advance in writing, include the 
reason for the student’s request, and include the student’s signature. 

• Considerations for granting an LOA: 
• The student must follow the institutions policy. 
• There must be a reasonable expectation that the student will return from the LOA. 
• The approval must be made by the institutions supervisor. 
• A normal LOA does not exceed 60 days. 
• The LOA together with any additional leaves of absence must not exceed a total of 180 

day in any 12-month period of time. 
• The institution may not assess the student any additional institutional charges as a result of the 

LOA. 
• A student granted an LOA that meets these criteria is not considered to have withdrawn, 

and no refund calculation is required at that time; 
• The institution will extend the students’ maximum time frame and the contract period by the 

same number of days taken in the LOA.  Changes to the contract period on the enrollment 
agreement must be initialed by all parties or an addendum must be signed and dated by all 
parties. 

• If a student does not return to the institution at the expiration of an approved LOA (or a student 
takes an unapproved LOA), the student’s withdrawal date is the date the student began the 
LOA. At an institution required to take attendance, the withdrawal date for the purpose of 
calculating a refund is always student’s last day of attendance. 

• The request must be in writing unless unforeseen circumstances prevent the student from 
doing so. For example, if a student were injured in a car accident and needed a few weeks to 
recover before returning to institution, the student would not have been able to request the 
LOA in advance. 

• The institution may grant an LOA to a student who did not provide the request prior to the 
LOA due to unforeseen circumstances if the institution documents the reason for its decision 
and collects the request from the student at a later date. In this example, the beginning date 
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of the approved LOA would be determined by the institution to be the first date the student 
was unable to attend the institution because of the accident. 

 
CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE 
All students are informed that the unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensing, possession or used of 
a controlled substance within the premises of this organization is strictly prohibited.  Students violating 
this rule will be subject to immediate dismissal. 

 
GRADING POLICY 
Students are examined regularly in theory and practical work. Grading is as follows: A 90-100; B 80-89; 
C 70-79; D 60-69; F 59-0. Students must maintain "C" average for successful progression and 
graduation. 

 
COUNSELING 
Counseling is provided monthly for grades and attendance. Counseling is also provided at completion 
of mock- board exam (approximately 3/4 of the course) for grades and attendance. Progress reports 
are given on a regular basis (approx. 4-5 weeks). 

 
ATTENDANCE POLICY 

• Students are expected to be in regular attendance. All adult students (any student not attending 
regular high school classes) shall be required to complete their hours of training in preparation 
for taking the State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Examination within the following time 
limits. 

• The student must complete his/her program based on the enrollment agreement, for the required 
number of hours (Cosmetology: 1000 hours; Nail Care 600 hours; Cosmetology Teacher 
Training: 600 hours; Nail Care 400 hours; Brush Up 400). 

• High school students see current CCOC/ROP contract. Once the high school student has 
graduated from high school or is no longer attending the regular high school program, then 
that student shall enter a contract prorated on the afore mentioned formula of the number of 
hours remaining for the student. (See Enrollment Agreement). 

• Excessive absences (3 consecutive days) or excessive tardiness will be reviewed by the 
school and can result in dismissal or suspension until such time that the student can 
continue in school without such absences or tardiness. The school can excuse an absence. 
Approved documentation must be provided. The student, however, will be required to complete 
the prescribed work that has been missed. 

 
PLACEMENT 
Job placement assistance is provided to students and graduates at no additional charge. Graduates 
are also entitled to continued advice, and assistance that is offered by the school staff as they 
enter the professional world of cosmetology.  During the students training they are given classes on 
how to make a resume, what to include in a resume pertaining to the course they are studying, portfolio 
of their work, and are given sample interview questions and questions that they may want to ask the 
interviewer in the salon, and how to prepare to perform a skills interview, if asked to do so. The students 
are advised that the law prohibits us from guaranteeing placement as an inducement to enter the 
college. 

 
 
 
CAREER OPPORTUNITIES 
 
Once a student has successfully completed the course(s) and taken the exam given by the Board 
of Barbering Cosmetology there are other career opportunities. These may include working for product 
manufactures as educators, platform artists, make-up artists, and manicuring representatives. 
Additional information about these opportunities can be obtained by contacting the school. 
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CONDUCT POLICY 
• All patron work assigned to students must be accepted, refusal will result in disciplinary action. 

