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➢ Introduction / Membership / Certificates of Approval 
At American Beauty Academy we would like to introduce our students to the wonderful and exciting world of beauty, hair design and 

the special world of education offered by our cosmetology school. The world of beauty and hair is bigger than ever, and the need for 

creative and well-trained designers is becoming very necessary for true success. If this is your goal, then this may be the field for you. 

The beauty industry is the second largest industry in the US. UU. Conditions such as energy crunches and other material shortages are 

unlikely to affect this field. He is selling the skill of his hands, creativity, knowledge, and experience, as well as his own personality 

and goodwill. 

Your personal efforts bring immediate results. No one can take credit for their work and this gives them considerable freedom and 

independence. New fashions and methods rescue the professional from the boredom of routine work and cosmetology is always 

changing. 

Although cosmetology changes, beauty is always desirable. More than half of the population are women, all looking to look their best. 

Men also look for fashion after a decade of hair and dress regulation. There are as many well-paid and specialized positions in the 

industry for men as for women. 

The opportunities are excellent to work, serve and create, due to the size of the beauty and demand industry. 

MEMBERSHIP CERTIFICATION AND APPROVAL TO OPERATE GRANTED BY: 

State of California Department of Consumer Affairs  

Barbering and Cosmetology 

2535 Capitol Oaks Dr. #400 

P.O. Box 980818  

Sacramento, CA  

95798-0818 

American Beauty Academy is a private institution and is approved to operate by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. 

2535 Capitol Oaks Dr. # 400, Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 

Divulgation: This institution does NOT have a pending bankruptcy petition, is NOT operating as a debtor in possession and has NOT 

filed a petition within the procedure within five years, or has NOT filed a bankruptcy petition against it within the process within five 

years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code. 

➢ Disclosure Approval Statement 

AMERICAN BEAUTY ACADEMY, 558-560-570 Main St. Brawley, California 92227, received institutional approval from the 

Office of Postsecondary and Vocational Private Education in accordance with Section 94915 of the California Education Code. The 

approval of the Office meant that the institution and its operation had been found to follow the minimum standards of the state and did 

not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the state or the office. 

The approved courses are:  

Cosmetology:   1600 hours 

Esthetician:   600 hours 

Manicurist:   400 hours 

Barbering:   1500 hours 

Barber Cross Over:  200 hours 

The instruction is in residence with a level of occupation of the facility with capacity for 115 students at any time. 

The California statute requires that a student, who successfully completes a course of study, receive an appropriate diploma or 

certificate verifying that fact. 

Potential enrollees are required to visit the school's physical facilities and discuss personal, educational, and occupational plans with 

school personnel before enrolling or signing enrollment agreements. Programs through state or county agencies may be available to 

pay tuition and fees. 

The following State Board, Offices, Departments or Agencies set minimum standards for their study program: 

STATE BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY 

The minimum number of class hours and the total clock hours for each course as described in the State Board Rules and Regulations 

booklet must be met to qualify the student to obtain the license. The minimum number of class hours and the total clock hours for each 

course as described in the State Board Rules and Regulations booklet must be met to qualify the student to obtain the license. People 

seeking to resolve problems or complaints should first contact the instructor in charge. Requests for any additional action can be made 

to Vanessa Herrera, (School Director). 

  

California Department of Consumer Affairs, Barber, 

and Cosmetology 400 R St., Ste # 4080, PO Box 

944226, Sacramento, CA 95814-6240 

Any questions that a student may have about this catalog that has not been 

satisfactorily answered by the institution can be directed to the Office of 

Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N Market Blvd, Sacramento CA 

95834, www.bppe.ca.gov, Toll-free number (888) 370-7589 or by fax 

(916) 263-1897 
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➢ Administration / Faculty 

 

THE FACULTY, INSTRUCTORS AND STAFF ARE THE FOLLOWING: 

School Director (8 Years of Experience) ...............................................................................   Vanessa Herrera 

Principal Instructor / Academic Director (Valid Cosmetology License, 15 Years) .................   Vanessa Herrera 

Instructor (Valid Cosmetology License, 29 Years)...................................................................   Terry Cárdenas 

Instructor (Valid Barbering License, 15 Years) .................................................                          Jamie Abarca 

Instructor (Valid Cosmetology / Esthetician License, 5 Years) ...............................................   Jessica Ruiz 

Administration...........................................................................................................................   Xochitl Bowe 

Registrar.....................................................................................................................................   Laurie Jongeward 

Placement Coordinator...............................................................................................................   Vanessa Herrera 

Account Manager.......................................................................................................................   Margaret Singh 

School Maintenance...................................................................................................................   Mary López 

School Maintenance...................................................................................................................   Brian Peck 

Qualifications for Instructors / Faculty / Personnel: 

All instructors hold valid Cosmetology Licenses, Instructor Licenses and / or Authorization Certificates, or have requested 

such Certificate. 

School address: 

AMERICAN BEAUTY ACADEMY 

558 Main St. 

Brawley, CA 92227-2424 

(760) 344-0445 Administration (760) 344-6560 

Class Location: 

American Beauty Academy is located at 558, 560, 570 and the Administration Office at 580 Main St. in downtown 

Brawley, CA. 

Physical School and School Capacity: 

The school consists of a large first-year classroom and bathrooms for the disabled for men and women. A large clinic 

area, reception area, manicure area, aesthetic room, manager's office, a second large classroom, student store, registration 

office, teacher's office, 2 lunchrooms and covered patio areas outdoor. The school has a capacity for 115 students. 

School Parking: 

Within 300 feet behind the school, students will find more than 150 convenient parking spaces. Within a few blocks of the 

school there are several food establishments to choose from. 

Area: 

The City Plaza Park is less than one block from the school. Within the park are the following: city library, city offices, 

post office and police station. 
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➢ Educational Objectives / Anti-discrimination / File Retention / Instructional Language 

Educational Objectives: 
The educational objectives of our training programs are as follows: 

Educate students to be cosmetologists, beauticians and professional manicurists, experts and qualified for marketing within the 

industry. Keep programs that are constantly updated so that students have complete knowledge to compete in the field of cosmetology. 

Promote the continuous educational growth of the faculty and students, using current teaching methods and techniques of the highest 

quality. Teach courtesy and consideration as the basis of a successful career in Cosmetology and the beauty industry. Prepare the 

student to successfully pass the State Board exam to obtain the state license and employment. Prepare students to be ready for the 

classroom upon completion and graduate with skills to manage, own or work in a classroom.  

Anti-discrimination: 
This institution, in its admission, instruction and graduation policies, does not practice discrimination based on race, creed, religion, 

sex, financial status and country, area of origin or residence or marital status. 

File Retention  
This institution maintains current records for a period of not less than five years at its principal place of business within the State of 

California, which are 558, 560, 570 and 580 Main St., Brawley, California. 

Instructional Language 
Cosmetology, Barbering, Manicurist and Esthetician programs are taught in English and Spanish only. Students who have 

questionable English language skills will be interviewed by a committee of an instructor, the admissions officer and the school 

director to determine if the student has the ability to absorb the information in the textbooks and lectures.  

Admission Requirements 
Regular students are those of both sexes who are beyond the age of compulsory attendance in the State of California (17 years), who 

are of good moral character and temperate habits, who have completed the 10th grade in public schools of this status, state or its 

equivalent, General Education Development Certificate (GED), and over 17 years and have the ability to benefit from training. 

