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    CONSUMER INFORMATION 

NOTICE OF STUDENT RIGHTS 

 

 

1. You have the right to cancel your agreement for a program of instruction, without any 

penalty or obligations, through attendance at the first class session or the seventh calendar 

day after enrollment, whichever is later.  

 

2.  If the Enrollment Agreement is cancelled within the 7 days from signing the Enrollment 

Agreement, the school will refund 100 percent of the amount paid for institutional charges, 

less a reasonable deposit or an application fee not to exceed $250.00, if the notice of 

cancellation is made through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after 

enrollment, whichever is later.  

 

3. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time, 

and you have the right to receive a pro rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less 

of the scheduled program.  Your refund rights are described in the contract.  

  

4. If the school closes before you graduate, you may be entitled to a refund. Contact the 

Director at the address and phone number below for information. 

 

5.  If you have any complaints, questions, or problems, which you cannot work out with the 

school, write or call: Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 1-888-370-7589. 

 

6. Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily 

       Answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 

       Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, www.bppe.ca.gov, 

       Toll free number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897. 

 

7. “As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an 

enrollment agreement.  You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact 

sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing the enrollment agreement.” 

 

 8.    A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the 

        Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling toll free (888) 370-7589 or by  

        Completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s Internet web site  

        www.bppe.ca.gov.  

  

Read the Notice of Cancellation form for an explanation of your cancellation rights and 

responsibilities.  If you have lost your Notice of Cancellation form, ask the school for a sample 

copy. 

 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

1747 N. Market Blvd Suite 225 

Sacramento, CA 95834 

 

Mailing Address: 

P.O Box 980818 

W. Sacramento, CA. 95798-0818 

 

www.bppe.ca.gov 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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GENERAL INFORMATION 

 

APPROVALS 

The Institutions are accredited by:  

National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences 

 3015 Colvin Street 

 Alexandria, VA 22314 

703-600-7600 

Current Accreditation Status: Accredited 

 

NACOB and ABCOT (an approved branch of NACOB) are recognized as an eligible institution to 

participate in Federal Financial Aid Programs by: 

 The United States Department of Education  

 400 Maryland Avenue, SW 

 Washington, D.C. 20302 

 

NACOB and ABCOT are a private institution that is approved to operate by the Bureau for Private 

Postsecondary Education. The approval to operate means compliance with state standards as set forth 

in the Ed. Code. 

Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education 

 1747 N. Market Blvd, Suite 225 

 Sacramento, CA 95834 

 916-574-7720 

             www.bppe.ca.gov 

  

NACOB is approved for the training of veterans and eligible persons under Title 38 of the U.S. Code.  

As of May 2022, ABCOT is approved for the training of veterans and eligible person sunder Title 38 of the 

U.S. Code.  

 Mailing Address:    Physical Address: 

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 

 P.O. Box 944226    2420 Del Paso Rd Suite 100 

 Sacramento, Ca. 94244-2260   Sacramento, CA95834 

 

Phone Number: 800-952-5210 

Email: barbercosmo@dca.ca.gov 

 

BOARD OF BARBERING & COSMETOLOGY REQUIREMENTS 

The school is approved by the State of California, Board of Barbering & Cosmetology and must adhere 

to the Cosmetology Act, Board Rules & Regulations. By enrolling the student also agrees to abide by 

these rules. Failure to do so can mean disciplinary action or termination. These rules will be reviewed 

throughout your course.  

 

LOCATIONS 

NACOB is located at 124 Floyd Avenue, just off McHenry Avenue where all classroom instruction is given. 

NACOB. was licensed by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology in 1968.  

 

ABCOT, a branch campus of North Adrian’s College of Beauty, is located at 3000 W. Grantline Road, 

Tracy, California 95304 where all classroom instruction is given, and it was opened 12/09/2008. 

 

The colleges are located on all major bus routes.   Ample parking is available in nearby parking lots, for 

students, faculty and clients. 
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North Adrian’s College of Beauty does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, isn’t operating as a 

debtor in possession, or filed a petition within the preceding five years, or have ever had a petition in 

bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 

11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code. 

 

ADMINISTRATION BUSINESS HOURS 

Individuals may contact the Career Advisor, Financial Aid, and Job Placement Assistance to secure 

more information between the following hours:  

NACOB: 8:30am – 5:00pm   ABCOT 9:00am – 3:30pm  

  

All Administrative offices may be reached at the following: 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty (209) 526-2040 

Adrians Beauty College of Tracy (209) 835-3550 

 

Please contact your respective campus for more information. Financial Aid is by appointment only.  

 

NACOB and ABCOT RESERVES THE RIGHT TO CHANGE THESE POLICIES AND PROCEDURES AT ANY TIME 

WITHOUT NOTICE BY POSTING SUCH CHANGES ON THE COLLEGE BULLETIN BOARD. 

 

FACILITIES & EQUIPMENT 

NACOB is located on Floyd Ave, Modesto, CA with more than 8850 square feet of floor space.  The 

facility contains five theory classrooms (capacity 160). Each of the classrooms is equipped with flat 

screen TV’s &DVD players in which the teachers use the online resources to supplement their classes.  

There is a large client clinic classroom with 48 client stations, 8 manicure stations, two efficient 

dispensaries, as well as three private rooms for conducting facials in a professional setting with five beds.  

 

ABCOT is located at 3000 Grant Line Road in the Wal-Mart/Costco Shopping Center. The building has 

8767 square feet of floor space, with four large classrooms and two multipurpose classrooms. There is a 

dispensary as well as a sufficient client clinic classroom equipped with 24 client stations, 4 manicure 

stations, 2 pedicure stations and 4 facial beds for waxing and facial treatments.  A student break area 

inside as well as out, there are several rest rooms within the space that are designated for clients and for 

students within their study areas. 

 

Both campuses meet or exceeds the minimum requirements of the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 

to ensure the success of the student’s education, training, skill, and experience to obtain employment. 

Each campus has a minimum of 10 Mannequins, electrical equipment for skincare and electrical facials, 

1 time clock, 5 shampoo bowls, 6 dryers, 2 facial chairs, 6 manicure stations, thermal straighteners, 3 non-

electric combs, 1 stove (for non-electric combs), 1 electric curling iron, 3 non-electric curling irons (at 

least two sizes), 1 stove (for non-electric curling irons), 15 hairstyling or barbering chairs, 1 textbook (or 

online access) for each approved course, Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Act, Board of Barbering 

and Cosmetology Rules and Regulations, a list of the text and reference materials approved by NIC, and 

two approved texts other than text possessed by the student. In addition, all schools are well ventilated, 

have running water, has drinking water, hand washing facilities, and restrooms. All equipment is updated 

or maintained regularly.  
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CLASS SCHEDUES 

NACOB:  Cosmetology 

   30-hour Night Schedule: Tuesday thru Friday 1pm-6:30pm Saturday 8:30am-5pm 

   30-hour Day Schedule: Tuesday thru Saturday 8:30am-3:00pm 

   ***20-hour Night Schedule Monday thru Friday 2:30pm-6:30pm 

   ***20-hour Day Schedule: Tuesday thru Saturday 8:30am-12:30pm 

  Barbering/Barber Crossover/Esthetics/Manicuring/Teacher Training 

   30-hour Day Schedule: Tuesday thru Saturday 8:30am-3pm 

   ***20-hour Day Schedule: Tuesday thru Saturday 8:30am-12:30pm 

ABCOT: Cosmetology/Barbering  

   30-hour Day schedule: Tuesday thru Saturday 9am-3:30pm 

   ***20-hour Night Schedule Tuesday thru Saturday 9am-1pm 

        *** These Schedules Are Not Available At This Time 

Accelerated schedules are available only at NACOB. ABCOT has minimal hours in order to make up any 

overtime. Additional schedules may be added at the discretion of the School Director.  

 

OWNERSHIP 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty College of Tracy is owned by North Adrian’s 

College of Beauty, Inc. North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Inc. is owned by Pat Cochran.  

 

MEMBERSHIPS - AFFILIATIONS APPROVALS 

American Association of Cosmetology Schools (AACS) 

California Department of Vocational Rehabilitation 

National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences  

Stanislaus County Department of Education 

U.S. Department of Education, Division of Eligibility 

U.S. Veterans 

 

ADMISSIONS POLICY 

All courses are taught in English. We do not provide English as a Second Language (ESL) courses. The 

level of English proficiency is that equal to a U.S. high school diploma. To demonstrate proficiently of the 

English language, students must provide proof of secondary education such as a high school diploma, 

high school equivalency, General Educational Development (GED) certificate, and official transcript 

showing secondary school completion, or a state certification of home school completion.  

 

The school does not discriminate in its employment, admission, instruction, or graduation policies on the 

basis of sex, age, race, color, religion, or ethnic origin nor does it recruit students already attending or 

admitted to another school offering similar programs of study. The school requires that each prospective 

student enrolling in the Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetics, Manicuring, Barber Crossover, and Teacher 

Training program must: 

 

• Complete a personal interview with a Career Advisor 

• Complete an application for enrollment. 

• Provide proof of secondary education such as a high school diploma, a high school equivalency 

GED certificate, an official transcript showing secondary school completion, a state certification 

of home-school completion, College transcripts showing completion of an Associate’s Degree, 

successfully evaluated foreign diploma. A foreign high school diploma must also be translated 

into English by an outside agency that is qualified to translate documents into English.   

• Government Issued Identification Card (State Identification Card, Driver’s License, Passport, etc.) 

• Valid Social Security Card  

• The institution only accepts students from other countries if they are eligible non-citizens.  
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o U.S. Permanent resident who has an I-151 or I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card) 

o Departure Record (I-94) from the US Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) showing 

one of the following designations: 

o Refugee 

o Asylum Granted 

o Indefinite parole and/or Humanitarian Parole 

o Cuban - Haitian entrant, status pending 

o Conditional Entrant (valid only if issued before April 1980) 

o An approval form I-797 

o I-688 with valid expiration date. 

• The institution does not grant credit for experiential learning. 

• The institution does not help with visa services and cannot vouch for student status.  

• Should a student provide a foreign high school diploma, to be accepted it must be evaluated by an 

outside agency that is qualified to confirm the academic equivalence to a U.S. High School Diploma. 

A foreign high school diploma must also be translated into English by an outside agency that is 

qualified to translate documents into English. This outside documentation is at the expense of the 

student.  

• We do not accept the Ability to Benefit (ATB) Test 

• Students who do not possess a high school diploma that is equivalent to a U.S. High School Diploma 

or GED will not be accepted for enrollment.  

• Students enrolling under a training agreement with another entity, the applicant must meet the 

admissions requirements set forth in the training agreement with the other entity. 

 

Barbering Crossover program prerequisites:  

• Must have a valid California Cosmetology license or at a minimum a Proof of Training with the 

school seal. Students with out of state licenses or transcripts must first obtain California Board 

of Barbering & Cosmetology approval for acceptance of hours. 

 

Teacher Training program prerequisites:  

• Hold a current license as a practitioner in the field they wish to teach 

  

RE-ENTRY POLICY 

Any former student wanting to re-enroll:  

  

1. A current admissions application must be completed and a letter provided to the college 

explaining the circumstances of the prior withdrawal and how the student will be successful 

during this enrollment. 

2. A $500 fee will be paid by re-enrolling student for an evaluation exam, to determine the hours to 

be accepted for enrollment. This Fee is non-refundable and with approval may be added to the 

students account. This fee can be waived under certain circumstances at the discretion of the 

School Director. 

3. Student letter, exam results, and the educator’s recommendation will be reviewed for 

consideration of re-entry; if the student is accepted for re-entry, the student will be placed in the 

appropriate course level. 

4. Prior hours accepted by the College towards a re-entry student may vary from program to 

program. 

5. The decision for re-entry of the applicant acceptance and placement level of program, or 

denial, made by the school will be mailed to the student within 7 business days.  The decision is 

final and no appeals are allowed. 

6. Students accepted for re-entry must make an appointment with the business office and /or 

financial aid office to discuss financial arrangements to complete their program. 
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7. A re-entry student resumes to the same Satisfactory Academic Progress status as when he/she left 

the school.  

8. Students who are approved to re-enter the program within 180 days of their last date of 

attendance must comply with the following requirements: 

a. Students will resume in the same status as when they left.  

b. Pay all outstanding tuition, fees, and overtime expenses or make satisfactory payment 

arrangements with the Financial Services Advisor. Please note, overtime expenses cannot 

be paid with federal financial aid 

c. Previous tuition payments will be credited to the student’s balance based upon the 

original contracted cost for the course 

d. Pay the $500 00 re-entry fee (can be waived per directors’ approval) 

e. Students who are Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) eligible (refer to STRF eligibility 

guidelines) will be assessed a prorated STRF fee 

 

TRANSFERS 

Program Transfer  

Transfer students may receive credit from the Manicuring course or the Esthetics course towards 

Cosmetology/Barbering. Cosmetology hours may transfer into the Manicuring course or the 

Esthetics course.  No credit/hours are transferable from the Manicuring course toward the 

Esthetics course or vice versa. A fee of $500.00 must accompany the change request. This fee 

can be waived under certain circumstances at the discretion of the School Director. Students 

must have completed their original program of study to transfer to Barbering/Cosmetology.  

 

To Another Beauty College 

You would need to request to be officially withdrawn from the College in which a withdrawal 

calculation will be done along with “Return of Title IV Funds” if you are a student receiving 

financial aid.   If the student owes the college for any reason, the Academic Transcript will be 

withheld until the balance is paid in full. The college will only accept cash, cashier’s check or 

money order for the balance.  

 

Main Campus/Branch Campus Transfer (Current Students Only) 

To request a transfer from the Main Campus to the Branch Campus or Branch Campus to Main 

Campus, a request must be completed in writing. An informal withdraw will be completed. Your 

balance will then transfer to your new Enrollment Agreement. An Official Academic Transcript 

with completed hours, test scores, and state requirements must be provided. A fee of $500.00 

must accompany the transfer request. There is no loss of hours or credit achieved. This fee can be 

waived under certain circumstances at the discretion of the School Director. This fee may be 

added to the students account with written approval.  

 

From Another Beauty College 

A student, who wants to transfer from another college or wants the College to accept hours from 

a previous enrollment at another Beauty College, must follow all procedures. The school must 

have a Proof of Training and Official Transcripts in their possession before a transfer appointment 

will be scheduled.  

1. An application must be completed, an intake interview, and provide the college with their 

Official Academic Transcript with completed hours, test scores, and state requirements from the 

previous College. No hours can be accepted for enrollment without these documents. 

2. A $500 fee will be paid by the student for an evaluation exam, to determine the hours to be 

accepted for enrollment. This Fee is non-refundable and must be paid prior to scheduling unless 

other payment arrangements have been made. This fee can be waived under certain 

circumstances at the discretion of the School Director. 
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3. Exam results and the educator’s recommendation will be reviewed by the Director or Associate 

Director to make a determination of hours accepted.  

4. Prior hours accepted by the College for a student may vary from program to program. 

5. The decision for re-entry of the applicant acceptance and placement level of program, or 

denial, made by the school will be mailed to the student within 7 business days.  The decision is 

final and no appeals are allowed. 

6. A re-entry student resumes to the same Satisfactory Academic Progress status as when he/she 

left the school.  

 

From Another College 

Credits or attendance at another college that do not provide an Official Academic Transcript 

with completed hours, test scors, and state requirements would not be applicable to this 

Institution. 

 

From Another State 

Students who transfer hours from another state must have their Official Transcript reviewed by 

that Board of Barbering and Cosmetology prior to scheduling an appointment with a Career 

Advisor.  

 

VA Students Only  

This institution will evaluate all previous education and training, grant credit when appropriate, 

reduce the length of the program proportionately, and keep appropriate documentation on file. 

There is no fee connected to prior credit evaluation or transfer of credit to students receiving VA 

benefits.   

 

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABLILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION 

“The transferability of credits you earn at NACOB and ABCOT at the complete discretion of an institution 

to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in the educational program is 

also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the certificate that 

you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be 

required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason, you should make 

certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include 

contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending NACOB and ABCOT to 

determine if your certificate will transfer.”  Ed. Code 94909 (15) 

 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty College of Tracy has not entered into any 

articulation or transfer agreement with any other college. 

 

Applicants seeking Federal Financial Aid Assistance must have a minimum of: 

• Provide proof of secondary education such as a high school diploma, a high school equivalency 

GED certificate, an official transcript showing secondary school completion, a state certification 

of home-school completion, College transcripts showing completion of an Associate’s Degree, 

successfully evaluated foreign diploma.  

• Government Issued Identification Card (State Identification Card, Driver’s License, Passport, etc.) 

(we will accept a receipt until you receive the physical card)  

• Valid Social Security Card (we will accept a receipt until you receive the physical card)  

• The institution only accepts students from other countries if they are eligible non-citizens.  

o U.S. Permanent resident who has an I-151 or I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card) 

o Departure Record (I-94) from the US Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) showing 

one of the following designations: 

o Refugee 



8 

 

o Asylum Granted 

o Indefinite parole and/or Humanitarian Parole 

o Cuban - Haitian entrant, status pending 

o Conditional Entrant (valid only if issued before April 1980) 

o An approval form I-797 

o I-688 with valid expiration date. 

• Should a student provide a foreign high school diploma, to be accepted it must be evaluated by 

an outside agency that is qualified to confirm the academic equivalence to a U.S. High School 

Diploma. A foreign high school diploma must also be translated into English by an outside agency 

that is qualified to translate documents into English. This outside documentation is at the expense 

of the student.  

• Students who do not possess a high school diploma that is equivalent to a U.S. High School 

Diploma or GED will not be accepted for enrollment.  

• We do not accept the Ability to Benefit (ATB) Test 

 

CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK 

The California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology performs random background checks for its 

applicants during the application process. Students who have been convicted of a felony or 

misdemeanor are highly encouraged to submit a Pre-Approval Application for Criminal 

Pleas/Convictions to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology prior to enrolling into our college. There is 

no fee due for this application.  

 

The State, employers and various other agencies may require criminal background checks before 

students can be placed in an externship or take professional licensing, certification, or registration exams. 

Students who have prior felony convictions or serious misdemeanors may be denied the opportunity to 

take professional licensing, certification, or exams, or may be denied a license or certification to practice 

in some states, even if the exam is taken and successfully completed. Students are responsible for 

inquiring with the appropriate agencies about current requirements prior to enrolling in the program of 

their choice. 

 

CORONAVIRUS-19 (COVID-19)  

On March 13, 2020, the President of the United States declared that a national emergency concerning 

the COVID-19 outbreak began on March 1, 2020, as stated in “Declaring a National Emergency 

Concerning the Novel Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Outbreak,” Proclamation 9994 of March 13, 

2020, Federal Register Vol. 85, No. 53 at 15337-38. NACCAS and BPPE both provided flexibilities to allow 

institutions to provide Temporary or Emergency Distance Education. Per BPPE and NACCAS, at any time 

an allowable instance occurs, the College has been approved to restart Temporary or Emergency 

Distance Education for an emergency COVID-19 issue.   

 

ORIENTATION 

The orientation at the College is mandatory that you attend, and you cannot start school until you have 

attended the orientation. Orientation is 2-4 hours and is held prior to or on the class start date.   

 

This informational class will set the tone for a pleasant educational experience. It will make you aware of 

your responsibilities by understanding the procedures and policies of the college by reviewing the 

catalog along with sanitation aspects, rules and regulations, student expectations, time cards, using the 

time clock and parking on campus, and the expectations of the teaching staff. It will acquaint you with 

the instructional program, course goals, personnel and student services.  It will also be the time that you 

will receive a list of items necessary for your first days and weeks of your class.  Any papers, 

documentation, payments or verification that you need to complete for the office should be done 

before attending the orientation session.  
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ADMISSIONS/CAREER ADVISORS OFFICE 

The career advisor’s office is located at the facility. 

 

RESOURCES 

Referrals are available for services including mental health, child care, physical health, etc. upon request 

in the admissions office. 

 

The institution does not have any dormitory facilities under its control.  We do not provide any assistance 

in finding housing.  Housing is available within 2 miles of the college. The cost of housing ranges from $900 

to $1,500 per month.  

 

The Institution has a small library, and Internet access. Students have an abundance of knowledge 

available via the internet. They must see their supervising instructor to check out one of the magazines, 

design books, or use a computer.   

 

CALENDAR / HOLIDAYS 

The college is a year-round school, with open enrollment and open exit. The class start dates are ever 

Monday or Tuesday at NACOB and every Tuesday at ABCOT. Any class may be cancelled at any time at 

the discretion of the Director. See Appendix #5.  

 

The college is closed on Sundays at NACOB and ABCOT. The college observes the following holidays: 

 

• New Year’s Day Veterans Day 

• Memorial Day  Labor Day 

• Independence Day Martin Luther King Jr Day        

• Labor Day  Washington’s Birthday 

• Thanksgiving Day Presidents Day  

• Christmas Day 

 

Depending upon the day of the week the holiday falls on; additional days may be included as holidays. 

The College provides a Winter Vacation in December and Summer Vacation in July.  The school reserves 

the right to close additional days for Instructor/ Staff in service or training. Please refer to the School 

Calendar. A special holiday may be declared for special or emergency reasons and will be posted on 

the schools Facebook and via text message. Holy Days of all religious beliefs are respected and allowed. 

A schedule is given to staff and students at the beginning of each year.  

 

MISSION STATEMENT 

The college provides career training in Career Arts and Sciences and related fields. The Institutions 

graduate students with the skills needed to secure entry-level employment 

 

ETHICS 

At NACOB and ABCOT, we place a high value on the integrity and good judgment of every individual 

associated with the school. We expect every student to always exercise discretion and professionalism. 

Clients, staff members, and fellow students must be treated with respect and courtesy. Please keep the 

school’s best interest in mind at all times. Conversation topics should be limited to professional subjects 

and not include: religion, politics, sex, personal problems or any controversial. The school positively 

reserves the right to suspend or expel a student who gossips, uses vulgar language, or causes any type of 

discord. Respect must be shown at all times toward peers, customers, and staff. 
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CONDUCT AND DISCIPLINE 

It is expected that all students are enrolled for serious educational pursuits and that they will conduct 

themselves so as to preserve an appropriate atmosphere of positive learning.  It is also expected that all 

students who enroll at NACOB and ABCOT are willing to assume the responsibilities of citizenship within 

the student body. While enrolled, students are subject to school policies, rules and regulations that 

include the prerogative of dismissing those whose conduct is unfavorable to the aims of an institution of 

higher education and disruptive to the learning environment of others.  

 

COMPLIANCE 

Students must comply with all instructions and directives given by the school personnel relative to school 

activities. Also, students must comply with all State Board Rules and Regulations.  

 

DISCLOSURE AND RETENTION OF STUDENT RECORDS 

Adult students have the right to inspect, review and challenge information contained in their 

educational records. Parents of adult students are not allowed access to the student’s files. Access is 

granted to parents or guardians of dependent minors, only if the student is a minor and a dependent. 

Education records are defined as files, materials, and documents that contain information directly 

related to the student and are maintained by the college. To inspect, review, or challenge information, 

you must make an appointment with the administrative office.  Written consent is required before 

education records may be disclosed to third parties with the exception of accrediting commissions or 

governmental agencies as authorized by law. See FERPA Act. The college will maintain records as 

available until June 30 of the year that a student attended. After June 30th each year, all records will be 

archived. For the records to be removed or researched from storage, a $75 archive fee is to be paid 

prior to removing from archives. 

 

The institution will maintain the following information for a period of six (6) years from the date of 

withdrawal or completion. 

a) Name, address, e-mail address, and telephone number of each student who is enrolled in an 

educational program in that institution. 

b) For each student granted a certificate by that institution, permanent records of all of the 

following: 

a. The certificate granted and the date on which that certificate was granted. 

b. The courses and units on which the certificate was based. 

c. The grades earned by the student in each of those courses.  

d. Limited Financial Aid records 

  

After six years, records are destroyed except for Student ledger, enrollment agreement, transcripts, 

and/or proof of training. NACOB and ABCOT will not locate your records until the appropriate fees have 

been paid in full.  
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GRIEVANCE POLICY AND PROCEDURES 

The College has created internal policies and procedures to address student complaints and 

grievances. Policies exist for academic, consumer, and discrimination complaints and any other 

complaints not addressed. Policies, procedures and grievance forms are available in the Financial Aid 

Office at your campus.  Students at any time may contact the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 

Education. 

Academic Grievance 

If a student has an academic complaint, or believes that he or she has been harmed by an inequitable 

or inappropriate implementation of the academic regulations and procedures of the College, the 

Academic Grievance Procedure shall be followed. Students should follow the Academic/Consumer 

Internal Complaint Procedure as outlined in the School Catalog and Consumer Guide prior to a formal 

grievance is submitted. Students are encouraged to discuss academic concerns with their instructor first. 

If not satisfied with the outcome of these discussions, the student may then appeal the decision to the 

Student Affairs Representative. Although the policy does allow for informal as well as formal complaint 

procedures, students should be aware that there are time limits designated in the policy, and they 

should seek assistance in resolving an academic conflict as quickly as possible. A formal Academic 

Grievance should be filed within 45 days from the original complaint. The school then has 30 days to 

submit determination, schedule a hearing or refer to an appropriate agency.  

