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Emergency plan and Safety: Report any building outbreak of fire, hazards, violence on a person, and suspicious person to 

the office. CALL 911. Student will follow direct instruction from instructor: Evacuate staff and students via a preplanned 

evacuation drill annually via a route to a safe area at the corner of Knox Street and Vermont avenue on the grass area.  Roll 

call will be taken. Earthquake/ Fire: Fire extinguishers are in each suite. Doors are kept unlocked and exits are kept open 

during class. During an active shooter, instructor will lock doors and barricade, remain calm and keep far away from the 

door and hide. https://www.dhs.gov/xlibrary/assets/active_shooter_booklet.pdf 

 

DISCLOSURES: 

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. You are also en couraged 

to review the Institution Performance Fact Sheets, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. All classes 

will be held: 19401 S. Vermont Ave Suite G100, L101, L103 Torrance CA 90502. When campus is open to the public, student is invited to 

tour the facility and given the opportunity to ask any questions regarding the facilities and equipment made available to the student 

during the program. 

Six (6) courses are offered temporarily approved in Distance Education starting 3/30/2020 until 6/15/2021 at 75% online. We are 

approved to offer four (4) permanent distance education (DE) of 50% DE 50% on campus for cosmetology, skin care and nail care 

/programs (10/4/21) The Barbering online 1000 hours 50% DE and Cosmetology online 1000 hours 50% DE approved (06/07/2022) 

This institution does not and cannot promise or guarantee employment upon completion of a program of study.  

Notice of availability: Campus Safety & Security Report, Drug & Alcohol Abuse Policy and Violence Against Women Act Policy ar e posted 

on the website in Customer Disclosure and given to student a pre-enrollment. 

Gainful Employment Program disclosure is not applicable on this date of publishing.  

 A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private P ostsecondary Education 

by calling (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the Bureau ‘s Internet Web site at 

www.bppe.ca.gov  

 

Published 1/1/2021 KF Admission 10/22/2018 KF Tuition/Tax 09/20/2021 KF Rules 10/4/2021 KFSAP 10/22/2018 KF Staff 

9/20/2021 KF Website 9/20/2021 KF STRF 02/08/2021 Externship KF 1/1/2019 Pre-application KF 1/1/2019 MTF KF 

2/12/2019 COA KF 3/1/2021 Lash extension offer was from 3/11/19 to 3/18/21.  Cengage Access Code 4/30/2020 TDE 50% . 

3/30/2020.  TDE 75%. 8/4/2020 Removal of AK class 12/31/2020. KF Chromebook 3/1/2021. KF Verification update 

07/13/2021. BPPE and Accreditation Approvals of Permanent Online 50% Programs Cosmetology/Skin Care/Nail Care 

7/19/2021 and Barbering Online 50% on 10/05/2021 BPPE review of catalog update 2/17/2022 Schedule of Tuition Charges 

& STRF 04/01/22 New programs 1000 hours 06/07/2022 KF 

 

 

WELCOME FROM THE DIRECTOR 
Dear Student,   

https://www.dhs.gov/xlibrary/assets/active_shooter_booklet.pdf
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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Welcome to Victory Career College and thank you for considering our accredited college to assist you in obtaining your 

desired training. Our goal is to provide you with every opportunity for a successful future in the massage, spa, and salon 

and/or beauty industry.   

At Victory Career College, we offer training in Massage Therapy, Cosmetology, Barbering, Skin Care and Nail Care. We place 

emphasis on how to be successful in the marketplace and how to create the lifestyle that you desire. This means hard work, 

dedication and practice on your part.   

My goal is to help students discover their abilities and to transform their lives through these discoveries. More importantly , 

your future success will depend on the effort you are willing to apply during the entire course of study.     

Victory Career College welcomes all persons interested in a massage or beauty career. We are happy to have you visit the 

Institution at any time. Come in and see our educational facilities, the teaching staff and consider the many advantages for 

the serious student. We will be pleased to answer all your questions.  

With peace and respect, Ms. Karine Fougoux, Director 

MISSION STATEMENT:  
The mission of Victory Career College is to offer in person and distance education training in the Career Arts & Sciences 

and to prepare our students to pass licensing examinations to secure careers in the marketplace.    

EDUCATIONAL GOALS:  

To fulfill our mission, the College has established following goals:   

• Victory Career College will provide high quality instruction using learning management system and portals 

such as MindTap and Canvas that encourage students to participate in dynamic, interactive and stimulating 

online and classroom environment.   

• The College will continually update instructional texts, materials and methodologies, and will evaluate new 

technologies.   

• The College will provide students with an environment conducive to the development of the essential skills 

needed for success in Institution, work and life.  Emphasis is placed on critical analysis, decision-making 

skills, self-improvement skills to maintain relevance to real world situations.   

• The College will solicit student feedback regarding program and instructor effectiveness.   

Students are taught in high energy fun learning environment be online or on campus. We use conference presentations and 

videos. Our online platforms are updated daily; our campus equipment is updated regularly. Under these conditions, 

students acquire hands-on experiences and acquire the knowledge and techniques needed to successfully complete their 

program of study. Students are encouraged to utilize the resource library, which can supplement their learning experience. 

Our Institution simulates spa & salon conditions to help our students “learn-by-doing”, with modern equipment and a 

variety of supplies that help enhance the student’s product knowledge. As in any profession, acquiring and retaining 

employment requires basic standards.  Students will learn the importance of:   

• Personal Appearance   

• Professional Demeanor   

• Professional Responsibility   

• Ethical Behavior   

 Our objective is to help the student become “salon and spa-ready” for an entry-level position of employment. 

 

FACILITIES: 
Victory Career College offers a campus lifestyle and is conveniently located in the heart of the South Bay within the city 

limits of Los Angeles, but a Torrance postal address. The Victory Career College is located within a garden setting with trees, 

fountain, grass and walkable area to relax during breaks. The facility is 5400 sq. ft., is air-conditioned, one-story modern 
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facility accessible to all public transportation.  Conveniently, near the 110 and 405 Freeways and serving the entire 

EAST/WEST and NORTH/ SOUTH cities around Los Angeles. The facility consists of three (3) combined lecture/lab rooms, 

student clinic, private rooms/area, administrative offices, student resource library, laundry and 2 student lounges (w/ 

refrigerator, microwave oven).  The college, the building it occupies, and the equipment fully comply with all Federal, State 

and Local laws, regulations and ordinances. This includes those requirements as to fire safety, building safety and health 

regulations.   The college receives daily janitorial services. The equipment shall be as follows: Electrical equipment for giving 

instruction in skin care and electrical facials: 3 facial steamers 1 Red light emitting diode (LED) hand held device, 1 bridge led 

multicolor, 1 glamcor,  2 “9 in 1” facial machines including the following functions: 1 galvanic machine, 1 micro current 

machine, 1 microdermabrasion machine, 1 vacuum and spray machine, 1 high frequency machine, and 1 skin analysis 

machine – 3 Hot Towel Steamer Ovens -10 Mannequins (with full head of hair) 1 Time clock or time scanner- 5 Shampoo 

bowls-6 Dryers-5 Facial chairs or facial couches – 6 Manicure stations – 3 Thermal Hair Straighteners – 3 Non-electric combs 

– 1 Stove (for non-electric combs) – 1 Electric curling iron– 3 Non-electric curling irons (at least two sizes) –1 Stove (for non-

electric curling irons) –15 Hairstyling or barber chairs – 8 Massage Tables -4 Massage Chairs-8 Exercises Mats- 1 Exercise 

Stretch ball. From time to time, we provide ancillary equipment when needed and repair equipment when needed within 30 

days. At least one book used in the institution and approved by the NIC shall be available for the use of students in the 

school – 1 list of the text and reference books approved by the NIC. Victory Career College is surrounded by restaurants, 

busy nightlife, free summer concerts, two shopping malls located 15 minutes away. Come visit the most beautiful beaches 

(Redondo Beach, Hermosa Beach, Manhattan Beach, El Segundo, San Pedro, and Long Beach). Prospective enrollees are 

encouraged to visit the physical facilities of the Institution and to discuss personal, educational, and occupational plans with 

Institution personnel prior to enrolling or signing enrollment agreements.    

VC College faculty and staff are available to advise students on academic problems and, if necessary, to provide referral to 

special counseling services when deemed appropriate.  All efforts will be made to provide a supportive environment to 

assist each student in maintaining his/her academic progress to successfully complete the program. Our college does not 

offer private tutoring. 

HOUSING: 

Victory Career College is not responsible for housing. Our college does not offer any type of housing or housing assistance. 

Our college does not offer any type of housing. VC College does not have any dormitory facilities under its control but may 

assist with information pertaining to local temporary housing. In the city of Torrance, one (1) bedroom shared apartment 

close to the institution is approximately $995.00 to $1,400.00 per a month according to www.rent.com. 

APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT:  

PROGRAMS AND ACCREDITATIONS  

Victory Career College was granted institutional approval by the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, pursuant to 

California Education Code Section 94915. The Bureau's approval means that the institution and its operation comply with 

the minimum standards established under the law for occupational instruction by private postsecondary educational  

institutions but does not imply any endorsement or recommendation by the State or by the Bureau.  Institutional approval 

must be renewed every five years and is subject to continuing review.  Approved courses 
MASSAGE THERAPY 500 CLOCK HOURS  

MASSAGE THERAPY COURSE 720 CLOCK HOURS  

COSMETOLOGY CROSS-OVER COURSE FOR BARBER- 300 CLOCK 

HOURS 

BARBER CROSS-OVER COURSE FOR COSMETOLOGIST-200 CLOCK 

HOURS 

BARBERING 1000 CLOCK HOURS  

BARBERING ONLINE-1000 CLOCK HOURS 50% DE 

 

 

COSMETOLOGY ONLINE- 1600 CLOCK HOURS 50% DE  

COSMETOLOGY - 1000 CLOCK HOURS 

COSMETOLOGY ONLINE- 1000 CLOCK HOURS 50% DE 

SKIN CARE - 600 CLOCK HOURS  

SKIN CARE ONLINE - 600 CLOCK HOURS  50% DE 

NAIL CARE - 600 CLOCK HOUR  



Page 6 of 57 
 

NAIL CARE ONLINE- 600 CLOCK HOUR 50% DE

The following state Bureau, Board and Council set minimum standards for our programs in accordance with Education Code 

Section 94316.12:    

BUREAU FOR PRIVATE POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION (BPPE) Institution code 44298610  

BOARD OF BARBERING AND COSMETOLOGY (BBC) Institution code 14006  

CALIFORNIA MASSAGE THERAPY COUNCIL (CAMTC) Institution code 067 

A student or any member of the public with questions that have not been satisfactory answered by the school or who would like  to file a 

complaint about this school may contact the California Massage Therapy Council at One Capitol Mall Suite 800 Sacramento CA 95814 

www.camtc.org phone 916-669-5336 or fax 916-669-5337 

ACCREDITATION: 

This institution is ACCREDITED with the NATIONAL ACCREDITING COMMISSION OF CAREER ARTS & SCIENCES (NACCAS), an 

agency recognized by the United States Department of Education. Institution Code 01-4401-00 

3015 Colvin Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 TEL (703) 600-7600      www.naccas.org UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF 

EDUCATION: This institution is eligible to apply for participation in the following programs authorized under the Higher 

Education Act offer Federal Financial Aid, to qualified students who may apply for and receive financial assistance for tuition 

and other costs.  Institution Code 042733CIP  

51.3501 MASSAGE THERAPY COURSE 720 CLOCK HOURS   

CIP 12.0401 COSMETOLOGY - 1000 CLOCK HOURS  

CIP 12.0402 BARBERING 1000 CLOCK HOURS  

CIP 12.0409 SKIN CARE - 600 CLOCK HOURS   

CIP 12.0410 NAIL CARE - 600 CLOCK HOURS   

 

Federal Student Financial Aid Programs: (ALL AS OF 1/4/2018) 

Federal Pell Grants 

Federal Direct Unsubsidized Loans 

Federal Direct Subsidized Loans 

Federal Direct PLUS Loans  

 

The following programs are approved however not currently open for enrollment. 

BARBERING 1000 CLOCK HOURS (on campus 100%) 

BARBERING 1500 CLOCK HOURS (on campus 100%) 

BARBERING ONLINE- 1500 CLOCK HOURS 50% DE  

COSMETOLOGY ONLINE- 1600 CLOCK HOURS 50% DE  

COSMETOLOGY - 1000 CLOCK HOURS (on campus 100%) 

NAIL CARE- 600 CLOCK HOURS (on campus 100%)  

SKIN CARE- 600 CLOCK HOURS (on campus 100%) 

 

FINANCIAL STATEMENT:  

Victory Career College does not have any pending Bankruptcy petitions.  It is not operating as a debtor in possession.  VC 

College has never filed for bankruptcy nor has had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it that resulted in reorganization 

under Chapter 11 of the United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. Sec. 1101 et seq.). 

COST OF ATTENDANCE FOR ON CAMPUS 100% AND ONLINE 50% 
  COST OF ATTENDANCE FOR ON CAMPUS 100% AND ONLINE 50% 

 Barbering 
1000 

Cosmetology 
1000 

Cosmetology 
1600 

Barbering 
1500 

Nail Care 600 
Skin Care 

600 
Massage 

Therapy 720 

Direct 
Costs: 

$17,683.16 $18,718.51 $21,926.01 $19,185.66 $10,956.10 $12,843.22 $12,154.16 

Dependent 
Indirect 
Costs*: 

$34,070.16 $35,105.51 $51,752.01 $48,956.66 $21,382.10 $23,269.22 $24,070.16 

Independe
nt Indirect 

Costs*: 
$44,699.16 $45,734.51 $71,008.01 $68,255.66 $28,144.10 $30,031.22 $31,800.16 

*Published 06/07/2022 *(room, board, transportation, food, etc.) 

http://www.camtc.org/
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STUDENT BODY DIVERSITY 
 

  

Gender/Race *Percentage of enrolled, full-time 
students: 

Male 11% 

Female 89% 

Hispanic/Latino/Latina 42% 

African American 27% 

Asian 21% 

Other 1% 

White   9% 

Federal Pell Grant Recipients out of Eligible 
Financial Aid students  

43.29% 

*Published 7/1/2021 numbers for year 2020-2021 only 

 

ADMISSION POLICY: 
A. Complete the Application for Enrollment and pay the Application fee of $100.00 

B. Provide verification documents:  

1. Applicant must be 17 years old at least and provide a copy of a high school diploma or high school transcript 

showing date diploma awarded or a state recognized equivalent (GED, state certificate, approved home-

school credentials) or academic transcript showing completion of two-year program that is acceptable for 

full credit toward a bachelor’s degree. 

If a high school graduate from outside of the United States, the high school diploma must be translated 

into English and must be certified by an independent evaluator that high school completion equivalency 

meets the required California Board of Education standards (Document-by-document necessary only) and 

verified as equivalent to a U.S high school diploma or a minimum two-year U.S college degree, must be 

submitted to VC College administration within 14 days of start date OR for Non-Title IV applicants only 

Ability-to-Benefit Test (ATB)can be administered by a qualified third party, by appointment only, and passed 

by an applicant to allow registration without a high school Diploma or GED.  Currently, our Institution is 

using the Wonderlic Basic Skills Test. This test is approved by the Secretary of Education, Washington, DC. 

The minimum passing score for this test is Verbal 200 points and Quantitative 210 points. This test will be 

administered and monitored directly on the computer AND 

2. If document(s) is/are not received or approved, student will forfeit all funds paid for instruction scheduled 

for those 14 days.Thedegreepeople.com is one of the recommended sites to obtain a foreign document 

evaluated.  Cost of the diploma evaluation is not included in program cost. 

3. Submit Photo Identification (i.e., Driver’s License, State ID Card, Birth Certificate or Passport) AND 

4. Social Security Number*or Temporary Tax Identification* (TIN) (*effective 9.10.2015) 

FOR FOREIGN STUDENTS:  

5. Valid passport is required with a I.20 F1 or M1 SEVP from other Institutions or M1 from Victory Career 

College; VC College is an approved M1 Visa SEVP Institution. Victory Career College does provide Form 

I.20for Visa M1.  VC College cannot vouch for student status unless entered in SEVP and $500 process fee 

applies, and fee applies to pay SEVIS (approx. $200); OR 

6. Temporary Tax Identification (TIN)* and a picture identification document are now accepted to enroll 

(*effective 9.10.2015).  AND 
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7. If a high School graduate from outside of the United States, the high school diploma must be translated 

into English and must be certified by an independent evaluator that high school completion equivalency 

meets the required California Board of Education standards (Document-by-document necessary only) and 

verified as equivalent to a U.S high school diploma or a minimum two-year U.S college degree, must be 

submitted to VC College administration within 14 days of start date OR for Non-Title IV applicants only 

Ability-to-Benefit Test (ATB) can be administered by a qualified third party, by appointment only, and 

passed by an applicant to allow registration without a high school Diploma or GED.  Currently, our Institution 

is using the Wonderlic Basic Skills Test. This test is approved by the Secretary of Education, Washington, DC. 

The minimum passing score for this test is Verbal 200 points and Quantitative 210 points. This test will be 

administered and monitored directly on the computer AND 

8. If document(s) is/are not received or approved, student will forfeit all funds paid for instruction scheduled 

for those 14 days.Thedegreepeople.com is one of the recommended sites to obtain a foreign document 

evaluated.  Cost of the diploma evaluation is not included in program cost. 

As part of the Admissions process, when it is deemed necessary to determine the validity of the high Institution diploma or 

GED, the Admissions administrator may check with the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) to determine if the 

diploma from the Institution (which is not required to be accredited) is recognized by the state.  Another source is 

www.parchment.com which provides a listing of free and public accredited online high Institutions. GED: Los Angeles GED 

Test Center 1646 S. Olive Street Los Angeles CA 90015 Call 213-765-2573 Must register Tuesday, Wednesday, or Thursday 

12 pm to 3 pm. Student would find out if they passed in 15 days. 

VERIFICATION POLICY  
(UPDATE July 13, 2021)  

To provide relief to millions of students and colleges facing challenges and barriers resulting from the ongoing national 

emergency, the Department of Education is focusing this award year’s effort strictly on identity and fraud. In doing so they are 

waiving verification of most Free Application for Federal Student Aid/Institutional Student Information Record (FAFSA®/ISIR) 

information, except for Identity/Statement of Educational Purpose and High School Completion Status under Verification 

Tracking Groups V4 and V5. This waiver may apply no matter where institutions are in the verification process, e.g., if 

documents have been collected or requested, but verification has not been completed, or if an institution has not started the 

verification process. However, this does not exempt from reviewing all documents for conflicting information concerning a 

student’s eligibility. This waiver begins July 13, 2021 and applies for the remainder of the 2021-2022 FAFSA processing and 

verification cycle. Institutions are not required to verify students selected under Verification Tracking Flag “V1” as of that date. 

However, it is to our discretion and internal policy that students selected for verification are required to submit documents of 

verification to process internally any conflicting information noted on any of the student’s ISIR transactions in order for the 

institute to provide the student with an accurate Financial Aid eligibility. 

POLICY FOR VERIFICATION OF TITLE IV FUNDING: 

Once a student completes and submits the FAFSA to the Central Processing System (CPS), there is a possibility that the 

application will be selected for a process called “Verification.”  The Verification process is the way in which an Institution must 

confirm the information listed on the FAFSA is accurate and ensures that eligible students received all the federal financial aid 

to which they are entitled.  If you are selected for Verification, you must complete the process in its entirety before your FAFSA 

is considered complete. 

If you are selected for Verification by the Department of Education, there will be an asterisk next to your Expected Family 
Contribution (EFC) on your Student Aid Report (SAR).   Additionally, VICTORY CAREER COLLEGE will notify each student via 
phone call or email. VICTORY CAREER COLLEGE will also provide to the student a Verification Worksheet along with instructions 
for submitting verification documents to the Institution.  VICTORY CAREER COLLEGE reserves the right to institutionally select 
any student, even those not selected by the Department of Education, for Verification based on discrepant or incomplete 
information reported on the FAFSA. Time period to submit verification documents: 

http://www.parchment.com/
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All Financial Aid applicants selected for Verification must complete the process by the deadline published in the Federal 
Register. Students are notified, in a timely manner, of all required documents to submit to the Institution. The verification 
process cannot begin and/or be completed until all required documents are submitted. Generally, from the time we send the 
student the initial notice, students are given 14 calendar days. 
Consequences for failing to submit documents in time:  
Ø    Documents not submitted timely could result in: 
1)   The student being responsible for paying his/her fees out of pocket. 
2)   The student cannot be processed for a Financial Aid award. 
3)   The student not being considered for a Financial Aid Deferment. 
4)   The program- year ending with the student having an outstanding balance with the Institution.  This could result in late fees 
and the student’s account being turned over to a collection agency. 
 

COLLECTION POLICY: The Collection procedures shall reflect ethical practices. Our accreditor’s name is not used for 

collection effort. Collection agency and/or third parties’ correspondences regarding cancellation and settlement from the 

institution itself acknowledge and comply with the Withdrawal and Settlement Policy of Victory Career College. 