Secondary education is acceptable. If you are at least 18, an immigrant to the United States and have completed high school or its 

equivalent in your country of origin, to enroll you need: To provide a copy of your secondary school education credential as well as an 

English translated copy, which clearly identifies completion of secondary education that is equivalent to a U.S. high school diploma. If 

the out-of-country education certificate is translated by a bona fide, third-party document evaluation service, the translation must be on 

that company’s letterhead. The translation must be conducted at your own expense. The ability to benefit from the training will be 

determined by taking and passing an entrance exam, a personal interview and any other criteria that may be appropriate individually. 

In addition to those students who enroll under the ability to benefit from the tests, all prospective students must take and pass an entry 

(ATB) before beginning class. 

Prior Training Credit 
NOTICE REGARDING THE TRANSERABILITY OF CREDITS OBTAINED IN OUR INSTITUTION: The transferability of the 

credits you earn at (American Beauty Academy) is at the sole discretion of an institution to which you may attempt to transfer. 

Acceptance of the (title, diploma, or certificate) you earn in (name of the educational program) is also at the sole discretion of the 

institution to which you can request the transfer. If the (credits or titles, diplomas, or certificates) that you earn in this institution are 

not accepted in the institution to which you wish to transfer, you may have to repeat part or all of your courses in the institution. For 

this reason, you must ensure that your attendance at this institution meets its educational objectives. This may include contacting an 

institution to which you can request the transfer after attending (American Beauty Academy) to determine if your (credits or degree, 

diploma, or certificate) will be transferred. Students who have received prior training outside the state of California must present proof 

of the amount of training hours to the State Board of Cosmetology and to the school. The State Board of Cosmetology will evaluate 

the training and allocate the amount of credit hours to be granted. Students with prior training in the state of California must present 

proof of that training to the school in which they wish to re-enroll. The school can accept students transferred under certain conditions, 

and only after an interview and review of student transcripts. This institution will conduct an evaluation of all previous education and 

training in the course to examine the veteran or eligible person, shorten the duration of the training course proportionally and notify 

the veteran and the VA accordingly. 

Counseling and Student Services 
This school maintains an active counseling service. Any student who needs personal or educational advice is advised to make an 

appointment with the office for help or referral. The school provides books and videos at home, helps with resumes, the ability to 

return after graduation to get more help and experience at no cost to students for twelve (12) months after graduation. We will help 

graduates with advertising and job placement. 

Recordkeeping of Practical Hours 
Student practice and class hours are recorded daily on individual timecards. All work is reviewed and signed by an instructor daily. 

Hours and practical operations are recorded daily on timecards. Student progress records are distributed monthly and, if specifically 

requested and approved, can be issued only once at the time of application. All students are required to wear an American Beauty 

Academy identification card at all times, with the student's name, photo and assigned student number, at all times while on school 

property. 
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Housing  

American Beauty Academy has no responsibility in providing, finding, or assisting students with housing. We do not have any 

dormitories under our control. For more rental information in the local area, please visit www.rent.com . According to the rent.com, 

the average rental rates for one to three-bedroom apartments in San Marcos is $1,900 per month (based on rental units available as of 

01/01/2021).   

http://www.rent.com/
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➢ Curriculum: Cosmetology - Course Outline - Educational Objective 

The objective of this course is to prepare you to take and pass the State Board Exam and obtain the license. The cosmetology 

instruction course consists of 1,600 clock hours, or 40 weeks. The first 440 hours are dedicated to workshops in the classroom, where 

you will learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices. The remaining 1,160 hours are spent on the floor of 

the clinic, where you will gain practical experience. You will learn infection control, anatomy, structure and growth of skin and nails, 

hair and scalp properties and the basics of chemistry and electricity. You will also learn the principles of hair design, haircut, styling, 

chemical services, hair coloring, manicure, pedicure, acrylic nails, skin diseases and skin care. Here you have the opportunity to put 

your talents into practice while working with paying clients under the close supervision of their instructors. The following is a list of 

the requirements of the State of California for technical and practical criteria. 

 

Subjects: ____________________________                  Minimum Technician Hours ___Minimum Practical Hours  
Wet Hairstyle........................................................................  25     200 

Thermal Hairstyle.................................................................  25     40 

Press and Curl.......................................................................  20     20 

Permanent Waving................................................................  20     80 

Chemical Straightening.........................................................  20     25 

Haircuttting...........................................................................  20     80 

Hair coloring.........................................................................  40     50 

Bleaching..............................................................................  40     20 

Hair treatment.......................................................................  5     20 

Facial – Manual....................................................................  5     10 

Facial – Electric....................................................................  10     15 

Facial – Chemical.................................................................  10     15 

Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal...................................  10     20 

Makeup.................................................................................  15     10 

Water and Oils Manicure.....................................................  5     15 

Complete Pedicure...............................................................  5     10 

Artificial Nails - Acrylic Liquid Powder and Brush............  10     50 Nails 

Artificial Nail Tips...............................................................  10     50 Nails 

Nail Wrap and Repair..........................................................  5     20 Nails 

Disinfection and Sanitation................................................. 20     10   

Cosmetology Rules and Regulations...................................  20      

Cosmetology Chemistry......................................................  20      

Health and Safety................................................................  20      

Electrical Theory in Cosmetology......................................  5      

Bacteriology, Anatomy, and Psychology...........................  15      

Employment Training.........................................................  10      

 

The books used for this course are: Milady Textbook, Milady Theory Workbook, Milady Practical Workbook, Milady Exam Review 

Book, American Beauty Academy Pictorial and National & State Testing for Cosmetology, ( Zain Irone Publishing Co.) NOTE: THE 

852 REMAINING HOURS INDICATES THE MAXIMUM TIME THAT STUDENTS HAVE TO COMPLETE THE MINIMUM 

PRACTICAL OPERATIONS REQUIRED AND REACH THE EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES FOR THE COURSE 

 

  

NOTE: The school provides sufficient supplies and informational material to each student during their 

course of study to reinforce their learning. Such materials are issued based on instructional materials. 

Videos, etc. They are available during school hours. so that students reinforce learning objectives. The 

equipment used is a hair dryer, scissors, clippers, iron, razor, permanent rods, wet curling irons, 

combs, brushes, wax pots, Marcel ovens and all the equipment used for manicure. 
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➢ Curriculum: Esthetician - Course Outline - Educational Objective 

The objective of this course is to prepare you to take and pass the State Board Exam and obtain the license. The skin care instruction 

course consists of 600 hours or 15 weeks of experience in the classroom and in the clinical area. You will learn diseases and disorders 

of the skin, hair removal, facials, facial makeup, structure, and skin growth. You will also learn the basics of chemistry, electricity, 

and safety. He will work with clients in the clinic's facial room, under the supervision of the instructor. The following is a list of 

requirements of the California State Cosmetology Board that must be met during the course of study. Books used for this course: 

Milady Esthetician Standard Textbook, Milady Exam Review Book, and American Beauty Academy Esthetician Study Guide. 

