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    CONSUMER INFORMATION 
NOTICE OF STUDENT RIGHTS 

 
 

1. You have the right to cancel your agreement for a program of instruction, without any 
penalty or obligations, through attendance at the first class session or the seventh calendar 
day after enrollment, whichever is later.  
 

2.  If the Enrollment Agreement is cancelled within the 7 days from signing the Enrollment 
Agreement, the school will refund 100 percent of the amount paid for institutional charges, 
less a reasonable deposit or an application fee not to exceed $250.0, if the notice of 
cancellation is made through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after 
enrollment, whichever is later.  
 

3. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time, 
and you have the right to receive a pro rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less 
of the scheduled program.  Your refund rights are described in the contract.  
  

4. If the school closes before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund. Contact the 
Director at the address and phone number below for information. 

 
5.  If you have any complaints, questions, or problems which you cannot work out with the 

school, write or call: Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1-888-370-7589. 
 

6. Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily 
       Answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
       Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd., Ste. 225, Sacramento, Ca 95834, www.bppe.ca.gov, 
       Toll free number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897. 
 

7. “As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an 
enrollment agreement.  You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact 
sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing the enrollment agreement.” 

 
 8.    A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the 
        Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling toll free (888) 370-7589 or by  
        Completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s internet web site  
        www.bppe.ca.gov.  
  

Read the Notice of Cancellation form for an explanation of your cancellation rights and 
responsibilities.  If you have lost your Notice of Cancellation form, ask the school for a sample 
copy. 

Department of Consumer Affairs 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
1747 N. Market Blvd., Ste. 225 
Sacramento, Ca.  95834 
 
Mailing Address: 
P.O Box 980818 
W. Sacramento, CA. 95798-0818 
 

 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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GENERAL INFORMATION 
 
APPROVALS 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is accredited by:  

National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences 
 3015 Colvin Street 
 Alexandria, VA 22314 

703-600-7600 
 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is recognized as an eligible institution to participate in Federal 
Financial Aid Programs by: 
 The United States Department of Education  
 400 Maryland Avenue, SW 
 Washington, D.C. 20302 
 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is a private institution that is approved to operate by the Bureau for 
Private Postsecondary Education. The approval to operate means compliance with state standards as 
set forth in the CEC and 5, CCR 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 
 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste. 225 
 Sacramento, Ca 95834 
 916-574-7720, 888-370-7589 
             www.bppe.ca.gov 
  
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is Approved for the training of veterans and eligible persons under 
Title 38 of U.S. Code 
 
 Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 
 P.O. Box 944226 
 Sacramento, Ca. 94244-2260 

800-952-5210 
 
BOARD OF BARBERING & COSMETOLOGY Requirements 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is approved by the State of California, Board of Barbering & 
Cosmetology and must adhere to the Cosmetology Act, Board Rules & Regulations. By enrolling the 
student also agrees to abide by these rules. Failure to do so can mean disciplinary action or termination. 
These rules will be reviewed throughout your course.  

 
LOCATION 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock was incorporated July 1, 1985 by the State of California and began its 
first class on July 8, 1985. Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is at 1340 West Main Street, Turlock, Ca. 
95380.  All Class Sessions are held at 1340 West Main Street, Turlock, CA.  95380. 
 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is located on all major bus routes.   Ample parking is available in the 
front parking lot for students, faculty and clients.  
 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, isn’t operating as a 
debtor in possession, or filed a petition within the preceding five years, or have ever had a petition in 
bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 
11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code. 
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OWNERS 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is owned by Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock, Inc.  

 
FACILITIES & EQUIPMENT 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is housed in a building in the Main Street Shopping Center.  The 
building has 12,000 square feet of floor space.  There are 12 dual client styling stations, and additional 
wall stations, 8 manicure stations, that will easily accommodate at least fifty clients and student stylists.  
There are three offices for the administration and instructional staff, and a large storage room for 
supplies. The building contains six classrooms (capacity 210), a very open and easily assessable clinic 
laboratory, beginning student area, and two classrooms with a bi-fold door that converts to a very large 
alternate classroom. The student lavatories are quite large and contain sufficient rest rooms to 
accommodate a growing student population.  3 esthetic treatment beds.  The institution meets or 
exceeds the California minimum equipment requirements. All books are e-books. 
 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock meets or exceeds the minimum equipment requirements set forth by 
the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 
 
ADMINISTRATION BUSINESS HOURS 
ADMISSIONS/CAREER PLANNING OFFICE: Applicants may secure information on Mon-Friday.  From 8:00 
a.m. - 4:30 p.m.  Mondays are remote office hours 
 
FINANCIAL AID: Applicants or students may secure Financial Aid information Monday through Friday 
between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Contact Financial Aid Office for an Appointment. This is located at the 
Financial Aid Office. Mondays are remote office hours 
 
JOB PLACEMENT ASSISTANCE: Monday through Friday between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. All placement 
assistance is done by appointment only. Mondays are remote office hours 
  
All Administrative offices may be reached at the following: 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock (209) 632-2233 
 
MEMBERSHIPS - AFFILIATIONS APPROVALS 
American Association of Cosmetology Schools (AACS) 
California Department of Vocational Rehabilitation 
National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences  
National Hairdressers & Cosmetologists Association 
Stanislaus County Department of Education 
Stanislaus County Job Training, One Stop Center 
U.S. Department of Education, Division of Eligibility 
U.S. Veterans 
 
ADRIAN’S BEAUTY COLLEGE RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE THESE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES AT ANY 
TIME WITHOUT NOTICE BY POSTING SUCH CHANGES ON THE COLLEGE BULLETIN BOARD. 
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ADMISSIONS POLICY 
All Instruction is given in English.  We do not provide ESL classes. The level of English proficiency is that 
equal to a High school diploma.    To demonstrate proficiency of the English language would be a Proof 
of secondary education such as a high school diploma, high school equivalency, GED certificate, and 
official transcript showing secondary school completion, or a state certification of home school 
completion. 
 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock does not discriminate in its employment, admission, instruction, or 
graduation policies on the basis of sex, age, race, color, religion, or ethnic origin nor does it recruit 
students already attending or admitted to another school offering similar programs of study. Adrian’s 
Beauty College of Turlock requires that each prospective student enrolling in the Cosmetologist, 
Esthetician, Manicurist and Cosmetology Instructor program must: 

• Complete a personal interview with an Admissions Representative 
• Complete an application for enrollment. 
• Provide proof of secondary education such as a high school diploma, a high school equivalency  
• GED certificate, an official transcript showing secondary school completion, or a state 

certification of home-school completion. 
 
Cosmetology Instructor program applicants must meet all of the above requirements and: 

• Hold a current license as a practitioner in the field they wish to teach 
 

• Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock does not grant credit for experiential learning. 
• Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock only accepts students from other countries if they are eligible 

non-citizens (see pg.57-58). The institution does not help with visa services and cannot vouch for 
student status.  

• Should a student provide a foreign high school diploma, to be accepted it must be evaluated by 
an outside agency that is qualified to confirm the academic equivalence to a U.S. High School 
Diploma. A foreign high school diploma must also be translated into English by an outside agency 
that is qualified to translate documents into English. This outside documentation is at the expense 
of the student.  

• Students enrolling under a training agreement with another entity, the applicant must meet the 
admissions requirements set forth in the training agreement with the other entity. 

   
RE-ENTRY POLICY 
 
Any former student wanting to re-enroll must wait six months from their prior withdrawal date (which is the 
students last physical day of attendance).  
  

1. An application must be completed, an intake interview, and a letter provided to the college 
explaining the circumstances of the prior withdrawal and how the student will be successful 
during this enrollment. 

2. A $500 fee will be paid by re-enrolling student for an evaluation exam, to determine the hours to 
be accepted for enrollment. This Fee is non-refundable and must be paid prior to scheduling.  

3. Student letter, exam results, and the educator’s recommendation will be reviewed at the next 
scheduled staff meeting for consideration of re-entry; if the student is accepted for re-entry, the 
student will be placed in the appropriate course level. 

4. Prior hours accepted by the College towards a re-entry student may vary from program to 
program. 

5. The decision for re-entry of the applicant acceptance and placement level of program, or 
denial, made by the school will be mailed to the student within 7 business days.  The decision is 
final and no appeals are allowed. 
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6. Students accepted for re-entry must make an appointment with the business office and /or 
financial aid office to discuss financial arrangements to complete their program. 

7. A re-entry student resumes to the same Satisfactory Academic Progress status as when he/she left 
the school.  

 
TRANSFERS 
Program Transfer  

Transfer students may receive credit from the Manicurist course or the Esthetician course towards 
cosmetologist. Cosmetologist hours may transfer into the Manicurist course or the Esthetician 
course.  No credit/hours are transferable from Manicurist course toward the Esthetician course or 
vice versa. A fee of $500.00 must accompany the change request. 
 

To Another Beauty College 
You would need to request to be officially withdrawn from the College in which a withdrawal 
calculation will be done along with “Return of Title IV Funds” if you are a student receiving 
financial aid.  Have an exit interview.  If the student owes the college for any reason, the 
Academic Transcript and Proof of Training will be withheld until the balance is paid in full. The 
college will only accept cash, cashier’s check or money order for the balance.  
 

“NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABLILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION” 
“The transferability of credits you earn at Adrian’s Beauty College is at the complete discretion of an 
institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the (degree, diploma, or certificate) you 
earn in (name of educational program) is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you 
may seek to transfer. If the (credits or degree, diploma, or certificate) that you earn at this institution are 
not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all 
of your coursework at that institution. For this reason, you should make certain that your attendance at 
this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you 
may seek to transfer after attending (name of institution) to determine if your (credits or degree, 
diploma, or certificate) will transfer.”  Ed. Code 94909 (15) 
 
From Another Beauty College 

A student, who wants to transfer from another college or wants the College to accept hours from 
a previous enrollment at another Beauty College, must follow all procedures: 

1. An application must be completed, an intake interview, and provide the college with their 
original proof of training from the previous College. No hours can be accepted for enrollment 
without the original proof of training document.  

2. A $500 fee will be paid by the student for an evaluation exam, to determine the hours to be 
accepted for enrollment. This Fee is non-refundable and must be paid prior to scheduling unless 
other payment arrangements have been made.  

3. Exam results, and the educator’s recommendation will be reviewed by the Director and 
Associate Director to make a determination of hours accepted. . 

4. Prior hours accepted by the College for a student may vary from program to program. 
5. The decision for the applicant acceptance and hours determined to be accepted for 

enrollment and placement level of program, made by the school will be reviewed in person by 
the Associate Director and the potential student. 

6. Students accepted for admission from another Beauty college must make an appointment with 
the business office and /or financial aid office to discuss financial arrangements to complete 
their program. 
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From Another College 
Credits or attendance at another college that do not provide a California State Board of 
Barbering and Cosmetology proof of training would not be applicable to this Institution Adrian’s 
Beauty College of Turlock will carry out their transfer practices in a manner consistent with the 
Council for Higher Education criteria. 

 
VA Students Only  

This institution will evaluate all previous education and training, grant credit when appropriate, 
reduce the length of the program proportionately, and keep appropriate documentation on file. 
There is no fee connected to prior credit evaluation or transfer of credit to students receiving VA 
benefits.   

Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock has not entered into any articulation or transfer agreement with any 
other college. 
 
Applicants seeking Federal Financial Aid Assistance must have a minimum of: 

1. High  School Diploma, or 
2. High School Equivalency Certificate, GED or 
3. State certification of home-school secondary completion, or 
4.   If enrolled under a training agreement with a government agency, school district and/or other  

entity, the student must meet the admission requirements set out in the training agreement 
and/or applicable state licensing or certification regulations. 

5 All applicants must have completed admissions’ application forms and submitted       
documentation 

6. All applicants must attend orientation class 
7. At least 17 years of age 
8. Ability to read, comprehend and communicate in English at the level of a graduate of an 

American high school as demonstrated by the possession of a high school diploma, GED or 
passage of the California high school proficiency exam. 

9. All applicants must pass a personal interview with the Admissions office prior to admissions. 
10. We do not accept ATB students. 
 

ORIENTATION 
Orientation at Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is mandatory that you attend, and you cannot start 
school until you have attended the orientation. Orientation is 2-4 hours and is held prior to the class start 
date.   
 
This informational class will set the tone for a pleasant educational experience. It will make you aware of 
your responsibilities by understanding the procedures and policies of the college by reviewing the 
catalog along with sanitation aspects, rules and regulations, student expectations, time cards, using the 
time clock and parking on campus, and the expectations of the teaching staff. It will acquaint you with 
the instructional program, course goals, personnel and student services.  It will also be the time that you 
will receive a list of items necessary for your first days and weeks of your class.  Any papers, 
documentation, payments or verification that you need to complete for the office should be done 
before attending the orientation session.  
 
ADMISSIONS/CAREER PLANNING OFFICE 
The career planning office is located at the facility. 
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RESOURCES 
Other available services (career counseling, childcare resource information, etc.) are available upon 
request in the admissions office. The institution does not have any dormitory facilities under its control.  
We do not provide any assistance in finding housing.  Housing is available nearby. 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock has a small library, and internet access.  They must see their 
supervising instructor to check out one of the magazines or design books.  They have to also get 
permission for use of the school’s computers. Adrian’s Beauty College does not have dormitory facilities 
under its control and we do not provide assistance to the student in finding housing.  The availability of 
housing near the institution is favorable with the average cost of a home $400,000.00 and rent for a 1 
bedroom apartment is approximately $1200.00 
 
CALENDAR / HOLIDAYS 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock  is a year round school, with open enrollment and open exit. The class 
start dates are: 
Tuesdays at Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock. Any class may be cancelled at any time at the discretion 
of the Director. 
 
The college is closed on Sundays as Mondays are remote hours at Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock. 
The following holidays are observed by the college: 
 

• New Year’s Day               
• Memorial Day and the Saturday before              
• July 4th                  
• Labor Day and the Saturday before     
• Thanksgiving Day, Friday and Saturday after Thanksgiving              
• Christmas Day 
 

Depending upon the day of the week the holiday falls on, additional days may be included as holidays. 
The school closes a week after December 25th and for two weeks in the summer.  The school reserves the 
right to close additional days for Instructor/ Staff in service or training. Please refer to the School 
Calendar. A special holiday may be declared for special or emergency reasons and will be posted on 
the school bulletin board. Holy Days of all religious beliefs are respected and allowed. A schedule is 
given to staff and students at the beginning of each year.  
 
CODE OF ETHICS 

1. Adrian’s Beauty College has as its principle objective, to provide training to qualify students to 
give the best possible service to clients. 

 
2. Adrian’s Beauty College strives to continuously improve its operation in order to keep abreast with 

the ever-changing business climate and new techniques in all areas of the beauty industry. 
 

3. Adrian’s Beauty College encourages its instructors to keep abreast of the latest teaching 
methods in Cosmetology by reading educational books and attending teacher refresher or 
advance courses, workshops and other trade shows. 

 
4. Adrian’s Beauty College takes part in educational conferences and regional meetings in order to 

advance the Cosmetology profession. 
 

5. Adrian’s Beauty College makes use of acceptable teaching techniques and training aids, such 
as; textbooks, workshops, role playing, round table discussions, team training, videos, DVDs and 
other audio-visual aids in order to provide the best possible training for students. 
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6. Adrian’s Beauty College purchases various equipment, cosmetics, and supplies, with well-known 

trade names to be used for the instruction of its students and use upon its clients. 
 

7. Adrian’s Beauty College maintains a fair and honest relationship with staff, students, clients, State 
and Federal Agencies and other colleges. 

 
8. Adrian’s Beauty College advertises truthfully and makes honest representations to its clients and 

future professionals. 
 

9. Adrian’s Beauty College does not recruit students already attending or admitted to another 
college offering a similar program of study. 

 
10. Adrian’s Beauty College observes the standards of the National Accrediting Commission of 

Career Arts & Sciences. 
 
CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINE 
It is expected that all students are enrolled for serious educational pursuits and that they will conduct 
themselves so as to preserve an appropriate atmosphere of positive learning.  It is also expected that all 
students who enroll at Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock, are willing to assume the responsibilities of 
citizenship within the student body. While enrolled, students are subject to school policies, rules and 
regulations that include the prerogative of dismissing those whose conduct is unfavorable to the aims of 
an institution of higher education. 
 
DISCLOSURE AND RETENTION OF STUDENT RECORDS 
Adult students have the right to inspect, review and challenge information contained in their 
educational records. Parents of adult students are not allowed access to the student’s files. Access is 
granted to parents or guardians of dependent minors, only if the student is a minor and a dependent. 
Education records are defined as files, materials, and documents that contain information directly 
related to the student and are maintained by the college. To inspect, review, or challenge information, 
you must make an appointment with the administrative office. Written consent is required before 
education records may be disclosed to third parties with the exception of accrediting commissions or 
governmental agencies as authorized by law. See FERPA Act. The college will maintain records as 
available until June 30 of the year that a student attended. After June 30th each year, all records will be 
archived. For the records to be removed or researched from storage, a $75 archive fee is to be paid 
prior to removing from archives.  
The institution will maintain the following information for a period of six (6) years from the date of 
withdrawal or completion.  

1. Name, address, e-mail address, and telephone number of each student who is enrolled in an 
educational program in that institution.  

2. For each student granted a certificate by that institution, permanent records of all of the 
following: The certificate granted and the date on which that certificate was granted.  

a. The courses and units on which the certificate was based.  
b. The grades earned by the student in each of those courses.  
c. Limited Financial Aid records  

 
After six years, records are destroyed except for Student ledger, enrollment agreement, transcripts, 
and/or proof of training. 
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EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVE 
Adrian’s Beauty College primary objective is to provide an education to its students so they may 
graduate and become licensed to begin their new careers. 
 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock offers a progressive curriculum, as well as people skills and self-
awareness based upon communication. When students have developed a positive, healthy attitude, 
they can extract the maximum benefit from their educational experience. 

Grievance Policies and Procedures 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock has created internal policies and procedures to address student 
complaints and grievances. Policies exist for academic, consumer, and discrimination complaints and 
any other complaints not addressed. Policies, procedures, and grievance forms are available in the 
Financial Aid Office at your campus.  Students at any time may contact the Bureau for Private 
Postsecondary Education. 

Academic Grievance 
If a student has an academic complaint or believes that he or she has been harmed by an inequitable 
or inappropriate implementation of the academic regulations and procedures of the college, the 
Academic Grievance Procedure shall be followed. Students should follow the Academic/Consumer 
Internal Complaint Procedure as outlined in the School Catalog and Consumer Guide prior to a formal 
grievance is submitted. Students are encouraged to discuss academic concerns with their instructor first. 
If not satisfied with the outcome of these discussions, the student may then appeal the decision to the 
Student Affairs Representative. Although the policy does allow for informal as well as formal complaint 
procedures, students should be aware that there are time limits designated in the policy, and they 
should seek assistance in resolving an academic conflict as quickly as possible. A formal Academic 
Grievance should be filed within 45 days from the original complaint. The school then has 30 days to 
submit determination, schedule a hearing or refer to an appropriate agency.  

Consumer Complaint 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock has adopted an internal grievance procedure for the equitable 
resolution of complaints that do not relate to any other internal grievance procedure. The Consumer 
Complaint Procedure does not include complaints that are academic (Academic Grievance 
Procedure), or related to any form of discrimination as defined in the Discrimination Grievance 
Procedure, or related to sexual harassment, as defined in the Sexual Harassment Policy, or any other 
complaint for which the College has established a more specific complaint or grievance process. 
Students should follow the Academic/Consumer Internal Complaint Procedures as outlined in the School 
Catalog and Consumer Guide. A formal Consumer Grievance should be filed within 45 days from the 
original complaint. The school then has 30 days to submit determination, schedule a hearing or refer to 
an appropriate agency. 
 
Discrimination Grievance 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock has adopted an internal grievance procedure providing for prompt, 
equitable, and confidential resolution of complaints alleging discrimination on the basis of age, color, 
disability, national origin, race, religious creed, gender, sexual orientation, or veteran status. Complaints 
emerging from the  campus, or any other operation of the College should be addressed to the Title IX 
Coordinator for students or employees. Employees with questions about age discrimination should 
contact the Title IX Coordinator for more information.  A Discrimination Grievance should be filed within 
90 calendar days after the event giving rise to the incident 

Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock 
Title IX Coordinator 
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1340 W. Main St.  
Turlock, CA 95380 
209-632-2233 
turlockcareeradvisors@adrians.edu 

Sexual Harassment Grievance 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is committed to maintaining a work and educational environment 
free from sexual harassment and has adopted an internal grievance procedure for the reporting and 
resolution of sexual harassment complaints. Complaints emerging from the campus or any other 
operation of the college should be addressed to the Title IX Coordinator for students or employees. A 
formal Discrimination Grievance should be filed within 60 days from the original complaint. The school 
then has 30 days to submit determination, schedule a hearing or refer to an appropriate agency. 
Please contact the Title IX Coordinator at:  
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock 
Title IX Coordinator 
1340 W. Main St.  
Turlock, CA 95380 
209-632-2233 
turlockcareeradvisors@adrians.edu 
***Please see Addendum 3 for the Discrimination Grievance Procedure  
 
HEALTH AND PHYSICAL CONSIDERATIONS 
Generally, the professional in the beauty field must be in good physical health because working in this 
profession requires direct physical contact with the clients. In most aspects of the beauty culture, there is 
a great deal of standing, walking, pushing, bending and stretching, sometimes for long periods of time.  
A person must consider their own physical limitations in terms of making a career choice that involves 
extensive training.  We promote the acceptance of students with physical limitations or disabilities if these 
students believe they can fulfill the training demands. 
 
If a student, while enrolled, sustains an injury deemed by the college to impair their ability to fulfill all 
educational requirements, both practical and theoretical, the student may be required to take a Leave 
of Absence until given a full medical release by their physician. 
 
