# Design's School of Cosmetology

# **SCHOOL CATALOG**

July 1, 2023 thru June 30, 2024

Revised 09/16/2023

# Main Campus:

2727 Buena Vista Drive #105
Paso Robles, CA 93446
Phone (805) 237-8575
Fax (805) 237-0639
www.designsschool.edu

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. This catalog is reviewed and updated, at least annually, in the month of June. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

## <u>APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT</u>

**Design's School of Cosmetology** is a private institution located at 2727 Buena Vista, #105, Paso Robles, CA 93446 licensed through the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education ("Bureau"). A license was issued when the Bureau determines the institution's operational plan satisfies the minimum standards listed in Education Code. The license will remain in effect for up to four years at which time Design's School of Cosmetology was responsible to submit to renew the license to operate.

Nationally, Design's School of Cosmetology is Accredited with Accrediting agency is the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS).

The institution, Design's School of Cosmetology, does not have a pending petition in bankruptcy, nor is operating as a debtor in possession, nor has filed a petition within the preceding five years nor has had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it within the preceding five years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. Sec. 1101 et seq)

A student may receive a copy of Design's School of Cosmetology's accreditation by contacting Jason Skinner, Owner, at 805-237-8575, or by email at jason@designsschool.edu.

The following courses are available: Cosmetology - 1000 hours

Manicuring - 400 hours

Cosmetician/Skin Care - 600 hours

California statute requires that a student, who successfully completes a course of study, be awarded an appropriate diploma or certificate verifying the fact.

Prospective enrollees are encouraged to visit the physical facilities of the school, review this catalog, and to discuss personal educational and occupational plans with the school personnel prior to enrolling or signing enrollment agreements. Students are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

The student must complete the requirements of the State of California, Department of Consumer Affairs, and Board of Barbering and Cosmetology to be eligible for the licensing examination. The address of the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology is, 2420 Del Paso Road, Ste 100, Sacramento, CA 95834. The telephone number is (916) 574-7570.

Persons seeking to resolve problems or complaints should first contact the instructor in charge. Requests for further action may be made to Kyle Balsdon, Director, in Paso Robles.

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225, Sacramento, CA 95834 P.O. Box 980818 West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 Web site address:

<u>www.bppe.ca.gov</u> Telephone and Fax #'s: (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897 (916) 574-8900 or by fax (916) 263-1897.

Any student or member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's internet web site www.bppe.ca.gov.

Any questions or unresolved complaints may be directed to:

National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS) 3015 Colvin Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Telephone (703) 600-7600
Web: naccas.org

The primary method of disseminating consumer information to Design's School of Cosmetology students is through the following:

- A. Design's School of Cosmetology catalog
- B. Design's School of Cosmetology website
- C. Student information handouts

All information in the content of this school catalog is current and correct and is so certified as true by Design's School of Cosmetology. A prospective student can review this catalog on Design's School of Cosmetology website, or request a hard copy, prior to signing an enrollment agreement.

Although every effort has been made to assure the accuracy of the information in this catalog, students and others who use this catalog should note that laws, rules, and policies change from time to time and that these changes may alter the information contained in this publication. Design's School of Cosmetology reserves the right to change its curriculum, schedules, tuition, fees, student rules, regulations and requirements at any time and without notice. Changes to information in the school catalog shall be updated annually by the institution. Changes made to catalog information prior to the annual update will accompany the catalog as supplements or inserts

Kyle Balsdon, Director, and Jason Skinner, Administrator, are designated as having the responsibility for distributing applications, forms and information to current and prospective students at Design's School of Cosmetology. Student Consumer Information is also located in the Director's office in each campus and the administrative office in the Paso Robles Campus. Prior to a student's first day of class, a student is given access to this information in a pre-enrollment meeting, and on the school's website at http://www.designsschool.edu.

Financial Aid Assistants, Jason Skinner, are dedicated to helping students find ways to finance their education. The financial aid staff is available to all enrolled students. They may be reached by calling the campus to schedule an appointment or they are available to enrolled students on a walk-in basis.

## **DESIGN'S SCHOOL OF COSMETOLOGY**

Is owned by a

Corporation

## **EXECUTIVE OFFICE**

2727 Buena Vista Drive, Ste. 105 Paso Robles, CA 93446

## **Corporation:**

Design's School of Cosmetology, Inc.

## **School Location:**

2727 Buena Vista Drive #105 Paso Robles, CA 93446 Website: designsschool.edu

The Owner is: Jason Skinner and Kyle Balsdon

## **MANAGEMENT AND STAFF**

Administrator/Financial Aid
Director
Instructor
Instruc

#### **FACULTY**

The faculty at Design's School of Cosmetology has been hired for their expertise in their particular field of beauty and wellness. Design's School of Cosmetology hiring qualifications for instructional staff includes being licensed by the State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology with at least 3 years of work experience. Our faculty members are trained in the Design's School of Cosmetology methodology and understand the importance of both Theory and Practical Training that are necessary for a student to be successful in their program of study.

#### INTRODUCTION

Welcome to Design's School of Cosmetology. Thank you for selecting our school to assist you in obtaining your desired cosmetology training. You are now entering into a field of experience that will provide you the opportunity for a very profitable and successful future in the exciting world of Beauty.

Design's School of Cosmetology, Paso Robles, was founded by Sharon Skinner in June of 1997. This school is being established to provide a service to the community and to offer educational programs in the field of Cosmetology. With this in mind, we continually survey the profession to keep abreast of current trends, designs and techniques required by employers. Instructors give "individual" as well as "class" instruction. This combination helps students to realize their goals. Each program of instruction upon completion will qualify the student for the California State Board of Barbering & Cosmetology licensing examination.

#### MISSION STATEMENT

At Design's School of Cosmetology, it is the objective to provide the student with the education necessary, to not only pass the licensing exam, but to be an asset to the profession of Cosmetology and to become a success in whatever area of Cosmetology the student desires. We place emphasis on how to be successful in the salon, and how to create the lifestyle that you desire. This means hard work, dedication and practice on your part. The degree of your success will depend on the effort you are willing to expend during the entire course of your training.

## **FACILITY**

Design's School of Cosmetology is located in Paso Robles, California about 20 miles north of San Luis Obispo. Class sessions are held at 2727 Buena Vista Drive, Suite 105, Paso Robles, CA. The School is convenient for public transportation, freeway access and restaurants. We are within 1/2 mile of the I-101 interchange at the 24th Street exit. Plenty of parking is available in the immediate area. There is in excess of 7100 square feet, which will accommodate approximately 80 students at any one time. The interior of the School has been designed to reflect a professional atmosphere conducive to learning. The School is divided into three types of class areas. Traditional classrooms and Salon Services and Spa Services. Classrooms are equipped with TV/DVD media carts, overhead projectors, and course management material used for instruction. Classrooms have available worktables and chairs for student use. The school's clinic area is equipped with equipment used in professional salon and spas. Reference material related to the beauty industry (DVD's, Modern Salon styling guides, additional books) are available for student use in our media library. There is a student break room for lunches and the restrooms are centrally located in the center of the building. The building is equipped to facilitate the handicapped.

Design's School of Cosmetology does not provide housing to students but may be able to assist in researching suitable accommodations. According to apartmentguide.com, many rental opportunities are available within 5 miles of each campus. Average 1 bedroom apartment rentals in Paso Robles, CA is \$848.

#### STATEMENT OF EDUCATIONAL GOALS AND OBJECTIVES

At Design's School of Cosmetology, it is the goal and objective to provide the student with the education necessary, to not only pass the licensing exam, but to be an asset to the profession of cosmetology with emphasis on how to be successful in whatever area of Cosmetology the student selects and how to create the lifestyle that the student desires.

In order to achieve this objective, the School does the following:

- Maintain a skilled and qualified teaching staff.
- Provide the student with a comprehensive curriculum in the basics and advanced areas of cosmetology, manicuring and related subjects with emphasis on salon techniques.
- Teaches the value of professionalism including high standards of workmanship and personal conduct, which will enable the student to acquire employment and be an asset in both their chosen field and community.
- Conducts its business in an ethical and educational atmosphere that is a credit to the Cosmetology Industry.

#### ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS

Design's School of Cosmetology admits as regular students: high school graduates and holders of high school diploma equivalents. Enrolling student will need to submit documentation for one of the following educational attainments:

- High School Diploma
- High School Transcripts showing school completion
- GED Certificate
- Home School Diploma
- High School Diploma from a Foreign Country. Evidence that verification was performed by an outside agency that is qualified to translate documents into English and confirm the academic equivalence to a U.S. high school diploma

Design's School of Cosmetology does not accept Ability-To-Benefit (ATB) students for enrollment.

Students receiving VA benefits must provide school the student's discharge document DD-214 form and official transcripts with all previous postsecondary education and in a timely manner, not to exceed 25% or the program.

Students already attending or admitted to another school offering a similar program of study will not be recruited.

Design's School of Cosmetology does not admit a non-immigrant, foreign students. Design's School of Cosmetology does not provide visa services.

Design's School of Cosmetology has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other college or university.

For information on how to obtain a GED, a student may receive assistance from the below mentioned schools.

Paso Robles Adult School 810 Niblick Rd. Paso Robles, CA 93447 (805) 237-3430

Vaccinations are not required for admission into our schools' programs. Anyone interested in getting more information about vaccinations should contact their local public health department or consult with their health care provider.