COMPETENCY-BASED PROGRAMS WITH A CLOCK HOUR COMPONENT: Notice to the student that, should the student 

complete the program earlier than the estimated timeframe stated in the contract, the student’ financial aid package may 

be recalculated and that this may result in liabilities owed by the student and/or institution, if applicable. Student must 

follow their contracted schedule. 

PROFESSIONAL JUDGMENT & DEPENDENCY OVERRIDE:   

If a prospective student feels they have had an unusual circumstance, including they have proof/detailed statements (Ie. 

Severe family situations, financial or medical hardship), they can contact our Financial Aid Director, Dario Torres in the main 

office or by email at dario@victorycareercollege.edu. 

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR INSTITUTION: 

The transferability of credits you earn at Victory Career College is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may 
seek to transfer. Acceptance of the diploma you earn in Victory Career College is also at the complete discretion of the 
institution to which you may seek to transfer. If the diploma that you earn at this institution are not accepted at the institution 
to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason, 
you should make certain that your attendance at this institution using Distance Education for 50% of the program will meet 
your educational goals. Academic achievement earned via distance education may not be accepted for reciprocity or eligible 
for licensure in other states. This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending 
Victory Career College to determine if your diploma will transfer.  

TRANSFER STUDENTS: 

Transfer means you may be able to use the "clock hours" you have earned at an Institution*, that is closed or that you are 

transferring from, toward the completion of a similar or identical program of study at VC College. You MAY incur additional 

costs. You may be required to repeat some or all of the course work.  Applicants with previous hours from approved BPPE 

(including CAMTC approved Institutions starting 1/1/2015) California based massage or cosmetology Institutions who wish 

to enroll in VC College must request permission during the admissions process for the Admission Officer to determine if 

those hours will be accepted, and be able to show Proof of Training or Transcript and Record of Withdrawal from the 

previous California Institution at enrollment or prior to completion; failure to provide the required documentation of 

previous training prior to completion of the course, will result in those transfer hours not being approved, and student may 

have to complete the course in which he seeks to transfer. 

If the applicant is transferring barbering, cosmetology, skin care or nail care hours from another state or from another 

country, the applicant must first contact California’s Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) and make application for 

approval of hours from the previous Institution. The California BBC will then issue a letter indicating the credit it will 

approve for the hours taken at the previous Institution along with requirements.  VC College will then make the final 
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decision based on the information in the California BBC’s letter.   Appropriate transfer of clock hours will be granted for 

prior training or experience upon review and verification by college officials.  The validity will be based on the Cosmetology 

Act and the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Rules and Regulations. Occasionally, a student's acceptance by VC College 

will depend entirely on the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. The some or any part of accepted transfer hours are at the 

discretion of VC College. If more than 70% of the required clock hours will be transferred to VC College, the applicant may 

enroll after instructor’s senior skills evaluation of the comprehension of the material by the applicant. No more than 250 

hours from an approved CAMTC Institution can be transferred from another Institution . Attendance and/or graduation 

from a California Massage Therapy Council approved school does not guarantee certification by CAMTC. Applicant for 

certification shall meet all requirements as listed in California Business and Professions Code Section 4600et. Seq. 

VC College does not charge transfer fees. 

Applicants for certification shall meet all requirements as listed in California Business and Professions Code sections 4600 et. 

seq. Any questions a student may have regarding this enrollment agreement that have not been satisfactorily answered by 

the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste225, 

Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, www.bppe.ca.gov, toll-free telephone number (888) 370-7589 or by fax (916)263-1897. A 

student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 

Education by calling toll-free (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau’s 

internet web site www.bppe.ca.gov 

*Our Institution does not recruit students already attending or admitted to another Institution offering a similar program of 

study.  This institution has not entered into an articulation or transfer agreement with any other college or university. 

RE-ADMISSION POLICY 

All students who withdraw may re-enter into the program without the loss of clock hours provided it is within five (5) years 

from the date of withdrawal.  All records for students are stored for six (6) years student transcripts for all student, 

graduated or not are to be kept indefinitely. The institution reserves the right to evaluate the previous enrollment and to 

verify that the student was in good standing with the institution before the student is accepted for re-enrollment.    The 

Institution will charge an application fee for students enrolling or transferring or re-entry to the Institution of $100.00. The 

tuition rates current at the time of re-admission will apply to the balance of training hours needed for students who re-

enroll more than 180 consecutive calendar days after the formal withdrawal date unless mitigating circumstances apply. 

Students who withdraw and then reenter the same program at the same Institution within 180 consecutive calendar days 

are considered to be in the same payment period he or she was in the time of the withdrawal. The student retains his or her 

original eligibility of that payment period and is treated as though he or she did not cease attendance. For Title IV eligible 

students, the Institution will restore the type and amount of aid the student was eligible for before the student ceased 

attendance and schedule the appropriate disbursements. Actions to be taken by the Institution will include:  

◆reimbursing aid that had been disbursed and then returned under the R2T4 provisions. 

◆ disbursing aid the student was otherwise eligible for that had not yet been disbursed at the time the student withdrew; 

and   

◆ canceling any overpayments assessed the student as a result of the prior withdrawal if those funds were disbursed upon 

reentry.  

Once the student completes the payment period for which he or she has been paid, he or she becomes eligible for 

subsequent Title IV student aid payments. 

Students who withdraw prior to completion of the course and wish to re-enroll will return in the same satisfactory academic 

progress status as at the time of withdrawal. Students re-entering after 180 consecutive calendar days will be charged at the 

current tuition rates for newly entering students. Students returning within 180 consecutive calendar days will keep the 

initially contracted rate.  

Consistent with Leave of Absence (LOA) This arrangement is similar to a LOA, and the 180-day time frame is consistent with 

the maximum 180 days allowed for an approved LOA in the Return regulations. The difference, of course, is that with an 

unauthorized LOA, the institution would not know that the student would be returning and would have treated the student 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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as a withdrawal. Based upon that withdrawal, the institution would have completed the R2T4 calculation, which may have 

required both the institution and the student to return funds to the Title IV programs.  

If the student returns within 180 days to his or her original program, while an official leave was not granted and the 

provisions of the Return regulations were applied, upon the student’s return, the student can be treated as though he or 

she had been on an approved LOA. 

ACADEMIC FREEDOM "Academic Freedom" means the degree to which faculty at an institution are allowed latitude with 

respect to their discussions with students and the positions they take. Under such a policy, a faculty member can articulate 

or even advocate positions or concepts which may be controversial in nature without fear of retribution or reprisal. Victory 

Career College allows for “Academic Freedom” when an instructor explains personal professional experience to the class 

and voluntary sharing personal information pertaining to the scope of the program with the class or with an individual with 

the objective to share a learning experience and sharing the positive or negative outcomes of such professional experience.  

COURSES OF STUDY: 
Massage Therapy for 500 Clock Hours, Massage Therapy Course for 720 Clock Hours Classes, Cosmetology cross-over course 

for Barber 300 Clock Hours, Barber cross-over course for cosmetologist 200 Clock Hours, Nail Care for 600 Clock Hours and 

Skin Care for 600 Clock Hours. We offer hybrid education 50% of the following programs: Cosmetology 1000 Clock Hours, 

Barbering 1000 Clock Hours, Nail Care 600 Clock Hours, and Skin Care 600 Clock Hours. Each course of study consists of the 

state mandated technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art & science of 

Massage Therapy, Barbering, Cosmetology, Nail Care, or Skin Care. Our class ratio is 25:1.   

The courses of study are designed to prepare students for the state licensing examinations and for profitable employment 

as a Massage Therapist (D.O.T. # 334.374-010, CIP # 51.3501, S.O.C. #31-9011), Cosmetologist (D.O.T. # 332.271-010, CIP 

#12.0401, S.O.C. #30-9011), Barbering (D.O.T. # 332.271-010, CIP #12.0401, S.O.C. #30-9011) Manicurist (D.O.T. # 

331.674010, CIP # 12.0410, S.O.C. #39-5092), or Esthetician (D.O.T. # 332.271-010, CIP #12.0409, S.O.C. #39-5094) 

 

ONLINE 50% DISTANCE EDUCATION PROGRAMS 

 
CURRICULUM FOR SKIN CARE ONLINE 50% DE 600 CLOCK HOURS  
The curriculum for the Skin Care consists of six hundred (600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations 

covering all practices of skin care, pursuant to Section 7354 of the Cosmetology Act. Technical instruction means instruction 

given in person or online by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination. Practical operation is the 

actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person or mannequin. Such technical instruction and 

practical operations include:   

Subject Skin Care Online 50% DE 600 

Minimum on Campus 
Required Technical 
Instruction Hours: 

Minimum on 
Campus Practical 
Operations (NOT 

HOURS) 

Distance Education 
Hours 50%  

*Health and Safety (H&S) 
** Board of Barbering and Cosmetology 

SB Req On 
Campus 

SB 
Req 

On 
Campus 

Theory Practical 

H&S*, BBC** Rules and Regulations 20 0 --- --- 20 0 

H&S Blood Procedures/Datasheet HIV/AIDs/Workers rights 30 0 --- --- 30 0 

H&S Inspection/salon/skills 30 0 30 30 30 0 

H&S Electricity/current/CPR/AED 20 0 --- --- 20 0 

H&S Disinfection & Sanitation 20 0 30 30 20 0 

H&S, Bacteriology, Anatomy & Physiology & Chemistry 60 0 --- --- 60 0 

Facials-Manual 30 0 60 60 30 0 
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DISTANCE EDUCATION TECHNOLOGIES:   

Victory Career College uses portal from Cengage Milady to teach the theory portion of the course via Distance Education. 

Cengage uses the “Learning Path” to guide students through the curriculum by incorporating different learning styles 

including activities, exercises, videos, quizzing and testing, flashcards, digital portfolios, and glossary. Cengage also 

includes an interactive e-book delivered in sections. Instructors monitor student’s progress through the “Grade Book” and 

“Activity Access” which highlights how students are participating in the course and what sections they are clicking on. 

Forum Discussion is also used on Canvas. Practical clock hours are conducted using zoom video, demonstrations, and 

instructor supervision. Participation must be documented within a log of all student activity comprising at a minimum of 

two forms of predictable and scheduled interaction between student and instructor. Once at start of class to explain the 

assignments and one at midpoint for a Q&A. Students engage asynchronously AKA electronic synchronization through 

daily work and posts of assignments, and synchronously via live video with teacher and student-to-student. 

ADDITIONAL TRAINING WILL BE GIVEN IN THE FOLLOWING SUBJECT MATTER:  

Salon Management, communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record-keeping, client 

service record cards, basic tax responsibilities and preparing a resume, employment development, modeling, desk and 

reception care and other subjects relating to the skin care field.   

SKIN CARE PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES: 

Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California Esthetics establishment practices, acquire the knowledge of 

sanitation, disinfection and sterilization as related to all phases of skin care, acquire the knowledge of general theory 

relative to Esthetics including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and theory and acquire business management techniques 

common to Esthetics.   

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED:  

Learn the proper use of implements relative to all Esthetic services, acquire the knowledge of analyzing the skin prior to all 

services to determine any disorders, learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all Esthetic services, learn the 

application of daytime and evening make-up to include the application of false individual and strip eyelashes and learn the 

proper procedure of plain and electrical facials.   

 

CLINIC SERVICES: Students must demonstrate professional skills and complete: 40 clinical full services paid. It means 

student may be handling monies given by the client for service rendered. Payment and all documentation must be 

completed before service. Gratuity is not allowed. Discount/promotion/free for clinic clients may apply. Student may get up 

to 50% of their clinical requirements on friends & family (50% OFF menu) when public is not available. Public clientele 

comes first-ALL services must be approved by Supervisor before service.   

Facials-Electrical 20 0 40 40 20 0 

Facials-Chemical 20 0 40 40 20 0 

Eyebrow Arching-Tweezing & Wax; Eyelash Enhancements. 25 15 --- --- 10 0 

---Eyebrow Arching-Tweezing & Wax --- --- 25 25 -- 0 

Hair Removal Wax & Depilatories 20 0 25 25 20 0 

Make-up 20 0 --- --- 20 0 

---Make-Up & Lash Enhancements  --- --- 25 25 -- 0 

CLINIC: Student will complete forty (40) paid to school 
operations from the clinic floor with 40 different clients  
(public & 20 can come from friends & family)= Consultation 

+ service + Pre/Post service sanitation  

   Yes 
completed 

  

Total State Board Required Hours- 315 --- 285 ---   

Total Practical Minimum Operations (These are not hours)  -- 275 275   

Total Clock Hours   15  285 300 0 
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ATTITUDES AND PHYSICAL DEMAND TO BE DEVELOPED: Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to Ba, possess 

a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality 

in dealings with patrons and colleagues. Physical demands are seating most of the day, use of shoulders, constant specific 

use of wrist, hands, and fingers coordination.    

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS:  

When a student has completed the hours requirement for the course of study with a GPA of 2.0 (“C”, 70%) or better, 

maintained a 70% attendance, pass the mock board (final) examination for Skin Care, given her/his professional resume to 

office, the tuition account is paid in full, s/he will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. A diploma will only be provided 

once the graduate passes the applicable state examination.    

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS:  

The board shall admit to examination for a license as an esthetician to practice skin care, any person who has made 

application to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this chapter, and is qualified as follows: 

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age. 

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. 

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480. 

(d) Has done any of the following: 

(1) Completed a course in skin care 600 hours from a school approved by the board. 

(2) Practiced skin care, as defined in this chapter, outside of this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and 

training of a qualified person who has completed a course in skin care from a school the curriculum of which complied with 

requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training 

for qualification under paragraph (1). 

(3) Completed the apprenticeship program in skin care specified in Article 4 (commencing with Section 7332). 

CAREER LEAD: https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=skin+care LSOC Code: 39-5094.00 

Graduates of Victory Career College’s skin care program can choose to work as an esthetician in a variety of locations, 

including (but not limited to): Beauty and Hair Salons/Movie Studios/Photographer Studio/Barbershops/Cruise Ships/Health 

Clubs and Fitness Centers/Hotels/Spas and Resorts 

 

 

 

CURRICULUM FOR NAIL CARE ONLINE 50% DE 600 CLOCK HOURS 
The curriculum for the manicuring consists of six hundred (600) clock hours of technical instruction and practical operations  

covering all practices of manicuring and pedicuring, pursuant to Section 7316 of the Barbering & Cosmetology Act.  

Technical instruction means instruction given in person or online by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation or 

examination. Practical operation means actual performance by the student of a complete service on a person or mannequin. 

Rational for additional 200 hours:  Victory Career College’s Nail Care is two hundred (200) hours more than the minimum 

requirement of 400 hours set by BBC so that our graduates are Spa and Salon ready.  In depth practice of advance 

manicures and pedicure techniques as well as nail enhancements and art ensure that our graduates are market ready.  

Additionally, neighboring states (Nevada & Arizona) require 600 clock hours for manicurists.  

 

Subject Nail Care Online 50% DE 600 

Minimum on 
Campus Required 

Technical 
Instruction Hours: 

Minimum on 
Campus Practical 
Operations (NOT 

HOURS) 
Distance Education 

Hours 50% 

https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=skin+care
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DISTANCE EDUCATION TECHNOLOGIES:  

Victory Career College uses portal from Cengage Milady to teach the theory portion of the course via Distance Education. 

Cengage uses the “Learning Path” to guide students through the curriculum by incorporating different learning styles 

including activities, exercises, videos, quizzing and testing, flashcards, digital portfolios, and glossary. Cengage also 

includes an interactive e-book delivered in sections. Instructors monitor student’s progress through the “Grade Book” and 

“Activity Access” which highlights how students are participating in the course and what sections they are clicking on. 

Forum Discussion is also used on Canvas. Practical clock hours are conducted using zoom video, demonstrations, and 

instructor supervision. Participation must be documented within a log of all student activity comprising at a minimum of 

two forms of predictable and scheduled interaction between student and instructor. Once at start of class to explain the 

assignments and one at midpoint for a Q&A.  Students engage asynchronously AKA electronic synchronization through 

daily work and posts of assignments, and synchronously via live video with teacher and student-to-student. 

ADDITIONAL TRAINING WILL BE GIVEN IN THE FOLLOWING SUBJECT MATTER:  

*Health and Safety (H&S) 
*Board of Barbering and Cosmetology (BBC) 
*State Board Requirements (SB Req.) 

SB 
Req* 

On 
Campus SB Req 

On 
Campus Theory Practical 

Disinfection and Sanitation  50 0 70 50 50 20 

Water and Oil Manicures 
--hand and arm massage 25 0 40 35 20 5 

Pedicures 
--foot and ankle massage 30 0 30 30 25 0 

Acrylics: Liquid and Powder Brush On Nails 10 0 75 70 10 5 

Nail Tips 10 0 60 60 10 0 

Nail Wraps and Repairs 10 0 40 40 10 0 

Nail Art --- -- 20 15 0 5 

Gel 5 0 10 5 5 5 

Electric Drill 10 0 10 10 10 0 

H&S* Client Prep, work area pre/post 30 0 25 25 30 0 

H&S* --Health and Safety, Hazardous Substances which includes 
chemicals and health establishments, material safety data 
sheets, protection from hazardous chemicals and preventing 
chemical injuries, health and safety laws and agencies, 
ergonomics, communicable diseases, including HIV/AIDS and 
Hepatitis B 40 0 --- --- 40 -- 

H&S* The Cosmetology Act and the BBC* Laws and Regulations 20 0 --- --- 20 0 

H&S* Cosmetology Chemistry related to manicuring practices, 
chemical compositions and purpose of nail care preparations 20 0 --- --- 10 0 

H&S* Bacteriology, Anatomy, and Physiology 20 0 --- --- 20 0 

CLINIC: Student will complete forty (40) paid to school 
operations from the clinic floor with 40 different clients (public 
& 20 can come from friends & family) = Consultation + service + 
Pre/Post service sanitation      

Yes 
completed   

Total Clock Hours 260 --- 330 ---  

Total Practical Minimum Operations (These are not hours)   380 340  

Total Clock Hours  0   300 260 40 
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Salon Management, communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record-keeping, client 

service record cards, basic tax responsibilities and preparing a resume, employment development, modeling, desk and 

reception care and other subjects relating to the manicuring field.   

NAIL CARE PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVE:  

Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California nail establishments, understand disinfection, sanitation & 

sterilization procedures, acquire the knowledge of general theory relative to manicuring, including anatomy, physio logy, 

chemistry, and theory relative to practical procedures performed and acquire business management techniques common to 

manicurists.   

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED:  

Use of proper implements relative to all manicuring, pedicuring, and artificial nails.  Develop the knowledge to recognize the 

various skin conditions and disorders. Acquire knowledge of analyzing the hands and feet prior to all services to determine 

any disorders and diseases.  Develop the knowledge of safety precautions in providing manicure, pedicure and artificial nail 

services.   

CLINIC SERVICES:  

Students must demonstrate professional skills and complete: 40 clinical full services paid. It means student may be handling 

monies given by the client for service rendered. Payment and all documentation must be completed before service. Gratuity 

is not allowed. Discount/promotion/free for clinic clients may apply. Student may get up to 50% of their clinical 

requirements on friends & family (50% OFF menu) when public is not available. Public clientele comes first-ALL services 

must be approved by Supervisor before service.   

 

ATTITUDES AND PHYSICAL DEMAND TO BE DEVELOPED: Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to nail care, 

possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved 

personality in dealings with patrons and colleagues. Physical demands are seating all day, use of shoulders, constant 

specific use of wrist, hands, and fingers coordination.    

 

 

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS:  

When a student has completed the hours requirement for the course of study with a GPA of 2.0 (“C”, 70%) or better, 

maintained a 70% attendance, pass the mock board (final) examination for Nail Care, given her/his professional resume to 

office, the tuition account is paid in full, s/he will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. A diploma will only be provided 

once the graduate passes the applicable state examination.    

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS: 

The board shall admit to examination for a license as a manicurist to practice nail care, any person who has made 

application to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this chapter, and is qualified as follows: 

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age. 

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. 

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480. 

(d) Has done any of the following: 

(1) Completed a course in nail care 400 hours from a school approved by the board. 

(2) Practiced nail care, as defined in this chapter, outside of this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and 

training of a qualified person who has completed a course in nail care from a school the curriculum of which complied with 

requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training 

for qualification under paragraph (1). 

(3) Completed the apprenticeship program in nail care specified in Article 4 (commencing with Section 7332) 
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CAREER LEAD: https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=nail+care LSOC Code: 39-5092.00 

Graduates of Victory Career College’s nail care program can choose to work as a nail technician in a variety of locations, 

including (but not limited to): Beauty and Hair Salons/Movie Studios/Photographer Studio/Barbershops/Cruise Ships/Health 

Clubs and Fitness Centers/Hotels/Spas and Resorts. 

