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Disclaimer Statement 
Review all documents prior to signing  
All students will receive a Catalog prior to enrollment.   

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 
You are also encouraged to review the school performance fact sheet, which must be provided to you prior to 
signing an enrollment agreement.  

ACCORDING TO THE CALIFONIA BOARD OF BARBER AND COSMETOLOGY THE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR BECOMING A BARBER/COSMETOLOGIST IN CALIFORNIA ARE:  

The board shall admit to examination for a license as a barber/cosmetologist to practice barbering/cosmetologist 
any person who had made application to the board in proper form paid the required by this chapter and is 
qualified as follows:  
(a) Is not less than 17 years of age  
(b) Has completed the 10th grade in the public schools of this state or its 

equivalent. (c) Is not subject to denial pursuant to Section 480 (d) Has done 
any of the following:  

(1) Completed a course in barbering/cosmetology from a school approved by the board  
(2) Completed an apprenticeship program in barbering/cosmetology approved by the board as conducted 

under the provisions of the Shelley Maloney Apprentice Labor Standards Act of 1939, Chapter 4 
(commencing with Section 3070) of Division 3 of the Labor Code.  

(3) Practiced barbering/cosmetologist as defined in the chapter outside of this state for a period of time 
equivalent to the study and training of a qualified person who has completed a course in 
barbering/cosmetologist from a school the curriculum of which complied with requirements adopted by 
the board. Each three months of practice shall be deemed the equivalent of 100 hours of training for 
qualifications under paragraph (1).  

(4) Holds a license as a cosmetologist in this state and has completed a barber/cosmetologist crossover course 
in a school approved by the board.  

(5) Completed a cosmetology course in a school approved by the board and has completed a 
barber/cosmetologist crossover course in a school approved by the board.  

(6) Completed comparable military training as documented by submission of Verification of Military 
Experience and Training (V-MET) records.  
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                              STATE OF CALIFORNIA STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND 

Disclosures 
               

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND  
(Effective 4/1/22, STRF fee is $2.50 cents per $1000 of institutional charges).  
The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student 
in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency 
program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to 
do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an 
educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition. You 
are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, 
or are not enrolled in a residency program.  
It is important that you keep copies of your Enrollment Agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other information that 
documents the amount paid to the school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary 
Education, 1747 North Market Boulevard, Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.  
To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to 
have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:  
1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or discontinued, and 
you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved 
by the Bureau.  
2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure of the institution or 
location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program was 
discontinued.  
3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the institution or 
location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a 
significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.  
4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do so.  
5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by law or has failed 
to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.  
6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this 
chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the institution.  
7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an invoice for services 
rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loan or loans.  
To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or event that 
made the student eligible for recovery from STRF.  
A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of noncollecting may, at any time, file a written 
application for recovery from STRF for the debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4) 
years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within 
the original four (4) year period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law.  
However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a taxpayer identification number.  
Note: Authority cited: Sections 94803, 94877 and 94923, Education Code. Reference: Section 94923, 94924 and 94925, Education 
Code. * “Residency Program” means an educational program as defined in section 94837 of the Code at an approved qualifying 
institution of which some portion of the instruction occurs as direct instruction as defined in section 71715(c). [94837. Educational 
Program “Educational program” means a planned sequence composed of a single course or module, or set of related courses or 
modules, that provides education, training, skills, or experience, or a combination of these.] [Section 71715(c) - Direct instruction 
requires the physical presence of one or more students and one or more faculty members at the same location. Direct instruction 
includes instruction presented in a classroom, seminar, workshop, lecture, colloquium, laboratory, tutorial, or other physical learning 
settings consistent with the mission, purposes, and objectives of the institution.]                                                                         
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LICENSING AND AFFILIATION  

  
Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) are licensed 
by the State of California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.  
  
Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) is a private 
institution and is licensed by the Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education. 
  
Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) are approved 
to operate by Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. This approval to operate means that we comply with 
state standards as set forth in California Private Postsecondary Act of 2009 pursuant to CEC 94897.  Our 
approval is valid until July 1st 2026.  
  
Any questions that a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the 
institution may be directed to the Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education at 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 
400, Sacramento, CA 95833 www.bppe.ca.gov  Tel (916) 431-6959  Fax (916)263-1897  
  
This catalog is updated annually. If changes in educational programs, educational services, procedures, or 
policies required to be included in the catalog by statute or regulation are implemented before the issuance of 
the annually updated catalog, those changes shall be reflected at the time they are made in supplements or 
inserts accompanying the catalog.  
   
DISCLAIMER STATEMENT  
  
This catalog has been prepared in accordance with State and Federal requirements: it is a publication of Moler 
Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber/cosmetologist College). It 
contains Statements of Policy and is intended only for information. It is not a contract and is not intended as 
such. It is subject to revision at the discretion of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges.   
  
Review all documents prior to signing  
  
All students will receive a College Catalog prior to enrollment.   

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrollment agreement. 
You are encouraged to review the school performance fact sheet, which must be provided to you prior to 
signing an enrollment agreement.  

  

  

  

   

   

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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PHILOSOPHY OF MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES 
(SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) 

  
MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES’ (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS 
OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) OBJECTIVE is to make a contribution to society by training students to 
become qualified, licensed hair professionals. We accomplish this by requiring students to comply with 
regulations regarding dress code, promptness, citizenship, and responsibility.  This is in addition to their actual 
performance in haircare service training. We feel that preparing students for professionalism in their field 
requires dress code, attendance, and a good attitude towards the public (patrons). We hope that our students will 
in turn become contributors to their communities as well as self-supporting citizens. 
  
 
MISSION OF MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND 
DIVISIONS OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) 
Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges’ (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) mission is 
to graduate self-sustaining students into their new careers in the hair industry and prepare them for personal 
services industry job opportunities. No two students learn the same way and therefore it is necessary to give 
personal and individualized instruction. Our aim is to aid the student in learning responsibility, promptness, 
service, and discipline to help them gain the self-confidence they will need to begin new, successful personal 
services industry careers. 
 
 
EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES 
The primary objective of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler 
Barber College) is to bring the student to entry level employment with a background in all services offered in a 
full-service barber/cosmetologist shop and/or salon.  These include hair cutting and styling, facials, shampooing 
and scalp treatments, hair coloring, hair relaxing and weaving. Related areas also covered are customer 
psychology, product knowledge and shop management. The training is based upon requirements to pass the 
California State Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and Cosmetology’s examination. Moler Barber & 
Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) believes it is also important 
that the curriculum be presented in a professional manner and with diligent study, the student will be prepared 
for employment in the hair industry as a CA state licensed barber/cosmetologist. Our instructors are 
professionals who are licensed by the CA State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology and have extensive 
backgrounds as practitioners and business owners. 
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A.      HISTORY OF & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS 
OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE), A DIVISION OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE  

  

Moler Barber Colleges have been in operation for over a century.   

The college was established by A. B. Moler, who opened the first barber/cosmetologist college in the nation in 
Chicago,  

Illinois, in 1893.  With the success of his barber/cosmetologist college in Chicago, Moler turned his attention 
out west.  The  

National Barber School had been established just before the turn of the century at 218 "J" Street, in Sacramento, 
California.  Mr. Moler purchased the National Barber College in 1910, renaming it Moler Barber College.  He 
then established his system of training barber/cosmetologists here in California.  Moler Barber College of 
Oakland has been continuously operating since 1910.  

Mr. Moler eventually sold the college to the family of Henry H. Haight.  Haight was Governor of California 
from 1867 to 1871.  The Haight family operated the schools until 1932, at which time James A. Murray, Sr. 
purchased them. Murray already owned and operated the Moler Barber College in Oakland, and eventually 
opened Moler Barber Colleges in San Francisco, Fresno and Stockton, as well. The schools were sold to various 
owners.   

In July 2011, Moler Barber College in Oakland was sold to Frank and Christina Quattro, Owners of Quattro 
Barber Colleges Corp.  Then in January 2014, Moler Barber College of San Pablo, CA became a satellite 
location of the main school in Oakland. Moler Barber College of Hayward opened in November 2016 also as a 
satellite of main school in Oakland. In 2018, with much enthusiasm, Moler opened two Cosmetology schools:  
a satellite in Hayward and a Branch in Santa Clara, California. In 2020, we added Esthetics to our programs to 
further support the expanded community need for personal hair, nail, skincare, makeup and facial services. 

Frank and Christina Quattro and the entire Moler Team are proud to be part of legacy of training the best 
California Barber, Cosmetologists and Estheticians in the State.



 

8 | P a g e  
 

B.    ADMISSION REQUIREMENTS  
  
Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) requires the 
completion of high school or its equivalent for enrollment. The State of California requires the completion of 
the tenth (10th) grade in order to qualify to take the Barber/Cosmetologist Licensing Exam. Students may enroll 
in MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF 
MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) if they meet all the following requirements:   

1. High School diploma or Passed GED results  
2. Have completed the required application.  At the time of enrollment an 

applicant must have:   
High School Diploma or Passed GED results  
Down payment if required for course  
Valid Picture I.D.    
Social Security Card   

Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) practice no 
discrimination in any of its policies based on race, religion, creed, national origin, financial status, sex or age.   
  
NOTE: Pursuant to H.R. 2055, Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2012, enacted on December 23, 2011, 
amending Section 484(d) of the Higher Education Act (20 U.S.c. 1091(d), ATB students who first enroll after 
July 1, 2012, will no longer be eligible to receive Financial Aid. To be eligible for Financial Aid students must 
have a High School Diploma, GED, or proof of completion of a State approved home school program. Students 
who have previously taken an ATB test and who have been enrolled on that basis prior to July 1, 2012, remain 
eligible to receive Financial Aid.  

At the request of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber 
College) officials, students may be asked to verify the authenticity of the diploma, GED or official transcript 
prior to enroll. If the diploma cannot be verified, the student may be asked to provide a final high school or 
GED transcript showing the dates of entrance and graduation and the courses completed or in the case of GED, 
the test results. If a transcript is not available, the student will be required to take and pass a GED test prior to 
enrollment.   

 
FOREIGN STUDENTS 
All students must have a United States Social Security Number, or a Tax ID Number issued by the U.S. 
Government. Our school does not provide English Language Services. Our college does not provide Visa 
Services. The level of English language proficiency All foreign students must have a minimum TOEFL score of 
450.  Instruction is taught in English only. The Board of Barbering and Cosmetology will allow an interpreter to 
accompany the student to the exam for the test. Please contact the Board of Barbering and Cosmetology or see 
the school’s Admission team for information on taking an interpreter to the exam.   
 
LANGUAGE REQUIREMENT  
Moler does not offer any English language instruction and all courses are taught in English. All students must 
be proficient in the English language.  Documentation is based on providing high school diploma or GED. 
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C. EDUCATIONAL OBJECTIVES   
The primary objective of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler 
Barber College) is to bring the student to entry level employment with a background in all services given in a 
full service Barber Shop or Salon. These include hair cutting & styling, shaving, facials, shampooing & scalp 
treatments, hair coloring, hair relaxing & weaving. Related areas also covered are customer psychology, 
product knowledge & shop management. The training is based upon requirements to pass the State's 
examination. Moler believes it is also important that the curriculum be presented in a professional manner and 
with diligent study, the student will be prepared for employment in the Barber/Cosmetology Industry as a 
Registered Barber/Cosmetologist. Moler instructors are professionals licensed by the State Board of Barber & 
Cosmetology Examiners. The staff keeps current with seminars, conferences and demonstrations on fashions, 
methods & new services.   
 
D.  CATALOG OF COURSES    
In our courses the definition of Practical application is hands on barbering/cosmetologist and performing 
barbering/cosmetologist services. The student will be supervised as they perform barbering/cosmetologist 
services to customers. In our courses, the definition of theory is classroom instruction that takes place one hour 
per day, four days per week. We teach and review concepts in the textbook and teach procedures needed to pass 
the state board examination.  
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BARBERING**              1500 CLOCK HOURS /  43 WEEKS  
The curriculum includes 1500 hours of theory and practical applications. The course content covers both basic 
and advanced phases of Barbering and Hairstyling. The subjects covered in a sequential order include the 
following: Haircutting, Shaving, Sanitation and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, 
Shop Management, Laws and Regulations, Hair Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and 
Hairstyling. This course is a prerequisite for application to state of California for the license examination that is 
conducted by the State Board of Barber Examiners. This course also prepares the student for entry level 
employment as a Barber. The Full-Time training schedule includes 35 clock hours per week. It takes 
approximately ten (10) months (43) weeks to complete this course. Upon completion of this course you are not 
qualified to perform any barbering services until you pass the California Barber examination administered by 
the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.   
TUITION AND FEES  
Tuition                    $20,342.00 
Application Fee (non-refundable) $    100.00 
Registration (non-refundable)  $    150.00 
STRF Fee (non-refundable)   $      57.50 
Sales Tax          $    163.54  
Books & Tools        $  1,768.00  
TOTAL                   $22,581.04  
BARBERING 
The Basics of Barbering Styling, Advanced Barber-Styling, Cutting &   
Styling, Design Techniques, Barber Science, the Chemicals & Treatments, Syphilis, 
Anatomy, Industry Related Business Principles, Barber Boards, Operating in the 
Field & Practical Application.    
 
 
 
 
** As of April 1, 2022, students who meet the California Student Tuition Recovery Fund criteria are required to pay $2.50 
for every $1000 of institutional charges rounded to the nearest $1000. See the Tuition and Fee Schedule above for STRF 
fees per course. Total tuition charges for the period of attendance and total charges for the entire educational program are 
the same and are an estimate of the charges due at the time of enrollment. 
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BARBERING**              1000 CLOCK HOURS / 29 WEEKS  

The curriculum includes 1000 hours of theory and practical applications. The program content covers both basic 
and advanced phases of Barbering and Hairstyling. The classroom instruction and practical learning experiences 
will include the following, but the order may change based on class availability. The institution reserves the 
right to change the content of the courses due to modifications in content by the field of Barbering. Haircutting, 
Shaving, Sanitation and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, Shop Management, Laws 
and Regulations, Hair Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and Hairstyling. This program is a 
prerequisite for application for the license examination that is conducted by the State Board of Barbering & 
Cosmetology. This program also prepares the student for entry level employment as a Barber. The Full-Time 
training schedule includes 35 clock hours per week. It takes approximately 6 ½ months / (29) weeks to complete 
this program. Upon completion of this program, you are not qualified to perform any barbering services until 
you pass the California Barber examination administered by the California State Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology.   

 
TUITION AND FEES  
Tuition                     $15,000.00 
Application Fee (non-refundable)    $     100.00 
Registration (non-refundable)        $     150.00 
STRF Fee (non-refundable)          $       42.50 
Sales Tax          $     190.65  
Books & Tools        $  1,860.00  
TOTAL                   $17,343.15  
 
 
** As of April 1, 2022, students who meet the California Student Tuition Recovery Fund criteria are required to pay $2.50 
for every $1000 of institutional charges rounded to the nearest $1000. See the Tuition and Fee Schedule above for STRF 
fees per course. Total tuition charges for the period of attendance and total charges for the entire educational program are 
the same and are an estimate of the charges due at the time of enrollment. 
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RE-ENROLLMENT COURSE**        250 CLOCK HOURS FT-6 1/4WEEKS- PT-12WEEKS 
The Curriculum is similar to SC-l for a total of 250 clock hours. The subjects covered include: Haircutting,  
Shaving, Sanitation and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, Shop Management, Laws 
and Regulations, Hair Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and Hairstyling. More emphasis is 
placed on preparation for the barber/cosmetologist license examination including the theory as well as the 
practical portion of the exam. This course is for the student who has previously failed the licensing 
examination. Full time training schedule is 40 clock hours per week. This is a 6 ¼ week course. Part Time 
training schedule is less than full time (40 hours per week) and must be completed within three 3 months/12 
Weeks. This course prepares a student to provide the services as a Barber in the State of California.  
TUITION AND FEES  
Tuition                      $2,308.00  
Application Fee (non-refundable)   $   100.00  
Registration (non-refundable)                 150.00    
STRF Fee (non-refundable)          $      7.50 
Books                        $  245.25 *  
TOTAL                     $2,810.75  
The Basics of Barbering, Styling, Advanced Barber-Styling, Cutting and Styling, Design Techniques, Barber 
Science, Damaged Hair and Skin Problems, the Chemicals and Treatments, Syphilis, Anatomy, industry 
Related Business Principles, Barber Boards, Operating in the Field and Practical Application  
REFRESHER COURSE**    400 CLOCK HOURS 10 WEEKS 

The Curriculum covers a combination of theory and practical for those areas listed under SC-l. This course can 
be completed in 2 1/2 months/10weeks. Prerequisite: The Student Applicant must be qualified to take the 
License Examination. This course is for licensed Apprentices or Barber/cosmetologists from another state or 
country. Curriculum: This course prepares the applicant for the California license examination. The subjects 
covered include: Haircutting, Shaving, Sanitation and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, 
Salesmanship, Shop Management, Laws and Regulations, Hair Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair 
Waving and Hairstyling. Must be completed in 6 months & prepares a licensed apprentice or out-of-State 
Barber/cosmetologist to provide services of a Barber/cosmetologist in State of CA.   

