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As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an 

enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the school performance fact 

sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 

 

ADMISSIONS POLICY 

 

It is the policy of the California Institute of Locksmithing, to admit any person who has 

the ability to benefit from our program.  Locksmithing is primarily a "hands-on" trade 

and although the necessity to read, write or understand English is highly recommended, 

the school will not deny admission solely based upon an applicant's inability to read, 

write or speak English or any other factor.  All factors are considered to determine if an 

applicant has the ability to benefit from our program. The school will consider foreign 

students for admission, but provides no visa services to such students. Placement services 

may be limited to such students due to Federal and States laws. 

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily 

answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 

Education at 1747 N Market Blvd., Ste 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, www.bppe.ca.gov, 

toll-free telephone number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897. 

The locksmithing program is designed to prepare the student to obtain an entry-level 

locksmithing position and locksmithing license issued by the State of California. 

Livescan fingerprinting and an application is required to apply for a California State 

License. There is no exam for the license. You may be denied licensure if you have a 

criminal background. It is at the discretion of the state. Contact the Bureau of Security  

and Investigative Services if you have any questions regarding the application.  Foreign 

students and students intending to obtain a license from another state, country or province 

need to consider any legal impediments that may be applicable to them.  The school gives 

out no legal advice, and makes no representations regarding a student’s legal ability to 

work in a given locale after graduation.  It is suggested that if a potential student has 

questions in this regard that s/he consult with an attorney or other representative.  

 

APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 

 

The California Institute of Locksmithing’s approval to operate as a private postsecondary 

institution in the state of California is based on provisions of the California Private 

Postsecondary Education Act (CPPEA) of 2009 (California Education Code, Title 3, 

Division 10, Part 59, Chapter 8), which is effective January 1, 2010. 

 

LOCKSMITHING COURSES– 300/70 class hours 

 

All instruction is in classroom setting and is taught in the English language.  California 

statute requires that a student, who successfully completes a course of study be awarded 

an appropriate diploma or certificate verifying that fact.  California Institute of 

Locksmithing awards a diploma upon the successful completion of the 300 hour course. 

If you complete the 10-day course you will receive a certificate of completion. 

 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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10-week class for Locksmithing – Cost of tuition is $6000 

COURSE DESCRIPTION 

 

Class hours:   8:30am – 2:30pm     

Week One: 

1. Introduction to Friedman College and key blank ID 

2. Key machines and duplicating keys 

3. Lock parts and construction 

4. Rekeying locks 

5. Keys by Code and manual key generation 

Week Two: 

1. Lock Installation 

2. Business aspects 

3. Impressioning 

4. lock picking and car opening 

5. Review & Licensing 

Week Three 

1. Rekeying locks  

2. Lock Parts and Construction  

3. Review 

Week Four 

1. Masterkey 

2. Review 

Week Five 

1. Advanced Impressioning Techniques 

2. Review 

Week Six 

1. High security locks 

2. Safes (not drilling or manipulation training) 

3. Codes and Code machines 

Week Seven 

1. Automotive 

Week Eight 

1. Review all locksmith training 

2. Tricks of the Trade 

3. Commercial doors 

4. Electronic Locks 

Week Nine 

1. Lock picking & Specialty tools 

Week Ten 

1. Review for testing and graduation 

Course length is 10 weeks with a possibility of an additional 2 weeks for holidays or 

other activities that may interrupt the normal schedule.  Schedule Subject to change and 

is for reference only. Breaks are 5-10 min each hour and lunch is from 12-12:45. 

 

10-Day Locksmith Class-Cost of tuition is $2500 
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10 days, 8:30am to 2:30pm 

  

Day 1 Learn to find the right key & key machines 

 

Day 2 Lock types, brands and parts 

 

Day 3 Rekey the locks 

 

Day 4 Installation of locks 

 

Day 5 Impressioning, securing the property & tricks of trade 

 

Day 6 Lock picking – high security locks 

 

Day 7 Business aspects and car openings 

 

Day 8 Securing the property & tricks of trade 

 

Day 9 Review 

 

Day 10 Review & Final  

 

 

Prospective students are encouraged to visit the physical facilities of the school and to 

discuss personal, educational, and occupation plans with school personnel prior to 

enrolling or signing an enrollment agreement.  