 

 

 

 

CURRICULUM FOR BARBERING ONLINE 50% DE 1000 CLOCK HOURS 
The curriculum for the barbering program consists of a thousand (1,000) clock hours of technical instruction and practical 
operations covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology. Business and Professions Code (B&P) Section 7362.5 (a) 
states: A course in barbering or cosmetology established by a school shall consist of not less than 1,000 hours of practical and 
technical instruction in the practice of barbering or cosmetology.  
Pursuant to B&P 7362.5 © the curriculum for a barbering course shall, at a minimum, include technical and practical 

instruction in the following areas: (Technical instruction means instruction given in person or online by demonstration, 

lecture, classroom participation, or examination. Practical operation is the actual performance by the student of a complete 

service on another person or mannequin. Student cannot practice on a live model while on DE only practice on a 

mannequin).  
 

 

 

 

https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=nail+care
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Subject Barbering Online 50% DE 1000 Minimum 

Required 

Technical 

Instruction Hours: 

Minimum Practical 

Operations (NOT HOURS) 

Distance Education 

Hours 

50% 

Including 100 hours Health & Safety and 100 hours 

Sanitation & Disinfection in a 1000 hours program of 

CA State Board Licensure Requirement. 

Req.  Req. On Campus DE 

Theory 

DE 

Practical 

on doll 

head only 

Hairstyling Analysis & Shampooing /Wet hairstyling 

Thermal Styling 

25  100 (55+) 25 (45) 

Permanent Waving & Chemical Straightening/ 

Texture Straightening 

30  

 

60 60 30  

Hair Coloring and Bleaching 60  75 75 60  

Haircutting 50  200 (150+) 50 (50) 

Electricity 5    5  

Barbering Chemistry, Health &Safety 20    20  

Communicable Diseases, HIV/Aids & Hepatitis B 

disease 

25    25  

Anatomy & Physiology 30    30  

Disinfection/Sanitation/Bacteriology 20  80 (50+) 20 (30) 

Esthetics: Men’s Facial  20  20 (10+) 20 (10) 

Esthetics: Skin Analysis 20    20  

Men’s Shaving 40  100 100 40  

Resume, Workers right, Salon Management, Business 

Ethics; Inspection, work area set up, MSDS universal 

standards Law & Regulations from the CA Board of 

Barbering & Cosmetology website 

20    20  

CLINIC: Student will complete sixty (60) paid to school 

operations from the clinic floor with 60 different 

clients (public & 30 can come from friends & family) = 

Consultation + service + Pre/Post service sanitation 

  Yes 

completed  

Not 

completed  

  

Total State Board Required Hours: 365     

Total Practical Minimum Operations    635    

Total Clock Hours 365   500 365 135 
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DISTANCE EDUCATION TECHNOLOGIES:   

Victory Career College uses portal from Cengage Milady to teach the theory portion of the course via Distance Education. 

Cengage uses the “Learning Path” to guide students through the curriculum by incorporating different learning styles 

including activities, exercises, videos, quizzing and testing, flashcards, digital portfolios, and glossary. Cengage also 

includes an interactive e-book delivered in sections. Instructors monitor student’s progress through the “Grade Book” and 

“Activity Access” which highlights how students are participating in the course and what sections they are clicking on. 

Forum Discussion is also used on Canvas. Practical clock hours are conducted using zoom video, demonstrations, and 

instructor supervision. Participation must be documented within a log of all student activity comprising at a minimum of 

two forms of predictable and scheduled interaction between student and instructor. Once at start of class to explain the 

assignments and one at midpoint for a Q&A. Students engage asynchronously AKA electronic synchronization through 

daily work and posts of assignments, and synchronously via live video with teacher and student-to-student. 

ADDITIONAL TRAINING WILL BE GIVEN IN THE FOLLOWING SUBJECT MATTER:  

Communication skills that include professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, client service record cards and 

preparing a resume, employment development, modeling, desk, reception and care and other subjects relating to Barbering 

field. CLINIC: Student will complete sixty (60) paid to school operations from the clinic floor with 60 different clients (public or 

friends & family) = Consultation + service + Pre/Post service sanitation 

BARBERING PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES 

Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California's Barbering establishment practices.   

Acquire the knowledge of sanitation, disinfection and sterilization as related to all phases.   

Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to barbering including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and theory.   

Acquire business management techniques common to barbering.   

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED:   

Learn the proper use of implements relative to all Barbering services. Acquire the knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, and 

hands prior to all services to determine any disorders. Learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all Barbering 

services. 

CLINIC SERVICES: Students must demonstrate professional skills and complete: 60 clinical full services paid. It means 

student may be handling monies given by the client for service rendered. Payment and all documentation must be 

completed before service. Gratuity is not allowed. Discount/promotion/free for clinic clients may apply. Student may get up 

to 50% of their clinical requirements on friends & family (50% OFF menu) when public is not available. Public clientele 

comes first-ALL services must be approved by Supervisor before service.   

ATTITUDES AND PHYSICAL DEMAND TO BE DEVELOPED:  

Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to Barbering, possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow 

workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved personality in dealings with patrons and colleagues. Physical 

demands are standing all day, use of shoulders, constant specific use of wrist, hands and fingers coordination.    

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: 

When a student has completed the hours requirement for the course of study with a GPA of 2.0 (“C”, 70%) or better, 

maintained a 70% attendance, pass the mock board (final) examination for Barbering, the tuition given her/his professional 

resume to office, account is paid in full, s/he will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. A diploma will only be provided once 

the graduate passes the applicable state examination. 
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LICENSING REQUIREMENTS: 

The board shall admit to examination for a license as a barber to practice barbering, any person who has made application to 

the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this chapter, and is qualified as follows: 

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age. 

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. 

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480. 

(d) Has done any of the following: 

(1) Completed a course in barbering of a 1,000 hours from a school approved by the board. 

 (2) Completed an apprenticeship program in barbering approved by the board as conducted under the provisions of the 

Shelley-Maloney Apprentice Labor Standards Act of 1939, Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 3070) of Division 3 of the Labor 

Code. 

3) Practiced barbering as defined in this chapter outside of this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and training 

of a qualified person who has completed a course in barbering from a school the curriculum of which complied with 

requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training for 

qualification under paragraph (1). 

(4) Holds a license as a cosmetologist in this state and has completed a barber crossover course in a school approved by the 

board. 

(5) Completed a cosmetology course in a school approved by the board and has completed a barber crossover course in a 

school approved by the board. 

(6) Completed comparable military training as documented by submission of Verification of Military Experience and Training 

(V-MET) records. 

CAREER LEAD: https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=barbering LSOC code: 39-5011.00 

Graduates of Victory Career College’s barbering program can choose to work as a barber in a variety of locations, including (but 

not limited to): Beauty and Hair Salons/Movie Studios/Photographer Studio/Barbershops/Cruise Ships/Health Clubs and 

Fitness Centers/Hotels/Spas and Resorts. 

 

CURRICULUM FOR COSMETOLOGY ONLINE 50% DE 1000 CLOCK HOURS 
The curriculum for the cosmetology course consists of a thousand (1,000) clock hours of technical instruction and practical 
operations covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology. Business and Professions Code (B&P) Section 7362.5 (a) 
states: A course in barbering or cosmetology established by a school shall consist of not less than 1,000 hours of practical and 
technical instruction in the practice of barbering or cosmetology.  
Pursuant to B&P 7362.5 © the curriculum for a cosmetology course shall, at a minimum, include technical and practical 

instruction in the following areas:  
 (Technical instruction means instruction given in person or online by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or exa mination. Practical 

operation is the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another person or mannequin. Student cannot practice on a live model 

while on DE only practice on a mannequin).  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=barbering


Page 20 of 57 
 

 

 

 

Subject Cosmetology Online 50% DE 1000 Minimum 

Required 

Technical 

Instruction 

Hours: 

Minimum 

Practical 

Operations (NOT 

HOURS) 

Distance Education 

Hours 50% 

Including 100 hours Health & Safety and 100 hours Sanitation & Disinfection in a 

1000 hours program of CA State Board Licensure Requirement. 

Req.  Req

. 

On 

Campus 

DE 

Theor

y 

DE Practical on 

doll head only 

Hairstyling Analysis & Shampooing /Wet hairstyling Thermal Styling 30  100 (55+) 30 (30) 

Permanent Waving & Chemical Straightening/Texture Straightening 30  85 (65+) 30 (20) 

Hair Coloring and Bleaching 60  75 75 60  

Haircutting 20  115 (115+) 20  

Electricity 5    5  

Cosmetology Chemistry, Health &Safety 20    20  

Communicable Diseases, HIV/Aids & Hepatitis B disease 25    25  

Anatomy & Physiology 30    30  

Disinfection/Sanitation/Bacteriology 20  80 (70+) 20 (10) 

Facial Make-up 15  30 (10+) 15 (20) 

Esthetics: Facials-Manual Cleansing, Masks, Scrubs 13  24 (14+) 13 (10) 

Facials-Chemical: Peel, Masks, Scrubs 11  23 (13+) 11 (10) 

Facials-Electrics: Modalities 11  23 23 11  

Eyebrow Beautifications, Lash, Waxing  15  35 (20+) 15 (15) 

Manicuring/Pedicuring 10  20 (10+) 10 (10) 

Artificial Nails & Wraps: Liquid & Powder 10  25 (15+) 10 (10) 

Artificial Nail Tips; Wraps and Repairs 10  25 (15+) 10 (10) 

Online Portfolio, Resume, Workers right, Salon Management, Business Ethics; 

Inspection, work area set up, MSDS universal standards Law & Regulations from 

the CA Board of Barbering & Cosmetology website 

20    20  

CLINIC: Student will complete sixty (60) paid to school operations from the clinic 

floor with 60 different clients (public & 30 can come from friends & family) = 

Consultation + service + Pre/Post service sanitation 

   Yes 

completed 

  

Total State Board Required Hours: 355  645   

Total Practical Minimum Operations (These are not hours)   645    

Total Clock Hours 355   500 355 145 



Page 21 of 57 
 

 
 

     DISTANCE EDUCATION TECHNOLOGIES: 

Victory Career College uses portal from Cengage Milady to teach the theory portion of the course via Distance 

Education. Cengage uses the “Learning Path” to guide students through the curriculum by incorporating different 

learning styles including activities, exercises, videos, quizzing and testing, flashcards, digital portfolios, and 

glossary. Cengage also includes an interactive e-book delivered in sections. Instructors monitor student’s progress 

through the “Grade Book” and “Activity Access” which highlights how students are participating in the course and 

what sections they are clicking on. 

Forum Discussion is also used on Canvas. Practical clock hours are conducted using zoom video, demonstrations, 

and instructor supervision. Participation must be documented within a log of all student activity comprising at a 

minimum of two forms of predictable and scheduled interaction between student and instructor. Once at start of 

class to explain the assignments and one at midpoint for a Q&A. Students engage asynchronously AKA electronic 

synchronization through daily work and posts of assignments, and synchronously via live video with teacher and 

student-to-student. 

 

ADDITIONAL TRAINING WILL BE GIVEN IN THE FOLLOWING SUBJECT MATTER: 
Communication skills that include professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, client service record 

cards and preparing a resume, employment development, modeling, desk, reception and care and other subjects 

relating to Cosmetology field.  CLINIC: Student will complete sixty (60) paid to school operations from the clinic floor 

with 60 different clients (public or friends & family)= Consultation + service + Pre/Post service sanitation 
 

COSMETOLOGY PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES: 
Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California's cosmetology establishment practices. 

Acquire the knowledge of sanitation, disinfection and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails. 

Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to cosmetology including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and 

theory. Acquire business management techniques common to cosmetology. 

 

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED: 
Learn the proper use of implements relative to all cosmetology services. Acquire the knowledge of analyzing the 

scalp, face, and hands prior to all services to determine any disorders. Learn the procedures and terminology used in 

performing all cosmetology services, learn the application of daytime and evening make-up to include the 

application of individual and strip eyelashes, learn the proper procedure of manicuring to include water and oil 

manicure and pedicuring, learn the application of brush-on nails, nail wraps, and nail tips. 

CLINIC SERVICES:  

Students must demonstrate professional skills and complete: 60 clinical full services paid. It means student may be 

handling monies given by the client for service rendered. Payment and all documentation must be completed before 

service. Gratuity is not allowed. Discount/promotion/free for clinic clients may apply. Student may get up to 50% of 

their clinical requirements on friends and family when public is not available. Public clientele comes first -ALL 

services must be approved by Supervisor before service.   

ATTITUDES AND PHYSICAL DEMAND TO BE DEVELOPED: Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to Ba, 

possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved 

personality in dealings with patrons and colleagues. Physical demands are standing all day, use of shoulders, constant 

specific use of wrist, hands, and fingers coordination.    

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: 

When a student has completed the hours requirement for the course of study with a GPA of 2.0 (“C”, 70%) or better, 

maintained a 70% attendance, pass the mock board (final) examination for Cosmetology, given her/his professional 
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resume to office, the tuition account is paid in full, s/he will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. A diploma will 

only be provided once the graduate passes the applicable state examination. 

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS: 

The board shall admit to examination for a license as a cosmetologist to practice cosmetology any person who has made 

application to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this chapter, and is qualified as follows: 

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age. 

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. 

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480. 

(d) Has done any of the following: 

(1) Completed a course in cosmetology of a 1,000 hours from a school approved by the board. 

(2) Practiced cosmetology as defined in this chapter outside of this state for a period of time equivalent to the 

study and training of a qualified person who has completed a course in cosmetology from a school the curriculum 

of which complied with requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the 

equivalent of 100 hours of training for qualification under paragraph (1) of this subdivision. 

(3) Holds a license as a barber in this state and has completed a cosmetology crossover course in a school approved 

by the board. 

(4) Completed a barbering course in a school approved by the board and has completed a cosmetology crossover 

course in a school approved by the board. 

(5) Completed the apprenticeship program in cosmetology specified in Article 4 (commencing with Section 7332). 

CAREER LEAD: https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=cosmetology LSOC code: 39-5012.00 

Graduates of Victory Career College’s cosmetology program can choose to work as a cosmetologist in a variety of 

locations, including (but not limited to): Beauty and Hair Salons/Movie Studios/Photographer Studio/Barbershops/Cruise 

Ships/Health Clubs and Fitness Centers/Hotels/Spas and Resorts. 

 

CURRICULUM FOR BARBER CROSS-OVER COURSE FOR COSMETOLOGIST 200 CLOCK 

HOURS:  
The curriculum for the crossover course consists of two hundred (200) clock hours minimum of technical instruction and 

practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of barbering pursuant to section 7316 of the Barbering and 

Cosmetology Act.  Technical instruction shall mean instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or 

examination. Practical operations shall mean the actual performance by the student of a complete service on another 

person or on a mannequin. Practical training shall mean the time it takes to perform a practical operation. An evaluation 

after first fifteen (15) clock hours will be administered by the instructor of the student and one evaluation at the end of the 

200 hours to evaluate state board exam readiness. More instructional hours might be necessary to pass the last evaluation 

at the hourly dollar cost of instruction as of time of enrollment. To qualify for the barber examination a cosmetologist or an 

individual that has completed the cosmetology course would need to complete a minimum of 200 hours as followings: 

Subject Minimum Required 
Technical Instruction 

Hours 

Minimum Required 
Practical Operations 

(NOT HOURS) 

200 hours of technical Instruction and Practical in Training in Shaving 

Shaving Preparation and Performance:  
The subject of Preparation and Performance shall include but is not 
limited to the following techniques and procedures: Preparing the 
client’s hair for shaving, assessing the condition of the client’s skin, 
performing shaving techniques, applying after-shave antiseptic 
following facial services massaging and clients face and rolling 
cream massages.  

100 40 

Total Clock Hours 100 100 

https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=cosmetology
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CAMPUS EDUCATION TECHNOLOGIES:  

Victory Career College uses portal from Cengage Milady to teach the theory portion of the course. Cengage uses the 

“Learning Path” to guide students through the curriculum by incorporating different learning styles including activities, 

exercises, videos, quizzing and testing, flashcards, digital portfolios, and glossary. Cengage also includes an interactive e-

book delivered in sections. Instructors monitor student’s progress through the “Grade Book” and “Activity Access” which 

highlights how students are participating in the course and what sections they are clicking on. Practical clock hours are 

conducted using instructor demonstration, correction, and supervision.  

ADDITIONAL TRAINING WILL BE GIVEN IN THE FOLLOWING SUBJECT MATTER: Communication skills that include 

professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, client service record cards and preparing a resume, 

employment development, modeling, desk, reception and care and other subjects relating to Barbering field.     

BARBER CROSS-OVER COURSE FOR COSMETOLOGIST PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES: 

Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California's Barbering establishment practices.   

Acquire the knowledge of sanitation, disinfection and sterilization as related to all phases.   

Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to barbering including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and theory.   

Acquire business management techniques common to barbering.   

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED:  

Learn the proper use of implements relative to all Barbering services. Acquire the knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, 

and hands prior to all services to determine any disorders. Learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all 

Barbering services. 

ATTITUDES AND PHYSICAL DEMAND TO BE DEVELOPED: Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to Barbering, 

possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved 

personality in dealings with patrons and colleagues. Physical demands are standing all day, use of shoulders, constant 

specific use of wrist, hands, and fingers coordination.    

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: 

When a student has completed the hours requirement for the course of study with a GPA of 2.0 (“C”, 70%) or better, 

maintained a 70% attendance, pass the mock board (final) examination for Barbering, given her/his professional resume to 

office, the tuition account is paid in full, s/he will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. A diploma will only be provided 

once the graduate passes the applicable state examination.    

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS: 

The board shall admit to examination for a license as a barber to practice barbering, any person who has made application 

to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this chapter, and is qualified as follows: 

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age. 

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. 

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480. 

(d) Has done any of the following: 

(1) Completed a course in barbering 1000 hours from a school approved by the board. 

(2) Completed an apprenticeship program in barbering approved by the board as conducted under the provisions of the 

Shelley-Maloney Apprentice Labor Standards Act of 1939, Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 3070) of Division 3 of the 

Labor Code. 

(3) Practiced barbering as defined in this chapter outside of this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and 

training of a qualified person who has completed a course in barbering from a school the curriculum of which complied with 
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requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training 

for qualification under paragraph (1). 

(4) Holds a license as a cosmetologist in this state and has completed a barber crossover course in a school approved  

 (5) Completed a cosmetology course in a school approved by the board and has completed a barber crossover course in a 

school approved by the board. 

(6) Completed comparable military training as documented by submission of Verification of Military Experience and Training 

(V-MET) records. 

CAREER LEAD: https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=cosmetology LSOC code: 39-5012.00 

Graduates of Victory Career College’s barber cross over for cosmetologist program can choose to work as a barber in a 

variety of locations, including (but not limited to): Beauty and Hair Salons/Movie Studios/Photographer 

Studio/Barbershops/Cruise Ships/Health Clubs and Fitness Centers/Hotels/Spas and Resorts 

 

CURRICULUM FOR COSMETOLOGY CROSS-OVER COURSE FOR BARBER 300 CLOCK 

HOURS: The curriculum for the cosmetology crossover course for barber consists of three hundred (300) clock hours of 

technical instruction and practical operations covering all practices constituting the art of cosmetology pursuant to section 

7316 of the Barbering and Cosmetology Act. Technical instruction means instruction given by demonstration, lecture, 

classroom participation, or examination. Practical operation is the actual performance by the student of a complete service 

on another person or mannequin. An evaluation after first fifteen (15) clock hours will be administered by the instructor of 

the student and one evaluation at the end of the 200 hours to evaluate state board exam readiness. More instructional 

hours might be necessary to pass the last evaluation at the hourly dollar cost of instruction as of time of enrollment. To 

qualify for the cosmetology examination a barber or an individual that has completed the barbering course would need to 

complete a minimum of 300 hours as follows: 

Subject Minimum Required 
Technical 

Instruction Hours: 

Minimum Required 
Practical Operations 

(NOT HOURS) 

200 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Esthetics 

Manual, Electrical, and Chemical Facials:  
The subject of manual, electrical and chemical facials shall include, but is 
not limited to the following techniques and procedures:  
Manual Facials include cleansing, scientific manipulations, packs, and 
masks. Electrical Facials include the use of electrical modalities, dermal 
lights and electrical apparatus, for facials and skin care purposes; however, 
machines capable of producing and electrical current shall not be used to 
stimulate so as to contract, or for the purpose of contracting, the muscles 
of the body or face. Chemical Facials include chemical skin peels, packs, 
masks and scrubs. Training shall emphasize that only the non-living, 
uppermost layers of facial skin, known as the epidermis, may be removed, 
and only for the purpose of beautification. All practical operations must be 
performed in accordance with Section 992 regarding skin peeling.  

25 40 

Eyebrow Beautification and Make-Up: 
The subject of Eyebrow Beautification shall include, but is not limited to, 
the following issues: eyebrow arching and hair removal, including the use of 
wax, tweezers, electric or manual, and depilatories for the removal of 
superfluous hair. The subject of Makeup shall include, but is not limited to, 
the following issues: skin analysis, complete and corrective makeup, lash 
and brow tinting, and the application of false eyelashes.  