#### ADDITIONAL LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

In addition to the general requirements, an applicant for a cosmetology license is entitled to the license if the applicant:

- 1. Is at least 17 years of age.
- 2. Supplies proof of successful completion of the 10th grade in California or its equivalent and;
- 3. Has done any of the following:
- a. Completed a course in cosmetology from a school approved by the board or;
- b. Practiced cosmetology, as defined in this chapter, outside of California for a period of time equivalent to the study and training of a qualified person who has completed a course in a cosmetology from a school the curriculum of which complied with requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training of qualification under paragraph (1) of this subdivision or;
- c. Holds a license as a barber in California and has completed a cosmetology crossover course in a school approved by the board or;
- d. Completed a barbering course in a school approved by the board and has completed a cosmetology crossover course in a school approved by the board or;
- e. Completed the apprenticeship program in cosmetology specified in Article 4 (commencing with section 7332)

#### **GROUNDS FOR DENIAL OF A LICENSE**

- 1. A board may deny a license regulated by this code on the grounds that the applicant has one of the following:
- a. Been convicted of a crime. A conviction within the meaning of this section means a plea or verdict of guilty or a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Any action which a board is permitted to take following the establishment of a conviction may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, or the judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal, or when an order granting probation is made suspending the imposition of sentence, irrespective of a subsequent order under the provisions of Section 1203.4 of the Penal Code.

- b. Done any act involving dishonesty, fraud or deceit with the intent to substantially benefit himself or another, or substantially injure another; or done any act which if done by a licentiate of the business or profession in question, would be grounds for suspension or revocation of license. The board may deny a license pursuant to this subdivision only if the crime or act is substantially related to the qualifications, functions or duties of the business or profession for which application is made.
- 2. Notwithstanding any other provision of this code, no person shall be denied a license solely on the basis that he has been convicted of a felony if he has obtained a certificate of rehabilitation under Section 4852.01 and following of the Penal Code or that he has been convicted of a misdemeanor if he has met all applicable requirements of the criteria of rehabilitation developed by the board to evaluate the rehabilitation of a person when considering the denial of a license under subdivision (a) of Section 482.
- 3. A board may deny a license regulated by this code on the ground that the applicant knowingly made a false statement of fact required to be revealed in the application for such license.

#### STATE LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS

The course is designed to lead to a position in the cosmetology field, which requires licensure by the state. The curriculum for students enrolled in a Cosmetology course shall consist of 1000 clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology. Technical instruction will be by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation and examination. Practical operation shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person or on a manneguin. Practical operations shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical operation. To become a licensed Cosmetologist, a person must pass an examination given by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. Both a written examination and a practical demonstration of the candidate's ability are required. To qualify for the examination, a candidate must pay the required fee, be at least 17 years of age, completed the 10th grade in public school or its equivalent, committed no act or crimes constituting grounds for denial of licensure under Section 480 of the California Barbering and Cosmetology Act Business and Professions code, and completed the 1000-hour requirements as listed above in an approved California Cosmetology school. A Social Security Number is required to take the Cosmetology Test with the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. State board examinations are given in Fairfield and Glendale and the Board notifies the student of their expected examination date. The candidate for examination must pass the written and practical tests to receive a license. A candidate passing the written and practical examination and Board receipt of a 'Proof of Training' document issued by the school entitles the examinee to issuance of a state license.

## WITHDRAWAL AND RE-ENTRY POLICY

Students in good standing, who must withdraw due to extenuating circumstances, and who may wish to return, must notify the Director prior to being absent ten (10) school days. The student will be advised to determine if a Leave of Absence would be more appropriate. If a withdrawal is agreed upon by student and Director then it will be granted and the student may return to school within six months of the students last day of attendance, providing all fees and charges, per refund policy, have been paid for the current enrollment. The total tuition charges appearing on the original enrollment agreement (contract) will be honored, and any credits due student will be applied to new enrollment agreement for re-entry. No credits for hours or operations will be lost. If student does not return within six months of his/her last day of attendance this policy will not apply. Unless prior arrangements are made, the school will be responsible for storing their equipment for 30 days.

If a student returns after six months from last day of attendance the policy for "Students Transferring FROM another Cosmetology School" will apply.

Students who withdraw or are terminated and seek to re-enter into the school shall similarly have the same satisfactory progress status as he or she had at withdrawal or termination. If the student was not meeting satisfactory progress, he shall initially be placed on probation for one month at re-enrollment.

#### TRANSFERRING CREDIT FROM ANOTHER SCHOOL

Students that want to transfer to our school who have attended another school may be granted their accumulated hours and procedures upon satisfactory proof of completed hours, theory hours and practical procedures. They must submit to the admissions an official school transcript with all previous postsecondary education and training from their prior school with an official signature. Maximum number of hours that may be transferred from any other institution are as follows:

Cosmetology = 750 Cosmetician/Skin Care = 150 Manicuring = 0

Students who transfer from another school system will be treated as a new Student in terms of making satisfactory academic progress.

#### CREDIT FOR PRIOR EXPERIENTIAL LEARNING

Design's School of Cosmetology does not offer credit for experiential learning.

# NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION

The transferability of credits you earn at Design's School of Cosmetology is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of the certificate you earn in the educational program is also at the complete discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the certificate that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at the institution. For this reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending Design's School of Cosmetology to determine if you certificate will transfer

## **DISABILITY POLICY**

Design's School of Cosmetology accepts students with physical disabilities, students who are dyslexic, or students with a specific learning disability and our facility is adequate for their training. Students with disabilities may request reasonable accommodations to satisfy admission requirements, course completion, or graduation requirements.

#### **ENROLLMENT AND CLASS SCHEDULE**

Enrollment should be completed prior to the desired start date. Students who enroll and complete the necessary papers earliest will receive priority for enrollment in the event their desired class is filled to a maximum of 25 students. The Campus' are open Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Design's School of Cosmetology offers the following Enrollment Class Schedules.

1. 32 hours per week on an established schedule. (Full Time)

#### START DATES

Classes start every four weeks.

#### HOLIDAY AND EMERGENCY CLOSURES

The school is closed on Saturdays, Sundays, and the following Holidays:

New Year's Day, Memorial Day, July 4th, Labor Day, and Thanksgiving Day and the following Friday, Christmas Day and the day after. Holidays of all religious beliefs are respected and allowed. If the school must close for an emergency or other unexpected reason, students will be notified by phone, email, and/or a notice posted on the front door explaining the reason for the closure and the date of re-opening.

#### GRADUATION AND LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

Students who maintain a 75% average, show competency in practical procedures, complete all required clock hours in both practical and theoretical training will be eligible for graduation. Upon graduation, a Certificate will be awarded. The Certificate will verify graduation and successful completion of the course for which the student has enrolled. Upon receiving a Certificate, a student will qualify to take the required State Board Examination. The Board will set an examination date and issue a license to successful applicants.

## **METHOD OF PAYMENT**

Method of payment accepted for tuition and fees are Title IV funding (Pell Grant, Stafford Loan, Parent Plus Loan), cash, credit card, and check.

#### FINANCIAL AID PROGRAM AVAILABILITY

Information about financial aid programs is available to those students attending Design's School of Cosmetology. The following publications are available in the Front-End office or Admissions office.

- A. Design's School of Cosmetology school catalog (Admissions Office)
- B. Funding Your Education Booklet, published by US Department of Education (ED)
- C. Entrance Counseling Guide for Borrowers, published by ED
- D. Exit Counseling Guide for Borrowers, published by ED

The following are the programs that Design's School of Cosmetology participates in and are available to prospective and current students. The financial aid staff should have all of the necessary information available for students to apply for any of the following types of financial assistance.

- 1. Pell Grant
- 2. Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grants (FSEOG)
- 3. Direct Loan (DL)
  - a. Subsidized
  - b. Unsubsidized
  - c. PLUS
- 4. Veterans Educational Benefits

FSEOG: Each award year, the school is allocated a specific amount of FSEOG funds. FSEOG is awarded based on the funding level and availability of funds at each school. Funds MUST be made available to students throughout the entire award year. There is NO GUARANTEE that every eligible student will be able to receive an FSEOG.

According to regulations published in the US. Department of Education Student Financial Aid Handbook, FSEOG must be available to disburse to needy students throughout the Award Year. The school is allowed to establish categories of students to be considered for FSEOGs as a means of administering its packaging policies. The school has defined its "first selection group" to be independent students with a zero EFC enrolled full time in an eligible program. The "second selection group" has been defined as dependent students with a zero EFC enrolled full time in an eligible program. The "third selection group" has been defined as Pell eligible with EFCs greater than zero who are enrolled full time in an eligible program. Funds must be disbursed to eligible students in the "first selection group" before funds may be disbursed to eligible students in the "second or third selection groups." If FSEOG funds are available, funds will be subsequently disbursed to these students based on the lowest EFCs. The dollar amount of funds to be awarded is left to the discretion of the school's Financial Aid Administrator. The school determines if the award is to be credited to your account or paid directly to you. There is no requirement to reserve funds for eligible students who have late applications.

#### FINANCIAL AID DISBURSEMENT INFORMATION

Financial aid is disbursed as a student completes their practical procedures, tests and attendance satisfactorily. Cosmetology students will normally receive disbursements at the beginning of their program and then again at 451, 900, and 1251 completed hours.

A student's financial aid funds are received at the school by an electronic transfer. It is then posted to the student's ledger and the student will be notified. If students are taking out loans over the cost of their school and for cost of attendance, they will be eligible to receive disbursements according to their satisfactory completion of practical procedures, tests and attendance. Students will receive these disbursements in the form of a check made payable to the student.

#### TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF STUDENT LOANS

Students have the ability to apply for Department of Education Direct Loans. Before receiving loans, students will complete a Master Promissory Note (MPN). A MPN is a binding legal document student's sign by which they agree to repay their loans. The MPN will also contain the Borrower's Rights and Responsibilities statement that explain the terms and conditions of the loans received. If the student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loans plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that if the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the money not paid from federal student financial aid program funds.

#### STUDENT CONSUMER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

Students have certain rights and responsibilities relating to the financial aid process.

