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APPROVAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

LU ROSS ACADEMY, a private institution, located at 470 East Thompson Blvd., Ventura CA 93001, was granted
institutional approval to operate from the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education pursuant to California Private
Postsecondary Education Act of 2009. Approval to operate means compliance with state standards and does not imply
any endorsement or recommendation by the state or that the Bureau approval means the Institution exceeds minimum
State standards. All in-person classes are held at 470 E. Thompson Bivd., and at the Secondary Facility located at 93 S.
Chestnut St., Ventura CA 93001. The following courses have been approved:

Program Location Clock Hours/Credit Hours
Hybrid Cosmetology 470 E. Thompson Blvd 1250 Clock Hours
Cosmetology 470 E. Thompson Blvd 11250 Clock Hours
Hybrid Barbering 93 8. Chestnut St 1000 Clock Hours
Barbering 93 S. Chestnut St 1000 Clock Hours

esthetics 470 E. Thompson Bivd  [600 Clock Hours
Hybrid Aesthetics 470 E. Thompson Bivd 1600 Clock Hours
Manicuring 470 E. Thompson Blvd 1600 Clock Hours
Hybrid Manicuring 470 E. Thompson Bivd (600 Clock Hours
Beauty Makeup Artistry  |470 E. Thompson Blvd |6 Quarter Credits {120 contact hours)
Barber Crossover 93 S. Chestnut St 200 Clock Hours

The state of California requires 1000 hours to be licensed as a cosmetologist; however, the School is approved by the
state to offer a 1250-hour cosmetology course. Within the additional 250 hours, students will be introduced to additional
training in cutting, hair coloring, perming, skin care, and makeup.

As a prospective student, you are encouraged to review this catalog prior to signing an enrolliment agreement. You are
also encouraged to review the School Performance Fact Sheet, which must be provided to you prior to signing an
enrollment agreement. The School Performance Fact Sheets are on the school website, www.lurossacademy.com under
Disclosures. All written materials are in English and all programs are taught in English.

California statute requires that a student who successiully completes a course of study be awarded an appropriate
diploma/ certificate or transcript verifying the fact.

Any questions a student may have regarding this catalog that have not been satisfactorily answered by the institution may be
directed to the Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education (BPPE) at Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education
1747 North Market, Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8900 www.bppe.ca.gov.

The office of Student Assistance and Relief is available to support prospective students, current students, or past students
of private postsecondary educational institutions in making informed decisions, understanding their rights, and navigating
available services and relief options. The office may be reached by calling (888) 370-7589, option #5, or by visiting
osar.bppe.ca.gov

Lu Ross Academy is nationally accredited by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences
(NACCAS). Any questions regarding accreditation should be directed to The National Accrediting Commission of
Career Arts and Sciences, 3015 Colvin St., Alexandria, VA 22314, (703) 600-7600 www.naccas.org

Lu Ross Academy has never filed for bankruptcy petition, operated as a debtor in possession or had a petition of
bankruptcy filed against them under Federal law.

All information contained in this school catalog is current and correct and is certified by Ken Boyle, President.



CLASS START CALENDAR

Day and evening class starts are offered depending on the specific program. Please see the Admissions Advisor for the
specific scheduled start dates for each month. Cosmetology, Barbering, Barber Crossover, Aesthetics, and Manicuring
start every other month. For the Beauty Makeup Artistry Class, please call the Admissions Advisor for start dates. Please
See Class Calendar Catalog Addendum for Class Start Dates.

A clock hour is defined as a period of sixty (60) minutes with a minimum of fifty (50) minutes of instruction

TUITION AND FEES

The school reserves the right to change tuition and fees, make curriculum changes when necessary, and make
substitutions in books and kits as required without prior notice. Any changes in tuition or fees will not affect students
already enrolled.

Total Course Institutional Tuition and Charges

Cosmetology | Barbering ane:uty Barber C

| akeup arber Crossover
Course 1250 Hours | 1000 Hours | Aesthetics | Manicuring Artistry

Tuition $17,500 $14,000 $10,725 $9,000 $3,000 $2400

* Student Kit A

{Non-Refundable) $2450 $2000 $1500 $1200 $1200 Not required
{with eBook only) B

* Student Kit B

}:‘,;:;;i‘;;g:";‘;,‘;gd_ ) i $1550 $1250 NiA Not required
bound textbook)

Other See other See other

Miscellaneous miscellaneous |miscellaneous _See other _See other .See other . See other
Fees fees below fees below miscellaneous |miscellaneous | miscellaneous | miscellaneous fees
(Non- Refundable) fees below fees below fees below below

(SJ?: $40.00 $32.50 $27.50 $20.00 $7.50 $5.00
Refundabl STRF is 0 STRF is 0 STRFis 0 STRFis 0 STRFis 0 STRF is 0 effective
See below e) effective 5/1/24 | effective 5/1/24 | effective 5/1/24 | effective 5/1/24 | effective 5/1/24 511/24
E‘,’,‘ﬂgif'mated $20,000 $16,000 $12,225 $10,200 $4,450 $2,665
Registration Fee

(Negn Refundable) $250 $250 $250 $250 $250 $250

* Students can choose Kit A with the eBook only or Kit B which includes the eBook and the hardbound textbook. Total
estimated charges are based on tuition, Kit A and the STRF charges.

Other Miscellaneous Fees:

i An hourly rate of § will be charged for instructional hours, if needed, which exceed the expected
graduation date (listed on Page 1) by more than 10% of the total program hours. All charges are based on
scheduled hours.

2 There is a $1 (one dollar) fee per hour for hours transferred into Lu Ross Academy. There are no additional
assessment fees.

3 There is a $25 fee for returned checks.
4 The Student Kit includes all equipment, textbooks and uniform required by theschool.