TUITION AND FEES  
Tuition                      $3,692.00   
Application Fee (non-refundable)    $   100.00 
Registration (non-refundable)          $   150.00  
STRF Fee (non-refundable)            $     10.00 
Books                         $   245.25  
TOTAL                 $4,197.25   
The Basics of Barber-Styling, Advanced Barber-Styling, Cutting And Styling, Design Techniques, 
Barber/cosmetologist Science, Damaged Hair And Skin Problems, The Chemicals And Treatments, Syphilis, 
Anatomy, Industry Related Business Principles, Barber Boards, Operating In the Field and Practical 
Application.   
** As of April 1, 2022, students who meet the California Student Tuition Recovery Fund criteria are required to pay $2.50 
for every $1000 of institutional charges rounded to the nearest $1000. See the Tuition and Fee Schedule above for STRF 
fees per course.  Total tuition charges for the period of attendance and total charges for the entire educational program 
are the same and are an estimate of the charges due at time of enrollment. 
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BARBER INSTRUCTOR COURSE**    600 CLOCK HOURS 15-24 WEEKS     

Minimum requirements:    12th grade education  /18 years of age  /California licensed barber/cosmetologist 
 CURRICULUM: Includes: teaching methods and procedures used in barbering colleges; Teaching Theory; and 
Practical phases of barbering, under the supervision of a qualified instructor. The course prepares the student 
for entry level employment as a Barber Instructor.  
The subjects covered include: Introduction to teaching, The Learning Process, The Teaching process, planning 
for teaching, The State Examination Procedure and Practical Application. The course can be completed in 15 
weeks but must be completed in six (6) months.   
TUITION AND FEES  
Tuition                   $5,538.00 (Tools & Books not included)   
Application Fee    $     100.00 (non-refundable) 
Registration           $   150.00 (non-refundable) 
STRF Fee               $    15.00 (non-refundable) 
TOTAL                 $5,803.00  
The Needs Of The Beginning Teacher, The needs of Moler and its operations, The learning process, principles 
of learning, Characteristics Of The Learning Process, The Teaching Process, Educational Objectives, 
Preparation For Training, Course Outlines, Lesson Plans, The Four Step Plan, Methods Of Instruction, Planning 
For Teaching, Procedure For Writing A Lesson Plan, Development Of Instructional Materials, Evaluation Of 
Instruction and Practical Application.   
 
COSMETOLOGY CROSS~OVER COURSE**       305 CLOCK HOURS - 8 WEEKS  
This 305 hour course is designed for the applicant who has completed the California 1600 clock hour 
Cosmetology Course and/or holds a California Cosmetology license. This course includes 36 hours of theory 
instruction and 269 hours of practical training. The subjects covered include: Haircutting, Shaving, Sanitation 
and Hygiene, Massaging, Shampooing, Facials, Salesmanship, Shop Management, Laws and Regulations, Hair 
Coloring, Hair Relaxing, Hairpieces, Hair Waving and Hairstyling. This course can be completed in (8) weeks 
of full time attendance, but must be completed in four (4) months. This course prepares a licensed 
Cosmetologist to provide the services as a Barber/cosmetologist in the State of California. 

TUITION AND FEES  
Tuition   $4,500.00  
Registration  $   150.00 (non-refundable) 
Application Fee$  100.00 (non-refundable) 
STRF Fee  $    12.50(non-refundable) 
Books & SW  $  485.25  
Kit    $1,322.75 (optional) 
TOTAL  $5,247.75 + $1,322.75 optional kit  
 
** As of April 1, 2022, students who meet the California Student Tuition Recovery Fund criteria are required to pay $2.50 
for every $1000 of institutional charges rounded to the nearest $1000. See the Tuition and Fee Schedule above for STRF 
fees per course. Total tuition charges for the period of attendance and total charges for the entire educational program are 
the same and are an estimate of the charges due at the time of enrollment. 
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COSMETOLOGY**             1600 CLOCK HOURS  - 46 WEEKS  
The curriculum includes 1600 hours of theory and practical applications. The course content covers both basic 
and advanced phases of Hair, Skin and Nair Care. The subjects covered in a sequential order include the 
following: Hairstyling, Permanent Waving & Chemical Straightening, Hair Coloring & Bleaching, Hair Cutting 
Health & Safety Laws, Eyebrows and Make-up, Manicuring, Pedicuring, Artificial Nails and Wraps,Shop 
Management, Laws and Regulations,. This course is a prerequisite for application to state of California for the 
license examination that is conducted by the State Board of Barbering & Cosmetology. This course also 
prepares the student for entry level employment as a Cosmetologist. The Full-Time training schedule includes 
35 clock hours per week. It takes approximately (11) months (46) weeks to complete this course. Upon 
completion of this course you are not qualified to perform any hair services until you pass the California 
Cosmetology examination administered by the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.   
TUITION AND FEES    
Tuition  $20,700.00   
Application Fee (non-refundable)  $     100.00  
Registration (non-refundable)  $     150.00   
STRF Fee (non-refundable)  $       57.50   
Sales Tax  $     190.65   
Books, Laptop & Tools  $  1,860.00   
   
Total  $ 23,058.15        
 
 
 
** As of April 1, 2022, students who meet the California Student Tuition Recovery Fund criteria are required to pay $2.50 
for every $1000 of institutional charges rounded to the nearest $1000. See the Tuition and Fee Schedule above for STRF 
fees per course. Total tuition charges for the period of attendance and total charges for the entire educational program are 
the same and are an estimate of the charges due at the time of enrollment. 
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COSMETOLOGY**             1000 CLOCK HOURS  - 29 WEEKS  

The curriculum includes 1600 hours of theory and practical applications. The program content covers both basic 
and advanced phases of Hair, Skin and Nair Care. The classroom instruction and practical learning experiences 
will include the following, but the order may change based on class availability. The institution reserves the 
right to change the content of the courses due to modifications in content by the field of Cosmetology. 
Hairstyling, Permanent Waving & Chemical Straightening, Hair Coloring & Bleaching, Hair Cutting Health & 
Safety Laws, Eyebrows and Make-up, Manicuring, Pedicuring, Artificial Nails and Wraps, Shop Management, 
Laws and Regulations. This program is a prerequisite for application to the State of CA for the license 
examination that is conducted by the State Board of Barbering & Cosmetology. This program also prepares the 
student for entry level employment as a Cosmetologist. The Full-Time training schedule includes 35 clock 
hours per week. It takes approximately 6 ½ months / 29 weeks to complete this program. Upon completion of 
this program, you are not qualified to perform any hair services until you pass the California Cosmetology 
examination administered by the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.   

TUITION AND FEES  
Tuition                  $15,000.00 
Application Fee    $     100.00 (non-refundable) 
Registration          $     150.00  (non-refundable) 
STRF Fee             $       42.50  (non-refundable) 
Sales Tax       $     190.65  
Books & Tools     $  1,860.00  
TOTAL                $17,343.15  
   

 
 
** As of April 1, 2022, students who meet the California Student Tuition Recovery Fund criteria are required to pay $2.50 
for every $1000 of institutional charges rounded to the nearest $1000. See the Tuition and Fee Schedule above for STRF 
fees per course. Total tuition charges for the period of attendance and total charges for the entire educational program are 
the same and are an estimate of the charges due at the time of enrollment. 
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ESTHETICS**             
 

600 CLOCK HOURS  - 18 WEEKS  
 
The curriculum includes 600 hours of theory and practical applications. The course content covers both basic 
and advanced skin care and esthetics principles and services. The subjects covered include the following: 
Manual, Electrical and Chemical Facials including how to prepare for the services with the client, Health and 
Safety, Disinfections and Sanition, Anatomy and Physiology as it pertains to skincare, Eyebrow Beautification 
and Make up as well as time for State Board Prep. This course is a prerequisite for application to state of 
California for the license examination that is conducted by the State Board of Barbering/cosmetologist & 
Cosmetology in Esthetics.  This course also prepares the student for entry level employment as an Esthetician. 
The Full-Time training schedule includes 35 clock hours per week. It takes approximately (4) months to 
complete this course. Upon completion of this course you are not qualified to perform any hair services until 
you pass the California Esthetician examination administered by the California State Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology.   
 
 
  
TUITION AND FEES   
Tuition  $ 9,600.00 
Application Fee (non refundable) $     100.00  
Registration   (non refundable)  $    150.00  
STRF Fee (non refundable  $      27.50    
Sales Tax  $      97.38  
Books, Laptop & Tools  $    950.00  
  
Total  $10,924.88 
  
  
 
 
 ** As of April 1, 2022, students who meet the California Student Tuition Recovery Fund criteria are required to pay $2.50 
for every $1000 of institutional charges rounded to the nearest $1000. See the Tuition and Fee Schedule above for STRF 
fees per course. Total tuition charges for the period of attendance and total charges for the entire educational program are 
the same and are an estimate of the charges due at the time of enrollment. 
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E. PHYSICAL FACILITIES   
  
The Oakland campus occupies approximately 4,000 square feet of space. This is divided into a Theory 
classroom, and Practical Room. The Theory classroom is where the students assemble for the first period class 
session, each week. The Practical room is where the students perform services on clients. The Oakland school 
has 32 barber chairs. There are 4 hand washing sinks, 32 mirrors, barber stations and waiting benches to 
accommodate clients.  
  
The San Pablo campus occupies approximately 6,400 square feet of space.  This is divided into a Practical 
room, Theory Classroom and some administrative offices.  It has 36 stations, 8 hand sinks, (5) shampoo sinks 
and a whiteboard and multimedia instructional equipment for lessons.  
  
The Hayward Barber campus occupies approximately 3,600 square feet of space. This is divided into a Theory 
area with multimedia instructional equipment, and a Practical Area. The Practical area is equipped with 41 
barber/cosmetologist stations, 4 hand sinks, and 3 shampoo stations. 
 
The Hayward Cosmetology campus occupies approximately 9,500 square feet of space. This is divided into 
multiple areas with multimedia instructional equipment, and a Practical Areas. The Practical area is equipped 
with 35 stations, 8 hand sinks, and 8 shampoo stations. 
 
The Santa Clara branch occupies approx. 8,000 sq. feet.  Divided artfully into classroom and practical space 
depending on your program, there are 40 cosmetology/barber stations, 8 hand sinks, and 6 shampoo stations. 
Barber class sessions will be held at these locations:  Oakland, San Pablo, Hayward Barber (satellites) and Santa 
Clara (branch) campuses.  
 
Cosmetology and related programs (e.g. Esthetics) class sessions will be held at these locations:  Santa Clara 
(branch), Hayward Cosmetology and San Pablo satellite campuses.  
  
DISTANCE LEARNING  
  
MOST training is hands on, supervised and done on site at the Moler campuses. There is some distance learning 
while we work through certain external factors like global pandemics.  
  
LIBRARY  
 Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branches and divisions of Moler Barber College) have a 
libraries of trade related books at all locations. These materials are available to students from 9:30 am to 8:30 
pm. The required text and learning resources prescribed by the Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and 
Cosmetology are also available. Books and DVDs are available on a check in/check out basis for one day only.  
Laptop computers & wireless internet service are available to students at all campuses.  
  
 
CLASS SIZE: The maximum number of students in the Theory Classrooms is 50 for all campuses.  Classes 
with less than 25 students will have one (1) instructor and classes with 25 or more students will have two (2) 
instructors.   
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F. RULES AND REGULATIONS   
Professional Conduct is the only level of conduct we expect from our students. A professional does not arrive 
late. A professional treats patrons, instructors and fellow students with courtesy and awareness. A professional 
is constantly taking the time to follow rules of good grooming and proper sanitation.   
  
 The following rules are important. If you disobey them, you may be dismissed from the college. None of the 
rules are arbitrary. They reflect the level of conduct you will be expected to maintain throughout your 
professional career. The best way to begin that career is to act like the professional Barber/cosmetologist/Hair 
Stylist you want to be.   
  
1. DRESS CODE: Male students must wear a shirt, and slacks. Female students must wear a blouse and 

slacks. All students are to wear a clean smock and wear shoes that are comfortable for standing and in good 
repair. In compliance with State regulations, students must wear foot covering, no sandals (Art. 2, Sec. 216 
CBL). Chair cloths must be used by students and must be kept clean.   

  
2. CLOCKING IN AND OUT: Student time clock printout an important document and is used for the 

computation of your hours of training. The student is responsible for the clock-ins and clock-outs.  
  
3. TIME CLOCK PROCEDURES: At all times, the student must punch in on a time clock upon entering 

school, leaving for the lunch period, returning from lunch and at the close of the day. The punching of the 
time clock procedure is necessary to meet State Board requirements for the number of hours the student is 
in college and it is a legal document. Punching in or out incorrectly is looked upon as forgery and will be 
dealt with accordingly.   

  
4. TARDINESS: Students arriving 15 minutes late, in the morning, will not be allowed to punch in until after 

Theory Class is completed. If you arrive at the College two hours late, you will not be allowed to punch in 
for the balance of the day.   

 
5. POLICY RELATING TO ABSENCES: The student is required to attend 85% of the agreed schedule. 

Failure for any reason to maintain the 85% attendance may be cause for dismissal. Absences will be 
excused only with a doctor's written verification, death in the family or approval of a school staff member. 
An unexcused absence must be made up. In all cases, all school work must be completed.   

  
  
6. FULL TIME SCHEDULE: Full time attendance is based on eight (8) hours per day, five (5) days per 

week, for a total of forty (40) hours per week. Eighty five percent attendance is required. Any scheduling 
for less than full time must be approved by the administrative office prior to enrolling.  

   
7. DRUG ABUSE: No student shall be allowed to attend or to remain in school while intoxicated or under the 

influence of any drug. Students while under prescription medication must notify the college for approval to 
attend school. Violation of this rule is cause for disciplinary action by the California State Board of 
Barber/cosmetologist Examiners. (Art. 7, Sec. 6581 BL).   
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8. STEALING: Any student found to be involved in stealing from another student or from the college will be 

dismissed immediately.   
  
9. ANY STUDENT GUILTY OF WILFUL DESTRUCTION OF COLLEGE PROPERTY WILL BE 

DISMISSED IMMEDIATELY!   
  
10. INSTRUCTOR'S DIRECTION: Any student in direct violation of an instructor's direction may be 

suspended from college immediately.   
  
11. REFUSING SERVICE: Any student guilty of refusing a client service may be suspended from college 

immediately.   
  
12. POLICY RELATING TO MAKE-UP WORK:  All required tests must be taken. A test is given after 

each chapter or lesson of theory. If you miss a test, make-up tests will be allowed following the next chapter 
or lesson.   

  
13. GRADING FACTORS: Students will be assigned grades as follows:    
  
                THEORY CLASSES AND CLINIC   
  4.0   A   (90-100) Outstanding   
  3.0   B   (80-89) Good   
  2.0   C   (70-79) Satisfactory   
  1.0   D   (60-69) Below standard but Passing   
  0.0   F   (59 or less) Failure/Incomplete Work   
  0.0      W   Withdrawal   
  
  
  
 14. GRADUATION: Upon successful completion of the course, the graduate receives a Certificate of Award.  
The student who completes the course and the minimum practical services as established by the California 
Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and Cosmetology is qualified to take the licensing examination given by the 
board. Upon successfully passing the examination the graduate can obtain a California Barber/cosmetologist, 
Cosmetology or Esthetician License. With this license the new barber/cosmetologist may be employed in a 
Barber/cosmetologist / Cosmetology or Esthetics Salon or Shop, a Beauty / Skincare Salon or own and operate 
his/her own business. To qualify for graduation the course must be satisfactorily completed in no more than 1½  
times its' scheduled number of weeks or months and the student must attain at least a 2.0 grade point average to 
graduate.   
  
15. CHANGES IN RULES AND REGULATIONS   
The college reserves the right to make any changes in the rules and regulations at any time. All students will be 
notified of changes immediately.  
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G. STUDENT SERVICES and ADVISING   
Academic advice is provided monthly through the use of the Attendance and Progress Reports by the instructor. 
Advice is also available regarding financial or other type problems. If you find yourself feeling a bit 
overwhelmed by it all, give us a chance to help. The administrative staff knows the problems you might face. 
You are a very important person to us---let us prove it to you.   
  
H. PLACEMENT ASSISTANCE   
MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF 
MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) does not guarantee employment upon graduation. However, the college does 
attempt to locate employment for graduates who request assistance. The college is very interested in the kind of 
position students secure after their training is completed. Reasonable efforts will be made to assist a graduate in 
gaining employment. The more flexible a graduate can be regarding placement, the easier it is for the college to 
assist. Because of our service to the Barber/cosmetologist industry over the many years, we do receive 
numerous calls from the field for graduates. The college maintains a Job Listing Book listing current 
employment opportunities as well as a listing of Barber/cosmetologist shops for sale. A Job Listing Book, 
listing current employment opportunities as well as a listing of Barber/cosmetologist/Styling shops for sale will 
be available in the office upon request.   
Moler also offers other miscellaneous student services such as library and computer services (see page 10) and 
close interaction between student and instructor. Our campus has free and convenient parking.  
   