You have a right to know:

- 1. What financial aid programs are available.
- 2. What the application procedures and deadlines are.
- 3. How financial need is determined.
- 4. How and when you will be paid.
- 5. How much of your financial need has been met.
- 6. What type(s) of aid you have been awarded.
- 7. The satisfactory progress standards policy.
- 8. How to appeal decisions relating to your financial aid.

## Your responsibilities include:

- 1. Completion of all application forms accurately and on time.
- 2. Submission of all additional requested documentation.
- 3. Reviewing and understanding all forms and procedures prior to enrollment.
- 4. Enrollment into an eligible program.
- 5. Reading, understanding, and accepting responsibility for all forms and agreements you sign.
- 6. Notifying Design's School of Cosmetology of any changes in your marital and income status.
- 7. Notifying Design's School of Cosmetology if your address or enrollment status changes.
- 8. Notifying any lender with which you have a loan of any changes in your address or enrollment status.
- 9. Repayment of any loan amount received while attending Design's School of Cosmetology.
- 10. Maintaining satisfactory progress while enrolled at Design's School of Cosmetology

#### STUDENT LOAN DEFERMENT

Loan deferment refers to postponing the repayment of your loan. Federal Direct, Stafford and Perkins loans allow you to defer your repayment if you are enrolled at least half-time in school. Other deferment options can be pursued in cases of unemployment, severe economic hardship, etc. You must apply for a deferment with your lender. During the deferment period, if you have a subsidized loan, the federal government pays the interest charges. If you have an unsubsidized loan, you are responsible for the interest that accrues during the deferment period. You can still postpone paying the interest charges by capitalizing the interest, which increases the size of the loan. You can't get a deferment if your loan is in default.

#### **EMPLOYMENT REFERRAL AND STUDENT SERVICES**

Design School of Cosmetology does not guarantee employment or placement. Law prohibits any school or Academy from guaranteeing employment as an inducement to entering school. A referral service is maintained of employment opportunities for licensed graduates of Design's School of Cosmetology. Graduates or Alumni may make an appointment with the Registrar to discuss the employment opportunities available. Every effort is made to help the graduate obtain employment. The school has incorporated employment skills such as resume writing, professional appearance guidelines, job referrals, and follows up in its educational program. The school offers career, academic and individual advisement to all students. Advisement sessions are regularly scheduled but students may request advisement at any time.

The school also maintains a Website (BeautyLeap.com) to facilitate a community board for students, licensees and salons to post help/work wanted.

### **LEARNING RESOURCES**

Supplementary instructional resources are available to the students through online learning modules that are accessible either from their personal computers or through the computers that are available for student use in the theory classroom. Additional hard copy and CD/DVD instructional materials are also available in the theory class

. Resources are available to students at any time during school hours. Items are only intended for on-site usage due to limited supplies.

#### COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT POLICY

Copyright infringement is the act of violating any of a copyright owner's exclusive rights granted by the federal Copyright Act. Copyright infringement is against the law and is prohibited at this school. Willful copyright infringement can also result in criminal penalties of up to five years and fines of up to \$150,000 per offense.

#### **ADVISEMENT**

Any student may request individual advising regarding progress at any time during the course. Students must maintain a C average on exams and practical work in order to successfully progress through the course. Should the student be in need of additional academic assistance, they may return to the freshman classroom at no additional charge for as long as they feel the need for assistance.

#### **CANCELLATION AND SETTLEMENT POLICY**

Enrollment is defined as the time elapsed between the actual starting date and the date of the student's last day of physical attendance in the school. Any monies due the applicant or student shall be refunded within 30 days of formal cancellation by the student, or formal termination by the school, which shall occur no more than 14 days from the last day of physical attendance, or in the case of a leave of absence, the documented expected date of return.

If the school is permanently closed, an effort will also be made to encourage an Approved school in closest proximity to provide the remaining instructional hours to the student at cost not to exceed the balance of their existing contract obligations.

If a course is cancelled subsequent to a student's enrollment, the school shall:

- A. Provide a full refund of all monies paid; or
- B. Provide completion of the course.

#### **DENIED ADMISSION**

If a student is declined admission, the school shall:

A. Provide a full refund of all monies paid.

#### REFUND POLICY

Refund Policy applies to all terminations for any reason, by either party, including student decision, program closure cancellation, or school closure

## STUDENT'S RIGHT TO CANCEL

1. You have the right to cancel your agreement for a program of instruction, without any penalty or obligations, if the cancellation is made within seven days after starting class or the seventh day after enrollment. After the end of the cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time; and you have the right to receive a pro rata refund if you have completed 60 percent or less of the scheduled days in the current payment period in your program through the last day of attendance.

Cancellation of this agreement can occur up to:		
•	Date	

- 2. Cancellation may occur when the student provides a written notice of cancellation. This can be done by mail or by hand delivery.
- 3. The written notice of cancellation, if sen by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly addressed with proper postage.
- 4. The written notice of cancellation need not take any particular form, and however expressed; it is effective if it shows that the student no longer wishes to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement.
- 5. If the Enrollment Agreement is cancelled the school will refund 100% the student paid, less a reasonable registration fee not to exceed two hundred fifty dollar (\$250) within 45 days after the notice of cancellation is received.

## WITHDRAWAL FROM THE PROGRAM

You may withdraw from the school at any time after the cancellation period (described above) and receive a pro rata refund, in the current enrollment period in your program through the last day of attendance. The school will determine tuition used, books, and equipment costs based on scheduled hours. You will not be charged for books or kit if they are returned in new, unopened condition. The refund will be less a registration and withdrawal fee not to exceed \$250.00 within 45 days of withdrawal.

For the purpose of determining a refund under this section, a student shall be deemed to have withdrawn from a program of instruction when any of the following occurs:

- The student is not accepted by the school. Student is entitled to a refund of all monies except a nonrefundable registration fee.
- The student notifies the institution of the student's withdrawal or as of the date of the student's withdrawal, whichever is later.
- The institution terminates the student's enrollment for failure to maintain satisfactory progress; failure to abide by the rules and regulations of the institution; absences in excess of maximum set forth by the institution; and/or failure to meet financial obligations to the School.
- A student on an approved leave of absence notifies the school that he or she will not be returning. The
  date of withdrawal determination shall be the earlier of the scheduled return date for the leave of
  absence or the date the student notifies the institution the student will not be returning.

For the purpose of determining the amount of the refund, the date of the student's withdrawal shall be deemed the last date of recorded attendance. The amount owed equals the hourly charge for the program (total institutional charges, minus non-refundable fees, divided by the number of hours in the program), multiplied by the number of hours scheduled to attend prior to withdrawal.

A student who withdraw or terminate prior to course completion are charged a withdraw fee of \$150.00. A student returning from more than a 30-day withdrawal will be charge a re-entry fee of \$175.00 and the tuition rates current at the time of the re-entry will apply to the balance of training hours needed for the student.

Once the school has determined that a student has withdrawn, an institutional refund will be completed. If the student is receiving Financial Aid (Title IV Funds) a Title IV Return of Funds (R2T4) calculation will be completed first. Any unearned funds will be returned to the Department of Education.

Any unearned funds will be returned to the Department of Education. The order in which Title IV funds will be as follows: Federal Direct Plus Loan, Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford Loan, Federal Direct Subsidized Stafford Loan, Federal Pell Grant Program, Federal SEOG Program, Other Federal and State Programs, Institutional or Agency Programs.

If student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund. If student defaults on a federal or state loan, both the following may occur:

- The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the student, including garnishing an income tax refund; and
- The student may not be eligible for any other government financial assistance at another institution until the loan is repaid

Once a student has graduated and has gone into repayment the Direct Stafford Loan has the ability to defer payments should a student need for the following reason: continuing their education ( at least half-time at a postsecondary school), studying an approved graduate fellowship program or an approved rehabilitation training program for the disabled, inability to find full time employment (up to 3 years), economic hardship (includes the Peace Corp)maximum 3 years, engages in service listed under discharge/cancellation conditions and Active Military Duty while borrow is on active duty during a war or other military operation or national emergency and if the borrower was serving on or after Oct 1, 2007, for an additional 180 day period following the demobilization date for the qualifying service.

If the course is cancelled subsequent to a student's enrollment, the school will either provide a full refund of all monies paid or completion of the course at a later time. If the course is cancelled after students have enrolled and instruction has begun, the school shall provide a pro rata refund for all students transferring to another school based on the hours accepted by the receiving school OR provide complete of the course OR participate in a Teach-Out Agreement OR provided a full refund of all monies paid.

#### STUDENT COMPLAINT PROCEDURE

If a student should have a complaint that cannot be resolved with their instructor, they may file a written complaint with the school first, but it is not required. The student may contact the Bureau for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education at any time. The student may give the complaint to any personnel on staff. The complaint will then be given to the Director. They will be available Monday through Friday between 10:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. The Director will investigate interview and review documents that may relate to the complaint. The facilities directors then will notify the student in writing of the complaint disposition. The complaint will be recorded, a summary of the complaint and its disposition, then logged in the complaint file. Any student that has been affected by the same or similar incidences will be provided a remedy. Any student that does not feel that their complaint has considered fairly and in a timely manner may appeal to:

National Accrediting Commission of the Career Arts & Sciences 3015 Colvin Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone: (703) 600-7600
Website: naccas.org

A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 toll-free or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's website: <a href="https://www.bppe.ca.gov">www.bppe.ca.gov</a>

1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste 225, Sacramento, CA 95834 P.O. Box 980818 West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 Web site address: <a href="www.bppe.ca.gov">www.bppe.ca.gov</a> Telephone and Fax #'s: (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897 (916) 574-8900 or by fax (916) 263-1897

### SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY

The Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) Policy is consistently applied to all students enrolled at the school. It is printed in the catalog to ensure that all students receive a copy prior to enrollment. The policy complies with the guidelines established by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS) and the federal regulations established by the United States Department of Education.