25 30 

100 Hours of Technical Instruction and Practical Training in Manicuring and Pedicuring 

Manicuring and Pedicuring:  10 25 

https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=cosmetology
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The subject of Manicuring and Pedicuring shall include, but are not limited 
to, the following issues: water and oil manicure, including nail analysis, and 
hand/foot and arm/ankle massage 

Artificial nails and wraps: artificial nails including acrylic: liquid and 
powered brush-ons, artificial nail tips and nail wraps and repairs.  

25 120 Nails 

Total clock hours 300 85 clock hours 215 clock hours 

 

CAMPUS EDUCATION TECHNOLOGIES:  

Victory Career College uses portal from Cengage Milady to teach the theory portion of the course. Cengage uses the 

“Learning Path” to guide students through the curriculum by incorporating different learning styles including activities, 

exercises, videos, quizzing and testing, flashcards, digital portfolios, and glossary. Cengage also includes an interactive e-

book delivered in sections. Instructors monitor student’s progress through the “Grade Book” and “Activity Access” which 

highlights how students are participating in the course and what sections they are clicking on. Practical clock hours are 

conducted using instructor demonstration, correction, and supervision.  

ADDITIONAL TRAINING WILL BE GIVEN IN THE FOLLOWING SUBJECT MATTER:  

Communication skills that include professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record keeping, client service record cards 

and preparing a resume, employment development, modeling, desk, reception and care and other subjects relating to 

Cosmetology field.     

COSMETOLOGY CROSS-OVER COURSE FOR BARBER PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES: 

Acquire knowledge of laws and rules regulating California's cosmetology establishment practices.   

Acquire the knowledge of sanitation, disinfection and sterilization as related to all phases of hair, skin, and nails.   

Acquire knowledge of general theory relative to cosmetology including anatomy, physiology, chemistry, and theory.   

Acquire business management techniques common to cosmetology.   

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED:  

Learn the proper use of implements relative to all cosmetology services. Acquire the knowledge of analyzing the scalp, face, 

and hands prior to all services to determine any disorders. Learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all 

cosmetology services, learn the application of daytime and evening make-up to include the application of individual and 

strip eyelashes, learn the proper procedure of manicuring to include water and oil manicure and pedicuring, learn the 

application of brush-on nails, nail wraps, and nail tips.   

 

ATTITUDES AND PHYSICAL DEMAND TO BE DEVELOPED: Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to cosmetology, 

possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have improved 

personality in dealings with patrons and colleagues. Physical demands are standing all day, use of shoulders, constant specific 

use of wrist, hands, and fingers coordination.    

 

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS: When a student has completed the hours requirement for the course of study with a GPA of 

2.0 (“C”, 70%) or better, maintained a 70% attendance, pass the mock board (final) examination for Cosmetology, given 

her/his professional resume to office, the tuition account is paid in full, s/he will be awarded a Certificate of Completion.  A 

diploma will only be provided once the graduate passes the applicable state examination.    

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS: 

The board shall admit to examination for a license as a cosmetologist to practice cosmetology any person who has made 

application to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this chapter, and is qualified as follows: 

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age. 

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. 
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(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480. 

(d) Has done any of the following: 

(1) Completed a course in cosmetology 1000 hours from a school approved by the board. 

(2) Practiced cosmetology as defined in this chapter outside of this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and 

training of a qualified person who has completed a course in cosmetology from a school the curriculum of which complied 

with requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of 

training for qualification under paragraph (1) of this subdivision. 

(3) Holds a license as a barber in this state and has completed a cosmetology crossover course in a school approved by the 

board. 

(4) Completed a barbering course in a school approved by the board and has completed a cosmetology crossover course in a 

school approved by the board. 

(5) Completed the apprenticeship program in cosmetology specified in Article 4 (commencing with Section 7332). 

CAREER LEAD: https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=barbering LSOC code: 39-5011.00 

Graduates of Victory Career College’s cosmetology cross over course for barber program can choose to work as a 

cosmetologist in a variety of locations, including (but not limited to): Beauty and Hair Salons/Movie Studios/Photographer 

Studio/Barbershops/Cruise Ships/Health Clubs and Fitness Centers/Hotels/Spas and Resorts 

 

CURRICULUM FOR THE TWO (2) MASSAGE THERAPY COURSES:  
The curriculum for students enrolled in the three (3) massage therapy courses shall consist of 500 clock hours common core 

hours of technical instruction and practical operations in teaching the art of massage. Technical instruction means 

instruction by demonstration, lecture, classroom participation, or examination. Practical operations shall mean the actual 

performance by massage technician of all techniques and principals.  Victory Career College offers two programs: MASSAGE 

THERAPY 500 hours - MASSAGE THERAPY COURSE 720 hours - After 500 clock hours and all syllabus requirements are 

completed, is in good academic, and financial standing, a student enrolled in any of the two (2) Massage Therapy programs 

will be eligible to take an approved state board examination which is voluntary. Additionally, if a student is enrolled in 720 

clock hours massage programs (MASSAGE THERAPY COURSE 720 hours), he/she shall complete 220 clock hours more to 

complete their program.  

CALIFORNIA CERTIFICATION:  

The CALIFORNIA MASSAGE THERAPY COUNCIL (CAMTC) handles voluntary certification of massage therapists and will give the titles of 

CMT consistent throughout the state. This gives local jurisdictions the benefit of professional evaluation of training, educa tion, experience, etc.  CAMTC 

is a private nonprofit organization that provides voluntary certification to qualified individuals. Victory Career College do es not issue "license" or 

“permit”. CAMTC voluntary certification is a preferable certification to those who choose not to apply (or who do not qualify) for certification are not 

prohibited from practicing in California, as it is, by law, a voluntary certification. However, most professional massage the rapists want and use the 

CMT/P title.  A city may choose to use CAMTC certification as a prerequisite or replacement for a permit.  Or cities may request a business permit 

instead. It varies city to city. As of January 2015, to receive a CAMTC voluntary certification: One must complete a 500 cloc k hours MT program and one 

must pass a CA State Approved Exam; both must be approved by CAMTC. Massage professionals are required to comply with any local ma ssage 

regulations. However, most massage professionals will find that being able to operate with a single massage certification sta tewide is preferable. 

CAMTC certificate holders are required to prominently display their original certification at their place of work. CAMTC cert ificate holders are also 

required to have their CAMTC ID card in their possession while they are working and to produce it if requested. CAMTC certificate holders are 

protected from certain regulations that cities and counties may impose on other massage professionals. Government Code sectio n 51034 generally 

identifies regulations that cities and counties may not impose on CAMTC certified massage professionals. Note: As of 1/1/2019 until 1/31/2024 the 

state board examination is on hiatus and graduates will not need to take the exam.  

CONTACT INFORMATION: CALIFORNIA MASSAGE THERAPY COUNCIL (CAMTC) Web 

info@camtc.org 

PERMIT REQUIREMENTS:  
In order to practice the art of massage in an establishment, a permit/business license may be required and must be secured by your local jurisdiction.  

Each city/state has certain requirements, and the fees vary. In case the CAMTC certification is authorized in lieu of a permit/business license, one must 

follow the CAMTC’s Law related to unfair business practices as related to massage:  

https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=barbering
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(1) Pursuant to California Business and Professions Code section 4611, it is an unfair business practice for a person to do any of the followin g: 

(a) To hold himself or herself out or to use the title of “certified massage therapist” or “certified massage practitioner,” or any other term, such as 

“licensed,” “certified,” “CMT,” or “CMP,” in any manner whatsoever that implies or suggests that the person is certified as a  massage therapist or 

massage practitioner, unless that person currently holds an active and valid certificate issued by the California Massage Therapy Council. 

(b) To falsely state or advertise or put out any sign or card or other device, or to falsely represent to the public through any print or electronic media, 

that he or she or any other individual is licensed, certified, or registered by a governmental agency as a massage therapist or massage practitioner.  

Attendance and/or graduation from a California Massage Therapy Council approved school does not guarantee certification by CA MTC. Applicant for 

certification shall meet all requirements as listed in California Business and Professions Code Section 4600et. Seq.  

The acceptance of massage therapist by mainstream organizations and society at large has created a multitude of opportunities  for massage therapist 
with employment for renting a space to commission, from self-employed to employee status. Opportunities are available and growing for those 
individuals who complete formal training programs and pass a professionally recognized examination.  
Graduates of Victory Career College’s massage therapy, massage therapy course can choose to work in a variety of locations, including (but n ot limited 
to): Beauty and Hair Salons/Movie Studios/Photographer Studio/Barbershops/Cruise Ships/Health Clubs and Fitness Centers/ Hotels/Spas and Resort 
 

CURRICULUM FOR MASSAGE THERAPY COURSE 500 HOURS:  
The curriculum for students enrolled in massage therapy course shall consist of 500 clock hours of technical instruction and 

practical operations in teaching the art of massage. Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, 

classroom participation, or examination. Practical operations shall mean the actual performance by massage technician of 

all techniques and principals. 

Massage Therapy 500 

Theory Subject Minimum Required Hours: 

*Health Safety--sanitation & *Medication for massage & *HIV/AIDS 20 

*Anatomy *Physiology 12 Systems 165 

*Ethics, Laws and Regulations 10 

*Scope of Practice 5 

*Effects, Benefits, and Contraindications of Massage 10 

*Business Practices 20 

History of Massage in the USA & World 5 

Swedish Therapeutic Massage 40 

Deep Tissue and Myofascial 40 

Spa History and Spa techs Reflexology 20 

TCM/Thai/Shiatsu Tech and History 20 

Energy Work Modalities/Chakras 10 

Trigger Points Neuromuscular 20 

Seated Massage Corp Onsite Tech 20 

Sports Massage PNF/Stretch 20 

Prenatal & Postnatal & Contraindication 20 

Lymph Drainage 5 

Biomechanics/Safety of body worker 10 

*Consultation & Documentation SOAP Charting 10 

*CAMTC required subjects 460 Theory Hours 

Supervised Clinic + Consultations +SOAP charting per client 40 

Required Hours 500 

CAMPUS EDUCATION TECHNOLOGIES:  

Victory Career College uses portal from Cengage Milady to teach the theory portion of the course. Cengage uses the 

“Learning Path” to guide students through the curriculum by incorporating different learning styles including activities, 

exercises, videos, quizzing and testing, flashcards, digital portfolios, and glossary. Cengage also includes an interactive e-

book delivered in sections. Instructors monitor student’s progress through the “Grade Book” and “Activity Access” which 

highlights how students are participating in the course and what sections they are clicking on. Practical clock hours are 

conducted using instructor demonstration, correction, and supervision.  
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ADDITIONAL TRAINING WILL BE GIVEN IN THE FOLLOWING SUBJECT MATTER:  

Salon Management, communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record-keeping, client 

service record cards, basic tax responsibilities and preparing a resume, employment development, modeling, desk and 

reception care and other subjects relating to the massage therapy field.   

MASSAGE THERAPY COURSE PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES:  

Acquire knowledge of established practices, acquire the knowledge of sanitation, disinfection and medication as related to 

all phases of massage, acquire the knowledge of general theory relative to massage including anatomy, physiology, theory 

and acquire business management techniques.  

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED: 

Learn the proper use of implements relative to all services, acquire the knowledge of massage prior to all services, to 

determine any disorders and medication, learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all massage services, 

learn all basic massage techniques including Swedish, Deep Tissue, Sports, Thai and learn all proper procedures of  massage.  

Learn all draping techniques during the freshman 160 clock hours.  

CLINIC SERVICES:  

Students must demonstrate professional skills and complete: 

30 clinical hourly services* for MT 500 + 20 minutes for SOAP/documentation per client 

*means student may be handling monies given by the client for service rendered. Payment and all documentation must be 

completed before service and monies left at the office. Gratuity is not allowed. Discount/promotion/free for clinic clients 

may apply. Massage program may get up to 50% of their clinical requirements on friends and family when public is not 

available. Public clientele comes first-ALL services must be approved by Supervisor before service.  

 

ATTITUDES AND PHYSICAL DEMAND TO BE DEVELOPED: Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to massage 

therapy, possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have 

improved personality in dealings with patrons and colleagues. Physical demands are standing all day, use of shoulders, 

constant specific use of wrist, hands, and fingers coordination.    

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS:  

 When a student has completed the hours requirement for the course of study with a GPA of 2.0 (“C”, 70%) or better, 

maintained a 70% attendance, pass the mock board (final) examination, and studied CA State approved examination 

“MBLEX” in class for Massage Therapy, given her/his professional resume to office, the tuition account is paid in full, s/he 

will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. A diploma will only be provided once the graduate passes the applicable state 

examination. 

CAREER LEAD: https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=massage+therapy LSOC code: 31-9011.00 

Graduates of Victory Career College’s massage therapy program can choose to work as a massage therapist in a variety of 

locations, including (but not limited to): Beauty and Hair Salons/Movie Studios/Photographer Studio/Barbershops/Cruise 

Ships/Health Clubs and Fitness Centers/Hotels/Spas and Resorts. 

CURRICULUM FOR MASSAGE THERAPY COURSE 720 HOURS: 
The curriculum for students enrolled in massage therapy course shall consist of 720 clock hours of technical instruction and 

practical operations in teaching the art of massage. Technical instruction means instruction by demonstration, lecture, 

classroom participation, or examination. Practical operations shall mean the actual performance by massage technician of 

all techniques and principals. Rational for 220 hours extra hours to the voluntary certification requirement: Credibility, 

marketable skills throughout the States and added expertise; longer study time to prepare for the voluntary CA State 

Examination “MBLEX”. 

 

https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=massage+therapy
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CAMPUS EDUCATION TECHNOLOGIES:  

Victory Career College uses portal from Cengage Milady to teach the theory portion of the course. Cengage uses the 

“Learning Path” to guide students through the curriculum by incorporating different learning styles including activities, 

exercises, videos, quizzing and testing, flashcards, digital portfolios, and glossary. Cengage also includes an interactive e-

book delivered in sections. Instructors monitor student’s progress through the “Grade Book” and “Activity Access” which 

highlights how students are participating in the course and what sections they are clicking on. Practical clock hours are 

conducted using instructor demonstration, correction, and supervision.  

ADDITIONAL TRAINING WILL BE GIVEN IN THE FOLLOWING SUBJECT MATTER: 

Salon Management, communication skills that includes professional ethics, salesmanship, decorum, record-keeping, client 

service record cards, basic tax responsibilities and preparing a resume, employment development, modeling, desk and 

reception care and other subjects relating to the massage therapy field.   

 

MASSAGE THERAPY COURSE PERFORMANCE OBJECTIVES:  

Acquire knowledge of established practices, acquire the knowledge of sanitation, disinfection and medication as related to 

all phases of massage, acquire the knowledge of general theory relative to massage including anatomy, physiology, theory 

and acquire business management techniques. 

SKILLS TO BE DEVELOPED:  

Learn the proper use of implements relative to all services, acquire the knowledge of massage prior to all services, to 

determine any disorders and medication, learn the procedures and terminology used in performing all massage services, 

Massage Therapy Course 720 

Theory Subject Minimum Required Hours: 

*Health Safety - Sanitation & *Medication for massage & *HIV/AIDS 20 

*Anatomy & *Physiology 12 Systems 165 

*Ethics, Laws and Regulations 10 

*Scope of Practice 5 

*Effects, Benefits, and Contraindications of Massage 10 

*Business Practices 20 

History of Massage in the USA & World 5 

Swedish Therapeutic Massage 40 

Deep Tissue and Myofascial 40 

Spa History and Spa techs Reflexology 20 

TCM/Thai/Shiatsu Tech and History 20 

Energy Work Modalities/Chakras 10 

Trigger Points Neuromuscular 20 

Seated Massage Corp Onsite Tech 20 

Sports Massage PNF/Stretch 20 

Prenatal & Postnatal & Contraindication 20 

Lymph Drainage 5 

Biomechanics/Safety of body worker 10 

*Consultation & Documentation SOAP Charting 10 

Special Populations - study elderly/HIV-AIDS /Athletes / Prenatal -
Pathology/Muscles/MBLEX Blended Learning Moodle 

180 

*CAMTC required subjects 640 Theory Hours 

Supervised Clinic + Consultations - SOAP charting per client 80 

Required Hours 720 



Page 30 of 57 
 

learn all basic massage techniques including Swedish, Deep Tissue, Sports, Thai and learn all proper procedures of massage.  

Learn all draping techniques during the freshman 160 clock hours.  

Rational for 220 hours extra hours to the voluntary certification requirement: Credibility, marketable skills throughout the 

States and added expertise; longer study time to prepare for the voluntary CA State Examination “MBLEX”.  

CLINIC SERVICES:  

Students must demonstrate professional skills and complete: 

60 clinical hourly services* for MTC 720 + 20 minutes for SOAP/documentation per client 

*means student may be handling monies given by the client for service rendered. Payment and all documentation must be 

completed before service and monies left at the office. Gratuity is not allowed. Discount/promotion/free for clinic clients 

may apply. Massage program may get 50% of their clinical requirements on friends and family when public is not available. 

Public clientele comes first-ALL services must be approved by Supervisor before service.   

 

ATTITUDES AND PHYSICAL DEMAND TO BE DEVELOPED: Be able to appreciate good workmanship common to massage 

therapy, possess a positive attitude towards the public and fellow workers, appreciate honesty and integrity and have 

improved personality in dealings with patrons and colleagues. Physical demands are standing all day, use of shoulders, 

constant specific use of wrist, hands, and fingers coordination.    

Rational for 220 hours extra hours to the licensure requirement: Credibility, movability throughout the States, expertise, 

possible employment with Doctor of Chiropractic Care, Rehabilitation and Physical Therapy Centers.   

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS:  

When a student has completed the hours requirement for the course of study with a GPA of 2.0 (“C”, 70%) or better, 

maintained a 70% attendance, pass the mock board (final) examination, and studied CA State approved examination 

“MBLEX” in class for Massage Therapy, given her/his professional resume to office, the tuition account is paid in full, s/he 

will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. A diploma will only be provided once the graduate passes the applicable state 

examination.   

CAREER LEAD: https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=massage+therapy LSOC code: 31-9011.00 

Graduates of Victory Career College’s massage therapy program can choose to work as a massage therapist in a variety of 

locations, including (but not limited to): Beauty and Hair Salons/Movie Studios/Photographer Studio/Barbershops/Cruise 

Ships/Health Clubs and Fitness Centers/Hotels/Spas and Resorts. 

GRADING SYSTEM: 

All students are evaluated on a regular basis on theory, practical and clinical work. The evaluations are measured on a 

standard percentile basis and the percentage equated to a letter grade. Students must maintain a 2.0 ("C", 70%) average to 

maintain satisfactory academic status. The system detailed below is the system utilized in the Institution.  A Distance 

Education Assessment of student performance must be conducted on-campus by a qualified instructor at least once 

monthly with respect to any distance education completed within the preceding month. Practical Rubrics Assessment of 

terms component completed within the program at the institution (in person) is tested by a qualified instructor monthly. 

ACADEMIC GRADING PRACTICAL EVALUATIONS 

100% - 90% = A = Excellent                4.0 YES =Criteria MET  

  89%- 80% = B =Above Average      3.0 NO =Criteria NOT MET  

  79% - 70% = C =Average                   2.0 I = Incomplete work pending a grade 

  69% - 00% = Fail=Unsatisfactory     0.0  15% penalty on late testing/assignments 

https://www.onetonline.org/find/quick?s=massage+therapy
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BACKGROUND CHECK: 

The California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology applications for examination and the California Massage Therapy 

Council require an applicant to disclose background information relating to any conviction or plea of no contest to any 

violation of any law of the United States, in any state, local jurisdiction or any foreign country to determine a student’s 

eligibility to take the licensing exam or to receive a massage certificate. Individuals who have been convicted of a crime can 

still apply. The Board will request documents relating to a conviction to be included with the application. These are 

reviewed and evaluated on a case-by-case basis.   

It is the student’s responsibility to determine if any past criminal conviction will prevent them from obtaining the required  

state license or any local license or permit for Massage Therapy. For more information about state license requirements 

please visit www.barbercosmo.ca.gov.camtc.org. The following website provides sex offenders information in our area 

www.city-data.com/so/sotemple-city-california.html 

ATTENDANCE STATUS:  
(As of 1/2/2022 we do not enroll new student(s) in 100% on campus programs- subject to change) 

NORMAL COURSE COMPLETION TIME*:  

Full time: Any student scheduled to attend 24 hours or more per week is considered to be a full-time student. Part-time 

enrollment is defined as at least 16 but less than 24 hours per week.  Less than 16 hours per week is less than part time. Half 

time enrollment requires a minimum of 12 hours per week.  Course schedules are based on weekly attendance:   

COSMETOLOGY 1600 Clock Hours: 

FULL-TIME: 34 hrs. weekly = 48 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 

PART-TIME: 20 hrs. weekly = 80 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 

COSMETOLOGY 1000 Clock Hours: 

FULL-TIME: 34 hrs. weekly = 30 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 

PART-TIME: 20 hrs. weekly = 50 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 

BARBERING 1000 Clock Hours: 

FULL-TIME: 34 hrs. weekly = 30 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 

PART-TIME: 20 hrs. weekly = 50 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame 

 

SKIN & NAIL CARE COURSES 600 Clock Hours: 

FULL-TIME: 34 hrs. weekly = 18 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 

PART-TIME: 20 hrs. weekly =30 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 

MASSAGE THERAPY COURSE 720 Clock Hours: 

FULL-TIME:  24 hrs. weekly = 30 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 

PART-TIME:  20 hrs. weekly = 36 weeks to complete the program in a normal time frame. 