Subjects: ____________________________                  Minimum Technician Hours ___Minimum Practical Hours  
Facial – Manual.......................................................................  20     40 

Facial – Electrical....................................................................  30     60 

Facial – Chemical....................................................................  20     40 

Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal......................................  10     20 

Tweezers.................................................................................  5     10 

Hair removal...........................................................................  20     10 

Makeup...................................................................................  20     40 

Additional Training................................................................  30     40 

Barber and Cosmetology Law................................................  10 

Cosmetology Chemistry.....................................................  10 

Health and Safety / Hazardous Substances............................  20 

Electricity...............................................................................  10 

Disinfection and Sanitation...................................................  10 

Bacteriology, Anatomy, and Psychology..............................  15 

 

NOTE: THE 852 REMAINING HOURS INDICATE THE MAXIMUM TIME THAT STUDENTS HAVE TO COMPLETE THE 

MINIMUM PRACTICAL OPERATIONS REQUIRED 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The board must admit the exam to obtain a license as a barber to practice barbershop, anyone who has submitted a request to the board 

in the appropriate manner, paid the fee required by this chapter and is qualified as follows: 

(a) Not less than 17 years old 

(b) Completed tenth High School schools in this state or its equivalent 

(c) It is not subject to denial in accordance with Section 480 

(d) Has performed any of the following actions: 

(1) Completed a barbershop course at a board-approved school 

(2) Completed a barber shop learning program approved by the board in accordance with the provisions of the 

Shelley-Maloney Apprentices Labor Standards Act of 1939, Chapter 4 (beginning with Section 3070) of Division 3 

of the Labor Code 

(3) Practiced barbershop as defined in this chapter outside this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and 

training of a qualified person who has completed a barbershop course at a school whose curriculum meets the 

requirements adopted by the board. Every three months of practice will be considered the equivalent of 100 hours of 

qualification training according to the paragraph (1) 

(4) Holds a license as a cosmetologist in this state and has completed a cross-barber course at a board-approved 

school 

(5) Completed a board-approved cosmetology course at the school and competed in a cross-barber course at a board-

approved school 

(6) Comparable military training completed as documented by submitting the Experience Verification and Military 

Training (V-MET) records 

 

 
(Modified by Stats 2003, Ch. 788, Sec. 15. Effective as of January 1, 2004) 

  

NOTE: The school provides sufficient supplies and informational material to each student during their course of 

study to reinforce their learning. Such materials are issued based on instructional materials. Videos, etc. They 

are available during school hours. so that students reinforce learning objectives. The equipment used are vapors, 

creams, lotions, high frequency facial machines, magnifying lamps, tweezers, wax machines, and makeup kit.  
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➢ Curriculum: Manicurist - Course Outline - Educational Objective 
The objective of this course is to prepare you to take and pass the State Board Exam and obtain the license. The manicure 

instruction course consists of 400 hours of training or 10 weeks. You will learn the principles and practices of infection 

control, anatomy and general physiology, nail structure and growth, nail diseases, disorders, and client safety. Nail care 

includes manicure and pedicure procedures at the state board, nail tips, wraps, and acrylic nails. The following is a list of 

requirements of the State Board of Hairdressing and Cosmetology of California, which must be completed during the 

course of the study. The books used for this course are: Milady Nail Textbook, Milady Exam Review Book, American 

Beauty Academy Study Guide. 

Subjects: ____________________________                  Minimum Technician Hours ___Minimum Practical Hours  
Disinfection / Health............................................................  10     10 

Water and Oils Manicure.....................................................  15     40 

Pedicure...............................................................................  10     20 

Artificial Nails (Acrylics)....................................................  15     80 

Artificial Nails (Nail Tip) ...................................................  10     60 

Barber and Cosmetology Law.............................................  10      

Manicurist Chemistry..........................................................  10      

Health and Safety / Hazardous Substances.........................  15      

Bacteriology, Anatomy, and Psychology............................  10      

Additional Training.............................................................  20      

Training to Find a Job.........................................................  10      

 

NOTE: THE 260 REMAINING HOURS INDICATE THE MAXIMUM TIME THAT STUDENTS HAVE TO COMPLETE THE 

MINIMUM PRACTICAL OPERATIONS REQUIRED 

 

DAY CLASSES: Monday - Friday (Saturday from 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., MAKEUP AND PRIOR APPROVAL) 

 

Monday 

8:30am – 10:30am 

The respective instructor teaches theory class, freshmen, and junior and senior students 

Tuesday– Friday 
8:30am – 9:30am 

The respective instructor teaches theory class, freshmen, and junior and senior students 

 
9:30am – 9:45am 

Morning break 

 
9:45am – 5:00pm 

Freshmen assigned to practical classes. Junior and senior students assigned to the clinic 
floor. 

 
11:30am – 1:00pm 

Lunch of 30 minutes assigned by the instructor within this period 

 

1:30pm – 2:30pm 

Junior and senior students will alternate daily for advanced classes. The remaining Junior 

and senior students will continue on the floor of the clinic, the freshmen will remain in 

assigned practical classes. 
 

Afternoon Break 
 
15 Minutes as assigned by the instructor 

 
4:30pm – 5:00pm 

Disinfection, sanitation, and timecards 

Friday 
 8:30am – 5:00pm 

Junior and senior students assigned to the clinic floor; freshmen assigned to practical 

classes. 
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➢ Curriculum: Barber / Barber Crossing - Course Outline - Educational Objective 
The objective of this course is to prepare you to take and pass the State Board Exam and obtain the license. The Barber 

training course consists of 1,100 clock hours, or 40 weeks. The first 400 hours are dedicated to workshops in the 

classroom, where you will learn design principles, technical information, and professional practices. The remaining 700 

hours are spent on the floor of the clinic, where you will get practical experience. You will learn infection control, 

anatomy, structure and growth of skin and nails, hair and scalp properties and the basics of chemistry and electricity. You 

will also learn the principles of hair design, haircut, styling, chemical services, and hair coloring. Here you have the 

opportunity to put your talents into practice while working with paying clients under the close supervision of their 

instructors. The following is a list of the requirements of the State of California for technical and practical criteria. 

 

Subjects: ____________________________                  Minimum Technician Hours ___Minimum Practical Hours  
Wet Hairstyle.........................................................................  45     200 

Thermal Hairstyle..................................................................  25     40 

Press and Curl........................................................................  20     25 

Permanent Waving................................................................  20     80 

Chemical Straightening.........................................................  20     25 

Haircutting.............................................................................  20     80 

Hair coloring..........................................................................  40     30 

Bleaching...............................................................................  20     20 

Shaving Preparation and Performance..................................  100     40 

Laws and Regulations...........................................................  20      

Disinfection and Sanitation...................................................                  20        

Bacteriology, Anatomy, and Psychology..............................  15      

Employment Training...........................................................  10 

 

The board must admit the exam to obtain a license as a barber to practice barbershop, anyone who has submitted a request 

to the board in the appropriate manner, paid the fee required by this chapter and is qualified as follows: 
(a) Not less than 17 years old 

(b) Completed tenth High School years in this state or its equivalent 

(c) It is not subject to denial in accordance with Section 480 

(d) Has performed any of the following actions: 

(1) Completed a barbershop course at a board-approved school 

(2) Completed a barber shop learning program approved by the board in accordance with the provisions of the 

Shelley-Maloney Apprentices Labor Standards Act of 1939, Chapter 4 (beginning with Section 3070) of Division 3 

of the Labor Code 

(3) Practiced barbershop as defined in this chapter outside this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and 

training of a qualified person who has completed a barbershop course at a school whose curriculum meets the 

requirements adopted by the board. Every three months of practice will be considered the equivalent of 100 hours of 

qualification training according to the paragraph (1) 