 

 

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND 

CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION 

 

The transferability of credits you earn at California Institute of Locksmithing is at the 

complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the 

diploma you earn in Locksmithing is also at the complete discretion of the institution to 

which you may seek to transfer. If the diploma that you earn at this institution is not 

accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat 

some of all of your coursework at the institution. For this reason, you should make 

certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals.  This may 

include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending 

California Institute of Locksmithing to determine if your diploma will transfer. California 

Institute of Locksmithing has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with 

any other college or university. 
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This school currently has available sponsored programs, government or otherwise, to 

provide grants or to pay for portions of tuition and fees.  We do offer a scholarship 

program.  

 

The California Institute of Locksmithing has been approved to operate by the State of 

California Private Post-secondary Education. All information in the content of this school 

catalog is current and correct and is so certified as true by J. Corey Friedman, President.   

               

 

 
        
Signature:_________________________ 

                J. Corey Friedman, President 

 

 

HISTORY OF THE INSTITUTION 
 

California Institute of Locksmithing started its first class in 1972. The Institute has been 

in continuous operation since that time. California Institute of Locksmithing has the goal 

to train entry-level locksmiths in the highest standards of the industry. Craftsmanship, 

ethics and professionalism along with a clear understanding of the job's responsibilities 

are the techniques taught by the administration and faculty. Our founder, who felt that a 

school was needed, that would teach locksmithing as a primary course, fulfilled his 

dream when the doors opened in 1972.   As of June 28, 1999, the school is owned by 

Friedman College d.b.a. California Institute of Locksmithing. Friedman College d.b.a. 

California Institute of Locksmithing wishes to continue the fine education that has been a 

tradition over the many years of operation. 

 

This institution does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, is not operating as a 

debtor in possession, has not filed a petition within the preceding 5 years, and has not had 

a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding 5 years that resulted in 

reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy code.  

 

MISSION AND OBJECTIVES 
 

The California Institute of Locksmithing is dedicated to quality job preparation delivered 

in a context of practical and pragmatic training gained by years of on-the-job experience 

of the course developers.  California Institute of Locksmithing objectives are: 

 

*  To help students achieve a superior level of basic curricula skills that will result in 

increased employment competence. 

*  To provide a supportive educational environment which sustains the student's 

desire to maximize potential for achievement of academic, personal and career 

goals. 

*  To offer students interested in the locksmithing field and continually reevaluate 

their comprehensive curricula so that a meaningful and relevant learning 

experience result. 
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* To place a student upon graduation into an entry-level locksmith position. 

 

Learning outcomes are evaluated by duly qualified faculty. Faculty provides written tests 

and quizzes for each topic in the student educational program along with practical testing. 

Instruction at California Institute of Locksmithing leads to the achievement of the 

learning objective of each course, such as hands-on instruction, video tapes and materials 

and lessons learned in course binder. All of our faculty have at least 3 years’ experience 

in the locksmithing industry and are very knowledgeable in regard to the student’s 

achievement of the learning objective. 

 

 

LOCATION AND PHYSICAL FACILITIES 

 

California Institute of Locksmithing is housed in an office building at 30423 Canwood 

St., #201, Agoura Hills, California. The maximum number of students limited per class is 

18 (18). There is free parking on the street in front of the building. Students who do not 

follow school rules and regulations regarding on-site parking will be put on probation, 

and if the disobedience continues, will be dismissed.   

 

The school may be reached by telephone at (818) 994-7425. The school's fax number is 

(818) 994-7427.  The school’s web address is www.lock411.com or 

friedmancollege.com. The school’s email address is: locksmithadmissions@gmail.com 

 

HEALTH AND SAFETY CONSIDERATIONS 

 

It is the policy of California Institute of Locksmithing to maintain a safe environment for 

its students and staff members, and as such has annual fire and safety inspections.  Exit 

signs are posted prominently, and a first-aid kit is located in the classroom in a 

conspicuous place. Should greater medical attention be required, the Agoura Hills area 

hospital's emergency rooms are within quick reach of either one of the institutions' 

vehicles or by ambulance. 

 

AFFIRMATIVE ACTION POLICY 

 

California Institute of Locksmithing does not discriminate in employment or access of 

services to anyone on the basis of race, color, creed, religious or ethical beliefs, national 

origin, sex, age, handicap or medical condition.  All applicants are interviewed and 

evaluated on the basis of their ability to be trained in the field of locksmithing.   
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CREDIT /CLOCK HOURS 

 

Amended 

California Institute of Locksmithing uses grades, clock hours of attendance, and course 

work completed to measure academic progress for the Locksmithing program.  A clock 

hour is a period of sixty (60) minutes of instruction. 

