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Massage and Bodywork Education Center is a private institution and is approved to operate by
the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education. Approval means that we are in compliance
with state standards as set forth in the Educational Code (California Private Postsecondary Act
of 2009).

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been answered by the
institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at P.O. Box
980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, www.bppe.ca.gov, (916) 431-6959, or by fax (916)
263-1897.

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an
enrollment agreement. You are also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact
Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an enroliment agreement.

Mission + Objectives

Massage and Bodywork Education Center in Oakdale California, is committed to giving
our students the education they need to work in the rewarding field of massage
therapy. Our program teaches the in-depth knowledge and skills required in the highest
in demand massage and bodywork modalities. We maintain high industry and
educational standards, therefore preparing students for all state and national licensing
exams. As a massage school, we aim to ensure that all graduates obtain CAMTC massage
certification, and leave as confident, knowledgeable, skilled professionals in the
massage industry.

In order to complete the mission the following objectives have been established:
» Provide a program that is frequently assessed and revised if need be by faculty,
staff, and members of the business and education communities.
» Provide thorough instruction that supports student academic achievement.
> Inspire students to value lifelong learning by awakening their academic curiosity.
» Provide services and resources that take care of the needs of students, faculty,
and staff.
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» Guide students in developing personal responsibility, initiative, a professional
mindset, ethics, and skills that will increase their potential for success in their
careers and in their lives.

» Provide graduates who can meet the needs of the massage and bodywork
profession, and benefit their community now and in the future.

Massage & Bodywork Education Center Course

Massage Therapy — 600 Hours

This course is set to give students a strong foundation of knowledge and massage
experience that will prepare them to enter the job market as a Massage Therapist;
United States Department of Labor’s Standard Occupational Classification code
#621399.

Grade Requirements in order to graduate:

» Student must have a passing quiz average

» Student must pass all practical exams

» Student must complete lab and clinic hours

» Student must pass the MBLEx mock final exam and lab exam

Massage Therapy 600 hour Course Outline:

P HISTOMY oot 4 hours
o Students will learn the history basic descriptions of multiple massage
modalities, and equipment used in each.
> Medical Terminology - eseeseseeseseereesens. 6 HOURS
o Students will be introduced to medical terms to be used in the anatomy,
physiology, and kinesiology classes offered at Massage and Bodywork
Education Center.
> Anatomy + Physiology ................................. 60 HOURS
o Students will learn all human muscular and skeletal anatomy, as well as
the structures and functions of all the body’s systems.
> Kinesiology 4 AP eererreriniiniiiiiiiiiiin 30 HOURS
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o Students will study body systems, as well as movements of the human
body

» Contraindications + Pathology :««««eeeseeeeeeee 40 HOURS
o Educates students on diseases and conditions which massage may not be a
suitable treatment.
» Healthy + Hygiene + Self-Care ::eeeeeveeeeeeen 20 HOURS
o Students will obtain the knowledge they need in health and hygiene in
order to protect both themselves as well as the client. Students will learn
self-care practices to prevent “burn out”.
» Ethics + Professionalism «eeooeeeeeseeenninnne 40 HOuRs
o Students will become aware and knowledgeable in the specific standards
of professional conduct for a certified or licensed massage therapist. This
will enable the students to conduct business ethically and within their
scope of practice.
> Swedish + Aromatherapy ............................ 182 HOURS
o Swedish massage is a popular and well-known massage modality. Students
will learn to work with the body’s soft tissues and muscles in order to
increase blood flow, lymph drainage, and relaxation. Aromatherapy, body
wraps, hot stone massage are included in this course.
> Deep Tissue + Shigtsu :-receerererererereeraeninnanene. 118 HOURS
o Deep tissue massage focuses on realigning connective tissue as well as
deeper layers of the muscles. Students will learn to work on clients with
chronic tension or pain. This course will focus on deeper work on the sub-
layers of the muscles to break down adhesions in muscles, tendons, and
ligaments.
> Reflexology .................................................. 22 HOURS
o Reflexology is the application of pressure on specified areas of the hands
and feet which correspond to the body’s organs and systems.

> Prenatal oceecerrerereerenii, 24 HOURS
o Students will gain the skills need to work safely and efficiently on mothers-
to-be.
3> Chair reeeeeeeererereereniiiiie 26 HOURS
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o Chair massage is performed in a special massage chair. This style of
massage is a great advertisement for practitioners and is commonly used
at public functions, fairs, and events.