#### **EVALUATION PERIODS**

The corresponding academic year for programs is outlined below:

Program 1st Academic Year 2nd Academic Year

Cosmetology 900 Hours 100 Hours

Cosmetician/Skin Care 600 Hours Manicuring 400 Hours

Students are evaluated for Satisfactory Academic Progress as follows:

Cosmetology (Clock Hours 1000) -

1st Evaluation Period Ends: 450 Clock Hours and 14 Weeks 2nd Evaluation Period Ends: 900 Clock Hours and 28 Weeks 3rd Evaluation Period Ends: 1000 Clock Hours and 32 Weeks

Cosmetician/Skin Care (Clock Hours 600) –

1st Evaluation Period Ends: 300 Clock Hours and 10 Weeks 2nd Evaluation Period Ends: 600 Clock Hours and 20 Weeks

Manicuring (Clock Hours 400) –

1st Evaluation Period Ends: 200 Clock Hours and 6.25 Weeks 2nd Evaluation Period Ends: 400 Clock Hours and 6.25 Weeks

Evaluations will determine if the student has met the minimum requirements for satisfactory academic progress. All evaluations will be completed within (7) school business days following the established evaluation periods. Students not meeting the requirements for satisfactory progress will be provided a written notice of their standing at the time of evaluation. A copy of students' evaluations are made available in the administrative office. The frequency of evaluations ensures that students have had at least one evaluation by midpoint in the course.

### ATTENDANCE PROGRESS EVALUATIONS

Students are required to attend a minimum of 80% of the hours possible based on the applicable attendance schedule in order to be considered maintaining satisfactory attendance progress. Evaluations are conducted at the end of each evaluation period to determine if the student has met the minimum

<sup>\*</sup>Transfer Students- Midpoint of the contracted hours or the established evaluation periods, whichever comes first. SAP evaluation periods are based on actual contracted hours at the institution.

requirements. The attendance percentage is determined by dividing the total hours accrued by the total number of hours scheduled. At the end of each evaluation period, the school will determine if the student has maintained at least 80% cumulative attendance since the beginning of the course which indicates that, given the same attendance rate, the student will graduate within the maximum time frame allowed.

#### MAXIMUM TIME FRAME

The maximum time (which does not exceed 125% of the course length) allowed for students to complete each course at satisfactory academic progress is stated below:

COURSE	MAXIMUM TIME ALLOWED		
	WEEKS	SCHEDULED HOURS	
Cosmetology (Full time, 32 hrs/wk) - 1000 Hours	40 Weeks	1280	
Cosmetician/Skin Care (Full time, 30 hrs/wk) – 600 Hours	25 Weeks	750	
Manicuring (Full time, 32 hrs/wk) – 400 Hours	15.6 Weeks	500	

If, due to attendance or academic problems, a student must attend additional Program hours beyond the 125% Maximum Program Length in order to complete the Program, the students Enrollment Agreement will terminate.

The maximum time allowed for transfer students who need less than the full course requirements will be determined based on 80% of the scheduled contracted hours.

Students will only receive VA benefits, based on their eligibility, for the published length (100%) of the program.

#### **ACADEMIC PROGRESS EVALUATIONS**

The qualitative element used to determine academic progress is a reasonable system of grades as determined by assigned academic learning. Students are assigned academic learning and a minimum number of practical experiences. Academic learning is evaluated after each unit of study. Practical assignments are evaluated as completed and counted toward course completion only when rated as satisfactory or better (the computer system will reflect completion of the practical assignment as a 100% rating). If the performance does not meet satisfactory requirements, it is not counted, and the performance must be repeated. At least two comprehensive practical skills evaluations will be conducted during the course of study. Practical skills are evaluated according to text procedures and set forth in practical skills evaluation criteria adopted by the school. Students must maintain a written grade accumulative average of 75% and pass a FINAL written and practical exam prior to graduation. Students must make up failed or missed tests and incomplete assignments. Numerical grades are considered according to the following scale:

90 - 100	EXCELLENT
80 - 89	VERY GOOD
75 - 79	SATISFACTORY
74 and BELOW	UNSATISFACTORY

#### **DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS**

Students meeting the minimum requirements for academics and attendance at the evaluation point are considered to be making satisfactory academic progress until the next scheduled evaluation. Students deemed not meeting the minimum requirements may have their Title IV Funding interrupted, unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal resulting in a status of probation.

#### WARNING

Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress are placed on warning and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress while during the warning period. The student will be advised in writing on the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the warning period, the student has still not met both the attendance and academic requirements, he/she may be placed on probation and, if applicable, students may be deemed ineligible to receive Title IV funds.

#### **PROBATION**

Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress after the warning period will be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory academic progress while during the probationary period, if the student appeals the decision, and prevails upon appeal. Additionally, only students who have the ability to meet the Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy standards by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation. Students placed on an academic plan must be able to meet requirements set forth in the academic plan by the end of the next evaluation period. Students who are progressing according to their specific academic plan will be considered making Satisfactory Academic Progress. The student will be advised in writing of the actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation. If at the end of the probationary period, the student has still not met both the attendance and academic requirements required for satisfactory academic progress or by the academic plan, he/she will be determined as NOT making satisfactory academic progress and, if applicable, students will not be deemed eligible to receive Title IV funds.

## RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS

Students may re-establish satisfactory academic progress and Title IV aid, as applicable, by meeting minimum attendance and academic requirements by the end of the warning or probationary period.

## INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, WITHDRAWALS

If enrollment is temporarily interrupted for a Leave of Absence, the student will return to school in the same progress status as prior to the leave of absence. Hours elapsed during a leave of absence will extend the student's contract period and maximum time frame by the same number of days taken in the leave of absence and will not be included in the student's cumulative attendance percentage calculation. Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will return in the same satisfactory academic progress status as at the time of withdrawal. Course incompletes and noncredit remedial courses have no effect on satisfactory progress standards.

#### APPEAL PROCEDURE

If a student is determined to not be making satisfactory academic progress, the student may appeal the determination within ten calendar days. Reasons for which students may appeal a negative progress determination include death of a relative, an injury or illness of the student, or any other allowable special or mitigating circumstance. The student must submit a written appeal to the school on the designated form describing why they failed to meet satisfactory academic progress standards, along with supporting

documentation of the reasons why the determination should be reversed. This information should include what has changed about the student's situation that will allow them to achieve Satisfactory Academic Progress by the next evaluation point. Appeal documents will be reviewed, and a decision will be made and reported to the student within 30 calendar days. The appeal and decision documents will be retained in the student file. If the student prevails upon appeal, the satisfactory academic progress determination will be reversed and federal financial aid will be reinstated, if applicable.

## NONCREDIT, REMEDIAL COURSES, REPETITIONS

Noncredit, remedial courses, and repetitions do not apply to this institution. Therefore, these items have no effect upon the school's satisfactory academic progress standards.

#### TRANSFER HOURS

With regard to Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student's transfer hours will be counted as both attempted and earned hours for the purpose of determining when the allowable maximum time frame has been exhausted.

## STUDENTS RECEIVING TITLE IV FUNDS

Students who are receiving Title IV funds and who have not achieved satisfactory progress at the end of the probationary period in either academic or attendance will not be eligible for **Title IV** aid until satisfactory progress has been achieved. Once federal monies have been terminated the balance of the tuition owed is the responsibility of the students.

#### ATTENDANCE POLICY

Absences will be considered as excused under the following circumstances: illness, death or birth in the immediate family, and other valid reasons. All excused absences are to be substantiated in writing and are at the discretion of the school Administration. All other absences will be considered unexcused. If you have a special event to attend, it will be excused with a two-week notice.

## MAKE-UP WORK OR CLASS MISSED

To make-up work or classes that you missed, check the Class Schedule for the next date class will be given and request permission from the Director or Supervising Instructor to attend. Full time students are required to complete a minimum of 26 hours per week to be considered meeting Satisfactory Attendance Progress.

#### TARDY TO CLASS

Any student late for Theory Class will not be permitted to enter the classroom. Students may not attend school if they have not arrived on time. Exceptions may be made for extenuating, unforeseen circumstances.

#### LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Design's School of Cosmetology recognizes that over the course of enrollment it may be necessary to take a short break from training for a variety of reasons. Students should confer with their administrative office

to determine if they are eligible for a leave and what impact taking a leave will have on their program. The student's administrative office will assist the student in requesting a leave of absence and determining what supporting documentation, if any, is required to approve the leave.

#### NOTIFICATION

Any student needing to take a leave of absence must provide in advance, in writing, his or her administrative office notice if the need for the leave is foreseeable. Written notice must include the reason for the student's request and include student's signature. If the written notice for Leave of Absence is approved, an enrollment addendum form must be signed and dated by all parties. Changes to the contract period on the enrollment agreement must be initialed by all parties or an addendum must be signed and dated by all parties. If notice is not provided and the reason for the leave was foreseeable, the leave could be delayed up to 30 days.

Where unforeseen events occur that require a personal or extenuating circumstance leave, students must give notice as soon as practical, but no longer than 7 days after the event leading to the need for leave occurs. To request a leave, the student must contact his or her administrative office who will explain impact on the enrollment agreement and prepare the form for the student to sign via on-site or mail. Student will need to provide an estimated return date to expect at the end of the leave of absence.