I. COMPENSATION STANDARDS   

The Barber/cosmetologist/Hairstyling industry generally pays compensation based on the performance of each 
employee. Commissions vary but the average is between 55% and 75% of the income from services the 
employee performs at his/her station. California Law requires payment of at least the hourly minimum wage. 
There are opportunities for other income and salary arrangements through various entrepreneurial ventures.   
  
J. HOUSING and PARKING   
Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) does not 
have any dormitory facilities under our control. We assume no responsibility to find or assist a student in 
finding housing. It is the sole responsibility of the student. Apartments are available in the area and a two 
bedroom can be rented in the $1,000.00 range. Rooms can be rented for under $500.00.   City bus service is 
available nearby and public transportation is available for the cities near Oakland.  Public parking is available in 
the area.  
   
K. CALENDAR   
Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) is operated 
on a year round schedule. Start dates are on Monday or Tuesday for all courses offered, unless otherwise 
specified and allowed by an acting school director. The ending dates will vary according to school holidays and 
to meet the course length requirements appearing on pages 5 - 9 of this catalog. Weekly operation is Friday, 
Saturday 8:30 AM to 5:15PM, Monday 4PM to 10PM, Tuesday through Thursday from 8:30 AM to 10 PM. 
The holidays set by the California Board of Barber and Cosmetology Examiners are: New Year's Day -  
January 1, Memorial Day, Independence Day - July 4, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day* and Christmas Day.*  
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Holidays Observed 

We observe the following holidays:  
  
New Year’s Day  
Easter  
Memorial Day  
Independence Day  
Labor Day  
Thanksgiving  
Christmas Day 
New Year’s Eve 
  
L. TUITION AND FEES   
  
SEE PAGES 10-16 FOR TUITION AND FEES FOR ALL MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY 
COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) 
COURSES OFFERED.   
  
   
M. FINANCIAL AID  

This college is approved to accept qualified applicants under various financial aid programs. Financial aid is 
available to those who qualify.  Inquire at the college business office for details.  
If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay 
the full amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund, and that, if the student has received 
federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the monies not paid from federal student 
financial aid program funds.   
 
N. REFUND POLICY  
You have the right to cancel this agreement for educational services as well as any equipment or other goods 
and services. Moler shall refund 100 percent of the amount paid for institutional charges, less a reasonable 
deposit or application fee not to exceed two hundred fifty dollars ($250), if notice of cancellation is made 
through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day after enrollment, whichever is later.   
You may withdraw from Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler 
Barber College) at any time after the cancellation period and receive a pro-rata refund within 45 days of 
withdrawal if you have completed 60% or less of the payment period of attendance, which is based on 
scheduled clock hours up through the last day of attendance.  
Your refund will not include your application and registration fees (not to exceed $250), the STRF fee nor any 
opened/used books/tools/supplies. Any unopened/unused books/tools/supplies must be returned within 7 days of 
withdrawal for a full refund.  
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For the purposes of determining a refund under this section, a student’s official cancellation or withdrawal shall 
occur on the earlier of the dates of any of the following circumstances:  
• The student notifies the school of the student’s withdrawal in writing and that a withdrawal may be effectuated 
by the student's written notice or by the student's conduct, including, but not necessarily limited to, a student's 
lack of attendance.  
• The school terminates the student’s enrollment for failure to maintain satisfactory progress; failure to abide by 
the rules and regulations of the institution; absence in excess of maximum set forth by the institution; and/or 
failure to meet financial obligations to the school.  
• The student has failed to attend class for fourteen (14) calendar days, as determined by monitoring clock hour 
attendance at least every thirty (30) days.  
• Failure to return from a leave of absence. The date of the student’s withdrawal shall be the earlier of the 
scheduled date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the institution that the student 
will not be returning.  
All refunds are calculated based on the student’s last date of attendance and are based on scheduled hours in the 
payment period, not actual hours attended in the payment period.  
If the student’s tuition was paid from proceeds of a loan or third party, the refund shall be sent to the lender, 
third party or to the state or federal agency that guaranteed the loan. Any amount of the refund in excess of the 
unpaid balance of the loan shall be first used to repay any student financial aid programs from which the student 
received benefits, in proportion to the amount of benefits received, and any remaining amount shall be paid to 
the student.  
If the student defaults on a federal or state loan, both the following may occur:  
a. The federal or state government or a loan guarantee agency may take action against the student, including 
applying any income tax refund to which the person is entitled to reduce the balance owed on the loan.  
b. The student may not be eligible for any other federal student financial aid   
   CLOCK HOUR PROGRAM   
  
HYPOTHETICAL REFUND EXAMPLE:  FOR 1500 HR COURSE  
Assume, upon enrollment in a 1500 hour course, you pay $12,842 for tuition, $150.00 for Registration, and 
$1,117.25 (fair market value) for books and tools, $7.00 for STRF and withdraw after completing a scheduled 
375 hours (25%) without returning the books and supplies you obtained.  You refund will be calculated as 
follows:  
$12,842.00 the amount paid for tuition  
$     150.00 for registration fee  
$   1,117.25 amount paid for books (not returned)  
$         7.00 amount paid for STRF 
$ 14,024.00 Total Paid  
  
   $ 12,842 x 25% = $3,210.50 Cost of instruction received  
   $   3,210.50 Cost of instruction  
   $   9,631.50 Refund due to student  
  
If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of moneys not 
paid from federal financial aid program funds.  
  
5. For the purpose of determining the amount you owe, you shall be deemed to have withdrawn from 
the course when any of the following occurs: (a) You notify School of your withdrawal or the actual date of 
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withdrawal; (b) School terminates your enrollment; (c) You fail to attend classes for a two week period; (d) 
You fail to return from a leave of absence. In this case, the date of withdrawal shall be deemed to be the 
last date of recorded attendance.   
6. If any portion of your tuition was paid from loan proceeds, the refund will be sent to the lender or 
agency that guaranteed the loan. Any remaining refund amount will first be used to repay any student 
financial aid programs from which you received benefits, to the extent of benefits received. Any remaining 
amount will be paid to you.   
7. If the course is cancelled subsequent to a student's enrollment, the School shall at its option provide 
a refund of all monies paid or provide for completion of the course. If there is a closure at the School the 
student may be entitled to a refund according to the refund policy.   
8. If a student who has not had the opportunity to visit the school prior to enrollment opts to withdraw 
within three business days that student will be entitled to a full refund of tuition and fees paid.   
  
   APPLICATION OF REFUND PROCEEDS: Any amount of the refund in excess of the unpaid balance of the 
loan shall be first used to repay any student financial aid programs from which the student received any 
benefits, in proportion to the amount of the benefits received, and any remaining amount shall be paid to the 
student. Any overpayment of monies disbursed for indirect educational expenses will be based on the 
percentage of time elapsed over the total time in the award period. The Buyer/Student will be responsible for 
the repayment of any such overpayment. Repayments made by the Buyer/Student will be made to the 
appropriate Financial Aid fund account in proportion to the amount of the benefits received by the 
Buyer/Student.   
NOTICE OF REFUND TO BUYER/STUDENT: The Seller/ School shall notify the Buyer/Student in writing 
of the date on which the refund was made, the amount of the refund, the method of calculating the refund, and 
the name and address of the entity to which the refund was sent within ten days of such refund. Posting this 
notice in the US Postal Service shall be deemed constructive notice for this purpose.   
  
The Seller/School reserves the right of POSTPONEMENT OR CHANGE OF DATE AND/OR TIME IN 
WHICH ANY CLASS IS OFFERED if the minimum percentage of enrolled students also agrees. Students 
who do not desire the change may be offered a full refund.   
Buyer/Student understands if Buyer/Student can demonstrate the ability to do so, and completes the program in 
less time than course duration described on the reverse side of this document, the tuition that Buyer/ Student 
has agreed to pay shall be fully earned by the Seller/School upon date of completion and Buyer/Student is not 
entitled to any refund by reason of earlier completion. The Buyer/Student's rights under agreement may not be 
assigned to any other person and the Buyer/ Student must complete the program within the time described on 
the reverse side of this agreement or within the maximum time frame described in the catalog, with prior 
approval of the School/Seller.   
It is clearly understood that the Seller/School may assign or sell its rights to payment under this agreement. 
Such assignment however will not relieve the Seller/School from fulfillment of its duties and refund policy 
hereunder. The Buyer/Student and/or the Guarantor authorize to release additional information needed to 
process this transaction. It is anticipated that this will be assigned to said purchase. In lieu thereof, it may be 
assigned to another party. The Seller will notify the Buyer and/or Guarantor of the name of the assignee or third 
party and the location of the same.  
   
AREAS OF CONFLICT WITH OTHER DOCUMENTS: In specific terms or areas where this document  
Conflicts with policies, procedures and/or terms as specified in other documents provided by the school, this 
document takes precedence. Time is of the essence in this agreement and if in the attempt of the Student/Buyer 



 

24 | P a g e  
 

to work out any areas of dispute with the Seller/ School, the Buyer/Student determines that outside assistance is 
needed in the resolution of this dispute, the Seller/School offers, as a measure of good faith, to be bound by the 
settlement rendered by the Arbitrator( s) of the arbitration in accordance with the Commercial Rules of the 
American Arbitration Association, if the Buyer/Student also elects to be so bound.  
  
  
 
  
O. ENROLLMENT PROCEDURE  
Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler 
Barber College) has a continuous enrollment policy starting on a weekly or bi-
weekly schedule. Students may enroll at any time during the year, as instruction is 
done in teaching modules. Enrollments are restricted to maintain a low student-to -
instructor ratio.   
 
P.  APPLICATION  
An applicant must fill out an application form provided by the college. Typically, this is returned to the college 
with the registration fee. 
 
Q.  ENROLLMENT   
At the time of enrollment an applicant must have:   

• High School Diploma or Passing GED equivalency 
test results   

• Down payment if required for course 
• Valid Picture I.D.    
• Social Security card or Verification of Social Security 

number by means of completed Free Application of 
Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) 

 

 TRANSFER POLICY  
  

Applicants with previous hours from another CA barber/cosmetologist school who wish to enroll at Moler 
Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) must submit a 
written request during the admission process along with a Proof of Training from the previous CA school.  The 
transfer and accepted clock hours from another CA institution may be counted in their entirety or as a portion 
toward the required hours of the same/related program at Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, 
branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College).   If transfer hours are accepted, they will be applied to the end 
of the program and the student will be contracted for the total program hours at Moler Barber & Cosmetology 
Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) minus the transfer hours.  Students who are 
financial aid recipients will be disbursed using their normal payment periods as long as there are enough hours. 
Please note:  At a minimum, 25 % of the clock hours for the program must be completed at School.  Moler does 
not have any articulation or transfer agreements with any other colleges or universities.  Moler does not award 
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any credit regarding any prior experiential learning.  Moler does not have any additional charges for evaluating 
and/or applying approved transfer credits. 

Example:  1500 hour program, 900 hour academic year, 194 transfer hours  

Payment periods: 1 - 450, 451-900, 901-1103, 1104-1306  

If an applicant is transferring from another state or from another country, they must first contact California’s 
Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and Cosmetology (BBC) and make application for approval of their hours 
from their previous school.  The documents required for this process can be found at the State of California 
BBC website:  www.barber/cosmetologistcosmo.ca.gov).  The BBC may then issue a letter indicating the 
credit it has approved for the hours taken at the previous school along with any other requirements.  

Failure to provide the required documentation of previous training in either circumstance prior to enrollment 
will mean that those hours will not apply/will not be transferred to your program at Moler Barber & 
Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College). 

 Regarding the transferability of clock hours earned at Moler Barber & Cosmetology 
Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) 

  
The transferability of clock hours you earn at Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and 
divisions of Moler Barber College) is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to 
transfer.   

Acceptance of the certificate you earn in Barbering, Cosmetology and/or Esthetics is also at the complete 
discretion of the institution to which you may seek to transfer.   

If the certificate that you earn at this institution is not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, 
you may be required to repeat some or all of your coursework at that institution.   

For this reason, you should make certain that your attendance at this institution will meet your educational 
goals.   

This may include contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after attending Moler Barber & 
Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) to determine if your 
certificate or clock hours will transfer.   

R.    FACULTY 

Brandon Pineda full time instructor.  He is a licensed Barber, a certified Wahl clipper promoter, Shop 
Owner and creative Hair Poster publisher. 
Elisa Aguilera is a full time instructor.  She is 30+ years licensed in Cosmetology and is a Wella Educator.  
Elisa is preparing to take her Barbering exam as well.  She is an Moler Area Expert in Online Curriculum. 
Alina Ayerdiz Ortega is a full time instructor.  She is licensed both Cosmetology and Esthetician.  She also 
holds a Bachelors Degree in Psychology. 
Raymond Torres is a full time Instructor, licensed in Cosmetology.  He comes from a whole family with 
backgrounds in teaching. He is also our Online Curriculum lead. 

http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/
http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/
http://www.barbercosmo.ca.gov/
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Luis Chia is a full time instructor.  He is a licensed Barber & Cosmetologist.  He continues to further his 
career with experience instructing others in his profession.  
Will Nganga is a full time instructor. He is a licensed Barber with a keen interest in mentoring barber 
students in the “art of barbering.” 
Tuan Van Dinh is a full time instructor.  He is a licensed Barber & Cosmetologist.  He has decades of 
experience in Teaching/ Training both Barbers & Cosmetologists. 
 

All instructors at Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber 
College) are required to maintain a license in good standing with the California Board of Barbering and 
Cosmetology.   Instructors are required to maintain knowledge of current styles and teaching techniques. 

Required Books for courses and students are: 

Milady Standard Barbering, 6th Edition 
829 pp., 8½" x 11", Hardcover, ©2017 
ISBN-13: 9781305100558 
Spanish Edition ISBN-13: 9781305100763 Publication date: 2016 
Online License for MindTap Barbering/cosmetologist 6th edition  

Milady Cosmetology, 13th Edition 
13th Edition Milady Standard Cosmetology ISBN  
13th Edition Soft Cover Textbook 9781285769431 & 13th Edition Theory Workbook 9781285769455 
13th Edition Practical Workbook 9781285769479 & Online License for MindTap Cosmetology 13th edition  

Milady Esthetics, 1st edition 
ISBN:  9780357495216  Student Bundle:  Milady Standard Foundations with Standard Esthetics:  
Fundamentals + Foundations + Student Workbook for Milady Standard Esthetics: Fundamentals +  
Online Licensing Preparation for Milady's Standard Foundations with Standard Esthetics: Fundamentals, 2 
terms Printed Access Card  
 
S.   ATTENDANCE POLICY  
MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES’ (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF 
MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) prime objective is to train students for future employment. Students are 
expected to attend school as they will be expected to report to work. All absences and tardiness are recorded.   
  
Students must attend a minimum of 66.67% of their scheduled hours in order to maintain Satisfactory 
Academic Progress (SAP).  

Illness or other medical reason substantiated by a doctor's statement is accepted and recorded, as an "excused 
absence.” 
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Military reserve duty substantiated by a superior officer's statement is accepted and recorded as an "excused 
absence".    

• Leave of Absences 
Leaves of absence are granted on a case by case basis. Students must request a leave of absence in advance & in 
writing to the School Admissions person, Instructors or Directors. The school Directors reserve the right to 
accept or deny the requested leave of absence.  Leaves of absence may be granted for no less than 2 week and 
no more than 30 days at a time.  However, we reserve the right to grant longer leaves of absence at the school 
Directors discretion on a month by month basis, with the rule that no individual student’s leave of absence 
exceeds a cumulative maximum of 180 days within a 12-month period.  Reserve military duty or medical 
reasons are examples of valid reasons to obtain a leave of absence.  
  
Students leaving the premises for any reason during school hours, other than for lunch period, shall get 
permission from an instructor. Doctor appointments, dentist appointments and other personal errands should be 
scheduled for non-school days.   
  
Students will clock in and out using the fingerprint Guest Vision time system. It is the student’s responsibility 
to remember to clock in and clock out.  
  
Theory class attendance is recorded and must be complied with for successful completion. The California State 
Barber/cosmetologist Law requires a minimum of eighty (80) hours attendance.   
  
No student shall be allowed to attend, or to remain in school, while intoxicated or under the influence of any 
drug. Students while under prescription medication must notify the school for approval to attend school. 
Violation of this rule is cause for disciplinary action by the California State Board of Barber/cosmetologist 
Examiners.   
  
No student shall be allowed to attend school while they have an infectious, contagious or communicable 
disease.   

 

 

 

 

COURSE INTERRUPTIONS*  

A student may be suspended from classes for up to 30 days resulting in a course interruption. Students can be 
suspended for unsatisfactory attendance, unsatisfactory progress or for violation of school regulations, 
including failure to meet financial obligations. This can result in cancellation of the enrollment agreement.  