 

PROGRAM OBJECTIVE 

 

The 300-class hour (10 weeks, 8:30 a.m. – 2:30 p.m., Monday - Friday) course is based 

on an average 12 students* and designed to prepare the graduate in the field of 

Locksmithing. Locksmiths are employed by hotels, motels, major companies, 

commercial and industrial building owners, auto manufacturers and dealers.   The student 

will install, repair, rebuild, and service mechanical locking devices using hand tools and 

special equipment.  Student disassembles locks, such as padlocks, safe locks, and door 

locks and replaces worn tumblers, springs, and other parts.  Inserts new tumblers into 

lock to change combination.  Cuts new or otherwise duplicates keys with code systems 

using a key cutting and code cutting machines, with or without original keys.  The 

student removes and repair locks for the American and foreign automobiles, etc., and will 

make key impression.  The student will design master key systems for commercial and 

industrial buildings. 

 

LIBRARY/RESOURCES 

 

There are shelves of books and video tapes that are at your disposable but are not allowed 

to leave the school unless you have permission from the Director. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

CAMPUS EQUIPMENT 

 

California Institute of Locksmithing maintains the following teaching minimum devices 

for demonstration and practice:  
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Quantity                   Equipment Model Description 

 

1                               ILCO 009 Tubular Key Duplicating Machines 

4                               ILCO Key Cutting Machines 

1                               Computerized code cutting machines 

2                               Laser/Sidewinder Key Cutting  Machines 

3                               Curtis Hand Code Cutting Machines 

1                               Foley Belsaw code and duplicating machine 

1                               Framon Code Tubular Key Cutting Machine 

1                               Borkey Semi-automatic Key Cutting 

Machines 

3                               HPC 1200CM Code Machine 

2                               HPC Key Cutting Machine 

1                              Ilco 024 Key Duplicating Machine 

2                                      Transponder Programming units 

 

     

Audio and Visual: 

 

    1 Lance Overhead Projector  5 Computers 

    1 VCR /DV    1 Large Screen Projector 

    2 Color Televisions   1 Multi-monitor splitter device 

     

 

 

 

TUITION AND FEES 
 

10-week Basic Locksmithing tuition $5925; Registration $75.00; Total $6000. 

10-day  Tuition $2500 – Does not include; Automotive, Safes and Masterkeying. 

25% deposit required for 10-15-week class and 50% deposit required for 10-day class. 

 

SPECIALIZED TRAINING 

 

Do you want to just learn automotive, safes or just some skill you’re weak in? We offer 

specialized training to match the locksmiths/students needs. We can provide onsite 

training, private classes, business start-up programs and single project/job assistance. We 

can accommodate most requests and can be very creative to help you accomplish your 

goals.  
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BASIC TOOLS (actual tools may vary) 
 

The following items are included and are given to each student at the beginning of the 

course, or applicable segment, as is appropriate: 

                           
1 Tool bag    
1 Ilco auto and truck guide    
1 Ilco key catalog     
1 Kwikset type lock    
1 Schlage type of lock     
1 Mortise cylinder    
10 Shims    
1 Kwikset follower    
1 Kwikset cylinder removal    
1 Hammer    
1 6 in 1 screwdriver    
1  Schlage  & Kwikset pin kit    
Set Piece jeweler’s screwdriver set    
1 Tweezers (Pinning)    

1 Diagonal side cutter    

1 Awl    
1 Vise Grips    
1 Key Gauge    
1 Multi tester    
1 Key file     
1 Lock picking set    
1 Yellow Marker    
1 Long Nose Pliers     
1 Car Opening tool    
1 Magnifying unit    
1 Kwikset depth spacing keys    
1 Schlage depth & spacing keys    
1 Weslock depth & spacing keys    
1 Schlage knob removal tool    
1 Key Assortment    
1 Lighter    
1 Hex Key    
1 Safety glasses    
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Optional equipment   (Additional cost $775.00): 

 

1      Ilco Portable, Foley-Belsaw model 200 key cutting machine or equivalent.   

         (retail $450.00) 

1      Complete Car Opening tools.     (retail $270.00) 

1      Universal Pin Kit      (retail $175.00) 

 

         ============ 

VALUE      $       895.00 

  

Note: The price for these three tools have dropped to $775.00.  We cut out the 

handling fees and negotiated for better prices directly with the manufacturer. 