Consumer Complaint 

The College has adopted an internal grievance procedure for the equitable resolution of complaints 

that do not relate to any other internal grievance procedure. The Consumer Complaint Procedure does 

not include complaints that are academic (Academic Grievance Procedure), or related to any form of 

discrimination as defined in the Discrimination Grievance Procedure, or related to sexual harassment, as 

defined in the Sexual Harassment Policy, or any other complaint for which the College has established a 

more specific complaint or grievance process. Students should follow the Academic/Consumer Internal 

Complaint Procedures as outlined in the School Catalog and Consumer Guide. A formal Consumer 

Grievance should be filed within 45 days from the original complaint. The school then has 30 days to 

submit determination, schedule a hearing or refer to an appropriate agency. 

 

Discrimination Grievance 

The College has adopted an internal grievance procedure providing for prompt, equitable, and 

confidential resolution of complaints alleging discrimination on the basis of age, color, disability, national 

origin, race, religious creed, gender, sexual orientation, or veteran status. Complaints emerging from the  

campus, or any other operation of the College should be addressed to the Title IX Coordinator for 

students or employees. Employees with questions about age discrimination should contact the Title IX 

Coordinator for more information.  A Discrimination Grievance should be filed within 90 calendar days 

after the event giving rise to the incident.  

Regarding the Modesto or Tracy campus: 

Adrian’s Beauty College 

Title IX Coordinator 

124 Floyd Ave 

Modesto, CA 95350 

209-526-2040 

administration@adrians.edu 

mailto:administration@adrians.edu
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Sexual Harassment Grievance 

The College is committed to maintaining a work and educational environment free from sexual 

harassment and has adopted an internal grievance procedure for the reporting and resolution of sexual 

harassment complaints. Complaints emerging from the campus or any other operation of the College 

should be addressed to the Title IX Coordinator for students or employees. A formal Discrimination 

Grievance should be filed within 60 days from the original complaint. The school then has 30 days to 

submit determination, schedule a hearing or refer to an appropriate agency. 

Please contact the Title IX Coordinator at:  

Adrian’s Beauty College 

Title IX Coordinator 

124 Floyd Ave 

Modesto, CA 95350 

209-526-2040 

administration@adrians.edu 

***Please see Addendum 1 for the Discrimination Grievance Procedure 

 

Compliant Policy  

In accordance with the institution's mission statement, the school will make every attempt to resolve any 

student complaint that is not frivolous or without merit.  Complaint procedures will be included in new 

student orientation thereby assuring that all students know the steps to follow should they desire to 

register a complaint at any time.  Evidence of final resolution of all complaints will be retained in school 

files in order to determine the frequency, nature, and patterns of complaints for the institution.  The 

following procedure outlines the specific steps of the complaint process. 

 1. The student should register the complaint in writing on the designated form provided by the 

institution within 60 days of the date that the act which is the subject of the grievance occurred. 

 2. The complaint form will be given to the school Director. 

 3. The complaint will be reviewed by management and a response will be sent in writing to the student 

within 30 days of receiving the complaint.  The initial response may not provide for final resolution of 

the problem but will notify the student of continued investigation and/or actions being taken 

regarding the complaint. 

 4. If the complaint is of such nature that it cannot be resolved by the management, it will be referred 

to an appropriate agency if applicable. 

 5.  Depending on the extent and nature of the complaint, interviews with appropriate staff and other 

students may be necessary to reach a final resolution of the complaint. 

 6. In cases of extreme conflict, it may be necessary to conduct an informal hearing regarding the 

complaint.  If necessary, management will appoint a hearing committee consisting of one member 

selected by the school who has had no involvement in the dispute and who may also be a 

corporate officer, another member who may not be related to the student filing the complaint or 

another student in the school, and another member who may not be employed by the school or 

related to the school owners.  The hearing will occur within 90 days of committee appointment.  The 

hearing will be informal with the student presenting his/her case followed by the school's response.  

The hearing committee will be allowed to ask questions of all involved parties.  Within 15 days of the 

hearing, the committee will prepare a report summarizing each witness' testimony and a 

recommended resolution for the dispute.  School management shall consider the report and either 

accept, reject, or modify the recommendations of the committee. Corporate management shall 

consider the report and either accept, reject, or modify the recommendations of the committee. 

mailto:administration@adrians.edu
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7. Students must exhaust the institution’s internal complaint process before submitting the complaint to 

the school’s accrediting agency or state approving agency, if applicable. 

 

HEALTH AND PHYSICAL CONSIDERATIONS 

Generally, the professional in the beauty field must be in good physical health because working in this 

profession requires direct physical contact with the clients. In most aspects of the beauty culture, there is 

a great deal of standing, walking, pushing, bending and stretching, sometimes for long periods of time.  

A person must consider his or her own physical limitations in terms of making a career choice that 

involves extensive training.  We promote the acceptance of students with physical limitations or 

disabilities if these students believe they can fulfill the training demands. 

 

If a student, while enrolled, sustains an injury deemed by the college to impair their ability to fulfill all 

educational requirements, both practical and theoretical, the student may be required to take a Leave 

of Absence until given a full medical release by their physician. 

 

TIME SCHEDULE AND SCHOOL HOURS: 

Your school hours vary with your schedule. It is your responsibility to arrive at school on time and remain in 

school according to your contracted schedule. If this is not the case, you must contact the school via 

text or phone call to report your tardiness or absence before you are scheduled to arrive. 

 

Should you find it necessary to change your schedule, please complete the schedule change form. It is 

in the Financial Aid Office. Financial Aid recipients must check with the Financial Aid Office to determine 

if a contact change will affect their funding. An approved Contract Change form is an addendum to 

the enrollment agreement.   

A contract change is not available to the ABCOT campus.  

 

TARDINESS  

Tardiness negatively affects everyone who is here on time. When students are tardy for class, a disruption 

is caused. After the first 5 min of class, students are considered tardy. Students must be in class within 1 

(one) Hour from scheduled class start. Students who fail to clock in within the 1 hour will not be allowed to 

clock in but can return to school the next day. The maximum amount of time a student can be late and 

still be allowed to clock in and receive credit for the day is 1 hour from scheduled start time. This policy is 

not intended to punish students for coming in late. It is to reward the students who are here on time with 

an uninterrupted class. In most every legitimate case, you should know at least the day ahead if you will 

need to miss part of your school day. All you would need to do is fill out an absence form in advance, 

and turn it in to your teacher.  

 

A call to the college is not sufficient to allow you admittance into a class beyond the 1-hour timeframe.  

In cases of emergency, documentation will be required and looked at on a case-by-case basis. School 

rules always take priority, but students are to adhere to each Educator’s classroom rules. Reminder that 

Overtime Charges apply.  

 

EARLY DISMISSAL 

All personal/business appointments should be handled on your day off. Should you find it necessary to 

leave school early, you must fill out an absence form, have it signed and turned in to your instructor.  

Early dismissals must be filled out if you are leaving more than 10 minutes before you scheduled end time. 

Reminder that Overtime Charges apply.  

 

TIME CARDS 

Time cards are an important factor to your success at NACOB and ABCOT. It is your job to make sure that 

you are getting the correct credits on the time card so that you are maintaining satisfactory academic 
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progress and applying effort toward graduation. All students have access to a weekly time card 

provided by their instructor.  It is the student’s responsibility to maintain the time card. It is also the 

student’s responsibility to transfer all prior hours and operations accurately to a new weekly time card.  

 

A teacher must document each and every operation when that operation is completed. The teacher 

that supervised the operation will initial the operation on the time card immediately upon completion or 

no credit will be given. Under no circumstances will credit be given by a teacher who did not supervise 

the operation.  

 

The entire week’s paper time card must be turned in at the desk at the end of each and every day. 

Taking paper time cards home and holding on to paper time cards can result in loss of all credits earned 

during that week or weeks. In order to complete the course of study, the student must complete the 

minimum clock hours, theory, and practical operations as prescribed by the California Board of 

Barbering and Cosmetology. The time card is the property of the college and no copies will be made. All 

students are allowed to review their timecards with their instructor during their review and receiving their 

SAP Report Card review.  

 

TIME CLOCK OR FINGERPRINT READER PROCEDURES 

The course you are enrolled in is considered a clock hour program. This means that credit is applied 

toward completing your program through the accumulation of clock hours. NACOB and ABCOT time 

clocks or fingerprint readers are the only instruments that we use to determine the number of clock hours 

you have completed on a daily basis. To keep an accurate account of your time, you must adhere to 

the following procedures or you will lose credit hours. 

 

In instances of power failure, computer failure, Temporary/Emergency Distance Education or anything 

outside of the Colleges control, the College will utilize alternative attendance tracking procedures such 

as manual time clocks, text messaging, emails, and/or PivotPoint LAB Online Tracker. This list is not an 

exhaustive list.  

 

CLOCKING IN / OUT PROCEDURES 

Clocking in 

You must clock in upon arrival to school.  You may clock in up upon your arrival to school, before your 

scheduled clock in time, however your time will not start until your contracted start time. Example: If you 

are scheduled to begin at 8:00 a.m. and you clock in at any time between 7:30 a.m. and 8:00 a.m., your 

time will begin at 8:00 a.m. If you clock in between 8:06am - 8:14am your time will be rounded to 8:15am.  

 

Clocking Out 

You must clock out when leaving school for the day.  You may clock out up to 30 minutes after your 

scheduled clock out time. Example: If your schedule ends at 4:30 p.m. and you clock out any time 

between 4:30 p.m. and 5:00 p.m., your clock out time will be rounded up to the nearest quarter hour. For 

students on the student salon, if you are performing a service on a client, you will clock out after your 

client is completed and receive all hours.   

 

If you wish to leave earlier than your scheduled clock out time, you must follow the early dismissal 

procedure, complete an early leave form, have the teacher sign the early leave form and get approval 

from the office. The same procedure for using the fingerprint reader applies to clocking out that was 

explained in clocking in. 

 

Breaks / Lunch 

You are allowed one 10-minute break per four hours, and should take a 30-minute lunch break if you are 

clocked in for more than six and a half hours. You must clock out and back in for lunch.  
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Lunches are thirty minutes. This includes purchasing your food and eating it. This does not mean thirty 

minutes travel time to get your food, then clocking in and sitting down to eat. Nor, does it mean to wait 

while someone goes to pick up your food and then sitting down to eat.  If you are in class, your teacher 

determines lunchtime and when you will be dismissed to eat. If you are a student on the clinic floor, your 

lunch will be coordinated with the reception desk and educators. If you are on the clinic floor and have 

not had a chance to take a lunch by 1:30 p.m. because of client bookings, notify your teacher.  

 

ADDITIONAL INSTRUCTIONS / GUIDELINES FOR CLOCKING IN AND OUT 

• Credit will be given for APPLIED EFFORT ONLY! Applied effort is defined as working on class 

assignments, manikin or client clinical work towards your course of study, not self-study, listening 

to radio, reading magazines, talking on cell phones, etc.  

• Holding on to paper time cards may result in loss of all credit accumulated for that week/weeks. 

• If the attendance system is having technical issues, a correction form is listed at the front desk 

and will be adjusted. Please inform your educator to verify your time.  
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DRESS CODE AND APPERANCE 

All students are required to arrive at school each day meeting the dress code in its entirety. The personal 

appearance of our students reflects our school image and visually states what the school represents. This 

means that when you as a professional, are communicating to clients, the client receives over half of 

their impressions of you from what they can see, not what they can hear. If your goal is to be successful, 

then it is apparent that you must take every advantage. The following dress policy will help you in 

reaching your goal.  

Acceptable professional dress code during Classroom Phase: 

• Must wear ALL BLACK, NO LOGOS 

• Clothing must be professional, clean, and free of rips, holes or stains. 

• Shoes must be black, closed-toed and closed heel, comfortable, supportive shoes with 

nonskid soles.  

• Hair must be clean and styled prior to arriving at school 

• Cosmetics must be applied prior to arriving at school 

• Leggings must be worn with a shirt, dress or skirt that is at least fingertip length 

• Dresses, Skirts that fall at or below the knee 

Acceptable professional dress code while on the Student Salon/Clinic 

• Must wear black or white, in any combination  

• Prints in black and white only are acceptable 

• No Logo’s 

• Clothing must be professional, clean, and free of rips, holes or stains. 

• Shoes must be black, closed-toed and closed heel, comfortable, supportive shoes with 

nonskid soles.  

• Hair must be clean and styled prior to arriving at school 

• Cosmetics must be applied prior to arriving at school 

• Esthetics students must have hair pulled back while performing services on clients 

• Leggings must be worn with a shirt, dress or skirt that is at least fingertip length 

• Dresses, Skirts that fall at or below the knee. 

• Approved smocks and aprons must be worn at all times while performing services on clients. 

Apron is provided in kit. Smocks can be purchased directly from College.  

Unacceptable dress: 

• Exposed cleavage, buttocks, backs, waist, midriffs, underarms, undergarments, or shorts 

• See through clothing 

• Absence of approved apron or smock while performing services on clients  

• Tank or sleeveless tops without a smock 

• Printed t-shirts or hoodies 

• Sweat pants, sweat shirts, shorts, thermals, gym or sportswear  

• Gym shoes, beach sandals, flip - flops 

• Dresses, Skirts that fall above the knee 

• Head covers, hats and bandanas 

• Hair ornamentation covering more than 25% of hair 

• Head phones unless approved for class 

 

All students are required to be in dress code to receive credit for clock time. Students that are not in 

dress code will be clocked out, sent home to change and may return. Students will not receive clock 

time while they are sent home to change for any reason.  

Changing early into street clothes is not allowed before clocking out. 

 

The decision as to whether the student’s dress is inappropriate is at the discretion of the college staff. The 

school reserves the right to enforce this policy. 
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ELECTRONICS AND SOCIAL MEDIA POLICY 

Effective November 12, 2018, Electronic Devices (e-devices) is a privileged part of your educational 

experience at NACOB and ABCOT. The College reserves the right to revoke the privilege of possessing 

and using any e-devices at any time. E-devices includes, but not limited to, any device used to 

communicate, receive, send, store, record to listen to voice, text, digital, audio, video, photo, electronic, 

or internet/cyberspace data, images, and/or information which shall include but not be limited to 

pagers, cellular phones, iPods, PDA’s, MP3 players, CD players, video game players, cameras, GPS, 

laptops, tablets, etc. The College assumes no responsibility for any lost or stolen e-devices, or any of its 

contents.  

 

• E-devices must be placed in the off or silent mode, with the exception of before school, during 

breaks, and after school;  

• E-devices may be used, viewed, listen to by students before or after school, during breaks, and 

during approved class time for academic purposes only;  

• E-devices must be turned off or in silent mode when not employed for coursework;  

• In the event of an emergency, students should inform their families and loved ones to contact the 

Colleges front desk;  

• Students ARE NOT permitted to take photos or videos of any students, staff, or clients without the 

other parties’ consent;  

• Students ARE NOT permitted to send threatening, harassing, or inappropriate text messages, 

phone calls, or any “direct messages” on social media to any students, staff, or clients;  

• E-devices are not to be used on test days, unless authorized by your educator.  

At times, students report to the Colleges faculty that they have received inappropriate, intimidating, 

threatening, and/or unwanted communication from a fellow classmate via social media. In some cases, 

this activity takes place off campus and/or not during scheduled attendance where school sanctions do 

not apply. For this reason, the College encourages any inappropriate communication be referred to 

local authorities.  

 

Students who violate this policy will be sent home and suspended for the remainder of the day. Based on 

the severity of the violation, students may be expelled from the course.  

 

SANITATION 

It is everyone’s responsibility to keep our working and training place clean. While students are not 

considered College employees and will not be paid a wage, each student throughout their training will 

be assigned specific sanitation duties as required by California’s Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 

Rules and Regulations. All areas of the college that include the rest rooms, waste containers, mopping 

wet or soiled floors, and garbage pickup are included in these duties.  These duties will be no greater 

than what is expected of you in a salon. Throughout the day, you must keep your styling tools in a 

sanitary and clean condition. It is important for every student to assume responsibility for sanitation. It’s 

not fair to other students to clean up after another student. We must all work together as a team to 

create a positive environment conducive to learning.  

 

HOUSEKEEPING 

A. A clean work area makes for a pleasant and safe place to work. 

B. Students are not allowed to eat in classrooms or on the clinic floor, which is a federal sanitary law. The 

only exception is drinking water. 

C. Employees and students are asked to help keep their surroundings as neat and orderly as possible. To 

prevent slippage, the floors must be free of hair, debris, and water. Should these substances come in 
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contact with the floor, please remove them immediately. Place safety cones in areas to indicate wet 

floors. This is imperative for the safety of everyone. 

D. Trash receptacles are located throughout the building. Please place all litter from lunch and scrap 

materials etc. in these receptacles. 

E. Hair clippings should be disposed of in the receptacle labeled HAIR CLIPPINGS 

F. Be health, safety, and fire prevention conscious. 

       Rigid adherence to the rules of sanitation, disinfection and personal hygiene is required at all times.          

This directly affects the professionalism, continuity, and image of you and the school in the marketplace. 

 

STUDENT HEALTH AND SAFETY 

Your health and safety are important to NACOB and ABCOT. All requirements must be adhered to and 

the following are to be noted and/or followed by all students. 

A. All accidents or injuries must be reported on the accident incident form, which is located in the 

teacher’s office. 

B. Common sense is the most important safety rule of all. Please use it at all times. 

C.  Horseplay in work areas will not be tolerated. 

D. Take all necessary precautions to maintain a safe environment. 

 

FIRE 

In case of a fire, your responsibility is to protect you by leaving the building in a calm, orderly manner. The 

emergency Evacuation Route is posted near all exit doors. Know the evacuation route, and know where 

fire extinguishers are located throughout the building. 

 

INTERNAL COMPLAINTS/CHAIN OF COMMAND: ACADEMIC AND CONSUMER 

Problems of all kind occur in any school or business. If a problem should arise with an individual, please 

follow the below procedures: 

 

1. Try to resolve the matter with that person 

2. If you’re unable to resolve the matter with that person, make an appointment with the student 

affairs representative or other designated person. The purpose is to have both parties discuss their 

problems in a calm manner with the student affairs representative, student, and others present, 

with a resolution.  

 

The following will occur: 

 

1. The complaint will be resolved satisfactorily with all parties 

2. The complainant will proceed with filing a grievance within 45 days from the original occurrence. 

If at any time the College feels that the safety or learning environment is compromised due to the 

incident, any students or staff involved in the incident will be sent home on an administrative 

leave until a formal investigation has been completed and a formal resolution has been sent to 

all parties.  

 

This chain of command permits the proper flow of information and allows the system to function more 

efficiently and effectively. This produces more positive results and, quicker action, reaction and 

consistency.  

 

*See grievance procedures for additional information.  

** Any problems will be discussed with the student; we will not discuss any situation with anyone (mother, 

father, aunt, uncle, brother, sister, spouse, boyfriend, girlfriend), other than the student the School has the 

contract with. 
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DISCIPLINARY PROCESS 

When a student needs to be counseled for disciplinary problems, NACOB and ABCOT implements the 

positive approach.  

 

The following procedures are entailed:  

 

STEP I    Verbal warning 

STEP II                Written warning 

STEP III  Student is clocked out and sent home.  

STEP IV  Three day suspensions.  

STEP V Termination. Student may be escorted out of facility by a staff member. In the event 

 A student displays inappropriate or threatening behavior; law enforcement officers will be 

called to escort the student off of the premises. A student may appeal with a letter. (See 

appeal procedures). 

 

NACOB and ABCOT reserves the right to advance a student through this step process with/without a 

letter of appeal and should the condition warrant it, to remove the student immediately from the 

college. 

 

**NACOB and ABCOT reserves the right to bypass the step procedure if a student is involved in an 

unlawful act.  

 

**Administrative Leave- Students are placed on Administrative Leave when a situation arises that is 

deemed to be a safety concern for any member of the student body, faculty, or public. These situations 

normally require additional investigation to fully evaluate. A student is either allowed to return with no 

further requirements, allowed to return with stipulations or required to go through the review process. The 

student is asked to remove all property from the school and is not allowed to attend school.  

 

Administrative Leave time is not charged to the student as extra instructional time. During this process the 

student will be notified of a meeting date and time, the student will be allowed to explain their side of 

the situation in front of a board of 2 employees not involved in the situation, the Director and a Board 

Member, employee of a different location or board member. The student will then receive a written 

decision within 14 days from the date of their meeting. If the student does not agree they must abide by 

the school’s appeals process in order for their appeal to be processed.  

 

EXPULSION 

If a student is expelled from school they may be entitled to a refund and will be calculated as if a 

withdrawal. 

 

BEHAVIOR/SAP INTERVENTION 

When a student is not maintaining satisfactory academic progress, grades, or displays a behavior that is 

not conducive to the philosophy of the NACOB and ABCOT organization and/or the beauty industry, 

staff personnel will counsel them. If necessary a advising notice will be required, appropriate steps will be 

outlined for the student’s continuation of their education. 

 

RECEPTION DESK 

The school reception desk is not a gathering place for students. Standing at the desk is unsightly to clients 

entering the school and disrupts the duties of the school receptionist. Only the receptionist and assigned 

students are allowed to be behind the desk. All appointments are to be made by the receptionist, 

designated staff member, or assigned student(s). All personnel, including teachers, must follow this 

procedure to insure consistency, customer service and professionalism. 
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LAST CLINIC APPOINTMENT TAKEN 

The last appointment taken should reflect the normal total time needed to complete the full service. 

 

DISPENSING OF EQUIPMENT AND MATERIALS 

The dispensary is responsible for dispensing supplies to ensure inventory control. It will be necessary for the 

student to present the client work ticket before any supplies will be released. If a student is checking out 

an implement, they must provide their time card. Upon return of the checked-out items, the student time 

card will be released. 

 

SERVING THE PUBLIC 

All students will be serving the public and must be courteous and pleasant. Students must take all 

appointments assigned to them after completing specific modules/cycles. Students are to be prepared 

with all necessary equipment needed to complete the service. A student is not to leave a client during a 

service while a chemical is processing, during a facial peel, or while an electric apparatus is applied to 

the skin, unless another student has been assigned by the teacher. Should a student leave a client with 

any of the above-mentioned work, they will face disciplinary actions as deemed appropriate. 

 

While we make every effort so students have the ability to have hands on practice with clients, we 

encourage students to invite their friends and family to our clinic salon floor. We cannot guarantee that 

you will have hands on practice with clients for every service.  

 

STUDENT SERVICE PROTOCOL 

1. When students are called to the reception desk for an appointment, they will pick up the work 

ticket, which will indicate the type of service his/her client has scheduled. 

2. The student will greet the client in a professional manner and direct them to assigned workstation. 

The work ticket must be prominently displayed on the workstation. 

3. After completing the consultation process, it may be necessary for the student to consult with the 

floor instructor before the service begins. Additional services may be added and a client 

charged accordingly. 

4. The work ticket must be presented before any product is dispensed. 

5. Throughout the service, educate the client as to what additional services may be required or 

retail products that maintain the quality of service. 

6. Upon completion of the service, the student will walk the client to the reception desk to 

complete their transaction, suggest any retail products, and book for their next appointment.  

 

PERSONAL SERVICES  

There is no personal service during time clocked in. A student is not allowed to clock out in order to have 

services performed. There are various times during our Curriculum where students are encouraged and 

required to maintain and update their professional image. These are the only allowed times for personal 

services.  

 

STUDENT PRICE LIST 

A Student Price List is provided as a supplemental handout. 

 

VISITORS 

All visitors must remain in the college waiting area only. No visitors are permitted in the classroom or on 

the clinic floor or break area. NO EXCEPTIONS. Only employees, prospective students with an employee, 

current students, or clients who have signed the hold harmless waiver are allowed beyond the front desk.  
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GUM CHEWING 

Gum chewing is not permitted on the premises.  It does not look or sound professional to service a client 

while chewing gum, nor is it sanitary. Gum is a hair magnet. 

 

TELEPHONE CALLS 

Messages will be taken for incoming calls in emergencies only. Calls will be screened to determine if it is 

an emergency and only if it is deemed to be an emergency call will a message be taken or delivered to 

the student. An emergency is defined as but not limited to: a spouse, child, or sibling; parent is extremely 

ill or has been in an accident requiring emergency medical treatment. 

 

School phones may not be used for personal calls. Use of personal cell phones is only allowed during 

students’ break or lunch outside the building, in the back area or where designated. 

 

SMOKING 

No smoking is allowed in the school. Smoking is only allowed in the designated areas. A student must be 

clocked out when taking a smoke break.  

 

MEDICATION 

All students must inform the Registrar’s Office of all medication ingested during business hours. This 

includes prescription medication. For the safety of our clients, the college reserves the right to encourage 

students on heavy medications to work on mannequin or go home.  

 

UNDER THE INFLUENCE 

Any student who possesses or who is determined to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs while at 

school will be sent home and subject to termination. If it is determined that you have been under the 

influence, you may be sent to get a drug test at your own expense within 24 hours. Reinstatement is at 

the discretion of the Director of the school.  

 

WEAPONS 

Any student who possesses or uses a weapon while at school will be subject to termination.  

 

PARKING 

Students are to park in the student parking lot and designated area assigned by the school. Students are 

not allowed to park in front of the building or any area along the sidewalks. These spaces are reserved 

for our clientele. The speed limit in the parking lot is 3 mph. 

 

MODELS  

At times, the student will be asked to provide a model to perform services.  The school will give the 

student a five-day minimum notice. Failure to bring in a model will adversely affect your grade, 

performance, and specialized personal training. As a part of the student’s learning experience, he or she 

will be responsible for receiving services administered by other students. If the student has a medical 

condition that prohibits them from receiving a particular service, they must submit supporting 

documentation from a certified physician.  