> Business + Marketing .................................. 22 HOURS
o Whether students go on to work as an employee, renter, or entrepreneur,
this course gives them the basic business skills to run a successful massage
business.

The course will begin with a 30 minute consultation and a 5.5 hour orientation.
TOTAL HOURS eereererernneeerennannerenunneeennnnns 600 HOURS

The Massage Therapy course curriculum at Massage and Bodywork
Education Center includes the following hours:

Subject Lecture Hours Lab hours
Consultation and Orientation 6
Medical Terminology 6 -
Anatomy & Physiology 60 -
Kinesiology 30 -
Pathology/Contraindications 40 -
Health, Hygiene, & Self Care 20 -

History, Ethics & Professionalism 44 -
Business 22 -

Swedish 10 172
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Deep Tissue 10 34

Reflexology 2 20
Prenatal 2 22
Chair - 26
Clinic - 74

Total Hours-600

Facilities + EQuipment

Massage and Bodywork Education Center is located in the heart of historic
downtown Oakdale, California. Our main building is a quaint 1,100 square ft.
house, which was originally built in 1935. In addition to our two adjoining
classrooms, we have a student library, which includes reference books on
massage therapy and other bodywork related resources. There are clinic rooms
where students will earn lab and clinic hours. Massage and Bodywork Education
Center is fully equipped with tables, chairs, massage tables, massage chairs,
lotions, towels, oils, anatomical models, and a smart television for slides and
instructional videos.

Library

Massage and Bodywork Education Center has all required texts online (student
resource websites), as well as a library which copies of all required books/texts. These
books will be available on reserve, and may be used during classroom hours. These
reference materials include the Books of Discovery text books that are used in the
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program, as well as literature on other bodywork related subjects. All reference books
and materials in the library are property of Massage and Bodywork Education Center
and are not to be removed from the premises. For students that have absences and do
not receive classroom instruction, text books and study aids can also be accessed in the
student menu at booksofdiscovery.com.

Instructors

Michelle Lynn Scott, CMT — CAMTC #75679 — Owner/Director/Instructor

Michelle Scott was first certified to work as a massage therapist in 2000. She
attended school in Stockton, California — Orange, California — Oakdale, California —
and Hangzhou, China. Michelle has worked in many therapeutic environments
including; doctor’s offices, therapy centers, resorts, and day spas. With a deep
understanding and passion for bodywork, she has maintained a thriving private
practice in Oakdale, California since 2005.

Rianne Chase, CMT- CAMTC #85550- /nstructor

Rianne began her independent massage therapy business in 2018. She enjoys
guiding students to understand the human body, along with practicing detailed
bodywork.
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School Location
202 N. 2" Street
Oakdale, CA 95361
(209) 840-2560

Dorada Park o Ill

, Brennan Park

Map data @2018 Google

All classes will be held at this location unless otherwise informed.

Course Schedule

Massage Therapy 600 Hour course

Day course:
Days + Hours: Monday — Friday, 8:30AM — 5:30PM (30-minute lunch)

*Day course takes approximately 15 weeks to complete

Weekend course:
Days + Hours: Saturday-Sunday 8:30AM-5:30PM (30-minute lunch)
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*Weekend course schedule is 3 weeks on, one week off. Schedule begins in January,
with graduation in December.

Note: Schedule subject to change in order to accommodate holidays and the needs of
the instructors. Detailed hours and changes will be addressed on the first day of class.

Fees
Massage Therapy:
TUTTION #ereererrererenrenmeimtintittieterieiitireie et eter st e eteetertaststesasesestestaraasansanasnnees $9,000
Reg|strat|on Fee — non_refundable ................................................................... Sloo
Student Bundle — non-refundable (books, materials, insurance, etc.) -+« $400
STRF fee — non-refundable (assessed upon student registration) --«--«--eeeeeee $25.00
TOtal COSE seeversecescrseccrcasecscasecssecsccssecsccssecescssscescssscsscssssescssssessasssessesssense $9,525.00

3.5% additional charge for Visa + MasterCard or payment plan
All payments and receipts are recorded electronically through Mia Share.