MASSAGE THERAPY 500 Clock Hours: 

FULL-TIME:  24 hrs. weekly = 20 weeks to complete the program in a normal time frame.        

PART-TIME:  20 hrs. weekly = 25 weeks to complete the program in a normal time frame. 

COSMETOLOGY CROSS-OVER COURSE FOR BARBER 300 Clock Hours: 

FULL-TIME: 34 hrs. weekly = 8 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 

PART-TIME: 20 hrs. weekly = 15 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 

BARBER CROSS-OVER COURSE FOR COSMETOLOGIST 200 Clock Hours: 

FULL-TIME: 34 hrs. weekly = 5 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 
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PART-TIME: 20 hrs. weekly = 10 weeks to complete the program in the normal time frame. 

FRESHMAN CLASS:  

The freshman curriculum for each course that is governed by the Board of Barbering & Cosmetology and the Massage 

Council requires a specific number of hours of classroom lectures, demonstrations, and student practice.  The freshman 

class teaches the fundamentals that are the basis for clinic floor success. The hours spent in the freshman class are Massage 

Therapy – 160 hours, Cosmetology and Barbering- 200 hours (requires evaluation/approval from teacher), Skin Care - 60 

hours, Nail Care – 40 hours.   

Victory Career College considers the freshman class to be the foundation for your future.   

SCHEDULE CHANGE POLICY: 

 A student may change their class schedule one time during the whole program. The student can only change their schedule 

if they have more than 250 hours to complete. A change of class time schedule is approved upon seat availability and may 

not be granted. Student may have to go on a wait list for the desired schedule and continue contracted schedule until the 

seat is available in the new schedule. Only then the student will receive a new or same graduation date. One extra schedule 

change is allowed for medical or emergency reasons with official documentation as proof.  

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS:  

When a student has completed the hours requirement for the course of study with a GPA of 2.0 (“C”, 70%) or better, 

maintained a 70% attendance, pass the mock board (final) examination (for Barbering, Cosmetology, Skin Care and Nail 

Care) and studied CA State approved examination “MBLEX” in class for Massage Therapy, given her/his professional resume 

to office, the tuition account is paid in full, s/he will be awarded a Certificate of Completion. A diploma will only be provided 

once the graduate passes the applicable state examination.   The administrative office requires 48-hour time frame from 

hours completion date to delivery of an exit packet or any other document (i.e., EA, Surveys/Transcripts/POT).  

 

 

ENGLISH AS A SECOND LANGUAGE: 

This institution does not offer any English as a Second Language ("ESL") courses.  LANGUAGE:  This institution does offer 

class in English only. English Proficiency: Student must have the ability to speak and perform in English; We reserve the right 

to request the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) “competent level” documentation. 

CLASS SCHEDULES:   

Victory Career College has open enrollment. Classes start when a student has completed all admission requirements and 

payment is processed. Your class schedule will be selected during your enrollment appointment.  Online classes 50% DE are 

held Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday 10 am to 4 pm and 5 pm to 10 pm. Regular classes 100% on campus until 

online classes are offered are held 10 AM to 5 PM and 5 Pm to 10 PM. Massage classes are held 

Monday/Tuesday/Wednesday 8 am to 4:30 pm. The school reserves the right to change start dates, based on class 

enrollment, staff availability and other considerations. 

MAKE-UP HOURS:  

Any student seeking credit for clock hours outside the student’s normal schedule must obtain prior approval from the Office 

or Director. The student is required to email their request to the Office.  If approved, the student will receive a PASS. 

Student will be allowed to participate in make-up hours outside of the student’s normal scheduled hours as set forth 

therein. An email “Pass” will be emailed to both instructor and student. As required under the Victory Career College’s 

general attendance policy, the student must clock in and out at the beginning and end of their attendance, as well as for any 
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breaks taken if outside their scheduled break, on the date of the granted make-up hours. The emailed “Pass” will include 

the date of the make-up hours and time. Student may not accelerate, and special considerations are given to those below 

70% attendance or at risk for Maximum Time Frame withdrawal or with extenuated family/medical circumstances per 

Director’s review. Grade/missing assignment or operation points are necessary to demonstrate that students are making up 

hours with supervised instruction for the time accrued outside the student’s scheduled hours.VC College reserves the right 

to deny or grant a request. Victory Career College reserves the right to not credit the hours if the work was not completed 

to the satisfaction of the instructor. Distance education clock hours may not be made to replace on campus clock hours.  

ORIENTATION CLASS:  

Orientation class is held any day prior to the first class.  All new students, transfers and re-enrollment students are required 

to attend Orientation prior to his/her first class.  

LUNCH AND BREAK POLICY:  

There is a mandatory 60-minute lunch break from 12:00 pm to 1 pm during the online 50% programs and 30-minute lunch 

break for the 100% on campus massage programs. A thirty-minute (30) lunch break must be taken when a student attends a 

six (6) hour class day or more. If attending less than a 6-hour class day a lunch break (30 minutes) may be taken and a half 

hour must be deducted from your daily total, and you must clock in/out on your timecard for the lunch break.   

STATEMENT OF NON-DISCRIMINATION: 

Victory Career College Institution policy prohibits harassment or discrimination based on race, religion, creed, color, 

national origin, ethnic origin, ancestry, sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, or related medical conditions), military or 

veteran status, physical or mental disability, medical condition, marital status, age, sexual orientation, gender, gender 

identity or expression, genetic information or any other basis protected by the federal, state or local law. Additionally, in  

accordance with Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Victory Career College discrimination based on sex, which 

include sexual harassment & sexual violence, & Victory Career College has jurisdiction over Title IX complaints. 

DISABLED STUDENTS: 

 Access for disabled students to the institution's facilities is available. This institution does offer programs for the disabled 

depending on the physical abilities of the potential student. VC College follows the requirements established by the 

Americans with Disabilities Act. VC College does not discriminate against a qualified individual with disabilities. We provide 

reasonable accommodations for the known disability of a qualified applicant, student, client, or employee.  Submission of an 

accommodations request does not guarantee that accommodations will be made. VC College reviews each request and 

official professional recommendations to determine if the accommodation is reasonable and appropriate to 

the testing and learning environment. Testing accommodations that would fundamentally alter the 

nature of the examination will not be granted. Applicants must request disability accommodation reviews and approval 

prior to the enrollment agreement or as soon as the disability start. VC College can authorize to use temporary disability 

accommodations without a professional recommendation for no longer than five school days and with an Authorization to 

Disability Form signed by the student and school officer authorizing it. Mental health or Covid-19 related disability will be 

individually assessed the same as any other disability. 

HEALTH AND PHYSICAL CONSIDERATIONS: 
Generally, the professional in the barbering, cosmetology or massage field must be in good physical health since s/he will 

work in direct contact with customers.  This related field of study requires a great deal of standing, walking, pushing, 

bending and stretching for extended periods of time.  A person must consider his/her physical limitations in terms of making 

a career choice that involves extensive physical demands. We promote the acceptance of students with physical limitations 

or disabilities if these students and their physicians (and parents/guardians if a dependent) believe that they can fulfill t he 

training demands. This institution allows for temporary disability (ie. Migraine) accommodations for 5 schedule days then a 

physician letter needs to be presented to the office for further recommendation. 
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PARKING POLICY:  

Students are required to park in the back lot perpendicular to Knox St. This lot is situated at the back of building L, then 

student must walk to G100 to clock-in. There is no student stopping/parking/driving once clocked-in and no one allowed in 

the lot parallel to S. Vermont. 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSING REQUIREMENTS POLICY: updated as of 10/7/2021 

Pre-application for Examination is no longer accepted by the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. A 

massage therapy student will receive a transcript and this institution will send it directly to the council (CAMTC). 

An appointment for exiting the program must be made by a student not sooner than 48 business clock hours after 

last day of attendance to receive proof of training (P.O.T).  Student may apply to the board for licensing 

examination after the program completion and send a signed and sealed proof of training to the board. As of 

1/2/2022, the board will only test the written part of the examination; practical examination is no longer needed.  

 

SCHEDULE OF TUITION CHARGES & FEES  

The charges for a period of attendance and the total charges are the same. 

PROGRAMS Schedule of Tuition Charges & Fees 

Course Name Hour Tuition 
STRF 
Fee 

Cengage 
Code 

+Book(s) Chromebook 
Supplies 

Kit 
Taxes 

(Non-Ref) 

App. 
Fee 

(Non-
Ref) 

Total 
Charges 

#Wks. 
(Approx) 

Skin Care 
Online-(50%DE) 600 $10,800 $35.00 $395.00 $399.95 $1,925.00 $272.00 $100 $13,926.95 18-30 

Massage 
Therapy 

(I.20 Visa M.1) 500 $7,500 $22.50 $500.00 $399.95 $201.00 $110.10 $100 $8,833.55 21 

Cosmetology 
Online-(50%DE) 1000 $16,000 $47.50 $395.00 $399.95 $1,553.00 $234.80 $100 $18,730.25 30-50 

Barbering 
Online-(50%DE) 1000 $15,000 $45.00 $395.00 $399.95 $1,523.00 $231.80 $100 $17,694.75 30-50 

Nail Care 
Online-(50%DE) 600 $9,000 $27.50 $395.00 $399.95 $875.00 $167.00 $100 $10,964.45 30 

Barber cross-
over course for 
Cosmetologist 200 $2,200 $10.00 $395.00 $399.95 $1,175.13 $197.01 $100 $4,477.09 10 

Cosmetology 
cross-over 
course for 

Barber 300 $3,600 $15.00 $395.00 399.95 $1,175.13 $197.01 $100 $5,882.09 15 

Massage 
Therapy Course 720 $10,800 $30.00 $500.00 $399.95 $218.00 $111.80 $100 $12,159.75 36 

*Prices as of 09/22/2022 
*The option to “Opt. Out” from purchasing a Chromebook is 
available ($439.95 includes taxes) 

 
*New 1000 hours programs prices exclude transfers for current 
students.           
*Sales Tax - California Sales tax of 10% 

                  
 
 
 
 

 

*STRF Fee - $2.50 (per $1,000 of institutional charges, 
rounded to the nearest thousand dollars) 
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CHROMEBOOK/KIT/CODE/BOOK(S): 
An instructor’s favorite list of low-cost items (equal or less than $40 out-of-pocket expense) may be requested per 
instructor’s discretion.  Students are expected to maintain the kit by adding, replacing damaged, lost or broken articles. The 
college is not responsible for a student's equipment and personal belongings, either damaged, lost or stolen. Victory Career 
College reserves the right to change the Code/books/kits/tuition/Chromebook and/or fees without notice. Any change will 
not affect enrolled students. It is mandatory to bring electronics/books/kit in for each class.  

DISTANCE EDUCATION 

The quality of education provided via Distance Education within our programs is measured through a variety of methods to 
ensure the content is effectively delivered to our students in a manner that is congruent with the mission of this institution 
and this institution’s educational objectives through:  

a) Assessments of student competence upon completion of Distance Education curriculum. 
b) Student assessments (written exams, quizzes, projects, etc.) during the delivery of Distance Education curriculum; 

Student surveys. 
c) Instructor Self-Assessments; and 
d) Comparative analysis of student academic performance through components of program curriculum delivered via 

Distance Education, as opposed to on-campus. 
Victory Career College believes that all students have a right to a safe and healthy college environment. We have an obligation 

to promote mutual respect, tolerance, and acceptance. Please refer to the Cyberbullying policy. 

DISTANCE EDUCATION POLICY  

1. Distance Education will not be utilized as a method for delivery of clinical instruction in which the student is to 
perform practical applications on a live model or client. Distance education cannot be used as a mode of delivery for 
more than 50% of any program. 

2. Participation must be documented within a log of all student activity comprising at a minimum of two forms of 
predictable and scheduled interaction between student and instructor. Once at start of class to explain the 
assignments and one at midpoint for a Q&A. 

3. Upon completion of all curriculum requirements the students must pass a comprehensive academic and practical 
final exam to include any applicable competencies required by the California State of Barbering and Cosmetology, 
prior to graduation from the program. Both tests must be passed at 75%.  

4. Each clock hour of instruction must be supervised by qualified institutional personnel and that each student must be 
engaged in at least 50 minutes for each hour that is recorded as a clock hour attended by the student. Such hours 
awarded must be based on data or the instructor’s own knowledge. 

5. All transcripts or other documents official or unofficial listing academic attainment received must identify the 
distance education component. 

6. Prior to enrollment, students are provided with a disclaimer that academic achievement earned via distance 
education may not be accepted for reciprocity or eligible for licensure in other states. A signed and dated copy of 
this disclosure must be found in the student file. 

7. This institution maintains a progress report with records of the dates on which theory and practical assignments were 
received and grades were given to each student. 

8. This institution ensures that the educational program offered through distance education is appropriate for delivery 

through distance education methods. A comparative analysis between on campus education and via distance 

education is kept up and reviewed annually. Student Surveys: Students are surveyed for their online and on campus 

evaluation experiences at least once during their course. Instructors are given self-assessment to complete annually. 

9. Student’s assessments: Victory Career College assesses each student, prior to admission, to determine whether each 

student has the skills and competencies to succeed in a distance education environment. This institution provides 

students with a self-assessment and a disclaimer regarding distance education and its requirements.  

10. Victory Career College ensures that the materials and programs are current, well organized, designed by trained faculty 
competent in distance education techniques and delivered using readily available, reliable technology. This institution 
uses the learning management system from Cengage Milady MindTap/CIMA portal online to log in activity in the 
courses which validate measurable participation. Students engage asynchronously AKA electronic synchronization 
through daily work and posts of assignments, and synchronously via live video with teacher and student-to-student.  
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11. Victory Career College maintains clear standards for satisfactory academic progress (SAP).  
12. The institution evaluates the student qualitative academic performance for each previous month completed online 

within the program at the institution (in person and on campus) by a qualified instructor. There is a 15% penalty on 

late testing/assignments. 

13. Victory Career College employs a sufficient number of faculty to assure that (A) the institution's response to, or 
evaluation of, each student lesson is returned to the student within 10 days after the lesson is received by the 
institution; and (B) the institution's response to, or evaluation of, each student project’s grade is returned to the 
student within 10 days.  

14. This institution offers distance education classes in real time. First access to Cengage Milady MindTap/CIMA and any 
materials are given to students within two weeks of start. First day consists of attending the class’s welcome and 
ground rules orientation from instructor and classmates. Chapters 1 for each program is given online to read and 
chapter 1 activities as a first day academic engagement.  

15. Online Participation Rule: A “log in” in distance education tools is not enough and institution monitors student’s 
measurable engagement throughout the scheduled class hours. Students must clock-in and out online on Canvas and 
Zoom then follow prompts of the daily assignment posted. Furthermore, a student must check-in with the instructor 
throughout the class in real time this is called academic engagement; Includes but is not limited to: attending a 
synchronous class, lecture, activity, submitting an academic assignment, taking a test or practical examination, group 
activity. A student is required to complete a set number of course activities on MINDTAP/CIMA, and post on Canvas 
Portfolio practical. To get full credit and clock hour: A student will receive instructor’s daily assignment via Canvas or 
via conference video and must understand what constitutes an “adequate post or assignment” and how to work within 
our Learning Management Systems (Canvas/MINDTAP/CIMA); students who do not understand an assignment must 
contact instructor right away and not wait for end of class. Instructors require timely completion or attempt at 
completion of assignments because class is taught in real time. Late work acceptance is exceptional and only at the 
instructor’s discretion. New students must complete the required orientation with the instructor, complete chapter 1 
activity by the end of the day published as the start date of the class. What is NOT included is: counseling, advisement, 
meals, breaks, logging in without any assignments attempted.  

16. Definition: A clock hour in a distance education is 50 minutes in a 60-minute period of attendance in a synchronous or 
asynchronous class in an online 50% approved program. An asynchronous learning activity involves academic 
engagement in which the student interacts with technology that can monitor and document the amount of time that 
the student participates in an activity. The DE clock hour does not meet the requirements of this definition if it does 
not meet all accrediting and state requirements or if it exceeds an agency or CA State restrictions on the number of 
clock hours in a program that may be offered through distance education. 

17. Students are responsible for keeping and maintaining the security of their login and password information in our 
Learning Management Systems; users are responsible for any use and account activity. Students Identification 
Verification is with a current profile photo and video turned ON during online class. VC College does not charge a fee 
for student identity verification. Student would be notified of any changes before enrollment. 

18. Required Electronics Policy: A student must have his/hers/theirs CHARGED Chromebook, laptop, tablet to each 
class; must be WIFI capable. Victory Career College does provide electronics to take home if purchased.  Students 
must have access to the Internet/WIFI at home. The Milady CENGAGE platform is used for theory class and 
homework. The Canvas access is given during orientation, prior or on the first day of class. First access to CENGAGE 
and any materials are given to students within two weeks of start. Students must tour CENGAGE Webinars before 
enrolling. 

19. Cyberbullying: VC College will not tolerate behavior that infringes on the physical or mental safety of any 
student/faculty/staff. Student shall not intimidate, harass, or bully another person through words or actions. Such 
behavior may include direct or indirect physical contact, verbal assaults, such as teasing or name-calling; and social 
isolation or manipulation. 

20. All other policies are in the institution’s catalog and apply also to students enrolled in distance education.  

  Per National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences-Policy VI.02 Per Board of Postsecondary Private 
Education-Law & Regs #71715 Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94885 and 94887, Education Code. Reference: Sections 
94834 and 94885, Education Code and Us Dept of Education Under 34 CFR.668.22 updated as of July 1, 2021 

REQUIRED ELECTRONICS POLICY: 
Required Electronics Policy: A student must bring his/her CHARGED smart phone, Chromebook, laptop, tablet to each class; 
must be WIFI and camera capable. Victory Career College does provide option to buy electronics to take home.  Student 
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must have access to the Internet/WIFI at home. Milady Cengage platform is used for theory class and homework. Student 
must tour Cengage Webinars before enrolling. First access to CENGAGE and any materials are given to students within two 
weeks of start. 
https://milady.cengage.com/MindTap/CIMA-tutorial/your-orientation-to-MindTap 

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND(STRF): 

 A qualifying institution shall include the following statement on both its enrollment agreement and school  catalog: “The 

State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a 

student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or  was 

enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. 

Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on 

your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency 

program, and prepay all or part of your tuition. STRF is nonrefundable after cancellation date. 

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF, and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a 

California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.” (b) In addition to the statement required under subdivision  

(a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall include the following statement in its school catalog:  

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other 

information that documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for 

Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste225, Sacramento, CA 95834, P.O. Box 980818, West 

Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 www.bppe.ca.gov, toll-free telephone number (888)370-7589, (916)574-8900 or by fax 

(916)263-1897. To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid 

tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:  

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or 

discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a 

chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.  

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120-day period before the closure of the 

institution or location of the institution or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the 

program was discontinued.  

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution 

or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there 

was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.  

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.  

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law, or 

has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.  

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of 

this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the 

institution.  

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for 

services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.  

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or 

event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt 

collector after a period of non-collection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that 

would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) years since the action or event that made 

the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, 

unless the period has been extended by another act of law. However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social 

security number or a taxpayer identification number.” Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education 

Code. Reference: Section 94923, 94924 and 94925, Education Code.   

https://milady.cengage.com/MindTap/CIMA-tutorial/your-orientation-to-MindTap
file:///C:/Users/darto/Dropbox/Audit/BPPE%202022/www.bppe.ca.gov
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METHODS OF PAYMENT: 

Tuition and fees are payable upon completion of the Enrollment Contract.  Cash, checks and credit cards are acceptable for 

payment.  Checks are not accepted for the application fee and neither for the first deposit. Payment plans are available at 

Victory Career College.   Late Fee of $25 is assessed if payment is received after 72 hours (3 days) of due date and Late Fee  

of $25 applies every calendar 30 days that payment is still due. Bad checks will incur a fee of $50. Student may not miss two 

consecutive months of payment and will be terminated at the end of the second month if no financial arrangement has 

been made and agreed upon. 

The entire educational expense needs to be included in planning the student's ability to meet those expenses.  Students are 

responsible for paying the total tuition and fees and for repaying applicable loans plus interest less the amount of the 

refund. 

All Institution fees and charges must be paid in full before graduation.    

Extra Instruction Charges: Students are expected to complete their training within the maximum timeframe allowed as 

specified in the Enrollment Agreement. If a student exceeds the time frame outlined above, an extra instruction charge will 

be assessed for the balance of the hours required for the completion of course. The enrollment contract will reflect the 

hours to complete and rate per week as follows: $300.00 per week for all courses.   