(4) Holds a license as a cosmetologist in this state and has completed a cross-barber course at a board-approved 

school 

(5) Completed a board-approved cosmetology course at the school and competed in a cross-barber course at a board-

approved school 

(6) Comparable military training completed as documented by submitting the Experience Verification and Military 

Training (V-MET) records 

 

 
(Modified by Stats 2003, Ch. 788, Sec. 15. Effective as of January 1, 2004) 
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Barber Crossing Courses (200 Hours): 
950.8 and 950.9 CCR, which detail the 400-hour curricula needed for barbers to become cosmetologists and vice versa, 

have been repealed. The elimination of these sections that all crossed candidates must qualify to take an exam is to 

comply with any part of the cosmetology or barber curriculum that they have not completed as part of their original 

program. This means that a cosmetologist who wants to become a barber will only need 200 hours of shaving, since 

shaving is the only aspect of the regular hairdressing curriculum (950.2 CCR). Hairdressers who wish to become 

cosmetologists must complete the 200-hour aesthetic component and the 100-hour manicure component of the regular 

cosmetology curriculum to sit for the exam. 
 

Cosmetology to Barbering: 
Transfer hours consist of a total of 1300 hours: 1100 in hairdressing and 200 in health and safety (assuming they are 

identical). 

The additional hours required are an additional 200 hours total in shaving preparation and the performance is required to 

qualify for the barbershop exam. 

 

Preparation and shaving performance (200 Hours): 
The subject of preparation and performance will include but is not limited to the following techniques and procedures. 

Prepare the client's hair or shave, evaluate the client's skin condition, perform shaving techniques, apply after-shave 

antiseptic after facial services, massage the client's face, massage with cream. 
 

Objective 
 

We constantly strive to develop the latest programs to meet your educational needs while teaching modern barbershop 

practices. We believe that thorough and intense training will prepare you for meaningful employment to excel in the 

hairdressing industry. 
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Graduation Requirements / Examination Requirements / Complaints / Complaint Procedure / Dropout 

Policy 
GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: To be eligible for graduation from the American Beauty Academy, each student 

must maintain a satisfactory grade in class and clinical practices, complete all assigned projects, maintain a passing grade 

in theory. They must also have attended during the amount of clock required hours established in the instructional course. 

DIPLOMA: Upon successful completion of the required clock hours and provided that the student has obtained a 

satisfactory grade in all the subjects covered, the school, which accredits their graduation, will issue a diploma. The 

school will maintain the diploma until all outstanding balances are paid in full. 

REQUIREMENTS FOR THE STATE EXAM: To be eligible for the state-given exam, a student must have completed 

the selected course at a licensed Cosmetology school, be seventeen years old, and have completed tenth grade or 

equivalent. 

EXAM COST: The cost of each exam varies. Check with the school for current costs. Passing the state exam entitles the 

issuance of a graduate student's license. All students must pay their own travel expenses, equipment rental and other 

expenses. 

COMPLAINT / COMPLAINT PROCEDURE: People seeking to file a complaint with the Department of Consumer 

Affairs, Hairdressing and Cosmetology of the State of California or the Office of Private Postsecondary Education are 

encouraged to follow the procedure: 

The written complaint must describe the specific details of the complaint, as well as the requested action that the student 

believes will rectify the situation. The school principal will meet with the student to try to correct the situation within 5 

business days of receiving the complaint. "A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this 

institution with the Office of Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 free of charge or completing a 

complaint form, which can be obtained on the office's website site www.bppe.ca.gov ". 

RETURN POLICY: When a student leaves, he / she will meet with the Principal and submit a refund notice / Student 

withdrawal request form. 

Professional Opportunities / Placement Assistance 
OPPORTUNITIES: There are many opportunities for people entering the cosmetology industry. Your goals can guide 

you towards a professional career for life in any of the following possibilities: 

* Assistant * Stylist * Designer * Makeup artist * Manicurist * Hair coloring technician * Specialist in ethnic hairstyles * 

Specialist in haircut 

EMPLOYMENT OPPORTUNITIES are available in individual salons, salon chains, department stores and beauty 

houses. 

OTHER POSITIONS: There are also several positions within the following areas: 

• COMMERCIALIZATION FIELD Seller, Buyer, Assistant Buyer, Direct Seller  

• SCIENTIFIC FIELD Demonstrator / Representative of the Assistant Trade Technical Research Manufacturer 

Technical Supervisor 

• WRITING FIELD Beauty Editor (Newspaper / Magazines) Editorial Assistant Free Lance Writer Promotional 

Writer 

PLACEMENT ASSISTANCE: One of our main objectives is to provide specialized and intensive training that will 

make our licensed graduate highly employable. Our school works closely with owners and employers throughout the 

Imperial Valley so that licensees have the opportunity to secure a good job. During his time at school, the student will 

attend scheduled classes geared towards job search. These classes include classroom selection, interview procedures, 

completing job applications and all other critical areas to consider related to finding the right classroom for you.  

ABSENCE LICENSE POLICY: The policy of the American Beauty Academy is that a student can only have one 

enrollment license. An absence permit must be requested in writing and approved by the school principal. A leave of 

absence (LOA) is granted when it is determined that LOA is best for the student and his education. Documentation must 

be provided for licenses granted for exceptional circumstances. A leave of absence must not exceed 60 days without 

written approval. 
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Grading and Reporting Methods / School Dress Code / Payments 
 

American Beauty Academy maintains complete records of each student or graduate as a reference, as required by law. All 

students receive a full theoretical and practical exam after 400 hours and again at 1400 hours. It stimulates the actual state 

board exam procedure and constitutes a final exam. Individual tutoring (if necessary) is available in preparation for the 

state exam, at no additional cost to the student 

GRADES: 

Each student is graded monthly in their theory, practical work, attendance, appearance, and attitude. The rating system 

used is as follows: 

 

94% - 100%    =    A   =  Exceptional 

87% - 93%   =    B   =   Good 

80% - 86%    =   C  =   Satisfactory 

75% - 79%   =    D   =   Pass 

Below 75%    =    F   =   Fail 

The school maintains written progress reports. These can be reported to each student at the end of the month. A written 

report is maintained and will be submitted to any student requesting this registration in the future. 

SCHOOL DRESS CODE 

The School Dress Code, which all students must comply with, includes the following: 

• Black pants 
• Black Shirts (WITH LOGO) 
• No Open Shoes 

➢ Girls: 
• Sleeveless t-shirts 
• No "3Bs " *For 3B Info ask an instructor  

❖  Consequences  

  First Warning 

  Use Loan Uniform 

  Sent Home 
Note: The Academy may provide a school-approved gown for students to wear at no charge to the student if required by 

the Academy. Sunglasses, scarves or scarves, nets, or headgear may not be worn on school premises, unless the school 

principal grants written permission. All sweaters, coats or jackets must be white or hunter green, without writing or 

advertising other than the ABA logo. 

Payment Terms / Scholarships 

COURSE COST REG. 