Massage and Bodywork Education Center does NOT participate in any state or
federal financial aid programs. If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational
program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full amount of the loan
plus interest, less the amount of any refund. If the student has received federal student
financial aid funds, the student is entitled to a refund of the monies not paid from
federal student financial aid funds.

Tuition Payment Options:
» Option 1: Pay in full - $9,525
» A S25 late fee will be charged for non-payment of tuition over 3 days late. A
director’s approval is required in order to continue attending.
» There is a $25 fee for returned checks.
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Cancellation and Refund Rights

A student has the right to cancel the enrollment agreement and obtain a
refund of charges paid through attendance at the first class session, or the seventh day
after enrollment, whichever is later. Before the first day of class, a full refund will be
granted, minus the $100 registration fee. If class has already begun, and/or the student
has received their student bundle, the fees for these items are non-refundable. If a
student cancels the enrollment agreement prior to completing 60% of the course, a
refund will be granted based on the percentage of class time completed. Students who
have completed 60% of the course, or more, are not entitled to a refund. If a student
cancels the enrollment agreement on the first day of class, the student will be entitled
to a full refund minus the non-refundable charges.

Enrollment agreements must be cancelled in writing. Please include your name,
date of birth, date you wish to withdraw, and reason for withdrawal. Mail it or hand it in
to the school director. The refund will be calculated based on the postmark date, or the
date the form is handed to the school director. Your refund will be made within 30 days
of the postmark or hand in date. Any outstanding materials must be returned within a
week of the postmark or hand in date, or the full cost of new replacement equipment
will be subtracted from the remaining balance.

Withdrawals from the course may also take place due to student conduct, and student
attendance. Only tuition is refundable.

Withdrawal forms must be mailed to:
Massage and Bodywork Education Center

202 N. 2" Avenue
Oakdale, CA 95361

Tutoring

Individual tutoring services are available at a fee of $35 per hour if student progress is
below average.
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Prerequisites + Admission Reqguirements

Must be 18 years of age or older

Must have a high school diploma or GED

Must be in good health

Must be interviewed in person by the director before admission

If applicant is from another country, please note that visa services are not
provided and Massage and Bodywork Education Center cannot guarantee to
vouch for student status or any related charges.

VVVYVYY

Application Checklist

Copy of high school diploma or transcripts

Application (completely and legibly filled out)

Appointment for school tour, and interview with the director
$500 due at signing

ANANENEN

Attendance Requirements

Attendance is a mandatory requirement. You are expected to attend class. Students
must have a 90% attendance rate in order to graduate on expected date. Whether
missed hours are excused or unexcused, is at the discretion of the director. All
unexcused missed hours must be made up by special arrangement with an instructor,
and must be done promptly so that the student does not fall behind. Students may be
subject to the $35 per hour tutoring fee during the make-up hours.

*If the student fails to complete all course hours by the scheduled completed date,
there will be an additional fee of $40 per hour for finishing the course.

Absences — Absences may be excusable when the student notifies the instructor prior to
the start of class, and has a legitimate excuse (medical emergency, death in the family,
etc.).
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Tardiness — If a student is 15 minutes late that student is tardy. Three tardies will count
as 1 hour of absence from the course. Student is considered absent for the hour after 30
minutes or more of the hour has been missed.

Students who have 3 or more consecutive unexcused absence days will be placed on
academic probation. Academic probation lasts for 1 week, and during that week, if
there is another unexcused absence, the student may be dropped from the course.

Notice:

Applicants for CAMTC certification shall have attended 600 supervised hours total with
100 of those hours satisfying CAMTC requirements in the following subject areas:
Anatomy and Physiology, Contraindications, Health and Hygiene, and Business and
Ethics.

Attendance Tracking:

Hours will be recorded daily in accordance to their specified subject category (Anatomy,
Deep Tissue, Etc.) Absent hours must be made up in the subject categories missed.

Abllltyto-beneflt

Massage & Bodywork Education Center DOES NOT accept Ability-to-Benefit (ATB)

students. Massage & Bodywork Education Center DOES NOT offer an Ability-to-Benefit
exam, or any type of general skills test prior to applying for the Massage Therapy program.
Prospective students must show proof of high school completion certificate such as a diploma
or GED documentation in order to register in the program.