A student may request leave of absence when a break from school is greater than 21 calendar days. The maximum time for leaves cannot exceed 180 calendar days in any 12-month period. \*In special circumstances such as the COVID-19 pandemic, the school may grant a Leave of Absence to a student in the case of an emergency that would prevent the student from requesting the leave of absence prior to the incident occurring. In these cases, the school will collect the request from the student at a later date and document the reason for granting the LOA after the incident occurred. The beginning date of the LOA will be based on the first date it has been determined that the student cannot participate in class due to the COVID-19 related circumstances listed above. A student on a LOA due to a COVID-19 related circumstance may return sooner than the required 21-day break if the student provides documentation that COVID-19 is no longer a concern.

#### STUDENT LEAVE OF ABSENCE

- Scheduled hours will not be accumulated
- Institution may not assess the student any additional institutional charges as result of the Leave of Absence
- The leave will not affect the student's satisfactory progress status
- The student's maximum timeframe for course completion and enrollment agreement end date will be extended by the number of calendar days of the leave
- Refund calculation will not be performed at that time because student is not considered withdrawn.
- There must be a reasonable expectation that the student will return from the Leave of Absence
- The student will be informed as to when he or she is scheduled to resume training

- The student will return to school with the same academic and attendance status held prior to the leave
- Failure to return from a leave of absence on the scheduled date will result in immediate termination from school. Students withdraw date for the purpose of calculating a refund is always their last day of attendance.
- If the student is a title IV, HEA program loan recipient, and prior to granting the leave of absence, the student will be informed of the effects that the student's failure to return from a leave of absence may have on the student's loan repayment terms, including the exhaustion of some or all of the student's grace period.

#### STUDENT'S RESPONSIBILITY UPON RETURN FROM LEAVE

The student will return to school from a leave of absence on the return date specified on the Leave of Absence Request form. A student who wishes to extend or shorten the scheduled leave of absence must contact the administrative office at least two business days prior to the originally scheduled return date or desired new return date.

#### **CHANGE OF CLASS STATUS**

If a student finds they are unable to attend their scheduled hours they must request a change of status/schedule from the Director prior to attending more or less hours and/or a different schedule. The new schedule must be approved by the administrative staff.

### **COURSE WITHDRAWAL**

A student has the right to withdraw from a course of instruction at any time. If a student withdraws from the course of instruction after the period allowed for cancellation of the agreement, the school will remit a refund within 30 Days following the student's withdrawal. The student withdraws prior to completing the program he or she is enrolled in, a refund will be calculated for the unused portion of the tuition. The cost of the supplies issued, and equipment is no longer refundable due to sanitary reasons and/or poor condition. A student not in attendance shall be considered withdrawn as of the 14th school day of non-attendance. Student transcripts are kept indefinitely.

#### **ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE**

Design's School offers classes in English only. At this time Design's School of Cosmetology does not offer English as a second language.

Student must show English language proficiency. A copy of high school diploma or the equivalent will be acceptable in showing English language proficiency.

#### NON – DISCRIMINATION POLICY

Design's School of Cosmetology does not discriminate on the basis of sex, age, race, color, religion, or ethnic origin in its educational programs, which it operates, and is prohibited, from such discrimination by

law. This practice of non-discrimination also extends to employment by the school and the administration of students to programs and activities operated by the school. Federal sexual harassment guidelines have been adopted as part of the school policies.

#### DISCLOSURE OF EDUCATIONAL RECORDS

Students and parents or guardians of dependent minors have the right to inspect, review and challenge information contained in their education records. Educational records are defined as files, materials, and documents which contain information directly related to a student that is maintained by the institution. Written consent is required each time a review is requested before education records may be disclosed to third parties with the exception of accrediting commissions or governmental agencies so authorized by law. Any inquiries or complaints regarding the above should be directed to the owner of the school, or authorized representative. It is asked that a twenty-four hour notice be given to management by anyone wishing to inspect educational records. All inspection of records must be Cosmetology, Cosmetician/Skin Care, and Manicuring related subjects with emphasis on salon techniques done under supervision of school management. We do not publish a student directory. A record of student's hours and progress will be kept indefinitely. Student files will be retained for five (5) years.

#### FAMILY EDUCATIONAL RIGHTS AND PRIVACY ACT

If you are the parent of a student under 18 years old or tax dependent, or if you are a student 18 years or older, you should know that the privacy of your child's (or your) school records is protected by a federal – the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 (FERPA). The FERPA gives certain rights to parents regarding their children's educational records. These rights transfer to the student or former student who has reached the age of 18 or is no longer tax dependent attending any school beyond the high school level. Students and former students to whom the rights have transferred are called eligible students. The school must have written permission from the parent or eligible student before releasing any information from a student's record for each third-party request. However, the law allows schools to disclose records, without consent, to the following parties: school employees who have need-to-know; certain government officials in order to carry out lawful functions; appropriate parties in connection with financial aid to a student; organizations doing certain studies for the school; accrediting organizational, individuals who have obtained court orders or subpoenas; persons who need to know in cases of health and safety emergencies; state and local authorities to whom disclosure is required by state laws adopted before November 19, 1974. The school may also disclose, without consent, "directory" type information such as a student's name, address, telephone number, date and place of birth, and dates of attendance to those who have a legitimate need to know. You may, however, request in writing that the school not disclose any or all of this information before publishing.

#### **CAREER CONSIDERATIONS**

A person wanting to become a professional in these fields must:

- Have finger dexterity.
- Enjoy dealing with the public.
- Keep abreast of the latest fashions.
- Work long hours to earn desired income.
- Learn the skills necessary to operate a personal business.

Condition a student should be aware of:

 Work can be arduous and physically demanding with periods of long standing over a chair, facial bed or nail station.

- A personal investment may be required for advertising and promotions.
- There is exposure to various chemicals and fumes which may cause allergic reactions or be harmful if used incorrectly.
- The practice of safety and sanitation is essential for effective performance in the industry.
- Methods of compensation vary and may include straight salary, salary + commission, straight commission, sliding scale commission, hourly, retail commission or independent contracting.

### **NACCAS JOB DEMAND SURVEY**

NACCAS has commissioned a Job Demand Survey, to provide quantitative data on cosmetology careers, earnings potential and job openings. The survey, completed in May 2007, compiles data from 6,203 salons responding to a national survey.

The 2007 Job Demand Survey results indicate that salons in California plan to hire 45,967 new employees in the next twelve months. The average annual salary for a salon professional in California is \$44,134. This amount does not include tips and gratuities. Nationally, the average salon professional's salary is \$35,973.

Most importantly, 69% of California salon owners who attempt to hire new employees in 2006 said they were unable to find properly trained applicants. This means jobs would be immediately available for salon professionals.

As of January 2007, there were 325,021 professionals employed at California's 48,131 salons. 40% of saloons in the state are employer-owned, and 29% are booth-rental salons. The other 31% are a combination of the two.

49% of California salons are classified their owners a full-service salon; 20% are listed as haircutting salons. Barbershops make up 13% of the total. Naturally, 58% of the salons are listed as full-service, meaning that California has a higher percentage of specialized establishments.

## COMPLETION, PASS AND PLACEMENT RATES

As documented in our 2019 NACCAS Annual Report is as follows:

Of the students that were scheduled to graduate in 2019, 78.35% of them completed.

Of the students that took the State Board Exams in 2019; 80.56% passed practical and written tests.

Of the students that graduated in 2019; 68.42% of them were placed in the field.

Retention rate for first time, full time students is 89%.

Percentage of first time, full time students who transfer is 6%.

#### STUDENT BODY DIVERSITY

This is all full-time students who received Pell Grants and is reported by percentage of gender and by percentage of race/ethnicity within each gender classification. Race/ethnicity identification is reported at the option of the student. The data provided below is based upon students enrolled in the Fall 2009 academic term.

	Gender %	% of Gender
Female Hispanic/Latino Black or African American Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander Caucasian	96%	31% 4% 4% 62%
Male Black or African American	4%	100%

#### OTHER SCHOOL POLICIES

All other School Policies and information will be given to the prospective student during the Admissions Interview. These policies and information include but are not limited to:

- 1. Disclosures regarding Cosmetology as a Career
- 2. Cancellation Notice
- 3. Refund Examples
- 4. Complete Kit List
- 5. A tour of the school.
- 6. Satisfactory Academic and Attendance Policy
- 7. Withdrawal and Re-Entry Policy
- 8. Policy for Transfer Students
- 9. Privacy Act
- 10. Graduate and Placement Rates
- 11. Dates for Evaluation, Counseling and Progress Reports
- 12. Notice of Student Rights
- 13. Course Outline and Class Schedule
- 14. Complete Kit List
- 15. Drug Abuse Prevention Policy

## **TUITION AND FEES**

Program	Registration Fee*	Books**	Equipment and	Tuition:(Enrollment Period 1-900 hours)	Tuition:(Enrollment Period 901-1000	STRF Fee	Total***
			Materials**	,	hours)		
COSMETOLOGY COURSE (SOC# 39- 5012)	\$175.00	\$350.00	\$1415.00	\$12,420.00	\$1380.00	\$40.00	\$15,780.00
COSMETICIAN/SKIN CARE COURSE	\$175.00	\$350.00	\$570.00	\$9810.00	N/A	\$27.50	\$10,932.50

(SOC# 39-5094)							
MANICURING COURSE (SOC# 39- 5092)	\$175.00	\$200.00	\$250.00	\$2375.00	N/A	\$7.50	\$3007.50

The schedule of total charges for a period of attendance and an estimated schedule of total charges for the entire educational program are the same.

#### **ADDITIONAL CHARGES**

Any student who does not complete a course within the allotted contract enrollment period will be charged \$50.00 for each day required for completion. Exceptions will be made for approved Leaves of Absence or changes of Status. Leaves of absence or changes in status are approved upon written request of the school for extended illnesses of the student; birth, death in the student's family or for other reasons deemed legitimate by the school and which can be substantiated in writing. Normal enrollment periods provide adequate allowance for limited excused absences.

#### STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND

The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF, and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program."

"It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

<sup>\*</sup>Non-refundable fee if student withdraws

<sup>\*\*</sup> Equipment and Books, once opened, cannot be returned and is non-refundable due to sanitary reasons.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup>Payment arrangements can be made with the school to fit the student's needs within reason. Failure to keep contracted payment arrangements will constitute breach of contract and will result in immediate dismissal.

- 1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.
- 2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120-day period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120-day period before the program was discontinued.
- 3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.
- 4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.
- 5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.
- 6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution.
- 7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non-collection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number.

## ADDITIONAL COST CONSIDERATIONS

Below is an estimate of how much money will be required for reasonable expenses while attending school. Most people, when budgeting for school, look at the tuition and assume that tuition is more or less the cost to attend our school, when the reality is that tuition may be as little as 50% of the overall budget. Here are some sample additional expenditures of attending school.

## **Cost of Attendance: Independent**

Cosmetology (1-900 Hours) Cosmetology (901-1000 Hours) Cosmetician/Skin Care (600 Hours)						
7 Months		5 Month	S	5 Months		
Room & Board Transportation Personal Total	\$6839.00 \$1043.00 <u>\$1540.00</u> \$9422.00	Room & Board Transportation Personal	\$4885.00 \$745.00 <u>\$1100.00</u> \$6730.00	Room & Board Transportation Personal	\$4885.00 \$745.00 <u>\$1100.00</u> \$6730.00	
Cosmetology (1-Cosmetician/Skin	900 Hours) Care (600 Hours)	Cost of Attenda Cosmetology (9	ance: Dependent 01-1000 Hours)			
7 Moi	,	5 Month	S	5 Month	IS	
Room & Board	\$2401.00	Room & Board	\$1965.00	Room & Board	\$1965.00	
Transportation	\$1043.00	Transportation	\$745.00	Transportation	\$745.00	
Personal	<u>\$1540.00</u>	Personal	<u>\$1100.00</u>	Personal	<b>\$1100.00</b>	

#### SCHOOL GUIDELINE AND DISCIPLINARY ACTION

\$3810.00

\$3810.00

#### IMMEDIATE WITHDRAWAL

1. Theft.

Total

- 2. Clocking in for school and not being found on campus.
- 3. Altering or forging timecards.
- 4. Use of drugs or alcohol in the school
- 5. Causing extreme or will full disruption of school.

\$4984.00

6. Physical abuse of another person.

#### INSTRUCTOR'S IMMEDIATE CLOCK OUT

- 1. Leaving school without permission of instructor.
- 2. Failure to have proper equipment when needed.
- 3. Use of foul language, ethnic, racial or sexual slurs.
- 4. Receiving personal services without instructor's permission.
- 5. Gossiping or causing discord in the school.
- 6. Smoking outside of designated areas.
- 7. Refusing to perform an assignment, patron or otherwise.
- 8. Removing timecards from the school premises.
- 9. Using product or performing services not on patron ticket.
- 10. Modifying customer or services without consulting instructor.
- 11. Being in school under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- 12. Not wearing required smock and/or name tag.

#### **GROUNDS FOR STUDENT ADVISORY**

1. Late to class or clinic 3 times within 30 days. (15 min. or more).

- 2. Failure to clock in or out properly.
- 3. Failure to take lunch break at proper time.
- 4. Absences will be considered unexcused unless the instructor has been notified prior to the absence.
- 5. Unsatisfactory Attendance/Academic Progress.

#### **GENERAL**

- 1. After three Student Advisories the student can be dismissed.
- 2. These guidelines are not all inclusive, as there are other student violations that may require action of the school.

These guidelines may be revised at any time. They will then be posted on the bulletin the student board.

### **EMERGENCY RESPONSE AND EVACUATION PROCEDURES**

In the case of a significant emergency or dangerous situation involving an immediate threat to the health or safety of students, employees, or clients occurring on either campus where it is deemed necessary to close by the School Director and Director of Education, the following evacuation procedure would be implemented:

- The Institution will, without delay, and taking into account the safety of the community, determine
  the content of the notification and initiate the notification system, unless the notification will, in the
  professional judgment of responsible authorities, compromise efforts to assist victims or to contain,
  respond to, or otherwise mitigate the emergency.
- The process used to confirm that there is a significant emergency, determine who to notify, determine the content of the notification and initiate the notification system is as follows:
  - Situation will be assessed by the School Director, or in their absence, the Director of Education at either location or responsible administrative personnel who will then advise Director. Should this be determined as a significant emergency, a call will be made to 911, the local police and/or fire department. Determination will be made relative to characteristics of emergency as to whether students, staff, and clients will be evacuated or directed to protected areas of the building.
- The names and titles or the persons and organizations responsible for carrying out this process are:

Jason Skinner - Administrator Kyle Balsdon - Director

- The procedure for disseminating emergency information to the larger community is by advising the local police and or fire department once the responsible parties have made this determination.
- Testing of the preceding emergency response and evacuation procedures will be performed on at least an annual basis and include the publicizing of the procedures taken. Documentation of this exercise including date and time performed and whether announced or unannounced will be completed immediately following testing.

DRUG AND ALCOHOL POLICY

Design's School of Cosmetology is a private proprietary postsecondary training school. School policy requires compliance with the Drug Free Schools and Communities Amendments of 1989 (a Federal Law). The school has adopted the following drug and alcohol prevention program.

Design's School of Cosmetology forbids the use, possession, distribution, sale or manufacture by a student or employee of alcohol for illicit drugs anywhere on school property or during any school authorized campus activity. Students or employees in violation of state, federal or local regulations with respect to illegal drug or alcohol use may be subject to both criminal prosecution and campus disciplinary action.

## Legal

Any student or employee convicted of the unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensation, possession, use or abuse of drugs or alcohol is subject to criminal penalties under local state or feral law. These penalties will vary in severity from a fine and/or a jail sentence as set forth by the local, state and federal law. The exact penalty depends upon the nature of severity of the individual offense.

### **School Policy**

Possession, use sale or manufacture of alcohol or illegal drugs in any amount by a student on school property or at a school-authorized activity will result in disciplinary probation, suspension or termination. The severity of the sanction depends upon the nature and severity of individual offense.

## **Definition of Student Policy**

Disciplinary Probation: A specified period of time in which a student is advised in writing of probable suspension or termination for future violation of this policy.

Suspension: Temporary interruption of training for a specified period of time, with the student advised in writing of probable termination for future violation of this policy.

Termination: Dismissal for an indefinite period of time; usually a permanent dismissal from the school. Condition of appeal of termination is outlined in the school catalog.

#### **Definition of Employee Policy**

Possession, use, sale or manufacture or furnishing a minor with alcohol or illegal drugs in any amount by an employee on school property, or at a school authorized activity will result in suspension or dismissal depending on the nature and severity of the violation.

Suspension: Unpaid interruption of employment for a specified period of time with the employee advised in writing of probable dismissal for future violation of this policy.

Dismissal: Termination of employment with the employee notified in writing that he/she is ineligible for rehire by the school at any time in the future.

\*\*These policies are in addition to any criminal penalties, which may be imposed by the judicial system. Students, employees are subject to both student and employee policy.

Suspension: Unpaid interruption of employment for a specified period of time with the employee advised in writing of probable dismissal for future violation of this policy.

Dismissal: Termination of employment with the employee notified in writing that he/she is ineligible for rehire by the school at any time in the future.

\*\*These policies are in addition to any criminal penalties, which may be imposed by the judicial system. Students, employees are subject to both student and employee policy.

#### **Health Risks**

Substance Effects

**Alcohol (at .08 Blood alcohol and above)** Impaired motor abilities, reduces judgments: sleepiness;

increase sexual desire but reduces ability to perform; nausea; vomiting; liver disorder, Alcoholic Hepatitis, Alcoholic Cirrhosis; cancer of the mouth, tongue, throat esophagus, liver breast; fetal alcohol syndrome (most

common symptom is mental retardation).

Cannabis, Marijuana, Hash, Hash Oil, THC Diminished: short term memory, motivation, cognition

coordination, oral communication and reaction time; anxiety and panic reaction; damaged lungs and respiratory system; carcinogenic elements in smoke.

Cocaine (Includes Crack) Increased likelihood of risk taking: seizures;

sleeplessness, paranoia, irregular heartbeat, can cause sudden death by stroke or heart failure even in your users, cocaine psychosis (paranoia and hallucinations) ulceration of mucous membranes in nose; sexual dysfunction; during pregnancy: severe physical and

emotional problems to babies.

**Depressants, Tranquilizers, Barbiturates,** Dangerous effects when mixed with alcohol; calmness

and released muscle.

Methagualone slurred speech, staggering gait, loss of motor

coordination; altered perception; respiratory depression which can result in coma or death; disruption of normal sleep cycle; tolerance develops severe withdrawal symptoms; physical and psychological dependence; during pregnancy; birth defects and brain tumors in

children.

**Stimulants (excluding Cocaine)** increased heart and respiratory rates; elevated

## Drug Counseling, Rehabilitation, and Assistance Programs

San Luis Obispo County Drug and Alcohol Services, (Atascadero, CA) San Luis Obispo Drug & Alcohol, (San Luis Obispo, CA)

Campus Crime, Sexual Assault and Sexual Harassment Policy

Design's School of Cosmetology is a private proprietary post-secondary school. School policy requires compliance with the Campus Security Act of 1990 and the Campus Security Act of 1998 (Federal Law). The school has adopted the following

Campus Crime and Sexual Harassment Policy. This policy applies to all students, employees and campus visitors.