 

USE OF SCHOOL PRODUCTS 

Professional products/materials are supplied by the school for use on paying clients. This process will assist 

in the student’s learning experience. Only products endorsed or carried by the college are approved 

and all other products will be requested to be removed. 
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STUDENT SUPPLIES AND MATERIALS 

The student is expected to supply all tools and materials needed for their learning experience beyond 

their student kits, except products for paying clients. A Supplemental Handout will be given to each 

student for the kit and book list required before starting school. Additional supplies will need to be 

purchased for your own use throughout your education. This is at your own expense. Please see the 

supplemental handout for more information.  

 

EQUIPMENT AND BELONGINGS 

NACOB and ABCOT are not responsible for lost, damaged or stolen property.  Each student is responsible 

for his or her personal belongings and materials. A student has access to a locker.  All bottles and 

containers must be labeled to identify contents. Rolling Bags distributed by or purchased from the school 

are allowed on the clinic floor. Students may not borrow equipment from each other, and they are 

responsible for the return of school materials and equipment lent to them. Any equipment/supplies 

borrowed from the school, not returned, will be charged on their College account. Backpacks and 

wheel packs are allowed, but they are not allowed on the clients’ clinic floor or the classroom floor, they 

must fit into your locker or safely with you in the classroom. The reason they are not allowed on the 

clients’ clinic floor, or the classroom floor is because of fire safety and trip hazards. Any bags and lockers 

are subject to on-the-spot inspection along with the student tool kit. Personal kit belongings must be 

removed from the school no later than 30 days from the student’s last day of attendance. There will be 

no written notice given by the college to remove the student’s belongings from a locker or station. 

Should you have any concerns about possible loss of equipment and belongings, we recommend that 

you contact your insurance agent to determine whether your present policy would cover any loss. If your 

present policy does not cover such loss, you may want to pay additional premiums and provide 

coverage through a rider on present policy. 

 

EXTERN REQUIREMENTS 

Currently the college does not participate in an extern program. 

 

FAILURE TO COMPLETE COURSE AT CONTRACT ENDING DATE 

A student who fails to complete the minimum number of hours and/or operations by the contract ending 

date, all students training may be stopped until additional money for training has been paid to the 

college or payment arrangements are made. The amount charged for additional training for the 

Cosmetology program is $11.80 per hour, Barbering program is $11.80 per hour, Esthetics program is 

$13.70 per hour, Manicuring program is $10.50 per hour, Teacher Training program is $13.75 per hour and 

Barber Crossover is $13.50 per hour. Please refer to your contract. 

 

CONTACT INFORMATION CHANGE 

Students will keep the school informed of any change in telephone number, address, name change, 

email change or emergency numbers. Form for changes is available at the reception area. 

 

NO VERBAL AGREEMENTS 

There are no verbal agreements made between students’ and their teachers or office personnel. Only 

agreements made, signed and executed by the college and the student will be valid. 

 

RECIPROCITY 

Students wishing to relocate to or from other states must check the requirements of that state. In 

California you must contact www.barbercosmo.ca.gov. 
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SCHOLARSHIPS 

Scholarships may be offered periodically. Scholarships offered are for a specific period or program are 

merit based and shall only be used for tuition allowances. Any students who enroll in the specified 

program during this period will be eligible. Industry provided scholarships are available from beauty 

product manufacturers and salon sponsors. In addition, check the following American Association of 

Cosmetology Schools website for the availability of beauty industry scholarships at beautyschools.org. 

 

START DATES 

All class start dates are listed on Addendum #5 

 

STATEMENT OF NON-DISCRIMINATION 

NACOB and ABCOT does not discriminate on the bases of race, ethnic origin, color, national origin, sex, 

religion, disability, financial status, or age in its programs and activities.  

DISABILITIES AND ACCOMODATIONS 

NACOB and ABCOT is committed that no qualified handicapped person, by reason of his or her 

handicap, will be excluded from enrolling in a course of instruction or be subjected to discrimination 

based upon disability.  Applicants, who are persons with disabilities, as defined in paragraph 104.3(j) of 

the regulation under Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, may apply for admittance into the 

program.  However, all prospective students must meet standard admission requirements. 

NACOB and ABCOT do not formally assess students under the standards of a traditional 504 plan 

(IEP/other).  If an applicant for enrollment believes he or she may need an accommodation during his or 

her program, he or she should advise an Admissions representative/Registrar prior to class start and must 

submit a written request for specific accommodations(s).  The written request must include 

documentation of the student’s official assessment (for example, and Individual Education Program (IEP) 

from the student’s high school) and outline the specific accommodation(s) requested. 

 

Should a student fail to request accommodation prior to the program start, he or she may submit a 

written request to the Director at any time; however, all requests should be made at least four weeks in 

advance of the date needed.  Accommodation plans determined after the program starts will be 

effective from the date determined moving forward.  

 

The Director will review all requests for accommodation and a determination of reasonable 

accommodations (if applicable) will be provided in writing prior to the start of the student’s program 

and/or within two weeks of the official request for currently enrolled students. 

 

Students requesting reconsideration of the decision regarding the request should contact the Director 

within one week of the date of the response.  The student must provide a statement of why and how he 

or she believes the response should be modified.  

 

Due to state licensing requirements and rigorous industry standards that are in place to protect the 

public, all students are required to meet the academic standards outlined in this catalog and/or as 

amended hereafter.   
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SCHOOL POLICY ON SEXUAL HARASSMENT 

The Fair Employment and Housing Commission regulations define sexual harassment as unwanted sexual 

advances, or visual, verbal, or physical conduct of a sexual nature.  This definition includes many forms of 

offensive behavior.  The following is a partial list. 

A. Unwanted sexual advances. 

B. Offering benefits in exchange for sexual favors. 

C. Visual conduct; Leering, making sexual gestures, display of sexually suggestive objects, pictures, 

cartoons, or posters. 

D. Verbal conduct; making or using derogatory comments, slurs, or jokes. 

E. Verbal sexual advances or propositions. 

F. Verbal abuse of a sexual nature, graphic verbal commentaries about an individual, suggestive, 

or obscene letters, notes, or invitations. 

G. Physical conduct; touching, assault, impeding or blocking movement. 

 

The management of NACOB and ABCOT strongly disapproves of all forms of Sexual Harassment. Anyone 

who has been sexually harassed should notify the Director in writing within 48 hours of the offense. An 

investigation will be made into the allegations. Upon confirmation of any act of sexual harassment, 

action will be taken immediately to remedy the situation. If necessary, a formal sexual harassment 

grievance may be filed within 60 days from the date of the original complaint. NACOB and ABCOT will 

take all reasonable steps necessary to prevent harassment from occurring. See Grievance Policies and 

Procedures.  

 

TUITION WAIVERS 

Tuition Waivers are done for special circumstances, hardship, or disputes. These are only allowed with 

approval from the Director of the School. 
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STUDENT SERVICES 

 

STUDENT BENEFITS 

Students may receive the following benefits:  

1. In-house discounts of 20% on retail products. 

2. A personal service discount of 20% on service. 

3. Family discounts of 10% on services. For immediate family members only. 

4. Participation in special school promotional events outside the college. 

 

CAREER ADVISING 

Students are advised individually by their teachers, and as often as necessary. Advising takes place as 

part of the satisfactory progress review at the end of each evaluation period. A student may request an 

additional advising period at any time. Often the college can help a student with a personal or business 

problem and referrals to resources within the community are made. We will be happy to discuss any 

concerns you may have by appointment. Students are encouraged to come to us with problems or 

questions, which may affect their performance in college. Advice on course selection and vocational 

goals is provided to all students before enrolling in college, and at any subsequent time. Should your 

problem arise in the following areas, seek out the appropriate person or department. 

 

Conflict with a student or staff member Student Affairs Representative 

Curriculum Assoc. Director/Teacher 

Personal Finances Financial Aid Department 

Student ideas to improve college Career Advisor 

 

DEAN’S LIST (Graduation Ceremonies Only)  

A student who maintains a grade average of 94% or better in homework, theory tests, practical 

assignments, and clinical work during their entire course and has satisfactory attendance will be placed 

on the Dean’s List. A plaque is presented to the student. Barber Crossover students are not eligible for 

Dean’s List.  

 

DRUG ABUSE PREVENTION PROGRAM 

The college makes the following information available to its students, staff, and teachers. Any individual 

associated with NACOB and ABCOT who is seeking information, counseling, or assistance concerning 

Drug Abuse prevention may call the following agency.  

 

Drug Treatment Center 24-Hour Help Line 800-711-6375 

 

DRUG FREE CAMPUS POLICY 

The colleges participate in the US Department of Education Drug Free Schools Program.  Staff and 

students are prohibited from the unlawful manufacture, distribution, possession, or use of illicit drugs or 

alcohol. Students or employees who violate this policy will be subject to disciplinary action up to and 

including expulsion or termination from school or employment. While the sale and use of cannabis is legal 

in the State of California, federal guidelines still prohibit the sale and use of cannabis.   

 

JOB PLACEMENT 

Job placement assistance is provided to graduates and students at no additional charge, by request 

only. The college does not guarantee employment or use the placement data as an incentive to entice 

prospective students to enroll.  
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ACADEMIC REGULATIONS 

 

APPLIED EFFORT 

NACOB and ABCOT only recognize time clock recorded hours of attendance. Students must clock in 

and out at the start and end of their class day, in and out for their lunch period. After clocking in, you are 

required to maintain applied effort. Applied effort means that you are to be engaged in assigned 

practice activities authorized by your teacher or participating in a class.  In all cases, your activities while 

on the time clock must be related to training for your course of study.   

 

Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or 

examination. Practical operations mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service 

on another person or on a mannequin. The College will lecture and demo all applicable lessons, 

however at times, you may not have hands-on practice on a particular subject. This is at the discretion of 

the College.  

 

The College hosts a large clinic salon floor for students. While we will make every effort so students have 

the ability to have hands on practice with clients, we encourage students to invite their friends and 

family to our clinic salon floor. We cannot guarantee that you will have hands-on practice with clients for 

every service.  

 

Personal grooming, listening to electronic devices, sleeping, leaving the building, reading magazines will 

not be tolerated.  You will be asked to stop such activity or to clock out for the remainder of the day and 

you will receive a counseling notice. Continued activities of this nature could result in your termination 

from the college.  Each laboratory operation and/or practice operation must be checked by an 

instructor and signed by that instructor prior to client leaving and student receiving credit. Lost timecards 

will cause the loss of applied effort for the period covered on the timecard.  
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SCHOOL RULES AND REGULATIONS 

PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT is the only level of conduct we expect from our students.  A professional 

doesn’t arrive 15 minutes late.  Students treat clients, instructors, and fellow students with courtesy and 

awareness.  A student constantly takes the time to follow standards of good grooming and proper 

sanitation. 

 

The following rules are important.  If you do not comply, you may be warned, suspended, or terminated 

from school. 

 

WARNING POLICY: 

A warning is given to a student verbally or in writing for breaking any rule. 

 

WARNINGS WILL BE ISSUED FOR THE FOLLOWING; 

• All students are required to be in class on time. 

• Any student who is not clocked in on the hour is tardy. 

• No student will be permitted to leave unless signed out by the Instructor in charge. 

• No student will be given credit for theory unless the instructor initials daily record. 

• Each and every operation must be checked and approved by the Instructor in charge of the 

operation. 

• Students are required to attend school according to their contracted hours. 

• Hours are posted by the official time clock and/or the fingerprint reader.  Students will be given 

an update of total hours at each evaluation period. Currently, it is the student’s responsibility to 

balance the number of hours on their timecard to the amount of clock hours on the system. 

Discrepancies should only be within the period included in the current evaluation period. Previous 

evaluation periods once signed and agreed upon by the Student, as demonstrated on the report 

card, cannot be changed.  

• Common courtesy requires that the student address the client by Mr., Mrs., or Ms. 

• Clients have priority over student’s use of all equipment. 

• All students must be applying effort or practicing at all times. Being clocked in when you are not 

actively engaged in practice on the school premises is considered fraud. 

• Students must perform an operation hourly or is not considered as applying effort toward clinical 

practice. 

• All students are given daily and weekly clinical assignments and are expected to complete them 

and turn them in weekly. 

• For sanitary reasons, no chewing gum on campus. 

• If you have failed to clock in at any time, you must clock in immediately and will not have any 

clock hour credit until clocked in. 

• All absences must be phoned in on the day of the absence 30 minutes BEFORE class starts. 

• Any other absences must be approved two weeks in advance in writing. Absence forms are 

available at the front desk and must be turned into Instructor. 

• Should a student find it necessary to be out of school for longer than one week, a Leave of 

Absence should be requested in writing.   

• Students may not clock out early for personal services. 

• Clock time is only allowed while in uniform. 

• All students are expected to be neat when arriving at school, this means hair combed, shoes 

cleaned, and in a clean uniform. For women, their make-up on and the men, clean-shaven. 

• Students assigned to classroom work are not allowed to have students on the floor fix their hair. 

• Break rooms and bathrooms must be kept clean at all times. 

• Each student is responsible for any area they could use including bathrooms, classroom, break 

areas, lab, supplies, mirror, dresser, locker, student salon and anywhere around any of those 

areas. 
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• Nothing must be left on the dresser, mirror, or desk overnight. The school reserves the privilege of 

inspecting all articles used on the public at any time and said articles must be approved by the 

school as well as kept in a sanitary condition. 

• We recommend that you mark all of your equipment and personal belongings with your name or 

initials. The school cannot be responsible if your property is stolen. A locker is provided for your 

personal belongings and equipment. The student must provide a lock for the locker. An extra key 

is to be given to the admissions office the first day of school and if the lock is a combination lock, 

the combination. 

• Students must have approved equipment and textbooks with them at all times. 

• During a leave of absence, you must vacate your station and/or locker. Personal effects left in 

lockers after 30 days, the locker will be emptied, and the school assumes no responsibility for 

these items. They will be disposed of in any way convenient. 

• Do not talk to another student when working on a client. 

• Do not ask another student how to do a procedure, ask the Instructor. 

• All parking in designated student parking areas ONLY. 

• Uniform of school must be neat and clean every day. 

• Uniform of school - follow uniform policy. 

• Student visitors are required to check in with receptionist and are to remain in reception area 

ONLY. 

• Under no circumstances are visitors to be in student break area or on clinic floor. 

• Under no circumstances is it acceptable for family or friends to come to the school on behalf of 

the student and behave in such a way that could be deemed threatening, inappropriate or 

vulgar. The necessary steps will be taken to protect the students and staff of the school. The 

student can be held responsible. 

• No phone calls can be made or received during school hours except in case of an emergency. 

• Cell phones, iPod are to be turned off during school hours. 

• Outgoing or incoming cell calls can only be placed during lunch, off campus or in break area 

ONLY. 

• Breaks are ten (10) minutes for every four clock hours. 

• Lunch period is thirty (30) minutes. 

• Food and drinks are allowed in the break area ONLY. State sanitary laws do not allow either food 

or drinks in the school. 

• Students will be sent to lunch on a demand basis. 

• School Board is required for completion and graduation. 

• If a student misses a scheduled school board or fails, there is a $100.00 charge for the retake. 

• A grade of 75% or better on the school board is required for a diploma. 

 

SUSPENSIONS will occur for the following if a student: 

• Has repeated warnings 

• Displays a poor attitude or rudeness 

• Permits another student to clock them in or out. Both students will be suspended. Clocking in or 

out for another student is looked upon as forgery. 

• Leaves school without permission. 

• Does not attend Friday, Saturday, or the day before a holiday. 

• Uses profane language or displays bad behavior. 

• Smokes on the premises and not in an allowed smoking area. 

• Refuses to take a client 

• Complains about a client 

• Argues with a client, student, or staff member 

• Being in direct violation of an Instructor’s direction. 

• Does not give two weeks prior notice for personal time off. 
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• Does not pay tuition and is delinquent.  

• Arguing, fighting with another student. 

 

SUSPENSION POLICY: 

A minor infraction will result in a suspension of just an hour or up to two weeks.  

 

SUSPENSIONS can occur if: 

• A student is caught cheating, lying or stealing. 

• A student is under the influence of alcoholic beverages, illegal and controlled substances. 

• Permits another student to clock them in or out. Both students will be suspended. Clocking in or 

out for another student is looked upon as forgery. 

• A student fails to make satisfactory progress. 

• A student sexually or verbally harasses another person. 

• Payment of tuition is delinquent for two months. 

• A student is guilty of willful destruction of school property. 

• A student can be suspended for breaking a school rule if the school deems it necessary and 

appropriate for the situation. 

 

TERMINATION POLICY:  

Students are dismissed for major violations as listed above but are not limited to those listed. A student 

may be advanced through the termination process at the discretion of the Director or Associate Director 

of Education. A student’s contract can be terminated without prior verbal or written warnings when the 

school deems that the student’s behavior or actions are jeopardizing the learning environment, the 

students, staff members or school (whether in the building or in the parking lot). A student who causes 

bodily injury to any client, student and/or staff member will be terminated immediately, and law 

enforcement will be called immediately.  

 

The school reserves the right to make any changes in the rules and regulations at any time, if necessary, 

student(s) may be sent home on Administrative Leave until or when the situation is calmed down and 

investigated. The school reserves the right to proceed under the Administrative Leave policy, request 

further documentation or allow the return to school. 

 

ATTENDANCE STATUS 

Full time students are required to attend a minimum of 30 hours per week. 

Part time enrollment is defined as less than 30 hours per week. 

*Accelerated enrollment is defined as a student attending more than 30 and up to 66 hours per week. 

*This contract is only available at NACOB.  

 

GRADING SYSTEM 

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical work, and attendance. The evaluations 

are measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  Evaluation 

reports are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each attendance period. This 

evaluation form reflects the overall attendance and academic progress of each student. Academic 

grades are derived through tests, homework, and practical operations. Students must maintain a 67% 

attendance average to maintain satisfactory progress. A student must maintain a 70% academic 

average to maintain satisfactory progress. 

 

Note: Attendance is evaluated on both an evaluation period and a cumulative basis. At each 

evaluation point, the attendance from this evaluation will be added to the attendance from the 

preceding months to determine whether the student will complete the course within the maximum time 

frame established in this policy. 
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TESTING POLICIES 

 

I. At the end of each Pivot Point Module, a written and practical exam will be given on the 

entire module. Should a student who is scheduled for these exams miss any portion of the 

exam, either written or practical, they could be charged a fee of $50.  Once the fee is paid 

the student will be eligible to be scheduled for the next test date. It is the students’ 

responsibility to reschedule any missed or failed exam; retest dates will not be announced. 

II. Each student is required to pass a comprehensive final written and practical exam. The exam 

will consist of a written and practical exam. Should a student who is scheduled for these 

exams miss any portion of the exam, either written or practical, they could be charged a fee 

of $100. Once the fee is paid the student will be eligible to be scheduled for the next test 

date. It is the students’ responsibility to reschedule any missed or failed exam; retest dates will 

not be announced. 

III. Tests are given at the end of each Theory Chapter. Should a student miss any chapter test 

due to any absence/illness either excused or unexcused they are required to make up the 

test at the next make up test date. Make up tests are given monthly. Should any student fail 

to make up chapter tests monthly they could be charged a fee of $15.00 for each make up 

test given prior to graduation. It is the students’ responsibility to schedule the make-up test; 

test dates will not be announced.  

IV. These fees will be billed directly to your student account and must be paid prior to 

graduation. No proof of training will be issued until the balance is paid in full. 

V. No electronic dictionaries will be allowed in class during any test. 

 

GRADUATION DOCUMENTATION/AWARDING OF DIPLOMA 

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and Official Transcript of Hours for the applicable 

course when the student has successfully completed all phases of study, required tests, practical 

assignments with an overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical 

examination with a 75%; and attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study 

according to all of the State requirements; completed all exit paperwork; attended an exit interview, 

financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts 

owed to the school. Effective 2/17/2023, students must complete their hours Tuesday through Friday. 

Absolutely no completions on Saturday’s. Special schedule accommodations can be made. Effective 

07/27/2023, students must pass an additional final comprehensive written examination with at least an 

80% during their final week of school.  

 

APPLICATION FOR STATE BOARD EXAMINATION 

After graduation, you may apply to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology for the licensing 

examination. The fee to take the State Board examination is as follows: $125 for Cosmetology exam, 

$125.00 for Barbering exam, $115 for Esthetics exam, $110 for Manicuring exam, and $125.00 for Barber 

Crossover to be paid by the student. You must pass the written exam with a 75% to get your license. The 

testing facilities for the examination are located throughout California. Exam fees are subject to change 

by The California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology without prior notification. 

 

Please Note: Persons who have been convicted of Felonies, owe child support or fines, may at the 

discretion of the State of California, Department of Consumer Affairs be delayed or denied admittance 

to the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Examination. The college is not responsible for a graduate 

being unable to take their state examination in these cases. 
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SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY (SAP): 

Satisfactory Academic Progress is consistently applied to all students enrolled at the school. 

This policy is reviewed during orientation and the catalog is available on the NACOB and ABCOT 

website. 

The college expects its students to maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP).  

 

Evaluation Periods: 20 scheduled hours per week 

Cosmetology: 1500 hours, 75 weeks scheduled  

1st Evaluation Ends: 450 Scheduled Hours, 22.5 weeks 

2nd Evaluation Ends: 900 Scheduled Hours, 45 weeks 

3rd Evaluation Ends: 1200 Scheduled Hours, 60 weeks 

4th Evaluation Ends: 1500 Scheduled Hours, 75 weeks 

Barbering: 1500 hours, 75 weeks scheduled 

1st Evaluation Ends: 450 Scheduled Hours, 22.5 weeks 

2nd Evaluation Ends: 900 Scheduled Hours, 45 weeks 

3rd Evaluation Ends: 1200 Scheduled Hours, 60 weeks 

4th Evaluation Ends: 1500 Scheduled Hours, 75 weeks 

Esthetics: 600 hours, 30 weeks scheduled  

1st Evaluation Ends: 300 Scheduled Hours, 15 weeks 

2nd Evaluation Ends: 600 Scheduled Hours, 30 weeks 

Teacher Training: 600 hours, 30 weeks scheduled 

1st Evaluation Ends: 300 Scheduled Hours, 15 weeks 

2nd Evaluation Ends: 600 Scheduled Hours, 30 weeks 

Manicuring: 400 hours, 20 weeks scheduled  

1st Evaluation Ends: 180 Scheduled Hours, 9 weeks 

2nd Evaluation Ends: 360 Scheduled Hours, 18 weeks 

Barber Crossover: 200 hours, 10 weeks scheduled 

1st Evaluation Ends: 90 Scheduled Hours, 4.5 weeks 

2nd Evaluation Ends: 180 Scheduled Hours, 9 weeks 

Evaluation Periods: 30 scheduled hours per week 

Cosmetology: 1500 hours, 50 weeks scheduled 

1st Evaluation Ends: 450 Scheduled Hours, 15 weeks 

2nd Evaluation Ends: 900 Scheduled Hours, 30 weeks 

3rd Evaluations Ends: 1200 Scheduled Hours, 40 weeks 

4th Evaluations: 1500 Scheduled Hours, 50 weeks 

Barbering: 1500 hours, 50 weeks scheduled 

1st Evaluation Ends: 450 Scheduled Hours, 15 weeks 

2nd Evaluation Ends: 900 Scheduled Hours, 30 weeks 

3rd Evaluations Ends: 1200 Scheduled Hours, 40 weeks 

4th Evaluations: 1500 Scheduled Hours, 50 weeks 

Esthetics: 600 hours, 20 weeks scheduled 

1st Evaluation Ends: 300 Scheduled Hours, 10 weeks 

2nd Evaluation: 600 Scheduled Hours, 20 weeks 

Teacher Training: 600 hours, 20 weeks scheduled  

1st Evaluation Ends: 300 Scheduled Hours, 10 weeks 

2nd Evaluation: 600 Scheduled Hours, 20 weeks 

Manicuring: 400 hours, 14 weeks scheduled  

1st Evaluation Ends: 180 Scheduled Hours, 6 weeks 

2nd Evaluation Ends: 360 Scheduled Hours, 12 weeks 

Barber Crossover: 200 hours, 7 weeks scheduled  

1st Evaluation Ends: 90 Scheduled Hours, 3 weeks 

2nd Evaluation Ends: 180 Scheduled Hours, 6 weeks 

*Transfer/re-enrolled students - Midpoint of the contracted hours or the established evaluation periods, 

whichever comes first. 

 

Evaluations will determine if the student has met the minimum requirements for satisfactory academic 

progress.  The frequency of evaluations ensures that students have had at least one evaluation by 

midpoint of the course and/or program. All evaluations will be completed within seven (7) School 

Business Days following each established evaluation period. It will be delivered either in person, text, or 

email. 

  

Attendance Progress Evaluations – Students are required to attend a minimum of 67% of the hours 

possible based on the applicable attendance schedule to be considered maintaining satisfactory 

attendance progress.  Evaluations are conducted at the end of each evaluation period to determine if 

the student has met the minimum requirements.  The attendance percentage is determined by dividing 

the total hours accrued by the total number of hours scheduled.  At the end of each evaluation period, 

the school will determine if the student has maintained at least 67% cumulative attendance since the 

beginning of the course which indicates that, given the same attendance rate, the student will graduate 

within the maximum time frame allowed.  