Students may be sent home resulting in overtime charges. 
• "CLEAN UP" assignments are part of your training program as outlined by the Board of 

Cosmetology in the Rules and Regulations, Circulars, and Sanitation Procedures. 
• Students are expected to conduct themselves in a professional manner. (See professional 

ethics-Milady Text) 
• When enrolled in school, each student is expected to purchase equipment necessary for their 

basic training. 
• This amount of equipment must be maintained. Replace any loss immediately. Mark all 

equipment. 
• Break areas are provided for students. They must be kept clean. The practice of leaving lunch 

bags, etc., after eating will not be tolerated. 
• At the end of each day all equipment, stations, supplies must be made ready for the next day. 

Appropriate clean up, disinfection, and sanitation procedures are to be completed by all students. 
• The use of profanity and unprofessional conduct will be cause for disciplinary action. 
• The unlawful possession, use, or distribution of illicit drugs and alcohol by students and 

employees on this property is prohibited. 
• The institution will impose sanctions on students and employees consistent with local, state 

and federal law, up to and including expulsion or termination of employment and referral for 
prosecution for violations. 

11.   The county provides alcohol counseling, treatment, and rehabilitation or re-entry programs 
that are available to employees and students 

 
RECEPTION DESK POLICY 

• Only authorized students are to be at the reception desk wholly at the discretion of the Director, 
Supervising Instructor, or school front desk staff. 

• Loitering will not be tolerated. 
• Changes on the appointment book are to be made only by instructors or the receptionist. 
• Student will not be called to a business phone for personal calls unless of an emergency nature. 
• Messages will be taken. Personal calls may not be made on the business phone. 

 
TUITION POLICY AND FEES POLICY: 
All tuition’s and fees are payable in advance. Payment may be made monthly. The 
schedule is determined by dividing the tuition by length of the course. Cosmetology is 
40 weeks and payments are made in advance each month. Skin Care and Cosmetology 
Teacher Training is 15 weeks and payments are made in advance each month. Nail Care 
is 10 weeks and payments are made in advance each month. 
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TUITION AND FEE SCHEDULE BY COURSE 
 

 
Courses Tuition 

Refundable 
Based on 
refund 
policy 

Registration 
Fee 
Non-
refundable 

Text 
Book 
Non-
refundable 
Once 
used 

Supplies 
Non-
refundable 
Once 
used 

Total Charge 
for period of 
attendance and 
estimate 
schedule of 
total charges 
for entire 

STRF Fee 
Non-
refundable  

Cosmetology $10,450.00 $250.00 $410.00 $1,650.00 $12,760.00 $31.90 
Nail Care $3,600.00 $250.00 $410.00 $1,350.00 $5,610.00 $14.02 
Esthetic $8,700.00 $250.00 $450.00 $1,300.00 $10,700.00 $26.75 
Teacher 
Training 

$6,000.00 $250.00 $450.00 $1650.00 $8,350.00 $20.88 

Brush Up $5200.00 $250.00 $410.00 $1650.00 $7,510.00 $18.78 
 
 

AVOID OVERTIME (OT): The only cause of overtime is absenteeism and tardiness. 
We encourage students to attend regularly. 

Each course/program has been scheduled for completion within an allotted time 
frame (contractual graduation date) and each student is allotted a certain number of 
hours for absences. It is not realistic to expect to receive an education for free. The 
school has reserved space, equipment, and licensed instructors for each student 
and course/program. If a student does not graduate within the contract period, 
additional training will be billed at the rate of: 

• Cosmetology at $12.65 per hour, or any part thereof, payable in advance until graduation 
• Nail Care (Manicuring) at $11.50 per hour, or any part thereof, payable in advance until 

graduation 
• Skin Care (Esthetician) at $16.50 per hour, or any part thereof, payable in advance until 

graduation 
• Teacher Training at $11.00 per hour, or any part thereof, payable in advance until 

graduation 
• Brush Up at $15.00 per hour, or any part thereof, payable in advance until graduation 

 
Students will not be allowed to graduate, and may not be allowed to take a leave of 
absence, pre-apply, or change enrollment status until applicable payments are 
made. 