Note: Total charges for the period of attendance and total charges for the entire educational program are the same and
are an estimate of the charges due at time of enroliment. Tuition and the student kit are considered Institutional Charges



LANGUAGE

All courses at Lu Ross Academy are conducted in English. All written materials and textbooks are in English. This
institution does not provide English-as-a-second language instruction

STUDENT TUITION RECOVERY FUND (STRF) DISCLOSURES

The State of California established the Student Tuition Recovery Fund (STRF) to relieve or mitigate economic loss
suffered by a student in an educational program at a qualifying institution, who is or was a California resident while
enrolled, or was enrolled in a residency program, if the student enrolled in the institution, prepaid tuition, and suffered an
economic loss. Unless relieved of the obligation to do so, you must pay the state-imposed assessment for the STRF, or it
must be paid on your behalf, if you are a student in an educational program, who is a California resident, or are enrolled in
a residency program, and prepay all or part of your tuition. The current STRF fee is $2.50 per one thousand dollars of
institutional charges.

You are not eligible for protection from the STRF and you are not required to pay the STRF assessment, if you are not a
California resident, or are not enrolled in a residency program.”

In addition to the statement required under subdivision (a) of this section, a qualifying institution shall include the following
statement in its school catalog:

“It is important that you keep copies of your enrollment agreement, financial aid documents, receipts, or any other
information that documents the amount paid to the school.

Questions regarding the STRF may be directed to The Bureau for Private Postsecondary Education, 1747
North Market, Suite 225, Sacramento, CA 95834, (916) 574-8900

To be eligible for STRF, you must be a Califomia resident or are enrolled in a residency program, prepaid tuition, paid or
deemed to have paid the STRF assessment, and suffered an economic loss as a result of any of the following:

1. The institution, a location of the institution, or an educational program offered by the institution was closed or
discontinued, and you did not choose to participate in a teach-out plan approved by the Bureau or did not complete
a chosen teach-out plan approved by the Bureau.

2. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution within the 120 day period before the closure of the
institution or location of the institution, or were enrolled in an educational program within the 120 day period before
the program wasdiscontinued.

3. You were enrolled at an institution or a location of the institution more than 120 days before the closure of the
institution or location of the institution, in an educational program offered by the institution as to which the Bureau
determined there was a significant decline in the quality or value of the program more than 120 days before closure.

4. The institution has been ordered to pay a refund by the Bureau but has failed to doso.

The institution has failed to pay or reimburse loan proceeds under a federal student loan program as required by
law, or has failed to pay or reimburse proceeds received by the institution in excess of tuition and other costs.

6. You have been awarded restitution, a refund, or other monetary award by an arbitrator or court, based on a
violation of this chapter by an institution or representative of an institution, but have been unable to collect the
award from the institution.

7. You sought legal counsel that resulted in the cancellation of one or more of your student loans and have an
invoice for services rendered and evidence of the cancellation of the student loanor loans.

To qualify for STRF reimbursement, the application must be received within four (4) years from the date of the action or
event that made the student eligible for recovery from STRF. A student whose loan is revived by a loan holder or debt
collector after a period of non-collection may, at any time, file a written application for recovery from STRF for the debt that
would have otherwise been eligible for recovery. If it has been more than four (4} years since the action or event that
made the student eligible, the student must have filed a written application for recovery within the original four (4) year
period, unless the period has been extended by another act of law. However, no claim can be paid to any student without
a social security number or a taxpayer identification number.



training.

Student’s Right to Cancel -The student has the right to cancel an enroliment agreement and obtain a refund of
charges paid until midnight of the fifth school day following the first day of class or the seventh day after enroliment,
whicheverislater. Cancellation shall occur when the student gives written notice of cancellation to the school at the
address specified in the agreement. The school shall refund all monies paid by the student within 30 days after it
receives the notice of cancellation that is received within the canceliation period. Any Student Kit received by a
student after the end of the cancellation period is not returnable to the school and students will be charged for the
Student Kit.

Student Withdrawal & Refund - You may withdraw from the Academy at any time after the cancellation period
(described above) and receive a pro-rata refund within 45 days of withdrawal if you have completed less than 60
percent of the period of attendance, based on scheduled hours. The refund will be less a registration fee not to
exceed $250, and less any deduction for equipment that the student has received and signed for. For the purpose of
determining a refund under this section, a student’s official cancellation or withdrawal shall occur on the earlier of the
dates of any of the following instances:

+  An applicantis not accepted by the Academy. The applicant shall be entitled to a refund of all monies paid.
« The student notifies the institution of the student's withdrawal in writing.

* The institution terminates the student’s enroliment for failure to maintain satisfactory progress, failure to abide by
the rules and regulations of the institution, absence in excess of maximum set forth by the institution and/or failure
to meet financial obligations to the Academy.

« The student has failed to attend class for fourteen (14) calendar days, as determined by monitoring clock hour
attendance at least every thirty (30) days.

+  Failure to return from a leave of absence. The date of the student's withdrawal shall be the earlier of the
scheduled date of return from the leave of absence or the date the student notifies the institution that the student
will not be returning.

All refunds are calculated based on the student's last date of attendance.

Students who enroll and begin classes, but withdraw prior to course completion (after three business days of signing
the contract) will have the following schedule of tuition earned by the school apply. All refunds are based on
scheduled hours:

Percent of Scheduled Time Enrolled

to Total Program Total Tuition School Shall Retain

0.01% to 60% Prorated based on percentage of scheduled attendance

60.01 and over % 100%

Return of Title IV - Special note to students receiving Unsubsidized/Subsidized/PLUS/Perkins loans, AGC/National
SMART/PELL/SEOG grants or other aid, if you withdraw from school prior to the completion of the equivalent to 60
percent of the workload in any given payment period, a calculation using the percentage completed will be applied to
the funds received or that could have been received that will determine the amount of aid the student earned.
Unearned funds would be retumed to the program in the order stated below by both the school and/or the student.
Student liability to loan funds will continue to be paid in accordance to the original promissory note terms. Funds owed
by the student to the Grant programs are limited to 50% of the gross award received. Sample Calculation: completion
of 25% of the payment period or enroliment period earns only 25% of the aid disbursed or that could have been
disbursed. If applicable, this would be the first calculation to determine the amount of aid that the student would be
eligible for from the Title IV Financial Aid programs. A second calculation would take place to determine the amount
earned by the institution during the period of enroliment. If any refunds are due based in the Return of Title [V
calculation of the institutional refund policy calculation, any refunds will be made as soon as possible but not later than
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For Post 9/11 GI Bill® (Ch 33) students and VA Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment (Ch 31) students, our tuition
policy complies with 38 USC 3679(e) which means Post 9/11 and Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment students will
not be charged or otherwise penalized due to a delay in VA tuition and fee payments. For eligibility consideration, a Post
9/11 Gl Bill student must submit a VA Certificate of Eligibility (COE) and a Vocational Rehabilitation Student must provide
a VAF 28-1905 form. All persons seeking enrollment must meet the general admissions policies. Those seeking to use VA
Education Benefits must submit all prior transcripts for a transfer evaluation and submit one of the following a 22-1990,
22-1995, 22-5490, or a 22-5495 to the VA. GI Bill® is a registered trademark of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
(VA). More information about education benefits offered by VA is available at the official U.S. government website at
www.benefits.va.gov/gibill.

