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Massage and Bodywork Education Center is a private institution and is approved to operate by 
the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Approval means that we are in compliance 
with state standards as set forth in the Educational Code (California Private Postsecondary Act 
of 2009).  
Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been answered by the 
institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at P.O. Box 
980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, www.bppe.ca.gov, (916) 431-6959, or by fax (916) 
263-1897. 
As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an 
enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact 
Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 
 
 

Mission + Objectives  

 
Massage and  Bodywork Education Center in Oakdale California, is committed to giving 

our students the education they need to work in the rewarding field of massage 

therapy. Our program teaches the in-depth knowledge and skills required in the highest 

in demand massage and bodywork modalities. We maintain high industry and 

educational standards, therefore preparing students for all state and national licensing 

exams. As a massage school, we aim to ensure that all graduates obtain CAMTC massage 

certification, and leave as confident, knowledgeable, skilled professionals in the 

massage industry.  

 

In order to complete the mission the following objectives have been established: 

➢ Provide a program that is frequently assessed and revised if need be by faculty, 

staff, and members of the business and education communities. 

➢ Provide thorough instruction that supports student academic achievement. 

➢ Inspire students to value lifelong learning by awakening their academic curiosity. 

➢ Provide services and resources that take care of the needs of students, faculty, 

and staff. 

➢ Guide students in developing personal responsibility, initiative, a professional 

mindset, ethics, and skills that will increase their potential for success in their 

careers and in their lives. 

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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➢ Provide graduates who can meet the needs of the massage and bodywork 

profession, and benefit their community now and in the future.  

 

 

Massage & Bodywork Education Center  Course  

 
Massage Therapy – 600 Hours 

This course is set to give students a strong foundation of knowledge and massage 

experience that will prepare them to enter the job market as a Massage Therapist; 

United States Department of Labor’s Standard Occupational Classification code 

#621399. 

 

Grade Requirements in order to graduate:  

➢ Student must have a passing quiz average 

➢ Student must pass all practical exams 

➢ Student must complete lab and clinic hours 

➢ Student must pass the MBLEx mock final exam and lab exam 

 

Massage Therapy 600 hour Course Outline: 

 

➢ History………………………………………………………….4 hours 

o Students will learn the history basic descriptions of multiple massage 

modalities, and equipment used in each. 

➢ Medical Terminology  ·································· 6 HOURS 

o Students will be introduced to medical terms to be used in the anatomy, 

physiology, and kinesiology classes offered at Massage and Bodywork 

Education Center. 

➢ Anatomy + Physiology ································· 60 HOURS 

o Students will learn all human muscular and skeletal anatomy, as well as 

the structures and functions of all the body’s systems. 

➢ Kinesiology + A+P  ········································ 30 HOURS 

o Students will study body systems, as well as movements of the human 

body 

 

➢ Contraindications + Pathology  ···················· 40 HOURS 
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o Educates students on diseases and conditions which massage may not be a 

suitable treatment. 

➢ Healthy + Hygiene + Self-Care  ···················· 20 HOURS 

o Students will obtain the knowledge they need in health and hygiene in 

order to protect both themselves as well as the client. Students will learn 

self-care practices to prevent “burn out”.  

➢ Ethics + Professionalism  ····························· 40 HOURS 

o Students will become aware and knowledgeable in the specific standards 

of professional conduct for a certified or licensed massage therapist. This 

will enable the students to conduct business ethically and within their 

scope of practice. 

➢ Swedish + Aromatherapy  ···························· 182 HOURS 

o Swedish massage is a popular and well-known massage modality. Students 

will learn to work with the body’s soft tissues and muscles in order to 

increase blood flow, lymph drainage, and relaxation. Aromatherapy, body 

wraps, hot stone massage are included in this course. 

➢ Deep Tissue + Shiatsu  ································· 118 HOURS 

o Deep tissue massage focuses on realigning connective tissue as well as 

deeper layers of the muscles. Students will learn to work on clients with 

chronic tension or pain. This course will focus on deeper work on the sub-

layers of the muscles to break down adhesions in muscles, tendons, and 

ligaments.  

➢ Reflexology ·················································· 22  HOURS 

o Reflexology is the application of pressure on specified areas of the hands 

and feet which correspond to the body’s organs and systems.  

➢ Prenatal  ······················································· 24 HOURS 

o Students will gain the skills need to work safely and efficiently on mothers-

to-be.  