 
DESCRIPTION OF CHARGES AND EXPECTED PAYMENTS: 

• TUITION: Refundable base of the refund policy 
• SUPPLIES: Not refundable once issued and opened 
• REGISTRATION/APPLICATION FEE: Not refundable  
• TEXT BOOK: Not refundable once used  
• CHANGE OF STATUS FEE: $30 Not refundable  
• OVERTIME:  non-\refundable amount if course is not completed by 10% scheduled 

completion date 
• STRF FEE:  Non-Refundable 
• TRANSFER FEE: $250 for students transferring from another school for combining and 

assessing records. Refundable base of the refund policy  
• SMOCK: Not refundable once issued and opened  
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• STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND Fee: Not refundable 
• OUT OF COUNTRY STUDENT: may incur additional such as: mailing charges; 

translation charges; and other charges related to processing the paperwork. 
• Over 30 days Re-entry Fee: $250 Not refundable 
• Transcript Duplicate Fee: $150 Not refundable 
• File Research Fee: $75 Not refundable 
• After 12 months Withdrawal Paperwork Fee: $75 Not refundable 
• After 3 years Withdrawal Paperwork Fee: $150 Not refundable  

 
In order to graduate, you must complete all the requirements by your course hours if not complete, 
students have to pay additional fee charge.  
 
Courses Final Graduation Requirements: 

• Operations 
• Theory hours 
• Chapters Exam 
• Chapters Assignment 
• Final Written Exam 
• Practical Final 
• Course Hours 

 
Final Exam Fee, if not completed with 30 days of graduation date 

• Final writing test: $25 
• Final Practical:  

Nail Course: $50.00 
Skin Care: $65.00 
Cosmetology Course: $100.00 
Chapter Test: $25.00 per appointment 

 
PAYMENT SCHEDULE PLAN 
All monthly payments are due by contract schedule of month and are considered delinquent if not 
received by 30 days late.  Final payment is due upon graduation. 

 

PRICING:  The following statement applies to all programs and to all students. 
• THE SCHOOL RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE TUITION AND FEES, MAKE THE 

SUBJECT CHANGES WHEN NECESSARY AND MAKE SUBSTITUTIONS IN EQUIPMENT 
WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE. ANY CHANGES IN TUITION AND FEES WILL NOT AFFECT 
CURRENTLY ENROLLED AND ATTENDING STUDENTS.  CHANGES IN TUITION AND 
FEES WILL ONLY AFFECT NEW STUDENTS. THE SCHOOL ALSO RESERVES THE 
RIGHT TO DISCOUNT PROGRAM FEES TO CASH STUDENTS.  CASH STUDENTS ARE 
THOSE WHO ARE NOT ENROLLED AS PART OF A THIRD PARTY SPONSORING 
ORGANIZATION AND / OR ARE NOT RECEIVING ANY KIND OF FINANCIAL GRANT, 
LOAN, OR SUBSIDY FOR THE PURPOSE OF ATTENDING THE SCHOOL. THE SCHOOL 
FURTHER RESERVES THE RIGHT TO NEGOTIATE CONTRACTS / AGREEMENTS WITH 
THIRD PARTY SPONSORING ORGANIZATIONS AT VARYING LEVELS OF TUITION AND 
FEES 
 

 
STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (STRF) 
“The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate 
economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a 
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California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the 
institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you 
must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a 
student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, 
and prepay all or part of your tuition. 

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, 
if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.” 

(b) In addition to the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall 
include the following statement in its school catalog: 

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or 
any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may 
be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 N. Market Blvd Ste 225, 
Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589. 

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid 
tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of 
any of the following: 

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was 
closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau 
or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau. 

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the 
closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 
120 day period before the program was discontinued. 

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure 
of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to 
which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more 
than 120 days before closure. 

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so. 

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as 
required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition 
and other costs. 

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based 
on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to 
collect the award from the institution. 

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and 
have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans. 

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date 
of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. 

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollection may, at 
any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been 
eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the 
student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) 
year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law. 

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification 
number.” 
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REFUND AND CANCELLATION INFORMATION 
 

Students Right to Cancel 
 

• The student has a right to cancel this enrollment agreement and obtain a refund paid through 
attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later, 
by submitting written notice to this school. The appropriate form is available in the school 
catalog; however, your notice may take any form as long as it is in writing. Your notice must 
be delivered to the school at 2630 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA. 95051. If delivery of the 
cancellation notice is sent by mail, the cancellation date shall be the postmarked. Provided 
that any issued equipment / text book(s) are returned, unopened, prior to the class start date, 
all good funds received by the school from this contract shall be refunded except the 
registration fee. 

• The student may withdraw from the course after the cancellation period and receive a pro-rate 
refund for the unused portion of the tuition and other refundable charges. For example, if the 
student were scheduled to complete (regardless of actual attendance) 40 hours of a 400-hour 
course as of the date of their written notice of withdrawal and they paid $2800 for tuition, $150 
for registration, and $670 for the equipment and book, the student would receive a refund of 
$1,782. 