A student using Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment benefits (CH31) or Post-8/11 G.I. Bill® (CH33) will be allowed
to enroll in and attend courses and access campus facilities while the campus awaits payment for tuition and fees from
the VA, While awaiting receipt of funds from the VA, Lu Ross Academy will not impose any penalty, charge late fees or
require an eligible student to borrow additional funds to cover tuition or fees. This waiting period begins the date the
student provides appropriate documentation and continues either until funds are received from the VA or until 90 days
after the School Certifying Official has certified the student’s enrollment for tuition and fees.

To demonstrate current eligibility and intent to use Chapter 31 or 33 benefits, a student must provide the following
documents:

* VA Form 28-1805 (Authorization and Certification of Entrance or Reentrance into Rehabilitationand Certification
of Status); or

+ Certificate of Eligibility (COE) or Education Enrollment Status form (printed from the VAwebsite).
« A written request to use either VA Vocational Rehabilitation or Post 9/11 G.I. Bill benefits; and

« All additional information requested by the School Certifying Official to properly certify enrollment to the VA.

For more information regarding this policy, contact your School Certifying Official, Alma Moreno at_
alma@lurossacademy.com or (805) 643-5690 Ext. 114

Gl Bill® is a registered trademark of the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA). More information about education
benefits offered by VA is available at the official U.S. government Web site at https://www.benefits.va.gov/gibill.

G.E.D./JADULT EDUCATION CLASSES
Special preparation for the H.S. Diploma or G.E.D. is available through the following school:

Ventura Unified School District, High Schools & Adult Education, Adult Education School 3777 Dean Drive, Ventura, CA
93003, (805) 641-5000 hitp://www.vace.com/programs_adult_literact.html

General Educational Development (GED)

The GED provides an opportunity for a person to demonstrate the ability and understanding that are expected t\of a high
school graduate. The GED is equivalent to, but not the same as, a high school diploma. Free assessment and classes are
offered to prepare you to pass the GED exam. Practice tests and individualized instruction are available. Plan for three
hours for the initial assessment and then set up a study schedule that works for you. The actual GED exam is offered
there too!

Please call (805) 289-1749, ext. 1230, between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m. to schedule an appointment.

PHYSICAL DEMANDS

Prospective students should be aware of the physical demands of an occupation as a Cosmetologist, Barber,
Aesthetician, Manicurist, or Makeup Artist. Cosmetologists, Barbers and Aestheticians occupations generally require
continued standing and constant use of the upper torso, shoulders, arms, wrist, and hands, upper back and neck.
Manicuring occupations generally require constant sitting which can lead to backaches, and wrist/arm/hand problems.
Certain individuals may have allergies and sensitivity to chemical; products used in the profession.
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HOUSING

Lu Ross Academy does not provide housing, dormitories or housing assistance of any type. While the Academy has no
responsibility to find or assist students in finding housing, the following represents approximate rental fees in the general
vicinity of the school’s location in Ventura, CA: $1400/ month for a one bedroom and $700/month for a rented room (based
on an average of prices of rental units available on Rent.com as of 04/16/18). Students seeking housing are encouraged to
go to several online websites such as Rent.com for furtherassistance.

PLACEMENT ASSISTANCE

Placement success is greatly influenced by attendance, overall attitude, and academic achievement. The employment
assistance services include but are not limited to:

1. An employment orientation prior to graduation. This orientation will provide the student with essential information
related to interview preparation, professional appearance guidelines, resume preparation, cover letters, job
applications, job search skills and referrals for potential job opportunities.

Assistance in the preparation of employment letters and letters ofrecommendation.

Invitation to industry to interview, present employment programs, test, and offer applicationor employment.
Communicate with prospective employers to establish current employment opportunity.

Through mutual efforts of the placement assistance and the student, attempts are made to locate positions. Students
are responsible for arranging interviews formthe information provided bythe school.

Follow-up with graduates and employers regarding job referrals.

IR

While Lu Ross Academy does not guarantee placement or stating salaries, the school will do everything within reason to
assist the student in finding suitable employment after graduation. Graduates are welcome at any time to return to the
school after graduation to obtain additional job leads.

TEACHING METHOD

Every student enrolled at Lu Ross Academy must use APPLIED EFFORT while attending school. This Applied Effort
policy is designed to better prepare the student for actual working conditions once the graduate. This means the student
must always be working on daily assigned activities pursuant to school policy even though minimum required levels may
have been exceeded. If a student refuses to or is not physically capable of being in Applied Effort, the student may NOT
attend classes. While attending school, the student will be doing so in an atmosphere similar to the industry they are
training to work in. Although the enrollee is a student and not an employee, the student will be trained by performing work
in a salon/spa simulated school environment designed to teach industry skills while providing industry knowledge and
educational credit. See Distance Learning, Page 19.

GRADUATION REQUIREMENTS
To meet graduation requirements and receive a Diploma, a student must:
1. Achieve a cumulative 2.0 (70%) grade point average or higher.
2. Complete all required hours and practical requirements.
3. Satisfy all financial obligations to the school or make payment arrangements for any outstanding balance.

SATISFACTORY ACADEMIC PROGRESS POLICY

(Please see Page 38 for Beauty Makeup Artistry Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy)

The Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy is consistently applied to all students enrolled at the school. It is printed in the
catalog to ensure that all students receive a copy prier to enroliment. The policy complies with the guidelines established
by the National Accrediting Commission of Career Arts and Sciences (NACCAS) and the federal regulations established
by the United States Department of Education.