Note: Attendance is evaluated on both an evaluation period and a cumulative basis. At each 

evaluation point, the attendance from this evaluation will be added to the attendance from the 

preceding evaluations to determine whether the student will complete the course within the maximum 

time frame established in this policy. 
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ACADEMIC YEAR 

 

COURSE WEEKS Academic Year 

Cosmetology (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 1500 hours 50 weeks AY1: 900 (30 weeks) 

AY2: 600 (20 weeks) 

Cosmetology (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 1500 hours 75 weeks AY1: 900 (45 weeks) 

AY2: 600 (30 weeks) 

Barbering (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 1500 hours 50 weeks AY1: 900 (30 weeks) 

AY2: 600 (20 weeks) 

Barbering (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 1500 hours  75 weeks AY1: 900 (45 weeks) 

AY2: 600 (30 weeks) 

Esthetics (FT,  30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 20 weeks AY1: 600 (20 weeks) 

Esthetics (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 600 hours 30 weeks AY1: 600 (30 weeks) 

Manicuring (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 400 hours 14 weeks AY1: 400 (14 weeks) 

Manicuring (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 400 hours 20 weeks AY1: 400 (20 weeks)  

Teacher Training (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 20 weeks AY1: 600 (20 weeks)  

Teacher Training PT, 20 hrs/wk) 600 hours 30 weeks AY1: 600 (30 weeks) 

Barber Crossover (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 200 hours 7 weeks AY1: 200 (07 weeks) 

Barber Crossover (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 200 hours 10 weeks AY1: 200 (10 weeks) 

 

 

 

 

 

MAXIMUM TIME FRAME 

The maximum time (which does not exceed 150% of the course length) allowed for students to complete 

each course at satisfactory academic progress is stated below: 

 

COURSE WEEKS SCHEDUELED HOURS Academic Year 

Cosmetology (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 1500 hours 75 weeks 2250 AY1: 900 AY2: 600 

Cosmetology (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 1500 hours 113 weeks 2250 AY1: 900 AY2: 600 

Barbering (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 1500 hours 75 weeks 2250 AY1: 900 AY2: 600 

Barbering (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 1500 hours  113 weeks 2250 AY1: 900 AY2: 600 

Esthetics (FT,  30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 30 weeks 900 AY1: 600 

Esthetics (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 600 hours 45 weeks 900 AY1: 600 

Manicuring (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 400 hours 20 weeks 600 AY1: 400 

Manicuring (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 400 hours 30 weeks 600 AY1: 400 

Teacher Training (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 600 hours 30 weeks 900 AY1: 600 

Teacher Training PT, 20 hrs/wk) 600 hours 45 weeks 900 AY1: 600 

Barber Crossover (FT, 30 hrs/wk) 200 hours 10 weeks 300 AY1: 200 

Barber Crossover (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 200 hours 15 weeks 300 AY1: 200 

The maximum time allowed for transfer/re-enrolled students who need less than the full course 

requirements or part time students will be determined based on 67% of the schedule contracted hours. 

 

Students who have not completed the course within the maximum time frame will be withdrawn from 

the program. A student withdrawn due to not meeting the maximum timeframe may reenroll into their 

program on a cash pay basis.  

 

*VA Students: Hours are paid for the approved program length only not maximum timeframe.  
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Academic Progress Evaluations – The qualitative element used to determine academic progress is based 

on theory and practical assignments.  Academic learning is evaluated at the completion of each 

evaluation period.  Students must maintain a cumulative Grade Point Average of 70% to be considered 

for making Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP). The Academic Progress evaluations are conducted at 

the end of each evaluation period to determine if the minimum requirements have been met.  

Academic Progress is determined by an average (cumulative) of the student’s theory (which consists of 

tests, quizzes, and homework), and practical operations (in class rubrics or clinic floor quantitative).  

 

Grading Symbol Quality of Points Academic Average 

A Excellent 90-100%                

B  Satisfactory  80-89%                    

C Satisfactory 70-79%                    

D Unsatisfactory 60-69%                         

F Unsatisfactory 59 and Below                 

 

DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS 

Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation point are 

making satisfactory academic progress until the next schedule evaluation.  Students will receive a 

notification of their Satisfactory Academic Progress Determination at the time of each of the evaluations.  

Students deemed not maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress may have their Title IV Funding 

interrupted, unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal resulting in a status of 

probation. A student will be withdrawn after failure to prevail upon appeal or if no appeal is made within 

10 days.  

 

WARNING 

Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress are placed on 

warning and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress during the warning period.  The 

student will be advised in writing on the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the 

next evaluation.  If at the end of the warning period, the student has still not met both the attendance 

and academic requirements, he/she may be placed on probation and, if applicable, students may be 

deemed ineligible to receive Title IV funds.  

 

PROBATION 

Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress after the 

warning period will be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory academic 

progress while during the probationary period, if the student appeals the decision, and prevails upon 

appeal. Additionally, only students who can meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy standards 

by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation. Students placed on an academic 

plan must be able to meet requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the next 

evaluation period.  Students who are progressing according to their specific academic plan will be 

considered making Satisfactory Academic Progress. The student will be advised in writing of the actions 

required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the 

probationary period, the student has still not met both the attendance and academic requirements 

required for satisfactory academic progress or by the academic plan, he/she will be determined as NOT 

making satisfactory academic progress and, if applicable, students will not be deemed eligible to 

receive Title IV funds. 

 

RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS 

Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV aid, as applicable, by meeting 

minimum attendance of 67% and academic requirements (GPA of 70%) by the end of the warning or 

probationary period. 
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INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, WITHDRAWALS 

If enrollment is temporarily interrupted for a Leave of Absence, the student will return to school in the 

same progress status as prior to the leave of absence.  Hours elapsed during a leave of absence will 

extend the student’s contract period and maximum time frame by the same number of days taken in 

the leave of absence and will not be included in the student’s cumulative attendance percentage 

calculation.  Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will return in 

the same satisfactory academic progress status as at the time of withdrawal.  

 

Appeal Procedure 

If a student is determined to not be making satisfactory academic progress, the student may appeal the 

determination within ten calendar days.  Reasons for which students may appeal a negative progress 

determination include death of a relative, an injury or illness of the student, or any other allowable 

special or mitigating circumstance.  The student must submit a written appeal to the school on the 

designated form describing why they failed to meet satisfactory academic progress standards, along 

with supporting documentation of the reasons why the determination should be reversed.  This 

information should include what has changed about the student’s situation that will allow them to 

achieve Satisfactory Academic Progress by the next evaluation point.  Appeal documents will be 

reviewed, and a decision will be made and reported to the student within 30 calendar days.  The appeal 

and decision documents will be retained in the student file.  If the student prevails upon appeal, the 

satisfactory academic progress determination will be reversed and federal financial aid will be 

reinstated, if applicable. 

 

NONCREDIT, REMEDIAL COURSES, REPETITIONS 

Noncredit, remedial courses and repetitions do not apply to this institution.  Therefore, these items have 

no effect upon the school’s satisfactory academic progress standards. 

 

TRANSFER HOURS 

Regarding Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student’s transfer hours from another institution that are 

accepted toward the student’s educational program will be counted as both attempted and 

completed hours for the purpose of determining when the allowable maximum time frame has been 

exhausted.  SAP evaluation periods are based on scheduled contracted hours at the institution.  

 

VA STUDENTS 

In addition, VA benefits will be terminated, and the Veteran’s Administration will be promptly notified. For 

the duration of Probation, the student will also lose the following privileges: advanced training, personal 

services, in-house discounts, and family discounts.  
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LEAVE OF ABSENCE (LOA)  

An authorized leave of absence (LOA) is a temporary interruption in a student’s program of study. LOA 

refers to the specific period during a program when a student is not in attendance. All requests for leaves 

of absence must be submitted in writing, phone, text, or email, include the reason for the student’s 

request and include the student’s signature.  There must be a reasonable expectation that the student 

will return from the LOA.  The institution will not assess the student any additional institutional charges 

because of the LOA.  A student granted a LOA that meets these criteria is not considered to have 

withdrawn, and no refund calculation is required at that time.   A LOA is not required if a student is not in 

attendance only for an institutional scheduled break. However, a scheduled break may occur during a 

LOA. 

 

LOA CRITERIA/PROCEDURES 

 

1. A leave of absence will be granted for the following reasons: 

Medical, Active Military, Jury Duty, Mitigating circumstances and Personal Reasons 

2. The LOA form must be completed and submitted in writing, phone, text, or email to the School 

Director. 

3. Minimum leave of absence requires at least 1-week intervals. 

4. A student must apply for a leave of absence in advance or during the week of unless unforeseen 

circumstances prevent the student from doing so. For example, if a student were injured in a car 

accident and needed a few weeks to recover before returning to institution, the student would 

not have been able to request the LOA in advance.  

5. Leave of absences not applied for in advance are given for emergency situations and will be 

documented by staff on the leave of absence form and the form and any documentation will be 

completed once the student returns to school. In this example, the beginning date of the 

approved LOA would be determined by the institution to be the first date the student was unable 

to attend the institution because of the accident. 

6. NACOB and ABCOT reserves the right to amend this policy on a case-by-case basis. 

7. LOA’s are granted for a maximum of 180 days in 12 months from the 1st day of the first requested 

Leave of absence. 

8. A student must return from the leave of absence prior to or on the return date on the form. 

9. The institution will extend the student’s contract period by the same number of days taken in the 

LOA.  Changes to the contract period and maximum time frame will extend by the same number 

of calendar days taken in the LOA on the enrollment agreement should be initialed by all parties 

or an addendum should be signed and dated by all parties. An approved complete LOA form is 

an addendum to the Enrollment Agreement.  

10. Failure to return from the expiration of the Leave of Absence will result in a student being 

terminated immediately from the college. This will be considered to be the student’s withdrawal 

determination date. At an institution required to take attendance, the withdrawal date for the 

purpose of calculating a refund is always the student’s last day of attendance.  

11. A leave of absence extension may be requested prior to the end of the original leave of 

absence return date. 

12. Students who do not return from a Leave of Absence need to know that repayment on your 

student loans begins 6 months after your last date of attendance. 

A student that does not follow and complete the LOA procedures will have all of his/her time missed 

counted as absences from school; the student will incur overtime charges as a result, and this will affect 

the student’s Satisfactory Academic Progress.  A student that misses 14 calendar days without 

contacting the school or on an official Leave of Absence will be considered withdrawn from the 

program and his/her contract will be terminated.  
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**Veterans Students** Veteran’s Benefits will be suspended while a student is on an approved Leave of 

Absence. Once the student has regained active status with the College, benefits will resume.  

 

During COVID-19, Leave of Absences were allowed to exceed 180 days. This flexibility is allowed until the 

pandemic is over.  

 

SCHOOL CLOSURES 

If the school permanently closes, students will receive a pro-rata refund of tuition as required by State & 

Federal guidelines. 

 

EXIT PROCEDURES FOR STUDENTS COMPLETING COURSE OF STUDY 

Two weeks before completing course of study, an appointment must be set for the following: 

1. Students must review all hours and operations and grades with their instructor for accuracy. 

2. Students must confirm their expected graduation date with teacher and office. 

3. Students must meet with the office to review accounts to date and pay off any outstanding 

balance. This final payment must be in cash, cashier check, money order. 

4. All students must complete a graduation participation form.  

5. All student information such as address and phone number must be updated in computer if 

necessary. 

 

On the final school day: 

1. Student is responsible to assure that all hours and operations are complete before clock out. 

2. Have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts, including overtime with the 

college.  

3. The required clock hours have been completed. 

4. The student has an overall attendance average of 67%, an academic average of 70%, a total 

GPA of 70%. 

5. Passed a comprehensive final test, both practical and written with at least a 75% score. 

6. Passed an additional comprehensive final written test during the students last week of school with 

at least a 80% score.  

7. A completed graduation checklist is located in the students file.  

 

WITHHOLDING OF STUDENT TRANSCRIPT/GRADES/DIPLOMA 

NACOB and ABCOT will withhold the student’s transcripts (completion, withdrawal or a diploma) until 

financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts 

owed to the school. These items will only be given when students meet the following criteria: 

1. Total GPA 70%; 

2. Overall Attendance Average 67%; 

3. Operations & Theory Hours all have been Completed; 

4. Completion of all State requirements; 

5. Financial obligations have been met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment; and 

6. Passed a comprehensive final test, both practical and written with at least a 75% score. 

7. Passed an additional comprehensive final written test during the students last week of school with 

at least a 80% score.  

 

NACOB and ABCOT STAFF AND JOB TITLES AND FUNCTIONS 

Please see Addendum #2 
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Excused/Unexcused Absences 

Excused absences/tardies are absences/tardies that are verifiable This does not extend your contract 

nor excuse any additional charges. Verifiable excused absences/tardies allowed you to makeup 

assignments or tests with no penalty.  

 

Unexcused absences/tardies students are able to clock in to school no later than 1 hour past their 

scheduled start time. Any missed assignments will be arranged at the convenience of the instructor. 

Make up tests are on the last Friday of the month only.  

 

COURSES OF STUDY   

All courses offered by NACOB and ABCOT are conducted in English.  The institution does not provide 

English as a second language (ESL) course.  

 

COSMETOLOGY COURSE: (1500 CLOCK HOURS) 

Educational Goals: 

The cosmetology course of study is designated to assist the student’s capability to pass the Board of 

Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is requisite in order to obtain a 

Cosmetology License. The license is a requirement to operate as a cosmetologist in the State of 

California (SOC #39-5012.00, CIP #12.0401) 

 

Curriculum for Cosmetology Course - 1500 Clock Hours (50 weeks/30 hours per week or 75 weeks/20 

hours per week) 

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Cosmetology course shall consist of fifteen hundred (1,500) clock 

hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of 

cosmetology. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom 

participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a 

complete service on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained. 

See “Applied Effort”.  

 

Grading System 

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 

measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  SAP/Report 

Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is 

derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations.  Students must maintain a “C” (70%) 

academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) attendance 

average to maintain satisfactory progress. 
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The requirements listed below are the State Minimum Requirements:  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cosmetology Performance Objective 

1) Acquire knowledge of law and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishments’ 

practices. 

 2) Acquire knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails. 

3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to cosmetology including anatomy, physiology, 

chemistry, and theory. 

 4) Acquire business management techniques common to cosmetology. 

 

Skills to be developed 

 1) Learn the proper use of implements relative to all cosmetology services. 

2) Acquire knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and hands prior to all services to determine 

any disorders. 

 3) Will learn the procedures and terminology used in all cosmetology services. 

4) Will learn the application of daytime and evening make-up including the application of false 

strip eyelashes. 

5) Will learn the proper procedure of manicuring to include water and oil manicure and 

pedicuring. 

 6) Will learn the application of brush-on nails, wraps, and nail tips. 

 

 

Subject 
State Minimum 

Requirements 

Health and Safety 
Hazardous Substances, Chemical Safety, Safety Data Sheets, Protection from 

Hazardous Chemicals, Preventing Chemical Injuries, Health and Safety Laws and 

Regulations, Preventing Communicable Diseases 

100 

Disinfection and Sanitation 
Disinfection Procedures to Protect the Health and Safety of Consumers as well as the 

Technician and Proper Disinfection Procedures for Equipment used in Establishments 

100 

Chemical Hair Services 
Coloring, Straightening, Waving, Bleaching, Hair Analysis, Predisposition and Strand 

Tests, Safety Precautions, Formula Mixing, and the Use of Dye Removers 

200 

Hairstyling  
Arranging, Blow Drying, Cleansing, Curling, Dressing, Hair Analysis, Shampooing, 

Saving, and Nonchemical Straightening, and Haircutting including the use of Shears, 

Razors, Electrical Clippers and Trimmers, and Thinning Shears, for wet and dry cutting  

200 

Skin Care 
Chemical and Manual Facials and Massaging, Stimulating, Exfoliating, Cleansing, or 

Beautifying the Face, Scalp, Neck or Body by the Use of Hands, Esthetic Devices, 

Cosmetic Products, Antiseptics, Lotions, Tonics, or Creams that do not result in the 

ablation or Destruction of the Live Tissue  

150 

Hair Removal and Lash & Brow Beautification 
Tinting and Perming Eyelashes and Brows, Applying Eyelashes to any Person and 

Includes Removing Superfluous Hair from the Body of any person by use of 

Depilatories, Tweezers, Sugaring, Nonprescription Chemicals, or Waxing, or by the 

Use of Devices and Appliances of any kind or description, except by the Use of 

Lasers or Light Waves, which are commonly known as rays 

50 

Manicure and Pedicure 
Water and Oil Manicures, Hand and Arm Massage, Foot and Ankle Massage, Nail 

Analysis, Artificial Nail Services including but not limited to, Acrylic, Liquid and 

Powder Brush-Ons, Dips, Tips, Wraps, and Repairs.  

100 

Additional Training 600 

Total Hours 1500 clock hours 
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Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed 

 1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology. 

 2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers. 

 3) Have improved personality towards patrons and colleagues. 

 

Course Levels (as of 11/03/2021) 

Phase I-Foundation    8 weeks/240 hours (until basics and test out complete)  

 Basics and fundamentals of hair styling, facials, & nails 

 

Student Clinic Classroom 42 weeks/ 1260 hours 

 Clinic client and manikin work on skills from prior class  

 

School Final     Practical and Written Test 

 

OPTIONAL 4-WEEK ADVANCE CLASS Students have the option of attending a 4-week Advanced 

Class. This is optional. Additional kit supplies are required. 

 

*The College reserves the right to modify or remove class schedules as needed.  

 

It is at the discretion of the instructor/director to move students up or hold them back when there has 

been more than 18hrs of absences. If a student is moved forward without work being completed 

Certificates for Pivot Point Modules will not be given. 

 

Methods used to instruct Students 

Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands 

on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white board. 

 

Makeup Exams: 

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be 

scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege – not a right! Students should 

be in attendance on examination days.  

 

Textbooks: 

Pivot Point Fundamentals: Cosmetology Digital with Full Printed Package (Coursebook, Study Guide, 

Exam Prep, PivotPoint LAB Seat) ISNB: 978-1-948482-67-7  

Students are provided access to Electronic Books after their cancellation period has ended and has 

access for 730 days after registration. This includes any absences, Leave of Absence, or any other 

disruption in your education.  

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion 

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable 

course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an 

overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and 

attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State 

requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been 

met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school. Effective 

2/17/2023, students must complete their hours Tuesday through Friday. Absolutely no completions on 

Saturday’s. Special schedule accommodations can be made. Effective 07/27/2023, students must pass 

an additional final comprehensive written examination with at least an 80% during their final week of 

school. 
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Licensing Requirements 

Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Cosmetology license 

will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and 

graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam. 

The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the 

student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the 

student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of 

California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test until 

the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.  

 

Applicants take the exam at PSI Licensure: Certification location throughout California. All fees and 

transportation are the responsibility of the student. Additional costs for Exam and License are $125.00 

paid directly to the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. If a reexam is needed, the cost is 

$75.00.  

 

Job Opportunities 

The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail 

artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing, 

trade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product 

manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and 

fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon 

manager. 

 

ESTHETICS COURSE: 600 CLOCK HOURS (20 WEEKS/30 hours per week or 30 WEEKS/20 hours per week)       

SOC # 39-5094.00 CIP# 12.0409 

The courses of study for students enrolled in the Esthetics course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock 

hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of 

esthetics. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom 

participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a 

complete service on another person or mannequin.  Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained. 

See “Applied Effort.” 

 

Educational Goals: 

The Esthetics course of study is designated to assist the student’s capability to pass the Board’s Esthetics 

licensing examination. Passing the exam is a prerequisite in order to obtain an Esthetics license. 

 

Curriculum for Esthetics Course 600 Clock Hours 

The curriculum for students enrolled in the esthetics course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock hours of 

technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of esthetics. 

Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or 

examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a complete service 

on another person or mannequin.  

 

Grading System 

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 

measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  SAP/Report 

Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is 

derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations.  Students must maintain a “C” (70%) 

academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) attendance 

average to maintain satisfactory progress. 
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The requirements listed below are the State Minimum Requirements: 

 

Subject 
State Minimum 

Requirements 

Health and Safety 
Hazardous Substances, Chemical Safety, Safety Data Sheets, Protection from 

Hazardous Chemicals, Preventing Chemical Injuries, Health and Safety Laws and 

Regulations, Preventing Communicable Diseases 

100 

Disinfection and Sanitation 
Disinfection Procedures to Protect the Health and Safety of Consumers as well as 

the Technician and Proper Disinfection Procedures for Equipment used in 

Establishments 

100 

Skin Care 
Chemical and Manual Facials and Massaging, Stimulating, Exfoliating, Cleansing 

or Beautifying the Face, Scalp, Neck, or Body by the Use of Hands, Esthetic 

Devices, Cosmetic Products, Antiseptics, Lotions, Tonics, or Creams that do not 

Result in the Ablation or Destruction of the Live Tissue 

350 

Hair Removal and Lash & Brow Beautification 
Tinting and Perming Eyelashes and Brows, Applying Eyelashes to any Person and 

Includes Removing Superfluous Hair from the Body of any person by use of 

Depilatories, Tweezers, Sugaring, Nonprescription Chemicals, or Waxing, or by 

the Use of Devices and Appliances of any kind or description, except by the Use 

of Lasers or Light Waves, which are commonly known as rays 

50 

TOTAL CLOCK HOURS 600 

 

Esthetics Performance Objective 

1) Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishment 

practices. 

 2) Acquire the knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of skin. 

3) Acquire knowledge of general theory, relative to a cosmetician, including anatomy, 

physiology, chemistry, nutrition, and theory. 

 4) Acquire business management techniques common to esthetics. 

 

Skills to be developed 

 1) Learn the proper use of implements relative to all esthetic services. 

 2) Acquire the knowledge of analyzing all skin types to determine proper analysis. 

 3) Will learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all esthetics services. 

4) Will learn the application of daytime and evening make-up to include the application of false 

strip eyelashes. 

 5) Will learn the safety procedures of the use of electrical skin care machines. 

 6) Will learn various massage techniques. 

 

Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed 

 1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to esthetics. 

 2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers. 

 3) Have improved personality in dealing with patrons and colleagues. 

 

Course Levels 

Phase I   2 weeks  Basics and fundamentals of facials and makeup 

Clinic   17 + weeks  Clinic client work on skills from prior classes 

Final Test  1 week   Practical and Written Test 

 

It is at the discretion of the instructor/director to move students up or hold them back when there has 

been more than 18hrs of absences. 
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Methods used to instruct Students 

Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands 

on application, overheads, visual aids, textbooks, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white board. 

 

Makeup Exams: 

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be 

scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege – not a right! Students should 

be in attendance on examination days.  

 

Textbooks: 

Pivot Point Fundamentals: Esthetics Digital with Full Printed Package (Coursebook, Study Guide, Exam 

Prep, PivotPoint LAB Seat) ISNB: 978-1-957642-06-2 

 

Students are provided access to Electronic Books after their cancellation period has ended and has 

access for 730 days after registration. This includes any absences, Leave of Absence, or any other 

disruption in your education.  

 

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion 

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable 

course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an 

overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and 

attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State 

requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been 

met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school. Effective 

2/17/2023, students must complete their hours Tuesday through Friday. Absolutely no completions on 

Saturday’s. Special schedule accommodations can be made. Effective 07/27/2023, students must pass 

an additional final comprehensive written examination with at least an 80% during their final week of 

school. 

 

Licensing Requirements 

Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Cosmetology license 

will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and 

graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam. 

The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the 

student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the 

student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of 

California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test until 

the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.  

 

Applicants take the exam at PSI Licensure: Certification location throughout California. All fees and 

transportation are the responsibility of the student. Additional costs for Exam and License are $125.00 

paid directly to the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. If a reexam is needed, the cost is 

$75.00.  

 

Job Opportunities 

The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail 

artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing, 

trade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product 

manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and 

fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon 

manager. 
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MANICURING COURSE: 400 CLOCK HOURS (14 WEEKS/30 hours per week 20 WEEKS/20 hours per week)     

(SOC# 39-5092.00, CIP #12.0410). 

The course of study for students enrolled in a manicuring course shall consist of four hundred (400) clock 

hours of technical instructional and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of 

manicuring and Pedicuring. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, 

classroom participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the 

student of a complete service on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort in 

maintained. See “Applied Effort.” 

 

Educational Goals: 

The manicuring course of study is designed to improve the student’s capability to pass the Board of 

Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is a prerequisite in order to obtain 

a Manicuring License. The license is a requirement to operate as a Manicuring in the state of California 

(DOT#331.674-010). 

 

Curriculum for Manicuring Course 400 Clock Hours 

The curriculum for students enrolled in a manicuring course shall consist of four hundred (400) clock hours 

of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a manicurist and pedicurist. 

Technical instruction means instruction by demonstrator, lecture, classroom participation or examination. 

Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another 

person. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include: (See next Page) 

 

Grading System 

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 

measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  SAP/Report 

Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is 

derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations.  Students must maintain a “C” (70%) 

academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) attendance 

average to maintain satisfactory progress. Academic grade is derived from an equal weighting of tests, 

homework, and practical operations.  “Excellence in Education” grading criteria will be used in all 

practical, attendance, and clinical work. Students must maintain a “C” (70%) average to maintain 

satisfactory academic status. 