FEE 

STRF BOOKS/SUP

PLIES 

TAX/SHIP TOTAL MONTHS 

     Cosmetology $10,000.00 $75.00* $25.00 $1,004.76 $122.86 11,227.62 12 

Manicure $3,992.00 $75.00* $25.00 $708.04 $118.23 $4,918.27 4 

Esthetician $5,496.00 $75.00* $25.00 $1,002.95 $84.67 $6,683.62 6 

Barber $9360.00 $75.00* $25.00 $945.00 $118.23 $10,523.23 12 

 

NOTE: The total charges for a period of attendance and the entire education program are the same. 

  

See the State Board rates below (paid in addition to other fees) The total amount includes taxes and shipping 

 

 

  



 14 | P a g e   

Student Initials    

 

 

TERMS OF PAYMENT: Case by case. 

 

COSMETOLOGY: A down payment of $ 1,800.00 is required at the time of registration. The balance of $ 9,427.62 will 

be paid in approved monthly payments 

 

MANICURE: A down payment of $ 900.00 is required at the time of registration. The balance of $ 4,018.27 will be paid 

in approved monthly payments. 

 

ESTHETICIAN: requires a down payment of $ 1,200.00 at the time of registration. The balance of $ 5,483.62 will be 

paid in approved monthly payments. 

 

BARBER: A down payment of $ 1,800.00 is required at the time of registration. The balance of $ 8,723.23 will be paid in 

approved monthly payments. 

 

Students can lose 7.5% of the total hours hired. If the training is not completed within the prescribed time limit, all 

students will be charged the current tuition rate at the time of completion. This is calculated by dividing the hours in the 

tuition amount. 

 

SCHOLARSHIPS: Scholarships may be offered periodically. The only types of scholarships offered are tuition 

allowances for specific periods of time. 

 

ALL LOAN PAYMENTS ARE DUE AND PAYABLE BEFORE THE FIRST DAY OF EACH MONTH AND WILL 

BE CONSIDERED AFTERNOON 3 DAYS AFTER THE DATE OF EXPIRATION. A LATE RATE OF 10% (TEN 

PERCENT) OF THE AMOUNT OF PAYMENT WILL BE CHARGED IN ALL LATE PAYMENTS. IF THE FULL 

PAYMENT IS NOT RECEIVED UNTIL 10TH OF THE MONTH, THE STUDENTS WILL BE SUSPENDED FROM 

THE CLASSES UNTIL THE PAYMENT AND THE LATE FEES ARE PAID COMPLETELY IN ALL THE 

ACCOUNTS THAT MORE THAN THIRTY (30) DAMYS OF THE DATE OF DATE. ALL PREVIOUS ACCOUNTS 

MAY BE DELIVERED TO A COLLECTION AGENCY FOR REFUND. 

 

RATES OF THE STATE BOARD: The State Board must be paid directly in the amount of $ 125.00 for the 

cosmetology application exam and the license fee, and $ 9.00 for the pre-application fee (when the student has completed 

75% of the training) to request the exam to be taken shortly after graduation and the diploma. Manicure ($ 110.00), 

beautician ($ 115.00) 
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Payment Reimbursement Table / Financial Aid Programs / Student Payment Recovery Fund / Student 

Rights Notice 
The next amount is the approximate refund you would receive if you withdraw from a course based on the percentage of 

the course you have already completed.: 

 
  10% 50% 60% 75% 

Cosmetology $9,995.00 $8,995.50 $4,997.50 $3,998.00 $2,498.75 

Manicure $3,995.00 $3,595.50 $1,997.50 $1,598.00 $ 998.75 

Esthetician $5,495.00 $4,945.50 $2,747.50 $2,198.00 $1,373.75 

Barber $9,360.00 $8,360.00 $4,680.00 $3,680.00 $2,340.00 

 

I have read and understand this refund table. 

 

Student's signature: ________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Refund Policy: This school has and maintains a policy for the reimbursement of the unused portion of the tuition, fees, 

and other charges in case the veteran or eligible person does not enter the course or withdraw or suspend there at any time 

before the ending. The amount charged to the veteran or the person eligible for tuition, fees and other charges does not 

exceed the approximate proportional portion of the total fees for tuition, fees and other charges, which the duration of the 

entire part of the course must support its total length of 6. 

 

Financial Assistance Programs 

 

American Beauty Academy does not administer Federal Student Assistance Programs but does participate in state and 

private disability insurance programs, private grant programs, assignment programs and student loan programs. Each of 

the above programs provides its own policies and disclosures to students who qualify under their programs. American 

Beauty Academy does not qualify students for any program other than loans financed by American Beauty Academy. 

 

American Beauty Academy refers to students who require loans to local banks and consumer credit companies. See the 

registration / payment terms page for more information. Students may apply to other private school lenders. 

 

Depending on the case, American Beauty Academy can finance students who qualify after making a down payment. An 

application must be submitted to the Academy along with a request from a qualified co-debtor. The interest rate for these 

loans is 10% (ten percent). If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the 

responsibility of paying the total loan amount plus interest, less the amount of any repayment, and that, if the student has 

received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of unpaid money from federal student 

financial aid program funds. 

 

The student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of the charges paid by attending the first-

class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever occurs later. 

Students can use credit cards to pay the following: 

Registration fee, tuition and down payment, monthly tuition payments, items purchased at the student's store 

 

An institution that provides private institutional loan funds to a student will ensure that the student is not obligated to 

borrow that exceeds the total charges for the current period of attendance. 

 

At the student's option, an institution can accept full tuition payment and fees, including funds received through 

institutional loans, after the student has been accepted and enrolled and the date of the first-class session is disclosed. in 

the enrollment agreement. 
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Student Payment Recovery Fund / Student Rights Notice 
 

"The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to alleviate or mitigate the economic 

losses suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualified institution, who is or was a California resident while 

enrolled, or enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, paid in advance and suffered an 

economic loss, unless he is exempted from the obligation to do so, he must pay the assessment imposed by the state for 

the STRF, or he must paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, are a resident of California or 

are enrolled in a full or partial tuition and residency program, are not eligible for STRF protection and are not required to 

pay STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident or enrolled in a residency program. " (B) In addition to the 

statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualified institution will include the following statement in the 

school catalog: “It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts or 

any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions about STRF can be directed to the 

Postsecondary Private Education Office, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916) 431-6959 or 

(888) 370-7589. To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or be enrolled in a residency program, prepaid 

tuition, paid or considered to have paid the STRF assessment and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the 

following: 

 

1. The institution, an institution location or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or suspended 

and you did not choose to participate in a teaching plan approved by the Office or did not complete an elected 

instruction plan approved by the Board. 

2. You enrolled in an institution or at an institution location within the 120-day period before the institution closes or the 

institution's location or enrolled in an educational program within the 120-day period before it was suspended the 

program. 

3. He was enrolled in an institution or in a place of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution 

or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution over which the Office determined 

that there was a significant decrease in the quality or value of the program more than 120 before closing. 

The Office ordered the institution to pay a refund, but did not 

4. The institution has not paid or reimbursed the loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law, 

or has not paid or reimbursed the income received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs 

5. An arbitrator or tribunal has granted a refund, refund, or other monetary award, due to a violation of this chapter by an 

institution or representative of an institution, but has not been able to collect the institution's prize 

6. You sought legal advice that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and has an invoice for 

the services provided and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans. To qualify for a STRF refund, the 

application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible 

for STRF recovery. A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or a debt collector after a non-payment period 

may, at any time, submit a written request for STRF recovery for debt that would otherwise have been eligible. for 

recovery. If more than four (4) years have passed since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student 

must have submitted a written request for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been 

extended by another act of law. However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a 

taxpayer identification number. ” Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. 