EVALUATION PERIODS: Satisfactory Academic Progress will be assessed at the following benchmarks. All benchmarks
are based on clocked {(actual) hours.
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MAXIMUM TIME FRAME
The maximum time (which does not exceed 133% of the course length) allowed for students to complete each
course at satisfactory academic progress is stated below

MAXIMUM TIME FRAME
COURSE WEEKS N IR

Cosmetology (Days 33 hrs/wk) -1600 Hours. In person and Hybrid 64.4 Weeks 2128

 Cosmetology (Eve, 21.5 hrs/wk) -1600 Hours. In person and Hybrid | 98.9 Weeks 2128 |
Hybrid Cosmetology (Days, 33 hrs/wk) 1250 Hours 50.3 Weeks 1662
Hybrid Cosmetology (Eve, 21.5 hrs/wk) 1250 Hours 77.3 Weeks 1662
Aesthetics (Day, 33 hrs/wk) — 600 Hours. In person and Hybrid 24 Weeks 798
Aesthetics (Eve, 21.5 hrs/wk) — 600 Hours. In person and Hybrid 37 Weeks 798 |
Barbering (Day, 33 hrs/iwk) — 1500 Hours. In person and Hybrid 60 Weeks 1995
Barbering (Eve, 21.5 hrs/wk) — 1500 Hours. In person and Hybrid 92.7 Weeks 1995 B
Hybrid Barbering (Days 33 hrs/wk) -1000 Hours 40.3 Weeks 1330
Hybrid Barbering (Eve 21.5 hrs/wk) -1000 Hours 61.8 Weeks | 1330

| Manicuring (FT, 33 hrs/wk) — 600 Hours. In Person and Hybrid 24 Weeks 798 1
Beauty Makeup Artistry (PT, 12 hrs/wk) 120 Hours 13 Weeks 160

 Barber Crossover (PT, 20 hrs/wk) 10 Wks 13.3 Weeks 266 N

The maximum time (which does not exceed 133% of the course length) allowed for students to complete each course at
satisfactory academic progress is stated below:

MAXIMUM TIME ALLOWED

The maximum time allowed for transfer students who need less than the full course requirements or part-time students will
be determined based on 75% of the scheduled contracted hours.

Students who have not completed the course within the maximum timeframe may continue as a student at the institution
on a cash pay basis. If your maximum amount of time under a contracted schedule has expired and the student has not
achieved their required clock hours, they will be withdrawn from the program and required to restart the program for the

remaining clock hours under a new contract and additional costs.

ACADEMIC PROGRESS EVALUATIONS

The qualitative element used to determine academic progress is a reasonable system of grades as determined by
assigned academic learning. Students are assigned academic learning and a minimum number of practical experiences.
Academic learning is evaluated after each unit of study. Practical assignments are evaluated as completed and counted
toward course completion only when rated as satisfactory or better (the computersystem will reflect completion of the
practical assignment as a 100% rating). If the performance does not meet satisfactory requirements, it is not counted and
the performance must be repeated. At least two comprehensive practical skills evaluations will be conducted during the
course of study. Practical skills are evaluated according to text procedures and set forth in practical skills evaluation
criteria adopted by the school. Students must maintain a written grade average of 70% and pass a FINAL written and
practical exam prior to graduation. Students must make up failed or missed tests and incomplete assignments. Numerical
grades are considered according to the following scale:

90 - 100 | EXCELLENT
80-89 | GOOD

70-79 | SATISFACTORY
0to 69 | UNSATISFACTORY
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NONCREDIT, REMEDIAL COURSES, REPETITIONS

Noncredit, remedial courses and repetitions do not apply to this institution. Therefore, these items have no effect upon the
school's satisfactory academic progress standards

ATTENDANCE REQUIREMENTS

The Registrar monitors the student attendance records of all active students. Students are required to have an overall
attendance rate of 75% or more of the total scheduled hours of the pragram, to meet the minimum attendance
requirements of the program. Students meeting these minimal requirements are expected to complete their course of
study within the maximum time frame. Lu Ross Academy recognizes some absences are unavoidable. When a student
finds an absence unavoidable, he/she must notify the school by calling (805) 643 - 5690, and reporting the absence to the
Registrar. The student will have to make up training hours that the state requires for licensing, and it will cost the student
additional tuition if the course is not completed by the calculated completion date. All hours missed due to absences,
arriving late, leaving early and/or suspension must be made up within 30 days. Regardless of the average level of
attendance, students who are absent 14 days or more without an approved Leave of Absence will be terminated.

Attendance takes on a very serious role in beginning of our program. The first evaluation period includes the “Freshman”
training where basic skills are taught. These skills are the building blocks of the rest of the program... Every day brings
new instruction and new technigues. Missing time in the first evaluation period can have a severely detrimental impact on
future skill development. The importance of attendance in the first week is even more significant. Students who miss any
of the days of the first week are subject to termination and will need to re-start on the next start date. Due to the
importance of the first evaluation period, Lu Ross Academy requires students to attend a minimum of 67% of the
scheduled hours in the first evaluation period. If any student attends less than 67% of the scheduled hours in the first
evaluation period, they must restart the program with the next incoming class.

TARDINESS

Lu Ross Academy encourages students to be “on time” for all activities, appointments and classes. Students who arrive
after 8:30 am for day classes will be considered tardy. Students who arrive after 5:00 pm in the evening will be considered
tardy.

LEAVE OF ABSENCE POLICY (LOA)

Students are entitled to take only one (1) Leave of Absence during any academy year {(or 12-month period). A Leave of
Absence must be requested in writing with the Administration Office and must be pre-approved by the Student Services
Manager. The letter must include the reason for the student's request and include the student’s signature. In the event
that unforeseen circumstances prevent a student from providing the request prior to the LOA, the academy will document
the reason for granting the LOA and will require the request from the student at a later date. In this instance, the beginning
date of the approved LOA would be determined by the academy to be the first date the student was unable to attend
because of the circumstance. There must be a reasonable expectation that the student will return from the LOA. The
duration of the Leave of Absence may not exceed sixty (60) days. No Leaves of Absence are available for the Beauty
Makeup Artistry program. Failure to return to school, on the anticipated return date, as scheduled, will result in
termination. At an institution required to take attendance, the withdrawal date for the purpose of calculating a refund is
always student’s last day of attendance. A Leave of Absence will extend the student's contract period and maximum time
frame by the same number of days that the student is on Leave of Absence. The institution does not assess any
additional institutional charges as a result of the LOA. A student granted an LOA that meets these criteria is not
considered to have withdrawn, and no refund calculation is required at that time. Changes to the contract period on the
enrollment agreement must be initialed by all parties or an addendum must be signed and dated by all parties.