➢ Chair  ···························································· 26 HOURS 

o Chair massage is performed in a special massage chair. This style of 

massage is a great advertisement for practitioners and is commonly used 

at public functions, fairs, and events. 
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➢ Business + Marketing  ·································· 22 HOURS 

o Whether students go on to work as an employee, renter, or entrepreneur, 

this course gives them the basic business skills to run a successful massage 

business. 

 

The course will begin with a 30 minute consultation and a 5.5 hour orientation.  

             TOTAL HOURS  ······································· 600 HOURS 

The Massage Therapy course curriculum at Massage and Bodywork 

Education Center includes the following hours: 

 

 
Subject                                     Lecture Hours   Lab hours 

 
Consultation and Orientation                 6 
 
Medical Terminology                               6     - 
 
Anatomy & Physiology      60     - 
 
Kinesiology     30     - 
 
Pathology/Contraindications  40     - 
  
Health, Hygiene, & Self Care  20     - 
 
History, Ethics & Professionalism 44     - 
 
Business     22     - 
     
Swedish     10     172 
 
Deep Tissue     10     34 
 
Reflexology     2     20 
 
Prenatal     2     22 



Revised 01/2022 
 

 
Chair      -     26 
Clinic       -     74 
 
 
 
    

          Total Hours-600 
 
 

 
 

Faci l i t ies + Equipment  

 

Massage and Bodywork Education Center is located in the heart of historic 
downtown Oakdale, California. Our main building is a quaint 1,100 square ft. 
house, which was originally built in 1935. In addition to our two adjoining 
classrooms, we have a student library, which includes reference books on 
massage therapy and other bodywork related resources.  There are clinic rooms 
where students will earn lab and clinic hours. Massage and Bodywork Education 
Center is fully equipped with tables, chairs, massage tables, massage chairs, 
lotions, towels, oils, anatomical models, and a smart television for slides and 
instructional videos. 

 
 

L ibrary  

 
Massage and Bodywork Education Center has all required texts online (student 
resource websites), as well as a library which copies of all required books/texts. These 
books will be available on reserve, and may be used during classroom hours. These 
reference materials include the Books of Discovery text books that are used in the 
program, as well as literature on other bodywork related subjects. All reference books 
and materials in the library are property of Massage and Bodywork Education Center 
and are not to be removed from the premises. For students that have absences and do 
not receive classroom instruction,  text books and study aids can also be accessed in the 
student menu at booksofdiscovery.com.  

 

http://www.booksofdiscovery.com/
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Instructor  
 

Michelle Lynn Scott, CMT - CAMTC #75679 – Owner/Director/Instructor 
Michelle Scott was first certified to work as a massage therapist in 2000. She 
attended school in Stockton, California – Orange, California – Oakdale, California – 
and Hangzhou, China. Michelle has worked in many therapeutic environments 
including; doctor’s offices, therapy centers, resorts, and day spas. With a deep 
understanding and passion for bodywork, she has maintained a thriving private 
practice in Oakdale, California since 2005.  

 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

School  Location  
202 N. 2nd Street 

Oakdale, CA 95361 
(209) 840-2560 
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All classes will be held at this location unless otherwise informed. 

 
Course Schedule  

 
Massage Therapy 600 Hour course 

Day course: 

Days + Hours: Monday – Friday, 8:30AM – 5:30PM (30-minute lunch) 

*Day course takes approximately 15 weeks to complete 

 

Evening Course 

Days + Hours: Monday- Friday, 5:00PM-10:00pm 

 

Note: Schedule subject to change in order to accommodate holidays and the needs of 

the instructors. Detailed hours and changes will be addressed on the first day of class.  

 
 

 

https://www.google.com/maps/place/202+N+2nd+Ave,+Oakdale,+CA+95361/@37.7671166,-120.8520644,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x8090f9ccb535169b:0xe080b497d470f6e2!8m2!3d37.7671166!4d-120.8498757
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Fees  
 

Massage Therapy: 
Tuition  ·············································································································· $8,000 
Registration Fee – non-refundable  ··································································· $100 
Student Bundle – non-refundable (books, materials, insurance, etc.) ············· $400 
STRF fee – non-refundable (assessed upon student registration)  ··················· $4.50 
 
Total Cost  ······························································································· $8,504.50 
 
3.5% additional charge for Visa + MasterCard or payment plan 
All payments and receipts are recorded electronically through Mia Share.  
 