MISSION STATEMENT 
The college provides career training in Career Arts and Sciences and related fields. The Institution 
graduates students with the skills needed to secure entry level employment 

 
STANDARDS OF PERFORMANCE: POLICIES AND PROCEDURES 
Student Standard of Performance Statement: 
As a student of Adrian’s Beauty College, I will declare myself to secure my success and assure the 
prosperity of my industry. This formula starts with me projecting a positive mental attitude in efforts to 
achieve a cooperative atmosphere. My productive environment will consist of: honesty, respect, 
integrity, fairness, responsibility, accountability, and effective communication through people skills, 
professionalism and the incessant desire for continual knowledge. With these attributes, I will come to 
understand the value of teamwork and the importance of client satisfaction. Once these qualities are 
developed and practiced, I will have set forth on my mission to become a true professional. 
Adrian’s Beauty College is founded on certain Standards of Performance. The following standards 
indicate how you can function according to the specific policies and procedures of the school. Your 
adherence to these policies directly affects the consistency and continuity of the image of Adrian’s 
Beauty College presence in the marketplace. These guidelines by no means intend to stifle your 

mailto:turlockcareeradvisors@adrians.edu
mailto:turlockcareeradvisors@adrians.edu
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creativity. On the contrary, the Personal Standards of Performance statements and guidelines form a 
framework from which you can build on your success.  
The Standards of Performance, Policies and Procedures contained herein are by no means complete. 
However, they are the foundation of some of the most successful salons in the United States today.  
 
 
TIME SCHEDULE AND SCHOOL HOURS: 
 
Your school hours vary with your schedule. It is your responsibility to arrive at school on time and remain in 
school according to your contracted schedule. If this is not the case, you must contact the school to 
report your tardiness or absence before you are scheduled to arrive. 
 
Should you find it necessary to change your schedule, please complete the schedule change form. It is 
located in the Administration office. A fee of $25.00 will be charged for any change a forty hour per 
week student may reduce the contract base schedule for one of the following reasons: 

• Job related  
• Child care 

 
The student may only reduce their schedule to the already available schedules at the location they are 
enrolled in. The student must have completed Basics, Intermediate and Advanced to increase or reduce 
their schedules. Fridays or Saturdays are mandatory depending on prior contract agreement. Students 
can have financial aid reduced by decreasing hours. Written documentation of new work hours, 
childcare concerns, etc. must be submitted with Schedule Change form. Only one schedule change will 
be allowed. 
 
A thirty hour per week student may increase their schedule to attend more than 40 hours per week for 
one of the following reasons: 

• Job related 
• Child care 
• Hardship 
• Accelerated learning 
 

The student may increase their contract base schedule two ways: 
• Temporary change - Allowed only one for a maximum period of six weeks. The student must have 

completed Adrian’s Beauty College Basics, Intermediate and Advanced and/or a minimum of 
900 clock hours. Fridays or Saturdays plus prior contract hours are mandatory. Students on 
warning, probations or who have grades or attendance in question are not eligible. Only one 
schedule change will be allowed. The Associate Director or School Director may at their 
discretion, terminate a temporary change. 

• Permanent change - Same as a temporary change procedure above and an addendum to your 
contract will be executed with the college. A fee of $25.00 will be assessed for all contract 
changes. 

• Financial aid recipients must check with the financial aid office to determine if this will affect their 
funding. 
 

TARDINESS  
Effective as 2/1/10  
Tardiness negatively affects everyone who is here on time. When students are tardy for class, a disruption 
is caused. After the first 5 min of class, students are considered tardy. Students must be in class within 1 
(one) Hour from scheduled class start. Students who fail to clock in within the 1 hour will not be allowed to 
clock in but can return to school the next day. The maximum amount of time a student can be late and 



12 
 

still be allowed to clock in and receive credit for the day is 1 hour from scheduled start time. This policy is 
not intended to punish students for coming in late. It is to reward the students who are here on time with 
an uninterrupted class. In most every legitimate case, you should know at least the day ahead if you will 
need to miss part of your school day. All you would need to do is fill out an absence form in advance, 
and turn it in to your teacher.  
 
A call to the college is not sufficient to allow you admittance into a class beyond the 1 hour timeframe.  
In cases of emergency, documentation will be required and looked at on a case by case basis. School 
rules always take priority, but students are to adhere to each Educator’s classroom rules. 
 
CALLING IN TO TEACHER 
If you are going to be late for school or will not be in that day, it is your responsibility to call into the 
teacher’s office before your scheduled start time. Students who do not call in may be subject to 
warning, suspension and termination. It is the student’s responsibility to notify the school of any 
interruptions to their attendance as soon as possible. 
 
EARLY DISMISSAL 
All personal/business appointments should be handled on your day off. Should you find it necessary to 
leave school early, you must fill out an absence form, have it signed and turned in to your instructor.  
Early dismissals must be filled out if you are leaving more than 10 minutes before you scheduled end time 
(2:20 P.M. for full-time students). 
 
TIME CARDS 
Time cards are an important factor to your success at Adrian’s Beauty College. It is your job to make sure 
that you are getting the correct credits on the time card so that you are maintaining satisfactory 
academic progress and applying effort toward graduation. All students have access to a weekly time 
card provided by their supervising instructor.  It is the student’s responsibility to maintain the time card. It is 
also the student’s responsibility to transfer all prior hours and operations accurately to a new weekly time 
card.  
 
A teacher must document each and every operation when that operation is completed. The teacher 
that supervised the operation will initial the operation on the time card immediately upon completion or 
no credit will be given. Under no circumstances will credit be given by a teacher who did not supervise 
the operation. Further, no credit will be given after the fact by a teacher that has not checked the 
complete operation.   
 
The entire week’s paper time card must be turned in at the desk at the end of each and every day. 
Taking paper time cards home and holding on to paper time cards will result in loss of all credits earned 
during that week or weeks. In order to complete the course of study, the student must complete the 
minimum hours and operations as prescribed by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. 
The time card is the property of the college and no copies will be made. All students are allowed to 
review their timecards with their instructor during their review and receiving their academic progress 
report. Any students, who believe a mistake is made, should request a correction prior to signing their 
report card. If a student has a problem with their instructor you must follow the internal complaint 
procedure.  
 
TIME CLOCK OR Facial Recognition PROCEDURES 
The course you are enrolled in is considered a clock hour program. This means that credit is applied 
toward completing your program through the accumulation of clock hours. Adrian’s Beauty College 
time clocks or facial recognition clock are the only instruments that we use to determine the number of 
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clock hours you have completed on a daily basis. To keep an accurate account of your time, you must 
adhere to the following procedures or you will lose credit hours. 
CLOCKING IN / OUT PROCEDURES 
Clocking in 
You must clock in upon arrival to school.  You may clock in up upon your arrival to school, before your 
scheduled clock in time, however your time will not start until your contracted start time. Example: If you 
are scheduled to begin at 8:00 a.m. and you clock in at any time between 7:30 a.m. and 8:00 a.m., your 
time will begin at 8:00 a.m. 
To use the facial recognition reader, place our face in the square until it says thank you and show that 
you clocked in. 
 
Clocking Out 
You must clock out when leaving school for the day.  You may clock out up to 30 minutes after your 
scheduled clock out time. Example: If your schedule ends at 4:30 p.m. and you clock out any time 
between 4:30 p.m. and 5:00 p.m., you clock out time will be rounded up to the nearest quarter hour. For 
the student on the student salon, you will need to finish a client in progress and have the thirty minutes to 
complete the client and receive clock credit. If you are not working on a client, you will not be given 
additional clock time for the day by clocking out late. Unless an Instructor overrides your schedule prior 
to clock out time, you will clock out at the end of your contracted time. 
 
If you wish to leave earlier than your scheduled clock out time, you must follow the early dismissal 
procedure, complete an early leave form, have the teacher sign the early leave form and get approval 
from the office. The same procedure for using the facial recognition reader applies to clocking out that 
was explained in clocking in. 
 
Breaks / Lunch 
You are allowed one 10 minute break per four hours, and are required to take a 30 minute lunch break if 
you are clocked in for more than six and a half hours. You must clock out and back in for lunch. You may 
not just wait and leave early.  If you leave the building you must clock out when leaving and in upon 
returning. 
 
30 - Minute lunch 
The minimum required time for lunch is 16 minutes. Any lunch taken less than one half of an hour will be 
automatically rounded to 30 minutes.  Any time more than 30 minutes will be recorded as your lunch 
taken plus any time more than 30 minutes. Example: A 20 minute actual lunchtime will be recorded as 30 
minutes; a 33 minute actual lunchtime will be recorded as 30 minutes; a 38 minute actual lunch time will 
be recorded as 45 minutes, and all will reduce your clock hour accumulation for the day. Any additional 
time taken over 30 min will be rounded to the nearest quarter hour.     
 
Lunches are thirty minutes. This includes purchasing your food and eating it. This does not mean thirty 
minutes travel time to get your food, then clocking in and sitting down to eat. Nor, does it mean to wait 
while someone goes to pick up your food and then sitting down to eat.  If you are in class, your teacher 
determines lunchtime and when you will be dismissed to eat. If you are a student on the clinic floor, your 
lunch will be coordinated with the reception desk and clients. You must take a lunch. If you are on the 
clinic floor and have not had a chance to take a lunch by 1:30 p.m. because of client bookings, notify 
your teacher. Your teacher will arrange a lunch break for you and assign another student to take over 
your client while you are out. Lunches for clinical floor students are scheduled by the receptionist. 
 
ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS / GUIDELINES FOR CLOCKING IN AND OUT 
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• Credit will be given for APPLIED EFFORT ONLY! Applied effort is defined as working on class 
assignments, manikin or client clinical work, not listening to radio, reading magazines, or talking 
on cell phones.  

• Should you forget to clock in or out, you will lose time credit. No instructor or staff member can 
initial time cards to guarantee lost time will be credited. 

• The week’s paper time card must be turned in at the desk on the last day of attendance for that 
week. Should you have an absence and do not turn in your paper time card at the desk, you will 
not be allowed to receive late credit because the paper time cards are not to leave the 
campus. Holding on to paper time cards may result in loss of all credit accumulated for that 
week/weeks. 

 
SCHEDULE CHANGE 
Schedule changes may be made due to the following conditions: 

A. Conflict with a schedule due to work, child care/related problems. 
B. Health reasons (includes pregnancy) 
C. Moving  
D. To meet State Board dates (administration will determine an effective date of schedule change) 
E. Accelerated learning  

You must file an application for a schedule change which is available in the registrar’s office and 
attach the $25.00 schedule charge to your application before it will be processed. It will take two 
weeks to process, and may not start until you have completed your module or there is class room 
availability.  

 
ALL SCHEDULE CHANGE REQUESTS REQUIRE DOCUMENTATION AND ARE SUBJECT TO MANAGEMENT 
APPROVAL AND CAPACITY RESTRAINTS. 
 
COMPLETING YOUR HOURS BEFORE YOUR CONTRACTED GRADUATION DATE 
Should a student complete their course of study earlier than the estimated timeframe stated on page 
one of your enrollment agreement, your financial aid package may be recalculated and this may result 
in liabilities owed by the student and/or institution, if applicable. 
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DRESS CODE AND APPERANCE 
All students are required to arrive at school each day meeting the dress code in its entirety. The personal 
appearance of our students reflects our school image and visually states what the school represents. This 
means that when you as a professional, are communicating to clients, the client receives over half of 
their impressions of you from what they can see, not what they can hear. If your goal is to be successful, 
then it is apparent that you must take every advantage. The following dress policy will help you in 
reaching your goal. 
 
Acceptable professional dress code during Classroom Phase: 

• Must wear ALL BLACK  with the exception of Adrian’s Beauty College logo 
• Clothing must be professional, clean, and free of rips, holes or stains. 
• Adrian’s Beauty College approved logos on shirts and sweaters only 
• Shoes must be black, closed-toed and closed heel, comfortable, supportive shoes with 

nonskid soles.  
• Hair must be clean and styled prior to arriving at school 
• Cosmetics must be applied prior to arriving at school 
• Leggings must be worn with a shirt, dress or skirt that is at least fingertip length 
• Dresses, Skirts that fall below the fingertips 

 
Acceptable professional dress code while on the Student Salon/Clinic 

• Must wear black or white, in any combination  
• Prints in black and white only are acceptable 
• Adrian’s Beauty College logos on shirts and sweaters only 
• Clothing must be professional, clean, and free of rips, holes or stains. 
• Shoes must be black, closed-toed and closed heel, comfortable, supportive shoes with 

nonskid soles.  
• Hair must be clean and styled prior to arriving at school 
• Cosmetics must be applied prior to arriving at school 
• Esthetician students must have hair pulled back while performing services on clients 
• Leggings must be worn with a shirt, dress or skirt that is at least fingertip length 
• Dresses, Skirts that fall below the fingertips 
• Approved smocks and aprons must be worn at all times while performing services on clients. 

Apron is provided in kit. Smocks can be purchased directly from College.  
 
Unacceptable dress: 

• Exposed cleavage, buttocks, backs, waist, midriffs, underarms, and undergarments 
• See through clothing 
• Absence of approved apron or smock while performing services on clients  
• Tank or sleeveless tops without a smock 
• Printed t-shirts other than those with an Adrian’s Beauty College logo 
• Sweat pants, sweat shirts, shorts, thermals, gym or sportswear  
• Gym shoes, beach sandals, flip - flops 
• Dresses, Skirts that fall above the fingertips 
• Head covers, hats and bandanas 
• Hair ornamentation covering more than 25% of hair 
• Head phones unless approved for class 
• Deviation from an approved school logo 

 
All students are required to be in dress code to receive credit for clock time. Students that are not in 
dress code will be clocked out, sent home to change and may return. Students will not receive clock 
time while they are sent home to change for any reason.  
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Changing early into street clothes is not allowed before clocking out. 
The decision as to whether the student’s dress is inappropriate is at the discretion of the college staff.  
 
The school reserves the right to enforce this policy. 
 
ELECTRONIC DEVICES 
With the ever changing world of technology we embrace the educational opportunities they provide for 
classroom instruction.  We encourage students to bring their own electronic devices which includes but 
not limited to, smart phones, tablets and lap tops.  These electronic devices will assist the student with 
their learning.   
Since the device is the student’s personal property to keep it secure, It will rest solely on the individual 
owner.  The school is not liable for any electronic device that is lost, stolen or damaged while on school 
grounds.  
Students agree to the following as it is a privilege to use electronic devices for learning while in school: 

*It must be in silent mode while on school grounds 
 *It may not be used for non-instructional purposes 

*It is the student’s responsibility to keep their device safe as the school is not responsible for lost,    
  stolen or damaged electronic devices. 
*The student will only access files on the internet or computer that is relevant to classroom   
  Curriculum. 
*The student must observe the Educators request to turn off the device or close the screen. 
*Social media such as Twitter, Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Snapchat, etc. should be used for  
  Educational purposes. 
*There is no personal printing from the device available at the school.  

All electronic devices being used are at the direction of their supervising instructor and are allowed to 
confiscate a device if it is not being used properly.  Students needing to use their phones for personal 
reasons need to do so on their break times and lunch outside the building, in the back area or where 
designated. 
 
SANITATION 
It is everyone’s responsibility to keep our working and training place clean. Each student throughout their 
training will be assigned specific sanitation duties. All areas of the college that include the rest rooms, 
waste containers, mopping wet or soiled floors, and garbage pickup are included in these duties.  These 
duties will be no greater than what is expected of you in a salon. Throughout the day you must keep your 
styling tools in a sanitary and clean condition. It is important for every student to assume responsibility for 
sanitation. It’s not fair to other students to clean up after another student. We must all work together as a 
team to create a positive environment conducive to learning.  
 
HOUSEKEEPING 
A. A clean work area makes for a pleasant and safe place to work. 
B. Students are not allowed to eat in classrooms or on the clinic floor, which is a federal sanitary law. The 

only exception is drinking water. 
C. Employees and students are asked to help keep their surroundings as neat and orderly as possible. To 

prevent slippage, the floors must be free of hair, debris, and water. Should these substances come in 
contact with the floor, please remove them immediately. Place safety cones in areas to indicate wet 
floors. This is imperative for the safety of everyone. 

D. Trash receptacles are located throughout the building. Please place all litter from lunch and scrap 
materials etc. in these receptacles. 

E. Be health, safety, and fire prevention conscious. 
       Rigid adherence to the rules of sanitation, disinfection and personal hygiene is required at all times.          
This directly affects the professionalism, continuity, and image of you and the school in the marketplace. 
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STUDENT HEALTH AND SAFETY 
Your health and safety are important to Adrian’s Beauty College. All requirements must be adhered to 
and the following are to be noted and/or followed by all students. 
A. All accidents or injuries must be reported on the accident incident form which is located in the 

teacher’s office. 
B. Common sense is the most important safety rule of all. Please use it at all times. 
C.  Horseplay in work areas will not be tolerated. 
D. Take all necessary precautions to maintain a safe environment. 
 
FIRE 
In case of a fire, your responsibility is to protect you by leaving the building in a calm, orderly manner. The 
emergency Evacuation Route is posted near all exit doors. Know the evacuation route, and know where 
fire extinguishers are located throughout the building. 
 
ACADEMIC AND CONSUMER INTERNAL COMPLAINTS/CHAIN OF COMMAND 
Problems of all kind occur in any school or business. If a problem should arise with an individual please 
follow the below procedures: 
 

1. Try to resolve the matter with that person 
2. If you’re unable to resolve the matter with that person, make an appointment with the student 

affairs representatives. The purpose is to have both parties discuss their problems in a calm 
manner with the student affairs representative, student, and others present, with a resolution.  
 

The following will occur: 
 

1. The complaint will be resolved satisfactorily with all parties 
2. The complainant will proceed with filing a grievance within 45 days from the original occurrence. 

If at any time the College feels that the safety or learning environment is compromised due to the 
incident, any students or staff involved in the incident will be sent home on an administrative 
leave until a formal investigation has been completed and a formal resolution has been sent to 
all parties.  

 
This chain of command permits the proper flow of information and allows the system to function more 
efficiently and effectively. This produces more positive results and, quicker action, reaction and 
consistency.  

 
*See grievance procedures for additional information.  
** Any problems will be discussed with the student, we will not discuss any situation with anyone (mother, father, aunt, uncle, 
brother, sister, spouse, boyfriend, girlfriend), other than the student the School has the contract with. 
 
ADVISING PROCEDURES / DISCIPLINARY PROCESS 
Students are advised of their Satisfactory Academic Progress each evaluation period by means of their 
report card and a notice telling students of the expectations in order to meet SAP standards at the next 
evaluation period. 
 
When a student needs to be counseled for disciplinary problems, Adrian’s Beauty College implements 
the positive approach, known as a WIN/WIN AGREEMENT. This agreement entails the action in question, 
desired results, resources, guidelines, accountability and consequences (results of action, positive or 
negative). In conjunction with the WIN/WIN AGREEMENT, the following four step procedures are entailed. 
 
STEP I    Verbal warning 
STEP II                Written warning 
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STEP III  Student is clocked out and sent home. A student is ineligible to participate in competitions 
or advanced classes/workshops for thirty calendar days. Student is allowed to return to 
school the next day. 

STEP IV  Three day suspensions. A student is ineligible to participate in competitions or advanced 
classes/workshops for thirty calendar days. 

STEP V Termination. Student may be escorted out of facility by a staff member. In the event 
 A student displays inappropriate or threatening behavior; law enforcement officers will be 

called to escort the student off of the premises. A student may appeal with a letter. (See 
appeal procedures) If an appeal for continuation is granted, a student is permanently 
ineligible to participate in any competitions or any special salon workshops. 

 
Adrian’s Beauty College reserves the right to advance a student through this step process with/without a letter of appeal and 
should the condition warrant it, to remove the student immediately from the college. 
**Adrian’s Beauty College reserves the right to bypass the step procedure if a student is involved in an unlawful act.  
**Administrative Leave- Students are placed on Administrative Leave when a situation arises that is deemed to be a safety concern 
for any member of the student body, faculty, or public. These situations normally require additional investigation to fully evaluate. A 
student is either allowed to return with no further requirements, allowed to return with stipulations or required to go through the 
review process. The student is asked to remove all property from the school and is not allowed to attend school. Administrative 
Leave time is not charged to the student as extra instructional time. During this process the student will be notified of a meeting 
date and time, the student will be allowed to explain their side of the situation in front of a board of 2 employees not involved in 
the situation, the Associate Director and a Board Member, employee of a different Adrian’s or board member. The student will then 
receive a written decision within 14 days from the date of their meeting. If the student does not agree they must abide by the 
schools appeals process in order for their appeal to be processed.  
 
EXPULSION 
If a student is expelled from school they may be entitled to a refund and will be calculated as if a 
withdrawal. 
 
INTERVENTION 
When a student is not maintaining satisfactory academic progress, grades, or displays a behavior that is 
not conducive to the philosophy of the Adrian’s Beauty College organization and/or the beauty industry, 
they will be counseled by staff personnel. If necessary a PFI (Plan for Improvement) will be required, 
appropriate steps will be outlined for the student’s continuation of their education. 
 
ETHICS 
At Adrian’s Beauty College, we place a high value on the integrity and good judgment of every 
individual associated with the school. Any deviation from high ethical standards can bring discredit not 
only to the school, but to the industry as a whole. We expect every student to exercise discretion and 
professionalism at all times. Clients, staff members, and fellow students must be treated with respect and 
courtesy. Please keep the school’s best interest in mind at all times. Conversation topics should be limited 
to professional subjects and not include: religion, politics, sex, or personal problems. The school positively 
reserves the right to suspend or expel a student who gossips, uses vulgar language, or causes any type of 
discord. Respect must be shown at all times toward peers, customers, and staff. 
 
COMPLIANCE 
Students must comply with all instructions, directives, and orders given by the school personnel relative to 
school activities. Also, students must comply with the school’s Standards of Performance, Policies and 
Procedures, and State Rules and Regulations.  
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RECEPTION DESK 
The school reception desk is not a gathering place for students. Standing at the desk is unsightly to clients 
entering the school and disrupts the duties of the school receptionist. Only the reception manager and 
assigned students are allowed to be behind the desk. All appointments are to be made by the 
receptionist, designated staff member, or assigned student(s). All personnel, including teachers, must 
follow this procedure to insure consistency, customer service and professionalism. 
 