## **Campus Crime Policy Responsibilities/Procedures**

All employees and students are required to file a written incident report for all crimes and unsafe incidents occurring on campus, to the Director of Education within 24 hours of the incident. Incident report forms are available in the drawer at the front desk or in the administrative office. All students and employees will be notified via memo if Management considers any incident to be a threat to campus safety. The annual crime disclosure report will be prepared from reports, along with annual reports from the local police. The Director of Education bears the responsibility of campus notification when warranted. The president bears the responsibility for the annual Crime and Security Report.

Campus hours of operation are Monday through Friday 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Someone from Administration is in the building and in charge of security during all hours of operation. Although no school employees are authorized to make an arrest, all Administration personnel are trained in the accurate and prompt reporting of any crime to the Paso Robles Police Department or Pleasanton Police Department.

The campus Crime Policy is distributed to all students and employees not later than October 1st each year. The school drug and alcohol policy are also distributed to all students and employees no later than October 1st.

All staff members including faculty must be cognizant of crime prevention and security procedures. At a minimum, staff members are responsible for:

- Assuring all possessions are stored securely and all office and classrooms are locked when unattended.
- 2. Immediately reporting suspected criminal activity to Administrative personnel. All staff members are trained to follow up the verbal report with a completed written incident report as soon as possible.
- 3. Acting in a responsible and cautious manner when observing criminal activity. The personal safety of student and staff members must be everyone's primary concern. Therefore, staff members must not confront, antagonize or attempt to apprehend suspected criminals. They should, however, try to observe and remember the description of the suspect and to cooperate with the law enforcement officials in an attempt to identify all perpetrators.

## **CAMPUS CRIME REPORTS**

## Paso Robles, CA Campus

Criminal Offenses - On Campus

Chiminal Cherises - On Campus			
	Total occur	rences On ca	ampus
Criminal Offense	2019	202	2021
Murder/Non-negligent manslaughter	0	0	0
Negligent manslaughter	0	0	0
Sex offenses - Forcible	0	0	0
Rape	0	0	0
Fondling	0	0	0
Sex offenses - Non-forcible	0	0	0
Incest	0	0	0
Statutory rape	0	0	0
Robbery	0	0	0
Aggravated assault	0	0	0
Burglary	0	0	0
Motor vehicle theft	0	0	0
Arson	0	0	0

Criminal Offenses - Public Property

Criminal Orienses - Public Property				
	Total occur	rences On Po	ublic	
	Property			
Criminal Offense	2019	2020	2021	
Murder/Non-negligent manslaughter	0	0	0	
Negligent manslaughter	0	0	0	
Sex offenses - Forcible	0	0	0	
Rape	0	0	0	
Fondling	0	0	0	
Sex offenses - Non-forcible	0	0	0	
Incest	0	0	0	
Statutory rape	0	0	0	
Robbery	0	0	0	
Aggravated assault	0	0	0	
Burglary	0	0	0	
Motor vehicle theft	0	0	0	
Arson	0	0	0	

#### Cosmetician/Skin Care Disclosure/Class Outline

The Curriculum for the Cosmetician/Skin Care Course shall consist of six hundred (600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of Cosmetician/Skin Care pursuant to Section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.

Educational Objective: Upon completing this program the student will qualify to take the state board exam for licensing. With this license you will be able to practice any and all Cosmetician/Skin Care procedures done in a license salon or spa including facials, body wraps, make-up artist, assisting in skin care procedures in a doctor's office, micordermabrasion, Retail Sales, Manufacture Educator/Representative.

Hours: Full Time - Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5pm

Text: Milady's Standard Esthetics Textbook, Workbook for Milady's Standard Esthetics, Milady's Standard Student CD for Esthetics, Exam Review for Milady's Standard Esthetics, Milady's Student Reference for Anatomy & Physiology, 1st Edition

At Design's School it is our goal to provide the student with the education necessary to not only pass the licensing exam, but to be an asset to the profession of Esthetician and to become a success in whatever area of Cosmetician/Skin Care the student desires. The students will be provided with Milady Textbooks. All necessary equipment (listed in our Kit List) will be provided. Dermalogica products will be supplied.

Students are examined regularly in academic and practical work. Reference materials will be kept in the classrooms and available to check out with the approval of the instructor. Marking and grading are as follows:

Written Exams: Practical Work:

90 - 100%	=	Α	Excellent	90 - 100%	=	Α	Excellent
80 - 89%	=	В	Good	80 - 89%	=	В	Good
75 - 79%	=	С	Fair	75 - 79%	=	С	Fair
Below 75%	=	F Failing	Below	75%	=	F	Failing

Technical instruction shall consist of demonstrations, lectures, classroom education participation, or examination; practical operation shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person or on a mannequin. Such technical instruction and practical operations shall include:

Subject	Minimum Hours of Technical Instruction	Minimum Practical Operations	Total Hours of Study
Orientation – To include the educational objectives of the instructional program. Review administrative policies outlined in school catalog. Define support services provided to students.	1		1
Employment Assistance – To include resume development, interview preparation, and job search skills	15		15
The Barbering and Cosmetology act and the Boards Rules and Regulations.	10		10

Chemistry			
Cosmetology Chemistry - To include the chemical composition and			
purpose of cosmetic, nail, hair and skin care preparations. Also			
including the elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin peels.			
Physical and chemical changes of matter.	10		10
Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances			
Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances - To include training in			
chemicals and health in establishments, material safety, data sheets,			
protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries,			
health and safety laws and agencies, ergonomics, an	20		20
Electricity			
Theory of Electricity in Cosmetology - To include the nature of			
electrical current, principles of operating electrical devices and the			
various safety precautions sued when operating electrical equipment.	10		10
Disinfection and Sanitation			
Disinfection and Sanitation - To include procedures to protect the			
health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. The ten			
required minimum operations shall entail performing all necessary			
functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment	10	10	20
Bacteriology, Anatomy, Physiology Skin Analysis and Conditions	15		15

Subject	Minimum Hours of Technical Instruction	Minimum Practical Operations	Total Hours of Study
Facials			
Manual - To include cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs and			
masks.	20	40	90
<b>Electrical</b> - To include the use of electrical modalities, including dermal lights and electrical apparatus, for facials, and skin care purposes; however, machines capable of producing and electrical current shall			
not be used to stimulate so as to contract,	30	60	90
Chemical - To include chemical skin peels, packs, masks and scrubs.  Training shall emphasize that only the nonliving, uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis, may be removed and only the for			
the purpose of beautification.	30	60	90
Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal			
Eyebrow Arching and Hair Removal - To include the use of wax, tweezers, electric or manual and depilatories for the removal of superfluous hair.			
Tweezers	5	10	15
Wax and Dipilatories	20	40	60
Makeup	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		
<b>Makeup</b> - To include skin analysis, complete and corrective makeup, lash and brow tinting and the application of false eyelashes.	20	40	60

Also provided will be training in the areas of communication skills that include professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping and the client service record cards. Including personal & business		
development: cycle of change, core values, vocabulary	20	20
There will be no credit given for time spent in laundering towels or in washing or scrubbing floors, walls, woodwork, toilets, or windows.		
Total Hours		600

## Manicuring Disclosure/Class Outline

The Curriculum for the Manicuring Course shall consist of four hundred (400) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of Manicuring pursuant to Section 7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act.

Educational Objectives: Upon completing this program, the student will qualify to take the state board exam for licensing. With this license you will be able to practice any and all Manicuring procedures done in a licensed salon or spa including manicures, pedicures, acrylic nails, gel nails, silk wraps, tip overlays and nail repairs.

Hours: Full Time - Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5pm

At Design's School of Cosmetology, it is our goal to provide the student with the education necessary to not only pass the licensing exam, but to be an asset to the profession of Manicuring and to become a success in whatever area of Manicuring the student desires. The students will be provided with Milady Textbooks. All necessary equipment (listed in our Kit List) will be provided. OPI products will be supplied.

Students are examined regularly in academic and practical work. Reference materials will be kept in the classrooms and available to check out with the approval of the instructor. Marking and grading are as follows:

Written Exams: Practical Work:

90 - 100%	=	Α	Excellent	90 - 100%	=	Α	Excellent
80 - 89%	=	В	Good	80 - 89%	=	В	Good
70 - 79%	=	С	Fair	70 - 79%	=	С	Fair
Below 70%=	F	Failing	Below	70%	=	F	Failing

Technical instruction shall consist of demonstrations, lectures, classroom education or examination; practical operations are the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person or a mannequin. Such technical instructions and practical operations shall include:

Subject	Minimum Hours of Technical Instruction	Minimum Practical Operations	Total Hours of Study
<b>Orientation</b> – To include the educational objectives of the instructional program. Review administrative policies outlined in school catalog. Define support services provided to students.	1		1
<b>Employment Assistance</b> – To include resume development, interview preparation, and job search skills	15		15
The Barbering and Cosmetology act and the Boards Rules and Regulations.	10		10
Chemistry			
Chemistry (as it pertains to Manicuring) - To include the chemical composition and purpose of cosmetic, nail, hair and skin care preparations. Also including the elementary chemical makeup, chemical skin peels. Physical and chemical changes of matter.	10		10

Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances			
Health and Safety/Hazardous Substances - To include training in			
chemicals and health in establishments, material safety, data sheets,			
protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing chemical injuries,			
health and safety laws and agencies, ergonomics, and communicable	4.5		45
diseases, including HIV/Aids and Hepatitis B.	15		15
Disinfection and Sanitation			
<b>Disinfection and Sanitation</b> - To include procedures to protect the			
health and safety of the consumer as well as the technician. The ten			
required minimum operations shall entail performing all necessary			
functions for disinfecting instruments and equipment as specified in			
Sections 979 and 980. Disinfection should be emphasized throughout			
the entire training period and must be performed before use of all	10	10	20
instruments and equipment.		10	20
	Minimum		
Subject	Hours of	Minimum	Total
	Technical Instruction	Practical Operations	Hours of
Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology	Instruction	Operations	Study
Bacteriology, Anatomy and Physiology  Manicuring	Instruction		
Manicuring	Instruction		Study
Manicuring Water and Oil Manicure including nail analysis and hand and arm	Instruction 10	Operations	Study 10
Manicuring Water and Oil Manicure including nail analysis and hand and arm massage.	Instruction		Study
Manicuring Water and Oil Manicure including nail analysis and hand and arm	Instruction 10	Operations 40	<b>Study</b> 10 55
Manicuring Water and Oil Manicure including nail analysis and hand and arm massage. Complete Pedicure - Including nail analysis, foot and ankle massage. Artificial Nails	Instruction 10	Operations 40	55 30
Manicuring Water and Oil Manicure including nail analysis and hand and arm massage.  Complete Pedicure - Including nail analysis, foot and ankle massage.  Artificial Nails Acrylic: liquid and powder brush-ons.	10 15 10	Operations 40 20	55 30 95
Manicuring Water and Oil Manicure including nail analysis and hand and arm massage. Complete Pedicure - Including nail analysis, foot and ankle massage. Artificial Nails	10 15 10 15	40 20 80 Nails	55 30
Manicuring Water and Oil Manicure including nail analysis and hand and arm massage. Complete Pedicure - Including nail analysis, foot and ankle massage. Artificial Nails Acrylic: liquid and powder brush-ons. Artificial Nail Tips	10 15 10 15 10	40 20 80 Nails 60 Nails	55 30 95 70
Manicuring Water and Oil Manicure including nail analysis and hand and arm massage. Complete Pedicure - Including nail analysis, foot and ankle massage. Artificial Nails Acrylic: liquid and powder brush-ons. Artificial Nail Tips Nail Wraps and Repairs	10 15 10 15 10	40 20 80 Nails 60 Nails	55 30 95 70
Manicuring Water and Oil Manicure including nail analysis and hand and arm massage. Complete Pedicure - Including nail analysis, foot and ankle massage. Artificial Nails Acrylic: liquid and powder brush-ons. Artificial Nail Tips Nail Wraps and Repairs Also provided will be training in the areas of communication skills that	10 15 10 15 10	40 20 80 Nails 60 Nails	55 30 95 70
Manicuring Water and Oil Manicure including nail analysis and hand and arm massage. Complete Pedicure - Including nail analysis, foot and ankle massage. Artificial Nails Acrylic: liquid and powder brush-ons. Artificial Nail Tips Nail Wraps and Repairs Also provided will be training in the areas of communication skills that include professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping	10 15 10 15 10	40 20 80 Nails 60 Nails	55 30 95 70
Manicuring Water and Oil Manicure including nail analysis and hand and arm massage. Complete Pedicure - Including nail analysis, foot and ankle massage. Artificial Nails Acrylic: liquid and powder brush-ons. Artificial Nail Tips Nail Wraps and Repairs Also provided will be training in the areas of communication skills that include professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping and the client service record cards. Including personal & business	10 15 10 15 10	40 20 80 Nails 60 Nails	55 30 95 70

Total Hours 400

## Cosmetology Disclosure/Class Outline

The Curriculum for the cosmetology course shall consist of one thousand (1,000) clock hours of technical instruction and practical training covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology pursuant Business and Professions Code (B&P) 7362.5.

Educational Objectives: Upon completing this program, the student will qualify to take the California cosmetology license examination. Types of employment attainable with a Cosmetology license include Hairstylist, Color/Chemical Specialist, Cosmetician/Skin Care (Esthetician) Specialist, Manicurist, Salon Owner, Retail Sales and Manufacturer Educator/Representative. Along with this license and three years of experience in the salon industry you could also qualify to be an instructor.

**Hours**: Full Time - Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm

Text: Milady's Standard Cosmetology, 13th Edition Textbook with 2-year Milady MindTap Access

At Designs School it is our goal to provide the student with the education necessary to not only pass the licensing exam, but to be an asset to the profession of Cosmetology and to become a success in whatever area of Cosmetology the student desires. All necessary equipment (listed in our Kit List) will be provided. Redken, Image Skincare, Berodin, Youngnails, and other products will be supplied throughout the program when performing client services. Reference materials will be kept in the classrooms and available to check out with the approval of an instructor.

Students are examined regularly in academic and practical work. Marking and grading are as follows.

Written Exam	s:		•	Practical Wor	k:		
90 - 100%	= '	Α	Excellent	90 - 100%	=	A	Excellent
80 - 89%	=	В	Good	80 - 89%	=	В	Good
75 - 79%	=	С	Fair	75 - 79%	=	С	Fair
Below 75%	=	F	Failing	Below 75%	=	F	Failing

Technical instruction shall consist of demonstrations, lectures, classroom participation or examination. Practical Training shall consist of the actual performance by the student of complete services on another person or on a mannequin. Emphasis will be placed on public health and safety, as well as disinfection and sanitation throughout the program. The hours of Technical and Practical Training will consist of the following subject areas.

Subject	Minimum	Minimum	Total
	Hours of	Hours of	Hours
	Technical	Practical	of
	Training	Training	Study
Orientation – To include the educational objectives of the instructional program. Review administrative policies outlined in school catalog. Define support services provided to students.	1		1

Subject	Minimum Hours of Technical Training	Minimum Hours of Practical Training	Total Hours of Study
Laws and Regulations: Including instruction on the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology's Act and Regulations pursuant to Title 16, CCR section 961(b)(2).	20		20
Health and Safety: Including instruction on hazardous substances, chemical safety, safety data sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals, preventing chemical injuries, health and safety laws and regulations, and preventing communicable diseases.			
Board Approved Health and Safety Course (B&P 7389(a)): Including instruction on hazardous substances, basic labor laws, and physical and sexual assault awareness.	60		60
Safety Protocols: Including the use of safety data sheets in a salon environment to aid in chemical injury prevention and best practices for emergency scenarios.		20	20
Health and Safety Total	80	20	100

Minimum Hours of Technical Training	Minimum Hours of Practical Training	Total Hours of Study
10	00	100
		100
	Hours of Technical	Hours of Technical Training  10  90

Subject	Minimum	Minimum	Total
	Hours of	Hours of	Hours
	Technical	Practical	of
	Training	Training	Study
Haircolor and Bleaching: Including instruction on coloring, bleaching, hair analysis, predisposition and strand tests, formula mixing, and the use of dye removers.	20	100	120

Chemical Waving: Including instruction on chemical alteration of the hair to achieve the desired texture as well as strand tests and safety precautions for various chemical perms.	10	40	50
Chemical Straightening: Including instruction on chemical alteration of the hair to achieve a straighter hair texture as well as strand testing and safety precautions for various chemical relaxers and Keratin treatments.	10	20	30
Chemical Hair Services Total	40	160	200

Subject	Minimum Hours of Technical Instruction	Minimum Hours of Practical Training	Total Hours of Study
Wet Hairstyling: Including instruction on cleansing, arranging, dressing, shampooing and the use of various hair products to achieve the desired result.	10	40	50
Thermal Hairstyling: Including instruction on hair analysis, blow-drying, curling, waving, and straightening using hot tools as well as various products used to reduce damage and protect the health of the hair.	10	50	60
<b>Haircutting</b> – Including instruction on hair analysis and the use of shears, thinning shears, cutting razors and electrical clippers and trimmers on wet or dry hair to cut hair to the desired length.	20	70	90
Hairstyling Services Total	40	160	200

Subject	Minimum Hours of Technical Instruction	Minimum Hours of Practical Training	Total Hours of Study
Scalp Treatment – Including instruction on scalp analysis, brushing techniques for exfoliation, electrical and manual scalp manipulations, and scalp treatment products.	10	20	30
Skin Analysis: Including instruction on skin types, disorders, products and treatment protocols.	5	20	25
Manual/Electrical Facials: Including instruction on manual facials and massaging, stimulating, exfoliating, cleansing, or beautifying the face, neck, or body by the use of hands, esthetic devices, antiseptics, lotions, tonics, or creams that do not result in the ablation or destruction of the live tissue.	10	20	30

Chemical Peels/Masks: Including instruction on chemical skin peels, masks and scrubs that do not result in ablation or destruction of the live tissue.	10	20	30
<b>Make-up:</b> Including instruction on cosmetic products used for beautifying the face, application of products, brush maintenance and sanitation.	10	25	35
Skin Care Total	45	105	150

Subject	Minimum Hours of Technical Instruction	Minimum Hours of Practical Training	Total Hours of Study
Hair Removal: Including instruction on removing superfluous			
hair from the body of any person by use of depilatories,			,
tweezers, sugaring, nonprescription chemicals, or waxing, or by			
the use of devices and appliances of any kind or description, except by the use of lasers or light waves, which are commonly			
known as rays.	10	20	30
Lashes and Brows: Including instruction on tinting and			
perming eyelashes and brows and applying eyelashes to any			
person,	5	15	20
Hair Removal and Lash/Brow Beautification Total	15	35	50

Subject	Minimum Hours of Technical Instruction	Minimum Hours of Practical Training	Total Hours of Study
Manicure/Pedicure: Including instruction on water and oil			
manicures, hand and arm massage, foot and ankle massage,			
nail analysis.	5	20	25
<b>Nail Wraps and Repairs:</b> Including instruction on nail analysis, silk wraps and other natural nail repair techniques.	5	10	15
Artificial Nails: Including instruction on artificial nail services, including, but not limited to, acrylic, liquid and powder brush-			
ons, dips and tips.	10	50	60
Manicure and Pedicure Total	20	80	100