Reference: Section 94923, 94924 and 94925, Education Code. 
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American Beauty Academy Refund Notice / Withdrawal Request 
 

First date of attendance _________________ 

 

 I, ___________________ student number ________ hereby request to withdraw from the ___________ course. This 

withdrawal request must be effective as of this date __________________. 

 

In addition, I acknowledge that American Beauty Academy has disclosed my right to reimbursement of money paid to 

date for such training. In summary, these rights are the following: 

 

Students have the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a refund of the charges paid by attending the first-

class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever occurs later. If I withdraw after the cancellation period 

described above, I will be entitled to a prorated refund of monies paid for tuition calculated by the following formula: 

 

VOCATIONAL POLICY EXAMPLE: 

 

ALL CHARGES: $ 1,000.00 

Registration    $ 100.00 

Laboratory fees (ex-Equip)   $ 50.00 

Enrollment    $ 50.00 

Request     $ 25.00 

      $ 1,225.00 Fee plus all fees / amounts paid for the instruction 

      <$ 75.00> Registration fee retained by the school 

      $ 1,150.00 Total amount paid per instruction / less registration fee 

 

$ 1,150.00 X clock hours not attended but paid 

Total number of course clock hours paid 

 

  = Initial refund $__________________ (adjusted by team, if applicable). 

 

In addition to this refund, the Academy will issue a refund for all returnable items in the Student Kit, returned by me 

within thirty (30) days from the date of withdrawal. This refund will be at reasonable value for all returned items, and that 

the refund amount for each individual item will be indicated in writing. The student must complete this form and send it to 

the Administration Office. 

 

_____________________________________    ________________________ 

Student's signature       Submission Date 

 

Refund Sent To: ______________________________ Address: ____________________________________ 
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Student Rights Notices 
 

1. You may cancel your school contract, without penalty or obligation, on the fifth (5) business day following your 

first-class session, as described in the Notice of Refund / Withdrawal Request form that will be delivered to the 

class principle you attend. Read the Rebate / Withdrawal Request form for an explanation of your cancellation 

rights and responsibilities. If you have lost your Cancellation Notice form, ask the school for a sample copy. 

2. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to suspend the school at any time and have the 

right to receive a refund for the part of the course not taken. Your refund rights are described in the contract. If 

you have lost your contract, ask the school for a description of the refund policy. 

3. If the school closes before graduation, you may be entitled to a refund. Contact the Office of Private 

Postsecondary and Vocational Education at the address and telephone number printed below for information. 

4. If you have a complaint, question, or problem that you cannot resolve with the school, write or call 

 

California Department of Consumer Affairs, Hairdressing and Cosmetology 

400 R St., Ste # 4080 

PO Box 944226 

Sacramento, CA 95814-6240 

 

Office of Private Postsecondary Education 

2535 Capital Oaks Dr # 400 

Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 

Telephone: (916) 431-6959 Fax: (916) 263-1897 

www.bppe.ca.gov 

 

 

 

  

As a student, we recommend that you review this catalog before signing an enrollment agreement. It is also 

recommended that you review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided before signing an 

enrollment. 
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Rules and Regulations / Student Privacy and Access Right 

 

1. Incoming phone calls for students will be received only in case of emergency (life or death). Messages will be given to 

students immediately in such cases. 

2. All appointments must be booked through the reception. 

3. Courtesy should be shown to clients, teachers, staff, and peers at all times. 

4. American Beauty Academy believes in the principle that all people should be treated with humanity, justice, and 

equality. Any behavior of an employee, student, client or any person of American Beauty Academy that intends to 

persecute, harm, torment, disturb, harass or mistreat another employee, student, client or any person for any reason, 

including, among others , race, religion, age, sex, sexual orientation, creed, financial status, disability or country or area of 

origin or residence is not acceptable. Such misconduct is subject to disciplinary measures, which may result in immediate 

termination of employment or expulsion of the student. 

5. Freshmen cannot perform services on seniors, and seniors cannot perform services on freshmen without the instructor's 

permission. 

6. Personal services will be allowed only on the assigned days (usually Wednesday) if the student was present on the 

previous Friday and Saturday, and only with the permission of an instructor and only with a personal service receipt from 

the receptionist. 

7. Radios, tape players, CDs, headphones are not allowed inside the school. These items will be retained until the end of 

the day. 

8. Students should not visit their peers while performing customer services. 

Students must stand while working on clients or dummies, unless they have a documented physical disability. 

9. Students must refrain from speaking loudly and gossiping. Blasphemy will not be tolerated. Students may not discuss or 

participate in a conflict on the floor of the clinic or in the classroom. 

10. The use of intoxicants, drugs or narcotics is prohibited. Any student under such influence will be dismissed. 

11. Students may not request, sell, or distribute any type of brochures, brochures or personal or commercial merchandise 

at the school premises. 

12. Visitors and friends are not allowed beyond the reception area. 

13. Any student who refuses to fulfill any duty, membership or assignment service will be dismissed immediately for the 

rest of the day and must inform the Principal before returning to school. Any student who performs a service to a 

customer who has not paid for the service is subject to termination of enrollment. 

14. Students will keep their own work areas, floor, and chair clean and sanitary at all times. Purses to store in closets. 

15. Each student will be assigned specific cleaning tasks daily. Timecards cannot be signed until this duty is completed. 

16. Students must wear the watch at all times; arriving, morning and afternoon breaks, lunches, and departures. 

17. Students are not allowed to leave the building unless their time has been marked on their time cards. Both the teacher 

and the receptionist should be informed about the departure and the approximate time of return. 

18. Students who mark time cards other than their own, or have other people mark time cards, are subject to immediate 

expulsion. Students who leave school without leaving are subject to immediate expulsion. Timecards are property of the 

State Board. 

19. The student's timecards must have a full signature (name, surname), date and student number. 

20. Students must register on the time card, in the area provided; All day operations must be verified with the instructor's 

signature. All timecards are subject to audit corrections. 

21. Today's timecard and transfer card must be verified by an instructor. Any card that is not properly signed and 

delivered at the end of each day will not be accepted for credit. 

22. All time cards must remain in the designated area of the school at all times. 

23. Tuition payments must be current in order to attend school. 

24. The office must be notified immediately of any change of name, address, or telephone number. 

25. Any student who interrupts, transfers, or completes is requested to notify the office in advance so that appropriate 

records can be completed. 

26. A student may be suspended or dismissed for conduct or for any violation of school rules. A conference is held with 

the student and the opportunity to demonstrate a desire to improve is provided. If the student's continued attendance would 

not be the best for the school or the student, as determined by the school at its sole discretion, it will be notified. 

Unsatisfactory academic progress or attendance may and may result in termination of enrollment. 
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27. American Beauty Academy is not responsible for personal items or possessions left in school. All personal items must 

be kept in your personal locker. Purses must be kept in lockers at all times, and not on the floor of the clinic. 