Leave of Absence

Leave of absences require a request to the director in writing. Requests will be
considered on an individual basis, and approval is at the discretion of the director. If a
student takes a leave of absence there is no guarantee that a space will be available for
that student upon their return, and that student may have to wait until there is room. If
a student owes money to the school at the time of their leave they must continue
making their regular payments (per contract) until they are caught up. Failure to make
payments on schedule will result in late fees and may lead to being dropped from the
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course. Failure to obtain leave of absence approval will result in the accumulation of
absences, which could ultimately end with the student dropped from the course.

Student Conduct

Students may be dismissed for any of the following reasons:
Disruptive/disrespectful behavior

Behavior that causes concern for safety

Excessive absences/tardiness

Being under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol during class
Possession of drugs and/or alcohol on school premises

Any behavior that does not conform to school policies

Failure to pay fees on schedule

YVVVVYVYYVYYVYY

Grading

Students will be evaluated and graded by attendance and participation, lab
quizzes/exams, and practical exams. Students must maintain a passing attendance and
quiz average at all time in each subject category. Each subject must be passed
independent of one another. There will be one practical midterm (a practical exam
consists of the student performing a massage that they will be graded on, per modality),
one practical final, and one cumulative comprehensive final. Each of these tests must be

completed.

Students of MBEC must participate in clinic hours. During clinical hours, students will
perform massage on members of the public, either at school or off school premises, but
always under the supervision of an instructor.

A student will be put on academic probation if their cumulative grade is below passing
for 3 consecutive weeks. The student must receive a week of passing grades in order to
be removed from academic probation. Failure to meet this objective may result in the
student being dropped from the course.
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Record Retention

Student records will be maintained by Massage and Bodywork Education Center
indefinitely. Massage and Bodywork Education Center uses Canvas online and private
files through RGM for each student to document student records. The school will also
maintain a second set of academic and financial records on site. Students are strongly
advised to keep copies of their transcripts and diploma.

Re-Enrollment after Dismissal

Students who wish to re-enroll after being dismissed may do so only at the discretion of
the director, and all matters and conditions that caused the initial dismissal must
already be resolved and rectified.

English-As-A-Second-Language

Massage and Bodywork Education Center does not offer English-as-a-second-
language instruction. Instructors only speak English. Students must be able to
understand and speak English at a conversational level. Students may not enroll in the
program if they do not speak English at the level the program is taught. This will be
assessed by the director in the initial face-to-face tour and interview. All lectures, texts,
and tests will be in English.
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Job Placement

Students will be provided with information on how to find jobs on their own, but
Massage and Bodywork Education Center does not provide formal job placement
assistance. This institution will give recommendations upon request to employers for
any student who has demonstrated professionalism and proficiency.

Complaints

All complaints should be made to the director via email-
mscott@massageandbodyedu.com. Complaints will be investigated in a timely manner.
A student or any member of the public may file a complaint about this institution with
the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education by calling toll-free

telephone #: (888) 370-7589 or by completing a complaint form, which can be obtained
on the bureau’s internet web site www.bppe.ca.gov.

Malpractice Insurance

All students are required to carry malpractice insurance. This insurance will be provided
by the school through the American Massage Therapy Association. Contact the school
for any additional questions.

Acceptance of Prior Education/Experience

Massage and Bodywork Education Center is not required to, but may grant
academic credit to students who have completed a comparable course at a CAMTC
approved institution or from an institution with a CAMTC approved curriculum.
Transfer hours may be acknowledged for equivalent courses documented by official
transcripts indicating hours of training. The transfer credit is solely at the discretion of
Massage and Bodywork Education Center. To apply for the acceptance of prior credits,
the student must pass a “Transfer of credits” exam. If the documented hours earned
at another CAMTC approved institution are not accepted by MBEC, the student may
be required to repeat those specified hours.
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The student must also provide the following:

1. An official transcript of the students’ prior completed classes, including start and finish
dates.

2. A copy of the catalog or course syllabi from the previous institution.

3. A minimum grade and attendance of 70% in prior course.

If the documented hours earned at another CAMTC approved institution are not
accepted by MBEC, the student may be required to repeat those specified hours.

Massage and Bodywork Education Center DOES NOT guarantee that transfer hours
will be accepted by the CAMTC to qualify for the MBLEX.

Massage and Bodywork Education Center DOES guarantee that hours earned at our
institution will be accepted by the CAMTC to qualify for the MBLEx.