 Massage and Bodywork Education Center does NOT participate in any state or 
federal financial aid programs. If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational 
program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan 
plus interest, less the amount of any refund. If the student has received federal student 
financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the monies not paid from 
federal student financial aid funds.  
 
 
Tuition Payment Options: 
➢ Option 1: Pay in full - $8,404.50 ($100 registration fee and payment plan charges 

are waived with this option) 
Tuition is to be paid in full by the end of the program. 

 
Note:  
➢ A $25 late fee will be charged for non-payment of tuition over 3 days late. A 

director’s approval is required in order to continue attending. 
➢ There is a $25 fee for returned checks. 

.  

 
 
 

Cancel lation and Refund Rights  
 

                       A student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a 

refund of charges paid through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day 

after enrollment, whichever is later. Before the first day of class, a full refund will be 
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granted, minus the $100 registration fee. If class has already begun, and/or the student 

has received their student bundle, the fees for these items are non-refundable. If a 

student cancels the enrollment agreement prior to completing 60% of the course, a 

refund will be granted based on the percentage of class time completed. Students who 

have completed 60% of the course, or more, are not entitled to a refund. If a student 

cancels the enrollment agreement on the first day of class, the student will be entitled 

to a full refund minus the non-refundable charges.  

 

            Enrollment agreements must be cancelled in writing. Please include your name, 

date of birth, date you wish to withdraw, and reason for withdrawal. Mail it or hand it in 

to the school director. The refund will be calculated based on the postmark date, or the 

date the form is handed to the school director. Your refund will be made within 30 days 

of the postmark or hand in date. Any outstanding materials must be returned within a 

week of the postmark or hand in date, or the full cost of new replacement equipment 

will be subtracted from the remaining balance.  

Withdrawals from the course may also take place due to student conduct, and student 

attendance. Only tuition is refundable. 

 

Withdrawal forms must be mailed to: 

Massage and Bodywork Education Center 

202 N. 2nd Avenue  

Oakdale, CA 95361 

 

Tutoring  

 
Individual tutoring services are available at a fee of $35 per hour if student progress is 
below average.  

 
 

Prerequis ites  + Admiss ion Requirements  
 

➢ Must be 18 years of age or older 
➢ Must have a high school diploma or GED 
➢ Must be in good health 
➢ Must be interviewed in person by the director before admission 
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➢ If applicant is from another country, please note that visa services are not 

provided and Massage and Bodywork Education Center cannot guarantee to 

vouch for student status or any related charges. 

 
 

Appl ication Checkl ist  
 

✓ Copy of high school diploma or transcripts 
✓ Application (completely and legibly filled out) 
✓ Appointment for school tour, and interview with the director 
✓ $500 due at signing 

 
 
 

 
Attendance Requirements  

 
Attendance is a mandatory requirement. You are expected to attend class. Students 
must have a 90% attendance rate in order to graduate on expected date. Whether 
missed hours are excused or unexcused, is at the discretion of the director.  All 
unexcused missed hours must be made up by special arrangement with an instructor, 
and must be done promptly so that the student does not fall behind. Students may be 
subject to the $35 per hour tutoring fee during the make-up hours.  
 
*If the student fails to complete all course hours by the scheduled completed date, 
there will be an additional fee of $40 per hour for finishing the course.  
 
Absences - Absences may be excusable when the student notifies the instructor prior to 
the start of class, and has a legitimate excuse (medical emergency, death in the family, 
etc.).  
 
Tardiness – If a student is 15 minutes late that student is tardy. Three tardies will count 
as 1 hour of absence from the course. Student is considered absent for the hour after 30 
minutes or more of the hour has been missed. 
 
Students who have 3 or more consecutive unexcused absence days will be placed on 
academic probation. Academic probation lasts for 1 week, and during that week, if 
there is another unexcused absence, the student may be dropped from the course.  
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Notice:  
Applicants for CAMTC certification shall have attended 600 supervised hours total with 
100 of those hours satisfying CAMTC requirements in the following subject areas: 
Anatomy and Physiology, Contraindications, Health and Hygiene, and Business and 
Ethics. 
 
Attendance Tracking: 
Hours will be recorded daily in accordance to their specified subject category (Anatomy, 
Deep Tissue, Etc.) Absent hours must be made up in the subject categories missed.  

 
 
 
 
 

A b I l I t y-t o-b e n e f I t 
 

Massage & Bodywork Education Center DOES NOT accept Ability-to-Benefit (ATB) 

students. Massage & Bodywork Education Center  DOES NOT offer an Ability-to-Benefit 

exam, or any type of general skills test prior to applying for the Massage Therapy program. 
Prospective students must show proof of high school completion certificate such as a diploma 
or GED documentation in order to register in the program.  