 

HOUSING 

 

California Institute of Locksmithing does not maintain dormitory facilities. However, 

assistance in locating housing is available.  There are several AIRBNB rentals available 

reasonably close to the school. They range from $500 to $1500 per month. 

 

CONDUCT POLICY 

 

Students are expected to conduct themselves in a professional manner, with consideration 

and respect, as in any business situation. Students are to keep the facilities neat and clean 

and obey all school rules and regulations, including but not limited to parking rules on 

and off the facility.  

 

At the discretion of the Administration, a student may be dismissed from school for being 

in an intoxicated or drugged state, possession of drugs or alcohol upon school premises, 

possession of weapons on school premises, behavior creating a safety hazard to the 

persons at school, disobedient or disrespectful behavior to another student, an 

administrator, or faculty member. 

 

Any student who harms or threatens to harm another student, faculty, or any other 

person(s) within the facility may be immediately dismissed from school. 

 

Observance of the rules and regulations and maintenance of a professional manner are 

required at all times. Unruly conduct or any conduct that interferes with the progress of 

other students and the operation of the school is cause for dismissal. 
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ATTENDANCE POLICY 

 

Students are expected to attend all regularly scheduled classes. Students must be present 

and on time for all class sessions. All absences and late arrivals are recorded and are 

available to prospective employers. Students who are absent or tardy must make up the 

course work under the supervision of the instructor before or after regularly scheduled 

class time. Failure to make up the course work due to tardiness will result in the student 

receiving a reduced grade for the lesson by one letter grade. A student must complete his 

or her program of study within a maximum time frame of one and one-half times the 

length of the program as defined in the enrollment agreement. 

 

It is the responsibility of the student to telephone in advance to inform the school when 

they will be absent or late, just as it would be necessary to inform an employer. A student 

will be terminated for 10 days.  Full time status is defined as the enrollment of at least 15 

clock hours per week. 

 

TARDY POLICY 

 

Students are expected to attend all regularly scheduled classes. Students must be present 

and on time for all class sessions. Students who are not present and on time will be 

marked as TARDY. All tardiness will be calculated by minutes of class time lost and 

course work must be made up under the supervision of the instructor before or after 

regularly scheduled class time. 

 

 

HOLIDAYS 

In accordance with Federal rules and regulations, the school will be closed on all Federal 

holidays.  The following are some, but not necessarily all, observed Federal Holidays: 

 

New Year's                                                 Labor Day 

Martin Luther King Day                 Veteran's Day 

President's Day                               Thanksgiving Day  

Cesar Chavez Day Friday After Thanksgiving 

Memorial Day                                   Independence Day      

Christmas Day 

 

 

LEAVE OF ABSENCE 

 

The institution may grant no more than a single leave of absence to a student in any 

twelve-month period. A student must make a written request to be granted a leave of 

absence. The leave of absence must be approved by the school in writing.  The leave of 

absence will involve no additional charges by the school to the student.  A leave of 

absence may not exceed sixty days.  
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Student Receiving Veterans Benefits 
 

• Must complete their program within the originally contracted length time 

• Veterans must maintain a passing grade for each class and an attendance rate of 80% 

to be maintaining satisfactory progress. 

• Progress will be reviewed every two weeks for all veterans.  Students failing to achieve 

the above standards will be place on probation for two weeks. 

• Students not achieving satisfactory progress standards after the two week probation 

period will have benefits interrupted. 

• The maximum non-refundable registration fee for veterans is $10.00 

• All previous education and training will be evaluated prior to enrollment.  Credit will 

be awarded where appropriated with the program being shortened accordingly,  The 

student and the Veterans Administration will be promptly notified  
• The refund policy for students receiving veterans benefits is 100% pro-rata refund 

thoughout the entire length of the program. 

 

 

 

Classroom hours are calculated at 27.5 hours per week for 10 weeks, 275 total hours 

for veterans payment purposes. 

 

We do not accept prior experiential learning. 