LEAVE OF ABSENCE POLICY (LOA) during the COVID-19 pandemic.

During the pandemic, students will be allowed to take an additional 120 days of leave.
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NOTE: If you are taking a Hybrid course which uses elements of Distance Learning, then be advised that Lu Ross
Academy makes no guarantee that academic achievement eamed via distance education will be accepted for reciprocity
or eligible for licensure in other states. If you are in a Hybrid program and are thinking of transferring to another school or
moving to a different State, you should check with that School or that State about the transfer.

COURSE DURATIONS

The school measures its programs in clock hours. Quarter Credit Hour values are given should they be needed by the
student. The following are the programs offered and the hours and duration of each program:

PROGRAMS CLOCK HOURS WEEKS MONTHS
Cosmetology (Day) In person and Hybrid 1600 50 12
Cosmetology (Evening) In person and Hybrid 1600 78 18.5
Hybrid Cosmetology (Day) 1250 38 9
Hybrid Cosmetology (Evening) 1250 58 14
Barbering (Day) 1500 47 11.2
Barbering (Evening) 1500 74 17.5
Hybrid Barbering {Day) 1000 31 7.2
Hybrid Barbering (Evening) 1000 47 11
Aesthetics (Day) In person and Hybrid 600 20 4.5
Aesthetics (Evening) In person and Hybrid 600 30 7
Manicuring (Day) In person and Hybrid 600 20 4.5
Beauty Makeup Artistry (12(?333;? I:zﬂ'rt:) ( elg s) 2.3
Barber Crossover 200 (elgs) 2.3

DISTANCE EDUCATION POLICY

The term “Distance Education” or Hybrid Education refer to instruction where the teacher and students are separated
geographically so that the face-to-face communication is absent for up to 50% 0f a program. Communication is
accomplished instead by one or more technological media. This communication consists of live or recorded visual or
audio presentations and material using a leaming management system, digital and or analog video tape, audio tape, CD-
ROM, computer or internet technology, email or other electronic means.

The distance education policy at Lu Ross Academy includes the following:

« Distance Education cannot be utilized as a method of delivery of clinical instruction in which the student is to
perform practical applications on a live model and/or client,

* The interaction with the instructor must be validated by regular measurable participation (clock hours) in the
academic programs. Participation must be documented within a log of all student activity comprised of a record of
regular and substantive interaction between student(s) and instructor(s).

» A Distance Education Assessment of student performance is conducted on-campus by a qualified instructor at
least once monthly with respect to any distance education completed within the preceding month.

«  Upon completion of all curriculum requirements, students must pass a comprehensive Academic and Practical
final exam (which shall be administered on-campus) to include any applicable competencies required by the
State licensure agency prior to graduation from the program.

« Al transcripts or other documents, (official or unofficial), listing academic attainment received will identify the
distance education component.

* Please be advised that Lu Ross Academy makes no guarantee that academic achievement earned via distance
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financial aid, as necessary to determine the eligibility, amount, or conditions of the financial aid, or to enforce the
terms and conditions of the aid; to certain officials of the US Department of Education, the Controller General, to
state and local educational authorities, in connection with certain state or federally supported education programs; to
accrediting organizations to carry out their functions; to organizations conducting certain studies for or on behalf of
the Academy; to US Department of Homeland Security.

58 The right to file a complaint with the US Department of Education concerning alleged failures by the Academy to
comply with the requirements of FERPA. The name and address of the office that administers FERPA is Family
Policy Compliance Office, US Department of Education, Independence Ave. SW, Washington DC 20202-4605

COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT POLICY

Copyright infringement is the act of exercising, without permission or legal authority, one or more of the exclusive rights
granted to the copyright owner under section 106 of the Copyright Act (Title 17 of the United States Code). These rights
include the right to reproduce or distribute a copyrighted work. In the file-sharing context, downloading or uploading
substantial parts of a copyrighted work without authority

constitutes an infringement. Penalties for copyright infringement include civil and criminal penalties. In general, anyone
found liable for civil copyright infringement may be ordered to pay either actual damages or "statutory”

damages affixed at not less than $750 and not more than $30,000 per work infringed. For "willful” infringement, a court
may award up to $150,000 per work infringed. A court can, in its discretion, also assess costs and attorneys' fees. For
details, see Title 17, United States Code, Sections 504, 505. Wiliful copyright infringement can also result in criminal
penalties, including imprisonment of up to five years and fines of up to

$250,000 per offense. For more information, please see the Web site of the U.S. Copyright Office at www.copyright.gov,
especially their FAQ's at www.capyright.gov/help/faq. Lu Ross Academy may make computers available to students in a
classroom. However, the use of the computers is limited to access tothe school's website to enable students to take
practice exams and other approved websites that have permission to use from publishers of student textbooks. Internet
access is blocked for most sites except for the Academies’ web page. Lu Ross Academy does not tolerate unethical
conduct in regard to cheating, plagiarism, copyright infringement, falsification or misrepresentation of material information
in any records, financial documents or sign-in sheets, whether inadvertent or deliberate. Engaging in the unauthorized use
or distribution of copyrighted material may result in probation, suspension, or termination/expulsion.

VOTER REGISTRATION

In California you may register to vote by completing the online voter registration form at:
https://www.sos.ca.gov/nvrc/fedform/ and then mailing it to the address on the form. You may also register to vote
whenever you apply for or renew your driver’s license or state-issued ID card. For more information, please visit the
California Secretary of State website at hitp:/iwww.sos.ca.gov/elections/elections_vr.htmil.

CONSTITUTION DAY

Pursuant to legislation passed by Congress, educational institutions receiving Federal funding are required to hold an
educational program pertaining to the United States Constitution on September 17 of each year. Lu Ross Academy
presents programs pertaining to the United States Constitution on September 17 of each year or on the following school
day.