LAST CLINIC APPOINTMENT TAKEN 
The last appointment taken should reflect the normal total time needed to complete the full service. 
 
DISPENSING OF EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS 
The dispensary is responsible for dispensing supplies to ensure inventory control. It will be necessary for the 
student to present the client work ticket before any supplies will be released. If a student is checking out 
an implement, they must provide their time card. Upon return of the checked out items, the student time 
card will be released. 
 
SERVING THE PUBLIC 
All students will be serving the public and must be courteous and pleasant. Students must take all 
appointments assigned to them after completing specific modules/cycles. Students are to be prepared 
with all necessary equipment needed to complete the service. A student is not to leave a client during a 
service while a chemical is processing, during a facial peel, or while an electric apparatus is applied to 
the skin, unless another student has been assigned by the teacher. Should a student leave a client with 
any of the above-mentioned work, they will face disciplinary actions as deemed appropriate. 
 
STUDENT SERVICE PROTOCOL 

1. When students are called to the reception desk for an appointment, they will pick up the work 
ticket, which will indicate the type of service his/her client has scheduled. 

2. The student will greet the client in a professional manner and direct them to assigned work 
station. The work ticket must be prominently displayed on the work station. 

3. After completing the consultation process, it may be necessary for the student to consult with the 
floor instructor before the service begins. Additional services may be added and a client 
charged accordingly. 

4. The work ticket must be presented before any product is dispensed. 
5. Throughout the service, educate the client as to what additional services may be required or 

retail products that maintain the quality of service. 
6. Upon completion of the service, the student will walk the client to the reception desk to 

complete their transaction, suggest any retail products, and book for their next appointment.  
 

PERSONAL SERVICES  
There is no personal service during time clocked in. A student is not allowed to clock out in order to have 
services performed. There are various times during our Curriculum where students are encouraged and 
required to maintain and update their professional image. These are the only allowed times for personal 
services.  
 
STUDENT PRICE LIST 
A Student Price List is provided as a supplemental handout. 
 
VISITORS 
All visitors must remain in the college waiting area. No visitors are permitted in the classroom or on the 
clinic floor or break area.  
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GUM CHEWING 
Gum chewing is not permitted on the premises.  It does not look or sound professional to service a client 
while chewing gum, nor is it sanitary. Gum is a hair magnet. 
 
TELEPHONE CALLS 
Messages will be taken for incoming calls in emergencies only. Calls will be screened to determine if it is 
an emergency and only if it is deemed to be an emergency call will a message be taken or delivered to 
the student. An emergency is defined as but not limited to: a spouse, child, sibling; parent is extremely ill 
or has been in an accident requiring emergency medical treatment. 
School phones may not be used for personal calls. Use of personal cell phones is only allowed during 
students’ break or lunch outside the building, in the back area or where designated. 
 
SMOKING 
No smoking is allowed in the school. Smoking is only allowed at least 20 feet from any entry door or any 
entry door or adjacent businesses. A student must be clocked out when taking a smoking break. 
 
MEDICATION 
All students must inform the Registrar’s Office of all medication ingested during business hours. This 
includes prescription medication. For the safety of our clients, the college reserves the right to encourage 
students on heavy medications to work on mannequin. 
 
UNDER THE INFLUENCE 
Any student who possesses or who is determined to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs while at 
school will be subject to termination. If it is determined that you have been under the influence, you may 
be sent to get a drug test at your own expense within 24 hours. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 
Director of the school.  
 
WEAPONS 
Any student who possesses or uses a weapon while at school will be subject to termination.  
 
PARKING 
Students are to park in the student parking lot and designated area assigned by the school. Students are 
not allowed to park in front of the building or any area along the sidewalks. These spaces are reserved 
for our clientele. The speed limit in the parking lot is 3 mph. 
 
MODELS  
At times, the student will be asked to provide a model to perform services.  For Phase I, II & III the school 
will give the student a five-day minimum notice. Failure to bring in a model will adversely affect your 
grade, performance, and specialized personal training. As a part of the student’s learning experience, 
he or she will be responsible for receiving services administered by other students. If the student has a 
medical condition that prohibits them from receiving a particular service, they must submit supporting 
documentation from a certified physician.  
 
USE OF SCHOOL PRODUCTS 
Professional products/materials are supplied by the school for use on paying clients. Students must 
present a client work ticket to receive products. This process will assist in the student’s learning 
experience. At the student’s discretion they may choose to use products they purchase independently 
or through the college. Only products endorsed or carried by the college are approved and all other 
products will be requested to be removed. 
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STUDENT SUPPLIES AND MATERIALS 
The student is expected to supply all tools and materials needed for their learning experience beyond 
their student kits, except products for paying clients (see use of school products/materials). A 
Supplemental Handout will be given to each student for the kit and book list required before starting 
school. 
 
EQUIPMENT AND BELONGINGS 
Adrian’s Beauty College is not responsible for lost, damaged or stolen property.  Each student is 
responsible for their personal belongings and materials. A student has access to a locker and the use of 
a trolley in which should be used to keep all valuables locked up when not in use.  All bottles and 
containers must be labeled to identify contents. Trolleys and Rolling Bags distributed by or purchased 
from the school are allowed on the clinic floor no exceptions. Students may not borrow equipment from 
each other, and they are responsible for the return of school materials and equipment lent to them. Any 
equipment/supplies borrowed from the school, not returned, will be charged on their College account. 
Backpacks and wheel packs are allowed, but they are not allowed on the clients’ clinic floor or the 
classroom floor, they must fit into your locker or safely with you in the classroom. The reason they are not 
allowed on the clients’ clinic floor or the classroom floor is because of fire safety and trip hazards. Any 
bags and lockers are subject to on the spot inspection along with the student tool kit. Personal kit 
belongings must be removed from the school no later than 30 days from the student’s last day of 
attendance. There will be no written notice given by the college to remove the student’s belongings 
from a locker or station. Should you have any concerns about possible loss of equipment and 
belongings, we recommend that you contact your insurance agent to determine whether your present 
policy would cover any loss. If your present policy does not cover such loss, you may want to pay 
additional premiums and provide coverage through a rider on present policy. 
 
EXTERN REQUIREMENTS 
*At this time the college does not participate in an extern program. 
 
ADVANCED TRAINING CLASSES AND SALON WORKSHOPS 
Periodically, Adrian’s Beauty College will offer special, advanced training classes to our students. These 
include hands on classes instructed by representatives from area salons and advanced technical 
training delivered at Adrian’s Beauty College. The process for selecting which students can participate is 
as follows: 

1. A signup sheet for the class or workshop will be posted on the Student Notice Board. A 
deadline for signing up will be given on the notice. 

2. Once the sign up date has elapsed, participants for the class will be selected according to 
the following criteria. 
A. Total number of students allowed in class is determined by salon conducting the 

workshop. 
B. Students on the Student Salon are given priority. 
C. Students must be making satisfactory academic progress. 
D. Students that have met all of the above criteria will be selected according the best 

attendance in the previous evaluation period. 
 
FAILURE TO COMPLETE COURSE AT CONTRACT ENDING DATE 
Should a student fail to complete the minimum number of hours and/or operations by the contract 
ending date, all student training may be stopped until additional money for training has been paid to 
the college or payment arrangements are made. The amount charged for additional training for the 
Cosmetologist program is $10.60 per hour, for Esthetician program is $13.50 per hour, for Manicurist 
program is $10.00 per hour, Cosmetology Instructor program is $13.50 per hour. Please refer to your 
contract. 
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PERSONAL DATA CHANGE 
Students will keep the school informed of any change in telephone number, address, name change, 
email change or emergency numbers. Form for changes is available at the reception area. 
 
NO VERBAL AGREEMENTS 
There are no verbal agreements made between students’ and their teachers or office personnel. Only 
agreements made, signed and executed by the college and the student will be valid. 
 
RECIPROCITY 
Students wishing to relocate to or from other states must check the requirements of that state. In 
California you must contact www.barbercosmo.ca.gov  
 
SCHOLARSHIPS 
Scholarships may be offered periodically. Scholarships offered are for a specific period and shall only be 
used for tuition allowances. All students who enroll during this period will be eligible. Industry provided 
scholarships are available from beauty product manufacturer’s and salon sponsers. In addition, check 
the following American Association of Cosmetology Schools website for the availability of beauty industry 
scholarships at beautyschools.org. 
 
START DATES 
All class start dates are listed on Addendum #5 
 
STATEMENT OF NON DISCRIMINATION 
Adrian’s Beauty College does not discriminate on the bases of race, ethnic origin, color, national origin, 
sex, religion, disability, financial status or age in its programs and activities.  
 
The following person has been designated to handle inquires, coordinate investigations and coordinate 
any compliance regarding the nondiscrimination policies: 

Adrian’s Beauty College 
Title IX Coordinator 
1340 W. Main St. Suite A 
Turlock, CA 95380 
209-632-2233 
turlockcareeradvisors@adrians.edu 

Disabilities and Accommodation 
Adrian’s Beauty College is committed that no qualified handicapped person, by reason of his or her 
handicap, will be excluded from enrolling in a course of instruction or be subjected to discrimination 
based upon disability.  Applicants, who are persons with disabilities, as defined in paragraph 104.3(j) of 
the regulation under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, may apply for admittance into the 
program.  However, all prospective students must meet standard admission requirements. 

Adrian’s Beauty College does not formally assess students under the standards of a traditional 504 plan 
(IEP/other).  If an applicant for enrollment believes he or she may need an accommodation during his or 
her program, he or she should advise an Admissions representative/Registrar prior to class start and must 
submit a written request for specific accommodations(s).  The written request must include 
documentation of the student’s official assessment (for example, and Individual Education Program (IEP) 
from the student’s high school) and outline the specific accommodations(s) requested. 
 

mailto:turlockcareeradvisors@adrians.edu
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Should a student fail to request accommodation prior to the program start, he or she may submit a 
written request to the Director at any time; however, all requests should be made at least four weeks in 
advance of the date needed.  Accommodation plans determined after the program start will be 
effective from the date determined moving forward.  
 
All requests for accommodation will be reviewed by the Director and a determination of reasonable 
accommodations (if applicable) will be provided in writing prior to the start of the student’s program 
and/or within two weeks of the official request for currently enrolled students. 
 
Students requesting reconsideration of the decision regarding the request should contact the Director 
within one week of the date of the response.  The student must provide a statement of why and how he 
or she believes the response should be modified.  
 
Due to state licensing requirements and rigorous industry standards that are in place to protect the 
public, all students are required to meet the academic standards outlined in this catalog and/or as 
amended hereafter.   
 
 
SCHOOL POLICY ON REHABILITATION SERVICES   
For Adrian’s Beauty College to offer a quality educational program and for the student to be successful 
in their career choice, we find it necessary to develop a strong relationship with the rehabilitation 
counselor. It is necessary for Adrian’s Beauty College to obtain the history of the applicant in order to 
fulfill our objective.  Therefore, it is our policy for the applicant to sign a waiver releasing such information 
from the rehabilitation agency to Adrian’s Beauty College. 
 
SCHOOL POLICY ON SEXUAL HARASSMENT 
The Fair Employment and Housing Commission regulations define sexual harassment as unwanted sexual 
advances, or visual, verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature.  This definition includes many forms of 
offensive behavior.  The following is a partial list. 

A. Unwanted sexual advances. 
B. Offering benefits in exchange for sexual favors. 
C. Visual conduct; Leering, making sexual gestures, display of sexually suggestive objects, pictures, 

cartoons or posters. 
D. Verbal conduct; making or using derogatory comments, slurs or jokes. 
E. Verbal sexual advances or propositions. 
F. Verbal abuse of a sexual nature, graphic verbal commentaries about an individual, suggestive or 

obscene letters, notes or invitations. 
G. Physical conduct; touching, assault, impeding or blocking movement. 
 

The management of Adrian’s Beauty College strongly disapprove of any and all forms of Sexual 
Harassment. Anyone who has been sexually harassed should notify the Director in writing within 48 hours 
of the offense. An investigation will be made into the allegations. Upon confirmation of any act of sexual 
harassment, action will be taken immediately to remedy the situation. If necessary, a formal sexual 
harassment grievance may be filed within 60 days from the date of the original complaint. Adrian’s 
Beauty College will take all reasonable steps necessary to prevent harassment from occurring. See 
Grievance Policies and Procedures.  
 
TUITION WAIVERS 
Tuition Waivers are done for special circumstances; hardship or disputes. These are only allowed with 
approval from the Director of the School. 
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STUDENT SERVICES 
 

STUDENT BENEFITS 
Students maintaining satisfactory progress may receive the following benefits: 

1. In house discounts of 20% on retail products. 
2. A personal service discount of 20% on service. 
3.  Family discounts of 10% on services. For immediate family members only. 
4. Participation in special school promotional events outside the college. 
5. As a Pivot Point member school, all cosmetology students that enroll in the Pivot Point program 

and satisfactorily complete will receive all Pivot Point certificates. 
 
CAREER ADVISING 
Students are advised individually by their teachers, and as often as necessary. Advising takes place as 
part of the satisfactory progress review at the end of each evaluation period. A student may request an 
additional advising period at any time. Often the college is in a position to help a student with a personal 
or business problem and referrals to resources within the community are made. We will be happy to 
discuss any concerns you may have by appointment. Students are encouraged to come to us with 
problems or questions which may affect their performance in college. Advice on course selection and 
vocational goals are provided to all students before enrolling in college, and at any subsequent time. 
Should your problem arise in the following areas, seek out the appropriate person or department. 
 
Conflict with a student or staff member Teacher / Assoc. Director 
Curriculum Assoc. Director 
Personal Finances Financial Aid Department 
Student ideas to improve college Teacher/Career Advisor/Assoc. Director/Director 
 
COPIES, FAX & RESUME CHARGES  
Copy charge per page per side $1.00 Fax charges: $3.00 first page, $1.00 each page thereafter 
 
DEAN’S LIST 
A student who maintains a grade average of 94% or better in homework, theory tests, practical 
assignments, and clinical work during their entire course and has satisfactory attendance will be placed 
on the Dean’s List. A certificate is presented to the student.  
 
DRUG ABUSE PREVENTION PROGRAM 
The college makes the following information available to its students, staff, and teachers. Any individual 
associated with Adrian’s Beauty College who is seeking information, counseling, or assistance 
concerning Drug Abuse prevention may call the following agency. 
Drug Treatment Center 24 Hour Help Line 800-711-6375 
 
DRUG FREE CAMPUS POLICY 
The colleges participate in the US Department of Education Drug Free Schools Program.  Staff and 
students are prohibited from the unlawful manufacture, distribution, possession, or use of illicit drugs or 
alcohol. Students or employees who violate this policy will be subject to disciplinary action up to and 
including expulsion or termination from school or employment. 
 
JOB PLACEMENT 
Job placement assistance is provided to graduates and students at no additional charge. The college 
does not guarantee employment or use the placement data as an incentive to entice prospective 
students to enroll. During the students course they will receive training in Professionalism, Resume 
Development, Interview Preparation and Job Search Skills.  
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ACADEMIC REGULATIONS 
 
ATTENDANCE AND TARDY POLICY 
Each student is expected to attend all classes as scheduled. Any student who is aware of an impending 
absence from school should notify their teacher in writing. Forms are available in the reception area for 
absence notification. An absence is documented by a written excuse from a Doctor, Dentist, or Court of 
Law.  If a student is receiving Federal Financial Aid any grant or loan could be affected by any and all 
absences. Documented absences do not relieve student of any and all overtime charges. Pre-arranging 
absences and documented absences will allow the student to make-up tests and will keep the student 
from being withdrawn. But students will still be charged the overtime rate as described on your contract. 
If for any reason the school is closed unexpectedly for extenuating circumstances, students will be 
notified by phone, or email, and if the staff is unable to reach students by phone or email a notice will be 
posted on the college front door. 
 
Excused/Unexcused Absences 
Excused absences/tardies are absences/tardies that are verifiable. This does not extend your contact 
nor excuse any additional charges. Verifiable excused absences/tardies allow you to make up 
assignments or tests with no penalty.  
 
CLASS HOURS AND PRACTICE HOURS (APPLIED EFFORT) 
Adrian’s Beauty College will only recognize time clock recorded hours of attendance. Students must 
clock in and out at the start and end of their class day, in and out for their lunch period. After clocking in, 
you are required to maintain applied effort. Applied effort means that you are to be engaged in 
assigned practice activities, self-study activities authorized by your teacher, or participating in a class.  In 
all cases, your activities while on the time clock must be related to training for your course of study.   
 
Personal grooming, listening to electronic devices, sleeping, leaving the building, reading magazines will 
not be tolerated.  You will be asked to stop such activity or to clock out for the remainder of the day and 
you will receive a counseling notice. Continued activities of this nature could result in you termination 
from the college.  Each laboratory operation and/or practice operation must be checked by an 
instructor and signed by that instructor prior to client leaving and student receiving credit. Lost time cards 
will cause the loss of applied effort for the period covered on the time card.  
 
Failure to clock in or out results in loss of time. Staff members have the authority to edit time clock for 
documented reasons.  
 
Lunches will be assigned around client clinic work on an individual basis. Students should not make any 
lunch plans during this portion of their education. 
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SCHOOL RULES AND REGULATIONS 
PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT is the only level of conduct we expect from our students.  A professional 
doesn’t arrive 15 minutes late.  Students treat clients, instructors, and fellow students with courtesy and 
awareness.  A student constantly takes the time to follow standards of good grooming and proper 
sanitation. 
 
The following rules are important.  If you do not comply, you may be warned, suspended or terminated 
from school. 
 
WARNING POLICY: 
A warning is given to a student verbally or in writing for breaking any rule. 
 
WARNINGS WILL BE ISSUED FOR THE FOLLOWING; 

• All students are required to be in class on time. 
• Any student who is not clocked in on the hour is tardy. 
• No student will be permitted to leave unless signed out by the Instructor in charge. 
• No student will be given credit for theory unless the instructor initials daily record. 
• Each and every operation must be checked and approved by the Instructor in charge of the 

operation. 
• Students are required to attend school according to their contracted hours. 
• Hours are posted by the official time clock and/or the fingerprint reader.  Students will be given a 

update of total hours at each evaluation period. At this time it is the student’s responsibility to 
balance the amount of hours on their timecard to the amount of clock hours on the system. 
Discrepancies should only be within the period of time included in the current evaluation period. 
Previous evaluation periods once signed and agreed upon by the Student, as demonstrated on 
the report card, cannot be changed.  

• Common courtesy requires that the student address the client by Mr., Mrs., or Ms. 
• Clients have priority over student’s use of any and all equipment. 
• All students must be applying effort or practicing at all times. Being clocked in when you are not 

actively engaged in practice on the school premises is considered fraud. 
• Students must perform an operation hourly or is not considered as applying effort toward clinical 

practice. 
• All students are given daily and weekly clinical assignments and are expected to complete them 

and turn them in weekly. 
• For sanitary reasons, no chewing gum on campus. 
• If you have failed to clock in at any time, you must clock in immediately and will not have any 

clock hour credit until clocked in. 
• All absences must be phoned in on the day of the absence 30 minutes BEFORE class starts. 
• Any other absences must be approved two weeks in advance in writing. Absence forms are 

available at the front desk and must be turned into Instructor. 
• Should a student find it necessary to be out of school for longer than one week, a Leave of 

Absence should be requested in writing.  Only one leave of absence is allowed for personal 
reasons and any additional leaves must be for documented reasons only up to a maximum of 
180 days. 

• Students may not clock out early for personal services. 
• Clock time is only allowed while in uniform. 
• All students are expected to be neat when arriving at school, this means hair combed, shoes 

cleaned, and in a clean uniform. For the women, their make-up on and the men, clean shaven. 
• Students assigned to classroom work are not allowed to have students on the floor fix their hair. 
• Break rooms and bathrooms must be kept clean at all times. 
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• Each student is responsible for any area they could use including bathrooms, classroom, break 
areas, lab, supplies, mirror, dresser, locker, student salon and anywhere around any of those 
areas. 

• Nothing must be left on the dresser, mirror, or desk overnight. The school reserves the privilege of 
inspecting all articles used on the public at any time and said articles must be approved by the 
school as well as kept in a sanitary condition. 

• We recommend that you mark all of your equipment and personal belongings with your name or 
initials. The school cannot be responsible if your property is stolen. A locker is provided for your 
personal belongings and equipment. The student must provide a lock for the locker. An extra key 
is to be given to the admissions office the first day of school and if the lock is a combination lock, 
the combination. 

• Students must have approved equipment and textbooks with them at all times. 
• During a leave of absence, you must vacate your station and/or locker. Personal effects left in 

lockers after 30 days, the locker will be emptied, and the school assumes no responsibility for 
these items. They will be disposed of in any way convenient. 

• Do not talk to another student when working on a client. 
• Do not ask another student how to do a procedure, ask the Instructor. 
• All parking in designated student parking areas ONLY. 
• Uniform of school must be neat and clean every day. 
• Uniform of school - follow uniform policy. 
• Student visitors are required to check in with receptionist and are to remain in reception area 

ONLY. 
• Under no circumstances are visitors to be in student break area or on clinic floor. 
• Under no circumstances is it acceptable for family or friends to come to the school on behalf of 

the student and behave in such a way that could be deemed threatening, inappropriate or 
vulgar. The necessary steps will be taken to protect the students and staff of the school. The 
student can be held responsible. 

• No phone calls can be made or received during school hours except in case of an emergency. 
• Cell phones, iPod are to be turned off during school hours. 
• Outgoing or incoming cell calls can only be placed during lunch, off campus or in break area 

ONLY. 
• Breaks are ten (10) minutes for every four clock hours. 
• Lunch period is thirty (30) minutes. 
• Food and drinks are allowed in the break area ONLY. State sanitary laws do not allow either food 

or drinks in the school. 
• Students will be sent to lunch on a demand basis. 
• School Board is required for completion and graduation. 
• If a student misses a scheduled school board or fails, there is a $100.00 charge for the retake. 
• A grade of 75% or better on the school board is required for a diploma. 