 

GRADING SYSTEM 

 

The Institute utilizes a pass/fail grading system: 

                 

Students are also graded on the acquisition of practical demonstrable skills. Any 

assignment not submitted as due or any test missed will be graded a zero  

 

 

 

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS 

 

These standards of satisfactory academic progress have been established following 

guidelines adopted by the U.S. Department of Education.  This institution expects its 

students to maintain satisfactory academic progress. In order to maintain satisfactory 

academic progress as established by this institution, a student must: 

 

1.  Complete his or her program of study within a maximum time frame of one and  

one half times the length of the program as defined in the enrollment agreement; 

2. Successfully complete at least 67% of the attempted hours at the end of each 

    month in order to complete the educational objective with the maximum time  

   frame; 

3. Comply with satisfactory academic progress, which is divided into evaluation  
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     periods   and is assessed at the end of each of each month of training; 

4. Show satisfactory academic progress standards, which are consistently applied to  

    all students within categories of students, e.g., full-time, part-time, and varying   

    programs established by the institution. 

 
Students who withdraw from school will be evaluated on course work completed at the time of 

withdrawal. Students with incomplete course work will be issued an incomplete grade for the 

course work and will be deemed not making satisfactory progress. A grade of incomplete will 

revert to a failure if not completed/corrected within 135 days from the start date. The institution 

does not offer non-credit remedial course work. A student may repeat a module only once, with 

the higher grade earned being the grade of record. 

 

Students who fail to maintain satisfactory academic progress during an evaluation period 

will be placed on probation for a period of up to 2 weeks. If the student (veteran) does not 

meet the satisfactory progress standards by the end of this period, benefits will be 

interrupted. The student will remain eligible to receive student aid during these 

probationary periods.   

 

Probationary students, who fail to meet the satisfactory academic progress standards by 

the conclusion of the second probationary period, will be deemed to be not making 

satisfactory progress and will lose any remaining eligibility for student financial aid and 

may be terminated at the discretion of the institution. In the event students are allowed to 

continue instruction, aid eligibility will be reinstated only after the student has 

reestablished satisfactory academic progress in accordance with the standards stated 

above. Probationary students, who meet the satisfactory academic progress standards by 

the end of the probationary period, will be removed from probation and will retain 

eligibility for Title IV aid. 

 

Students who wish to appeal a determination that they are not making satisfactory 

academic progress must submit a written appeal to the financial aid committee. The 

Committee consists of the school director and the instructor. The letter should describe 

any circumstances that the student believes deserve special consideration. The committee 

will evaluate the appeal and inform the student of their decision in writing.  Students may 

reestablish their eligibility for aid payments by correcting any deficiencies to the 

acceptable minimum levels of these standards. 

 

 

 

STUDENT GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 

 

A copy of the Commission's Complaint Form is available at the school and may be 

obtained by contacting J. Corey Friedman, President or Teresa, Manager of 

Administration.  Persons seeking to resolve problems or complaints should first contact 

the instructor in charge. Requests for further action may be made to the Director or 

President of the school.  A student or any member of the public may file a complaint 

about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling 
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(888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on 

the bureau’s internet web site www.bppe.ca.gov  

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS 

 

To qualify for graduation and to be conferred a diploma, a student must successfully meet 

the skill requirements for the program and complete the described course of study with a 

passing grade; pass the final examination and discharge all financial obligations to the 

institute. 

 

DISCLOSURE OF EDUCATIONAL RECORDS 

 

All students have the right to inspect, review and/or challenge information in their 

educational records. These educational records are maintained by the Director in a locked 

fireproof file cabinet or maintained in a secure off site location. No person or persons 

other than the student's instructor or other authorized staff members of California 

Institute of Locksmithing shall be allowed to view a student's records without the 

expressed written permission of the student. California Institute of Locksmithing shall 

maintain student records for a period no less than required by current law. Accrediting 

and governmental agencies, so empowered by federal law, may review student records 

periodically with their routine inspections of the Institution. California Institute of 

Locksmithing adheres to the Buckley Amendment. A transcript will be issued upon 

request. All student records must be kept for a minimum of 5 years. All transcripts are 

kept permanently. 

 

PLACEMENT ASSISTANCE 
 

The institute maintains a policy of placement assistance to all our graduates. The job 

classification is Locksmith/Safe Technician. US Dept. of Labor Standard Occupational 

Classification code is 49-9094.  Although the school cannot make job promises or 

guarantees, we attempt to place every graduate. We offer assistance with resume writing, 

interviewing techniques, job search techniques, arrangements interviews, and refresher 

classes. Graduates are welcome to return to the California Institute of Locksmithing for 

testing and refresher classes at any time.  There is never a charge to California Institute of 

Locksmithing graduates for placement assistance, testing, or refresher training.  The 

school also maintains a library for current students as well as former students. 