CALIFORNIA LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

The State of California required that any person desiring to conduct business as a COSMETOLOGIST, BARBER,
AESTHETICIAN or MANICURIST must first complete the state required curriculum at a certified school and second pass
the state licensing exam. The state further requires that applicants for the State Exam are at least 17 years of age, have
completed at least the 10" grade and have a valid Social Security Card. Lu Ross Academy's programs are designed to
provide the state required educational curriculum necessary to qualify the student to take the license exam and to
enhance the student’s capability to pass the exam, while at the same time prepare the student to actually work in the
industry. There are not State licensing requirements for Make- up Artists. The state may and will most likely perform a
background check to determine eligibility of the student to take the licensing exam. It is the student’s responsibility to
determine if any past criminal conviction (if any) will prevent them from obtaining the required state license. [For more
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FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS
All Lu Ross Academy campuses administer federal programs of student assistance including:

Pell Grant (FPELL): Federal Pell grants are awarded to students who have not earned a bachelor's or professional
degree. Because they are grants, funds are not typically repaid (unless you withdraw from school prior to the end of the
award period). Eligibility is determined according to need, number of hours in the academic program, and the cost of
attendance.

Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (SEOG): This program is for students with exceptional financial need.
Your eligibility can be determined after review of your PELL eligibility.

William D. Ford Federal Direct Loans: The Direct Loan program provides educational loan(s) that must be repaid, with
interest, even if you do not complete your academic program. Leans may be obtained through the William D. Ford Federal
Direct L.oan Program. Generally, all students who complete a FAFSA and are not in default on any previous federal
student loan(s) are eligible for the program. Loans obtained through this program are lower fixed interest rate loans that
are guaranteed by the U.S. Department of Education. A student can apply for Direct Loans through the academy's
Financial Aid Department.

Federal Subsidized Loan: The Subsidized Loan is awarded to students who demonstrate financial need. Subsidized
loans do not charge the borrower with interest on the amount borrowed while in school and up through a six-month grace
period after leaving school.

Note: Loans for students who have exceeded the maximum eligibility period (150% of the program length) for attendance
on their Federal loan eligibility could begin to accrue interest after the student exceeds the 150% limit. Interest accrued in
such a manner accumulates and is added to the principal amount of your loan. Interest does not accrue retroactively to
the date the loan was disbursed.

For more information, please see your Financial Aid Officer or visit: hitps:/studentaid.ed.gov/types/loans/subsidized-
unsubsidized.

Federal Unsubsidized Loan: The Federal Unsubsidized Loan allows students to borrow a Federal Direct Loan who did
not demonstrate sufficient financial need for the subsidized version. The same terms and conditions as the Subsidized
Loan apply, except that the borrower is responsible for interest that accrues while she/he is in school and after leaving
school. Generally, you may choose to make interest payments on the loan while you are in school or have the interest
added to your principal balance (capitalized) when your repayment schedule begins (six months after your last day of
attendance).

Federal Parent PLUS Loans: The Federal Parent PLUS loan is available to parents of dependent students with good
credit to help pay their child’s educational expenses. PLUS loans are not based on need. They can be combined with
other financial aid resources and cannot exceed the student’s cost of education.

Workforce Investment Act: Lu Ross Academy is a qualified training provider offering employment training for adults and
dislocated workers. For more information, please visit the CalJobs website at https://www.caljobs.ca.gov.

Veterans Educational Benefits: Lu Ross Academy is approved by the California State Approving Agency for Veterans
Education for the certificate programs for Aesthetics (600 Clock Hour Program), Barbering (1,500 Clock Hour Program),
Cosmetology (1,600 Clock Hour Program), and Manicuring {600 Clock Hour Program). For more information on Veterans
Benefits, please see your Admissions Representative.

MyCAA: Military Spouse Career Advancement Accounts (MyCAA) provide financial assistance for educational purposes
for qualified military spouses meeting eligibility requirements. For information regarding amounts and eligibility please visit
the website at:
www.militaryonesource.com/MOS/FindInformation/Category/MilitarySpouseCareerAdvancementAccounts.aspx.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

If a student obtains a loan to pay for an educational program, the student will have the responsibility to repay the full
amount of the loan plus interest, less the amount of any refund. If the student has received federal student financial aid
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students receiving Pell Grants who are convicted of a criminal drug offense during the period of enroliment for which the
Pell Grant was awarded are required by federal regulation to report that conviction in writing to the: Director of Grants and
Services, United States Department of Education,400 Maryland Avenue SW, Room 3124, GSA Regional Office Bidg. #3,
Washington, DC20202-4571

The report must be made within 10 days after the conviction. In addition to institutional sanctions, students and employees
convicted of the unlawful possession or distribution of illicit drugs or alcohol could face local, state and federal legal
penalties which include the loss of eligibility for federal financial aid, fines, imprisonment and the seizure of drug related
assets. Drug awareness programs, counseling, treatment, rehabilitation and other related services are available on an
ongoing basis to students and employees of this institution through:

County of Ventura Behavioral Health Department
Alcohol and Drug Programs
24 East Main St.
Ventura, CA 93001
805-577-0830

(Additional counseling centers are located in Oxnard and Simi Valley)

COSMETOLOGY 1600 HOUR CURRICULUM OUTLINE
SOC Code 39.5012

Course outline objective is to show prospective students what education, demonstrations and practical procedures they
will be learning on a weekly schedule.

Our educational objective is to not only educate and train students in the state board required material but also to
prepare them for client services. This is done through lectures, testing and evaluations. Technical instructions consist of
lecture and / or demonstrations and testing of the related material. Demonstrations are followed by hands on practice and
evaluation of student procedures. Our goal is to provide students with the education and tools they need to be health
conscious, successful professionals.

The curriculum for students enrolled in the Cosmetology program requires 1600 hours of practical training and technical
instruction covering all practices of cosmetology. The average student completes the day schedule in 52 weeks. The
average student completes the evening schedule in 78 weeks. Students are graded on technical tests, practical
procedures and attendance. Instruction in State Board procedures is also included.

Cosmetologists may earn income through different career choices. Occupations include: Hairstylist, Hair coloring
Technician, Cosmetology Instructor, Manicurist, Salon Owner or Beauty Counselor. Day classes start every 8 weeks.
Evening classes start every 14 weeks.