 
 

Leave of Absence  
 

Leave of absences require a request to the director in writing. Requests will be 
considered on an individual basis, and approval is at the discretion of the director. If a 
student takes a leave of absence there is no guarantee that a space will be available for 
that student upon their return, and that student may have to wait until there is room. If 
a student owes money to the school at the time of their leave they must continue 
making their regular payments (per contract) until they are caught up. Failure to make 
payments on schedule will result in late fees and may lead to being dropped from the 
course. Failure to obtain leave of absence approval will result in the accumulation of 
absences, which could ultimately end with the student dropped from the course. 
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Student Conduct  
 

Students may be dismissed for any of the following reasons: 
➢ Disruptive/disrespectful behavior 
➢ Behavior that causes concern for safety 
➢ Excessive absences/tardiness 
➢ Being under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol during class 
➢ Possession of drugs and/or alcohol on school premises 
➢ Any behavior that does not conform to school policies 
➢ Failure to pay fees on schedule 

 
 

 
 

Grading 
 

 
Students will be evaluated and graded by attendance and participation, lab 
quizzes/exams, and practical exams. Students must maintain a passing attendance and  
quiz average at all time in each subject category. Each subject must be passed 
independent of one another. There will be one practical midterm (a practical exam 
consists of the student performing a massage that they will be graded on), one practical 
final, and one cumulative comprehensive final. Each of these tests must be passed with 
a 70% or higher.  
 
Students of MBEC must participate in clinic hours. During clinical hours, students will 
perform massage on members of the public, either at school or off school premises, but 
always under the supervision of an instructor.  
 
A student will be put on academic probation if their cumulative grade is below passing 
for 3 consecutive weeks. The student must receive a week of passing grades in order to 
be removed from academic probation. Failure to meet this objective may result in the 
student being dropped from the course. 

 
 

Record Retention  
 



Revised 01/2022 
 

Student records will be maintained by Massage and Bodywork Education Center 

indefinitely. Massage and Bodywork Education Center uses Canvas online and private 

files through RGM for each student to document student records.  The school will also 
maintain a second set of academic and financial records on site. Students are strongly 
advised to keep copies of their transcripts and diploma. Transcripts and diplomas will 
not be issued to the student until all outstanding balances are cleared. 

 
 

 
Re-Enrol lment after  Dismissal  

 
Students who wish to re-enroll after being dismissed may do so only at the discretion of 
the director, and all matters and conditions that caused the initial dismissal must 
already be resolved and rectified.  

 
 

Engl ish-As-A-Second-Language  
 

Massage and Bodywork Education Center does not offer English-as-a-second-
language instruction. Instructors only speak English. Students must be able to 
understand and speak English at a conversational level. Students may not enroll in the 
program if they do not speak English at the level the program is taught. This will be 
assessed by the director in the initial face-to-face tour and interview.  All lectures, texts, 
and tests will be in English.  

 
 

 
 

Job Placement  
 

Students will be provided with information on how to find jobs on their own, but 

Massage and Bodywork Education Center does not provide formal job placement 
assistance. This institution will give recommendations upon request to employers for 
any student who has demonstrated professionalism and proficiency.   
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Complaints  

 
All complaints should be made to the director via email- 
mscott@massageandbodyedu.com.  Complaints will be investigated in a timely manner. 
A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with 
the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling toll-free                      
telephone #: (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained 
on the bureau’s internet web site www.bppe.ca.gov.  

 
 

Malpractice Insurance 
 

All students are required to carry malpractice insurance. This insurance will be provided 
by the school through the American Massage Therapy Association.  Contact the school 
for any additional questions. 

Acceptance of Pr ior  Education/Experience  
 

Massage and Bodywork Education Center is not required to, but may grant 
academic credit to students who have completed a comparable course at a CAMTC 
approved institution or from an institution with a CAMTC approved curriculum. 
Transfer hours may be acknowledged for equivalent courses documented by official 
transcripts indicating hours of training. The transfer credit is solely at the discretion of 
Massage and Bodywork Education Center. To apply for the acceptance of prior credits, 
the student must pass a “Transfer of credits” exam.   If the documented hours earned 
at another CAMTC approved institution are not accepted by MBEC, the student may 
be required to repeat those specified hours. 