This institution does not allow late final mocks submission of graduation requirements. If instruction time is needed to 

complete final mock examinations after student has reached hourly completion of the course, the enrollment contract will 

reflect the hours to complete graduation requirements and rate per week as follows: $300.00 per week for all courses.   

Approved Field trips/ Guest Speakers/ Wholesalers: Campus activities are encouraged to maintain a current look at the 

industry, promotes skills’ growth and presents new trends to the class. Although not mandatory, the student will not receive 

credit for clock hours missed during Institution event. All types of businesses present entrepreneurship, customer services, 

handling customer issues, how to develop a loyal clientele, and are relevant for all courses’ professional development.   

Academic Transcript and Proof of Training: Victory Career College will prepare one set of Original Official Transcript/ Proof 

of Training (POT) upon completion and/or withdrawal from the course at no charge. POT can be sent directly to State board 

or given to student in a sealed envelope. The Institution will charge $25.00 fee for any additional Official Transcript/Proof of 

Training requests (ie. For work, state exam etc.) Shipping cost may apply. Note: Academic transcripts/Proof of Training will 

not be released until ALL fees and charges are paid in full and exit packet is completed at the office.   

SCHOLARSHIPS: 

Victory Career College does award institutional scholarships redeemable at completion of course, or in the form of a 

voucher redeemable at application which expires and must be presented valid at the enrollment date. The vouchers are for 

Non-Degree/Certificate seeking programs, they have no cash value and are non-refundable. A voucher may be available for 

its alumni and its employees/partners/independent contractors. All institutional vouchers and scholarships are annulled in 

case of non-completion or partial purchase of the course. A financial aid package in conjunction with other third-party 

payments/funding will be awarded up to the Cost of Attendance (COA). We accept other forms of third-party payments. We 

allow for financial student aid to be packaged with other third-party vouchers as long as the documents are an official 

authorized check made payable to Victory Career College; in case of a termination or a cancellation, the pro-rata refund of 

voucher/scholarship is sent to the third party.  

CALENDAR/HOLIDAYS:   

The college is closed on Saturday, Sundays, and the following holidays:  Martin Luther King Jr. Day (Jan.  17th), President’s 

Day (Feb. 21th), Easter (Spring) Break (Apr. 15nd-April 18th), Memorial Day Holiday (May 30th), Juneteenth ( observed June 

20th) Independence Day Observed (July 4th), Labor Day (Sep. 5th ), Veteran’s Day (Nov. 11th), Thanksgiving Break (Nov. 23rd-

24th), Christmas/New Year’s Break (Dec. 23rd  – Dec 31st ) Back to school is January 3rd Holy Days of all religious beliefs are 

respected and allowed and any Holiday day “emergency” with prior notice given to student.   

Constitution Day and Citizenship Day: VC College holds a 2-hour class for the student body on Constitution Day and 

Citizenship Day, this is a combined annual event observed in the United States on September 17. This event commemorated 
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the formation and signing of the Constitution of the United States on September 17, 1787. It also recognizes all who, by 

coming of age or by naturalization, have become US citizens.    

When Constitution Day falls on a weekend or another holiday, VC College will hold the event during the preceding or 

following week. 

STUDENT SERVICES 
CAREER COUNSELING AND PERSONAL ATTENTION: 

Students are counseled individually, as often as necessary, to review progress. Students may request additional counseling 

sessions at any time. Students are given personal attention and assistance at every stage of the training from the first day of 

enrollment to the day of graduation. At predetermined intervals, measuring instruments are utilized to evaluate the rate 

and quality of the student’s work and remedial assignments are made when required. Particular attention is given to 

preparation for the licensing examinations.  Successful High-End Spa and Salon Owners (and stylists) are scheduled regularly 

to give demonstrations and to discuss career goals with the students. This activity supplements the counseling carried out 

by the instructors and supervisors.    

JOB PLACEMENT: 

Job placement assistance is provided to graduates at no additional charge. Upon graduation, a student’s name is recorded, 

and the process of follow-up begins. When a student takes a licensing examination, it is recorded as a pass or fail. Students 

are encouraged to return for placement assistance by reviewing the listings of businesses seeking employees. Students may 

be sent on interviews and assisted with additional placement referrals.  VC College assists students in placements as often 

as needed; however, the Institution does not guarantee placement to any student.   

EXTERNSHIP:  

 The college does not allow externship. 

DRUG ABUSE PREVENTION PROGRAM:  

The following Drug-Free Workplace Policy is to notify all employees and students that pursuant to the Federal Drug-Free 

Workplace Act of 1988 (Public Law 101-690) and California Drug-Free Workplace Act of 1990, Victory Career College 

prohibits the unlawful manufacture, distribution, dispensing, possession, or use of a controlled substance in the workplace, 

on Institution property, or as part of any Institution activity. Victory career College similarly prohibits the unlawful use,  

possession, and distribution of alcohol in the workplace, on Institution property, or as part of any Institution activity, as well 

as any other unlawful conduct involving alcohol.  

Department of Mental Health – (310) 533-6600 21081 Western Ave Torrance CA 90501  

Didi Hirsch Community Center crisis line – (877) 727-4747 

VOTER REGISTRATION:  

We encourage all eligible students to be registered and to vote.  For information about how and where to register please 

contact: www.sos.ca.gov/elections or you can call (800) 345-8683  

VACCINATION POLICY:  

As of 11/4/2021 We require all new students/new employees to be vaccinated. Once a mandate is put in place, we will have 

to follow county, CA State or US Federal guidelines for the current enrollees/employees. City of Los Angeles's Ordinance is 

mandating that all service patrons/clients bring government ID & Covid-19 vaccination proof. For other vaccinations, we do 

not have a policy, but all students must have their required vaccinations up to date and it is the student’s responsibility to 

maintain their vaccination schedule.  

LIBRARY RESOURCES: 
VC College provides a selection of educational materials and 4 desk computers- Students may sign out and borrow two 

items at a time for a period of up to seven days, with extended borrowing periods (renewals) at the discretion of the staff.  

A fee of $100 will be assessed for non-returned/lost items. Hours: 8:00 am – 12:00 pm and 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm (Student ID 

required) 

http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections
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No food or beverages are allowed in this area.  Mobil phones must be on silent mode.  Students who fail to comply with 

these policies will be asked to leave the library. Computers in the library and lecture hall are for academic use only.   

DISCLOSURE OF EDUCATION RECORDS: 

a. Students and parent/guardians of dependent minors are guaranteed the right to access and review the 

student’s educational file. Students must submit a written request to review his/her file to the Institution 

director. The student will be granted supervised access to his/her records within five business days of the 

request.    

b. Any third-party request for information will require written authorization from the student or 

parent/guardian of a dependent minor. VC College requires a release form be completed for each third-

party request of information.  

c. VC College provides access to student records without written consent to the United States Department of 

Education, the State Licensing Agencies (BPPE, CAMTC, BBC), and accreditation agency (NACCAS) or any 

other Institution official. The institution maintains a record of all release forms and requests for information. 

METHODS OF DISCLOSURE: 

• VC College annually distributes to all enrolled students a notice of availability of the information that is 

required to be made available to students under the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act of 1974. 

Required information includes an annual security report and fire safety report. A notice will be distributed 

via email by October 1st each year. A hard copy of the information can be obtained by request at the 

Director’s Office.  

INFORMATION SECURITY PROGRAM:  

In accordance with the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act; section 501, an institution must follow standards for protecting the security 

and confidentiality of consumer non-public personal information. Student files are stored in a locked, fire proof cabinet. 

Student information is kept on file for a six (6) year time period.  

For more information regarding the standard for information security, reference the following resources: 

• FTC regulations: 16 CFR 313.3(n) and 16 CFR 314.1-5 

• Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act: Sections 501 and 505(b)(2) 

• U.S. Code: 15 USC 6801(b), 6805(b)(2) 

 

MISREPRESENTATION:  

Victory Career College has procedures to ensure that it does not mispresent the nature of its educational programs, 

including the programs, graduation rates, placement rates or financials. Refer to the following links for more information:  

• Nature of Education Program34 CFR 668.72 

• Nature of financial charges 34 CFR 668.73 

• Employability of graduates 34 CFR 668.74 

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE: 

It is the policy of this institution to handle grievances in the following manner:    

1. Fill out the grievance form and list all grievances.   

2. Deliver all forms to your instructor.    

3. If you are unable to deliver the form to the instructor, you may deliver or mail it to the Director: 

Ms. Karine Fougoux  Victory Career College 19401 South Vermont Avenue, Suite G100Torrance, CA  90502 

4. All grievances regardless of the nature will be turned over to the Director and reviewed.   

5. The Director will evaluate the grievance and set up an appointment with the person within 5 days from 

receipt of the form.  If the grievance is an emergency, it will be addressed within 24 hours.   

6. A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau for 

Private Postsecondary Education at 1747 N. Market Blvd. Ste225, Sacramento, CA 95834, P.O. Box 980818, 



Page 41 of 57 
 

West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 www.bppe.ca.gov, toll-free telephone number (888)370-7589, (916)574-

8900 or by fax (916)263-1897. All complaints involving a student will be referred to the campus’s Title IX 

Coordinator. The Title IX Coordinator is listed below and has the responsibility of overseeing all Title IX 

complaints and identifying and addressing any patterns or systemic problems that arise during the review of 

such complaints. 

The Grievant/Complainant may use the Title IX Grievance Form, but it is not required, to file a Title IX discrimination 

complaint.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

Victory Career College ensures that its employee(s) designated to serve as Title IX Coordinator(s) have adequate training on 

what constitutes sexual harassment, including sexual violence, and that they understand how Victory Career College 

grievance procedures operate. Because complaints can also be filed with the Institution Owner, these employees also 

receive training on Victory Career College grievance procedure.  

ALL PROGRAMS – TIME CLOCK POLICY  

The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology will only recognize time clock hours of attendance.  As a result, this Institution only 

gives clock hour credit to students who record their attendance by using the time clock in and out at the start and end of 

the class day and lunch period. Hours are calculated rounded up to the nearest whole number when less than 10 minutes 

(break). The vein reader is in suite G100*. Times to access the vein reader are 8 am to 10 pm on business Institution days. 

When emergency arises, a student may ask to leave during a class in session at night, however, that student must be 

escorted.  

Scheduled theory class starts: 8 am, 10 am, 12:30 pm, 1 pm, and 5 pm. Grace period to enter a scheduled class is 15 minutes 

maximum; after the 15 minutes grace period, if allowed student must wait for the next class break to enter class to not 

disturb the session. Multiple lateness is a violation of the attendance policy. 

Park near suite G100 to clock- in is prohibited and considered an Institution rule’s violation. Student may park in the back of 

Suite L103 (perpendicular to Knox Street), then walk to G100 to clock-in. Driving vehicle while being clocked-in is a violation. 

License plate numbers may be collected, and it is student’s financial responsibility to pay a fine.  

There is a mandatory 30-minute lunch break from 12:00pm to 12:30pm. It is automatically deducted. A thirty-minute (30) 

break must be taken when a student attends a six (6) hour class day or more, student must clock out/in.  If attending less 

than a 6-hour class day a meal break (30 minutes) may be taken and a half hour must be deducted from your daily total and 

you must clock in/out on your time card for the break.    

Portfolios on Canvas for Cosmetology/Barbering/Skin & Nail Care programs:  

The daily theory and operations earned are added to the totals in the daily columns and final totals is entered weekly The 

portfolio on canvas must be reviewed by the student and the instructor daily.  Instructors may not sign a student in or out 

without approval from director unless it  

Portfolios reflect the student’s daily record of effort for Barbering, Cosmetology, Skin & Nail Care students.  It is important 

that all operations are recorded properly and accurately.  The portfolio on canvas are the property of Victory Career College 

and cannot be changed by students. Final portfolio will be retained for 6 years by the Institution.  Students are not allowed 

to misrepresent their work due. 

Portfolio point credit:  

The following is a guideline for the instructor to issue credits.   

Title IX 
Coordinator: 
Last Training 
Certificate 
01/13/2022  
David Mokhtarian 
 
edu 

Institution Owner: (for complaints involving employees) 
Karine Fougoux 
karine@victorycareercollege.edu 
 
 
david@victorycareercollege.edu 

file:///C:/Users/darto/Dropbox/Audit/BPPE%202022/www.bppe.ca.gov
mailto:karine@victorycareercollege.edu
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1. Each Theory must be given in the proper category. If that category is complete, the instructor may issue credit in a 

comparable category.   

2. The portion of the portfolio reflecting hours are in the Theory hours earned and any classes the instructor has 

demonstrated.   

3. The portion of the portfolio concerning operations is to be applied effort of the student as s/he performs practical 

operations. 

4. Live models are encouraged to attend the workshop’s floor. 50% off the service price is allotted to Friends and 

Family member’s first visit. Massage program may get 50% of their clinical requirements on friends and family 50% 

off when public is not available. Public clientele comes first. Skin care student who uses own product/ linen and do 

not use machines, may have a free guest and a $5 fee is charged when machines are used. 

6. Three (3) Emergency pass per calendar month for late entry are allowed. We reserve the right to deny entry if a 

student is chronically late or abuses this rule.  

Taking portfolios out of site, copying or falsifying information is not allowed and will be considered a violation. 

Only the Director can make an exception regarding any of those rules mentioned above. 

ONLINE PARTICIPATION POLICY: 

This institution offers distance education classes in real time. First access to CENGAGE and any materials are given to 

students within two weeks of start. First day consists of attending the class’s welcome and ground rules orientation from 

instructor and classmates. Chapters 1 for each program is given online to read and chapter 1 activities as a first day 

academic engagement.  

A “log in” in distance education tools is not enough and institution monitors student’s measurable engagement throughout 

the scheduled class hours. Students must clock-in and out online on Canvas and Zoom then follow prompts of the daily 

assignment posted. Furthermore, a student must check-in with the instructor throughout the class in real time this is called 

academic engagement; Includes but is not limited to: attending a synchronous class, lecture, activity, submitting an 

academic assignment, taking a test or practical examination, group activity. A student is required to complete a set number 

of course activities on MINDTAP/CIMA, and post on Canvas Portfolio practical. To get full credit and clock hour: A student 

will receive instructor’s daily assignment via Canvas or via conference video and must understand what constitutes an 

“adequate post or assignment” and how to work within our Learning Management Systems (CANVAS/MINDTAP/CIMA); 

students who do not understand an assignment must contact instructor right away and not wait for end of class. Instructors 

require timely completion or attempt at completion of assignments because class is taught in real time. Late work 

acceptance is exceptional and only at the instructor’s discretion. New students must complete the required orientation with 

the instructor, complete chapter 1 activity by the end of the day published as the start date of the class. What is NOT 

included is: counseling, advisement, meals, breaks, logging in without any assignments attempted.  

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY (SAP) 

Satisfactory Academic Progress is the qualitative (grade point average) and quantitative (attendance) measure of a student’s 

progress toward completing a program of study. Hours are calculated rounded up to the nearest whole number when less 

than 10 minutes (break). Grades are rounded up or down based on the decimal percentage. Students must meet formal 

standards that measure their satisfactory progress toward graduation as well as pace of course completion within the 

specified time frame.  The policy is consistently applied to all students and complies with the guidelines established by the 

Institution’s accrediting/state agencies and the federal regulations established by the US Dept. of ED. The policy is provided 

to students prior to enrollment 

EVALUATION PERIODS Students are evaluated for Satisfactory Academic Progress as follows:    

Cosmetology Course (and Online Course):                         450, 900 scheduled hours   

Massage Therapy Course:                                             360 scheduled hours   

Skin Care & Nail Care Courses (and Online Courses):       300 scheduled hours   

Massage Therapy (500):                   250 scheduled hours   

Barbering (1000) (and Online Course):                                450, 900 scheduled hours 
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Crossover Courses: 100 scheduled hours or Midpoint if enrolled in more hours than standard 

200 or 300 hours. 

Factors for measuring the student's progress toward satisfactory completion of the program include maintaining the 

following: 

1. Minimum cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 70%. 

2. Minimum cumulative attendance level of 70% of contracted hours. 

3. GPA of 70% is required for graduation as well as attaining satisfactory progress. 

In order to determine the rate of attendance, divide the cumulative number of actual hours completed by the scheduled 

hours to date. 

Transfer Students will be evaluated at the Midpoint of the contracted hours or established evaluation periods, whichever 

comes first.  Evaluations will determine if the student has met the minimum requirements for satisfactory academic 

progress.  The frequency of evaluations ensures that students have ample opportunity to meet both the attendance and 

academic progress requirements of at least one evaluation by midpoint of the course.  Evaluations are based on scheduled 

hours. 

ATTENDANCE PROGRESS EVALUATIONS 

Students are required to attend a minimum of 70% of the possible hours based on applicable attendance schedule to be 

considered maintaining satisfactory attendance progress.  Evaluations are conducted at the end of such evaluation period to 

determine if the student has met the minimum requirements.  The attendance percentage is determined by dividing the 

total hours accrued by the total number of hours scheduled.  At the end of each evaluation period, VC College will 

determine if the student has maintained at least 70% cumulative attendance since the beginning of the course which 

indicates that, given the same attendance rate, the student will graduate within the maximum time frame allowed. Hours 

and grades are calculated rounded up to the nearest whole number. 

Students failing to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress will be placed on Financial Aid 

Warning for the next evaluation period. A student who has lost applicability for Title IV assistance will have the option to 

make other financial arrangements to continue attending Institution. Students will need to pay total balance by graduation. 

Students must complete the educational program within the maximum time frame which is based on attending 143% of the 

scheduled hours. In the case of Leave of Absence (LOA), the maximum time frame will be extended by the number of days in 

the LOA. 

COMPLETION OF COURSE WITHIN DESIGNATED PERIOD OF TIME 

Students whose transfer hours are accepted by the Institution are applied to the total number of hours necessary to 

complete the program and are considered both attempted and completed hours.   

MAXIMUM TIME FRAME: 

Students must complete the educational program within the maximum time frame which is based on attending 143% of the 

scheduled hours. In the case of Leave of Absence (LOA), the maximum time frame will be extended by the number of days in 

the LOA 

NON-CREDIT & REMEDIAL COURSES 

Course incompletes, repetitions, and non-credit remedial courses do not apply to this institution, therefore, have no effect 

upon the Institution’s Satisfactory Academic Progress standards. Victory Career College does not offer any non -credit or 

remedial courses.  

ACADEMIC PROGRESS EVALUATIONS 

The qualitative element used to determine academic progress is a reasonable system of grades as determined by assigned 

academic learning.  Students are assigned academic learning and a minimum number of practical experiences.  Academic 

learning is evaluated after each unit of study.  Practical assignments are evaluated as completed and counted towards 

completion only when rated as satisfactory or better.  If the performance does not meet satisfactory requirements, it is not 

counted, and the performance must be repeated.  At least two (2) practical comprehensive skills evaluations will be 

conducted during study.  Practical skills are evaluated according to text procedures and set forth in practical skills evaluation 

criteria adopted by the Institution.  Students must maintain a written grade average of 70% and pass a FINAL written and 
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practical exam prior to graduation (for cos, skin & nail students).   Numerical grades are considered according to the 

following scale:   

ACADEMIC  GRADING PRACTICAL EVALUATION 

100% - 90% = A = Excellent                4.0 YES =Criteria MET  

  89%- 80%  = B =Above Average      3.0 NO =Criteria NOT MET  

  79% - 70% = C =Average                   2.0 I = Incomplete work pending a grade 

  69% - 00% = Fail=Unsatisfactory     0.0  Below 70% or Below 2.0 =May have Title IV Funding interrupted 

 

DETERMINATION OF PROGRESS STATUS 

Students meeting minimum requirements for academics (C, 2.0 or 70%) and attendance (70%) at an evaluation point are 

making satisfactory academic progress until the next scheduled evaluation.  Students will be provided a copy of their 

completed SAP evaluation form after their SAP counseling.  Students deemed not maintaining Satisfactory Academic 

Progress may have their Title IV Funding interrupted, unless the student is on warning or has prevailed upon appeal 

resulting in a status of probation.  Evaluation period consists of the next ten consecutive scheduled days, from the date of 

student signature, must have zero absences and/or 70/100 academics. 

Step 1: WARNING   

Students failing to meet minimum requirements for attendance or academic progress will be placed on Financial Aid 

Warning for the next evaluation period. The student will be counseled regarding actions required to attain satisfactory 

requirements by the next evaluation point. During the Financial Aid Warning period, students are eligible, if applicable, to 

receive financial aid funds. If at the end of the Financial Aid Warning period, the student has still not met both the 

attendance and academic progress requirements, he/she will be determined as not making satisfactory progress and will be 

ineligible for Title IV assistance. 

Step 2: APPEAL PROCEDURES: Students must initiate the Appeal Process.    

If a student is determined as not making satisfactory progress or is terminated for not making satisfactory progress, the 

student may appeal the negative determination. 