  
                       *VETERAN STUDENTS   

 An "interruption" in training for any reason will terminate your Educational Benefits checks. 
You may return to benefit standing only after the College has permitted re-enrollment. Upon 
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successful re-enrollment, your checks may experience delay of up to two months while 
certification of benefits is processed.   

 

T. SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS (SAP) POLICY  

1. Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) applies to all students regardless of whether they are receiving Title 
IV financial aid.  

2. Federal regulations require that all schools participating in any Federal Financial Aid program must adhere 
to a Financial Aid/Academic Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) policy. As a Financial Aid recipient, 
you must maintain SAP to remain eligible to receive Federal Financial Aid. The records of all Financial Aid 
recipients will be reviewed at the end of each payment period to determine compliance with the SAP policy. 
SAP is measured at 450, 900, 1200 and 1500 hours for the 1500 hour Barbering/cosmetologist program, for 
all students regardless of the source of their funding.  SAP is measured at 250 hours for the Re-Enrollment 
program, 400 hours for Refresher and Cosmetology Crossover Programs and 450 and 600 hours for the 
Barber/cosmetologist Instructor program, all of which are non-Title IV programs.  SAP determination is 
based on the student’s complete academic history, including periods in which the student did not receive 
Financial Aid.  

3. To meet standards for Satisfactory Academic Progress the student must:  

● Maintain a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 70% or above;  

● Maintain a cumulative attendance rate of 66.67%;  

● Complete the program within the maximum time frame of not more than 150% of the normal length of 
time required to complete the program.   

Official Leaves of Absence, withdrawals, and other official interruptions of training are not computed in the 
maximum time frame.  

Course incompletes and noncredit remedial courses do not apply to SAP policy at the school and will have no 
effect on satisfactory academic progress.   

 

Financial Aid/Academic Warning, Probation Status  

If a student fails to meet SAP standards for either attendance or CGPA at any formal assessment point, the 
student will automatically be placed on Financial Aid/Academic Warning and will remain in that status until the 
next assessment point or until the deficiency is corrected, whichever occurs first.  A student placed on Financial 
Aid/Academic Warning status may continue to receive financial assistance. The student will be counseled on 
the potential loss of eligibility of financial aid, if applicable, and will be advised on steps necessary to correct 
the academic deficiency and be reinstated to good academic standing.     
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If a student fails to meet minimum standards for SAP by the end of the warning period, the student will become 
ineligible for Federal Aid and will be placed on Probation Status.  A student placed on Probation Status has the 
right to submit an appeal. 

 
Appeal, Reinstatement and Reestablishing Eligibility  

A student may appeal the determination of unsatisfactory progress and termination of aid eligibility by 
completing the SAP appeal form. The student’s appeal must be in writing, must be based upon mitigating 
circumstances, must include documentation of those mitigating circumstances, and must include an explanation 
of the reason why he/she failed to make SAP, including a statement and documentation of what has changed in 
the student’s situation that will allow the student to meet the standards for SAP by the beginning of the next 
payment period.  If the student’s appeal is approved, eligibility for financial aid will be reinstated for one 
payment period and the student will continue in Financial Aid/Academic Probation status until the beginning of 
the next payment period.     

Students who do not appeal a determination of unsatisfactory progress and termination of aid, or whose appeal 
has been denied, may continue in school, on Probation status for one assessment period at their own expense.  
By the end of the Probation period, all students on Probation status will be required to have satisfied all 
standards for SAP including the following:  

●Have achieved a cumulative GPA of 70% or better;  

●Have achieved a cumulative attendance rate of 66.67% or better  

     Students who fail to meet the standards for SAP by the end of the Probation period will be terminated from 
school.  Students who successfully meet the standards for SAP by the end of the Probation period will be 
reinstated to good academic standing and will regain their previous eligibility for financial aid.  

  

Transfer Hours and their effect on SAP   

With regard to the calculation of attendance rates or cumulative grade point average as they relate to assessment 
for compliance with standards for Satisfactory Academic Progress, a student’s transfer hours will not be counted 
as scheduled or completed hours.  SAP evaluation periods are based on actual contracted hours at the school.  
However, coursework taken at another institution that is accepted and officially transferred will count towards 
the 150% maximum timeframe calculations on both hours scheduled and hours completed.    

 
U.   CONDUCT POLICY   
 The habits you develop in school will be the habits you will have when you are in practice. The Regulations of 
the MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF 
MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) are designed to help you learn good professional habits at the start of your 
professional career.  
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MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES (SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF 
MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) or its duly authorized agents, may, at their discretion, interrupt a student's 
course of instruction for violation or infraction of the MOLER BARBER & COSMETOLOGY COLLEGES 
(SATELLITES, BRANCH, AND DIVISIONS OF MOLER BARBER COLLEGE) Conduct Policy.   

1. Students shall not be unruly in school nor interfere with any other student. They shall conduct themselves 
in a quiet, professional manner during school hours.   

  
2. Students shall comply with all sanitary requirements. Violation of these sections is cause for suspension or 

expulsion with forfeiture of hours.   
  
3. No student shall instruct another. Students will request the assistance of an instructor whenever they are in 

doubt as to the correct procedure.  
  
4. Students shall dress in a professional manner, including clean smocks, during school hours. No short pants 

or extreme dress styles are allowed. Current fashion should be followed.  
  
5. Students shall give their full attention to their customers. Students are to render barber/cosmetologist 

services equally to all customers, irrespective of any factors. Refusal of barber/cosmetologist services by a 
student is cause for disciplinary action.  

  
6. Students are not to chew gum, smoke, hum or whistle while working on a customer.  
  
7. Students are responsible for keeping their work area and tools clean at all times.   
  
This means that:   

a. All stand bottles, including the sterilizer jar, are cleaned and properly filled daily.  
b. The back bar counter top is cleaned' after each customer.   
c. The chair is wiped clean of hair after each customer.  
d. Soiled linen is disposed of in the proper container.  
e. All soiled paper is disposed of in the proper container daily.  
f. All tools are wiped clean and properly stored after each customer.  
g. The haircloth is neatly folded and properly hung on the chair after   each customer.  
h. The sink and mirror are cleaned daily.  

8. Students are to wear shoes that are comfortable for standing and in good repair.  In compliance with State 
regulations, students may not wear open toe shoes or sandals.  

9. Students are to wash their hands immediately before serving a customer and comply with all provisions of 
the sanitary sections of the Barber/cosmetologist Law.  

10. Students shall attend theory class as assigned by an instructor.  

11. Students shall go to lunch on their assignment schedule.  

12. Students shall maintain their hair in current, fashionable style.  

13. Students shall comply with the Attendance Policy as set forth.  
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14. Students are to receive or give student services only as assigned by an instructor.  

15. Students are to display their student educational card in the holder provided during school hours.  

16. Students shall keep a record of all services performed and record them daily.  

17. Students shall follow the daily assignment schedule as directed by an instructor.  
   
18. Students are to come to school prepared to participate in class assignments or assignments as directed by 

an instructor. 
 

 
  

V.  STUDENT GRIEVANCE AND COMPLAINTS RESOURCES  
Internal grievances can be directed to the Instructor or to the School Director, verbally or in writing. Students 
have the right to appeal grades, disciplinary action or make other complaints internally. If the student feels that 
their grievance was not handled properly or fairly, they can contact Bureau of Private Postsecondary Education. 
A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with the Bureau of Private 
Postsecondary Education by calling toll free 1(800) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form which can be 
obtained on the bureau’s Internet Web site at www.bppe.ca.gov.  
  
The following state boards, bureaus, departments or agencies that set minimum standards for this program of 
studies in accordance with Education Code Section 94322 include:  

1. Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education   
2. Department of Health and Human Services   
3. Department of Consumer Affairs   
4. Board of Barbering/cosmetologist and Cosmetology   

Persons seeking to resolve problems or complaints should first contact the instructor in charge. Requests for 
further action may be made to the Administrative Director.  
  
Unresolved complaints may be directed to:  
  
Mailing address  
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education,   
P.O. Box 980818  
West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818.  
  
Physical Address:  
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education  
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400  
Sacramento, CA 95833 Telephone: (916) 431-6959   
  
Web Address  
www.bppe.ca.gov  
Toll Free  
1(888)370-7589   

http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
http://www.bppe.ca.gov/
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V.  STUDENT GRIEVANCE AND COMPLAINTS RESOURCES (continued)  

Schools accredited by the Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges must have a procedure and 
operational plan for handling student complaints. If a student does not feel that the school has adequately 
addressed a complaint or concern, the student may consider contacting the Accrediting Commission. All 
complaints considered by the Commission must be in written form, with permission from the complainant(s) 
for the Commission to forward a copy of the complaint to the school for a response. The complainant(s) will be 
kept informed as to the status of the complaint as well as the final resolution by the Commission.  A copy of the 
ACCSC complaint form can be obtained from the Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, 
and divisions of Moler Barber College), from Director Frank Quattro. Please direct all inquiries to:  
  
 
ACCREDITING COMMISSION OF CAREER SCHOOLS AND COLLEGES  
2101 Wilson Boulevard / Suite 302 Arlington, VA 22201 (703) 247-4212)  Website:  www.accsc.org  
  
A copy of the Commission’s Complaint Form is available at the school and may be obtained by contacting the 
office of the Administrative Director of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and 
divisions of Moler Barber College) at the main campusin Oakland, California.  

All training is in English. All records are retained indefinitely. 
There is no English-as-a-second language training.  

  
W.   OWNER CERTIFICATION  
All information in this catalog is current, correct and is so certified.   
Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) is 
required by the BPPE to state that we are financially solvent, and we do not have a pending petition of 
bankruptcy, we are not operating as a debtor in possession and have not filed a petition in the previous five 
years, and has not had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it in the previous five years that resulted in 
reorganization under chapter 11 of the bankruptcy code.  
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN:   
It is hereby certified that Frank Quattro, Director of Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, 
and divisions of Moler Barber College) located at 3815 Telegraph Avenue, Oakland, CA 94609, guarantees that 
all students enrolled in the above school will be properly trained and all contractual agreements fulfilled.   
  
X.   STUDENT ACADEMIC RECORDS  
Moler Barber & Cosmetology Colleges (satellites, branch, and divisions of Moler Barber College) maintains all 
student records for a minimum of 5 years. This includes but is not limited to: Student applications, acceptance, 
attendance, test scores, course grades, disciplinary actions and records of completion of course certification and 
any refunds due students. Students must request all transcripts in writing.  
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Moler Catalog Addendum 1:  CONSUMER INFORMATION 

 
STUDENT RIGHTS 

 
Notice of Student’s Right to Cancel  
 
The Student has the right to withdraw from the program of instruction at any time. To withdraw or cancel 
enrollment, the Student must send a signed Notice of Cancellation or Letter of Withdrawal postmarked NO 
LATER THAN the fifth business day following the first day of class (or delivered to the school before midnight 
of the same day). Compliance with this policy will result in a full refund.  
 
Notice of Cancellation or Letter of Withdrawal must be sent to:   
Moler Barber College  
3815 Telegraph Ave. 
Oakland, CA 94609 
 
If you have any complaints, questions, or problems that you cannot work out with the school, write or call the 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (The California Department of Consumer Affairs) 2535 Capitol 
Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833. A student or any member of the public may file a complaint 
about this institution with the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling (888) 370-7589 or by 
completing a complaint form, which can be obtained on the bureau's Internet Website at 
http://www.bppe.ca.gov  
 
Student’s Right to Privacy (FERPA)  
 
Moler Barber College (MBC) maintains compliance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 
(FERPA), as amended. FERPA defines requirements which are designed to protect the privacy of student 
records maintained by MBC. The law requires that:  
 
1. Students should be provided access to official records directly related to them. Students who wish to see 
their records must make an appointment or submit a written request through MBC’s  Office.  
2. Students may not remove any materials, but are entitled, at their expense, to one copy of any materials 
contained in their file, unless a disclaimer appears on the document indicating that the student is not to be 
given a copy, or if the student waived the rights to the document.  
3. Students should be given the opportunity for a hearing to challenge such records on the grounds that they 
are inaccurate, misleading, or otherwise inappropriate. The right to a hearing under the law does not include 
any right to challenge the appropriateness of a grade as determined by the faculty member.  
4. Students' written consent must be received prior to releasing personally identifiable student data from their 
records to other than a specified list of exceptions. MBC is authorized to release public directory information 
concerning students. Directory information includes the student's name, address, phone number, date and 
place of birth, major field of study, dates of attendance, certificates and awards received and the most recent 
previous educational  
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agency or institution attended by the student. Directory information is subject to release by MBC at any time 
unless the Registrar has received a prior written request from the student specifying that the information not be 
released.  
MBC is authorized to provide access of student records to MBC officials and employees who have legitimate 
educational interests. These are persons who have responsibilities in MBC academic, administrative, service 
or research functions.  
A copy of MBC’s FERPA policy is available to students through the Registrar's Office. Education records will 
be released pursuant to a judicial order or a lawfully issued subpoena, but only after the student is given 
reasonable and necessary notification of MBC’s intent to comply with the subpoena before release of the 
records.  
Students have the right to restrict disclosure of directory information. Written requests for privacy holds should 
include name, address, specific records to be withheld and/or to whom the privacy hold applies, and the 
student's signature and date. Requests are valid throughout student's enrollment unless otherwise notified.  
Congress has provided the Family Education Rights and Privacy Act in that a student have certain rights of 
access to his/her education records (available in the MBC office).  
 
Requirements for Admission 
 

Eligible students are those who have a high school diploma, General Educational Development (GED) 

Certificate or the equivalent. MBC will verify the authenticity of the diploma prior to enrollment. If the 

diploma cannot be verified, the student may be asked to provide a final high school transcript showing 

the dates of entrance and graduation and the courses completed. If a transcript is not available, the 

student will be required to take and pass a GED test prior to enrollment.  

 
NOTE: Pursuant to H.R. 2055, Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2012, enacted on December 23, 
2011, amending Section 484(d) of the Higher Education Act (20 U.S.c. 1091(d), ATB students who 
first enroll after July 1, 2012, will no longer be eligible to receive Financial Aid. To be eligible for 
Financial Aid students must have a High School Diploma, GED, or proof of completion of a State-
approved home school program. Students who have previously taken an ATB test and who have 
been enrolled on that basis prior to July 1, 2012, remain eligible to receive Financial Aid 
 
Non-Discrimination Policy  
 
Moler Barber College (MBC) does not deny admission or discriminate against students currently enrolled on 
the basis of race, color, religion, sex, age, disabilities and area of origin, residence or sexual orientation from 
participating in any of the school's activities. MBC will reasonably accommodate applicants and students with 
disabilities to the extent required by applicable law.  
 
Educational Safety Environment  
 
Due to requirements set forth by the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), proper attire 
including shoes, eyewear barber jackets and other articles should be worn during all class hours.  
 
Americans with Disability Act (ADA)  
 
Moler Barber College recognizes and accepts its obligations under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 
1990 and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, prohibiting discrimination on the basis of a disability and requiring 
MBC to provide reasonable accommodations to qualified disabled students in all programs and activities. 
Students have the responsibility to both self-disclose and request accommodation through the school’s ADA 
Compliance Officer. Communication with faculty or other staff members does not constitute in itself fulfilling the 
ADA accommodation requirements.  
Verification through documentation from a health care provider is required prior to accommodations being 
determined and fulfilled. MBC’s ADA Compliance Officer will review documentation for accommodation 
consideration. No student shall be retaliated against for seeking accommodation under this policy or for 
participating in any complaint procedures brought against MBC for its non-compliance with the policy.  
 
Equal Opportunity  



3 | P a g e  
 

To ensure proper handling of all equal opportunity matters, including the Civil Rights Act and Americans with 
Disabilities Act, discrimination, accommodation and compliance issues, inquiries should be directed to 
following individual:  
Compliance Officer/Chief Operations Officer at (213) 487-2211, for the following matters:  
• Sexual Harassment • Discrimination – Education • Discrimination – Workplace – Hiring/Promotion • Training  
• ADA  
• EEO – Hiring/Promotion • Gender Equality  
 
Student Grievance Policy  
 
The grievance procedure may be initiated by a student or group of students who reasonably believe 
he/she/they have been subjected to unjust action or denied rights that adversely affect his/her/their status, 
rights or privileges as a student. It is the responsibility of the student(s) to submit proof of alleged unfair or 
improper action.  
The programs offered at Moler Barber College are difficult and demanding programs. Students enrolled in 
these programs may sometimes experience problems. The school will make every effort to help resolve these 
problems when made aware of them. The following procedure is designed to assist students to resolve any 
problems they identify.  
1. First, discuss the problem with your instructor rather than with other students.  
 
2. Next, make an appointment to approach the Director if you and the instructor were unable to resolve the 
problem.  
 
3. If the problem is still not resolved, the student will make an appointment to discuss the matter with the 
School Director.  
 