• The amount owed equals the daily charge for the program (total institutional charge, divided by 
the number of days or hours in the program), multiplied by the number of days student 
attended, or was scheduled to attend, prior to withdrawal. For example, if the student were 
scheduled to complete (regardless of actual attendance) 40 hours of a 400-hour course as of 
the date of their written notice of withdrawal and they paid $5610 for tuition, $250 for 
registration, and $1760 for the equipment and book, the student would receive a refund of 
$3600. 
 
 

• The school will also refund any prepaid expenses collected from a third party on the student’s 
behalf such as license or application fees. If the school cancels or discontinues a course or 
education program, the school will make a full refund of all charges. Refund will be paid 
within 45 days of cancellation or withdrawal. If a student withdraws prior to completing 1000 
hours for Cosmetology, 600 hours for Skin care, or 400 hours for Nail, any and all payments 
will first be applied to the purchase price of any equipment or books discounted at the time of 
enrollment with the balance of payments being applied to any tuition owed/refund calculation 
at the regular, non-discounted, tuition rate. 

• Federal and State Financial Aid Programs: The school does not currently participate in 
Federal and State Financial Aid Programs. 

• Student Loans: If the student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student 
will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount 
of any refund. If the student is eligible for a loan guaranteed by the federal or state 
government and the student defaults on the loan, both of the following may occur: 

• The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against 
the student, including applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled 
to reduce the balance owed on the loan. 

• The student may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another 
institution or other government assistance until the loan is repaid. 

• If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have to 
repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that 
if the student receives federal financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of 
the monies not paid from federal financial aid funds. 

       If the student receives federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of    
the monies not paid from federal financial aid funds  
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OUT OF COUNTRY STUDENT:  

• The out of country fee is $250.00 U.S. This additional charge is to cover the cost of 
translations and out of country mailings. This fee is NON-REFUNDABLE 

• All international students must submit entrance exam scores. Take one of the following 
exams and request your scores to be sent directly to the school from the testing center: 
TOEFL (Test of English as a Foreign Language). It tests the amount of English a person 
understands: minimum score of 61 on the Internet Based TOEFL (IBT) 

• The school shall not provide any visa services, we do not accept student visas, nor do we 
vouch for student status. 

• The school does not provide English Language (ESL) study classes as a service              
 

 
 
 

SANTA CLARA BEAUTY COLLEGE 
NOTICE OF CANCELLATION or WITHDRAWAL 

 
 

Your notice of cancellation or withdrawal must be in writing. Hereinafter, referred to as your 
“written notice”.  You may use this form but are not required to do so, as long as your notice is in 
written form and provides all of the information requested below. 

• Your written notice may be hand delivered to the school (2630 El Camino Real, Santa 
Clara, CA 95051) and your effective date of withdrawal or cancellation will be the date 
received by the school. 

• Your written notice may be mailed to the school (2630 El Camino Real, Santa Clara, CA 
95051) and your effective date of withdrawal or cancellation will be the postmark date. 

• Your written notice may be faxed to the school (408.249.6066) and your effective date of 
withdrawal or cancellation will be the date received by the school. 

 
REMEMBER YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING. You do not have the right to cancel by just 
telephoning the school or by not coming to class. 

• Emails, text messages, phone calls, and verbal notices will not be accepted. 

Print Student Information: 
   
First Name Last Name Last 4 SSN 

 
     Reason for Cancellation or Withdrawal: 

  
Student Signature – “Please terminate my contract. I hereby withdraw from school.” Date of 
Signature 

 
For Office Use Only: (rev 03/07/23) 

 
 

Received By: Date Received:     
Attached post-marked envelope if received by mail. 

 
 
 

STUDENT SERVICES 
• Housing—the school does not have dormitory facilities nor any dormitory under its control. 



26 
 

• Office of Affordable Housing provides information and housing assistance in Santa 
Clara County. The school do not assist with finding housing. There are apartment 
complexes within walking distance of the school.  Rent ranges between $2200 on up. 