The student must submit a written appeal (see Financial Aid Office for official Appeal Policy Form) to the Institution 

administration within five (5) business days of not making satisfactory progress or termination. The student must include 

any supporting documentation of reasons why the determination should be reversed. If the student fails to appeal this 

decision, the decision will stand. If a student is terminated for gross misconduct, which includes but is not limited to 

reporting to Institution under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs, cheating, stealing, insubordination, and threats 

and/or bullying, such termination is final and may not be appealed. 

An appeal hearing will take place within fifteen (15) business days of receipt of the written appeal. This hearing will be 

attended by the student, parent/guardian (if the student is dependent minor), the student's instructor, and the Director of 

Education. A decision on the student's appeal will be within three (3) business days by the Director of Education and will be 

communicated to the student in writing. This decision will be final. Should a student prevail on his/her appeal and be 

determined as making satisfactory progress, the student will be automatically re-entered in the course, and financial aid 

funds will be reinstated to eligible students. 

Step 3: PROBATION   

Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance and/or academic progress after the warning period may 

be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory progress during the probationary period, if the student 

appeals the decision, and prevails upon appeal.  Additionally, only students who can meet the Satisfactory Progress Policy 

standards by the end of the evaluation period may be placed on probation. The student will be advised in writing on the 

actions required to attain satisfactory academic progress by the next evaluation.  If at the end of the probationary period, 
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the student has still not met both the attendance and academic requirements, s/he will be determined as NOT making 

satisfactory academic progress and, if applicable, student will not be deemed eligible to receive Title IV funds.   

Financial Aid Students:  

Students who fail to meet minimum requirements for attendance and/or academic progress after the warning period may 

be placed on probation and considered to be making satisfactory progress during the probationary period, if the student 

appeals the decision, and prevails upon appeal. The student is placed on Financial Aid Probation for one evaluation period. I f 

at the end of the Financial Aid Probation the student has not met both academic and attendance requirements for two 

consecutive periods, the student will be determined as not making satisfactory progress and will be terminated. 

RE-ESTABLISHMENT OF SATISFACTORY PROGRESS: 

Students may re-establish satisfactory progress and Title IV aid, if applicable, by meeting minimum attendance and 

academic requirements by the end of the probationary period.     

TRANSFER HOURS:  

Transfer hours from another institution that are accepted towards current educational program will not impact current SAP 

as hours are counted as both attempted and completed.   Satisfactory evaluations periods are based on actual contracted 

hours at the institution. 

INTERRUPTIONS, COURSE INCOMPLETES, WITHDRAWALS: 

Course incompletes, repetitions and non-credit remedial courses have no effect upon the student’s satisfactory academic 

progress.  If enrollment is temporarily interrupted for a Leave of Absence, the student will return to Institution in the same 

progress status prior to the leave of absence.  Hours elapsed during a leave of absence will extend the student’s contract 

period and maximum timeframe by the same number of days taken in the leave of absence and will not be included in the 

student's cumulative attendance percentage calculation.  A student who withdraws prior to completion of the course and 

requests to re-enroll will return in the same satisfactory academic progress status as at the time of withdrawal.  Student re-

entering after a period of withdrawal in the same progress status as when they left. 

Students re-entering after 180 days will be charged at the current tuition rates for newly entering students. Students 

returning within 180 days will keep the initially contracted rate. 

MAXIMUM TIME FRAME ALLOTTED FOR COURSE COMPLETION  

       Normal Time Allotted  MAXIMUM TIME ALLOTTED   

COURSES (Campus and Online 50% DE)  WEEKS 

SCHEDULED 

HOURS WEEKS 

SCHEDULED 

HOURS 

Cosmetology (F/T 34 hours/week   -1000 Hours 30 weeks 1000 42.06 weeks 1430 

Cosmetology (P/T 20 hours/week) – 1000 Hours 50 weeks 1000 71.5 weeks 1430 

Barbering (F/T 34 hours/week)- 1000 Hours 30 weeks 1000 42.06 weeks 1430 

Barbering (P/T 20 hours/week)- 1000 Hours 50 weeks 1000 71.5 weeks 1430 

Skin/Nail Care (F/T 34 hours/week) – 600 Hours 18 weeks 600 25.74 weeks 858 

Skin/Nail Care (P/T 20 hours/week) – 600 Hours  25 weeks 600 35.75 weeks 858 

Massage Therapy Course (F/T 24 hours/week) – 720 

Hours  30 weeks 720 42.9 weeks 1030 

Massage Therapy Course (P/T 20 hours/week) –720 

Hours   36 weeks 720 51.5 weeks 1030 

Massage Therapy (F/T 24 hours/week) – 500 Hours  21 weeks 500 30 weeks 715 

Massage Therapy (P/T 20 hours/week) – 500 Hours    25 weeks 500 35.75 weeks 715 
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Barber Cross-over Course to Cosmetologist (F/T 34 

hours/week) 300 Hours  7.5 weeks 300 10.73 weeks 429 

Barber Crossover Course to Cosmetologist (P/T 

20hrs/week) 300 Hours  15 weeks 300 21.5 weeks 429 

Cosmetologist Crossover Course to Barber (F/T 

34hrs/week) —200 Hours  5 weeks 200 7.15 weeks 286 

Cosmetologist Crossover Course to Barber (P/T 20 

hours/week) – 200 Hours 10 weeks 200 14.3 weeks 286 

INSTITUTION RULES & REGULATIONS  

ATTENDANCE 

1. If a student is absent 14 consecutive days (including weekends) they must be dropped on day 14.  

2. There is a mandatory 30-minute lunch break from 12:00pm to 12:30pm or 60-minute for online 12 pm to 1 pm 

3. A thirty-minute (30) lunch break must be taken when a student attends a six (6) hour class day or more. If attending 

less than a 6-hour class day a lunch break (30 minutes) may be taken and a half hour must be deducted from your 

daily total and you must clock in/out on your time card for the lunch break.    

4. Students are required to be in class for roll call promptly; on campus/online must be in clean, prescribed uniforms.   

5. Students who anticipate being absent must notify the instructor in advance.   

6. Any time a student leaves the campus site or online during the class, he/she must clock-out and tell instructor. 

7. A student may be required to produce medical documentation of illness.   

8. Tests / Make-Up: An examination will be given after completion of each chapter or term of the Theory studies. A 

student who misses or fails an examination will be given an opportunity to make up the examination. The make-up 

examination will be offered following the next testing or available schedule. Students will be graded on their 

practical achievements and laboratory progress. A student who fails to achieve a passing score on the practical 

portion of the instructions (training) will be given an opportunity to improve his/her score or grade by performing 

additional assigned practical drills. The drills will be assigned by an instructor. There is a 15% grade penalty on make-

up tests/assignments when a student misses test/assessment assigned day. 

9. Extra Instruction Charges:  If a student exceeds the time frame outlined in agreement to Tests/Make-Up, an extra 

instruction charge will be assessed for the balance of the hours required for the completion of course. The 

enrollment contract will reflect the hours to complete and rate per week as follows: $300.00 per week for all 

courses. 

10. Hours and grades are calculated rounded up to the nearest whole number. 

11. The vein reader is in suite G100*. Times to access the vein reader are 8 am to 10 pm on business Institution days. 

When emergency arises, a student may ask to leave during a class in session at night, however, that student must be 

escorted. Online clock-in is done in Canvas and on ZOOM camera on.  

12. Scheduled class starts (online or on campus): 8 am, 10 am, 12:30 pm, 1 pm and 5pm.Grace period to enter a 

scheduled class is 15 minutes maximum; after the 15 minutes grace period, student must wait for the next class 

break to enter class to not disturb the session. Multiple lateness is a violation of the attendance policy. *Parking 

near suite G100 is prohibited and considered an Institution rule’s violation.  Only parking in the back of Suite L103 

(perpendicular to Knox Street) is allowed. License plate numbers may be collected, and it is student’s financial 

responsibility to pay a fine.  

13. Three (3) Emergency passes per calendar month for late entry are allowed if student informed the office. We 

reserve the right to deny it if student is chronically late or abuses this rule.  Student is allowed three late entries 

monthly when requested prior to late entry. 
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14.  When entering online class and Zoom, the 15-minute grace period applies. If later than 15 minutes, students must 

request ahead of time an authorization for late entry with the office. Student must enter on time and as instructed 

during the class period. If late, student must check in with instructor before starting assignments.  

UNIFORMS & SANITATION & DRAPING 

• Students must be in Institution uniform when attending classes and is mandatory during all practical services: All 

programs must wear black color top and black color bottom (no cutout/peekaboo allowed). Student must wear a 

student ID every day. Student may wear additional black protection (ie. Apron). Student’s shoes must be closed toe 

shoes. No heels nor “flip-flop” allowed. Large jewelry and facial jewelry (ie. Oversized hoops, long chains, facial 

piercing, nose/lips rings, etc.)  are not allowed. 

• Massage programs: Draping techniques must be understood and well-practiced before starting first clinic hour. 

• Rigid adherence to the rules of sanitation and disinfection and personal hygiene is required always.   

• Students must keep their workstations, in class or on the floor, clean and sanitary always.   

• All kits must be in a sanitized condition at the end of each day.    

• All sheets, gown, and towels must be washed regularly by student onsite: No operations credit.   

• Smoking is NOT allowed inside NOR outside around campus. Smoking is only allowed on farthest parking area and 

cigarettes discarded in ashtrays not ground. Smoking or using of any drugs in cars parked on our parking lots is 

strictly prohibited.  

CLINIC FLOOR 

• All students serving the (Covid-19 vaccinated) public must be courteous and pleasant. If difficulty arises, please call 

an instructor.  

•            Patrons must be vaccinated. Copy the proof of vaccination and write “verified” on clientele’s service cards. As of 

11.4.2021 Government photo ID plus a Vaccination proof is required for service. 

• Students must take all appointments assigned to them and give waivers to each person seating as a demo or client. 

Failure to take a client or ask client to sign waivers is grounds for suspension.  

• No students may leave a client while performing a service, except in an emergency and is excused by an instructor.   

• Students are not allowed to give services or materials other than what is on the service ticket.     

• Students will pay in advance for supplies for personal services such as permanents, tints, polish, bleach, etc.   

• Students are responsible for the return VC College materials and/or equipment loaned to them.    

• Students must not borrow equipment from each other.  

• Student must use their starter kit during class or when working on each other and may be required to purchase 

additional to finish the course.   

• ALL programs: student’s kit (implements/devices/sheets/gowns) are used on public services and during class time. 

Towels/Products used during services (ie. Tints, polish, acetone, creams, towels) come from the Institution’s 

inventory.  

• Student must keep inventory of what they borrow for services and return sanitized when necessary.  

• Each student is solely responsible for his/her personal belongings and materials including in the parking lot. 

• All work must be checked by an instructor or credit will not be given.    

• Student’s grooming: Student must be clocked out unless requested as a model (Teacher must sign  student out for 

grooming and check-in with the other program teacher).  

• Cost of services: Services between students are 50% the menu price. (Exception is $5 fee for skin care student when 

students use their own products/linen and do not use school’s machines); Friends & Family is 50% off is limited to 

once per guest. No repeat of the same person at 50% off please. Massage therapy students may not do more than 

10 clients using the 50% discount.  

ADDITIONAL RULES 
• Unauthorized visitors are not permitted in any classroom or any student lounge/kitchen/parking area.  
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• Soliciting students is not allowed without approval by director in any public area near or on campus (student may be 

found in Institution’s rule violation if they engage in any way with unapproved sellers and may risk termination). 

• VC College business phones may NOT be used for personal calls.   

• NO cell phone use during class time; includes talking, texting (exception authorized by faculty). 

• The college will not tolerate the use of alcohol or drugs or discrimination at any time.    

• NO students will be admitted to class who is apparently under the influence of alcohol or drugs (incl. legal drugs).  

• Students must comply with all instructions and directions.  Insubordination will not be tolerated.   

• Profanity, vulgar and other disrespectful language, spoken or written are unacceptable.   

• Students must comply with all local (city) and state laws and regulations or may risk termination.  

• Student MAY NOT share with clients their business cards, nor advertise, nor sell nor receive payment for school 

related services outside of school while unlicensed.  

• Notify office immediately of any address or telephone change.    

• Use of Kitchen: Student must clean after use and on all surfaces; Kitchen may be closed at any time during covid-19  

pandemic. 

•  Student must park vehicle then clock-in. Student may not be in a vehicle (even as a passenger) after clocking-in. 

• Allowed VC College’s parking spaces are used at student’s own risks and student is 100 % responsible for cars’, 

driver, and passenger’s losses and/or accidents. Parking is on first come first served basis. Parking is only allowed in 

the back lot, entry on Knox street. Parking is not allowed on the Vermont avenue parking lot.   

These rules are designed to form excellent work habits and to aid in completing your course as quickly as possible.  

Violation of Institution rules may result in suspension or termination. 

THREE STRIKE VIOLATION OF SCHOOL POLICIES: 

1st step. 1st Strike: verbal warning (dismissal depending on case). 

2nd step. 2nd Strike: Incident report write-up for 2nd strike and verbal warning (dismissal depending on case). 

3rd step. 3rd Strike: Incident report write-up up for 3rd strike and sent to the office if open, or home regardless of case. 

Meeting with Director before being allowed back in class. Written notice/warning will inform of disciplinary action following 

the 3rd strike 

 Post-3rd Strike Disciplinary Action. Measure will be taken which may be suspension or termination of contract.  

Student suspended will be allowed back in class with the following:  

1/Student will need to write an apology letter to the institution. 2/resume class and follow institution rules and policies. 3/ 

Be put on academic probation until next progress report 

Along with receiving a strike, students may be sent home for any of the following reasons: 

1. Tardiness without valid reasoning (doctor note- official paper needed) Three (3) Late arrivals per month maximum is 

allowed. Students will be sent home on the 4th lateness. 

2. Not adhering to school dress code policy. 

3. Disrespectful, disruptive, volatile, or hostile behavior that may be considered a threat, sexual harassment, or bullying 

towards faculty, peers, administration, and/or clients. 

4. Refusal to participate in assigned schoolwork (refusal to work on client without validity) 

5. Leaving campus while clocked in or unable to be found (hours will be revoked and voided per instructor’s request) 

Keep in mind that dismissals will affect a student’s positive attendance and if students fail to meet positive attendance, they 

will be placed on academic probation and may risk their Title IV funding. 

INSTITUTIONAL CANCELLATION, WITHDRAWAL AND REFUND POLICY: 
For applicants who cancel enrollment or students who withdraw from enrollment a fair and equitable settlement will apply. 

The following policy will apply to all terminations for any reason, by either party, including student decision, course or 

program cancellation, or Institution closure.   

CREDIT BALANCES: 
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a. Institutional credit balances-Any monies due the applicant or students shall be refunded within 45 days of official 

written cancellation or withdrawal.    

b. Title IV credit balances- Any monies received by the student that exceed the cost of tuition are required to be paid 

out 14 days from the day the Title IV credit balance was created.  

a. Example: Student charges for the payment period are $1500 and the student is receiving $2000 in Pell or Loans. The 

$500 credit balance would be required to be paid out 14 days from the day the Title IV credit balance was created.  

If the student had tuition due of $2000, Paid $500 out-of-pocket and received $2000 in Pell or loans, this would not 

be considered Title IV credit and would be subject to Institutional Refund policy of 45 days. 

Official cancellation or withdrawal shall occur on the earlier of the dates that:     

1. An applicant is not accepted by the institution. The applicant shall be entitled to a refund of all monies paid 
less non-refundable application fee ($100).   

2. “RIGHT TO CANCEL” A student (or in the case of a student under legal age, his/her parent or guardian) gives a 
written Notice of Cancellation electronically or in person through attendance at the first-class session, or the seventh 
calendar day after enrollment, whichever is later. In this case all monies collected by the institution shall be refunded, 
regardless of whether the student has actually started classes less non-refundable application fee ($100).  If the 
student has received federal student financial aids funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from 
federal aid program funds. 

3. “RIGHT TO CANCEL” A student cancels his/her enrollment after seven (7) calendar days of signing the contract 
but prior to starting classes. In these cases, he/she shall be entitled to a refund of all monies paid to the institution less 
the non-refundable application fee in the amount of $100. If the student has received federal student financial aids 
funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not paid from federal aid program funds. 

4. “STUDENT’S RIGHT TO CANCEL” The student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a 
refund of charges paid (minus $100 Application Fee) through attendance at the first-class session, or the seventh day 
after enrollment, whichever is later. 

5. A student on an approved Leave of Absence (LOA) notifies the institution that he/she will not be returning. The 
date of withdrawal shall be the earlier of the date of expiration of the leave of absence or the date the student notifies 
the institution that the student will not be returning. Any refund is calculated from the last date of attendance. 

6. A student is expelled by the institution. (Unofficial withdrawals will be determined by the institution by 
monitoring attendance at least every 14 days.)   

7. In type 2, 3, 4 or 5, official cancellations or withdrawals, the cancellation date will be determined by the 
postmark on the written notification, or the date said notification is delivered to the institution administrator or owner 
in person.    
8. For students who enroll and begin classes but withdraw prior to course completion, the following schedule of 
tuition earned by the institution applies: Student who has completed 60 % OR less of the program will receive a pro 
rata refund. There will be no refund if student has completed more than 60% of the period of attendance of the 
program, the institution then retains 100% of all charges. All refunds are pro rata based on scheduled hours. 
 

Example: Amount of refund to Students after the 100 percent refund cancellation period has passed. For the example purpose, 

assuming a student has completed 300 hours of barbering 1500 hours program. Barbering 1500 Hours Program: Tuition 

(refundable) $10,500 and Code/Books/ Student Kit/Tax (non-refundable) $1,874.79 and Application Fee (non-refundable) 

$100.00 

SCHEDULE OF TOTAL CHARGES FOR BARBERING COURSE FOR A PERIOD OF ATTENDANCE $12,464.79. ESTIMATED SCHEDULE 

OF TOTAL CHARGES OF BARBERING PROGRAM $12,464.79.  

Hourly charges for instruction are derived as follows: Divide tuition $10,500 by 1500 Hours = $7.00 is the hourly charge for 

instruction. The amount of monies owed by the student for tuition:  

Multiply 300 hours of scheduled hours TIMES $7.00 (hourly charge for instruction) = $2,100; Total amount of refund is 

calculated as follows: $12.464.79 (Total Charges) - $100 (non-refundable Application Fee) – $ 1,874.79 (non- refundable 

code/Books/ Kit/Tax) - $2,100 (amount owed by Student for tuition cost for 300 clock hours) = $8,390 is the refund amount 

owed to the student. This refund policy applies to tuition and fees charged in the enrollment agreement. Other 
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miscellaneous charges that the student may have incurred at the institution (EG: extra kit materials, books, products, 

unreturned institution property, etc.) will be calculated separately at the time of withdrawal. All fees are identified in the 

catalog and in the enrollment agreement.  A students account may be sent to collections for non-payment. If a course 

and/or program is canceled subsequent to a student’s enrollment and before instruction in the  course and /or program has 

begun, the institution shall at its option: Provide completion of the course and or program; or provide a full refund of all 

monies paid. If the institution cancels a course and/or program and ceases to offer instruction after students have enrolled 

and instruction has begun, the institution shall at its option: Provide a pro-rata refund for all student transferring to another 

institution based on hours accepted by the receiving institution; or provide completion of the course and /or program; or 

participate in a Teach-Out Agreement; or provide a full refund of all monies paid. If the institution closes permanently and 

ceases to offer instructions after students have enrolled and instruction has begun, the institution must make arrangements 

for students, the institution shall at its option provide a pro-rata refund or participate in a Teach-Out Agreement. If a course 

and/or program is canceled subsequent to a student’s enrollment and before instruction in the course and /or program  has 

begun, the Institution shall at its option: Provide completion of the course and or program; or provide a full refund of all 

monies paid. If the Institution cancels a course and/or program and ceases to offer instruction after students have enrolled 

and instruction has begun, the Institution shall at its option: Provide a pro-rata refund for all student transferring to another 

Institution based on hours accepted by the receiving Institution; or provide completion of the course and /or program; or 

participate in a Teach-Out Agreement; or provide a full refund of all monies paid. If the Institution closes permanently and 

ceases to offer instructions after students have enrolled and instruction has begun, the Institution must make arrangements 

for students, the Institution shall at its option provide a pro-rata refund or participate in a Teach-Out Agreement. 

OFFICIAL WITHDRAWALS 
A Student may cancel this agreement anytime by notifying the Institution in writing. A "NOTICE OF 

CANCELLATION" can be obtained from the Institution. Student may e-mail or mail or deliver a signed and dated NOTICE OF 

CANCELLATION to the Office of the Institution at the following address:  

VICTORY CAREER COLLEGE  19401 S. Vermont Ave Suite G 100 Torrance, CA 90502 

UNOFFICIAL WITHDRAWALS  
Unofficial Withdrawal: Any student absent more than 14 consecutive calendar days will be terminated on the 14th day.  