4. If the problem is still not resolved you may contact the Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education  or The 
organization that accredits MBC,  The Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC) 
 
 
Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE)  
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, CA 95814  
T: 888-370-7589 Web: www.bppe.ca.gov E-mail: bppe@dca.ca.gov  
 
The Accrediting Commission of Career Schools and Colleges (ACCSC) 
2101 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 302 Arlington, Virginia 22201 Phone703-247-4212  
Fax: 703-247-4533 
 
Right to Appeal  
 
Students may submit a written appeal of the decision of the MBC Program Director, Instructor or the Office of 
Admissions to the Assistant School Director who will present the appeal to the Board. It is the responsibility of 
the student to submit to the Board all relevant documents or statements of support with their appeal letter. 
Appeals should be brought or mailed to:  
 
Moler Barber College  
Attn: Assistant School Director  
3815 Telegraph Avenue  
Oakland, CA 94609 
 
In all cases of student grievances, if the complaint cannot be resolved after exhausting the Board’s procedures, 
the student may file an external complaint.  
 
STUDENT RESPONSIBILITIES  
 
Student Conduct  
 
Students are expected to conduct themselves ethically, honestly and with integrity as responsible members of 
MBC's academic community. This requires the demonstration of mutual respect and civility in academic and 
professional discourse. Moler Barber College reserves the right to suspend or terminate any students whose 
conduct is deemed unacceptable. Such conduct includes excessive number of absences or tardiness, failure to 
maintain satisfactory academic standing, failure to achieve satisfactory clinical performance, inappropriate 
behavior toward fellow students, faculty, staff or affiliates, failure to abide by school rules and other conduct 
deemed inappropriate.  
 
Standards of Student Conduct  
 
Students are responsible for learning all required material. Although it is a student’s academic performance 
that is evaluated in determining grades, student conduct is important in the academic setting. Students shall 
respect and obey civil and criminal law, and shall be subject to legal penalties for violation of laws of the City, 
County, State and Nation. Student conduct must conform to MBC rules and regulations. Violations of such 
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rules and regulations will subject students to disciplinary action. Such violations include, but are not limited to, 
the following:  

 Uniforms not worn in class in accordance with uniform policy  
 Harassment of any kind  
 Disruptive behavior that hinders or interferes with the educational process  
 Any act or statement which threatens or violates the personal safety of any member of the faculty, staff or 

student body  
 Violation of the student Code of Conduct  
 Failure to comply with any reasonable directive from faculty or school officer  
 Carrying weapons on campus  
 Falsification or invention of any information citation or document, lying during a school    investigation, or 

plagiarizing any piece of writing  
 Helping another student cheat, fabricate, plagiarize or unlawfully acquire or use copyrighted works  
 Violation of any state, federal, or school laws, regulations or rules  

 
Discipline Procedures  
 
If a student is in violation of a rule or regulation, the issue will be investigated immediately. The student will be 
notified of the issue and investigation. The MBC administration will review the investigation, discuss the 
findings and make recommendations to the Assistant School Director. The student will be afforded the 
opportunity to address the administration to plead his/her case. If a violation is found, the student will receive 
sanctions relative to the seriousness of the violation. The sanctioning decision will be made by thet School 
Director who will report this decision to the student. If the student feels the decision was in error, the student 
may request an appeal within 10 days of the decision. The student must submit an appeal in writing to the 
Administration who will review the appeal and make a decision. The decision of the Administration is final.  
 
 
 
CAMPUS SECURITY AND SAFETY POLICY  
 
Moler Barber College is committed to assisting all members of the community in providing for their safety and 
security. The 2013 Moler Barber College community consists of approximately 60 students plus 10 faculty and 
staff. Being situated within the city of Oakland,  Moler Barber College shares many of the same interests and 
concerns as the city, one of which is providing a safe environment for its students, faculty, and staff. As safety 
and security is everyone’s responsibility, your actions and behaviors can significantly reduce your risk of 
personal harm.  
At Moler Barber College, we understand the concern everyone has about campus safety. Our desire is for 
students, faculty and staff to enjoy their academic experience free from threats to their safety or well-being. 
The purpose of this publication is to share with you information relating to the safety and security of campus 
facilities, the office involved in the coordination of campus safety and security, campus crime statistics, campus 
substance abuse policies, campus sexual assault policies, and timely warnings in compliance with the Jeanne 
Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act.  
 
The Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Campus Crime Statistics Act (or Clery 
Act)  
 
The Jeanne Clery Crime Awareness and Campus Security Act of 1990 (Clery Act) requires colleges and 
schools to provide students and applicants a detailed report of crime statistics for the prior three years. The 
Clery Act is a federal statute codified at 20 U.S.C. § 1092(f), with implementing regulations in the U.S. Code of 
Federal Regulations at 34 C.F.R. 668.46.  
 
Geography: Location  
The campus of Moler Barber College occupies approximately 4000 square feet building located at 3815 
Telegraph Avenue, Oakland, California. The building is one of two structures that occupy corner of of 
Telegraph and MacArthur Blvd., at 38th Avenue. For purposes of Clery Act data collection and reporting, the 
following definitions apply:  
 

 Campus: Areas of buildings which are leased, owned or controlled by Moler Barber College, including any 
classrooms, administrative offices, faculty offices, along with any hallways, lavatories, storage areas, Parking 
Lot or other areas used exclusively by Moler Barber College staff, faculty or students.  

 Non-Campus Property: All other areas of campus buildings that are not otherwise included in the definition 
of “campus” (above), including any hallways, elevators or outdoor areas owned or controlled by the 
building/development owners and routinely used by Moler Barber College’s students. These areas are 
considered part of the "'campus" for the purposes of the statistics above.  

 Public Property: Any public thoroughfares, streets, alleys, sidewalks and/or public parking facilities that is 
immediately adjacent to, and accessible from, the campus.  
 
Annual Campus Security Report  
 
Moler Barber College is committed to assisting all members of the Moler Barber College community in 
providing for their safety and security. The annual security compliance document is available on the Moler 



5 | P a g e  
 

Barber College website at www.moler.org  The website and booklet contain information regarding campus 
security and personal safety including topics such as: crime prevention, fire safety, crime reporting policies, 
disciplinary procedures, and other matters of importance related to security and safety on campus. They also 
contain information about crime statistics for the three previous calendar years concerning reported crimes that 
occurred on campus; in certain off-campus buildings or properties owned or controlled by Moler Barber 
College; and on public properties within, or immediately adjacent to and accessible from the campus.  
 
This information is required by law and is provided by the Moler Barber College administration office .. If you 
would like to receive the Annual Campus Security Report that contains this information, you can stop by the 
Moler Barber College Administration Office at 3815 Telegraph Ave, Oakland, CA 94609 or you can  
request that a copy be mailed to you by calling (510) 652-4177.  
 
9.4 Campus Crime Statistics  
 
The detailed statistics in this policy reflect the number of crimes reported and referrals made at Moler Barber 
College for the past three calendar years (2009-2011). Please see our website for detailed statistics 
 
Drug and Alcohol Prevention Policy 
 
Moler Barber College prohibits following: possession of controlled substances which would constitute a 
violation of the California Health and Safety Code Section 11350 or the Business and Professions Code 
Section 4230; use of alcoholic beverages while on any property owned or used by Moler Barber College. The 
“controlled substances,” as used in this section, include, but are not limited to the following drugs and 
narcotics: opiates, opium and opium derivatives, mescaline, hallucinogenic substances, peyote, marijuana, 
stimulants, depressants and cocaine. Smoking is not permitted in any classroom or other enclosed facility that 
any student is required to occupy or which is customarily occupied by students, faculty, staff and/or 
administrator. Smoking is only allowed at locations outside the main building in designated smoking areas 
 
Overview 
Moler Barber College is firmly committed to providing a safe, healthy working environment for all students, 
faculty, and staff.  In compliance with The Higher Education Act of 1965, including the Drug-Free Schools and 
Communities Amendments of 1989, the Moler Barber College Drug and Alcohol Prevention Policy is provided 
annually to all employees and student.  
 
Students, faculty, or staff involvement with illegal drugs, controlled substances, or alcohol can negatively 
impact the classroom and/or workplace and their ability to perform his/her duties.  The terms of this policy 
apply to all Moler Barber College students, employees, and faculty.  
Standards 
Students, faculty, and staff must comply with federal, state, and local laws concerning alcohol and illegal drug 
usage, whether on school property, at externship sites, or otherwise.  
Moler Barber College students, faculty, and staff employees must report to class/work and remain in a 
condition to perform their duties free from the effect of any drug or alcohol. Students, faculty, and staff shall not 
be under the influence of any illegal drug while performing any College related activity.  
The use, sale, possession, manufacture or purchase of illegal drugs, controlled substances or alcohol while on 
Moler Barber College premises and extern site or while on Moler Barber College business is prohibited.  
 
Use of Illegal and Legal Drugs  
Studies show that long term heavy drinking and drug use can lead to damage of the liver, nervous system, 
heart and brain. It may also lead to high blood pressure, stomach problems, medicine interactions, and cancer. 
Moler Barber College is committed to providing a safe and healthy environment for all students and 
employees.  
 
Moler Barber College has a zero tolerance policy against drug and alcohol abuse.  
 
Penalty 
The use, sale, possession, manufacture, or purchase of illegal drugs, controlled substances, or alcohol while 
on Moler Barber College premises at extern sites, or while performing Moler Barber College activities is 
prohibited. Any student, faculty, or staff who violates this policy is subject to disciplinary action, up to and 
including termination and expulsion, and referral for prosecution. Local, state and federal sanctions for unlawful 
activity relating to drug and alcohol abuse may result in fines and/or incarceration.  
 
For more information about self-help programs you may contact:  
 
Alcoholic Anonymous 
http://www.aa.org 
 
Adult Children of Alcoholics 
http://www.adultchildren.org/ 
 
Suicide Prevention 
http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/ 

http://www.aa.org/
http://www.adultchildren.org/
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Telephone: 1.800.273.TALK 
 
Information for Veterans 
• Benefits: 1-800-827-1000 
• Call Center for Homeless Vets: 1-877-424-3838 
• Medical Centers: 1-800-827-1000 
• Persian Gulf War Helpline: 1-800-749-8387 
• Locate the closest VAMC or VA Regional Office: 1-877-222-8387 
 
National Coalition for Homeless Veterans 
1-800-838-4357 (1-800-VET-HELP) 
Focus on Recovery Helpline (alcohol/drugs) 
1-800-374-2800 or 1-800-234-1253 
National AIDS Hotline 
1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636) 
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 
1-800-SUICIDE (784-2433) 
Traveler’s Aid International 
1-202-546-1127 
Department of Health and Human Services Drug and Alcohol Treatment Referral Routing 
Service 
1-800-662-4357 
National Alliance for the Mentally Ill 
1-800-950-6264 
Mental Health America 
1-800-969-NMH 

Sexual Assault Prevention/Reporting 

Moler Barber College does not maintain dormitories or other facilities that are used outside of regular school 

hours. Sufficient faculty and staff are available throughout the building and grounds during business hours to 

accommodate each student’s need. Any crime, including sexual assault, on or off campus, should be reported 

immediately to the local police department or other appropriate law enforcement agency.  However, Moler 

Barber College realizes that the decision to report a rape or sexual assault can be a difficult one. We do, 

however, strongly encourage immediate reporting of these crimes to appropriate agencies. A rape or sexual 

assault is a serious crime and the reporting of the incident may prevent another unsuspecting individual from 

becoming a victim. Victims are encouraged to call any law enforcement agency by dialing "911" immediately 

for criminal investigation, medical treatment, and referral to crisis counseling and legal advocacy services. 

Victims may request the entire reporting process remain confidential. If both the victim and the suspect are 

enrolled students, a college disciplinary action may be sought. In this event, the accuser and the accused are 

entitled to same opportunities to have others present during a campus disciplinary proceeding held by school 

administration. Both parties shall be informed of the proceeding outcomes after a decision has been made by 

the administration.  

If found to be in violation of Moler Barber College’s Code of Student Conduct, the offender may be placed on 
probation, suspended, expelled, and/or excluded from the campus. If certain circumstances the victim may 
request changes in academic arrangements. If you become a victim of a sexual assault on or off campus: 
 

Go to a safe place 

Immediately contact the local police department  

Contact someone you trust to be with you or ask the police department dispatcher to do so for          you 

Do not shower, bath, douche, change or destroy your clothing 

Do not clean or straighten up the area. A police officer will arrange for forensic and medical services as 
appropriate and a report will be accepted in confidence through a 3rd party or anonymously. 
 
Hate Crimes and the Law 
 
Moler Barber College is mandated to protect all members of the campus community by preventing and 
prosecuting bias or hate crimes that occur within the campus jurisdiction. Hate crimes, also called bias crimes 
or bias related crimes, are criminal activity motivated by the perpetrator's bias or attitude against an individual 
victim or group based on perceived or actual  
personal characteristics, such as their race, religion, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, or disability. Anyone 
committing such acts can be referred to the Moler Barber College Administration for disciplinary action, as well 
as facing prosecution under the California law. 
 
Distribution of Report/Policy 
 
A notice of this report and policy statement will be given to all students and employees annually.  
Those wishing a printed copy of this report may print directly from our webpage, or may contact  
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any member of the Moler Barber College administration for a printed copy sent by mail or picked up 
 
Crime Prevention  
 
Moler Barber College does not maintain dormitories or other facilities that are used outside of regular school 
hours. Sufficient faculty and staff are available throughout the building and grounds during business hours to 
reduce the likelihood of crime during school hours. Students and employees are encouraged to be vigilant and 
observant when in the non-campus or public areas, and to protect themselves and each other by reporting 
suspicious or illegal activity to proper authorities immediately. To help students and employees protect 
themselves and their properties, Moler Barber College develops and makes available to students an updated 
crime log and safety tips. 
 
Daily Crime Log 
 
The Clery Act requires that institutions of higher education maintain a daily crime log. This log may be 
publicized as a hard copy log and it will be accessible on campus. The crime log for the "most recent 60 day 
period" must be available for public review during normal business hours. Any requests to view logs older than 
the 60 day recent period must be made available within two business days of the request for public inspection. 
A hard copy of the daily crime log for Moler Barber College is maintained in the Campus Security and Safety 
Department located in the administration office. Moler Barber College does not make available an electronic 
version of the daily crime log. The business hours of the Campus Safety  
and Security Office are M-F, 9:00 a.m.- 6:00 p.m.  
 
Emergency Response and Evacuation Procedures  
 

The Academies have Emergency Response and Evacuation Procedures in place. Evacuation routes 

are posted throughout the facilities. Fire Drills are conducted at least once a year.  

 
Emergency Notification 
 
Moler Barber College Alerts will deliver messages using some or all of the following channels: 

The Moler Barber College homepage; 

Broadcast e-mail to all Moler Barber College students; 

Blackboard in classrooms; 

Phone Alerts; 

Classroom/hallway alarms. 
 
Safety Tips 
 
Effective policing is a community activity. Protect yourself against crime by taking the following  
common-sense precautions. 
 
Emergencies 
 

Fire: Leave the building and call 911  

Health/Medical: call 911 
 
On Campus 
 

Report unusual or suspicious activities to the Moler Barber College Administration Office  in person or call at 
(510) 652-4177.  

Keep small valuable items (jewelry, cash, wallets, purses, etc.) out of sight or in a   closed/locked backpack.  

Small electronics such as iPods, mp3 players, cell phones, thumb drives, and laptops are easily taken by 
thieves and must be secured.  
 
Parking Lots 
 

Do not walk alone to your car.  

Lock your car at all times.  

Take your valuables with you or lock them in the trunk.  

Use anti-theft and safety devices, including remote key access for lighting, car alarms, and steering wheel 
locks.  
 
Personal Safety 
 

Always let someone know where you are.  

Never walk alone at night, always walk with a friend.  

Do not leave a party or bar with a casual acquaintance.  

Never leave drinks of any type alone, when at a social gathering.  

Report any rape or sexual assault, even if you know the assailant. It's still a crime.  
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Report unusual or suspicious activities to the Moler Barber College Administration Office immediately at (510) 
652-4177. 
 
In Your Car 
 

Do not signal breakdowns or request help from strangers.  

Check the back seat before entering your car.  

Do not open your window more than an inch if you respond to strangers who approach your car.  
 
In General 
 

Be aware of your surroundings.  

Keep your door locked at all times.  

Don't walk alone late at night.  

Keep your valuables locked up in a safe place.  

Don't leave your laptop computer unattended.  

Mark your valuables with your name.  
 
Notice, Remember and Report 
 

License plate number  

Which way the car or person went  

Anything left at the scene by the assailant or the victim  

Description of car (color, number of doors, rust)  

Description of person, including  
O approximate age, weight, height, and build  
O gender  
O color and length of hair  
O color of eyes  
O color of skin  
O clothing  
O distinctive marks including scars, tattoos  
O distinctive accessories including rings, earrings, piercings  
 
Your Identity 
 

Don't give out personal information on the phone, through the mail, or on the Internet unless you initiated the 
contact or are sure you know who you are dealing with.  

Don’t carry your SSN card in your wallet; store it in a secure place. 