 
SUSPENSIONS will occur for the following if a student: 

• Has repeated warnings 
• Displays a poor attitude or rudeness 
• Permits another student to clock them in or out. Both students will be suspended. Clocking in or 

out for another student is looked upon as forgery. 
• Leaves school without permission. 
• Does not attend Friday, Saturday, or the day before a holiday. 
• Uses profane language or displays bad behavior. 
• Smokes on the premises and not in an allowed smoking area. 
• Refuses to take a client 
• Complains about a client 
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• Argues with a client, student, or staff member 
• Being in direct violation of an Instructor’s direction. 
• Does not give two weeks prior notice for personal time off. 
• Does not pay tuition and is delinquent.  
• Arguing, fighting with another student. 

 
SUSPENSION POLICY: 
A minor infraction will result in a suspension of just an hour or up to two weeks.  
 
SUSPENSIONS can occur if: 

• A student is caught cheating, lying or stealing. 
• A student is under the influence of alcoholic beverages, illegal and controlled substances. 
• Permits another student to clock them in or out. Both students will be suspended. Clocking in or 

out for another student is looked upon as forgery. 
• A student fails to make satisfactory progress. 
• A student sexually or verbally harasses another person. 
• Payment of tuition is delinquent for two months. 
• A student is guilty of willful destruction of school property. 
• A student causes bodily injury to any client, student, and staff member. 
• A student can be suspended for breaking a school rule if the school deems it necessary 

And appropriate for the situation. 
 
TERMINATION POLICY:  
The institution terminates the student’s enrollment for failure to maintain satisfactory progress; failure to 
abide by the rules and regulations of the institution; absences in excess of maximum set forth by the 
institution; and/or failure to meet financial obligations to the School. 
 
The school reserves the right to make any changes in the rules and regulations at any time if necessary, 
student(s) may be sent home under an Administrative Leave until or when the situation is calmed down 
and investigated. The school reserves the right to proceed under the Administrative Leave policy, 
request further documentation or allow the return to school. 
 
ATTENDANCE STATUS 
Full time students are required to attend a minimum of 30 hours per week. 
Part time enrollment is defined as less than 30 hours per week. 
Accelerated enrollment is defined as a student attending more than 30 and up to 61 hours per week. 
 
GRADING SYSTEM 
Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 
measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  Evaluation 
reports are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each module. This evaluation form 
reflects the overall attendance and academic progress of each student. Academic grade is derived 
from an equal weighting of tests, homework, and practical operations. Students must maintain a “C” 
attendance average (67%) to maintain satisfactory progress. A student must maintain a “C” (70%) 
academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. 
 
Note: Attendance is evaluated on both an evaluation period and a cumulative basis. At each evaluation point, the 
attendance from this evaluation will be added to the attendance from the preceding months to determine whether the student 
will complete the course within the maximum time frame established in this policy. 
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TESTING POLICIES 
 

I. At the end of each Pivot Point Module, a written and practical exam will be given on the 
entire module. Should a student who is scheduled for these exams miss any portion of the 
exam, either written or practical they could be charged a fee of $50.  Once the fee is paid 
the student will be eligible to be scheduled for the next test date. It is the students’ 
responsibility to reschedule any missed or failed exam; retest dates will not be announced. 

II. Each student is required to pass a Final exam. The exam will consist of a written and practical 
exam. Should a student who is scheduled for these exams miss any portion of the exam either 
written or practical, they could be charged a fee of $100. Once the fee is paid the student 
will be eligible to be scheduled for the next test date. It is the students’ responsibility to 
reschedule any missed or failed exam; retest dates will not be announced. 

III. Tests are given at the end of each Theory Chapter. Should a student miss any chapter test 
due to any absence/illness either excused or unexcused they are required to make up the 
test at the next make up test date. Make up tests are given monthly. Should any student fail 
to make up chapter tests monthly they could be charged a fee of $15.00 for each make up 
test given prior to graduation. It is the students’ responsibility to schedule make up test; test 
dates will not be announced.  

IV. These fees will be billed directly to your student account and must be paid prior to 
graduation. No proof of training will be issued until balance is paid in full. 

V. No electronic dictionaries will be allowed in class during any test. 
 
GRADUATION DOCUMENTATION/AWARDING OF DIPLOMA 
The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and Official Transcript of Hours for the applicable 
course when the student has successfully completed all phases of study, required tests, practical 
assignments with an overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical 
examination with a 75%; and attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study 
according to all of the State requirements; completed all exit paperwork; attended an exit interview, 
financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts 
owed to the school.  
 
 
APPLICATION FOR STATE BOARD EXAMINATION 
After graduation, you may apply to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology for the licensing 
examination. The fee to take the State Board examination is as follows: $125 for Cosmetology exam, $115 
for Esthetics exam and $110 for Manicuring exam, to be paid by the student. You must pass the written 
exam with a 75% to get your license.  PSI is the testing facilities for the examination and the testing sites 
are located throughout California. The Fresno PSI site is closest to the Institution. You will get the option to 
choose the location for your written exam.   Exam fees are subject to change by The California State 
Board of Barbering and Cosmetology without prior notification. 
 
Please Note: Persons who have been convicted of Felonies, owe child support or fines, may at the discretion of the State of 
California, Department of Consumer Affairs be delayed or denied admittance to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 
Examination. The college is not responsible for a graduate being unable to take their state examination in these cases. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



30 
 

 
SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY (SAP): 
Satisfactory Academic Progress is consistently applied to all students enrolled at the school. 
This policy is reviewed during orientation and the catalog is available on the Adrian’s website. 
The college expects its students to maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP).  
 

Evaluation Periods: 30 scheduled hours per week 
Cosmetologist: 1000 hours, 34 weeks scheduled 
1st Evaluation Ends: 450 Scheduled Hours, 15 weeks 
2nd Evaluation Ends: 900 Scheduled Hours, 30 weeks 
3rd Evaluation Ends: 1000 Scheduled Hours, 34 weeks 

Esthetician: 600 hours, 20 weeks scheduled 
1st Evaluation Ends: 300 Scheduled Hours, 10 weeks 
2nd Evaluation: 600 Scheduled Hours, 20 weeks 

Manicurist: 400 hours, 14 weeks scheduled  
1st Evaluation Ends: 200 Scheduled Hours, 6 weeks 
2nd Evaluation Ends: 400 Scheduled Hours, 12 weeks 

Cosmetology Instructor: 600 hours, 20 weeks scheduled  
1st Evaluation Ends: 300 Scheduled Hours, 10 weeks 
2nd Evaluation: 600 Scheduled Hours, 20 weeks 

 
*Transfer/re-enrolled students - Midpoint of the contracted hours or the established evaluation periods, 
whichever comes first. 
 
Evaluations will determine if the student has met the minimum requirements for satisfactory academic 
progress.  The frequency of evaluations ensures that students have had at least one evaluation by 
midpoint of the course and/or program. All evaluations must be completed within seven (7) School 
Business Days following the established evaluation periods. 
  
Attendance Progress Evaluations – Students are required to attend a minimum of 67% of the hours 
possible based on the applicable attendance schedule in order to be considered maintaining 
satisfactory attendance progress.  Evaluations are conducted at the end of each evaluation period to 
determine if the student has met the minimum requirements.  The attendance percentage is determined 
by dividing the total hours accrued by the total number of hours scheduled.  At the end of each 
evaluation period, the school will determine if the student has maintained at least 67% cumulative 
attendance since the beginning of the course which indicates that, given the same attendance rate, 
the student will graduate within the maximum time frame allowed.  
 
Note: Attendance is evaluated on both an evaluation period and a cumulative basis. At each 
evaluation point, the attendance from this evaluation will be added to the attendance from the 
preceding evaluations to determine whether the student will complete the course within the maximum 
time frame established in this policy. 
 
ACADEMIC YEAR 
 

COURSE WEEKS Academic Year 
Cosmetologist (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 1000 hours 34 weeks AY1: 900 (30 weeks) 

AY2: 100 (4 weeks) 
Esthetician (FT,  30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 20 weeks AY1: 600 (20 weeks) 
Manicurist(FT, 30 hrs/wk) 400 hours 14 weeks AY1: 400 (14 weeks) 
Cosmetology Instructor (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 20 weeks AY1: 600 (20 weeks)  
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MAXIMUM TIME FRAME 
The maximum time (which does not exceed 150% of the course length) allowed for students to complete 
each course at satisfactory academic progress is stated below: 
 

COURSE WEEKS SCHEDUELED HOURS Academic Year 
Cosmetologist (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 1000 hours 50 weeks 1500 AY1: 900 AY2: 100 
Esthetician (FT,  30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 30 weeks 900 AY1: 600 
Manicurist (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 400 hours 20 weeks 600 AY1: 400 
Cosmetology Instructor (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 30 weeks 900 AY1: 600 

 
The maximum time allowed for transfer/re-enrolled students who need less than the full course 
requirements or part time students will be determined based on 67% of the schedule contracted hours. 
 
Students who have not completed the course within the maximum time frame may continue as a 
student at the institution on a cash pay basis.  
 
Academic Progress Evaluations – The qualitative element used to determine academic progress is a 
based on theory and practical assignments.  Academic learning is evaluated at the completion of each 
phase/segment of the course.  Students must maintain a cumulative Grade Point Average of 70% in 
order to be considered making Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP). The Academic Progress 
evaluations are conducted at the end of each evaluation period to determine if the minimum 
requirements have been met.  Academic Progress is determined by an average (cumulative) of the 
student’s (theory) work consists of tests, homework, and practical operations. Homework may include 
project assignments.    

You will be evaluated based on the course in which you are enrolled. See Evaluation Periods. In order 
to maintain SAP as established by this institution a student must: 

A. Maintain a cumulative academic average of “C” (70%) or better on all test, work projects, 
practical operations and other required course work, such as workbooks or assigned 
independent study. 

B. The grading system detailed below is the system utilized by the college. 
Grading 
Symbol 

Quality of Points Academic                                 
Average 

A Excellent 90-100%                
B  Very Good  80-89%                    
C Satisfactory 70-79%                    
D Unsatisfactory 60-69%                         
F Unsatisfactory 59 and Below                 

 
DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS 
Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation point are 
considered to be making satisfactory academic progress until the next schedule evaluation.  Students 
will receive a hard-copy of their Satisfactory Academic Progress Determination at the time of each of 
the evaluations.  Students deemed not maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress may have their Title 
IV Funding interrupted, unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal resulting in a status 
of probation.  
 
WARNING 
Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress are placed on 
warning and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress while during the warning period.  
The student will be advised in writing on the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by 
the next evaluation.  If at the end of the warning period, the student has still not met both the 
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attendance and academic requirements, he/she may be placed on probation and, if applicable, 
students may be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV funds.  
 
PROBATION 
Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress after the 
warning period will be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory academic 
progress while during the probationary period, if the student appeals the decision, and prevails upon 
appeal.  Additionally, only students who have the ability to meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress 
Policy standards by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation.  Students placed on 
an academic plan must be able to meet requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the 
next evaluation period.  Students who are progressing according to their specific academic plan will be 
considered making Satisfactory Academic Progress. The student will be advised in writing of the actions 
required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation.  If at the end of the 
probationary period, the student has still not met both the attendance and academic requirements 
required for satisfactory academic progress or by the academic plan, he/she will be determined as NOT 
making satisfactory academic progress and, if applicable, students will not be deemed eligible to 
receive Title IV funds. 
 
RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS 
Student may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV aid, as applicable, by meeting 
minimum attendance of 67% and academic requirements (GPA of 70%)by the end of the warning or 
probationary period. 
 
INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, WITHDRAWALS 
If enrollment is temporarily interrupted for a Leave of Absence, the student will return to school in the 
same progress status as prior to the leave of absence.  Hours elapsed during a leave of absence will 
extend the student’s contract period and maximum time frame by the same number of days taken in 
the leave of absence and will not be included in the student’s cumulative attendance percentage 
calculation.  Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will return in 
the same satisfactory academic progress status as at the time of withdrawal.  
 
Appeal Procedure 
If a student is determined to not be making satisfactory academic progress, the student may appeal the 
determination within ten calendar days.  Reasons for which students may appeal a negative progress 
determination include death of a relative, an injury or illness of the student, or any other allowable 
special or mitigating circumstance.  The student must submit a written appeal to the school on the 
designated form describing why they failed to meet satisfactory academic progress standards, along 
with supporting documentation of the reasons why the determination should be reversed.  This 
information should include what has changed about the student’s situation that will allow them to 
achieve Satisfactory Academic Progress by the next evaluation point.  Appeal documents will be 
reviewed and a decision will be made and reported to the student within 30 calendar days.  The appeal 
and decision documents will be retained in the student file.  If the student prevails upon appeal, the 
satisfactory academic progress determination will be reversed and federal financial aid will be 
reinstated, if applicable. 
 
NONCREDIT, REMEDIAL COURSES, REPETITIONS 
Noncredit, remedial courses, and repetitions do not apply to this institution.  Therefore, these items have 
no effect upon the school’s satisfactory academic progress standards. 
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TRANSFER HOURS 
With regard to Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student’s transfer hours from another institution that are 
accepted toward the student’s educational program will be counted as both attempted and 
completed hours for the purpose of determining when the allowable maximum time frame has been 
exhausted.  SAP evaluation periods are based on scheduled contracted hours at the institution.  
 
In addition, VA benefits will be terminated and the Veteran’s Administration will be promptly notified. For 
the duration of Probation, the student will also lose the following privileges: advanced training, personal 
services, in house discounts, and family discounts.  
 
LEAVE OF ABSENCE (LOA) POLICY  
An authorized leave of absence (LOA) is a temporary interruption in a student’s program of study. LOA 
refers to the specific time period during a program when a student is not in attendance. All requests for 
leaves of absences must be submitted in advance in writing, include the reason for the student’s request 
and include the student’s signature. Students will be withdrawn if the student takes an unapproved LOA. 
There must be a reasonable expectation that the student will return from the LOA.  The institution will not 
assess the student any additional institutional charges as a result of the LOA.  A student granted an LOA 
that meets these criteria is not considered to have withdrawn, and no refund calculation is required at 
that time.   An LOA is not required if a student is not in attendance only for an institutional scheduled 
break. However, a scheduled break may occur during an LOA. 
 
LOA CRITERIA/PROCEDURES 

1. A leave of absence will be granted for the following reasons: 
Medical, Active Military, Jury Duty, Mitigating circumstances and Personal Reasons 

2. The LOA form must be completed and submitted in writing to the School Director. 
3. Minimum leave of absence requires at least 1 week intervals. 
4. A student must apply for a leave of absence in advance, unless unforeseen circumstances 

prevent the student from doing so. For example, if a student were injured in a car accident and 
needed a few weeks to recover before returning to institution, the student would not have been 
able to request the LOA in advance.  

5. Leave of absences not applied for in advance are given for emergency situations and will 
be documented by staff on the leave of absence form and the form and any documentation 
will be completed once the student returns to school. In this example, the beginning date of the 
approved LOA would be determined by the institution to be the first date the student was unable 
to attend the institution because of the accident. 

6. Adrian’s Beauty College reserves the right to amend this policy on a case by case basis. 
7. LOA’s are granted for a maximum of 180 days in 12 months from the 1st day of the first requested 

Leave of absence. A student will not be granted a LOA if they have exceed a total of 180 
calendar days in a 12 month period. 

8. A student must return from the leave of absence prior to or on the return date on the form. 
9. The institution will extend the student’s contract period by the same number of calendar days 

taken in the LOA.  Changes to the contract period on the enrollment agreement must be 
initialed by all parties or an addendum must be signed and dated by all parties 

10. Failure to return from the expiration of the Leave of Absence will result in a student being 
terminated immediately from the college. This will be considered to be the student’s withdrawal 
determination date. At an institution required to take attendance, the withdrawal date for the 
purpose of calculating a refund it is always the student’s last day of attendance.  

11. A leave of absence extension may be requested prior to the end of the original leave of 
absence return date. 

12. Students who do not return from a Leave of Absence need to know that repayment on your 
student loans begins 6 months after your last date of attendance. 
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A student that does not follow and complete the LOA procedures, will have all of his/her time missed 
counted as absences from school; the student will incur overtime charges as a result, and this will affect 
the student’s Satisfactory Academic Progress.  A student that misses 14 calendar days without contacting 
the school or on an official Leave of Absence, will be considered withdrawn from the program and 
his/her contract will be terminated.  
**Veterans Students** Veteran’s Benefits will be suspended while a student is on an approved Leave of 
Absence. Once the student has regained active status with the College, benefits will resume.  
 
SCHOOL CLOSURES 
If the school permanently closes, students will receive a pro-rata refund of tuition as required by State & 
Federal guidelines. 
 
EXIT PROCEDURES FOR STUDENTS COMPLETING COURSE OF STUDY 
Two weeks before completing course of study, an appointment must be set for the following: 

1. Students must review all hours and operations and grades with their instructor for accuracy. 
2. Students must confirm their expected graduation date with teacher and office. 
3. Students must meet with the office to review accounts to date and pay off any outstanding 

balance. This final payment must be in cash, cashier check, money order. 
4. All students must complete a graduation participation form. Students will be given a state board 

kit rental form at this time. 
5. All student information such as address and phone number must be updated in computer if 

necessary. 
On the final school day: 

1. Student is responsible to assure that all hours and operations are complete before clock out. 
2. Have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts, including overtime with the 

college.  
3. The required clock hours have been completed. 
4. The student has an overall attendance average of 67%, an academic average of 70%, a total 

GPA of 70%. 
5. Passed the mock state board, both practical and written with a 75% score. 

 
WITHHOLDING OF STUDENT TRANSCRIPT/GRADES/DIPLOMA 
Adrian’s Beauty College will withhold the student’s transcripts (completion, withdrawal or a diploma) until 
financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts 
owed to the school. These items will only be given when students meet the following criteria: 

1. Total GPA 70% 
2. Overall Attendance Average 67% 
3. Operations & Theory Hours  all have been Completed 
4. Academic Average of 70%  GPA 
5. Completion of all State requirements 
6. Financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment. 
7. Passed Schools mock state board written and practical with a grade of 75%. 

 
Adrian’s Beauty College STAFF AND JOB TITLES AND FUNCTIONS 
Please see Addendum #2 
 
COURSES OF STUDY   
All courses offered by Adrian’s Beauty College are conducted primarily in English.  The institution does not 
provide English as a second language (ESL) course.  
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COSMETOLOGIST COURSE: (1000 CLOCK HOURS) 
Educational Goals: 
The cosmetologist course of study is designated to assist the student’s capability to pass the Board of 
Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is requisite in order to obtain a 
Cosmetology License. The license is a requirement to operate as a cosmetologist in the State of 
California (SOC #39-5012.00, CIP #12.0401) 
 
Curriculum for Cosmetologist Course - 1000 Clock Hours (34 weeks/30 hours per week) 
The curriculum for students enrolled in a Cosmetologist course shall consist of one thousand (1,000) clock 
hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of 
cosmetology. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom 
participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a 
complete service on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained. 
See “Applied Effort”.  
 
Grading System 
Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 
measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  Evaluation 
reports are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each module. Academic grade is 
derived from an equal weighting of tests, homework, and practical operations.  Students must maintain 
a “C” (70%) academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) 
attendance average to maintain satisfactory progress. 
 
Emergency Temporary Distance Education – Theory grading is done on the LAB platform, verified and 
recorded on timecards and transcripts.  Practical grading is done via rubrics turned in via zipwhip/email 
and actual grading via zoom.  Upon return from TDE students will be given in person exams to ensure 
understanding of the subject matter. The College was only approved for Distance Education on a 
temporary basis due to the 2020 Novel Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19). As of May 2021, the College has 
discontinued emergency temporary distance education.  
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Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 

SUBJECT 
 
 

Minimum 
Hours of 

Technical 

200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical in Hair Dressing 
1. Hairstyling; shall include but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures; Hair analysis, 
shampooing, braiding, finger waving, pin curling, comb outs, straightening, waving, curling with hot combs 
and hot curling irons and blower styling. Haircutting including the use of Shears, thinning shears, Razors, 
Electrical Clippers, trimmers for wet and dry cutting 

200 

2.Chemical Hair Services  
Shall include, but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Hair analysis, acid and alkaline 
permanent waving, chemical straightening including the use of sodium hydroxide and other base solutions. 
Hair coloring/ Bleaching which includes, Predisposition test, strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, 
tinting, bleaching, high and low lights and the use of dye removers. (Includes the use of temporary, semi-
permanent, demi-permanent and permanent colors) 

 
200 

3. Skin Care 
Chemical, Manual Facials and Massaging, Stimulating, Exfoliating, Cleansing or Beautifying the Face, Scalp, 
Neck or Body by the Use of Hands, Esthetic Devices, Cosmetic Products, Antiseptics, Lotions, Tonics or Creams 
that do not result in the ablation of Destruction of the Live Tissue 

150 

4. Hair Removal and Lash & Brow Beautification 
Tinting and Perming Eyelashes and Brows, Applying Eyelashes to any Person, includes removing superfluous hair 
from the body of any person by use of Depilatories, Tweezers, Sugaring, Nonprescription Chemicals or Waxing 
or by the Use of Devices and Appliances of any kind or description except by the Use of Lasers or Light Waves, 
which are commonly known as rays 

50 

5.Health and Safety Considerations 
Shall include but is not limited to, the following techniques and  
Procedures: Cosmetology chemistry including the chemical Composition and purpose of cosmetic, nail, hair 
and skin care Preparations. Elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin peels and chemical and physical 
changes of matter. Hazardous substances including training in chemicals and health in establishments, 
protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries, ergonomics, theory of  
electricity in cosmetology, bacteriology, communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS, Hepatitis B, and staph 
and Material Safety Data Sheets. 