RETURN OF TITLE IV POLICY 
The Federal Return of Title IV funds formula (“R2T4”) dictates the amount of Federal Title IV aid that must be returned to 

the federal government or the lending institution by the Institution and/or the student.  The R2T4 formula is applicable to 

an eligible student receiving federal aid when that student withdraws or is terminated from the Institution.  

A student’s withdrawal date is used to calculate the percentage of the payment period completed and is always the 

student’s last date of attendance/clocked hours. The date of determination is the earlier of:  

• The date the student notifies the Institution of the student’s withdrawal or the date of the student’s  

  withdrawal, whichever is later. 

• The Institution terminates the student’s enrollment as provided in the Enrollment Agreement. 

• If a student does not return or call from the student’s leave of absence within 72 hours (or three day) of

  the student’s expected return, the student shall be considered terminated.  

• If the student unofficially withdrew, the 14th calendar day of consecutive absence from the Institution.  

 The amount of Title IV funds earned by the student is based upon the length of time the student is scheduled to complete 

in the payment period. The percentage of Title IV aid earned is equal to the percentage of the payment period that was 

completed as of the withdrawal date if this occurs on or before 60% of the payment period has been completed.  After 60% 

of the payment period has been scheduled to be complete, 100% of the Title IV funds are earned.  The percentage that has 

not been earned is calculated by subtracting the percentage of Title IV aid earned from 100%.  
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 The percentage of the payment period completed is calculated by the number of clock hours the student was scheduled to 

complete in the payment period as of the withdrawal date divided by the total number of clock hours in the payment 

period.  

 The amount to be returned is calculated by subtracting the amount of Title IV assistance earned from the amount of Title IV 

aid that was or could have been disbursed as of the withdrawal date.  

 If a student has earned more Title IV funds than have been disbursed, the Institution must offer the amount of earned 

funds as a post-withdrawal disbursement.    

 Post-withdrawal disbursements may be offered from Pell Grant funds first if eligible.  If there are current educational costs 

due the Institution at the time of withdrawal, a Pell Grant post-withdrawal disbursement will be credited to the student’s 

account.  Any Pell Grant funds in excess of current educational costs may be offered to the student if eligible.  Any federal  

loan program funds due in a post-withdrawal disbursement must be offered to the student and the Institution must receive 

the student’s permission before crediting their account.  

 The following Title IV refund distribution is used for all Financial Aid students due a refund:  

 1. Unsubsidized Direct Stafford Loan 2. Subsidized Direct Stafford Loan 3. Federal Direct Parent PLUS Loan 4. Federal Pell 

Grant 5. Federal Supplemental Opportunity Grant 6. Other Title IV assistance  

 Any unearned Title IV funds must be returned to the appropriate program within 45 days of the date of determination.  Any 

unearned funds that have not yet been disbursed to the student must be offered to the student within 30 days of the date 

of determination if not applied directly to the student’s account.  

 The statute requires that a student is responsible for all unearned Title IV program assistance that the Institution is not 

required to return.  This is determined by subtracting the amount returned by the Institution from the total amount of 

unearned Title IV funds to be returned. The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may act against the 

student, including applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan. 

The student may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid at another institution or other government 

financial assistance until the loan is repaid. 

*The entire R2T4 Refund Policy is in the CID (Customer Information Disclosure) 

Real and Reasonable Opportunity Policy and Authorization to use Title IV fund to cover supplies, codes, books and taxes 

form: Student’s authorization to use Title IV funds to pay for Chromebook/kits/code/books and taxes is obtained by the 

school in accordance with 34 CFR 668.165 (b) allowing the institution to use Title IV fund to pay for charges other than 

tuition and fees. The student opt to buy the Chromebook/kits/code/books and taxes from the school; and the student is 

given a Real and Reasonable Opportunity to purchase the Chromebook/kits/code/books and taxes from another source than 

the school and present them to the office within the timely manner of 14 days after receiving their Title IV funds; If the 

student opt-out and choses to purchase outside of school, there is no upfront charges for Chromebook/kits/code/books and 

taxes on the student’s ledger and the student does not in any way incur a financial obligation to the institution ( with 

respect to those charges) by signing an enrollment agreement. Essentially the student must only be signing to acknowledge 

that a specific kit or other type of equipment is required for the program.  

ITEMS RETURN POLICY: 

Student cancels his/her enrollment after (7) seven business days of signing the contract, the student is financially responsible for all 

non-refundable charges incurred at the institution (Chromebook/code/ textbooks/kits/taxes/STRF/fees). Student may be sent to 

collections for non-payment. Items from kit may be placed in “Back Order Status Item” by kit supplier and delivered to student after the 

start of class. “Back Order Status Item” is not refundable; however, the item cost may be rectified after 30 days if not rece ived by the 

student. Supplies may not be available for the first (2) two weeks of class, or later if supplies payment have not been made in full. Th e 

kits are non-refundable, non-returnable due to sanitary considerations if items have been accepted and taken home or class by the  

student. Code, Chromebook & book (s) are no refundable. It is mandatory to bring WIFI capable electronics and supplies in for each class 

on campus. Item Return Policy - During COVID-19 In order to protect our staff and faculty from any additional risk, we will 
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not be accepting the return of any books or supply kits until further notice. The policy is consistent with the CDC’s guidelines 

set to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Once the book(s) or supplies kit is received by a student, it cannot be returned.  

Institutional Cancellation, withdrawal and Refund Policy is on page 57 of the school’s Catalog: Student cancels his/her 

enrollment after (7) seven business days of signing the contract, the student is financially responsible for all non-refundable 

charges incurred at the institution (Cengage Code(s), book(s), Chromebook(s), Supplies kit(s), STRF, and tax fees(s).  

Items Return Policy: The supplies kit(s) are non-refundable, non-returnable due to sanitary considerations if items have 

been accepted and taken home or class by the student.  Books are non-refundable. Items from supplies kit(s) may be placed 

in “Back Order Status” by the kit’s supplier and delivered to student after the start of class. Item(s) “Back Order Status” is 

not refundable; however, the item cost may be rectified after 30 days if not received by the student. Per return policy, a $50 

($20 for workbook) will be allocated to a student who returns a book within 20 days of the withdrawal date. Book(s) or 

Workbook(s) can be returned if it is in new condition (example of new condition: No folded pages, no writing, no highlighted 

marks, and no damages to cover and pages). Chromebooks are inspected and have to meet certain standards in order to 

qualify as a returned item (example of new condition: Brand New condition, no damages to camera, cover and keyboard, no 

signs of use, still in the box/bags and not set up to the student's settings). To qualify to return the Chromebook within 20 

days of the withdrawal date, it must be in the same condition as when it was given, and in the original packaging as 

provided by the manufacturer. All packing materials, manuals, diskettes, CDs, digital media, and other accessories and 

documentation must be included. A Chromebook restocking fee of $50 will be added to your student account ledger. Kits 

and other items assembled after purchase must be unassembled and returned in the manufacturer's original packaging. All 

returns will be inspected, and products found not to meet these standards will be rejected. Students are expected to 

maintain the kit by adding, replacing damaged, lost, or broken articles. The college is not responsible for a student's 

equipment and personal belongings, either damaged, lost or stolen. Victory Career College reserves the right to change the 

Cengage access Code(s), Chromebook(s), book(s), supplies kit(s), tuition, and/or, fee(s) without notice. Any change will not 

affect enrolled students. Students may be sent to collections for non-payment. The Cengage access code will be provided to 

the students after the seven-day cancellation period. Book or Workbook can be returned if in good condition (No folded 

pages, no writing, no highlighting, and no damages to cover and pages). Cengage codes are for student to use for 2 years, 

once given to a student the code is not transferable.  

It is mandatory to bring all charged electronics, book(s), and supplies kit(s) to each class session 

Victory Career College does not have a bookstore. 

ENROLLMENT TIME: 

Defined as the hours of attendance, that portion of the course scheduled to be completed on the student's last day of 

physical attendance in the Institution.  Any monies due the applicant or student shall be refunded promptly (within 45 days) 

after formal cancellation by the student or formal termination by the Institution, which shall occur no more than 15 days 

from the last day of physical attendance, or in the case of a leave of absence, the earlier of the date of expiration of the 

leave of absence or the date the student notifies the institution that they will not be returning.   

Make-up Policy The California Massage Therapy Council requires 500 clock hours of supervised class time. 

LEAVE OF ABSENCE: 

• A Leave of Absence (LOA) is a temporary interruption in a student’s program of study and refers to a specific time 

period of non-attendance. 

• LOA's are granted a minimum of 14 days but may not exceed 180 days in a calendar year. 

• Multiple LOA's may be granted in any 12-month period with a minimum increment of fourteen (14) days. 

• The student is required to follow the Institution’s policy in requesting the LOA. 

• A LOA will not be granted if the Institution does not have a reasonable expectation that the student will return from 

the LOA. 

• Only LOA requests which follow the Institution policy will be approved. 

• Victory Career College may not assess the student any additional institutional charges as a result of the LOA. 
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• The Institution will not assess the student any additional institutional charges, the student’s need may not increase, 

and the student is not eligible for any additional Federal Student Aid. 

• The Institution does not grant a LOA which does not meet the conditions of an approved LOA for Title IV purposes 

(for example, for academic reasons), the Institution considers this a withdrawal for Title IV purposes. 

• LOA has no effect on the "Satisfactory Academic Progress Standard". 

• If student was deemed maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress prior to LOA or withdrawal of training, upon 

his/her return, the student is deemed in good standing and may continue the program of study from the point of 

interruption. 

• Total number of days allowed for a LOA may not exceed 180 days in a 12-month period. 

• Total number of days taken in the LOA must extend the contract period by the same number of days and changes 

must be initialed by all parties or an addendum must be signed and dated by all parties. 

• Students on approved LOA need to be aware that said LOA may affect financial aid.  Therefore, before final 

consideration is given to grant the requested LOA, a Financial Aid Advisor will meet with the student and provide 

information regarding the following: 

❖ loan obligations 

❖ possible revisions in his/her aid package 

❖ deferment options 

❖ notification to lending institutions 

❖ deferments may be canceled. 

❖ grace periods exhausted. 

❖ consequences of not returning to Victory Career College at the expiration of the LOA, etc.   

• For students receiving Title IV funds, all Guidelines below must be adhered to or the student will be considered 

withdrawn. 

• A student who has been granted an LOA will be considered withdrawn if he/she does not return to Institution at the 

end of the LOA. In said case, the student should be informed that the last day of physical attendance is used for the 

purpose of calculating the Return of Title IV funds. 

• Should withdrawal result, a student’s grace period for a Title IV loan program might be exhausted.  

• If a student does not return or call from the student’s leave of absence within 72 hours (or three day) of  the 

student’s expected return, the student shall be considered terminated.  

Guidelines: 

A Leave of Absence (LOA) will be granted if the request meets the following: 

1. Submitted to the Institution in advance unless prevented by *unforeseen circumstances: 

*Victory Career College may grant a LOA to a student who did not provide the request prior to the LOA due 

to unforeseen circumstances, if the institution documents the reason for its decision and collects the 

request from the student at a later date and in this example, the beginning date of the approved LOA would 

be determined by the institution to be the first date the student was unable to attend because of the 

accident. 

2. There must be a reasonable expectation that the student will return from the LOA. 

3. Submitted in writing, signed and dated with reasons for request explained in full. 

4. Victory Career College allows a Leave of Absence for a student that may experience a severe medical, legal 

or personal issue which makes it difficult for her/him to attend class. 

5. Request must be approved by Institution official. 

A student who meets the criteria above and is granted a LOA is not considered to have withdrawn and no refund 

calculation is required at that time.  
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To request full one hundred eighty (180) day Leave of Absence, complete documentation and certain conditions will be 

needed to support said request ... i.e.: jury duty, military reasons including National Guard requirements, circumstances 

meeting criteria covered under FMLA (Family & Medical Leave Act of 1993). 

LOA Forms are found in the office. Student may email their request with document attached to 
rubi@victorycareercollege.edu.During the Covid-19 pandemic emergency, a medical Leave of absence may be used for 
individual students who, with appropriate medical documentation maintained in the students' permanent record, either (1) 
have been tested positive for COVID-19 and/or; (2) under quarantine due to COVID-19 or (3) caring for someone else under 
quarantine due to COVID-19. 

COPYRIGHT LAW POLICY: 

All Victory Career College students, faculty and staff must comply with copyright laws and the provisions of licensing 

agreements that apply to software. Unauthorized distribution of copyrighted material, including unauthorized peer- to-peer 

file sharing, may subject the student, faculty and/or staff member to civil and criminal liabilities. Victory Career College will 

cooperate fully with any investigation by public authorities related to the unauthorized distribution of copyrighted material. 

Students, faculty and/or staff found guilty will be subject to the full extent of fines and penalties imposed, as well as fac ing 

disciplinary action from the Institution. Copyright infringement is the act of exercising, without permission or legal 

authority, one or more of the exclusive rights granted to the copyright owner under section 106 of the Copyright Act (Title 

17 of the United States Code). These rights include the right to reproduce or distribute a copyrighted work. In the file-

sharing context, downloading or uploading substantial parts of a copyrighted work without authority constitutes an 

infringement. 

Penalties for copyright infringement include civil and criminal penalties. In general, anyone found liable for civil copyright 

infringement may be ordered to pay either actual damages or “statutory” damages affixed at not less than $750 and not 

more than $30,000 per work infringed. For “willful” infringement, a court may award up to $150,000 per work infringed. A 

court can, in its discretion, also assess costs and attorneys’ fees. For details, see Title 17, United States Code, Sections 504, 

505. 

Willful copyright infringement can also result in criminal penalties, including imprisonment of up to five years and fines of 

up to $250,000 per offense. For more information, please see the website of the U.S. Copyright Office at 

www.copyright.gov. 

EMPLOYMENT AND LIABILITY DISCLAIMER: 

You are hereby informed that it is a violation of Section 7317 of the California Business and Professions Code and Section 

965 of Title 16 of the California Administrative Code for a student enrolled at Victory Career College to charge a fee or 

receive a commission for performing any service. You are further informed that a student’s enrollment and relationship with 

the institution is limited to a student relationship status. You are also informed that as a student or “Work Study” you are 

not an employee, agent, or representative of the Institution, and the Institution or its representatives have no responsibili ty, 

liability, campus or obligation to you as an employer. This institution does not and cannot promise or guarantee 

employment upon completion of a program of study. 

STUDENT RIGHT-TO-KNOW-ACT: 

Student Right-to-Know disclosures must be made by July 1 of each year. 

The Student Right-to-Know Act requires Institutions to disclose: 

Completion or graduation rates and, if applicable, transfer out rates for a specific cohort of the general student body. This  

cohort is of certificate- or degree-seeking, full-time, first-time undergraduate students (Sec. 485(a) 34 CFR 668.45) These 

rates will track the outcomes for students for whom 150% of the normal time for completion or graduation has elapsed. 

 

mailto:rubi@victorycareercollege.edu
http://www.copyright.gov/
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 Graduation  

Rate 2020 

Licensing 

Rate 2020 

Job 

Placement  

Rate 2020 

 77.97% 86.67% 54.35% 

 

To read more about the Student Right-to-Know-Act, please visit the National Center for Education Statistics website at 

hppt://nces.ed.gov 

FERPA: 

The Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) limits the disclosure of personally identifiable information from 

Institution records and defines students’ rights to review their records and request a change to those records. 

LICENSING REQUIREMENTS FOR EACH PROGRAM 

COSMETOLOGY: 

The board shall admit to examination for a license as a cosmetologist to practice cosmetology any person who has made 

application to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this chapter, and is qualified as follows: 

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age. 

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. 

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480. 

(d) Has done any of the following: 

(1) Completed a 1000 program in cosmetology from a school approved by the board. 

(2) Practiced cosmetology as defined in this chapter outside of this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and 

training of a qualified person who has completed a course in cosmetology from a school the curriculum of which complied 

with requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of 

training for qualification under paragraph (1) of this subdivision. 

(3) Holds a license as a barber in this state and has completed a 300 hours cosmetology crossover course in a school 

approved by the board. 

(4) Completed a barbering course in a school approved by the board and has completed a cosmetology crossover course in a 

school approved by the board. 

(5) Completed the apprenticeship program in cosmetology specified in Article 4 (commencing with Section 7332). 

BARBERING: 

The board shall admit to examination for a license as a barber to practice barbering, any person who has made application 

to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this chapter, and is qualified as follows: 

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age. 

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. 

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480. 

(d) Has done any of the following: 

(1) Completed a 1000 hours program in barbering from a school approved by the board.(2) Completed an apprenticeship 

program in barbering approved by the board as conducted under the provisions of the Shelley-Maloney Apprentice Labor 

Standards Act of 1939, Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 3070) of Division 3 of the Labor Code. 

(3) Practiced barbering as defined in this chapter outside of this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and 

training of a qualified person who has completed a course in barbering from a school the curriculum of which complied with 

requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training 

for qualification under paragraph (1). 
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(4) Holds a license as a cosmetologist in this state and has completed a 200 hours barber crossover course in a school 

approved by the board. 

(5) Completed a cosmetology course in a school approved by the board and has completed a barber crossover course in a 

school approved by the board. 

(6) Completed comparable military training as documented by submission of Verification of Military Experience and Training 

(V-MET) records. 

SKIN CARE: 

The board shall admit to examination for a license as an esthetician to practice skin care, any person who has made 

application to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this chapter, and is qualified as follows: 

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age. 

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. 

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480. 

(d) Has done any of the following: 

(1) Completed a 600 hours program in skin care from a school approved by the board. 

(2) Practiced skin care, as defined in this chapter, outside of this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and 

training of a qualified person who has completed a course in skin care from a school the curriculum of which complied with 

requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training 

for qualification under paragraph (1). 

(3) Completed the apprenticeship program in skin care specified in Article 4 (commencing with Section 7332). 

NAIL CARE: 

The board shall admit to examination for a license as a manicurist to practice nail care, any person who has made 

application to the board in proper form, paid the fee required by this chapter, and is qualified as follows: 

(a) Is not less than 17 years of age. 

(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its equivalent. 

(c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480. 

(d) Has done any of the following: 

(1) Completed a 400 hours program in nail care from a school approved by the board. 

(2) Practiced nail care, as defined in this chapter, outside of this state for a period of time equivalent to the study and 

training of a qualified person who has completed a course in nail care from a school the curriculum of which complied with 

requirements adopted by the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training 

for qualification under paragraph (1). 

(3) Completed the apprenticeship program in nail care specified in Article 4 (commencing with Section 7332). 

MASSAGE THERAPY: 

As of January 2015, to receive a CAMTC voluntary certification: One must complete a 500 clock hours MT program (and one 

must pass a CA State Approved Exam; EXAM in hiatus until 12/31/2025) both must be approved by CAMTC. Massage 

professionals are required to comply with any local massage regulations. However, most massage professionals will find 

that being able to operate with a single massage certification statewide is preferable. CAMTC certificate holders are 

required to prominently display their original certification at their place of work. CAMTC certificate holders are also required 

to have their CAMTC ID card in their possession while they are working and to produce it if requested. CAMTC certificate 

holders are protected from certain regulations that cities and counties may impose on other massage professionals. 

Government Code section 51034 generally identifies regulations that cities and counties may not impose on CAMTC 

certified massage professionals. 

 

W.  INDULGENCE LLC (DBA) VICTORY CAREER COLLEGE 
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ORGANIZATIONAL CHART FOR STAFF 

 
❖ Mrs. Karine Fougoux – Owner/Chief Executive Officer 
❖ Mrs. Dace Sullivan – Chief Financial Officer    
❖ Mr. David Mokhtarian – Chief Financial Aid Director/Security & Title IX Coordinator 
❖ Mr. Dario Torres – Director of Financial Aid & Services 
❖ Mrs. Karine Fougoux –Temp. Registrar & Admission Officer     
❖ Mrs. Rubi Bazan – Compliance & Admissions Officer 
❖ Ms. Erika Rivera-Assistant -Lead instructor 

Rev.7/26/2022 

EDUCATIONAL FACULTY QUALIFICATIONS 

Instructors must have a combination of at least three years of work-related experience and training or education in the occupation/job 

title category for which they are hired to teach. A substitute, licensed professional, is called in when main instructor is absent.  

 

❖ Mr. David Tran (Massage Instructor) 26 Years 

❖ Mrs. Erika Rivera (Cosmetology/Nail/Barbering Instructor) 7 Years 

❖ Mrs. Margarita Vazquez “Ms.Bella” (Cosmetology/Skin Care Instructor) 26 Years 

❖ Mrs. Turquoise Johnson (Manicure Instructor) 10 years 

❖ Mrs. Sumei Krause (Cosmetology Instructor) 21 Years 

❖ Mr. Walter Tyler (Barbering Instructor) 16 years 

❖ Mr. Dana L Cornist (Sub Barbering) 13 Years 

❖ Mrs. Francesca Kingsley (Sub Skin Care Instructor) 31 years 

❖ Mrs. Karine Fougoux (Sub MT Instructor) 26 years in MT and 19 years certified in Applied Kinesiology 

❖ Ms. Bessie Linares (Sub Cosmetology) 21 years 
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