Keep your purse or wallet in a safe place; do the same with copies of administrative forms that have your 
sensitive personal information. 
 
 
Preventing Fires 
 
Fire prevention and safety programs at Moler Barber College include: 
 

Fire drills (Building Services)  

Inspection and maintenance of fire-detection and fire-fighting equipment (Campus  
Services)  

Routine checks of emergency firefighting equipment (Campus Services) 
 
Preventing Fire-Related Crimes 
 
The following activities are illegal: 

Causing a false alarm  

Maliciously activating building fire alarm system  

Discharging a fire extinguisher mischievously  

Tampering with fire-detection and fire-prevention equipment (smoke detectors, sprinklers)  

arson  
 
Any student who commits these crimes will be referred to the College  Administration. Criminal charges may 
also be filed. 
 
In Case of Fire Drill 
 
When the alarm sounds: 

Always leave the building immediately. Never assume the alarm is a false alarm.  

Continue to evacuate the building even if the alarm stops.  
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Use the nearest exit. If the nearest exit is blocked by fire, heat or smoke, go to  
another exit.  
 
When to use 9-1-1 versus 7-digit telephone lines 
 

Call 9-1-1 when there is a life or death emergency that requires the immediate  
response of emergency service such as police, fire or paramedic. Always call 9-1-1  
when there is a medical problem or something that requires the Oakland Fire Department to respond, because 
they do not have non-emergency lines. 
 

When there is a situation that requires police response but is not an emergency, use  
Non-emergency dial 1-510-777-3333 for the Oakland Police Department (OPD)  
 
It is a misdemeanor under California Penal Code Section 148.3 for any person to willfully use the 9-1-1 system 
for any purpose other than reporting an emergency. It is a felony if someone is injured or dies as a result of 
emergency service response to a false call. 
 
The following activities are prohibited: 
 

Transmitting unsolicited messages which constitute obscenity, harassment or threats; 

Communicating any information concerning any password, identifying code, personal identification number or 
other confidential information without the permission of the controlling authority of the computer facility to which 
it belongs; 

Gaining or attempting to gain unauthorized access to, or making unauthorized use of, a computer facility or 
software. This includes creating, copying, modifying, executing or retransmitting any computer program or 
instructions with the intent to gain unauthorized access to, or make unauthorized use, of a computer facility or 
software. 

Creating, copying, modifying, executing or retransmitting any computer program or instructions intended to 
obscure the true identity of the sender of electronic mail or electronic messages, collectively referred to as 
"messages," including, but not limited to, forgery of messages and/or alteration of system and/or user data 
used to identify the sender of messages. 

Accessing or intentionally destroying software in a computer facility without the permission of the owner of 
such software or the controlling authority of the facility. 

Making unauthorized copies of licensed software; 

Communicating any credit card number or other financial account number, or any social security number 
without the permission of its owner; 

Effecting or receiving unauthorized electronic transfer of funds; 

Using the computer facilities in a manner inconsistent with the College's license agreements or contractual 
obligations to suppliers or with any published policy; 

Using College information systems for commercial gain; 

Illegally using copyrighted software and materials, storing such materials on College information systems, or 
transmitting such materials over Moler Barber College network facilities 

Knowingly engaging in any activity harmful to the information systems (e.g., creating or propagating viruses, 
overloading networks with excessive data, instituting or promulgating chain letters, or instigating unauthorized 
mass postings of any type); 

Circumventing or subverting any system or network security measures.  
 
The College’s users should not download, upload, transmit, make available or otherwise distribute copyrighted 
material without authorization using the College’s computer systems, networks, and Internet access or storage 
media. This is inclusive of utilizing unlicensed/unauthorized peer-to-peer file services that would promote 
copyright infringement. Users who violate this policy are subject to disciplinary action as appropriate under the 
circumstances. Such disciplinary action may include suspension, dismissal and other legal actions.  
 
Student Parking 
 
Student parking is not available on sight. Both metered and un-metered parking is available adjacent to the 
school. We are less than one block from the MacArthur Bart Station. There are parking structures near to 
and/or areas within walking distance of the college's location.  
 
MBC is not responsible for parking violations, property theft, property damage, etc. Please keep vehicles 
locked at all times. 
 
 
 
Advising/Counseling 
 
MBC staff makes every effort to maintain close communication with its students. Students have access to the 
faculty and administrative staff for vocational and academic advising.  
 
Housing 
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Although Moler Barber College does not provide housing, Student Services can assist in arranging a hotel, 
apartment, or homestay for students who wish to live near campus or in The Oakland area. 
 
Entrance Counseling  
 
Federal Direct Loan borrowers must complete Student Loan Entrance Counseling Borrowing student loans is a 
serious financial obligation that may have long term consequences if the student is not informed as to how the 
loan process works. Entrance counseling will provide you with the important information you need to know to 
be able to make an informed decision about student loan borrowing. Entrance counseling must be completed 
before the Financial Aid office will accept and process your loan application. Student Loan Entrance 
Counseling is completed on orientation day 
 
Exit Loan Counseling 
 
Federal regulations governing the Federal Stafford Loan program specify that loan recipient(s) must complete 
Exit Loan Counseling upon graduation or withdrawal or falling below half time attendance. Exit Counseling 
enables students to become informed borrowers by providing valuable information concerning loan repayment 
options, deferments, loan consolidation, borrower rights and responsibilities, and debt management strategies. 
The counseling session also gives students an opportunity to update their personal and contact information. 
Exit Counseling can be completed on either paper format on campus, mailed correspondence or via electronic 
format at:  
 
www.nslds.ed.gov 
 
Vaccination Policy 
 
Although not a requirement to gain admissions into the school, MBC strongly recommends for young adults to 
be up to date with the following immunizations listed below:  
 
MMR (Measles, Mumps, Rubella)  Measles, mumps and rubella are serious diseases. The Measles virus can 
cause rash, coughing, runny nose, eye irritation and fever. It can lead to ear infection, pneumonia, seizures 
(jerking and staring), brain damage, and death. Mumps virus causes fever headache, and swollen glands. It 
can lead to deafness, meningitis (infection of the brain and spinal cord covering), painful swelling of the 
testicles or ovaries, and, even death. Rubella Virus (German Measles) can cause rash, mild fever, and arthritis 
(mostly in women). If a woman gets rubella while she is pregnant, she could  have a miscarriage or her baby 
could be born with serious birth defects. You or your child could catch these diseases by being around 
someone who has them. They can be contracted by another person through the air. Measles, Mumps and 
Rubella (MMR) vaccine can prevent these diseases. Children should get 2 doses of MMR Vaccine, the first at 
12-15 months of age and the second at 4-6 years of age. These are recommended ages. Children can get the 
second dose at any age, as long as it is 28 days after the first dose. 
 
Meningococcal Meningitis– Meningococcal disease is a serious bacterial illness. It is a leading cause of 
bacterial meningitis in children 2 through 18 years old in the United States. Meningitis is an infection of the fluid 
surrounding the brain and spinal cord. Meningococcal disease also causes blood infections. Anyone can get 
meningococcal disease, but it is most common in infants less than one year of age and people with certain 
medical conditions, such as a lack of a spleen. College freshmen who live in dormitories and teenagers 15-19 
have an increased risk of getting meningococcal disease. There are two kinds of meningococcal vaccines in 
the U.S. Meningococcal conjugate vaccine (MCV4) was licensed in 2005. It is the preferred vaccine for people 
2 through 55 years of age. Meningococcal Polysaccharide Vaccine (MPSV4) has been available since the 
1970s. It may be used if MCV4 is not available, and is the only meningococcal vaccine licensed for people 
older than 55. Children 2 years of age and older should get 1 dose. Sometimes a second dose is 
recommended for people who remain at high risk. MPSV4 may be recommended for children 3 months to 2 
years of age under special circumstances. These children should get 2 doses, 3 months apart. 
 
Hepatitis B– Hepatitis B is a serious disease that affects the liver. It is caused by the Hepatitis B Virus (HBV). 
HBV can cause acute (short-term) illness and can lead to loss of appetite, diarrhea and vomiting, tiredness, 
jaundice (yellow skin and eyes), pain in muscles, joints, and stomach. Acute illness is more common in adults. 
Children who become infected usually do not have acute illness. Chronic (long-term) infection can cause some 
people to go on and develop chronic HBV infection. This can be very serious, and often leads to liver damage 
(cirrhosis), liver cancer and death. Chronic infection is more common among infants and children than among 
adults. People who are infected can spread HBV to others, even if they don’t appear sick. The Hepatitis B virus 
can spread through contact with the blood or other bodily fluids of an infected person. The Hepatitis B vaccine 
can prevent Hepatitis B, and the serious consequences of HBV infection, including liver cancer and cirrhosis. 
All children should get their first dose of hepatitis B vaccine at birth and should have completed the vaccine 
series by 6 to 18 months of age. Children and adolescents through 18 years of age who did not get the vaccine 
when they were younger should also be vaccinated. 
 
Copyright Infringement Policy   

file:///C:/Users/CQuattro/AppData/Local/Temp/www.nslds.ed.gov
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Copyright infringement is the act of exercising, without permission or legal authority, one or more of 

the exclusive rights granted to the copyright owner under section 106 of the Copyright Act (Title 17 of 

the United States Code). These rights include the right to reproduce or distribute a copyrighted work. 

In the file-sharing context, downloading or uploading substantial parts of a copyrighted work without 

authority constitutes an infringement. Penalties for copyright infringement include civil and criminal 

penalties. In general, anyone found liable for civil copyright infringement may be ordered to pay either 

actual damages or "statutory" damages affixed at not less than $750 and not more than $30,000 per 

work infringed. For "willful" infringement, a court may award up to $150,000 per work infringed. A 

court can, in its discretion, also assess costs and attorneys' fees. For details, see Title 17, United 

States Code, Sections 504, 505. Willful copyright infringement can also result in criminal penalties, 

including imprisonment of up to five years and fines of up to $250,000 per offense. For more 

information, please see the Web site of the U.S. Copyright Office at www.copyright.gov, especially 

their FAQ's at www.copyright.gov/help/fag. 

The Moler Barber College may make computers available to students in our class room. However, the 

use of the computers is limited to text-editing programs and/or digital media that the MBC has created 

internally or has permission to use from publishers of student textbooks. Internet access is blocked for 

most sites except for MBC’s web page.  Moler Barber College does not tolerate unethical conduct in 

regard to cheating, plagiarism, copyright infringement, falsification or misrepresentation of material 

information in any records, financial documents or sign-in sheets, whether inadvertent or deliberate.  

Engaging in the unauthorized use or distribution of copyrighted material may result in probation, 

suspension, or termination/expulsion.  

 

Constitution and Citizenship Day   

Pursuant to legislation passed by Congress, educational institutions receiving Federal funding are 

required to hold an educational program pertaining to the United States Constitution on September 

17 of each year. MBC presents programs pertaining to the United States Constitution on September 

17 of each year.  

 

Voter Registration  

In California you may register to vote by completing the online voter registration form at: 

https://www.sos.ca.gov/nvrc/fedform/and then mailing it to the pre-printed address on the form. You 

may also register to vote whenever you apply for or renew your driver's license or state-issued ID 

card. Voter registration forms are also available in the Admissions and Financial Aid offices at each 

campus. For more information, please visit the California Secretary of State website at: 

http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/electionsvr.htm.  

Moler Barber College has Voter Registration Forms available at the front counter of the school. 

Financial Aid Code of Conduct  

The aid personnel [HEOA § 487 (a)(25)). Any Moler Barber College, officer, employee, or agent who has 
responsibilities with respect to student educational loans must comply with this code of conduct. The following 
provisions bring Moler Barber College, into compliance with the federal law [HEOA § 487 (e)).  

1.Neither Moler Barber College as an institution, nor any individual officer, employee or agent shall enter into 
any revenue-sharing arrangements with any lender. A revenue-sharing arrangement means an arrangement 
between the Barber College and a lender under which the lender provides or issues loans to students attending 
the Barber College or to the families of such students; and the Barber College recommends the lender or the 
loan products of the lender and in exchange, the lender pays a fee or provides other material benefits, including 
revenue or profit sharing, to the Barber College or their agents.  

2.No officer or employee of the Barber College who is employed in the financial aid office or who otherwise has 
responsibilities with respect to education loans, or agent who has responsibilities with respect to education loans, 
or any of their family members, shall solicit or accept any gift from a lender, guarantor, or servicer of education 
loans. For purposes of this prohibition, the term "gift" means any gratuity, favor, discount, entertainment, 
hospitality, loan, or other item having a monetary value of more than a de minimus amount.  

3.An officer or employee of the Barber College who is employed in the financial aid office or who otherwise has 
responsibilities with respect to education loans, or an agent who has responsibilities with respect to education 
loans, shall not accept from any lender or affiliate of any lender any fee, payment, or other financial benefit 

http://www.copyright.gov,/
http://www.copyright.gov/help/fag.
http://https/www.sos.ca.gov/nvrc/fedform/
http://www.sos.ca.gov/elections/electionsvr.htm
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(including the opportunity to purchase stock) as compensation for any type of consulting arrangement or other 
contract to provide services to a lender or on behalf of a lender relating to education loans.  

4.The Barber College shall not: a) for any first-time borrower, assign, through award packaging or other methods, 
the borrower's loan to a particular lender; or b) refuse to certify, or delay certification of, any loan based on the 
borrower's selection of a particular lender or guaranty agency.  

5.The Barber College shall not request or accept from any lender any offer of funds to be used for private 
education loans, including funds for an opportunity pool loan, to students in exchange for the institution providing 
concessions or promises regarding providing the lender with: a) a specified number of private educational loans 
(non-Title IV loans) or loans made, insured, or guaranteed under Title IV; b) a specified loan volume of such 
loans; or c) a preferred lender arrangement for such loans.  

6.The Barber College shall not request or accept from any lender any assistance with call center staffing or 
financial aid office staffing.  

7.Any employee who is employed in the financial aid office, or who otherwise has responsibilities with respect to 
education loans or other student financial aid, and who serves on an advisory board, commission, or group 
established by a lender, guarantor, or group of lenders or guarantors, shall be prohibited from receiving anything 
of value from the lender, guarantor, or group of lenders or guarantors, except that the employee may be 
reimbursed for reasonable expenses incurred in serving on such advisory board, commission or group.  
Recruiter Compensation/Incentive Policy 

Section 487(a)(20) of the Higher Education Act (HEA) prohibits the college from providing incentive 
compensation to employees or third party entities for their success in securing student enrollments or the 
awarding of Title IV HEA program funds. 
Background of the law 
This strict ban on providing incentive compensation for performing these activities is part of a larger set of 
Program Integrity Rules issued by the Department of Education (DOE) in 2010 with an effective date July 1, 
2011. These rules cover a broad array of issues intended to promote integrity in higher education programs by 
protecting students as consumers and by stemming perceived abuses of Title IV program funds perpetuated 
by a minority of institutions. The rules apply to all Title IV eligible institutions. 
Definitions and scope: 
Commission, bonus, or other incentive payment: Commission, bonus, or other incentive payment means a sum 
of money or something of value, other than a fixed salary or wages, paid to or given to a person or an entity for 
services rendered. Covered individuals: Any person or entity engaged in restricted activities. 
Restricted activities: 
1. Recruiting or admissions activities related to success in securing student enrollments; and 
2. Making decisions regarding the awarding of Title IV HEA program funds. 
Ban on incentive compensation 
Moler Barber College may not provide any commission, bonus, or other incentive payment based in any part, 
directly or indirectly, upon success in securing enrollments or awarding of federal financial aid, to any person or 
entity engaged in any student recruitment or admissions activity or in making decisions regarding the award of 
Title IV funds. 
Policy Regarding Fraud and Abuse 

Should fraud or abuse be detected or suspected, report it to the Director of the Financial Aid.  The Director will 

consult with the school’s legal counsel prior to referring it for investigation to the Office of the Inspector General 

of the Department of Education or any agency outside the school. 

All credible information indicating that an applicant for Title IV may have engaged in fraud or other criminal 

conduct will be provided. Fraud is an intent to deceive as opposed to a mistake. In addition we will refer any 

third-party servicer who may have engaged in fraud, breach of fiduciary responsibility, or other illegal conduct 

involving the FSA Programs.  