NOTE: Massage & Bodywork Education Center will only accept up to 50% of prior credits
while enrolling in our program. If the student is granted with credit for prior courses taken,
they will be required to pay 50% of the cost of the individual classes if they choose not to
attend. This amount will be determined by subtracting 50% of the Massage Therapy course’s
hourly rate for the hours of that specific course. For example, if a course is 100 hours at
$12.50 and hour, the student will be required to pay $625 for that course

Credit + Credentials Transferability

NOTICE CONCERNING TRANSFERABILITY OF CREDITS AND CREDENTIALS EARNED AT OUR
INSTITUTION The transferability of credits you earn at Massage and Bodywork Education Center
is at the complete discretion of an institution to which you may seek to transfer. Acceptance of
the certificate you earn in massage therapy is also at the complete discretion of the institution
to which you may seek to transfer. If the credits or certificate that you earn at this institution
are not accepted at the institution to which you seek to transfer, you may be required to repeat
some or all of your coursework at that institution. For this reason you should make certain that
your attendance at this institution will meet your educational goals. This may include
contacting an institution to which you may seek to transfer after Massage and Bodywork
Education Center to determine if your credits or certificate will transfer.

Revised 01/2023 16



Student Tuition Recovery Fund

The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve
or mitigate economic loss suffered by a student in an educational program at a
qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while enrolled, or was enrolled
in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and
suffered an economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the
state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it must be paid on your behalf, if you are a
student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in a
residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the
STRF assessment, if you are not a California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency
program.

It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid
documents, receipts, or any other information that documents the amount paid to the
school. Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to the Bureau for Private
Postsecondary Education, 2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833,
(916) 431-6959 or (888) 370-7589.

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a California resident or are enrolled in a residency
program, prepaid tuition, paid or deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and
suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the
institution was closed or discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-
out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete a chosen teach-out plan approved
by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day
period before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, or were
enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before the program was
discontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days
before the closure of the institution or location of the institution, in an educational
program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau determined there was a
significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before
closure.
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4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to do
so.

5. The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student
loan program as required by law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by
the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an
arbitrator or court, based on a violation of this chapter by an institution or
representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the award from the
institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your
student loans and have an invoice for services rendered and evidence of the
cancellation of the student loan or loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4)
years from the date of the action or event that made the student eligible for recovery
from STRF.

A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt collector after a period of non-
collection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the
debt that would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four
(4) years since the action or event that made the student eligible, the student must have
filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year period, unless
the period has been extended by another act of law.

However, no claim can be paid to any student without a social security number or a
taxpayer identification number.”

For further STRF information or instructions contact:
BPPE (Bureau for Private Post-Secondary Education)
P.O. Box 980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818 (916) 431-6959
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Financial Statement of Responsibility Required by State
of California

Massage and Bodywork Education Center does not have a pending petition for
bankruptcy.

Massage and Bodywork Education Center is not operating as a debtor in possession.
Massage and Bodywork Education Center has not had a petition in bankruptcy filed
against it within the preceding 5 years that resulted in reorganization under Chapter 11
of the United States Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. Sec. 1101 at seq.)

Massage and Bodywork Education Center has never filed a petition, and has never
had a petition in bankruptcy filed against it.

Student Services

Massage and Bodywork Education Center offers one on one tutoring with and
instructor at $35/hour. Academic counseling will be provided for students with poor
grades, poor attendance, etc.

Housing

Massage and Bodywork Education Center does not provide dormitory or housing
facilities and has no responsibility to find or assist in finding housing. Housing is available
for rent near the institution, and may cost between $700 and $2000 per month.

Federal Accreditation

The course offered at Massage and Bodywork Education Center does not require
federal accreditation, and the course offered is not accredited by an accrediting agency
recognized by the United States Department of Education. This will not affect graduates
of Massage and Bodywork Education Center from becoming properly certified or
from working legally after graduation.
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Student Rights

Students of Massage and Bodywork Education Center have the right to attend
classes that maintain an environment where they do not feel harassed, threatened, or
made to feel uncomfortable by inappropriate communication of a discriminatory,
violent, or sexual nature. At Massage and Bodywork Education Center the safety and
overall wellbeing of all students is very important. Any behavior or communication that
is deemed inappropriate will not be tolerated as Massage and Bodywork Education
Center strongly enforces a zero-tolerance policy when it comes to such behaviors.
Students engaging in inappropriate behavior are subject to disciplinary action and may
be dismissed immediately. All misconduct should be reported to the director via the
grievance process that is listed in the section below.