28. Any student caught stealing from school or others is subject to immediate dismissal. 

29. Any student involved in a physical altercation will be dismissed regardless of the circumstances involved. 

30. Any student who is sent home for the day, suspended or unregistered is not allowed on the premises. 

31. All students must park in the public parking lot behind the school or behind the family pool. There is absolutely no 

parking on the street in front of the school or on the 6th street next to the school, since this is only for customers. 

32. All lunches and breaks must be taken in accordance with the appointment of the instructor. Clinic services will change 

schedules as designated by the instructor. Students must register at the reception desk for all breaks and lunches ... 

Lunches / dinners may be rescheduled due to clinic services. 

33. No additional time is allowed for breaks, lunches, and dinners without the prior approval of the instructor, and 

students who violate this policy are subject to being dismissed and sent home during the day. 

34. The use of the lounge is only for lunch / dinner. No food or drink is allowed except water on the floor of the clinic or 

in any classroom. 

35. Smoking is not allowed anywhere in the school building or around the entrance / exit doors. Smoking is allowed 

outside the back entrance in the alley in the designated area. 

36. Each student is expected to help keep the living room and other seating areas clean. 

37. Abuse of classroom privileges will result in the loss of such privileges. Students must be out of lunch / dinner or 

breaks when sitting in the classroom. 

38. Friday and Saturday absences may result in an automatic suspension of three (3) days, except in the case of the birth 

or death of an immediate family member (documented proof) Dr. Excuse must be provided to the admission office upon 

return of any absence. 

39. The school is closed on the following legal holidays: New Year's Day, Thanksgiving, Labor Day, July 4, Memorial 

Day, and Christmas. 

40. RECOVERY WORK: Recovery work will be assigned through an oral, written, or practical assignment, depending on 

the school's criteria as to what type of homework would benefit the student best. Students may have to complete more 

than one task to meet their requirements. 

41. SATISFACTORY PROGRESS: Satisfactory progress in attendance and academic work is a requirement for all 

students enrolled in the school. Students receive a Satisfactory Progress Policy on the start day of class that describes the 

specific regulations. 

42. STUDENT PRIVACY / DISCLOSURE OF INFORMATION: It is the school's policy to disclose information about 

students only when the student authorizes it on the information disclosure form. In the event that the student is a minor, 

the information is disclosed to the parents. In all cases, when any record is reviewed, the owner or representative of the 

school will be present. 

43. Do not chew gum, eat or drink (except water) on the floor of the clinic, or in any kind of theory. 

44. Without rings on the lips, rings on the nose, rings on the tongue or eyebrows (i.e. no facial accessories). If you already 

have a piercing, you should remove them while you are at school. 

45. For any day lost during the week, YOU MUST CALL 344-6560 AND LEAVE A MESSAGE WITH YOUR NAME 

AND PHONE NUMBER, IF YOU WILL LOSE SCHOOL FOR ANY REASON. If you miss five (5) consecutive school 

days and do not provide a written excuse from a doctor or do not have a prior written authorization and approval from the 

school, you may be disenrolled from the Course. 

46. From your start date, you must end your Cosmetology hours (1600 hours) within 1 year. (12 months) for manicure 

(400 hours), within (13 weeks), for esthetician (600 hours) within (19 weeks). Do not abuse this extra time that has been 

given. If you have not completed your course within the allotted period, you will be charged in advance per hour to 

complete your hours, at the hourly rate in your contract. It is vital that you be here every day throughout the day to benefit 

from education and be prepared and ready for your State Board exam at the end of your course. After graduation, you can 

return, free of charge, to receive more practice and theory until you take your state exam. You will be asked to wear your 

badge, uniform, and obey all school rules and policies. 

to. After you have reached at least 1,000 hours, you will be scheduled in writing to attend a "Drill." It will provide its own 

model and notify its instructor who will be that model in advance. If you do not attend your scheduled "Simulated Board" 

appointment fully prepared, or your model does not come, you may miss your only "Simulated Board" opportunity and 

you will be charged $ 100 in advance, to schedule and take another "Simulated Board." Simulated meetings can be 

scheduled on Monday, if so; you will receive credit for hours during the Mock Board. 
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second. It is recommended that you take and pass a "Board Simulation" exam as your ticket to pre-request your state 

exam. Passing the "Board Mock" exam shows your preparation for the State Exam. 

47. When you reach 1,000 hours, and thereafter until you graduate, you will be required to continue taking several written 

practice exams from the state board in the main office (minimum of 7), until you are competent to pass these exams (80% 

consistent or better passing grade). This will help you in your preparation for the State Board exam. 

48. When you reach exactly 1200 hours, but no more than 1207 for cosmetology, or 75% of your course, you will be 

asked to previously request your State Board exam. We ask that you submit a previous request so that you receive the date 

of your exam very soon after your graduation when you are more prepared. Be ready to pay the necessary fees for the pre-

application, exam, and license fees at that time. 

49. Cell phones are not appropriate in a school environment. NO CELL PHONES ARE ALLOWED AT SCHOOL. Cell 

phones must be kept in your car. You can check your messages at your breaks or lunch / dinner (not anywhere in the 

school). You cannot leave class or school to answer or make a call on your cell phone. If an instructor or school employee 

visibly sees your phone, or hears your phone ringing, you will be asked to deliver it, and it will be kept in the instructor's 

office, or in the administration office, until the end of the day, and you will be suspended for 3 days. 

50. Any emergency call from the family, or your child's school or babysitter (life or death situations) should be directed to 

the school or administrative office, which will notify the student immediately. 

Students should never use school phones for personal calls for any reason. You can go to the administration office and 

request to use your phone only for an important call. 

51. Graduation and birthday activities are under the direction of the Director of the school, contact the administration 

office for instructions. 

52. I hereby give my permission for ABA to use photos taken of me at school, or on field trips, etc., for school brochures 

and / or for advertising purposes. I do not expect to be paid any fees for this permit. 

 

I have read, understand, and agree to comply with all American Beauty Academy rules, for the benefit of my 

education here at school. 

 

 

 

 

____________________________________________  __________________________ 

Student's signature      Date 
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Alcohol and Drug Policy 
 

CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE: All students and employees are informed that the illegal manufacture, distribution, 

distribution, possession or use of a controlled substance within the premises of the Academy is prohibited. Employees and 

students who violate this rule will be subject to immediate dismissal and termination of employment and / or the school 

program. 

1. Drug-free awareness program: to obtain detailed information on; a) Dangers of drug abuse, b) Assistance with 

drug counseling, c) Rehabilitation programs, or any other information related to drug abuse, contact: Scripps 

Health - Outpatient Behavioral Health Services, 343 S. 8th Street, El Centro, CA 92243, and (760) 337-5440. 

2. It is the policy of this organization to keep our workplace drug-free. As indicated in the first paragraph, students 

and employees are subject to termination for violation of this company rule. In addition, anyone who distributes 

drugs to other employees or students will be referred to the authorities and the Academy will file drug distribution 

charges in the workplace. 

3. Each employee and student are required to read and sign this statement. 

4. Your education and / or employment in this organization is subject to: 

a. Comply with the terms of this statement, and second. Notify the employer of any conviction of criminal 

statute for a violation that occurs in the workplace no later than five (5) days after said conviction. 

5. The US drug agency UU. It will be notified within ten (10) days after receiving notification from an employee or 

else a copy of said conviction will be sent to the agency. 