OIG Address and Phone Numbers 

 

Office of Inspector General 

U.S. Department of Education 

400 Maryland Avenue, SW 

Washington, DC 20202-1510 

 

1-800-MIS-USED 

 

Email: oig.hotline@ed.gov 

 

Web: http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/oig/hotline.html  

 

http://www.ed.gov/about/offices/list/oig/hotline.html
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OIG Regional Offices Telephone Numbers 

Boston, MA (617) 289-0174  
Inspector General’s Hotline 
New York, NY (646) 428-3861 
Philadelphia, PA (215) 656-6900 
Atlanta, GA (404) 562-6460 
Chicago, IL (312) 730-1620 
Dallas, TX (214) 661-9530 
Denver, CO (303) 844-0058 
Kansas City, MO (816) 268-0530 
Long Beach, CA (562) 980-4141 
San Juan, PR (787) 766-6278
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Financial Aid Office  

Policy Manual  

2016 

This manual outlines the policies and procedures followed by the financial aid staff of Moler Barber College. The policies 
and procedures are determined based on the regulation of the FSA Handbook and the California Education Code.  
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SECTION 1 -  Introduction  

Introduction to the Financial Aid Office  
  
Moler Barber College Financial Aid Office is committed to helping students realize their educational 
goals by providing financial guidance throughout the course of their enrollment:  
  
Hours of operation:   

4pm to 7pm,  Monday 
10:00am - 7:pm, Tuesday - Friday 
Fax and telephone numbers:  
Phone:  (510) 652-4177  
Fax:  (925)233-1414 
E-mail address:  finaid@moler.org  or cquattro@moler.org 
Web site:  

www.moler.org  
  
Purpose & Philosophy of the Financial Aid Office  
  
Moler Barber College is dedicated to providing access to vocational education and a practical, hands-
on quality learning environment that is flexible and accessible to a geographically diverse and 
multicultural population.  The College is committed to preparing students with the requisite 
knowledge and skills needed for successful careers in today’s rapidly changing and complex 
employment marketplace. 

Operative financial aid principles: Guiding students in the right path financially from start to finish.  

Operating as an advocate for the student by ensuring effective counseling. 
Remaining 100% compliant with DOE regulations.   
Moler Barber College is dedicated in helping student’s develop  toward their intellectual potential, 
acquire new skills and knowledge to prepare them for a career in barbering. 
 
Responsible Personnel 

The Director of Student Financial Services is responsible for ensuring policies are reviewed and 
revised as needed depending on the demand of the college. When a new policy is needed it is 
quickly implemented and updated to the P&P manual for distribution in the financial aid 
department.  

  
Documents & Methods  



 

Moler Barber College Financial Aid Policy Manual Page 4  

Moler Barber College receives updates from ED on regulatory changes by information received from 
the Information for Financial Aid Professionals (IFAP) website as well as from outside Financial Aid 
Consultants.    

Publications might include but are not limited to:  
Federal Registers – both Notices of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRMs) and Final Rules  
The Audit Guide or appropriate OMB circulars  
Federal Student Aid Handbooks  
The Blue Book  
Compilations of Federal Regulations  
Dear Colleague/Partner Letters  
Policy Bulletins  
Electronic Announcements  

Section 2 – Financial Aid Programs  

Federal Aid Programs in Which Institution Participates   

A. Moler Barber College Participates in the following Federal Financial Aid Programs:  

1. Federal Pell Grant  
2. Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant  
3. Federal Direct Subsidized Stafford Loan  
4. Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford Loan  
5. Federal Direct PLUS Loan  

1. Federal Pell Grant  
The Federal Pell Grant is designed to assist undergraduate students who desire to continue 
their education beyond high school and can demonstrate need. Every student is entitled to 
apply for a Federal Pell Grant. Eligibility is determined by a standard U.S. Department of 
Education formula, which uses family size, income, and resources to determine need. The 
actual amount of the award is based upon the cost of attendance, enrollment status, and 
the amount of money appropriated by Congress to fund the program. The Federal Pell 
Grant makes it possible to provide a foundation of financial aid to help defray the costs of a 
post secondary education.   
  
  

2. Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant  
The Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) is available to 
undergraduate students who have not earned a bachelor's or professional degree. When 
determining the priority-based order in which students will be awarded FSEOG funds, Moler 
Barber College considers those students with exceptional financial need who will also be 
receiving Federal Pell Grant monies.  
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3. Federal Direct Subsidized Loan  

Federal Subsidized Loans, available through the William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan 
Program, are low-interest loans made to the student by the U.S. Department of Education. 
The loan must be used to pay for direct and/or indirect educational expenses. Subsidized 
loans are need-based, while unsubsidized loans are not. Repayment begins six months after 
the student graduates, withdraws from school, or falls below half-time enrollment status.  
  

4. Federal Direct Unsubsidized Loan  
Federal Unsubsidized Loans, available through the William D. Ford Federal Direct Loan 
Program, are low-interest loans made to the student by the U.S. Department of Education. 
The loan must be used to pay for direct and/or indirect educational expenses. Unsubsidized 
loans are interest bearing as soon as the loan is disbursed. Repayment begins six months 
after the student graduates, withdraws from school, or falls below half-time enrollment 
status. 

5. Federal Direct PLUS Loan  
The Federal Direct PLUS Loan is available to parents of dependent undergraduate students. 
These loans are not based on need; however, when combined with other resources, the 
loan value cannot exceed the student's cost of attendance. A credit check is required, and 
either or both parents may borrow through this program. Repayment begins within 60 days 
of final disbursement of the loan within a loan period. 

B. Other Aid Programs  
1. Veteran’s Benefits  

 
 

Section 3 - Standards of Progress  

In accordance with the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended, and Moler Barber College 
establishes the following Standards of Progress:  
  
These standards apply to all students who apply for and receive student financial aid from the 
following programs:  
  
Federal Pell Grant  
Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)  
Federal Direct Loan Program – including PLUS loans  
  
Students who are in default on a student loan or who owe a repayment to a Title IV program, from any 
institution, are not eligible for federal student financial aid. If a student owes a repayment to a Title IV 
program, the debt must be cleared before any federal financial aid will be awarded and disbursed.   
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A. General Requirements  
Federal regulations require student financial aid recipients to either have graduated from high 
school or have completed a recognized equivalent – GED.   

B. Check Disbursement  
Student financial aid stipend disbursements are made electronically to the schools operating 
fund account.   A report is sent from FAME notifying Financial Aid of the students who have 
received payment with the check # and date if distribution. This is posted on the students’ 
payment card in Financial Aid Office.    

C. Satisfactory Academic Progress  
Students receiving student financial aid are required to make satisfactory academic progress 
toward their educational goal or lose eligibility for student financial aid. Satisfaction is based 
upon: clock hours.  

    
SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS   
All students are required to maintain satisfactory academic progress. A student maintaining 
satisfactory progress is considered to be in good standing, and is eligible to continue his or 
her enrollment and to graduate. In addition, satisfactory academic progress is required to 
maintain financial aid eligibility. See the Financial Aid section of this catalog to learn more 
about the impact of progress upon Financial Aid eligibility.   
  

4. Student Loans  
  

A. Alternative and/or Private Loans.  
The Financial Aid Office at Moler Barber College does not currently accept Alternative/Private 
Loans.  
B. Federal Direct Loan Program  
Moler Barber College participates in the Direct Loan Program. It is the philosophy of the 
Moler Barber College Financial Aid Office that loans should be taken out as the last 
alternative for financing a student's education, and only in the amount needed to cover 
institutional charges. It is also recognized that in many cases, a student loan may be the only 
viable alternative for meeting educational expenses.  
C. Packaging Policy  
All students who have unmet need after all other student financial aid has been awarded, 
may borrow a subsidized loan up to the amount of their unmet need or statutory amount, 
whichever is less.  After award of their subsidized loan, students are eligible for their 
unsubsidized loan as needed and dependant on their individual packaging circumstances. 
Moler Barber College encourages students to borrow the minimum amount necessary to 
complete their training at our institution. 
D. Withdrawal during the Loan Period  
If a student withdraws during the loan period, our policy is to return the remainder of the loan 
minus tuition covered.  
E. Entrance Interview  
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Entrance interviews, covering all the information required by federal regulations, are available 
throughout the year online at studentloans.gov. This must be completed prior to the loan being 
certified .  
F. Exit Interview  
Entrance interviews, covering all the information required by federal regulations, are available 
throughout the year online at studentloans.gov.  All students must complete an Exit Interview 
upon leaving Moler Barber College  
 
 
G. Default Management  
Moler Barber College is committed to default management.  All default management 
activities are completed by Results Default Management.  
H. Previous Defaults  
Students who have previously borrowed from an educational loan program and have 
defaulted on such a loan will be eligible to borrow a loan at Moler Barber College once they 
have paid the previous loan in full; have consolidated a previously defaulted loan or have 
made satisfactory repayment arrangements, defined as having made six consecutive 
monthly on-time payments. The student must provide documentation from the holder of the 
loan indicating that a satisfactory repayment plan has been approved and nine consecutive 
monthly on-time payments have been made or a promissory note marked 'paid in full." A 
student who has repaid a previously defaulted loan in full, made satisfactory repayment 
arrangements, or otherwise resolved the default regains eligibility for financial assistance. 
For Pell Grant only, the student is eligible once the default is resolved.  

  
A student with a previously defaulted student loan, who has had the loan repaid by 
involuntary means (i.e. income tax refund withheld) has not demonstrated a willingness to 
repay the debt. Thus, Moler Barber College may refuse to process a loan for such a student on 
a case-by-case basis. The student will be notified of this decision.  

K. Grace Periods  
For the purpose of establishing the beginning of your repayment period if you are a 
National Direct Student Loan (NDSL), the six month initial grace period for NDSLs excludes 
any period during which you are a member of a reserve component of the Armed Forces 
named in section 10101 of Title 10, United States Code, and you are called or ordered to 
active duty for a period of more than 30 days. Any single period excluded from your grace 
period may not exceed three years and includes the time necessary for you to resume 
enrollment at the next available regular enrollment period. You must notify the school that 
made your loan of the beginning and ending dates of your service, and the date you resume 
enrollment. If you have an NDSL and are in your initial grace period when called or ordered 
to active duty, you are entitled to a new six or nine month initial grace period upon 
completion of the excluded period.  

        
L. Student Loan Ombudsman  

If you dispute the terms of your NDSL in writing and the holder of your loan is unable to 
resolve the dispute, you may seek the assistance of the Department of Education's Student 
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Loan Ombudsman. The Student Loan Ombudsman will review and attempt to informally 
resolve your dispute and may be reached at 1-877-557-2575.  

  
5. Verification  

  
A. Verification Policy  
Verification is the process by which the FAA compares the information on the student 
financial aid application with source documents provided by the student to verify the 
accuracy of the application information. These policies are to be used in conjunction with 
the Department of Education verification guidelines.  Moler Barber College will verify the 
information on the ISIR for all students who complete the application process for federal 
student financial aid and who are selected for verification by the Department of Education 
edits. In addition, Moler Barber College may select files for verification to resolve 
conflicting information.    

  
At Moler Barber College, student financial aid will not be awarded to those selected for 
verification until all documents required are submitted and the verification has been 
completed.  

  
If a student withdraws from all classes before verification is completed, the student must 
provide the necessary documents for verification within 45 days of the withdrawal date in 
order to receive a post withdrawal disbursement. 
B. Verification Deadlines  
The following deadlines, regulated by the U.S. Department of Education, will be followed at 
Moler Barber College.  If Verification documents are not provided within 6 weeks of the 
student’s start date, the student will become a cash paying student, and 25% down 
payment on tuition is due immediately  
C. Corrections  
If discrepancies are found between the documents submitted for verification and the 
information on the ISIR, the following procedures will be used for making the corrections: 
ISIR – corrections to income or asset figures, household size, and dependency must be 
made in FAME and a new need analysis performed. If the corrections result in a changed 
EFC, the data is transmitted via FAME to the Central Processor to produce an electronic 
student aid report. Students will receive an acknowledgement from the DOE.  

  
Award changes – If corrections to the ISIR during verification result in a change in the 
student’s award, the student will be contacted to go over the revised award.  Financial aid 
notifications are produced as needed for new awards and changes to awards.  
D. Verification Selection  
Approximately 30% of a student financial aid population may be selected for verification 
by the Department of Education. The FAA at Moler Barber College will perform additional 
verifications on all students who have conflicting data in the file documents. 
E. Notification of Verification Requirements  
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Students will be notified of the documents that must be submitted to the FAA in order to 
complete verification by the Financial Aid Administrator.  
  
If a student or parent has filed a request for tax filing extension, a copy of the IRS Form 4868, 
“Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File U. S. Individual Income Tax Return” must 
be submitted to the FAA. This form will be acceptable, but no funds will be disbursed to the 
student until a signed copy of the 1040 is submitted. 
F. Items to be Verified  
Independent Status  
An independent student will be required to verify his/her status by filling out the dependency 
status information on the Independent Student Verification Worksheet. In addition, the specific 
application item that makes the student independent will be verified as follows:  
 Ward of the court—official letter describing situation.  
Legal dependent(s) other than a spouse—income information showing that the 
student has the resources to provide more than 50% of the dependents' support or 
the presence of TANF/CalWorks income on the SAR.  

  
Base Year Income From Work - Student  
Income Tax returns for the FAFSA completed and selected (must be signed by student or 
imprinted or signed by preparer), including all Schedules and Forms, are required of all 
students selected for verification who filed taxes. If the student did not file taxes and was not 
required to file taxes, (see “Who Must File”—Publication 17 from the Internal Revenue 
Service) copies of the student's W-2 forms are required. If a student was required to file taxes 
and did not, verification cannot proceed until the student completes the appropriate tax 
form. If the student worked but did not receive W-2 forms from his/her employer, the 
student must show the source and amount of that income on the Verification Worksheet.  

  
Base Year Income From Work - Parent  
Income Tax returns for the FAFSA completed and selected (must be signed by parent or 
imprinted or signed by preparer), including all Schedules, W-2 and Forms, are required 
from the parents of all dependent students selected for verification, unless the parent did 
not file a tax return and was not required to file a tax return. If the parents did not file 
taxes and were not required to file taxes, copies of the parents' W-2 forms are required. If 
the parents worked but did not receive W-2 forms from his/her employer, the parents 
must show the source and amount of that income on the Verification Worksheet.  

  
In the case where the student is unable to obtain his/her W-2 forms and, in the opinion of 
the professional staff member doing the verification, the W-2 form will not materially 
change the student’s income situation, the W-2 form may be waived. If a student or parent 
has filed a request for tax filing extension, a copy of IRS form 4868, "Application for 
Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual Income Tax Return" must be submitted 
to the Financial Aid Office. This form will be acceptable, but no funds will be disbursed to 
the student until the actual 1040 is submitted.  

Acceptable Copies of Tax Return Transcripts 
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All tax return transcripts from the IRS for the base year are acceptable 
 
Child Support  
Child support will be verified by self certification on the Verification Worksheet unless 
there is a discrepancy in the information submitted. In such a case, the student (or the 
students' parent, in the case of a dependent student) will be required to provide the 
Financial Aid Office with a copy of the divorce decree, or other appropriate document. 
Unless there is evidence to the contrary, it will be assumed that anyone on TANF/CalWorks 
is not receiving child support.  

  
Other Untaxed Income  
The following will be verified from the student's or the student's parents' 1040. (If taxes 
were not filed, there is no need to verify these items.)  
Untaxed payments to IRA/Keogh  
Foreign income exclusion  
The following will be verified from the student or parent’s W-2 form:  
401(K) Deferrals  
403(b) Elective Deferrals  
408(k) (6) Deferrals  
457(h) Employee Deferrals  
501(c) (18) (D) Deferrals  
Military Employee Basic Quarters and Subsistence and Combat Pay 
Business Income and Rental Properties  

  
Household Size  
If the student (and/or the student's parents) filed taxes in the previous year, household size 
will be verified by self certification on the Verification Worksheet. If the student (or the 
student's parents) did not file taxes in the previous year, household size will be verified by 
self certification on the Verification Worksheet.  
Number in College  
Number in college will be verified by self certification on the Verification Worksheet.  

  
Income Reduction – Dislocated Worker  
Income reductions will not normally be considered upon the student’s submission of the 
required documents. Criteria for determining those eligible for projecting income are as 
follows:  
If the student is dependent, the student or a parent whose income was reported on the 
previous year’s 1040 (that which is used to calculate this year’s EFC), must now be 
unemployed or have been unemployed earlier in the current year. If this is the case, the 
student or parent must have filed for and received unemployment benefits for at least four 
(4) months.  
Documentation of unemployment benefits and the date that they started must be presented 
to the Financial Aid Office. If one of the parents whose income was significant has died, a 
projected income may be done.  The student or parent will also give a written statement 
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regarding their specific situation.  FAME FAS may also request for additional documentation.  
If requested documentation is not provided, no income reduction will be made.  

        G.   Resolving Comments on the Student Aid Report  
The Moler Barber College Financial Aid Office uses the following criteria for resolution:  
  
1. If Immigration and Naturalization Services were unable to verify status as eligible 

noncitizens. we will photocopy the student’s most current immigration document and 
complete the INS form G-845S. The completed form and the photocopy will be mailed to 
the INS.  After being returned for the INS, documentation will be sent to FAME.    

2. Selective Service was unable to certify compliance with registration requirements. Self-
certification is acceptable for female students and male students born before January 1, 
1960.  