Grievances

Any grievances should be addressed to the Director of Massage and Bodywork
Education Center, Michelle Scott. Initial grievance report should be in the form of a
signed letter for review and records purpose. The director will make all attempts to
reconcile any issues. In the event that the issue cannot be reconciled, students can
address grievances to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education; Physical address:
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833. Mailing Address: PO Box
980818, West Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, Phone: (916) 431-6959, Toll Free: (888) 370-
7589, Fax: (916) 263-1897

Requirements for CAMTC certification

As stated on the website www.CAMTC.org:

In order to obtain CAMTC Certification, an applicant must submit a fully completed application
and meet all of the following requirements:
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e Be 18 years of age or older;

e Pay the $200 fee;

e Submit fingerprints to an authorized agency in California for a Live Scan using only the
CAMTC form at Request for Live Scan Service (the authorized agencies charge you a fee
for this service) and pass a criminal background check;

e Have successfully completed, at a CAMTC approved school, curricula in massage and
related subjects totaling a minimum of 500 hours (or the credit unit equivalent), which
incorporates appropriate school assessment of student knowledge and skills. Of the 500
hours, a minimum of 100 hours shall be in anatomy and physiology, contraindications,
health and hygiene, and business and ethics; and

e Have not violated any of the provisions of the California Massage Therapy Act or any
policy, procedure, or regulation of CAMTC.

o If you feel this information is out of date, please check the CAMTC’s website for

the most current certification requirements.

CAMTC Required Statements

Pursuant to California Business and Professions Code section 4611, it is an unfair
business practice for a person to do any of the following:

(1) To hold himself or herself out or to use the title of “certified massage therapist”
or “certified massage practitioner,” or any other term, such as “licensed”,
“certified”, “CMT”, or “CMP”, in any manner whatsoever that implies or suggests
that the person is certified as a massage therapist or massage practitioner, unless
that person currently holds an active and valid certificate issued by the California
Massage Therapy Council.

(2) To falsely state or advertise or put out any sign or card or other device, or to
falsely represent to the public through any print or electronic media, that he or
she or any other individual is licensed, certified, or registered by a governmental
agency as a massage therapist or massage practitioner.

Attendance and/or graduation from a California Massage Therapy Council approved
school does not guarantee certification by CAMTC. Applicants for certification shall meet
all requirements as listed in California Business and Professions Code 4600 et. Seq.

A student or any member of the public with questions that have not been satisfactorily
answered by the school or who would like to file a complaint about this school may
contact the California Massage Therapy Council at:
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ONE CapPiTOL MALL, SUITE 320
SACRAMENTO, CA 95814
WWW.CAMTC.ORG
PHONE: (916) 669-5336
FAX: (916) 669-5337

Hygiene + Dress Code

Hygiene — Students must be clean at all times during class - especially when working
with the public. Nails and cuticles should be clean and trimmed. Hair should be clean
and worn in a fashion as not to interfere with the massage. Clothing and shoes must be
clean and presentable at all times. Hygiene and sanitation are important to prevent the
spread of disease. Hands must be washed with antibacterial soap and warm water
before and after every massage. If a student is sick that student will not be allowed to
participate in lab or clinical hours until they are better.

Dress Code — A uniform is not required at Massage and Bodywork Education Center.
Students are encouraged to dress in a comfortable yet professional manner. Students
should not wear clothing that is dirty, tattered, see-through, or too revealing. Students
should not wear midriffs or crop tops, sleepwear, swimwear, short shorts or skirts, or
clothing that displays inappropriate language or graphics. For client comfort and
sanitary purposes, students should remove rings, watches, bracelets, and long necklaces
while performing a massage. Appropriate attire is subject to the discretion of the
director.
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Summary of Graduation Requirements

Attend all 600 hours of the course.

Have a passing average in all subject areas and all final exams.
Complete and pass lab requirements.

Pay all school fees.

PwnNeE

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily
answered by the institution may be directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education at
2535 Capitol Oaks Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95833 or P.O. Box 980818, West
Sacramento, CA 95798-0818, www.bppe.ca.gov, (888) 370- 7589 or by fax (916) 263-1897
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