 

The requirements listed below are the State Minimum Requirements: 

 

Subject 
State Minimum 

Requirements 

Health and Safety 
Hazardous Substances, Chemical Safety, Safety Data Sheets, Protection from 

Hazardous Chemicals, Preventing Chemical Injuries, Health and Safety Laws and 

Regulations, Preventing Communicable Diseases 

100 

Disinfection and Sanitation 
Disinfection Procedures to Protect the Health and Safety of Consumers as well as 

the Technician and Proper Disinfection Procedures for Equipment used in 

Establishments  

100 

Manicure/Pedicure 
Water/Oil Manicure, Hand and Arm Massage, Complete Pedicure, Foot and 

Ankle Massage, Nail Analysis, Nail Repairs, Application of Artificial Nails, Liquids, 

Gels, Powder Brush-Ons, Dip, Nail Tips, and Wraps 

150 

Additional Training 50 

TOTAL CLOCK HOURS 400 
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Manicuring Performance Objective 

 1) Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California Manicuring establishing practices. 

 2) Understand sterilization procedures. 

3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to manicuring including anatomy, physiology, 

chemistry, and theory relative to practical procedures performed. 

 4) Acquire business management techniques common to Manicuring. 

 

Skills to be developed 

 1) Use of proper implements relative to all manicuring, Pedi curing, and artificial nails. 

 2) Develop knowledge to recognize the various skin conditions and disorders 

 3) Acquire knowledge 

4) Develop the knowledge of safety precautions in use of manicuring, Pedi curing, and artificial 

nails. 

 

Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed 

1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to manicuring. 

 2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers. 

 3) Appreciate honesty and integrity. 

 4) Have improved personality in dealing with patrons and colleagues. 

 

Course Levels 

Phase I   2 weeks  Basics and fundamentals of all Nail applications 

Clinic   11 + weeks  Clinic client work on skills from prior classes 

Or Rehearsal  

Final Test  1 week   Practical and written final test  

 

It is at the discretion of the instructor/director to move students up or hold them back when there has 

been more than 18hrs of absences. 

 

Methods used to instruct Students 

Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands 

on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white board. 

 

Makeup Exams: 

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be 

scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege – not a right! Students should 

be in attendance on examination days.  

 

Textbooks: 

Milady Standard Nail Technology 8th Edition ISBN: 9780357812884 

CIMA By Milady Online Platform  

 

Students are provided access to Electronic Books after their cancellation period has ended and has 

access for 730 days after registration. This includes any absences, Leave of Absence, or any other 

disruption in your education.  

 

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion 

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable 

course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an 

overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and 

attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State 
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requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been 

met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school. Effective 

2/17/2023, students must complete their hours Tuesday through Friday. Absolutely no completions on 

Saturday’s. Special schedule accommodations can be made. Effective 07/27/2023, students must pass 

an additional final comprehensive written examination with at least an 80% during their final week of 

school. 

 

Licensing Requirements 

Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Cosmetology license 

will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and 

graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam. 

The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the 

student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the 

student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of 

California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test until 

the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.  

 

Applicants take the exam at PSI Licensure: Certification location throughout California. All fees and 

transportation are the responsibility of the student. Additional costs for Exam and License are $125.00 

paid directly to the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. If a reexam is needed, the cost is 

$75.00.  

 

Job Opportunities 

The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail 

artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing, 

trade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product 

manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and 

fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon 

manager. 

 

TEACHER TRAINING COURSE: 600 CLOCK HOURS (20 WEEKS/30 hours per week or 30 Weeks/20 HOURS PER 

WEEK)  

(SOC# 25-3099.00 CIP # 12.0413) 

The course of study for students enrolled in a Teacher Training course shall consist of six hundred (600) 

clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of student instruction 

and supervision. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom 

participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a 

complete service on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained. 

See “Applied Effort.” 

 

Educational Goals: 

Curriculum for Teacher Training Course - 600 Clock Hours 

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Teacher Training course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock 

hours of technical instruction and practical operations in fundamentals of teaching and supervision of 

students. Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation and 

examination. Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of classroom lecture, 

demonstration, and supervision of students in other courses. 

 

Currently the State of California has no license for the Teacher Training program. 
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Grading System 

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 

measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  SAP/Report 

Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is 

derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations.  Students must maintain a “C” (70%) 

academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) attendance 

average to maintain satisfactory progress. 

 

Curriculum for Teacher Training Course- 600 Hours 

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Teacher Training course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock 

hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices of a Teacher Training. 

Technical instruction means instruction by demonstrator, lecture, classroom participation or examination. 

Practical operation means the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another 

person. Prerequisite is a valid, Cosmetology License issued by the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. 

 

Such Technical Instruction and Practical Operations shall include: 

TEACHER TRAINING CURRICULUM BREAKDOWN 

600 TOTAL CLOCK HOURS 

  

TECHNICAL 

INSTRUCTION 

(HOURS)  

PRACTICAL 

OPERATIONS 

(Hours) 

PRACTICAL 

OPERATIONS 

(ACTUAL 

OPERATIONS - NOT 

HOURS) 

SUBJECT 

Minimum 

Hours 

Required 

Minimum 

Hours 

Required 

Minimum 

Operations 

Required 

State Law 10 0 0 

Prepatory Instruction 120 100 100 

Communication Skills 

that include professional ethics, resume, job seeking 

skills, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, 

interview prep, and client service records 

20 

0 

0 

Conducting Classroom 140 0 0 

Classroom 100 0 0 

Supervising 100 10 10 

TOTAL 490 110 N/A 

600 total hours 

Depending on how long it takes a student to complete the require number of practical operations, a 

student may exceed the total number of hours required in a subject, or may not yet meet the total hours 

required in a subject. If a student does not yet meet the total number of hours required, the school will be 

responsible for making sure the student completes additional hours to meet the total hour requirement in 

that subject 

 

 

 

 
 

Teacher Training Performance Objective 

 1) Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California cosmetology establishing practices. 

 2) Understand sterilization procedures. 

3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to teaching techniques, organization, lesson 

planning, evaluation and advising of students and administrative responsibilities. Acquire 

knowledge of general practical application of supervising classrooms and students. 

 4) Acquire business management techniques common to teachers. 
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Skills to be developed 

 1) Use of proper implements relative to all phases of cosmetology. 

2) Develop knowledge to recognize the various teaching techniques, learning styles and class 

management. 

 3) Acquire knowledge of evaluating techniques and student advising. 

4) Develop the knowledge of safety precautions in use of equipment for all phases of 

cosmetology 

 

Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed 

1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology. 

 2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public, students and fellow workers. 

 3) Appreciate honesty and integrity. 

 4) Have improved personality in dealing with clients and colleagues. 

 

Course Levels 

Phase I   2 weeks  Basics and fundamentals of teaching 

Intern   17 + weeks  Student supervision 

Phase II  1 week   Test and review 

 

It is at the discretion of the instructor/director to move students up or hold them back when there has 

been more than 18hrs of absences. 

 

Methods used to instruct Students 

Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands 

on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white board. 

 

Makeup Exams: 

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be 

scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege – not a right! Students should 

be in attendance on examination days.  

 

Textbooks: 

Milady Professional Educator 4th Edition ISBN: 9781337786836 

 

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion 

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable 

course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an 

overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and 

attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State 

requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been 

met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school. Effective 

2/17/2023, students must complete their hours Tuesday through Friday. Absolutely no completions on 

Saturday’s. Special schedule accommodations can be made. Effective 07/27/2023, students must pass 

an additional final comprehensive written examination with at least an 80% during their final week of 

school. 

 

Licensing Requirements 

The State of California does not license.  

 

 

 



48 

 

BARBERING COURSE: 1500 CLOCK HOURS (50 WEEKS/30 hours per week 75 WEEKS/20 hours pers week) 

(SOC #39-5011.00, CIP #12.0402) 

 

Educational Goals: 

The barbering course of study is designed to assist the student’s in passing the Board of Barbering and 

Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is requisite in order to obtain a Barbering License. 

The license is a requirement to operate as a barber in the State of California.  

 

Curriculum for Barbering Course – 1500 Clock Hours 

The curriculum for students enrolled in a barbering course shall consist of fifteen hundred (1,500) 

clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of 

barbering. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom 

participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a 

complete service on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained. 

See “Applied Effort” 

 

Grading System 

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 

measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  SAP/Report 

Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is 

derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations.  Students must maintain a “C” (70%) 

academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) attendance 

average to maintain satisfactory progress. 

 

The requirements listed below are the State Minimum Requirements: 

 

Subject 
State Minimum 

Requirements 

Health and Safety 
Hazardous Substances, Chemical Safety, Safety Data Sheets, Protection from 

Hazardous Chemicals, Preventing Chemical Injuries, Health and Safety Laws and 

Regulations, Preventing Communicable Diseases 

100 

Disinfection and Sanitation 
Disinfection Procedures to Protect the Health and Safety of Consumers as well as 

the Technician and Proper Disinfection Procedures for Equipment used in 

Establishments 

100 

Chemical Hair Services 
Coloring, Straightening, Waving, Bleaching, Hair Analysis, Predisposition and 

Strand Tests, Safety Precautions, Formula Mixing, and the Use of Dye Removers 

200 

Hairstyling  
Arranging, Blow Drying, Cleansing, Curling, Dressing, Hair Analysis, Shampooing, 

Saving, and Nonchemical Straightening, and Haircutting including the use of 

Shears, Razors, Electrical Clippers and Trimmers, and Thinning Shears, for wet and 

dry cutting 

200 

Shaving and Trimming of the Beard 
Preparing the Client’s Hair for Shaving, Assessing the Condition of the Clients Skin, 

Performing Shaving Techniques, Applying Aftershave Antiseptic following Facial 

Services, Massaging the Face and Rolling Cream Massages 

200 

Additional Training 200 

TOTAL CLOCK HOURS 1500 
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Barbering Performance Objective 

1) Acquire knowledge of law and rules regulating California’s barbering establishments’ practices. 

2) Acquire knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails. 

3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to barbering including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, 

and theory. 

4) Acquire business management techniques common to barbering. 

 

Skills to be developed 

1) Learn the proper use of implements relative to all barbering services. 

2) Acquire knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and hands prior to all services to determine any 

disorders. 

3) Will learn the procedures and terminology used in all barbering services. 

4) Will learn the proper procedure for preparing the client’s hair for shaving.  

5) Will learn the proper procedure assessing the condition of the client’s skin 

6) Will learn the application to perform shaving techniques, applying after-shave antiseptic following 

facial services, massaging the client’s face and rolling cream massages. 

 

Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed 

1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to barbering. 

2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers. 

3) Have improved personality towards patrons and colleagues. 

 

Course Levels 

Phase I-Foundation    8 weeks/240 hours (until basics and test out complete)  

 Basics and fundamentals of hair styling, skin, and shaving 

 

Student Clinic Classroom 42 weeks/ 1260 hours 

 Clinic client and manikin work on skills from prior class  

 

School Final     Practical and Written Test 

 

OPTIONAL 7-WEEK ADVANCE CLASS Students have the option of attending a 4-week Advanced 

Class. This is optional. Additional kit supplies are required 

 

*The College reserves the right to modify or remove class schedules as needed.  

 

Barbering and Cosmetology students are together in Phase 1, except for 1 week when men’s grooming 

and shaving is completed. It is at the discretion of the instructor/director to move students up or hold 

them back when there has been more than 18hrs of absences. 

 

Methods used to instruct Students 

Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands 

on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white board. 

 

Makeup Exams: 

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be 

scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege – not a right! Students should 

be in attendance on examination days.  
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Textbooks: 

Pivot Point Fundamentals: Barbering Digital with Full Printed Package (Coursebook, Study Guide, Exam 

Prep, PivotPoint LAB Seat) ISNB: 978-1-948482-72-1 

 

Students are provided access to Electronic Books after their cancellation period has ended and has 

access for 730 days after registration. This includes any absences, Leave of Absence, or any other 

disruption in your education.  

 

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion 

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable 

course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an 

overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and 

attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State 

requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been 

met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school. Effective 

2/17/2023, students must complete their hours Tuesday through Friday. Absolutely no completions on 

Saturday’s. Special schedule accommodations can be made. Effective 07/27/2023, students must pass 

an additional final comprehensive written examination with at least an 80% during their final week of 

school. 

 

Licensing Requirements 

Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Cosmetology license 

will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and 

graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam. 

The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the 

student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the 

student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of 

California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test until 

the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.  

 

Applicants take the exam at PSI Licensure: Certification location throughout California. All fees and 

transportation are the responsibility of the student. Additional costs for Exam and License are $125.00 

paid directly to the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. If a reexam is needed, the cost is 

$75.00.  

 

Job Opportunities 

The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail 

artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing, 

trade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product 

manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and 

fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon 

manager. 

 

BARBER CROSSOVER COURSE: 200 CLOCK HOURS (7 WEEKS/30 hours per week or 10 WEEKS/20 hours per 

week) (SOC #39-5011.00 CIP #12.0402) 

Educational Goals: 

The Barber Crossover course of study is designed to assist the students in passing the Board of Barbering 

and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is requisite to obtain a Barbering License. The 

license is a requirement to operate as a barber in the State of California.  

 

 



51 

 

Curriculum for Barber Crossover Course from Cosmetology Course – 200 Clock Hours 

The curriculum for students enrolled in a barbering course shall consist of two hundred (200) clock hours 

of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of barbering. 

Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or 

examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a complete service 

on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained. See “Applied Effort” 

 

Grading System 

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 

measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  SAP/Report 

Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is 

derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations.  Students must maintain a “C” (70%) 

academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) attendance 

average to maintain satisfactory progress. 

 

The requirements listed below are the State Minimum Requirements: 

Subject 
State Minimum 

Requirements 

Shaving and Trimming of the Beard 
Preparing the Client’s Hair for Shaving, Assessing the Condition of the Clients Skin, 

Performing Shaving Techniques, Applying Aftershave Antiseptic following Facial 

Services, Massaging the Face and Rolling Cream Massages 

200 

TOTAL CLOCK HOURS 200 

 

Barbering Performance Objective 

1) Acquire knowledge of law and rules regulating California’s barbering establishments’ practices. 

2) Acquire knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails. 

3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to barbering including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, 

and theory. 

4) Acquire business management techniques common to barbering. 

 

Skills to be developed 

1) Learn the proper use of implements relative to all barbering services. 

2) Acquire knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and hands prior to all services to determine any 

disorders. 

3) Will learn the procedures and terminology used in all barbering services. 

4) Will learn the proper procedure for preparing the client’s hair for shaving.  

5) Will learn the proper procedure assessing the condition of the client’s skin 

6) Will learn the application to perform shaving techniques, applying after-shave antiseptic following 

facial services, massaging the client’s face and rolling cream massages. 

 

Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed 

1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to barbering. 

2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers. 

3) Have improved personality towards patrons and colleagues. 

Course Levels 

Foundation   1 week/30 hours 

    Includes shaving and mens grooming  

 

Student Clinic Classroom 5 weeks/170 hours 

Final Test    
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It is at the discretion of the instructor/director to move students up or hold them back when there has 

been more than 18hrs of absences. 

 

Methods used to instruct Students 

Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands 

on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white board. 

 

Makeup Exams: 

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be 

scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege – not a right! Students should 

be in attendance on examination days.  

 

Textbooks: 

Pivot Point Fundamentals: Barbering Taper, Cuts, and Fades ISBN: 978-1-948482-56-1 

Pivot Point Fundamentals: Barbering Taper, Cuts, and Fades ISBN: 978-1-948482-59-2  

 

Students borrow textbooks from the College but have the option to purchase.  

 

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion 

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable 

course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an 

overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and 

attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State 

requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been 

met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school. Effective 

2/17/2023, students must complete their hours Tuesday through Friday. Absolutely no completions on 

Saturday’s. Special schedule accommodations can be made. Effective 07/27/2023, students must pass 

an additional final comprehensive written examination with at least an 80% during their final week of 

school. 

 

Licensing Requirements 

Barber Crossover applications will take the full barber license test. Students are transferring hours from 

their Cosmetology Course to the Barbering Course.  

 

Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Cosmetology license 

will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and 

graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam. 

The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the 

student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the 

student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of 

California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test until 

the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.  

 

Applicants take the exam at PSI Licensure: Certification location throughout California. All fees and 

transportation are the responsibility of the student. Additional costs for Exam and License are $125.00 

paid directly to the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. If a reexam is needed, the cost is 

$75.00.  

 

Job Opportunities 

The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail 

artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing, 
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trade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product 

manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and 

fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon 

manager. 

 

COURSE COSTS  

Addendum #6. A supplemental handout will be provided to each student upon request. 

Students have the option to purchase their student kit and books independently or through the College. 

This is added as an addendum to their Enrollment Agreement and initialed and signed by the student. 

NACOB and ABCOT reserves the right to change the tuition and fees of all courses and make subject 

changes without prior notice when necessary. No change will affect the currently attending students.  

 

METHOD OF PAYMENT 

Method of Payment: Cash, Credit Card (4.2% Fee), Sponsor/Funding Source, Check, Student Loan 

 

NON PAYMENT OF OUTSTANDING BALANCES 

Any non-payment of outstanding balances that go more than ninety (90) days past due will be assigned 

to a collection agency. 

 

ACCIDENT INSURANCE POLICY 

Students are advised to carry school insurance through their own insurance agent to cover personal 

accidents that occur on the premises within their scheduled training time during enrollment. Students are 

advised to carry vehicle insurance for theft vandalism, or loss that will cover their property or vehicle 

while on school property. 

 

SUPPLEMENTAL TRAINING 

1. Applicants seeking supplemental training must submit to the school the Supplemental Form given 

to them by the California State Board. 

2. The College Director of Education will review, then determine the hours that the applicant will 

need to complete. 

3. The charge for the supplemental training is $25.00 per hour. 

4. Payment for these hours will be paid in advance-terms is cash, credit card, or ATM. No personal 

checks will be accepted. 

5. NO REFUNDS 

6. Applicant to provide their own equipment and supplies. 

7. No Baby Board Tests are given within their supplemental hours. 

8. No make-up hours will be accepted. 

9. The schedule provided by the school will be followed. 

10. Uniform will be the lab coat needed for State Board testing.  Applicant to follow existing uniform 

policy of the school. 

 

INSTITUTIONAL REFUND POLICY 

The REFUND POLICY can also be found within the Enrollment Agreement. All Enrolled Students will receive 

a copy of the Enrollment Agreement. 

 

This refund policy applies to all terminations for any reason, by either party, including student 

decision/termination, course or program cancellation, or school closure. 
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STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL 

1. You have the right to cancel your agreement for a program of instruction, without any penalty or 

obligations, through attendance at the first-class session or the seventh calendar day after 

enrollment, whichever is later.   

2. If the Enrollment Agreement is cancelled within the 7 days from signing the Enrollment Agreement, 

the school will refund 100 percent of the amount paid for institutional charges, less a reasonable 

deposit or an application fee not to exceed $250.00, if the notice of cancellation is made through 

attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later.  

3. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time; and you 

have the right to receive a pro rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less of the 

scheduled program.    

4. Cancellation may occur when the student provides a written notice of cancellation at the following 

address:  North Adrian’s College of Beauty 124 Floyd Ave Modesto, CA 95350 or Adrians Beauty 

College of Tracy 3000 W. Grantline Road Tracy, CA 95304.  This can be done by mail or by hand 

delivery. 

5. The written notice of cancellation, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly 

addressed with proper postage. If a student fails to notify the College in writing, the student will 

automatically be withdrawn after 14 days of non-attendance. 

6. The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form and, however expressed, it is 

effective if it shows that the student no longer wishes to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement.   

7.  A withdrawal may be effectuated by the student’s written notice or by the student’s conduct, 

including, but not necessarily limited, to a student’s lack of attendance. 

REMEMBER THAT YOU MUST CANCEL IN WRITING.  You do not have the right to cancel by telephone or by 

not coming to class. 

 

WITHDRAWAL FROM THE PROGRAM/INSTITUTIONAL REFUND POLICY 

You may withdraw from the school at any time after the cancellation period (described above) and 

receive a pro rata refund within 45 days of withdrawal if you have completed 60 percent or less of the 

period of attendance, based on scheduled hours.  The refund will be less an application fee or deposit not 

to exceed $250.00, and less any deduction for books and equipment that the student has received and 

signed for. If the student has completed more than 60% of the period of attendance for which the student 

was charged, the tuition is considered earned and the student will receive no refund. Books and Kit are 

non-refundable. 

 

For the purpose of determining a refund under this section, a student shall be deemed to have withdrawn 

from a program of instruction when any of the following occurs: 

 

• The student notifies the institution in writing of the withdrawal.  

• The student has failed to attend class for fourteen (14) calendar days without any contact from the 

student 

• The institution terminates the student’s enrollment for failure to maintain satisfactory academic 

progress; failure to abide by the rules and regulations of the institution; absences in excess of maximum 

set forth by the institution; and/or failure to meet financial obligations to the School. 

• Failure to return from a leave of absence.  The date of the student’s withdrawal shall be the earlier of 

the scheduled date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the institution 

that the student will not be returning.  

• SPECIAL CIRCUMSTANCE WAIVER: The College will perform an institutional refund calculation for all 

students. Based on the institutional refund policy, a student who has completed 60% or more of their 

contracted time will have all tuition and fees considered earned (no refund due). Upon written request 

or at the discretion of the School Director, the College may charge a student who has exceeded 60% 

contracted hours, only hours scheduled plus any non-refundable fees.    
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All refunds are calculated based on the student’s last date of attendance. 

 

For students who enroll and begin classes but withdraw prior to course completion (after seven business 

days of signing the enrollment agreement), the following schedule of tuition earned by the school applies.   

All refunds are based on scheduled hours: 

 

 

Percent of Scheduled Time Enrolled to Total Program Total Tuition School Shall Retain 

0.01% to 60% 
Prorated based on percentage of 

scheduled attendance 

60% and over 100% earned 

 

The amount owed equals the daily charge for the program (total institutional charge, minus nonrefundable 

fees, divided by the number of hours in the program) multiplied by the number of hours the student was 

scheduled to attend, prior to withdrawal.  

 

If any portion of the tuition was paid from the proceeds of a loan or third party, the refund shall be sent to 

the lender, third party or, if appropriate, to the state or federal agency that guaranteed or reinsured the 

loan.  Any amount of the refund in excess of the unpaid balance of the loan shall be first used to repay 

any student financial aid programs from which the student received benefits, in proportion to the amount 

of benefits received, and any remaining amount shall be paid to the student.   

The school will issue an Official Transcript and Proof of Training to student’s who withdraw prior to 

program completion when the student has successfully completed the required exit paperwork and 

made satisfactory arrangements for debts owed the school as approved by the school.  

In the event of a course/program cancellation or school closure a student will be charged for scheduled 

hours and any applicable non-refundable items or fees. 

 

FEDERAL RETURN OF TITLE IV FUNDS POLICY (revised 09/28/2022) 

The law requires that when you withdraw during a payment period, the amount of SFA program 

assistance that you have earned up to that point is determined by a specific formula.  If you received (or 

the school received on your behalf) less assistance that the amount you earned, you will be able to 

receive those additional funds.  If you received more assistance than you earned, the excess funds must 

be returned.  For the purpose of determining the amount you owe, you shall be deemed to have 

withdrawn from the course when any of the following occurs: a. You notify the school of your withdrawal 

or the actual date of withdrawal; b. the school terminates your enrollment; c. You fail to attend classes 

for 14 days without any contact with the school; d. You fail to return from a leave of absence.  In this 

case, the date of withdrawal shall be deemed to be the last date of recorded attendance.  

 

The school is required to perform a “Return to Title IV” (R2T4) calculation to determine the amount of 

financial aid a student has earned during the payment period.  The return amount is calculated by 

dividing the scheduled hours that the student could have attended by the total hours in the payment 

period.  

 

The Order that Title IV program funds must be returned: 

 1. Unsubsidized Direct Loans 

 2. Subsidized Direct Loans 

 3. Direct PLUS Loans 

 4. Federal Pell Grants 

 5. FSEOG 
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The refund will be performed as soon as possible but no later than 45 days after determining the student 

has withdrawn. Title IV Funds returned by the student: If the institution is not required to return all of the 

excess Title IV funds, the student may be required to return the remaining amount. This is determined by 

subtracting the amount returned by the school from the total amount of unearned Title IV funds to be 

returned.  

 

How earned aid is calculated: 

The school determines the clock hours completed in the payment period and divides those hours by 

total clock hours in the payment period.  If the percentage is greater than 60%, the student has earned 

100% of his/her and no Title IV aid received is returned to the Federal program.  However, if the 

percentage is equal to 60% or less, the school is required to calculate the amount the student earned in 

the payment period.  For example, let’s assume a student is scheduled to complete 225 hours out of the 

450 hours in the payment period.  In this scenario, the school will divide 225 clock hours scheduled to 

complete by 450 hours in the payment period resulting in a 50%.  The school then multiplies 50% against 

the amount of Federal Aid the student received to calculate the amount the student earned.  Samples 

of Refunds based on the College’s Refund Policy and the return to Title IV Policy are available upon 

request by contacting the Financial Aid office during regular business hours. 

 

After a return of Title IV aid is performed, a student may still owe a balance to the school. 

 

CREDIT BALANCES: (revised 09/28/2022) 

If a credit balance still exists on a student’s account after the Return to Title IV calculation is completed, 

the credit balance will be used to pay any grant overpayment that exists based on the current 

withdrawal or any remaining institutional charges. Any remaining credit balance will be paid to the 

student within 45 days of the date that the Return to Title IV calculation was performed.  