• Student Rights—additional information concerning student rights can be 
found at:  www.bppe.ca.gov/students HYPERLINK 
"http://www.bppe.ca.gov/students". The information includes: 

• Student tuition Recovery Fund Application 
• Brochures 
• School Closure 
• Helpful resources 
• Complaint Forms 
• Searchable Data Bases 
• Fake Degree’s 
• Scholarship Scams 
• Student Tips 
• Student Loans: Avoiding Deceptive Offers 

Placement Assistance—the school provides a jobs board in the school and on a private Facebook page 
to students listing salons looking for new graduates.  During the students training they are given classes 
on how to make a resume, what to include in a resume pertaining to the course they are studying, portfolio 
of their work, and are given sample interview questions and questions that they may want to ask the 
interviewer in the salon, and how to prepare to perform a skills interview, if asked to do so.  The students 
are advised that the law prohibits us from guaranteeing placement as an inducement to enter the 
college. 

• Communication—the school sends regular emails to all graduates concerning available 
jobs, advanced education opportunities, current Rules and Regulations about the 
Cosmetology industry, and in-school advance educational classes. It is important to 
provide a current email address to the school. 

• Orientation—the institution provides an orientation on the first day of class which includes: 
• The instructional course. 
• Educational objectives of each program. 
• Administrative polies affecting the student. 
• Other support services available to students. 
• Students are advice about laws and regulations (Cosmetology Act and Regulations 

2009); Scope of the Examination; Health and Safety; and NIC Testing (Practical and 
Written). 

• Grievance Procedures for Students 
• For both legal and policy reasons, it is desirable that Santa Clara Beauty College 

students have an established and approved mechanism by which serious grievances 
may be resolved promptly and equitably. The following procedures should be used by 
students for the resolution of grievances alleging unfair action on the part of the 
school's administration or faculty, including discrimination based on race, color, 
religious belief, political beliefs, sex (including sexual harassment), national or ethnic 
origin, handicap, age or sexual orientation. 

• A student considering lodging a grievance against another student or other individual 
who is not a member of the university administration or faculty, and which does not 
involve behavior covered under the school's disciplinary procedures, should discuss 
the matter with the supervising instructor or other appropriate faculty member or 
administrator. If the grievance cannot be resolved informally, the student may ask the 
management to arrange for mediation of the dispute or to conduct some other 
process appropriate to the particular circumstance; the process may or may not 
include elements of the formal grievance procedure described below. 

• Formal Grievance Procedure 
• An aggrieved student may request resolution of the grievance by initiating the 

following formal procedure. 
• A formal grievance is a complaint in writing from the student to the management, 
asking that an ad hoc grievance committee be appointed. The written complaint 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/students
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/students
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should be filed within one week of the event to which it refers and should include the 
following, as appropriate: 

• Statement of the allegation 
• Description of the alleged facts 
• Summary of steps he/she already has taken in attempt to resolve the 

problem 
• Name/s of the person/s thought to be responsible for the alleged events 
• Other facts considered to be pertinent to the case 
• Signature of the person initiating the complaint 

• The management appoints a grievance committee consisting of a representative of 
the Faculty Council, at least one member of the school's administration, and a 
student, chosen, who has completed at least 800 clock hours at the school. This 
grievance committee is appointed and convened within ten working days of receipt of 
the written complaint, or sooner if immediate action is required. In all cases, 
confidentiality is maintained during the selection and appointment process. A quorum 
requires that all members be present. 

• The grievance committee investigates the grievance. This investigation includes, but 
need not be limited to: 

• Meeting/s with the person aggrieved and the person/s (or representatives of the 
department) grieved against. 

• Consultation with such others as the committee deems necessary to provide a 
thorough investigation of the grievance, including scientific ramifications or concerns, 
and other mitigating or extenuating circumstances that bear upon the situation. 

• The ad hoc grievance committee expeditiously considers the facts of the case and 
presents a report to the school. The report includes findings of facts and 
recommendations, if any. Every precaution is taken to ensure the confidentiality of 
information obtained at meetings of the ad hoc grievance committee. The committee 
also makes every effort to conclude the investigation promptly and to take any needed 
remedial action. 

• Upon receipt of the report from the grievance committee, the school may exercise 
the following options: 

• Take whatever action he or she feels is warranted, using the report of the grievance 
committee as advisory information. 
Return the matter to the grievance committee for further consideration. This action 
returns the grievance to Step 3 of this procedure. 

• The final action the school constitutes the formal completion of the grievance 
procedure. The grievance committee is then discharged. The final action is 
communicated to both the person aggrieved and the person/s grieved against. 
Once the procedure is completed, all records of the meetings of the committee and 
the final report of the committee remain in the possession of the school and are 
treated with appropriate confidentiality. 