100 

6.Disinection and Sanitation 
Shall include but is not limited to, the following techniques and procedures: Disinfection and sanitation 
including proper procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. 
Proper disinfection for equipment used in establishments. Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the 
entire training period and must be performed before use of all instruments and equipment. 
  

100 

7. Manicure and Pedicure 
Water and Oil Manicures, Hand and Arm Massage, Foot and Ankle massage, Nail Analysis, Artificial Nail 
Services including but not limited to, Acrylic, Liquid and Powder Brush-ons, Dips, Tips, Wraps and Repairs 

100 
 

8. Additional Training- anything that cannot be categorized above including but not limited to: 
Communication skills that include professional ethics, resume, job seeking skills, salesmanship, decorum, record 
keeping and client service records 

100 

TOTAL HOURS 1000 
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Cosmetologist Performance Objective 
1) Acquire knowledge of law and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishments’ 
practices. 

 2) Acquire knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails. 
3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to cosmetology including anatomy, physiology, 
chemistry, and theory. 

 4) Acquire business management techniques common to cosmetology. 
 
Skills to be developed 
 1) Learn the proper use of implements relative to all cosmetology services. 

2) Acquire knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and hands prior to all services to determine 
any disorders. 

 3) Will learn the procedures and terminology used in all cosmetology services. 
4) Will learn the application of daytime and evening make-up including the application of false 
strip eyelashes. 
5) Will learn the proper procedure of manicuring to include water and oil manicure and 
pedicuring. 

 6) Will learn the application of brush-on nails, wraps, and nail tips. 
 
Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed 
 1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology. 
 2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers. 
 3) Have improved personality towards patrons and colleagues. 
 
Course Levels (as of 10/2021)based on good attendance 
Phase I-Foundation    8+ weeks/240 hours   
 Basics and fundamentals of hair styling, Hair cutting, Hair 

color, texture, facials, & nails                                                                                
Phase II 2+ weeks/60 hours  
 Intermediate training in Hair Design, Women’s & Men’s 

sculpting, texture and Hair color 
Student Salon/Rehearsal 21+ weeks/ 610 hours 
 Clinic client work on skills from prior classes 
 And continued work on doll head on clinic floor 
State Board Preparation  3 weeks/ 90 hours   

Mock State Board 
 

* It is at the discretion of the instructor/director to move students up or hold them back when there has been more than 18hrs. of 
absences in one level. If student is moved forward without work being completed Certificates for Pivot Point Modules will not be 
given. 
 
Methods used to instruct Students 
Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands 
on application, overheads, visual aids, e-text books, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white 
board. 
 
Makeup Exams: 
Make-up days for missed examinations will be scheduled at the discretion of the Instructor. Make-up 
exams are a privilege – not a right! Students should be in attendance on examination days.  
 
Textbooks: 
Pivot Point Fundamentals Cosmetology e-books  
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GRADUATION DOCUMENTATION/AWARDING OF DIPLOMA/COMPLETION 
The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and Official Transcript of Hours for the applicable 
course when the student has successfully completed all phases of study, required tests, practical 
assignments with an overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical 
examination with a 75%; and attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study 
according to all of the State requirements; completed all exit paperwork; attended an exit interview, 
financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts 
owed to the school.  
 
Licensing Requirements 
Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Cosmetology license 
will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and 
graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam. 
The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the 
student applican0t, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the 
student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of 
California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test until 
the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.  
 
Job Opportunities 
The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail 
artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing, 
trade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product 
manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and 
fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon 
manager. 
 
ESTHETICIAN COURSE: 600 CLOCK HOURS (20 WEEKS)       SOC # 39-5094.00 CIP# 12.0409 
The courses of study for students enrolled in the Esthetician course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock 
hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of 
esthetics. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained. See “Applied Effort.” 
 
Educational Goals: 
The Esthetician course of study is designated to assist the student’s capability to pass the Board’s 
Esthetician licensing examination. Passing the exam is requisite in order to obtain an Esthetician license. 
 
Curriculum for Esthetician Course 600 Clock Hours (20 weeks/30 hours per week) 
The curriculum for students enrolled in the esthetician course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock hours 
of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of esthetics. 
Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or 
examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a complete service 
on another person or mannequin.  
 
Grading System 
Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 
measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  Evaluation 
reports are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each module. This evaluation form 
reflects the overall attendance and academic progress of each student. Academic grade is derived 
from an equal weighting of tests, homework, and practical operations.  “Excellence in Education” 
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grading criteria will be used in all practical, attendance, and clinical work. Students must maintain a “C” 
(70%) average to maintain satisfactory academic status. 
 
Temporary Distance Education – Theory grading is done on the LAB platform, verified and recorded on 
timecards and transcripts.  Practical grading is done via rubrics turned in via zipwhip/email and actual 
grading via zoom.  Upon return from TDE students will be given in person exams to ensure understanding 
of the subject matter. The College was only approved for Distance Education on a temporary basis due 
to the 2020 Novel Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19). As of May 2021, the College has discontinued 
emergency temporary distance education. 
 
Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: 

Subject State Minimum 
Requirements 

Health and Safety 
Hazardous Substances, Chemical Safety, Safety Data Sheets, Protection from 
Hazardous Chemicals, Preventing Chemical Injuries, Health and Safety Laws and 
Regulations, Preventing Communicable Diseases, Professional Ethics, Resume, 
Job Seeking Skills and Salesmanship 

100 

Disinfection and Sanitation 
Disinfection Procedures to Protect the Health and Safety of Consumers as well as 
the Technician and Proper Disinfection Procedures for Equipment used in 
Establishments, Record Keeping, and Client Record Cards 

100 

Skin Care 
Chemical and Manual Facials and Massaging, Stimulating, Exfoliating, Cleansing 
or Beautifying the Face, Scalp, Neck, or Body by the Use of Hands, Esthetic 
Devices, Cosmetic Products, Antiseptics, Lotions, Tonics, or Creams that do not 
Result in the Ablation or Destruction of the Live Tissue 

350 

Hair Removal and Lash & Brow Beautification 
Tinting and Perming Eyelashes and Brows, Applying Eyelashes to any Person and 
Includes Removing Superfluous Hair from the Body of any person by use of 
Depilatories, Tweezers, Sugaring, Nonprescription Chemicals, or Waxing, or by 
the Use of Devices and Appliances of any kind or description, except by the Use 
of Lasers or Light Waves, which are commonly known as rays 

50 

TOTAL CLOCK HOURS 600 

 
Esthetician Performance Objective 

1) Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishment 
practices. 

 2) Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of skin. 
3) Acquire knowledge of general theory, relative to a cosmetician, including anatomy, 
physiology, chemistry,      nutrition, and theory. 

 4) Acquire business management techniques common to esthetics. 
Skills to be developed 
 1) Learn the proper use of implements relative to all esthetic services. 
 2) Acquire the knowledge of analyzing all skin types to determine proper analysis. 
 3) Will learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all esthetics services. 

4) Will learn the application of daytime and evening make-up to include the application of false 
strip eyelashes. 

 5) Will learn the safety procedures of the use of electrical skin care machines. 
 6) Will learn various massage techniques. 
 
Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed 
 1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to esthetics. 
 2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers. 
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 3) Have improved personality in dealing with patrons and colleagues. 
 
 
 
Course Levels 
Adrian’s I  2 weeks  Basics and fundamentals of facials and makeup 
Clinic   17 + weeks  Clinic client and doll head work on skills from prior classes 

WE DO NOT GUARUNTEE CLIENTS FOR SERVICES, you will 
practice and simulate services on dolls 

Board Prep  1 week   Test and review for board preparation 
 
Methods used to instruct Students 
Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands 
on application, overheads, visual aids, e-text books, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white 
board. Temporary Distance Education (TDE) using LAB, zipwhip and zoom for instruction. 
 
Makeup Exams: 
Make-up days for missed examinations will be scheduled at the discretion of the Instructor. Make-up 
exams are a privilege – not a right! Students should be in attendance on examination days.  
 
GRADUATION DOCUMENTATION/AWARDING OF DIPLOMA/COMPLETION 
The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and Official Transcript of Hours for the applicable 
course when the student has successfully completed all phases of study, required tests, practical 
assignments with an overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical 
examination with a 75%; and attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study 
according to all of the State requirements; completed all exit paperwork; attended an exit interview, 
financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts 
owed to the school.  
 
Textbooks:   
Pivot Point Esthetician Salon Fundamentals Textbook, Course Study Guide, and exam prep. 
 
Licensing Requirements 
Applicants must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. An esthetician license 
will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and 
graduated from the esthetic course as described above and passed the Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology Exam with an overall average of 75%. 
The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the 
student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the 
student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of 
California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test until 
the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.  
 
Job Opportunities 
The following career opportunities are open to a licensed esthetician: Skin care professional, makeup 
artist, beauty care marketing, trade show director, product manufacturer representative, educator, 
beauty business consultant, cosmetic and fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, spa owner, 
salon/spa coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon manager. 
 
 
MANICURIST COURSE: 400 CLOCK HOURS (15 WEEKS)     (SOC# 39-5092.00, CIP #12.0410). 
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The course of study for students enrolled in a manicurist course shall consist of four hundred (400) clock 
hours of technical instructional and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of 
manicuring and Pedicuring. Credit is given only if applied effort in maintained. See “Applied Effort.” 
 
Educational Goals: 
The manicurist course of study is designed to improve the student’s capability to pass the Board of 
Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is a prerequisite in order to obtain 
a Manicuring License. The license is a requirement to operate as a Manicuring in the state of California 
(DOT#331.674-010). 
 
Curriculum for Manicurist Course 400 Clock Hours (15 weeks,/30 hours per week) 
The curriculum for students enrolled in a manicuring course shall consist of four hundred (400) clock hours 
of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a Manicuring and pedicurist. 
Technical instruction means instruction by demonstrator, lecture, classroom participation or examination. 
Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another 
person. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: (See next Page) 
 
Grading System 
Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 
measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  Evaluation 
reports are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each module. This evaluation form 
reflects the overall attendance and academic progress of each student. Academic grade is derived 
from an equal weighting of tests, homework, and practical operations.  “Excellence in Education” 
grading criteria will be used in all practical, attendance, and clinical work. Students must maintain a “C” 
(70%) average to maintain satisfactory academic status. 
 
Temporary Distance Education – Theory grading is done on the LAB platform, verified and recorded on 
timecards and transcripts.  Practical grading is done via rubrics turned in via zipwhip/email and actual 
grading via zoom.  Upon return from TDE students will be given in person exams to ensure understanding 
of the subject matter. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
The requirements listed below are the State Minimum Requirements: 
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SUBJECT 
 

400 hours of Technical Instruction 

Minimum Hours 
of Technical 
Instruction 

1. Health and Safety, 
Which includes hazardous substances, chemical safety, safety data sheets, 
protection from hazardous chemicals, preventing chemical injuries, health and 
safety laws and regulations, and preventing communicable diseases 

100 

2.Disinfection and Sanitation 
Which includes disinfection procedures to protect the health and safety of 
consumers as well as the technician and proper disinfection procedures for 
equipment used in establishments. 

100 

3.Manicure and Pedicure 
Which includes water and oil manicures, hand and arm massage, complete 
pedicures, foot and ankle massage, nail analysis, nail repairs, and application of 
artificial nails, liquid, gel, powder brush-ons, dip, nail tips and wraps.  

150 

4. Additional training 
Which includes anything that cannot be categorized including Communication 
skills that include professional ethics, resume, job seeking skills, salesmanship, 
decorum, record keeping and client service records. 

50 

TOTAL HOURS 400 

 
Academic grade is derived from an equal weighting of tests, homework, and practical operations.  
“Excellence in Education” grading criteria will be used in all practical, attendance, and clinical work. 
Students must maintain a “C” (70%) average to maintain satisfactory academic status. 
 
Manicurist Performance Objective 
 1) Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California cosmetology establishing practices. 
 2) Understand sterilization procedures. 

3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to manicuring including anatomy, physiology, 
chemistry, and theory relative to practical procedures performed. 

 4) Acquire business management techniques common to Manicuring. 
 
Skills to be developed 
 1) Use of proper implements relative to all manicuring, Pedi curing, and artificial nails. 
 2) Develop knowledge to recognize the various skin conditions and disorders 
 3) Acquire knowledge 

4) Develop the knowledge of safety precautions in use of manicuring, Pedi curing, and artificial 
nails. 

 
Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed 

1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to manicuring. 
 2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers. 
 3) Appreciate honesty and integrity. 
 4) Have improved personality in dealing with patrons and colleagues. 
 
Course Levels 
Adrian’s I  2 weeks  Basics and fundamentals of all Nail applications 
Clinic   10 + weeks  Clinic client/Doll hand work on skills from prior classes 
Or Rehearsal WE DO NOT GUARUNTEE CLIENTS FOR SERVICES 
Board Prep  1 week   Review for board and pass mock state board. 
Methods used to instruct Students 
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Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands 
on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white board. 
Temporary Distance Education (TDE) using LAB, zipwhip and zoom for instruction. 
 
Makeup Exams: 
Make-up days for missed examinations will be scheduled at the discretion of the Instructor. Make-up 
exams are a privilege – not a right! Students should be in attendance on examination days.  
 
Textbooks:  
Pivot Point Manicurist Salon Fundamentals textbook, study guide and exam prep. 
 
GRADUATION DOCUMENTATION/AWARDING OF DIPLOMA/COMPLETION 
The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and Official Transcript of Hours for the applicable 
course when the student has successfully completed all phases of study, required tests, practical 
assignments with an overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical 
examination with a 75%; and attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study 
according to all of the State requirements; completed all exit paperwork; attended an exit interview, 
financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts 
owed to the school.  
 
Licensing Requirements 
Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A manicuring license 
will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and 
graduated from the manicuring course as described above and passed the Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology Exam with an overall average of 75%. 
 
The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the 
student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the 
student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of 
California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test until 
the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.  
 
Job Opportunities 
The following career opportunities are open to licensed manicurists: nail technician, nail artist, beauty 
care marketing, trade show director, beauty product designer, product manufacturer representative, 
educator, beauty business consultant, school instructor, salon owner, salon franchisee, and salon 
manager. 
 
Cosmetology Instructor COURSE: 600 CLOCK HOURS (20 WEEKS) (SOC# 25-3099.00 CIP # 12.0413) 
The course of study for students enrolled in a Cosmetology Instructor course shall consist of six hundred 
(600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of student 
instruction and supervision. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained. See “Applied Effort.” 
 
Educational Goals: 
Curriculum for Cosmetology Instructor Course - 600 Clock Hours  
The curriculum for students enrolled in a Teacher Training course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock 
hours of technical instruction and practical operations in fundamentals of teaching and supervision of 
students. Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation and 
examination. Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of classroom lecture, 
demonstration and supervision of students in other courses. 
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At this time the State of California has no licensing for the Cosmetology Instructor program. 
  
Grading System 
Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 
measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  Evaluation 
reports are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each module. This evaluation form 
reflects the overall attendance and academic progress of each student. Academic grade is derived 
from an equal weighting of tests, homework, and practical operations.  “Excellence in Education” 
grading criteria will be used in all practical, attendance, and clinical work. Students must maintain a “C” 
(70%) average to maintain satisfactory academic status. 
 
Curriculum for Cosmetology Instructor Course- 600 Hours (20 weeks/30 hours per week) 
The curriculum for students enrolled in a Cosmetology Instructor course shall consist of six hundred (600) 
clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a Cosmetology 
Teacher. Technical instruction means instruction by demonstrator, lecture, classroom participation or 
examination. Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of a complete service 
on another person. Pre-requisite is a valid, Cosmetology License issued by the Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology. 
 
Such technical instruction and practical operation shall include:  

 

SUBJECT 
 
*600 hours of Technical Instruction 

Minimum 
Hours of 

Technical 
Instruction 

Practical 
operations 

(Hours) 

Minimum 
Practical 

Operations 

(100 hours required) 
1.STATE LAW 
A. Cosmetology Act, including licensing, certification and registration 
requirements 

       B. Rules and regulations 

5 
 

5 

  

(500 hours required) 
2. PREPARATORY INSTRUCTION 
A. Teaching techniques & methodology 
B. Organizational Techniques 
C. Lesson plan development, development and use of teaching aids, student 
motivation & learning, presentation techniques 
D. Assessment of student learning: Evaluation of overall progress, development 
and use of testing, academic advising on progress in course, program course 
development and review 
E. Administrative responsibilities: records management, organizational and 
regulatory requirements, professional ethics, professional boundaries, effective 
communication, human relations, 
F. Career and employment information, compensation and payroll deductions
    
G. Fundamentals of business management 

40 
30 
30 

 
10 

 
 

10 
 
 
 

10 
 

10 

100  50 
  
 30 
 
 
 20 

3. CONDUCTING CLASSROOM  
A. Technical instruction 
B. Demonstrations 

140 
 

 

4. CLASSROOM 
A. Live demonstrations 100   

5. SUPERVISING  
A. Students with clients 
B. Students with manikin 

100 
10 

10 

TOTALS     490 110 110 
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Cosmetology Instructor Performance Objective 
 1) Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California cosmetology establishing practices. 
 2) Understand sterilization procedures. 

3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to teaching techniques, organization, lesson 
planning, evaluation and advising of students and administrative responsibilities. Acquire 
knowledge of general practical application of supervising classrooms and students. 

 4) Acquire business management techniques common to teachers. 
 
Skills to be developed 
 1) Use of proper implements relative to all phases of cosmetology. 

2) Develop knowledge to recognize the various teaching techniques, learning styles and class 
management. 

 3) Acquire knowledge of evaluating techniques and student advising. 
4) Develop the knowledge of safety precautions in use of equipment for all phases of 
cosmetology 

 
Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed 

1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology. 
 2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public, students and fellow workers. 
 3) Appreciate honesty and integrity. 
 4) Have improved personality in dealing with clients and colleagues. 
 
Course Levels 
Adrian’s I  2 weeks  Basics and fundamentals of teaching 
Intern   17 + weeks  Student supervision 
Adrian’s II  1 week   Test and review 
 
Methods used to instruct Students 
Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands 
on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white board. 
 
Makeup Exams: 
Make-up days for missed examinations will be scheduled at the discretion of the Instructor. Make-up 
exams are a privilege – not a right! Students should be in attendance on examination days.  
 
Textbooks:   
Milady Master Educator textbook, workbook and study guide. 
 
GRADUATION DOCUMENTATION/AWARDING OF DIPLOMA/COMPLETION 
The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and Official Transcript of Hours for the applicable 
course when the student has successfully completed all phases of study, required tests, practical 
assignments with an overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical 
examination with a 75%; and attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study 
according to all of the State requirements; completed all exit paperwork; attended an exit interview, 
financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts 
owed to the school.  
 
Licensing Requirements 
The State of California does not have Licensing for Cosmetology Instructor course. 
 
Job Opportunities 
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The following career opportunities are open to licensed teachers: beauty care marketing, trade show 
director, beauty product designer, product manufacturer representative, educator, beauty business 
consultant, school instructor, salon owner, salon franchisee, and salon manager. 
 
COURSE COSTS  
A SUPPLEMENTAL HANDOUT WILL BE PROVIDED TO EACH STUDENT.  
Addendum Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock 
 
ADRIAN’S BEAUTY COLLEGE OF TURLOCK RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE THE TUITION AND FEES OF ANY 
AND ALL COURSES, AND MAKE SUBJECT CHANGES WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE WHEN NECESSARY.  
ANY CHANGE WILL NOT AFFECT ATTENDING STUDENTS. 
 
METHOD OF PAYMENT 
Cash/Money Order, Check, Credit Card (4% Service Fee Added), 3rd Party Private Lending Institutions, 
Financial Aid (if qualified). 
 
NON PAYMENT OF OUTSTANDING BALANCES 
Any non-payment of outstanding balances that go more than ninety (90) days past due will be assigned 
to a collection agency. 
 
ACCIDENT INSURANCE POLICY 
Students are advised to carry school insurance through their own insurance agent to cover personal 
accidents that occur on the premises within their scheduled training time during enrollment. Students are 
advised to carry vehicle insurance for theft vandalism, or loss that will cover their property or vehicle 
while on school property. 
 
SUPPLEMENTAL TRAINING 

1. Applicants seeking supplemental training must submit to the school the Supplemental Form given 
to them by the California State Board. 

2. College Director of Education will review, then determine the hours that the applicant will need 
to complete. 

3. The charge for the supplemental training is $25.00 per hour. 
4. Payment for these hours will be paid in advance-terms is cash, credit card, or ATM. No personal 

checks will be accepted. 
5. NO REFUNDS 
6. Applicant to provide their own equipment and supplies. 
7. No Baby Board Tests are given within their supplemental hours. 
8. No make-up hours will be accepted. 
9. The schedule provided by the school will be followed. 
10. Uniform will be the lab coat needed for State Board testing.  Applicant to follow existing uniform 

policy of the school. 
 

INSTITUTIONAL REFUND POLICY 
The REFUND POLICY can also be found within the Enrollment Agreement. All Enrolled Students will receive 
a copy of the Enrollment Agreement. 
 
This refund policy applies to all terminations for any reason, by either party, including student decision, 
course or program cancellation, or school closure. 
 
 
STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL 
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1. You have the right to cancel your agreement for a program of instruction, without any penalty or 
obligations, through attendance at the first class session or the seventh calendar day after enrollment, 
whichever is later.   

2. If the Enrollment Agreement is cancelled within the 7 days from signing the Enrollment Agreement, the 
school will refund 100 percent of the amount paid for institutional charges, less a reasonable deposit 
or an application fee not to exceed $250.00, if the notice of cancellation is made through attendance 
at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later.  

3. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time; and you 
have the right to receive a pro rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less of the scheduled 
program.    

4. Cancellation may occur when the student provides a written notice of cancellation at the following 
address:  Adrian’s Beauty College, 1340 W. Main St., Suite A, Turlock, Ca. 95380.  This can be done by 
mail or by hand delivery. 