 The student must also provide the following: 

1. An official transcript of the students’ prior completed classes, including start and finish 
dates. 

2. A copy of the catalog or course syllabi from the previous institution.   
3. A minimum grade and attendance of 70% in prior course.  

If the documented hours earned at another CAMTC approved institution are not 
accepted by MBEC, the student may be required to repeat those specified hours. 

mailto:mscott@massageandbodyedu.com
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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Massage and Bodywork Education Center DOES NOT guarantee that transfer hours 
will be accepted by the CAMTC to qualify for the MBLEx.  

 Massage and Bodywork Education Center DOES guarantee that hours earned at our 
institution will be accepted by the CAMTC to qualify for the MBLEx.  

NOTE: Massage & Bodywork Education Center will only accept up to 50% of prior credits 

while enrolling in our program. If the student is granted with credit for prior courses taken, 
they will be required to pay 50% of the cost of the individual classes if they choose not to 

attend. This amount will be determined by subtracting 50% of the Massage Therapy course’s 
hourly rate for the hours of that specific course. For example, if a course is 100 hours at 

$12.50 and hour, the student will be required to pay $625 for that course 
 
 
 

Credit  +  Credentials  Transferabi l i ty  
 

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR 
INSTITUTION The transferability of credits you earn at Massage and Bodywork Education Center 
is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of 
the certificate you earn in massage therapy is also at the complete discretion of the institution 
to which you may seek to transfer. If the credits or certificate that you earn at this institution 
are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat 
some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason you should make certain that 
your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include 
contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after Massage and Bodywork 
Education Center to determine if your credits or certificate will transfer. 

 
 
 

Student Tuit ion Recovery Fund  
 

The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve 
or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a 
qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled 
in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and 
suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the 
state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a 
student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a 
residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.  
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You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the 
STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency 

program. 

It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid 
documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the 
school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private 
Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833, 
(916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.  

 
To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency 
program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and 
suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:  

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the 
institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-
out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved 
by the Bureau.  

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day 
period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were 
enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program was 
discontinued.  

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days 
before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational 
program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a 
significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before 
closure.  

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do 
so.  

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student 
loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by 

the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.  

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an 
arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or 
representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the 

institution.  

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your 
student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the 
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cancellation of the student loan or loans.  
 

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) 
years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery 
from STRF.  

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non-
collection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the 
debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four 
(4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have 
filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless 
the period has been extended by another act of law.  

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a 
taxpayer identification number.” 

 
For further STRF information or instructions contact: 
BPPE (Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education) 

P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 (916) 431-6959 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Financial  Statement of Responsibi l i ty Required by State 
of Cal i fornia  

 
Massage and Bodywork Education Center does not have a pending petition for 
bankruptcy. 

Massage and Bodywork Education Center is not operating as a debtor in possession. 

Massage and Bodywork Education Center has not had a petition in bankruptcy filed 
against it within the preceding 5 years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11 
of the United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. Sec. 1101 at seq.) 

Massage and Bodywork Education Center has never filed a petition, and has never 
had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it.   
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Student Services  
 

Massage and Bodywork Education Center offers one on one tutoring with and 
instructor at $35/hour. Academic counseling will be provided for students with poor 
grades, poor attendance, etc. 

 
  

Housing  
 

Massage and Bodywork Education Center does not provide dormitory or housing 
facilities and has no responsibility to find or assist in finding housing. Housing is available 
for rent near the institution, and may cost between $700 and $2000 per month. 

 
Federal  Accreditation  

 
The course offered at Massage and Bodywork Education Center does not require 
federal accreditation, and the course offered is not accredited by an accrediting agency 
recognized by the United States Department of Education. This will not affect graduates 

of Massage and Bodywork Education Center from becoming properly certified or 
from working legally after graduation.  

 
 

 
Student Rights  

 
Students of Massage and Bodywork Education Center have the right to attend 
classes that maintain an environment where they do not feel harassed, threatened, or 
made to feel uncomfortable by inappropriate communication of a discriminatory, 

violent, or sexual nature. At Massage and Bodywork Education Center the safety and 

overall wellbeing of all students is very important. Any behavior or communication that 

is deemed inappropriate will not be tolerated as Massage and Bodywork Education 
Center strongly enforces a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to such behaviors. 
Students engaging in inappropriate behavior are subject to disciplinary action and may 
be dismissed immediately. All misconduct should be reported to the director via the 
grievance process that is listed in the section below. 
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Grievances 
 