The grading system for theory and practical is as follows:

| 100%-90%=A | 89%- 80%=B | 79%-70%=C |
A minimum of 70% is considered satisfactory. Below C is unsatisfactory.

The Cosmetology course consists of a minimum of 390 Hours of Technical (Theory) training and approximately 1210
hours devoted to complete the required practicals.

Minimum
SUBJECT Theoy | Practical
Operations
Hair Dressing — 1100 Hours (185 theory hours and 915 practical hours) Including at minimum:
Hairstyling 65 240
Includes. but is not limited to: Hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, comb outs,
straightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot curling irons and blower styling.
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includes, but is not limited to: Water and oil manicure, including nail analysis, and hand/foot and
arm/ankle massage.

Artificial Nails and Wraps: 25 120 (nails)

Includes, but is not {imited to: Artificial nails including acrylic, liquid and powder brush-ons, artificial nail
tips and nail wraps and repairs.

Additional Instruction and Training: Included in the above subjects and woven throughout the course
is training to develop; desirable work habits, acceptable personal grooming, customer relations,
creativity, a high level of personal and business ethics and State Board Preparation Classes. The
institution offers employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts to secure education-related
employment that includes, but is not limited to training in: professionalism, resume development,
interview preparation, and job search skills.

COSMETOLOGY 1250 HOUR CURRICULUM OUTLINE
SOC Code 38.5012

Course outline objective is to show prospective students what education, demonstrations, and practical procedures they
will be learning on a weekly schedule.

Our educational objective is to not only educate and train students in the state board required material but also to prepare
them for client services. This is done through lectures, testing and evaluations. Technical instructions consist of lecture
and / or demonstrations and testing of the related material. Demonstrations are followed by hands on practice and
evaluation of student procedures. Our goal is to provide students with the education and tools they need to be health
conscious, successful professionals.

The curriculum for students enrolled in the Cosmetology program requires 1250 hours of practical training and technical
instruction covering all practices of cosmetology. The average student completes the day schedule in 38 weeks. The
average student completes the evening schedule in 58 weeks. Students are graded on technical tests, practical
procedures, and attendance.

Cosmetologists may earn income through different career choices. Occupations include: Hairstylist, Hair Coloring
Technician, Cosmetology Instructor, Manicurist, Salon Owner or Beauty Counselor.

The grading system for theory and practical is as follows:

1 100%-90%=A | 89%- 80%=B | 79%-70%=C |
A minimum of 70% is considered satisfactory. Below C is unsatisfactory.

The Cosmetology course consists of a minimum of 450 Hours of Technical {Theory) training and approximately 800 hours
devoted to completing the required practicals.

Minimum| Minimum
SUBJECT Theory | Practical
Hours Hours

Hairstyling Services — 300 Hours

Including instruction on arranging, blow drying, cleansing, curling, dressing, |

hair analysis, shampooing, waving, and nonchemical straightening, and hair 80 220
cutting, including the use of shears, razors, electrical clippers and trimmers,
and thinning shears, for wet and dry cutting.

Chemical Hair Services — 300 Hours

Including instruction on coloring, straightening, waving, bleaching, hair
analysis, predisposition and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, 80 220
and the use of dye removers.
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BARBERING 1500 HOUR CURRICULUM OUTLINE
SOC Code 39-5011

Course outline objective is to show prospective students what education, demonstrations and practical procedures are
taught on a weekly basis

Our educational objective is to educate and train students not only in state board procedures but prepares them to
move on to clinic services. This is done through lectures, testing and evaluations. Technical instruction consists of lecture
and / or demonstrations and testing of the related material. Demonstrations are followed by hands on practice and
evaluation of student procedures. Our goal is to provide students with a solid foundation and a confidence to be
successful when entering the Barbering profession.

The curriculum for students enrolled in the Barbering program requires 1500 hours of practical training and technical
instruction covering all practices of Barbering. The average day student completes the day schedule in 48 weeks. The
average evening student completes the evening schedule in 74 weeks.

Students are graded on technical written tests, practical procedures and attendance. Instruction in State Board
procedures is also included. Barbers may eam income through different career choices.

Occupations include: Barber, Hairstylist, Barbering Instructor, Platform Artist, State Board Examiner, Men's Stylist, Salon
Manager, and Salon Owner.

The grading system for theory and practical is as follows:

[ 100%-90%=A I 89%- 80%=B | 79%-70%=C |
A minimum of 70% is considered satisfactory. Below C is unsatisfactory.

The Barbering course consists of a minimum of 385 Hours of Technical (Theory) training and approximately 1115 Hours
devoted to complete the required practicals.

Minimum

'SUBJECT Theoly | Practical
Operations
Hair Dressing — 1100 Hours (185 theory hours and 915 practical hours) Including at minimum:
Hairstyling 65 240
||ncludes, but is not limited to: Hair analysis, shampooing, finger waving, pin curling, comb outs,
traightening, waving, curling with hot combs and hot curling irons and blower styling.

Permanent Waving and Chemical Straightening: 40 105

includes, but is not limited to: Hair analysis, acid and alkaline permanent waving, chemical straightening

|including the use of sodium hydroxide and other base solutions.

lHaIr Coloring and Bleaching: 60 50

Includes, but is not limited to: The use of semi-permanent, demi-permanent and temporary colors, hair
analysis, predisposition and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, tinting, bleaching, high and
low lights, and the use of dye removers.

|HairCutting: 20 80

’Includes, but is not limited to: Use of scissors, razor, (shaper), electrical clippers/trimmers, and thinning
(tapering) shears for wet and dry cutting.

Shaving — 200 (100 theory hours and 100 practical hours)

Preparation and Performance: 100 40
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A minimum of 70% is considered satisfactory. Below C is unsatisfactory.

The Barbering course consists of a minimum of 420 Hours of Technical (Theory) training and approximately 580 Hours
devoted to completing the required practicals.

l Minimum| Minimum
SUBJECT Theory | Practical
Hours Hours

Hairstyling Services — 350 Hours

Including instruction on arranging, blow drying, cleansing, curling, dressing, hair
analysis, shampooing, waving, and nonchemical straightening, and hair cutting,
including the use of shears, razors, electrical clippers and trimmers, and

inning shears, for wet and dry cutting.