5. The written notice of cancellation, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly 
addressed with proper postage. 

6. The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and, however expressed, it is 
effective if it shows that the student no longer wishes to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement.   

7.  A withdrawal may be effectuated by the student’s written notice or by the student’s conduct, including, 
but not necessarily limited, to a student’s lack of attendance. 

REMEMBER THAT YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING.  You do not have the right to cancel by telephone or by 
not coming to class. 

 
WITHDRAWAL FROM THE PROGRAM/INSTITUTIONAL REFUND POLICY 
You may withdraw from the school at any time after the cancellation period (described above) and 
receive a pro rata refund within 45 days of withdrawal if you have completed 60 percent or less of the 
period of attendance, based on scheduled hours.  The refund will be less an application fee  or deposit 
not to exceed $250.00, and less any deduction for books and equipment that the student has received and 
signed for. If the student has completed more than 60% of the period of attendance for which the student 
was charged, the tuition is considered earned and the student will receive no refund. Books and Kit are 
non-refundable. 
 
For the purpose of determining a refund under this section, a student shall be deemed to have withdrawn 
from a program of instruction when any of the following occurs: 
 
• The student notifies the institution in writing of the withdrawal.  
• The student has failed to attend class for fourteen (14) calendar days without any contact from the 

student 
• The institution terminates the student’s enrollment for failure to maintain satisfactory academic 

progress; failure to abide by the rules and regulations of the institution; absences in excess of maximum 
set forth by the institution; and/or failure to meet financial obligations to the School. 

• Failure to return from a leave of absence.  The date of the student’s withdrawal shall be the earlier of 
the scheduled date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the institution 
that the student will not be returning.  
 

All refunds are calculated based on the student’s last date of attendance. 
 
For students who enroll and begin classes but withdraw prior to course completion (after seven business 
days of signing the enrollment agreement), the following schedule of tuition earned by the school applies.   
 
 
All refunds are based on scheduled hours: 
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Percent of Scheduled   Total Tuition School  
Time Enrolled to Total           Shall Retain 

                Program 
   0.01% to 60%    Prorated based on  
            percentage of  
                            scheduled 
               attendance 
   60.01% and over                 100% 
 
The amount owed equals the daily charge for the program (total institutional charge, minus non 
refundable fees, divided by the number of hours in the program) multiplied by the number of hours the 
student was scheduled to attend, prior to withdrawal.  
 
If any portion of the tuition was paid from the proceeds of a loan or third party, the refund shall be sent to 
the lender, third party or, if appropriate, to the state or federal agency that guaranteed or reinsured the 
loan.  Any amount of the refund in excess of the unpaid balance of the loan shall be first used to repay 
any student financial aid programs from which the student received benefits, in proportion to the amount 
of benefits received, and any remaining amount shall be paid to the student.   
 
The school will issue and Official Transcript of Hours to student’s who withdraw prior to program completion 
when the student has successfully completed the required exit paperwork, attended an exit interview and 
made satisfactory arrangements for debts owed the school as approved by the School.  
 
In the event of a course/program cancellation or school closure a student will be charged for scheduled 
hours and any applicable non-refundable items or fees. 
 
FEDERAL RETURN OF TITLE IV FUNDS POLICY 
The law requires that when you withdraw during a payment period, the amount of SFA program 
assistance that you have earned up to that point is determined by a specific formula.  If you received (or 
the school received on your behalf) less assistance that the amount you earned, you will be able to 
receive those additional funds.  If you received more assistance than you earned, the excess funds must 
be returned to the Title IV programs first.  For the purpose of determining the amount you owe, you shall 
be deemed to have withdrawn from the course when any of the following occurs: a. You notify the 
school of your withdrawal or the actual date of withdrawal; b the School terminates your enrollment; c. 
You fail to attend classes for 14 days without any contact with the school; d. You fail to return from a 
leave of absence.  In this case, the date of withdrawal shall be deemed to be the last date of recorded 
attendance.  
 
The school is required to perform a “Return to Title IV” (R2T4) calculation to determine the amount of 
financial aid a student has earned during the payment period.  The return amount is calculated by 
dividing the scheduled hours that the student could have attended by the total hours in the payment 
period.  
 
A student would be owed a post-disbursement of Title IV funds upon withdrawal from the Institution if the 
amount already received is less than the amount the student earned, and for which the student is 
otherwise eligible.  The student would be then eligible to receive a Post-withdrawal disbursement of the 
earned aid that was not received.  A school must offer any amount of a Post-withdrawal disbursement 
that is not credited to the student’s account within 30 days of the determination. A Pell disbursement can 
be posted without the student’s approval/notification; however, a Federal loan disbursement will require 
the student consent of approval prior to the school disbursing such funds. 
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Return of funds from a student is based on amount due from school subtracted from Title IV aid to be 
returned based off of the R2T4 calculation.  If this amount includes any loan funds, the funds are repaid in 
accordance with the terms of the promissory note.  Any grant repayment due from a student is 
considered an overpayment but any Grant funds that the student must return is reduced by 50% of the 
amount owed back to the Department of Education.   
 
The Order that Title IV program funds must be returned: 
 1. Federal Direct Unsubsidized Loan 
 2. Federal Direct Subsidized Loan 
 3. Federal PLUS Loan 
 4. Federal Pell Grant 
 5. Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) 
Time frame to return funds to the Federal program is 45 days from the Date of Determination of the 
student’s withdrawal. 

 
How earned aid is calculated: 
The school determines the clock hours completed in the payment period and divides those hours by 
total clock hours in the payment period.  If the percentage is greater than 60%, the student has earned 
100% of his/her and no Title IV aid received is returned to the Federal program.  However, if the 
percentage is equal to 60% or less, the school is required to calculate the amount the student earned in 
the payment period.  For example, let’s assume a student is scheduled to complete 225 hours out of the 
450 hours in the payment period.  In this scenario, the school will divide 225 clock hours scheduled to 
complete by 450 hours in the payment period resulting in a 50%.  The school then multiplies 50% against 
the amount of Federal Aid the student received to calculate the amount the student earned.  Samples 
of Refunds based on the College’s Refund Policy and the return to Title IV Policy are available upon 
request by contacting the Financial Aid office during regular business hours. 
 
After a return of Title IV aid is performed, a student may still owe a balance to the school. 
 
TUITION AND FEE POLICIES 
All tuition and fees are due upon enrollment.  
 
ADDITIONAL INCIDENTAL COSTS FOR ALL COURSES 
Binders, pens, pencils, note paper, uniforms, products for student practice, sanitary containers, 
examination fee for the State examination, rental kit fee for the State examination are all incidental costs 
for all of the courses at the college. These items must be purchased by the student either at the college 
or paid for outside of the college. Should a student use the ATM card, a use fee of 4% will be added per 
transaction. If a credit card is used to pay a tuition payment, four percent will be charged on the 
payment made by credit card. 
 
TUITION FEE FOR RE-ENROLLED / TRANSFER STUDENTS 
The hourly tuition charges for transfer or re-enrolled students who have prior hours are charged the 
current hourly rate per course at the time the enrollment agreement is signed. 
 
TUITION FEE FOR ADDITIONAL TRAINING 
The student must complete the required hours within the maximum possible hour time frame, on the 
enrollment agreement (contract.) If the student fails to complete the required hours, training will stop or 
an additional training fee will be charged.  This fee will be charged for all hours that have elapsed 
beyond the contract date until the student has completed the prescribed course.  Once the student has 
consumed the additional hours allowed within the contract time frame the student then must 
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immediately make financial arrangements with the financial aid office to satisfy the debt incurred by 
excess absence(s). Arrangements must be made to have these additional missed hours paid for prior to 
the student clocking back into school.  
 
Example: If a student was contracted to complete training on April 10th, as of April 10th, the student has 
48 clock hours remaining to complete the course hours. The student would then have additional training 
charges (48 hours x cost per course hours) payable to the school before graduation. 
The college will endeavor to assist the student to complete their program, but the responsibility remains 
entirely with the student. As a courtesy at each evaluation period, the school will compute student’s 
overtime. Any potential overtime will be added to the student’s ledger. This will give the student ample 
opportunity to pay on overtime fees prior to their last contracted date. If a student withdraws prior to 
their  last contracted date any overtime charged will be credited before the Refund policies are 
applied. Prior to graduation a final overtime charge based on the contracted graduation date is 
performed and any charges for overtime are corrected. 
 
FINANCIAL AID - CONSUMER INFORMATION 
Due to various approvals, authorization, and accreditation, Institution’s students are eligible to apply for 
and receive tuition aid and financial assistance while attending our college.  A list of these programs 
includes: 
 1.  Federal Pell Grant 
 2.  Subsidized Federal Direct Loan 
 3.  Unsubsidized Federal Direct Loan 
 4.  Direct PLUS Loan 
 5.  Private Alternative Loan 
If you wish to apply for financial aid assistance, you must establish financial aid eligibility each year.  In 
order to determine if you are eligible for financial aid, you must complete the application process, meet 
academic progress standards, and be enrolled full time. 
 
Financial assistance awarded through Adrian’s Beauty College, may consist of a combination of grants, 
loans, and scholarships.  Adrian’s Beauty College Participates with state, federal and private agencies in 
providing various aid programs. 
 

Federal Pell Grant Program- this grant is an important source of aid for students who demonstrate 
financial need.  It is dependent upon determination of eligibility, enrollment status, cost of 
attendance and a payment schedule issued by the U.S. Department of Education.  A grant does 
not have to be repaid.   

  
Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant - each year the college makes a limited 
number of awards to students through the Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant 
program.  These funds are targeted to those students who have the lowest calculated family 
contribution.   

 
Federal Direct Loans Subsidized - students requiring additional assistance may wish to apply for a 
federal loan.  Repayment begins six months after the student leaves the college.  Students not 
qualifying for a Subsidized Federal Direct Loan may apply for an Unsubsidized Federal Direct 
Loan.  There is no pre-payment penalty with this loan. 

 
Federal Direct Loans Unsubsidized - Independent students may also borrow in the Federal 
Unsubsidized program and choose to begin interest payments while in school and principal 
payments six (6) months after graduation. 
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Direct PLUS - through the Federal Parent Loan for Undergraduate Students Program, the parents 
of dependent students may borrow to meet educational expenses.  Repayment of this loan 
begins sixty (60) days after the first disbursement. 

 
Private Alternative Loans - loans are private, credit-based student loans for technical training or 
trade schools, online courses, and other continuing education programs.  To be eligible you must 
be a U.S. Citizen or permanent resident and have an established credit history.  Loan has interest 
rates and fees that regard good credit.  Repayment terms of up to 15 years are available.  If you 
have less than ideal credit or no credit at all, you can still be eligible for the loan by applying with 
a creditworthy cosigner. 

  
Bureau of Indian Affairs Grant (BIA) - Available to help eligible Native American students who: 

o Have at least one fourth Native American, Eskimo, or Aleutian heritages as certified by 
tribal agencies served by the Bureau of Indian Affairs. 

o Are enrolled or plan to enroll as an undergraduate student on a full time basis. 
 

BIA grants are not automatically awarded.  It is important that students apply early to meet 
deadline dates set by area offices. 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
GENERAL FINANCIAL AID INFORMATION 
Full time Financial Aid Officers/Aids are available to assist you in obtaining the financial assistance 
required to meet your educational needs.  You may apply for financial aid by contacting the Financial 
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Aid office to discuss the process and time lines to apply for aid and completing the Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). 
 
The FAFSA helps determine the amount of assistance for which you are eligible.  This analysis takes into 
account factors such as income, assets, number of family members in your household, and the number 
of your family members enrolled in college. 
 
When to apply: you should apply for financial aid as soon as you decide to enroll at Adrian’s Beauty 
College.  Your Financial Aid Officer/Aid will assist you with the forms needed to begin the application 
process.  You should have a complete financial aid file to ensure timely receipt of financial aid funds.  A 
complete financial aid file consists of Adrian’s Beauty College receipt of a student’s FAFSA data from the 
Department of Education, a completed loan entrance interview (if required), and submission of 
verification items (if required). 
 
You must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), Renewal FAFSA or FAFSA online 
at https://fafsa.ed.gov.  Prior to applying you must establish a FSA ID by going onto the website; 
studentaid.ed.gov.  If you are considered to be a dependent student the Parent must also establish an 
FSA Id.  If you need assistance with either of the above items please make an appointment with the 
Financial Aid office.  
 
WHAT HAPPENS NEXT? 
Once you have submitted the FAFSA or FOTW, you will be sent a Student Aid Report (SAR or e-SAR).  The 
SAR or e-SAR should be checked for accuracy.  Contact the school immediately in case you think 
corrections are needed.  Once the SAR or e-SAR has been determined to be complete, a financial aid 
award letter will be given to you which will state the student need (the cost of your education), family 
contribution, amount of grants awarded, and the amount of loans needed.  If you are chosen for 
verification or have a C code, you must complete the verification process before disbursement will take 
place.  You will have 30 calendar days to complete process.  If you cannot complete the process within 
30 days funds will not be disbursed.  In order to receive unsubsidized or subsidized PLUS loan funds you 
must complete an online Master Promissory Note and entrance counseling at studentloans.gov. 
 
Funds are then distributed by the Administrative office you will be given a receipt.  Award and loan funds 
are typically disbursed after 30 days for the first year students and within two weeks for second year 
students. 
 
Upon graduation you will have an exit interview which will cover the schedules of repayment, terms of 
repayment, as well as loan exit counseling. 
 
COMPLIANCE STATEMENT 
The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that students be notified that the disclosure of their social 
security number is mandatory. The social security number is used to verify students’ identities, to process 
the awarding of funds, the collection of funds, and the tracing of individuals who have borrowed funds 
from federal, state or private programs. 
 
FINANCIAL AID PHILOSOPHY 
This college believes that the talents, hopes, and ambitions of all people are among our nation’s most 
valued possession.  With this thought in mind, this college continues to promote scholarship, grant and 
loan opportunities for qualified, deserving students who must find funds to attend college.  The 
fundamental purpose of this college’s financial aid programs is, therefore, to make it possible for students 
who would normally be deprived of a college education because of inadequate funds, to attend 
college.  The following principles have been adopted for our financial aid program. 
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PRINCIPLES  

1. This college will work with schools, community groups, and other educational institutions in 
support of the national goal of equality of educational opportunities. 

2. The expected family contributions affect the student’s cost of education. This school expects 
parents to contribute financially, according to their means, taking into account, their incomes, 
assets, number of dependents, and other relevant information.  Students are also expected to 
contribute from their own earnings and assets, including borrowing against future earnings. 

3. Financial aid will be offered after determining whether the family’s resources are insufficient to 
meet the student’s educational expenses.  The amount of aid offered will not exceed the 
amount needed to meet the difference between the student’s total educational expenses and 
the family’s resources. 

4. In awarding funds to eligible students, the amount and the type of self-help will be related to the 
circumstances of the individual and the largess amount of grant assistance will be offered to 
students with the least ability to pay. 

 
FINANCIAL AID MECHANISM 
Financial aid is a mechanism that reduces out of pocket costs those students and/or parents must pay to 
obtain a specific Post-Secondary education. Presented differently, financial aid is money made 
available to help students meet the cost of college attendance. Financial aid includes grants, loans, or 
part time work. Grants do not have to be repaid. Loans usually have low interest rates and must be 
repaid in accordance to the individual loan program terms. Most of the loans can be arranged to 
require payment after a grace period of several months upon graduation, or upon the student’s 
termination form the program or if a student’s attendance falls below half time. Financial aid is awarded 
to students who have “need.”  Need is the difference between the amount of money that the family will 
be expected to contribute to meet student costs and the cost of education at this school. 
 
STUDENT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

• To be eligible for financial aid, a student must: 
• Be admitted as a regular student. 
• Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment in an eligible program on at least a half time basis. 
• Be a citizen or an eligible non-citizen 
• Not owe a refund on a Pell Grant or SEOG at any school 
• Not be in default on a Perkins Loan or Stafford Loan / SLSL/ PLUS at any school. 
• Have financial need. 
• Be making satisfactory progress (as defined by the school’s policy) in the course of study. 
• Be registered for selective service (if a male born after January 1, 1960). 
• Have signed a statement of educational purpose. 
• Have signed a statement of updated information. 
• Have a high school diploma, a GED, completion of a home schooling secondary program. 
• Agree to use any federal student aid received solely for educational purposes. 

 
THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is approved for, and does participate in  the following programs 
intended to defray the costs of attending for those students eligible for financial aid considerations; 

• Federal Pell Grant Program (PELL) 
• Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant Program (FSEOG) 
• Direct Federal Educational Loan Program 

APPLICATION PROCEDURES AND FORMS 
Financial aid applications for this institution consist of the following: 
STUDENT QUESTIONNAIRE 
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• Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). This form needs to be completed as instructed 
on the form. Documentation to substantiate the data entered on the form may be required by 
the Financial Aid Office. 

• Enrollment contract. 
• Statement of Educational purpose. 
• Statement regarding prior financial aid. Neither defaulted loans, nor refunds due are outstanding. 
• Statement of Registration compliance. 
• Statement of Utilization of funds and disbursement procedures. 
• Verification process if selected by the Federal Student Aid Commission includes documentation 

regarding income, assets, and status. 
 

UNSUBSIDIZED DIRECT LOANS & DIRECT PARENT PLUS 
These loans expand the ability of students to receive loan funds. These loans carry many of the same 
terms and conditions associated with subsidized loans with the following two exceptions: 

1. Unsubsidized Direct loans are not based on need. Students may borrow up to $25,000, not to 
exceed annual loan limits. 

2. There are no interest subsidies by the Federal Government on the loans, therefore while the 
student is enrolled or during periods of deferment, interest must either be paid or capitalized. I.e. 
added to the principle balance. 

3. Student will pay interest based on credit reliability and co-signers credit reliability. Students may 
apply for and receive more than one unsubsidized direct loan provided the combined amount 
borrowed does not exceed applicable loan limits.  

*Unsubsidized Direct Loans are need based up to $6000, Direct Parent PLUS loans are need based up to 
remaining need.  
If a student obtains a loan to pay for a educational program, the student will have the responsibility to 
repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student 
received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the monies not paid 
from the federal student financial aid program funds. 
 
DEADLINES:  FAFSA deadline for the academic year is June 30th of each year. 
 
DISBURSEMENT: Lenders issued checks payable to the student only or co-payable to the college and the 

student.  It is the student’s responsibility to submit all forms and documentation to the 
financial aid office in accordance with the deadlines applicable to each loan program 
from which aid is being requested.  It is the student’s responsibility to comply with all 
obligations involved in the receipt of federal and/or state aid. For more information about 
these programs, including application procedures, eligibility, rights and obligations 
pertaining to each program, please refer to the U.S.D.O.E. Student Guide. Loans are 
certified for institutional charges only. 

 
FEDERAL SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANT (SEOG) 
Funds received under this program are not subject to repayment by the student. 
 
DEADLINE: You may apply during the enrollment process, using the college’s forms and procedures.  
Each school sets it own deadlines for receiving applications; however, since the government limits these 
funds, the school awards them on a first come, first served basis. The school will provide you a letter listing 
the amount and types of financial aid you will get, including the SEOG award. 
 
DISBURSEMENT: On the basis of per payment period via a check payable to the student or via a direct 
credit to the student’s tuition account.  Priority for SEOG funds will be given to those students with the 
lowest expected family contribution who will receive Pell Grants. Because of this institution’s policy of 
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year round enrollment, funds will be allocated on a first come, first served basis for those individuals 
meeting this criteria.  Professional judgment may be used for certain exceptions based on extenuating 
circumstances with appropriate documentation. Please refer to FSEOG selection criteria. 
For additional information on each of the Federal Financial Aid programs described above, review, “The 
Student Guide” published by the United States Department of Education. This publication is available at 
the college and at public libraries. 
 
DETERMINING NEED 
The information you report when you apply for aid is used in a formula, established by Congress, which 
calculates your Expected Family Contribution. Adrian’s Beauty College utilizes the Free Application for 
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for students applying for aid. This form will be processed by a contractor of 
the U.S. Department of education at no cost to the student. The results will be provided in the form of an 
Electronic Student Aid Report with the calculation of the Expected Family Contribution. 
 
DEFINITIONS 
The following terminology corresponds with common terms used within financial aid definitions. 
 
ACADEMIC YEAR 
30 weeks of instructional time with a minimum of 900 clock hours of instruction for a full time student.  The 
midpoint of the academic year shall be a minimum of 15 weeks and at least 450 clock hours. In effect, 
all students enrolled in courses with an academic year schedule to be completed in less than 30 weeks, 
regardless of the number of clock hours offered, would have aid eligibility reduced in proportion to the 
number of weeks and hours in the course of study in relation to the academic year. 
 
CLOCK HOUR 
50 to 60 minutes of supervised instruction during a 60 minute period. 
 
DEPENDENT STUDENT: 
A dependent student is an individual that does not meet the independent student criteria. This student is 
required to submit with their application, student, spouse (if applicable), and parents’ income and assets 
data. 
 
FAMILY CONTRIBUTION (EFC) 
The amount that has been calculated as family contribution to offset the student cost of attendance. 
 
FINANCIAL AID ELIGIBILITY / CITIZEN / Eligible NON-CITIZEN: 
You must be one of the following to receive Federal Student Aid: 
 

• U.S. Citizen 
• U.S. National 
• U.S. Permanent resident who has an I-151 or I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card) 
• Departure Record (I-94) from the US Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) showing one of 

the following designations: 
a) Refugee 
b) Asylum Granted 
c) Indefinite parole and/or Humanitarian Parole 
d) Cuban - Haitian entrant, status pending 
e) Conditional Entrant (valid only if issued before April 1980) 
f) An approval form I-797 
g) I-688 with valid expiration date. 
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IF YOU ARE IN THE US UNDER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING CONDITIONS, YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR FEDERAL 
AID: 
 

• F1 or F2 student visa 
• J1 or J2 exchange visitor visa only 
• I-688 a, I-688 b, or I-688 c (Amnesty Applicant) 

 
INDEPENDENT STUDENT: 
An individual who meets one of the following criteria: 

1.) Meets Federal Age requirement 
2.) An orphan or ward of the court 
3.) A Veteran of the U.S. Armed forces 
4.) An individual with legal dependants other than a spouse. 
5.) A married individual 
6.) A graduate or professional student. 