 

 

 

CANCELLATION POLICY  

 

The student has a right to cancel the agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid 

through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, 

whichever is later. To cancel the contract for school, mail or deliver a signed and dated 

copy of the Cancellation Notice, or any other written notice, or send a telegram to:  The 

California Institute of Locksmithing, 30423 Canwood Street, #201, Agoura Hills, CA 

91301, attention Corey Friedman. 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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Institution shall advise each student that a notice of cancellation shall be in writing, and 

that a withdrawal may be effectuated by the student’s written notice or by the student’s 

conduct including, but not necessarily limited to, a student’s lack of attendance.  

 

If the student cancels, any payment the student has made and any negotiable instrument 

signed by the student shall be returned to the student within 10 days following the 

school's receipt of the student's Cancellation Notice.  

 

 

Each student has the right to withdraw from a course of instruction at any time.  Students 

who withdraw after the end of the cancellation period, have the right to receive a refund 

for the part of the course not taken, less the cost of un-returned equipment and less a 

registration fee not exceeding seventy-five dollars. The student shall have their refund 

calculated on a "pro-rata" basis depending on how many scheduled hours remain in the 

course at the time of the withdrawal. 

 

REFUND POLICY 

 

Refunds are calculated as follows:  The refund shall be the amount the student paid for 

instruction multiplied by a fraction, the numerator of which is the number of hours of 

instruction that the student has not yet received but for which the student has paid, and 

the denominator of which is the total number of hours of instruction for which the student 

has paid. Students who have not visited the school prior to starting class or have been 

rejected will receive a full refund without any deductions. 

 

Example: A student is enrolled in a course that is 300 clock hours long and withdraws 

from class after fifteen days of instruction, which is scheduled to six hours per day. 

Therefore, 90 hours of the student's course have elapsed and 270 hours remain. If the 

total price is $6000.00, and the student has paid all fees, the refund would be calculated 

as follows: 

 

I. Step One 

Amount paid for instruction by student to date                           $6000.00 

Minus registration fee                                                                      $75.00 

 

Subtotal:  $5925.00 

 

$5925.00 - 270 hours of instruction not yet received               $4443.75 

         300 hours in course for which student paid 

 

2. Step Two 

Initial refund amount                                                                   $4443.75 

Minus cost of unreturned equipment                                                 $560 

Actual refund amount                                                                  $3883.75 
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The school will refund any money due within 10 business days after receiving a notice of 

cancellation. 

 

A student who wishes to cancel or voluntarily terminate after starting training may 

submit a written notice to the School Director. In any event, the termination date for 

refund computation purposes is the last date of actual attendance by the student. In the 

case of prolonged illness or accident, death in the family, or other circumstances that 

make it impractical to complete the program, the school shall make a settlement that is 

reasonable and fair to both penalties. 

 

The refund policy for students who have completed 60% or less of the period of 

attendance shall be a pro rata refund.  

 

If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the 

responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any 

refund, and that, if the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student 

is entitled to a refund of the moneys not paid from the federal student financial aid 

program funds.  
 

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND 
 

 

"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve 

or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying 

institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a 

residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered 

an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-

imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student 

in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are not enrolled in a resident 

program, and prepay all or part of your tuition. You are not eligible for protection from 

the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a 

California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program. 

 

It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid 

documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the 

school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private 

Postsecondary Education, 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 

431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.  

 

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency 

program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid he TRF assessment, and suffered 

an economic loss as a result of any of the following: 

 

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by 

the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in 



California Institute of Locksmithing 

 18 

a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out 

plan approved by the Bureau. 

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 

day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution or were 

enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program 

was discontinued.  

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 

days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an 

educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined 

there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 

120 days before closure.  

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do 

so.  

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student 

loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds 

received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.  

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an 

arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or 

representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the 

institution. 

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your 

student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the 

cancellation of the student loan or loans. To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the 

application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or 

event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. A student whose 

loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollection 

may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt 

that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four 

(4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must 

have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year 

period, unless the period has been extended by the another act of law. However, 

no claim can be paid to any student without a social security or a taxpayer 

identification number. 

 

 

 

FINANCIAL AID  

 

The California Institute offers in-house short terms financial aid. Contact the manager of 

admissions.  