6. Our organization will take the following measures within thirty days after receipt of the notification regarding any 

employee and / or student who is convicted. 

a. Terminate employee and / or second student. Require said employee and / or student to participate 

satisfactorily in drug abuse assistance or in a rehabilitation program approved for such purposes by a 

federal, state, or local health agency or other appropriate agencies. 

 

Satisfactory Academic Process 
 

Qualification and skill measurements 

Satisfactory academic progress is determined by the theory and practical grades averaged together. Theoretical and 

clinical work is classified in the following scale: 

• 94-100 = A 

• 87 - 93 = B 

• 80-86 = C 

• 75-79 = D 

Duly qualified teachers evaluate all learning outcomes. 

 

Theoretical grades are based on exam grades and homework assignments. Practical grades are based on exam grades and 

homework assignments. The practical qualifications are based on: 

1. The ability to effectively accept and complete all work assignments. 

2. The ability to communicate effectively with instructors, clients, and other students. 

3. The ability to accept and perform practical tasks with emphasis on the team. 

4. Participation in practical classes offered by the school and external interests. 

5. The ability to follow school rules. 

The passing grade of 75% is monitored monthly. Students who fall below the minimum average are encouraged and given 

the opportunity to complete additional assignments. This could be through an oral, written, or practical assignment, 

depending on the criteria of the Director of Education of the school or the main instructor, as to what type of assignment 

would best benefit the individual student. The instructors of the school will be the judges regarding the number of points 

that will be credited to the student for the completed project. Students may have to complete more than one project to 

meet the minimum. 

NOTE: Students who wish to improve their academic qualification may also request additional assignments. 
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APPEAL PROCESS: Students who wish to appeal the determination that they do not maintain satisfactory progress 

should submit a letter to the school administration. The letter should describe any circumstance that the student considers 

deserves greater consideration. An appeal decision will be made, and the student will be notified accordingly. If a student 

prevails over his appeal and it is determined that he is making financial progress, the student will be automatically re-

enrolled in the course and financial aid funds will be reimbursed to eligible students. 

INCOMPLETE COURSE: Incomplete courses, repetitions and non-credit recovery courses have an effect on the 

school's satisfactory progress standards. 

Attendance and Absence Policy 

 

The assistance is taken every day. The absence will be considered excused under the following circumstances: illness, 

death or birth in the immediate family, and other valid reasons based on writing and at the discretion of the school 

principal. All other absences will be considered unexcused. 

Student attendance is closely monitored so that students maintain satisfactory progress. If a student cannot maintain a 

good attendance schedule, he / she will not benefit from our training. Lost days will result in the lack of critical issues and 

experience. Students will have to recover the hours that the State Board requires to obtain the license. 

A. Fridays and Saturdays are the busiest days in the beauty profession. These are the days when the student 

will accumulate most of their valuable clinical practices; therefore, it is mandatory that the student attend 

these two days. Students (with a Dr.'s note) may be missing one (1) Friday or Saturday per month. Any 

other lost Friday or Saturday (regardless of the reason) the student will be charged $ 80.00 for each 

Friday and / or Saturday lost. Said daily amount shall be paid in advance to the Administration Office 

before returning to school. A full day is considered 6 1/2 hrs. or more every day 

B. Students who are too sick to meet the required expectations of classes must attend. If the absence falls on 

a Friday or Saturday, a valid doctor's excuse will be required for students the next day of attendance. 

Before registering, the student must inform the school principal or staff with the doctor's written excuse. 

C. Absences must be reported by phone at least thirty minutes before class instruction. The third day of 

absence requires a doctor's excuse. If the student cannot present an excuse from a doctor, he / she will be 

released on parole for thirty (30) days. If poor attendance continues, the student will not benefit from the 

course in which he is enrolled. The student must then meet with the principal and place it on a permanent 

probationary period for Academic Attendance and Achievement. If the student shows no improvement 

during that probationary period, the student will be dismissed from the instructional course. 

NOTE: See the Student Catalog, Satisfactory Progress Report in SATISFACTORY ASSISTANCE PROGRESS, which 

states that the student must maintain an attendance level greater than 67%. 

Tardiness: Tardiness is considered unjustified time, since it is considered non-professional behavior. Students must arrive 

on time for all classes. Tardiness disrupts a good learning environment for other students and the instructor who runs the 

class. Tardiness without legitimate reason twice will be considered an unexcused absence. 

 

Students who are late must report by phone before class starts. 

 

A. American Beauty Academy has the option and cannot allow students who are late to arrive during the first hour of 

class. 

1. 1. 1st Infringement: consultation / warning 3. 3rd offense: 30 days probation 

2. 2. Second offense - Write   4. Fourth Offense - Expulsion 

Interruption due to unsatisfactory assistance: Students with three unexcused absences in any class will receive written 

notification of academic probation for a period of one month. Any unexcused absence during said probationary period 

will be cause for interruption of the student's training program or dismissal. 

Dismissal Policy: A student will also be dismissed from enrollment for continued non-professional behavior, continuous 

breach of school rules, oath, drug use, physical altercation with another person, refusal to take a client, threats to another 

student or staff, or any another action that may endanger another student or staff. 

Readmission Policy: Any student who is suspended or sent home must appear to the principal on the day of return, before 

attending class. Any student who was dismissed, terminated or withdrawn due to any violation of the rules and wishes to 

re-enroll in American Beauty Academy will have to schedule an appointment with the Instructor and Director of 

American Beauty Academy, who will determine whether or not he / she will allow the student re-enrolls. 
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Satisfactory Progress Report 
Satisfactory progress in attendance and academic work is a requirement for all students enrolled in school. 

NOTE: Students who receive findings under any federal Title IV financial aid program must maintain satisfactory 

progress to continue eligibility for such funds. 

Definition: In American Beauty Academy, acceptable progress is defined as follows: 

1. A grade point average of 75% or more. 

2. An average attendance of 67% or more of the scheduled hours of assistance 

Conditional freedom: Cosmetology students who fall below the above standards are paroled for a period of 60 days. The 

trial period of manicure students is fourteen (14) days and the Aesthetic test period is thirty (30) days. Students on 

probation are considered to be progressing satisfactorily until the next evaluation period. During the probationary period, 

students are eligible to receive Title IV funds; however, they are monitored monthly to improve. Students who do not 

make satisfactory progress after the probationary period are no longer eligible for financial aid or student loans and may 

be withdrawn from school. Veteran students will have their benefits discontinued and the VA and Veteran will be 

notified. 

SATISFACTORY ASSISTANCE PROGRESS: Maximum time that a student must complete any course in one and a 

half times the duration of the course. The duration of the course is defined as the period of time identified in the 

enrollment contract. Example: 1600 hours, 10-month course, the maximum term is 15 months. Absence sheets, as defined 

below, will not be included in this total. In the event that a leave of absence is granted, the maximum period of completion 

of the student will be adjusted accordingly. Students re-enter the same state as when they left. Students will be charged 

the hourly amount of their course at this school if they have not completed their Cosmetology course: within 11 

months after enrollment / Manicure: within 15 weeks after enrollment / Beautician: within 19 weeks after 

registration 

 

NOTE: For contractual purposes, all contracted students will be allowed absences of 7.5% of the total duration of the 

course. Check your contract for its end date. We monitor satisfactory progress when progress reports are issued monthly. 

This ensures that all students have many opportunities to improve if they fall below the standards. 

 