  
PARENT(S): For the purposes of the financial aid programs, “parent” is mother and/or father or 

adoptive/step parents or legal guardian, not foster parents. 
 
PAYMENT PERIOD: 450 hours and a minimum of 15 weeks for courses of 900 hours or more. Midpoint of the 
program for courses of less than 900 hours and 30 weeks. 
 
NEED: Financial need is the amount left over after subtracting the expected family contribution from your 
cost of attendance. 
 
RECOVERIES 
Recoveries resulting on funds paid to students for personal expenses which exceed the amount needed 
(based on the months attended times the monthly budget allowance) will be due from the student to 
the Title IV Programs. Students will be required to pay for recoveries to the program in this prescribed 
order, First FEDERAL PELL GRANTS and Second to FEDERAL SEOG Grants. 
 
REFUNDS 
In a case where a refund is due to the Title IV Programs, the application of the refund will be made as 
follows: Direct, PLUS, FPELL, and FSEOG. This order will be applied providing the student received funds 
from that program and in amounts not to exceed the amounts originally paid from each program. 
Refund due to the lender or the aid programs account will be made within 45 days. When a student 
requests a transfer to another school, Adrian’s Beauty College may charge a reasonable fee, not to 
exceed $25.00 for preparation of academic and financial documentation requested by the student. 
 
TRANSFER STUDENT 
A student who attended a post-secondary institution prior to the enrollment at Adrian’s Beauty College, 
is required to provide a Financial Aid transcript from each of the institutions attended if requested on the 
student’s ISIR. The institution utilizes USDOE’s ED Express Software for processing of financial aid, and the 
NSLDS system, this allows us to check a student’s attendance so that less overpayment situations occur. 
 
VERIFICATION PROCESS 
Federal regulations 34 C.F.R. Part 668, Subpart E, dated March 14, 1986, executing legislation 20 U.S.C. 
1094 governing the Title IV programs require schools to be sure of certain applicant reported data. These 
regulations require schools to develop written policies and procedures for verification.  The school is 
required to make these policies available to all applicants for financial aid, as well as prospective 
students upon request.  This procedure is part of the Admissions and Counseling process.  To follow the 
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regulations and achieve consistency governing this process, the following verification policies apply to all 
applicants for Title IV programs. Under the regulations, the school will not disburse Pell or Campus based 
aid until verification is completed.  
 
WHO MUST BE VERIFIED: 
The policy of this school shall be to verify those students selected by the need analysis (SAR or ISIR) system 
for verification. In the absence of conflicting documentation, applicants excluded from verification 
include: 

• Legal Residents of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Guan, Samoa, and the Marianna 
islands. This includes dependent students whose parents are also legal residents of one of these 
islands. 

• Dependent students whose parents are residing in a country other than the United States. This 
applies to other than the United States and only if the student cannot contact the parents by 
normal means. 

• Dependent students whose parents are dead or are physically or mentally ill, or whose parents 
address is unknown. 

• Immigrants who arrived in the United States during either the calendar year or Award Year. 
• Those submitted for an Award Year if the applicant dies during the Award Year. 
• Those submitted for an Award year if the applicant is imprisoned at the time of verification. 
• Those submitted when the applicant does not receive financial assistance for reasons other than 

their failure to confirm information on the application. 
• Other exclusions, on a documented individual case basis, at the discretion of the financial aid 

officer. An applicant need not document spouse information or provide a spouse’s signature if: 
a. The spouse is residing in another country and the student cannot contact the spouse 

by normal means of communication. 
b. The student cannot locate the spouse because their address is unknown. 
c. The spouse is dead, or mentally or physically ill. 

 
VERIFICATION ITEMS: 
Examine the data items listed in 34 C.F.R. 668.56. Different data items apply to different applicants 
depending upon student dependency status and the Title IV programs used.  Data items include. 

• Adjusted gross income (AGI) or adjusted gross family income (AFGI) for the base year. 
• U.S. income tax paid for the base year. 
• Total number of family members in the household, if that number is greater than two dependent 

students and one for independent students. 
• The number of family members in the household now enrolled as at least half time students in 

postsecondary educational institutions. 
• The factors relating to an applicants independent student status. 
• Untaxed income and benefits for the base year including: 

o Social Security benefits 
o Child Support, if the student has information regarding child support or has reason to 

believe the student received support. 
o Income tax deduction for a payment made to an Individual Retirement Account or 

Keogh account. 
The following other untaxed income and benefits: 

o Untaxed dividends and capital gains. 
o Foreign income omission, if the school has information regarding the omission or has 

reason to believe the student omitted foreign income. 
o Earned income credit.  

 



58 
 

The school shall resolve inconsistent, application information for all applicants, in agreement with 
requirements of 34 C.F.R. Part 688.16(f). 
   
DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED: 
To confirm adjusted gross income (AGI/AGFI), and income tax paid, applicants shall provide the 
appropriate income tax transcripts (IRS 1040, 1040A, or 1040EX) of the applicant, applicant’s spouse, 
and/or applicant’s parents. The student must provide a signed copy of the income tax transcript. For 
non-tax filers, the school’s financial aid officer will request appropriate documentation. For all students 
selected for verification, a verification worksheet is to be filled out and signed by all appropriate parties. 
This worksheet will confirm the number of household members, number of household members in 
college, and verification of income source. 
 
APPLICANT’S RESPONSIBILITIES: 
To be eligible to receive Title IV funds, applicants are required to provide requested information during 
the time period(s) specified in these policies.  Applicants must certify that the following items are correct 
as listed on the original application: or, if not correct, they must update the data items, as of the date of 
verification. 

• Number of family members in the household. 
• Number of family members in the household now enrolled as at least half time students on 

Postsecondary educational institutions. 
• Change in dependency status. Pell Grant applicants whose dependency status changes during 

the Award year must file a correction application.  This process does not apply if the change 
occurs due to marriage.  Campus based applicants whose dependency status changes during 
the Award Year must have their EFC recalculated. This process does not apply if the change 
occurs due to marriage, the applicant must repay any over award, or any award, discovered 
during verification, for which  the student was not eligible. 

 
CONSEQUENCES OF FAILURE TO PROVIDE DOCUMENTATION WITHIN THE SPECIFIED TIME PERIOD(S): 
If the student cannot provide all required documentation, the school cannot complete the verification 
process by the mid-point.  The school must then advise applicants that they are not eligible for financial 
aid funds.  The school then gives the applicants the following options: 

• The student may continue training on a cash payment basis, to be arranged through a new 
contract. 

• The student may withdraw and re-enroll, but must pay withdrawal fees and enrollment fees. 
There  will be no loss of credit earned when the student provides all proof, and verification is 
complete. The student may be accepted at the level of training in which they were withdrawn 
depending on classroom space. 

• The applicant must repay any over award or any award for which the student was not eligible as 
discovered during the verification process. 

 
TOLERANCES: 
For the Pell SAR, with an original EFC (Expected Family Contribution) of zero, the school shall use the zero 
EFC Charts to determine whether the applicant must resubmit their SAR because of a change in 
information. The student must make appropriate corrections on Part 2 of the SAR. A new EFC is 
computed when required as a result of comments on the SAR, and/or as a result of data item changes.  
This occurs regardless of the absolute error amount 
 
For the Campus based programs, the school shall recalculate an applicant’s EFC if: 

• There are any errors in non-dollar items used to calculate the EFC, and/or; 
• There is an absolute dollar error of $100. 
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NOTIFICATION OF RESULTS OF VERIFICATION: 
The school shall notify the applicant of additional information or documentation needed for verification. 
This occurs through contact with the financial aid officer or by mailing to the applicant’s resident address 
the Verification Follow Up Form. This form indicates additional items needed. The school shall notify the 
applicant of any change in the originally computed Pell Grant award.  The student shall sign and date 
the SAR certified for payment.   
The school shall notify the applicant when they complete verification by: 

• Obtaining the student’s signature and date on the SAR certified for payment. 
• Providing the student a receipt for any Campus based funds credited to their tuition account. 

 
REFERRAL PROCEDURE: 
The school shall forward to the Secretary of Education, the name, social security number, and other 
information, on any applicant receiving funds.  The school reports on possibly incorrect information after 
they make a reasonable effort to resolve the discrepancy.  Under implementation of the regulation, the 
school shall refer to appropriate authorities the name, social security number, and other information 
about the applicant to satisfy 34 C.F.R. 668.1.4(g). 
 
STUDENTS RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
The student has the right to ask the school: 

• The name of its accrediting and licensing organizations. 
• About its programs; it’s instructional, laboratory, and their physical facilities; and its faculty. 
• What the cost of attending is and the policy on refunds to students who drop out. 
• What financial assistance is available; including information on all federal, state, local, private 

and institutional financial aid programs. 
• What the procedures and deadlines are for submitting application for each available financial 

aid program. 
• How it selects financial aid recipients. 
• How it determines financial need. 
• How much of your financial need, as determined by the school, has been met. 
• To explain each type and amount of assistance in your financial aid package. 
• What the interest rate is on any student loan you have, the total amount you must repay, when 

you must start repaying, and what cancellation or dormant (postponement) provisions apply. 
• To reconsider your aid package, if you believe a mistake has been made, or if your enrollment or 

financial circumstances have changed. 
• How the school determines whether you are making satisfactory progress and what happens if 

you are not. 
• What special facilities and services are available to the handicapped. 

 
It is the student’s responsibility to: 

• Review and consider all the information about the school program before enrolling. 
• Pay special attention to the application for student financial aid, and complete it accurately, 

and submit it on time to the right place.  Errors can delay or prevent your receiving aid.  
• Know and comply with all deadlines for applying and reapplying for aid. 
• Provide all documentation, corrections, and/or new information requested by either the financial 

aid officer or the agency to which you submitted the application. 
• Notify the school of any information that has changed since you applied. 
• Read, understand, and keep copies of all forms you were asked to sign. 
• Repay any student loan.  When you sign a promissory note, you are agreeing to repay your loan. 
• Request an exit interview at the time you are leaving the school to determine the net balance of 

your account with the school as well as the net balance of any student loan. 
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• Notify the school of a change in your name, address, phone number, or attendance status 
(full/part time student). If you have student loans, you must notify your lender of these changes. 

• Understand your school’s refund policy. 
• Understand and comply with the enrollment status, financial charges, financial terms, time 

allowed to complete, refund policy and termination procedures as specified in the enrollment 
contract you will be asked to sign. 

• Understand that it is your responsibility and your liability when errors are made and funds for which 
you are not eligible or are advanced to you or credited to your school account. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
76215. Student Tuition Recovery Fund Disclosures 
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(a) A qualifying institution shall include the following statement on both its enrollment agreement and school 
catalog: 
"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss 
suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while 
enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and 
suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for 
the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California 
resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition. 
 
You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not 
a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program." 
 
(b) In addition to the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall include the 
following statement in its school catalog: 
 
"It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other 
information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916) 431-
6959 or (888) 370-7589. 
 
To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid 
or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following: 
1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or 
discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not 
complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau. 
2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure of 
the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period 
before the program was discontinued. 
3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the 
institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau 
determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure. 
4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so. 
5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by 
law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs. 
6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a 
violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the 
award from the institution. 
7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an 
invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans. 
 
To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action 
or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. 
 
A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non-collection may, at any time, 
file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it 
has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have 
filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended 
by another act of law. 
 
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification 
number."   
 
 
 
 

NOTIFICATION OF RIGHTS UNDER FERPA FOR POSTSECONDARY INSTITUTIONS 
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The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) afford eligible students certain rights with respect to their 
education records.  (An “eligible student” under FERPA is a student who is 18 years of age or older or who attends a 
postsecondary institution.)  These rights include: 

1. The right to inspect and review the student's education records within 45 days after the day the [Name of 
postsecondary institution (“School”)] receives a request for access.  A student should submit to the registrar, dean, 
head of the academic department, or other appropriate official, a written request that identifies the record(s) the 
student wishes to inspect.  The school official will make arrangements for access and notify the student of the time 
and place where the records may be inspected.  If the records are not maintained by the school official to whom 
the request was submitted, that official shall advise the student of the correct official to whom the request should be 
addressed. 

2. The right to request the amendment of the student’s education records that the student believes is inaccurate, 
misleading, or otherwise in violation of the student’s privacy rights under FERPA. 

A student who wishes to ask the school to amend a record should write the school official responsible for 
the record, clearly identify the part of the record the student wants changed, and specify why it should 
be changed. 

If the school decides not to amend the record as requested, the school will notify the student in writing 
of the decision and the student’s right to a hearing regarding the request for amendment.  Additional 
information regarding the hearing procedures will be provided to the student when notified of the right 
to a hearing. 

3. The right to provide written consent before the university discloses personally identifiable information (PII) from the 
student's education records, except to the extent that FERPA authorizes disclosure without consent.  

The school discloses education records without a student’s prior written consent under the FERPA 
exception for disclosure to school officials with legitimate educational interests.  A school official is a 
person employed by the [School] in an administrative, supervisory, academic, research, or support staff 
position (including law enforcement unit personnel and health staff); a person serving on the board of 
trustees; or a student serving on an official committee, such as a disciplinary or grievance committee.  A 
school official also may include a volunteer or contractor outside of the [School] who performs an 
institutional service of function for which the school would otherwise use its own employees and who is 
under the direct control of the school with respect to the use and maintenance of PII from education 
records, such as an attorney, auditor, or collection agent or a student volunteering to assist another 
school official in performing his or her tasks.  A school official has a legitimate educational interest if the 
official needs to review an education record in order to fulfill his or her professional responsibilities for the 
[School]. 

[Optional] Upon request, the school also discloses education records without consent to officials of 
another school in which a student seeks or intends to enroll. [NOTE TO POSTSECONDARY 
INSTITUTION:  FERPA requires a school to make a reasonable attempt to notify each student of these 
disclosures unless the school states in its annual notification that it intends to forward records on request.] 

4. The right to file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Education concerning alleged failures by the [School] to 
comply with the requirements of FERPA.  The name and address of the Office that administers FERPA is: 

Family Policy Compliance Office 
U.S. Department of Education 
400 Maryland Avenue, SW 
Washington, DC  20202 

[NOTE:  In addition, a school may want to include its directory information public notice, as required by §99.37 of the 
regulations, with its annual notification of rights under FERPA.] 

[Optional]  See the list below of the disclosures that postsecondary institutions may make without consent. 

FERPA permits the disclosure of PII from students’ education records, without consent of the student, if the disclosure 
meets certain conditions found in §99.31 of the FERPA regulations.  Except for disclosures to school officials, 
disclosures related to some judicial orders or lawfully issued subpoenas, disclosures of directory information, and 
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disclosures to the student, §99.32 of FERPA regulations requires the institution to record the disclosure.  Eligible 
students have a right to inspect and review the record of disclosures.  A postsecondary institution may disclose PII 
from the education records without obtaining prior written consent of the student – 

• To other school officials, including teachers, within the [School] whom the school has determined to have legitimate 
educational interests.  This includes contractors, consultants, volunteers, or other parties to whom the school has 
outsourced institutional services or functions, provided that the conditions listed in §99.31(a)(1)(i)(B)(1) - (a)(1)(i)(B)(2) 
are met. (§99.31(a)(1)) 

• To officials of another school where the student seeks or intends to enroll, or where the student is already enrolled if 
the disclosure is for purposes related to the student’s enrollment or transfer, subject to the requirements of 
§99.34.  (§99.31(a)(2))  

• To authorized representatives of the U. S. Comptroller General, the U. S. Attorney General, the U.S. Secretary of 
Education, or State and local educational authorities, such as a State postsecondary authority that is responsible for 
supervising the university’s State-supported education programs.  Disclosures under this provision may be made, 
subject to the requirements of §99.35, in connection with an audit or evaluation of Federal- or State-supported 
education programs, or for the enforcement of or compliance with Federal legal requirements that relate to those 
programs.  These entities may make further disclosures of PII to outside entities that are designated by them as their 
authorized representatives to conduct any audit, evaluation, or enforcement or compliance activity on their 
behalf.  (§§99.31(a)(3) and 99.35) 

• In connection with financial aid for which the student has applied or which the student has received, if the 
information is necessary to determine eligibility for the aid, determine the amount of the aid, determine the 
conditions of the aid, or enforce the terms and conditions of the aid.  (§99.31(a)(4)) 

• To organizations conducting studies for, or on behalf of, the school, in order to:  (a) develop, validate, or administer 
predictive tests; (b) administer student aid programs; or (c) improve instruction.  (§99.31(a)(6)) 

• To accrediting organizations to carry out their accrediting functions.  ((§99.31(a)(7)) 
• To parents of an eligible student if the student is a dependent for IRS tax purposes.  (§99.31(a)(8)) 
• To comply with a judicial order or lawfully issued subpoena.  (§99.31(a)(9)) 
• To appropriate officials in connection with a health or safety emergency, subject to §99.36.  (§99.31(a)(10)) 
• Information the school has designated as “directory information” under §99.37.  (§99.31(a)(11)) 
• To a victim of an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence or a non-forcible sex offense, subject to the 

requirements of §99.39.  The disclosure may only include the final results of the disciplinary proceeding with respect 
to that alleged crime or offense, regardless of the finding.  (§99.31(a)(13)) 

• To the general public, the final results of a disciplinary proceeding, subject to the requirements of §99.39, if the 
school determines the student is an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence or non-forcible sex offense and the 
student has committed a violation of the school’s rules or policies with respect to the allegation made against him or 
her. (§99.31(a)(14)) 

• To parents of a student regarding the student’s violation of any Federal, State, or local law, or of any rule 
or policy of the school, governing the use or possession of alcohol or a controlled substance if the school 
determines the student committed a disciplinary violation and the student is under the age of 21. 
(§99.31(a)(15)) 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock 



64 
 

 
 

POLICY FOR SAFEGUARDING CUSTOMER INFORMATION 
 
Definitions: 
Customers are prospective students and students who apply to attend the colleges above and apply for 
private or government grants or loans to finance their education. 
 
Nonpublic personal information is information which is not publicly available on 

• Your name, address, and social security number. 
• Name of your financial institution, account number 
• Information provided on you application to enroll in the colleges above 
• Information provided on your application for a grant or loan 
• Information provided on a consumer report 
• Information obtained from a website 

  
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is committed to implementing a comprehensive information security 
program, consonant with the size and complexity of these institutions and the nature of its educational 
activities, to maintain and safeguard your nonpublic personal information against damage or loss.  The 
policy covers all student records in whatever format (hard copy, electronic). 
The Director shall be responsible to coordinate the school’s information security program.  The 
coordinator shall, at least once every three years, assess foreseeable internal and external risks to the 
security, confidentiality, and integrity of customer information that could result in the unauthorized 
disclosure, misuse, alteration, destruction or other compromise of the information.  The risk assessment 
shall cover every relevant area of school operations, including: 

• Employee training and management 
• Network and software design, information processing, storage, transmission and disposal 
• Ways to detect, prevent, and respond to attacks, intrusions or other system failures 

  
The coordinator shall design and implement safeguards to control identified risks and shall monitor the 
effectiveness of them, recommending changes when warranted. 
Records for prospective students who are not accepted or who do not enroll in either of the colleges 
shall be held for three months, and then destroyed in a secure manner.  Records of students shall be 
maintained in accordance with federal and state law and accreditation requirements. 
 
Students shall receive an initial notice of this policy at the time they submit a signed application for 
enrollment.  All currently enrolled students shall receive an annual notice on January 2 of each year 
by posting throughout the college and on the colleges website. 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock shall only enter into servicing agreements with service providers who 
also maintain appropriate safeguards for customers’ nonpublic personal information. 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
  
 

Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock 
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NOTICE ON DISCLOSURE OF NONPUBLIC PERSONAL INFORMATION 
 
We collect nonpublic personal information about you when you apply to attend our colleges and/or 
when you apply for a private or government grant or loan. This information includes: 

• Your name 
• Address 
• Social security number 
• Assets and income 
• Name of your bank and account number 

 
 We do not disclose this information to any person or institution except to the United States 
Department of Education, loan guarantee agencies, and/or loan servicing agencies.  We may also 
disclose nonpublic personal information about you to non-affiliated third parties as permitted by law.  For 
example, accrediting agencies have access to any records we maintain on you pursuant to the Federal 
Family Educational and Privacy Rights Act. 
 
 Your applications, containing the nonpublic personal information listed above, are maintained 
and safeguarded against loss or damage.  Access to them is restricted to designated employees. 
 
 You may “opt out” of disclosure of this information to parties other than those with a right to it by 
signing and returning the attached coupon. 
 
===================================================================================
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock  

Consumer Nonpublic personal Information “Opt Out” Coupon 
 
I hereby “opt out” of having my nonpublic personal information disclosed to any party that does not 
have a right to it. 
 
Signature _______________________________________________ Date ______________________ 
 
Print name ______________________________________________ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
HOW OUR STUDENTS ARE DOING 
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A Supplemental handout is given to each student prior to enrollment. 
 
CAMPUS CRIME SECURITY REPORT 
See Addendum #3 
 
CRIMINAL HISTORY & BACKGROUND CHECKS 
The State, employers and various other agencies may require criminal background checks before 
students can be placed in an externship or take professional licensing, certification, or registration exams. 
Students who have prior felony convictions or serious misdemeanors may be denied the opportunity to 
take professional licensing, certification, or exams, or may be denied a license or certification to practice 
in some states, even if the exam is taken and successfully completed. Students are responsible for 
inquiring with the appropriate agencies about current requirements prior to enrolling in the program of 
their choice. 
 