 

The California Institute of Locksmithing is not an eligible institution to participate in the 

U.S. Department of Education's Title TV programs, which offers the Federal Pell Grant 

and the Federal Family Educational Loan programs, at this time. We are not an accredited 

institution that is recognized by the United States Department of Education.  If the 

institution should become eligible for the financial aid, a student must: 
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• be admitted as a regular student; 

• be enrolled or accepted for enrollment in an eligible program on at least a half- time 

basis; 

• be a citizen or an eligible non-citizen; 

• not owe a refund on a Federal Pell Grant or Federal SEOG at any school; 

• not be in default on a Federal Perkins Loan or Federal Stafford Loan/PLUS at any 

school; 

• have financial need; 

• be making satisfactory progress (as defined by the school's policy) in the course of 

study; 

• be registered for selective service (if a male born on or after January 1, 1960); 

• have signed a statement of educational purpose; 

• have signed a statement of updated information; 

• have High School diploma, a GED, or have demonstrated the ability to benefit. 

 

It is important to note that the basic locksmithing course is 300 clock hours, and as such, 

may not qualify for some or all of the financial aid(s) set forth above. 

 

To apply for aid at the California Institute of Locksmithing, an applicant must complete a 

free Application for Federal Student Aid. You must follow the directions. After you 

complete the application form, make an appointment to see a financial aid representative 

to have your information analyzed and eligibility determined. You must supply signed 

copies of your tax returns, and depending on your age, signed copies of your parents' 

returns as well, and other documentation upon the request of the financial aid counselor. 

After the California Institute of Locksmithing accepts a completed application, your 

information is sent to our processor for analysis. A determination of eligibility will take 

approximately one week. 

 

CLASS START DATES 

 
Day Classes are held Monday through Friday from 8:30a.m. to 2:30 p.m. with a lunch break at approximately 12:00 

p.m. and ending 12:30 p.m.  The Locksmithing course is 10 weeks in length for a total of 300 clock hours, if the 

student starts on or within three days of one of the start dates listed below.  A student may start class within 10 days 

after any start date, but the course may be lengthened to 14 weeks.  There is no additional cost for this added 

instruction.  The 10-day class is M-F 8:30am to 2:30pm 
 

Evening classes: Call for start dates and times. 

 
PRIMARY FACULTY  
 
J. Corey Friedman -Director, & Instructor  
Bachelor of Science, Paramedics (Emergency Medicine) Central Washington University, Ellensburg, WA  
Locksmith (Lic.#LCO-2874)  
CA State Licensed Instructor (Lic.#I-2615, JNNGG-49RSYP1999). Private Investigations, Locksmithing,    

Identity Theft, Bail Bonds and Security Guard.  
CA Contractors License C-28/C-33/HIC (Lic.#812651) 

 CA State Contractors License Board Subject Matter Expert (2007-2009)  
The International Assn of Investigative Locksmiths (#00497)  Former Board of Directors 
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Vice-President of California Locksmith Association (2002)  
Vice President & President of California Locksmith Association Los Angeles Chapter(2002-2003) 

 
Dave Gelberg– Instructor 

➢ Owner/Operator Handy Lock and Key, 1980 
➢ Owner/Operator LD Commercial Lock Service, 1995 

 
Grant Beuchel – Instructor 

➢ Licensed Locksmith 
➢ Employed by Marriot Hotels as Locksmith from 2002-2012 
➢ Graduated Law school in 1988 

 
Teresa Friedman – Operations Manager 

➢ Employed by Coldwell Banker for 10 years as Administrative Manager 
➢ Worked with Friedman College from 2008 to present as Operations Manger 

 
 
 
  
 
 
 
TOTAL CHARGES FOR THE CURRENT PERIOD:  $6000(10 week) $2500 (10 day) 
TUITION: $4700 (10 week)  $1200 (10 day) 
TOOLS: $560 
REGISTRATION: $75 
LICENSING & PROCESSING: $150 
WRITTEN MATERIALS/BOOKS:$200 
LAB FEES:$315 
 
ESTIMATED CHARGES FOR THE ENTIRE EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM: $6000 
 
Total Deposit Due:__________________ 
 
STRF Fees Due:___________________(Non-Refundable) 
(0 per $1000 institutional charges) 
 
TOTAL CHARGES THE STUDENT IS OBLIGATED TO PAY UPON ENROLLMENT::______________ 

 

I have received a copy of the catalog in accordance with the 

State of California guidelines for the Bureau of Post Secondary 

and Private Vocational Education. 

 

 

 

__________________________________________________ 

Student                                                             Date 

 

__________________________________________________ 

Print Name 