 

POST-WITHDRAWAL DISBURSEMENTS (revised 09/28/2022) 

Post Withdrawal Disbursements: If a student did not receive all of the Title IV funds earned, a student may 

be due a post-withdrawal disbursement If the post withdrawal disbursement includes Direct Loan funds, 

the school must obtain the student’s or parent’s (in the case of PLUS Loans) permission before it can 

disburse the Direct Loan funds A student or parent may choose to decline some or all of the Direct 

Loan funds, so the student or parent do not incur additional debt The school may automatically use all or 

a portion of a post-withdrawal disbursement of grant funds for institutional charges The school needs to 

obtain permission from the student to apply Title IV funds for other educationally related expenses Post-

withdrawal disbursements will be made from Pell Grant funds first if the student is eligible If there are 

current educational costs still due the school at the time of withdrawal, a Pell Grant post-withdrawal 

disbursement will be created to the student’s account Any remaining Pell funds will be released to the 

student without the student having to take any action Any Direct Loan funds due in a post-withdrawal 

disbursement must be offered to the student or parent and the school must receive the student’s 

authorization before crediting their account Regulations for post-withdrawal disbursements state that 

grants must be disbursed within 45 days and loans must be offered to the student within 30 days, allowing 

the student at least 14 days to respond to accept or decline the funds 

 

For students who are required to return Title IV aid in addition to the portion of aid the school is required 

to return, there is a 50% protection allowance on unearned Title IV student grants only Loans would need 

to be repaid in full. 

 

TUITION AND FEE POLICIES 

All tuition and fees are due upon enrollment.  
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ADDITIONAL INCIDENTAL COSTS FOR ALL COURSES 

Binders, pens, pencils, note paper, uniforms, products for student practice, sanitary containers, 

examination fee for the State examination, rental kit fee for the State examination are all incidental costs 

for all of the courses at the college. These items must be purchased by the student either at the college 

or paid for outside of the college. Should a student use the ATM card, a use fee of 4% will be added per 

transaction. If a credit card is used to pay a tuition payment, four percent will be charged on the 

payment made by credit card. 

TUITION FEE FOR RE-ENROLLED / TRANSFER STUDENTS 

The hourly tuition charges for transfer or re-enrolled students who have prior hours are charged the 

current hourly rate per course at the time the enrollment agreement is signed. 

 

EXTRA INSTRUCTIONAL CHARGES  

Each course has been scheduled for completion within an allotted time frame. This time frame is your 

scheduled graduation date on your enrollment agreement. There is no grace period for completion of 

your program. It is not realistic to expect to receive an education for free. The school has reserved 

space, equipment, and licensed instructors for each student and course. If a student does not graduate 

within the contract period, additional training will be billed at the rate as stated on your enrollment 

agreement, until graduation. Extra instructional charges or satisfactory payment arrangements must be 

made prior to the completion of all graduation requirements and receiving your Proof of Training and 

Diploma.  

 

FINANCIAL AID - CONSUMER INFORMATION 

Due to various approvals, authorization, and accreditation, Institution’s students are eligible to apply for 

and receive tuition aid and financial assistance while attending our college.  A list of these programs 

includes: 

 1.  Federal Pell Grant 

 2.  Subsidized Federal Direct Loan 

 3.  Unsubsidized Federal Direct Loan 

 4.  Direct PLUS Loan 

 5.  Private Alternative Loan 

 

If you wish to apply for financial aid assistance, you must establish financial aid eligibility each year.  In 

order to determine if you are eligible for financial aid, you must complete the application process, meet 

academic progress standards, and be enrolled full time. 

 

Financial assistance awarded through NACOB and ABCOT, may consist of a combination of grants, 

loans, and scholarships.  NACOB and ABCOT Participates with state, federal and private agencies in 

providing various aid programs. 

 

Federal Pell Grant Program- this grant is an important source of aid for students who demonstrate 

financial need.  It is dependent upon determination of eligibility, enrollment status, cost of 

attendance and a payment schedule issued by the U.S. Department of Education.  A grant does 

not have to be repaid.   

  

Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant - each year the college makes a limited 

number of awards to students through the Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant 

program.  These funds are targeted to those students who have the lowest calculated family 

contribution.   

 

Federal Direct Loans Subsidized - students requiring additional assistance may wish to apply for a 

federal loan.  Repayment begins six months after the student leaves the college.  Students not 
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qualifying for a Subsidized Federal Direct Loan may apply for an Unsubsidized Federal Direct 

Loan.  There is no pre-payment penalty with this loan. 

 

Federal Direct Loans Unsubsidized - Independent students may also borrow in the Federal 

Unsubsidized program and choose to begin interest payments while in school and principal 

payments six (6) months after graduation. 

 

Direct PLUS - through the Federal Parent Loan for Undergraduate Students Program, the parents 

of dependent students may borrow to meet educational expenses.  Repayment of this loan 

begins sixty (60) days after the first disbursement. 

 

Private Alternative Loans - loans are private, credit-based student loans for technical training or 

trade schools, online courses, and other continuing education programs.  To be eligible you must 

be a U.S. Citizen or permanent resident and have an established credit history.  Loan has interest 

rates and fees that regard good credit.  Repayment terms of up to 15 years are available.  If you 

have less than ideal credit or no credit at all, you can still be eligible for the loan by applying with 

a creditworthy cosigner. 

 

 Bureau of Indian Affairs Grant (BIA) - Available to help eligible Native American students who: 

o Have at least one fourth Native American, Eskimo, or Aleutian heritages as certified by 

tribal agencies served by the Bureau of Indian Affairs. 

o Are enrolled or plan to enroll as an undergraduate student on a full-time basis. 

BIA grants are not automatically awarded.  It is important that students apply early to meet 

deadlines set by area offices. 

 

GENERAL FINANCIAL AID INFORMATION 

Full-time Financial Aid Officers/Aids are available to assist you in obtaining the financial assistance 

required to meet your educational needs.  You may apply for financial aid by contacting the Financial 

Aid office to discuss the process and timelines to apply for aid and completing the Free Application for 

Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). 

 

The FAFSA helps determine the amount of assistance for which you are eligible.  This analysis considers 

factors such as income, assets, number of family members in your household, and the number of your 

family members enrolled in college. 

 

When to apply:  

You should apply for financial aid as soon as you decide to enroll at NACOB and ABCOT.  

Your Financial Aid Officer/Aid will assist you with the forms needed to begin the 

application process.  You should have a complete financial aid file to ensure timely 

receipt of financial aid funds.  A complete financial aid file consists of NACOB and ABCOT 

receipt of a student’s FAFSA data from the Department of Education, a completed loan 

entrance interview (if required), and submission of verification items (if required). 

 

You must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), Renewal FAFSA 

or FAFSA online at https://fafsa.ed.gov.  Prior to applying you must establish an FSA ID by 

going onto the website; https://fsaid.ed.gov.  If you are considered to be a dependent 

student, the Parent must also establish an FSA Id.  If you need assistance with either of the 

above items please make an appointment with the Financial Aid office.  
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WHAT HAPPENS NEXT? 

Once you have submitted the FAFSA or FOTW, you will be sent a Student Aid Report (SAR 

or e-SAR).  The SAR or e-SAR should be checked for accuracy.  Contact the school 

immediately if you think corrections are needed.  Once the SAR or e-SAR has been 

determined to be complete, a financial aid award letter will be given to you which will 

state the student need (the cost of your education), family contribution, amount of grants 

awarded, and the amount of loans needed.  If you are chosen for verification or have a 

C code, you must complete the verification process within the first payment period. An 

interim Pell Disbursement can be made prior to completion of verification, however no 

Direct Loans will be disbursed until verification has been completed. Any funds that you 

are not eligible for due to a verification correction will be returned to the appropriate Title 

IV Program. Students who do not complete verification by the required deadline will have 

all Title IV funds disbursed returned to the appropriate program. This could result in loss of 

some Financial Aid Eligibility. To receive Subsidized, Unsubsidized, or PLUS loan funds, an 

Entrance Counseling and Master Promissory Note (MPN) must be completed online at 

https://studentaid.gov.  

 

Funds are then disbursed by the Administrative office and a receipt will be given.  Award and loan funds 

are typically disbursed after 30 days for the first-year students and within two weeks for second year 

students. 

 

Upon graduation you will have an exit interview which will cover the schedules of repayment, terms of 

repayment, as well as loan exit counseling. 

 

COMPLIANCE STATEMENT 

The Federal Privacy Act of 1974 requires that students be notified that the disclosure of their social 

security number is mandatory. The social security number is used to verify students’ identities, to process 

the awarding of funds, the collection of funds, and the tracing of individuals who have borrowed funds 

from federal, state or private programs. 

 

FINANCIAL AID PHILOSOPHY 

This college believes that the talents, hopes, and ambitions of all people are among our nation’s most 

valued possession.  With this thought in mind, this college continues to promote scholarship, grant and 

loan opportunities for qualified, deserving students who must find funds to attend college.  The 

fundamental purpose of this college’s financial aid programs is, therefore, to make it possible for students 

who would normally be deprived of a college education because of inadequate funds, to attend 

college.  The following principles have been adopted for our financial aid program. 

 

PRINCIPLES  

1. This college will work with schools, community groups, and other educational institutions in 

support of the national goal of equality of educational opportunities. 

2. The expected family contributions affect the student’s cost of education. This school expects 

parents to contribute financially, according to their means, taking into account, their incomes, 

assets, number of dependents, and other relevant information.  Students are also expected to 

contribute from their own earnings and assets, including borrowing against future earnings. 

3. Financial aid will be offered after determining whether the family’s resources are insufficient to 

meet the student’s educational expenses.  The amount of aid offered will not exceed the 

amount needed to meet the difference between the student’s total educational expenses and 

the family’s resources. 

https://studentaid.gov/
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4. In awarding funds to eligible students, the amount and the type of self-help will be related to the 

circumstances of the individual and the largess amount of grant assistance will be offered to 

students with the least ability to pay. 

 

FINANCIAL AID MECHANISM 

Financial aid is a mechanism that reduces out of pocket costs those students and/or parents must pay to 

obtain a specific post-Secondary education. Presented differently, financial aid is money made 

available to help students meet the cost of college attendance. Financial aid includes grants, loans, or 

part time work. Grants do not have to be repaid. Loans usually have low interest rates and must be 

repaid in accordance with the individual loan program terms. Most of the loans can be arranged to 

require payment after a grace period of several months upon graduation, or upon the student’s 

termination from the program or if a student’s attendance falls below half time. Financial aid is awarded 

to students who have “need.”  Need is the difference between the amount of money that the family will 

be expected to contribute to meet student costs and the cost of education at this school. 

 

STUDENT ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS 

• To be eligible for financial aid, a student must: 

• Be admitted as a regular student. 

• Be enrolled or accepted for enrollment in an eligible program on at least a half time basis. 

• Be a citizen or an eligible non-citizen 

• Not owe a refund on a Pell Grant or SEOG at any school 

• Not be in default on a Perkins Loan or Stafford Loan / SLSL/ PLUS at any school. 

• Have financial need. 

• Be making satisfactory progress (as defined by the school’s policy) in the course of study. 

• Be registered for selective service (if a male born after January 1, 1960). 

• Have signed a statement of educational purpose. 

• Have signed a statement of updated information. 

• Have a high school diploma, a GED, completion of a home-schooling secondary program. 

• Agree to use any federal student aid received solely for educational purposes. 

 

THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS 

NACOB and ABCOT are approved for, and does participate in the following programs intended to 

defray the costs of attending for those students eligible for financial aid considerations; 

• Federal Pell Grant Program (PELL) 

• Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant Program (FSEOG) 

• Direct Federal Educational Loan Programs 

 

APPLICATION PROCEDURES AND FORMS 

Financial aid applications for this institution consist of the following: 

 

STUDENT QUESTIONNAIRE 

• Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). This form needs to be completed as instructed 

on the form. Documentation to substantiate the data entered on the form may be required by 

the Financial Aid Office. 

• Enrollment contract. 

• Statement of Educational purpose. 

• Statement regarding prior financial aid. Neither defaulted loans, nor refunds due are outstanding. 

• Statement of Registration compliance. 

• Statement of Utilization of funds and disbursement procedures. 

• Verification process if selected by the Federal Student Aid Commission includes documentation 

regarding income, assets, and status. 
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UNSUBSIDIZED DIRECT LOANS & DIRECT PARENT PLUS 

These loans expand the ability of students to receive loan funds. These loans carry many of the same 

terms and conditions associated with subsidized loans with the following two exceptions: 

1. Unsubsidized Direct loans are not based on need. Students may borrow up to $25,000, not to 

exceed annual loan limits. 

2. There are no interest subsidies by the Federal Government on the loans, therefore while the 

student is enrolled or during periods of deferment, interest must either be paid or capitalized. I.e. 

added to the principle balance. 

3. Student will pay interest based on credit reliability and co-signers credit reliability. Students may 

apply for and receive more than one unsubsidized direct loan provided the combined amount 

borrowed does not exceed applicable loan limits.  

*Unsubsidized Direct Loans are need based up to $6000, Direct Parent PLUS loans are need based up to 

remaining need.  

 

If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to 

repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student 

received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the monies not paid 

from the federal student financial aid program funds. 

 

DEADLINES:  FAFSA deadline for the academic year is June 30th of each year. 

 

DISBURSEMENT: Lenders issued checks payable to the student only or co-payable to the college and the 

student.  It is the student’s responsibility to submit all forms and documentation to the 

financial aid office in accordance with the deadlines applicable to each loan program 

from which aid is being requested.  It is the student’s responsibility to comply with all 

obligations involved in the receipt of federal and/or state aid. For more information about 

these programs, including application procedures, eligibility, rights and obligations 

pertaining to each program, please refer to the U.S.D.O.E. Student Guide. Loans are 

certified for institutional charges only. 

 

FEDERAL SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANT (SEOG) 

Funds received under this program are not subject to repayment by the student. 

 

DEADLINE: You may apply during the enrollment process, using the college’s forms and procedures.  

Each school sets it own deadlines for receiving applications; however, since the government limits these 

funds, the school awards them on a first come, first served basis. The school will provide you a letter listing 

the amount and types of financial aid you will get, including the SEOG award. 

 

DISBURSEMENT: On the basis of per payment period via a check payable to the student or via a direct 

credit to the student’s tuition account.  Priority for SEOG funds will be given to those students with the 

lowest expected family contribution who will receive Pell Grants. Because of this institution’s policy of 

year-round enrollment, funds will be allocated on a first come, first served basis for those individuals 

meeting these criteria.  Professional judgment may be used for certain exceptions based on extenuating 

circumstances with appropriate documentation. Please refer to FSEOG selection criteria. 

For additional information on each of the Federal Financial Aid programs described above, review, “The 

Student Guide” published by the United States Department of Education. This publication is available at 

the college and at public libraries. 

 

DETERMINING NEED 

The information you report when you apply for aid is used in a formula, established by Congress, which 

calculates your Expected Family Contribution. NACOB and ABCOT utilizes the Free Application for 
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Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) for students applying for aid. This form will be processed by a contractor of 

the U.S. Department of education at no cost to the student. The results will be provided in the form of an 

Electronic Student Aid Report with the calculation of the Expected Family Contribution. 

 

DEFINITIONS 

The following terminology corresponds with common terms used within financial aid definitions. 

 

ACADEMIC YEAR 

30 scheduled weeks of instructional time with a minimum of 900 scheduled clock hours of instruction for a 

full-time student.  The midpoint of the academic year shall be a minimum of 15 weeks and at least 450 

clock hours. In effect, all students enrolled in courses with an academic year schedule to be completed 

in less than 30 weeks, regardless of the number of clock hours offered, would have aid eligibility reduced 

in proportion to the number of weeks and hours in the course of study in relation to the academic year. 

 

CLOCK HOUR 

50 to 60 minutes of supervised instruction during a 60-minute period. 

 

DEPENDENT STUDENT: 

A dependent student is an individual that does not meet the independent student criteria. This student is 

required to submit with their application, student, spouse (if applicable), and parents’ income and assets 

data. 

 

FAMILY CONTRIBUTION (EFC) 

The amount that has been calculated as family contribution to offset the student cost of attendance. 

 

FINANCIAL AID ELIGIBILITY / CITIZEN / Eligible NON-CITIZEN: 

You must be one of the following to receive Federal Student Aid: 

• U.S. Citizen 

• U.S. National 

• U.S. Permanent resident who has an I-151 or I-551 (Alien Registration Receipt Card) 

• Departure Record (I-94) from the US Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) showing one of 

the following designations: 

a) Refugee 

b) Asylum Granted 

c) Indefinite parole and/or Humanitarian Parole 

d) Cuban - Haitian entrant, status pending 

e) Conditional Entrant (valid only if issued before April 1980) 

f) An approval form I-797 

g) I-688 with valid expiration date. 

 

IF YOU ARE IN THE US UNDER ONE OF THE FOLLOWING CONDITIONS, YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR FEDERAL 

AID: 

• F1 or F2 student visa 

• J1 or J2 exchange visitor visa only 

• I-688 a, I-688 b, or I-688 c (Amnesty Applicant) 

 

INDEPENDENT STUDENT: 

An individual who meets one of the following criteria: 

1.) Meets Federal Age requirement 

2.) An orphan or ward of the court 

3.) A Veteran of the U.S. Armed forces 
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4.) An individual with legal dependents other than a spouse. 

5.) A married individual 

6.) A graduate or professional student. 

  

PARENT(S): For the purposes of the financial aid programs, “parent” is mother and/or father or 

adoptive/step parents or legal guardian, not foster parents. 

 

PAYMENT PERIOD: 450 hours and a minimum of 15 weeks for courses of 900 hours or more. Midpoint of the 

program for courses of less than 900 hours and 30 weeks. 

 

NEED: Financial need is the amount left over after subtracting the expected family contribution from your 

cost of attendance. 

 

RECOVERIES 

Recoveries resulting on funds paid to students for personal expenses which exceed the amount needed 

(based on the months attended times the monthly budget allowance) will be due from the student to 

the Title IV Programs. Students will be required to pay for recoveries to the program in this prescribed 

order, First FEDERAL PELL GRANTS and Second to FEDERAL SEOG Grants. 

 

REFUNDS 

In a case where a refund is due to the Title IV Programs, the application of the refund will be made as 

follows: Direct, PLUS, FPELL, and FSEOG. This order will be applied providing the student received funds 

from that program and in amounts not to exceed the amounts originally paid from each program. 

Refund due to the lender or the aid programs account will be made within 45 days. When a student 

requests a transfer to another school, NACOB or ABCOT may charge a reasonable fee, not to exceed 

$25.00 for preparation of academic and financial documentation requested by the student. 

 

TRANSFER STUDENT 

A student who attended a post-secondary institution prior to the enrollment at NACOB or ABCOT, is 

required to provide a Financial Aid transcript from each of the institutions attended if requested on the 

student’s ISIR. The institution utilizes USDOE’s ED Express Software for processing of financial aid, and the 

NSLDS system, this allows us to check a student’s attendance so that less overpayment situations occur. 

 

VERIFICATION PROCESS 

Federal regulations 34 C.F.R. Part 668, Subpart E, dated March 14, 1986, executing legislation 20 U.S.C. 

1094 governing the Title IV programs require schools to be sure of certain applicant reported data. These 

regulations require schools to develop written policies and procedures for verification.  The school is 

required to make these policies available to all applicants for financial aid, as well as prospective 

students upon request.  This procedure is part of the Admissions and Counseling process.  To follow the 

regulations and achieve consistency governing this process, the following verification policies apply to all 

applicants for Title IV programs. Under the regulations, the school will not disburse Pell or Campus based 

aid until verification is completed.  

 

WHO MUST BE VERIFIED: 

The policy of this school shall be to verify those students selected by the need analysis (SAR or ISIR) system 

for verification. In the absence of conflicting documentation, applicants excluded from verification 

include: 

• Legal Residents of the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, Guan, Samoa, and the Marianna 

islands. This includes dependent students whose parents are also legal residents of one of these 

islands. 
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• Dependent students whose parents are residing in a country other than the United States. This 

applies to other than the United States and only if the student cannot contact the parents by 

normal means. 

• Dependent students whose parents are dead or are physically or mentally ill, or whose parents 

address is unknown. 

• Immigrants who arrived in the United States during either the calendar year or Award Year. 

• Those submitted for an Award Year if the applicant dies during the Award Year. 

• Those submitted for an Award year if the applicant is imprisoned at the time of verification. 

• Those submitted when the applicant does not receive financial assistance for reasons other than 

their failure to confirm information on the application. 

• Other exclusions, on a documented individual case basis, at the discretion of the financial aid 

officer. An applicant need not document spouse information or provide a spouse’s signature if: 

a. The spouse is residing in another country and the student cannot contact the spouse 

by normal means of communication. 

b. The student cannot locate the spouse because their address is unknown. 

c. The spouse is dead, or mentally or physically ill. 

 

VERIFICATION ITEMS: 

Examine the data items listed in 34 C.F.R. 668.56. Different data items apply to different applicants 

depending upon student dependency status and the Title IV programs used.  Data items include. 

• Adjusted gross income (AGI) or adjusted gross family income (AFGI) for the base year. 

• U.S. income tax paid for the base year. 

• Total number of family members in the household, if that number is greater than two dependent 

students and one for independent students. 

• The number of family members in the household now enrolled as at least half-time students in 

postsecondary educational institutions. 

• The factors relating to an applicant’s independent student status. 

• Untaxed income and benefits for the base year including: 

o Social Security benefits 

o Child Support, if the student has information regarding child support or has reason to 

believe the student received support. 

o Income tax deduction for a payment made to an Individual Retirement Account or 

Keogh account. 

The following other untaxed income and benefits: 

o Untaxed dividends and capital gains. 

o Foreign income omission, if the school has information regarding the omission or has 

reason to believe the student omitted foreign income. 

o Earned income credit.  

 

The school shall resolve inconsistent, application information for all applicants, in agreement with 

requirements of 34 C.F.R. Part 688.16(f). 

   

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED: 

To confirm adjusted gross income (AGI/AGFI), and income tax paid, applicants shall provide the 

appropriate income tax transcripts (IRS 1040, 1040A, or 1040EX) of the applicant, applicant’s spouse, 

and/or applicant’s parents. The student must provide a signed copy of the income tax transcript. For 

non-tax filers, the school’s financial aid officer will request appropriate documentation. For all students 

selected for verification, a verification worksheet is to be filled out and signed by all appropriate parties. 

This worksheet will confirm the number of household members, number of household members in 

college, and verification of income source. 
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APPLICANT’S RESPONSIBILITIES: 

To be eligible to receive Title IV funds, applicants are required to provide requested information during 

the time period(s) specified in these policies.  Applicants must certify that the following items are correct 

as listed on the original application: or, if not correct, they must update the data items, as of the date of 

verification. 

• Number of family members in the household. 

• Number of family members in the household now enrolled as at least half-time students on 

Postsecondary educational institutions. 

• Change in dependency status. Pell Grant applicants whose dependency status changes during 

the Award year must file a correction application.  This process does not apply if the change 

occurs due to marriage.  Campus based applicants whose dependency status changes during 

the Award Year must have their EFC recalculated. This process does not apply if the change 

occurs due to marriage, the applicant must repay any over award, or any award, discovered 

during verification, for which  the student was not eligible. 

 

CONSEQUENCES OF FAILURE TO PROVIDE DOCUMENTATION WITHIN THE SPECIFIED TIME PERIOD(S): 

If the student cannot provide all required documentation, the school cannot complete the verification 

process by the mid-point.  The school must then advise applicants that they are not eligible for financial 

aid funds.  The school then gives the applicants the following options: 

• The student may continue training on a cash payment basis, to be arranged through a new 

contract. 

• The student may withdraw and re-enroll but must pay withdrawal fees and enrollment fees. There 

will be no loss of credit earned when the student provides all proof, and verification is complete. 

The student may be accepted at the level of training in which they were withdrawn depending 

on classroom space. 

• The applicant must repay any over award or any award for which the student was not eligible as 

discovered during the verification process. 

 

TOLERANCES: 

For the Pell SAR, with an original EFC (Expected Family Contribution) of zero, the school shall use the zero 

EFC Charts to determine whether the applicant must resubmit their SAR because of a change in 

information. The student must make appropriate corrections on Part 2 of the SAR. A new EFC is 

computed when required as a result of comments on the SAR, and/or as a result of data item changes.  

This occurs regardless of the absolute error amount. 

 

For the Campus based programs, the school shall recalculate an applicant’s EFC if: 

• There are any errors in non-dollar items used to calculate the EFC, and/or; 

• There is an absolute dollar error of $100. 

 

NOTIFICATION OF RESULTS OF VERIFICATION: 

The school shall notify the applicant of additional information or documentation needed for verification. 

This occurs through contact with the financial aid officer or by mailing to the applicant’s resident address 

the Verification Follow Up Form. This form indicates additional items needed. The school shall notify the 

applicant of any change in the originally computed Pell Grant award.  The student shall sign and date 

the SAR certified for payment.   

The school shall notify the applicant when they complete verification by: 

• Obtaining the student’s signature and date on the SAR certified for payment. 

• Providing the student a receipt for any Campus based funds credited to their tuition account. 
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REFERRAL PROCEDURE: 

The school shall forward to the Secretary of Education, the name, social security number, and other 

information, on any applicant receiving funds.  The school reports on possibly incorrect information after 

they make a reasonable effort to resolve the discrepancy.  Under implementation of the regulation, the 

school shall refer to appropriate authorities the name, social security number, and other information 

about the applicant to satisfy 34 C.F.R. 668.1.4(g). 

 

STUDENTS RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

The student has the right to ask the school: 

• The name of its accrediting and licensing organizations. 

• About its programs; it’s instructional, laboratory, and their physical facilities; and its faculty. 