Male students will be instructed to contact the Selective Service Agency for confirmation of 
registration or a letter from Selective Service describing the individual student’s status. Any 
ambiguous or unfavorable responses will be forwarded to the FAA or designee who has the 
authority to determine if the student willfully avoided registration with Selective Service. If 
the FAA determines that the student willfully avoided registration with Selective Service, no 
Title IV aid will be awarded. No aid will be awarded until a response is received from Selective 
Service and/or a decision is made. Once this decision has been made it will carry forward to 
all academic years. 
3. Records indicate that default exits.  
Student will be instructed to contact the agency listed on the SAR or in NSLDS to resolve the 
default. It will be the responsibility of the student to secure documentation proving resolution 
of the default and to provide a copy of the documentation to the FAO. Acceptable 
documentation may include a letter from the current or last holder of the loan, a promissory 
note marked “paid in full”, or any written material clearly indicating the borrower has made at 
least nine consecutive monthly payments on the loan. No Title IV aid will be awarded to the 
student until the default issue is resolved.   

  
4. Name mismatch with NSLDS indicates that the social security number listed on the SAR 

matches a record in the National Student Loan Data System, but the name does not match.  
We will access NSLDS and review the data to determine how to resolve the mismatch.  
Only the provider of the data to NSLDS can change the data, therefore, the FAA and student will 
work through that entity.  

  
5. Social security number mismatch indicated will need resolution. No Title IV aid will be 

Awarded until this situation is resolved.  

No match on SSN – the social security number reported on the SAR is not a valid number.   If 
the student is correcting the number, no further resolution is needed. If the student insists that 
the number is accurate, he or she must get written documentation from the Social Security 
Administration verifying the number. The student must complete a new FAFSA with his/her 
correct social security number.  
SSN and name match, no DOB match – The birth date reported on the SAR does not match the 
Social Security Administration’s records.   
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The student will need to provide an explanation; note the explanation on the SAR or in the 
student file documentation. A correction will be made to the student’s ISIR.  
SSN match; no name match – The name reported on the SAR does not match the Social 
Security Administration’s records.   
The student must provide an explanation; document this explanation on the SAR and in the 
student file. If name mis-match is due to a nickname being used (i.e., Bob instead of Robert) no 
further action is required. If name mis-match is due to marital status or citizenship status the 
student must complete the name change with the Social Security Administration and provide 
the FAA with documentation of the name change. 
  

       H.   Conflicting Information and Resolutions  
In addition to reviewing application and data match information provided by the CPS, a school 
must have an adequate internal system to identify conflicting information—regardless of the 
source and regardless of whether the student is selected for verification. The school is 
responsible for reconciling any conflicting information that it has. All such discrepancies must 
be resolved before any FSA funds are disbursed to the student. If a discrepancy is discovered 
after disbursing FSA funds, the information must still be reconciled and appropriate action 
must be taken.  

  
Discrepant data with Admissions Office  
If a student has reported on his FAFSA that he does have a high school diploma or GED, and has 
reported on the Moler Barber College admissions application that he does not have a diploma 
or GED, the student is required to bring in the high school diploma or GED scores. If the student 
does not bring in one of these two documents, it will be assumed that a mistake was made on 
the FAFSA and the student will not be able to attend Moler Barber Collage until document is 
provided.  

  
Discrepant tax data  
Financial aid professionals are required to know: whether a person is required to file a tax 
return, what the correct filing status for a person should be, and that an individual cannot be 
claimed as an exemption by more than one person.  
If an individual is required to file taxes and did not file, he or she will be required to complete 
the appropriate tax form before processing of the financial aid application will continue. If it is 
discovered that a, student and spouse, or a dependent student’s married parents, have each 
filed as “head of household” the individuals will be required to amend the tax return and file 
under the correct filing status. It is not acceptable to simply add the two tax returns together.   
  
Cal Grant Eligibility  
It is necessary to verify financial eligibility for all new Cal Grant recipients who have been 
selected for verification. The current year Cal-Grant Income and Asset Ceilings must be used to 
determine if a new Cal Grant recipient continues to meet the financial criteria on a changed or 
corrected ISIR.  

  
Other discrepant information  
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No FSA funds will be disbursed until there is resolution on all conflicting information. If the 
conflict involves a previous award year, it must still be resolved as long as the student is 
attending Moler Barber College.  
The resolution is considered to be complete when a determination has been made as to which 
information is correct and that determination is noted in the comment screens of the student’s 
electronic file.  

  
6. Packaging Guidelines – 2010-2011  
  

A. Expected Family Contribution  
The expected family contribution used in awarding student financial aid at Moler Barber College 
will be that calculated by the central processor.  
REMINDER: It is permissible, under professional judgment, to change the student's contribution 
to more accurately reflect the financial strength of the student (and the student's parents).   

  
B. Neediest Students  
Title IV regulations require that FSEOG are awarded to the students with exceptional need, as  
determined by lowest family contribution.  At Moler Barber College, "students with extremely 
exceptional need" are those with a calculated EFC of zero and have a cash payment plan.  At 
Moler Barber College, "students with exceptional need" are those with a calculated EFC of zero. 
NOTE:  The FAA may, however, use professional judgment to change the family contribution to 
more accurately reflect the financial strength of the family.  

  
C. Packaging Priorities  

1. Federal Pell Grant  
2. FSEOG   
3. Cal Grant  
4. Federal Direct Loans  

  
1. Federal Pell Grant  
Federal Pell Grant will be awarded to when a student reaches appropriate hours for each 
disbursement.  
  
2. FSEOG  
To receive FSEOG, students must:  
A) Meet the "students with exceptional need" criteria, as defined above, and  
B) Be eligible for Federal Pell Grant.  
FSEOG award amounts:  
Legislated maximum: $4,000 per school year. minimum: $100 per  disbursement.  
Moler Barber College awards $100 academic year, for all newly enrolled students and students 
who are being repackaged that meet both “extremely exceptional” and “exceptional” need.  
Moler Barber College will award any remaining FSEOG to active students that have received 
Federal Aid and need a payment plan to cover institutional charges, or meet both “extremely 
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exceptional” and “exceptional” need.  FSEOG will be automatically packaged as noted above for 
all students who meet the eligibility criteria until allocation is exhausted.  
  
4. Cal-Grant  
For those students who are eligible for Cal-Grant, all students will have to submit their FAFSA by 
the annual March 2nd deadline.   Moler Barber College will send an electronic file of all Active 
student GPA’s to CSAC.  Cal-Grant will be awarded to students based on their eligibility provided 
by CSAC.  
  
5. Federal Direct Loans  
A) As a general policy, students will be awarded Federal Direct loans according to the packaging 
guidelines in the Federal Student Aid Handbook  

  
6.  Work Study  
Moler Barber College does not offer Federal Work Study.   

          
D. Overawards  

1. If the student has federal aid other than Federal Pell Grant, reduce the federal aid 
(other than Federal Pell) until the overaward is eliminated..  

2. If the student is overawarded, has Cal Grant, and has no federal financial aid (other 
than Federal Pell) that may be reduced, first meet with the student to determine if 
the student has an unusual situation that warrants an addition to the budget. If not, 
the Cal Grant will be reduced to stay within the budget.  

  
E. Professional Judgment  
Unusual circumstances of the student may cause the FAA to wish to make exceptions to the 
above guidelines. Professional judgment cannot be used to waive general student eligibility 
requirements or to circumvent the intent of the law or regulations. When exercising 
professional judgment, document the change by:  

1. Collecting documentation from the student describing their extenuating 
circumstance.  

2. Forward to a Financial Aid Manager for review  
3. Submit to FAME for review  

  
F. Student Budgets  
Student budgets are completed by FAME with information provided by Moler Barber College.    
Budgets vary based on student’s dependency status and living situation  

  
7. Federal Work Study  

Moler Barber College does not offer the Federal Work Study Program.   
8. Refund Policies  
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A. Cancellation and Refund Policy  
Following are the key terms and conditions of the College’s cancellation and refund policies:   
Student’s Right to Cancel:   

1. You have the right to cancel your agreement for a program of instruction, without 
any penalty or obligations, through attendance at the first class session or the 
seventh calendar day after enrollment, whichever is later. After the end of the 
cancellation period, you also have the right to stop school at any time; and you have 
the right to receive a pro rata refund if you have completed 60% or less of the 
scheduled days in the current payment period in your program through the last day 
of attendance.   

2. Cancellation may occur when the student provides a written notice of cancellation at 
the following addresses: Moler Barber College, 3815 Telegraph Ave., Oakland, CA 
94609. This can be done by mail or by hand delivery.   

3. The written notice, if sent by mail, is effective when deposited in the mail properly 
addressed with proper postage. The written notice of cancellation need not take any 
particular form and, however expressed, it is effective if it shows that the student no 
longer wishes to be bound by the Enrollment Agreement.   

4. If the Enrollment Agreement is cancelled the school will refund the student any 
money he/she paid, less a registration or administration fee not to exceed $125.00, 
and less any deduction for equipment not returned in good condition, within 45 days 
after the notice of cancellation is received.   

  
Withdrawal from the Program   
You may withdraw from the school at any time after the cancellation period (described above) 
and receive a pro rata refund for the current course if you have completed 60 percent or less of 
the scheduled days through the last day of attendance in that course. The refund will be less a 
registration fee not to exceed $125.00, STRF fee of $32.50 and less any deduction for 
equipment not returned in good condition, within 45 days of withdrawal. Any course that is 
completed with a grade is considered earned and the student will receive no refund.   
For the purpose of determining a refund under this section, a student shall be deemed to have 
withdrawn from a program of instruction when any of the following occurs:   
1. The student notifies the institution of the student’s withdrawal or as of the date of the 

student’s withdrawal, whichever is later.   
2. The institution terminates the student’s enrollment for failure to maintain satisfactory 

progress, failure to abide by the rules and regulations of the institution, absences in excess of 
maximum set forth by the institution, and/or failure to meet financial obligations to the 
School.   

3. The student has failed to attend class for 21 days.   
4. The student fails to return from a leave of absence.   

  
  CANCELLATION, WITHDRAWAL, AND REFUND RIGHTS    

1) The student has the right to cancel this agreement and obtain a refund of charges paid 
through attendance at the first class session or the seventh business day after enrollment 
whichever is later. Cancellation occurs when you give written notice of cancellation at the school 
address shown on the front page of this Agreement. You can do this by mail, in person or by fax. 
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The notice of cancellation, if mailed is effective when it is deposited in the mail, properly 
addressed with postage prepaid. If you cancel this agreement, the school will refund any money 
that you are due within 30 days after your notice is received.  
2) If the school has loaned you any equipment or library books, you must return them to the 
school within 10 days following the date of your notice of cancellation. If you fail to return this 
equipment or books in un-used and in good condition within a 10-day period, the school will 
deduct the cost of the equipment or books from any refund you are due.  Barber equipment, once 
used, is not returnable.   
3) You have the right to withdraw from Moler Barber College at any time. If you withdraw 
from the course of instruction after the cancellation period described in Part 1, the school will 
remit a refund minus the non-refundable registration fee of $125.00. And the non-refundable 
STRF fee of $32.50 (if applicable). You are obligated to pay only for the educational services you 
have received and any supplies or equipment that you have purchased. The refund shall be the 
amount you paid for instruction multiplied by a fraction. The fraction’s numerator is the number 
of hours of instruction that you have not received, but for which you have paid, the denominator 
shall be the total number of hours of instruction for which you have paid. If the amount you have 
paid is more than the amount that you owe, then a refund will be made within 30 days of 
withdrawal. If the amount that you owe is more than the amount that you paid then you will have 
to make arrangements to pay for the educational services that you have received.   

  
 HYPOTHETICAL REFUND EXAMPLE:  FOR 1500 HR COURSE  
Assume, upon enrollment in a 1500 hour course, you pay $11,842.50 for tuition, $125.00 for 
Registration, and $900.00 (fair market value) for books and supplies, $6.50 for STRF and withdraw after 
completing 100 hours (25%) without returning the books and supplies you obtained.  The registration 
fee and STRF fee are non-refundable therefore your refund will be calculated as follows:  

$11,842.50 the amount paid for tuition  
$     125.00 for registration fee (non-refundable)  
$     900.00 amount paid for books (not returned)  
$         6.50 amount paid for STRF (not refundable)  
$ 12,874.00 Total Paid  
  
   $ 11,842.50 x .25% = $2,960.63 Cost of instruction received.  
   $   2,960.63 Cost of instruction  
   $   8,881.87 Refund due to student  
  
If the student has received federal student financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of 
moneys not paid from federal financial aid program funds.  
  
5. For the purpose of determining the amount you owe, you shall be deemed to have withdrawn 
from the course when any of the following occurs: (a) You notify School of your withdrawal or the 
actual date of withdrawal; (b) School terminates your enrollment; (c) You fail to attend classes for a 
three week period; (d) You fail to return from a leave of absence. In this case, the date of withdrawal 
shall be deemed to be the last date of recorded attendance.   
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6. If any portion of your tuition was paid from loan proceeds, the refund will be sent to the 
lender or agency that guaranteed the loan. Any remaining refund amount will first be used to repay 
any student financial aid programs from which you received benefits, to the extent of benefits 
received. Any remaining amount will be paid to you.   
7. If the course is cancelled subsequent to a student's enrollment, the School shall at its option 
provide a refund of all monies paid or provide for completion of the course. If there is a closure at the 
School the student may be entitled to a refund according to the refund policy.   
8. If a student who has not had the opportunity to visit the school prior to enrollment opts to 
withdraw within three business days that student will be entitled to a full refund of tuition and fees 
paid.   
  
 B.   Federal Return to Title IV Refund Policy   

  
Moler Barber College Refund (Refund) and Federal Return of Title IV Funds (Return) policies are required 
when a student withdraws from all classes (Withdraws). These policies have been updated effective July 
1, 2011, in compliance with Federal Register dated October 29, 2010, section 668.22(b)(3) NOTE:  
Veterans have different Federal Return of Title IV Funds (Return) policies. Please contact your Veterans 
Education Benefits hotline to determine policy required for Veterans. 

  
Withdrawals include withdrawing from the program, academic dismissal and academic disqualification. 
The date on which a student officially notifies the Moler Barber College of their intent to withdraw will 
be used as the basis for calculating refunds and returns. In the absence of official notification of 
withdrawal, the withdrawal date will be determined in accordance with Federal Title IV requirements.   

  
Federal Return of Title IV Funds Policy  
Title IV funds will be returned by Moler Barber College (College) and/or the student as applicable, 
according to federal regulations. Federal Pell and Federal SEOG grants can be subject to return under 
the Title IV return calculation. Federal regulations require that funds be returned to their original source 
in the following order.  
  
1. Federal Unsubsidized Stafford Loan Program  
2. Federal Subsidized Stafford Loan Program  
3. Federal PLUS (Parent) Loan Program  
4. Federal Pell Grant Program  
5. Federal SEOG Grant Program  

  
Students who are subject to the Return of Title IV Funds Policy are:  

Students who are awarded Title IV loans and/or grants in the  financial period in which they have 
withdrawn. This includes funds that were or could have been disbursed under federal regulations, as 
students may be entitled to a Post Withdrawal Disbursement for funds that could have been disbursed 
by the withdrawal date but were not.  
 
9. Disbursements  
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 Approximately two or three days after electronically transmitting ISIRs are printed.  If there are any 
comments on the ISIRs, the Financial Aid Officer (FAO) is responsible for checking and resolving them.  
Comments that are usually appear on the ISIRs are:  

 Immigration & Naturalization Services (INS)  
 Selective Service  
 Loan Default  
 Verification  
 Name & Date of Birth do not match with Social Security Office  

 All comments require immediate attention and resolution.  FA funds are not to be disbursed until all 
comments are resolved and all required documents are collected.  

Method of payment is EFT; all student disbursements are made via Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).    
Disbursements are received electronically from FAME to designated funds accounts of the College. 
Funds are dispersed by posting on student’s payment cards  

Federal Pell Grant/ SEOG:  

The Federal Pell Grant is an entitlement program that is available to all undergraduate students.  The 
Grant cannot be used for any other purposes other than to pay for education.  

The maximum benefit for the Federal Pell Grant for 2012/2013-award year is $5550.  The Grant is 
disbursed into three payments. The first disbursement is scheduled after FAME processes    

The Student Financial Aid Office generates a Disbursement Batch Tracking report (ready to pay list) from 
the system administration (CMV) and verifies SAP eligibility and course load for the scheduled 
disbursements. Requests of eligible student disbursements are exported out to the U.S. Department of 
Education software (COD) via EDConnect by our third party processor, FAME.  Upon acceptance 
(origination/ disbursement document) by COD, the total amount is requested through the U.S. 
Department of Education (G5) system via internet by FAME INC.    

At receipt of Disbursement Batch Tracking report, Student Accounts department will review list for 
enrollment status and SAP. The list will be adjusted accordingly.  Once funds are deposited to schools 
account a second review of enrollment status will be conducted before the funds are posted to 
student’s account.  

For SEOG, funds are requested directly through G5 per Disbursement Batch Tracking report submitted 
to FAME INC. by the Financial Aid Office.  

10. 1098-T Information  
  

1098T information is generated annually by the Financial Aid Office and sent to all students by 
January 31st every year. General information for student use is on the web site and portal.  
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