100 250

Chemical Hair Services — 200 Hours

Including instruction on coloring, straightening, waving, bleaching, hair analysis,
predisposition and strand tests, safety precautions, formula mixing, and the use| 60 140
of dye removers.

Shaving and Trimming of the Beard — 250 Hours

Including instruction on preparing the client’s hair for shaving, assessing the
condition of the client's skin, performing shaving techniques, applying
aftershave antiseptic following facial services, and massaging the face and
rolling cream massages.

Disinfection and Sanitation — 100 Hours

100 150

Including instruction on disinfection procedures to protect the health and safety
of consumers as well as the technician and proper disinfection procedures for 30 70
equipment used in establishments.

Health and Safety — 100 Hours

Including instruction on hazardous substances, chemical safety, safety data
heets, protection from hazardous chemicals, preventing chemical injuries,
health and safety laws and regulations, and preventing communicable
diseases. 100
Board Approved Health & Safety Course (B&P 7389(a)): Including |
instruction on hazardous substances, basic labor laws, and physical and sexual
assault awareness.

Nditional Instruction and Training: salon business principles, professional ethics, record keeping, basic
tax information relating to booth rental, and independent contractors, skills, including professional ethics,
salesmanship, record keeping, review, and testing for State Board Exam. The institution offers
employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts to secure education-related employment that includes,
but is not limited to training in professionalism, resume development, interview preparation, and job
search skills.
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chemical change of matter; electrical current, principles of operating electrical devices and the various
safety precautions used when operating electrical equipment.

IDisinfection and Sanitation: 10

|lncludes, but is not limited to: Procedures to protect the health and safety of the consumer as well as the
technician; proper disinfection procedures. Disinfection shall be emphasized throughout the entire

training period and must be performed before use of all instruments and equipment.

Anatomy and Physiology: 15

Includes, but is not limited to: Human anatomy, human physiology, bacteriology, skin analysis and
conditions.

IAdditional Instruction and Training: salon business principles, professional ethics, record keeping,
basic tax information relating to booth rental, and independent contractors, skills, including professional
lethics, salesmanship, record keeping, review, practice and testing for State Board Exam. The institution
offers employment assistance to help graduates’ efforts to secure education-related employment that
‘iancludes. but is not limited to training in: professionalism, resume development, interview preparation,

nd job search skills.

MANICURING CURRICULUM OUTLINE
SOC Code 39-5092

Course outline objective is to show prospective students what education, demonstrations and practical procedures are
taught on a weekly basis.

Our educational objective is to educate and train students not only in state board procedures but prepares them to
move on to clinic services. This is done through lectures, testing and evaluations. Technical instruction consists of lecture
and / or demonstrations and testing of the related material. Demonstrations are followed by hands on practice and
evaluation of student procedures. Our goal is to provide students with a solid foundation and a confidence to be
successful when entering the Manicuring profession.

The Manicuring program is a new 600-hour program which combines the State mandated 400 hour curriculum with 200
hours of advanced nail technology. Lu Ross Academy has partnered with OPI Products, a division of Wella USA to bring
all the latest nail technologies such as gels, shellacs and nail art to our program. The average student completes the
program in 20 weeks. The additional 200 hours allows the student to learn all the various new nail techniques and
provides enough time to become proficient in all aspects of manicuring. Students are graded on technical written tests,
practical procedures and attendance. Students attend lectures and complete a required number of practicals. Instruction
in State Board procedures is also included. Manicurists may earn income through different career choices.

Occupations include: Manicurist in salons or spas, Manicuring Instructor, Nail Salon Manager or Owner and Podiatry
Assistant.

The grading system for theory and practical is as follows:

! 100%-90%= | 89%- 80%=B | 79%-70%=C |
A minimum of 70% is considered satisfactory. Below C is unsatisfactory.

The Manicuring course consists of a minimum of 195 Hours of Technical (Theory) training and approximately 405 hours
devoted to complete the required practicals

Theo Minimum
SUBJECT i ug Practical
- - Operations
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You'll be going on photo shoots, choosing models and working with photographers. Photographers will assist students in
creating a portfolio of their work during the course. You will start your makeup portfolio in school. Makeup Artists can eam
income; doing print work, freelancing doing weddings, fashion shows, working for photographers, in department/makeup
stores and for TV/Film companies.

Curriculum

introduction to makeup artistry, the role of the makeup artist

Makeup kit overview, sanitation and hygiene

Color theory and color correction

Skin analysis, skin types and skin care

Brush tips, techniques and brush care

Lighting, foundations, powders, face and eyeshapes, contouring and highlighting

Eye lining and eye shadow, eye brows, false eyelashes, mascara, lip liner, lipstickand glosses, cheeks and blush
placement

Beauty makeup, bridal makeup, special event makeup, high fashion & editorial makeup, runway makeup and back
stage etiquette

Exclusive in-store MAC trendevents

Building a portfolio, business strategies, networking tips and beauty and makeup resources

Beauty Makeup Artistry Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy

Lu Ross Academy expects all students to maintain Satisfactory Academic Progress (SAP) as established by this
institution. The student must:

1.

Maintain a cumulative academic average of 'C' (70%) or better on all tests. Tests must be
completed within one week of the end of each evaluation period.

Turn in all required assigned projects within one wesk of the end ofthe course
Evaluation periods are at the midpoint (5 weeks) and end (10 weeks) of the course

Any incomplete projects not completed within one week of the end of the course will
revert to a zero and be factored into the student's Grade PointAverage

Any student not maintaining a 70% GPA or who is missing projects at the midpoint
of the course will receive a warning.

Students meeting the minimum requirements for attendance and academic progress and
any evaluation point will be considered to be making satisfactory progress until the next
evaluation.

Due to the short length ofthe course, no Leaves of Absence are allowed in the Beauty Makeup Artistry course

Students will be provided a written report card with their GPA at the midpoint and the
completion of the course.

The grading system for theory and practical is as follows:

-

100%-90%=A | 89%- 80%=B I 79%-70%=C

A minimum of 70% is considered satisfactory. Below C is unsatisfactory.
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