• What the cost of attending is and the policy on refunds to students who drop out. 

• What financial assistance is available; including information on all federal, state, local, private 

and institutional financial aid programs. 

• What the procedures and deadlines are for submitting application for each available financial 

aid program. 

• How it selects financial aid recipients. 

• How it determines financial need. 

• How much of your financial need, as determined by the school, has been met. 

• To explain each type and amount of assistance in your financial aid package. 

• What the interest rate is on any student loan you have, the total amount you must repay, when 

you must start repaying, and what cancellation or dormant (postponement) provisions apply. 

• To reconsider your aid package, if you believe a mistake has been made, or if your enrollment or 

financial circumstances have changed. 

• How the school determines whether you are making satisfactory progress and what happens if 

you are not. 

• What special facilities and services are available to the handicapped. 

 

It is the student’s responsibility to: 

• Review and consider all the information about the school program before enrolling. 

• Pay special attention to the application for student financial aid, complete it accurately, and 

submit it on time to the right place.  Errors can delay or prevent your receiving aid.  

• Know and comply with all deadlines for applying and reapplying for aid. 

• Provide all documentation, corrections, and/or new information requested by either the financial 

aid officer or the agency to which you submitted the application. 

• Notify the school of any information that has changed since you applied. 

• Read, understand, and keep copies of all forms you were asked to sign. 

• Repay any student loan.  When you sign a promissory note, you agree to repay your loan. 

• Request an exit interview at the time you are leaving the school to determine the net balance of 

your account with the school as well as the net balance of any student loan. 

• Notify the school of a change in your name, address, phone number, or attendance status 

(full/part time student). If you have student loans, you must notify your lender of these changes. 

• Understand your school’s refund policy. 

• Understand and comply with the enrollment status, financial charges, financial terms, time 

allowed to complete, refund policy and termination procedures as specified in the enrollment 

contract you will be asked to sign. 

• Understand that it is your responsibility and your liability when errors are made and funds for which 

you are not eligible or are advanced to you or credited to your school account. 
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State Tuition Recovery Fund Disclosure  

The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate 

economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a 

California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the 

institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you 

must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a 

student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, 

and prepay all or part of your tuition. 

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if 

you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.” 

(b) In addition to the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall 

include the following statement in its school catalog: 

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or 

any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may 

be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747 North Market Blvd., Suite 225, 

Sacramento, California, 95834, (916) 574-8900 or (888) 370-7589. 

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or enrolled in a residency program, prepaid 

tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of 

any of the following: 

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was 

closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the 

Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau. 

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the 

closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within 

the 120 day period before the program was discontinued. 

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the 

closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution 

as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program 

more than 120 days before closure. 

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so. 

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as 

required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition 

and other costs. 

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, 

based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been 

unable to collect the award from the institution. 

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and 

have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans. 
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To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of 

the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. 

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollection may, 

at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been 

eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the 

student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) 

year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law. 

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer 

identification number.” 

Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Sections 94923, 

94924 and 94925, Education Code. 
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NOTIFICATION OF RIGHTS UNDER FERPA FOR POSTSECONDARY INSTITUTIONS 

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) afford eligible students certain rights with respect 

to their education records.  (An “eligible student” under FERPA is a student who is 18 years of age or 

older or who attends a postsecondary institution.)  These rights include: 

 

1. The right to inspect and review the student's education records within 45 days after the day the [Name 

of postsecondary institution (“School”)] receives a request for access.  A student should submit to the 

registrar, dean, head of the academic department, or other appropriate official, a written request that 

identifies the record(s) the student wishes to inspect.  The school official will make arrangements for 

access and notify the student of the time and place where the records may be inspected.  If the records 

are not maintained by the school official to whom the request was submitted, that official shall advise 

the student of the correct official to whom the request should be addressed. 

 

2. The right to request the amendment of the student’s education records that the student believes is 

inaccurate, misleading, or otherwise in violation of the student’s privacy rights under FERPA. 

A student who wishes to ask the school to amend a record should write the school official 

responsible for the record, clearly identify the part of the record the student wants changed, 

and specify why it should be changed. 

If the school decides not to amend the record as requested, the school will notify the student 

in writing of the decision and the student’s right to a hearing regarding the request for 

amendment.  Additional information regarding the hearing procedures will be provided to 

the student when notified of the right to a hearing. 

3. The right to provide written consent before the university discloses personally identifiable information (PII) 

from the student's education records, except to the extent that FERPA authorizes disclosure without con-

sent.  

The school discloses education records without a student’s prior written consent under the 

FERPA exception for disclosure to school officials with legitimate educational interests.  A 

school official is a person employed by the [School] in an administrative, supervisory, 

academic, research, or support staff position (including law enforcement unit personnel and 

health staff); a person serving on the board of trustees; or a student serving on an official 

committee, such as a disciplinary or grievance committee.  A school official also may include 

a volunteer or contractor outside of the [School] who performs an institutional service of 

function for which the school would otherwise use its own employees and who is under the 

direct control of the school with respect to the use and maintenance of PII from education 

records, such as an attorney, auditor, or collection agent or a student volunteering to assist 

another school official in performing his or her tasks.  A school official has a legitimate 

educational interest if the official needs to review an education record in order to fulfill his or 

her professional responsibilities for the [School]. 

[Optional] Upon request, the school also discloses education records without consent to offi-

cials of another school in which a student seeks or intends to enroll. [NOTE TO 

POSTSECONDARY INSTITUTION:  FERPA requires a school to make a reasonable attempt to 

notify each student of these disclosures unless the school states in its annual notification that it 

intends to forward records on request.] 

4. The right to file a complaint with the U.S. Department of Education concerning alleged failures by the 

[School] to comply with the requirements of FERPA.  The name and address of the Office that administers 

FERPA is: 

Family Policy Compliance Office 

U.S. Department of Education 
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400 Maryland Avenue, SW 

Washington, DC  20202 

FERPA permits the disclosure of PII from students’ education records, without consent of the student, if the 

disclosure meets certain conditions found in §99.31 of the FERPA regulations.  Except for disclosures to 

school officials, disclosures related to some judicial orders or lawfully issued subpoenas, disclosures of 

directory information, and disclosures to the student, §99.32 of FERPA regulations requires the institution to 

record the disclosure.  Eligible students have a right to inspect and review the record of disclosures.  A 

postsecondary institution may disclose PII from the education records without obtaining prior written 

consent of the student – 

• To other school officials, including teachers, within the [School] whom the school has determined to have 

legitimate educational interests.  This includes contractors, consultants, volunteers, or other parties to 

whom the school has outsourced institutional services or functions, provided that the conditions listed in 

§99.31(a)(1)(i)(B)(1) - (a)(1)(i)(B)(2) are met. (§99.31(a)(1)) 

• To officials of another school where the student seeks or intends to enroll, or where the student is already 

enrolled if the disclosure is for purposes related to the student’s enrollment or transfer, subject to the 

requirements of §99.34.  (§99.31(a)(2))  

• To authorized representatives of the U. S. Comptroller General, the U. S. Attorney General, the U.S. 

Secretary of Education, or State and local educational authorities, such as a State postsecondary 

authority that is responsible for supervising the university’s State-supported education 

programs.  Disclosures under this provision may be made, subject to the requirements of §99.35, in 

connection with an audit or evaluation of Federal- or State-supported education programs, or for the 

enforcement of or compliance with Federal legal requirements that relate to those programs.  These 

entities may make further disclosures of PII to outside entities that are designated by them as their 

authorized representatives to conduct any audit, evaluation, or enforcement or compliance activity on 

their behalf.  (§§99.31(a)(3) and 99.35) 

• In connection with financial aid for which the student has applied or which the student has received, if 

the information is necessary to determine eligibility for the aid, determine the amount of the aid, 

determine the conditions of the aid, or enforce the terms and conditions of the aid.  (§99.31(a)(4)) 

• To organizations conducting studies for, or on behalf of, the school, in order to: (a) develop, validate, or 

administer predictive tests; (b) administer student aid programs; or (c) improve instruction.  (§99.31(a)(6)) 

• To accrediting organizations to carry out their accrediting functions.  ((§99.31(a)(7)) 

• To parents or guardians of dependent minors of an eligible student if the student is a dependent for IRS 

tax purposes.  (§99.31(a)(8)) 

• To comply with a judicial order or lawfully issued subpoena.  (§99.31(a)(9)) 

• To appropriate officials in connection with a health or safety emergency, subject to 

§99.36.  (§99.31(a)(10)) 

• Information the school has designated as “directory information” under §99.37.  (§99.31(a)(11)) 

• To a victim of an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence or a non-forcible sex offense, subject to the 

requirements of §99.39.  The disclosure may only include the final results of the disciplinary proceeding 

with respect to that alleged crime or offense, regardless of the finding.  (§99.31(a)(13)) 

• To the general public, the final results of a disciplinary proceeding, subject to the requirements of §99.39, 

if the school determines the student is an alleged perpetrator of a crime of violence or non-forcible sex 

offense and the student has committed a violation of the school’s rules or policies with respect to the 

allegation made against him or her. (§99.31(a)(14)) 

• To parents of a student regarding the student’s violation of any Federal, State, or local law, or of any rule 

or policy of the school, governing the use or possession of alcohol or a controlled substance if the school 

determines the student committed a disciplinary violation and the student is under the age of 21. 

(§99.31(a)(15)) 
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North Adrian’s College of Beauty 

NACOB and ABCOT of Tracy 

 

POLICY FOR SAFEGUARDING CUSTOMER INFORMATION 

 

Definitions: 

Customers are prospective students and students who apply to attend the colleges above and apply for 

private or government grants or loans to finance their education. 

 

Nonpublic personal information is information which is not publicly available on 

• Your name, address, and social security number. 

• Name of your financial institution, account number 

• Information provided on you application to enroll in the colleges above 

• Information provided on your application for a grant or loan 

• Information provided on a consumer report 

• Information obtained from a website 

  

North Adrian’s College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty College of Tracy are committed to implementing a 

comprehensive information security program, consonant with the size and complexity of these institutions 

and the nature of its educational activities, to maintain and safeguard your nonpublic personal 

information against damage or loss.  The policy covers all student records in whatever format (hard 

copy, electronic). 

 

The Director shall be responsible to coordinate the school’s information security program.  The 

coordinator shall, at least once every three years, assess foreseeable internal and external risks to the 

security, confidentiality, and integrity of customer information that could result in the unauthorized 

disclosure, misuse, alteration, destruction or other compromise of the information.  The risk assessment 

shall cover every relevant area of school operation, including: 

 

• Employee training and management 

• Network and software design, information processing, storage, transmission and disposal 

• Ways to detect, prevent, and respond to attacks, intrusions or other system failures 

  

The coordinator shall design and implement safeguards to control identified risks and shall monitor the 

effectiveness of them, recommending changes when warranted. 

Records for prospective students who are not accepted or who do not enroll in either of the colleges 

shall be held for three months, and then destroyed in a secure manner.  Records of students shall be 

maintained in accordance with federal and state law and accreditation requirements. 

 

Students shall receive an initial notice of this policy at the time they submit a signed application for 

enrollment.  All currently enrolled students shall receive an annual notice on January 3 of each year by 

posting throughout the college and on the colleges’ website. 

 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty College of Tracy shall only enter into servicing 

agreements with service providers who also maintain appropriate safeguards for customers’ nonpublic 

personal information. 

 

 

 

 

 



72 

 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty 

NACOB and ABCOT of Tracy 

 

NOTICE ON DISCLOSURE OF NONPUBLIC PERSONAL INFORMATION 

 

We collect nonpublic personal information about you when you apply to attend our colleges and/or 

when you apply for a private or government grant or loan. This information includes: 

• Your name 

• Address 

• Social security number 

• Assets and income 

• Name of your bank and account number 

 

 We do not disclose this information to any person or institution except to the United States 

Department of Education, loan guarantee agencies, and/or loan servicing agencies.  We may also 

disclose nonpublic personal information about you to non-affiliated third parties as permitted by law.  For 

example, accrediting agencies have access to any records we maintain on you pursuant to the Federal 

Family Educational and Privacy Rights Act. 

 

 Your applications, containing the nonpublic personal information listed above, are maintained 

and safeguarded against loss or damage.  Access to them is restricted to designated employees. 

 

 You may “opt out” of disclosure of this information to parties other than those with a right to it by 

signing and returning the attached coupon. 

 

=================================================================================== 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty 

NACOB and ABCOT of Tracy 

 

Consumer Nonpublic personal Information “Opt Out” Coupon 

 

I hereby “opt out” of having my nonpublic personal information disclosed to any party that does not 

have a right to it. 

 

Signature _______________________________________________ Date ______________________ 

 

Print name ______________________________________________ 
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CAMPUS CRIME SECURITY REPORT 

See Addendum #3 

 

STUDENT PERFORMANCE RATES  

See Addendum #4. A Supplemental handout is given to each student prior to enrollment. 

 

CERTIFICATION STATEMENT 

This catalog and the contract shall be an agreement by the college and the student. 

 

I certify that the information and policies contained in this Consumer Guide and Catalog are true in 

content and policy. This college enforces such policies pertaining to the standards of progress and rules 

and regulations set forth by the college. 

 

Rebecca Abinales 

Director 

 

Revised: July 27, 2023  

Calendar Year: 2023/2024 
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Addendum #1 Added 11/24/2014 

 

DISCRIMINATION GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE 

 

This process is intended for any student who believes that he or she has been discriminated against by 

any member of the College community to file a complaint and have that complaint resolved by the 

College.  In accordance with the institution's mission statement, the school will make every attempt to 

resolve any student complaint that is not frivolous or without merit. These procedures are available in the 

College’s Catalog and Consumer Guide.  Students should read these procedures to familiarize 

themselves with the steps to follow should they want to file a complaint.  

 

How to file a Complaint 

 

A student who believes that he or she has experienced or witnessed discrimination should promptly 

report such incidents to their Educator.  Students should complete the Discrimination Grievance Form 

(“Complaint”) and submit it to the school Director at the student’s campus.  If a Complaint is submitted 

in another written format, such as a letter, the College may ask the student to complete the form but a 

complaint will not be rejected because a form was not used.  All complaints must be filed no later than 

90 calendar days after the event giving rise to the incident.  The time period for filing a Complaint may 

be extended for good cause as determined by the school Director.   A copy of the Complaint form can 

be found in the Financial Aid Office at each campus.  A student may choose to participate in an 

Informal Process, or a Formal Process, described below. 

 

1. Handling of a Complaint 

 

1.1 After a Complaint is received, the Title IX Coordinator will either assign him or herself the role of 

Investigator, or select an impartial faculty or staff member or third party investigator who has received 

training in conducting an investigation and the laws regarding discrimination (the “Investigator”).  In no 

event will the Investigator be a person who is alleged to have engaged in the complained of behavior 

(the “Accused”), a person who reports to a person who is the Accused, is a relative of the Accused, or 

otherwise has an actual or perceived conflict of interest in the process. 

 

2. Optional Informal Process 

 

Within two school days of receiving the Complaint, the Investigator shall notify the student who filed the 

Complaint (the Complainant) of the option to participate in an optional informal resolution process.  The 

Complainant is not required to participate in this process or meet directly with the Accused.  This is an 

optional process that the Complainant may terminate at any time.  During this optional process, the 

Complainant and the Accused, along with the Title IX Coordinator or the Campus Student Affairs 

Representative will attempt to resolve the dispute.  The details of the Optional Informal Resolution Process 

will be kept confidential by all parties involved.  The Optional Informal Process will last no longer than 10 

calendar days from the date of the Complaint, regardless of whether the matter is unresolved at the end 

of the 10th calendar day, after which it will be referred for the Formal Process. 

 

If a resolution is reached in the Optional Informal Process, the details of the resolution will be 

memorialized in an Optional Informal Resolution Agreement that will be signed by the School Director 

and the Complainant.  The matter shall be considered closed and the Complainant is precluded from 

filing a new complaint or an appeal concerning the same incident, except where the terms of the 

resolution are violated or have been ineffective in stopping the discrimination. 
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Evidence of final resolution of all Complaints will be retained in College files in order to determine the 

frequency, nature, and patterns of complaints for the institution. 

 

If the Complainant chooses to participate in this Optional Informal Process, the investigation into the 

complaint will be suspended until the completion of the Optional Informal Process, or the Complainant 

terminates the Informal Resolution Process.  If NACOB and ABCOT determines during the Optional 

Informal Process that discrimination has occurred, it will take all appropriate steps to prevent the 

recurrence of the discrimination and to correct the effects on the complainants and others, if 

appropriate.  

 

When informal dispute resolution is unsuccessful or not possible, a Complaint will be processed using the 

Formal Process.   

 

3. Formal Process 

 

3.1  Investigation into Complaint. 

The college will provide an adequate, reliable, and impartial investigation of complaints, including an 

equal opportunity to present witnesses and other relevant evidence.  In all cases, the individual who 

plays a role in receiving, investigating, or otherwise processing of student complaints of discrimination will 

not have any actual or perceived conflict of interest in the process.  An investigation into a Complaint 

will commence within five school days from receiving the complaint, unless Section 2 above is 

applicable or the student withdraws the Complaint. 

 

The Investigator will investigate the Complaint and document his or her efforts and findings.  The 

investigation shall include, but not be limited to, review of records, notes, or statements related to the 

complaint; interviewing witnesses; interviewing the Complainant; and interviewing the Accused.  At no 

time will the Complainant and the Accused be interviewed together. 

 

The investigation must be completed within 30 calendar days after receiving a Complaint or within 30 

days from the date of the referral from the Informal Process.  This time period maybe extended by the 

school Director upon a showing of good cause that additional time is necessary to conduct a fair 

investigation.  However, it is the College’s policy to make reasonable efforts to complete the 

investigation within the 30-calendar-day time period.  If an extension is needed, the school Director will 

notify the Complainant and Accused in writing of the extension and the reason for the extension. 

 

3.2 Written Report. 

Within 10 calendar days after the completion of an investigation, the Investigator will provide a written 

report of the investigation to the school Director.  The written report will include a summary of the 

allegations, a description of the investigation, a description of the relevant information gathered, a 

determination of whether or not the incidents alleged occurred and the specific evidence to support this 

determination, and whether such incidents constitute discrimination.  In determining whether or not the 

incidents alleged occurred, the Investigator may take into account the following: 

 

 a. The statements made by the parties and all witnesses; 

 b. The details and consistency of each person’s account; 

c. Evidence of how the Accused reacted to the incident and the Complaint;  

d. The credibility of the evidence presented; 

e. Evidence of any past instances of unlawful discrimination, harassment, or retaliation or 

other misconduct; and 

f. Any other information the Investigator finds as relevant. 
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The decision of whether the incident(s) that occurred constitute prohibited discrimination must be 

supported by a preponderance of the evidence.  A preponderance of the evidence means that the 

evidence presented shows that one result is more likely than not to be true.   

 

3.3 Response to Complaint 

Within seven calendar days after receiving the report from the Investigator, the school Director must 

determine a response to the Complaint.  In reaching a decision as to how to respond, the school 

Director may take into consideration the following: 

 

 a. The report and recommendation of the Investigator; 

 b. The effect of the misconduct on the Complainant; 

 c. The type, frequency, and duration of the misconduct; 

 d. The relationship between the Complainant and Accused; 

 e. The number of people engaged in the alleged conduct;  

 f. The context of the alleged conduct;  

 g. Other incidents of alleged misconduct by the Accused; 

h. Advice of legal counsel or other professionals;  

i. Whether an Optional Informal Resolution Agreement was violated; and 

 j. Any other information the office Director deems as relevant. 

 

The decision of whether or not discrimination occurred must be supported by a preponderance of the 

evidence.  If the school Director determines that discrimination, the school Director will take all 

appropriate steps to prevent the recurrence of the discrimination and to correct the effects on the 

complainant and others, if appropriate. 

 

Within eight calendar days after receiving the report from the Investigator, the school Director will 

provide a written notice to the Complainant (Complainant Notice) concerning the outcome of the 

investigation.  The Complainant Notice shall state that an investigation was performed, the outcome of 

the investigation, and any remedies provided to the Complainant.  In order to maintain privacy rights, 

the school Director is not required to disclose every detail about the nature of any corrective action 

taken against the Accused.  However, for complaints of discrimination, the Complainant Notice will 

include the consequences imposed on the Accused that relate directly to the subject of the complaint, 

such as requiring that the Accused stay away from the Complainant, prohibiting the Accused from 

attending school for a period of time, or transferring the Accused to other classes or another school. 

 

The Complainant Notice shall advise the Complainant that if he or she continues to experience or 

witness discrimination, he or she should immediately report such incidents to the Investigator. 

 

If the outcome of the investigation is that there was no discrimination, the Complainant Notice will also 

include the Complainant’s right to appeal the decision of the school Director within 15 calendar days of 

the date of the Complainant Notice.  The Complainant Notice will include the procedures for initiating 

such an appeal.   

 

Within eight calendar days after receiving the report from the Investigator, the school Director will send a 

separate notice of the outcome to the Accused (Accused Notice).  The Accused Notice shall state the 

outcome of the investigation, whether the allegations were substantiated and what, if any, corrective 

action will be taken to prevent recurrence of any discrimination and to correct its effects.  The Accused 

will have the opportunity to appeal any finding that he or she engaged in discrimination by filing an 

appeal within 15 calendar days of the date of the Accused Notice.  The Accused Notice will include the 

procedures for initiating such an appeal. 
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Should no request for an appeal be initiated within the time to appeal, the decision of the school 

Director will be final and binding. 

 

4. Appeal Process 

To appeal a decision of the school Director, the appealing party must provide written notice (“Notice of 

Appeal”) to the College President of his or her intent to appeal within 15 calendar days of the date of 

the Complainant or Accused Notice.  The Notice of Appeal must include the specific reasons for the 

appeal and any evidence the appealing party would like considered as part of the appeal.  Within 

three school days of receiving the Notice of Appeal, the College President will provide notice to the non-

appealing party of the appeal and the basis for the appeal.  The non-appealing party will have 15 

calendar days to respond to the statements in the appeal. 

 

The appeal process will be limited to determining (1) whether the decision as to a finding or no finding of 

discrimination was supported by a preponderance of evidence; (2) whether the findings of the 

Investigator as to whether or not the incidents occurred are supported by a preponderance of the 

evidence; and (3) whether the investigation was conducted in a fair and impartial manner. 

 

The appeal will be decided by the College President.  The College President will receive and review the 

Notice of Appeal, a copy of the investigation notes, the report by the investigator, and the Complainant 

and Accused Notices.  After the review, the College President will render a decision.   

 

The written appeal decision by the College President shall include a summary of the issues raised on 

appeal, a summary of the evidence considered, a decision as to the appeal, what evidence supports 

the decision, and what additional remedies, if any, are necessary.  The College President will provide a 

written appeal decision of its findings to the Complainant, the Accused, and the school Director within 

50 calendar days of receipt of the Notice of Appeal. 

 

The decision of the College President is final and will conclude the complaint process. 
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Addendum # 2 Faculty List Updated July 27, 2023 

NORTH ADRIAN’S COLLEGE OF BEAUTY ADMINISTRATION 

Ownership: North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Inc.  

School Director: Rebecca Abinales 

Financial Aid Director: Rebecca Abinales 

Financial Aid Officer: Donovan Kim 

Compliance Officer: Donovan Kim 

Career Advisor: Patricia Abinales 

Registrar: Chris Fore 

Support Staff: Megan Sawyer, Cheyenne Brown 

 

Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetics, and Manicuring Educators 

 

Rebecca Abinales, Cosmetology Educator – Full Time 

Licensed Cosmetologist 

Adrian’s Scenic Beauty College, Cosmetology Certificate 

Cosmetology License # KK145228 

 

UC Berkeley, Designated Subjects Teaching Credential 

Document # 170221184 

Ms. Becky is the School Director, Financial Aid Director, and Educator at North Adrian’s College of 

Beauty.  

 

Chris Fore, Cosmetology Educator – Full Time   

Licensed Cosmetologist 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate  

Cosmetology License # KK6952 

Ms. Chris is the Registrar and Educator at North Adrian’s College of Beauty 

 

Linda Sandoval, Cosmetology Educator – Full Time  

Licensed Cosmetologist 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate 

Cosmetology License #KK9298 

Ms. Linda is a Day Program Cosmetology Educator.  

 

Connie Armenta, Barbering Educator – Full Time  

Licensed Barber 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Barbering Certificate 

Barbering License # B96752 

 

Licensed Cosmetologist 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate 

Cosmetology License # KK109995 

 

Connie Armenta (cont) 

Licensed Esthetician 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Esthetician Certificate 

Esthetician License # ZZ22205 

Ms. Connie is the Day Program Barbering Educator. 
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Suelaine Spangler, Cosmetology Educator – Full Time 

Licensed Cosmetologist 

Delta Beauty College, Cosmetology Certificate 

Cosmetology License # KK405231 

Ms. Sue is the Night Program Salon Floor Educator  

 

Jazmin Murillo, Cosmetology, Cosmetology Educator – Full Time 

Licensed Cosmetologist  

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate 

Cosmetology License #KK628808 

 

Martina Torres, Cosmetology, Manicuring Educator – Part Time 

Licensed Cosmetologist 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate 

Cosmetology License #KK601712 

Ms. Martina is a part time Cosmetology and Manicuring educator.  

 

Sheena Oback, Cosmetology, Cosmetology Educator – Part Time 

Licensed Cosmetologist 

Dior School of Cosmetology, Cosmetology Certificate 

Cosmetology License #KK459261 

 

Licensed Esthetician 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Esthetician Certificate 

Esthetician License # ZZ147902 

Ms. Sheena is a part time Cosmetology educator. 