Any grievances should be addressed to the Director of Massage and Bodywork 
Education Center, Michelle Scott. Initial grievance report should be in the form of a 
signed letter for review and records purpose. The director will make all attempts to 
reconcile any issues. In the event that the issue cannot be reconciled, students can 
address grievances to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education; Physical address: 
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833. Mailing Address: PO Box 
980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, Phone: (916) 431-6959, Toll Free: (888) 370-
7589, Fax: (916) 263-1897 

 
 

 
Requirements  for  CAMTC certi fication  

 
 

As stated on the website www.CAMTC.org: 

In order to obtain CAMTC Certification, an applicant must submit a fully completed application 
and meet all of the following requirements: 

• Be 18 years of age or older; 
• Pay the $200 fee; 
• Submit fingerprints to an authorized agency in California for a Live Scan using only the 

CAMTC form at Request for Live Scan Service (the authorized agencies charge you a fee 
for this service) and pass a criminal background check;  

• Have successfully completed, at a CAMTC approved school, curricula in massage and 
related subjects totaling a minimum of 500 hours (or the credit unit equivalent), which 
incorporates appropriate school assessment of student knowledge and skills. Of the 500 
hours, a minimum of 100 hours shall be in anatomy and physiology, contraindications, 
health and hygiene, and business and ethics; and 

• Have not violated any of the provisions of the California Massage Therapy Act or any 
policy, procedure, or regulation of CAMTC. 

• If you feel this information is out of date, please check the CAMTC’s website for 
the most current certification requirements.  

 
 

http://www.camtc.org/
https://www.camtc.org/media/1063/livescanmassagetherapistrequest.pdf
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CAMTC Required Statements  

 
Pursuant to California Business and Professions Code section 4611, it is an unfair 
business practice for a person to do any of the following: 

(1) To hold himself or herself out or to use the title of “certified massage therapist” 
or “certified massage practitioner,” or any other term, such as “licensed”, 
“certified”, “CMT”, or “CMP”, in any manner whatsoever that implies or suggests 
that the person is certified as a massage therapist or massage practitioner, unless 
that person currently holds an active and valid certificate issued by the California 
Massage Therapy Council. 

(2) To falsely state or advertise or put out any sign or card or other device, or to 
falsely represent to the public through any print or electronic media, that he or 
she or any other individual is licensed, certified, or registered by a governmental 
agency as a massage therapist or massage practitioner. 

 
Attendance and/or graduation from a California Massage Therapy Council approved 
school does not guarantee certification by CAMTC. Applicants for certification shall meet 
all requirements as listed in California Business and Professions Code 4600 et. Seq. 
 
A student or any member of the public with questions that have not been satisfactorily 
answered by the school or who would like to file a complaint about this school may 
contact the California Massage Therapy Council at: 
 

 
ONE CAPITOL MALL, SUITE 320 

SACRAMENTO, CA 95814 
WWW.CAMTC.ORG 

PHONE: (916) 669-5336 
FAX: (916) 669-5337 

 
 

 
 

Hygiene + Dress Code  
 

Hygiene – Students must be clean at all times during class - especially when working 
with the public. Nails and cuticles should be clean and trimmed. Hair should be clean 
and worn in a fashion as not to interfere with the massage. Clothing and shoes must be 

http://www.camtc.org/
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clean and presentable at all times. Hygiene and sanitation are important to prevent the 
spread of disease. Hands must be washed with antibacterial soap and warm water 
before and after every massage. If a student is sick that student will not be allowed to 
participate in lab or clinical hours until they are better.  
 

Dress Code – A uniform is not required at Massage and Bodywork Education Center. 
Students are encouraged to dress in a comfortable yet professional manner. Students 
should not wear clothing that is dirty, tattered, see-through, or too revealing. Students 
should not wear midriffs or crop tops, sleepwear, swimwear, short shorts or skirts, or 
clothing that displays inappropriate language or graphics. For client comfort and 
sanitary purposes, students should remove rings, watches, bracelets, and long necklaces 
while performing a massage. Appropriate attire is subject to the discretion of the 
director.  

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Summary of Graduation Requirements  
 

1. Attend all 600 hours of the course. 
2. Have a passing average in all subject areas and all final exams. 
3. Complete and pass lab requirements. 
4. Pay all school fees. 

 
 
Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily 

answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at 

2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 or P.O. Box 980818, West 

Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, www.bppe.ca.gov, (888) 370- 7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897 

 
 
 
 
  