CERTIFICATION STATEMENT 
This catalog and the contract shall be an agreement by the college and the student. 
 
I certify that the information and policies contained in this Consumer Guide and Catalog are true in 
content and policy. This college enforces such policies pertaining to the standards of progress and rules 
and regulations set forth by the college. 
 
Sherri A. Cytanovich 
Director 
 
Revised:  October 4, 2023 
Calendar Year: 2023/2024 

                                                                 
 
           

 

  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Addendum #1 (Updated 09/30/2023) 
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DISCRIMINATION GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 
 
This process is intended for any student who believes that he or she has been discriminated against by 
any member of the College community to file a complaint and have that complaint resolved by the 
College.  In accordance with the institution's mission statement, the school will make every attempt to 
resolve any student complaint that is not frivolous or without merit. These procedures are available in the 
College’s Catalog and Consumer Guide.  Students should read these procedures to familiarize 
themselves with the steps to follow should they want to file a complaint.  
 
How to file a Complaint 
 
A student who believes that he or she has experienced or witnessed discrimination should promptly 
report such incidents to their Educator.  Students should complete the Discrimination Grievance Form 
(“Complaint”) and submit it to the school Director at the student’s campus.  If a Complaint is submitted 
in another written format, such as a letter, the College may ask the student to complete the form but a 
complaint will not be rejected because a form was not used.  All complaints must be filed no later than 
90 calendar days after the event giving rise to the incident.  The time period for filing a Complaint may 
be extended for good cause as determined by the school Director.   A copy of the Complaint form can 
be found in the Financial Aid Office at each campus.  A student may choose to participate in an 
Informal Process, or a Formal Process, described below. 
 
1. Handling of a Complaint 
 
1.1 After a Complaint is received, the Title IX Coordinator will either assign him or herself the role of 
Investigator, or select an impartial faculty or staff member or third party investigator who has received 
training in conducting an investigation and the laws regarding discrimination (the “Investigator”).  In no 
event will the Investigator be a person who is alleged to have engaged in the complained of behavior 
(the “Accused”), a person who reports to a person who is the Accused, is a relative of the Accused, or 
otherwise has an actual or perceived conflict of interest in the process. 
 
2. Optional Informal Process 
 
Within two school days of receiving the Complaint, the Investigator shall notify the student who filed the 
Complaint (the Complainant) of the option to participate in an optional informal resolution process.  The 
Complainant is not required to participate in this process or meet directly with the Accused.  This is an 
optional process that the Complainant may terminate at any time.  During this optional process, the 
Complainant and the Accused, along with the Title IX Coordinator or the Campus Student Affairs 
Representative will attempt to resolve the dispute.  The details of the Optional Informal Resolution Process 
will be kept confidential by all parties involved.  The Optional Informal Process will last no longer than 10 
calendar days from the date of the Complaint, regardless of whether the matter is unresolved at the end 
of the 10th calendar day, after which it will be referred for the Formal Process. 
 
If a resolution is reached in the Optional Informal Process, the details of the resolution will be 
memorialized in an Optional Informal Resolution Agreement, that will be signed by the School Director 
and the Complainant.  The matter shall be considered closed and the Complainant is precluded from 
filing a new complaint or an appeal concerning the same incident, except where the terms of the 
resolution are violated or have been ineffective in stopping the discrimination. 
 
Evidence of final resolution of all Complaints will be retained in College files in order to determine the 
frequency, nature, and patterns of complaints for the institution. 
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If the Complainant chooses to participate in this Optional Informal Process, the investigation into the 
complaint will be suspended until the completion of the Optional Informal Process, or the Complainant 
terminates the Informal Resolution Process.  If Adrian’s Beauty College determines during the Optional 
Informal Process that discrimination has occurred, it will take all appropriate steps to prevent the 
recurrence of the discrimination and to correct the effects on the complainants and others, if 
appropriate.  
 
When informal dispute resolution is unsuccessful or not possible, a Complaint will be processed using the 
Formal Process.   
 
3. Formal Process 
 
3.1  Investigation into Complaint. 
The college will provide an adequate, reliable, and impartial investigation of complaints, including an 
equal opportunity to present witnesses and other relevant evidence.  In all cases, the individual who 
plays a role in receiving, investigating, or otherwise processing of student complaints of discrimination will 
not have any actual or perceived conflict of interest in the process.  An investigation into a Complaint 
will commence within five school days from receiving the complaint, unless Section 2 above is 
applicable or the student withdraws the Complaint. 
 
The Investigator will investigate the Complaint and document his or her efforts and findings.  The 
investigation shall include, but not be limited to, review of records, notes, or statements related to the 
complaint; interviewing witnesses; interviewing the Complainant; and interviewing the Accused.  At no 
time will the Complainant and the Accused be interviewed together. 
 
The investigation must be completed within 30 calendar days after receiving a Complaint or within 30 
days from the date of the referral from the Informal Process.  This time period maybe extended by the 
school Director upon a showing of good cause that additional time is necessary to conduct a fair 
investigation.  However, it is the College’s policy to make reasonable efforts to complete the 
investigation within the 30-calendar-day time period.  If an extension is needed, the school Director will 
notify the Complainant and Accused in writing of the extension and the reason for the extension. 
 
3.2 Written Report. 
Within 10 calendar days after the completion of an investigation, the Investigator will provide a written 
report of the investigation to the school Director.  The written report will include a summary of the 
allegations, a description of the investigation, a description of the relevant information gathered, a 
determination of whether or not the incidents alleged occurred and the specific evidence to support this 
determination, and whether such incidents constitute discrimination.  In determining whether or not the 
incidents alleged occurred, the Investigator may take into account the following: 
 
 a. The statements made by the parties and all witnesses; 
 b. The details and consistency of each person’s account; 

c. Evidence of how the Accused reacted to the incident and the Complaint;  
d. The credibility of the evidence presented; 
e. Evidence of any past instances of unlawful discrimination, harassment, or retaliation or 

other misconduct; and 
f. Any other information the Investigator finds as relevant. 
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The decision of whether the incident(s) that occurred constitute prohibited discrimination must be 
supported by a preponderance of the evidence.  A preponderance of the evidence means that the 
evidence presented shows that one result is more likely than not to be true.   
 
3.3 Response to Complaint 
Within seven calendar days after receiving the report from the Investigator, the school Director must 
determine a response to the Complaint.  In reaching a decision as to how to respond, the school 
Director may take into consideration the following: 
 
 a. The report and recommendation of the Investigator; 
 b. The effect of the misconduct on the Complainant; 
 c. The type, frequency, and duration of the misconduct; 
 d. The relationship between the Complainant and Accused; 
 e. The number of people engaged in the alleged conduct;  
 f. The context of the alleged conduct;  
 g. Other incidents of alleged misconduct by the Accused; 

h. Advice of legal counsel or other professionals;  
i. Whether an Optional Informal Resolution Agreement was violated; and 

 j. Any other information the office Director deems as relevant. 
 
The decision of whether or not discrimination occurred must be supported by a preponderance of the 
evidence.  If the school Director determines that discrimination, the school Director will take all 
appropriate steps to prevent the recurrence of the discrimination and to correct the effects on the 
complainant and others, if appropriate. 
 
Within eight calendar days after receiving the report from the Investigator, the school Director will 
provide a written notice to the Complainant (Complainant Notice) concerning the outcome of the 
investigation.  The Complainant Notice shall state that an investigation was performed, the outcome of 
the investigation, and any remedies provided to the Complainant.  In order to maintain privacy rights, 
the school Director is not required to disclose every detail about the nature of any corrective action 
taken against the Accused.  However, for complaints of discrimination, the Complainant Notice will 
include the consequences imposed on the Accused that relate directly to the subject of the complaint, 
such as requiring that the Accused stay away from the Complainant, prohibiting the Accused from 
attending school for a period of time, or transferring the Accused to other classes or another school. 
 
The Complainant Notice shall advise the Complainant that if he or she continues to experience or 
witness discrimination, he or she should immediately report such incidents to the Investigator. 
 
If the outcome of the investigation is that there was no discrimination, the Complainant Notice will also 
include the Complainant’s right to appeal the decision of the school Director within 15 calendar days of 
the date of the Complainant Notice.  The Complainant Notice will include the procedures for initiating 
such an appeal.   
 
Within eight calendar days after receiving the report from the Investigator, the school Director will send a 
separate notice of the outcome to the Accused (Accused Notice).  The Accused Notice shall state the 
outcome of the investigation, whether the allegations were substantiated and what, if any, corrective 
action will be taken to prevent recurrence of any discrimination and to correct its effects.  The Accused 
will have the opportunity to appeal any finding that he or she engaged in discrimination by filing an 
appeal within 15 calendar days of the date of the Accused Notice.  The Accused Notice will include the 
procedures for initiating such an appeal. 
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Should no request for an appeal be initiated within the time to appeal, the decision of the school 
Director will be final and binding. 
 
4. Appeal Process 
To appeal a decision of the school Director, the appealing party must provide written notice (“Notice of 
Appeal”) to the College President of his or her intent to appeal within 15 calendar days of the date of 
the Complainant or Accused Notice.  The Notice of Appeal must include the specific reasons for the 
appeal and any evidence the appealing party would like considered as part of the appeal.  Within 
three school days of receiving the Notice of Appeal, the College President will provide notice to the non-
appealing party of the appeal and the basis for the appeal.  The non-appealing party will have 15 
calendar days to respond to the statements in the appeal. 
 
The appeal process will be limited to determining (1) whether the decision as to a finding or no finding of 
discrimination was supported by a preponderance of evidence; (2) whether the findings of the 
Investigator as to whether or not the incidents occurred are supported by a preponderance of the 
evidence; and (3) whether the investigation was conducted in a fair and impartial manner. 
 
The appeal will be decided by the College President.  The College President will receive and review the 
Notice of Appeal, a copy of the investigation notes, the report by the investigator, and the Complainant 
and Accused Notices.  After the review, the College President will render a decision.   
 
The written appeal decision by the College President shall include a summary of the issues raised on 
appeal, a summary of the evidence considered, a decision as to the appeal, what evidence supports 
the decision, and what additional remedies, if any, are necessary.  The College President will provide a 
written appeal decision of its findings to the Complainant, the Accused, and the school Director within 
50 calendar days of receipt of the Notice of Appeal. 
 
The decision of the College President is final and will conclude the complaint process. 
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Addendum # 2 Faculty List (Updated 09/30/2023) 
 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock   

NAME Job Titles, Experience 
Sherri Cytanovich School Director, Financial Aid Director, Educator, 

Licensed Cosmetologist, 20+ years’ experience 
Monique Norat Registrar, Career Advisor Educator, Licensed 

Cosmetologist 7 years’ experience 
Jassmine Vigil  Licensed Cosmetologist & Barber with 6 years’ 

experience and 3 years as Educator 
Rebecca Cazares Educator, Licensed Cosmetologist with 4years 

experience and 3 years as an Educator 
Carla Cabeza Educator, Licensed Cosmetologist, 4 years’ 

experience and 1 year as an educator 
Catherine Ortiz O’Connell Educator, Licensed Esthetician with 3 years 

experience, New educator 
Peighton Campbell Receptionist 
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Addendum #3 (updated 09/30/2023) 
 
                                              ANNUAL CAMPUS SECURITY REPORT 

FOR THE 2021 CALENDAR YEAR 
 
 
 
Adrian’s Beauty College is providing the following information in compliance with the 
proposed rules listed under section 668.48 in the July 1, 1992 Federal Register. 
  

Criminal Offenses 
Reported 

2019 2020 2021 
On 

Campu
s 

Public 
Propert

y 

On 
Camp

us 

Public 
Property 

On 
Campu

s 

Public 
Propert

y 
Murder/Non-negligent 
Manslaughter 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Negligent Manslaughter 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Sex Offenses - Forcible 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Sex Offenses - Non-
forcible 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Robbery 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Aggravated Assault 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Burglary 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Motor Vehicle Theft 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Arson 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Domestic Violence 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Stalking 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Arrests Reported 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Weapons Law 
Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Drug Abuse Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Liquor Law Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Referred for Disciplinary 

Action 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Weapons Law 
Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Drug Abuse Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 
Liquor Law Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

 
 
2019: No hate crimes reported      2020: No hate crimes reported      2021: No hate 
crimes reported  of any violence against women. 

This campus security report contains data for our college: Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock.  
Located at 1340 West Main Street, Turlock, CA 95380  
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*Although regulations do not require use to disclose anything other than the above 
offenses, The college would like to inform all entering students that the vehicle break-ins 
are an on-going problem in the Main Street area.  Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is 
not responsible for lost or stolen items in the school or parking lot. 
 
The school has developed the information about your safety and well-being.  As you 
can see from the data, the campuses have a relatively safe environment.  However, it 
is important that you exercise good judgment and take appropriate precautions to 
minimize your risk. 
 
In the event that a student or employee of our institution is witness to a criminal offense 
on or near our campus, the following procedure to report criminal actions or other 
emergencies that occur on campus are as follows. 
 
For Non-Emergency Crimes: 

1. Obtain from the floor supervisor. 
2. Complete form and return to the floor supervisor 
3. This form will be taken to the staff meeting and response will be returned to the 

victim with school’s recommendation. 
4. Any violator of a proven misdemeanor or felony on campus will be automatically 

expelled and/or reported to law enforcement. 
 
For Emergency Crimes: 

1. The nearest staff member will immediately call 911. 
2. The above non-emergency procedures will be followed providing the 

perpetrator is a student. 
 
There are no private security personnel at either campus, or are there any off campus 
student organizations.  It is the practice of the colleges to require each student to 
provide their own lock and the college provides a locker for all items of value.  Students 
are advised to lock their vehicles during any time. 

VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN ACT  

This document has been designed to inform all students and employees of the 
Violence Against Women Act and outlines, Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock 
commitment to the health and safety of its students and employees This annual 
disclosure document is done each year by contacting the local police department 
and the building management to compile the statistics used in the report. This 
document explains the school’s policy regarding crime prevention, public safety, and 
criminal reporting procedures This document will be provided to all prospective 
students and staff and will be reviewed with all students during orientation and with 
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staff at the time of hire. The school will also provide a yearly training  each year when 
the new statistics are available .The training promotes awareness and prevention of 
rape, acquaintance rape, domestic violence, dating violence, sexual assault, and 
stalking, as well as outlines options for reducing the risk of such occurrences, the 
warning signs of abusive behavior, and how to avoid potential attacks. The School’s 
Campus Security Officer is 
Patrick Campbell if you have any questions or concerns. 
Each year  the school brings in a local law enforcement official and a representative 
from the local crisis center to review how to protect yourself against crime, how to be 
responsible for your own safety, and how to protect yourself against sexual assault. 
Adrian’s Beauty College of Turlock is committed to making your school a safe place. 
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Addendum # 4 (updated Dec 1, 2022) 
 
How Our Students Are Doing/School Performance Fact Sheets 
 
The document is given to prospective students during the Admissions Interview. An additional copy may 
be requested from the Admissions/Career Advisors office.  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



76 
 

Addendum #5 (updated January 1, 2023)  
2023 Class Start Dates 

  Tuesday thru Saturday  
Adrian’s Beauty College of 

Turlock Campus Only 
 

1/3/2023 
1/17/2023 
1/31/2023 

2/14/2023** 
2/28/2023* 
3/14/2023 
3/28/2023 

4/11/2023** 
4/25/2023* 
5/9/2023 

5/23/2023 
6/6/2023** 
6/20/2023* 

7/18/23 
8/1/2023 

8/15/2023** 
8/29/2023* 
9/12/2023 
9/26/2023 

10/10/2023** 
10/24/2023* 
11/7/2023 

11/21/2023 
12/12/2023** 

Tentative       
*Manicurist Start Dates  

**Esthetician Start Dates 
You will have to call as due to 

social distancing we have limited 
class availability 

 
 
 

FOR ALL COURSES 
Scheduled start dates are 

subject to change based on 
availability.  
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Addendum # 6 Updated 10/11/2023 
 
Course Costs 
 
Cosmetologist 
Registration                                           $    145.00      
Books with tax                                                      $    651.75 
Kit with tax                              $ 1,873.78 
Student Tuition Recovery Fund Fee   $      40.00     
Total Tuition     $14,000.00                    
Estimated Due For the Entire Program  $16,710.53 
 
 
 
Esthetician 
Registration                                          $   145.00      
Books with tax                                                      $    651.75 
Kit with tax                                                            $ 1,100.96 
Student Tuition Recovery Fund Fee   $      27.50 
Total Tuition                                                           $ 8,700.00   
Estimated Due For the Entire Program    $10,625.21             
 
 
Manicurist 
Registration        $   145.00      
Book with tax                                                         $  844.55 
Kit with Tax                                                              $217.25 
Student Tuition Recovery Fund Fee                   $      12.50 
Total Tuition                               $ 4,000.00   
Estimated Due For the Entire Program    $ 5,219.30 
 
 
Cosmetology Instructor 
Registration      $    145.00 
Book with tax                                                         $ 0.00 
Kit with Tax                                                              $0.00 
Student Tuition Recovery Fund Fee    $     22.00             
Total Tuition      $ 8,250.00 
Estimated Due For the Entire Program   $ 8,417.00 
 
 
 

• Schedule of Total Charges and the Total Charges for the Period of Attendance are the same.  
 

• Method of Payment: Cash/Money Order, Check, Credit Card(4% Service Fee Added), 3rd Party 
Private Lending Institutions, Financial Aid (if qualified) 
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	Failure to clock in or out results in loss of time. Staff members have the authority to edit time clock for documented reasons.
	SCHOOL RULES AND REGULATIONS
	WARNINGS WILL BE ISSUED FOR THE FOLLOWING;
	SUSPENSIONS will occur for the following if a student:
	SUSPENSIONS can occur if:
	ATTENDANCE STATUS
	GRADING SYSTEM
	TESTING POLICIES
	LEAVE OF ABSENCE (LOA) POLICY
	LOA CRITERIA/PROCEDURES
	SCHOOL CLOSURES
	If the school permanently closes, students will receive a pro-rata refund of tuition as required by State & Federal guidelines.
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	COSMETOLOGIST COURSE: (1000 CLOCK HOURS)
	Curriculum for Cosmetologist Course - 1000 Clock Hours (34 weeks/30 hours per week)
	Grading System
	Skills to be developed
	Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed
	Course Levels (as of 10/2021)based on good attendance
	Methods used to instruct Students
	Pivot Point Fundamentals Cosmetology e-books
	Licensing Requirements
	Job Opportunities
	Educational Goals:
	Curriculum for Esthetician Course 600 Clock Hours (20 weeks/30 hours per week)
	Grading System
	Esthetician Performance Objective
	Skills to be developed
	Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed
	Course Levels
	Methods used to instruct Students
	Textbooks:
	Pivot Point Esthetician Salon Fundamentals Textbook, Course Study Guide, and exam prep.
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	MANICURIST COURSE
	: 400 CLOCK HOURS (15 WEEKS)     (SOC# 39-5092.00, CIP #12.0410).
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	Educational Goals:
	Curriculum for Cosmetology Instructor Course - 600 Clock Hours
	Grading System
	Curriculum for Cosmetology Instructor Course- 600 Hours (20 weeks/30 hours per week)
	Such technical instruction and practical operation shall include:
	Cosmetology Instructor Performance Objective
	Skills to be developed
	Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed
	Course Levels
	Methods used to instruct Students
	Licensing Requirements
	Job Opportunities
	COURSE COSTS
	A SUPPLEMENTAL HANDOUT WILL BE PROVIDED TO EACH STUDENT.
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	ANY CHANGE WILL NOT AFFECT ATTENDING STUDENTS.
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	Cash/Money Order, Check, Credit Card (4% Service Fee Added), 3rd Party Private Lending Institutions, Financial Aid (if qualified).
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	SUPPLEMENTAL TRAINING
	1. Applicants seeking supplemental training must submit to the school the Supplemental Form given to them by the California State Board.
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	6. Applicant to provide their own equipment and supplies.
	7. No Baby Board Tests are given within their supplemental hours.
	8. No make-up hours will be accepted.
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	PRINCIPLES
	1. This college will work with schools, community groups, and other educational institutions in support of the national goal of equality of educational opportunities.
	2. The expected family contributions affect the student’s cost of education. This school expects parents to contribute financially, according to their means, taking into account, their incomes, assets, number of dependents, and other relevant informat...
	3. Financial aid will be offered after determining whether the family’s resources are insufficient to meet the student’s educational expenses.  The amount of aid offered will not exceed the amount needed to meet the difference between the student’s to...
	4. In awarding funds to eligible students, the amount and the type of self-help will be related to the circumstances of the individual and the largess amount of grant assistance will be offered to students with the least ability to pay.
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	DEFINITIONS
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	FAMILY CONTRIBUTION (EFC)
	The amount that has been calculated as family contribution to offset the student cost of attendance.
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	A student who attended a post-secondary institution prior to the enrollment at Adrian’s Beauty College, is required to provide a Financial Aid transcript from each of the institutions attended if requested on the student’s ISIR. The institution utiliz...
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	STUDENTS RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES
	It is the student’s responsibility to:
	However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number."
	NOTIFICATION OF RIGHTS UNDER FERPA FOR POSTSECONDARY INSTITUTIONS
	The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) afford eligible students certain rights with respect to their education records.  (An “eligible student” under FERPA is a student who is 18 years of age or older or who attends a postsecondary inst...
	Nonpublic personal information is information which is not publicly available on
	 Employee training and management
	 Network and software design, information processing, storage, transmission and disposal
	 Ways to detect, prevent, and respond to attacks, intrusions or other system failures
	 Your name
	 Address
	 Social security number
	 Assets and income
	 Name of your bank and account number
	HOW OUR STUDENTS ARE DOING
	A Supplemental handout is given to each student prior to enrollment.
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	See Addendum #3
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	The State, employers and various other agencies may require criminal background checks before students can be placed in an externship or take professional licensing, certification, or registration exams. Students who have prior felony convictions or s...
	CERTIFICATION STATEMENT
	This catalog and the contract shall be an agreement by the college and the student.
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