 

Silvia Muro, Cosmetology, Esthetician Assistant Educator – Part Time 

Licensed Esthetician 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Esthetician Certificate 

Cosmetology License #ZZ150997 

 

Patricia Abinales, Cosmetology Educator – Part Time 

Licensed Cosmetologist 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Cosmetology, Barbering, Esthetician Certificate 

Cosmetology License # KK617682 

Ms. Trish is a career advisor and part time floor educator.  
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Adrians Beauty College of Tracy  

 
Ownership: North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Inc.  

School Director: Rebecca Abinales 

Financial Aid Director: Rebecca Abinales 

Associate Director: Jennifer Campbell 

Financial Aid Officer: Donovan Kim, Jennifer Campbell  

Compliance Officer: Donovan Kim 

Career Advisor: Paula Tavares 

Registrar: Chris Fore 

Support Staff: Angelica Rodriguez  

 

Jennifer Campbell, Cosmetology/Barbering Educator – Full Time  

Licensed Barber 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Barbering Certificate 

Barbering License # B97407 

 

Licensed Cosmetologist 

Trend Setters School of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate 

Cosmetology License #KK483727 

Ms. Jennifer is the Associate Director for the campus as well as the Barbering Educator.  

 

April Heredia, Cosmetology/Esthetician Educator – Part Time 

Licensed Cosmetology 

Adrians Beauty College of Tracy, Cosmetology Certificate 

Cosmetology License # KK616358 

Ms. April is the Esthetician Educator and helps with the clinic floor   

 

Nastassja Ortiz, Cosmetology Educator – Part Time 

Licensed Cosmetologist 

Adrians Beauty College of Tracy, Cosmetology Certificate 

Cosmetology License #KK551654 

Ms. Tasha is the Phase 1 educator.  

 

Angel (Hector) Rios, Cosmetology Educator – Part Time 

Licensed Cosmetologist 

North Adrian’s College of Beauty, Cosmetology Certificate 

Cosmetology License # KK502770 

Mr. Angel is a Cosmetology educator  
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Addendum #3 Updated 09/02/2022 

ANNUAL CAMPUS SECURITY REPORT 

FOR THE 2022/2023 CALENDAR YEAR-North Adrian’s College of Beauty 
This campus security report contains data for our college:  

North Adrian’s College of Beauty Located at 124 Floyd Ave Modesto, CA 95350 

 
NACOB and ABCOT is providing the following information in compliance with the proposed rules listed under section 

668.48 in the July 1, 1992 Federal Register. 
 

 
 

Criminal Offenses Reported 

2019 2020 2021 
On 

Campus 

Public 

Property 

On 

Campus 

Public 

Property 

On 

Campus 

Public 

Property 

Murder/Non-negligent Manslaughter 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Negligent Manslaughter 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Sex Offenses – Forcible 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Sex Offenses – Non‐forcible 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Robbery 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Aggravated Assault 0 0 0 1 0 0 

Burglary 1 0 1 0 0 0 

Motor Vehicle Theft 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Arson 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Domestic Violence 0 0 0 0

0 

0 0 

Dating Violence 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Stalking 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Arrests Reported  
Weapons Laws Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Drug Abuse Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Liquor Law Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Referred for Disciplinary Action  
Weapons Laws Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Drug Abuse Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Liquor Law Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

2019: No hate crimes reported       2020: No hate crimes reported         2021: No hate crimes reported 

 
The school has developed the information about your safety and well being.  As you can see from the data, the campuses have a 

relatively safe environment.  However, it is important that you exercise good judgment and take appropriate precautions to 

minimize your risk. 

In the event that a student or employee of our institution is witness to a criminal offense on or near our campus, the following 

procedure to report criminal actions or other emergencies that occur on campus are as follows. 

 

For Non-Emergency Crimes: 

1. Obtain from the floor supervisor. 

2. Complete form and return to the floor supervisor 

3. This form will be taken to the staff meeting and response will be returned to the victim with school’s recommendation. 

4. Any violator of a proven misdemeanor or felony on campus will be automatically expelled and/or reported to law 

enforcement. 

For Emergency Crimes: 

1. The nearest staff member will immediately call 911. 

2. The above non-emergency procedures will be followed providing the perpetrator is a student. 

 

There are no private security personnel at either campus, or are there any off campus student organizations.  It is the practice of 

the colleges to require each student to provide their own lock and the college provides a locker for all items of value.  Students are 

advised to lock their vehicles during any time. 
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ANNUAL CAMPUS SECURITY REPORT 

FOR THE 2022/2023 CALENDAR YEAR-TRACY 
This campus security report contains data for our college: Adrians Beauty College of Tracy Located at 3000 W 

Grantline Rd Tracy, CA 95304.  
NACOB and ABCOT is providing the following information in compliance with the proposed rules listed under section 668.48 in the 

July 1, 1992 Federal Register. 
 
 
 

Criminal Offenses Reported 

2019 2020 2021 
On 

Campus 

Public 

Property 

On 

Campus 

Public 

Property 

On 

Campus 

Public 

Property 

Murder/Non-negligent Manslaughter 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Negligent Manslaughter 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Sex Offenses – Forcible 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Sex Offenses – Non-Forcible 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Robbery 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Aggravated Assault 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Burglary 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Motor Vehicle Theft 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Arson 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Domestic Violence 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Dating Violence 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Stalking 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Arrests Reported  

Weapons Laws Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Drug Abuse Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Liquor Law V Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Referred for Disciplinary Actions  

Weapons Laws Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Drug Abuse Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

Liquor Law Violations 0 0 0 0 0 0 

2019: No hate crimes reported       2020: No hate crimes reported         2021: No hate crimes reported 
 

*Although regulations do not require use to disclose anything other than the above offenses, The college would like to inform all entering students that the vehicle break-ins are 

an on-going problem in the Grantline Avenue area.  Adrians Beauty College of Tracy is not responsible for lost or stolen items in the school or parking lot. 

 
The school has developed the information about your safety and well being.  As you can see from the data, the campuses have a 

relatively safe environment.  However, it is important that you exercise good judgment and take appropriate precautions to 

minimize your risk. 

 

In the event that a student or employee of our institution is witness to a criminal offense on or near our campus, the following 

procedure to report criminal actions or other emergencies that occur on campus are as follows. 

 

For Non-Emergency Crimes: 

5. Obtain from the floor supervisor. 

6. Complete form and return to the floor supervisor 

7. This form will be taken to the staff meeting and response will be returned to the victim with school’s recommendation. 

8. Any violator of a proven misdemeanor or felony on campus will be automatically expelled and/or reported to law 

enforcement. 

 

For Emergency Crimes: 

3. The nearest staff member will immediately call 911. 

4. The above non-emergency procedures will be followed providing the perpetrator is a student. 

There are no private security personnel at either campus, or are there any off campus student organizations.  It is the practice of 

the colleges to require each student to provide their own lock and the college provides a locker for all items of value.  Students are 

advised to lock their vehicles during any time. 
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VIOLENCE AGAINST WOMEN ACT  

This document has been designed to inform all students and employees of the Violence Against Women 

Act and outlines, North Adrian’s College of Beauty; Adrians Beauty College of Tracy’s commitment to the 

health and safety of its students and employees This annual disclosure document is done each year by 

contacting the local police department and the building management to compile the statistics used in 

the report. This document explains the school’s policy regarding crime prevention, public safety, and 

criminal reporting procedures. This document will be provided to all prospective students and staff and 

will be reviewed with all students during orientation and with staff at the time of hire. The school will also 

provide a yearly training  each year when the new statistics are available .The training promotes 

awareness and prevention of rape, acquaintance rape, domestic violence, dating violence, sexual 

assault, and stalking, as well as outlines options for reducing the risk of such occurrences, the warning 

signs of abusive behavior, and how to avoid potential attacks. The School’s Campus Security Officer is 

Patrick Campbell if you have any questions or concerns. 

 

Each year the school brings in a local law enforcement official and a representative from the local crisis 

center to review how to protect yourself against crime, how to be responsible for your own safety, and 

how to protect yourself against sexual assault. North Adrian’s College of Beauty and Adrians Beauty 

College of Tracy is committed to making your school a safe place. 
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Addendum # 4 Updated 11/30/2021 

 

Student Performance Rates  

 

A supplemental handout is provided to the student or located on the Colleges website.  
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Addendum #5 Updated 01/02/2023 

2023 Class Start Dates 

Cosmetology, 

Barbering 

Cosmetology, 

Barbering 

Continued 

Esthetics Manicuring 

Barber 

Crossover, 

Teacher Training 

1/3/2023 10/24/2023 1/10/2023 2/14/2023 

Classes are 

scheduled on a 

rotating bases 

and will be 

scheduled as 

needed.  

1/10/2023 10/31/2023 2/7/2023 4/25/2023 

1/17/2023 11/7/2023 3/7/2023 7/25/2023 

1/24/2023 11/14/2023 4/4/2023 10/10/2023 

1/31/2023 11/21/2023 5/2/2023   

2/7/2023 11/28/2023 6/6/2023   

2/14/2023 12/5/2023 7/18/2023   

2/21/2023 12/12/2023 8/15/2023   

2/28/2023 12/19/2023 9/19/2023     

3/7/2023   10/24/2023     

3/14/2023   11/28/2023     

3/21/2023      
3/28/2023   Note: The College reserves the right to cancel, modify, 

and/or change start dates as needed.  4/4/2023   

4/11/2023      
4/18/2023      
4/25/2023      
5/2/2023      
5/9/2023      

5/16/2023      
5/23/2023      
5/30/2023      
6/6/2023      

6/13/2023      
6/20/2023      
6/27/2023      
7/18/2023      
7/25/2023      
8/1/2023      
8/8/2023      

8/15/2023      
8/22/2023      
8/29/2023      
9/5/2023      

9/12/2023      
9/19/2023      
9/26/2023      
10/3/2023      

10/10/2023      
10/17/2023      
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Addendum # 6 Updated April 10, 2023 

North Adrian's College of Beauty  

Course Cost 
     

Cosmetology  Barbering 
1500 Clock Hours  1500 Clock Hours 

Tuition Hourly Rate $11.80  $     17,700.00   Tuition Hourly Rate $11.80  $     17,700.00  

Application Fee*  $          145.00   Application Fee*  $          145.00  

Kit and Tax*  $       1,273.84   Kit and Tax*  $       1,001.65  

Books and Tax*  $          597.72   Books and Tax*  $          597.72  

Subtotal  $     19,716.56   Subtotal  $     19,444.37  

STRF (see below)**  $            50.00   STRF (see below)**  $            47.50  

TOTAL  $     19,766.56   TOTAL  $     19,491.87  
     

Esthetics  Teacher Training 
600 Clock Hours  600 Clock Hours 

Tuition Hourly Rate $13.70  $       8,220.00   Tuition Hourly Rate $13.75  $       8,250.00  

Application Fee*  $          145.00   Application Fee*  $          145.00  

Kit and Tax*  $       1,306.50   Kit and Tax*  $                  -    

Books and Tax*  $          653.25   Books and Tax*  $                  -    

Subtotal  $     10,324.75   Subtotal  $       8,395.00  

STRF (see below)**  $            25.00   STRF (see below)**  $            20.00  

TOTAL  $     10,349.75   TOTAL  $       8,415.00  
     

Manicuring  Barber Crossover 
400 Clock Hours  200 Clock Hours 

Tuition Hourly Rate $10.50  $       4,200.00   Tuition Hourly Rate $13.50  $       2,700.00  

Application Fee*  $          145.00   Application Fee*  $          145.00  

Kit and Tax*  $          954.51   Kit and Tax*  $                  -    

Books and Tax*  $          596.64   Books and Tax*  $                  -    

Subtotal  $       5,896.15   Subtotal  $       2,845.00  

STRF (see below)**  $            15.00   STRF (see below)**  $              7.50  

TOTAL  $       5,911.15   TOTAL  $       2,852.50  
     
* Non-Refundable      Effective April 10, 2023     Catalog Supplemental Handout     Stanislaus County Tax Rate: 8.875% 

** Effective April 1, 2022 the Student Tutiion Recovery Fund (STRF) assessment has changed from fifty cents ($0.50) per one thousand dollars ($1,000) of 

institutional charges to two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) per one thousand dollars ($1,000) of institutional charges.  

Method of Payment: Cash/Money Order, Check, Credit Card (4.2% service fee applied), 3rd Party Lending Institutions, Financial Aid (If Qualified) 

Outside students (not an Adrian's graduate) and/or any other students requiring remedial hours or hours required by the Board of Barbering and 

Cosmetology are charged at a rate of $14.00 per hour plus registration fee and any materials or books required. 

Online access is available for 24 months from registration date. Additional access may be purchased at an additional cost.  

Should a student complete their course of study earlier than the estimated timeframe stated on page one of your enrollment agreement, your 

financial aid package may be recalculated and this may result in liabilities owed by the student and/or institution, if applicable. 

Each course has been scheduled for completion within an allotted time frame. This time frame is your scheduled graduation date on your enrollment 

agreement. There is no grace period for completion of your program. It is not realistic to expect to receive an education for free. The school has 

reserved space, equipment, and licensed instructors for each student and course. If a student does not graduate within the contract period, 

additional training will be billed at the rate as stated on your enrollment agreement, until graduation. Extra instructional charges or satisfactory 

payment arrangements must be made prior to the completion of all graduation requirements and receiving your Proof of Training and Diploma.  
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Adrians Beauty College of Tracy 

Course Cost 
     

Cosmetology  Barbering 
1500 Clock Hours  1500 Clock Hours 

Tuition Hourly Rate $11.80  $     17,700.00   Tuition Hourly Rate $11.80  $     17,700.00  

Application Fee*  $          145.00   Application Fee*  $          145.00  

Kit and Tax*  $       1,266.53   Kit and Tax*  $          995.90  

Books and Tax*  $          594.30   Books and Tax*  $          593.21  

Subtotal  $     19,705.83   Subtotal  $     19,434.11  

STRF (see below)**  $            50.00   STRF (see below)**  $            47.50  

TOTAL  $     19,755.83   TOTAL  $     19,481.61  
     

Esthetics  Teacher Training 
600 Clock Hours  600 Clock Hours 

Tuition Hourly Rate $13.70  $       8,220.00   Tuition Hourly Rate $13.75  $       8,250.00  

Application Fee*  $          145.00   Application Fee*  $          145.00  

Kit and Tax*  $       1,299.00   Kit and Tax*  $                  -    

Books and Tax*  $          649.50   Books and Tax*  $                  -    

Subtotal  $     10,313.50   Subtotal  $       8,395.00  

STRF (see below)**  $            25.00   STRF (see below)**  $            20.00  

TOTAL  $     10,338.50   TOTAL  $       8,415.00  
     

Manicuring  Barber Crossover 
400 Clock Hours  200 Clock Hours 

Tuition Hourly Rate $10.50  $       4,200.00   Tuition Hourly Rate $13.50  $       2,700.00  

Application Fee*  $          145.00   Application Fee*  $          145.00  

Kit and Tax*  $          949.03   Kit and Tax*  $                  -    

Books and Tax*  $          593.21   Books and Tax*  $                  -    

Subtotal  $       5,887.24   Subtotal  $       2,845.00  

STRF (see below)**  $            15.00   STRF (see below)**  $              7.50  

TOTAL  $       5,902.24   TOTAL  $       2,852.50  
     
* Non-Refundable      Effective April 10, 2023       Catalog Supplemental Handout      San Joaquin County Tax Rate: 8.25%  

** Effective April 1, 2022 the Student Tutiion Recovery Fund (STRF) assessment has changed from fifty cents ($0.50) per one thousand dollars ($1,000) of 

institutional charges to two dollars and fifty cents ($2.50) per one thousand dollars ($1,000) of institutional charges.  

Method of Payment: Cash/Money Order, Check, Credit Card (4.2% service fee applied), 3rd Party Lending Institutions, Financial Aid (If Qualified) 

Outside students (not an Adrian's graduate) and/or any other students requiring remedial hours or hours required by the Board of Barbering and 

Cosmetology are charged at a rate of $14.00 per hour plus registration fee and any materials or books required. 

Online access is available for 24 months from registration date. Additional access may be purchased at an additional cost.  

Should a student complete their course of study earlier than the estimated timeframe stated on page one of your enrollment agreement, your 

financial aid package may be recalculated and this may result in liabilities owed by the student and/or institution, if applicable. 

Each course has been scheduled for completion within an allotted time frame. This time frame is your scheduled graduation date on your enrollment 

agreement. There is no grace period for completion of your program. It is not realistic to expect to receive an education for free. The school has 

reserved space, equipment, and licensed instructors for each student and course. If a student does not graduate within the contract period, 

additional training will be billed at the rate as stated on your enrollment agreement, until graduation. Extra instructional charges or satisfactory 

payment arrangements must be made prior to the completion of all graduation requirements and receiving your Proof of Training and Diploma.  
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Addendum #7 Updated 8/1/2019 

Pending Payment Compliance 

Veterans Students Only 

In accordance with Title 38 US Code 3679 subsection (e), this school adopts the following additional 

provisions for any students using U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Post 9/11 G.I. Bill® (Ch. 33) or 

Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (Ch. 31) benefits, while payment to the institution is pending 

from the VA. This school will not: 

• Prevent the student's enrollment; 

• Assess a late penalty to; 

• Require student secure alternative or additional funding; 

• Deny their access to any resources (access to classes, libraries, or other institutional facilities) 

available to other students who have satisfied their tuition and fee bills to the institution. 

However, to qualify for this provision, such students may be required to: 

• Produce the Certificate of Eligibility by the first day of class; 

• Provide written request to be certified; 

• Provide additional information needed to properly certify the enrollment as described in other 

institutional policies. 
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Addendum #7 Updated April 10, 2023 

 

COSMETOLOGY COURSE: (1600 CLOCK HOURS) 

Educational Goals: 

The cosmetology course of study is designated to assist the student’s capability to pass the Board of 

Barbering and Cosmetology licensing examination. Passing the exam is requisite in order to obtain a 

Cosmetology License. The license is a requirement to operate as a cosmetologist in the State of 

California (SOC #39-5012.00, CIP #12.0401) 

 

Curriculum for Cosmetology Course - 1600 Clock Hours (54 weeks/30 hours per week or 80 weeks/20 

hours per week) 

The curriculum for students enrolled in a Cosmetology course shall consist of sixteen hundred (1,600) 

clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of 

cosmetology. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, classroom 

participation, or examination. Practical operation shall mean actual performance by the student of a 

complete service on another person or mannequin. Credit is given only if applied effort is maintained. 

See “Applied Effort”.  

 

Grading System 

Students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are 

measured on a standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade.  SAP/Report 

Cards are issued to the students at the time of their completion of each evaluation. Academic grade is 

derived from tests, homework, quizzes, and practical operations.  Students must maintain a “C” (70%) 

academic average to maintain satisfactory progress. Students must maintain a “C” (67%) attendance 

average to maintain satisfactory progress. 
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The requirements listed below are the State Minimum Requirements:  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cosmetology Performance Objective 

1) Acquire knowledge of law and rules regulating California’s cosmetology establishments’ 

practices. 

 2) Acquire knowledge of sanitation and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails. 

3) Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to cosmetology including anatomy, physiology, 

chemistry, and theory. 

 4) Acquire business management techniques common to cosmetology. 

 

Skills to be developed 

 1) Learn the proper use of implements relative to all cosmetology services. 

2) Acquire knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and hands prior to all services to determine 

any disorders. 

 3) Will learn the procedures and terminology used in all cosmetology services. 

4) Will learn the application of daytime and evening make-up including the application of false 

strip eyelashes. 

5) Will learn the proper procedure of manicuring to include water and oil manicure and 

pedicuring. 

 6) Will learn the application of brush-on nails, wraps, and nail tips. 

 

Subject 
State Minimum 

Requirements 

Health and Safety 
Hazardous Substances, Chemical Safety, Safety Data Sheets, Protection from 

Hazardous Chemicals, Preventing Chemical Injuries, Health and Safety Laws and 

Regulations, Preventing Communicable Diseases 

100 

Disinfection and Sanitation 
Disinfection Procedures to Protect the Health and Safety of Consumers as well as the 

Technician and Proper Disinfection Procedures for Equipment used in Establishments 

100 

Chemical Hair Services 
Coloring, Straightening, Waving, Bleaching, Hair Analysis, Predisposition and Strand 

Tests, Safety Precautions, Formula Mixing, and the Use of Dye Removers 

200 

Hairstyling  
Arranging, Blow Drying, Cleansing, Curling, Dressing, Hair Analysis, Shampooing, 

Saving, and Nonchemical Straightening, and Haircutting including the use of Shears, 

Razors, Electrical Clippers and Trimmers, and Thinning Shears, for wet and dry cutting  

200 

Skin Care 
Chemical and Manual Facials and Massaging, Stimulating, Exfoliating, Cleansing, or 

Beautifying the Face, Scalp, Neck or Body by the Use of Hands, Esthetic Devices, 

Cosmetic Products, Antiseptics, Lotions, Tonics, or Creams that do not result in the 

ablation or Destruction of the Live Tissue  

150 

Hair Removal and Lash & Brow Beautification 
Tinting and Perming Eyelashes and Brows, Applying Eyelashes to any Person and 

Includes Removing Superfluous Hair from the Body of any person by use of 

Depilatories, Tweezers, Sugaring, Nonprescription Chemicals, or Waxing, or by the 

Use of Devices and Appliances of any kind or description, except by the Use of 

Lasers or Light Waves, which are commonly known as rays 

50 

Manicure and Pedicure 
Water and Oil Manicures, Hand and Arm Massage, Foot and Ankle Massage, Nail 

Analysis, Artificial Nail Services including but not limited to, Acrylic, Liquid and 

Powder Brush-Ons, Dips, Tips, Wraps, and Repairs.  

100 

Additional Training 700 

Total Hours 1600 clock hours 
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Attitudes and Appreciations to be developed 

 1) Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology. 

 2) Possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers. 

 3) Have improved personality towards patrons and colleagues. 

 

 

Course Levels (as of 11/03/2021) 

Phase I-Foundation    8 weeks/240 hours (until basics and test out complete)  

 Basics and fundamentals of hair styling, facials, & nails 

 

Student Clinic Classroom 46 weeks/ 1360 hours 

 Clinic client and manikin work on skills from prior class  

 

School Final     Practical and Written Test 

 

OPTIONAL 4-WEEK ADVANCE CLASS Students have the option of attending a 4-week Advanced 

Class. This is optional. Additional kit supplies are required 

 

*The College reserves the right to modify or remove class schedules as needed.  

 

It is at the discretion of the instructor/director to move students up or hold them back when there has 

been more than 18hrs of absences If student is moved forward without work being completed 

Certificates for Pivot Point Modules will not be given. 

 

Methods used to instruct Students 

Various teaching methods are utilized by the teaching staff, they include lecture, demonstration, hands 

on application, overheads, visual aids, text books, audio visual aids, trade magazines, and white board. 

 

Makeup Exams: 

Make-up days for missed examinations will be the last Friday of each month. Anything else will be 

scheduled at the discretion of the instructor. Make-up exams are a privilege – not a right! Students should 

be in attendance on examination days.  

 

Textbooks: 

PivotPoint Fundamentals (FUNC) Textbook, Course Study Guide, Exam Prep Book. Online 

 

Students are provided access to Electronic Books after their cancellation period has ended and has 

access for 730 days after registration. This includes any absences, Leave of Absence, or any other 

disruption in your education.  

 

There is an added option of physical books until no longer available by PivotPoint.  

 

Graduation Documentation/Awarding of Diploma/Completion 

The student will awarded a Diploma of graduation and California Proof of Training for the applicable 

course when the student has successfully completed all required tests, practical assignments with an 

overall GPA of 70%; passed a final comprehensive written and practical examination with a 75%; and 

attendance overall average of 67%; completed the program of study according to all of the State 

requirements; completed all exit paperwork; completed an exit form, financial obligations have been 

met or have made satisfactory arrangements for payment of all debts owed to the school. Effective 

2/17/2023, students must complete their hours Tuesday thru Friday. Absolutely no completions on 

Saturday’s. Special schedule accommodations can be made. 
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Licensing Requirements 

Applicant must be 17 years of age or older and have completed the 10th grade. A Cosmetology license 

will be granted by the State of California only after the student has successfully completed and 

graduated from the cosmetology course described above and passed the Cosmetology Board Exam. 

The State of California will check for any felonious convictions and should there be any found on the 

student applicant, they will refer back to the court of jurisdiction for clearance and this will result in the 

student either being delayed to take the test or denied taking the state test. In addition, the State of 

California will check for any outstanding fines or child support and the student will be denied the test until 

the state receives proof of payment and clearance of fines and child support.  

 

Applicants take the exam at PSI Licensure: Certification location throughout California. All fees and 

transportation are the responsibility of the student. Additional costs for Exam and License are $125.00 

paid directly to the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. If a reexam is needed, the cost is 

$75.00.  

 

Job Opportunities 

The following career opportunities are opened to licensed cosmetologists: hairdresser, Esthetics, nail 

artist, colorist, makeup artist, perm specialist, artistic director, fashion show stylist, beauty care marketing, 

trade show director, image consultant, photo and movie stylist, beauty product designer, product 

manufacturer representative, educator, platform artist, beauty business consultant, cosmetic and 

fragrance designer, school instructor, salon owner, salon coordinator, salon franchisee, and salon 

manager.  


